Read texas jurisprudence study guide reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all texas jurisprudence study guide reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    Frustrated by all the steps and expense of getting a Texas medical license I wanted a easy solution to studying for the Texas Jurisprudence exam. Based on the description and on the other review of this book, this book seemed to exactly what I was looking for. For +/- $15, and no review materials provided by the TMB, I thought it would be a amazing method to avoid spending even more on a review e book is 191 pages, divided into 14 chapters, of questions and answers. The pages are actually single sided, so really there are only 90 pages of actual content. Each page has about 6 or 7 questions and answers with legal references provided. There isn't much elaboration for each answer, so the answers seem quite 1 dimensional. There is nothing in the book about the difficulty of the exam or tactics for taking the exam.I got the book about 2 weeks before the test. I skimmed it about a chapter or 2 at a time for about a week. Then read it more intently, cover to cover, about 3 more times before the exam. The latest time I read through it, it took less than an hour; it really is a quick read. I feel like I invested a grand total of 4-5 hours into studying. This was quite palatable since much of it was in 20 min chunks. Going into the exam I felt like I had the book beautiful much e exam was actually harder than I expected. +/- 60% of the questions were clearly addressed by this book, and were no problem. +/- 20% of questions were not addressed by the book, but I felt comfortable guessing at an respond based on the spirit of Texas law that I perceived based on reading the book. +/- 20% of questions were purely asking legal facts that the book did not address. These percentages are my rough impression.I ended up getting 80% correct, and passing. The feeling at the end of the exam was that I had given it my best. I reviewed every question, and felt I could not do better. Generally I am a very amazing try taker. With this in mind 80% is a small scary given it would only take 3 more questions wrong to hint me over into the fail category.On its own strength I would give this book a score of 3. Given that I was able to meet my goal of passing the try with a minimal expenditure of time and I give it a 4. To pass this try one absolutely has to study something for it; intuition and common sense are not enough. Depending on your level of risk tolerance and try taking abilities this book may or may not be d luck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    I read this and the White review book on kindle. Together they were less than 20 dollars. Can't obtain a better study tutorial for the money. I really would obtain both though as one is more sentence format and one more table format. I really liked reading the content first then going through the tables. I also got a few pdfs from mates which had a few useful tidbits. If your looking to taking the JP exam and not spend a lot of this is essential.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    Took the Texas Jurisprudence Exam a few days ago for Texas licensure.We did not have an 'in house' crib sheet at my program for this exam, and I couldn't search much online, so here is my attempt at an outline regarding study tactic and e exam is 60 questions, for which you have 100 minutes. All multiple choice with a lot of including "all of the above" or "none of the above" as a final option. You will schedule the exam with Pearsonvue online. You have 3 attempts to pass it, or you're done as far as Texas licensure. Incidentally, bathroom breaks are allowed, but the clock does not stop, so pee quickly.With the following guidelines, I was fortunate to overachieve, completing the exam in about 30 mins and scoring a 98%. If anyone has any corrections or additions, please feel to allow me know; I will modernize as appropriate.Overall thoughts:The exam is, at its essence, a collection of exceptions, deadlines, and crime classifications. Much of it is not well organized by any of the resources out there (TJP tried in one of their updates, but still came up short). As such, I have included a summary that I created myself later in this post. The TJP www service repeatedly makes the point that knowing specific classification of misdemeanors is not important, but they try it in their own material, and the classification is definitely on the guides:The TJP study tutorial is the only one available on Kindle, and that is a major point. However, there are three main resources that people use for this exam. Each has various strengths and weaknesses; none is complete in and of itself. Reviewing them, I found several discrepancies between the texts, which I have also summarized below. The Zerris study tutorial is also available for on Quizlet, as are some other high yield notecard sets. In brief:-Texas Jurisprudence Study Tutorial by Zerris and Smith (3/5) $ - This is a bulletpoint question and respond book written by three Texan neurosurgeons, one of whom is also trained as a JD. There are two amazing things about this study tutorial and a few poor things. First, it is available on Kindle. As such, you can quickly go through it on your phone running around the hospital or while in line running errands till the answers are memorized. Second, the final chapter is a summary of several of the dates and misdemeanors that need to be remembered, and is the most useful part of the entire text. I have included most of the info from that section later in this post. The negatives of this book are that is has quite a few discrepancies, is out of date, and does not provide much context. Whereas the Galveston study tutorial is overly detailed, this text is too sparse. The book is available for online via Quizlet (just google Texas Jurisprudence Prep study cards).- UTMB Galveston Texas Jurisprudence Study Tutorial (4/5) $$ - Written by JD/PhDs; most comprehensive resource that I used in prep. This is an outline format study tutorial which goes through all of Texas law to an insane level of detail. The major strength of the text are the questions at the book finale.While the book is about 400 pages, the latest 70 are multiple choice questions with the respond key referencing the part of the book that explains the correct answer. These are incredibly high yield, and resemble about 50% of try content -- a lot of of them were taken by the TJP www service for their own questions. The only method I was able to go through this text without falling asleep too much was by doing the multiple choice first, then retrograde reading the appropriate sections. Afterwards, I quickly skimmed the text antegrade. The major negative, which is significant, is that the text is mind numbingly boring, with large sections of text cut-and-paste repeated, and with small shorthand.- (3.5/5) $$$ - This is a decent resource written and prepared by two Texan ER docs. The course is somewhat costly, and essentially consists of a flash powerpoint presentation with the course creators speaking over the slides, followed by 6 short garding the course content, it is decent. The highest yield portions are 1) the latest slide of the entire presentation which is an overall review and 2) the quizzes, a lot of of which are copied from the UTMB Galveston study tutorial almost word for word. The authors stress Quizzes 5 and 6, but all are helpful, and can be done fairly quickly a few times. They apparently have done their best to duplicate questions on the exam, and they do a decent job of it, with about 30-60% overlap. With a minimum passing score of 75%, this www service can take you much of the method orthand:- MHIP = Mental Health InPatient- Galveston = UTMB Galveston Texas Jurisprudence Self Study Guide, 13th edition 2010 ([...]- Zerris = Texas Jurisprudence Study Tutorial by Zerris and Smith (available on Amazon)- TJP = Online review course - TJP updates = The TJP www service has updated its info a few times and created charts of necessary deadlines and penalties. These can be found for (at the time of this post) by googling the pdfs.--Discrepancies:1. CME- Zerris - 6 CMEs from volunteering, 12 CME 1 category, 24 total- Galveston - 50% from volunteering - 50% of category 2 is the correct answer2. NP/PA supervision- Zerris - 3 PAs- Internet and TJP modernize - 7 PAs - 7 is the updated respond (exceptions contain inpt, ER, hospice, rural)3. Secondary practice sites- Zerris - 60 miles- Galveston - 75 miles - 75 is the updated answer4. How a lot of days can NPs and PA prescribe- Zerris - 90 days / 30 days- Galveston - 30 days- TJP modernize - 90 days - 90 is the updated answer5. How a lot of abortions per year for facility to be licensed- Zerris - 50/year- Galveston - 100/year (p. 346)--Time:Immediate-Verbal report abuse (professionals/nonprofessionals; specialists have 48 hours for written report)-Report to State Dept re: anthrax, botulism, cholera, smallpox, diphtheria, rabies, polio, plague, typhus, yellow fever - "outbreak" diagnoses (1 day for tb/pertussis)-Gunshot and overdose reports-Notify DFPS about abandoned infant1 hour-Time to evaluate restrained patient as to need for restraints4 hours-Time to spend looking for next of kin with organ donation-Time within which to notify MD of MHIP discharge request and after which MD must examine w/i 24hrs24 hours-Department of Protective Regulatory Services investigates report of suspected child/elder abuse-Notice to pt re: impending abortion-Time to evaluate non restrained patient for involuntary POC/court ordered (12/48 for initial assessment/eval of need if just MD and involuntary) mental health admission; have till 72 hours for probable cause, no longer than 90 days total-Inform re: pertussis and tb-

    0  


    Add your opinion on texas jurisprudence study guide or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    I used this book to create a Quizlet. Some other folks have already created some Quizlets as well that I checked out. I did study the Cram flashcards that emg(what ever the rest of the handle was) made. I got an 80 percent. I literally didn't look at anything pertaining to the try until about 48 hours before. Spent a grand total of maybe 10 hours studying (with a lot of interruptions). You can't pass this thing without putting in some effort that's for sure. Use Quizlet or any other study program. This book doesn't provide everything you need but as a lot of has said it's enough if you do what it took you to obtain through med school. I was ok with taking the risk that I might fail the first time. If you wish a guaranteed pass then the 100 plus dollars for one of the recommended courses. Amazing luck! p.s. Don't know why my review says paperback....I did the kindle 3 dollar version. That paperback is ridiculous for the content and typos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    When i was trying to figure out how to study for the Texas Jurisprudence medical examination , it wasn't simple to search out the resources or the material , i decided to give this a is book is an perfect introduction and very simple to read , yet some facts are ambiguous and you to read more around ere are few errors in this text book which may cost you 1-2 questions , examples :-page 77 : How a lot of days can NPs prescribe ? book respond : 30 , correct respond :90 , this is purely due to the fresh modernize by MTB.-p. 173 and page 55 , how a lot of days for PD to report a trainee that didnt present up to training , one respond is 7 days and the other page says 30 , i think it is 30 days.haven't said that the book is still perfect review book .Will i pass if i use this book only ?That's a hard question and for sure this book covers up to 60%-70% and you can test without any resources but you may be taking chances specially when you have 3 chances with this exam .I used theThe Texas Medical Jurisprudence Examination: A Self-Study Tutorial 13th Edition, 2010 , i didn't read the entire book , only when there is something that i didn't know or need more clarification , i did the 460 MCQs questions at the end of this book 2 times.What is the best method to study for this exam ?- Read Texas Jurisprudence Study Tutorial 3 times.- Do the MCQS at the end of this book : The Texas Medical Jurisprudence Examination: A Self-Study Tutorial 13th Edition, 2010- subscribe to the Texas Medical Jurisprudence Prep and use their review material and MCQs (the MCQs here are VERY VERY reflective of the true exam than the Study tutorial MCQs).With the above measures and studying for 2 weeks , i was able to pass the exam from 1st attempt and score 98%.Good Luck and i hope u folks search this useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    I’m not sure where the amazing reviews are coming from? I read this book entirely and studied it based on the reviews here. I took the exam and failed it. I then studied online and got a 96% on the test. The book is irrelevant as there have been laws passed in 2017 and 2018 which change answers to a lot of the questions. Please don’t waste your on this book and do not give yourself a false sense of security thinking that if you read this book you will pass the exam. You won’t. Online study is better is that info can be appropriately updated as deemed important by fresh laws and regulations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    First of all, this try isn't easy. You actually have to at being said, i asked around for what to do and everyone told me to take the $200 review course. I didn't think it created sense to spend $200 on a try that only cost $69 so I purchased this Ebook. I honestly spent a few weeks memorizing the whole thing and I think I passed with a 92%. Somewhat confusing but totally worth it if you are a decent memorizer. The book is set up as a question/answer set up, but sometimes the lines are off or the answers are too in depth for my limited law knowledge. I had to look some items up online. All in all, worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    Read this book twice. I really didn't like the format it was written in, and perhaps that is just me. I want they explained some of the concepts they show (I'm more of a conceptual person and can understand material better that way), but alas they don't do that. I also want they had some review questions. The worst part about this text was the number of glaring errors (both typographical and factual) which could be risky in an exam of only 50 questions requiring a >75% pass rate and is very massive on factual minutiae. Save your money, and go the Texas Medical Jurisprudence Review book by Ben White. I found that book to me much better written, much more clearly outlined and a lot easier to understand.... Did I mention that it only costs 10 bucks?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    While it's a fast read, I would strongly recommend using a various study method. The info is not clear, is contradictory to itself and has info that is simply incorrect. I reviewed and became very familiar with the content in the book. I knew what was in the book but I did not feel comfortable that I knew the Texas law. Unfortunately, using only this book, I failed the jurisprudence. While the book was much less expensive than other reviews (purchase cost), it was much more expensive when one takes into consideration the cost of my time, frustration, re-registering for test, etc... I did review an online review (I think it was called Texasjurisprudenceprep) and that was much clearer, created me feel like I understood the info and was current ( they modernize weekly). I took the try again one week later and scored 96% by only reviewing the material the different, online review. Hope this helps...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Study Guide []  2020-7-13 20:4

    You need to study for this exam. Although the question stems contain a lot of studied info from the book, you need to actually know the info to obtain the respond right. All of the above, none of the above, and A & C are in play. This book is literally just Q&A, which is fine for $3, but as other reviewers have pointed out, not all of the info agrees with other resources, and some just don't create sense. However, this book covers some things that the White and TJP doesn't address, but nothing that was covered on my exam. I wasn't tested on any specific monetary penalties. Specific categorization of violations was on my exam (Third Degree Felony vs. Class A Misdemeanor). 30 day rule was definitely in play. This is a amazing inexpensive resource, though it is available for on Quizlet, it is only $3 on Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    Passed on first attempt with a 96% using this book (only read through it 3 times the morning before the exam). I also bought the application for the questions which has beautiful much the same content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    The application that comes with this is all you need. I did the questions a few times, read over this tutorial twice and took the test. Created around an 85. Don’t spend too much time or for this test. It’s straight memorization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    Folks, this is all you need. I got a 94% after studying this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    I used this as a study tutorial before taking my JP exam and came out with a 95%. it's an simple read and highlights high yield info for the test.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    My wife ordered this to study for her exam and got 90% Not sure if I can the book fully (she is a amazing try taker and studies really hard), but it did give her the information she needed. Those who wish to pass and will place some time aside for studying won't go wrong with this aid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    One day before the exam, I read this short book twice. On the day of the exam, I read this book once and did 150 questions from the companion app. Scored 86; very happy considering the minimum effort I place tom line: Very high yield info in outline format. Excellent if you only have enough time to study one day before the exam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    I read the Texas Jurisprudence Study Tutorial by Zerris (aporox 4 hours reading time). Then did the questions from application associated with this book by Ca Nguyen (app name Jursiprudence) - takes about 3 hours (234 questions) on the day prior to exam. The book itself by Nguyen also appears to be very very concise and high yield - I reviewed early sections of it (timeline/deadlines, neglect/abuse, felonies/misdemeanors). Scored 92. Passing score 75.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    Started studying a couple days prior to exam date and went through this tutorial completely 4-5 times. Tutorial is very concise and simple to read. Did not do the application questions and still scored an 88%. Very satisfied and satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    I passed on the first attempt with a 96% using the following resources only:1) This Kindle tutorial ($2.99)2) The application associated with this tutorial ($9.99)3) The 551 flash cards available on the Quizlet app/site (called "Texas Jurisprudence Exam") (free)The resources above are absolutely unbelievable and all you need. The practice questions on the application associated with this tutorial have a related format to the exam, which is very helpful. Amazing luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam: A brief study guide []  2020-1-17 21:55

    Amazing for those who are amazing at memorizing info in bullet format. I like that the information gets repeated in several places. The information itself is more difficult to digest than your usual medical facts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Exam [App]  2019-1-22 21:35

    Amazing resource but application keeps crashing. Also lacks to ability to save your try and return to it later. These would be convenient to have so you don't have to begin the try all over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Exam [App]  2019-1-22 21:35

    Very useful. Studied ben white notes (10 bucks on amazon) 4-5 times and did these questions 2 hrs before the test. Got an 88. Actual try questions are easier than these...no need to take the expensive try prep courses

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Exam [App]  2019-1-22 21:35

    I got a 96% on the try basically just using this application and the associated tutorial ($3 on Amazon)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Exam [App]  2019-1-22 21:35

    Used this for the three days before the test, took 3 quizzes over 2 days and then the "all questions" option a couple of hours before the test, passed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Exam [App]  2019-1-22 21:35

    A must obtain for anyone preparing for the exam! So worth it. By far the most helpful in passing the exam. True exam questions are very similar. Liked the random 50 question quiz, like taking a practice exam with scoring. A+++++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Exam [App]  2019-1-22 21:35

    The application and content are really good. The only issue is that it resets if you change orientation or begin multi-app view on Android. You can't save you're progress so that's a huge allow down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Jurisprudence Exam [App]  2019-1-22 21:35

    Amazing information and questions. But the application starts from the beginning if you change the orientation of the screen or obtain out of the app. It would be great if it would save your spot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics []  2019-12-18 20:6

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics []  2019-12-18 20:6

    I have not yet taken the test, but the info in this book has informed me, afforded me confidence & and access to necessary links.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics []  2019-12-18 20:6

    This did not support on try at all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics []  2019-12-18 20:6

    Is this tutorial enough to pass the Texas Nursing Jurisprudence exam?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics []  2019-12-18 20:6

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Province of Jurisprudence Determined and The Uses of the Study of Jurisprudence (Hackett Classics) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    [Austin's] work still has its mad critics and its stubborn adherents. And never, since his death, has it been ignored. -- H.L.A. Hart, from the IntroductionProduct DescriptionThe Province of Jurisprudence Determined is of course the best-known part of Austin's work. This edition comprises the full text of Austin's The Province of Jurisprudence Determined, a classic work of moral, political, and legal philosophy, and Austin's essay on The Uses of the Study of Jurisprudence, which gives an necessary assessment of Austin's views of analytical jurisprudence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Province of Jurisprudence Determined and The Uses of the Study of Jurisprudence (Hackett Classics) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    This edition was edited by Isaiah Berlin, Stuart Hampshire, and Richard Wolfheim. As I message also that others are critiquing the facsimile editions for mistakes and illegibility, I certainly recommend this edition as it seems of mistakes and errors and the printed pages are excellent. This edition would seem to be the normal library selection of the text as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    The binding on this book was so worn out that I had to duct tape it together to prevent the pages from falling out. Other than that, just a few notes here and there throughout the book created it simple to use. I would recommend this for other college students as an alternative to buying this book for full-price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    Pages were a small sticky but I got a amazing use out of it this term. Thanks .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    Didn't really search it useful, but amazing material probably would be useful in your class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    The book was exactly what I wanted, but the book was in not good shape. Especially considering it was supposed to be a brand fresh book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    amazing deal

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    Got an A in Chem. Used my book well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    The product is great! It’s like new!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    As a student, I stupidly ordered the wrong edition for my chemistry class and had to return this. I would recommend a rental of the right full-bodied book. Only if you are a chem major would I say it outright.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    amazing book and amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Study Guide []  2020-7-8 18:34

    Amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of American Jurisprudence []  2020-2-1 21:32

    Historians, lawyers and cultural commentators--that contains you, politico types!--have tended to stray away from how law is both pathological and aetiological in America--a cause and consequence of American society. This perfect book sits alongside White, Horwitz and Louis Menand's intellectual histories and is, (madly for jurisprudential texts) a fantastically interesting read too. I can't recommend this book highly enough!It is massive going, but if you like intellectual histories of a high order, you'll wish that workout!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of American Jurisprudence []  2020-2-1 21:32

    This is an exceptionally thoughtful and well-written book. Duxbury surveys legal thought from Langdell through the Critical Legal Studies movement and on into Critical Race Theory and feminist legal thought. Although it is aimed for the legal academic audience, it would be accessible for anyone interested in the field. The book takes its title from the idea that the disparate movements in legal thought did not always represent sharp breaks so much as evolving patterns- an insightful and, at least for me, convincing only serious criticism of the book is that Duxbury's treatment of the more latest trends in legal thought seem less well developed than the first three-quarters of the book. But this is a forgivable lapse in an otherwise brilliant piece of work. Anyone seriously interested in the topic simply must take acc of Duxbury's work here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    Helpful format to read through quickly. Info given is just the nitty gritty, saved time from reading multiple pages. Amazing flexibility to read anywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    I like how it catagorizes into the sections and it covers everything you need to know on the TCOLE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of American Jurisprudence []  2020-2-1 21:32

    This book attracted a amazing of attention (both pro and con) when first published in 1995; it remains a stimulating introduction to the topic. The research for this volume is extraordinary--Duxbury apparently read everything in print before sitting down to write. The book is comprised of an introduction ("Jurisprudence as Intellectual History") and 6 rather long chapters. Duxbury proceeds from the "challenge to formalism" in the 1870's to legal realism, then on to Lasswell & McDougal's "policy science," followed by a highly interesting discussion on the legal process school, succeeded by a very long detailed examination of "economics in law," and finishing with an extended discussion of the critical legal studies veral things can be said as to Duxbury's approach. His research is so extensive that the reader is buried in footnotes and other references. Some may feel that this detracts from developing central themes, of which there are actually not too many. You can certainly disagree with some of his central tenets, as I do, yet benefit enormously from his analysis. For example, Duxbury is highly critical of legal realism (and he clearly is not enamored of Karl Llewellyn), yet his chapter on that subject is extremely valuable. One can feel that some of the zone could have been better devoted to other topics, especially when one is faced with a 121 page chapter on law and economics (a subject that apparently fascinates the author) and 90 pages on the crits. This is especially so since a lot of familiar names in particularly late twentieth-century jurisprudence are missing from his discussion. Some elements really stand out: his discussion of Lon Fuller; the acc of the legal process school, including in addition to the familiar suspects such as Hart and Sacks also Bickel; and an enlightening probing of the elusive "policy science" approach which at times seems maddingly imprecise and beyond explication as anything but three cheers for the red, white and much a resource tutorial as a treatise, the book is essential to studying the topic--whether one agrees with Duxbury or not. However, the benefits come after prolonged periods of "working through" the notes and grappling with a flood of concepts and individuals. The investment of time and energy is substantial, but the payoff strikes me as more than worth the cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of American Jurisprudence []  2020-2-1 21:32

    Neil Duxbury wrote this monumental history of modern American jurisprudence a bit over ten years ago, but it is still well worth the read. In fact, it is probably still essential reading for American law students and readers interested in understanding the contours of twentieth century American legal thought. Duxbury's central thesis is that traditional renditions of the history of American jurisprudence -- what he terms "the pendulum swing" theory of legal thought -- is outdated and in need of revision. The pendulum swing theory holds that the trajectory of American legal thought can be divided into distinct periods, characterized by formalistic and anti-formalistic premises. One era marks formalism, but then a subsequent period indicates the hegemony of anti-formalisic modes of analysis in response to the previous predominance of formalism. Then the cycle starts again. Pendulum swing accounts keep that formalistic thought dominated in the late 1800s and then again during the Cold War, while anti-formalism reigned supreme with the legal realism movement of the early twentieth century and the rise of critical legal studies in the 1970s and 1980s. Intellectual schools of thought such as realism and critical legal studies arose, according to pendulum swing accounts, as a direct effect of the perceived inadequacy of formalistic modes.Duxbury set up this pendulum swing theory partly as a straw man that he could easily knock down. In reality, beginning roughly fifteen years before his book, leading jurisprudential scholars had already questioned the efficacy of using swings between formalism and anti-formalism as a method of really understanding American legal thought. Indeed, some scholars questioned as early as the late 1970s the utility of viewing formalism as descriptive of constitutional jurisprudence during the popular (or infamous) Lochner era. Duxbury, nonetheless, brilliantly synthesized this info into a comprehensive (indeed, Duxbury is breathtaking in the amount of secondary scholarship he contains in this book) acc that took into view the whole of American legal thought in the twentieth roughout, Duxbury shows that "patterns" rather than "pendulum swings" have characterized American legal thought. Contemporary anti-formalist and formalist approaches to legal thought and decision-making thus both exist today and influence one another constantly -- indeed they have since the Reconstruction Era. Duxbury found the roots of realism, for example, not in one specific happening or turning point but in a constantly fermenting critique of formalist principles and methods begun tentatively with the work and writings of Oliver Wendell Holmes. (though Duxbury emphasizes that Holmes was a formalist in necessary respects, thus indicating that from the beginning, formalist and anti-formalist impulses have existed side-by-side). Today, critical legal studies and like approaches maintain that anti-formalist "mood" or "temperment." Likewise, formalism was never fully defeated by the realists or anyone else. It still exists in American legal life, via the case way approach still used in law schools, and in the predominance of jurists who proclaim to still be guided by it in their approach to adjudicating cases.If I had to guess I'd assume Duxbury was more sympathetic to what we could loosely define today as the more "conservative," formalistic approaches to jurisprudence ... especially process jurisprudence, which predominated American legal thought and constitutional adjudication in the 1950s and early 1960s, and the law and economics movement of the 1970s and 1980s. He seems to have far less empathy for the left-leaning critical legal studies movement. As suggested above, however, in all cases Duxbury noted continuties and the deep historical roots of all these phenomena. Thus, for example, process jurisprudence represented a jurisprudential continuity with the concern over process, principles and rationality first articulated by the formalists of Harvard Law School sixty years earliers. Likewise, critical legal scholars traced their lineage back to the reover, Duxbury noted the consensual values held by the different strands of formalists and anti-formalists. Most elements of both jurisprudential schools, for example, favored scientific approaches to legal issues, they just differed in the specific scientific methodologies to be used (formalists = the deductive tendencies of natural science; anti-formalists = the inductive methods of = social scientific empricism). Also, all schools of thought, with the possible exception of the critical legal studies movement, were interested in attaining the best approaches to the objectivity or the rule of law ... even if some realists appeared not to be concerned with this at first is is just a thumbnail sketch of a very complex and rewarding work. I recommend it for multiple, careful readings for all Amazon customers interested in understanding the major arguments and themse pervading American legal, jurisprudential thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    This Is a amazing tool, the book simple to understand concepts and reference. I have completed a quarter of the book since it’s arrival 3 days ago, and I can’t believe how simple it is to work through. Amazing buy!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    This study tutorial is so simple to understand, and simple to follow. I believe it’s going to support me a lot in the next 4 months when I obtain ready to conduct my TCOLE Exam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    This was an perfect tool for me because it was ideal for my schedule. Between work, school, church, family, and the unexpected, I am always on the go. Being able to study on the go on my device was so helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    Flashcard format was useful and simple to use! Created key points on locations of significance for the 068. Read for a solid resource prep tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide 2020: TSI Assessment Test Prep and Practice Questions for Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-6-16 19:10

    Just bought this book to study and has very amazing information. Simple to understand and read. Will definitely support you pass your test.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    Like the method the flash cards revisited subjects in various ways. Also liked the flash cards that give tips and words to remember.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    Simple to use and fast references. A very amazing format to use as a study guide. Will continue to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    Amazing tid bit information that I never would of thought of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    Have just received the book. From a glance the book looks to be a amazing compressed ver that will be easier to relate to. My only dissatisfaction would be I would like to see more practice exams.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    This study tutorial was not only helpful in helping studying and it breaks it down to what you need to know to be tested, it helped me write my class notebook tremendously by summarizations. Best investment aid. Highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ASTB STUDY GUIDE: OFFICER EXAM STUDY GUIDE []  2020-7-26 18:33

    It reads like someone's notes, does not go into info and lacks in subjects, missing viable info and materials for the test.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    I like seeing the list matching quizlet in a lot of various places. I am somewhat more comfortable than I was before getting it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    Amazing review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    There is still so much items the book doesnt go over that is on the test. Even the course program didn't go over MOST try questions. This book is ok for some info. But it's not a reliable source of information as the only study guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    Purchased - TCOLE Exam Study GuideProduct Rating - 5Feedback - This tutorial has been informational and has helped me better prepare for the exam. The practice try has been helpful and there are some subjects that are more informative than other study tutorials I have been using.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    Looking at the study material place together by Mometrix, this looks like it will be just what I need to successfully pass my upcoming exam. I can not wait to begin studying!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide 2020: TSI Assessment Test Prep and Practice Questions for Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-6-16 19:10

    Still confusing but amazing study book. I clearly need a refresher course being out of school for 15yrs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    This was a amazing study resource. There were a few typos on cards, but I prefer these to making my own! Very simple to flip through on my iPhone, making random times study times! (FYI - I passed the 068.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TeXes Principal 068 Exam Flash Cards: A Study Guide for the Texas Principal's Exam []  2019-12-18 20:55

    Passed my test! It gave me some vocabulary required and Acronyms that clarified the meaning! Amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    I am preparing to challenge the TCOLE exam and have enrolled in an online course. The study tutorial has been an enormous support in understanding the material and the language the course uses by explaining each article in the CCP in a manner that flows and is simple to read and comprehend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TCOLE Test Secrets Study Guide: TCOLE Exam Review for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement []  2020-3-30 18:36

    So far my impression and experience of text have bee excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ASTB STUDY GUIDE: OFFICER EXAM STUDY GUIDE []  2020-7-26 18:33

    I took the try prior to looking at this, because I had other books... but i did not do so amazing on the test. now that i am looking at the study guide. It has related questions to the test, but i dont search it helpful. I dont like the format. it doesnt have sample questions... you are better off with the barrons military flight aptitude test.wish you the best of luck.I plan to take it in a month.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ASTB STUDY GUIDE: OFFICER EXAM STUDY GUIDE []  2020-7-26 18:33

    Too general, and too short. I don't recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ASTB STUDY GUIDE: OFFICER EXAM STUDY GUIDE []  2020-7-26 18:33

    Its only like 5 pages, no examples, no questions or answers. You can search better support on any military website.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ASTB STUDY GUIDE: OFFICER EXAM STUDY GUIDE []  2020-7-26 18:33

    oes not prepare for a try that progressively gets harder. This book is amazing for building a foundation for the ASTBE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    I just started reading this study tutorial yesterday and I have already found 2 errors on the 1st 3 practice tests. I am guessing they are typo's but either method I am not sure how much to trust what I am being taught by the book. So far I have done practice tests for Vocabulary, Critical Reading, and Arithmetic Reasoning. I am curious what other typos may be hiding and not be so simple to catch. People are setup to fail if they just marked their respond wrong and tried to memorize the book respond without reading the explanation.1st typo (issue) on Practice Try 1 ion 35 - Defer most nearly means:A. RemoveB. CancelC. QuietD. Dela (Yes, the book said Dela. I had no idea what it was so I was not thinking about it.)As those were my choices, it most nearly meant remove to me.Answer D. Delay (Boy that "y" sure makes a difference!)2nd typo (issue) on Practice Try 1 ion 24 - What is the relationship between 240 and 2?A. =B. >C.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    My daughter has a learning disability and this study workbook was much easier for her than the TSI Assessment by Mometrix. We love the 30 day study schedule since it helps break down the studying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    No more cramming! No more wasted study time! Begin off the right method and use this book. It will change the method you study for the better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    Take it from me--I snapped up multiple study books and this was the only one I ere are a lot of options on the market, don't look any further! If you are reading the reviews--here's your sign! This book covers everything you will need! You can study at your own pace, or use their 30 Day plan...either way, you'll be ready. I scored incredibly well...with much less stress than I normally experience on tests!Spire nailed it- I am telling everyone to obtain this proven study system...the is right too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    This is by far my favorite method to prepare for an exam. The 30 day review is a amazing method to pace yourself on learning the material. It’s very easy to follow, formatted very well, and provides sample questions related to what you will see on the test. I would recommend this study tutorial to anyone who is looking for a self-paced guided review. It can also be used as a amazing classroom resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    I am definitely happy with my purchase. This study tutorial helped me with my Math, Reading and Writing skills. It tells you what to prepare for, really helpful, it a dozens of info and is simple to follow. I liked how it's organised. I now feel confident about the test.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    If you are going to take the TSI exam this is the study tutorial for you. It is very well organized and may be various than one is used to but it works in regards to getting ready for the test. It is very necessary to take the practice tests when you are done with each chapter. It is my opinion in to pass the TSI try using this book is a must.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    Really amazing book for the price!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    This is an perfect study tool to prepare the right method for the test. A lot of of examples in a range of categories that will challenge you to think. It has 4 various study modules which allows you to study and prepare on all material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TSI Study Guide: TSI Test Prep Guide with Practice Test Review Questions for the Texas Success Initiative Exam []  2020-8-24 18:27

    The TSI is a very necessary try and you need to create sure you're up to task. This tutorial is extremely helpful, including a series of study plans, try questions and even questions very related to try questions you'll be seeing on your own TSI. This is an amazing tutorial that will support you obtain the desired results to manage your studying and obtain your degree in a reasonable amount of time. Spire Study System is dedicated to creating effective study tutorials with modern-day brain training techniques, this product definitely proves this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    Useless app. Its does not work offline. Might as well google the material for rather than $5 for this piece of garbage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    I would give 5 Stars if it had a APFT Calculator and if find function worked. Along with ability to change background to white or whatever the white on black is annoying to look at IMO.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    Was useful, but includes wrong info for some sections.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    Application stop working.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    Amazing app, im using it for my 6 board. Only thing is the portion about NCOERS is using the old form. It is no long the 2166-8 its now 2166-9

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    I can't begin without wifi. Please fix it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    Could add drill n ceremonies /sapper creed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    Love it. Helped me victory soldier of the year for bat

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    I bought the application to study for the soldier of the month board here in Kuwait. Every penny is worth it. I use this application to study in my off time. ArmyADP is updated regularly and is method more intuitive than armystudyguide. I would love to see a "Random Flash Cards" and other study tools. Very amazing application nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 13:8

    Amazing application but no DNC or Military Justice? With an application that you for i figured that would be on there atleast

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 21:8

    I really have fun having it on my phone. In addition to the flashcards, I would recommend having the freedom to select only the subjects you need based on your MOI and shuffle them together to study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 21:8

    Needs to modernize the NCOER portion of the study guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 21:8

    I would give 5 Stars if it had a APFT Calculator and if find function worked. Along with ability to change background to white or whatever the white on black is annoying to look at IMO.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 21:8

    Helped out alot with the E-6 board and I will recommend to my soldiers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Army Study Guide Deluxe [App]  2018-2-2 21:8

    It's supposed to have an asu set up but it doesn't?? So false advertisement or what??

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386