Read the cartoon introduction to calculus reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the cartoon introduction to calculus reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    need pin to play rsweeps []  2020-5-22 6:38

    Lost my pin for RSweeps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    Loved the idea of Ἡράκλειτος canoeing down the meanders of philosophy, nicely done! Color pages every now and then would have captured an even younger audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    Really amazing 👍and I hope that there will be another book based on eastern philosophy later on. In conclusion great!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the cartoon introduction to calculus or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    Not only is this book clearly biased towards the atheistic globe view, the author's intellectual superiority towards people who believe in a creator is almost palatable. If you are looking for a book that preaches atheism and intolerance for those that do not agree, this is the book for you. If you are looking for an introduction to philosophy for your kids that gets them asking questions and applying logic, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    This was a highly informative and humorous book. Aside from capsulizing the major figures in philosophy, the book has continuity as a story. I found the lighting of scenes perfect as well, masterfully rendered. I've been a fan of Kevin Cannon's work for over a decade now and it's amazing to see his continued progress as an illustrator.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    This is an perfect book for introducing fundamental ideas in philosophy. It is presented in a fun and special method that will engage younger readers. The book is separated into chapters which with the various branches of philosophy and is narrated by Hericles, a pre-Socratic philosopher. He introduces various philosophers and their ideas through the book as he paddles his canoe down the river of philosophy.I feel like I must defend this book versus the one star reviews that refer to this literature as “atheist propaganda.” This is an unfair assessment. The chapter on God two arguments for the existence of God and two rebuttals, that point out the logical inconsistencies in these arguments. I feel that because the chapter ends with these rebuttals, that people assume the author is endorsing the ideas. This is simply not the case, and anyone who makes this claim is plainly being intellectually dishonest. The author must begin with the positive claim (God exists) before he can move to the arguments versus it. This is consistent with the burden of proof. If I claim to possess an invisible dragon in my garage, it is up to me to prove it is there, it is not up to the other person to prove it is not. While I can understand that anyone who is indoctrinating their kids might search the act of encouraging them to think for themselves detrimental to their goal, this book does not favor atheism over any other globe view. Each idea is represented accurately and in a very engaging way. Perhaps the people who called this book atheist propaganda shoud have followed Heracles’ tip on page 14 and exited through the dogmatism door since they can not handle having their beliefs challenged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    The presentation makes it truly fun for children but without watering down the content too much. My kid will be able to re-read and obtain fresh insights from this book for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    The hardest part of study of the history of philosophy is learning the vocabulary and the fresh meanings devised by the philosophers. This entertaining work is probably the least painful (not say less tiresome) method to avoid the ponderous texts usually used in formal courses. Let's face it; a lot of philosophers ("lovers of wisdom") lost control of their imaginations and produced confusion rather than clarity. Have a amazing time with this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    My focus in college is philosophy. It is not possible to fit everything into one book, but this book does a beautiful amazing job. This book definitely makes philosophy fun. My 7 year old daughter loves for me to read it to her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    If you are, or if you're not, familiar with philosophy, this book is an awesome flowing guidance of thought. The simplicity, the core thoughts with core arguments presented swiftly, strongly enforced with the visuals facilitates comprehension, wonder and reflection of these ideas. The speed that is possible to hold up, greatly eases the flow of my thoughts. It's like being given wings, and light as a bird, you fly above the landscape, swiftly piecing the puzzle together, instead of running down some curate, enlightening and a amazing facilitator for reflection and understanding of main arguments on the river of ideas over time.If you think it has some kind of an 'atheist-agenda', you need to read it not one time more, but 10 times more. If God exists, he gave us brains to think with, there is no danger, no evil in questioning how and what we experience, "God" is a word (see Locke, Berkeley, Leibniz? go with your thoughts, reach beyond and see where you end up. The only point created in this book is that during earlier centuries (and especially when risking one's life when those in power who used the word God to protect their undue power and terror, was questioned) amazing thinking was often stopped with a sweeping general explanation with "God". As this book makes clear what "God" is, is not something that is easily grasped or captured in words, so we can't shy away from questioning and reflectiing further, that would be, if anything an insult to "God": we're not doing a amazing job currently with living in peace and harmony with one another or with nature, greater understanding is the key to improving all of that, to see clearly. Let's do just that, w/o being blind-folded - what "God" is needs to be explored deeply if you're a believer, not just stop your thinking, that is embracing "God", which is exactly the notice in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy []  2020-5-6 18:12

    Simple and fun to read, but does obtain into the philosophical concepts with some depth. Would be a amazing supplement to classroom discussion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    Textbook writing is not something that the above average mathematician is readily capable of from trying to discern the meaning of some of the instructions in some of my text books. Having a source that approaches instruction from a various direction can provide a tip that may have been missing in a more specific text. That is where "The Manga Tutorial to Calculus" can be helpful. Utilizing the visual language of the comic/manga style, it is easier to visualize some very complex mathematical principles that we usually only envision in the abstract. Definitely a must for the struggling Calculus student.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    Purchased this book for a amime addicted teenager who is struggling in Calculus. We had tried other Calculus support books in the past, but she wasn't interested in them and they did not help. Since she is very interested in reading Manga (she chose the words anime addicted), this book captured her interest and helped to explain subjects that were difficult for her to grasp. She has since raised her grade in the class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    Got this book for my nerdy boyfriend, a college student currently taking calculus. He thought it was hilarious. He had seen the book before and really wanted it, so I got it for him as a birthday present. The book is wonderfully illustrated and very funny. He said it will support him a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    I am a fan of manga so this is a amazing book and very interesting is book actually lead people to learn calculus a proper way, because I think if people just study things like calculus for tests, just memorize thing to pass the exams, what role does calculus exactly play in our lives.I recommended this book for all those who know how to read manga and wish to know a small bit about H - Hope this Support :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    It's fun to read and I enjoyed it. The books gives the reasoning BEHIND the Calculus, but doesn't really tell you how to e acceleration is a bit quick from eating noodles to a page of formulas with small explanation of the math. Fun book but short on explanation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    This book does a amazing job of explaining core concepts in an interesting and much more friendly method than most textbooks. It doesn't go into the info as deeply as a dry textbook might, but it does a very amazing job of explaining what the equations are actual doing, from a true globe (manga?) perspective, something that most textbooks ignore is book will likely support you if you are having conceptual hangups in your calculus class, but don't expect it to replace your text book, it simply doesn't provide that kind of bulk material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    An perfect intro to a topic I have always wanted to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Visual Introduction to Differential Forms and Calculus on Manifolds []  2020-4-1 19:9

    There is a very small to add to the comprehensive and perfect review of the first reviewer. But I’ll rst, it is a attractive book – outside and inside. The page size is bigger than the usual, hard cover and perfect binding as in the old amazing days (a true book), and it is visually very attractive, both the text and the a lot of cond, the writing style is clear, friendly and appealing. It is obvious that the author objective was clarity. It is a book aiming to the reader (while, unfortunately, most technical books merely demonstrate the knowledge of the author with no reader in mind).Accordingly, the author takes the baby steps approach, starts from a wide common ground and advances to a quite decent level with no shortcuts and with no taking for granted W, beware that it is an introductory book - for example, I couldn't search the Cartan structural equations or the Maurer-Cartan form, etc. For that case I prefer mat/physics oriented books such as: Differential Forms in Mathematical Physics by Von Westenholz (a relatively unknown book), or Analysis, Manifolds and Physics by Choquet-Bruhat, et al. But as an introductory, this book gives a deep insight and understanding, so I want I had this book when I started learning rsonally, I had tensors approach background, so I’ve educated myself with reading numerous “classics” of the differential forms literature, understood the technical approach but remained a bit puzzled on the visual/geometrical interpretation (most importantly), until … I read this is a work of love and a amazing book to read and to have in the library, highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Visual Introduction to Differential Forms and Calculus on Manifolds []  2020-4-1 19:9

    Just one word, 'Thank you professor Fortney'.This book is absolutely incredible. If you know some advanced Calculus, multivariable calculus and linear algebra and have absolutely no background in differential geometry, this is the put to start. This book is one special book which can be read cover to cover. As a graduate student in applied math with small exposure to pure math, I would like to thank professor Fortney for writing this visual masterpiece. The expositions on differential forms, wedge products, manifolds, tensors is a lesson in mathematical pedagogy.I can go on and on describing how amazing this book is, best I can say, this book and you will be thankful to Professor Fortney forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    So, I have a fairly amazing background in higher Math, including a year of Calculus. I have been researching amazing math books for young people who are having issues are would benefit from a decent intro to the different upper level topics before they become buried in equations. Concerning the Manga Guide, I search that a reader would greatly benefit from already having had at least a fair intro. to the Calculus in to avoid becoming quickly swamped in otherwise meaningless equations. I found this book was made with amazing intentions but is rather muddled and skips a amazing of explanatory material. Difficult to follow if you are unable to fill in the gaps (again, requiring a background in the subject). I know Japanese and actually have fun Manga but this simply isn't the respond to a potential student but more like a review (and not even a amazing review) of the subject. The book is not all together useless but I just don't think it accomplishes its objective. I tell you what: the best book of its kind is _Calculus Created Easy_, originally authored by Silvanus Thompson and edited by Martin Gardner. The book is over 250 pages but what I consider the best, most concise, detailed intro. to the Calculus I have been able discover. It a logical, step-for-step instruction accompanied by plenty of simple but instructive exercises. Anyhoo , that's my advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    Math teacher, here. I have never seen a child pick up a math book "just because", but all of the children that come to our house and see this book will pick it up and just begin reading. It is written like a comic book, which makes learning fun. I still do not see them pick up a pencil to test the activities, but they at least begin asking questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Manga Guide to Calculus []  2020-3-31 19:11

    It is an perfect and enjoyable method of learning calculus for the first time or as a fast review.Explanations are very clear and the exercises - with solutions - are a amazing method to fix the concepts. May be there could be more exercices with solutions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Visual Introduction to Differential Forms and Calculus on Manifolds []  2020-4-1 19:9

    Most sources aren’t if with abstract definitions such as multi linear mappings with no physical see exactly what’s event you need to begin here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Visual Introduction to Differential Forms and Calculus on Manifolds []  2020-4-1 19:9

    I have not yet completed the process of learning from the book but it has been greatly useful and unquestionably valuable in attempting to procure an understanding of the topic material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Visual Introduction to Differential Forms and Calculus on Manifolds []  2020-4-1 19:9

    Titling my review in honor "Topology Illustrated" is probably the best elevator pitch description I could give for this fresh text, a vitally required introduction to the geometric side of differential manifolds that is as colourful - and about as overly huge - as Saveliev's tome. And like that volume, it could very well be used as a doorstop if you are OK with your doors constantly swinging shut due to all the times when you will wish to pick it back up to use is book covers anywhere from the tangent plane and related geometric ideas (I FINALLY had my "aha moment" about cotangent bundles!) through differential forms and what used to be called the "absolute differential calculus" (exterior and covariant differentiation - exterior differentiation is given multiple perspectives thoroughly, the wedge product which is oddly concatinated as "wedgeproduct" here, push-forwards and pull-backs, integration of forms) and even badly required elementary introductions to advanced ideas (Poincare Lemma, general manifolds outside of subsets of R^n, bundles, atlases including patching and partitions of unity).Illustrations fill the pages and the text relies on them, which is probably my top reason for tilting my cap to "Topology Illustrated." This is to differential geometry what that book is to differential topology: an illustrated introduction to a subject that has very small illustrations; I may have enough illustrations in my considerable library on differential geometry to cover the sheer amount contained in this one book, but I am not latest pat on the back: the Appendices. The first is probably the most thorough and honest direct attempt to link differential forms and tensors without slouching too far into overly complicated multilinear algebra - it may be the *only* attempt I've seen to do so, though I have not delved far enough into Bishop's book to see if it is done e second appendix I have not completed yet, but at a glance contains de Rahm, homotopy, Darboux's Theorem, the nearly uniformly absent (at this level) subject of symplectic manifolds, geometric mechanics and potential theory. I know the author doesn't wish to "double the size of the book" with this material, but - much like feedback Bachman and Weintraub encountered in their first editions - I'm going to guess he's going to obtain enough readers motivated toward "filling the advanced gap" to suggest to Fortney that maybe he should do just that - fatten the book by expanding the stubs he has written in Appendix B. These need illustrations and elementary treatments, Fortney has proven himself to be the person for the job, and it might be the piece to create a second edition into that badly required link between introductory and advanced tomes on this e book is not without its flaws. It includes the (in my opinion) confusing algebraic formalism a la Spivak's infamously forcefed introduction in his otherwiese perfect and historic introduction, though it does not unpack as quickly as that book. Typos abound - especially toward the end and during longer expositions, Springer regulars will recognize this text as joining the troops of first editions whose editors seemingly just plain fell asleep on the job, so it has more of a "Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics" feel to it than the more immediately clean "Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series."As warned about thoroughly in Bachman, "counting pierced sheets" is not a amazing method to visualize integration of forms; plane fields are a much better generalization anyway, but despite all that, it is done in this book. Fortney points out (correctly) that there are some forms where this IS valid - though not specifying clearly and accessibly which ones should be used and which should be avoided= and also points out that such pictures are necessarily nearest-integer estimations of form integrals, unless you visualize a "partially pierced" sheet. But, alas, we see this awkward old way trotted out again anyway, potentially because not good physics majors may encounter it in a certain popular tome on relativity, among numerous other places.Oh, and with due respect to Sternberg, who knows far more about this subject than I ever will, tangent plans are *not* "attached" to manifolds like Post-It notes at their corresponding points, nor are they "translated subspaces" replacing the origin with the studied point like some kind of affine plane, though this undoubtedly helps tie in Calculus WHEN carefully presented. Rather, they are *entirely fresh vector spaces.* There's too much to risk with confusing the first-time student with this analogy, much more so than the "planar shish-kebab" picture of integration mentioned general, though, the book fills the need for consolidation of ideas of differential forms along with illustrations that are - excepting the above critiques, along with a few others - accurate and helpful visualizations of a mysterious entity that seems to work like magic with its ability to tie all the disparate ideas of Calculus III together. In this respect it is the first and only of its kind with illustrations, and in the respect of introductory texts, it is among a group of very few latest releases that dare to dabble in advanced another comparison, this does what Shashahani's latest graduate text does for advanced material - it shows pictures of the ideas mostly as illustrations of surfaces in R^3 for you to generalize from, without falling into the temptation to turn the text entirely in that direction like Thorpe did, gradient normals and es it fill the need to go beyond latest texts like Vector Calculus vs. Vector Analysis or A Geometric Approach to Differential Forms to become the badly required link to graduate and research-level material in Conlon? No. There is still a hole here, one that O'Neill or Weintraub tried to bridge from the beginner's side and one that Janich and Loring Tu's near-perfect standard test to bridge over from the *advanced* stead, this is more on the level - and, with hopefully upcoming edits, quality - of Walchap or O'Neill or Grinfeld's Tensor Calculus, all three of which should absolutely be purchased by the beginner along with this volume for a short library that gets started with the topic. The suggested reading index of this book, by the way, is a amazing put to begin building a huge list!EDIT: Fixed some typos and created some sentences clearer. I also wish to add a note to Springer to PLEASE, PLEASE PLEASE edit your texts before publishing them. It is simple to catch spelling and grammar errors, and things like fixing indices on the formulas with Taylor's Series in the Exterior Differentiation chapter ought to be a cinch, as well. We can't just rely on the authors to do it all themselves after writing the whole book or collect and check hundreds of emails and modernize the errors in between editions. Also, though I appreciate your choice of paper better than the dimestore comic quality pulp that makes using Vector Calculus vs. Vector Analysis akin to running nails down a chalkboard, and though I applaud your improvements in binding your paperbacks following the not good job with Lang's Algebra, the cover of this book creaks like a B-movie crypt. I shouldn't have to want that WD-40 works on books. This printing is - pun intended - an atlas, and it makes me almost want I had waited on a paperback ver and used the Ebook instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    One of the best course supplement books I've ever read. I started reading it before the semester began and was able to use it to stay ahead of the instructor. It created daily seem like review and it was so on point with the lecture that the instructor could have been teaching from it. I struggled with precalc and easily got an A in calc 1 due in huge part to this book. Very simple to read and understand. Plenty of examples. I want they had books like this for all of the hard sciences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    Unbelievable read for understanding concepts. This is a very amazing book that helps explain things in very easy terms. As an engineer out of college for several years, I periodically refer back to this book to support grasp conceptual items that I have forgotten when I do not work calculus issues every day. The book does delve into info as well, though not too deeply.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    This book is for the totally lost. It does a very amazing job of putting Calculus in reach of those who are not powerful in math. Especially high school students and adult culus textbooks are not very student friendly, there are a few which are, but most are not. This book provides an entertaining overview of the different topics. In some cases they use exactly the same metaphors that are used in most Calculus books; however, they are more engaging.I don't totally agree this will support you ace Calculus, but it will support the student who is lost or can't seem to with the ere are several elements that would create the superb. Like exercises for the student, and more worked ey do provide alot of amazing tip on locations that will damage you on a test. The one thing I want they did was provided coverage of some precalc issues. They touch on it briefly in the beginning of the book, but it would be more useful if they iterated through all of the common algebra issues. ( alot of the Calculus helper books do this, and it is very helpful ).This book is not for someone who understands the concepts, but simply has problems with solving the exercises. For that I would choose something else that is more instructive and has exercises. ( like Gootman or Klien ).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    Ok, I'm the type of person that likes to keep onto my old math books for future reference because we all tend to forget some mathematical concepts and equations as time goes on. This book is amazing. After having previously buying a disappointing DVD on Calculus, I had to search another source to supplement, and cover the ideas of Calculus. I found this book was extremely simple to reader and covers all concepts that you are likely to run into in your Calculus 1 and 2 classes. And best part is this book is very compare to others out there yet it has concise and humorous explanations. I have fun this book so much that it almost doesn't feel much like studying when reading it, yet I am better able to understand Calculus after each section. This book is definitely a keeper and maybe I'll even back my Calculus 1 and 2 textbooks to obtain some of my college back. Amazing luck in your Calculus adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    The best method I can describe this book is a hybrid. It will show the formulas to you as you see them in the text book, then tries to actually explain what they mean (unlike a lot of textbooks) and give examples of how to apply them. The authors test to give a blend of true life and humorous examples as opposed to the formal ones you are going to obtain in a textbook. A word of caution though. While it does go in to some of the integration techniques, and goes through the technical definition of the integral, it omits things like the disk and washer way for finding volumes using integrals, which are some of the trickiest material in Calc II. Ultimately whether you are going to learn well from this will depend on your learning style. Some people need the interaction with a tutor, some can watch recorded lectures (if that is you I suggest Jason Gibson's math tutor DVD series which you can search on here) and some can learn from a book. In that method how useful this will be for you is subjective. I can tell you that I found it very useful for the info it does cover, and found the explanations better than what was in my textbook. It is not a issues repository though. If you are looking for a book with just a lot of solved issues this will not be for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    This book gets down to the heart of the matter: what you need to know to pass calc, and what you can safely ignore. The chapters are short and simple to digest. The writing is clear and the issues present you how to tackle a issue step by step. The authors start with a fast overview of the algebra & trig you'll need to be fluent in when you begin calc. From there, they go on to typical issues you'd see in a calc course. The book is well-written and--dare I say this about a math book?--funny. Oh, if only I had had this book when I tackled calc the first time around!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    2 little tips not otherwise covered in my class materials. Either I got a really well instructed class or this book is somewhat mediocre. The jokes are more annoying time wasters than they are entertaining most of the time. Overall not worth the cost of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    I'm divided on this book. On the one hand, you're never gonna laugh as hard (or at all, even) with any other book on the topic of calculus. It's as non-threatening and light an introduction on the matter as possible, and gives some amazing insights too. However, you shouldn't expect to ace anything with this volume alone, which means it fails to deliver its premise, and I should only give it three stars. Still, it was a very fun read, and for that I'll give it four.Why can't you ace anything with this? Well, it has too few examples, no exercises, and actually fails to give you some essential pointers that Calculus for Dummies does give! Sometimes, it feels as if the humor got in the method of the actual teaching. On the other hand, it's fun enough to be read for the sake of reading it, which might coax even the laziest student out there to actually test and learn something ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    My daughter took Calculus 1 during a 4 week mini-term this summer. It is grueling to knock out calculus over a regular-length semester. ...really tough doing it in 4 weeks! I ordered this book and she said the book was probably the basic secret to her success in the course. She said the book really helped her understand the overall concepts...which weren't necessarily taught well by her instructor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Ace Calculus: The Streetwise Guide []  2020-1-22 20:59

    I love reading this book on the train. It feels method more productive than say listening to my headphones and staring off into space. I knocked off one star simply because the table of contents is very disorganized and it would've been better if it was in a related as the one in actual calculus textbooks. All in all, the jokes are beautiful funny and it helped clear a lot of concepts for me. Disclaimer: This is only a supplement to your textbook issues and class. You will not ace your calculus I course from reading this book alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Qur’an []  2020-1-22 22:39

    A high-level, somewhat shallow, and proselytising introduction to e status of Muhammad as a ‘prophet’ is accepted by default under the cover of a neutral ‘scholarly’ outlook. Likewise, the text (including huge plagiarisms from the Bible deemed ‘new’ revelations) is assumed to be preserved, however, at the same time aspersions are cast on the hammad’s deeds of polygamy, paedophilia (with nine-year old Aisha), and beheading the Bani Quraiza Jews are never mentioned. The lecturer also buys into the myth he was illiterate (Muhammad was already a well-established merchant trader and caravan raider, plus he signed battle treaties with the Meccans).The lecturer believes in “traduttore, traditore” (i.e. that there can be no excellent translation of a text in any other language).When commenting on Christianity he errs often, e.g., that by the seventh century Christians were unsure whether spirit alone spirit and body would be resurrected, or whether Jesus was God or not.A conflict is also place between Genesis 1.26-27 and 2.7,21-23 in the Bible, that in the former God creates Adam and Eve simultaneously, but in the latter sequentially. He goes further, saying that Genesis 1 says they both came from the dust, but in Genesis 2 Eve came from Adam’s rib. This is very not good exegesis; Genesis 1 merely says God created male and female (referred to by the collective noun “man”), while Genesis 2 info how this was done; first man from dust, then woman from man. Since woman came from man she is therefore also of the same substance he was derived from, i.e. dust. (Eve is not mentioned in the Qur’an (she is called “Hawa” in Arabic tradition). It is This lack of data is somehow claimed to be informative or evidential.)A Sufic interpretation of Satan as potentially innocent in Sura 15 is given, i.e., that he did the right thing in not bowing to Adam since that would be idolatry (the question of why a ‘holy’ Allah would command and expect a being to sin is neither asked nor answered).The frequent Qur’anic readings and sound intros add nothing for non-Arabic speaking viewers. Also, given the frequent references to Sufism, it seems the lecturer belongs to this smaller sect of Islam. If true, he should have disclosed this in the first lecture to viewers rather than pitching the course as a neutral view of Islam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    This book gives a lot of helpful tip on how to prioritize time so Jesus is honored so it stresses charity in one's everyday conduct.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    Amazing read so far. Thought revoking, but This is only a sample on Kindle. Can full edition a

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    It has been an invaluable tool to helping me remain focused on my goal of becoming a better person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    This book is so divine. I started to read it years ago when I learned about St. Frances de Sales' evangelical history defending the faith in the era of Calvinism, but never read it cover to cover. Recently I started reading the section on virtues--one chapter a day, and it has become a everyday part of my morning prayer. One chapter a day is certainly attainable and the tip is so powerful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    The book was recommended highly. It is a bit heavy, but the short and specific content of each chapter let you to consme and contemplate the notice at your leisure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    Review Intro to the Devout Life? I'm not qualified. But this is down to earth practical items which will support you to search holiness in daily life. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    This is one of the best books on the spiritual life ever written. St. Francis' counsels are easy and simple to place into practice, and draw hearts closer to the Lord.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    One of my favorite spiritual books. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    Those seeking a deep level of spirituality and the desire for union with God should read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Devout Life []  2020-1-19 22:31

    This book is as appropriate for people today as it was so long ago when it was written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    This book has been my go to refresher on probability and statistics for a lot of years now whenever I need to remember something. It is a very easy and fun introduction to a lot of concepts that are necessary to our every day lives. Yet, it also gets fairly in depth into statistical concepts. The reason I gave he book 4 stars instead of 5 though is that there are locations where even the cartoons jump a small too quick for my speed and I need to refer to other resources to fully understand the concept. But, I’ve yet to search a simpler, more accessible statistics book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Biology []  2020-2-4 10:8

    I will modernize my review when I can actually turn pages on my device like the IBook versions can. This just turns my display and shows me two pages at a time. Also the Amazon ver on IPad is not compatible.... (error notice I hold receiving)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Biology []  2020-2-4 10:8

    I don't normally write reviews, but I am bothered that Larry Gonick's book has such a low rating. I understand the frustration at not being able to it on a device, but that's an problem with Amazon and not the comic. My son is struggling with Biology, and he's supplementing his studies with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    Bought this for my 18 year old daughter. She didn't search the content particularly helpful. But she also found the author/illustrator "cringy." On the back of our edition it advertised other books by Larry Gonick, one of which was an illustrated tutorial which reminded me of Angry Magazine style cartooning. She refused to be seen carrying a book with this photo on its back cover by "some cringy old perv from the 60's." I was looking for an alternative and perhaps fun method to supplement her statistics class, but this was not it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    Hypothesis: there is a possibility that this is the first statistics book that you (Sherlock?) will read from cover-to-cover. Why? The distribution of humor looks good. Meaning that humor is well distributed throughout this book; highly biased towards amazing jokes, you may search some lame-ish stuff, though. The confidence interval for “good jokes” depends on your erudition/personality, Sherlock. We can use “paired comparisons” between this book and other textbooks as well. But I will leave it as an exercise for the reader who dared to read other statistics books. One thing is certain, Larry has been getting better over time. This book was published in 1993 and a few weeks ago I read his book on Calculus published in 2011. To conclude he has evolved exponentially as a cartoonist and teacher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    The content is of high quality and complex. This is not yet another statistics for dummies. If you have no background on statistics, you will be challenged reading this book. It doesn't water-down statistical concepts too much. It gives the conceptual (as opposed to totally quantitative view) of statistics in a cartoon format with plenty of well-thought out examples (both true life and hypothetical).The downfall of this book, of course, is that it doesn't provide statistical practice issues and solutions. In my humble opinion, the best method to learn statistics, or any other quantitative subject, is through lot of practice and mental challenges. Although your conceptual understanding of statistics will be enhanced through this book, your actual applicable knowledge of statistics may still remain is might be a amazing first book or even a amazing review of statistics. But certainly, this book is not adequate for those who wish to learn statistics for app to true ill, this is immensely well contemplated book and I must congratulate the authors for creating a thought provoking statistics overview book without too a lot of statistical equations and problems. I also enjoyed the cartoons and humor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Biology []  2020-2-4 10:8

    First allow me say I love Larry Gonick's work and pre-ordered this months before its release. And I will change my rating and review if and when Amazon fixes this problem. However...This title is not compatible with iPhones or iPads. Trying to it brings up an error notice saying it is not compatible with this device.If you look on the web page just below the book description and page length there's what looks like a link with the text: "Available on these devices". If you hover over it it brings up a small window showing compatible devices. And sure enough, iPhone and iPad are missing, unlike nearly every other book on Amazon, and unlike all the rest of Larry Gonick's "The Cartoon Tutorial to..." e-books.I called Amazon to figure out what was going on and was told either the author or the publisher could withhold publication on specific devices, but other "Cartoon Guide" books from the same author and publisher (and other publishers) *are* available on iPhone and iPad. So it seems beautiful clear that somebody at Amazon screwed up. But I alerted them to the issue over a week ago and nothing has been fixed yet.I filed a ticket with Amazon to escalate and resolve the problem. I also alerted the author, who is reaching out to his publisher and trying to obtain it fixed from their side. In the meantime, however, I asked for and received a refund, even though I fully intend to re-purchase the book once it will actually work on my devices. Amazon can't be allowed to hold for a product I never received, and they need to realize this is a serious screwup on their part.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    This book is not good on kindle. You can not enlarge it, you can barely see the words. Worst ever spent. I can't say if the book is any amazing BECAUSE I CANT SEE IT

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Biology []  2020-2-4 10:8

    I can't speak for the digital format (as other reviewers have thus far) but the soft-cover ver is great. I own several of Gonick's books and the content of this one is on-par with his other works. Clever and informative, per usual.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Biology []  2020-2-4 10:8

    Larry Gonick is a genius! This small book cover so much contents. It helps greatly in understanding primary concepts in biology and biochemistry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    If you had college level statistics this book could serve as a half decent refresher.But if you are like me and only have primary high school stat-related items (basic probability etc), the book becomes frustrating at less than half its lenght because the formulas and concepts begin to become more complex are not explained well enough via cartoonish style. The book then becomes annoying and irritating because one formula/concept piles on top of the previous one and from there it is all downhill, at which point I just gave up and will appeal to a more rigorous book which takes its time to explain carefully each point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    I've owned this book for a long time and I regularly use it to learn fresh concepts I need to understand. I also use it as a reference for things I've learned previously but have forgotten a bit. It works for me, but I could see how it may not work for others.If you're looking for a text book with lots of examples, then this is not your book. If you need someone else to tutorial you and explain things to you, then this is not your book. This book is about explaining the concepts concisely & simply with true life examples. But just because it's concise, it doesn't mean it's simple. You will need to is book is all about explaining the ideas of stats simply, and it's done with cartoon figures and down to earth examples. Nothing abstract here. Each section is concise and brief. Everything you need for each step is clearly explained and with a small study, graspable. Each section is carefully built on top of the previous one, so because of this grading learning there is never a huge leap to a fresh concept.I would recommend the book for someone who has previously studied Stats, but needs a fast review.I would recommend it for use as a fast reference tool. It's simple to search what you want, and since the explanations are brief, you don't need to spend a lot of time in research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    This book is sooooo helpful. I am taking a doctorate biostatistics class and these cartoons really support when coupled with a textbook. There is also a lot of humor in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Biology []  2020-2-4 10:8

    I like the product, to study

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    Won't pretend to know enough about statistics to claim any expertise, either before OR after reading this book. Nonetheless, I found it very illuminating on several of the basics. Statistics is a quirky small branch of mathematics, with perhaps more than its fair share of counterintuitive phenomena, and a gentle introduction like this one can be very helpful in both revealing and clarifying the finer points: how probability works, and DOESN'T, contrary to some reasonable perceptions; the difference between a mean and a median, and why "average" might not mean what you think it means; and one or two other intriguing phenomena along the way.Originally published in 1993, the 2005 edition remains largely the same, with a few minor revisions. Other, more latest tutorials may a more up-to-date perspective, but by and large, I'd say this classic small Gonick & Smith collaboration still a worth introduction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Statistics []  2020-1-16 7:22

    Creative and useful! This book was amazing pre-reading for an intro stats course I took, and I also re-read it during the course. I would even give it to kids (like middle-school or high school), so they don't stupidly fear stats as long as I did, so that stats feels more intuitive to them later, and so that they better understand stats they hear cited in the news (since stats are so often used misleading, OR used accurately but UNDERSTOOD inaccurately by the general public).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Biology []  2020-2-4 10:8

    Perfect book and and a fine complement to the Cartoon Tutorial to Physics and the Cartoon Tutorial to Chemistry by the same author. I did not the Kindle version, so I can't respond for the negative experience those readers have had. If you're buying the print version, this is a amazing book which comprehensively and accessibly breaks down a complex topic into simple - and amusing - chunks. It has certainly helped me reconnect with biology after a lot of years. 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Biology []  2020-2-4 10:8

    WTF ?!?!!! “Not compatible” msg and unable to to ipad

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    I was under the understanding that this was a fun, light hearted method to learn algebra. It's not at all. It was quite confusing in looking at the pages. I found it too busy on each page which created it hard to focus on the actual lesson. I didn't need super easy lessons just less busy and distracting. I'm sure it will work for others it just didn't for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    We are a homeschool family using Saxon Math. This book is outstanding for visualizing concepts and offering additional practice for your student.I love love love this resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    I'm gifting this to kids of family and friends. The CGTo Statistics helped obtain me started with elementary stats in college; much better than some GTA w/o amazing spoken English. As for Intro Algebra, often a presentation that differs from the standard classroom will "just click".Highly Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    i got this to see if it would be amazing for my students. The book begins at a very easy level, probably even a 4th-5th grader would search it understandable. The author is thorough and explains things in memorable ways, with humor. This should be in any high school algebra classroom. It is at too low a level maybe if you're taking College Algebra, but if you go through the whole book in preparation for a college level algebra course, you will be very well prepared!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    It explains algebraic concepts in a non-math person perspective. It's unbelievable that way. It slowly brings you into Algebra without overwhelming and it keeps you entertained. Some of the jokes are a @#$%!&eesy, but overall, it's really quite a funny book, for a math book, and I can't recommend it enough! My 13 year old loved it and wished she had gotten it earlier. She also loved the physics book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    Very well organized and written. We used this book to introduce algebra to our 10-year old daughter and it worked quite well for her. It adds more info about each subject gradually and each fresh chapter uses what the previous chapter taught. Increasing from simple to more complex topics, "The Cartoon Tutorial To Algebra" is built upon in a very systematic and witty way. A very enjoyable book indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    I love this book's approach to teaching the subject. The explanations create sense. I am disappointed that end of chapter quiz solutions aren't available as a whole. The book only provides "select solutions" to end of chapter quizzes. I am utterly disappointed that a lot of of those are wrong! For example chapter 2 question 1a: (-4)+8. The respond shown in the back of the book is "-27"! This causes confusion and doubt in a student and undermines any potential value the book may have e publisher and author should do the right thing for those that purchased this title and release an amended pdf with correct answers to each problem. How else would a student be able to judge their understanding of the subject without this?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    Much more pleasant for our home schooled student than a standard math workbook, and the method things are presented seems to support his understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    This book is really good. Using it to teach my 12 year old who is advanced 6th grade math.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cartoon Guide to Algebra (Cartoon Guide Series) []  2020-3-30 19:13

    I teach sick children while they're away from school. I bounce around from subject-to-subject, so this has been a resource of amazing utility for me in the classroom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    Comprehensive. Proofs offered in book and on website. Answers to odd exercises provided on website. This is the third time in my life that I have attempted to learn calculus. The first time when I was 26, I used Gilbert Strang's book to teach myself. The second time, when I was 30, I took a calculus coarse at a local 4-year college. The first time I created it to limits. The second time I created it to integration. In both cases I quit because I got bogged down trying to search proofs. I'm 45 now and this book makes it much easier to understand. And, if I can't search an adequate explanation in the book I can go to Khan Academy web website to clear up things, which wasn't available 10 years ago. I think that I will create it all the method to vector analysis this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    Are you needed to take Calculus and this is your assigned textbook? Well, obtain the book, suffer through the material, and continue you on your way. In all seriousness, Amazon does do a amazing job with textbook rentals and makes these outrageously overpriced textbooks simple to search and return once you have completed the class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    This book is well worth the price. It is rich in explanations and exercises. It does a amazing job of giving plenty of app examples. Some argue that textbooks like this are too expensive, but this book is worth every penny and more. It is professional and comprehensive. I had my friend, who was an engineering professor at a major university and tends to be critical, look at it. He said that if I covered everything in this book I would have very close to the same level of knowledge as a college math major. I love the book because it is simple to understand the examples and explanations and the exercises are thorough and challenging. I also subscribe to Amazing Courses Plus on my roku and am watching the three Calculus courses taught by Professor Bruce Edwards. This book is an ideal accompaniment to these courses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    It's an okay book, the best part it actually shows how to solve some examples fairly well step by step. It has some errors in consistencies on the questions and answers. For a book that expensive it shouldn't have such problems and some things can be explained better such as epsilon delta proofs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    Loved the book. Bought a hard copy couple of years ago. This time purchased Kindle copy for simple access and reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    This is a unbelievable text. I seldom review things but this book deserves one. I purchased this book when I was a student at my first university, only used it for the first semester of calculus, and then transferred to another school where they used a various (inferior textbook). I took three more calculus courses after transferring and almost never used the other book except to do the homework assignments. I am now a math tutor at the school and use the Larson book almost exclusively and my students love it. The examples are very clear and you can view detailed solutions to the odd numbered issues on the text's companion website. I can beautiful much guarantee that by using this book your calculus will improve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    Best calc book because it is simple to understand, the is about 5 times more than what it is actually worth since it’s “required” for the students,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    This book came on time with two or three highlights, otherwise excellent quality, intact cover, and no other markings on the pages. The online tutors and explanations go amazing with the issues in the book and I was able to obtain a four on the AP calculus AB exam. We are needed to use this book again for calculus BC so it's a amazing thing it combines both classes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    This is a beautiful solid textbook. Not for the faint of heart but it’s whats used for Calc 1&2 at CalBaptist and most engineering calculus courses and I admit I like this textbook a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus []  2019-12-15 18:23

    So here was my predicament before I bought this book: I am having to self teach Calc 2 the instructor sucks & our book is even worse constantly skipping 5-6 step in the process so it take you hrs just to figure out the examples given in the book (let alone homework time). I work full time in a mentally intensive job so generally speaking my brain is done by the time I obtain home so trying to figure out missing steps was at the very least aggravating & an the most created me wanna take a gun to my assigned book (Essential Calc By Stewart's). After receiving a 95% (take home), 60% & 68% on my tests i knew I required support when we started sequence & series section & I spent 2 Hrs trying to figure these things out to no I went on Amazon & did some searching. This book by Larson had the best reviews (& I had a fellow student who used a previous addition & said it was an perfect book) & I was desperate to obtain a B or better in this class (A requirement for work to my tuition). So what's an additional $124 for a fresh book if it gets me $2500 in tuition in the end. So I bit the bullet & bought this one. I got a 79% on the next try through self teaching. Nough said, this book is amazing & the resources the book provides are perfect as well (& you do not additional for them, they are for anyone to use).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxwell's Equations Without the Calculus []  2020-1-9 18:49

    amazing explanations of some really complicated stuff. there is some calculus but author explains

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus for the Practical Man []  2020-1-25 3:16

    Electrifying education on the basis and app of calculus!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus for the Practical Man []  2020-1-25 3:16

    I am fairly smart and was always amazing at math--until I encountered calculus in college. I failed the course the first time, and barely passed when I took it again. I didn't really learn the subject, though, and I abandoned my dream for a career in engineering and went into computer programming instead. That was nearly thirty years ago, and despite some modest success I have never given up on the idea of mastering calculus. I have purchased other texts and tried increasing my knowledge, without much luck.I heard of this book from reading the autobiography of Richard Feynman, the Nobel-Prize-winning physicist known for his research in quantum mechanics. Feynman used this book (and others) to teach himself calculus as a teenager.Anyway, the lightbulb finally came on for me reading this book. By using true globe examples, the concepts finally created sense. It was an "Ah ha!" moment like when I first grasped the concept of pointers in C programming back in college. I now *GET* it, and all my other calculus books now create sense!I want I had found this book as a college freshman back in 1988!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tour of the Calculus []  2020-1-30 20:11

    Berlinski loves beauty in the globe and in mathematics. He bestows to the appreciative reader the realization that continuity is the effect of humans existing as macroscopic conscious entities with gross macroscopic sensations in midst of a physical globe consisting of very little constituents such as molecules and atoms. Herein the conflict between discrete numbers( a product of our cognition) and our ( coarse ) perception of continuity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tour of the Calculus []  2020-1-30 20:11

    This is the only book I have ever read that pulls all of the concepts of calculus together into one complete package. The style is a bit wordy, but that is the point. It keeps you interested and involved. The background and history of calc are combined with stories to aid in learning. If you wish to understand calc and really know what you are talking about, this is the book for you. It isn't a textbook and it won't teach you how to solve problems, but by the end of it, you will KNOW calc! Outstanding supplement to a textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxwell's Equations Without the Calculus []  2020-1-9 18:49

    Short, concise and useful. I recommend this an introductory read for those interested in understanding Maxwell's equations. Well worth the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus for the Practical Man []  2020-1-25 3:16

    While this book teaches the "elements" of calculus in a very straightforward manner, the elements taught and the issue examples used are cleverly selected to provide a broad, solid foundation in calculus. Nobel prize-winning physicist Richard P. Feynman taught himself calculus with this book. Some of the techniques used are not commonly seen in today's introductory texts - and are very useful. It is "elementary", but not simplified.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tour of the Calculus []  2020-1-30 20:11

    This book has all the fun in mathematics that I never had in math class in college. I actually gained understanding with some of the math concepts due to the author's style of writing and humor. If I read this book in college before I took calculus, I might have ended up with a BS degree instead of a BA. It is not a math book but has enough concepts to stir imagination. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tour of the Calculus []  2020-1-30 20:11

    Mr. Berlinski book has created me see, through a strong pedagogical lens, that most mathematics books, Calculus in particular, are a distilled and purified product of a brew created from the blood, sweat and tears of a lot of mathematicians across the centuries. The next time I pick up a textbook and read "it easily follows" or " it is clearly evident", I'll know for sure that those words are, at least, presumptuous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxwell's Equations Without the Calculus []  2020-1-9 18:49

    24 pages long, expected more even though it was reasonably cheap. Not a 'book' at all. More like a pamphlet. Other Kindle books on related subjects have a lot more content. Save your and obtain something else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tour of the Calculus []  2020-1-30 20:11

    I am not a mathematician--I would have to call myself more of a math enthusiast. I have tons of famous "teach yourself" style math books, spanning college algebra to multivariate calculus. Unfortunately, it doesn't usually stick, as my day job rarely requires me to engage with math on any serious level. Still, periodically I search my feelings of mathematical inadequacy grow to the point where I feel compelled to undertake a refresher course. On those occasions, I always turn to Berlinski's "A Tour of the Calculus" to mentally prepare for the endeavor. Mastering formulae and technique is one thing; feeling like I viscerally "get" what the whole thing is about is another. Berlinski not only inspires me to create a new undertaking, but insures that when I do attack the body of work that is the calculus, I obtain the "why" and not just the "how." Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tour of the Calculus []  2020-1-30 20:11

    I have given this book to students who have just completed their first semester of Calculus as reading to hold them new for their second semester. Without fail, they have reported it as a positive influence in helping them throughout that tough course. I have also given it to all of my Liberal Arts mates to encourage their appreciation of the Calculus as our culutral heritage. So far, all have been delighted that they could, at the least, follow the discussion. This is due, I believe, to the unbelievable method in which Dr. Berlinski writes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus for the Practical Man []  2020-1-25 3:16

    I have a Bachelor's with a minor in math, but that was decades ago. Now, approaching my 60's, I was looking for a re-introduction to calculus (just because I'm a nerd). I'm not the brightest bulb in the package so I need things explained to me simply, and then built upon. This book does a masterful job of that. Usually in books on math or science topics I end up reading the same sentence (or paragraph) multiple times. As I said, not the brightest bulb. But with this book every single sentence and explanation was intuitive and easily understandable. After attempting several books on calculus, this is the only one I actually completed. If this can teach calculus to me, it can teach calculus to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Calculus for the Practical Man []  2020-1-25 3:16

    AN EXCELLENT CALCULULUS BOOK THAT MAKES CALCULUS INTERESTING AND MEANINGFUL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Networking: How the Internet Works [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    Mission accomplished. Book provides a amazing overview of TCP/IP. I'm not an IT professional but reasonably technology literate. This book provided some practical insight to what's going on in the background in a manner that's simple to digest.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386