Read the art of courtly love reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the art of courtly love reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love []  2020-1-22 22:14

    A seemingly tongue-in-cheek imitation didactic poem on seduction and love-making. The poem reads like an instruction manual, but Ovid uses the form of a love poem and numerous digressions to enhance the humour. However, he does create some powerful points about how both sexes use deception in courtship (a woman's pleasure adds to the overall enjoyment of love-making, etc.) making one think that he wanted to educate while deflecting criticism by taking the humourous approach. It didn't work, apparently, as he was soon aftewards garding the Folio Society edition with James Michie's translation and Grahame Baker's illustrations - this is an perfect form for this work. The translation respects the form of the original poem without adhering so strictly as to loose the free-wheeling fun of the message. And Baker's illustrations capture the 'look and feel' of erotic art contemporary to Ovid. A highly desirable English edition of this ancient work.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the art of courtly love or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love []  2020-1-22 22:14

    Amazing Book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love []  2020-1-22 22:14

    This was a bonus and they loved it. It was listed on their Amazon want list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love []  2020-1-22 22:14

    A seemingly tongue-in-cheek imitation didactic poem on seduction and love-making. The poem reads like an instruction manual, but Ovid uses the form of a love poem and numerous digressions to enhance the humour. However, he does create some powerful points about how both sexes use deception in courtship (a woman's pleasure adds to the overall enjoyment of love-making, etc.) making one think that he wanted to educate while deflecting criticism by taking the humourous approach. It didn't work, apparently, as he was soon aftewards garding the Folio Society edition with James Michie's translation and Grahame Baker's illustrations - this is an perfect form for this work. The translation respects the form of the original poem without adhering so strictly as to loose the free-wheeling fun of the message. And Baker's illustrations capture the 'look and feel' of erotic art contemporary to Ovid. A highly desirable English edition of this ancient work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love []  2020-1-22 22:14

    A seemingly tongue-in-cheek imitation didactic poem on seduction and love-making. The poem reads like an instruction manual, but Ovid uses the form of a love poem and numerous digressions to enhance the humour. However, he does create some powerful points about how both sexes use deception in courtship (a woman's pleasure adds to the overall enjoyment of love-making, etc.) making one think that he wanted to educate while deflecting criticism by taking the humourous approach. It didn't work, apparently, as he was soon aftewards garding the Folio Society edition with James Michie's translation and Grahame Baker's illustrations - this is an perfect form for this work. The translation respects the form of the original poem without adhering so strictly as to loose the free-wheeling fun of the message. And Baker's illustrations capture the 'look and feel' of erotic art contemporary to Ovid. A highly desirable English edition of this ancient work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women Poets of the Italian Renaissance: Courtly Ladies & Courtesans (Dual-language poetry) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    If you enjoyed Risky Beauty, you'll have fun this amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women Poets of the Italian Renaissance: Courtly Ladies & Courtesans (Dual-language poetry) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    ... and more than just a few, in Renaissance Italy. This exciting collection includes selections from the works of nineteen Italian poetesses, whose social status ranged from a reigning princess (Leonora Falletti) to the illegitimate daughter of a nobleman (Laura Ammannati), to convent girls, wives of middle class merchants, professional singers, and practitioners of "the oldest profession." Each selection is matched with a brief biography of the authoress, and together these capsule biographies amount to a very cogent history of the incipient feminism of the e themes of these poems range from fervent mysticism to fervid eroticism, with a surprising number of patriotic exhortations, including prescient calls for Italian unification. Some were published in the poetess's lifetime, but a lot of have survived incorporated in letters; those of the women of highest social rank tend to be unpublished, just as the poems of melody of male aristocrats would have been. The forms are the tightly-packed, elliptical, allusive sonnets and madrigals of the era. A lot of of them must have been intended for musical setting and, indeed, their passionate rhetoric is hard for modern ears to capture without the help of a singing voice. The best known of the nineteen is Gaspara Stampa, widely regarded as one of the greatest poets of the Italian Renaissance, in a class with Petrarch and Ariosto. The most fascinating, for modern readers I suspect, will be Veronica Franca, a Venetian 'courtesan' who mixed freely with the most rarified circles of humanists and painters, who was hired by the Republic to 'entertain' the young Henry of Valois on his method to his coronation as King of France, who was accused of witchcraft by the Inquisition and 'beat the rap,' and who founded a shelter for abandoned and abused women and aging prostitutes, thus becoming one of Italy's earliest 'social workers.'The anthology is bilingual. I warn you that most of the beauty of the poetry is lost in English translation. That is true, of course, of poems by men as well. For an English reader, I think, the interest of the book will be more historical and social than aesthetic. But if you can read even a small Italian, it will be the kind of book you'll take out once in a while just for a jolt of passionate refinement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women Poets of the Italian Renaissance: Courtly Ladies & Courtesans (Dual-language poetry) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    It is really amazing to search an perfect translation on women poets of the Italian Renaissance, as well as to have an edition that has facing Italian and English poems. The translators have also preserved the spelling and diacritical marks of the original text. The brief biography on each woman writer necessary background info on her life and her literary style. At the end of the book, there is an extra section written about the political and social situation in Italy from the fourteenth to the sixteenth century. There is an added of a map that shows the Italian city-states around 1559. The bibliography shows the amount of painstaking effort to research material for this book. Finally, there is an index of first-lines that makes reference very easy. Therefore, this book is an perfect book to use either in a classroom or for purely recreational enjoyment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    Excelent conditions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    Easily the most fascinating book to come out of antiquity. You come learn to realize just how small has changed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    I bought the book on Amazon and I love it. It is filled with a lot of insight and wisdom, but the info is very accessible. I was able to attend a retreat based on the book in July in Seattle which was a amazing adjunct to the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    There is some strong items in here—things to think about as you read and things to ponder for years to this book. Read all of Sharon’s books. Wish a particular one to read next? For me, Faith is a very profound book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    This book came to me at a time where I really required to hear it and actually could take it in. So much written here is easy and has been said in other ways before but for me that just created it feel familiar, like wearing your favorite sweater. Like remembering what I know to be true. Loved it. Truly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    Entertaining, if at times overly contemporary translation. An simple serving up of one of Western literatiure's timeless authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    This book is amazing. I absolutely love that it has the original Latin on the left pages. As one who has studied Latin for four years, this book is great. The translation is generally excellent, a nice balance of the literal language and Ovid/the translator's wit and poetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    Or at least, place it in a very positive way, that's what the smile on my face meant when I finished reading this attractive piece written by Ovid during the first century A.D.; perhaps the "step by step" seduction handbook then and now, is even more remarkable by the fact that its wisdom applies the same in today's "complex" e Art of Love or "Ars Amatoria" is no doubt the effect of the life of a very well traveled and educated man, for he is one of those few who understands the ways (and mistery) of the feminine soul... by the same token, Ovid gives us both sides of the coin in this Roman's elegy: the ways of the male spirit in to seduce women, and the step by step tutorial for women to seduce and hold men... in other words, there's nothing fresh under the sun, BUT, the ways we perceive and apply knowledge...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    I first heard Sharon speak at Wisdom 2.0, this past fall, at a Mindfulness conference - a movement she has supported and contributed to in amazing measure. She had so a lot of thought provoking things to say, from her global perspective. Her extraordinary background somehow seems to resonate in so a lot of various ways to True Love was my first read of her canon. I liked the harmonic structure of it as a whole, and the simple demonstrative examples she gave for daily thoughts and challenges we all go through, and how this ties into a larger truth - that we're all in this e book is accessible to most readers, with concise, plain spoken syntax, no fresh age flakiness, and just like she is in person, so you don't feel like some brain surgeon's editor wrote the book. Each chapter ends with some practical exercises to test - meditation is one she puts a large value on, which is consistent with Mindfulness, as well. You'll feel better just reading it, trust me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    This is a unbelievable book. One can read it and use it immediately to live in the moment for your whole life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    Really funny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    My book arrived before my expected delivery! Very pleased! Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    This was my introduction to lovingkindness and meditation, and I was absolutely thrilled with this book! I believe that if you read this book with an begin mind and really listen, you will search that you can experience "real love" with the globe around you. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone feeling depressed, unloved, unhappy, disconnected, and the like. This book brings true hope that we can have fulfilling experiences and relationships with the globe around us by first cultivating the capacity for love within e practices in this book cultivate positivity, healing, love, and a sense of wholeness with the universe, which is tremendously powerful. Sharon also used plenty of true globe examples and has a down-to-earth style, which makes so if this much less daunting to beginners like me! I plan on buying Sharon's other books, including a print copy of this book as a bonus for someone, continuing my studies of lovingkindness and meditation, and seeking supportive communities as mentioned in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    I want I could like this book more than I do. It's a rehash of "loving kindness" meditation techniques. Other Buddhist writers have done a better job of covering the material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    Easygoing approachable book that is a amazing read without imposing judgment or getting overly technical. Separating love from judgment about love is a concept shift from western cultures. The author has a lot of freebies on www service for those interested in pursuing further as well as some podcasts out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    Very interesting book. I am constantly surprised by how related our society is to the ancient Rome. I didn't know it was printed in Latin on one page and English on the other, a pleasant surprise. Don't know much Latin, but amazing to have and fun to look over at the original once in a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Love (Modern Library Classics) []  2020-1-24 23:48

    Perfect piece of reading... Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    Sharon's book True Love is a very necessary addition to the vast (and growing) mindfulness literature. Her accessible, compassionate voice helps reads take mindfulness practice "off the cushion" and into the everyday life of relationship (with others and ourselves). In a time of division and separation as we're seeing play out on the globe scene right now, it is so necessary to take in the heart-teachings of someone like Sharon and learn how to bring down the barriers to true love. Mitch Abblett, PhD, Author of The Five Hurdles to Happiness - and the Mindful Path to Overcoming Them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection []  2020-1-22 22:38

    Unbelievable book: absolutely worth reading it and then re-reading it! We can never do enough loving-kindness practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    This book along with Don Miguel Ruiz’s “Four Agreements” single handedly changed my life. I was training for The 2017 NFL Draft in Dallas, TX from January 1st -March 17th, and had the pleasure of reading these two books along with a couple more. These books helped me with the internal struggles i was having with myself. I understand now that love is a pure effect of the love coming outward from within you. I also understand and know how to identify when negative emotions are arising within myself and i can suppress them before transferring that emotional poison unto someone else. These books are absolutely AMAZING, and GAME CHANGING, and i promise you guys (Amazon Community) that whenever i obtain my platform to be able to influence and speak on necessary manners, i will use these books for reference!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    It's difficult to give this review an adequate title. In reading this work I have taken yet another step towards self knowledge, towards a more complete SELF. This author starts at the very beginning in to build a mastery of love: your human self. The overwhelming notice is that you must first love and accept yourself before you can love and accept another. The truly stunning part of the entire document is that he has established that the traditional methods of raising and rearing young humans is an act of domestication. This domestication then becomes the root of the a lot of barriers to self love and therefore the ability to truly love others, whether it be familial love, friendship love or romantic love. The only remaining question, which brings its own set of follow-on questions is: is there a better method to instill important skills and knowledge in the young, or should we search a method to apply a cure for the domestication once we have reached maturity? This book is a"must read" for anyone who is trying to awaken their inner self.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    Love this book. Everyone should read this to understand that love is not about owning someone. It's about learning to love yourself then someone else. Love is more about yourself, then you search the partner who you can share the foxhole with, but not be fully dependent upon each other. Never place your happiness in someone else's hands. They won't know what to do with it and may drop it. Then you are left heartbroken. This tutorial helps you understand what to and not to do in a relationship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    This book along with Don Miguel Ruiz’s “Four Agreements” single handedly changed my life. I was training for The 2017 NFL Draft in Dallas, TX from January 1st -March 17th, and had the pleasure of reading these two books along with a couple more. These books helped me with the internal struggles i was having with myself. I understand now that love is a pure effect of the love coming outward from within you. I also understand and know how to identify when negative emotions are arising within myself and i can suppress them before transferring that emotional poison unto someone else. These books are absolutely AMAZING, and GAME CHANGING, and i promise you guys (Amazon Community) that whenever i obtain my platform to be able to influence and speak on necessary manners, i will use these books for reference!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    I have owned at least six copies of this book in the latest ten years. It absolutely changed my internal metric for loving others and myself. My life has been so positively impacted by it that I have given a copy to every serious partner I have had, my mother, and my best friend. Everyone I know who reads this book finds a depth of wisdom and comfort in Ruiz perspective that they come away changed from the experience of absorbing the knowledge contained within. If you have ever reflected on or struggled with any intimacy issues, co-dependency, anger, self-hatred, or been called bitter/@#$%!y/etc. I highly recommend you read this masterpiece. It provides simultaneous insight into how to properly process the baggage we all carry and sometimes throw at others, as well as how to love in an artful, cultivated, conscious, and pure manner. Reading this book won't "fix" anything in yourself or life, but it will provide you with a radical perspective on how to love, how to be loved, and how to handle your own emotions in a method that others your very best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    This book totally changed my outlook and perspective about true love. So a lot of people go into relationships hoping to extract happiness from the other person, when really you are the only person who can create yourself happy. As someone who never liked to be single out of fear of loneliness, I picked up this book at the excellent time and I'm experiencing a calm and tranquility that I never have before. There's a part in the book that also struck a chord with me: we have to actively hunt down our own parasitic and debilitating thoughts, otherwise they will consume us and we will live in our own perpetual hell on earth. I've always been hard on myself and it's taken a lot to overcome my own self-rejection. I still have my moments, and that's where this books has helped me immensely. I just bought a copy for a mate - it's too valuable not to share.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    I have owned at least six copies of this book in the latest ten years. It absolutely changed my internal metric for loving others and myself. My life has been so positively impacted by it that I have given a copy to every serious partner I have had, my mother, and my best friend. Everyone I know who reads this book finds a depth of wisdom and comfort in Ruiz perspective that they come away changed from the experience of absorbing the knowledge contained within. If you have ever reflected on or struggled with any intimacy issues, co-dependency, anger, self-hatred, or been called bitter/@#$%!y/etc. I highly recommend you read this masterpiece. It provides simultaneous insight into how to properly process the baggage we all carry and sometimes throw at others, as well as how to love in an artful, cultivated, conscious, and pure manner. Reading this book won't "fix" anything in yourself or life, but it will provide you with a radical perspective on how to love, how to be loved, and how to handle your own emotions in a method that others your very best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    I highly recommend this book. I read the paperback and this is one of the most influential books that I have read. It talks about the unconditional love and how the fear based relationship and beliefs lead to suffering and drama in life. The Mastery of Love includes:1. Why domestication and the photo of perfection lead to self-rejection2. The battle of control that slowly destroys most relationships3. Why we hunt for love in others, and how to capture the love inside us4. How to finally accept and forgive ourselves and othersThis book is very thought provoking and will lead you to think about all the relationships. You need to have an begin mind before reading this book. Now, I am really excited to read: Four agreements. I again highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    A lot of these concepts in the book seem obvious in hindsight, but are really things we are trained out of thinking or feeling by society's brainwashing expectations. This has helped me recenter my life and empowered me to relearn how to love unconditionally and even created me reflect on the relationship I was in at the time, which I ended, because it was becoming toxic for both of us. I learned that I need to work on more self love. This book is so easy to read and the metaphors are beautifully assertive. I highly recommend this for anyone to read, any age from teens and up can understand this and should learn this wisdom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    This is beautifully written book. We all hear how you're not able to love someone until you love yourselves and I used to eye-roll whenever I was advised so but this book really explains it well and makes you excited to love yourself. Awareness is truly the most valuable possession and this book really builds so much awareness within you. It's a book you might wish to read once a year because it's unlikely we'll implement all the thinking at once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    helped me a lot.....really amazing items in here....i read this right after a poor breakup and time in my life, and this really opened my eyes to real love versus attachment and what you should expect from others and from yourself. so much of this strongly resonated with me right when i required to hear it. i bought the audible ver too....i plan on listening and reading to this and his other books often..... empowering and encouraging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    This is beautifully written book. We all hear how you're not able to love someone until you love yourselves and I used to eye-roll whenever I was advised so but this book really explains it well and makes you excited to love yourself. Awareness is truly the most valuable possession and this book really builds so much awareness within you. It's a book you might wish to read once a year because it's unlikely we'll implement all the thinking at once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    helped me a lot.....really amazing items in here....i read this right after a poor breakup and time in my life, and this really opened my eyes to real love versus attachment and what you should expect from others and from yourself. so much of this strongly resonated with me right when i required to hear it. i bought the audible ver too....i plan on listening and reading to this and his other books often..... empowering and encouraging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    A lot of these concepts in the book seem obvious in hindsight, but are really things we are trained out of thinking or feeling by society's brainwashing expectations. This has helped me recenter my life and empowered me to relearn how to love unconditionally and even created me reflect on the relationship I was in at the time, which I ended, because it was becoming toxic for both of us. I learned that I need to work on more self love. This book is so easy to read and the metaphors are beautifully assertive. I highly recommend this for anyone to read, any age from teens and up can understand this and should learn this wisdom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    helped me a lot.....really amazing items in here....i read this right after a poor breakup and time in my life, and this really opened my eyes to real love versus attachment and what you should expect from others and from yourself. so much of this strongly resonated with me right when i required to hear it. i bought the audible ver too....i plan on listening and reading to this and his other books often..... empowering and encouraging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    Love this book. Everyone should read this to understand that love is not about owning someone. It's about learning to love yourself then someone else. Love is more about yourself, then you search the partner who you can share the foxhole with, but not be fully dependent upon each other. Never place your happiness in someone else's hands. They won't know what to do with it and may drop it. Then you are left heartbroken. This tutorial helps you understand what to and not to do in a relationship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    This book helped me a lot after coming out of a relationship and giving that relationship another chance. Going back into the relationship, this book helped me to really love my partner for the person he is and not test to change him. Amazing read, really puts things in perspective :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    This book helped me a lot after coming out of a relationship and giving that relationship another chance. Going back into the relationship, this book helped me to really love my partner for the person he is and not test to change him. Amazing read, really puts things in perspective :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    It's difficult to give this review an adequate title. In reading this work I have taken yet another step towards self knowledge, towards a more complete SELF. This author starts at the very beginning in to build a mastery of love: your human self. The overwhelming notice is that you must first love and accept yourself before you can love and accept another. The truly stunning part of the entire document is that he has established that the traditional methods of raising and rearing young humans is an act of domestication. This domestication then becomes the root of the a lot of barriers to self love and therefore the ability to truly love others, whether it be familial love, friendship love or romantic love. The only remaining question, which brings its own set of follow-on questions is: is there a better method to instill important skills and knowledge in the young, or should we search a method to apply a cure for the domestication once we have reached maturity? This book is a"must read" for anyone who is trying to awaken their inner self.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    This is beautifully written book. We all hear how you're not able to love someone until you love yourselves and I used to eye-roll whenever I was advised so but this book really explains it well and makes you excited to love yourself. Awareness is truly the most valuable possession and this book really builds so much awareness within you. It's a book you might wish to read once a year because it's unlikely we'll implement all the thinking at once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    I highly recommend this book. I read the paperback and this is one of the most influential books that I have read. It talks about the unconditional love and how the fear based relationship and beliefs lead to suffering and drama in life. The Mastery of Love includes:1. Why domestication and the photo of perfection lead to self-rejection2. The battle of control that slowly destroys most relationships3. Why we hunt for love in others, and how to capture the love inside us4. How to finally accept and forgive ourselves and othersThis book is very thought provoking and will lead you to think about all the relationships. You need to have an begin mind before reading this book. Now, I am really excited to read: Four agreements. I again highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    A lot of these concepts in the book seem obvious in hindsight, but are really things we are trained out of thinking or feeling by society's brainwashing expectations. This has helped me recenter my life and empowered me to relearn how to love unconditionally and even created me reflect on the relationship I was in at the time, which I ended, because it was becoming toxic for both of us. I learned that I need to work on more self love. This book is so easy to read and the metaphors are beautifully assertive. I highly recommend this for anyone to read, any age from teens and up can understand this and should learn this wisdom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    This book along with Don Miguel Ruiz’s “Four Agreements” single handedly changed my life. I was training for The 2017 NFL Draft in Dallas, TX from January 1st -March 17th, and had the pleasure of reading these two books along with a couple more. These books helped me with the internal struggles i was having with myself. I understand now that love is a pure effect of the love coming outward from within you. I also understand and know how to identify when negative emotions are arising within myself and i can suppress them before transferring that emotional poison unto someone else. These books are absolutely AMAZING, and GAME CHANGING, and i promise you guys (Amazon Community) that whenever i obtain my platform to be able to influence and speak on necessary manners, i will use these books for reference!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    It's difficult to give this review an adequate title. In reading this work I have taken yet another step towards self knowledge, towards a more complete SELF. This author starts at the very beginning in to build a mastery of love: your human self. The overwhelming notice is that you must first love and accept yourself before you can love and accept another. The truly stunning part of the entire document is that he has established that the traditional methods of raising and rearing young humans is an act of domestication. This domestication then becomes the root of the a lot of barriers to self love and therefore the ability to truly love others, whether it be familial love, friendship love or romantic love. The only remaining question, which brings its own set of follow-on questions is: is there a better method to instill important skills and knowledge in the young, or should we search a method to apply a cure for the domestication once we have reached maturity? This book is a"must read" for anyone who is trying to awaken their inner self.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book []  2020-1-31 23:52

    Love this book. Everyone should read this to understand that love is not about owning someone. It's about learning to love yourself then someone else. Love is more about yourself, then you search the partner who you can share the foxhole with, but not be fully dependent upon each other. Never place your happiness in someone else's hands. They won't know what to do with it and may drop it. Then you are left heartbroken. This tutorial helps you understand what to and not to do in a relationship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    This book totally changed my outlook and perspective about true love. So a lot of people go into relationships hoping to extract happiness from the other person, when really you are the only person who can create yourself happy. As someone who never liked to be single out of fear of loneliness, I picked up this book at the excellent time and I'm experiencing a calm and tranquility that I never have before. There's a part in the book that also struck a chord with me: we have to actively hunt down our own parasitic and debilitating thoughts, otherwise they will consume us and we will live in our own perpetual hell on earth. I've always been hard on myself and it's taken a lot to overcome my own self-rejection. I still have my moments, and that's where this books has helped me immensely. I just bought a copy for a mate - it's too valuable not to share.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship []  2020-1-18 20:42

    This book helped me a lot after coming out of a relationship and giving that relationship another chance. Going back into the relationship, this book helped me to really love my partner for the person he is and not test to change him. Amazing read, really puts things in perspective :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    This book totally changed my outlook and perspective about true love. So a lot of people go into relationships hoping to extract happiness from the other person, when really you are the only person who can create yourself happy. As someone who never liked to be single out of fear of loneliness, I picked up this book at the excellent time and I'm experiencing a calm and tranquility that I never have before. There's a part in the book that also struck a chord with me: we have to actively hunt down our own parasitic and debilitating thoughts, otherwise they will consume us and we will live in our own perpetual hell on earth. I've always been hard on myself and it's taken a lot to overcome my own self-rejection. I still have my moments, and that's where this books has helped me immensely. I just bought a copy for a mate - it's too valuable not to share.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    I highly recommend this book. I read the paperback and this is one of the most influential books that I have read. It talks about the unconditional love and how the fear based relationship and beliefs lead to suffering and drama in life. The Mastery of Love includes:1. Why domestication and the photo of perfection lead to self-rejection2. The battle of control that slowly destroys most relationships3. Why we hunt for love in others, and how to capture the love inside us4. How to finally accept and forgive ourselves and othersThis book is very thought provoking and will lead you to think about all the relationships. You need to have an begin mind before reading this book. Now, I am really excited to read: Four agreements. I again highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (A Toltec Wisdom Book) []  2020-1-10 19:5

    I have owned at least six copies of this book in the latest ten years. It absolutely changed my internal metric for loving others and myself. My life has been so positively impacted by it that I have given a copy to every serious partner I have had, my mother, and my best friend. Everyone I know who reads this book finds a depth of wisdom and comfort in Ruiz perspective that they come away changed from the experience of absorbing the knowledge contained within. If you have ever reflected on or struggled with any intimacy issues, co-dependency, anger, self-hatred, or been called bitter/@#$%!y/etc. I highly recommend you read this masterpiece. It provides simultaneous insight into how to properly process the baggage we all carry and sometimes throw at others, as well as how to love in an artful, cultivated, conscious, and pure manner. Reading this book won't "fix" anything in yourself or life, but it will provide you with a radical perspective on how to love, how to be loved, and how to handle your own emotions in a method that others your very best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Gabrielle Selz’s memoir “Unstill Life” is a story elegantly told, and a very engaging e author recounts the relationship of her parents, one of deep love and heartbreak, which mirrors the relationship she in turn has with her father, a grand figure in the the art world. The globe of art- its characters, movements, and masterpieces— is also recollected with affection by someone whose life is intricately woven within e recalls growing up among the Abstract Expressionists, visiting with the Rothkos and other well-known figures such as Jean Tiguley, Karel Appel and Max Beckman. For those familiar with the artists and movements, she brings fresh and intriguing stories and observations, while those readers less familiar are also brought along with concise descriptions of their importance. At all times, Gabrielle balances her private story with the larger historical narrative.Her mother, a writer of fiction whose animated journals excerpts are included, comes alive in her own words as well as her daughter’s. One can see how Gabrielle carries on the legacy of both her mother’s literary aspirations and her father’s artistic is many-layered novel ends with Gabrielle’s growing into her own—she is able to look back with the clarity of a witness, yet never loses the bittersweet emotional tone of one who lived through it all. I found it to be a moving coming-of-age tale as well as a firsthand historical narrative creatively told.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Beautifully written, this memoir about art and family held my interest so thoroughly that I could hardly place it down. Looking at the 20th century art globe through the eyes of Ms Selz was almost like being there myself! Highly recommended for an intimate look at the relationship...for one compelling family...between art and life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This is a unbelievable book! Beautifully written! A fascinating history of Abstract Expressionism, and Gabrielle Seiz's father's bringing it to the US ( NYC, the Museum of Modern Art) and to CA, especially, as well as a biography of her parents and family. And the impact all this had on her upbringing and life in general. I highly recommend this book! Couldn't place it down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This is a amazing book. Not a lot of people may know about Peter Selz. This is a nice introduction to him, the Selz family and the time period in the art world. It helped me imagine Gabrielle's childhood and the artists that were, and still are, a part of her life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    I had the author's mother as a writing teacher when I was in college, and cleaned her apartment from time to time in my early twenties. She had sheepskin rugs on the floor that were heck to clean. The painting Gaby writes about, of her mother, hung in her apartment, as well, and the presence of Gaby's father was everywhere, although they were divorced. Thalia was warm, mentoring, pushy, affectionate, enthusiastic, and capable of sulking, too. She was complex. When I was around 21 she pushed a short story into my hands, literally, right outside of her office on campus, and said, "You need to read this." It was "In the Garden of the North American Martyrs," by Tobias Wolff. I read it over and over. I applied to study with him, and a couple of years later entered the graduate writing program where he taught. Thalia changed the course of my life by that single gesture. I was very curious to read about her as a mother. Reading this book created me feel grateful for her life and influence. She talked openly to me then about feeling obscured and eclipsed by her popular husband -- and yet look at what she did, at her age and given that period of time. Her accomplishments and friendships were impressive. Her perspective was special to me at that time in my life. She was one of the first teachers in my life who said, basically, "Let them say whatever they're going to say. It's your job to bloom, nevertheless. Just do your best." Thank you, Thalia. Thank you, Gaby.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    I devoured this in one sitting and hated myself for not savoring slowly- it's a delicious treat that I found impossible to place down once I'd begun. A fascinating story about modern art from behind the scenes, NYC in the " Angry Men" days, about our parents and the complex love that some (all?) of us have with them and it's a amazing simple breezy lovely read...I'm jealous of those who have yet to eat this yummy treat!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Interesting insight into the 1950s and 1960s art stage and artists in Fresh York City, then later and broader. Also a very nice job of story telling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Gabrielle Selz was able to bring to life the period of the 1960s and beyond in the art globe of abstract expressionist and performance e page 333 for a very poignant depiction of Alzheimer's as her mother slips away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Unstill Life is an awesome story and Gabrielle Selz is a master story teller. She invites you in to her private life which is poignant, yet she's able to convey her story as if the reader had a ring side seat in her life.What is evident is the love that she has for her father in spite of all his antics with women. He is a lovable, charming and complicated personality as is her mother who was quite a powerful woman and successful in her own right. What awesome lives they lead. I enjoyed this story from the first page and was sorry it had to end I was so captured in the lives of the artists, the parties and the 60's.I highly recommend this book. I'm looking forward to follow this author, she's amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstill Life: A Daughter's Memoir of Art and Love in the Age of Abstraction []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Very well written! Amazing read for anyone interested in the behind the scenes of the modern art movement

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    I loved this book-Rosanna hits it out of the park-again! Read it to be intrigued, to see an awesome love story unfold. Plus you will search a healthy dose of mystery, suspense and an awesome story line using numbers. A battle time story with unbelievable characters, a amazing plot flowing to a hopeful and satisfying end to what others thought was an impossible love story. Awesome that a man could think outside the box to search that using the love language of numbers is one method to victory a woman’s mind, emotions and heart. Full of surprises and of the knowledge that all things are possible with God and prayer. Read it to see a move of God’s grace and how God may be speaking to you in unusual ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    What an amazing book!The storyline, the insightful descriptions of the characters and their struggles is excellently written. And I loved Margot's personality and her character's growth!!!!So so so so good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Love []  2020-1-20 21:12

    Wow, for any intellectual who wants to look at dating from a various perspective, this book does a very, very amazing job of weaving complex theories in math, economics, and even psychology into the globe of dating. The author definitely gets kudos for her job with her explanation of Nobel-prize winning ideas and relating them to the average person in the context of rls, this book explains (mathematically) why you're on the losing end of the stick if you don't approach guys. Guys, it is our privilege, not our burden to be the gender that does the approaching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Love []  2020-1-20 21:12

    This was just what I ing the logic of math, numbers, stats, research, etc, this book broke down the analytical side of dating and life. I loved this e author read the book very well with just the right inflections, speed, and she kept my interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Love []  2020-1-20 21:12

    Is very nice to search books like this one. Simple reading, interesting, well presented and documented, illustrative... I definitely recommend it to anyone I can.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    I'll begin by saying that this is my favorite of Ms. Krall's albums. The CD ver sounds great, but I'm very interested in the blu-ray pure audio format (a possible successor to DVD-Audio and SACD), so when Amazon's dropped below my strike point, I had to have it!Sadly, the folks who mastered the blu-ray pure audio ver have ruined it. Dynamic range (DR) is one aspect of a recording that makes it seem "live" vs. playback or a radio broadcast. Because of the "loudness wars", several websites have began publishing DR values for albums to support educate the melody buying public about life-robbing dynamic range compression (not the same as MP3 or lossy compression...it's far worse). DR values below 11 are considered to be e original CD has DR values from 11 to 13 while this LPCM track on the blu-ray audio disc has values from 8 to 10. While this difference may not sound like much, it is clearly audible. These compressed tracks sound lifeless by comparison. This is completely crazy considering that blu-ray audio discs are marketed as "ULTRA HIGH-QUALITY AUDIO". While the packaging is very nice, the quality of the audio on this disc is not as advertised. Verve Melody Group should be ashamed!Of course, if you have fun the female jazz vocalist genre in general or Diana Krall in particular, this album is a must have! But even if you are a die-hard Krall (or blu-ray pure audio) fan, don't waste your on the "Blu-ray Audio" version. Stick with the CD, vinyl, or consider purchasing a high rez digital from HDTracks, much as I have fun owning physical media, I'm sending this disc back to allow the vendor know that they've done a not good job. What I hate most is that blu-ray pure audio has such tremendous potential, yet I may never another disc unless I can verify in advance that the quality of the mastering is at least as amazing as CD and other formats.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    After the success of 1999 Platinum-Selling album and Grammy champion for "Best Jazz Vocal Album," "When I Look In Your Eyes," Tommy LiPuma came up with another bestseller, "The Look Of Love." It has an perfect repertoire of unbelievable and infinite songs by popular composers from Gershwin to Carmichael and Mercer to Bacharach. This recording won the "Best Engineered Album" in the 2002 Grammy my ears, "The Look of Love" and "When I Look In Your Eyes" are the best among all of Diana Krall's recordings. Just for two unique tracks alone (The Look of Love and 'S Wonderful) is enough reason to this fabulous Krall's sophisticated and elegant vocal artistry as well as Claus Ogerman's superb orchestral arrangements bring out the very best of the ten songs in this album. These songs have been recorded countless times but her attractive interpretations created them musical treasures of a lifetime. Every song is a gem from the first track, "'S Wonderful" to the latest track, "Maybe You'll Be There." My private choices contain a charming rendition of Bacharach/David classic, "The Look of Love," Gershwin Brothers' "'S Wonderful," Hamilton's "Cry Me A River" and Johnny Mercer/Victor Schertzinger's "I Remember You.""I remember youYou're the one who created my dreams come trueA few kisses agoI remember youYou're the one who said "I love you, too"I do, didn't you know?I remember, tooA distant bell and stars that fellLike rain out of the blueWhen my life is throughAnd the angels ask me to recallThe thrill of them allThen I shall tell themI remember you"There's no doubt that Diana Krall is the reigning Queen of Jazz. It would be amazing if she will contain in her repertoire such lovely songs as "Taking A Possibility On Love," "How Long Has This Been Going On," "La Vie En Rose," "The More I See You," "Just In Time," "My Romance," "Lullaby of Birdland," "Till The End Of Time" (based on Chopin's Polonaise No. 6), and "Full Moon And Empty Arms"(based on Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2), to suggest a few. I'm sure she will do more than justice to these all-time favorites with her amazing voice and exceptional piano skills.With my heartfelt recommendation for your listening pleasure.* * * * * TEN STARS * * * * *

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cost of Love []  2020-1-17 5:15

    WHOA - check this lady out. With the opening track "Cheatin' On Me" she had me hooked. I had no idea who was spinning on the iPod but when I heard the hook and the lyrics, I headed straight over there to see who it zanne has the road cred to play anything she wants to. Check out her story at her www service to see what I'm putting out here. "Pay Day Loan" speaks of the eternal issue of those who inhabit the ever growing fringe of society who need to engage in these usury loans to create ends meet but that street always seems to lead back to the line. As she says '\"I still got my guitar" oh yeh, you surely do and she plays it with such feel and style that you will plead her not to it."Mr. Bailey" is an homage to her mentor, Ray Bailey. Evoking aural photos of Robert Johnson and crossroads she tells the story of her quest to learn to play like Mr. Bailey.With her roots in the church, her vocals based in the Bettye LeVette, Etta James styled voicings, and guitar harkening to Ernie Isley, Prince, with a amazing measure of Rosetta Tharpe, Suzanne will please almost anyone with a soul and ear for the e Blue sis the father, son and roots of all other American Melody and it has a put at

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    I have enjoyed each of Roseanna M White’s books and The Number of Love is no exception. I appreciate how well thought out the characters and the plots are as well as the the intelligence and history behind the story telling. I really loved the cameos of some of Mrs. White’s earlier characters. That was such an added delight! The deep Biblical truths shown through Mrs. White’s characters’ prayers and choices have been an encouragement to me since I began reading her books. It is rare to search fictional books with a solid Biblical perspective and strong, well developed stories. I highly recommend this book as well as all others written by this author. It is possible to read this as a stand alone, but you will miss out on the joy of re-encountering characters from her Ladies of the Manor series and Shadows Over England series. It is best enjoyed after reading those. Perfect book that I will share as well as read again! I’m looking forward to the next story in this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    For those who feel various or like an outsider, you'll relate to the heroine in this book...she thinks, feels, and communicates in numbers. It was going to take a special person to step into her globe and present her love and appreciation. I think one of the things I liked the most about the character of this book was his dedication and patience...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    Love this Lady, her voice sounds like Velvet, Thank goodness I found her. I’m very impressed she sing 🎤 my Mother’s melody 🎼 I’m not that old but I have fun amazing melody 🎼 ... in this days, they are a lot of musicians that I don’t know what ta heck they sing 🎤 believe me. Thank you Ms. Diana Krall. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Love []  2020-1-20 21:12

    Glib and superficial. Ms Fry often states the obvious and seldom displays real insight. This is about Ted Talk marketing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    Method back when I read A Song Unheard in the Shadows Over England series, I said Margot De Wilde required her own book. Well, she got it, and it rocks. Everything about this book is a slam rgot is my favorite kind of character, especially for a Christian novel. She's unconventional and somewhat unpredictable. She's neither bold and brassy and adventurous, nor sweet, demure, and exclusively interested in husbands and children. Her strengths mix excellently with her flaws. For example, she's blisteringly brilliant and calm in a crisis, but can come across as too stoic--plus, she's smarter than you and she knows it. She loves logic and has found a method to marry that with Christian faith, but often becomes too driven to search the reason or the point for everything--and when she can't, she ends up hurting herself or others. It's rare you see a hero in any novel with this level of development, especially a female protagonist, and I loved getting to know and being with Margot from page one.Drake Elton is no slouch, either. His more gregarious and sometimes flirtatious personality provides Margot's excellent complement, but unlike some heroes of his type, he isn't empty-headed or a beautiful boy. Drake and Margot work so well together precisely because there are reasons their relationship shouldn't work. For example, both have intense thirsts to prove themselves, and the method they choose to do that hinders their relationship with each other. Also, Drake is so used to conventional women, he pushes those standards onto Margot without realizing it, which further complicates matters but gives him a amazing opportunity for hero e WWI, espionage-centered plot of this story doesn't seem like it would facilitate hero growth, but it does, while still nailing the suspenseful expectations of said plot. I've read some books like this where the plot sounds like, "Go here, go there, search this, zap this poor guy like in a video game." In The Number of Love, I didn't obtain that. I knew exactly what the stakes were, why objects or people were important, and why I should care. I wanted to see both romantic and overall success. I also loved the balance between romance-based suspense and regular suspense, plus the special elements Roseanna used. For instance, it's not often you see a character doing his best work *after* he gets gut shot and spends time e secondary cast was beautiful amazing as well. Being reunited with Willa, Lukas, Rosemary, and Barclay was nice, but I also enjoyed the other characters. Dot Elton is my favorite, with her social anxiety and spectrum-like traits (which Margot has some of, too). I have never seen characters like Dot and Margot written this well, and I wanted more. These women are not flat "inspirations." They are not "weird." They are allowed to be who they are and change, or not, on their own terms, only when they need to. Of course, in 1917, nobody would have said something like, "These women probably have Asperger's syndrome or PTSD." But writers and people in general could take a huge lesson in how Dot, in particular, is presented with these traits. The same could be said of Redvers "Red" Holmes, who is at first pigeonholed by society because of a disability, but sticks in there and proves himself his own man, without sap or contrived coincidences.And let's not forget the villain. He could be a bit confusing at first, but I ended up understanding him and his motivations. I also liked the unusual method he went about his business, with the Go android game and feeling completely stymied by Margot's smarts. The pneumonia element is amazing too, as it shows villains can have significant weaknesses, but you're still in grave danger if you underestimate the wrong ly, I appreciated Roseanna's unusual small hero touches, such as how Margot interacts with God through numbers. That in particular shows how every Christian's relationship with God is different, multifaceted, and personal, something I want we saw much more of in Christian fiction and nonfiction.I was a bit skeptical of this series, but no more. The next one cannot come quick enough. I'm anxious to see what sweet nurse Annabelle Denler is going to do to victory the Black Heart of the incorrigible Phillip Camden.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    I adored this book. I have read it at least 6 times since the release date and I think I love it more each time. I loved Margot in the other books by Ms. White, but wow. Excellent. But now I have to wait for book 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Love []  2020-1-20 21:12

    I purchased the Mathematics of Love after watching one of Hannah Fry's YouTube videos and visiting her website. The book is pitched as "valuable fresh perspective on matters of the heart" and promises to interesting mathematical insights into romance and love.Unfortunately, I found there was very small mathematics in the book and almost no love at all. I'm not sure who exactly the book is pitched at but I found the writing comparable to watching a TED talk: shallow, self-indulgent, and lacking in any punch or insight. Any actual mathematics is relegated to an index of footnotes and links, and the examples given don't really illuminate anything. A fast find on the internet would've yielded more intrigue. The model of love presented is reductive and often times depressing, and contrary to the author's claims does not leave one feeling particularly positive about the whole thing by the end of claims on the cover to "patterns, proofs, and the find for the ultimate equation". This find doesn't happen and there are no proofs nor is there anything particularly mathematical contained within. Like a T.E.D marketing slogan: it it all and delivers nothing. The prose is dull and flat and the book can be read in less than an hour. Extremely short.Would not recommend for anyone interested in mathematics or love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Love []  2020-1-20 21:12

    More of an elongated magazine article than a book in its own right. Some fun insights but hardly worth being a full book. Should have been a chapter in someone else's book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Love []  2020-1-20 21:12

    Very interesting book with a lot of fun facts about mathematis and love. Have I known them when I was teen I would have had various outcomes LOL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    After the truely perfect and popularly accessible*When I Look In Your Eyes*was so eagerly received, the follow up was always going to be difficult for Ms Krall to please all and sundry..From the final notes of *Why Should I Care*,as the track finale of the previous CD,how would she satisfy the ravenous and insatiable fans?Well by delivering intriguingly brave interpretations of ballard standards and latin bosa nova beats.I personally cannot fault the selection,nor the perfect piano interpretations and style of Ms Krall and the lush string and orchetra e strength of her vocals ,that husky *torch* interpretation are developing better than everand Tommy Lipuma is in the EVER,this CD should never be played during daylight hours!!!..it is adult, various from the former catalogue, and has a romantic quality that is best appreciated in the right is simply is not like the previous outings,so to compare it to those will naturally disappoint.Lets be honest,if you have not heard her before,this is not the put to start!This CD needs the benefit of 5 or 6 plays to really let a review that does it Krall's interpretations of *Love Letters* and *Cry Me A River*appeal to me and create me think that she should have sung all e Latin beats are not my favourites here,and require my attention and patience,but to refer to them as musack!!!..isnt that a bit e musicianship of the highest from her quartet,tight meshed with the orchestra and that piano playing is in itself worth the cost of the CD!Ella Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughan she is not..but accessible ,talented and individual SHE IS!!!Overall a pleasing followup and progression in her career,but one for the already converted..what more do you want??Gershwin,Carmichael and Mercer..thankgod I have something to begin that late night red wine for!! 4 stars..and live a small life is too short,the style and emotion cannot be the go and it!!..you know you wish to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    Sometimes you read a book that instantly climbs its method to the top of your favorite books of the year. The Number of Love is that book for this be fair, I expected it. When you have a young woman with a special perspective on life, a battle that needs to be won, and characters weaving in and out of those two facts, you have a champion of a book d to that a writer who knows how to pull you into a story and keep you as a prisoner of the battle for your time—it just doesn’t obtain any better than that.I’ve not yet read a book by Roseanna M. White that I didn’t love. Part of me thinks (not just hopes) that this will never happen. I think it’s because Ms. White knows that beautiful, delicate balance of all the elements of a book. She has scales with multiple pans and manages to hold each element—description, faith, character, plot, twists, herrings (all of it)—in excellent The Number of Love, that balance shows even stronger than ever, because of how carefully Ms. White layers her elements. With each peel of the page, we uncover the attractive story until it it unfolds before us—a excellent rose in two favorite elements?Faith. In this book, the characters are Catholic—but not stereotypical “book Catholics” as you often see in fiction. There aren’t a few nods to what people think of as Catholic and then prescripted prayer bytes dumped here and there. These Catholics present the deep faith in Jesus that the Catholics in my globe exhibit. No, I am not a Catholic. Just had to drop that there.I don’t remember once a reference to Mary—only to the Lord. And you know what? Very rarely do my Catholic mates reference Mary in their discussions of faith. What may seem “off” to non-Catholics who are accustomed to the stereotypical is actually very accurate in current-day it historically accurate? I have no idea. What it is, however, is encouraging, Scriptural, and beautiful. Roseanna M. White dug deep into the heart and the soul of the young woman “the Lord created” (work with me here) and sought how He would encourage her. He “spoke” her language—nudged her in ways that He does every one of us… but translated to be how she could “hear” l without me feeling like she added to Scripture. Brilliantly aracters.Each hero in this book stands strong—even in weakness. Margot is herself. Always. Even when things go wrong and unsettle and dismay her, she’s powerful and consistent. Her uncertainties appear where they should. The same goes for her strengths.Drake brings stability into an unstable globe and then has to provide that without his usual physical strength. As a result, we see vulnerabilities that might otherwise have gone unnoticed. Additionally, his sister and her private problems prepared him for dealing with Margot’s e villain, Drake’s and Margot’s friends… even the neighbors and coworkers all add to the plot rather than take up zone in it. This is brilliant writing. I’m taking notes.And one final t until I went to write this review did I realize that Drake has what is almost “insta-love.” It isn’t. Not really. But he’s immediately attracted, and his mind goes to “happily-ever-after” much sooner than most might is works within the story because of how Ms. White addresses it. She uses the war, characters’ personalities, circumstance, and the careful, brilliant use of words to craft a scenario so plausible that it would have seemed less true if she hadn’t done as she e Number of Love is a excellent blend of everything that a historical novel should be and written with a delicate hand so that even contemporary lovers couldn’t support but be drawn in and held captive among the attractive globe White made among the horrors of London in commended for anyone who loves amazing writing, amazing storytelling, and characters who will never leave your heart.Oh, and can you eat, think, and pray in numbers? Well, I don’t know about you, and I do know I can’t, but Margot? Definitely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    The Number of Love is a fresh favorite on my shelves of Christian historical fiction. I loved the characterization and how Drake approached Margot on her turf. And I loved the code breaker aspect! It’s so tempting to go back and read it again this week. The historical and romance aspects of the story are well balanced. Powerful secondary characters add much depth to the book. I’ll definitely plan to read the second book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cost of Love []  2020-1-17 5:15

    not sure why the other reviewer only gave 3 stars he raved about the cd. a 3 star review on amazon is like the kiss of death. I think this is a amazing blues cd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    i have this album n created in japan cd and have the sacd and now on dvd audio. allow me tell you all ver are amazing and i have fun listing to all of them all time. i can call diana krall is the queen of fresh days vocal jazz. if you love relax songs, jazz music, bossa nova this cd is for r audiophiles listeners obtain the dvd audio is very amazing or obtain the japanese sacd ver 's wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    This is my most favorite CD for relaxing. Every song is beautiful. I have a fondness for Cry Me a River...originally a Julie London song. I didn't think anyone could sing it like Julie London but Diana did an perfect job. You will not be disappointed in this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    Bought this for my step dad for Christmas latest year. He said he was going from shop to shop looking for it. (He's 94 and I overheard him talking about it)....so I found it on Amazon. He was extremely happy when he received this gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Love []  2020-1-20 21:12

    What an perfect read. I was drawn to this book based on an excerpt posted about "low tolerance" relationships (talked about in the latest section, I think) but there was a lot of reasoning that rang real and created me consider what was written. A refreshing take on statistics and something that's, seemingly, non mathematical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    This sounded like the original CD being played through a surround system with DSP set to "Concert Hall"; it did not sound like the original room acoustics and at points it sounded like Diana was singing inside of an oil eat material and a amazing voice, but the surround experience was a letdown.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    Well I've read a lot of the reviews before writing this and I must say this is one amazing friggin CD ! :)Yes- she plays less piano than her other efforts, Yes the Strings are arranged in a method that gives them prominence, Yes the tempos are all in a related range........but......this is melody of the sublime - It's like Tantric Sex! the string arrangements by Claus Ogerman are worth the cost of the disc, add Diana's controlled phrasing and vocal style and you have a possible masterwork by a still developing artist. Impeccable melody by impeccable musicians....and arranger.I truly disagree with those who say Diana has left her roots behind. I also disagree with those who say her label (now Verve) forced her into this (read her interviews). I adamantly disagree with those who say this is an effort to bend to commercial interests! (who in their right mind would make a CD with ballads and strings in the year 2001 and expect it to - after all this is the Brittany and N'Sync era is it not?? )I think Diana is simply showing us another side of her "roots" with the support of a lot of amazingly talented musicians. I look forward already to her next recording and hope there's some more controversial melody to listen to:)put this on the best stereo you can search - you will NOT be disappointed...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Look of Love []  2020-1-23 2:50

    I am 51 years old and had never heard of Diana Krall.I was buying fresh speakers and was browsing through Amazons SA-CD section looking to a few to have fun once I got my fresh speakers integrated into my system. I wanted to an eclectic mix of titles to place my speakers to the try but also some of my old favorites. Being a kid of the '70s but heavily influenced by the '60s, I have a huge collection of rock from that era so I bought a couple of titles that I felt the SA-CD and surround sound technology would enhance, namely the Moody Blues' "To Our Childrens Childrens Children" & "Every Amazing Boy Deserves Favour". I also purchased the Doobie Brothers' "Toulouse Street" and Dire Straits' "Brothers in Arms". For a classical perspective I got "Baroque Melody for Brass and Organ" by the Empire Brass Quintet with William Kuhlman on Organ. It seems I always read that you must obtain a amazing acoustic guitar recording to truly try your sound system so I bought "Artistry" by Martin Taylor and then to go to the other side of the spectrum, I got David Chesky's "Urban Concertos" (VERY different!).So now all I need is some jazz and I test to play the guitar a small (emphasis on "try") so I was surfing through the jazz section and had picked out Grant Green's "Green Street" but had noticed 3 or 4 SA-CD's of some gal called Diana Krall. I read a few of the customer reviews and visited the Amazon Diana Krall page, listened to some of the samples and decided it sounded amazing enough to take a possibility on. Boy am I glad I did!!! Man can this girl sing!!!! I got my Polk Audio Monitor 70's set up with my PSB Alpha B1's as surround w/PSB Alpha C1 center & Polk PSW-505 sub and this SA-CD is awesome!!!! In 5.1 surround her voice just drips out of the ceiling (at least at my house)! I turn the lights off, light a candle or two, obtain a nice single malt scotch and a amazing cigar then sit back and just melt into my leather chair! This is torch melody at is VERY BEST! Imagine the '50s, a smoky bar, men wearing ties with their hats perched on the back of their heads, drinking scotch and smoking Lucky Strike non-filters.I remember an album Carly Simon released around 1980 called "Torch" and I absolutely loved it. I actually had it in my shopping cart here at Amazon when I bought this along with the others I mentioned. I discarded it because I had spent enough already. Now I don't think I'll be needing it! No disrespect to Carly but I'll obtain more of Diana's SA-CD and have fun this amazing melody in style!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    I was a small confused at some parts in the beginning of this, but contrary to my natural inclination to know how it turns out, I read through instead of flipping first to the end; and all of the pieces fell neatly into place. I loved the story, I loved the slight romance, I love that there are more in this series coming. I can’t wait to read them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Number of Love []  2019-12-17 21:3

    I had a hard time with all the numbers running through Margot's head. I kept wondering if she had some emotional issues. It amazed me that Drake loved her. The story was very exciting and moved quickly. If you think in numbers, this story is for you.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386