Read the colorado trail reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the colorado trail reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


    Add your opinion on the colorado trail or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Problem on galaxy s8, application works on first download, but after anytime reopening it just says "loading map" then the application freezes... Please fix, I leave for CT in 2 weeks. Edit: it took like 5 minutes, but the application loaded with map, all working... Would like for it to be quicker, because it did seem on the verge of crashing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    This has been the best $ I have ever spent. Use the ap to check in on where I am at in relation to the CO Trail! Saved me enough times to create it worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    I think this application is great! The only think I'd like to see in the future is a method to have a live radar modernize so we can know what the weather is like ahead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    If you are going to be on the CT obtain this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Amazing app. Works well. Used it to locate myself on the COLLEGIATE Loop this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Worked wonderfully in 2017!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    It seems a bit pricey until​ you're​ on the trail and have convinced yourself that you created a wrong turn. Then it is invaluable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Love the application but much of the functionality fails on Collegiate West. It failed to identify that we were on that alternative and tutorial became elevation and useless. The map still worked. I (and others) may have missed something but a setting related to the North/Sount option would be handy for East/West so that it knew we were on trail and listed the relevant local features and elevations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    This is Definitely helping me obtain through the Colorado Trail without getting worried about getting lost, and allowing me to decide how much further I can go. I'm obsessive about checking it. I hope I begin leaving it be for longer amounts of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Works poorly on Android. Takes forever to load maps and it is always trying to reload the map. Amazing as latest resort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Works well though sometimes takes a bit of time to catch up. Comments from other users re water sources, etc are esp useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Amazing the only thing you need for guidance on the Colorado trail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Works when I wish it to

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Accurate GPS in offline locations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Application skipped the terms screen went straight to map and crashed, does that every time now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Very helpful. Colorado is going through a drought so some of the listed water sources are dry, but thankfully there are comments sections so people can warn you and tell you where else to obtain water. Wouldnt have created it this far without this app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Very useful App. I have a Samsung Galaxy active and it works very well with it. Love that it can tell you exactly where you are, the elevation, and how far it is to various waypoints. You can also comment and read up to date information on water flow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    All you will need on the trail, pair it with the databook and your golden!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    This application has basically no trails. I know of a bunch near me and it displays zero

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Very useful for NOBO hikers. The essential trail application for CT thru hikers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    It works

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Doesnt work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail []  2020-1-14 20:9

    The best ver of a classic song!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    excellent! dont hit the trail without it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    This application was amazing for us while horseback riding the trail. Only thing I would like to see added is livestock water. We were able to search some slightly off trail but would be nice if it was marked as well as just new water.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Amazing app! We did Segment 12 and always knew where we were and what was ahead. The water way-points and the ability to add and read user comments is a unbelievable feature. I was able to plan where to obtain water and, unlike a paper map (always carry a map as backup people!), search out which water way-points were active, search notes on camp sites, etc. All in all, very useful and would recommend this application to any and all! Locke Nest Adventures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Best CT resource out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    I [email protected]#$%! integrated better with the Data Book. Especially regarding water sources.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Amazing app. Nice to have updates from more people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Amazing resource

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Once it installs it is a nice application Had some serious errors installing this that needed work to obtain it to install but eventually it did install. Error 1. System will not let user to select let for zone permission. Error 2. Continually gives error that there are missing files and hit refresh...that window pops up repeatedly before it clears...then hitting refresh doesn't d/l anything and loops back to Error 2. Paid for the full trail maps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Spot on I used this on my through hike of the CT latest year and it was spot on. Amazing for hiking or biking routes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Doesn't work with Galaxy Note 4 running Android device 6.0.1. Opens to trail screen then immediately crashes. Edit: Amazing response from developer and they were able to modernize the application to work with my phone. Very much appreciated!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Fantastic! Keeps me on track during my hikes on the CT. Love the waypoint guide which lets me know what's coming up. Love the true time comments. Love the elevation map. Will not hike the CT without this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    This application only provides four pins, three of which you have to to see. The only trails listed are the Colorado trail. If you're looking for trails besides the Colorado trail, this is not the application for you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Perfect tool for through hiking!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Hiked the Collegiate Loop using this app. Worked flawlessly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Love the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Hiker [App]  2019-2-21 13:16

    Useful Application I write this from Silverton, over 400 miles south of Denver. I've used the application to supplement the CTF data book through the hike and its been an perfect tool to have along. Because you need to have battery life in your phone, you should have some paper map or tutorial book, but the CT Application will provide extra verification of your zone as you hike. There are several features of the application that lead me to recommend it. First, it will pinpoint your position on the trail. The data book can be cryptic from time to time, so to check position, I begin the gps function on my phone and begin the app. At times, the application can be slow to lock on to the gps (5 to 10 mins at times) but that is probably real of any gps app; at other times it has locked onto my position on the red line that represents the trail in a min or two. I came down the fresh West Collegiate alt route and there are a couple of segments of that trail where the data book still reflects the old route (as I discovered from talking to local hikers). In those sections, the CT application was the only accurate tutorial I had. I like the tutorial section of the app, too. It contains some various waypoints from the data book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    Weight: 209 gramsMore info added, than in my 6th edition. Pages seem more plastic feeling, waterproof. Definitely thicker than the previous edition, but not more pages. Amazing book if youre planning the CT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    This is a amazing resource for long term trip planning in a durable compact format

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    Useful. I chop out the required pages for the Collegiate Loop so I didn't carry the whole book. Maps and data points were accurate and extrememly helpful in my hike

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    Because I hiked the CT 1 quarter (7 segments) per year, I've owned the 5th, 6th, and now 7th editions of the CT Databook. It is absolutely a worthy reference and each ver improves upon the last. Having said that, the change to waterproof paper with the 7th edition added a *substantial* amount of weight. While I carried the full databooks through the first 3 quarters, I disassembled the glued binding of the 7th edition and carried only the pages that I required for the final quarter. The 6th edition weighs 108 grams, while the 7th edition weighs over 210 grams. (I don't have that exact weight, as I'd already stripped off the glue binding.) Personally, I'd strongly recommend a return to the standard paper and the use of a ziplock bag to provide lightweight waterproof storage. The weight gain is my reason for dropping a other note - the water source references are very good. Sometimes there are other little adjacent streams in the zone of the one mentioned, but in general, they are quite accurate. The campsite areas are accurate as well, but they are not a comprehensive list, as plenty of other campsites exist besides those listed. That's not a detraction - there's no method you'd wish to list every campsite, as the book would be unnecessarily large. If you're worried about finding campsites easily, I recommend learning how to read a topo map and having one handy to support identify likely the way, if you haven't found it, the Guthook application for your phone will compliment this book by giving you access to comments from CT hikers, often providing timely data on whether the 'seasonal' water sources mentioned in the Databook are actually flowing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    The content of this book is top notch. Unfortunately, though, the book is published on heavy-duty water-resistant paper making it far too massive to wish to carry on the trail. [email protected]#$%! they had gone the opposite direction with lightweight paper one could simply shop in a ziplock bag in one's backpack.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    This is a amazing publication for use on the CT. While the Handbook is helpful, the Databook is needed reading and can be taken on the trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    I carried this for the the first eight segments I hiked late this summer. Very useful. Water information was good. Occasionally there are extra water sources not mentioned in the book but usually in locations that already have so much water, it’s kinda pointless to mention ALL of them. Only poor tip it gave is when it said there was camping above tree line before Kokomo pass. There’s not. I’d recommend using this along with the Guthooks app. (Guthooks will have latest comments from hikers to supplement.)Not sure the additional waterproof paper is worth the additional ounces but I never knew the difference since this is what I carried.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    I love this book. It's super simple to follow along with. I'm thankful it was published as it's a heavy support to every CT Hiker.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    An essential tool for taking on segments or thru hiking the Colorado TrailOr if you just wish to follow along as someone does it and you’ll have a better idea of what is being encounteredAnd for family/friends to support with resupply locations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Colorado Trail Databook (Colorado Mountain Club Pack Guide) []  2020-8-18 20:9

    Used Guthook’s application quite a bit more. Should have photographed the pages and left it at home. It’s kinda heavy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    Yes, he slacked packed few sections of the trail: BUT HE HIKED IT. . . and Jim Rahtz is quite right when he states the old backpacker's mantra: "Hike your own hike". I did have fun reading this book exactly for the same reasons that others disliked it: it is short, written in easy English, without poetic ramblings that disguise a miserable rainy and cold day. It is an honest and humble acc of the joys and trials of hiking a long distance trail. And the most joyous of all the achievements is that he did it in his own terms. I learned about gear choices, mileage and resupply points, --which is info that I will apply to my own Colorado Trail this summer 2016. Congratulationsn to Jim Rahtz.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    Jim Rahtz is an embarrassment to through hikers. He starts off walking the trail without a backpack having his brother pick him up after each section. Then he finds the easiest, laziest method to hike a section by having his brother take him to the highest point of the trail and hiking backwards. Jim is very amazing at complaining about how hard the trail is. He captivates the typical lazy American with the educational writing ability of a second n't waste your time buying this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    And entertaining look at one man's hike on the Colorado Trail. Does have some valuable info if you are looking for facts vs memoir

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    I really enjoyed this book, especially the author's self-deprecating sense of humor. Unlike the other reviewer who didn't seem to like the book, I am not a purist and have fun my time outdoors where I can reflect and appreciate what nature has to the author mentions - hike your own hike. I recommend this book as a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    I completely enjoyed spending an afternoon of amazing armchair hiking along the Colorado Trail with a guy who didn't take himself too seriously. I enjoyed the hints I can share with my husband who hikes. The days were enjoyable along the trail. Jim's easy language, down to earth. His not stumbling through the almost impossible task of describing "breathtaking" views in writing to anyone was a blessing that allowed me to do my own visualizing. Thank you Jim for a unbelievable day of armchair adventure hiking my own hike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    Very amazing read. Kept me interested all the way. My first book about hiking Colorado. On my to do list now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    This is an entertaining and informative book. Rahtz's narrative of his journey is done with a clear eye for detail as well as a sense of humor. The pictures are worth the and the information on equipment and preparation are a must read for any hikers contemplating the Colorado Trail.I'm looking forward to reading about the next journey!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    It was well written and entertaining. I just [email protected]#$%! was a longer book which is why I only gave 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    Related to a trail journal. Not too inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Achievable Epic: Thru-Hiking the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-12 18:52

    Very small information in the trail and very boring writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    I hesitate to write a review for this book as I know my easy Indiana girl words will not do justice to the lovely, poetic, and smart words of the Author Adam Lisonbee in Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail. Lisonbee takes us through his desire to attempt something so far out of his comfort zone, the planning, the execution and the finale of his Colorado Trail Race journey. I have read other writings of Lisonbee at so I knew I would be in for a treat with his lovely prose about nature and his experience with the race so I did not falter to this sonbee did not disappoint. He left me wishing I could have the fortitude to attempt such an awesome feat. Anyone who has participated in an endurance happening knows those moments of so much pain and self doubt that you wish it all to end right NOW. Adam experiences this a lot of times over a week and it is so entertaining to hear the various situations and people that hold him going just one more mile, one more switchback and one more pedal stroke.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    A really entertaining, quick-reading acc of a six-day bike race over the Colorado Trail, a 550-mile route from Durango to Denver. Lisonbee definitely stokes the desire to ride the CT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    A fun and fast read by an entertaining author. I was hoping to learn about how to prepare and what to bring and pack, maybe some more history of the race, how to stay safe and avoid injury, storms, etc. Instead the plot is focused on an internal psychological war of the author wanting to give up the whole time and go home, which gets old beautiful quick. I appreciate the author's writing style and candor but he needs to search some various plot lines to focus on. The author is very experienced with bike packing if you read is blog and the book could be expanded and improved if he would share some of that knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    I knew it was a short story, but I wanted to read more. Gives the reader a a amazing idea of what the race is like, although we all know that is nothing like actually participating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. if you're looking to obtain a little taste of what riding the CTR is all about, this is the book for you. Ride on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    I felt Like I was right there on the trail with the author. It was inspiring and fun to read. I just [email protected]#$%! had been longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    Adam's epic descriptions paint a excellent picture of suffering, hardship, beauty and accomplishment. It makes me wish to both do and not do something like this some day!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    I liked the method he wrote the book. Included his doubts and triumphs. Book could of had more info on the ride, bike and trail. Guess I wanted it to be a longer book. Recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    A very nice read. Maybe one day I could do this ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Durango to Denver: A Thru-race of the Colorado Trail []  2020-7-30 18:49

    I liked the book. I only [email protected]#$%! would of had maps of the routes they rode.I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail Explorer [App]  2019-1-26 13:37

    Works smoothly, appears well-made, and has dozens of info on the trails and amazing quality maps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail Explorer [App]  2019-1-26 13:37

    This application is AMAZING the small I've played with it. I'd like to be able to spin the map, and I'd like to see a "vertical feet" or elevation profile rather that a X' to X' elevation listing. however it being accurate and the distance tool is worthy of 5 stars. SO COOL!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail Explorer [App]  2019-1-26 13:37

    Please hold developing this! It is a much need to for motor vehicles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail Explorer [App]  2019-1-26 13:37

    There's no trails mapped East of Grand Junction and West of Edwards along the I70 corridor. I'm sorry this is a fresh application and eventually it will obtain mapped. I know there is hiking meat me, but I don't know how to search it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail Explorer [App]  2019-1-26 13:37

    Potentially game-changing. The Android device ver seems to not wish to allow me make an acc or link to my FB acc on my Samsung Galaxy s7. Likely won't use it until the weather breaks in a few months.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail Explorer [App]  2019-1-26 13:37

    From what I can tell, this is an amazingly amazing app. Would *love* the ability to find for coordinates and be able to drop a pin on those coordinates. Useful for sharing meeting locations, destinations, etc with family and friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail Explorer [App]  2019-1-26 13:37

    my mate and I used this yesterday on a short hike. we were on a time crunch, but the application kept track of where we were, so when the switchbacks never seemed to end, we were able to use the application to see how much farther we had to go. I like the badges feature, expecily the one for litter. it reminds me of pokemonGo. only problem is I can't search a Que or 'to do' list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Gold and Silver: Mining in Colorado, 1859-2009 (Timberline Books) []  2020-1-22 20:54

    Amazing book on the history of mining in Colorado

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Gold and Silver: Mining in Colorado, 1859-2009 (Timberline Books) []  2020-1-22 20:54

    WOW!This is a topic that is a passion of mine and I could not place this down. I will be ordering more of Duane's books soon. Thank's for the amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Gold and Silver: Mining in Colorado, 1859-2009 (Timberline Books) []  2020-1-22 20:54

    Wanted to read a book to obtain some historical perspective on Colorado mining. It did a amazing job of explaining the story and gave me a amazing idea of locations of interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Gold and Silver: Mining in Colorado, 1859-2009 (Timberline Books) []  2020-1-22 20:54

    One cannot drive through the Rocky Mountains of Colorado without noticing evidence of mining. On my latest trip, to Breckenridge over the holidays, this book caught my eye as a potential survey course on the mining that so often obtrudes upon the otherwise glorious Smith has been a professor at Fort Lewis College in Durango, Colorado since 1964. THE TRAIL OF GOLD AND SILVER is his fiftieth book! His specialties have been Colorado history and the history of mining. He also has created it a point in his career to write in an entertaining, non-academic fashion. Thus, this book had much to commend it to me.Unfortunately, it did not quite meet my expectations. First, more than ninety percent of the book is devoted to the mining of gold and silver - which, granted, is what the book's title before the colon signifies, though the part of the title after the colon ("Mining in Colorado, 1859-2009") had suggested to me that I might also learn about the mining for coal, uranium, molybdenum, etc., which have left even more scars on the Colorado landscape. Second, the text - while not academic in style - often reads like it is indeed the fiftieth book of an author who is used to churning them out. I can't say that the book is poorly written; it's just not distinguished at all. For my taste, the writing is often a small too folksy, there is too much detail about such matters as dollars produced per mine and mining district per year, there is an occasional inane comment, and at least one glaring instance of repetition. (Perhaps Smith had the support of students, who stitched together excerpts from earlier books of his.)Still, Smith does a amazing job of setting the history of precious metal mining in Colorado within the broader context of the history of the United States, his discussions of monetary policies and politics (such as what was behind William Jennings Bryan's "cross of gold" speech) are more lucid than some others that I have read, and he covers adequately the contentious and oft-violent relationship between miners and owners. Perhaps the greatest strength of the book is its wealth of anecdotal evidence of the "lethal" attraction of gold and a lawyer myself, I was amused by Smith's report that in the early days of Colorado mining, when each mining district formulated its own regulations in an exercise of grass roots democracy and where disputes were presented to panels of disinterested miners, lawyers were frowned upon. It was thought that they would have an unfair advantage over the typically unrepresented and uneducated miner. One mining district even legislated versus lawyers: "No practicing lawyer, or any other person having been admitted as such in any state or Territory, shall be permitted to appear in any case pending in the District, as attorney or agent of any person."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    I got this for a bonus for my nephew. I looked through it before sending and was very impressed with the quality of the product for the price. My sister said my nephew said it was his favorite gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    Amazing guide! I bought this to plan our family bike trip for the first seven segments. Since there are children involved, I am wish to know as much as I can to avoid "surprises". I have the application as well, definetely worth the money!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    Amazing informative book about the colorado trail. Well written and amazing illustrations, map and photos

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    If you plan to spend any length of time on the Colorado trail, THIS is the tutorial for you. A small massive to bring this huge book along for a thru-hike/bike, but amazing for trip planning or getting information on each section for day hikes. Having said that, obtain the data book and/or phone application for when you're on the trail. Satisfied trails!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    Love this book. If you plan to hike the CT, this book, and pick up a map, too. You'll wish to know the details. Combined with the Databook, these two books are fabulous references.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    Nice booklet, very thorough if your planning to hit this trail this booklet is highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    I got the kindle edition and had it on my latest CT hike. You don’t need this book. The data book gives you all the information you need. But , it was kinda a “nice to have”. It’s overly flowery language could be a small over the top but it’s small nuggets of information of the trail could be informative as you passed through. (I also got a small annoyed by its descriptions of “destructive” fires. Over the top and not super accurate.)I didn’t need it, but it’s detailed directions to trailheads is likely useful too. I would have also benefited from its different maps and charts but never could figure out how to magnify them on my kindle application so they all remained too frustratingly little to be of much use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    This is a comprehensive tutorial to the Colorado trail. He gives you mileage, hints and pictures of each part of the trail. He provides use to use maps to support picture the trails. The book helps you to plan your trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    Lots of amazing info, but theTrail Data book is far more useful, IMO.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorado Trail 9th Edition (Colorado Mountain Club Guidebooks) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    Really amazing book, is a amazing second to the Hiker bible of AWALL for the AT in matters of user friendly-ness. Tear out maps, amazing descriptions concerning water, campsites, weather, possible snow conditions, gear lists, trailheads, resupply towns, street crossings, and doesn't drag on about things you don't care about! HIKERS HIKE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trail Guide to Northern Colorado: Hiking & Skiing in Fort Collins, Poudre Canyon & North Park (The Pruett Series) []  2020-1-28 0:37

    I have hiked several of the trails described in the book and I agree with the author on ratings of the trails. The trail descriptions are well done and give you a very visual idea as to what you will experience on the trail. The directions to trails are beautiful straight forward, and the maps are beautiful amazing but a bit easy for my taste. The only true fault I have with the book is that there are no UTM or Latitude, Longitude information for the trailheads. Having this info would have created it simple to pull up my own research for the area. That one annoyance is the only reason I did not give it five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail [App]  2019-2-12 13:53

    It's a fun small android game where you collect, craft, and trade. Sort of like something to play when you need a relaxing android game that still has a challenge to it. I lost my old android game and 19.99 spent on it despite backing up. I'd like to see hero customization, being able to specifically repick a career, and not being forced to your papers or the backpack once you are gifted the favors. Maybe obtain married and have kids? More dog breeds? Bug fixes for the letters too. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail [App]  2019-2-12 13:53

    I have played this android game for over two years. I had to totally reset because I got a fresh phone which is totally absurd. All of my are gone as well. I restarted a fresh character, and I reached the eden falls city or whatever it's called. Now the android game started crashing, popping up weird windows, and now it won't even open. Screen just goes white and freezes my phone. Its not my phone being the problem either trust me. Please fix this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail [App]  2019-2-12 13:53

    Brilliant concept. I've an Amazon Fire and never had any 'glitches'. Got a house in a city now and love it. Just a shame that there arent more true people playing. It's very addictive and really hope the developers work on the communication aspects, particularly whilst on a trail. The very beauty of the android game is the interaction between players. It's just that our city has only 2 true people. Rest are 'Als? Edit: On third city now. Becoming disheartened as 19 other dwellers seem to have given up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail [App]  2019-2-12 13:53

    I loved this android game and got halfway through. A few months later, I got a fresh device and migrated my save. Strange thing is, a lot of my progress was undone. When I went back to check on my old phone, my progress was still saved until the prompt, "Save migrated. Restarting the game. " or something like that. Now a lot of my progress is gone and I've kinda lost motivation in the game.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386