Read the blues naturally reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the blues naturally reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    Just what I ordered. Amazing value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    5 star worth the and amazon created iteasy to locate otherwise hard to search CD..very very nice music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    You should obtain this CD if you love the classic "Down Home Blues" ZZ sound.. This is the follow up and it is really nice. Check it out. ZZ during the Malaco years was something special.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the blues naturally or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    The liner notes indicate that this was originally intended to be a Volume 2 follow-up to "Otis Spann Is the Blues", and was recorded at the same time with the same amazing sound quality. It contains Robert Lockwood, and features the singing of James Oden (St. Louis Jimmy) on five songs. James Oden has an unusual singing style, and takes some getting used to, but grows on you (listen to "Bad Condition" above). Overall this is a amazing album, but not quite as charming as the first album. A amazing alternative to this album is "Good Morning Mr. Blues", as it is in the same vein, but is strictly Spann with his piano. Another amazing recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    Otis Spann has a heavenly facility at the keys, and through it he expresses not only the gamut of human feelings, but the combinations and conflicts of feelings that we all experience. I really have fun this disk.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    Very disappointed in the Amazon/Seller description discrepancy. Product is described having tracks, but the one I was sold did not. It should have been advertised as such.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    Sister Rosetta Tharpe has a crisp, clear voice in spite of the fact that these recordings are very old. She created the crossover from gospel/spiritual melody to what is considered to be early rock and roll. She is often referred to as being "the godmother of rock and roll".The songs on this recording all have elements of gospel, soul, the blues, and rock and roll and even swing. Down by the Riverside, included on this collection, is considered to be one of her classics. Nobody's Fault But Mine is classic blues. Strange Things Event Daily is upbeat and a precursor to rock and roll as are a lot of of the songs on this album. I can't say that there is a poor song on this recording. I search them all to be a fascinating mix of songs to add to any melody lover's collection whether you are a lover of blues, spiritual/gospel songs, or early roots rock and roll. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    She is amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:19

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    Amazing value

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    I read an article recently that said it was a shame Boz was known for Silk Degrees and not much more, and sadly that is most ways true. This album is a Boz Scaggs record and if you have been a fan of his you know what that means. The man has never created a poor record ever! I had just been to one of his shows and he did several of these songs, the record reflects the live present very well which says to me that even alone in a vocals booth he is straight to you. Face it, if you've read this far go on and it, you know you wish to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the Blues []  2020-1-7 19:27

    Great!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    Other Mofi lps I have are of such wonderful fidelity. The quality of this one is a letdown.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    There really isn't much to say here. This is Ray at the height of his powers. His next phase into Country seems a small strange if you only heard his Blues and R&B work. But this collection is a unbelievable representation of Ray's first love, the Blues. If you can only afford one CD of Ray Charles, this would be the one to purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    This film appears to be about transformation. Of Schultze in particular and, through him and his changes, we see even his village change by the end. I liked it because it showed the advent of someone fresh to the melody and culture of Southwest Louisiana which I love, It was fun to see the dance halls I have been in on screen. The film is very slow-paced which is why I did not give it five stars. The old Rock'n'Bowl with those mighty stairs so high and so steep is no more, alas; but it has been redone (albeit all on the first floor) not too far away and still features zydeco on Thursday night. I saw this film in a theater some years ago, bought this DVD more than a year ago, and spoke about it to dancing mates just yesterday. Guess I liked it! :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Obtain over you aversion to sub-titles. This movie will support you. A attractive comedy that will create you fall for Amercian Zydeco the method the main hero does in the film. A touching story of a retired German miner/accordion player and his life changing journey into the heart of the Byou. His quest to search the origins of the Zydeco melody that he became enamored with during a late night radio performance.A very subtle comedy with true southern musicians and locals taking roles in what appear to be impromptu and touching interactions with "Schultze" as he searches the Byou in his rented boat, looking for Zydeco.A very heart-warming movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Speaking almost no English, a German man escapes a dreary and lonely retirement and takes his passion for accordion to Cajun country for adventures with a bit of magic thrown in. Reminiscent of Baghdad Cafe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Previews created it seem niftier than it was

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    Probably the formost artist of the "Hoy Hoy" a lot of of his songs had gone on to be recorded by white artists who then created them popular without a word of thanks to Mr. Harris.Out of all the artists from that era, 1947-1953, he did more to make the original rock and roll sound than any ck artists today owe this a lot of a vote of thanks for what he support create.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    Buy this immediately!Wynonie Harris is the true 'king of rock & roll'. This is the melody you hear about so much that was STOLEN by Elvis, repackaged, and sold to white teenagers. This guy is 100% the true and was rocking jukeboxes when Elvis was a nobody. Oh! and if you're one of these college-educated melody history majors that say that Rock & Roll is a mixture of blues and country: This music, and other period R&B is proof that rock and roll is purely an extension of Rhythm and Blues. The probelm is that this "music of the devil" was about true life, it is REAL, alive, and full of inneundo, so that means it never got radio play for the most part. That's why it was swept under the rug and forgotten about.About the set: I can't believe you're getting this much melody for the price! This is an actual "boxed set" in the sense where each disc is packaged in an idividual jewel case. It comes with a nice, thick book with great, detailed, liner notes and amazing...almost startling images of Wynonie "Mr. Blues" Harris. As a bonus, you obtain a catalogue of Proper's other releases as well. The sound quality is a bit under that of the single disc King complilaton release that I already had, but there is so much more here. All the hits are here as well as virtually unknown tracks. A lot of on CD for the first time obtain the rockers, you obtain the straight-up blues, and he even does a unbelievable job as a crooner. I was also really surprised to hear some slow boogie-woogies. These few tracks have a repitious bass line, which add so much excitement. Mr. Blues litterally, slows down, sustains the note for a while...almost like a tenor sax. That sound is so soul-satisfying. What raw talent and versitility in those arrangements! I can't stop listening!!!Mr. Blues, may you ROCK mankind for all of eternity!! You have left us and are sadly missed, but you have left the entire globe with the bonus of your pure musical genius. Rock, Mr. Blues - FOREVER!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    Yes, the Chess Box is the encyclopedia, recommended for those who wish a more complete Willie Dixon canon. But this small collection is a unbelievable sampler. No, it doesn't contain the greatest performances of these tunes - which were often covered by more memorable or talented groups of musicians or by vocalists whose chops were better than Dixon's. But if you wish Willie Dixon as he was, with one of his early musical groups, and you wish a really representative sample of his work this a amazing record. Plus is was released by Dixon as he was starting to war back for the legal rights to his songs and for justified financial compensation, so in that method it represents a historical chapter in blues history (he later won financial settlements from the publishing arm of Chess records, for example, as well as from Led Zeppelin and went on to support other black artists obtain their legal justice from the melody industry).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    It's all been said here already...All these classic songs written by Willie Dixon and so ingrained throughout the world; in various scenes; various styles; various cultures; but sung by, and created so famous by, so a lot of OTHER singers/bands.Of course some of those other singers contain blues legends like Howlin' Wolf, Muddy Waters, etc; people who also create up the 'I Am' in the blues."I Am The Blues."Okay, Willie, I'm not going to argue with that, but can you sing your own lyrics, powerfully, with conviction, joy and sadness all at once while you play your amazing bass-lines used in so a lot of classics, too?"Sure enough, yes I can."Well sir, Mr. Dixon, you are the blues...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buddha and the Blues []  2020-4-1 20:38

    Excellent, fun and insightful R & R 😎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues Brothers [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    'We're on a mission from God.' — "Joliet" Jake and Elwood Blues (Laughs) ... What a magnificent work of motion picture art The Blues Brothers is! This fun-filled musical is truly a must-see. The screenplay was co-written by Saturday Night Live alum Dan Aykroyd, whom, by the method also stars in the effort as Elwood Blues, one half of the Chicago-based R&B/Blues band, The Blues Brothers. Native Chicagoan and Aykroyd's fellow SNL grad, John Belushi (The late, great), also stars in this zany opus as "Joliet" Jake, Elwood's biological other half. And with an all-star supporting cast that contains the likes of Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, James Brown, Cab (Minnie the Moocher) Calloway, John Lee Hooker, and Carrie Fisher, among quite a few others, The Blues Brothers is one tremendous cinematic force - in both the Musical movie and Action movie genres, respectively. John Landis, who co-wrote the screenplay with Aykroyd, also directs the high-leveled ensemble. In this feel-good tale, the plot revolves around the threatened foreclosure of a Catholic orphanage in which the two brothers were raised. The town has placed an unlawful detainer on the orphanage, and if members of its clergy fail to raise $5,000, the amount required to stay the pending foreclosure, then it's eviction time for all of those needy kids who still call the institution home. But before "Joliet" Jake and Elwood Blues see that happen, they'll tear a whole lotta Chicago up! With that, the crazy and over-the-top hilarious action begins ... And "laughing out loud" will truly be an understatement. Set in the Windy City, The Blues Brothers is jam-packed with action, adventure, amazing music, comedy, and deep, heartstrings-tugging emotion. It does its part in helping to define what a genuinely amazing and entertaining film should be. And it is a CLASSIC in every sense of the adjective. My huge brother (God love him) introduced me to this film, by method of a film date, over three decades ago. And to this day, I continue to harbor for both him and it, a love beyond passion. Five stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    No stranger to the blues is Boz Scaggs going back to his outstanding performance of Fenton Robinson's "(Somebody) Loan Me a Dime" on his eponymous solo debut album from 1969. (I should add as well that Duane Allman's guitar-playing on that track is sensational.)Although there is nothing here quite in that league, there is not a single misstep, and Boz sounds as terrific as ever - even successfully venturing into his highest register on "Rock and Stick," the sizzling and slithery disc opener penned by Jack "Applejack" Walroth, who wrote (or co-wrote with Boz) all four of the original songs (in addition to providing some tasty harmonica).The other originals are the hard-chugging scorcher "Radiator 110," the funky blues rocker "Those Lies" and the unbelievable fifties-style rockin' shuffle "Little Miss Night and Day," featuring guitar solos by Doyle Bramhall II and Charlie Sexton, who appear on a number of tracks. Think of the late amazing Chuck Berry on this e superbly assembled veteran band also contains Jim Keltner (drums), Willie Weeks (bass), Jim Cox (keyboards), Ray Parker Jr. (guitars), and a three-sax horn section led by Eric e five covers are of Jimmy McCracklin's 1961 R&B classic "(I've) Just Got to Know," Jimmy Reed's "Down in Virginia" from 1959, a pair of sublime Bobby "Blue" Bland ballads ("I've Just Got to Forget [About] You" and "The Feeling Is Gone"), and the haunting, soulful and introspective Neil Young ballad "On the Beach" from 1974 - the year of Boz's "Slow Dancer."Excellent performances and production by Boz Scaggs.[additional note: Don't feel poor about not having the "exclusive" Target CD "bonus track" edition. The first two tracks, both penned by Jack Walroth, are quite noticeably inferior to the ones on the regular disc. The third (and final one) is a amazing cover of "Good Lover," the Jimmy Reed tune, but with Reed's "Down in Virginia" already being on the regular disc, it is essentially redundant.]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Listening to this Fabulous Fresh CD is just like listening to him in the old days. Actually it's better! To be able to hear an artist sound just that amazing is incredible, he's never skipped a beat! This CD is just heart warming for me, because I've been a fan of his for so long I guess I just love hearing him create such a amazing come back! LOVE IT MAN!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Boz---you continue to shine baby.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    If you're an Otis Rush fan, this is a must album. Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    Solid covers of old standards and Otis Rush signature tunes. Too a lot of Blues recordings are re-releases with low grade recording values. This CD is not one of those.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    This is one of the best albums by Otis. Usually the issue is that he refers to emotions too directly by singing and playing phrases that have an analogy that is too close to actual screams of pain or dispair. Here he recognizes the medium of melody and creates some amazing openness in his melody through singing in a more abstract and relaxed way, letting timing and the solid blues scheme do the work. The Jimmy Reed tunes are more than entertainment (no pushing the button entertainment as is mentioned in a review here). These more straight blues songs, which in their abstract form leave no put for direct emotions, suit him very well. The band is very amazing as it does not stress the backbeat too much which gives the solo's and singing the change to take off and stay in the air without bringing them back to the ground at each la teeken

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    As "The King Of The Globe Blues Reviewer", if I could summarize the categories of blues aficionado's, I would place them into 3 main groups. 1) Acoustic (Not for Shaq.) 2) mellow (Shaq likes some.) 3) string bending, thundering, lightning, earthquaking, TIDAL WAVE, soul shaking, guttural, blues! (My favorite type!) This CD by Otis, is definitely "mellow". I rate it 3 stars, but if "mellow" blues is your style, it would probably be a 4. This CD is reminiscent to me, of BB's "Blues on the Bayou". (See previous Shaq review.) SUMMARY: If you wish to mellow out, this CD is for you. If you wish to shake yourself up, this is not for you. Hoo! Haa!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    several years I purchased Z.Z. Hill greatest Hits, I had not heard him before and I loved that album. I just assumed this would be the same even though some of the same songs were on this album I purchased it anyway. Most of them I had not heard before and I was a small disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    Collecting early blues piano players, Otis Spann was one of the best and I have been looking for his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    A amazing artis

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    Fell in love with Koko Taylor's powerful vocals and the condition of the vinyl was phenomenal, amazing purchase..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    my kind of music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    Apparently having come out of a vacuum, my path to Wynonie Harris is a bit strange. I heard the melody on a web advertisement that really grabbed my attention, incl. the brief bit of lyric which included the words "lovin' machine'. I turned to google, and that led me to Wynonie Harris and the CD "Lovin' Machine'. My next was this 4 CD set with 81 tracks... not a single duplication from my first purchase! Wynonie really knew how to deliver his songs, but what I most loved are the unbelievable musicians that played for these recording sessions. Also, of the rock 'n roll greats who later recorded some of Wynonie'@#$%!s, not one of them, including Elvis, could match Wynonie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    Prompt service and amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    'I Am The Blues' showcases the song-writing skills of the late Willie Dixon and adds Willie Dixon on the vocals! He can really sing what he wrote, even if the likes of 'Howlin Wolf' or 'Muddy Waters'took his tunes farther up the Blues charts. Dixon's singing voice is more the clear, city-smart style rather than being gravelly and new off the rural roads. The album kicks off with 'Back Door Man', a patented Dixon lyric about love on the sly that he presents in an unrepentant way. The percussion that works throughout the song is unusual with its mix of hand drums and snares. There is a heady mix of harmonica and slide guitar and a hot piano solo backing Willy's heartfelt howl on the vocals. Perhaps the mixing could have brought the vocals forward a small more. 'I Can't Quit You, Baby' is slow, soulful Blues with a powerful instrumental backing to match. "I'm Your Hootchie Coochie Man" is a rollicking dance number. Really, all the cuts here are 'tried and true', top-flight Willie Dixon. This is 'a classic album reissue' that merits the advertising tag.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    Amazing classic blues album, got this when it came out on vinyl, perhaps in 1970? Very easy but very tight arrangements. Willie Dixon is the most necessary blues song writer of all time with the possible exception of Robert Johnson. He wrote most of the blues songs of the 1950s and 1960s. Led Zepplin stole his songs and they eventually had to him a huge sum, think over $1,000,000, for stealing his music. He is not a fancy showy performer, but the melody and vocals are good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    No spoilers. German man retires.... Salt mine and fond of Accordian music. From little town, easy life. what next? finding his "next " and following it. Subtitles, but short simple dialogue. Easy but attractive in characters and acquaintances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    AGAIN A PURE GENIUS!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    First, a bit of a warning... if this is going to be your first taste of WYNONIE, I highly recommend BLOODSHOT EYES... less tunes, but a bit more "punchy" and to the point. And if it isn't... welcome back, and welcome to heaven (yes, who'd ever imagine that sinners DO go to heaven?)As for Wyononie - - who was he ? I think there are a few amazing ways to describe him - - 1. As the real father of Rock and Roll (via the genre of so called "jump" and "rhythm and blues". 2 Louis Jordan's evil twin. (Will explain...) 3. One of the greatest (if not most perverse) blues shouters to ever live. As for the Louis Jordan comment - - the similarities are apparent - - both forged the method for rock and roll, but while Jordan tended to hold it clean, Wynonie didn't mind playing it blue... and his tunes are full of references perhaps tame by today's standards, but still quite funny - - take I LIVE MY BABY'S PUDDING, ALL SHE WANTS TO DO IS SIT ON IT - - and LOVIN' MACHINE. Wyononie is also the hard drinkin' poor boy who reminded his listners to "keep on churning until the butter comes," meaning he was good, wholesome and encouraged people to drink milk... Thumbs up to ded surprized on this album contain backing vocals by the HARLEMAIRES (one of the original R&B/Doo Wop vocal groups, featuring Frankie Lymon's Dad, and Dottie Smith, who also played timbale's and sang and strawbossed for Jordan) - - In addition tunes like OH BABE and GOOD MORNING JUDGE create you wonder who was copping who when it came to another Louis - - and finally there is one of the most swinging, jumping, houserockin' versions of TEARDROPS FROM MY EYES ever ple reasons to this... you bet.Of interesting note... the terms ROCK AND ROLL and R & B were actually terms concocted to describe this type of melody long after it existed... Rhythm and Blues supposedly wasn't a genre but two types of melody - - The Blues and "Rhythm" music, which were both RACE melody and often played together... hence the DJs would say they were spinning Blues and Rhythm (or Rhythm and Blues) at that time... I mention that because in Wynonie's melody you can really hear the cross streets and roots of the amazing American backbeat in all its forms from Jazz and Swing to Rhythm, Blues and Rock and Roll, hence the melody isn't only soulful, humorous and toe tapping, its enlightening too !For this reason, Wynonie definitely belongs in your player and I hope you'll agree !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    What a amazing boxed set. There are almost no weak songs and small or no filler, but imagine how much better it might have been if they had included "Bloodshot eyes" and "Lovin' machine." Worth 5 stars even without them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    Willie Dixon was the house songwriter, producer, sometimes standup bass player, and sometimes vocalist for The Chess Brothers studio in Chicago. His songs formed the basis for the blues from the late 40s onwards, and carried over into rock. Most of his songs were perfomed by others, such as Muddy WatersThe Chess Box :Muddy Waters, and a amazing collection by different performing artists is found in Chess Box along with his bio. The show collection is 9 of Willie Dixon's songs performed by himself. It is a somewhat slim representation of his work.Willie Dixon was an advocate for other musicians, getting their work properly credited and produced. He served as a springboard for many. Honors came late, often after his death. Vicksburg, the town of his birth, has a mural of Willie playing the standup bass among the murals on the Vicksburg floodwall, a local tourist attraction, and also named a road after him. Like a lot of blues musicians, he left Mississippi and moved north to Chicago. The booklet included in the jewel case with the show recording provides scant information. A more complete booklet is included with the aforementioned ChessBox collection (which has always been a best buy).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    Classic album remastered. The true mastermind behind so a lot of “Standards” of the Blues doing a few of the songs he wrote/produced/played on, but now as he originally he envisioned them. Yeah; you’ll know the Howlin’ Wolf, Albert King, Muddy Waters, etc. versions, but give The Man his due here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    just what i wanted

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    This is a competent release and while Otis may not be satisfied with it his guitar sounds sweet and his voice sounds as warm as ever. The issue is that this just isn't the best material Otis ever touched and while varying drastically in tone and style "Cold Day in Hell", "Right Place, Wrong Time", or a compilation of his Cobra sides is where to search out what Otis Rush is all about. Look here when you've got those essential discs as well as the currently out of print "Anyplace I'm Going" and the still available "Ain't Enough Comin' In". But just because it's on Alligator don't assume this release is the one with the most cred. It's one of the ones with the least. It's near the bottom of his studio work. It's not bad. I've heard LOTS of blues worse than this. However, for a legend like Rush there are a lot of locations to look first. And if you're a completist you'll this no matter what I say, won't you?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    While any Otis Rush effort will always contain fine guitar work and amazing singing, Lost in the Blues is one of his least interesting albums. First time listeners would be better off going directly to the Cobra material which contains some of the finest blues ever recorded or either of his two most latest recordings. Lost in the Blues is a downer for Rush fans on all scores. Alligator Records' lack of respect for Otis in the release ought to motivate blues fans to turn elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    I LOVE THIS. I HAD IT ON CASSETTE FIRST. AND NOW I HAVE IT ON CD. AND I'M STRAIGHT!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    I hesitated to this one as there were no reviews. Jumped in anyway. Both Otis Spann's voice & piano playing on "Walking The Blues" are as amazing as I've heard. Ditto Robert Lockwood, Jr.; both voice & guitar accompaniment.James Oden is amazing but doesn't complete w/ Spann and Lockwood. Still, no complaints; he is good, also. No one could compete w/ Spann & Lockwood on this is recording has great, clear sound w/ voices & instruments complimenting each other wonderfully; no fighting to e CD is well worth the if all I got was Otis Spann on this ver of his "Half Ain't Been Told". It's hard to decide on a favorite on this CD but if I had to "Half..." would be it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    Beautiful. What a genius!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    Over the past three decades I had come across her name on numerous occasions. Yes, I certainly had heard of Sister Rosetta Tharpe but as far as I know I had never actually heard any of her recordings. My interest in hearing her work peaked recently after reading Gayle Ward's engaging biography of this remarkable lady entitled "Shout, Sister, Shout". After finishing the book I immediately ordered what appeared to me to be the best available collection of her music. In 2003, MCA/Decca released this marvelous single disc collection they call "Sister Rosetta Tharpe: The Gospel of the Blues". This disc created me a large fan in very short order."Sister Rosetta Tharpe: The Gospel of the Blues" features the cream of the crop of her most productive years at Decca between 1938 and 1947. While Rosetta always considered herself to be first and foremost a gospel singer she nonethless did not hesitate to venture into other genres when the opportunity arose. You can sample some of her earliest gospel offerings on this disc. Memorable songs like "Rock Me", "Sit Down" and her own composition "This Train" were huge sellers in the late 1930's. Along about 1941 Rosetta received an she simply could not turn down. The famous Lucky Millinder huge band offered her an opportunity to be a featured vocalist. A lot of of her ardent gospel devotees were extremely upset with Rosetta for singing secular music. However, the gig with Lucky Millinder would prove to be highly successful and effect in several of her largest hits. You may sample three of these tunes on this disc including the rollicking "Shout, Sister, Shout", "Trouble In Mind" and the blues classic "I Wish A Tall Skinny Papa" from 1942. After a few successful years with the band Sister Rosetta Tharpe decided it was time to return to her roots once again. In the mid 1940's she produced some of her very finest work. Sample Sister's take on traditional tunes like "God Don't Like It", "Didn't It Rain" and "Strange Things Event Everyday". And if that were not enough have fun her inspiring duet with Marie Knight "Up Above My Head I Hear Melody In The Air". Outstanding!I cannot say enough about "Sister Rosetta Tharpe: The Gospel of the Blues". All I know is that I have become a fan for life. Pick this one up for yourself and you just might explore why a young Elvis Presley used to listen to her recordings all the time. "Sister Rosetta Tharpe: The Gospel of the Blues" comes complete with a very informative 16 page booklet. Very nicely done and very highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    the only thing I want was also included on this album was that the amazing TV (Stax Museum) live ver of "Up Above My Head There's Melody In The Air" , what a amazing guitarist this lady was ! Look for it on Youtube, and see what I mean !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    Recorded at the height of Alligator records history, this LP rocks and rolls all the method to the bank. Koko sounds beautiful damned amazing and her band is more than solid. Johnny B Gayden of the Icebreakers on bass, Ray allison on drums provide the classic 80's Alligator/Chicago blues sound while the guests and regulars on guitar add spicy flavor to a few classic tunes and couple fresh gems. Check out "Flaming Mamie" ! If you like em down and dirty there's "I cried like a baby" and a couple tough tunes in "The Hunter" and "I can Love you like a woman, (or War you like a man". Overall one of alligator's best and that is high praise for a label that had a amazing run of LPs for about 25 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    Waiting for Fats. He was my go too guy when I was a young Marine. Lots of quarters in the juke boxes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Such a attractive film! It's a poignant reflection on what gives meaning to our lives abd how our identities are always under revision. The movie looks at the most difficult aspects of travel and language gaps, but it also highlights the human connections that transcend those differences. A must-see movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    As a person who has enjoyed Boz starting with Steve Miller band in the late '60's, this is a amazing addition to my collection of his work. Same silky voice, amazing arrangements, and a nice bluesy feel. If you have fun Boz Scaggs, it's great. If you wish more Lido you will not be happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Perfect blues album. Scaggs seems to getter better as time passes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    All I can add I'd "Yikes". Top shelf. An all-star backing band as well. Cash well spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buddha and the Blues []  2020-4-1 20:38

    This is a amazing album. I'm not a follower of Osborne, but have been playing this a lot since I ran across it. Play it a few times and you'll know what I mean.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Just keeps getting better and better. Listen to this repeatedly. Amazing album from one of my favorite artists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Boz Scaggs has always had the blues;we maybe just didn't know it. With a fresh label, Concord may give him the freedom to do what he wants-which in this case, is play some blues. If you have any of his earlier records, you know those blues elements were in the grooves-here they are more prominent....a amazing effort overall....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    I bought this because some musicologists her "Strange Things Event Every Day" as the first rock and roll song. I got hooked on her hooks, so I ordered this CD, which has all her amazing hits. I found out that before rock and roll was developed, the electric guitar was invented, and musicians quickly took to it. She learned how to shred on the guitar, and went from her church gospel choir to filling up stadiums. Videos of her when she's in her later years are fun to watch, but it's too poor there aren't any amazing videos when she was in her twenties and thirties, at the peak of her career. She has a mixture of pre-rock and roll and gospel, but what really stands out is how she sings with soul putting her emotions into the songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    This is a amazing CD if you are familiar with Sister Rosetta. A famous gospel artist who created a name for herself in the 40's, her melody is mostly upbeat but backwoods guitar styled gospel. I like it but not for everyone with her high pitched voice and guitar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    Amazing album. I had heard a few of her songs and think this CD has a amazing collection of her wirk

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    What a amazing voice. Koko Taylor is so great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    amazing product. quick delivery. very amazing packaging.I recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    A+++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rockin' the Blues []  2020-1-28 1:13

    Great,great boxed set of the wonderful Wynonie Harris. In my opinion the greatest African-American singer of them all. What vocal power! Some really amazing songs weren't on this, like "Wasn't that Good", but very necessary early songs were included. I'm very glad that more interest is being shown in his melody in latest years, since he was almost forgotten in the years shortly after he died in 1969. A unbelievable collection of classic jump blues, and I highly recommend it. Allow there always be amazing rockin'tonite!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    If you are a blues fan, surely you have noticed that Willie Dixon's name is listed as the writer of many-many blues standards. He was a prolific song writer. I had never heard him sing before. He is not known for his voice, which I would call an imperfect instrument. The cuts on this CD stand out because we can hear the author of so a lot of amazing songs performing them the method he imagined them. His versions & arrangements are wonderful, & the accompaniments are just as he wished them to be. This is NOW one of my very favorite blues CDs. Bet you will like it too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am The Blues []  2020-1-28 1:14

    I have to agree with one reviewer that the critic can't have listened to the album or just does not like blues cuz this is what it's all about. Willie Dixon wrote and performed more amazing blues over his lifetime, along with promoting up and coming blue musicians to the joy of all of us. This will be a well played favorite of mine for sure. My only complaint is that the liner notes, as noted, are from the original album and do not create mention of the individual artists playing except to say that they are "his hand picked squad of Chicago blue veterans". I really would like to know who the guitar player and especially the harp player, are? Anyway, if you love Willie Dixon, I think you'll love this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    I love his melody and being a melody lover, I have added more of his melody to my collection. No one can talk to you as Ray Charles does! He will tell you "what it is!" There is no disappointment to be had, listening to Mr. Charles! He has a unique method to "whisper to your heart."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    One of the genius things about Charles is how he drew from every musical form and created it his own. Brilliant album, a joy to listen to,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    Totally satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    This movie is comedic but not a comedy--it looks at how an older person can adapt to life after an unexpected forced retirement. At first Schultze seems content to continue his routine, but when he hears Zydeco melody on the radio, he realizes he wants to discover something new. He doesn't obtain a amazing of help from his mates in this endeavor, but he realizes that it really matters to him and that he owes it to himself to explore. This leads to a trip to America and a journey into the heart of cajun country. The movie is remarkable because it touches a nerve for the "older" generation--they can still change and become excited about things, without resulting in an unrealistic "happy end" in traditional Hollywood style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Slow moving as a Salt Miners' life with a weirdly twisting adventure to a put I would never venture. Beautiful. Tear filled smiling goodness. I will state, for the record, if you didn't like it you're under 30, dim, never left your locale, have no adventure in you, and/or a complete git.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    Sounds like a young B.B. King. Clean an tight

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    ZZ Hill was one of my favorite singers. His melody will live on. I will always his cd's. He is the blues man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    ZZ Hill one of the legends in the Blues industry. Unfortunately he left us far to early at age 49 from a heart attack. His classic songs will live on. The Rhythm & the Blues is a must for Blues lovers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    a

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    The CD's of Otis Spann's "Walking the Blues" and "Otis Spann Is the Blues" contain additional tracks that aren't listed on the packaging or the Amazon track-listing. These tracks were originally on the Japanese releases on the P-Vine label and on the limited-edition (and long out of print) Mosaic box set, which also contains Lightnin' Hopkins' 1960 Candid session. The Mosaic set contains 6 unissued tracks by Lightnin' Hopkins that as far as I know haven't been released e 7 additional tracks on "Walking the Blues" are:12. Talkin' the Blues (take 3) (5:20)13. It Hurts Me Too (4:56)14. One Doggone Reason (2:40)15. Strange Woman Blues (3:51)16. The Girl I Love (3:47)17. Come Day, Go Day (take 3) (4:10)18. Baby Kid (take 5) (4:04)These are classic recordings by Otis Spann (my favorite blues pianist) and Robert Lockwood, Jr. (my favorite blues guitarist), along with vocals on several tracks by St. Louis Jimmy Oden. You can't go e my review of "Otis Spann Is the Blues" for the unissued tracks included on that CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buddha and the Blues []  2020-4-1 20:38

    Amazing album from Anders Osborne. My vote for best album of 2019. All the songs are really good. “ Buddha and the Blues” is on my all time favorite song list !!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out Of The Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Boz completed the trifecta with this outstanding blues/soul disc following ''A Fool to Care'' and ''Memphis.'' 4 songs by his buddy --Jack Walroth[talk about underrated songwriters--listen to ''Those Lies,''''Rock and Stick''] His ver of Neil Young's 1974 classic''On the Beach''--my favorite Neil song-- is stark,dark, and a masterpiece. Amazing band featuring Willie Weeks,Charlie Sexton. This is my favorite album released this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the Blues []  2020-1-7 19:27

    One of the best BBking cds

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:51

    Amazing album and very inspirational to my guitar playing and development!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rhythm & the Blues []  2020-1-16 22:52

    This CD was a amazing addition to my blues collection. My family and mates love ZZ Hill's blues! Nice work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    simply place this is the best piano blues i have ever heard. otis spann was a real master of blues piano so wait no longer do yourself a favor and pick this one up

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Blues []  2020-1-16 23:24

    While I share a amazing fondness for Spann and Lockwood Jr., and this CD is truly a amazing example of their work, I was disappointed to search that the pressings Amazon is currently delivering do NOT include the seven extra tracks. Darn! The other CD mentioned, "Otis Spann Is The Blues", is still shipping with extra tracks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    As I've read biographies of Elvis and others, I hold reading the name Sister Rosetta Tharpe. But, I'd never actually heard anything by her. Then, latest year, I saw a unique on her on PBS. I decided that I required to listen closer to Ms. Tharpe. When I recently read Hillburn's brilliant biography of Johnny Cash, he again talked at length about her influence on Johnny and on Elvis. So, I went to Amazon and looked at the offerings under Ms. Tharpe. Based on the reviews, I chose this album, and I'm glad I did. A amazing overview of her career on a single CD. What surprised me was the number of songs that I recognized from my folk melody collection. Ms. Tharpe was not only hugely influential on Elvis and Cash, she wrote "This Train", recorded by Peter, Paul & Mary as well as Bruce Springsteen. And, her ver of "Up Above My Head, I Hear Melody In The Air" was used by Elvis in his comeback special. A amazing album, and one I'm thrilled that I bought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gospel Of Blues []  2020-1-17 2:40

    Thank you & 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    I thoroughly enjoyed this CD. I love the power in this woman's voice.Right from the begin with "EVIL," the CD establishes itself as "No Nonsense." I wanted to keep her when she sang "I Cried Like A Baby." I wanted to obtain out of her method with "I Can Love You Like A Woman (Or I Can War You Like A Man)." "Queen Bee" is a trip. Pure Koko. Closing with "Come To Mama" just doesn't obtain any this is what I would call "A Amazing Lady Sings The Blues."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen Of The Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Schultze Gets the Blues makes its eloquent statements on private freedom and the importance of melody in our lives with an almost sleight of hand level of subtlety. A single Cajun riff found accidentally on the radio sets Schultze free. Freedom is not easily achieved, but Schultze is shown doing the hard work and making adjustments. He travels to the USA to appear in a Cajun festival, but quickly departs, looking for a truer vein of freedom. The movie is beautifully created and often funny. Schultze makes his method often based upon his generous humanity. In these scenes, he summons powers that we didn't know he had. A lot of scenes simply display the kindness and hospitality. A wonderful, human film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schultze Gets the Blues []  2020-1-20 22:41

    Very quiet movie, few cuts, goes deep but is funny anyway, definitely not mainstream. Its a saga from a very specific (slightly dull) region in East Germany that is dominated by salt pits and other (mainly chemical) industry. It makes some harsh references to German re-unification but avoids the often found grumbling. It tells the story of a miner that took (or was forced into) early retirement. He plays accordion and discovers Zydeco melody one day which gives his live a completely fresh was in the films in Germany but not a true blockbuster, and then created it even to Fresh York City.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    I'S TRUE...'THE "GENIUS" SINGS THE BLUES'.....AS ONLY HE COULD DO!! Amazing Blues, Soul, County, Ballads, Gospel - whatever he did - HE DID IT BETTER!! One of my "idols" - growing up in the 60's!! You'll never go wrong buying any of Ray Charles "works"....GUARANTEED!! TAKE IT FROM ME...I HAVE EVERYING HE'S EVER DONE!!! AND CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF HIS "WORKS"!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius Sings the Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    What an awesome album! Shipped with no problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buddha and the Blues []  2020-4-1 20:38

    Well just found out about him about a month ago. Have two of CD which are with band and liked very much. Prefer vinyl and when came across this fresh Album tlook a chance. This one does not have full band sound so I was concerned it might have the full sound. BUT was very happy at quality of sound and song writing Very simple to connect to songs and vinyl is very quite. LIKED SO MUCH Going to see him live Oct 4th at Funky Budda which be just him and guitar May be see u there.E the

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386