Read the blues doctor reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the blues doctor reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    Tells all about what you go thru as a brand fresh doctor in training. Essential for those interested in medical school. But, beware if you're overly sensitive - it can be shocking in locations - well worth the read. I bought it for my granddaughter who has since decided NOT to be a doctor...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    Thoroughly enjoyed this. Loved how true each of the interns were with their feelings and did not keep back. Sure, I'm a small scared of my internship now, but reading this tells me I won't be alone in the madness. thanks for sharing.I

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    I've always considered doctors to be generally uppity people, especially the men, with a few actual humans sprinkled among them. Now that time has passed I've seen a lot more down-to-earth specimens, and I think a lot of it has to do with the changes in medicine since about the late 90s. Almost everyone has an education now; a doctor can't talk down to anyone since he assumes everyone around him/her is an idiot.I also have a deeper respect even for the snobby ones now since like a lot of people, I assumed a doctor's life was incredibly easy, just telling underlings what to do while raking in cash. I've worked as a file clerk in a medical office for the past year, though, and even being that far separated from the medical profession itself has given me a glimpse of needy patients ALWAYS wanting more from their doctors and getting called out of a Christmas dinner because your one patient who is non-compliant with any medication just had a heart attack and says it's your fault and you need to fix is book has only furthered that understanding. It seems doctors walk away from the interning experience with two kinds of egos: the one who is convinced that he or she has earned their "stripes" long ago, come to know that they know everything, and sees themselves worthy of non-stop behind-kissing; and the one who is humbled and a small frightened by the whole experience with the realization that they will never be as excellent as they'd like. The first type of ego is definitely Amy's. She seems to think the whole globe should revolve around what she wants, can do no wrong, and is the kind of person who would grudge someone a $1 loan while endlessly griping about how no one will lend her fifty bucks - basically constantly complaining that no one ever does anything for her while not really giving any evidence that she's done anything for anyone else. She's got a true poor sense of entitlement as a parent and a person. Andy is the opposite. He truly struggles with simply admitting that sometimes he has no idea what to do. His cases overwhelm and humble him, even create him completely break down. He goes through the whole miserable experience with a genuine understanding of the humanity among and within him. Tag is somewhere in between, coming off as sometimes hard and uncaring until he loses his confidence and aches terribly after a perceived job and this book have given me an idea of the medical profession - the medical life - that I've never quite considered before. It's an eye-opener. My mother is a long- and hard-working nurse who gave me stories of the kind of hell she went through, but up until now, I never really KNEW. I still don't, but at least I've got a fair idea of it.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the blues doctor or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    SUCH a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    This book is simply funny. I bought the book to support me in my mid-career crisis. I am currently and Emergency Department nurse and I was feeling bored in my job. After reading this book I had to laugh and appreciate the views of the interns. Interns in the ER are funny and procedure crazy. The "pain and Agony" each of them experiences is very descriptive. If you are looking into a career in medicine it is definitely a must read. I realized that I can't see myself taking a step back and doing "scut" and re-learning a fresh frame of mind. The plus side though, when a fresh intern is the zone I create sure I support them out. I recommend this book for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    Love the insight in this book. Excellent book for those high school graduates thinking of pursuing a career as a doctor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    A strong acc of the first year of internship of three young doctors, you will not forget the stories and experiences recounted in this book. The parts written by the Robert Marion are especially amazing at placing the accounts in context, and updating the information. Even though these diaries were kept in the mid-1980 and both regulations covering interns' working conditions and medical practice have changed, these emotional toll of internship remains the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    I read this book after reading House of God and Mount Misery. Same topic, very various voice(s). At times this book was tiresome, at times I couldn't place it down. Things have changed a whole lot since 1985 in the globe of interns, but there are still alot of things I couldn't believe I heard someone else complaining about besides me! Worth reading but feel free to skip ahead a few chapters if your'e getting bored.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    Amazing book! It's frightening that it is all true---mistakes happen when fresh interns are expected to create life and death decisions after working 36 hrs non-stop! The "July Syndrome" is real!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intern Blues: The Timeless Classic About the Making of a Doctor []  2019-12-18 20:42

    I enjoyed every moment of reading this book. Such an eye opener to what first year interns go through. I thought it was so well written I was actually sad that it ended. It left me wondering what every happened to the doctors and if they continued with their profession. This is definitely a book every person who is thinking about becoming a doctor should read. I really enjoyed it and at times I found I couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    The Thrill is Gone with Richie Blackmore & Secrets or Sins (sort of Shatner doing Leonard Cohen) are both fine songs. The rest of the songs aren’t my thing. As usual, Shatner is usually amazing when his does his melodic talking style, but can be hard to listen to when he does his sing-singing style (which I realize is intended to be somewhat comedic)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    Just horrible. Guest artists are great, Shatner's "singing" is annoying at best. Don't waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    If you love and follow William Shatner and wish to help him obtain this Album you will have fun it very much. If you just wish to be critical of us that do don't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    I'm not a huge blues fan so I didn't like this as much as the pop, rock, or even country ones. But it's always fun to obtain a fresh album from Mr. Shatner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    I found myself skipping forward to the next track on song after song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    Want Amazon had given us snippet to listen to before I ordered this. You may love it - I don't. Amazing tracks - amazing musicians - does he ever sing? Or does he just constantly grind? I could not obtain through any of the songs to search out. I really do love Bill Shatner - but I do not like these recordings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    14 tracks of pure Shatner gold. Easily his best album since Has Been. Obtain it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    Amazing music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    May I ask why you're reading this review? William Shatner is a well known entertainer. This album is his cover of some well known and otherwise overlooked R&B songs. I like it. I'm not gonna say that everyone will but I like William Shatner and I like this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    I liked that Shatner took the album seriously with re to the musicianship and appreciates his own limitations as a singer. He's not making fun of the blues, but having a amazing time, in his own way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    without doctor prescription [OActuAme]  2021-3-2 5:1
    [email protected]

    for low blood pressure apple health senza ricetta no prescription - often you can take - without a doctor prescription sildenafil citrate walgreens

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    without doctor visit [AActuAme]  2021-3-5 11:58
    [email protected]

    how much is in mexico medical coverage insurance what milligram should i take without prescription - que pasa si tomo vencido - buy without prescription endothelial cells and dysfunction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    without doctor prescription [YHaroKalo]  2021-3-6 9:37
    [email protected]

    can carvedilol cause dysfunction: sildenafil citrate coupons how to read blood pressure numbers non prescription zoloft side effects dysfunction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    without doctor prescription [YActuAme]  2021-3-2 11:12
    [email protected]

    mouse found which statement is real about hiv, hbv, and healthcare workers? para que serve o feminino buy without seeing doctor - can you latest longer - without a doctor prescription snoop dogg dysfunction commercials

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buddha and the Blues []  2020-4-1 20:38

    Well just found out about him about a month ago. Have two of CD which are with band and liked very much. Prefer vinyl and when came across this fresh Album tlook a chance. This one does not have full band sound so I was concerned it might have the full sound. BUT was very happy at quality of sound and song writing Very simple to connect to songs and vinyl is very quite. LIKED SO MUCH Going to see him live Oct 4th at Funky Budda which be just him and guitar May be see u there.E the

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    Rockin' The Blues showcases the work of the amazing blues shouter Wynonie Harris in his rrounded by perfect musicians, Mr. Harris belts out some classic blues tinged with the huge band e quality of the recordings is first rate and there is a booklet with detailed liner with all the box sets from Proper, this set provides perfect quality melody and amazing value for the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    Along with Huge Joe Turner and Jimmy Rushing, Wyonnie Harris is regarded as the greatest of the blues shouters, and one of the most famous and influential artists in the years after Globe Battle II. First emerging on record with Lucky Millender's Huge Band, Harris' vocal "Who Threw The Whiskey In The Well," was a success for the Millender band. He recorded for several labels including Philo/Aladdin, Apollo, Hamptone, and Bullet before signing with King in July 1947. With King, he enjoyed his greatest success. The British Proper label has place together a four-disc box, "Rockin the Blues," which includes all of recordings (81 in total) through 1950. It is handy to have all of Harris' Philo/ Aladdin and Apollo recordings along with rarities from Hamptone and Bullett along with his first 37 King recordings in one place. Harris was accompanied by bands that included some of the finest jazz players of the postwar era including Howard McGhee, Teddy Edwards, Illinois Jacquet, Charles Mingus, Jack McVea, Gene Phillips, Arnett Cobb, Milt Buckner, Sun Ra (credited as pianist on the four sides recorded for Bullett in Nashville in March/April 1946), Tab Smith, Bill Doggett, Hot Lips Page, Hal Cornbread Singer, Tom Archia, Buddy Tate, Sonny Thompson and Cat Anderson). This is quite a roster of players and they provide terrific help on a collection of earthy blues, bawdy rockers and jump numbers. Its been over thirty years since Harris died, and, thus never enjoyed the type of career revival that Huge Joe Turner enjoyed in the seventies and eighties. And so a lot of of the songs here have become classics. The level of the melody on these is consistently first-rate. Wyonnie Harris may have be a bit of a bragger when he called himself Mr. Blues, but few shouted the blues with the power and skill that he did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    I am fairly fresh to Willie Dixon's music. I had heard of him but didn't realize just how much impact he had on the blues genre.Willie Dixon was an accomplished bass player, song writer, and producer.I had stumbled across his ver of "Back Door Man" on You Tube and found it to be very various from the versions I know from Howlin' Wolf and The Doors. I really prefer Willie Dixon's version. The bass is smooth and very noticeable. This song has everything: amazing bass, piano, harmonica, vocals, and guitar."The Same Thing" is another tune that stuck with me, especially the lyrics.Willie Dixon is under-rated. If you like the classic blues this cd is one you have to get!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    Love Willie Dixon's music. Arrived as promised. I deducted 1 star because it was foolishly mailed in a thin PRIME bubble package and the jewel case was crushed; but no hurt to the lks at PRIME, place a small protection around the case!! Fortunately I have additional jewel cases at home, so not wasting time and energy to return and replace.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    Amazing album and very inspirational to my guitar playing and development!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    This CD was a amazing addition to my blues collection. My family and mates love ZZ Hill's blues! Nice work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    simply place this is the best piano blues i have ever heard. otis spann was a real master of blues piano so wait no longer do yourself a favor and pick this one up

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    While I share a amazing fondness for Spann and Lockwood Jr., and this CD is truly a amazing example of their work, I was disappointed to search that the pressings Amazon is currently delivering do NOT include the seven extra tracks. Darn! The other CD mentioned, "Otis Spann Is The Blues", is still shipping with extra tracks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    As I've read biographies of Elvis and others, I hold reading the name Sister Rosetta Tharpe. But, I'd never actually heard anything by her. Then, latest year, I saw a unique on her on PBS. I decided that I required to listen closer to Ms. Tharpe. When I recently read Hillburn's brilliant biography of Johnny Cash, he again talked at length about her influence on Johnny and on Elvis. So, I went to Amazon and looked at the offerings under Ms. Tharpe. Based on the reviews, I chose this album, and I'm glad I did. A amazing overview of her career on a single CD. What surprised me was the number of songs that I recognized from my folk melody collection. Ms. Tharpe was not only hugely influential on Elvis and Cash, she wrote "This Train", recorded by Peter, Paul & Mary as well as Bruce Springsteen. And, her ver of "Up Above My Head, I Hear Melody In The Air" was used by Elvis in his comeback special. A amazing album, and one I'm thrilled that I bought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    Thank you & 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    I thoroughly enjoyed this CD. I love the power in this woman's voice.Right from the begin with "EVIL," the CD establishes itself as "No Nonsense." I wanted to keep her when she sang "I Cried Like A Baby." I wanted to obtain out of her method with "I Can Love You Like A Woman (Or I Can War You Like A Man)." "Queen Bee" is a trip. Pure Koko. Closing with "Come To Mama" just doesn't obtain any this is what I would call "A Amazing Lady Sings The Blues."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Schultze Gets the Blues makes its eloquent statements on private freedom and the importance of melody in our lives with an almost sleight of hand level of subtlety. A single Cajun riff found accidentally on the radio sets Schultze free. Freedom is not easily achieved, but Schultze is shown doing the hard work and making adjustments. He travels to the USA to appear in a Cajun festival, but quickly departs, looking for a truer vein of freedom. The movie is beautifully created and often funny. Schultze makes his method often based upon his generous humanity. In these scenes, he summons powers that we didn't know he had. A lot of scenes simply display the kindness and hospitality. A wonderful, human film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Very quiet movie, few cuts, goes deep but is funny anyway, definitely not mainstream. Its a saga from a very specific (slightly dull) region in East Germany that is dominated by salt pits and other (mainly chemical) industry. It makes some harsh references to German re-unification but avoids the often found grumbling. It tells the story of a miner that took (or was forced into) early retirement. He plays accordion and discovers Zydeco melody one day which gives his live a completely fresh was in the films in Germany but not a true blockbuster, and then created it even to Fresh York City.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    I'S TRUE...'THE "GENIUS" SINGS THE BLUES'.....AS ONLY HE COULD DO!! Amazing Blues, Soul, County, Ballads, Gospel - whatever he did - HE DID IT BETTER!! One of my "idols" - growing up in the 60's!! You'll never go wrong buying any of Ray Charles "works"....GUARANTEED!! TAKE IT FROM ME...I HAVE EVERYING HE'S EVER DONE!!! AND CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF HIS "WORKS"!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    What an awesome album! Shipped with no problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Boz completed the trifecta with this outstanding blues/soul disc following ''A Fool to Care'' and ''Memphis.'' 4 songs by his buddy --Jack Walroth[talk about underrated songwriters--listen to ''Those Lies,''''Rock and Stick''] His ver of Neil Young's 1974 classic''On the Beach''--my favorite Neil song-- is stark,dark, and a masterpiece. Amazing band featuring Willie Weeks,Charlie ton. This is my favorite album released this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the Blues []  2020-1-7 19:27

    One of the best BBking cds

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portrait of the Blues []  2020-7-15 19:51

    The late, amazing and much-missed Lou Rawls had enjoyed a successful career as a Blues and Jazz singer during his 1960s tenure as a Capitol Records recording artist so it comes as no surprise that he would eventually release a Blues album at some point later on in his career. This 1993 release was certainly one of the best and most well-received Blues albums of its time and it is evident that Mr. Rawls felt very comfortable in this setting and that he enjoyed recording and singing the songs on this CD. While this album will most likely be an acquired taste for those who are only familiar with his Philadelphia International recordings of the second half of the 1970s or his early-1980s Pop-Soul albums for Epic Records it definitely has its merits and any truly serious Lou Rawls fan will have fun it. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portrait of the Blues []  2020-7-15 19:51

    Lou Rawls had an incredibly smooth, expressive voice, but I was disappointed in this album even though it has a stellar cast of guest artists including Joe Williams, Phebe Snow, Junior Wells, Joe Lovano, and Buddy Guy to name a few. I think the two best cuts are "Save Your Love for Me" and "Saturday Night Fish Fry." To me, the rest of the songs seem to lack the spontaneity of his best work. I doubt that I'll listen to this cd much now that I've heard it a couple of times. A better choice, in my opinion, is "The Legendary Lou Rawls," a five star album that I don't obtain tired of hearing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bendin the Blues []  2020-7-18 19:42

    I am not primarily a huge Blues fan, and I initally bought the album for it's Country flavor I heard in the sound clips. But, after listening to the whole album several times, I can truly say that this is amazing stuff! There is a Memphis sound to Melanie's voice that will be pleasing to the ear of any Blues or Country fan. My favorite tracks are "The Devil Chose Me", and a song that is guaranteed to begin your fire, "Love's Slow Burn." It is much to this young lady's credit that 9 of the 12 tracks were written by her. No song sounds as good, as it sounds when being sung by the same heart and soul that wrote it. This is absolutly a very amazing buy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bendin the Blues []  2020-7-18 19:42

    I'll concede that Melanie is a solid songwriter and vocalist. However, I must be honest in pointing out that her guitar skills are sophomoric, at best and that the "triple threat" that some speak to just isn't there. A close listen to her songs will search predictable, pedestrian melodies and her guitar playing skills simply don't start to approach the level expected of her contemporaries. Does she have promise? Certainly - but, I'd be surprised to see her gain anything much beyond regional acclaim. Unless, of course, she really works on her guitar playing, or hires a decent lead guitarist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone with the Blues []  2020-7-26 22:14

    I was expecting more blues melody on this cd. The melody that is on it is very amazing but not what I was expecting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    Love this guy, his voice and his music... everything ... so glad a mate turned me on to his music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Padlock on the Blues []  2020-8-3 19:45

    padlock on the blues is john mayalls best release of the latest decade! it is pure blues from the grand old man of the blues. all titles but one composed by john and most of them are new. for every mayall fan who likes his unique method of song writing, who likes this special atmosphere of his compositions, this cd is pure gold.let others concentrate on the sidemen - which are really excellent, no doubt ! - the soul of the bluesbreakers is john mayall! allow others be stars and chart winners, it's the melody that counts and john mayall is a trade tag for pure blues music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Livin' With the Blues []  2020-9-25 20:23

    I bought this cd based on the songs because my mother had a couple of odetta's records. I love the uncomplicated sound and the simplicity of the me of the songs on this cd are like that but some that i remember have been jazzed up and while i am sure i will like them eventually, they were not what i was ill, i am glad to finally have a cd with some of the songs i recall from my childhood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rendezvous with the Blues []  2020-10-2 18:58

    Melvin Taylor is a genious. He not only can defeat the Blues stage with his unparralleled mastery of the guitar, he can bridge into worlds of Jazz & R&B as shown evident on his recent RWB release, and hold you beggin' for more! Upon first hearing Melvin in person at the Santa Cruz Blues Festival, I was immediately struck with his style and ability...it was as close to a incarnation of Hendrix as any I've seen in the flesh! His combination of flash and ease into every movement reflects his creativity...taking already proven songs like Stephen Stills' Black Queen and adding his own zest, taking it to the next level. Real the RWB album is primarily cover tunes, but then, why fix something if it isn't broke? Melvin prooves that what is already a amazing groove in one genre doesn't mean he can't cross the boundries and truly give it somethin' to talk about with his Bluesy flare and spin. Those who haven't seen him in person don't have a clue that the finest guitarist currently on the planet is neatly tucked away in Rosa's, cozy non-commercialized home-town bar in Chicago. You'll never regret one visit to Rosa's or any of Melvin's albums if you're a real connoisseur of fine Bluesmanship and you're not stuck on the idea that there's only one method to play it...just kick back and allow the bonus rip into your soul and treat yourself to the most unforgettable melody experience you'll ever encounter!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rendezvous with the Blues []  2020-10-2 18:58

    Once again, Melvin Taylor comes across as a very amazing guitarist and arranger, but not a very amazing composer or original musician. He borrows songs and styles from original blues musicians such as John Lee Hooker and Jimi Hendrix and puts them to amazing use, but he doesn't have a single composition or style of his own. His rendition of Chill Out/The Healer and Blue Jean Blues are wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am the Blues []  2020-11-30 20:38

    Makes me wish to move. Can't sit still when I hear it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am the Blues []  2020-11-30 20:38

    I knew Willie and he was the greatest and just plain old amazing people. I miss him everyday...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am the Blues []  2020-11-30 20:38

    what can I say , love the blues

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of the Blues []  2020-10-16 18:44

    Waiting for Fats. He was my go too guy when I was a young Marine. Lots of quarters in the juke boxes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life, Love & The Blues []  2020-10-20 19:4

    Classic Etta. After listening to "Blues To The Bone" I had to have this CD as well. If you're a fan, you'll love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life, Love & The Blues []  2020-10-20 19:4

    Awesome that I discovered her only because of the film cadilac records.. but i just love her voice OMG,, what I was missing so a lot of years.. she passed the same year I discovered her.. figures.. story of my life always missing the boat and left on the pier..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Big Bad Blues []  2020-11-17 20:0

    As a Texan and one of ZZ Top's long time aficionado & concert-goers, it's hard for me to review this album without mixed emotions. Billy Gibbons is of course the core of ZZ Top and a brilliant composer and guitarist. But this solo album comes up short compared to most all of the previous ZZT music. If I tried to pinpoint it, guess I would say a lot of the guitar work is more regurgitation of ZZ's previous music. And Billy's voice has evolved into less of his old blues rock style into an old man's raspy, growling, hard-to-understand mess. Almost embarrassing to listen to. I have to go with the negative reviews on this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues on the Bayou []  2020-11-1 18:57

    Loved, loved, loved this album!!!! Can't believe I just discovered it. To me, it's B.B. King at his very honest best. If you're a fan and don't have it - GET IT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues on the Bayou []  2020-11-1 18:57

    Bb king seems to be in his element with this album. Very enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natch'l Blues []  2021-2-9 19:59

    A seminal album by an artist who stayed real to the roots of country blues. If you wish to understand where the Stones, Zeppelin and the other huge name rock acts come from this this album is a amazing example of the primary genetic code

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natch'l Blues []  2021-2-9 19:59

    Must have for your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Got the Blues []  2021-4-2 20:17

    If You Are a Lover Of Blues, This One Is For You! I Am A HUGE Eric Clapton Fan!!! He Said Once He Has Tried His HandIn Everything From Country To Pop, But He Keeps Going Back To The Blues! I Love(d) Stevie Ray! So Sad!!! He Was InWisconsin (MY HOME STATE) And Was Playing The Same Present With Eric Clapton! In MY OPINION Only, Gary Moore'sSong "STILL GOT THE BLUES" Will Blow You Away!!! Amazing CD For ANY Blues Fan!!! God Bless You All! TH-C

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Got the Blues []  2021-4-2 20:17

    Gotta love Gary and this collection really showcases his deft playing and amazing vocals!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues In The Dark []  2021-4-7 22:53

    For west coast-style blues, Mr. Piazza is as amazing as it gets. Always a amazing band.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    Just what I ordered. Amazing value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    5 star worth the price and amazon created iteasy to locate otherwise hard to search CD..very very nice music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    You should obtain this CD if you love the classic "Down Home Blues" ZZ sound.. This is the follow up and it is really nice. Check it out. ZZ during the Malaco years was something special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    The liner notes indicate that this was originally intended to be a Volume 2 follow-up to "Otis Spann Is the Blues", and was recorded at the same time with the same amazing sound quality. It contains Robert Lockwood, and features the singing of James Oden (St. Louis Jimmy) on five songs. James Oden has an unusual singing style, and takes some getting used to, but grows on you (listen to "Bad Condition" above). Overall this is a amazing album, but not quite as charming as the first album. A amazing alternative to this album is "Good Morning Mr. Blues", as it is in the same vein, but is strictly Spann with his piano. Another amazing recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    Otis Spann has a heavenly facility at the keys, and through it he expresses not only the gamut of human feelings, but the combinations and conflicts of feelings that we all experience. I really have fun this disk.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    Very disappointed in the Amazon/Seller description discrepancy. Product is described having gift tracks, but the one I was sold did not. It should have been advertised as such.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    Sister Rosetta Tharpe has a crisp, clear voice in spite of the fact that these recordings are very old. She created the crossover from gospel/spiritual melody to what is considered to be early rock and roll. She is often referred to as being "the godmother of rock and roll".The songs on this recording all have elements of gospel, soul, the blues, and rock and roll and even swing. Down by the Riverside, included on this collection, is considered to be one of her classics. Nobody's Fault But Mine is classic blues. Strange Things Event Daily is upbeat and a precursor to rock and roll as are a lot of of the songs on this album. I can't say that there is a poor song on this recording. I search them all to be a fascinating mix of songs to add to any melody lover's collection whether you are a lover of blues, spiritual/gospel songs, or early roots rock and roll. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    She is amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:19

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    Amazing value

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    I read an article recently that said it was a shame Boz was known for Silk Degrees and not much more, and sadly that is most ways true. This album is a Boz Scaggs record and if you have been a fan of his you know what that means. The man has never created a poor record ever! I had just been to one of his shows and he did several of these songs, the record reflects the live present very well which says to me that even alone in a vocals booth he is straight to you. Face it, if you've read this far go on and buy it, you know you wish to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the Blues []  2020-1-7 19:27

    Great!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    Other Mofi lps I have are of such wonderful fidelity. The quality of this one is a letdown.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    There really isn't much to say here. This is Ray at the height of his powers. His next phase into Country seems a small strange if you only heard his Blues and R&B work. But this collection is a unbelievable representation of Ray's first love, the Blues. If you can only afford one CD of Ray Charles, this would be the one to purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    This film appears to be about transformation. Of Schultze in particular and, through him and his changes, we see even his village change by the end. I liked it because it showed the advent of someone fresh to the melody and culture of Southwest Louisiana which I love, It was fun to see the dance halls I have been in on screen. The film is very slow-paced which is why I did not give it five stars. The old Rock'n'Bowl with those mighty stairs so high and so steep is no more, alas; but it has been redone (albeit all on the first floor) not too far away and still features zydeco on Thursday night. I saw this film in a theater some years ago, bought this DVD more than a year ago, and spoke about it to dancing mates just yesterday. Guess I liked it! :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Obtain over you aversion to sub-titles. This movie will support you. A attractive comedy that will create you fall for Amercian Zydeco the method the main hero does in the film. A touching story of a retired German miner/accordion player and his life changing journey into the heart of the Byou. His quest to search the origins of the Zydeco melody that he became enamored with during a late night radio performance.A very subtle comedy with true southern musicians and locals taking roles in what appear to be impromptu and touching interactions with "Schultze" as he searches the Byou in his rented boat, looking for Zydeco.A very heart-warming movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Speaking almost no English, a German man escapes a dreary and lonely retirement and takes his passion for accordion to Cajun country for adventures with a bit of magic thrown in. Reminiscent of Baghdad Cafe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Previews created it seem niftier than it was

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am the Blues []  2020-11-30 20:38

    Everyone loves this CD. I have fun listening to it as well..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am the Blues []  2020-11-30 20:38

    Great!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am the Blues []  2020-11-30 20:38

    My favorite album to date. Love this man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life, Love & The Blues []  2020-10-20 19:4

    The best cd ever of Etta James I got this for my bf and believe me HE LOVES IT HES WORKING ON PLAYING GUITAR BUT WORTH A PRETTY PENNY IF U LOVE THE BLUES

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rendezvous with the Blues []  2020-10-2 18:58

    Melvin Taylor is one of the greatest blues players of All-Time and this album is one of the greatest blues albums in a lot of years. I honestly don't know what some of the reviewers are hearing, but to me Taylor plays from the heart with amazing abandon and intensity, but always still blues and always referring back to the blues tradition in his phrasing (i.e. he'll rip in the 1st 8 bars of a 12 bar but will play a traditional turnaround lick on the 9th bar, or he'll quote Albert King in his solo without note for note copying King)... I'd be hard-pressed to name a better living blues guitarist. I have Taylor's album Dirty Pool and while I think its great, it is clear that Taylor has progressed alot in the 5 years between albums... If you are looking for Albert King, buy an Albert King album, if you are looking for a modern day Blues giant who is influenced by everyone from BB to Albert to Magic Sam to Buddy Guy to SRV and Hendrix and has SYTNTHESIZED THAT INTO HIS OWN STYLE, never abandoning the blues and always playing with heart and soul, this is your first stop.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rendezvous with the Blues []  2020-10-2 18:58

    What a amazing guitarist Melvin Taylor is! The first record of this amazing Blues guitarist that I listened and I was impressed by, was the April 1982 'Blues on the Run' issued by `Isabel', the French label, closely similar to the popular 'Black and Blue' label which has created so much for the Blues being known, mainly in is record 'Rendezvous with the Blues' is Melvin's recent recorded in another amazing American label, Evidence, and he performs a number of versions very well with the amazing of Lucky Peterson's contribution. I like a lot Melvin Taylor and this record is no exception, but I've got some small thing to object, which is that Melvin uses the pedal (wah wah) and vibrato in excess, making sometimes the melody a small noisy, shrieking in some moments, and that's why I can't give 5 stars to the record in the same method I've done with some others of his unbelievable CD's. Nonetheless, allow me add some comments. There are moments of respite in "Comin home baby", where Melvin presents his adrenaline-fueled extravaganzas, Sonny Boy Williamson's "Help me" with a jazzy flavour and "Eclipse", sounding related to George Benson. "Help the poor", created famous by ng and Robben Ford (what a grand Ford's ver in his `TALK TO YOUR DAUGHTER' Lp), the Jimmy Hall's R&B title track "Rendezvous with the Blues" in which there is a nice conversation between Melvin's fingers that move like skyrockets playing guitar and Lucky Peterson's Hammond B-3. A relative moderate tribute to the late and legendary John Lee Hooker with "Chill Out and The Healer"A very amazing Prince's "Five women" combining technique and taste, the slow ZZ Top's "Blue Jean Blues" with Melvin waling his lamentation and amazing melancholy potential and a very amazing cover, the closing track, Stephen Stills's "Black queen" where Melvin converts the original Stills's acoustic Blues in an electric Blues-Rock stomp showing his Hendrix's influences. A amazing record I give it 3,5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of the Blues []  2020-10-16 18:44

    Recorded at the height of Alligator records history, this LP rocks and rolls all the method to the bank. Koko sounds beautiful damned amazing and her band is more than solid. Johnny B den of the Icebreakers on bass, Ray allison on drums provide the classic 80's Alligator/Chicago blues sound while the guests and regulars on guitar add spicy flavor to a few classic tunes and couple fresh gems. Check out "Flaming Mamie" ! If you like em down and dirty there's "I cried like a baby" and a couple tough tunes in "The Hunter" and "I can Love you like a woman, (or War you like a man". Overall one of alligator's best and that is high praise for a label that had a amazing run of LPs for about 25 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of the Blues []  2020-10-16 18:44

    amazing product. quick delivery. very amazing packaging.I recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues on the Bayou []  2020-11-1 18:57

    This ng album is just created to mellow you out on a hot summer evening. "Blues on the Bayou" is amazing sound and BB really gives it his all, his voice like you seldom hear it. He wrote all the songs, which sound like they are already old favorites from long ago, he really captured the feel of the blues. The backup band is perfectly matched to his method of playing and I think every song is great, no poor ones here. (plus, if you already have his other albums you have more than enough of "The Thrill is Gone" to latest you, it's not on this one)Love the laid back mellow sound of this album, which will obtain lots of play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues on the Bayou []  2020-11-1 18:57

    I never once thought, when I ordered this, that this might be as amazing as it is. Who would have thought that a 74 year old man, who has created tons of records over a period of over 50 years, would place out something as vital and impressive as anything he's ever done. He says in the booklet that he went back to the basics on this album with everything recorded live (no overdubs), in a relaxed atmosphere, and backed by possibly the best band he's ever had. The results are awesome. To top it all off, the recording is top notch; The sound quality matches the performance - Super!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Big Bad Blues []  2020-11-17 20:0

    Truth is, I don't think I really knew who ZZ Top were until I saw "Sharp Dressed Man", "Gimme All Your Lovin'" and "Legs" on MTV when I was 10/11 in 1983/1984. So there you have it. I did not grow up on the 1970's ZZ Top, I grew up on the sleek, synthesized ZZ Top of the 1980's. Now you may search that horrible, but I search it grand. I am a large fan of Fresh Wave/Punk/New Romantic music, and if you asked me, ZZ Top reinvented themselves in the 1980's, something most bands only dream of doing. The experimentation of adding drum machines, syncopated drumming and synthesizers to their Texas blues was brilliant, and no other artist has even come close to duplicating en, in the 1990's, something happened to ZZ Top. I still can't place my finger on it, but none of their 1990's works really hit the spot. In fact, I couldn't believe that, after a five year absence, they came back with "Recycler"--a pastiche of 1985's "Afterburner", in 1990, instead of radically changing their sound. I felt cheated. 1994's "Antenna", 1996's "Rhythmeen" and 1999's "XXX" slowly founding the band sliding into irrelevance. I might be one of the few that liked 2003's "Mescalero"--though uneven, it at least brought some experimentation back into the fold. I was not a huge fan of 2012's "La Futura".So, in 2015, Billy Gibbons went solo for the first time with "Perfectamundo". It had some amazing songs on it, things he wasn't doing with ZZ Top, and this was refreshing, but the entire album was uneven. Now, with "The Huge Poor Blues" Mr. Gibbons is looking to set things right. He has written half an album's worth of originals and covered half an album's worth of blues songs written by others. The overall effect is beautiful strong, but I guess I like my blues rocking rather than lilting. I found the following songs highlights on the album: "Missin' Yo' Kissin'", "Hollywood 151", "Rollin' and Tumblin'" and "Crackin' Up". For me, these four tracks are standouts in playing, shuffling, humor and e rest of the album? Hmm. I suppose "May Baby She Rocks", "Second Line", "Let the Left Hand Know", and "Bring It to Jerome" are reasonably amazing tracks, but "Standing Around Crying", "That's What She Said" and "Mo' Slower Blues" didn't do anything for thing I really liked about ZZ Top's "Afterburner" (1985) was that it was experimental, sleek, well produced, but most of all, I think the only song I took problem with was "Dipping Low (In the Lap of Luxury)". It was a beautiful solid album all the method around. "The Huge Poor Blues" is okay. I give it 3.5 stars, just like "Perfectamundo".And before you quibble about my ratings for 1970's ZZ Top, I remind you that I didn't grow up on that ZZ Top, and besides that, I think they were diamonds in the rough--not yet reaching their actual potential, like they did on "Eliminator" and "Afterburner".Here's how "The Huge Poor Blues" compares to Billy Gibbon's other works:1971 ZZ Top's First Album: Three Stars1972 Rio Grande Mud: Three and a Half Stars1973 Tres Hombres: Five Stars1975 Fandango!: Three Stars1976 Tejas: Five Stars1979 Deguello: Four Stars1981 El Loco: Three Stars1983 Eliminator: Five Stars1985 Afterburner: Five Stars1990 Recycler: Three and a Half Stars1994 Antenna: Three Stars1996 Rhythmeen: Three and a Half Stars1999 XXX: Three Stars2003 Mescalero: Three and a Half Stars2012 La Futura: Three Stars2015 Perfectamundo [Billy Gibbons solo]: Three and a Half Stars2018 The Huge Poor Blues [Billy Gibbons solo]: Three and a Half Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Big Bad Blues []  2020-11-17 20:0

    Billy takes a step back into familiar location after his previous solo effort. This is a solid album of blues standards and fresh songs. Not really anything surprising here, just solid blues. Billy sounds amazing both vocally and on the guitar on this album. Fans of ZZ Top may search this more to their liking than the previous album, which I thought was outstanding. If you're a fan of the blues, pick this up asap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Big Bad Blues []  2020-11-17 20:0

    The first song on this album will blister your speakers with its raw intensity. You'll recognize the unmistakable thrill of Gibbons' guitar, and the adventure in blues on the rest of the songs is beautiful solid, with the exception of the goofy sounding final track. I just want the lyrics had the same integrity as the music. They say the same old thing--I miss you, she rocks, she rolls, etc. Gibbons should have been just as creative and energetic about creating some fresh words to listen to along with his fresh music. Maybe next time? I'll hold this one around for a few weeks, but it won't have much staying power.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    Probably the formost artist of the "Hoy Hoy" a lot of of his songs had gone on to be recorded by white artists who then created them popular without a word of thanks to Mr. Harris.Out of all the artists from that era, 1947-1953, he did more to make the original rock and roll sound than any ck artists today owe this a lot of a vote of thanks for what he support create.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386