the princess diarist Reviews & Opinions


Submit the princess diarist review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    The first thing you should know, if you happen to be a Star Battles fan and are expecting a tale of romance between Han Solo and Princess Leia, you will be disappointed. This is a rather unromantic acc of a 3 month affair between two co-stars who were attracted to each other: one a stoic, complicated, reserved married father of 2 just starting to realize his dreams of making it big, and the other, a vivacious, emotionally inexperienced 19 year old woman with a huge personality wanting to begin her life as an adult. Problem is, she doesn't know how to handle it. And his method of handling it is to be unemotional and silent.************The Following May Include Details***************************************************The first part of the book is written in Carrie's chatty, charming, self-depreciating style as she tells of her early life working as a backup singer in her mother's dozens show. Father is absent, having left mother for Elizabeth Taylor (and Carrie manages to throw a few zinger his method as well.) She takes us through the auditions for both Star Battles and the film Carrie right up through how she chose that cinnamon bun hairstyle. As for as a behind-the-scenes look at the movie, that's about it. The rest is her acc as that vulnerable 19 year old with the witty mouth who exudes faked confidence, who decided that she was going to have an affair on the film set. No married men, thank you very much, especially that intense, quiet, but gorgeous co-star. Not like he'd ever go for someone like her, anyway, right? All too soon, she's left wondering at what the gorgeous stranger in her bed is doing with the likes of her. And so ensues a 3 month secret affair conducted during the weekends, between two people who are at very various locations in their lives..There are no explicit details, just a couple of conversations.. (No, she never critiques his technique as a lover..) And you don't obtain his side of the story, of course, because this is based on her own recollections and some diaries she found when renovating her bedroom. The diary section is raw and painful and messy and sad and wounded as one might expect a young woman's recollections to be over a doomed affair. She writes a lot of poems, songs, and prose on her feelings of the situation and does not keep back. Around him, she finds herself self-conscious and nervous. She laments that they have no feeling for each other, that he should have stayed a stranger, that he's unemotional, silent, the MarlboroMan, boring, two-dimentional, quiet, and she's falling in love and falling apart. She has already established that she's insecure (most people I know are insecure - me included) and young (rather unworldly and a bit naive as 19 year olds tend to be), so mix that with a grown man who is emotionally unavailable, and this is what you de Commentary:Did he know she felt this way, or did he not? Hard to say because neither of them were talking about their feelings with each other, but if he did I would imagine he did not wish to encourage her, as he was married and had a family, and knew where this would lead. Given the fact that this lasted 3 months, I can't imagine he had no feelings about it, even if he didn't present them (it's a well-known and often told fact that Harrison took drama classes in college to overcome his shyness. Or maybe he's introverted. Or maybe he's just a guy. Who knows?) Maybe he felt guilty, not just for cheating, not just for his wife, but for Carrie as well, for embarking on a 'casual' affair that turned out to not be so 'casual' afterall. Something done in theory is always various in fact.And another thing:The items Carrie writes in her journal reads like an exposed nerve, but it's the items she's thinking and feeling - the angsty kind of items you write in a diary - not the items you share with a guy, especially one who's married (so maybe he didn't know, but I'm still betting he did.) I'm sure most of you know that this is how women are - if you pass us in the hall at school and say 'hi', we're already wondering if this is the story we'll tell at our engagement party, of how we first met. We obtain melodramatic; It's just what we did not end badly - it just ended (with a bit of relief and no regret.)The latest part of the book fast-forwards 40 years. She writes that she knows Harrison better now and he still leaves her tongue-tied. If she was not proud of herself for having an affair with a married man (as she writes), I can only imagine he was not proud of himself either. (Also, she mentions that he is not a womanizer, and as far as she knows, she was his only affair and he was faithful to his other wives.) And they've never mentioned it since. Until why tell this story at all? Well, Carrie found those diaries and began reading them, remembering that time in her life fondly, even gratefully. As we obtain older, remembering a time in our lives when everything was in front of us, when we were young and relevent and everything is new, becomes necessary (she writes this in various words.) And she loves being Princess Leia, and is proud of it. She says and writes that she has no desire to embarrass Harrison or damage anyone with this old story, and she did call him and talk with him about it. He didn't object or ask her to change anything. This did not happen yesterday - it happened 40 years ago. To read the diaries of the naive girl you were at 19 from the perspective of an older, wiser 60 year old is surreal. I hold diaries, too, and, while I've never had an affair with Harrison Ford (darn! and I'm not near 60 yet), I'm still shocked at the angst and drama of my former self, and what a particular situation meant to me and how it's shaped me. This is something Carrie wanted to share because she found those diaries and it's a part of the history of that time in their lives, and because and she can look back on it now in a various method (time has a method of taking the sting out of such things.).And it's necessary to note that this is from her point of view as a 19 year old girl/woman - not now, who didn't understand that there are no such things as 'no-strings-attached' affairs. I'm betting Harrison learned that too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    One of those rare times where the audiobook is best, simply because Carrie's narration is so superb. It doesn't sound as though she's reading it from the page, it's as though she's just talking to you. Shows you how amazing an actor she is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    I read "The Princess Diarist" today, after hearing that she had died this morning. I knew she was a complex personality, with a wry wit & ragged edge, and unusual honesty. This latest memoir of hers really gives an wonderful glimpse into her mind & her life. It is raw & true & beautiful.. funny & telling, at the same time. The book is full of stories, anecdotes, poetry, & impressions. Carrie Fisher was very sharp & perceptive & sweet & unique. I found reading it to be a unbelievable method to obtain to know more about her & to celebrate her memory.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the princess diarist or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the princess diarist video reviews and related movies:

    See The Princess Diarist Audiobook Excerpt on youtube.

     related image

    See Carrie Fisher: My Affair With Harrison Ford 'Was A 3-Month 1-Night Stand' | TODAY on youtube.

     related image

    See REVIEW | The Princess Diarist on youtube.

     related image

    See Billie Lourd Discusses Her Mother, Carrie Fisher, Working With Harrison Ford on youtube.

     related image

    See Carrie Fisher: Even In Space There's A Double Standard For Women on youtube.

     related image

    See Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher Audiobook on youtube.

     related image

    See The Princess Diarist - Spoiler Free Review on youtube.

     related image

    See Carrie Fisher: The Princess Diaries | Star Wars Celebration Europe 2016 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    In "The Princess Diarist", Carrie Fisher looks back on the legacy of her most popular role shortly after reprising Princess Leia in "The Force Awakens". Both funny and thoughtful, Fisher's writing continues to entertain and demonstrate why the woman behind the hero remains significant. Fisher's biggest revelation focuses on her affair with Harrison Ford, which she frames versus being young in Hollywood. The middle of her book, and the biggest section, reprints excerpts from the diary she kept while working on "Star Wars". Fisher's passing shortly after the release of this book makes a lot of of the passages all the more poignant. When she examines her legacy or how she thinks she'll be remembered, it's hard not to feel a tug at one's heartstrings. As her final written work, "The Princess Diarist" offers enjoyable proof that Fisher's legacy is secure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    Carrie Fisher bravely shares a secret she has kept for decades, and what life has been like living in Princess Leia's shadow. She is a lot more serious and solemn in this book than she was in Wishful Drinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    I want there were half stars, I'd give her a 3.75. She is a unbelievable writer and an obviously bright person. But the topic matter discussed here becomes redundant. Her relationship with Harrson Ford during the making of SW which she brilliantly describes as 'a really long one night stand' could have been handled in abt half the time. And the stories of fantatic lunatic fans as well. What does come through in this book is her bright spirit. As well as her clear ability to convey what set her apart from a globe of Hollywood carbon copies -- an opinion that was her own in an intelligent, sometimes irreverent voice. I will read her other books. RIP Carrie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    Knowing the method Ms Fisher writes, and also about her turbulent relationship with Star Battles over the years, I was not expecting a blow-by-blow behind the scenes acc of the making of the movie. And as the huge news when it was released was the revelation of her affair with Harrison Ford, I certainly was expecting that to be in there someplace. What I was not expecting was for most of the book to be either about that affair, or about how much it apparently screwed her up for years afterwards. The first part goes along beautiful nicely, her going through the auditions, meeting some of the people involved, but once she is cast, Star Battles mostly goes out the window in favor of page after page of talk about this weird relationship she had with ford, which apparently mostly consisted of them never talking about anything, screwing on weekends, and then not talking some more. The middle of the book are pages from the diary itself, but these are not of the "Tuesday, March 10th" variety, instead it's a lot of stream of consciousness psychological rambling with occasional poetry thrown in. Then finally, the latest part is about dealing with fame, mostly by simultaneously @#$%!ing about fans while at the same time saying how unbelievable they are, often in the same sentence, and a lot of times using imaginary conversations to present how obnoxious or desperate for attention these fans could be. Overall, it's a sad book. Not only because of her death but because of how she allowed all of this to destroy her. And it did destroy her, one only needs to read the underlying subtext to so much of this book to see that. I almost feel guilty for reading it, like a voyeur who has seen something he shouldn't have. Having just recently finished Michael Palin's 3 volumes of diaries, I guess I had hoped for something similar. A telling of the story of the creation of something awesome from within, by someone who was there. Instead, it's the story of someone getting in over her head and then never quite coming up for air.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    I can understand that she was sucked up by her character, the Star Battles films have always been bigger than life. Some of it was hard to read, the method it was written, but some of it was before her issues were diagnosed. She must have had an interesting time of things with people who couldn't comprehend that Carrie was a person and Princess Leia was just a part she played in some amazing movies. It is no wonder that she ended up trying to live a life where she was both whenever she walked out in public. The book was an interesting read. But you should also test to see the documentary they just created about Carrie and her mom (Debbie Reynolds), it sheds more light on her life and her relationship with her mom before she passed away. Carrie was a special and unique person from what I've read and seen of her career. She'll be missed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    Oh I'm so glad I bought this before Carrie passed away. What I love is how begin she is in her writing. She rambles a bit, but it's her and you obtain to feel like you understand the method she thinks and her personality a bit more. I will warn you, you might not feel the same towards Harrison Ford. The idea of him in his 30's with a 19 year old, (while he is married with kids,) slightly creeps me out. Some of the parts are slow going, but I kept reading because I just felt like I wanted to understand what it was like for her. In the end, I wanted to hear more. Maybe, like she had talked in her book, her diaries might one day be published. Who knows, but if it is, I'm likely to buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Diarist review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    When Carrie Fisher recently discovered the journals she kept during the filming of the first Star Battles movie, she was astonished to see what they had preserved—plaintive love poems, unbridled musings with youthful naiveté, and a vulnerability that she barely recognized. Today, her fame as an author, actress, and pop-culture icon is indisputable, but in 1977, Carrie Fisher was just a teenager with an all-consuming crush on her costar, Harrison Ford. With these excerpts from her handwritten notebooks, The Princess Diarist is Fisher’s intimate and revealing recollection of what happened on one of the most popular movie sets of all time—and what developed behind the scenes. Fisher also ponders the joys and insanity of celebrity, and the absurdity of a life spawned by Hollywood royalty, only to be surpassed by her own outer-space royalty. Laugh-out-loud hilarious and endlessly quotable, The Princess Diarist brims with the candor and introspection of a diary while offering shrewd insight into the type of stardom that few will ever Thoughts: A thoroughly enjoyable foray into the past, The Princess Diarist showed the author’s trademark humor, self-deprecatory descriptions, and the skill of the wordsmith that have followed her in all of her work. Additionally, the images were some I had never seen before.I liked how she tastefully revealed the love affair that had been a secret for years. I felt as though I could see into her heart as she revealed her anxieties about that relationship, while also allowing us to have fun the thrill she felt, most precious because she also knew that it was a temporary ose insecurities came out most in the diary entries, written by her younger self. She was nineteen at the time, while Harrison Ford was in his thirties. Her anecdotes of their short relationship, which she has characterized as a three-month one-night stand, reveal much about their personalities then…and later, too.Her thoughts forty years later were also typically witty, even about very emotional topics. While she honestly revealed her thoughts and feelings, she was also able to mask the pain with her wit.I especially enjoyed her anecdotes about the Princess Leia iconic photos and the ongoing fan reactions, especially as time went by. Were her portrayals of Princess Leia her most defining moments? Must she constantly be confronted by the images, including dolls that commemorated her youthful life? Then again, without those reminders, would the fame have faded?Fortunately, other films and her bestselling novels added to her dly, since Carrie Fisher’s passing in December 2016, we all must confront the reality that we will forever be looking into the rear view mirror when we think of her. I cherish the books and films I own, and especially enjoyed this latest memoir, the one she was celebrating at the time of her death. 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    My eyes are gritty and I can barely see the keyboard. I stayed up most of the night to finish this book. It's that good! Victoria Knight has a most unusual background. She is the illegitimate daughter of a woman whose family own several inns and ... the Prince Regent of England! Victoria has chosen to hide her Royal connections and has become a governess with the ambition of someday owning her own school. All is going well until the brother of her recent employer tries to create her his mistress. When she refuses, he tries to rape her and she accidentally pushes him down the stairs they are fighting on. Accused of murder by her employer, her Royal relations come to her aid and send her to Scotland to work for Nicholas Kendrick, the Earl of Arnprior. She discovers that her youngest charge is a 15 year old invalid and his older brothers, who are more than a small rough around the edges. This story borrows a lot from one of my all-time favorite musicals 'Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.' The dialogue is witty and the humor is plentiful, with just enough danger lurking in the background to hold the story moving nicely. Although the story doesn't really have much of a 'Regency or Highland feel' (for some reason it felt Victorian to me), it has such a amazing cast of characters that I just didn't care. I loved the heroine and the sexual tension between the H/h was well done. This author is fresh to me but I intend to search more of her books...hopefully starting with Royal Kendrick.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    Well plotted and paced, a gratifying read, excellent winter afternoon mental getaway. I would readily read more by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    I absolutely loved this installment of The Improper Princesses!Victoria Knight is and governess and the natural daughter of the Prince Regent and Aden's half-sister, after landing herself in a bit of problem at her latest post, she turned to Sir Dominick for r Dominick suggests that Victoria take a position in Scotland while he and her brother straighten out her problem. But he recommends that Victoria hold her reason for taking a post in Scotland to herself. Upon arriving at the Kendrick's castle, Victoria is not sure that she is better off in Scotland and that maybe it would be better to return to London and face the consequences her cholas Kendrick, Earl of Arnprior needs help, he has returned home after years of battle to complete chaos. His estate needs attention, his grandfather is a menace and his brothers have been running wild. When Sir Dominick recommends Victoria to him, he jumps at the possibility to hire ter a very rocky start, Victoria settles in to life with the Kendricks and starts to feel at home with the rough and rowdy bunch of highlanders, especially Nick. When Victoria begins to unravel Nick's secrets, they grow closer and end up being caught in a compromising position. Nick immediately suggests they marry, but Victoria has secrets of her own and tries her best to hold Nick at an arm's ck is not the sort of man that will take no for an answer, he wants Victoria, she is light and joy in a life that has known too much grief, betrayal, pain and darkness. He sets out to woo her and in doing so, shares his deepest, darkest secrets. When Victoria finally agrees to marry him and it appears that they will obtain their HEA, everything goes wrong. Nick learns Victoria's secret and is deeply damage and lashes out at her. For her part, Victoria accepts his vitriol and breaks their engagement. But before she can return to London, issues arise and someone from Victoria's past is determined to see her is was a amazing story, it is well written and flows wonderfully. The story is chock full of emotion and humor, as well as steamy loves scenes and tense life or death moments. This story takes off at a gallop and doesn't slow down until the very latest page. It was truly the best book in the series and I highly recommend it. It could be read as a stand alone title, but I recommend reading the books in order for maximum reader enjoyment.I certainly hope Ms. Kelly is planning a series for the Kendrick brothers, because it would be vastly unfair to introduce me to 6 handsome highlanders and then leaving me hanging!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    The Highlander's Princess Bride is both a charming Regency romp and a searing indictment of male attitudes towards women's rights in the period, and I absolutely loved every word of it. It has everything you might wish from a Highlander romance; a sexy, brooding Scotsman - in fact, a whole family of seven brothers - a guild laird, a castle, and more kilts than you could shake a skean dhu at.Where things obtain interesting with this novel is with the princess in question, because Victoria isn't really a princess. She is, in fact, an illegitimate daughter of the Prince Regent and a Brighton barmaid, and being of such dubious background, she knows very well that she will spend her whole life fighting an uphill war to gain any kind of vertheless, Victoria is absolutely no quitter. She's a professional governess and she's very, very amazing at what she does. When her employer's rakish brother tries to force himself on her, she has no compunctions about defending e really didn't intend for him to end up dead. Now, accused of murder, she turns for support to some of her strong relations, who promptly search her another position safely out of the method while things quiet down. Beggars can't be choosers, though, and instead of two or three nice young ladies to teach piano and French to, she's shipped off to a drafty Scottish castle to test and educate a whole gang of barbarian Scots to fit into polite cholas Kendrick, Earl of Arnprior, has too much tragedy and disaster in his background to wish any more problem on his doorstep. When Victoria manages versus all the odds to not only tame his brothers, but victory the respect of his Sassenach-hating grandfather, he finds himself hopelessly in love with her even though he knows she's keeping secrets. He's the most unbelievable character I've ever read in a Regency romance; there's an awesome line where he tells her that he knows she has her secrets (right after he just confessed all of his) but that it's all fine. He doesn't need to know all her secrets to love her, and maybe one day she'll trust him enough to share.Of course, finding out she's accused of murder is a rather huge secret, and he has a brief moment of shock, but to his credit he gets over himself within moments, knowing very well that she's not capable of what she's accused of. The loyalty he and his brothers present Victoria is utterly wonderful; I search myself hoping that Vanessa Kelly starts a whole fresh series of 7 Brides for the Kendrick Brothers, because believe me, they all deserved ere was a huge cast of characters in this book, some of them who have obviously featured in previous novels. It wasn't important to be familiar with them, though, as everyone got their own neat small introduction. Fans of Ms. Kelly's prior works will have fun revisiting with former favorites, and those fresh to her work will, as I was, be inspired to go and hunt down all her other books!This is a fabulous book and I want I could give it more than 5 stars, but 5 will have to do.Disclaimer: I received a review copy of this book through NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    We all know romance novels are sweet and sexy. That’s why we love them, right? But some are also downright funny too. Every book in Vanessa Kelly’s Improper Princesses series has been fun to read, but this one especially, with its hilarious misadventures and witty dialogue, had me laughing, sighing, and wishing I could move to the highlands. Victoria Knight found herself in need of a fresh governess position quickly. One that could take her as far away from London and the possible scandal she faced there as possible. So she found herself in the Scottish highlands as governess to the younger brothers of Nicholas Kendrick, Earl of Arnprior. To her surprise though, these charges weren’t kids but 5 brawny Highland men. Hellions to be exact. Victoria wasn’t a quitter though and she required the position. Also, the handsome, rugged earl might have played a small part in her decision to stay. Nicholas Kendrick required someone to transform his unmarriageable brothers. His masculine influence hadn’t worked. He blamed himself. Tragedy in Nick’s past had led him to join the troops and abandon his family when they required him most. Nick had been able to command units but seemed to fail with his own household. Maybe a woman’s civilizing guidance would work. There hadn’t been a female in residence at Castle Kinglas in years. Perhaps a genteel female would prove a amazing example for everyone. But one look at the too pretty, too slender, too pale Miss Knight and Nick doubted she’d create it a week. Victoria though, having grown up in a coaching inn and having learned to deal with unruly, drunken males, was prepared for the shenanigans her fresh charges might pull. Nick was impressed with her self-discipline and ability to defend herself. Watching this dainty, lady-like governess ruthlessly manipulate his brothers was the most entertaining thing he’d seen in a long time. With Victoria in his home, he couldn’t remember the latest time he’d enjoyed himself so. Truth be told, he liked her. Very much. But she was his servant no matter how beautiful or kind, and he didn’t dally with servants. Victoria was not unaffected by Nick either. His commanding manner and intense gaze unsettled her. And when he smiled, it was devastating. Test as they might to deny the attraction they had for each other, they soon gave in. They both tried to remain proper but one touch and they were lost. Victoria’s warmth chased away Nick’s grim memories. For Victoria, her tensions and fears about London slid away, replaced with feeling warm, safe, and cherished. For the first time in years, they felt like they were regaining something that was lost to them. But Victoria’s past, a past she has kept hidden from Nick, is following her and threatening to bring scandal and problem down on the home and people she’s come to love. I loved Victoria and Nick. They were such fun, likeable characters. I liked that Victoria didn’t back down when things got tough. Just as she was prepared to face the scandal in London head on, she was also prepared to face whatever the Kendrick men threw at her. I empathized with her hating to disappoint people and quit. And I definitely empathized with her inability to not goggle at a amazing looking man in a kilt. My favorite thing about Nick was his devotion to his family. He carried a lot of responsibility, sorrow, and guilt but he wanted to do what was best for them. I loved that he knew how to play to Victoria’s sense of guilt to obtain his way. And though he often place his foot in his mouth when telling Victoria how he felt, he truly was a charmer. Their interactions were so much fun to read. His proposal was hysterical. And note to self: never drink while reading Vanessa Kelly. When, in the middle of lovemaking, Victoria instructed Nick to “carry on”, I almost snorted tea all over my kindle! This book has some of the best secondary characters I’ve read in a long time. They all shout for a spin off story of their own. I adored sweet, sensitive Kade who wanted so much for everyone to be happy. I loved the brooding, dark Royal and his mysterious relationship with Ainsley. I felt for not good guilt-ridden Logan and his need for his brother’s forgiveness. I even adored Angus, the crotchety, deranged highlander patriarch. I think the twins, Graeme and Grant, were my favorites. I couldn’t support but envision the Weasley twins. Their attempts to run Victoria off reminded me of the hijinks in the old Parent Trap movie. The family dynamics were beautifully portrayed in this story. For a family so often at odds, they truly did love each other, and I loved that they were united in bringing Victoria and Nick together. This entire series has been a delight to read. Vanessa Kelly is a master at writing laughter-laced romances. If you’re looking for a story with a generous measure of humor and passion, you’ll fall in love with this one. And if, like me, you have a thing for Scots in kilts, you’ll be over the moon! I voluntarily read an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    There was never a single moment in THE HIGHLANDER’S PRINCESS BRIDE where I was not totally immersed in the events of this outstanding story. Often a book will hold me enthralled during certain parts, but this story is one of those rare novels where my attention only increased because of how much reading pleasure I was receiving. My emotions ran through a wide range of sentiments, from uncontrollable laughter to deepest worry, and each feeling was because of the very true circumstances being depicted. Vanessa Kelly managed to make imaginative scenes at all times, where characters and situations are extremely believable. This is the third book in The Improper Princesses series, and the a lot of first-time characters were fascinating while those already met were still charmingly likable. I never wanted this story to end because of how much I enjoyed every nce the father of Victoria Knight was the Prince Regent and not married to her mother who worked at an inn, she was glad her career as a governess has been successful since society looks down on people like her. When an incident makes it important for her to seek a fresh position, she learns about a man in Scotland who needs someone with her skills to instruct his brothers. Thrilled at the prospect of still being able to teach, Victoria prepares to leave London for the colder Scottish Highlands.Upon her arrival, she discovers her fresh home is a rather gloomy castle. Its owner is Nicholas Kendrick, Earl of Arnprior, and her students are actually much older than her normal charges. It seems control over his siblings has been lost, and he thinks perhaps a woman’s influence will create them listen. Though versus her better judgment, Victoria agrees to test and achieve at least some of the requirements which Nick wants his brothers to accomplish. Then her situation takes an unforeseen turn that she never saw coming.I truly adore the Kendrick family, as this huge group of Scottish men had such winning personalities. From the oldest to the youngest, I could not support but love these males, even when they pulled a practical joke or created a tactless comment. I laughed so hard at some of their more comical adventures, while I was touched when their more sensitive side was on display. I can only hope the author has some ideas for future books which will feature these charming men.Once again, Vanessa Kelly brings the Regency period to life with delightful characters, engaging emotions, and unexpected twists. Victoria is a spirited woman trying to create the best of her situation, but life is not always fair. Even when happenings are versus her, she keeps a clear head and does her best to reach a goal. Her logical mind and calm behavior certainly come in handy when she meets the Kendrick family, as issues hold mounting. I really felt for Nick at times, as his life has not been simple either. The responses of this couple were genuine and honest as they worked through their troubles, whether it was raw emotion or witty comebacks. When it comes to sexual passion, Nick and Victoria express their needs to the fullest during encounters that are lusty yet also amusingly fun. THE HIGHLANDER’S PRINCESS BRIDE is filled with realism, and I just want these characters could have actually existed.I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher via NetGalley, and all comments are my honest opinion

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!OH MY WORD! Love it when huge poor highlanders obtain a small proper English and create it their own! I absolutely loved this book and I am so hoping that another series comes out of this one. I can see where it would!The Highlander's Princess Bride is the third book in Vanessa Kelly "The Improper Princesses" and you do not need to read the first two to appreciate this book but please pick them up and immerse yourself into this globe Vanessa creates. This series is also a spin off the another series called "The Renegade Royals". A historical romance set in the regency era, it certainly takes us out of the ballrooms and gives us a unbelievable dose of highlander and all they entice in us romantic ctoria Knight is the illegitimate daughter of the Prince Regent and a barmaid, and while she is the shame of her mother's family, she has created an executive decision to not be anything like her mother and her free ways. Through hard work and determination, Victoria works hard and becomes a respectable governess that is considered to be strict but fair. She is disciplined, has a amazing head on her shoulders, has a knack for dealing with humourous pranksters, and an uncanny ability to sneak into the sternness of hearts. She makes one poor decision however and finds herself in very hot water. Having to flee her secret, she finds employment in the Highlands by becoming the governess of several grown Highlander men and a [email protected]#$% grandfather who all need a swift kick in their ignorant ways. Victoria is about to obtain a true lesson herself though, when she finds herself slowly coming to adore these pains in her butt, and fall in love with the man who hired her cholas Kendrick, Earl of Arnprior is my ideal book boyfriend. He is the head of his unruly family and fed up with the nonsense they create. He is handsome, powerful willed and holds a few secrets close to his chest. When he hires Victoria he is taken aback at her methods to tame his brothers and a deep seated respect and loyalty start to set in. He falls in love with her, but he also knows she is guarding secrets close to her heart, and wants her to trust him enough to allow him support and protect her. Even if that needs to occur at her pace.I ADORED the laughter I experienced reading this book. So very well matched, these two leads had quite the journey to obtain their HEA, but what a journey that was. I love how fierce and protective the men became of Victoria (especially when problem comes knocking) and I love that she became protective of them. She truely blended into this family despite the harsh begin they all had. I even didn't mind the Grandpa Dearest who was a douche for a amazing chunk of the book, but I will admit there were times I was thinking "Enough already jerkface!" LOLA very powerful historical romance from Vanessa and I am going to create an effort to check out her previous books because I really enjoyed her writing that much. If you are looking for a chuckle this holiday season, love your Highlanders err.. difficult but so irresistible, and a woman who is not afraid to place them in their put then by all means do check this book out. I for one am really hoping that these brothers are another spin off series.HAPPY READING! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    Publisher's Description:In Vanessa Kelly’s enchanting series, three young women descended from royalty overcome their scandalous beginnings to victory the hearts of the ton’s most eligible men . . .The illegitimate daughter of the Prince Regent might be expected to pursue different dubious professions. Actress, perhaps, or artist’s model. Even courtesan. Victoria Knight, however, has become a governess—a respectable choice, until she travels to Scotland to meet her fresh charges. The younger brothers of Nicholas Kendrick, Earl of Arnprior, aren’t kids at all. They’re brawny, wild Highland men. As for the Earl, he’s handsome, guarded, and far too compelling . . . especially for a woman hiding a dark ck needs a proper teacher to transform his unmarriageable brothers—and a sensible, straight-laced wife for himself. Miss Knight seems to fit the bill on both counts. But he soon discovers there is more to Victoria than he thought. It’s not just her notorious origins, or the danger that’s followed her all the method to Scotland. It’s the fiery loyalty beneath that sedate façade. This, the true Victoria, is the woman Nick is starting to desire so desperately. And what an earl wants, he’ll use every seductive means to obtain . . .My Thoughts:This whole series has been delightful to date. I wouldn't miss one of this series. All have truly been books for the keeper ctoria Knight has more than one secret when she leaves London to take a governess position in the agine her surprise to search her charges aren't kids at all, but nearly grown and brawny highlanders with the exception of the youngest who is e earl who is not only handsome and single is also in desperate need of someone to support him obtain his brothers under control.Our heroine takes one look at the unruly squad and decides she doesn't wish the position after ck needs her to stay though and getting her to change her mind about leaving becomes his first priority.Will these two tell each other their secrets or will hiding sins from their past tear them apart?This wonderfully wrought if a bit convoluted tale is one for the keeper shelf and although it is book number three of this series it can easily be read as a standalone as there are only cameo appearances of characters from the first two books of the series.I gave this book 4.5 of 5.0 stars for storyline and characterization and a sensual rating of 3.75 of 5.0 flames. The intimacy between our character and heroine was long in coming but sensual none the less.I received a complimentary digital ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley to read. This in no method affected my opinion of this book which I read and reviewed voluntarily.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    It feels like I have been waiting on this book forever. The final book in Vanessa Kelly's Improper Princesses series, The Highlander's Princess Bride is everything I hoped it would be. Victoria is not your typical princess and not just because she's the by blow of the Prince Regent but unlike some of her other siblings she has never been revealed as his daughter. She has lived a quiet life first as an innkeeper's granddaughter and then as a governess but when she gets into some trouble, like defending herself and killing a man, she knows the only people who can support her is Sir. Dominic and her half brother. Sir. Dominic has always been a part of her life he was one of the few that knows her parentage and he's also the one who helped her secure a proper education for becoming a governess. Dominic and Aden decide it might be best for her if she goes away at least until they can handle the situation. Luckily Dominic knows just where to send stle Kinglas, is in Scotland and is for the time being Victoria's sanctuary not that the Earl of Arnprior knows that Dominic and Aden advised her not to tell anyone the truth as to why she's there. What she finds there almost has her running back to London, but Victoria is stronger than that, and her young charge needs her, so what if the Grandfather is crazy and the twins are out of control and one brother is so hostile or that she is impossibly attracted to the Laird, Nicholas Kendrick the Earl of Arnprior. Victoria is going to stick with it, afterall where else has she to ck didn't know what to expect when Sir. Dominic said he knew a governess who could support him out, not only teach his youngest brother but also instill some society manners into his other brothers so they can marry proper young ladies. He blames himself for the method his brother turned out after what had happened Nick joined the troops and fought in the battle joined by his other brother Royal. When he finally came home he found his twin brothers, Graeme and Grant, running amuck the estates falling apart due in part to Angus the grandfather, and his youngest brother, Kade, ill. The only really sane ones in the bunch are Braden the studious brother who is in school to become a doctor and the adorable housekeeper Taffy. Throughout it all Nick and Victoria fall in love. She's even thinking of telling Nick the truth but the truth catches up to her before she can tell him. Will the truth of what she did and the fact that she hid the truth from him hold them apart?Overall, it was a amazing story and amazing characters. I can't wait to see what Vanessa Kelly has for us next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Highlander's Princess Bride (The Improper Princesses) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    Amazing Story!!!Victoria Knight has been accused of murder, her former employers brother had attempted to rape her, now his family is out for her head. She’s then whisked away by her strong extended family to the Highlands. Her fresh position a governess to Nicholas Kendrick Earl of Arnprior and his unruly siblings. The catch is that they’re a bunch of rowdy adult ckolas - Nick has had not good luck his wife’s death rests heavily on his conscious along with the accidental death of his young son that has him estranged with his brother Logan. Not that he doesn’t already have enough on his shoulders with Royal being broody and melancholy after his injury he acquired in the battle and the twins unruliness he needs some kind of help, he’s hoping the fresh governess can shape his wayward brothers in shape.What he was expecting as governess material was not what he got. Too delicate and too beautiful for his peace of mind. But there’s something mysterious about her that he can’t really place a finger on, he figures that everyone has secrets, God knows he has enough himself. Their attraction is palpable they test to ignore it but it’s inevitable and they succumb to it. He realizes that she’s the excellent woman for him and his dysfunctional family. But the danger is quick approaching her door and her security and happiness will be place to the is was a unbelievable story well written with lots of humour and delightful characters. I loved the twins and Royal I’d love to see his story I believe he deserves a happily ever after. Victoria and Nick are so amazing together their relationship was destined to be more that employee / employer, I loved their banter she definitely was no pushover. My favourite stage is the library where Victoria climbed through the window to rescue Nick. Lots of steamy scenes heat up the pages emotional ups and downs hold things interesting. Nicks relationship with his siblings is full of turmoil he’s torn between knocking their heads together to being the loving brother they need. I truly felt his anguish with his estranged brother Logan. I’d love to see his story the prodigal brother returning. Over all this was a fabulous story that keeps you entertained with sexy a highlander that succumbs to his Sassenach princess.I received an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley for my unbiased honest opinion

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Baby Phone - Princess Games review [App]  2019-3-21 13:43

    Ekdam bekar android game h Kabhi galti se bhi download mat karna

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Baby Phone - Princess Games review [App]  2019-3-21 13:43

    Very poor too worst

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Baby Phone - Princess Games review [App]  2019-3-21 13:43

    I like this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Baby Phone - Princess Games review [App]  2019-3-21 13:43

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Baby Phone - Princess Games review [App]  2019-3-21 13:43

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    Constant ads and messed my phone up rubbish application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    I Love Princess Sofia And the other Disney Princesses

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    Not my game😋😋😋😋

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    I love princess sofia because my name is also sofia ☺ and the other disney princess also ......... I always watch SOFIA THE FIRST cartoon present ......😀 🙂🙃🤠😇

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    This is very boring android game and the picture is very odd

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    I like it oh I love it but it's not what I expected

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    Still won't download please fix it thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    Very poor android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    I LOVE this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    Poor android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    it's not login issue

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    amazing for the kids

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    i love this android game 😛😍😍😻💝💕💖

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    Cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    Boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Color By Number, princess coloring game review [App]  2019-4-19 13:45

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Princess 3 - Noble Ice Princess Revenge review [App]  2019-4-26 13:28

    I love it. can't wait for the next part. why you don't create mermaid secret's next part and pet's high too. please create it 😭😭😭😭 I can't wait. 😠😠😠but I love your every android games .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Princess 3 - Noble Ice Princess Revenge review [App]  2019-4-26 13:28

    can you create my princess 4 android game please so I can search out what happens next

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Princess 3 - Noble Ice Princess Revenge review [App]  2019-4-26 13:28

    I hope Ashley can save neo from the ice princess on the next game!!!🙂🙂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Princess 3 - Noble Ice Princess Revenge review [App]  2019-4-26 13:28

    I love it so awsome😀Please create part 4 I wish to know what happens next

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Princess 3 - Noble Ice Princess Revenge review [App]  2019-4-26 13:28

    I really really love this android game and I can't wait for the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Princess 3 - Noble Ice Princess Revenge review [App]  2019-4-26 13:28

    can't wait for season 4 love this android games

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Princess 3 - Noble Ice Princess Revenge review [App]  2019-4-26 13:28

    LIKE

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Princess 3 - Noble Ice Princess Revenge review [App]  2019-4-26 13:28

    Nice android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Queen Princess Adventure - Super Pink Princess review [App]  2019-5-8 21:25

    nice pink princess adventure android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Queen Princess Adventure - Super Pink Princess review [App]  2019-5-8 21:25

    Princess , mario lover :))

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Princess Costume & Hair - Princess Dress & Makeup review [App]  2019-7-9 13:29

    best android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Its got an interesting hook but the story is forgettable. Nowhere near as amazing as the perfect Darth Vader series. Im a fan of both the writer and artist but it didnt feel like they were bringing their A-game to this. I'd recommend this for someone who is a Leia fan but not to anyone looking for a amazing SW comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    A lot of have mixed feelings on Tag Waid and the Dodson's Princess Leia book. As a fan of all three for years, I did like this story. While not up to par with the Lando mini series or the main two Star Battles comics by Marvel. Waid does write a very interesting story with Leia. What it falters in is the twist in the traitor and how everyone things its Leia's fault on the destruction of her adoptive homeworld. Its the Empire folks! They do evil things in the name of Order and "peace".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    This trade paperback collects the five problems of the Marvel “Princess Leia” limited comic series. Having read the TPBs for several of the other of Marvel’s fresh Star Battles titles, I found this the weakest of the lot. First off, the art (pencils by Terry Dodson and inks by Rachel Dodson) is light and attractive, but the tone it sets seems a bit wrong to me. Leia is depicted as very glamorous --practically a model—the poster girl for the Rebellion, indeed. Once she squads up with a blonde female pilot, the book has a decidedly “Charlie’s Angels” look to it. The story is a bit contrived as well; it’s a bit of a stretch to buy that the dedicated and conscientious princess would leave the Rebellion to go off on a largely private quest to search survivors of her destroyed home planet, but it’s a conceit important to obtain the story rolling. Still, there’s some amazing action and a particularly nice moment when Leia is visiting Naboo and has a strange feeling when viewing a portrait of Queen Amidala, not knowing, of course, that she is standing in front of the photo of her own birth commendations: If you are a completist or a huge fan of the Leia hero you may wish to pick this up. But if you’re limiting your collection of Marvel Star Battles collections, the Darth Vader or Star Battles TPB collections might be better choices.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    It is always amazing to see the classic characters. This story was a bit confusing to me. Still by the latest problem I wanted to know what would happen next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Story intended for younger audience. My 8 year old daughter loves it. I am a life long Star Battles fan and I search it an enjoyable read, but along the lighter side of stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Most of the fresh Marvel Star Battles items is top notch--not only in storytelling, but in the art as well. In this one, I was disappointed. The art is good, but the story? It's kinda boring. I read it, and I guess I liked it so-so. But, it is no where near the level set by the other Star Battles titles.I had high hopes for this book, too. I like Leia. I wanted to see her be a powerful leader. This book tried to do that--it just didn't succeed, in my advice: Read it only if you are a completist. Otherwise, know that there is much better fresh Star Battles material out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Leia's story reminds us that we all have something worth fighting for. A excellent reminder of humanity in the face of war.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I am loving all the fresh Star Battles comics by Marvel. The art here bumped this comic from 4/5 to 5/5. This is a intelligent read and fits nicely between films 3 and 4 in the Star Battles universe. Also this created me see Leia in a better heroic light.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Amazing storyline, a fun read while traveling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Princess Leia (Princess Leia (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    An perfect portrayal of Leia's struggle to establish herself as a leader among fragmented people in chaotic times. I enjoyed this most of all of the fresh books as it seemed to carry the most emotion. The stories in the others are slightly better, but I feel that Waid and company really did an awesome job developing a hero often overshadowed by her father and brother.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Combining the exotic globe of China, the intrigue of illegal immigration and illegal shipments of contraband, Lisa See weaves an exciting e story begins in China where a body is found in a frozen pond where the local people ice skate, here you meet the main heroine, a female MSP agent Li Hulin. The body is the son of th US ambassador in ChinaThen off the coast of California, the young State Attorney, David Stark, gets called to investigate a freighter floating, abandoned in the ocean off the coast of California. It is filled with sick illegal Chinese immigrants and a dead body. The son of a wealthy Chinese business e these murders connected? Lisa See brings the story together full of intrigue, plot twists, and danger. An perfect read and book 1 of a series of 3 Red Princess Mysteries written by her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    The book's strengths by far are its plot and setting. The plot definitely keeps you guessing, and offers lots of twists and shocking moments. As for setting, if you don't know too much about Chinese culture / China just after Deng Xiaoping began opening the country, this will be interesting for you to read for an inside look at the country. It was cool to read about a mystery not just set in China but also relevant to the culture of the country. I feel like very few mystery books go that length, setting their books in exotic areas but not delving into the larger forces that shape that e major problem with this book for me is that the two main characters have perhaps the most boring romantic relationship I have ever encountered in a book. Usually you are rooting for people to couple up even if you don't really like them all that much, but every time these two started flirting I just felt like yawning. This could be a private issue for me more than others as I really love character-driven novels, and this is absolutely not one of them. The dull hero issue can even be expanded to most of the minor characters as I was unable to differentiate between most characters with Chinese names (and this is coming from someone who has studied Mandarin for years).Overall, the book was so-so. I finished it and it wasn't totally wasted time, but I could think of a lot of more enjoyable books to read instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    The history of the locations that the characters visited were deeply explored, and also different customs that created the globe much more tangible. Some of the imagery got quite graphic and was used to illustrate horrific crimes. I would have liked to have given this book more stars but the author left me beautiful disinterested as to what would happen to the main characters. They had rich backgrounds but they themselves were beautiful flat. I was more interested in the characters that very small info was given about. I also want that the "star-crossed lovers" romance never happened. It created me care even less about them because it detracted from the amazing story rather than adding to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    "Flower Net," the first novel in Lisa See's "Red Princess" mystery series, has duo settings. In the People's Republic of China, just before the death of Deng Xiaoping, a body is found frozen in a Beijing lake. The corpse is identified as the son of the US Ambassador. In the United States, off the coast of California, a body is found by authorities investigating a boat loaded with starving, near-dead, illegal Chinese immigrants. The corpse is discovered floating in the ship's water tank. The illegals have not been able to quench their thirst because their drinking water is polluted by death. And they are too terrified to provide any information. The dead man was a "red prince," the son of a Chinese millionaire - one of China's fresh rich and strong political elite. He stood to inherit major wealth & government power because of his father's status. Deng, the former leader of China's Communist Party, was recognized officially as "the chief architect of China's economic reforms and China's socialist modernization." It was under his reign that millionaires emerged, (and still do), from the country's fresh deal. The US government, and the Chinese powers that be, suspect that the murders are linked and create the unprecedented decision to jointly investigate the crimes. Liu Hulan, an inspector in China's Ministry of Public Security, and David Stark, Assistant US Attorney, join forces to investigate and solve the u Hulan is a "red princess." Her father is an old-time Communist, who is now a government minister. He is not particularly fond of Hulan, nor are her superiors. She is a brilliant detective but her methods are unorthodox, and she is method too independent to conform to the ministry bureaucracy. Hulan studied in the US, received a law degree in Los Angeles, and worked for a top-notch law firm there. Coincidently David Stark was employed by the same firm. The two became involved and then parted when Hulan returned to China. It may sound hokey when I describe the relationship and the reunion of the former flames, but, trust me, Lisa See create it all seem very logical. It e investigation takes Stark and Hulan to the far reaches of today's China - to both modern and ancient cultures. They explore corruption, greed, political maneuvering galore, a conspiracy between huge business, the Rising Phoenix crime gang, and government officials, and many, a lot of more gruesome murders than they bargained for. I was truly surprised and shocked by the conclusion. Ms. See explores here the very nature of ch of the novel's narrative involves flashbacks to the period of the Cultural Revolution, (1966-1976), and the traumatic result it had on an entire people. Even today, more than 33 years after the end of this not good time, a lot of Chinese bare deep emotional scars. It is during these glimpses into the past that the reader gains insight into Hulan's complex personality and her troubled family history.I have read all three books in the "Red Princess" series and each one is better than the next. The mysteries are thrilling, complex and exceptionally well thought out. The in-depth hero development, here and in the other books, is part of what what makes this series so extraordinary. Ms. See's writing style is tight, very descriptive and colorful. I learned so much about China by reading "Flower Net" - its rich and varied culture, teeming economy, institutional politics, the nuanced manner of communication, the sensitive use of interpersonal skills, the very sights, sounds and smells of the country. The author reveals a China most Westerners never see. This aspect of the novel is every bit as exciting and fresh as the mystery itself. Highly recommended!Jana PerskieThe Interior: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries)Dragon Bones: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries)Peony in Love: A NovelSnow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Here's another female detective! We have Lindsay Malone in Santa Barbara, and now Liu Hulan in Peking. I had no idea Lisa See, whose novels I've always enjoyed, had a series based around a attractive Chinese inspector solving mysteries despite bureaucratic sexism and the Communist culture. See provides a realistic backdrop through descriptions of neighborhoods, clothing, food, famous hangouts, and insider cultural traits (such as what it means if an official or businessman you visit offers, or fails to offer you, tea). I'm now finding the other books in the series and catching up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    The sights, sounds and smells of modern day China leap from each page of this complex mystery. Assistant US Attorney, David Stark is reunited with his former lover, Liu Hulan of the Chinese Ministry of Public Safety as they unravel a mystery involving gangs and the illegal shipment of medicinal products created from endangered specieis, into the US. The resolution reaches to the highest levels of both governments involving six murders along the u Hulan had been educated in the US, received a law degree there and was working in a top notch law firm in Los Angeles when she became involved with Stark. She mysteriously leaves him and returns to China only to be unexpectedly reunited with him a lot of years later in this novel. The resolution of this fine mystery also unravels Hulan's complex private and family history spanning China from Mao's Revolution, the Cultural Revolution to the modern day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Another unbelievable book by Lisa See. I love her writings and continue to have fun ALL her books. This particular book showed, as usual, Lisa's research. Everything was very detailed. I liked the suspense of this story. I enjoyed the development of the characters. I never saw the ending coming. I was shocked. Lisa doesn't just come to an abrupt end to quickly finish the book. She does it carefully with amazing precision. This was a amazing read. Oh well, what can you expect from Lisa See? Nothing less.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Lisa SeeI am amazed by the versatility of Lisa See. It seems like all she has to do is touch pen to paper and she begins to unravel a magnificent story.(Obviously she spends a lot of time doing research to be able to write with such clarity and understanding of her characters and the locations they inhabit.)It doesn't matter if she is writing the story of her own family in On Gold Mountain, or the three books, that create up The Red Princess Trilogy, Flower Net, The Interior and Dragon Bones, or the historical novels, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Peony in Love or finally Shanghai Girls and Dreams of Joy, you are taken into the lives of the characters and feel as though you are in the locations they inhabit. She develops a sense of put and time as deeply as she develops her characters.I read all of these books over a two month period.I was felt as though I was living in China in several sa's writing enveloped me in every story. I was sorry when I finished the latest book. I still feel like I left a familiar globe and came back to the unsure globe of en I saw she has a fresh book to be released in June!I can't wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    I found this book very hard to follow. It seemed very disjointed. I was continually going back to re-read something because I thought I had missed something -- which as it turned our, I had not. For me, this was not nearly as amazing as some of Lisa See's other books. This was a mystery and I prefer her historical novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Lisa See's Flower Net is entertaining novel, once again showing her deep knowledge and understanding of Chinesegeography, history and customs. not a typical "did the butler do it" type novel, this was still a book you had to finish to makesure the "bad guys" were caught and punished. Had enough twists and turns that it created laying the book down hard to dobefore the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess and the Frog review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    After the third attempt to watch this film, I finally got through the first 15 mins and am glad I did. There always seemed to be something to stop me from getting too far in. So, what did I think? "Is it entertaining?" Yes. For the most part, the songs were enjoyable and the animation was fine. The pacing could be improved somewhat, mostly by eliminated 2-3 songs. 2 out of 3 "Is it interesting?" Yes. The hero backgrounds and the story development were easily above the average children movie. The plot was a tad predictable and the moral seemed to meander some. 2 out of 3 "Is it memorable?" Somewhat. The most special thing were the hero types. While the animation was fine, some of the human facial expressions were just off enough to be slightly creepy. I am glad most of the film had some of the main characters as animals. 1.5 out of 3 Start with 1. 1+2+2+1.5=6.5 I will round up for the overall enjoyment of the time spent. 7 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess Bride review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    The Princess Bride is ultimately a story of love - of a grandather for his grandson, of Inigo Montoya for his murdered father and between Buttercup and Wesley. It is an old fashioned fairy tale in a sense, but its imagination, wit and humour stands it apart from convention. The characters are endearing and essential to the plot. The pace of the movie changes up and down beautifully throughout and the script is a joy, playing with words and ideas. Humanity prevails in this wonderous tale, I learnt plenty from it as a kid and I still watch it from time to time to remind me of the goodness within us and the ability to triumph over adversity. The Princess Bride has a method of being traditional whilst challenging norms and that is why I will always love it. 10/10 for me. The only criticism I have is that it is too male centric as a lot of movies and series still are unfortunately. Although, saying that, Buttercup is much hardier than most princesses portrayed in children's films. This is a movie that appeals to adults and kids alike. Stop writing did you say? As you want x

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Very Merry Princess review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    I just got tired of reading and reviewing some of the literary, suspense and crime novels on Amazon. So I sought out a SIMPLE, HEARTWARMING ROMANCE NOVEL with believable twists and situations. Like an Arabian princess falling in love with a Californian rancher dude. I knew I couldn’t go wrong with one written by Susan Mallery, highly recommended by Booklist: "Romance novels don't obtain much better than Mallery's expert blend of emotional nuance, humor, and superb storytelling."That first line assured me I had picked a winner: “De-princessing one’s life wasn’t the easiest thing in the world.” So Princess Bethany of El Bahar since age 12, now 26, early decided to support out as a groom in her King Dad’s horse stables. She loves horses more than being a princess! Her King Dad sells one of her favorite horses, Rida, to an American rancher. Bethany asks to go along to create sure Rida gets safely to the fresh hany doesn’t wish to go as royalty but as plain Beth Smith, a stable hand and horse groomer. She carries out her fresh identity well, so well that when she falls madly in love with rancher Cade on that ranch, complications follow, including “mad love.” From that arise a lot of natural and humorous as well as tense situations.But what will happen if Cade learns the truth? The author skillfully lays the groundwork for all plot developments so they're believable. But – not all plans work out as hoped for by either Bethany or Cade. Broken hearts—ah yes, that’s usually central to a amazing romantic novel.OK, I have a confession – in my early writing days I wrote and sold confessions and romance stories. I’m a dude who loves a well-turned romantic novel. This one is a topnotch one, an simple but engrossing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Very Merry Princess review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    This was such a heartwarming hany wanted to know what it was like not to be treated as royalty.When she had a possibility to visit California, she did not , she would be Beth Smith instead of Princess Bethany of El de had been damage before by some snob socialite.He did not wish to obtain involved w/ those kinds of women time was too many!When he meets Beth Smith, he is instantly attracted.And an added bonus, she is just like the girl-next-door type of woman.When secrets are revealed, will Cade still risk his heart?I loved the storytelling.I was so glad that Cade was not the stubborn sort + went after always wins in the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Very Merry Princess review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    ‘‘Tis was a mostly fun read. There was a small bit of angst, but not too much. The American princess and the American amazing guy that was almost hand picked for her by a loving stepfather.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Very Merry Princess review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Clearly, King Malik chose Cade for his daughter.A very satisfied story. I love Happily, Inc. I look forward to more stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Very Merry Princess review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Susan Mallery writes a amazing story about secrets and truths. Beth Smith or Princess Bethany learns who she can trust and love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Very Merry Princess review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Even though you know the ending before you begin, this story warms your heart with the spirit of the holidays.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Very Merry Princess review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Ms. Mallery weaves a plot that makes you feel invested in the outcome. The characters and settings are unique. I couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Very Merry Princess review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Stalls. Very well written and not the writters usual story. I plan to read more of the writters books. I will tell my mates about the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ash Princess review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    Such a amazing book! Finished it in two days and can’t wait for the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    We borrowed this from the library for my Kindergartener. She loved it so much we read it straight through, then read it again, and then that night when I went in to check on her one latest time I found her holding it close in her sleep. I should also note that we are just now entering the super-hero scene in our family with my 3 year old son, so my small girl has gone from watching Disney films over and over (Rapunzel is the favorite) to Spider-Man and Captain America. "Why are there no girl Super-Heroes?" she asked. I introduced her to Wonder Woman, White Tiger, Batgirl, Supergirl, etc., and she shrugged. She can't really connect to those super-sexy, all-grown-up, major-attitude types.I recalled reading about Shannon Hale's fresh book for younger readers. I liked what she'd done with Princess Academy, so I thought I would give it a go for my girl. I did not anticipate the amount of love this book would keep - she cried when she had to give it back to the library (the request list is still long here). She decorated her pumpkin for a school contest to look just like the Princess in Black.I surprised my daughter with her own copy this latest week, and her eyes just lit up. The book currently lives under her pink pillow. My girl LOVES pink, and princesses, and superheroes. This book is NOT about rejecting princesses, or even rejecting the pinkness of girls. This book is about being a character and saving the is is Zorro for small girls. Princess Magnolia - pink clad perfection in her castle - The Princess in Black when danger lurks in the kingdom!Give it a chance. My three year old boy loves this book and we look forward to another, especially if it features the Goat Avenger. :-) And more creatures to fight! My two year old daughter has been running around saying the Princess in Black's signature move: Twinkle, Twinkle, SMASH! It's a book our whole family loves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    We need more chapter books with lots of pictures! This was the excellent book to support my daughter transition from picture books to chapter books. Thanks Mrs. Hale!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    My daughter has the entire series. It is exciting and a bit predictable but I love that the Princess is doing the saving instead of being saved. It is written in a method that your kid will wish to hold reading and create predictions about what will happen next. It is also a bit silly which makes it fun to read. My daughter is 5 and is an above average/advanced reader. This is a amazing book for children to read on their own or for you as a parent or caregiver to read to them. I think a amazing age range for this book is 5-8. (4 -8 if you will be reading to them). At the end of each chapter I ask "I wonder what will happen next?!" My daughter won't allow me place the book down until we are done reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    Excellent Princess Magnolia has a secret—her alter ego is the Princess in Black, a superhero figure who protects the kingdom! When nosy Duchess Wigtower unexpectedly drops by Princess Magnolia's castle, Magnolia must protect her secret identity from the duchess's prying. But then Magnolia's creature alarm, a glitter-stone ring, goes off. She must save the day, leaving the duchess unattended in her castle. After a costume change, the Princess in Black joins her steed, Blacky (public identity: Frimplepants the unicorn), to protect Duff the goat boy and his goats from a shaggy, blue, goat-eating monster. When the creature refuses to see reason, Magnolia wars him, using unique moves like the "Sparkle Slam" and the "Twinkle Twinkle Small Smash." The rounded, cartoony illustrations featuring chubby characters hold the war sequence soft and comical. Watching the fight, Duff notices suspicious similarities between the Princess in Black and Magnolia—quickly dismissed as "a silly idea"—much like the duchess's dismissal of some discovered black stockings as being simply dirty, as "princesses don't wear black." The gently ironic text will amuse readers (including adults reading the book aloud). The huge print and illustrations expand the book to a longish-yet-manageable length, giving newly independent readers a sense of accomplishment. The ending tips at another hero, the Goat Avenger. Action, clever humor, delightful illustrations and expectation-defying secret identities—when does the next one come out?OverviewWho says princesses don’t wear black? When problem raises its blue creature head, Princess Magnolia ditches her flouncy dresses and becomes the Princess in Black!Princess Magnolia is having hot chocolate and scones with Duchess Wigtower when . . . Brring! Brring! The creature alarm! A huge blue creature is threatening the goats! Stopping creatures is no job for dainty Princess Magnolia. But luckily Princess Magnolia has a secret —she’s also the Princess in Black, and stopping creatures is the excellent job for her! Can the princess sneak away, transform into her alter ego, and conquer the creature before the nosy duchess discovers her secret? From award-winning writing squad of Shannon and Dean Hale and illustrator LeUyen Pham, here is the first in a humorous and action-packed chapter book series for young readers who like their princesses not only prim and perfect, but also dressed in black.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    My toddler loves this book and I really have fun reading it to her. It is a fun and exciting story, that triggers imagination and is empowering for girls. The book came up in a school moms’ coffee morning and several of the moms recommended it. I’m happy that they did because it was a amazing is is a fairly long book so I wasn’t sure I could hold my toddler’s attention to complete the book. I figured we would read this over the span of a few days. However, my daughter was so excited and interested in the story that it maintained her attention to finish the entire book in one sitting. Since then, she has asked for me to read this book several times a week.I appreciate that the story’s theme allows for the reader (or kid you are reading it to) to see that the main hero can be both a princess and a superhero! The notice and the moral of the book are inspiring and I really like that. It’s well written, simple to read and a nice flow. There are some nice illustrations and a brief amount of text on each page, so as you turn through the pages, it keeps the listener’s attention. Will certainly purchase more from this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    I got this for a struggling third grade reader. She loved it. We read the whole en I brought it home and read it aloud to my five year old daughter who absolutely LOVED them. We read them all (again),Our public library happened to have a Princess in a Black happening this summer - my five year old was too excited. We went and she was able to talk all about the books with the "bigger girls".The bright colourful illustrations do help as context clues. There are also lots of opportunities for predicting/inferring.While this series may not go down in history as amazing literature of our time - it got two various aged girls (5 & 9) to have fun reading. That's a success in my eyes! We can't wait for the next book to come out in September!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    Yes! Finally! Thank you to the squad behind writing and illustrating "The Princess in Black". Thank you! Thank you! We have been searching for a chapter book that has an appropriate amount AND level of text for our 5 1/2 year-old daughter, with COLORFUL illustrations on each page (or every other page). I can't believe how long she sat and read for! She read straight through from Chapter 2 through Chapter 11. Her twin brother, sitting right beside us, asking her to hold reading.We love the story line. I'm not going to give any info other than- this princess has qualities that all of us wish to instill in our children: courage, strength and ere are a lot of opportunities to discuss imagery, meaning, text-to-self connections, recalling and sequencing events... If you are looking for a colourful (in both language and illustrations) novel for your small one, this should definitely be on your cart.We are looking forward to Book #2 coming out in October.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    My 5 year daughter loves this book! She can almost ready it by herself. Her older brother (7) even enjoys it. It has just the right amount of pink and creatures ;) Full colourful illustrations on every page keeps children interested. I highly recommend this book for any child.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    I LOVED this book! Shannon and Dean Hale have crafted a Princess story children will love! Who can resist a excellent princess who is also The Princess in Black guarding her kingdom from creatures and any kind of poor guys? With humor in both words and illustrations (LeUYEN Pham)the Hales have crafted a laugh out loud book children will relate to (and read ove and over again)- this could be a play they act out when they are with their friends- right down to the toenail clippings!!!Very enjoyable and highly recommended! I know I am going to be reading this to my granddaughter and giving it to my daughter to read to her students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princess in Black review [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    Our 6 year old and we love this series! The topic matter has been good, creative, and interesting for her (and our 4 year old who sometimes wants to obtain in on the story... and us who sometimes are asked to reread the books). No negative tones or word selections (I don't like when books for children begin talking about "hating" things or people being "stupid or dumb."). We are really looking forward to the next book in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ash Princess review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    I could not stop reading this book the moment I picked it up. Laura Sebastian snares you on page 1, and the action and stakes hold building and building until it’s 4 am and you are awed and shocked and full of all the feelings, so glad to have stayed up all night reading. Theo is everything you wish in a heroine: determined, gritty, clever, ready to do whatever it takes to support not just herself and her mates but her people. It is wonderful watching her journey as she first must believe in herself then rise to the occasion. And the surprises! Just when you think you know what might happen, the book throws in a fresh twist. The ending is a high-stakes, awesome stunner. And Blaise, Soren, Cress, Artemesia, Heron—these are characters you will fall in love with and wish to read about again and again. I just want I had the pleasure of reading Ash Princess for the first time all over again. I cannot wait for the second book in the series!Ash Princess is excellent for fans of Red Queen and Ember in the Ashes, but in my opinion, it's far better. Read it, and it will become your fresh favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ash Princess review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    “I am a princess created of ashes, after all. I can’t support but fall apart”Never again will I hear the name Theodosia and think of Hamilton. It will now bring up the smart, powerful and determined Queen of Astrea. This book was a slower begin for me but when I got slightly past the halfway tag I could not place it down!Ash Princess tells the story of Theodosia who is the Princess of Astrea, or was the princess before her mother, the queen, was murdered before her eyes by the Kalovaxians. Since that moment she has grown up in her palace but under the Kalovaxians rule, specifically the Kaiser. The Kaiser has done everything in his power to beat the Princess of Astrea out of Theo and leave only Thora, the Ash Princess, in its wake. We meet Thora as a grown woman whose only thoughts are of survival in this world. She walks, talks and acts like the excellent subservent Kalovaxian lady. But when the Kaiser has her do an unforgivable act, we begin to see the emergence of the woman she has kept buried for so long. With some support from an old mate and a couple fresh ones, Theo begins to plan to take back her kingdom. But nothing ever goes according to plan and Theo has some very tough choices to create between her kingdom and her heart.Overall I really, really enjoyed this book! I really enjoyed the characters especially Theo and Blaise and even Soren. Although love triangles aren’t really my thing this one felt a bit various because you know who she should pick but you can’t support but love the other guy as well. The globe building was attractive but we didn’t obtain to see as much of the globe as I would hope. But it seems like in book 2 we are going to obtain to discover a lot more! There were a couple of plots twists that I saw coming and then one that literally stopped me in my tracks (if you’ve read this book YOU KNOW WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT!!). I literally stared at the page with my mouth hanging begin not knowing what just hit me, probably a ton of bricks.I do have to place out a warning that this book is beautiful intense and has a lot of abuse, both physical and mental. I thought it really helped us see and understand how Theo became the woman we first meet and how through this abuse she becomes this stronger (or she hopes) woman. Overall I highly recommend this book!! Did I mention the TWO MAPS!! It was such an engaging read and I am dying for book 2!!! Seriously is it 2019 yet???

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ash Princess review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    This story was very interesting, and I enjoyed reading it. I do hope the author will continue to globe build more in the next book. The author did a amazing job describing what the princess was feeling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ash Princess review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    This book is completely drawn out for no reason. It wasn’t a poor book, but I could’ve spent my time reading something that actually got to the point.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ash Princess review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    I loved this book. I feel like it had just the right amount of action, romance, and mystery to hold me enthralled. It only took me one day to read and I couldn't place it down. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ash Princess review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    Amazing read! I ripped thru it in a day and I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of the genre. I can’t wait for the sequel!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ash Princess review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    I loved the twists and turns. Characters were well developed. Hated some only to turn around and like them. Hope the sequel comes soon

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter