Read the boston broadcast 1987 reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the boston broadcast 1987 reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    Bought this because I'm a die hard GNR fan. It didn't appear that this was a Geffen Studio Release, it might of been a duplicate and someone is them, but I couldn't tell for sure and quite honestly I wasn't worried about dealing with it for the few bucks I spent. The audio quality was absolutely awful. I listened to each track for maybe 20 seconds, the case it came in was crap and cracked as I took the packaging off (which has never happened with any other GNR official item... so lesson learned on my part), and after that short 20-seconds of each track the CD went back in the case and I honestly couldn't tell you where I even place it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    The iconic CBGB gig is an essential for any GNR fan. It contains 5 songs off of GNR lies. 4 of which were performed before the Ep came out later that year. The rare live performance of the controversial One in a Million is a real rarity. The performance of Patience may rival the album version. The acoustic ver of Mr Brownstone also takes on a life of its own and it's too poor the band didn't perform acoustically more can feel the intimacy in the little club and in the bands performance. It would be 5 stars but it contains 3 songs from the Ritz 88 concert so it's not all acoustic. That bootleg can also be purchased on Amazon. Now this is a bootleg not a official release from the band but it sounds beautiful amazing for a concert from almost 30 years ago. If your looking for a snapshot of when Guns N Roses were the most risky bands in the world, this is definitely one of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    Awsome

    0  


    Add your opinion on the boston broadcast 1987 or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    Poor quality sound. Radio broadcast? I expected better. This is making me not to the other 2live releases out there. Maybe some historical value, thats it. For die hard fans only

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    I bought the CD because I’m a large Guns N’ Roses fan and wanted to know what they sounded like acoustic and that’s exactly what I got for the first 5 tracks. These tracks were recorded in the early 80s so the audio is rough in spots throughout the tracks but you obtain some amazing acoustic versions of early GnR tracks and a really awesome acoustic “Mr Brownstone”. My largest complaint about this album is that the latest 4 songs are not acoustic just live performances of GnR songs. The one song I thought would sound amazing acoustic was “sweet kid of mine” sadly this was one that was not performed unplugged. GnR fans should this for the “Mr Brownstone” performances alone casual fans should just the GnR live double album it has better live versions of all the same songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    Good: I don't think I have heard any of the recordings on this cd before, which was a huge reason why I ordered the d: Being listed as Acoustic Session I thought all the songs would be acoustic performances, but they are not. Only the first 6 songs are actually acoustic, the rest are live electric performances. However the electric tracks do have better sound than the acoustic ones. The audio on the acoustic songs is terrible. They are not good quality and plagued with static, when I first played the cd I thought I had a issue with my system; I couldn't create sense of it at ey also didn't master the stereo effects like a traditional GNR album is done. All the sound comes from the center, there is no discrete left and right guitar sounds or anything like that.If I had to the cd again I don't think I would more than $5 for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    IT WAS A GOOD ITEM, BUT I THINKED IT WOULD BE BETTER

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    I thought this was an official GN'R album but seems like it was not. The songs are very amazing but the recording quality is poor. There are discontinuity /stops in the guitar solos which is very annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    I am an obsessed G n' R fan so I had to this album. Unfortunately the first six songs were already released on the "unplugged" album back in the early 90's. "Unplugged" was a much better release that was highlighted by a cool Patience/Imagine medley that is not one of the included tracks on this CD. I couldn't put the latest three songs which were not acoustic and have better sound quality. I like the final 3 tracks so I don't feel not good about buying a CD which a created up of a majority of songs that I already own. But if I didn't collect this items I wouldn't it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Acoustic Session: Radio Broadcast 1987 []  2020-1-22 2:16

    This is for the real GNR Fan. I highly recommend it.. (If you are a real GNR FAN).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    Perfect read - to fill in the gaps of what happened on the other side of the Lomba, while some of us were knee deep in crocodiles and Cubans...You have to give it to the Mech 'okes - They did a sterling job of softening up the Russians.An perfect acc and I highly recommend it to anyone that was in any method involved with those latest years of the conflicts of the so called South African Bush battle and served in the South African Defense Force. I can only say I am proud to have served my country, in the greatest fighting force since the Spartans lost their 300, even if it did not seem so amazing at the time. I salute those that the ultimate in that conflict.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    A mate originally from South Africa who fought in Angola versus the Cuban Troops told me about this book. The author takes you back in time and shares his two years of National Service with you, including 90 days at battle in Angola. His unit played a major role in what would later be seen as the most decisive war of the war. His acc from his own recollection and the recollections of his friends gives you a sense of their life, the danger they faced, and the horrors they saw. Small is known in this country of the war to stop the spread of Communism in Africa. This book will give you an insight into that war, not from a geopolitical point of view, but the view of those unacknowledged warriors putting their lives on the line in that war. Do take the time to read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    Just a amazing read from begin to finish. A small slow at first but it quickly picks up speed and maintains it till the end. Mannal tells the story of his South African Defense Forces Armor Unit (SADF) in one of the last, and decisive, wars of the Angolan War. I am familiar with the zone having spent time in Rhodesia (Zimbabwe) in the 70's, (but that's another story) The war versus communist aggression was everywhere in central & southern Africa between the early 70's and late 80's, and Mannal tells the story well of his armor troops conquer of a substantial better equipped Cuban/Russian/Chinese armed, and advised offensive. I recommend this book as it is well written, historically accurate, and told from first hand experience. .Welgedaan my broer !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    I like the book generally from a content and style perspective, but in key locations the paragraphs seem out of order. For example, once you obtain to the actual war (about half method through the book), right as the author has drawn a amazing picture of the tense SADF soldiers getting their cars ready to engage the enemy, it abruptly shifts to paragraphs on the geopolitical implications after the battle. This happens repeatedly and is really frustrating. Perhaps it is just the kindle edition that I read?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    I could not place this book down. The author writes a very readable story of his experiences as a Soldier in the SA Troops in the late 1980s that contain his battle time experience. While I never served in Africa but in the US Troops in Iraq and Afghanistan, I can testify to the realism and relatable experiences of battle from the Soldier's point of view. I had a very limited knowledge of the state of political affairs at the time of writing but the author informs the reader brilliantly. The author begins with his enlistment and is very honest about his motivations and abilities in the Army. The bulk of the book is taken up by his experiences fighting in 1987 as a Ratel 90 crewmember. Again, a very readable, relatable story thanks to the author.I recommend this book with no reservations to enthusiasts of modern African warfare, historians and the general reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    Very well written account. People discount South Africa because of their apartheid policies but SA stood alone versus communist aggression and exploitation from the Soviet Union, China, and Cuba in Southern Africa. This story shows how well trained and disciplined troops, (burdened by sanctions and outcast from the world) can overcome overwhelming odds even when using inferior and antiquated equipment. A must read for any historian or person interested in southern African history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    Much like the stories that came out of Vietnam, the story of the War On The Lomba tells the story of a vastly outnumbered group of conscript soldiers led by a number of specialists who felt the heat of war, and were left to search their own method upon release from the South African Defense Force, with no help from a government discredited in the world's dividual heroism by these conscripts was swept under the carpet by an ungrateful hierarchy and a public kept in the 's time for their story to be told, and in this book it is done with empathy and honesty.Dave Mannell writes a very gripping tale. Read it, absorb it, and realize that a conscript troops can do wonders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    David Mannall has written an perfect first-person acc of a South African Defense Force (SADF) tank commander during Operation Moduler (November 1987) versus Soviet/Cuban supplied FAPLA troops in southern Angola, while allied with Angolan UNITA forces.What the book is really about is the “coming of age” of a young conscript soldier. Mannall begins the book as a recently graduated high school student, and we follow him as he goes through primary training and his induction into the SADF. Then, to his surprise, he’s assigned to an armored vehicle unit on the border, which quickly finds itself in combat in southern Angola.What makes this a amazing book, and part of a genre of first person accounts of war, is the book is told totally from the aspect of an enlisted soldier; his perspective and experiences. Parts of the book acc for a young man’s off time, alcohol, and, of course, his desire to lose his virginity. But most of the book provides real insight into his troops experience in training and, more importantly, in war. At the same time Mannell provides insight into the SADF of the time; it’s training, organization, and weaponry, from a soldier’s perspective.His first person descriptions of what it’s like to be in combat, especially in close combat, helps one to understand that to a soldier on the ground, in combat, it’s not a neat and organized experience. Fighting in the African bush meant Mannall could only see the cars to his left and right, and sometimes not even those. There is confusion and a kill-or-be-killed perspective, while feeling that you’re fighting for your mates – you don’t wish to allow them though there’s nothing fresh in these experiences, his perspective is one that bears repeating. These are the experiences of any soldier in combat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    Another one of those historical happenings completely ignored in the US was the Angolan Civil Battle which lasted for nearly 20 yrs. Roughly it was the Communist MPLA/FAPLA versus the loosely western/SA supported UNITA. Needless to say it is somewhat difficult to obtain any material on this so anything I search is eagerly picked is is the story of an armored unit from South Africa during 'Operation Modular' of the biggest armored war in Africa since WWII, the War of Cuito Cuanava. 4 Brigades of Soviet, East German, and Cuban supported forces including MiG's, T-55 tanks, APC's, and anti-aircraft versus a battalion of South African Ratel IFV's.Written by one of the car commanders, David Mannell, this is a 'soldier's point of view' book and not a history of the entire conflict, just his two years of service focused on his units' actions during the War of the Lomba river. Clear, descriptive narration makes this a comfortable and simple read for even those not versed in military jargon. The regular use of 'Afrikaans' is offset by the English definition next to it in parenthesis.I really enjoyed this book not only for the history but also for the writing style. It's hard enough to search info on this zone of the globe nevermind a book that I actually LIKE to read, not a boring textbook style.5/5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle on the Lomba 1987: Battle on the Lomba 1987 []  2020-1-27 19:47

    Perfect acc of an individuals expereance from primary Armour training, through to Juniors leaders training. Then being demoted to NCO training due to a rash decision ,something every trainee went through, sweat and the resolve to ed to , in my days, C. Squadron 2 Armoured Vehicle om there to 61 Mech Brigade on the Angolan e ultimate try thrown into combat versus a masive foe FAPLA,s 45th Armoured Brigade; that, they anialated versus all odds, being a better trianed force, of men, machine and the will to succeed ,Condolances to thoses who the Ultimate sacreficeThe horror and brutality of battle comes accross loud and avo to these braveveterans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadcast Archive []  2020-2-2 21:48

    Well worth the money. The Concert cd is great, mind you it it's not the Filmore East concerts, but solid just the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadcast Archive []  2020-2-2 21:48

    For died in the wool ABB fans this is a nice addition to your melody collection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadcast Archive []  2020-2-2 21:48

    He loved it ! Was so surprised to have something he did not have .Great 4 the true fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadcast Archive []  2020-2-2 21:48

    As a 40+ year ABB fan I had never heard two of these shows. The sound quality is beautiful amazing considering the age of the recordings. The quality of the A&R studio present is unbelievable but this has been around as a bootleg for years. These are a must have for true fans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadcast Archive []  2020-2-2 21:48

    WOW..The two live disc's of this 4 disc set is the highlight, a Winterland concert from e band is tight and the Audio is awesome!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadcast Archive []  2020-2-2 21:48

    Two of the cds have ok sound. The third one, with Johnny Winter, has such not good sound that it's painful to listen to

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadcast Archive []  2020-2-2 21:48

    hey i kind of remember buying this through amazon a few years back. it came from japan. i am listening to it right now. not for the first time. the present from winterland is excellent. les breas soars with abandon and the drums yippee. boy howdy jj and butch sure could beat some skins. as for mr betts he shines and shows how he carried the band then. @#$%y and duane started a sound that would latest till a couple years ago now. yeah the best american band that was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadcast Archive []  2020-2-2 21:48

    Because Duane was so amazing (and, let's face it, because of the mythical status we bestow to rock stars who died young), it is simple to overlook how amazing Dickie Betts was in his prime. He was a amazing writer, a superb guitarist, and he really rose to the challenge in this era where they were reeling from tragedy. B&S is the AB's best studio album; for some reason, this band's other studio output was a hollow shell of their live performances. The outtake disc has some amazing moments but is not essential, but the two-disc Winterland present is outstanding. Greg's singing is particularly soulful, and everyone is in fine form. I do want they'd brought up Chuck L's piano in the mix for his solos and his harmony playing with Dickie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Strangler [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Impressive procedural skin crawler. It's a very impressive movie from begin to finish, the cast are excellent, George Kennedy & Henry Fonda portray the men pursuing the culprit with much believability, with enough moments of frustration and revulsion brought to life with style. Of course this is Tony Curtis's present all the way, though, he is all bulked up and nothing like the handsome icon that people had grown accustomed to. He is convincingly menacing and handles the dual personality confusion scenes adroitly. One of the films' chief plus points is that the first hour only shows us the aftermath of the murders, it shows the desperate panic it creates among the people of Boston, and of course we obtain to know the detectives following this miserable trail. At the hour tag we are introduced to Tony Curtis as Albert De Salvo, here he is in his family home, his daughter all radiant around her father, it's a masterstroke from director Richard Fleischer, and it creates maximum impact. The use of multi screens to present different aspects of scenes is deft and manages to create the movie seem all too real, which of course is given weight of impact since it is based on actual events. Smashing movie that gnaws away at the skin some time after the silent credits have rolled. 9/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boston []  2020-1-17 2:24

    I remember clearly where I was when I first heard this album. My buddy and I were in his basement playing ping pong when he place the album on and said...."You've got to hear this fresh band." After listening to the debut album, I went out the next day and bought the 8 track AND the album. I was at 56 I've owned this album in a ton of various formats including cassette, the first pressings of the cd version, and when I found out that Tom Scholz had remastered this in 2006, I thought...where in the heck have I been? For the most part, I'm beautiful fed up with buying the same album in every fresh format that comes along, but this is an holz does a amazing job, and why wouldn't he, on remastering this compact disc. It sounds great. I loved the liner notes. I'm an old school guy, not much into MP3's or Flacs or Kindles, I like holding something in my hands to read when I'm listening to my music. It's a throwback to the old album days when you could read the album covers, read the lyrics, look at what musician or guest musician played a respective instrument. And this has felt like I was 18 and in that basement again hearing it for the first time. Love the remaster! Sorry so late in picking it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boston []  2020-1-17 2:24

    This album is SO amazing if you were putting together a list of top 20 classic rock albums it would be hard to leave this one off especially considering the fact that it was a debut album. Regardless of genre there are certain albums that are timeless, which doesn’t mean that the group didn’t become more famous. Some examples would be Pettys Damn The Torpedoes, Springsteen’s Born To Run Steely Dans Can’t Buy A Thrill, L Skinards Second Helping, Poor Company Poor Company Poco s Legend Eagles One of These Nights. The list is obviously not all inclusive but that’s how amazing this album is!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Atlas of Boston History []  2020-1-7 19:17

    A superb visual history, brimming with attractive illustrations, helpful explanation, and abundant information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The old application disappeared from my Samsung tablet, so I had no choice but to this one. This one is inferior to the old one. It doesn't remember where in the paper you stopped reading, so you have to begin at the beginning each time you begin the edition. The display window size is smaller, making it hard to read. It doesn't let you to set up "auto deletion" after a certain number of days. These are just some of the issues I'm having with the fresh app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    much worse than old app. Others have described problems. Come on Boston Globe! Fix it. And hold in mind that we a lot to obtain epaper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    half the time it won't begin the paper!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The 6/29/19 problem is not posted by World for

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The application for the Boston World E-Paper works amazing on my Samsung 7. The application brings up a full copy of the World as it is printed. In to read an article, simply on the article you wish to read and the entire article appears with no need to turn pages of the paper - just scroll down to read the entire article; your back arrow to return to the page. The upper right corner includes the link to other sections. Click on the link to navigate to any section you want. Based on the negative reviews, I almost didn't the app. The combination of the revised edition and fresh equipment makes this very worthwhile. Nest project is to obtain the E-paper to work on my wife's I-Pad,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    When it works, it is difficult to navigate. Why would you base the application off the physical paper? It should be designed as a mobile ver of the website. At this point it takes so long to load and frequently freezes while loading so the paper never opens. Unusable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    I love the Boston World paper, but this application and the company are really bad. Three reasons: 1) Application is unstable, and doesn't work very well when you aren't connected to internet. 2) Customer service is horrible. If you subscribe, they create it very difficult to cancel subscription. 3) With so many news offerings, it is tough to justify almost $30 a month for this subscription.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Compared to my other apps this application takes a really long time to load. Then after loading it takes a while to verify the subscription each and every time I begin it. Then it takes forever to the actual paper. It would be useful if there were some setting or the paper would automatically download during the evening when you're on Wi-Fi so that it's ready in the morning when you wish to read it rather than have to wait to do all these steps to read it particularly when you're in a hurry to obtain out the door to work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    I am usually able to read articles, but the application is very slow, unwieldy, and buggy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Caution. This application costs $27 per month and needs to be uninstalled and reinstalled at least once a week

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    I don't wish to the entire paper. I wish to navigate quickly to the stories that interest me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Has never worked

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    I've used a few of these newspaper apps over the years. This actually is a good, thoughtful piece of and I have fun 📖 the Boston World in this format (on my 10“ Xperia tablet)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Slow loading, reloads constantly with frequent hanging requiring a forced shutdown of the app, much slower downloads, slow page turns even in downloaded copy, no means to bookmark the page you are on for when you come back to the paper, no simple means to jump to a various page (except to the start of a section).... A not good replacement for the application it replaced. Newer ver is just as bad, maybe worse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Not sure I can add anything to previous comments. World IT people - do your job and fix this. Why is the current application WORSE than the latest one?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Regularly fails to and save the whole paper. Customer service clueless or blind and does not answer to pleas for help. Believe the ratings and don't leave home without the print edition if you don't have data or WiFi on your travels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Application just doesn't work like you wish it to. Too sluggish to load. Pinch and zoom ain't crisp. Can't see the whole paper. Some articles can't go into read mode! The list goes on....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Had amazing difficulty removing the old app. Several crashes and reinstalls before it worked. Design is very amateurish. How much did they the high school children to develop this?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    This is a dying newspaper. The print edition has a zero circulation and the digital ver is small better. Don't waste your phone on this drek.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Massacre (Graphic History) []  2020-1-25 14:10

    I am a teacher and my students absolutely love these books! I would give them 5 stars, but they are cheaply created and pages begin falling out after only a little amount of use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Massacre (Graphic History) []  2020-1-25 14:10

    Educational and my 7 and 8 year old sons actually enjoys reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    With this fresh March 209 release of the application I am happy to learn that developers are still working on this. But I am very disappointed that the application seems to have regressed. Here are my suggestions for improvement: 1. The page no longer fits my 10" smartphone without resizing every page manually. 2. The fresh navigation across the top of the page is unnecessary. I know you have a toggle to hide it so create that the default. 3. The no longer shows a progress bar. Without it you do not know whether it is actually downloading or not. 4. It still has the annoying behavior of checking your credentials if connected to the internet even though you have already downloaded today's paper. 5. I really miss the hyperlinks that used to appear when an article is continued to another page. 6. Please review these suggestions and others on this page on how to improve this app. Even reach out directly to these customers and have them beta try the application next time so that you can obtain some true globe feedback and change this into a better rated experience for customers. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    It's amazing for Apple users, but not for Android. If you have an android device phone I don't recommend updating this app..the News you wish to read.. it wont allow you pull out the story. Want I didn't modernize my app..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    the article view is a little window for my 10" smartphone Android device 6.0.2. previous ver worked fine with the article view filling screeen completely. May cancel my subscription if it is not fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The e-paper downloads ok, but if i go offline, (travel, no WiFi, etc.), some pages load, some don't. Very disappointed with this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    frequently will not complete

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    This application has had major improvements since 2017. Seems to run as advertised now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Application has worked 100% of the time on my S7. Only had to enter the password once. When I begin the application it verifies my subscription is active and I can begin viewing today's paper immediately. Zooming in on articles is great, you can either zoom in or to view as text and it seamlessly takes you through the article. If you stay zoomed in you can navigate to the next article without zooming out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Would be nice if the application did anything but present a blank screen upon opening. Sometimes it'll say "Loading …" in the center. But I never obtain past this screen. I can't even test to troubleshoot because there is nothing I can do beyond opening the app. The World really needs to do better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Uses 2GB even after deleting all downloaded papers. Probably have to reinstall to obtain down to a reasonable size. It does work OK on my old Nexus 10. Now it's downloading and archiving problems even though I'm only reading online and was at 305mb this morning. Deleted the two downloads and it's back to 111mb. Less buggy than before, though. 12/7 - It's bloated back up to 188 mb without any downloads!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    What a mess. I installed it and apparently doesn't work with Nougat. Brings you to the supplement page with no method to obtain the paper. Not amazing in the digital age.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    This ver introduced a fresh issue that was not in the previous one. You cannot read articles that span 2 pages because the is reversed in the 2 page view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    I HAVE A HARD TIME DOWNLOADING THE GLOBE. I PAY FOR A SUBSCRIPTION. IT TAKES FOREVER TO DOWNLOAD. ALL MY OTHER PAPERS ARE VERY QUICK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Was always buggy. Doesn't work at all now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Excellent ... But mini ... Ver of the everyday news paper for my android device phone. Want they had one for my Kindle Fire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Much better than it used to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    That was a amazing feature. This was an unnecessary change.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The most glaring design error is the failure to accept the reader as a subscriber if they have already downloaded today's paper. This results in the paper being unavailable if you are offline. Second is the inability to specify a retention period. Downloads accumulate for months until the user manually deletes each copy day by day. There are a lot of others. The program takes a long time to load, does not hold track of where the reader had been , abandons downloads when the user shifts to a various app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Have now given the fresh application 2 months. Still crashes all their time (that is when it even manages to download, which is only about 50% of them time). Today I cancelled my world subscription after 20 years as a loyal reader. Very sad. Modernize as of 9/18/16. Lured back to test it again by a 75% off discount figuring they would have fixed the issues by now. Nope. Still crashes constantly. The application needs to refocus each time you scroll and the whole response is very slow making it very difficult and annoying to read the paper. For those thinking it may be better on an iPad, forget it. Same problems with iTunes version. It is truly awesome that a major newspaper could have an application this bad. As much as it pains me to say this as someone from Boston, the NYTimes application is a million times better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Resizing causes crashes. When scrolling slows down and hardly moves, it's time to reset app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    I actually downloaded this application because I have not good wireless coverage at work so I assumed I could just auto the world when it arrives. Nope. You have got to be kidding! Why have an application at all? I'll just read it in the browser...idiots

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Painful to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The old World application was mediocre but basically worked. This fresh ver looks nicer but usability is horrible. It is slow and frequently unresponsive. The "progressive download" just means that it takes 10 or 15 mins for the entire to complete. There are no longer options to automatically or delete issues. Total piece of crap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    This application is terrible. Downloads don't always work. I think I've got the and obtain to work where there is no wireless connection and can't read it. Every time you begin the app, there's a slow "loading" process. A lot of articles do not begin into reader format. The World cannot survive by frustrating it's paying customers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    This newspaper application is the worst. It takes mins to the paper every day and often gets hung up. If you return to the paper later int he day the restarts after mins and loads onto pg 1, not the latest page read. Quite often hangs up on the computer (spinning wheels). Very slow moving around on a page in a smartphone and often jumps too easily to next page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Not nearly having problems others have. BTW... Why does an old Trump-vs-Fiorina article hold showing up? page 29 on 3/17, overrides Sanders article today when you're in article-per-page mode. 4/7/16 modernize - Trump-vs-Fiorina article, page 29, showing up AGAIN, how annoying!!! And again today, 6/21/16, page 28, overrides Campaign Notebook articles... enough already!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Massacre (Graphic History) []  2020-1-25 14:10

    A fascinating read and recommend it as a amazing accessory to the collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Massacre (Graphic History) []  2020-1-25 14:10

    My fourth grade son loves to read books on the level of Harry Potter, but he misses the colourful earlier books of Geronimo Stilton. During a trip to Boston we bought Graphic Library books The Boston Massacre, The Boston Tea Party, and Paul Revere's Ride and found he couldn't place them down. He read each at least three times and now wants to share them with his classmates. The graphic format brings the facts of the American Revolution to life. These books are not comprehensive but are factually accurate, and should serve more as a jumping off point for building a love of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Atlas of Boston History []  2020-1-7 19:17

    Seriously amazing book. Explains a lot of aspects of how Boston developed - maps, people, business, transportation etc. So so much more than I expected. Really well done

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boston []  2020-1-17 2:24

    Seriously? This is true melody by some wonderful musicians. One of the best rock albums ever. Oh, and for when this came out circa 1976, the recording quality is incredible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boston []  2020-1-17 2:24

    This is not a commentary on the music, but the worthless packaging of the vinyl album. For something aimed at collectors, it’s garbage. The outer jacket is flimsy and worthless, with no identifying info printed on the spine or anywhere. I know they’re trying to present off the picture disc, but who cares about showing that off after the first minute? The record itself is in a tight, sticky vinyl sleeve. What sticks to vinyl? That’s right, vinyl. Getting it out is nearly impossible without manhandling the record.Absolutely atrocious execution. Buy another version, please. I will not be buying any of these editions again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boston []  2020-1-17 2:24

    Having seen the remnants of the band in Detroit latest week (7/9/2017), I've become obsessed with Boston. I mean, I always liked their songs when they came on the radio, but since the concert I've spent method too much time watching old videos featuring original band members. As amazing as Tommy DeCarlo is - and create no mistake, he IS an awesome singer in his own right and does justice to the songs - Brad Delp was and will always be the definitive voice of Boston. The only flaw I can discern in this album is that it's so guitar massive that Delp's voice doesn't come through like it should. In later recordings like RTZ, his voice is better t back, relax, and drift away. This is a amazing album that never gets old.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boston []  2020-1-17 2:24

    I have to agree with the other two reviewers of this vinyl pressing. The packaging is insane, almost impossible to remove the LP from the plastic jacket. Mine arrived warped, and plays with a lot of surface noise. I listen through a reference system so what was produced is what you hear. Production is lack luster at best. If your looking for a piece of artwork you may consider purchasing this. If your looking for 180 gram audio file sound quality skip it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boston []  2020-1-17 2:24

    I recently decided to obtain back into vinyl and bought myself a nice turntable, receiver and bookshelf speakers. I ordered two albums, including this one, from Amazon; both were warped and scratched. I've ordered two replacements, and both have issues as well. I'm trying to decide whether to accept not good quality vinyl and just hold the albums, or return them and look elsewhere. I'm hoping this isn't the norm for the fresh batch of vinyls...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Me going around in circles just trying to switch to digital edition & my darn ongoing password login issues, respectively. Of course, I''m trying to be more responsible for my budget these days thanks to my mom's helpful tip in Boothbay Harbor, ME in late JUN '17 about reducing any unnecessary expenditures. Anyway, thanks for your kind attention to this matter & have a amazing rest of the WKND

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The paper is great. The application is not good (squared).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Page A1 is the editorial page. First 8 or so pages are not available for viewing. Please fix it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The pages chop off so it's difficult to read. Today's first page was the "opinion" section. Why can't they obtain this right??? Who works on this application the three stooges??!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Doesn't,t load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Newspaper formats haven't changed in over a 100 years. The surface zone of a page of my paper is at least 15 times that of my phone. How on earth is it helpful to look at pictures of the physical paper through the little window of my phone? This application is completely useless. The mobile ver of the Boston World www service is method more useable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    This is really the worst UI I've ever seen for a paper. Reminds me of e-readers from the late 90's. It would probably be better if they didn't even have an application rather than have the World associated with something this bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Update: still busted, for offline almost never works. FIX !!! This is unacceptable! They broke it. The fresh ver is so not good it is hard to describe. For example, I downloaded a paper. I'm now disconnected from the net. And now I can't read it? Just terrible. Fix it already!!! Update: 5/3/2016 - still terrible. And today it just won't the paper at all. 8/28/16 it got better for 2 months, now doesn't work at all with Android device 7. Won't complete download. 6/1/17 - works most of the time now. sometimes have to force quit, but it does obtain the paper now most of the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Updated: I have resubscribed, but got the print ver as well, because I wish to help amazing journalism. The application is better than it was a year ago, in that, I can now actually read the paper. The user interface still need a lot of work though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    This application is a joke. Please modernize so its like any other application from wsj fresh York times business insider. Google news. Check out of those out. No one wants to read a scan of a newspaper. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    This by far the worst newspaper app, it's incredibly sluggish, the formatting is terrible, it's unusable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Didn't work on Amazon fire

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    Not a user friendly format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boston Globe e-Paper [App]  2020-1-14 21:24

    The application is constantly having issues. Either it doesn't load to read or it crashes.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386