the celestial railroad Reviews & Opinions


Submit the celestial railroad review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Railroad review [App]  2019-1-22 21:54

    It is amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Railroad review [App]  2019-1-22 21:54

    Amazing idea to reproduce the android game from 90s but the implementation is terrible. How to begin over from the beginning? How to remove mistakenly placed ways? Obtain rid of these stupid dialogs and create controls instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Please create celestial body bearing displayed with at least one digit decimal precision, it is essential for compass error checks. Otherwise amazing app.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the celestial railroad or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the celestial railroad video reviews and related movies:

    See The Celestial Railroad Hawthorne 1846 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Celestial Railroad - Fantasy Railroad in the Stars (Full Film) on youtube.

     related image

    See The Celestial Railroad - Joe Hisaishi on youtube.

     related image

    See Charles Ives - The Celestial Railroad for Piano (c. 1924) [Score-Video] on youtube.

     related image

    See The Celestial Railroad by Nathaniel Hawthorne (Book Reading, British English Female Voice) on youtube.

     related image

    See Trailer of "The Celestial Railroad"(English version)by KAGAYA Studio on youtube.

     related image

    See - The Celestial Railroad - Fire of Scorpion on youtube.

     related image

    See The Celestial Railroad on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    What a amazing piece of software. Having written a sight reduction program in Primary in the 70s I really appreciate the ease of use of this app. It takes away most of the tedium between taking a series of sights and getting a fix. I look forward to once again using my sextant on passage and not relying on GPS all the time. One useful addition would be a printable user guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Nexus 7 updated to Android device 5.02 and now the program opens then immediately closes. Developer did not answer to email. Don't count on it for navigation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Really cool. Does everything you need for celestial except take the sights. Only thing I would like to see added is zoom for the plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    "Five stars when it starts working again." This is now! Amazing application for navigation. Verified on ICS and JB. Thanks, Navimatics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Amazing app. Might not use often but amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Suddenly stopped working on my nexus

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Would be amazing to have an addition to give Taz for celestial bodies with A, B & C for gyro error as it's done every watch on board.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Could be a small more user friendly. Might consider a light (red) for reading sextant. Distance from gps position would be useful for beginners to gauge their accuracy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    What I have been waiting for! So much easier than the old manual method. Excellent on EVO.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Looks excellent, but takes large amount of zone in in main memory. Needs to be able to install on SD card.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Very amazing app very convenient for navigators

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Amazing app, but needs install to SD card to be enabled.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    All you need is a sextant and your ready to go. I would like to see SD card support. Atmosphere in inches of mercury and temperature in fahrenheit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Celestial review [App]  2019-9-27 13:22

    Does not work with android device 5.0 on galaxy s5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    For those of us old enough to remember train travel or those having worked on or with railroads for part of their life as have I [working as a gandy-dancer or laborer repairing track while attending college in the 1960s] this brings back memories of railroading both amazing and bad. Fixing rails in 100 degree heat wasn't fun, but travel on trains was still a huge adventure in the 1950s. For those not of such an age, this is a amazing book to learn all about railroading and how it changed the history of our country. The author divides the book into four main sections - trains and train travel, train stations, railroads and how they affected community life, and the legacy that railroading has left us e book is printed on a high quality glossy paper, which is necessary as there are well over 100 B/W plates to support visualize the prose. As for the prose itself, the author speaks in a friendly rather than pedagogical voice, making it simple and fun to read. The book is full of fact, but the history is told as by someone you know simply relating a story to e basic years covered are 1830 to 1930, but the author does continue on with his history to the present.An interesting fact that I found is that the maximum track mileage of 254,251 miles was achieved method back in 1916 and has progressively gotten smaller due to planes and primarily trucks able to use the interstate highway system to haul freight. The author also discusses Railroad Post Offices and the Railway Express Agency, both of which primarily disappeared by the end of the 1960s. He also gives a more detailed differentiation between Hobos, who used the rails to travel to distant locations to search work; Tramps, who traveled to various locations but weren't necessarily looking for employment, and Bums, who simply felt entitled to handouts without bothering to travel anywhere to look for employment.I learned that before my time, trains had no or limited passenger travel on Sundays for religious reasons, and if you did travel on Sunday, you were supposed to be going to services in another city. Taking a wild guess here, I would surmise some people lied about that point. Another interesting point that also occurred before my time was that soldiers during WWII, other than officers, had to double bunk on troop transport trains with each sleeping head to toe of the other fellow.Another neat section was on how railroads laid out entire towns focused on their main station or depot. The main road would dead end into it and most residential and little commercial establishments were on the same side of the tracks as the depot. Normally huge industrial concerns as grain elevators, stockyards, and huge industries would be located on the other side next to the tracks. If you lived on the same side as these huge industrial concerns on land typically not laid out by the railroad engineers, it was said you lived on the wrong side of ere is simply too much to tell all that is explained and detailed in this book. Highly recommended for all railroad and history buffs concerned with this period of US history. The pictures were very amazing and added greatly to visualizing some of the happenings discussed including disasters, and how people dressed during different periods.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Simple to read. VERY detailed. Perfect info.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    H. Roger Grant is the Head of the History Department at Clemson University in South Carolina and has written or co-authored at least histories of the Wabash "Follow the Flag": A History of the Wabash Railroad Company (Railroads in America), the Erie-Lackawanna Erie Lackawanna: The Death of an American Railroad, 1938-1992 and the Chicago and North Western railroads and a total of 28 rail history books. Professor Grant is the President of the Lexington Transportation History Group, a society mainly of transportation historians and leaders, and along with Lexington Group Treasurer and Nwsletter Editor Professor Don Hofshommer of St. Cloud State University in , MN, (whom he often collaborates with) is one of the foremost railroad historians in the United States. This book, which takes a largely sociological approach is not dull economic and financial history, but a very readable description of the role railroads played and play in American society. It describes locomotives, munincipal rivalries, industries, passenger travel, stations, heroes, villains and the narrative of American transportation in an enjoyable and informative broad brush approach. Having been trained as a historian my only gripe with Professor Grant's scholarship is when he deviates from railroading and describes the shameful internment of Japanese-Americans as "America's Gulag" in describing the role US railroads played in Globe Battle II. As Head of a History Department he should know that there is no method to compare the US internment of Japanese US citizens with Stalin's Gulag in size nor nature. Other than that nit-pick (my main zone of history study was Russia and Germany) there is nothing to search fault with. OK, perhaps a bit more on the Civil Battle would do, but as this is not a chronological narrative history one can understand that. Railroad enthusiasts from coast to coast might bemoan that their favorite "fallen flag" or flags were not included to their satisfaction. However, there is a lot of historical geography in this tome and descriptions on such thigs as what was the origin of the phrase "other side of the tracks" and even how railroads influenced put names in the United States. In its discussion of passenger travel it brings a lot of history to the discussion of the future of intercity railroad passenger service in the US in a non-polemic and informative manner. This book needs to be in the library of every serious student and teacher of US History and every serious observer or professional involved in American railroading's past or future. Simple four if not five stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    A amazing look at Americas rail streets from several various angles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Judging by the cover and glossy paper, this could be the pinnacle of rail texts. Partway through, while bogged in a passage that mixed happenings in non-consecutive fashion, I reviewed Grant's prologue: to examine the Trains, Stations, Communities and Legacy of railroads. He is most informative when comparing the dozens of solutions used to build these steel arteries throughout the ains were the first transportation alternative to horses and wagons, but there were multiple brands and the machinery always evolving. Images are well-captioned and identify the train's name, zone or year. Vehicles appeared first as drafty, jolting wagons- wooden seats exposed to wind-driven cinders. Maximum speeds were low- accidents occurring when the squad dared to speed up. Stops for fuel and water extended the ations were adapted to the traffic, local building materials; eventually following standardized plans published by each carrier. Sometimes stone structures or rude board-and-batten structures that received shipments, mail, provided zone for stationmaster/ticket sales, a telegrapher, and passenger waiting area. These eventually morphed into bus and airport terminals- which stole passenger business. Trucks assumed much freight munities were not all metropolises surrounding a 'Grand' Station, but stations did attract hotels, diners, businesses of all sorts. During the latter part of the 1800s, a lot of towns were built in the newly opened western territories. Settlers, even immigrants, would unload possessions and animals from rude vehicles and go claim homesteads. If fortunate, they prospered. If not, they moved on.During the heavy troop movements during WW II, North Platte, Nebraska was a busy stop. Grant writes:'Volunteers at this patriotic outpost everyday welcomed, fed, and entertained up to five thousand men and women in uniform. An estimated fifty-five thousand canteen workers from more than one hundred communities at different times assisted, handing out sandwiches, candy, cake, donuts, cookies, coffee, sodas, milk, and cigarettes. A typical everyday shopping list needed these items: "160-175 loaves of bread, 100 pounds of meat, 15 pounds of butter, 45 pounds of coffee, 40 quarts of cream, 500 half-pint bottles of milk and 35 dozen rolls." Every day about twenty birthday cakes were handed out to lucky celebrants. Church and service groups also came to sing gospel songs and seasonal Christmas carols. USO supervisors in North Platte estimated that by the end of the conflict more than 6 million individuals had received trackside services. "When those trains would come and when they'd leave," remembered a canteen volunteer, "you would have a huge lump in your throat because you just knew that some of them wouldn't come back." A North Platte resident described their USO station activities as "our own battle industry - exporting morale." (p 148)One Legacy of railroads endures in a quote allegedly uttered by W H Vanderbilt in 1882. A freelance journalist quotes him saying:'Look here, young man, do you know me? The public be damned. I don't take any stock in that twaddle about working for the amazing of anybody but ourselves. I continue to run the "Limited Express" because- well, because I wish to.' (p 254) It was ting just after WW I, unprofitable lines have been abandoned, leaving a lot of communities without service. Passenger service first, then freight later. Some defunct lines are marked only by scattered cemeteries. The book ends showing rights-of-way clogged by trash, and the efforts of some communities to turn them into bike would be clearer if the book's observations were listed in chronological order- but maybe the volume overwhelmed any such effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    A very interesting and readable approach to this a very particular reader who dislikes errors in grammar and spelling...I was dismayed at the number of typos and errors in the text. It did not materially affect the topic matter, however, it showed a lack of appropriate editing. For a scholarly publication, I would have not expected the number of errors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    I enjoyed this very much. It covers a lot, so the detail can be spotty, but I learned much that I did not know.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Christmas bonus for husband. Sure he will love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Amazing read. Roger Grant knows how to create history interesting. If you are a railroad enthusiast this belongs on your bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Railroads and the American People (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Highly readable and thoughtful survey of the impact of rail transportation including the geographic distribution of settlements in the lower 48 states and broadly appilicable to the patterns in western Canada.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This is a book about a man's journey as an intellectual railroader. It's not about trains or about pictures of trains. Jim McClellan wrote and published other books and articles about trains. Even pictures and paintings of trains. However, this book is about his experience as a man who directly helped reshape the business or railroading. It's about his fears as well as his successes In taking on complex strategic ideas about the business of running railroads as companies. About struggling to communicate the complexity of networks. Often as a junior officer to others with far more experience and seniority then he had. About championing over a three to four decade long "idea" of merging smaller railroads into larger and strionger corporate networks. It's about persevering when at first your idea of the excellent business match doesn't pan 's about dealing with business silos that face critical survival problems as the business of moving freight on steel rails because more difficult. It's about one man's maturing over along 's also a look inside a corporate culture in a company that competitors always thought was a powerful and wealthy railway company that could o no wrong. How could they lose? They carried coal,downhill. They had the best operating ratio. They were the envy of their competition. Yet, Mr McClellan reveals that inside that company there were serious questions about becoming "marginalized" by a carrier with a poorer productivity performance -- but with a much stronger origin/destination network 's about the career long find for long term corporate survival as the railroads struggled with eastern US bankruptcy like the Penn Central. About the fear of what happens if king coal traffic advantages should 's a personal,disclosure of how some times it's better to adapt to being lucky than just being 's a book about life inside both government agencies that regulate railroads as well,as life inside the executive floor of huge personal rail companies.If those problems interest you, then this book should be added to your library.Disclosure: twice in my railroad careerInhad the opportunity to work and learn from Jim McClellan. I might therefore be biased in this review. But in examine his history of four of the books sections about which I have irst hand knowledge, I conclude that Jim McClellan gives the reader interesting and a beautiful accurate acc of the happenings -- from his insider recollection. Sharing with his peers as well as as with outsiders some of the human and corporate nuances that I had overlooked. Sharing his fears so that the reader can learn that even the brightest among us have to struggle to be leaders. Because leadership isn't an simple task. There is always some doubt you have to overcome. That's my take away of why Jim's memories are of importance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    It would be hard to exaggerate Jim McClellan's importance and influence on rail tactics in the1990's. Although this book is comprehensive, the stories not told are just as amazing as those that he shares with readers here. When definitive histories are written about this period, which was an inflection point in the transportation and rail history of North America, a careful researcher will bring it all to light. As written it is an excellent, if very personal, review of some of the key happenings in the forty year period covered by McClellan's rail career.I worked closely with Jim for twelve years (Strategic Planning and Intermodal were assigned, not accidentally, to the seventh floor of the fresh Norfolk Southern HQ in 1989). Jim was a rail fan, but more importantly, he was an incredibly intelligent, intuitive and creative architect of tactic and happenings in this formative era of railroad history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    What a life Jim McClellan had! RR Executive, painter, scribe, and just all-around GOOD GUY! To live a satisfying, fulfilling life like this is is a treasure indeed. The a lot of lives and careers he touched are immeasurable. His contributions to a better globe likewise are to be forever e book is perfect and thanks to his family for getting is done! We are grateful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Jim's work was behind the stage and often off radar, but he played the key role in shaping the railroads resurgence, sadly now very much endangered once again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    For me, nothing in railroading is more interesting and informative as the stories from the professionals. This book excels .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Jim's was concerned in protection of the employing carriers he worked for, but he also was concerned on the total overall well being of the rail industry as a whole. As a retired NS officer, I attended a lot of of the meetings described in his book and to me that gave even more meaning. Jim was an perfect railroader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This book is an perfect inside review of the formation of Amtrak and Conrail, and then the split of Conrail into NS & CSX. McClellan was a rail fan and rail executive and much of what he writes is inside info I was not aware of. He also gives an perfect overview of the strengths and weaknesses of all the major railroads. This was a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Another amazing "first hand" acc of an insider revealing what goes on inside the railroad board rooms and decision making process.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    amazing book by a railroader/foamer, or was it a foamer/railroader?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life with Trains: Memoir of a Railroader (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Amazing source of information, which I am familiar with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    At last, a fascinating overview of Jack Delano's railroad photography. His work on this topic has certainly been neglected. Some images were in Don Ball's 'The decade of trains: the 1940s' published in 1977 and the same year saw James Valle's 'The iron horse at war' with 272 unbelievable mono images unfortunately presented in a very bland looking book (incidentally it can still be picked up quite cheaply if you look around the net).This fresh title is in four portfolios : FSA images 1940-1942; OWI Chicago; OWI across the country with Santa Fe; FSA/OWI railroads in color 1940-1943 (this portfolio has thirty-three shot). The nature of Delano's work lifts method above the usual railroad book full of track side shots of massive freights pulled by multiple diesels, the images here are in a method the opposite of that because they mostly present workers doing their jobs to hold the (rather rundown) industry going as the country moved into the battle years. I thought the image selection particularly inspiring because mixed in with the medium and long shots of engines being repaired and serviced or out on the track there are close-up portraits of the workers and the color section nicely has five shots of female railroadersThe back pages have an interesting nine pages devoted to Roy Stryker's railroad shooting scripts followed Notes over four pages (well worth reading, too) then a Bibliography and Index. The book is well produced in its landscape format, all the images are captioned including their Library of Congress number.Jack Delano's railroad photography really comes alive in these pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    This book is a gift, and will be well received. The images are excellent. Mr. Delano was an perfect photographer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Top photographer

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Disappointed. Amazing photos, but half are of foreign steam locomotives. No interest here. You should be a bit more descriptive of the books content.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Outstanding in every way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Perfect book for train enthusiasts!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Amazing people and true railroading photography

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Excels with superb pictures of railroaders

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Railroad Photography of Jack Delano (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Outstanding book on railroading in the United States during WWII. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    Amazing read! I’ve been modeling for quite some times and bought this as I wanted to expand to a larger layout now that I have the space. A lot of the hints in here saved me so much on materials. My Home Depot bill went from $400 to $250 just from reading this. Recommend to anyone who has any doubt about building from scratch. Cheers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    But I play one sometimes, thanks to this book. I actually bought lumber, hardboard and a few tool accessories (#8 flippable countersink bit and driver is amazing) / parts... and more awesome still, I have something in my basement now resembling the begin of a layout!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    Very amazing reference book. Although this book focuses on HO model train sets. The concepts in this book can be applied to O-Scale models too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    This is just what I needed. Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. The book is written so anyone at any level experience can understand it and place the techniques to work right away. I inherited a huge HO collection and just retired so I was looking for a book that would support me obtain started correctly on track. This is the one, images are prefect and the instructions are written so they can be place into action.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    helpful for beginners

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    A lot of amazing information

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    This was one of a three part set of books for my husband. He is thrilled with them and hopes to obtain started creating his model train world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    Very helpful tutorial for building a model railroad bench. Amazing project.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    As is serves as a solid base for your model railroad. Its realy nice the ideas shared and techniques for various types of benchwork to contain expanding and amazing types of benchwork, example around-the-wall begin grid this book is a must.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Model Railroad Benchwork (Model Railroader Essentials Series) review []  2020-1-4 21:15

    This book is an perfect reference for those that are constructing their first, second or third layouts. The text and photographs create the process of constructing different types of baseboards simple to understand and correspondingly simple to construct.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Amazing book with amazing insights from a time when railroads future was in doubt. A small wordy on some of the backroom board of directors machinations, but perfect maps which provide clear evidence of why the AT&SF was a well run railroad, and the one most likely to ultimately succeed on the Chicago to Los Angeles. route -- which it eventually did! A small short at 133 pages, but still worth the cash and a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This book is a fast and simple read. As the retired CEO of my favorite business enterprise (AT&SF/BNSF), I am familiar with Mr. Krebs and his background and accomplishments.While descriibing his college years, how he got his begin in the business, and some personal/family problems largely similar to the nature of railroading career advancement (i.e., frequent relocations and the resulting disruptions to family life)., he doesn't obtain bogged down in these sults. I have read articles that mentioned his relationship with Mike Haverty who was President & COO of the Santa Fe while Krebs was CEO. After the company simplified its route and business structure, it was much easier to see there was one chief (no pun inended) too many. Mr. Haverty went on to run the Kansas Town Southern which has its own success story largely due to his efforts. The book goes on to indicate that at the end of their careers that they were able to bury the hatchet. Some familial rough spots seem to have healed as is is certainly much less self-serving than most CEO autobiographies (actually applies to any autobiography) that I've read and certainly those by/about some politicians who write autobiographies before accomplishing anything of l-in-all a well-written book that is brief, yet comprehensive about both the writer and about the industry generally from its near-death in the '60s and '70s to a much more robust and vibrant one from the 1980s to the present.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    I was intrigued to purchase this book and was willing to shell out the $45 for it, not realizing when I received it, it's a 133 pages and I was shocked that something like this would cost so much. OK, so then I read the thing and, well, you know it's quaint and free form and has some nice stories. And gotta admit some in-site into how the strong folks in this country live and spend. When Krebs recalls board meetings where they've spent $40,000 on a sound system just to be able to hear one of the more soft spoken board members I tend to thing that if I was a stock holder I'd be a tad @#$%ed to have read can tell he's a amazing man and indeed was amazing for his company. But I feel the book lacks more candor and details.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    I had reasonably high expectations for this book due to the cost ($28 for only 144 pages) and being a BNSF alumnus. While the book was certainly an interesting fast read, it fell short primarily due to my feeling that it was more of a chronological recap of Krebs’s career than an inside look at the industry. While he certainly had a phenomenal career at an interesting time in the industry, I felt there was a missed opportunity to expand the context on the history/state of the industry when he joined, the major happenings that took put during his career (Staggers Act, Merger Frenzy, etc.), and the implications of those happenings on the companies that he led and the industry as a ere are not very a lot of published contemporary railroad books written by current/former C-level senior leaders, so this book is a welcome addition. This book is a amazing read if you have nothing more than a passing interest in the business of American railroads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This is a well-written private narrative by a successful railroad CEO. It is short but concise, and more strong for its brevity which does not let for lingering on topics. Rob Krebs was a hard-driving executive who did expect a lot of his subordinates, and at times treated them abrasively when he didn't obtain what he expected. He even admits this at points in his story, but the main theme is every successful executive's striving for ever-greater success.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    nicely ghost written by Fred Frailey, reads well, but primarily a "puff piece"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    I know the author a bit from a time when we both worked for the SP in San Francisco. He is the best railroad leader of his generation. These stories are what I imagine he would tell in his living room.I rated this book only four stars because of the book's brevity. Too poor he did not hire a ghostwriter or co-author and use 500 pages to expand on the info and tell more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Amazing narrative by a person who rose up thru the ranks to become the head of a huge observation however: For a little volume, the cover price ( $ 45.00) ($ 37.00) on Amazon, seems like a lot of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    The insider's view from the top of so a lot of railroads brings the full force of the second half of the 20th century into focus for North American railroads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Riding the Rails: Inside the Business of America's Railroads (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This is book is various from the book, is is basically one mans' story of his career trajectory and the things he experienced along the way.If you have interest in the latest history of Southern Pacific, Santa Fe or Burlingtion Northern Railways, then this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    Bought it for part of my husband’s birthday. He sat and looked at this book and got lost in it. Kept telling me it was one of his favorites, and that means something since he already has a large rail collection of over 60 years, including books from his father who’s father was an Atlantic Coastline engineer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    This is.an exceptionally well done tribute to a talented railroad photographer. The organization of the book is chronological, following Abbey's career, but his biography is not force fit, since the focus of the book is on the photographs. And they are superb, illustrating well Abbey's command of the camera, his eye for composition, and his ability to capture the moment. Abbey witnessed a dynamic time in the evolution of railroading, and this volume underscores the historical contribution that amazing photojournalism provides us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    Nicely done in a private way. One of the best of this sort of books I have seen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    This collections of railroad photography taken by photographer Wallace Abbey can take you back to another time in American history. A time when the romance of the train was a part of a lot of people's everyday life. Each and every image place together by the authors for this collection tells a story on it's own. I consider this a must have book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    This is really a amazing book, not only because of the unbelievable photographs, but the History of Abby's Life and his dedication to his interest!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    I liked the images in the book. Also the method that Mr. Abbey looked at the Milwaukee Road.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    Perfect book for the train lover.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    The recipient loved the gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    Amazing photographs from a amazing photographer. A unbelievable bonus for the train enthusiast in you family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace W. Abbey: A Life in Railroad Photography (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    The book is excellent. The pictures are well composed and have amazing narrative with them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    I'm very satisfied I bought this book. Being able to browse track plans and obtain ideas on how others solve related layout issues is great. Even if you don't use a single plan in the book, seeing a lot of other layouts WILL support you plan your own and support you avoid some at said, the book was originally written in the 1950s and has not been significantly updated. To that end, there's some aspects of the book that are quite dated.1. Lots of turntables and engine houses: These were beautiful much a given in any layout even 20 years ago, but they take up a lot of space, generally are pricey, and digital control (if you go that route) at least solves the issue of how to "turn off" locos. Now you can just line all the off duty locos up in a ladder yard or otherwise more zone efficient scheme. Of course, if you don't wish a turntable, that's zone you can use for something else.. like turning easy staging yards into classification yards that don't need use of the main line for switching.2. A lot of layouts have reach problems. 30" is the maximum even a tall person can reach, but a lot of of these layouts have much broader reach needed. Beware these... the text does cover providing access either by hatch method (think about your knees on that) or walk behind aisle, but the plans often leave those out and the elevations create me question whether an aisle is even sufficient to reach some of the locations. Your model trains will derail far more often than true ones, and even the best automatic uncoupling system has its failures, requiring you to reach over to that siding.3. Speaking of elevations: the grades often seem beautiful high and require grades on turns. I've got a hard time buying into a 2" elevation change in only 4 feet or so over a turn, part of which is running through a tunnel.4. It was apparently laid out by magazine staff. It's a small disconcerting to see "continued on page 68" when you're on page 8. When you're laying out a magazine that is selling ad space, that's understandable. In a book without advertising, it's perplexing and breaks your train of thought.5. Workable yards for classification are rare(but not absent), but that's beautiful much expected for a book of this age. Most yards are better thought of as staging yards or multi-track sidings/ose are just things to look out for and don't really detract too much from a amazing book. It's amazing to see even in an older book plenty of plans that let actual operation over just making loops for trains to run by scenery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    Funnily enough I only really got to appreciate this book after having downloaded a trial of train player that allows you to play a couple of it's layouts.. with the absolute highlight being layout nr 81. This really opened my eyes to seeing how much more rewarding a well designed layout can be. I'd recommend to test that software out if you think of buying this book.. it even gave me an another appreciation of US model railroading culture. The downside of this book that it deals with a dozens of sizes and focusses (even contains tram layouts), so there will be only a handful that will really be a practical fit. And if you're mostly into landscape modelling, a lot of of the designs are track l that said, it does a have a quite a few very well designed layouts, at worst you can pinch an idea or two.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    Yes, but which one?))) Nice that they give a parts list, plus many, a lot of plans from 4x6 to huge. A lot of ideas for mountains, rivers, bridges, tunnels, roundhouses - all amazing items that create a model railroad a joy to build. There are also other books for laying track and wiring that will help. I am going with nickel-silver track because the oxide conducts electricity (so I'm told) and track cleaning isn't such a pain.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    This was two of a three part set of books for my husband. He is thrilled with them and hopes to obtain started creating his model train world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    I am quite satisfied to search this booklet available on Amazon. I have owned several of them in the past, but they were loaned out to various individuals and clubs that were planning future home model railroad layouts, and found fresh homes. It's a amazing tool that is just as useful now as it was when first published many, a lot of years ago. The one I ordered was new, obviously a reprint, but the price was a small higher since I purchased my others a lot of years ago. That is to be expected. I have ordered several more related track layout books on Amazon since I ordered this one. This, and a lot of other track layout booklets are available on Amazon from very reliable dealers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    Only two pages of 4'x8' plans most you can search on-line for free and two a lot of large plans

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    I think I have bought this book 3 or 4 times in my life. It has been around for a very long time. I have never built any of the layouts presented within but it has served as a amazing idea book from time to time. That's really what it is is book first created its appearance before the advent of N scale but the tables have been updated. Each plan gives scaling dimensions for N, TT, HO, S and O. Test finding anything else with TT information!The sizes show range from easy bookshelf layouts and little plywood tables to huge building club layouts. A amazing idea can be had from anywhere. The book is still around because it remains and will probably always remain a source of inspiration or daydreams.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    Classic book on model railroad track planning. And, the plans are fun to look at, as there is a 3D aspect to a lot of of them. I'm not even planning a layout -- yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    Worthless!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hundred and One Track Plans for Model Railroaders (Model Railroad Handbook, No. 3) review []  2020-1-14 20:1

    Very small helpful information

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    I knew a Penn Central/Conrail guy from Toledo and learned lots from him as an engineer on the WCL. Time goes by too quickly and the railroad is not what it used to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    I had previously read Chuck's stories in Classic Trains Magazine. So this compilation of stories was nice to see. He is a real railroader and I hope he continues to share his career with readers like me who never got to go railroading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    A amazing collection of experiences, from working in the shops, to being called as a baggage handler on a passenger train, to being the Engineer, from early 1970's to 2011, in the greater Detroit area. Gives a real insight in one's life, working in the Railroad industry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    A career in railroading, from the rail to the engineer's seat

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    To anyone who loves some amazing stories this is a amazing book. To someone that understands theoperations of daily railroad life, this is an awesome book. I was able to relate to all of theexperiences and found myself laughing aloud several times. Very nicely compliments to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This book arrived within days of placing order. I would begin it at random, begin reading and not be able to place it down. Read it cover to cover within a week and will hold it handy so I can return to it . Amazing read for a foamer. Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    An interesting collection of railroad stories and why all real railroaders must be rail fans as who else would place up with the job

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    You obtain the crazy thimgs that pass asModern railroading, GREAT read, never a dull moment on the railroad ,love this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Really amazing stories. Recommended for train buffs everywhere!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When Deadhead Counted As Rest and Other Railroad Stories: Revised Edition (True Railroad Stories Book 1) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Interesting railroading book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Era of Celestials review [App]  2018-8-9 13:0

    Hey EOC team! I would like to Give you all a thumbs up for creating such a addictive game. I'm enjoying it alot but after reaching level 100+ I'm facing an problem where the android game is crashing and force- closing itself even when I've place the graphic settings to the lowest.. I'm using moto g5 plus, I'll be glad if you can search the bug/issue with the game.. overall the android game is amazing. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Era of Celestials review [App]  2018-8-9 13:0

    Very amazing so far. Clearly can be a p2w HOWEVER a lot of the amazing items I already got through raids. Leveling is super easy, some items like imp with 50% exp boost is £2 for 30d. Can be played and not paying. Mounts are very few right now (5) but there is a lot to do. You can also obtain time for automation which is basically officially bitting while you are offline. It's not too expensive and can be obtained too, hopefully that will hold bots at bay.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter