Read the archetypal universe reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the archetypal universe reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Archetypal Cosmos []  2020-6-23 18:46

    To be honest this book was not what I was expecting -- I thought there would be a more in depth look at the archetypes stead, this book takes you through different contemporary philosophical, historic and scientific worldviews, synthesizing then and contextualizing astrology and the planetary archetypes and its presence and purpose among each - still interesting and thought-provokingI wasn't fully convinced by everything argued and inferred in this book, but overall I found it insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Archetypal Cosmos []  2020-6-23 18:46

    I have been a professional astrologer for over 30 years. During this time, I have been amazed at how astrologer works and have wondered how it ly, with this book, I have found the answer. Le Grice not only explains how astrology works, but also how all of the recent info we have now from Systems Theory to Jung to Campbell to Grof can explain how the universe is was formed and how it functions. Especially necessary is his explanation of how the cosmos is connected to our psyche. "As Above, So Below"This book is not for astrologers only. This book is for anyone curious about the huge questions.Highly Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Archetypal Cosmos []  2020-6-23 18:46

    I'm going to hold this short because if you've read the other reviews then you beautiful much know what I think. So, here is my two cents...as a former United Methodist minister on my own private journey back to God/Source, I had studied a lot of of the theories of Jung, Campbell, Grof, Swimme, Bohm, Sheldrake and others years ago...here is the key, I didn't have anyone to weave it all together for me like Keiron Le Grice has done! It is a attractive theory, I believe, that helps to present how the dualistic ideas of spirituality and science, intuition and rationalism, male and female, you obtain the idea, are evolving towards a more attractive synergistic whole -- while allowing for a very individuated/multi-faceted spirituality for each person with very individualized guidance through the use of archetypal astrology. Thank you Mr. Le Grice for your work!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the archetypal universe or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Archetypal Cosmos []  2020-6-23 18:46

    This is a wonderfully written synthesis of science, psychology, and religion/spirituality. Le Grice clearly explains what we are missing out on by no longer living in a mythological society, without, of course, denying the validity and necessity of pragmatic and scientific thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Archetypal Cosmos []  2020-6-23 18:46

    A true treat for the exploring mind, which I have not finished, but begin periodically to any page, just to stimulate this level of thought. The author ventures onto the cutting edge of quantum physics, to create the case for a coherent universe complete with discernable meaningful connections between the seen and the unseen. "...the self-organizing pattern of these vast systems seems to constitute a deeper order that supports relationships that cannot be readily explained in terms of established causal models..." Citing the interconnectedness of everything at the sub-atomic level: "The existence of such universal interrelatedness between discrete phenomena seems to point to a deeper order of amazing complexity and subtlety informing the universe."It is somewhat scholarly, in that it provides much history of thought and the philosophers and scientists who contributed to our views of the world; Plotinus, Leibniz, enhauer, Fritjof Capra, and Alfred North Whitehead, for example. "The field is now open, Whitehead declared, for the introduction of some fresh doctrine of the organism which may take the put of the materialism, with which, since the seventeenth century, science has saddled philosophy."Le Grice goes on: "...it has become increasingly clear that the supposed rationality that informs the modern scientific enterprise is actually based, as Edgar Morin notes, on a myopic intelligence that is fragmented, compartmentalized, mechanistic, disjunctive, and reductionistic." Morin explains: "True rationality...is the fruit of the considered debate of ideas and not the property of a system of ideas. A reason that ignores living beings, subjectivity, emotions, and life is irrational...True rationality knows the limits of logic, of determinism and mechanism..."His main thesis might be summed up with this: "Our conception of the universe is profoundly altered if we consider it holistically, as a living system, rather than as a meaningless body of inert matter...Human beings can then be seen as...vital components of the living cosmos. We are not, in this view, just inhabitants of a random universe, blindly moved by mechanical forces; rather, we are intimately connected parts of a larger organic whole." I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Archetypal Cosmos []  2020-6-23 18:46

    Le Grice is no doubt a splendid and clear thinker and academic. I can't imagine having an interest in astrology and the power of myth without buying this book. I have personally bought both the kindle and paper ver and have got all his other books. This kind of excellence is unfortunately rare. Very highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Archetypal Cosmos []  2020-6-23 18:46

    Hard to describe such a work of integrating so a lot of ideas. The take away is a profound reassurance in a uniting cosmic energy, a fresh imagination for the divine universe and the human being as an integral actor in the cosmic dance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Archetypal Cosmos []  2020-6-23 18:46

    Keiron Le Grice's fresh volume takes its put respectably beside Tarnas' Cosmos and Psyche as a quantum leap in archetypal cosmology. A leading light in a fresh generation of brilliant scholars, and co-editor with Rod O'Neal and Bill Streett of the influential Archai journal, Le Grice has created a permanent contribution to the succession of globe views currently underway. He is graced not only with the broadest possible vision but also a talent for synthesis, connecting a number of necessary dots between the broad strokes of figures such as Jung, Grof, Tarnas, Teilhard de Chardin, Joseph Campbell, Fritjof Capra, David Bohm, Brian Swimme, and Rupert Sheldrake. When one or two writers of this stature place forth a hypothesis, they might be dismissed as idealistic anomalies but when a growing number of independent researchers employing appropriate epistemological methods arrive at the same conclusion, it is clear evidence of a genuine paradigm shift. Virginia Woolf spoke of "the immense persuasiveness of a mind which has completely mastered its perspective." When the brightest minds of a generation start to articulate the same cohesive vision, there is no doubt that the globe is being created new.Le Grice's systematic intellect covers wide ground, carefully resolving and harmonizing a number of key problems in the fresh cosmology. Especially interesting are his discussions of the psychology of governing globe views; the changing mythological situation and evolution towards an individual mythology; the relationship between transpersonal psychology, ecology, and the fresh paradigm; historical synchronicities with the discovery of the outer planets; and the importance of the moment of birth. Like Tarnas, he fully recognizes the importance of Grof's clinical research. Le Grice also notes that when Grof discovered the central importance of birth in the formation of human character, he unexpectedly corroborated a primary tenet of astrology, that the infant's consciousness somehow records or is an expression of the prevailing archetypal dynamics in the collective psyche at that moment in e book's epilogue presents a compelling discussion of the psychospiritual significance of the Moon landing, during the strong Jupiter-Uranus-Pluto conjunction of 1968-69. Following a review of the archetypal meaning of the Moon, Le Grice suggests that mankind's quantum leap into zone and the rediscovery of the Feminine through the inner zone of the psyche involved a momentous collective synchronicity. As Nietzsche foretold at the dawn of the postmodern era, modern humanity is being compelled to discover the interiority of the unconscious, to undertake the amazing heroic descent into the underworld of the psyche. In the glare of our dominant masculine culture which emphasizes individual purpose and selfhood, we have left behind the crucial yin, lunar qualities of adaptability, relatedness, and connection. Le Grice feels that we need to counterbalance the stupendous achievements of our yang culture with the development of an interior lunar awareness. Yet he suggests that the challenge before us "is not to revert uncritically to a more lunar style of consciousness and method of being. Rather, it is to bring together on our own heroic journeys both poles and principles, the solar and the lunar. We must strive through our own individuation to preserve the light of conscious selfhood, to preserve the hard-earned cultural achievements and rational illumination achieved by humanity's long ascent, while simultaneously submitting to the descent into the unconscious so that we might bring to conscious awareness" the renewing and revitalizing soul within nature and human nature itself.Le Grice's exceptional fluency in a number of disciplines gives rare credibility to his writing. This work is a solid addition to the new-paradigm literature, widening and smoothening the bridge between the old mechanistic paradigm and the fresh integral globe view. He persuasively asserts that this nascent cosmology, grounded in observations of planetary motions and an informed archetypal perspective, could provide a fresh mythic framework for a more conscious, meaningful, and satisfying relationship between human and cosmos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    This is a unbelievable compilation and foundation on which to start to build your knowledge of signs and symbols. Very comprehensive, yet primary enough for all. Interesting imagery. May not be as specific and detailed (per subject) as some here would have liked, it is most certainly a unbelievable reference and if nothing else, a better than 'beginning' begin to understanding the messages held in the symbols and signs going on around you. Oh, and the hardback book itself is very nice. High quality. Numerous in-book ribbon page markers, hardbound very well, sturdy pages. I shall use this forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    As a student of art, I had hoped this book would support me understand the symbolism found in art. However, I'm disappointed. Most of the symbols in the book are practical, daily things and can only be applied in the most general context. While there are a lot of symbols in the book, the descriptions are common sense based on practical knowledge that most of us already know. Masonic symbols, or those on the dollar bill (seeing eye), are not in the book. Much of the text is a description of the item. For example, do we really need 1/2 a page to describe the scientific cause of lightning? Also, the writing style is difficult to read and boring. I felt like each description was written by a college student trying to impress his/her professor.I think there are better books on symbolism available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    I love symbolism, mythology, etc. Most books on symbolism follow a certain pattern, which is just fine. This one stands ysically, it has attractive foil insets for the various sections, just like in old dictionaries. It's sized where it's convenient to carry but would also create a amazing coffee table e content is a collection of individual essays about each subject with attractive photos to accompany most subjects. It's divided by category too, which reinforces its reference-book styling. The essays are brief enough for a fairly fast read. Most, I would say took me no longer than 4-5 minutes, and that contain studying the pictures. Expect an introduction to subjects, not a deep study, and you'll treasure this too.I'm very satisfied to add this to my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    Wow, this book is absolutely gorgeous in hard cover. I don't think I had anticipated the sheer size of this book, it's nearly 2 inches thick, but the pages are attractive and it has 5 colourful book ribbons. This is a book that I will cherish for years to come and anyone who happens upon it on my shelf will most likely wish to curl up with it on my couch. I can't believe it's not more expensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    I've bought a lot of of the ARAS publications, but this one was a major disappointment. It's as though ARAS decided they had to publish 'something' and this is what they came up with. Most of the entries are utterly uninformative, even b. It's too a lot of things spread too thinly to be of much interest. A lot of of the facts can be surpassed by a Google search. I kept the book only to support help ARAS and that's the only reason I did not return it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    I love this book. It gives you the general definition of a word then what other cultures/religions/ or spiritual meaning behind it is. It is much bigger than I was expected. Very heavy. It’s a amazing coffee table book to hve for reference. I don’t mind the artwork or lack of glossiness. I gave it as a bonus as well and recipients loved it. I would highly recommend this book just to have

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    The book itself is beautiful, but sadly the content is lacking. Entire paragraphs are just quoted material from other mal information, only covers very general descriptions. And, ironically it doesn't actually contain the symbolic meaning of a lot of of the animals listed. Overall, disappointed. This will likely be a dust collector as I don't search it very useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

     Bought this book a few years ago, after my unbelievable Jungian therapist referenced it while discussing one of my dreams. It has become my favorite book of all time. It changed the method I see the world. Everything can be observed through the lens of symbolism: dreams, stuff and animals that cross your path, elements in stories and film, even how someone chooses to decorate their home. The info helps me to craft magical spells, read tarot cards and make art. We take so much for granted as we move through the world, but this extensive and beautifully written book helps us to recognize the plethora of meaning held in everything around us. If I could only have one book, The Book of Symbols would be it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    The book is overall well done, with a dozens of imagery from all over the world: artifacts, artwork, etc. But the book doesn’t really feel like a it’s about symbols at all; at least, not in presenting any actual graphic symbolic or iconographic imagery. I feel the title of the book is a small misleading. Basically the book lists a huge number of creatures, ideas, imagery that poses significance across cultures. It often feels like a book full of trivial information. Overall, it’s an okay book to have if you wish something that is sort of a casual reference book of cross cultural ideas/symbols, but not a amazing one at all for actual study into symbols.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Symbols. Reflections on Archetypal Images []  2020-2-1 16:49

    i feel like some of the reviews are harsh; i use a lot of symbolism in my photo based work and i was struggling to search symbols for some things i wanted to create work about, so i bought this book in the hopes that i'd obtain some inspiration, and i did. one of my favorite quotes from the book, which is surprisingly about vomit -"body and psyche convey meaning through nature's dire expulsions; vomiting is a kind of gut wrenching "knowing" at the core."if you're looking for inspiration about symbols, i would absolutely recommend it. it has a lot of content and a lot of symbols. the only downside is each page has only about two pages worth of writing, but i'm satisfied with it regardless because of how wide the contents spread.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the House of the Riddle Mother: The Most Common Archetypal Motifs in Women's Dreams []  2019-12-31 18:44

    I really enjoyed listening to this. Clarissa Pinkola Estes has shown that she has amazing insight into women's dreams and what she said truly resonated with me. She also has a very lovely speaking voice - which makes a large difference to how I keep the information. I have enjoyed her work since "Women Who Run With The Wolves" and this was not disappointing in any way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the House of the Riddle Mother: The Most Common Archetypal Motifs in Women's Dreams []  2019-12-31 18:44

    Her work is a bonus to humanity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the House of the Riddle Mother: The Most Common Archetypal Motifs in Women's Dreams []  2019-12-31 18:44

    ...i adore the mythology woven throughout...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the House of the Riddle Mother: The Most Common Archetypal Motifs in Women's Dreams []  2019-12-31 18:44

    I have long wondered what some of my dreams meant at times they are silly, frightening, and mysterious at other times profound. I had not been taught how to interpret their meaning. Dr. Estes has again deciphered the magic that lies within. Our dreams tutorials to where we are in soul development, she explains the way to unraveling the messages we keep nightly. I have read so a lot of books on dreams and did not feel much enlightened at the end. So a lot of books just give standard meaning descriptions some from so long ago they did not have the same meaning to me. In these two tapes so much is explained in a method so simple to understand that the work she did in this zone is brilliant. I recommended them to anyone who desires to know thyself better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the House of the Riddle Mother: The Most Common Archetypal Motifs in Women's Dreams []  2019-12-31 18:44

    Pinkola Estes is not only a reputed Jungian psychologist but also a natural storyteller. She is able to link and connect naturally dream themes, concrete dreams from true people, globe legends, fairytales and myths, and look at dreams as part of a whole, as a globe of magic that is interrelated to other worlds of magic. She has a very mellow soothing voice, excellent for a therapist, but her whispering is not only a sweet song to your ears, but also a deep poetic and humorous exploration of our dream world. I loved some of the stories she tells, and the fact that her ysis of the motifs is really rich, deep and colourful, multifaceted, and not the usual monolithic this theme means this, and that theme means that. These themes have been discussed in a lot of dream dictionaries and dreamwork books, but I found that Pinkola Estes's ysis brings a lot of more things to the table than other e themes or motifs that Pinkola Estes discusses in this book are the following: 1/Animal dreams. 2/ Flying dreams. 3/ Precognitive dreams. 4/ Snake dreams. 5/ Paralysis dreams. 6/ Incommunication dreams. 7/ Dreams of blood. 8/ Disaster dreams. 9/ End of the globe dreams. 10/ Dreams about giving birth. 11/ Dreams about finding a baby. 12/ Dreams about finding of losing a treasure. 13/ Teeth dreams. 14/ Toilet dreams. 15/ Dark force dreams with a nasty man or woman. 16/ dreams. 17/ and dreams of e most necessary things that you'll learn from this work (beyond the interpretations and meanings that Pinkola Estes attaches to the discussed motifs) are the following: 1/ Your dreams are yours, and must be interpreted and be similar to who you are, your life, cirtances, psyche and soul, and no cookie-cutter of an interpretation will fit two various people. Symbols are universal, but also fit into the psyche of various people in various ways because they are infused in the individual psyche they sit on. 2/ You cannot disregard or ignore the instinctive feeling you obtain when you have a dream about what or whom the dream relates to. In the past, I have found to be real for me. 3/ Dreams are not only individual, but relate to themes, symbols ad stories contained in old legends and myths and they are part of an interrelated magic globe that is also very real, a globe pregnant with meaning, a whispering voice that comes from your own unconscious. When your dream relates to a specific theme and that theme makes sense to you, you will obtain an aha moment, like two piece of a magneto getting together when place together. 4/ Finally, as the title of the book hints, dreams are like riddles, pun confusing intricate queries that are embedded with a notice from your psyche to e main downsides of the book are three. Firstly, Pinkola Estes' tone is a bit flat and lacks coloratura, so I found difficult to hold engaged and focused for long periods of time. Secondly, these lectures should be about themes in women's dreams, but a lot of of the themes discussed here are not specific to women, but general dream themes that everybody has; it is not always clear in which method the discussion differs if they are dreamed by men or women and, besides, sometimes the author clearly states that the theme is universal. Thirdly, the author has a tendency to talk assuming that things in our heads are as clear regarding the connection between motifs, myths, legends and specific dreams as are in hers. Finally, the question arises, if dreams are individual and particular to each person, and myths and legends are Universal, how exactly universal themes relate differently to various individuals?This is a very enjoyable audiobook, fast to listen to, and one of those books that you wish to listen to more than once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the House of the Riddle Mother: The Most Common Archetypal Motifs in Women's Dreams []  2019-12-31 18:44

    I particularly have fun listening to Estes' voice as she reads her books. It brings a color and texture to the reading that shouldn't be e content is interesting and thought provoking. During one segment, the language is crude and a bit distracting. The switching back and forth from mythology, to fairy tales, to Jung is also a small hard to follow because in the end, it really comes down to "pick what you wish to believe that is relevent to you at the time" which is basically what she recommends in the beginning. So, if you are looking for clear interpretation...you will search none.I however am facinated to search that since I've started journaling my dreams...all of them contain the photos she incorporates into this reading. Which came first?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the House of the Riddle Mother: The Most Common Archetypal Motifs in Women's Dreams []  2019-12-31 18:44

    This author has the most depth, and versatility of any author I have ever red. This is most informative and educational material about the topic of dreams and our complex being.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    There is no one definitive book about the Tarot. Throughout the centuries, each one has been written with a various slant, a particular viewpoint and even various motives. What we've got to remember is that we are approaching the Holy here. Some modern writers on the topic that are financially dependent on the sales of books tend to forget that in their haste to be "popular" with the general reading public. They're easily detected by paying visits to their websites. If the visitor sees all sorts of gewgaws and whatnots for purchase, beware. The Tarot was never meant to be a carnival attraction; nor were manufactured curio offspring (like kewpie dolls rewarded to the winners at carnival plastic duck shooting galleries) imagined to promote a writer's career.And that's when we turn to Sallie Nichols, for she studied at the C.G. Jung Institute in Zurich when Jung was still alive, and she was as devoted as possible, considering much of the origins of the Tarot are lost in historical mist, to keeping it pure and presenting it inviolate.What is the Tarot? That's easy. Ms. Nichols here quotes Jung himself on the topic: "The Tarot presents a pictorial representation of the archetypes." However, there is no evidence that Jung ever used the Tarot as a resource in yzing his patients, as he created use of astrology for that e author points out that the Tarot cards were never meant to be interpreted "upside-down," and a lot of Tarot consultants do not practice this method. Besides the Major Arcana and the Suit Cards, not much was to be concluded from the rest of the deck's numbered pip cards, as the early Tarot decks did not fancily illustrate them (that came later when esoteric sects sought to use the Tarot cards to express their tenets). And, above all, there was no text. No cast in concrete definitions were attached to them, no cardinal rules set down. The Tarot cards cry out and yet they are silent. The only notice they clearly offer is, each in its own way, "Take me in!" And they do not mean that in an academic, pedantic way. Leave your rational handbag at the doorstep when you approach these cards, lest they fly away, or obtain purposely lost in a dark corner of a faraway cupboard.Another issue with books on Tarot is they are not very interesting. Sallie Nichols, for instance, whose book is more readable than any other I've studied, admits that writing does not come naturally or easily for her. She is an extrovert most at home in giving lectures and teaching, which is exactly what she did. Some of the most prestigious Jungian ysts in the world, and particularly those based in Southern California where Ms. Nichols resided, attended her lectures and learned of the Tarot directly from her. Some, such as James Kirsch (author of Shakespear's Royal Self) and an extremely knowledgeable woman, Lore Zeller (wife of famed Jungian yst Max Zeller, and head librarian of the C.G. Jung Bookstore at the Los Angeles Jung Institute until her death) are even acknowledged as having acted on an advisory level. These cards were a passion to the author which she accidently encountered during a "dry" period in her life. She would converse with them (using the Jungian technique of creative imagination), listen to their silent attentiveness and turn to them for guidance during stressful times in her life for an understanding of them, and of ever, a teacher and a professor she was, and she does not escape with this book presenting her material at times in a dry, even boring, manner, as if she were burdened with pedantry, and repeating, for instance, a lot of of Jung's discoveries so often that she is almost reciting them in a singsong voice. Some of the content, since the book was written in the late '70s, is dated. Her references to the behaviors of the hippie generation are passé, as are other local and cultural phenomenon of those times. Nevertheless, I read three other books on the Tarot in conjunction with Sallie Nichols's, and hers was by far the most helpful, interesting and clear. She has no secret agenda. She offers us her real love of the Tarot e author examines and reviews the 21 cards of the Major Arcana in depth, beginning with the card that is unnumbered, therefore assigned a zero to it, that of "The Fool." And which of us escapes starting off as "The Fool" in life? The final card depicts the illumination possible at the end of the journey of individuation, a state of being and awareness very few succeed in achieving. And then we once again confront The Fool, who is saying to us all: "Well, now that we have reached enlightenment, let's begin all over again." The planet keeps on revolving around itself and the sun. And so do we.If the reader is not familiar with the works of C.G. Jung, not to worry. Ms. Nichols does an exemplary job of explaining Jungian ytical psychology to the layman. She also explains spiritual numerology (numbers one through nine) that I found particularly informative. And then there are the archetypal photos themselves. What a parade! From the beginning Fool with his knapsack and dog, through the different phenomenon we encounter and become in life: the Magician, the Hermit, the Heavenly Alchemist, even the Devil...they're all here. And each and every one of us is somewhere and everywhere in those for the origin of the Tarot, there are a lot of theories. But the only valid, provable one is that they owe their origin to the Albigenses, a Gnostic sect which flourished in Provence in the 12th century. As Ms. Nichols states, in my opinion with just conviction, "It is felt they were probably smuggled into the Tarot as a veiled communications of ideas at variance with the established Church." Remember, the Albigenses Cathars were horribly persecuted and ultimately exterminated. "Catharism disappeared from the northern Italian cities after the 1260s, under pressure from the Inquisition." (Wikipedia)The second possible theory is that the Major Arcana cards are adaptations of illustrations from Petrarch's Sonnets to Laura (this is the theory of writer Paul Huson).I first read this edition shortly after it was published in 1980. I was living in Pasadena, California at the time and knew that Sallie Nichols resided in Santa Monica, not far away. I also learned that she was available to give personal readings; however, when I telephoned her home to create an appointment, the phone was answered by a man I judged to be in his mid-'20s to late '30s. I told him I wished to speak to Ms. Nichols and why. He told me that she had recently died. Of course, I was very flustered that through my unawareness of her death, I had added salt to the wound of grieving. I apologized for my call, and the man concluded by comforting me more than I him, assuring me that my telephone call was "all right." Yes, he did create me feel better. But I was very sad that we had lost such a sincere and knowledgeable Tarot pioneer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    amazing book...for anyone wanting to delve just a small more into the tarots deeper meanings......you may not be surprised to realize, this book is an perfect resource....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    Loaded with information on each of the standard deck tarot cards - much from a Jungian perspective. Definitively consider this book an necessary part of my tarot library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    I like the dozens of the thought provoking ideas in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the House of the Riddle Mother: The Most Common Archetypal Motifs in Women's Dreams []  2019-12-31 18:44

    As always Clarissa tells a story that engages you fully. I just love her wisdom and NEVER tire of listening to her talk. I love metaphors, they really make an understanding to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    Book review (Amazon) - Jung and Tarot- an archetypal journey, Sallie NicholsThis is one of the best, most profound, tarot books, based on the Rider-Waite deck and Nichols' rich, Jungian interpretations of the trump cards. I used it in tarot tale b below, together witht eh Starter tarot deck, also based on R.W.:[...]Two more tarot tales - the wheel of fortune a and bThe deck is shuffled and chop and the first trump card arrived at is one of two cards used in this way of story construction. After the trump card is discovered, the first court card drawn is used with the trump card to construct a story using Greimas' semiotic e trump card is the protagonist and theme of the e court card (upright and reversed positions) includes the e layout and sequence of the story is1 24 3where1= PROBLEM =The trump card in reversed position2= BEGINNING (PROMISING) SITUATION -- Court card in upright position3= THE NIGHTNAME - court card in REVERSED POSITION4 = SOLUTION TO PROBLEM = The trump card in upright position.EXAMPLE We have drawn the Whhel of fortune trump cardThis features time pressing on a (man)upright: destiny fortune, fatereversed: failure ill luckand the queen of wands - she is giving you a flower but holds a wand.upright = lovingkindnessreversed: jealousy, deceit, infidelitySTORY (from plastic card tables of the trumps and court cards)a.1. A man feels pressed in life because of his marriage2. He encounters a loving woman3. But this confronts him with infidelity4. The man accepts his marriage now more fullyb. alternate version:1. A man is down on his luck2. He encounters a loving woman3. But despite this she deceives him. The wheel of fortune on top features a mocking sword of justice (Sallie Nichols, Jung and Tarot p.180)4. The man accepts that that's the method life is.---Ever since Hume, science has imprisoned us in the dark cave of materialism and empiricism and needs torestore us to the quantum sunlight of plato (plotinus) -- see my www service [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    The book makes an perfect connection between Jung and Tarot cards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    A useful tutorial to support you discover the archetypes in the tarot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    Educational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    Excellent companion book for those who wish to delve into Jung’s insights

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey: The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light []  2020-2-2 19:28

    I was pleasantly surprised, this book was in perfect condition and arrived on time. This is the book you wish to add to your collection if you are seeking further archetypal info relating to the tarot. However, it does not cover the minor arcana. I would still recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    Marie-Louise is very amazing at talking about Jung's ideas in reader-friendly way. Often I can't read Jung himself, because his texts and speeches can be very hard to follow. Mary-Louis is very amazing at helping readers to understand Jung's ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    Psychology is so close to the tomfoolery of dimorphism for joking male unique weapons to pulverize any stable relationship that a woman attempting to explain The Union of Psychic Opposites in a few pages can support readers obtain inside the heads of ruling gluttons for punishment or the extinction of species that fornicate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    A crystal clear path is begin now and flowing beneath me before I deep-dive into the Jung's not miss it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    A thorough investigation into the psyche.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche, by Marie-Louise von Franz, integrates Jungian ideas of the form and formless, material and divine, finite and infinite. I love her material as articles, essays, and lectures in one volume, and there are three others in this valuable ing her diagram of the structure of the unconscious maps showing ego consciousness, private unconsciousness, group unconsciousness, subconsciousness of large-scale national unities, and universal archetypal structures, I recognized more of these unseen, immeasurable elements. Peering into ego consciousness, she unveils the atomic nucleus of the psyche called the Self portrayed in myths, sages, and dreams. The proper role of the ego in psychic totality is needed in one's individuation.Her latest chapter discusses Jung's Discovery of Self ("Die Selbsterfahryng bei C. G. Jung") whether Christianity's ideas of life or death can midwife the spontaneous and subconscious life of the psyche, or do we rely on God, divine, spirit to solve our problems. Optimistically, she and I believe that only an individual can do it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    There is no better expositor of Jung's teachings that Marie-Louise von Franz. This book is, I think, one of her best, although she produced a lot of brilliant books and lectures during her life. Her wit and candor, along with her anecdotes, combine to make a thoroughly readable and thorough approach to the process of individuation (attaining wholeness), especially integrating anima/animus energy. It is as if she is in the room, lecturing or being interviewed on vital subjects in depth psychology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    M.L. Von Franz was one of Jung's greatest expositors, and this volume is a treasure box of her ysis. The fourth and final in a series of her anthologized writings from Shambala, the book shows the range and depth of Von Franz's work and, in doing so, provides a potent and thorough introduction to a lot of of the foundational ideas of ytic psychology--individuation, the shadow, anima/animus, and Self archetypes, the collective unconscious, dream interpretation. Some of the entries were too technical for a layman like me, but most of the book was accessible and provided inspiration and insight into the mysteries of life as discovered through the inward journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    Marie-Louise von Franz deepens, expands, enlarges and interprets Carl Jung's perspective on the unconscious and its relationship with consciousness. Why read Jung without her?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archetypal Dimensions of the Psyche (C. G. Jung Foundation Books Series) []  2020-12-13 18:31

    This book takes an interesting look at myths, fairy tales, and dreams through traditional Jungian psychology. There's a wealth of info that can be used on the individual level for trying to understand some of one's private experiences and cultural influences. Topics such as evil in fairy tales, the cosmic/primordial man, the shadow, and the union of opposites are addressed in a manner to help in the understanding of individuation and mythology. Probably a lot of old ideas for those very familiar with Jung or Joesph Campbell, but it might shed a fresh light on certain matters that are addressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SkyView® Explore the Universe [App]  2017-10-23 13:9

    1st application ive used of this type! Wow! Super impressed. My 6 year old and I exploring the universe. Amazing. Set zone and calibrate regularly to ensure not 180 degs out. Excellent on S7. Tried on free ver for a few mins, then full paid version, well done devs. One satisfied dad and son.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SkyView® Explore the Universe [App]  2017-10-23 13:9

    I like this application a lot. I love zone and its so cool to be able to identify everything that's up there. I can't believe how much zone debris there is

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SkyView® Explore the Universe [App]  2017-10-23 13:9

    Can't search the qr code please give me one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SkyView® Explore the Universe [App]  2017-10-23 13:9

    Won't calibrate, S7 according to the reviews this is quite common. How has this not been fixed????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SkyView® Explore the Universe [App]  2017-10-23 13:9

    Beautiful amazing application for the price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SkyView® Explore the Universe [App]  2017-10-23 13:9

    Speechless

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SkyView® Explore the Universe [App]  2017-10-23 13:9

    I like it in general, and it definitely worth its price. Two suggestions: a pinc-to-zoom function would be very useful, and also a manual mode. (I mean when I would be able to swipe the screen and browse the sky, insead of using the sensors. Sometimes it is really hard to select an object if there are much in a group.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SkyView® Explore the Universe [App]  2017-10-23 13:9

    Application is highly accurate and extremely intuitive. Informative and runs amazing on galaxy s7. Also for 2.00, it is a hell of a deal. I expected to pay 20.00 for an application this well developed. Only negative is fighting with my 5 year old son to use it :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notes from the Universe [App]  2018-1-29 13:9

    Doesn't work at all. Can't login with Fb or register for a account. I obtain an error everytime. Waste of time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notes from the Universe [App]  2018-1-29 13:9

    Love the App, please I would like to share from the application to social media FB, Instagram, google, LinkedIn please please

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notes from the Universe [App]  2018-1-29 13:9

    I obtain the emails from the TUT www service but now I have double the inspiration - it amazes me that the universe knows exactly what I need and the everyday quote is very apt for the method that I'm feeling at the time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notes from the Universe [App]  2018-1-29 13:9

    Unable to login through Fb or register

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Universe [App]  2018-5-1 21:7

    Maybe outdated when compared to sources like Wikipedia Life friendly conditions in the universe are off by more than 3 billion years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Universe [App]  2018-5-1 21:7

    Nothing I have ever read has created me feel so small. Thank you for putting things into perspective. 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Universe [App]  2018-5-1 21:7

    This application is awesome I've loved outer zone for a very long time, and this application just fills me with awe. This is one of my favorite apps now. Thanks for this, and hold up the amazing work!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Universe [App]  2018-5-1 21:7

    Informative and fascinating! It condenses the very history of the known universe, including planetary and star formation and the history of life on earth, into a scrollable format. It even has some interesting scientific and hypothetical prefictions, of the solar system's and the universes close and VERY far future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Universe [App]  2018-5-1 21:7

    Really interesting, also like the fact it goes onto likely happenings that will happen in the future, slightly depressed by the end but nothing we have to worry about in our lifetime 😂

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Universe [App]  2018-5-1 21:7

    This application has scared me I am now scared of all the scary things that'll happen after I'm dead. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Universe [App]  2018-5-1 21:7

    I Love the application you should do one with the reproduction rate of various cells and animals

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Universe [App]  2018-5-1 21:7

    Gotta Nice one Really got amazing info that everyone should know. They have worked hard on it. Some improvement needed. But allover 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kinsmen Universe []  2020-1-31 22:11

    I really have fun the works of Ilona Andrews, but should know by now that the same books are released under various titles / collections repeatedly. Buyer beware--I'm tired of buying the same books again and again when the content is not clearly all fairness, I enjoyed the first two works very much. The third (and new) story didn’t quite live up to expectations, but was ok.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kinsmen Universe []  2020-1-31 22:11

    I can hold this short, the first 2 stories are exceptional and but I have to say that the fresh story added to this trilogy was less than what I had hoped for but was still a amazing story but was much too short in the end and for those with sensitivities about anything will probably take offense in the humor and tactic employed here (it should not be a spoiler that there is no actual in this story) so everything taken into acc including that only the latest story is fresh but does not create the first 2 stories any less than amazing, I have to say 4 stars when everything is considered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kinsmen Universe []  2020-1-31 22:11

    Really upset with the author. First off, 2 of the 3 novellas were already published individually. Second, the latest novella felt very incomplete. Love the globe building and the concept of this series, but it feels like the author got lazy. All these stories would benefit fro. Sitting out and fleshing out a full nove. Feels like this was done for cash than for the readers. Author, you can do better!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Universe []  2020-1-22 20:43

    TOUGH CLASS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horizons: Exploring the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:27

    For a first timer who is taking an astronomy class, this book I think is a bit too advanced for me. Also, it really left me stranded in the sense that there is a lot that is really unknown about the universe, specially the bing bang theory and how there are too a lot of assumptions. I think the author should break down the topics into easier than understand models.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horizons: Exploring the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:27

    Product as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey of the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:27

    For those whose spiritual quest goes beyond conventional religion and orthodoxy, this is a refreshing and delightful aid to enlightenment; for those who are bio and cosmic nerds with all the blinding 'facts', stats, projections and empirical data of science, but have intuitively glimpsed the underlying mystery and loving intelligence of creation's evolutionary journey, this book will elevate your human consciousness to fresh and daring heights. In essence 'Journey of the Universe' in clear, poetic prose reminds us - ever so elegantly - of how we got here (on an ever-so-bumpy ride at times) and how we are, and will continue to be, a living, breathing, evolving, integral part of this multi-dimensional, ever expanding universe - a universe that (from our Earthling perspective) has to be our reference point on all matters of coexistence, human dignity, justice, interdependence, and the overall flourishing of our small planet on the edge of the Milky Method Galaxy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poetry of the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:40

    This is a charming book, with a graceful pace and engaging illustrations. The transparency and accessibility of this book are a bonus to the reader, who is brought through complex material in a gentle way. I suspect that technically advanced readers may search some of the material fairly elementary, but may still search pleasure in the beauty of this book.I should here confess that as a math major I took a course from Professor Osserman on linear algebra about 30 years ago. His teaching style then mirrored his writing style in this book--calm, understated, ditionally, I probably never thanked him at the time for giving me a amazing math experience during that course. (For non-mathematicians who haven't had such an experience, allow me assure you that there is exhilaration in struggling with an initially complicated mathematical idea that suddenly becomes crystal clear.)So, belatedly, if you're reading this review, Professor, THANK YOU!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poetry of the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:40

    This is probably the best explanation of the create up of the cosmos that I have ever read. It clearly illustrates why mathematics is important for understanding the shape and features of the universe, and provides the reader with promising answers to age old questions about its origins and evolution. You'll also obtain a very interesting presentation of the most prominent mathematicians involved in this field through the ar in mind that the book is written in 1995 and therefore somewhat outdated when it comes to more latest theories and results from actual zone exploration. But it is still a amazing introduction to build on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Zero-Point Universe []  2020-1-21 21:46

    A definitive, accessible explanation to how vacuum energy fluctuations work to make fundamental forces and gravity, explaining most of the major shortcomings of general relativity and the standard model. Accessible to a non-physicist even if you don't completely know standard model details, if you know what an electron is you can follow this book. Quite simply mind-blowing. This single theory also provides a consistent explanation of the force of gravity, something that still eludes those who religiously follow the Standard Model. If the rest of the physics globe gets over their phobia of universal fields, which seems to be event with Quantum Field Theory, I think they will eventually arrive at what Fleming presents here so well. The most necessary and persuasive example to me was how Fleming's theory solves the issues of the expanding universe and 'missing matter' (which is really additional force) holding huge galaxies ry well written, in a coherent manner where the author does the hard work to lay out the ideas.I always knew intuitively that the fanciful standard model particle interactions could not describe a true phenomena, they have no amazing explanation of the underlying mechanism. Fleming is focused on finding, and explaining, such underlying mechanisms throughout the book. He shows a deep and cogent expertise in the field and is very amazing at using historical examples from greats such as Einstein, Feynman, and Bohr to create a point.I ordered 5 copies to send to my physicist mates in the national e book also includes a comparison to general relativity explaining 10 tests that Flemings theory passes (in addition to Einsteins 4 tests), to puzzles for which general relativity has no of all, the theory is intuitive and easy to use, based on a fundamental particle with charges of two things known to exist already, matter and thing I [email protected]#$%! would contain is a discussion of how a Higgs boson fits into the theory, but considering the Higgs boson was 'found' after this book was written, I have no doubt Fleming will produce that in the future. He does explain how the vacuum energy fluctuations make mass (exactly what a Higgs boson supposedly explains), so it may end up that certain unstable combinations of these mass-creating energies make the Higgs boson, which is the current explanation of the Standard Model.Another amazing thing is that you can design experiments in a physics lab to confirm the matter force (see flywheel discussion in chapter 9).Overall this is an wonderful work by a physicist dedicated to integrity of the scientific method.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holding Up the Universe []  2020-1-21 22:23

    I heard lots of amazing things about this from some friends, but not as amazing as you would expect. (Note: I'm a teen)First off, let's talk about the lack of e characters seem all too begin to talk about their feelings, past, and beautiful much everything. People do not just begin up about their anxiety, their problems, their struggles, to reveal everything. And yet, the characters discuss them so easily, it seems like something that is idealized by the government (as in the state health program about help and such). The openness of the dialogue renders the massive subjects they discuss less , the dialogue felt, off. Listening to normal conversations, you see indicators of nervousness, of concern, anxiety, self-consciousness. The dialogue between Libby and Jack are, to say the least, were lacking all these indicators. Again, Libby has anxiety about her body, and her past. However, in a lot of conversations with Jack and other characters, she seems to drop all of it and talks like a confident witty addition, the characters got into such ridiculous plots and complications that I was shocked. People do not go posing around in a bikini handing out a couple hundred copies of flyers. It is so idealized to the point that I react with "What the heck. Man." And 'Fat Girl Rodeo?' Seriously? It is so juvenile and asinine that it is utterly ridiculous. The parents seem to be very hands off. I mean, Libby's dad is supposed to be caring dad, and yet he doesn't pry more into when they skip (correct my memory, sorry if the happening is wrong). Another time would be when Jack announces his prosopagnosia to the crowd by going up to I believe the DJ and screaming at the crowd. This is something related to what I thought of myself when writing a story that was absolute trash when I was ten. Announcing the issue and hopefully all is resolved was the approach Niven took, which is absolutely ridiculous. The sheer amount of fistfights the students got into shocked me. I understand the author is attempting to make a teen romance out of a troubled life, but are fistfights truly common occurrences?Finally, predictability. SPOILER ALERT (You may wish to not continue reading if you wish to purchase the book).Jack being diagnosed with severe prosopagnosia by a doctor. They claim that he will never be able to recognize someone (at least that's the gist of it) and - bam! - he can recognize Libby. Great. Somehow by some magic force his prosopagnosia is cured only for one person. Once again, I must complain. Is this truly that amazing of an ending? No. Not at all. Oh my gosh! He realizes he loves her and he recognizes her. It is the epitome of a cheesy romance and contradicts all previous statements. But forget those details. It's not issue whatsoever! It's a teen romance, after all! It felt like the story had the ending written first and everything else was sorta created up later.Overall, not as awesome as expected. Nothing like All the Bright Places. Feels rushed. Special setup, but unrealistic hero development and sometimes primary love description/indicators. I would say on the surface, this is a nice story of love, but looking deeper you can see the quality has considerably dropped compared to All the Bright Places.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strangers From the Universe []  2020-1-16 22:45

    This record is a far departure from the record previous---the lo-fi, atonal masterpeice Mother Of All Saints---moving further into their own decidibly quirky and bizarre take on pop music. There's an early Talking Heads meets pre-ambient Taking Tiger Mountain-era Brian Eno feel going on in "My Pal The Toitoise" and "Socket" (that is, the songs are upbeat and funky with a quirky edge), fused ofcourse with their expected adventures into noise and atonal melodies. After these 2 gems, a short small peice of far-out Feller filler commenses(one of several; but, as another reviewer pointed out, the fillers here are smaller and less abundant, adding merely to add an interesting tie-over or intermission into the next song). Then comes "Hundreds Of Years", a memorable mini-epic that travels through several small movements before destroying itself in an aggressive small ball of insanity. "Guillotine" is one of the few directly beautiful songs on the album, it envokes a sort of airy shoegazer folk sort of sound that slowly builds while the Thinking Fellers sing softly and morosely "I saw you in a lineup/You deserve something finer". Then it builds a small higher as a chorus of weird wobbling voices overcome everything, before collapsing and slowly dissappearing into the mist. "Guillotine" is followed brilliantly by "Uranium", a small peice of filler that layers upon a frightening guitar noise until fading away into "February". At first, this song follows in the footsteps of the first 2 tracks with its Eno/Heads-esque sound, but just then 2 dueling guitars come together playing a unbelievable riff that can only be compared to a quick gamelan or something, and for the rest of the song, it ventures between the two styles. After another spooky filler track with "Pull My Pants Up Tight", "Cup Of Dreams"---one of the album's strongest points---follows. THe song starts with the scratchy sounds of an Optigan playing a faded carnival song from yesteryear, before a strong bass and guitar riff takes over and fills you with uncertain tension. All of a sudden, a beautiful shoegazer riff strait out of My Bloody Valentine's Loveless fills the speakers with a bubbly sound, just as an effects-coded chorus of voices chant "Scrub a dub dub, showers fall from heaven/Scrub a dub dub, rinse your worries away". After several repeats of the main bass line, the optigan introduction returns, but this time with the Fellers chanting in a goofy chorus that underlines some dark, misanthropic lyrics: "Let's squash the life out of everything and cheer through a swanky ghost/Let's bathe in a cup of dreams and share in a saucy toast". "THe Oxenmaster"-another cute small filler track. "The Operation" is another fine multi-part noise pop song. It actually features Anne singing in a chorus that sounds an poor lot like a song off Taking Tiger Mountain that I can't pinpoint right now, but if you've heard it, you'll know what I'm talking about. "The Piston and THe Shaft" has a more mid-tempo R&B-rock groove about it with a catchy small chorus strait from the 60's (or atleast a Tarantino film), and a small Beach Boys-esque surf bridge to top it off. In the chorus, the male vocalist makes his best David Byrne impression yet. "Communication" is both the most interesting and most brief filler track on the album, comprising of an otherwordly blues run-off accompanied by more wobbly voices from beyond. We leave the album with the melancholy, vaudevillian waltz of "Noble Experiment". Played almost entirely on optigon, it foretells the sad story of the state of the human race, and how it's getting so poor that we'll have to search fresh monsters to be. It's the most moving track on the album, and leaves you with the thought: Maybe they are the fresh monsters to be. Maybe they are the strangers from the universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masters Of The Universe []  2020-1-16 23:17

    If you are a Juno Reactor fan like I am, and are kind of a completionist, you got to obtain this collection of mixes!The single alone is one of Juno Reactor's best, and these mixes create it sound even better. Scatter them throughout your JR play lists!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wraparound Universe []  2020-7-18 18:42

    This book on Cosmology is in a class by itself, so the reader who is already familiar with the "Standard Model" should expect some surprises. The central theme is the following : instead of a easy topology, the Universe could have a multiply connected topology, and could be much smaller than is usually assumed. Therefore, in this "dodecahedral" Universe, some of the galaxies we see are not true galaxies, but are only photos of other galaxies! The author, Jean-Pierre Luminet, apart from being an astrophysicist and a spet on black holes, is also a gifted writer, who has published a lot of scientific novels and even some poetry, in addition to a lot of famous books on astrophysics and cosmology(unfortunately, most of them are in r more information, the interested reader may wish to visit his webpage at ). So he leads the reader to this conclusion in a step-by-step fashion, and he explains all the nooks and crannies of cosmology, without forgetting the Einstein field equations and the Friedmann equations, which are the basis for all cosmological models. Then, drawing on his own research in cosmic topology, which is too technical to be part of this book, he uses the recent estimates of the cosmological parameters, especially the total density Omega(slightly larger than 1) to conclude that the Universe must have a multiply connected topology. This is in contradiction with the "mainstream" inflationary paradigm, which uses the same data to prove that the Universe is spatially flat, and therefore infinite. Hence a dispute between "cosmologists" and "topologists", which the latter think they would eventually win, because their theory gives a natural explanation of the so-called "low multipole anomaly" in the power spectrum of the minet, with whom I had some correspondence about this and some other of his books, hopes that the Planck satellite, expected to be launched in October 2008, would give a much more accurate CMB power spectrum than WMAP, which will eventually resolve this tantalizing issue.But whatever the outcome, this attractive book, which offers an example of thinking "outside the box", is a must read for all those interested in Cosmology, and I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Discovering the Universe []  2020-2-2 19:24

    I had to buy this book for my astronomy class this summer and my student bookstore was selling it for a MERE $80. Please stand by while I weep tears of BLOOD because I'm boyfriend suggested checking the internet and it was Amazon to the rescue. I was able to obtain it for super cheap and above that, it's really an perfect book. It's colorful, INFORMATIVE!!, and kept me interested.I'd really suggest this to anyone either taking an astronomy class or someone who's just interested in zone in general. This is an perfect resource: it has lists of dates for upcoming meteor showers (for years to come), explanations for everything you could ever dream of or ask (including time travel and possibilities therein), and glossy, attractive pictures and diagrams (easy to follow and understand)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Discovering the Universe []  2020-2-2 19:24

    Price is good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Day the Universe Changed []  2020-3-29 18:54

    This is a review ONLY of the abridged CD audiobook read by the author James Burke. Relative to the book and the video series, each of which have ten chapters, the abridged CD audiobook is missing chapters 4, 6 and 8. In addition, the 3rd CD has sections out of order. The 3rd CD order is:Chapter 9, Part 2Chapter 10, Part 3Chapter 10, Part 4 (the end)Chapter 10, Part 1Chapter 10, Part 2Chapter 9, Part 3Chapter 9, Part 1If you copy the content of the three CDs to your iPod you can rearrange the parts as necessary, but the order as it stands is totally confusing.I happen to think the The Day The Universe Changed video series (previously not available commercially except for a school/library ver for $750, but now available at modest cost) is the finest series ever created, and the accompanying The Day the Universe Changed: How Galileo's Telescope Changed The Truth and Other Happenings in History That Dramatically Altered Our Understanding of the Globe (Back Bay Books) book is nice because it echoes the videos without repeating the exact same content. But this CD audiobook is missing three of ten chapters and has the latest two chapters scrambled. It cannot really be recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Day the Universe Changed []  2020-3-29 18:54

    I had this book years ago. Really enjoyed it. I had loaned it out and forgot to who, now I have it back through my purchase. James Burke is a master storyteller who weaves history, science, and technology has masterful as in a Dan Brown story, the huge difference is Burke's stories are true.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Universe (Lonely Planet) []  2020-6-25 18:44

    Just waiting on more affordable travel options. Might I suggest a The Universe on a Shoestring edition?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Universe (Lonely Planet) []  2020-6-25 18:44

    This is very clever of Lonely Planet. A "Travel" book about the Universe. Excellent! With colourful pages chock full of unbelievable photographs and explanations. The hard cover book is thick and sturdy, should last. The photography is gorgeous, some of the best of NASA and other zone agencies and universities. The descriptions are well done without being overly technical so it's not over whelming with math, which is the main method to study the Universe. Starting off with our solar system. The planets, Earth included, of course, and perfect descriptions of solar flares and how to spot them. This is for everyone who loves the skies above and love astronomy and geographical descriptions. And forward by Bill Nye, the Science Guy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Universe (Lonely Planet) []  2020-6-25 18:44

    This is a very nice compact book full of wonderful photography page after page, once you pick it up its hard to place down. I was pleasantly surprised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passport to the Universe []  2020-12-16 21:52

    I thought it was a dvd, wanted my grandsons to see it. The cd is useless

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strangers From the Universe []  2020-1-16 22:46

    I have this one on vinyl, and it's one of my favorite releases from a favorite band. Strange thing about TFUL 282 - their covers give you a sense of the styles on the inside. Like its pink color, this has more of a 'pop' flavor. If you're just getting into this band, I think this is one you should seek.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Universe []  2020-1-22 20:43

    There’s some grammatical errors and some fresh advancements in science have been created since some of the information in here. But it’s interesting none the less.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horizons: Exploring the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:27

    This is a textbook I need for a class I'm takin in September.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey of the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:27

    Not incredibly technical (and that's okay by me), but it's a wondrous story of the Universe, Huge Bang style, in simpler terms. It almost has a poetic feel to it as the story is told as a continuing unfolding of the Universe with life on Earth being a part of the bigger story. It tells how our "smaller" story of humanity fits into the picture and poses the emergence of humans as the Universe looking back at and pondering itself. I found it to be a very attractive saga of everything!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey of the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:27

    Very readable acc of cosmic evolution. This books lays out the deep nestedness of everything. A bit light on Aboriginal thought, but overall this is a amazing read and draws in the seeker to go even deeper into the science. The bibliography is excellent! Old notions of god and religion evaporate like mist when considering the far more expansive notions of spirituality evoked in this book. This effort adds to energy of moving beyond the simplistic dualism of our western (Euro/Near-East oriented) culture and it's stilted perspectives of humans in nature.Highly recommended!Kyle Gardner, author, Momentary Threshold

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poetry of the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:40

    This is a story of shape and form. The Poetry of the Universe answers two similar questions: What is the shape of the universe and what do we mean by the curvature of space?During the amazing period of global exploration the Europeans placed rigorous demands on maps, demands that stretched the capabilities of mathematicians. Robert Osserman offers a striking parallel between that endeavor and our modern efforts to unravel the form and structure of the universe.Osserman's description of the evolution of abstract geometries is fascinating. We learn about the remarkable contributions of the combined genius of Euler, Gauss, Lobachevsky, Bolyai, Riemann, Minkowski, and Einstein to our fresh understanding of cosmology. Gradually, Osserman brings us full circle from the issue of representing a spherical (or elliptical) earth on a Euclidian flat map to the more difficult issue of representing an expanding universe characterized as a is is a amazing small book and I can recommend it to a wide audience. Osserman conveys the beauty and excitement of mathematics without delving into equations. In parallel, he provides expanded footnotes in an appendix for the mathematically inclined. I suggest reading the appendix after completing each chapter, mathematically inclined or keeping with his title, he offers pertinent, often poetic quotes in each chapter such as: Euclid alone has looked on Beauty bare. Pure mathematics is, in its way, the poetry of logical ideas. The most distinct and attractive statement of any truth must take at latest the mathematical form. (By Edna St. Vincent Millay, Albert Einstein, and Henry David Thoreau.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poetry of the Universe []  2020-1-21 21:40

    The hype on the back cover, from the publisher, likens this book to the "literary bestsellers" of Watson and Thomas. However, the amazing shame is that this book won't last. Ultimately, the book is quite exasperating, not for the conceptual challenges it poses, but for the sloppiness of the writing a key junctures: often it is impossible to understand what is meant from what is written. On at least three occasions, I am certain that Osserman used inappropriate words. I entirely blame the editors for this failure. It is a shame because it ultimately renders the book incomprehensible to the non-spet. I would recommend Brian Greene's latest book over this one, though the topic matter differs somewhat: Greene takes in string theory and the unified field challenge, while Osserman focuses on multidimensional zone and cosmogony. Maybe it is worth reading Osserman to obtain a sense of the art of such books, to appreciate the quiet brilliance of Lewis Thomas. Sort of like drinking poor wine in order to really appreciate the good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Discovering the Universe []  2020-2-2 19:24

    As an amateur astronomer of 40 years I bought this used book as a backup book for my observatory for our astronomy club members and my family to use. William J. Kaufmann and Neil F. Comins wrote a very amazing book. Simple to read and lots of amazing questions for the astronomy student to tackle. William has a amazing style that reads well, not super advanced technical that would be very amazing for a senior high school student or freshman college me math and formulas but not too difficult.Lots of amazing pictures. The book keeps your interest and makes you wish to read more as you learn each topic.I liked the astronomers toolbox where specific astronomy tools and formulas to compute different equations. Also in the back is a amazing appendix listing data on the planets and their satellites as well as the nearest and visually brightest stars....a amazing fast me of the different subjects discussed ( There are more) are Discovering astronomy, Discovering the night sky, Earthly cycles, Eclipses, Gravitation, Origins of the Sun centered universe,Kepler's and Newton's Laws ( done very well and important!),Light and telescopes,Optics and telescopes, Radio Astronomy, Spectra, Atoms,The Solar System,The evolution of stars and their life cycles, galaxies, quasars, The expanding universe vs. the steady state. This is only a partial selection. The authors wrote much more and covered all the necessary bases. A amazing read for the average layman without getting too technical. As I said amazing for a senior high school student or college student taking astronomy 101.I checked out the supplied free Starry Nights Discovering The Universe Software 5.0 software. It loaded well on my MS Vista laptop. However I was not impressed with it. Not able to obtain full screen Messier objects, galaxies, clusters and planets all at one time. I know this is the freebie software and you can obtain the make batter Starry Night Pro for $59 on line. I like my Sky 6 Bisque planetarium software much e newer edition is probably better with updates and more information on newer found exoplanets. This older edition at low cost is fine as a backup reference book and a book for students to respond both regular and more advanced astronomy questions. Would of given 5 stars but the free software was just so so...maybe 3 stars tops. Together the pack 4 stars. Test to obtain the later edition at low cost. If not able to, this older edition is fine as much of the material is still amazing and will not change. Maybe more info required on fresh exoplanets. A amazing backup observatory book and study guide. 4 stars and recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Discovering the Universe []  2020-2-2 19:24

    This was the assigned text for a college Astronomy class I took. I really have fun the book. It is well written, simple to read, yet provides a lot of information. It's a rare college text that is actually interesting to just sit down and read and flip through. Amazing photography and illustrations throughout. I will be keeping this book for private note: Older reviews say the book comes with a CD that contains an electronic copy of the book and/or StarryNight software. The 2014 (10th edition) paperback does not come with any CD but if you look carefully inside the book's Preface you can search a the companion web website which contains some additional slides, flashcards, quizes, star charts, etc. The book also says you can request a download key for StarryNight but I haven't figure out how/where you are supposed to do that yet. An electronic copy of the book is not included anymore and you'd have to buy the premium electronic textbook as far as I can tell.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Universe (Lonely Planet) []  2020-6-25 18:44

    While somewhat compact in size, this book is absolutely b with photographs and info about The is is a subject I've loved since I was a child. I've studied and read about The Universe for decades. This is one of the top three books I've ever read on the e level of detail and photography presented in this book is really quite impressive. In fact, it's impressive enough to hold the interest of people like me who've studied the subject for decades, while simultaneously being able to draw in those casually interested in the topic.I think owning this book is a necessity for anyone who truly loves this topic matter. I also think it's a very fine vessel of learning for those interested in the subject but have just started.Highly recommend!!!5 starsCheers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passport to the Universe []  2020-12-16 21:52

    This melody is certainly appropriate for a planetarium full of people who wouldn't think twice about the commercial nature of it. For that it deserve three stars. Otherwise, it's nothing spectacularly original or especially beautiful. In simply listening to it, without a zone show, I can't support but feel that I am missing something. I was sorely disappointed with this cd. It was recommended to me based on other artists I listen to, but as with most recommendatons, it missed the target.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of The Universe [App]  2020-4-4 21:35

    So far, its a amazing game! Love the graphics, amazing sounds and music, creative on the part of choosing your direction in the story, and the while android game itself! But could you add a joystick control? It is very difficult to move. I have only had this android game a short while but I am sure its gonna be great! Hope to see more!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386