Read the blackwell history of the latin language reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the blackwell history of the latin language reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the dentist []  2020-11-21 20:54
    [email protected]

    Thank you Moses. Thanks to the entire staff. Reminds me of my appointments. Explain in detail what's going on. Patient and kind. Office is very clean and inviting. Satisfied Thanksgiving. Please stay safe. Thank you. Janice L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


    Add your opinion on the blackwell history of the latin language or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canada pharmacy csmp [canadian pharcharmy online reviews fply]  2020-10-15 13:43
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy cialis cialis canada online pharmacy scam canadian pharmacies for cialis pharmacy online pharmacies without prescription cvs pharmacy canada pharmacy cialis canadian pharmacy - cialis india pharmacy canadian pharmacy canadian pharcharmy cialis in canadian pharmacies

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canadian pharmacy qlsr [canada rx pharmacy deoo]  2020-10-19 20:18
    [email protected]

    canada online pharmacy cialis from us pharmacy generic pharmacy canada online pharmacies canadian rx pharmacy canadian pharmacies without prescriptions ed canadian pharmacy the canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy cialis for everyday use brand online canada pharmacy cialis canada online pharmacy canadian pharmacy online generic pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    erectile pills over the counter []  2020-10-25 17:54
    [email protected]

    erectile medicine fresh zealand silvasta fresh ed drugs erectile tissue in the nose [url= [url= dysfunction injections[/url] [url= [url= booster way book[/url] [url= function returns as copper decreases[/url] [url= [url= medication over counter[/url] [url= [url= dysfunction icd 10[/url] [url=

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    list of canada online pharmacies zjqw [cialis canadian pharmacy czdz]  2020-10-17 6:50
    [email protected]

    cialis canadian pharmacies canadian overnight pharmacy canadian online pharmacy cialis cialis from canadian pharmacies brand online canada pharmacy canadian online pharmacy reviews cialis pharmacy canadian-pharmacy-online scam online canadian pharmacies canada pharmacies online prescriptions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    An outstanding achievement. This history is valuable and unusual first for the extensive coverage of Latin America before the European arrival and secondly for the detail of the Spanish and Portuguese history that explains so much of the Columbus to Independence centuries. I was disappointed in the chapters on the twentieth century-they seemed to bog down in detail without structure. There is a shocking factual error in the chapter about the conflict in Central America in the 70s-80s-the author describes in detail the fictional assassination of Archbishop Romero on the steps of his cathedral, an happening in movies but not in life where he was shot saying mass in a hospital chapel. The kindle edition of this book has a lot of errors of spelling, grammar, and incomplete sentences, not quite something on every page, but close.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    Williamson is a Genius - the story he weaves is captivating and a joy to follow. I especially liked the sections on the growth of the societies involved and how that contributed to the rise of Intellectual pursuits and the Arts. I love this book so much I've given it to mates and followed its reading with Williamson's biography of Borges! The Penguin History is without question the excellent introduction to Latin America's rich and inspiring history!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    Since the history of Latin America is so intriguing, I was expecting this book to be a bit more intriguing. It is a very broad-brush book; a small more anecdotal and private stories could support [email protected]#$%! out a bit.But it does give perfect insight and precise analysis into the how's and why's of why Latin America is the method it is today, and that has increased my understanding of the Latin culture tremendously.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    A must read. Thoughtful and intriguing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    Perfect overview of Latin American history. Concise and relevant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    The book describe the role that the Iberian peninsula played in Latin America as we see it today. It gives one a amazing feeling of how, after 300 years of Spanish occupation, the deposition of the king of Spain by Napoleon (and the movement of the royal court of Portugal to Brasil) played a role in the formation of the current states and current travails. With the political history an acc is also given over time of trends in literature, poetry and melody and its reflection of societies. The latter is a bit long winded, but, I must say, I found it quite fascinating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    Amazing bookI am using it for my Spanish class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    the book is perfect in telling the history of Latin America, the reader could base an opinions about why things are done in Latin America because the reader will have a historical background that will explain things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    wonderful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History of Latin America []  2020-8-16 19:25

    thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Southeast Asia: Critical Crossroads (Blackwell History of the World) []  2020-1-28 20:26

    I really have fun reading history books and I'm generally a speed reader so the fact that this book has taken me a year to obtain through describes just how dry it is. The author fails to provide any natative history of the peoples dof southeast Asia. While this book covers history of the region from as early as the twelfth century, it is fairly clear that the author is only really interested in the latest 100 years.I visits Thailand for the first time latest year and I was interested in finding more about the history between the various cutures of the region, not just Europeans influence on their societies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Babylon, 2200 BC - AD 75 (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-1-27 19:44

    This is a review of the blurb only: What in the globe — ”Sumero-Addadian”? Eh?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    Finally, the Eastern Empire is starting to create sense. I have had too much focus on the late Western Empire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Southeast Asia: Critical Crossroads (Blackwell History of the World) []  2020-1-28 20:26

    A lot of amazing information, but it's beautiful dry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    The method the book is organized is simple to read and Gregory did a goRod job in maintaining my interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    I love having this for my Kindle! It is simple to obtain into it, and the chapters aren't terribly long. It's just convenient to carry around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    It's difficult to do justice in a few short lines to a book like this which has such a staggering scope in every conceivable measure - time, geography, personalities, socio-economic trends; one can probably best characterize it as an enormous wine cellar - taste it in little sips to fully savour the taste rather than go in for a weekend binge. The author brings the Byzantine empire to life in the course of this book - starting from the introduction itself where 2 of his sentences caught my eye immediately - firstly that the Byzantines were basically the unbroken continuation of the Roman Empire of Antiquity and secondly that they viewed themselves as God's own Holy kingdom, as the community of believers setup on Earth till Christ himself would come and establish his glorious rule. With these two sentences in the back of my mind, I could obtain a better grasp of how and where the Byzantine empire fits in the annals of globe history and gave me a better understanding of some of the driving forces behind the social and political trends in Byzantine society. The author starts his story more than a century before the founding of Constantinople - with the crisis of the 3rd century afflicting the Roman Empire and how it spurred the chain of happenings that led to the Eastern half of the empire as an administrative entity that later became the Byzantine Empire and ends it soon after the fall of Constantinope in 1453 to the troops of Mehmet II. In between, the reader is taken through a tour de force comprising everchanging dynasties (the Isaurians, the Amorians, the Macedonians, the Komnenoi, the Palaeologans among others), religious movements (iconoclasm, iconophilism, monasticism, the Photian schism, the union..), major wars (Adrianople, the Arab siege and Greek fire, Pliska, Varna, Manzikert) and a cast of emperors, empresses, patriarchs, monks and layfolk who tried their best to live a temporal life with in an imperfect globe while trying (in their own minds) to adhere to the high principles of Christian living. It'll be difficult for any beginner to understand, much less retain the nuances of the Byzantine empire in just one reading of this book, but one will retain enough to obtain a broad picture of the life of this most extraordinary of e book by itself is unbelievable - the author covers almost all necessary aspects and provides sufficient emphasis where important without yielding to too a lot of dry info so that the book reads more like a novel and less like an academic tome. I'm deducting one star because I felt at times there was too small detail about some of the changes event around the Byzantine empire and a straightforward section on the same would have been useful (for example, where did the Bulgars come from and how did they establish a kingdom to the North of Byzantium? What about the Slavs? How did the Magyars suddenly setup the kingdom of Hungary)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    I am reading and re-reading this perfect book. Every repeat I explore more gems I missed before. I am not a teacher or writer but am only a fan of the Roman Empire. So after immersing myself in the part that ends with "the fall of the Roman Empire" in 476 AD, I went looking for more on what happened in the East. I found the respond in this book which gives an perfect lead up to the period before 476 AD, when the Eastern part became defined separately from the Western while remaining unified. This leads smoothly into the transformation of the remnant in the east into the Byzantine Empire after the disintegration of the West. A fascinating coverage of the "rest of the story" so to speak, which is incredibly eye-opening, for us in the West who have been led to believe it all ended in 476 AD. In fact it kept going for another thousand years. And every bit of this story is contained in this well written and simple to read book. I search the focus boxes to be invaluable in gaining perspectives in unique nooks and crannies of the huge picture. Illustrations are also very helpful and enjoyable, especially for types like me who agree that a picture is worth a thousand words. My one main want would be for a small more detail in the time lines, especially for those that start each section, but also for the consolidated one at the end of the book. In any case this could be your one source if that is what you are looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    I am thoroughly enjoying this textbook. It's very clear and well-written and explains a particular period in history that has been difficult to understand. I highly recommend this book to anyone beginning a journey in the Byzantium.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Babylon, 2200 BC - AD 75 (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-1-27 19:44

    The lazy Amazon ebook staff again surface with another sample ebook with only the table of contents. But not one word of the actual text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    I just hate history

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    Simple reading. Am truly enjoying this book. Sitting in on a class in Byzantine history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Southeast Asia: Critical Crossroads (Blackwell History of the World) []  2020-1-28 20:26

    I haven't read it all the method through but from what I've read it is very good. I do think it needs some more maps as it describes a lot of locations in the book and the maps that are provided are somewhat confusing. But the level of scholarship here is very high.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Babylon, 2200 BC - AD 75 (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-1-27 19:44

    This is actually a unbelievable book on the History of Babylon written by top experts in the field. It's detailed but written in a fluid writing style as to not be boring. I hightly recommend it if you wish to learn more about the history of ancient Babylonian than just the snippets about Hammurabi that you'd read in most other books on the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    Ordered for a class; reading for fun, still!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Byzantium (Blackwell History of the Ancient World Book 15) []  2020-2-6 19:31

    Too repetitive, the huge picture is not very clear

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gardener's Latin: The Language of Plants Explained []  2020-7-25 20:0

    Amazing book to understand the latin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gardener's Latin: The Language of Plants Explained []  2020-7-25 20:0

    Amazing Book for a lot of details.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gardener's Latin: The Language of Plants Explained []  2020-7-25 20:0

    This is a amazing coffee table book for a plant lover. Certainly not a comprehensive latin dictionary but it provides amazing insight into how plants keep their descriptive names. For me, it helped foster my appreciation and understanding of the latin naming arrived quickly and in the expected amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gardener's Latin: The Language of Plants Explained []  2020-7-25 20:0

    Amazing book, interesting and also simple. Surely an useful text for scholars and students in Botany and in Etymology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gardener's Latin: The Language of Plants Explained []  2020-7-25 20:0

    I’m a gardner, a literature lover, and am taking a botany course. This book is useful, beautiful, and fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gardener's Latin: The Language of Plants Explained []  2020-7-25 20:0

    First, this book is in a type practicably unreadable; very faint and in a strange font versus a super white shiny page color. . Second, the book rambles on, has too a lot of images and does Not link a proper name to each plant as advertised, just a list on the page margin.A total waste of time and money. Don't bother to order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gardener's Latin: The Language of Plants Explained []  2020-7-25 20:0

    I am a teacher and was hoping to learn some useful content about taxonomy and etymology; however, this book confuses Latin and Greek so I have to fact check most of the etymology content. Otherwise, I enjoyed the selection given by the author and the content itself is appreciated since there are not a lot of books focused on this field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gardener's Latin: The Language of Plants Explained []  2020-7-25 20:0

    5 star rating is based on the direct approach. The author laid out the Latin in a relevant and understandable way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    An outstanding achievement. This history is valuable and unusual first for the extensive coverage of Latin America before the European arrival and secondly for the detail of the Spanish and Portuguese history that explains so much of the Columbus to Independence centuries. I was disappointed in the chapters on the twentieth century-they seemed to bog down in detail without structure. There is a shocking factual error in the chapter about the conflict in Central America in the 70s-80s-the author describes in detail the fictional assassination of Archbishop Romero on the steps of his cathedral, an happening in movies but not in life where he was shot saying mass in a hospital chapel. The kindle edition of this book has a lot of errors of spelling, grammar, and incomplete sentences, not quite something on every page, but close.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    wonderful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    excellent condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    The book describe the role that the Iberian peninsula played in Latin America as we see it today. It gives one a amazing feeling of how, after 300 years of Spanish occupation, the deposition of the king of Spain by Napoleon (and the movement of the royal court of Portugal to Brasil) played a role in the formation of the current states and current travails. With the political history an acc is also given over time of trends in literature, poetry and melody and its reflection of societies. The latter is a bit long winded, but, I must say, I found it quite fascinating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    the book is perfect in telling the history of Latin America, the reader could base an opinions about why things are done in Latin America because the reader will have a historical background that will explain things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    Williamson is a Genius - the story he weaves is captivating and a joy to follow. I especially liked the sections on the growth of the societies involved and how that contributed to the rise of Intellectual pursuits and the Arts. I love this book so much I've given it to mates and followed its reading with Williamson's biography of Borges! The Penguin History is without question the excellent introduction to Latin America's rich and inspiring history!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    This book gave me exactly what I look for when I ordered it. A amazing survey of the history of this part of the world, with decent treatment of its interactions with those parts of the globe outside it. Accurate, brief but sufficiently for to obtain you the picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    Very well expressed given the available info over 3 millenia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    A unbelievable short yet concise examination of the history and cultural trends of the Near East. Simple to read, imaginative and scholarly at the same time. If you have the interest, this is the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    The author does not focus on necessary historical narrative but focuses too much on culture and society. Necessary rulers are not covered in a method they should be. For example there is virtually no information about the battles and wars of Sargon the Great. Furthermose there is a lot of wrong not it. Save your and something else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    Unbelievable history resource for my history series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    Perfect overview of Latin American history. Concise and relevant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    Since the history of Latin America is so intriguing, I was expecting this book to be a bit more intriguing. It is a very broad-brush book; a small more anecdotal and private stories could support [email protected]#$%! out a bit.But it does give perfect insight and precise analysis into the how's and why's of why Latin America is the method it is today, and that has increased my understanding of the Latin culture tremendously.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penguin History Of Latin America: New Edition []  2020-1-25 17:59

    A must read. Thoughtful and intriguing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    well written, shorth, brings out only necessary things, a liltle jewel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    Fascinating read. It navigates a complex, long period of history, highlighting major figures with the research available. I'd highly recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about this period of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    If you need a broad, general, survey of the history of the ancient near east this is a amazing option. If you are looking for extreme detail or unique treatment of a subject you have a bias for or a passionate interest in ( perhaps the ancient Israelites and biblical history ) you will need to supplement this general survey with a book specializing in the particular aspect of the ancient near east you are interested in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    A amazing and extensive introduction to the ancient near east. The writing is scholarly but not so massive as to scare someone away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000-323 BC (Blackwell History of the Ancient World) []  2020-2-4 23:21

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of Brazil - History Book 4th Grade | Children's Latin American History []  2020-8-17 19:24

    My spouse was born and raised in Brazil, I am American. I was eager to books that would teach our kids about their multicultural heritage. This book is NOT the book for that. It is hard to read out loud at points, run-on sentences every page, missing punctuation, incoherent phrasing, and it looks like a elementary school PowerPoint printed out on paper. The timeline stops with the passing of power from Lula to Rousseff; not a word on Lula's corruption (which my spouse says is far worse than our own Pres. Nixon, yet they create no mention of it?). The latest third of the book is just who was president or in charge during the 1900s and 2000s. This isn't what my spouse or I wish our kids to read for info on Brazil and it's culture, and I don't normally obtain fussy about these things. Not worth it at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Culture (Wiley-Blackwell Manifestos) []  2020-1-28 23:1

    I came across this book in a library. I've always been interested in culture and identity, however I am by no means an expert, so I was interested in reading up a bit more on these I read through the book, one point became overwhelmingly clear--the author, Terry Eagleton--has a large bone to pick with the United States. I live abroad in Europe, and so I am fairly used to the negative and comically narrow minded view people have of Americans, however I had yet to encounter it in something touted as academic material.He attacks beautiful much everything about American culture, grossly generalizing about American's treatment of everything from the body, religion, intellect, speech and even their sense of identity.A few quotes: "If people of truly surreal fatness complacently patrol its streets, it is partly because they have no idea that this is not event everywhere else. Americans use the word 'America' much more frequently than Danes use the word 'Denmark' or Malaysians use the word 'Malaysia'. No doubt this is what happens when your view of other countries is for the most part through a camera lens or from a bomber". (pg 91).Really? What does the author base his assertation that "Americans use the word 'America' much more frequently" on? He doesn't cite any sources, just makes an unfounded claim which he uses to segue into his next gem that our view of other countries is for the most part "through a camera lens or from a bomber." That's right, Mr. Eagleton, no one in the US travels and everyone agrees with war! How simple!Or how about, "A statement like 'He rejected my proposal, and even though I kept insisting he was adament in his refusal', becomes in some youthful American-English 'Like he was all "uh-uh" and I was like kinda "hey!" but he was like "no way" or whatever'". (pg 91).Right, because most Americans lack the ability to form or articulate meaningful ideas.I am by no means a winner of American society or culture, however I think Eagleton's opinions are completely shallow, petty and smack of tabloid-style sensationalisism pandering to people who love to hear that Americans are fat, stupid and God happy. The ideas about Americans seems based more on a study of Hollywood films than on any real, unbiased and factual info researched on the part of the author.I am truly saddened and disgusted by the content in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Culture (Wiley-Blackwell Manifestos) []  2020-1-28 23:1

    I think Terry Eagleton is a very amazing writer, and for the most part, he has created a lot of seemingly-difficult concepts accessible to larger audiences. And this book is another example of that. His discussion of the culture vs. nurture debate, the tracing of the idea of culture historically, and his reflections of Culture vs. culture are lively and interesting - and one does not need to be a critic of culture to understand Eagleton. However, I do feel, not unlike some other reviewers here, that this book sometimes takes on some asides that are either meant to be funny, or incredibly witty, but that nevertheless have very small to do with the topic at hand, or at least, take very long and provide very small to his discussions. A lot of a time I believe Eagleton gives in to comedic, or tongue-in-cheek characterizations or commentary that seem irrelevant or contradictory to his overall argument about the intricacies of the understanding of culture. Although I am very close to U.S. American culture, and this clearly creates a bias that I'd like to create evident, the book goes off, at some points, rampantly versus U.S. Americans and their culture, utilizing generalizations about their not good nutrition ("If people of truly surreal fatness complacently patrol its streets, it is partly because they have no idea that this is not event everywhere else") or linguistic incapability ("A statement like 'He rejected my proposal, and even though I kept insisting he was adament in his refusal', becomes in some youthful American-English 'Like he was all "uh-uh" and I was like kinda "hey!" but he was like "no way" or whatever"). These detractions from his argument are somewhat comedic, but really unhelpful. I would even go as far as to say they are pitiful or even reprehensible (he's so widely read in the U.S., and I am not completely sure, but I would say connected to U.S. academic and intellectual circles), even if they bear the ring of so, I read the Kindle ver of this book, and the Index has a bunch of terms, but no pages to go along with them, and they are not hyperlinked to the book either, so the index is extremely unhelpful, or even pointless. Hopefully, they can fix that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Culture (Wiley-Blackwell Manifestos) []  2020-1-28 23:1

    If you can't handle criticism of America without getting all butthurt about it, I don't think you're really thinking critically about your own culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Culture (Wiley-Blackwell Manifestos) []  2020-1-28 23:1

    Terry Eagleton has a bonus for making complex and esoteric material accessible to a broad and interested range of readers. I was especially impressed with his efforts to create dizzyingly fresh and abstruse material readily available to non-specialist readers of his books Literary Theory and After Theory. Both were a pleasure to read and opened me to more of Eagleton's work. They also helped me avoid being too fast to dismiss those whose writings have a related substance but a less readable ever, for whatever reasons, in his brief book titled The Idea of Culture, Eagleton makes no discernible effort to pitch it to the seats, occupied by readers who are intelligent, engaged, and generally well educated. The intended audience for The Idea of Culture seems clearly to be people like Eagleton himself who have read and remembered everything of importance ever written in cultural studies and the humanities, broadly construed. Given that, his failure to refer to philosopher Hans-Georg Gadamer's book Truth and Way and its pertinent and instructive treatment of the concept tradition seems a mistake, though there are so a lot of references in this book that I suppose this sort of oversight was inevitable.Oddly, moreover, with the exception of Marx and a few anthropologists, references to the social sciences are notable by their absence in a book whose substance would seem to shout for their inclusion. This, it seems to me, is a costly failing, one that makes Eagleton's job much more difficult. The sociological insights into the nature of culture included in Emile Durkheim's acc of the collective consciousness, George Herbet Mead's the generalized other, and Peter Berger's rendering of taken-for-grantedness provide exactly the sort of info Eagleton could place to perfect use. Nevertheless, the only sociologist Eagleton mentions is Pierre Bourdieu, in a brief sentence that reads like an excuse to drop another consequence, Eagleton gives us a peculiar history of culture that, I think, is needlessly long and has too a lot of dubious references based on Eagleton's humanities-intensive assessment of what is important. I suppose his efforts to disabuse us of misuses of culture are well placed, but some are obvious and treated at length when a passing observation would have been enough. Eagleton could, for example, briefly create his case that, as often employed, culture is devoid of any reasonable specificity and concreteness, having been used in a conveniently lazy method as an umbrella term or grab bag for just about any sort of ideas and activities, however shallow and banal, and then he could have moved on. After all, as Eagleton makes clear, he sees plenty of non-trivial and much less simple to understand misuses of culture that merit a amazing of attention. The relationships among culture, the nation, and the state is are interesting his discussion of the distinction between nature and culture, Eagleton is at odds with rigid cultural determinists, scholars and others who construe everything, however solidly, irrevocably, and immovably natural they show themselves, as fundamentally cultural rather than innately natural. It's as if a dug up and hauled away ton of coal does not exist until it is transformed into a source of heat to be burned in man-made stoves to create reading rooms more comfortable for members of the literati who read Proust on winter evenings. Yes, Eagleton would acknowledge that coal certainly has its put in culturally prescribed practices and significations, but he would insist that, first and foremost, it is naturally occurring, and its existence should be explained in those terms. Eagleton understandably seems eager to avoid the embarrassment experienced by the editors of the journal Social Text who published an article that construed the law of gravity as a social convention, only to learn that the manuscript, written by a physicist, was a hoax.When all is said and done, the basic distinction between types of culture, as Eagleton presents it, is between manifestations of ostensibly universal truths and standards of excellence, on the one hand, and ensembles of everyday, taken-for-granted practices, on the other. All of us participate in the latter cultural forms, and we do so as members, without reflection or evaluation. It's just how things are done, and the wherewithal to proceed in this method exists as if it were inscribed in our central nervous systems, a product of commonplace activities that have occupied our time and shown us the method to be members of a particular human group beginning in early childhood. By the time we are adults, the repertoire of unacknowledged interpretations and behaviors defines us and our reover, there is always more contained therein than we realize -- we know more than we are aware of -- and are thereby able to with fresh arrangements that come along in an unannounced, unscripted way. As a mundane example, say someone is late for an appointment with a dentist, and the excuse that he or she had a flat tire. Did anyone ever explicitly teach the dentist that a flat tire is a reasonable excuse for lateness? Of course not, but the dentist, nevertheless, unself-consciously recognizes it as such. It's a commonsense extension of the culture that he or she has already r Eagleton, the basic difference between those whose lives are lived wholly in this daily culture and the favored few who have access to universal truths is reflexivity or self-consciousness. Those who live day to day taking things unself-consciously and as they come, lack the resources and vantage point to critically evaluate what they do. By contrast, those with access to the privileged and advantageous position of being familiar with universal values are capable of making judgments, reflecting on the taken-for-granted, and guiding the less detached and less well informed in making better use of their lot. Eagleton credits the literary critic and scholar T. S. Eliot with this r my purposes, the distinction just introduced creates issues where there need be none. It acknowledges high culture, such as the finest of fine arts or religion, but raises needless questions about the source of universal standards that are especially troublesome in a book about culture. Whether a specific culture is benign or malignant, I search culture as treated by Durkheim, Mead, and Berger much more useful. For show purposes, the elitism that seems, for better or worse, to be an inescapable aspect of the humanities, just gets in the way.Eagleton would have done well to create more of the cultural differences inherent in the Gemeinschaft-Gesellschaft distinction. The former has a richly prescriptive culture and provides security in membership and position, though it may be insular and oppressive. Culture in the latter setting, by conatrast, is thin, much less prescriptive and embracing, lending itself to creation of anomic and egoistic circumstances. This distinction is noted in The Idea of Culture but is not well developed. Once again, I think, Eagleton's failure to appreciate the contribution of the social sciences as far back as the Nineteenth Century makes his work more difficult and less compelling. Why he settled on the bifurcation due to T. S. Eliot escapes me, especially since it raises unanswered -- perhaps unanswerable -- questions as to its provenance.Furthermore, as Eagleton notes, it's commonplace to refer to a feminist culture, an American gun culture, a Neo-Nazi culture, and so on. However, these fail the taken-for-granted, unself-conscious try that I think is crucial. It seems that we need to search fresh ways of referring to social forms that are collective and true but not cultural.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Culture (Wiley-Blackwell Manifestos) []  2020-1-28 23:1

    Frankly, this is one of the worst books I have ever read. My ultimate displeasure with this book is not due to the ideas espoused, but to the almost incomprehensible nature of the author's writing. I simply could not search one strand of sustainable, coherent argumention in the entire book. I don't believe I have ever encountered a book wherein the authors says so a lot of things but, in the end, says nothing at all. If you are looking for a amazing book on the nature and philosphy of culture, please, take my tip and look elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 2 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    As enjoyable as the first one, almost. Of course you're going to lose a bit of the suspense factor on a second run, but it's still a lot of fun to watch. These movies have been outed as a hoax, which isn't all that surprising. But it almost makes them more fascinating. What gives a realistic edge to them is the mundane info included - the metal detector not working at first, the random edits of him being 'frustrated' with roadblocks he encounters. His reactions to certain activities in the house, going completely still for long moments, as one would when extremely frightened. I've read about the history of this hoax and the guy who created these films, and some people are mad about it, understandably, as he's marketing these as real documentaries rather than just a fun paranormal film. But he's created a lot of on them because he knows how to create them feel real. He may not be an honest man, but I think he's probably rather brilliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 2 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    The first had the details. This had nothing other than a little bit of his backstory and a little bit of the house. But it REALLY lacked the fine the original had more originality (ish) to the scare elements when this was just a bit of door opening to the e original was better. Sequels are rarely better. I really liked the original and had hopes this would be as good. Wrong. Not as good. Didnt even have any true moments that create it slightly original this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 3 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    These are kind of getting ridiculous now. I liked the first one, kind of lukewarm about the second one. His one kind of goes method off the rails of believability. Without spoiling too much, the charm of this series is that you can suspend disbelief long enough to into the narrative with the original story. Suspending disbelief on this recent one is impossible. You know right away you’re watching a fake ghost documentary and you expect all that happens over the course of the movie.I think the subtle items is method more effective and there is nothing subtle about this third installment (that has no connection to the original, but I assume most know that before buying.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 4 []  2020-3-30 21:22

    I've seen all 4 of these and they really just keeping getting better. This one had some genuinely creepy scenes that created me tuck my feet under me instead of hanging off the couch. I'm really looking forward to what will be event next in this ongoing saga. The story has departed quite aways from the house in the first film but the fresh house is interesting and has a deeper story.If I could change anything it would be 2 things: 1) The parts about your girlfriend/wife are kind of odd and don't really serve any purpose other than to have one more character. She is a amazing actress and all but I just think the hero is pointless. 2) The mystery of the box of teeth continues! Why! This discovery from the 2nd film was brilliant and creepy and begs to be folded into the larger narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 4 []  2020-3-30 21:22

    I don't know if it's true or not, but it is fun. The series is very clever and makes the hair on my arms stand up. can't wait to see more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 4 []  2020-3-30 21:22

    This is not a "five mates went to beach for the weekend and gore happened" type of movie. This is a "one guy spends the night in a haunted house and gets legitimately scared" type of movie. The attention to detail was beautiful amazing. I can't wait for another installment to search out how the ghosts change after this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 2 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    What about the teeth though? You just left us hanging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 2 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    I watched (and left a review) the first one for the second time latest night. Part one was a small more believable if being passed off as real. This one (whole fun and spooky) is a small over the top. I’ve been investigating for a very long time and NEVER has that much happened in one put ever in my experience. I’ve done them all. Lizzie Borden, eastern state penitentiary, Fort Mifflin, Gettysburg, Salem etc…. And nothing has ever happened like that. Not saying it can’t. But…. Small bit too much all at one time. This is not a knock. Just my opinion. The one question that bothers me though. The record player kept “coming on by itself “ and clearly there’s a GoPro positioned right at the knob but…. We never obtain to see the dial turn on it’s own? Hmm…. Anyway, definitely fun and spooky. Would recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 3 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    I love his style of paranormal documentary. No ghost box, no infra red camera. It's really creepy. I don't think this 3rd part is true but it's entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 4 []  2020-3-30 21:22

    It is so surreal that you wish it to be real whether it is or not I don't know. But what I do know is that I cannot wait until Blackwell Ghost "5".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 4 []  2020-3-30 21:22

    When a first film is good, the second is often less so. The third might be a small better than the second, but still not as amazing as the first. And by the time number 4 arrives you can't even watch the whole thing and decide that slamming your fingers in the vehicle door would be more at is so not real in this case. All 4 films are intense and well done, and I hope there's another one very soon.---and---Dude....you created me look away for a second because I was afraid of what I might see. That hasn't happened to me since I was a kid. My feet are also tucked up neatly underneath me so that nothing can reach out from under the couch and grab my ankles. (That's also part of the whole 'not since I was a kid' thing.Everything is always done so well in these movies. Genuinely creepy, genuinely perfect. And, I really really hope this might mean that we obtain to have 14 more. Please. Seriously, please.I don't wish to give anything away so I don't wish to say anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 4 []  2020-3-30 21:22

    With all of the "real names and crimes" they talk about in these movies, including victims families and gravestones, you'll think it's real! Especially the claim of finding a victims body! Couple problems I had with though 1. The banging in the house is so loud and aggressive, my only thoughts were why doesn't he call the police to come over? 2. The phone call to his wife at the end seemed very scripted. Forgetting his wife was pregnant? so, if he knew his sister and law was getting married the next day, then his wife should have known he was going to miss the wedding! He did leave a day early! But, I to watch this one, and I probably will the next one too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 2 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    I enjoyed the first film, so I decided to spend the $3 to rent the second, which has a higher rating on Amazon.I like that he started the movie by calling out those who tried to debunk the first film. It seems he took feedback from reviews and decided to contain a disclaimer on this film, permitting him to change or omit names for privacy. I like that detail. Even though we know (believe, wish to believe) that all these found footage movies are fake, I like the inclusion of disclaimers or summarized back stories ("unknown events... until this footage was discovered").He starts the documentary off stating he wasn't sure if he had enough info for another full documentary. I noticed then that over the next 30 mins there was a lot of extraneous shots that really seemed to serve no other purpose than to lengthen the film. Admittedly, it does build suspense and add drama to the discovery and uncovering of certain plot points/information.His editing skills improved with this film. I love getting to see multiple angles at once in these movies. It gives it a more realistic feel because it isn't just a bunch of best takes spliced together.I actually really liked the main character. Whether it was an act or not, he seems like a true person. He's a small snippy with his wife, a bit shady, a tad unlikable, but he seems like a genuine human being trying to create a documentary. I also enjoyed how he continually addressed the haters and skeptics of the first film. It added authenticity, I gripe I do have with the entire movie is this: he has cameras set up everywhere. Yet he doesn't present us the footage of things event on camera. This is the only thing that creates some doubt. Why have all those cameras and not use the footage? I'm assuming its edited this method to build suspense for the final night which, of course, has the most gardless of whether it's true or fake, I found this film very entertaining. It was well filmed, edited, and presented. I'd recommend to any fan of the genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 2 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    Don't know if this is true or fake, but I thought this was as well done as the first one. This one had a small more going on with it. I agree with another reviewer about the teeth. Will there be a Blackwell 3 with more about Nancy, the teeth, who ended up buying the house and whether there are future hauntings, etc.? I like ghost stories that go into the history of the people involved. If there is another installment, I hope it will cover the historical aspects of the house and the people.I think the filmmaker and his wife are a cute and charming couple .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 2 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    I loved the first film because it went the method of a typical haunting. I lived in a haunted house and things didn't go south as soon as we moved in. It was a slow burn with things seemingly out of put until it was apparent there was something very wrong with the house and the method the previous owner left it. That was the first movie. This sequel was how Hollywood sees a haunting: There's some dark secret, items goes from 0 to 60 in less than a min and there has to be some huge activity or people will obtain bored. Sometimes the slow burn and leaving things up to the viewer can go a long way. If there was any doubt the first one was fake, this confirmed it. I regret watching this because I liked the mystique of not knowing whether or not the first one was fake. I liked that the first film mimicked my experience in a haunted house. This film is one to skip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 3 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    At first I was a small disappointed it wasn’t about the house from the first 2 films, but that quickly faded away. Turner is a solid storyteller, and he sets this one up perfectly to bring you right into the story and delivers. I appreciate that he doesn’t rely on scares, and keeps it true globe oriented as far as what to expect. Looking forward to more of these. Hopefully a 4th one right before Halloween.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 3 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    I've watched all three. I like that it's documentary style, he doesn't go over the top in reactions and keeps it real. He doesn't see ghosts around every corner or add unnecessary melody in all the scenes, there's some, but it doesn't create go over the top like some I've watched. It's just him filming and his disbelief for the most part. If you're looking for something realistic in presentation, this is for you. If you're looking for something ala "ghost adventures", only reason for taking away a star is his drinking in the beginning, night one. If you wish to be objective, getting drunk doesn't support your credibility. Unless you begin asking why it was in the cooling vent and he knew it was there. After watching the first two, the drinking in this one almost seems like a compulsion.***spoiler***In the tiles if you look, it spells other words. "Drag", "demons" and "eaten" were ones that stood out to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 3 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    This recent installment in the series goes in a various direction than the first two. I really like the creator and the tone of the movies, I just didn't really care for the fresh house that he was investigating in this movie.*****SPOILER*******The brief non-explanation of the can of teeth from the second film sucked! That whole thing with the teeth was creepy and weird and I wanted to know more. In this film he says " A lot of people have been asking me about the can full of teeth, well I haven't found out anything more" Dude! This detail was one of the more interesting parts of the 2nd movie, if you didn't have a plan for it why did you place it in? That is just not good storytelling. I hope this series gets a 4th film that address those dang teeth!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World []  2020-9-23 20:37

    Despite the author's supple writing style, this can be a difficult book to read. Due to the wonderful level of detail some readers will either feel intimidated or give up before the end. That would be regrettable, because there is much to learn from "EOTW." Ostler strikes a nice balance between discussing origins and early diffusion of languages and more latest centuries, which are both better-documented and presumably keep more interest for general readers. He neatly summarizes a number of ongoing debates about how languages change and spread, and where necessary, shows intimate familiarity with the more technical aspects of linguistics and language history. Another review criticizes, I believe too harshly, some errors concerning African languages, but Ostler gets the basics right. A work like this requires an author to frequently step beyond his/her formal expertise, so occasional gaffes are unavoidable. Some familiarity with both history and linguistics will help, but Ostler contains more than enough general history to provide context; in fact, readers will learn a amazing about the past beyond linguistics from "EOTW." Considering how necessary languages are as repositories of history, culture and local knowledge, this book provides a valuable service in making connections across time and space. It's worth the effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World []  2020-9-23 20:37

    For a philologue like me, this is a book long awaited. For the general reader, it could be a door into history, show geopolitics, linguistics, and culture previously hidden. It is a "serious" book, but often light-hearted and covers its topic e author acknowledges familial first readers, saying, 'the faults that they found were not --as they charitably thought -- the effect of my going too deep, but just of my being too opaque.' In fact he often is deep into detail and repetitive; nonetheless, you cannot escape his will know about your language,,as well as why you speak it even if none of your ancestors did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 4 []  2020-3-30 21:22

    This is one of my top 2 "found footage" series. Even though it's not really found footage. Turner Clay or Clay Turner has masterfully opened up a fresh direction in a genre that has sadly found a standard format and just keeps spitting out the same movies over and over. Just 1 guy. Small, creepy house. Whether it's "real" or not, doesn't matter to me. I thoroughly have fun the BG series and will continue to watch as this recent storyline unfolds. I think there's room for a lot of more movies based on Lightfoot. There was some genuinely eerie moments in this movie and I was thrilled to see the 4th installment. The only complaint I have about the movie is the phone call from his wife. Yes, he was being a bit of a tool by asking her to skip out on her sisters wedding in favor of babysitting him. But, the whole screaming at him about spending the $$ out of their savings didn't need to be included. It added nothing to the movie. Other than that, I loved loved loved it! Hold up the amazing work Turner or Clay or whatever your name is. When is #5???

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 2 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    ke!!!It was entertaining. But clearly fake cmon. A bit overkill on the end. Not to mention. ITS HIS OWN HOUSE in Kentucky and in penn. READ. Funny what u can search on google. I do admit he’s beautiful naive to state it’s real. I don’t have any respect for people clearly lieing to that draftee to create a buck. May be 20 years ago he could obtain away with that than but now a days cmon. Grow up. Read below it’s beautiful interesting this guy clearly did his homework to prove he’s a hoax. Not to mention if u didn’t know he also did phionex tapes documentary as well. FAKE AGAIN

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 3 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    I absolutely love all the Blackwell Ghost movies!! I don't know what it is about them....but I've watched all of them dozens of times and bought the latest 2 the min I saw there were online. The guy who makes them is really funny in a lot of ways, so maybe it's that he's not this super serious, investigation-type of ghost hunter. I know these are totally fake, but I love them and think the guy who makes them is super creative for coming up with the stories and making them seem like true documentaries on what seems to be a little budget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blackwell Ghost 3 []  2020-1-25 21:31

    I love this director. He doesn't do fancy props or pallor tricks. He knows how to scare you with just a whisper. Well worth the purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World []  2020-9-23 20:37

    The book is e ebook formatting, on the other hand, leaves a lot to be desired.1) Photos (and there are hundreds of them, including a lot of unique characters) only appear in the "View on your Browser" environment or (presumably) on a direct-networked Kindle device. They do NOT appear on the Kindle for PC reader or, therefore (I believe) in side-loaded Kindles. (And if you convert and read the file on an ePub device, they don't appear there, either.) You can read the book without the images, but you are missing a lot of the helpful illustrations, and most of the unusually accented characters.2) Page references all point to the print edition and (of course) have no relationship to whatever digital device you use, nor are they live links.3) eBook pagination jumps all over the map. For example, on my device, crossing a chapter boundary moved me from p. 662 (of 696) to p. 140.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World []  2020-9-23 20:37

    Nicholas Ostler's Empires of the Word is wide ranging examination of how languages evolve, spread, and die out.Ostler takes a wide view: we move from India, to China, to Arabic speaking countries, to Europe and end on English, the current lingua franca.Ostler’s book is fascinating, and VERY detailed, so it demands some patience on the part of readers. But readers will be rewarded for their effort with some firm analysis of the complexities of how languages live and die.Ostler does not leave us with any hard and quick rule about why some languages spread and others do not. Often, language spread because of conquest, as Latin did; or through a combination of conquest (British English) and prestige (American English).Language is as complex and as multivariate as we are; really, we should expect no less.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World []  2020-9-23 20:37

    The author takes an anthropological (cultural) and historical approach to linguistics, or place another way, a linguistic approach to history and anthropology. He proves that language is a viable method to study the movement of people and changes in their ideas and behaviors. It is one of the only texts (as opposed to textbooks, journals, and articles) that is fascinating to read and rich in information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World []  2020-9-23 20:37

    I'm not a linguist. This book created me think thoughts I'd never had before. At my age that's gold.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386