Read the complete book of pasta and noodles reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the complete book of pasta and noodles reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    I really like how you obtain not only the instruction and recipes, but also are given the reasons why they are created that e dozens offered is unbelievable too, I found the book simple to follow and the results great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    Much like the other poor reviews of this book (I didn't read the reviews close enough BEFORE buying), this book has very small info on making e book focuses on the Italian noodles and associated sauces. I bought the book thinking "The Complete Book of Pasta and Sauces" with chapter titles of "Couscous", "Chinese Wheat Noodles", "Japanese Wheat Noodles", "Rice Noodles", "Cellophane Noodles", and "Soba Noodles" would describe how to create them. It does not. It only tells you how to take shop bought versions and combine with a e book focuses on sauces, and pairing pasta with the is the primary list of pasta in the book:'Chapter 3: New Egg Pasta (and variations): Spinach Pasta, New Herb Pasta, Buckwheat Pasta, Whole Wheat Pasta, Corn Pasta, Beet Pasta, Saffron Pasta, Tomato Pasta, Black Pepper Pasta' Chapter 4: New Pasta without Eggs: New Semolina Pasta, New Whole Wheat Pasta' Chapter 22 & 23 : Miscellaneous Baked New Pasta Dishes: Crespelle, Canneloni, Ravioli (i.e. new egg pasta wrapped around something)' Chapter 24: Gnocchi Gnocchi' Chapter 25: Spätzle SpätzleI have enjoyed a lot of other Cooks Illustrated books, but the title and description for this particular book is incorrect. If you are looking for pasta sauces, this book may be OK. If you (like me) are looking to create pasta other than egg pasta, this book is horrible. Even on the back cover, it claims "Step-by-step, easy-to-follow instruction on making new pasta and noodles, including gnocchi and couscous". The only 'recipe' I could search in the book for making couscous was to buy a premade-box of couscous and place into boiling water. This is not 'making couscous'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    I do not understand all the reviewers who call this text incomplete. Obviously they scanned it and did not actually READ this book. The authors included copious info about each pasta recipe, what kinds of sauces those particular pasta's go best with, and then filled the chapter with lots of recipes to go with those sauces. For example, chapter 15 (I opened the book to a random spot for this) discusses sauces with meat. The chapter introduces itself with a two page write up about meat sauces, which pastas go best with them AND WHY, along with what types of meats should go with those sauces. They then included hints on cooking the sauces properly. Following that very thorough introduction, the remainder of the chapter is recipes. 4 bolognese recipes, 5 rigatoni recipes,5 sausage sauce recipes, then a thorough column on how to create meatballs along with what appears to be a very amazing meatball recipe. Then there is another thorough column on ribs/chops, along with 5 appropriate recipes. Oh, and the book literally has HUNDREDS of recipes. How is that incomplete? Who needs more than that for pasta?The whole book is thorough like that. The introductory chapters are thorough with the basics, including pasta recipes, the best method to prepare garlic, a nice write up regarding olive oil, things you can skip and things you should never hack on. They cover cheeses, which ones are best with which pastas, meats and sauces and even fully explains butter in a method I've never seen. I grew up on a farm where we created butter almost every day. Trust me when I say, I know a lot about butter. My mother was a pastry chef and a professional cook for years. So I already knew a LOT of the items in this book, yet I learn something fresh every time I pick it up. We now eat pasta about 3 times a week in my house and my kids are thrilled with everything we've tried so far from this book. I highly recommend the recipe for the Fettuccine with Prosciutto and Cream but my family loves Pecorino Romano so we subbed that for the Parmesan the recipe calls for. Very delicious dish. My kids loved it.I don't know how a lot of various flavors of pasta are available at your stores, but there are less than 5 at any shop local to me. The book has 12 various recipes for pasta. That is just the noodles themselves. How a lot of various ways could you think of assembling flour and a liquid to create noodles? Now that has nothing to do with how you shape the noodles. That's just the pasta recipes. There's an entire chapter dedicated to types of noodles (not flavors, not recipes, just the various kinds of noodles, like gnocci, spaetzle, fettuccine, rigatoni, etc. LOTS.) It then tells you how to shape a lot of of these (the ones that can be done without an extruder.) Someone posted in their review that this text only talks about using dried noodles. I can't fathom where that idea came from. They thoroughly discuss using dried vs. new and adamantly prefer new for MOST of the recipes in the book. The also discuss egg noodles versus egg-less noodles. My family prefers the body of a homemade egg noodle so we only use those kind for all the recipes but they tell you when to use each. They don't tell you at each individual recipe. They do assume that you can read and remember from one page to the next that at the beginning of the chapter, they told you which noodles to use for what. When in doubt, READ. I think a lot of people treat this book like an ordinary cookbook instead of the valuable tool it really is. If you ONLY wish a book full of recipes, this is not the book for you. If you really wish a complete book on noodles and pasta, this is definitely the book for you. If there is any flavor combination not included here as a specific recipe, you will be well armed to make it yourself after reading this book. You will KNOW what to assemble together and what NOT to assemble. You will be able to create the best pasta ever, every single night if you want and never eat the same dish twice. If you feel comfortable in the kitchen, begin playing with the recipes. You will quickly find, if you follow the tip in the text, you will never go wrong. Don't combine things they say not to combine, blend flavors they say go together and you can create ANY pasta dish you like and they will always taste wonderful. This text is outstanding!If you must force me to give it a "con" then it would be the same as any other paperback cookbook. Every time I opened it to cook from it, the book kept wanting to close. I want all cookbooks came in a spiral binding or a 3-5 ring option. Standard hard cover and standard paperback cookbooks are not really "cook friendly." I might eventually take it to kinko's or somewhere for a giant hole punch! I'm willing to take it apart to create it easier to work with. Trust me, it will be your fresh best mate in the kitchen. If you don't have a pasta roller, obtain one. You will never look back. They are not that expensive. I bought the Atlas. You can buy what you wish and spend anywhere from $25 to $300 on a easy pasta roller. I'm happy as punch with a sturdy Atlas. Combined with this book, it is always out in my kitchen!!!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the complete book of pasta and noodles or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    It's a Cook's Illustrated book and between Cook's and ATK you can't go wrong. I love my simple quick and easy Fettuccine recipe.I want I lived in the Boston zone I would volunteer in there kitchen I love watching and reading why and how things really work in a recipe. I still tweet my recipes because I HATE rosemary but when they have a fresh book out everyone knows to check my book list for bonus ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    At nearly 500 pages, this is as much a pasta bible as it is a r the novice or expert, you'll learn a lot. There aren't just cooking steps throughout the book, but illustrated tutorials to teach you to cook. For example, by a recipe that uses avocado, there is an illustrated page on how to remove the flesh from an avocado simply and easily. Sure you may know some of these techniques, but there are so a lot of amazing ones, even expert cooks will learn something new.But don't obtain me wrong, this isn't just a book on techniques, it just makes the cookbook portion more complete.And it teaches you fresh ways of doing things you may never have considered, such as how to create pasta dough in a meal re you can use each recipe with store-bought pasta, but if you choose to spend a lazy Sunday making a gourmet pasta food literally from scratch, this will walk you through how to create the pasta and homemade sauces as well and give you a varietyof ways in order to work with what you have on n't think you'll limit yourself to all Italian dishes either. This huge book will temp your tastebuds with all things noodles...from easy Italian to gourmet Italian to French to Pad Thai and beyond.Whether you are a vegetarian or meat lover, this is so full of recipes, you'll search more in here of what you desire than one full cookbook of it hold in mind, at 500 or so pages, if you added images this would be the size of a whole bookshelf. It would simply be impossible for this a lot of recipes. It does provide illustrations meaning that if you need to learn how to roll out dough or form an gnocchi, it shows you, but there are no pictures. If you are in need of that, you should be aware going ere are 13 chapters on sauces alone so whatever pastas you decide to create or buy, you really have unlimited dishes with that a lot of sauce options to play e book thought of everything...even the best method of boiling the water, or how to hold your herbs fresh, to create you the noodle e dough recipes are perfect. I've had such problem with other cookbooks rendering dough either too dry or wet, but these are obviously well tested.With unusual dishes that are amazing such as Asparagus and Gruyere Lasagna (side or main dish) to easy such as Spinach and Ricotta Gnocchi or baked mac and cheese to how to create homemade ravioli with loads of fillings (This is fun at a dinner party to serve 3 kinds of ravioli and 3 sauces) to Stir Fried Chinese noodles with Beef and akes in Hoisin sauce and hundreds of more in between, each recipe tutorials you through anything you may need to learn with illustrations. This makes you an expert and does not assume you know any techniques yet even a chef will learn some fresh tricks and I like that.If you already know a technique, you just ignore the block beside the recipe...it doesn't take up any zone within the recipe so it wastes no time, but is there if could eat a fresh dish nightly from this cookbook for years and never eat the same thing twice with this a lot of recipes and ways to mix and match the sauces or just stick to the recipes that tell you how to create the sauce for that particular [email protected]#$%!& simply is a wealth of pasta knowledge and what to do with pasta to hold it exciting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    The folks at cooks illustrated hold recycling the recipes. I don’t see anything worth buying this book for in addition to other pasta books. Their recipes tend to be extremely lengthy with 10 various bowls. Who needs that?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    `The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles' by the Editors of `Cooks Illustrated' Magazine is one of those books whose outstanding value is obvious almost immediately upon opening to the Table of Contents. This was surprising to me, as this is not the case with most other `Cooks Illustrated' books. There is just something about the meeting of this topic with the classic `Cooks Illustrated' approach to things which comes up a e first positive impression is the perfect organization of the chapters into various types of pastas, noodles, and sauces for same. While there are a lot of perfect books about on pasta dishes, most especially `The Top100 Best Pasta Sauces' by Diane Seed and just about any book by Marcella Hazan, Lidia Bastianich, or Ruth Rodgers and Rose Gray of London's River Café, this `Cooks Illustrated' volume organizes our thinking about the sauces to create us all much better at improvising our own pasta sauces. It divides pasta sauces into:Olive Oil based sauces, both cooked and sto and other pureed sauces.Butter and Cheese sauces, such as spaghetti alla CarbonaraCream Sauces, such as Fettuccine AlfredoSauces with Bread CrumbsCooked Sauces with New TomatoesCanned Tomato Sauces, such as Pasta Puttanesca and Vodka Cream sauceSauces with Vegetables, such as `cabbage and noodles' and `pasta Primavera'Sauces with Beans and LentilsSauces with Meat, such as the classic Bolognese sauceSauces with Seafood, such as clam and other shellfish Seed's book and virtually any other book on pasta and noodles, the topic really is pasta and noodle dishes, although this volume, real to its title, gives as much about actually making a wide dozens of pastas. It also covers just about every conceivable form of noodle, including the German spatzle, the North African couscous, gnocchis (the bridge between the Italian and the German forms of dumpling), Japanese noodles (soba, somen, ramen, and udon) and Chinese noodles, especially rice and cellophane e book can easily be forgiven for spending more time on the Italian noodle than on any other subject, as this is the basic interest of most English speaking readers. To this end, the book contains excellently detailed guides on making new pastas, with and without egg, with vegetable and herb additions, spatzle, and several varieties of gnocchi. It does not, however, teach us how to create couscous or any of the oriental noodle types, which is fine with me, as I believe they are techniques which require far more practice and patience than the classic Italian or German noodle.I love a cookbook that sheds fresh light on a dish I've created a dozen times and consider `my own'. This is what happens here when I read the material on combining cabbage and noodles in a [email protected]#$%!& reminds me of how to best chop the cabbage, but it significantly adds to my knowledge of how to braise the cabbage and combine it with the noodles at just the right time.`Cooks Illustrated' tends to squeeze a lot of the `joie de vivre' out of cooking in their articles by starting off with a clean slate, as if no one had ever created the dish they are discussing in an article. Cooking is one of those crafts where centuries of practice have beautiful much arrived at the best method to do most things without loading us up with all the paraphernalia of experimental science. But, with this subject, proper respect is given to tradition, and to the recommendations of such culinary sages as Paula Wolfert on couscous and Marcella Hazan on eir finest contributions are the sidebarred guides on everything from preparing artichokes to opening clams. This makes the book superb for the novices who happen to have fun experimenting with their own variations of pasta dishes.I must also mention that as a trade paperback, this manual of riches lists for less than $20, about half the cost of a book of recipes from an A-List culinary writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    When ever I see the word complete in a title I'm suspicious. This cookbook is not "complete" nor could any cookbook ever be. Don't worry about it as it is still an perfect cookbook. I've been making pasta for well over 30 years and have for the most part perfected recipes that I like. I was please to see several of them repeated in this book. I noticed in some of the reviews the reviewer was critical of there only being a few pasta recipes and the rest were sauces. The truth is that making pasta is simple. There are only a few ingredients in the primary dough. Anything else just is an add on. If I were to recommend a book for someone who's never created pasta, this would be the one. It's well written and illustrated. The recipes are easy and they work. They present you how to create pasta by hand as well as with a machine. The sauces are varied and a person can eat a various dish every day for quite a long time. The most necessary aspect of this book is that it teaches how to create pasta and not just how to blindly follow a recipe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    I used a recipe from this book to create a baked rigatoni dish with tomato and mushroom sauce (pg 292) with 11/2 cups of bec'hamel sauce added and it was the most unbelievable pasta dish I have ever made. But I also used new created pasta for the rigatoni. I will obtain a lot of use out of this cookbook. It has amazing hints and recipes to go with your pasta.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles: A Cookbook []  2020-2-1 14:0

    Would like more information on the job of noodle making and storing etc. itself but a amazing book otherwise. If you wish just noodle and pasta making then this might not be for you. A book that did that and ordered at the same time as this book was never went through. After back ordering for 2 months they finally cancelled the order. No longer published and often hard to track down but it covered commercial noodle making too. So really wanted that one...this one however has some nice recipes on how to use those noodles once you master them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    This book has a lot of of the authentic recipes that our mothers and grand-mothers cooked for us. It preserves the tradition of noodle, dumplings and a lot of other home recipes. This one is a keeper!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    Florence Lin's recipes look simple to make. I haven't had a possibility to test the noodle recipes yet. The pictures are okay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    This is a unbelievable resource on Chinese noodles and dumplings. So glad I bought this because it was hard to search (it is currently out-of-print). Recipes on how to create spring rolls, dumplings, pancakes, breads, steamed and baked buns, noodle dishes and fritters from scratch. Included are necessary chapters on doughs created from wheat flour, rice flour, beans and other starches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    Awesome book loaded of essential information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    I learned a lotthe instruction to prepare the meal is goodI think the price was too high

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    Directions are simple to follow with helpful tips and explanations along the way. This is my favorite out of Florence's bins

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    this is the kind of book people used to write before the need for foodstyling and the triumph of style over content. Amazing stuff, full of useful things. I feel so lucky I could still search a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    This book is out of print, but I was able to search it on Amazon. Noodles and buns aren't typically in most Chinese cookbooks. This book has some of the things I missed from Taiwan. A must buy if you love Chinese food!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    EXCELLENT BOOK. Arrived as promised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence Lin's Complete Book of Chinese Noodles, Dumplings and Breads []  2020-10-8 19:31

    this book taught me a lot of things that was useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home (Artisan Cooking and Baking Book 2) []  2020-12-9 19:55

    Amazing information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home (Artisan Cooking and Baking Book 2) []  2020-12-9 19:55

    Amazing read, loads of info and fast shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home (Artisan Cooking and Baking Book 2) []  2020-12-9 19:55

    This book is full of pasta shapes and fillings that I never would have tried without the recipes and directions described in it. The images are attractive and attractive, they just invite you to test the recipes. I have created tortellini with a fabulous filling recipe and it was very delicious. Test these tortellini.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home (Artisan Cooking and Baking Book 2) []  2020-12-9 19:55

    Amazing book when trying to master your pasta ;one how simple it is to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home (Artisan Cooking and Baking Book 2) []  2020-12-9 19:55

    ''The Artisan Pasta Cookbook'' is just excellent for me!I love pasta!It was very informative to learn how to create pasta myself without being a chef. 60 traditional and modern pasta recipes delighted me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home (Artisan Cooking and Baking Book 2) []  2020-12-9 19:55

    This is a unbelievable pasta, noddles etc recipes book. Always I'm afraid but this give me a complete tutorial that's i can create easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home (Artisan Cooking and Baking Book 2) []  2020-12-9 19:55

    I have never thought spaghetti or bucatini can be easily created at home! All you need is just extruder machine or something like this. It makes mecookmore new homemade spaghetti with my fresh favorite recipe from this book. This spaghetti with bonito butter and claims is amazing! 10 out of 10!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home (Artisan Cooking and Baking Book 2) []  2020-12-9 19:55

    I read about this book in the newspaper and gave it a shot (it was cheap so why not). Wow, I'm super impressed with how simple the recipes look. Very delicious photography too. I cannot wait to cook through all the lasagnas and baked pastas too

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    I recently took a three-series class on pasta making, and the culinary teacher recommended this book. We created pasta from the pasta mix recipe in this book, and it had a attractive texture. We created the two-egg pasta dough, and created the spinach pasta recipe. It was absolutely delicious, and I loved the texture of the pasta. I had to own my own copy, but Amazon was sold out of the book version. Patience isn't my greatest virtue, so I downloaded the kindle version. Thankfully, the kindle ver is perfect. I need to read this book, for a second time, from cover to cover. I absolutely love all the valuable tips, and the step-by-step photos. I own a pasta maker, and all kinds of tools for pasta making (I'm a kitchen gadget addict). We created ravioli, using a mold, and this book gave me a couple of additional hints that I plan to use, in the future. I wondered if using my stand mixer would work as well, and this book answered that one, too. The author shows various methods of making pasta-- by hand, mixer and even meal processor. Terrific! Making colourful dough (I learned to create laminated dough, for beautifully colourful and striped ravioli) is a lot of fun. This book gives me even more ideas. I wish to obtain the hang of making tortellini, and this book showed me how in a method that I can follow. I'm intrigued by the chocolate pasta dough. I'm on the fence, wrapping my head around that concept, but maybe I'll give that a go when I'm feeling daring enough. I've always wanted to create laminated herb pasta, and there's a chapter on that. Squeeeeeeee! The book focuses, primarily on pastas-- and not necessarily only from Italy. Greece, Poland and Germany, Asia are also ere's aren't a LOT of sauce recipes, but I'm fine with that. If you're wanting to learn pasta making techniques, this is a unbelievable resource, with attractive photos. This book is well worth the investment. I'll be getting my cash and pasta's worth out of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    Recently I treated myself to the pasta attachments to my mixer. Decided to create a kit to go with my atlas machine as my grand family are starting to learn meal preparation. I have found that homemade noodles elevate inexpensive dishes to entertaining worthy meals. After reviewing a number of books, I decided this one fits the bill to obtain someone started. It describes the process in simple detail with supporting photos. She goes into the easy ingredients and talks about the differences in using various choices. She follows with common recipes and shows how to create gnocci, ravioli, pierogi, dumplings and more. Once you learn the primary principles you will wish to tweak her recipes as there are so a lot of available on the web, but her clear directions and images will give you the basics and give you confident in the process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

     I have a lot of cookbooks, anymore it takes a beautiful unique cookbook to obtain my heart thumping and inspires me to immediately take it in the kitchen and obtain to cooking. Making Artisan Pasta is just such a book. I have other pasta books, such as the joy of pasta, and usually they are maybe 25% actual pasta recipes, and the rest is sauce or soup or casseroles using the pasta. There is nothing wrong with that, but Making Artisan Pasta is a book about the pasta, about what ingredients to use, how to use them, how to create the pasta, form the pasta, and dozens and dozens of ideas and hints on making awesome e pictures are simply inspirational. From step by step images of how to accomplish making the pasta, to attractive and inspiring finished products. This book could be intimidating, working with dough and different ingredients and appliances and gadgets, making various shapes. But it's totally not, Aliza Green writes clear easy instructions that would create the most dough-frightened person feel enabled to create luscious pasta. Between her clear instructions and tips, and Steve Legato's amazingly clear instructional photos, this is a book to really give a person confidence and a can-do ere are some pastas that simply call for unique gadgets to create them, it's the nature of the pasta, but if you don't wish to spend a penny on fresh fun equipment there are still plenty of pasta recipes you can easily make. The author gives several techniques on how to create pasta. She gives three ways of mixing (hand, stand mixer, meal processor) and various ways to roll out the pasta- rolling pin, sheeter (hand cranked pasta machine) and the extruders. Through out the entire book there are variations so if you wish to create ravioli you can buy a really cool ravioli pan thing, or she shows you how to simply place the filling on the bottom sheet and place the second sheet over and chop out the e pasta I created was simple to work with and tasted delicious. I started simple, but can't wait to obtain into the variations like green pasta, or the one with the parsley leaves pressed in between the e book covers primary pastas, stuffed pasta, dumplings, pot stickers, gnocchi, pastas I haven't even heard of but can't wait to try! This is honestly a book that has me excited to obtain in the kitchen and begin making pasta.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    I tried making pasta at home a lot of years ago, but my experiments in pasta making resulted in going back to buying the old standards in the grocery store. I recently tried my hand at making crackers, and of all things, turns out that a pasta roller is a go to piece of equipment for crackers! Long story short, I bought a pasta roller (hand cranked manual version) and wanted to test pasta making this book and I am in business! The book is a very amazing primer on technique, and the "science" behind which flours to use and why. I discovered early into the book several errors that I was making in those long ago pasta making efforts. It is clearly easier using a pasta sheet roller as well.I have now created linguini, lasagna and several various types of ravioli. All turned out beautifully. Not a failure amongst them! I am quite satisfied with my fresh culinary hobby and can attest that this book was why. It is really not hard at all to create attractive and tasty pasta at home, and a amazing bit less expensive than buying "fresh" pasta at the grocery. All it takes is amazing instruction, and some amazing recipes to begin off with. That is what this book the book! Begin making your own pasta creations! And ... enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    As a classically trained chef, there is nothing that brings me greater joy when in the kitchen than cooking from scratch, especially when baking new bread and making new pasta. Working with, kneading, and shaping dough is an art form onto itself and this book gives you plenty opportunity to do so, if you are willing to dive in.I bought this book four years ago as a back up to some new pasta recipes I had made on my own. As special as the person who creates it, making new pasta is an imprint of the individual, since it allows you to be as adventurous and creative as your culinary imagination will allow. In attractive and still vibrant photography, this book showcases the basics of pasta making, while in conjunction opening the window to experimentation, to add exotic and alternate ingredients to manipulate pasta shapes, colors, and sizes.I have tweaked a couple of the author's formulas for my own needs and preferences but I especially like her beginning pasta flour mix, as it allows for powerful flavor and a pleasant texture when cooked al dente. Amateur home cooks will obtain amazing use out of the thorough and friendly instructions and illustrations, while seasoned professional chefs will explore fresh and exciting combination of ingredients and techniques to make fresh plate combinations.With that said, I recommend this book - simply be sure to have primary tools and ingredients such as a manual or automatic pasta machine, a ravioli stamp, powerful flour or combination of flour, amazing quality eggs, nimble hands and fingers, a sharp chef's knife, and an begin mind. With all seven of these things, your pasta making fun & adventure will be endless.TIP: If you are an amateur home cook or if you are making new pasta for the very first time, do not skip the opening chapters which discover the basics of pasta making, techniques of handing pasta dough, and the types of flour and other ingredients. This portion of the book is crucial in painting a thorough lesson that will alleviate mistakes and maximize successful results. Satisfied Cooking!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    I really have fun cooking but have limited time to excellent the craft. When I do obtain time, I test to create various dishes from scratch. This is absolutely my go-to pasta book and what got me to test making pasta from scratch. This book provides various techniques and flavor combinations for the same recipes. The various techniques vary based on equipment. Not everyone. Wants to go out any buy expensive mixers and pasta rollers. This book contains the technique using a bowl, rolling pin and knife. The mixer and rollers makes it easier but this book also shows how you can do it with just a bit of elbow is book has amazing step by step instructions with pictures to boot. This makes it very valuable for people fresh to pasta making. In addition, it gives a lot of various flavor combinations for the same pastas. Spinach, asparagus , beet, also covers all types of pasta as the title amply explains so it contains instructions from primary pasta to more advanced stuff such as the stuffed pasta and dumplings. It is a amazing all around resource and I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    I recently got a pasta roller, and was incredibly excited to begin making my own pastas so I picked up this book for dough recipes, various types of pasta, and hints on proper technique. One of the things I was most excited about was the pot sticker recipe, advertised in the description, on the back of the book, and referenced in other reviews. So when the book came in, I read through it. Every single recipe in the book calls for homemade dough . . . except for the pot stickers. Those call for strorebought gyoza skins. This should probably be a minor quibble, but in a book literally called "Making Artisan Pasta", a book that touts the merits of making pasta by hand over buying it, I kind of assumed there would not be any recipes that had you buy the pasta. It's strange, and to me is a sign that the author is not well-versed in that particular subject. The book would be better off without the pot sticker recipe at all, or with a recipe for handmade e does constantly refer to previous recipes - after the recipe for roasted red pepper dough, there are ten dough recipes immediately following that basically consist of puree/boil/cook/mix the coloring/flavoring agent, then follow the instructions for the roasted red pepper dough (for most of the recipes, begin at step 2 of the red pepper dough. For the squid ink dough, ignore the instruction to return to the red pepper dough, and roll out according to the rolling instructions. The chocolate and lemon pepper doughs begin on step 3). The ingredients for the Serbian Pelmeni, which immediately follows the Turkish Manti, consist of 1 batch manti dough, 1 batch manti filling, and melted butter for n't expect to search any extruded pasta - spaghetti, penne, rigatoni, macaroni elbows, fusili, etc. The author states point-blank that she does not like the 'homogenized texture' of home extruded pastas, so the book doesn't deal with them at all. A number of pastas are extremely specialized, like the coin shaped pasta created using a mold only produced by a few modern woodcarvers in Genoa, or the Greek pasta that's grated into pasta breadcrumbs. The number of specialized, single-use tools in this book is staggering.I do like the book in general, but it has its problems. Still, I found it very inspirational, and the dough recipes and ideas for pasta shapes are all quite lovely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    I bought this book as a curiosity awhile back and just briefly looked through it hoping it would contain pasta with alternative flours. It doesn't, BUT now I have gotten to read the entire book and am impressed at how much can be done with a few easy ingredients. Noodles are my absolute favorite comfort meal and the authors have included instructions for a lot of of my favorites from a lot of various countries, including ramen and other famous Japanese noodles; pierogi like my grandmother used to make; Turkish manti; herbs pressed into the pasta, etc. There is everything, and I mean everything you wish to know about pasta. And, something that is necessary to me, there are colourful pictures of the process of making each one and the end results. This is not a recipe book. It is a pasta and noodle making book with recipe suggestions as to what flavors would go well with the pasta ingredients. I am going to order a hard copy ver of this book for my library so I can easily go to the tabbed pages. By the way, I AM gluten sensitive, so I intend to use the "recipes" as samples to experiment with other flours such as Einkorn and chickpea flours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    I dove right in the deep end: making pasta using only a bowl, rolling-pin, and knife. (Why? Because I recently had everything I own stolen.) Ms. Green's instructions worked perfectly, and I had a blast doing it. I'll post photos that I have an Atlas pasta roller again, I'm all over these recipes like a cheap suit. No more store-bought wonton wrappers for me! The flavoured pastas are brilliant, and the utterly-gorgeous laminated parsley sheets are a show-stopper. I adjust amounts of semolina vs. Caputo "00" flour to give exactly the texture I want. Hand-formed udon in miso soup is ... re about the laminated parsley: It took me four 1/4 lb balls and about 20 mins total to nail it (see user photos). The main thing is to completely trim the stalks off, or the sheets will tear. It's fun to experiment doing the laminating while still a couple thickness away from what you want: the leaves become enormous and abstract. Next time: edible ur stars only because her recipes constantly refer to other recipes, which is usually just inconvenient, but can be disastrous. Making spinach pasta? After blending the spinach with the eggs, you're told to follow the rest of the directions for red pepper pasta, but THOSE tell you to reduce the liquid on the stovetop. When the liquid started rising rather than reducing, my brain kicked in and I realized I was making a nice-looking spinach souffle. And yet the book had given me the confidence to just throw in another egg and create (excellent) spinach souffle pasta dough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Artisan Pasta: How to Make a World of Handmade Noodles, Stuffed Pasta, Dumplings, and More []  2020-10-23 19:12

    You only need one pasta book and this is it. I have several books on pasta, but this one is far and away the best. The instructions are simple, the font is huge enough to read and the images will create you salivate. There is a short history on the background of each pasta type and the most traditional uses. There is creativity and uniqueness here that I've seen in no other cookbook. And it's all so approachable and unpretentious. Everything I've created comes out perfectly, so the recipes work. And they're delicious! Buckwheat Pizzoccheri is a favorite, as is the squash flavored Caramelle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Noodles: More Than 90 Recipes for Pasta and Noodle Dishes from Around the World []  2020-12-5 19:53

    I was really surprised by how amazing this book is. It is veried and comprehensive. The recipes are well thought out and delicious.I highly recommend.I eat a lot of noodles and pasta so I am VERY particular. I find out pasta dishes at restaurants and own about 20 noodle cookbooks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Noodles: More Than 90 Recipes for Pasta and Noodle Dishes from Around the World []  2020-12-5 19:53

    The recipes are amazing and simple and the images are a nice addition to each recipe. The price was very reasonable.I bought a copy for myself and one as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Noodles: More Than 90 Recipes for Pasta and Noodle Dishes from Around the World []  2020-12-5 19:53

    If you're looking for a cookbook with recipes for Asian noodles, don't buy this one. It's more of a pasta cookbook. It'll be returned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home []  2021-1-9 19:50

    I’m already have a lot of books about pasta, and this one became a amazing addition to my collection. It gives me a lot of new recipes which I’ve never tried before, and they are amazing! When you buy it (and you should buy it) test some ravioli and pappardelle recipes–amazing taste and flavor!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home []  2021-1-9 19:50

    This book is full of pasta shapes and fillings that I never would have tried without the recipes and directions described in it. The images are attractive and attractive, they just invite you to test the recipes. I have created tortellini with a fabulous filling recipe and it was very delicious. Test these tortellini.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home []  2021-1-9 19:50

    I have never thought spaghetti or bucatini can be easily created at home! All you need is just extruder machine or something like this. It makes mecookmore new homemade spaghetti with my fresh favorite recipe from this book. This spaghetti with bonito butter and claims is amazing! 10 out of 10!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home []  2021-1-9 19:50

    Amazing book when trying to master your pasta ;one how simple it is to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home []  2021-1-9 19:50

    Amazing read, loads of info and fast shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home []  2021-1-9 19:50

    I read about this book in the newspaper and gave it a shot (it was cheap so why not). Wow, I'm super impressed with how simple the recipes look. Very delicious photography too. I cannot wait to cook through all the lasagnas and baked pastas too

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home []  2021-1-9 19:50

    This is a unbelievable pasta, noddles etc recipes book. Always I'm afraid but this give me a complete tutorial that's i can create easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Artisan Pasta Cookbook: The Step by Step Guide with Flavorful Recipes for Mastering Handmade Pasta, Noodles, Gnocchi and Risotto at Home []  2021-1-9 19:50

    ''The Artisan Pasta Cookbook'' is just excellent for me!I love pasta!It was very informative to learn how to create pasta myself without being a chef. 60 traditional and modern pasta recipes delighted me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Authentic Pasta Book []  2020-2-1 14:0

    Recently been experimenting with making pastas. Have KitchenAid will multiple cutting attachments. This book is all about regional styles of pastas, and the sauces that accompany them. Valuable for non Italy travelers or residents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Authentic Pasta Book []  2020-2-1 14:0

    Amazing book even if you're not a cook. Recommended by a chef who has a collection of thousands of cookbooks. I was not disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Authentic Pasta Book []  2020-2-1 14:0

    I like this book because it provides primary instructions for different delicious pasta dishes. I have been able to prepare dinners that taste as amazing or better than dinners I've had from amazing restaurants in NYC. The needed ingredients are not complicated, but the combination and way of preparing the dishes makes all the difference. I need dishes which can be prepared fairly quickly and these recipes create that possible (unless of course you wish to create your own actual pasta noodles!).Buon appetito!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Authentic Pasta Book []  2020-2-1 14:0

    This is an perfect book. Mr. Plotkin is one of the all time greats in the globe of Opera! He also knows how to write a amazing cookbook!We use it all the time and plan on finding some more and giving them as bonuses for the holidays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Authentic Pasta Book []  2020-2-1 14:0

    I purchased this book in paperback form nearly a quarter century ago and have used it ever since. There are several recipes I hold returning to. For those who have fun pasta, this is a delightful book with a unbelievable history. Fred collected a lot of of these recipes from opera stars with whom he has worked over the years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Authentic Pasta Book []  2020-2-1 14:0

    I bought this book years ago when I bought my pasta machine (Atlas hand powered roller and cutter) The few things I have tried were great, but they took a small time to make.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    This is an awesome cookbook. Vetri's approach addresses both the art and the science of pasta, and he gives lots of options for pasta dough, pasta shapes, and sauces. Before I bought the book, I read criticisms of some of his recipes (9 egg yolks in one recipe, for example), but I appreciate knowing how I can create luxurious pasta dishes as well as daily family suppers--and everything in between. The book is also very beautiful, with an smart layout, lovely photos and a clear and friendly writing style. It's a small like having a really experienced chef right beside you. I don't eat meat or poultry, so a lot of of the sauce recipes need to be modified considerably for my family's use; hence the 4-star rating rather than 5 stars. But I agree with the reviewers who said this book is a must for the home cook who wants to obtain serious about making pasta from scratch. My family is delighted with what I'm learning from Marc Vetri!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    Tag Vetri is a talented professional chef. I am an advanced home cook. But when Mario Batali opined that this was 'the single most necessary book on handmade pasta I have ever read' and Jamie Oliver concluded 'Everyone needs a copy of this book on their shelves', I created the purchase. Okay...I've been making pasta at home for thirty years, I've attended a pasta class in Italy and I have owned and used 'Beard on Pasta' and 'The Essentials of Italian Cuisine' by Marcella Hazan for years. I am motivated to learn about pasta. But...what I expected from the promo for this book and what I found between the covers was disappointing. Bottom line: this book is a chef speaking to chefs. The fine first chapters on flours and making new and dried pasta dough will serve all-comers well, whether you are a beginner or are advanced. Unfortunately, that beginning gives method to a set of recipes that would challenge the home cook's pantry: 'Talleggio (that's a cheese) Ravioli with Radicchio, Honey and Walnuts,' 'Pea Agnolotti with Lardo,' 'Fig and Onion Caramella with Gorgonzola Fonduta...' Doppio Ravioli with Lamb and Polenta takes a lot of steps and a amazing bit of time to prepare--assuming you have lamb and polenta on hand. Other enticing recipes call for foie gras terrine, octopus, scorpion fish, morel mushrooms, peekytoe crab--you obtain the idea. For sure, the book has attractive pictures, is written intelligently and can provide 'inspiration'...but my inspiration was to search a high-end Italian restaurant and create a reservation!So...does this book 'reinvent the wheel' as far as most of us are concerned? Purists may cringe when James Beard--responding to what his reader's pantries would have on hand, says 'all-purpose flour' works best in America. I order a well-known Italian-milled Doppio Zero by mail order...but Beard is not wrong. I began by using unbleached all-purpose flour in my noodles. (He also contains recipes using pasta flour blends of white and whole wheat, buckwheat...even yeasted noodles courtesy of Barbra Kafka. Here is also where I learned about gnocchi. But, maybe you wish a recipe for Kreplach. Beard has it. Marcella offers a 115 page section devoted to pasta and sauces in 'Essentials': she is concise about explaining the use of doppio zero, semolina and other flours before also saying that she prefers to use unbleached all purpose flour for making pasta in America...even if she has other options. She provides fine instruction on mixing, rolling and shaping dough into pasta forms. She speaks to the importance of bronze dies on extruding machines, just as Chef Vetri does. Her sauces contain the time-honoured, lip-smacking classics--and that makes all the difference in usability at home. These books will better serve beginning and advanced home chefs. But maybe readers are looking for recipes on the somewhat unrelated topic of risotto? Marcella's 17 pages of recipes will do for most of us. Both of these books would 'push Mr. Vetri's book off the shelf' in home kitchens...which is some various than concluding that everyone needs to have this book on their shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    On page 10 the author makes an outright false statement about wheat -- that some flavorful wheats not suited for huge scale industrial bread bakeries were "too nutritious for our commodity wheat markets." That's an absurd statement which doesn't follow at all from the info he provides before. There are a lot of reasons why some wheats cannot be used in industrial bakeries. Some of the resultant doughs cannot be handled by industrial baking equipment. Most are grown in miniscule quantities and yield far less per acre than other wheats. High nutrition is never a reason why these wheats are not used on a huge scale. After this erroneous statement earlier in the book, everything that comes after seems questionable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    Over 200 Italian cookbooks in my collection. Have cooked for years from Marcella and a lot of others. First few recipes out of this book are method brilliant. This is very high end Italian without compromise. Bolognese is the best I have ever tasted and better than Marcella's. Mushroom Risotto is amazing. Those two recipes alone are worth owning this book before we even obtain into the other aspects. I have all Vetri books and he is very serious Italian chef writing serious Italian cookbooks. At their best, sublime recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Tag Vetri is a talented professional chef. I am an advanced home cook. But when Mario Batali opined that this was 'the single most necessary book on handmade pasta I have ever read' and Jamie Oliver concluded 'Everyone needs a copy of this book on their shelves', I created the purchase. Okay...I've been making pasta at home for thirty years, I've attended a pasta class in Italy and I have owned and used 'Beard on Pasta' and 'The Essentials of Italian Cuisine' by Marcella Hazan for years. I am motivated to learn about pasta. But...what I expected from the promo for this book and what I found between the covers was disappointing. Bottom line: this book is a chef speaking to chefs. The fine first chapters on flours and making new and dried pasta dough will serve all-comers well, whether you are a beginner or are advanced. Unfortunately, that beginning gives method to a set of recipes that would challenge the home cook's pantry: 'Talleggio (that's a cheese) Ravioli with Radicchio, Honey and Walnuts,' 'Pea Agnolotti with Lardo,' 'Fig and Onion Caramella with Gorgonzola Fonduta...' Doppio Ravioli with Lamb and Polenta takes a lot of steps and a amazing bit of time to prepare--assuming you have lamb and polenta on hand. Other enticing recipes call for foie gras terrine, octopus, scorpion fish, morel mushrooms, peekytoe crab--you obtain the idea. For sure, the book has attractive pictures, is written intelligently and can provide 'inspiration'...but my inspiration was to search a high-end Italian restaurant and create a reservation!So...does this book 'reinvent the wheel' as far as most of us are concerned? Purists may cringe when James Beard--responding to what his reader's pantries would have on hand, says 'all-purpose flour' works best in America. I order a well-known Italian-milled Doppio Zero by mail order...but Beard is not wrong. I began by using unbleached all-purpose flour in my noodles. (He also contains recipes using pasta flour blends of white and whole wheat, buckwheat...even yeasted noodles courtesy of Barbra Kafka. Here is also where I learned about gnocchi. But, maybe you wish a recipe for Kreplach. Beard has it. Marcella offers a 115 page section devoted to pasta and sauces in 'Essentials': she is concise about explaining the use of doppio zero, semolina and other flours before also saying that she prefers to use unbleached all purpose flour for making pasta in America...even if she has other options. She provides fine instruction on mixing, rolling and shaping dough into pasta forms. She speaks to the importance of bronze dies on extruding machines, just as Chef Vetri does. Her sauces contain the time-honoured, lip-smacking classics--and that makes all the difference in usability at home. These books will better serve beginning and advanced home chefs. But maybe readers are looking for recipes on the somewhat unrelated topic of risotto? Marcella's 17 pages of recipes will do for most of us. Both of these books would 'push Mr. Vetri's book off the shelf' in home kitchens...which is some various than concluding that everyone needs to have this book on their shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Excellent, the best book I've read on pasta. It does not bombard with recipes for sauces (although there are plenty of delicious ones to hold you going). Instead, Vetri turns his focus to how pasta is made, why it is the method it is (plenty on gluten-starch combinations etc to excite the nerd in you), and the rationale for combining various shapes with various types of sauces without being pedantic or forceful (check out Marcella Hazan!). You can eat spaghetti with Ragu alla Bolognese if you really want, but the spaghetti won't carry the sauce like tagliatelle will.He also recommends some other titles such as Bugialli on Pasta, which has become my other favourite book! After reading this you will have a amazing foundation in understanding pasta and if you're at someones house and they have some flour and water then pasta is on the menu.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Everything you ever wanted to know about pasta. Has very authentic recipes from all over Italy that yield amazing food. Test the egg yolk pasta that calls for 20 egg yolks for 3 cups of 00 flour! All that protein and fat from all those yolk create a silky smooth pasta that is like nothing else. Marc tells stories from youth in Italy growing up in little regional eateries, create this a "non-fiction novel". Very nice addition to your cookbook collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    This pasta book is amazing for the beginner as well as the more seasoned pasta chef. There are plenty of pictures in the book. These pictures present not only the completed dishes of most recipes included but often pictures of the steps leading to that completed dish. The book includes detailed info on how to create several types of pasta as well as several various flavors of that new pasta. The additional info in this book is amazing!! The table of contents contains chapter titles as well as the names of each recipe within that chapter. Often recipes contain short stories that enhance them. In the back of the book is a detailed set of pages which contains sources where the authors got their info for the book as well as what information was obtained from that source. Addresses of each source as well as www services and phone numbers are also provided!! Both authors gave their own private acknowledgements. A detailed bibliography as well as a very detailed index is also provided. The quality of paper used for this recipe book is great. The paper is thick and seems as if it will be quite durable. The cover seems like it would be simple to hold clean by wiping off with a damp rag. It is a hard cover book. Pages easily stay begin at the page where you opened the book and laid it flat on the counter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    I really like this book but I don't love it. It would be excellent if the recipes were something I would actually eat but pigs head, uni, no thank you. I kept this book because the instructions on how to create pasta are fantastic. I created the egg yolk pasta using my kitchenaid mixer fettuccine attachment and it was perfect. I went the a fettuccine recipe to see how long to cook it and it was a total succes. A large plus of this book is each pasta recipe is described making by hand or using a pasta maker like kitchenaid attachments. I want the recipes weren't so fancy but with the support of this book I created an awesome lemon fettuccine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    I love the chef's notes in the beginning about various flours and technical obsessions (of "true" pasta making.)It explains every possible subject step by step to support with purchasing the right ingredient to making the excellent are attractive and appetizing. Really simple to follow!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    The title says you'll gain "mastery" over pasta. But not really. The book would be more appropriately titled "Pasta For Beginners Plus Some Recipes for Advanced Chefs With Access To Rare Ingredients".The book had useful items but probably not a amazing choice if you're only going to read one book about pasta. For starters, it's 10% about making pasta and the rest a bunch of obscure recipes that have different noodles in them. It includes several inaccuracies and cooking myths that avid cooks will probably know but the casual beginner won't recognize and will take to heart as fact. Example? That boiling more water versus less will let the pot to return to boil more quickly after adding your pasta. FALSE. Just a silly grandma cooking myth. There were others as so, there is very small discussion on shaping pasta beyond some minor overview of rolling out dough. The approach for knife-cut pasta, sheets for ravioli, hand shaped, and extruded noodles are worth an entire chapter if you're going to "master pasta". Which should be drier? Wetter? Stronger dough? Weaker dough? It only received a single paragraph in the book barely hinting at what you need to what do you do after you chop your pasta? Boil immediately? Dry it? Hang it? Refrigerate? Freeze? How does one make a nest that won't stick together after the noodles are cut? Those are mysteries unknown to this book mastering erested in flavored and colourful pastas like squid ink pasta? Spinach pasta? Not going to search out anything about that in this book.I also felt that a more thorough discussion on pasta shapes would've been warranted for a book proclaiming to master pasta. What influence does the pasta shape and size have on the sauce and final product to consider? Ridges? Tubes? Folds? Thick versus thin? Only a few sentences were offered about this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    Marc Vetri is one of America’s best Italian chefs, and the Philly native’s recent book is a technique-driven walk through the process of making all kinds of pasta and gnocchi. Even though Vetri’s a chef and a lot of of his recipes are derived from his restaurants, the book is firmly grounded as an instructional tutorial for the home cook. Mastering Pasta is a attractive book, massive on images of the actual making of the shapes, which is key. I especially like the decision to present that homemade pasta is by nature a bit erratic: Not every strand of hand-cut tagliatelle will be the same width, and there will be small creases where you’d folded the dough over. Vetri’s recipes can obtain a bit esoteric, but he’s very amazing about offering alternatives if you can’t search sweetbreads or new porcini or main beef with the book is Vetri’s primary dough. His batch is 395 grams, about 2 1/2 cups of different flours, moistened with 9 egg yolks, plus some water and olive oil. Sorry, but I can't see blasting through a whole carton of eggs for a batch of pasta that will serve 4 or 5 people. I mean I understand why Vetri does this: He runs a restaurant. He’s trying to create a plate of pasta a unique thing on a menu in a lovely restaurant. And his dough is indeed wonderful. But it’s just too spendy for a Wednesday night. And, given that you can whip up a primary batch of pasta in an hour, it’s not crazy to think that some cooks might wish to create pasta regularly, and not for unique occasions. My advice: For day-to-day pasta making, use the Italian standard of 1 whole egg for every 100 grams of flour and you’ll be at said, I love this book. Vetri’s flavors and originality are remarkable. Hell, he’s even made a fresh pasta shape called “dove pasta,” which looks a bit like the eagle pattern you see in Southwest Indian weaving. I’ll definitely be making that. His technical sections are my favorite part of the book, and are useful no matter what you place on your pasta. His section on wheat is fascinating. What wheat you use actually matters, and they tell you why. Vetri shows you pasta shapes you’ve never seen before, combined with flavors you hadn’t thought tom line: Buy this book if you’ve created pasta at least a few times before, and wish to drill down deeply into the subject. Vetri is a master and it shows, and his recipes, instruction and flavors are top notch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    Excellent, the best book I've read on pasta. It does not bombard with recipes for sauces (although there are plenty of delicious ones to hold you going). Instead, Vetri turns his focus to how pasta is made, why it is the method it is (plenty on gluten-starch combinations etc to excite the nerd in you), and the rationale for combining various shapes with various types of sauces without being pedantic or forceful (check out Marcella Hazan!). You can eat spaghetti with Ragu alla Bolognese if you really want, but the spaghetti won't carry the sauce like tagliatelle will.He also recommends some other titles such as Bugialli on Pasta, which has become my other favourite book! After reading this you will have a amazing foundation in understanding pasta and if you're at someones house and they have some flour and water then pasta is on the menu.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Marc Vetri is one of America’s best Italian chefs, and the Philly native’s recent book is a technique-driven walk through the process of making all kinds of pasta and gnocchi. Even though Vetri’s a chef and a lot of of his recipes are derived from his restaurants, the book is firmly grounded as an instructional tutorial for the home cook. Mastering Pasta is a attractive book, massive on images of the actual making of the shapes, which is key. I especially like the decision to present that homemade pasta is by nature a bit erratic: Not every strand of hand-cut tagliatelle will be the same width, and there will be small creases where you’d folded the dough over. Vetri’s recipes can obtain a bit esoteric, but he’s very amazing about offering alternatives if you can’t search sweetbreads or new porcini or main beef with the book is Vetri’s primary dough. His batch is 395 grams, about 2 1/2 cups of different flours, moistened with 9 egg yolks, plus some water and olive oil. Sorry, but I can't see blasting through a whole carton of eggs for a batch of pasta that will serve 4 or 5 people. I mean I understand why Vetri does this: He runs a restaurant. He’s trying to create a plate of pasta a unique thing on a menu in a lovely restaurant. And his dough is indeed wonderful. But it’s just too spendy for a Wednesday night. And, given that you can whip up a primary batch of pasta in an hour, it’s not crazy to think that some cooks might wish to create pasta regularly, and not for unique occasions. My advice: For day-to-day pasta making, use the Italian standard of 1 whole egg for every 100 grams of flour and you’ll be at said, I love this book. Vetri’s flavors and originality are remarkable. Hell, he’s even made a fresh pasta shape called “dove pasta,” which looks a bit like the eagle pattern you see in Southwest Indian weaving. I’ll definitely be making that. His technical sections are my favorite part of the book, and are useful no matter what you place on your pasta. His section on wheat is fascinating. What wheat you use actually matters, and they tell you why. Vetri shows you pasta shapes you’ve never seen before, combined with flavors you hadn’t thought tom line: Buy this book if you’ve created pasta at least a few times before, and wish to drill down deeply into the subject. Vetri is a master and it shows, and his recipes, instruction and flavors are top notch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    The authors of this. book have gone to exceptional effort to fully understand their topic matter. I search this book to be a rare treasure. Others may not agree. If you appreciate amazing science, amazing pasta, and amazing meal in general you will have fun this book. It gives amazing information, is clearly written, and an inspiring read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Mastering Pasta will create you wish to buy a pasta maker right away, drool from the copious amount of pictures, and feel confident enough to give the recipes a go. As a beginner in the pasta making world, I was nervous this book would be too advanced for me. But this book proves to be for beginners and experts alike. If you're interested in making your pasta (linguine, gnocchi, risotto, or otherwise), this is a amazing option. The quality of pictures in the book also create it a amazing coffee table option.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    Unbelievable book! I bought this book before I tried making my first homemade pasta. After reading this I viewed making pasta dough in a complete various method than I would have if I would have just tried a recipe off Pinterest . It explains everything you need to know in detail. From various types of wheat, how and why they affect flavor and texture. The importance of new ground flour for flavor and nutrients. The various grinds of flour and flour protein amount, how they affect texture and chew. Also how whole eggs, egg yolks, and oils affect the pasta dough. He offers a lot of recipes for a lot of doughs. I found it very inspiring and was excited to go straight to the shop and search various flours mentioned in the book to experiment with! Being an adventurous eater I just loved the recipes! They range from furmiliar to a bit exotic! For example. Some recipes contain traditional bolognese, ricotta ravioli, spaghetti with tomato basil sauce, pappardelle with rabbit ragu, culurgiones with sweetbreads (veal brain). Unfortunately I live in a rural zone far away from the ocean where I cannot obtain some things for the recipes such as peekytoe crab. It also covers flavoring pasta dough with things like squid ink or parsley. There are chapters on hand forming pasta, pasta sauces, gnocchi and risotto which were a pleasant surprise! I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in making pasta! It captures the history and tradition of Italy and pasta plus an wonderful amount of technical info on making your pasta dough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    This book is Heaven. Such amazing and thorough education on flour, dough and the process of pasta making. My one and only complaint is that a lot of the recipes call for ingredients that aren't easily located in your pantry or your local grocery store. I love Marc Vetri: he is truly a Master, but when it comes to writing a cookbook for non-chefs, it's necessary to hold that in mind. I like Octopus and will eat it in a restaurant but I really don't know what to do with it if it was an ingredient in my refrigerator. The thing is, it's not just one recipe or I wouldn't bother to mention it. For some chefs in regions where certain ingredients are readily available (big cities) and who cook with less mainstream stuff this won't be a problem. The recipes are relatively simple to prepare.I am still giving it 5 stars because it's a unbelievable book, that is lovingly written and simply gorgeous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    This book is Heaven. Such amazing and thorough education on flour, dough and the process of pasta making. My one and only complaint is that a lot of the recipes call for ingredients that aren't easily located in your pantry or your local grocery store. I love Marc Vetri: he is truly a Master, but when it comes to writing a cookbook for non-chefs, it's necessary to hold that in mind. I like Octopus and will eat it in a restaurant but I really don't know what to do with it if it was an ingredient in my refrigerator. The thing is, it's not just one recipe or I wouldn't bother to mention it. For some chefs in regions where certain ingredients are readily available (big cities) and who cook with less mainstream stuff this won't be a problem. The recipes are relatively simple to prepare.I am still giving it 5 stars because it's a unbelievable book, that is lovingly written and simply gorgeous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Pasta: The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto [A Cookbook] []  2020-1-31 4:23

    Everything you ever wanted to know about pasta. Has very authentic recipes from all over Italy that yield amazing food. Test the egg yolk pasta that calls for 20 egg yolks for 3 cups of 00 flour! All that protein and fat from all those yolk create a silky smooth pasta that is like nothing else. Marc tells stories from youth in Italy growing up in little regional eateries, create this a "non-fiction novel". Very nice addition to your cookbook collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    What I love about these is that they have zero odour unlike other konjac noodle brands.Ofcourse they are an acquired taste initially but created with the right sauce this is actually super tasty. I drain them and stir fry these in a teaspoon of olive oil with chopped garlic for a amazing 5 mins before adding my sauce and veges to it as I search that increased flavour and makes the texture levels better. Excellent when I’m on the Keto diet or cutting carbs drastically, I actually look forward to it. The couscous, rice, spaghetti and noodles are my fave. Not a fan of the lasagne or fettucine as they are bulkier and don’t mix so well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    Being a diabetic, I have tried all the fake noodles- so a lot of claim not to be smelly or chewy or to "take on the taste of the sauce". None met that, in my opinion, until this brand. They don't smell and the texture is amazingly close to true e instructions say to microwave or pan fry- I actually boil for about 5 mins with seasonings. My favorite are the noodle shaped- just like ramen noodles and the spaghetti shape. The cous cous is not poor and the fettuccini is beautiful amazing too. I have not yet tried the lasagna or rice, but I'm expecting amazing things!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    Skinny Pasta will be my go too pasta from now on. I have used other shirataki noodles and hated the prep of rinsing boiling and dry frying to obtain rid of the taste. I was skeptical when the Skinny pasta instructions just had you rinsing them, but after I rinsed them, there was NO ODOR and no nasty aftertaste. I used the skinny pasta rice in a chicken soup I created and it was wonderful. I am trying the spaghetti tomorrow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    Ordered this in the middle of some manic taste testing and reviewing of low/no carb pasta types and brands, and this brand is my favorite so far. The only Konjac pasta brand I have yet to test that Amazon sells is the "skinny noodles". This Skinny Pasta brand has the best taste and texture while still being simple to cook and it's the only brand Ice never ever experienced odor from. I don't really mind the konjac aroma and search it more earthy than fishy (as some people report) but certain brands do have more scent. For instance, Miracle Noodles, which are a bargain and have beautiful amazing texture in their spaghetti style and noodles style, are a bit more odorous and that seems to obtain stronger as they are stored in the refrigerator as leftovers. I did not search that with the skinny pasta brand.Overall, any konjac noodle will give you a nice new to almost flavorless canvas for some yummy pasta sauces and are amazing in Asian Style dishes to replace noodles with more carbs. I have eaten different kinds every day this week and I like them every method I've tried is brand it's definitely worth a try, especially.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    These noodles are amazing you can cook them so a lot of ways but the past two orders 2 packets out of 6 were good. Other family members have bought the same noodles from here too and they have never had issue with their noodle orders. In the picture the noodles on left are defective the texture is like a rubber band, the noodles on the right are amazing and how they are supposed to look. I have no idea why this happened but it was a huge disappointment especially when your dieting and these noodles support replace wanting flour noodles which have a ton of carbs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    As a Weight Watchers member, I was looking forward to trying this uber-low point pseudo pasta. For the love of God, the Skinny Pasta had the texture of balloon knots. Not any balloon knots, but evil balloon knots that once belonged to Pennywise. Avoid at all costs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    There was no smell. I followed the directions the first time and the texture was related to earthworms. Took a deep breath and opened a second bag, rinsed and drained the noodles, then cooked in a saute pan for 10 mins until the water evaporated. Earthworms, again. The upside is that my appetite is gone ;). Since I am unable to return this, I will take it to my next WW meeting or a bait and tackle .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    This pasta has the texture, flavor and "feel" of amazing premium pastas. I've tried the couscous, fettucini and lasagna, and really have fun them all. The odorless processing is great. Other konjac pastas smell like an aquarium that needs cleaning, but not Skinny Pasta. This is a pleasure to prepare and an even greater pleasure to eat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    This is my second attempt on conjak noodles. I hesitated first because the ones I bought in the past has a very fishy smell. I don't know why since nothing is similar to fish at all. Conjak is a root of a plant so this is definitely amazing for Vegans. Skinny pasta has NO ODOR whatsoever and its a amazing substitute for noodles or pasta. The consistency and looks resemble the Chinese cellophane noodles except a lot healthier. For example, Chinese Cellophane noodles per cup is about 400 calories and packed a whooping 120 grams of carbs!! That is almost 50% of your RDA for carbs. Skinny noodles on the other hand is only 20 calories if you use the entire 200g pack and 10g of carbs. No fat and amazing in fiber. As with anything else, what you add to it can create it less healthy (like dozens of tomato sauce, parmesan chese, etc.). My recipe is the minimalist version; I chopped up some bok choy, a couple cloves of garlic, some shiitake mushroom, a small sriracha sauce and salt and pepper. Stir fry it in a small olive oil and I got a amazing filling food for about 250 calories. Bottom line, I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skinny Pasta 9.52 oz - The Only Odor Free 100% Konjac Noodle (Shirataki Noodles) - Pasta Weight loss - Low Calorie Food - Healthy Diet Pasta - Fettuccine - 6-Pack []  2020-5-2 18:50

    I have had Konjac noodles for years, these have zero smell and the packaging is great. Yes, they are somewhat chewy, but it is expected as they are not your typical noodles. Do not eat a whole package if you have been on a low fiber diet, as they will cause gas, bloating or intestinal distress. Eating two packs will give you cramps/gas/bloating (as I did). Build your method up gradually. So a lot of health benefits; weight loss, feeling full, stable blood sugar levels, etc. They do include fiber that is not digested easily, so you may experience loose stool (as I did), but everyone is different.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Dowsing and Divining []  2020-1-21 23:40

    Most Perfect Seller. Very happy with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Dowsing and Divining []  2020-1-21 23:40

    Curious investigation into the fascinating globe of dowsing and divining. Written in a lucid and readable style, it is a comprehensive volume on dowsing and divining - from the twig and pendulum, to motorscopes and bare hands. It traces the story of these enigmatic phenomena from its origins in the globe of fairy tales and mythology to latest theories that the enigma can be explained in terms of present-day psychology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Pasta []  2020-10-25 19:25

    This book, The Four Seasons of Pasta is incredible, Amazing recipes that we've been cooking and cooking. Can't obtain enough of is book is the excellent holiday bonus for family and friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Glorious Pasta of Italy []  2020-11-20 20:10

    Use this all the time. Amazing tutorial to making primary egg pasta (and variants on that), an *amazing* tomato-cream sauce recipe, and lots of amazing ideas for full-fledged pasta dishes. One of my favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Glorious Pasta of Italy []  2020-11-20 20:10

    The book is ok, not too original. Most recipes are amazing but there is too much dialog.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Pasta []  2020-10-25 19:25

    Easy is always best, and what can be simpler than flour and water? Place the two ingredients together and you obtain pasta, one of the world’s favorite foods. Meal writer and culinary authority Nancy Harmon Jenkins and her daughter Sara, owner of Porsena and Porchetta restaurants in Fresh York City, have teamed up to produce a collection of over 120 seasonal recipes for pasta, one of the world’s most versatile e book opens with private notes from each of the authors and a bit of history and info on pasta, both homemade and industrial, including the best brands available for purchase. There are clear, no fuss recipes for the basics like bechamel sauce, and chicken, fish, and vegetable broths. The authors’ concise, no fuss directions create preparation easy. There are techniques aplenty - no more worries about how to roast peppers or how to clean shellfish. An informative section on typical Italian ingredients will tell you all you need to know about tomatoes from whole and fresh, to sauce, puree, and paste. Plus there are in depth discussions of anchovies, aromatics, beans (both dried and fresh), cheeses, cured pork, olive oil, flour, and more - the Italian pantry e recipes are arranged by season, which really simplifies ping and menu planning. Some dishes are simple. Others are more complicated. Some use dried pasta while others call for fresh. Begin building your confidence with easy dishes like autumnal Tagliatelle with Gorgonzola Cream and New Walnuts or summer’s Ziti with Anchovies and Tomatoes. Move on to create your own new pasta and before you know it, fresh found confidence will have you turning out filled pastas like Ravioli with Ricotta and Charred Eggplant or Chestnut Agnolotti with Brown Butter, Sage, and Fennel. Vegetarian dishes are well represented here too. Autumn’s Mushroom Lasagna with Sweet Winter Squash will leave your guests clamoring for ere are soups aplenty. Abruzzo’s legendary Le Virtù is presented in all its fantastical glory, a mélange of vegetables, multiple pasta shapes, and pork. Robust Zuppa di Pasta e Ceci is here, and it’s just as flavorful as what your grandmother used to make. There’s the classic Pasta e Fagioli too. Who said you can’t go home again?The classic sauces of Italy are all here - from Lazio comes Pasta alla Checca - hot pasta tossed with new tomatoes, herbs and olive oil and herbs. How easy can it get? If you are after hearty sauces, look to Italy’s popular ragùs - duck, oxtail, rabbit, beef, mushroom, lamb, and the classic Bolognese, each served with its own special pasta.Every flavor and every region of Italy are well represented, all in simple to follow recipes that celebrate the vibrant flavors of this attractive and diverse country. Take this book to the shop with you and create your selections as the Italians do - by purchasing what is new and in season. The field of Italian cookbooks is a crowded one, but create zone on your bookshelf for this volume. Jenkins & Jenkins will hold meal on your table all year long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Pasta []  2020-10-25 19:25

    My italian husband lovesThis book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Glorious Pasta of Italy []  2020-11-20 20:10

    I had never created homemade pasta before I got this book. The author of this book is really passionate about pasta. She is amazing about explaining a couple of ways to create the pasta so that even a novice can do it. So far I have created the classic egg noodles and my fiancee loved them! I can't wait to test the fancier recipes like spinach noodles!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Glorious Pasta of Italy []  2020-11-20 20:10

    Very satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Pasta []  2020-10-25 19:25

    A lot of very amazing recipes for the homecook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Glorious Pasta of Italy []  2020-11-20 20:10

    I gave this to my husband as a father's day bonus and it's the best decision ever. He has already treated me to multiple meals from this book and they were all delicious! (They also each contained about 100g of cheese, so if you're on a low-fat diet, maybe look elsewhere, but as it is, we love it! :))

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Glorious Pasta of Italy []  2020-11-20 20:10

    Amazing primary pasta cookbook. I love Pasta and most of the dishes are fairly simple to create with primary skill level. Also, not a lot of speciality ingredients are required.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Pasta []  2020-10-25 19:25

    Such a labor of love between mother and daughter, bringing together the best of the two. I always love cookbooks that do more than give you the recipe and this one does not disappoint. They give you insight into the traditional "must-do" ways then, while not always agreeing, tell you why this may or may not matter. To salt or not to salt, with or without eggs, new or dry - the choices go on and on, one delicious recipe after another - from tried and real pasta dishes to recreations of local delicacies that really have no recipe and have been handed down generation by generation by the spoken word. Buy this book, it will not disappoint!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Pasta []  2020-10-25 19:25

    A Treasure, Every single page is interesting, lots of very amazing pictures of meal you would search in an upscale restaurant. I found only one ingredient that was fresh to me and is easily ese recipes are exciting ,fully developed to take advantage of every ingredient...Summer having the most unbelievable new from the garden Tomatoes and vegetables, from elegant to rustic..Exceptional tasteand enjoyment , can't say enough...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Pasta []  2020-10-25 19:25

    Of all of Jenkins' books, I like this one best.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386