the apocalypse of elena mendoza Reviews & Opinions


Submit the apocalypse of elena mendoza review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    This is my favorite of Shaun Hutchinson's books, and I've t loved the others - especially his realistic novels that swerve into surrealism. WE ARE THE ANTS, and AT THE EDGE OF THE UNIVERSE are brilliant, and thoughtful, and full of dark humor. THE APOCALYPSE OF ELENA MENDOZA are all those things, except instead of dark humor, this book seems lighter. More hopeful. More comedy than dramedy, if that makes sense. The f/f romance is rom-com light and funny, and that's not simple to do when your title hero is at the center of the end of the world, and keep the future of humanity in her hands. It's also awesome in that this is a comedy about the apocalypse, which in no method trivializes the end of the world.I will insta-buy every book from this author forevermore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I read about this book and I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into. I thought I'd like this book maybe give it a 3.4 star rating and then move on with my life. However once I picked this book up AHHHHHH I DEVOURED IT. So this book is about Elena Mendoza a girl born of a virgin mother and working at a Starbucks. Shes an outcast because of the fact that she was born of a virgin and is constantly taunted because of it. Her life completely alters when on that same day at Starbucks a boy who she doesn't know shoots a girl she has a crush on......and Elena HEALS HER because the Starbucks logo tells her to. Gahhh this book is so unqiue and special. It's my first book that I've read by Shaun Hutchinson and I can promise you I'll be reading everything he writes from now on. This book was incredible. From the characters to the plot, to the moral aspects of life from religion, to death, to alternate world's, to problems with politics everything is laid out in these pages. It was wonderful I could just talk about it all day but I'm just going to leave at this. Read this book. It'll change you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I loved the LGBTQIA representation in this book, as well as the diversity. It is a very special YA novel. I didn't have fun how long it was and it was also very repetitive.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the apocalypse of elena mendoza or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the apocalypse of elena mendoza video reviews and related movies:

    See Disappointing THE APOCALYPSE OF ELENA MENDOZA | Review on youtube.

     related image

    See The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza Booktalk on youtube.

     related image

    See Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza on youtube.

     related image

    See The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza book review on youtube.

     related image

    See Reading Ru Reviews the Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza on youtube.

     related image

    See The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza by Shaun David Hutchinson Book Review on youtube.

     related image

    See January Wrap Up | 2018 on youtube.

     related image

    See OUR FIRST Q&A!!!! on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I loved this book, it was original, thoughtful and beautifully written. I think you should give it a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    This book was absolutely amazing. the writing and overall story were so amazing I couldn’t support but hold reading. It was so various than anything I have ever read. The best method I can describe it is faith/atheism/science and it was so r MC is Elena Mendoza she is born from a virgin birth and now in her teens discovers she can heal people. When she heals a person others obtain raptured by beams of light falling from the sky. It started out a few each time, but now there are thousands gone. The voices she hears tell her the globe is ending and she has to do this, she doesn’t have a choice, but does she.Elena Mendoza started out a very naive hero to her abilities/gift. The more she learned about herself the more she learned and grew as a character. She was so selfish to me in the beginning and she thought more of others in the end. She understood that she was taking the choice away from others and ultimately learned how to give that choice back to them and allow the globe decide. That was a real hero growth moment for eddie is didn’t expect to be one of the main characters at first, but I’m glad she did. She was such a support to Elena and helped her grow as a person. they really helped each other grow together and be better people. Freddie had so much to offer the globe and didn’t see it herself, but Elena did. I was so ecstatic to see their characters grow and morph into this fabulous relationship.I can not speak on the bisexual rep in this book, but it is well done. There are also mentions of suicide in this book, but it does address it beautiful well in my opinion. If suicide is not something you are comfortable reading about, I would skip this book.I loved every min of reading this book. I drug it out as long as I could in order to savor every moment of reading it. I loved the writing and the method it mixed faith and science together. I have fallen in love with Shaun’s writing and now I wish all of his books. I always see Dylan the reader bragging about we are the ants and now I know why. If we are the ants is anything like this, I wish Shaun to write all the books, his writing and this book is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Lately I’ve been doing a lot of reading, but the books haven’t been grabbing and holding my attention, and always left me wanting more. Then I saw a BookTuber that was raving about how excited she was to read The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza. She showed her ARC and talked all about the premise of the book and I know immediately that I had to read it. I had never read anything by Shaun David Hutchinson before, but now I definitely know I need to read more of his tchinson doesn’t take long to obtain into the action of the book and the pace doesn’t slow down until it’s over. In the beginning, we met Elena and she explains all about how she was born of a virgin birth. She works at Starbucks and on the day, she is going to finally talk to her crush Freddie everything goes downhill. See, Freddie gets shot by David Combs and Elena heals Freddie and saves her life. At the same time a beam of light comes down from the sky and David Combs disappears. Coincidence? I’ll never tell… You need to read the book to search e characters were phenomenal and relatable. I don’t have anything directly in common with any of the characters, but I loved them so much. They were quirky, genuine, and loveable. The hero development throughout the book helped to move the story along and unravel all the pieces. Each of the characters were critical to the story in their own way. They didn’t always seem like they were playing a roll, but it was mandatory for each of them to be there. Each hero also learned a lesson which is awesome to see in YA fiction, as I feel it’s something that seems to be lacking aun David Hutchinson is an absolutely awesome writer and the method he weaves a story with the written word makes your wish to curl up in his books and become one of his characters. His writing style is delightful, thought provoking, and engaging. I can’t wait to read more of his books and look forward to seeing what the future holds for such a talented individual.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    THE APOCALYPSE OF ELENA MENDOZA is about the power and choice that young people have, even when they don't realize they have it. But it's also about a girl born of virgin birth who hears voices in inanimate objects and finds out she can cause miracles. I felt delighted to have such a serious theme come in a pack so strange and delightfully wrapped. And now I know what a talking stuffed baby Cthulhu sounds e characters here are fun to travel with - they are well-textured even if they are super YA tropey (Mean Girl, Crush Object, Best Mate Sidekick, Deadbeat Stepdad). My copy is post-it noted up with passages I wish to return to at some point to examine a small one critique is that this book is deliberative over plot-oriented. It reminds me of those meditative walking labyrinths -- that feeling of swirling around decisions you have to/should/must make. I’m not sure that’s in the book’s detriment. Rather, I think it puts an upper boundary on the kind of teen reader who will search this book rewarding and accessible. Teen readers who wish more plot twists are going to be is book is also a powerful post-election readalike to A.S. King's GLORY O'BRIEN'S HISTORY OF THE UNIVERSE.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Never allow it be said that Shaun David Hutchinson doesn’t know how to write an apocalypse. This is the most immediate one yet, with Elena’s newly-discovered miraculous healing powers coinciding with beams of lights rapturing people – more and more every time she heals someone. (It’s not noted in the book, but it seems to be following the Fibonacci sequence although it started with eight rather than one). The voices that unlocked Elena’s powers tell her the vanished people are being saved, and she must hold using her powers in order to obtain everyone off Earth before the end times. Naturally, Elena is a bit suspicious, since the voices won’t say where the people are going, why the globe is ending, how Elena is involved, or really anything helpful at all. There are cameo appearances by the MCs of some of Hutchinson’s other apocalyptic books as well, which was a fun touch.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I gave this book 3.5 Stars but rounded down because it was closer to a 3 than a is really hard for me to rate this book appropriately. I am beautiful sure I highlighted more passages in this book than I have ever highlighted before. There were some amazing things in this book and some super relatable moments but as an overall I found it to be to easily summed up in a method that just...didn't feel right. I will admit that I did not see the end coming...but that may be due to the fact that it was just a disappointing wrap up to an interesting story idea. This particular passage really spoke to me:"You’re a story. I’m a story. There are 7.5 billion stories on the planet. Two hundred and fifty fresh stories start each minute, and 105 stories ’s simple to let the globe to collapse down to our own stories. To see ourselves as the central figure in the only story worth knowing and forget that every person we encounter is living their own, is the center of their own universe. But that’s the nature of the human experience."There is so much about this that I can deeply relate to and I think that we all could benefit from reflecting on this idea and remembering it often. As an overall, I didn't hate this book and actually REALLY enjoyed most of it. I just found it to be disappointing and wrapped up in a method that was...lame. 

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    This was one of the strangest books that I ever read, and I'm totally okay with that. This book was weird, weird, weird, but in an intriguing and captivating way. I didn't quite understand what was going on at some parts or where on Earth it was going, but I still felt dedicated to it and Hutchinson made a fascinating heroine who led this story wonderfully.Elena Mendoza is a complicated, complex hero that powered through this book despite a lot of obstacles and challenges. She had a fresh, endearing voice that told it like it was, and I really enjoyed diving her head. She loved, she cared so deeply, and she was so powerful in the face of all of the crisis she came across. If the fate of the globe was in her hands, I definitely wouldn't be too scared since she had a amazing head on her shoulders and I trusted her to figure out the right thing. Also I could read an entire book with just her interactions with the voices and her. They were AMAZING and is is entirely book is exceedingly diverse as well. Elena is a bi Mexican girl, her crush is on Freddie who is a lesbian, and her best mate Fadil is Muslim and questioning his sexuality but believes he is ace. There are some unbelievable conversations in the novel that Fadil tackles with his culture and also questioning his sexuality. It was subtle in the middle of the the whole globe ending storyline, but it was so necessary and moving. I loved diving into all of these characters' lives more, and the rep was so fantastically so, one of the best things about this novel was the friendship between Fadil and Elena. YA seems to have an problem with just straight friendships between males and females without any sort of attraction being involved. This book defies all of this and gives us a loving, caring friendship where both can admit their wrongs but also winner each other so fantastically. I just wish everyone to have a friendship like theirs, and we need more YA stories with male/female friendships like e largest problem that I had with the story was the pacing. It kind of just dwindled for a long time for me. I wanted so desperately to love this, and I think if the pacing was ramped up a bit, it would have been there. I felt like we were running in circles. I understood why Elena wanted to know more about why David did what he did, but this focus just really lost all the pacing for me. We never moved forward and we did a lot more talking about things than any other action. The end kind of seemed a bit confusing and rushed for me. I felt there wasn't a proper lead-up, and I'm still a bit confused by it. I also never got a why from the story, and I feel like there required to be a tchinson is no doubt a talented writer, and I'm certainly going to be checking out his other books. He had a amazing writing style, and the creativity in this novel was amazing. He managed to create it feel true and so realistic with hitting on necessary subjects but still created it feel light and fun at certain places. The amount of detail and originality was so intriguing as well with Elena being a virgin birth, developing healing powers while trying to save the globe from the apocalypse, and she had to deal with voices through stuffed animals and my small ponies from crazy gods? It sounds as crazy as it gets, but he created it work somehow.Overall, this is one of the most interesting books that I ever read, and it has to be the most intriguing concepts that I'm going to read in 2018. I thought it had so a lot of unbelievable points to it including a diverse book crew, a unbelievable heroine, and a amazing writing style. However, the pacing and non-answers really drew the book down from me. I just wanted a small bit more of a speedier and concrete story, but it is still an intriguing and necessary story. If you wish something that is so outside the norm of regular YA, this is the book for you! 3 crowns and a Belle rating!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    I've read 6 of the 7 books currently in the series, and there were some things that I could overlook in the first books. However, by book 6 I just couldn't hold reading. I understand the nature of LitRPG and the importance of explaining, somewhat, the nature of the "game world" in the story. However, these stories spend paragraphs and paragraphs explaining how leveling and skill selection works, turning what could be a fascinating story into a very dry description of techniques for min-maxing and hero builds. Frankly, if I was into that, I'd just go play a video game. Also, something that may not impact all readers but did for me: the unlikability of the main character. I didn't "dislike" him, but I just couldn't develop empathy for the hero and what he was experiencing. I understood what the average person should be feeling, but he's a "cold fish," bisexual, atheist, and full of rage. I just felt sad for this train wreck of a character, like I would for an actual human being. I just couldn't continue the journey anymore. This review encompasses all the books I've read in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    If you're thus far, you at least liked it enough to continue this point, and consider buying the next one. I say do it. The hero development continues on a nice steady course. I am really excited with the ending, and where it will lead into the next book. No cliffhanger, just nice wrap up to a story arc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    So I love them system and how all of it was built even though there is 1000 more pieces to explain of it. What I don't like is the still sour ugh MC and his friends. I'd rather read a dungeon masters manual on the system. I'd pay 10 bucks for that easy. For everything else.... well I'm not seeing the worth of what I did pay. Sigh.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    Love this series and all that Tao has done with it. Looks forward to the next one and anything else this author writes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    My son and I have both been following this series of books. Once we are not disappointed with book five as the story progresses and we are now waiting on book six.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    It's a amazing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    Amazing ending to the first arc of what is hopefully going to be a long story line. I love the background of the characters, and the system development. Very simple to obtain emotionally attached to the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    As usual with his books, it drags me in and won't allow me place it down until finished and leaves me craving the next in this amazing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse (The System Apocalypse Book 3) review []  2020-1-21 21:52

    Very amazing LITRPG book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    I've read 6 of the 7 books currently in the series, and there were some things that I could overlook in the first books. However, by book 6 I just couldn't hold reading. I understand the nature of LitRPG and the importance of explaining, somewhat, the nature of the "game world" in the story. However, these stories spend paragraphs and paragraphs explaining how leveling and skill selection works, turning what could be a fascinating story into a very dry description of techniques for min-maxing and hero builds. Frankly, if I was into that, I'd just go play a video game. Also, something that may not impact all readers but did for me: the unlikability of the main character. I didn't "dislike" him, but I just couldn't develop empathy for the hero and what he was experiencing. I understood what the average person should be feeling, but he's a "cold fish," bisexual, atheist, and full of rage. I just felt sad for this train wreck of a character, like I would for an actual human being. I just couldn't continue the journey anymore. This review encompasses all the books I've read in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    If you're thus far, you at least liked it enough to continue this point, and consider buying the next one. I say do it. The hero development continues on a nice steady course. I am really excited with the ending, and where it will lead into the next book. No cliffhanger, just nice wrap up to a story arc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    So I love them system and how all of it was built even though there is 1000 more pieces to explain of it. What I don't like is the still sour ugh MC and his friends. I'd rather read a dungeon masters manual on the system. I'd pay 10 bucks for that easy. For everything else.... well I'm not seeing the worth of what I did pay. Sigh.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    Love this series and all that Tao has done with it. Looks forward to the next one and anything else this author writes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    My son and I have both been following this series of books. Once we are not disappointed with book five as the story progresses and we are now waiting on book six.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    It's a amazing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    Amazing ending to the first arc of what is hopefully going to be a long story line. I love the background of the characters, and the system development. Very simple to obtain emotionally attached to the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    As usual with his books, it drags me in and won't allow me place it down until finished and leaves me craving the next in this amazing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Cost of Survival: A LitRPG Apocalypse: The System Apocalypse, Book 3 review []  2020-1-22 23:59

    Very amazing LITRPG book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Facility 468: A Demon Apocalypse Short Story (Story 5 of the Apocalypse Collection) review []  2020-1-25 6:15

    Interesting short read that is amazing for a momentary distraction though lacking in info or actual plot. I feel there were more to this but the author decided to simply end it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    So, I was blown away by The Age of Apocalypse when it came out. But this one, well, the art did mostly stink to the point where it was largely a distraction to the story as a whole.I know in the next installments it will pick up again, and obtain to the first initial run of the Age of Apocalypse, and we do obtain the odd tips of it here and there, but really, Marvel needs to release them in packages from how they first came out. The second run wasn't nearly as amazing and you have to work your method through it to obtain to the parts that created the story as epic as it 's worth buying, but there is some absolute junk you have to work through to obtain to the stories that you loved from the initial runs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    The Kindle format of the Age of the Age of Apocalypse Book 1 is phenomenal. It is simple to read but for obvious reasons you must use a smartphone for there is no color with a primary Kindle reading device. I used the Kindle Fire for enjoying this complete work, and (if you buy it for Kindle Fire) don't forget to double click on one of the comic strips; it highlights the section and makes it pop out and makes the print larger. There were a couple of pages where the print was difficult to read and that was in the pop-up/highlight mode. In addition there were a few occasions when you navigated the digital comic that there would be a blank strip. You would have to deselect the strip which takes you out of the pop-up/highlight mode so you can see what the comic strip was, and then there was the problem reading that strip. I still enjoyed the comic minus those discrepancies. If Amazon fixes those bugs I will change my rating to a 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    I have a serious problem with this. While the cover is as depicted on the website, the stories within are the exact stories contained within vol2 (which also purchased, much to my chagrin). So while this is supposed to include precursor/side stories, it has the X-Men Alpha, and problems 1-2 of all the Awesome X-Men, Astonishing X-Men, Generation Next, Excalibre, Gambit&Externals, etc. I have returned the first and reordered, only to search the same problem so apparently they are mass producing v1 and v2 as the same book with various covers. Be warned!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    These are the wrong problems with book 1 cover. Not of the problems that are stated on the book are actually there when I opened it. I aren’t gonna be buying anymore of these epic book collection for Age of Apocalypse. I feel cheated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    I have not yet read volumes 2-4, so this is really a review of just this volume. Overall, I was underwhelmed. There are amazing moments and moments of promise, but ultimately this is a set of stories of varying quality cobbled together for a complete e Tales from the Age of Apocalypse (Sinister Bloodlines and By the Light) are the high points. They center on Cyclops and Blink, respectively, and tell well thought, engaging stories about how these two fit into the world. The stories are bigger than the individual characters, but those characters provide the main en there are the two X-Men Chronicles. The first is beautiful good, telling a story about Magneto assembling the X-Men and their first battle. It is interesting and lays out the characters. Still, things happen suddenly or not at all; Jean Grey faces off versus a formidable foe and all you see is her saying "this one is mine" and several pages later returning to the group. This is typical. The second Chronicles tells a story of a love triangle in the X-Men. It's a amazing premise, and there is a amazing villain, but it suffers from being over-the-top 80's stylistically and again, too much is crammed in there. It happens very e series devolves further when we obtain to the X-Man stuff. The first one is a very short story about X-Man's origin. It insufficiently explains Sinister's motives and what he is actually doing; maybe that becomes clear after you have read the rest of the AoA, but I haven't. The worst part here is the art - it's not bad, but Sinister looks like a Jockeys model with a large pack and a thin sexual predator goatee. Every time he's drawn, it's hard to look at. The second X-Man comic is actually much better, but the Sugarman is a poor villain. I found myself not enjoying e most frustrating entry in here is the four Blink comics. Amazing hero and amazing premise - a girl finds herself in a far away put and falls in love in the midst of a colossal conflict. It's a formula for success. But this piece is so full of non-sequiturs. The more obvious ones are things like in one pane the guards say the cell prevents her teleportation ability, and in the next she teleports out of the cell. Or a series of frames in which she is either tied up or untied in every other frame. At one point she says "I have three bolts left" while on her back is a quiver just bristling with bolts, and she hasn't used any lately anyway. These are easily explained and overlooked, but typify the storytelling here. Some pages I spent a long time just trying to figure out which order to read things, because the narration is disjointed. A major betrayal, meant to be a key in the plot, is never explained as to why it's a huge deal. I can hypothesize, but I ultimately don't know why the characters care.Other than the Tales from the AoA and Blink, these stories are not really worth telling. And including Blink, are poorly told anyway. If volume 2 is more of the same, I will have no interest in finishing the asons to buy: If you are a completionist, an X-Men junkie, or just wish to fill in a few little corners of the story for yourselfReasons not to buy: If you aren't already invested in the AoA or are only looking for the highlights from the X-Men

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    WARNING: Seventh Printing is a mistake!!!! After cover page, it is the exact same content as book 2. After checking, I found that it is SUPPOSED to be book 2. The contents of Book 1 are NOT IN THE SEVENTH e print job is also blurry in this volume, but clear in book 2 (which is where it is supposed to be).I just noticed this after opening book 2, which came in yesterday. I am looking into how to contact amazon and what to do about it. I certainly don't need to exchange for another seventh printing.BUT, I enjoyed the story, so I recommend reading book 2 of the epic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    I'll create a lot of opponents because of the title and what I'm writing, but that's how I feel.I'm a DC guy. Marvel, not so much, so I haven't been able to have fun the love others have for this saga. I end book 1 latest week and now I'm at the half of book two. I haven't feel the chills that I supposed to feel. I only bought the 4 books out of nostalgia. When I had 15 years old a mate of mine showed me an problem of this saga, and the name came with me all this years. I gotta have it. Now that I do... well... I'm not saying is bad, but is definably not as amazing as I thought was going to e story involves ALL the X-Men universe. The only characters I know from X-Men are the ones who came out with the 90's TV series. Here there are TONS of characters that I don't know who they are.I'm beautiful sure the story is amazing and the personality twists are remarkable in this paralel future, but I just don't feel is book will work only if you have some knolodge of the X-Men universe. If you never have read X-Men or know at least the basics... it won't work. Trust me.Anyway, this is just how I feel about Book 1. Let's see how it goes with the others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    Amazing product and quick shipping!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    Don't buy this book!Although it features stories from the Age of Apocalyse story line, it doesn't "begins here" as stated on the book description. It is mearly a collection of one-shots and stand alone problems but with almost nothing to do with the main story line. If you realy wish to read the age of apocalyse, buy books 2, 3 and 4, not this so called "book 1".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Age of the Apocalypse, Book 1, The Complete Epic (X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse Epic) review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    I had read much of this story when it came out originally in the 90s. This weekend I read it as a collection and I"m fairly certain the latest few problems (the 4 part Blink mini series) were completely fresh to me.I did like this read, but it was SO DARNED 90s.I can't say for sure how it might be liked by newer generations. Nostalgia kept me going through the book but I'm not sure how it would have been for one of my kids, for metimes the art is attractive to a point where I just stared at the page layouts for an additional min or two. Other times I'd turn the page and cringe at the ungodly horrible perspective or poorly detailed s, I love the story. Yes, I have fun the globe of AoA. No, it was not the awesome story I remembered reading as a kid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Apocalypse Now review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    **Ponderous, meandering epic with a few bright spots.** This movie is about a soldiers quest to search a renegade and insane Colonel (a bald Brando in an extended cameo) who has hidden himself away in the depths of the jungle and is causing all manner of commotion. Quite what it was - I can't remember, but it _was_ necessary enough to go down stream in find of him. Sheen's hero decides to head down river with his fellow soldiers and seek out the bald lunatic before its too late. Robert Duvall is hilarious as a battle immune soldier - especially when a shell explodes near him and he merely gives it a disinterested glance. Amusing! On the whole, though, this is a ponderous trip - the movie seems to meander aimlessly with small to hold this viewer interested. - Ian Beale

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Apocalypse Now review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    I think a lot of people who think this movie is a classic are deranged, the only memorable stage in the movie is when they drop exploding napalm and the guy in the hat says "I love the smell of napalm in the morning", the rest of the movie is a completely boring bombshell and it's like the movie was high on drugs as there's this one part where people are butchering a cow in the most grotesque method possible... not good cow, now I'm offended by this film. This movie is just weird, the characters are not memorable at all not even Marlon Brando's character, the story is non-existent and the ending just sucks. Overall this movie is absolutely not good and I don't care what others think, I did not have fun this movie at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    This is such an awesome game. I've been playing since beta and honestly can't stop coming back to it. The android game has me hooked and I spend every spare moment I have when I'm not doing something playing this game. Honestly such an awesome android game and I would like to thank and congratulate the devs for creating it. Only thing I would say is to maybe create the unique floors a @#$%!&eaper £25 for a mobile android game is a bit much for a floor I would love to obtain use out of

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Destroying the globe has never been more adorkable. Even as an idle game, the abundant flavor text and bouncy animations give life to this small universe that keeps it from getting boring. Progression is beautiful player-determined; ascending is important for some things, but it's just as viable to hold on the same run for a week or more and not hit a cap.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I really like this game! The quirkiness and funny dialog ad the android game delves further keeps me playing. I've been playing since the beta, or alpha.... they a lot and all of it has been great. There needs to be some rebalance changes on materials because sometimes doesnt create sense at a higher level of prestige

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    This is what idle android games have been building up to since AdVenture Capitalist. This is idle games' Mario where AdVenture Capitalist is it's pong. The graphics and melody are well thought out, quirky, and beautiful. The jokes when you idle are actually funny. The android game actually requires some thought. It's a masterpiece. At first, I hated how it slows down production whenever you are away from the game, but it's beautiful fair about that stuff. It's like a plant you have to come in and maintain periodically. Overall it's the best android game in the best genre for mobile. Amazing idle android games were the breakthrough that mobile gaming was waiting for. Hopefully Idle Apocalypse gets a lot of attention and leads a fresh movement.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I've been playing since alpha. This android game is easy and fun but also unique. I haven't played an idle android game as addicting as this one. There are in android game purchases which you don't need to create but I've done so multiple times because I think the developer deserves it. He's place in a lot of effort to make this android game amazing and has listened to the community feedback through this journey. Definitely check this out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Amazing idle game. Cute graphics, really well detailed. Android game is attractive as well as clever and beautiful funny. Controls are simple, but can obtain annoying to constantly retap generators. As well as the 4 hour offline limit which requires plenty of micro. I still begin it up though constantly to check on my progress. Overall though favorite idle android game at the moment, easy and indeed fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I love this game! I've played since beta. So fun! I cant wait to see what you guys come out with next! Also a small heads up, the sleep walker skin needs fixing. When attacking the 3 heros, the Z's they snore are backwards. Very funky.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    The prestige/revive/restart system could be reworked to hold the player's attention. After a certain point, the entire android game becomes "check in every 4 hours" And it's a bit boring. The resources could use some rebalancing as well. Late android game you have hundreds of thousands of some materials, but have to wait literally days for others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Its more idle then tap. It has a nice touch of micromanaging to craft materials. Starts slow but once you begin apocalyptic mode you obtain souls that you can use to buy perm and temporary upgrades. Give it a go its a solid idle android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I was pleasantly surprised at how simple to pick up this android game was when I first played it. The premise is simple to grasp and upgrading is always fun. My only problem is that when your swiping the menus in the rooms of your tower sometimes makes you swipe away from your turret all together. Definitely worth a test though!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Awesome android game overall, the melody was unexpected when it was added, but it grew on me and now I love it. It feels like so much work was place into this and the art is amazing. The only caveat I have is in alignment with other reviews, I think the whole prestige progression seems too slow and gets a bit repetitive cause you don't advance enough from restart to reset. Hold in mind this is feedback that is relevant hours into the game, maybe days so all in all, still an awesome game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Adore this game! It's super simple and addicting. The sprite designs are adorable and the melody gets stuck in your head. I honestly can't search a single thing I dislike about this game! Hold up the amazing work ❤

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I loved it! It's beautiful addicting and there's no true paywall if you take the time and just plan out your runs. I have a lot of problem enjoying these types of android games because most of the time there's a beautiful massive "pay to enjoy" theme. But this was actually a amazing departure from that model. I did feel like there were a few minor things that I couldn't reasonably access without true dollars, but not major items I cared about.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    This android game can be a bit fun for someone with small time. It's more about setting up the rooms in your turret to create various things and coming back every 4 hours (the max idle time) to progress and restart up. It looks amazing and is a few other things to do while you wait. You may burn out quickly if you test to play too much though, as of this post it's still a bit light on different modes. But still worth a download if your into a various kind of idle games.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Nice, well done small "build your tower" game. Amazing graphics, amazing humour. Be warned that the beginning is a bit difficult (confusing) until you learn the best order of room upgrades to obtain resources. The latest God is also hard to get. If you don't know that type of games: it's necessary to begin an apocalypse which reset the android game with "souls" that let each fresh turret build to go much faster (you use them to buy bonuses), otherwise you'll never obtain the Gods.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I love this game! Destroying the globe one snarky remark at a time. Every time I build a fresh floor I search my self going back and forth just to see what they'll say next, Every floor adds to the intricacy of managing your resources and prioritizing what to advance next. Even as an idle game, there is plenty to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I usually hate idle clicker android games but this one had me hooked! Especially when they added the melody I wasn't leaving, the art style the video test the sounds and everything, it's place together amazingly. Amazing job developers!!🤗

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Awesome small android game about destroying the world. I've had a blast since well before the latest event. The android game crashes kinda frequently but I almost wanna blame that on my old phone? Love it.💜🦁

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    This is a unbelievable and special resource management game. It has some aspects of clicker/incremental games, as well as some from idle games, and the bit of story behind what happens when you "reset" is more well-thought than any other time I've seen it done. Also, while you can purchase in-game items with true money, I've never felt pressured to do so, nor does choosing not to show an impassable bottleneck. At worst, the few resource shortages just mean waiting for the right everyday reward or powering through some winner levels for the right loot. As far as I've seen, the only room that must be purchased with true cash exists as a convenience only. I'll be playing this android game for a while and I'll certainly be supporting the developers however I can.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Randomly came across this android game while it was in Beta and got hooked! Playing daily and the updates the Dev has done based on feedback has been tremendous!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    You tend to hit walls a bit faster than I prefer, but being an idle android game I can understand. Apart from that and the ridiculous costs of the microtransactions, it's fun and amusing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    With charming melody and fantastically pixelated graphics, this android game is for true idle fans. A massive focus on resource management sometimes has you bouncing back and forth between choosing which stations to run and which monsters to spawn, and there's small ability to support them spawn, aside from magic spells or generators you can choose to even buy with the game's premium currency. It's used mostly as a little distraction on the day by day use, and it's fun to see your turret grow larger, and the droves of easy monsterous minions obtain bigger by the day. All of it combines into a fast favorite I hope to hold coming back to for a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I love this game! Most enjoyable idle android game I've played. In depth and slightly customizable progression system, never grows old, and enjoyably implements mechanics that other android games bog you down with like endless tapping and excessive ads. Adorable graphics and enjoyable small bits of hidden dialogue and animation are icing on the delicious cake that is this game. Looking forward to the future of this game, can't believe it's just leaving beta!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I started playing this android game a small over a month beforw it went live, and I have to say this is my all time favourite game. Every mobile android game I have played always ends up getting boring and repetitive to me, and I don't typically play it for more than a week. This statement rings even more so for idle clicker games. This one though, has thouroughly intrigued me, and I just can't seem to stop playing! What was more intriguing to me, was the fact that after I sadly had to replace my old phone and I redownloaded the game, it had given me 5k souls and 5k gems at the begin of the game! I highly reccomend this android game to everyone. 😄

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    So glad i took a possibility on the beta. Im so addicted i cant go long without jumping back on. Its amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    An overall amazing game. It has funnies, a progression system, simple controls, and the sprites are top notch. A definite must play even just to laugh at some of the dialogues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Fun small game, I hope more levels come out with time, the only thing I disliked was the speed of the "Treasury" floor, but everything else felt well paced. I spent cash in the store to help the creators and look forward to more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I've been playing the beta and for someone like me, this android game is hilarious. There's commentary on every floor and it actually adds depth to the story. My only regret is that I didn't obtain the Ednid skin! I've messaged the CS about it and they were previously very responsive. I figure between their first Android game Challenge and releasing the finished product so soon after, they're a small swamped. Push notifications when the gifts end would be a nice gesture. There's still some things to polish up but overall, favorite android game in months!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I honestly believe the jokes could've used a small break but I do believe that it had quite a lot of thought of thought place into the game, after all its somewhat difficult but that's what makess it addictive. Although it [email protected]#$%!& me to say so but I'm lovin it. 😂😂lol McDonald's 😂😂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    The android game is very simplistic but very fun I love the afk aspect and the ability to boost almost every thing you do. I loved the other turret happening and wished they created more happenings like it. -Beta Tester

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I really liked the theme, the creatures and the dynamic. I do like a lot of idle android games but I'd say this is the one I've enjoyed the most! Could use a little balancing with some of the ingredients but other than that it's an awesome time waster!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Very nice and special game!! The characters developed very nicely and also gives out a few jokes every now and then which are hilarious. Also the theme sound is awesome I search myself humming it every now and then. Overall this android game well developed and all out fantastic!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Hi I'm number 42, This android game has a special feel to it due to the raw imagination that Iron horse android games has given it. This android game has a story and that's a guy named Sid who is trying to destroy the globe through summoning these strong demons through the idle portal however there is a twist to the demons that you summon that I believe that everybody would enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Very interesting idle game. The resources aren't just random pointless values. They actually create sense in-universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    A amazing android game with amazing pixel art. A cool idea and an ad system that lets me watch them on my own time. Sometimes I want things were easier to understand/better explained, but hey, it updates frequently. Now if there was only a wikia...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Everything is amazing about this game. Been there since it didn't even have sound haha. I'm so amazed how this android game evolved. It seems so simple at the beginning, but I love that it gets harder and harder. Amazing !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Mindless idle fun, really. Animations are excellent, haven't seen any paywalls at all. Sure there's paid content, but it's absolutely not required to have fun this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    When i first got this i wasn't sure what i was getting into but now i see how amazing this android game truly is and i hope you do well in the future devs! P.s. amazing job making it out of beta!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    I've been playing this android game since before the audio came out and this android game has came a long way. It's so smooth, fun, honestly addictive. I highly recommend this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Idle Apocalypse review [App]  2018-7-11 21:0

    Awesome android game play and progression, very addicting. Controls are a but clunky sometimes, but they're actively improving them. All around amazing idle game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Apocalypse Sniper review [App]  2019-7-29 13:27

    I slow loading, need to modernize graphics ect.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Love this movie! My 12 year old daughter and I have watched it over and over. There are some jump scares, some comedy and fun songs! I definitely recommend watching it!!Update: I thought I was reviewing the film since I also bought a ritual copy of the film though prime video. My daughter has not read the book yet, so I can only review the movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    My 12 turning 13 year old daughter and I have been reading Anna together. Not only is it fun, it’s a amazing jumping off point for conversation. Curl up with your tween (when she’s not too prickly wink wink) and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I enjoyed this! Bit of a Shaun of the Dead vibe, but completely various protagonists - these were smart, resourceful high schoolers fighting their method through to obtain to their parents. Worth a fast read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I am far from a young adult but we never outgrow our teenage angst and desire to save the world. I loved this book. Anna and The Apocalypse is quite a wild ride filled with familiar family and mate challenges and yes lots of zombies. Prepare to laugh out loud and cheer for some crazy zombie killing heroes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    A amazing fun book about zombies and teenagers and singing! Written by the producer of Outlander tv present and a Seattle geek. It is a novelization of a British movie. The humor reminds me vaguely of Libby Bray who I also love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Bought this for my granddaughter and she loved it! It’s been passed around to her mates and they enjoyed it as well! As far as I know it’s still making its rounds! Will have to buy my own I guess, for me to read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    [email protected]#$% female lead hero meets funny zomedy = new take on the zombie genre! Some fun surprises and things I didn't see coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Anna and the Apocalypse is a tween and YA book featuring high schools mates on their method to graduation and fresh adventures when their city is overtaken by zombies. They're trying to take down these creatures, search their mates and parents, while taking on a very irritating, obnoxious high school assistant principal. A fun read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    If you saw the film then there's no need to read this book. It is exactly the film but without the fun melody and dancing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anna and the Apocalypse review []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I really enjoyed this book because it kept you wondering what was gonna happen next and the ending was a huge surprise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse Watch: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    Okay so for those not familiar with Ludlum: decent narration, smart international thrillers. He seems to do his research (foreign languages, government agencies etc.). But usually his plots cohere better; this one did not. And as the review from Amazon said, there is a seemingly endless series of assassination attempts. I mean, all his plots are ridiculous...but this one seems to take the cake. My favorite of his novels is The Icarus Agenda. That is a beautiful clean narrative. The Bourne Identity and The Matarese Circle in particular are probably his best. If you are a fan of Ludlulm by all means read this. But if you are fresh to him like I said please read Matarese Circle or the Bourne series first.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse Watch: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    I listened to this book in audio file and the narration was beautiful bad. The narrator was trying to be the voice of multiple characters and I had problem figuring whose voice he was supposed to be doing. After trying for 4 hours of listening I gave up. I wasn't going to spend another 18 hours of listening to a voice I couldn't understand or follow. The German accent was driving me e story might be good; however, there was so much dialogue that I could tell what was happening. The time line jumped around too much for me to follow, especially when they were having conversation between characters.If the reader can't connect with a main hero within 4 hours of listening to a book there is a major problem. I had no connection with any of the characters and so I gave up. Again, I like the plot to the story, but there were too a lot of factors that created me story listening to the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse Watch: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    Not my favorite Ludlum, but okay. Parts were interesting and exciting, but the ending was flat. Part of my issue was the narration. I switch from Kindle to Audible. Am not wild about Michael Prichard's narration, and especially so with this book. Often confused by who was saying what - everyone sounded beautiful much the same. Ended up reading as much as possible to avoid the narration.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse Watch: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    Ludlum's nineteenth, and another Fresh York Times Bestseller. I've read and enjoyed all the others. The story: Agent H. Latham has penetrated a neo-Nazi organization called the Brotherhood Of The Watch. BOTW is actively planning the Fourth Reich with a fresh Fuhrer and a high-tech brain implant and much infiltration, undercover work, and Lebensraum. Latham returns to France from the neo-Nazi camp deep in totally protected German mountain ranges with a list of neo-Nazi collaborators from around the world. Apparently the list includes hundreds if not thousands of names, a lot of of whom are top leaders in every significant country in the ham is killed by the BOTW elite exterminator team in Paris, and his brother, an agent for a various branch of the US government, swears to complete the mission and search his brother's killers. He does. Along the method he involves a cast of scores from a lot of nations and enough derringdo, explosions, citadel assaults and a murky romantic sub-plot to satisfy almost anyone.But it's too poor the printing industry invented italic type. Ludlum uses a lot of it. Sometimes it signifies internal thought, usually in turmoil. Sometimes italics are used for emphasis. There's a lot of that. In fact, it is rare to search anyone in this book, except perhaps an occasional waiter, who doesn't cry, scream, explode (verbally) yell, sob, insist, demand. Characters rarely walk, instead they run, jump, fly, crash, fling themselves, pivot, agonize, plunge, etc., etc. To suggest this novel is neither well-written nor well edited isperhaps, an overstatement. If you like this sort of stuff, here's a whiz-banger for e plot is up-to-date for 1996, drawn from current real-life thought and action. It's just too poor Ludlum didn't do a better job of exploring this truly frightening globe movement.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse Watch: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    It seems to me that Robert Ludlum who, during the 70's and 80's could do absolutely NO wrong when it came to writing the best spy novels EVER, is still living IN the 70's...as far as writing goes. Let's face it, NONE of Ludlum's novels are gonna victory any awards based on the dialogue of his characters...b-u-u-u-t if you are searching for the guy who could propel a novel based upon sheer narrative talent alone, Ludlum would victory hands I read 'The Apocalypse Watch' I kept getting the distinct impression--at first--that this was a direct sequel to the unbelievable 'Holcroft Covenant'...but that isn't quite the case. Then after reading a bit further, I felt that this was a quasi-re-write of 'Covenant' instead...but again, that isn't quite the case, either. As far as plot goes, it wasn't exactly Ludlum's most original, but I have to say, it certainly moved with the usual pace of his average thrillers. As I read this book, I felt somewhat saddened that truly one of the amazing Adventure/Thriller authors of all-time had begun to reach that point where his edge, his ability to be new has started to come to an end. What seems to have started with 'The Scorpio Illusion' has now continued with 'The Apocalypse Watch' and although I have high hopes for his future novels, it DOES appear that the 'absolute master of the superthriller' has seen the decline of his ability to dominate the audience he himself helped to create. But even so, I still enjoyed this book more than a LOT of other novels released in the past 5 years or so that were hailed as genius literary works of art. In my opinion, Ludlum just cannot escape his earlier novels, and his faithful reading audience has a very difficult time indeed reading his books without comparing them to his other tremendously entertaining novels. If we could do that, his novels (including his more latest ones) would stand up rather well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Apocalypse Watch: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    This audio ver is very well read by Edward Herrmann, he uses his talented voice to portray Frenchmen, French women, Germans and Americans, and manages to obtain every accent and nuance perfect. American agent Harry Latham must penetrate deep into a Nazi hideaway in Austria, to test and learn the truth and depths of a neo-Nazi movement threatening to form a fourth Reich. His brother Drew must search out the fate of Harry, who disappears mysteriously. The story encompasses the inner workings of Intelligence Operations from London to Paris to Washington to Berlin, and the Nazis are everywhere, waiting to execute their recent plan, a plan so vile and so destructive it will slay off political power figures in all the major cities in the world. The story is crammed with violent acts of murder, so a lot of that I lost count, and the spies are in every crack and crevice. But who is spying for whom, and who can be trusted? Were it not for the a lot of changes in venue and the overdone introductions of fresh characters every ten minutes, I might have been able to respond that question. As it worked out, I understood the story, and thought the plot was great, but had such a hard time keeping track of all the characters and happenings that I think I lost a lot of the effect. There were four audio cassettes, with a running time of 6 hours, which was great, a amazing value for your money. There were plot twists that were brilliant and will surprise and delight you, but the best part about this story was Edward Herrmann's voice. Don't look for the mini series soon.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter