Read the complete tales and poems of edgar allan poe reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the complete tales and poems of edgar allan poe reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    horse riding tales - ride with friends []  2020-5-19 15:11

    So i just updated it yesterday and when i got on 2 hours after the detail was all GONE !!!! I have a rare horse the black and white one spotted and then u couldn't see the spots left i wanted to begin over but i just got on lvl 7 and 6 horses already the barn detail and everything so i got on it this morning to see that maybe it was just a glitch but i was 100% WRONG. But other than that i love this android game but just one question why does the wild mode have to like 86 gems or your horse has to be level 100 why just it be i wanted to roleplay with my with other people but i have to be a wild horse so why not create it free. But i have you have my 100 help if u wish to create any changes pls fix this problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


    Add your opinion on the complete tales and poems of edgar allan poe or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    I started reading Poe in the 8th grade a lot of a a lot of a years ago and have been reading him ever since. I was absolutely delighted when they came out with this Kindle edition. Unlike some here, I thought the formatting was amazing and the navigation on my Kindle almost flawless...I had no issues what so ever. Unlike some, I was unable to search any stories or poems that were not published in this collection...perhaps I simply overlooked them. Over the years of reading Poe I don’t think I have missed very much so there was nothing fresh here for me but that is okay because the vast majority of his work needs to be read and reread as you grow older. Your perception of a story or poem changes as you grow older and a story read through the eyes of a 12 year old kid is quite various that reading it though the eyes of a fellow who is well into his 70s. I continue to read I particularly enjoyed this Kindle ver due to the fact that some of the words and language used by Poe is no longer with us – times have changed and along with those changes are changes in the English language. Words Poe used at the time of his writing are no longer is use and a lot of young readers (myself included) simply are unfamiliar with their meaning. The Kindle allows you to instantly search the meaning of these words and not have to stop and dig trough your faithful dictionary; my Old Webster’s Fresh Universal Unabridged is falling apart after all these years and my back is poor and I am having issues lifting the thing now.Anyway, Poe is Poe and despite the dark reputation he has with a lot of readers, contributed a lot to American literature. To understand Poe goes far in understanding the evolution of where we have been from a literary stand point, and how we got to where we are this day and possibly where we are going in the is is one of those collections you probably won’t wish to set down and read from cover to cover in one reading but rather one that you will wish to pick up periodically and simply have fun between reading the books you normally read...it gives you a nice break and all of is stories are quite entertaining.And for those of you that HATE Poe because you were “forced” to read him in high school as require reading...hey you are older now and your time is your own...give him another chance...you might be surprised to learn you actually like the items now...on the other hand...maybe not!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    To save paper the people who work at this establishment made for you the most disastrously formatted collection of Poe-try and stories. Is this a fresh paragraph? or a fresh story? No it's 5 various works squished back to back between 2 pages. Included also: text blocks so huge your eyes will roll to the back of your head!This actually looks like the most concise ver of a collection of Poe works for the size. That's not a complement though. A headache to read, so frustrating ive debated chucking this book into a paper shredder. Invest in a better version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    This was originally reviewed (along with every single story inside this anthology) over at , in the series "Tackling Poe". Naturally, to leave a review of everything here would be far too long!I finished reading Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems about a week ago, but I wanted to give myself some time to digest everything, watch The Raven, and to formulate my final begin off, I think that––overall––this collection was fairly good. I did have some problems with it, as I’ve talked about before in some of the earlier parts of this heavy review series. I really didn’t like that each story was just a sub-chapter of a larger heading, and formatted in a method that you couldn’t hold track of how much time was left in each segment (I often use this when I’m trying to justify staying up late or reading more during a break), and there were a few incorrectly classed pieces under the Essays e compiler of the work did do a very amazing job formatting the poetry and fiction prose. They used real type, so even on the Kindle, it created for very lovely reading. Small embellishments, like special titles, created the anthology look more polished.I would have liked to have seen more context notes, because some of the stories and poems created a amazing more sense with the context I was able to glean from the internet (after only moderate searching). Since all of Edgar Allan Poe’s works are public domain, and free, I expect more of an anthology, in this regard. In a lot of cases, the poetry or fiction notes that Edgar Allan Poe wrote to his editors at the time were not included with the stories, to the detriment of quite a few of ever, I know that to compile and format an anthology of this size and breadth is near impossible to do without some technical errors, and as most of my complaints were merely stylistic and subjective, I can recommend this anthology to most readers. Nothing will compare, I think, to seeing Poe’s works on paper (and being able to search quotes at a glance), but this is a close second. The section in the back which lists references to derivative or inspired works was very interesting. Much respect to Maplewood e anthology is a beast, totaling over 407,000 words that I’m finally at the end of the collection, I would like to a list of recommendations. I’ll choose ten of his “classics”, ten “unknowns”, and fifteen poems which I do not think are well-known (of course everyone knows to read “The Raven”, “Annabel Lee”, “Lenore”, and so on). All of these are entirely subjective, but I think if you read nothing else but some of the thirty five I suggest here, you’ll have fairly amazing luck in reading something you’ll enjoy. They are in no particular e Classics:1. The Fall of the House of Usher2. The Black Cat3. A Descent into Maelström4. The Gold-Bug5. The Oval Portrait6. The Cask of Amontillado7. The Pit and the Pendulum8. Ligeia9. The Tell-Tale Heart10. BereniceRelatively Unknowns:1. The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar2. Loss of Breath3. William Wilson4. The Premature Burial5. King Pest6. The Spectacles7. The Business Man8. The System of Doctor Tarr & Professor Fether9. The Colloquy of Monos and Una10. The Power of WordsPoems:1. The Town in the Sea2. Eldorado3. For Annie4. The Bells5. The Conqueror Worm6. The Haunted Palace7. In Youth I Have Known One8. Imitation9. The Valley of Unrest10. Tamerlane11. Sonnet – To Science12. The Forest Reverie13. The Village Street14. Alone15. Israfel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    Edgar Allan Poe is undoubtedly one of the most influential writers of all time. This collection breaks everything he ever wrote into his short stories, novel, poems, and essays, most of which have their own reason to be worth reading. There are a few duds, every writer has to have some, but there are some wonderful highs as rst, the short stories, which Poe is most well-known for. This is definitely the best section of the book. All of the Poe's most well-known classics are here, and I would also recommend some of his lesser known stories, particularly A Descent into the Maelstrom, The Black Cat, The Spectacles, The System of Dr. Tarr and Professor Fether, and The Business Man, as particular greats. You should be able to read every story in this collection in less than an hour, so you can finish them in one sitting.Poe wrote only one long novel, and even it can be stage as a collection of a few short e Narrative of A. Gordon Pym is a very heart-wrenching story, classic be honest, I'm not much to read poetry, so I'll hold this brief and say that the Raven is great, and if you do like poetry, there will be plenty more here for e essays are well worth the read as well. Several don't seem particularly various from his short stories, and I'd say Thou Art The Man and Hop-Frog are the e most annoying thing about this book was that Poe had a habit of quoting french and Latin in his stories, and there were no translations to be had here. It can be annoying, but it doesn't really ruin the stories. I hope you search these tales of mystery, horror, and sometimes comedy as entertaining as I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    ....there is no table of contents. you have to dig through it to search what you want. But I was able to search the works I fell in love with as a teenager; "Annabel Lee", "The Cask of Amontillado", "The Raven", "Tell-Tale Heart" et. al I just hated having to look and look for them. It is broken into 4 parts simply called I, II, III and IV and there is nothing to tell you on which page these particular works can be found. So even though it has them all, it would have been better if there was a table not only showing where they could be found, but also a list in the front of the book of WHAT works were in there as well. Other than that, I am satisfied with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    I'll be honest, I am quite a fan of Poe's later works, and I have enjoyed a lot of of the stories in here that I'd never heard before. However, I can say that a few of the stories present his earlier work really, really, was boring! Before he began using poetry as his main writing style, he really liked being overly descriptive to the point that your mind numbs. One story early on in this was so poor that I tried skimming to obtain to "good parts" and couldn't really search anything so I just jumped to the end. Thankfully his writing gets much better, and there are some fresh gems here to add with his more popular works. I think this is a amazing collection of stories overall and I appreciate that it allow me see how far he's come. If anything, this should be encouraging to any beginning writer that even a amazing like Poe had to work on his craft!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    search and seizure case law [collin county case search]  2020-8-23 16:35
    [email protected]

    pacer case locator find agree with what google did to me fairfax county case find dc court case find my find the original source he has a amazing point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    I am totally amazed why this amazing collection is sold only just for a couple of dollars. Not only the content is legendary, but the Kindle book is well structured also from the technical point of view (that is not obvious for all Kindle books). At latest I have the change to read Poe in original language practically without any costs.Poe is -as almost every horror story fan has admitted- amazing entertainer and thrilling author who raises also a lot of deep philosophical and psychological questions in his text, but he is also using rich language and a lot of strange and old words that are a true challenge and the put for learning for any medium-skilled foreign reader (like me) who wish to improve their English skills.Absolutely one of the best trades I have done in classics, enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    While I've read quite a few of these works in other imprintings, this is the most complete compilation I've found to date. And for my Kindle Application for Windows-8 it's sure to be an oft visited resource. If you have favorites among Poe's works, you'll probably search them in this table of contents. Over 100 texts included. (Short Stories alone take up four pages of the contents.)It's got my favorite of his poems, "Lenore" written for a dearly departed young wife, and "To One In Paradise." Some of my favorite short stories are show as well, including "Fall of the House of Usher", "Tell Tale Heart", and "The System of Dr. Tarr and Professor Feather." While not every piece of literature here is tainted with murder, a lot of feature a character's remorse or shock of bereavement. I'm reminded of the seemingly invisible monsters drawing the carts to Hogwarts in one of the Harry Potter ere, the small blonde girl 'Luna' confides in Harry, "you can only see them if you've seen someone die." As macabre as it sounds, there's a humility in confronting an ever show and certain mortality. The author of Ecclesiastes wrote it like so, "the living know they shall die." It's seed is show in the summation of the Deathly Hallows tale where the latest brother finally departs with death "as an old friend." When Tolkien's Silmarillion comments on the "doom of men", as death was called by the kings of Numenor, he also notes that the Valar considered it a merciful limitation on the sufferings of humanity. Likewise, some have reckoned the act of God in Eden, prohibiting the 'knowing' humans from eating from the tree-of-life to be a mercy instead of a punitive action. Bearing the void which never leaves, 'thousands of days' instead of 'thousands of years'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    It seems crazy to me that I literally can't remember if I read Poe in school or not! Was he so shocking to me that I blocked him out or did I just somehow manage to navigate around his classic works?In any case, as an adult, he is an absolutely fascinating hero to me in the most heart-wrenching way. I think a lot about those tortured souls who place such awesome work out into our globe and yet suffer so immensely in their own ways. Poe and his works definitely belong in this category!My only challenge with this book was figuring out the table of contents but it's actually very well done once you obtain it. There is so much content in here that there is basically one table of contents at the beginning and then a "sub" TOC for each volume of work. I.e. Click on the "Volume" chapters to obtain a full listing of what gems are in r anyone who loves The Raven, the photos that accompany this poem really are attractive and add to the reading experience tremendously. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems []  2020-1-27 22:51

    You've just got to love Kindle. Where else could you obtain such a fabulous collection of books for this price? I remember years ago belonging to the Masterpiece Book Club. At that Time, a beautifully bound classic book arrived each month for the low of $9.98. We thought this was a bargain. With all the books we purchased, we never received such a thorough collection of Poe's works.What a attractive compendium this is. I've read almost everything Poe has written over the years, but I'm really looking forward to re-reading some of my favorites and also a lot of works that I'm sure I've is is just the type of reading I like to have access to when I don't wish to obtain into a long story. I'll be keeping this on my Kindle for those times I'm waiting on hold, in the doctor's office, or just in long e link to the audio book is an unexpected pleasure and just icing on the cake. I highly recommend this unbelievable collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    There is no shortage of Edgar Allan Poe ebook collections available in the Kindle Store, but what sets this one apart is its perfect formatting, particularly of the poetry. A lot of other sets fail to properly display the poetry in the original stanzas and verse patterns; this one does it perfectly. The prose is equally well-formatted using traditional paragraph indention rather than zone to distinguish paragraphs, and emphasized words are appropriately italicized. Clarifying notes are appended and in contrasting typefaces. The short quotation from Plato appearing at the onset of "Morella" actually appears (prior to its translation) in original Greek characters -- not merely in English transliteration; compare other ebook editions to see how a lot of -- IF ANY -- do that! One TOC lists titles chronologically and another lists them alphabetically; both are convenient and active. Right/left clicking also permits back and forth movement between title content. Overall this is a very handsome and (insofar as I can detect) flawless ebook.Edgar Allan Poe certainly does not need me to explain either his greatness or his continued popularity; suffice it to say he is a amazing American author whose works truly deserve to be read, and I certainly have fun reading and re-reading his numerous essays, tales and poems. For that reason, I wish a reasonably complete and well-formatted "keeper" copy for my Kindle--and this is it. (The numerous illustrations are a plus.)I obtained my copy when it was (remarkably) offered for free, but I would highly recommend this particular edition at any reasonable over all others. As I said earlier, there is no shortage of Poe collections, but having purchased a few and sampled many, this is not only the very best, but the most excellent available in the Kindle Store.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    Excellent collection of Poe's best works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    What's Halloween without some Edgar Allen Poe? I spot checked this book choosing some top selections from Listverse including "The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar" & "Hop-Frog" and this ebook performed flawlessly including some wonderfully gruesome illustrations as well. While a table of contents is provided, if you page back from the beginning of the book you'll search a listing of the tales and poems in chronological which I found helpful. If you don't begin up my other reviews, please be sure to visit the reviews from "Librarian" whom is a top 1000 reviewer and is a wealth of info (I have personally downloaded ""The Star Lord" by Boyd Ellanby based on their recommendation myself).As with the book "Don't Lend A Creature Your Favorite Toy" a children's picture book by Elwyn Tate, I am including several other Halloween theme books with a brief description and age level I have read for your consideration such as "Mr. Spider (Spooky Spook)" by Hollyn Overton for children, "Terra Vonnel and the Skulls of Aries" by D. C. Akers Pirates/Paranormal for Teen/YA, "Zero Hunters #1" by Jay Carvajal Vampire/graphic novel for Teen/YA, "Of Evil and Darkness" by Jay Carvajal Paranormal/graphic novel for Teen/YA and "Dead Stop" by D. Nathan Hilliard Zombie/horror for Adults. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    The format is simple to read. Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    I have this book in hard back, but wanted to convert to a lighter medium. Poe is one of my all time favorites. He does for written storytelling, what Hitchcock does on film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    I was super excited to search this and it. Have loved all of Poe's works and now my older kids are at an age where they can appreciate his work. This edition has all of his works and in a very simple to follow format. I love having this on my kindle so I can take it anywhere I wish and not be held down with a huge bulky book. Some of his pieces are long and some are short and this is simple for fast reading or to sit and soak in the longer pieces. I highly recommend this to anyone that has even just heard a small of these stories. I was happy to search some of his harder to search works in here as well. Just a amazing collection overall. He is a masterful author of suspense and has such a attractive method with words. I love how not all of his work is dark and drab but it is all entertaining. There is something in this for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    Amazon asked me some really silly questions about this book in their automatic rating -- so ignore that stuff. My review? This is Edgar Allen Poe. You either know him or you don't. If you don't, obtain this book. If you do, you probably;ly have some Poe already. This would still be a amazing addition to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    Edgar Allan Poe what more can you say? You either love him or you don't but there is clearly a reason why he is still being so widely read over 150 years after his r a wild ride that I intensely enjoyed I highly recommend this collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    I create a review of when I obtain a downloadable book for my Kindle. I'd say that fewer than one in a hundred do I actually read, and of them that I quickly scan over in to create a fast review to my mates is more like one oi a couple of hundred. The point of my review is to obtain people to create a within a few day period and then to read it as useful to most college students having to take American Literature as a humanity course I read a few Edgar Allen Poe short stories; as I remember it was "The Tell-Tale Heart", and "The Pit and the Pendulum." But what I remember most is hearing in the dorm room the sounds of The Allen Parsons Project from the vinyl album devoted to Edgar Allen Poe. The strains of "The Raven" was played about every day by the guy in the adjoining dorm room.Anyway, this particular anthology of Edgar Allen Poe seems to be complete, well formatted (as I downloaded it and clicked the links within the e-book) and it works. Best of all, it is a download. I recommend that those reading my blog and forum with a Kindle or a computer or smartphone do it forthwith.Hail Victory!!!Pastor Martin Luther Dzerzhinsky LindstedtChurch of Jesus Christ Christian/Aryan Nations of Missouri

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems (Illustrated/Annotated) (Top Five Classics Book 13) []  2020-1-24 22:28

    Read Poe's stories and poems as a child. My favorites are The Telltale Heart and The Gold Bug. Classics never go out of style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    To save paper the people who work at this establishment made for you the most disastrously formatted collection of Poe-try and stories. Is this a fresh paragraph? or a fresh story? No it's 5 various works squished back to back between 2 pages. Included also: text blocks so huge your eyes will roll to the back of your head!This actually looks like the most concise ver of a collection of Poe works for the size. That's not a complement though. A headache to read, so frustrating ive debated chucking this book into a paper shredder. Invest in a better version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    You've just got to love Kindle. Where else could you obtain such a fabulous collection of books for this price? I remember years ago belonging to the Masterpiece Book Club. At that Time, a beautifully bound classic book arrived each month for the low of $9.98. We thought this was a bargain. With all the books we purchased, we never received such a thorough collection of Poe's works.What a attractive compendium this is. I've read almost everything Poe has written over the years, but I'm really looking forward to re-reading some of my favorites and also a lot of works that I'm sure I've is is just the type of reading I like to have access to when I don't wish to obtain into a long story. I'll be keeping this on my Kindle for those times I'm waiting on hold, in the doctor's office, or just in long e link to the audio book is an unexpected pleasure and just icing on the cake. I highly recommend this unbelievable collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    I'll be honest, I am quite a fan of Poe's later works, and I have enjoyed a lot of of the stories in here that I'd never heard before. However, I can say that a few of the stories present his earlier work really, really, was boring! Before he began using poetry as his main writing style, he really liked being overly descriptive to the point that your mind numbs. One story early on in this was so poor that I tried skimming to obtain to "good parts" and couldn't really search anything so I just jumped to the end. Thankfully his writing gets much better, and there are some fresh gems here to add with his more popular works. I think this is a amazing collection of stories overall and I appreciate that it allow me see how far he's come. If anything, this should be encouraging to any beginning writer that even a amazing like Poe had to work on his craft!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    ....there is no table of contents. you have to dig through it to search what you want. But I was able to search the works I fell in love with as a teenager; "Annabel Lee", "The Cask of Amontillado", "The Raven", "Tell-Tale Heart" et. al I just hated having to look and look for them. It is broken into 4 parts simply called I, II, III and IV and there is nothing to tell you on which page these particular works can be found. So even though it has them all, it would have been better if there was a table not only showing where they could be found, but also a list in the front of the book of WHAT works were in there as well. Other than that, I am satisfied with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    I started reading Poe in the 8th grade a lot of a a lot of a years ago and have been reading him ever since. I was absolutely delighted when they came out with this Kindle edition. Unlike some here, I thought the formatting was amazing and the navigation on my Kindle almost flawless...I had no issues what so ever. Unlike some, I was unable to search any stories or poems that were not published in this collection...perhaps I simply overlooked them. Over the years of reading Poe I don’t think I have missed very much so there was nothing fresh here for me but that is okay because the vast majority of his work needs to be read and reread as you grow older. Your perception of a story or poem changes as you grow older and a story read through the eyes of a 12 year old kid is quite various that reading it though the eyes of a fellow who is well into his 70s. I continue to read I particularly enjoyed this Kindle ver due to the fact that some of the words and language used by Poe is no longer with us – times have changed and along with those changes are changes in the English language. Words Poe used at the time of his writing are no longer is use and a lot of young readers (myself included) simply are unfamiliar with their meaning. The Kindle allows you to instantly search the meaning of these words and not have to stop and dig trough your faithful dictionary; my Old Webster’s Fresh Universal Unabridged is falling apart after all these years and my back is poor and I am having issues lifting the thing now.Anyway, Poe is Poe and despite the dark reputation he has with a lot of readers, contributed a lot to American literature. To understand Poe goes far in understanding the evolution of where we have been from a literary stand point, and how we got to where we are this day and possibly where we are going in the is is one of those collections you probably won’t wish to set down and read from cover to cover in one reading but rather one that you will wish to pick up periodically and simply have fun between reading the books you normally read...it gives you a nice break and all of is stories are quite entertaining.And for those of you that HATE Poe because you were “forced” to read him in high school as require reading...hey you are older now and your time is your own...give him another chance...you might be surprised to learn you actually like the items now...on the other hand...maybe not!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    Edgar Allan Poe is undoubtedly one of the most influential writers of all time. This collection breaks everything he ever wrote into his short stories, novel, poems, and essays, most of which have their own reason to be worth reading. There are a few duds, every writer has to have some, but there are some wonderful highs as rst, the short stories, which Poe is most well-known for. This is definitely the best section of the book. All of the Poe's most well-known classics are here, and I would also recommend some of his lesser known stories, particularly A Descent into the Maelstrom, The Black Cat, The Spectacles, The System of Dr. Tarr and Professor Fether, and The Business Man, as particular greats. You should be able to read every story in this collection in less than an hour, so you can finish them in one sitting.Poe wrote only one long novel, and even it can be stage as a collection of a few short e Narrative of A. Gordon Pym is a very heart-wrenching story, classic be honest, I'm not much to read poetry, so I'll hold this brief and say that the Raven is great, and if you do like poetry, there will be plenty more here for e essays are well worth the read as well. Several don't seem particularly various from his short stories, and I'd say Thou Art The Man and Hop-Frog are the e most annoying thing about this book was that Poe had a habit of quoting french and Latin in his stories, and there were no translations to be had here. It can be annoying, but it doesn't really ruin the stories. I hope you search these tales of mystery, horror, and sometimes comedy as entertaining as I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    While I've read quite a few of these works in other imprintings, this is the most complete compilation I've found to date. And for my Kindle Application for Windows-8 it's sure to be an oft visited resource. If you have favorites among Poe's works, you'll probably search them in this table of contents. Over 100 texts included. (Short Stories alone take up four pages of the contents.)It's got my favorite of his poems, "Lenore" written for a dearly departed young wife, and "To One In Paradise." Some of my favorite short stories are show as well, including "Fall of the House of Usher", "Tell Tale Heart", and "The System of Dr. Tarr and Professor Feather." While not every piece of literature here is tainted with murder, a lot of feature a character's remorse or shock of bereavement. I'm reminded of the seemingly invisible monsters drawing the carts to Hogwarts in one of the Harry Potter ere, the small blonde girl 'Luna' confides in Harry, "you can only see them if you've seen someone die." As macabre as it sounds, there's a humility in confronting an ever show and certain mortality. The author of Ecclesiastes wrote it like so, "the living know they shall die." It's seed is show in the summation of the Deathly Hallows tale where the latest brother finally departs with death "as an old friend." When Tolkien's Silmarillion comments on the "doom of men", as death was called by the kings of Numenor, he also notes that the Valar considered it a merciful limitation on the sufferings of humanity. Likewise, some have reckoned the act of God in Eden, prohibiting the 'knowing' humans from eating from the tree-of-life to be a mercy instead of a punitive action. Bearing the void which never leaves, 'thousands of days' instead of 'thousands of years'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    The books provides a overview of Poe's work in a amazing arrangement. Not all of Poe's writing appealed to me; but selective reading was enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    It is hard to realize how much human behavior mimics animal behavior. I search it interesting to view reality and seeing how human behavior has evolved over the years. There is a amazing of nudity which could offend some, but I believe the reality of a 1900 brothel was there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    Old classic that never retires or obtain to outdated. Every one needs to read or retread this classic. Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    Amazing Book, amazing Writer !!!!! He portrait the scenes and characters perfetly !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    Edgar Allan Poe is one of my all time favorite authors. This book of short stories includes some of his best work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    Edgar Allan Poe was born in Boston and grew up as the stepson of the Allan family in Ricmonod, Virginia. Poe was a drinker, former West Point cadet, newspaper editor, short story author and noted poet. He had problem with alcohol dying at age 40 in Baltimore in 1849. In "Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe" another in the Perennial Series of short works by popular authors we see Poe's macabre and creepy genius on full display. The 564 page book contains a amazing introduction to Poe by G.R. Thomson; a detailed chronology of the author's life and a bibilography of works by and about Poe. The book contains a lot of of Poe's most popular works including "The Raven"; "The Bells"; "Eldorado"; "Annabel Lee"and "For Annie." Poe criticism is represented by his laudatory review of "Twice-Told Tales" by Nathaniel Hawthorneand "The Philosophy of Composition". Poe explains how he wrote "The Raven." Short stories included exhibit Poe's melancholy; interest in death and dissolution" and his morbid fears of being buried alive. Classic short stories "The Fall of the House of Usher"; "Black Cat"; "The Tell-Tale Heart""The Imp of the Peverse"; "The Mask of the Red Death"; "The Cask of Amontillado" and a few other lesser known short stories are included in this volume. These tales are depressing, eerie and written in an ornate style replete with foreign language quotations and set in exotic locations. Poes tales are not simple reads. Also included are two of the cases handled by Poe's detective C. Auguste Dupin. "Murders in the Rue Morgue" and"The Purloined Lettere." Dupin was the first detective made by a major artist. His techniques of crime solving resemble those of Sherlock Holmes. Edgar Allan Poe was a dark, disturbed and troubled soul who produced amazing poetry, short stories and essays. This is a good, but not definitive, collection of his major works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    I guess this wasn't quite what I expected. I didn't [email protected]#$%! and I do like Poe's writing. Maybe you will like thisbetter than I.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    I am totally amazed why this amazing collection is sold only just for a couple of dollars. Not only the content is legendary, but the Kindle book is well structured also from the technical point of view (that is not obvious for all Kindle books). At latest I have the change to read Poe in original language practically without any costs.Poe is -as almost every horror story fan has admitted- amazing entertainer and thrilling author who raises also a lot of deep philosophical and psychological questions in his text, but he is also using rich language and a lot of strange and old words that are a true challenge and the put for learning for any medium-skilled foreign reader (like me) who wish to improve their English skills.Absolutely one of the best trades I have done in classics, enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    This was originally reviewed (along with every single story inside this anthology) over at , in the series "Tackling Poe". Naturally, to leave a review of everything here would be far too long!I finished reading Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems about a week ago, but I wanted to give myself some time to digest everything, watch The Raven, and to formulate my final begin off, I think that––overall––this collection was fairly good. I did have some problems with it, as I’ve talked about before in some of the earlier parts of this heavy review series. I really didn’t like that each story was just a sub-chapter of a larger heading, and formatted in a method that you couldn’t hold track of how much time was left in each segment (I often use this when I’m trying to justify staying up late or reading more during a break), and there were a few incorrectly classed pieces under the Essays e compiler of the work did do a very amazing job formatting the poetry and fiction prose. They used real type, so even on the Kindle, it created for very lovely reading. Small embellishments, like special titles, created the anthology look more polished.I would have liked to have seen more context notes, because some of the stories and poems created a amazing more sense with the context I was able to glean from the internet (after only moderate searching). Since all of Edgar Allan Poe’s works are public domain, and free, I expect more of an anthology, in this regard. In a lot of cases, the poetry or fiction notes that Edgar Allan Poe wrote to his editors at the time were not included with the stories, to the detriment of quite a few of ever, I know that to compile and format an anthology of this size and breadth is near impossible to do without some technical errors, and as most of my complaints were merely stylistic and subjective, I can recommend this anthology to most readers. Nothing will compare, I think, to seeing Poe’s works on paper (and being able to search quotes at a glance), but this is a close second. The section in the back which lists references to derivative or inspired works was very interesting. Much respect to Maplewood e anthology is a beast, totaling over 407,000 words that I’m finally at the end of the collection, I would like to a list of recommendations. I’ll choose ten of his “classics”, ten “unknowns”, and fifteen poems which I do not think are well-known (of course everyone knows to read “The Raven”, “Annabel Lee”, “Lenore”, and so on). All of these are entirely subjective, but I think if you read nothing else but some of the thirty five I suggest here, you’ll have fairly amazing luck in reading something you’ll enjoy. They are in no particular e Classics:1. The Fall of the House of Usher2. The Black Cat3. A Descent into Maelström4. The Gold-Bug5. The Oval Portrait6. The Cask of Amontillado7. The Pit and the Pendulum8. Ligeia9. The Tell-Tale Heart10. BereniceRelatively Unknowns:1. The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar2. Loss of Breath3. William Wilson4. The Premature Burial5. King Pest6. The Spectacles7. The Business Man8. The System of Doctor Tarr & Professor Fether9. The Colloquy of Monos and Una10. The Power of WordsPoems:1. The Town in the Sea2. Eldorado3. For Annie4. The Bells5. The Conqueror Worm6. The Haunted Palace7. In Youth I Have Known One8. Imitation9. The Valley of Unrest10. Tamerlane11. Sonnet – To Science12. The Forest Reverie13. The Village Street14. Alone15. Israfel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection []  2020-1-22 19:15

    It seems crazy to me that I literally can't remember if I read Poe in school or not! Was he so shocking to me that I blocked him out or did I just somehow manage to navigate around his classic works?In any case, as an adult, he is an absolutely fascinating hero to me in the most heart-wrenching way. I think a lot about those tortured souls who place such awesome work out into our globe and yet suffer so immensely in their own ways. Poe and his works definitely belong in this category!My only challenge with this book was figuring out the table of contents but it's actually very well done once you obtain it. There is so much content in here that there is basically one table of contents at the beginning and then a "sub" TOC for each volume of work. I.e. Click on the "Volume" chapters to obtain a full listing of what gems are in r anyone who loves The Raven, the photos that accompany this poem really are attractive and add to the reading experience tremendously. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Short Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Poems Tales Criticism (Perennial Classics) []  2020-2-2 3:24

    I am trying to expand my horizons and read things other than murder/mystery stories. I've always thought Poe had some interesting stories so decided to read a few more. Yes, he definitely has an interesting method of telling tales.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    Had Poe ever met Charles Dickens, that would have been a combination of strange and disturbing stories. Poe has such an interesting style and his mind is very dark. Nonetheless you should read his collection. Once you have finished these short stories, everything you encounter for the rest of the day seems normal compared to Poe's twisted insight. Read this collection. You will feel better for having experienced a darker and deeper imagination through the eyes of Poe. Amazing reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    Couldn't believe how cool Poe is in his writing - an originator of the mystery genre. A must read for a possible any mystery aficionado.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    This collection might be complete, but it is not worth the price. It seems to be a hodge-podge of different OCR'ed texts, and there are typos and annoying formatting problems throughout. Moreover, the index does not include links to each of the texts, which is an unforgivable omission on a electronic anthology. The effect is that you have to find for the title of each text, which takes a while due to the size of this collection.Were I to do this over again, I'd look for a better Kindle edition. In fact, I might do that anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    I did not keep a fresh copy of this book as promised or displayed with a dust jacket, but instead received an old copy, with no dust jacket, with the pages already seperating out from the binding, and a with very musty smell. Not good old copy, nothing that was advertised, or desired.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    While Poe is known for his "dark tales" there are some short stories that are truly intriguing (The Gold Bug is an example). He's often considered the father of the "detective story" genre...The Gold Bug is a amazing example of this together with the a lot of darker tales such as The Black Cat, Tell-Tall Heart, Murders in the Rue Morgue. I haven't read all of the short stories, as I'm busy!A amazing volume to if you are a Poe fan, as everything is consolidated in one place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    It got my 11 year old reading. He's dislikes reading because of the time it takes to obtain fro beginning to end for a typical 5th grade story. While Edgar Allen Poe's works are above the 5th grade level, they are short and hold you interested. Excellent selection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    I loved reading Poe as a teenager. This book is a Poe Lover's Dream. Have it on my night stand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    Well, they forced me to read some of his writings in high school and, at that time, I just thought Poe was weird. Quick forward 15 years and a co-worker loaned me a copy of The Pit And The Pendulum and I could not believe how amazing a story that e next thing I knew, I bought this book and re-read all of the stories I knew from high school, then read several others and was amazed at how extremely well written they were. I even sat down with my older children and read things like: The Raven, The Tell Tale Heart, The Cask of Amontillado, etc., with them so that we could discuss them.If you like his writings, I believe you will have fun this collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    First of all, this review will provide insight of the book's content and condition (I bought it used). Poe and his writing speak for far as the content of this book, the title speaks for itself also. The stories are separated into three various sections titled "Tales of Mystery and Horror" (containing some of his more popular works such as "The Tell-Tale Heart," "The Cask of Amontillado," and "The Masque of the Red Death"), "Humor and Satire" (which contain "The Man that Was Used Up" and "The Sphinx"), and "Flights and Fantasies" ("Eleonora" and "The Oval Portrait" are contained here). The first of the latest two sections of the book includes his novel "The Narrative of A. Gordon Pym of Nantucket" and the latest is the complete collection of ALL his poems.I purchased this book used from warehouse_deals and was glad of the product I received. Although there were wears and tears on the dust cover (which isn't necessary to me), the book binding retained its shape regardless of the age of the book. In fact, it only looks a couple of months old on the outside. The pages are yellowing, the dead that this is a used book (other than the dust cover).Overall, this is one of those books that every library should be without. The publisher did a amazing job of collecting and binding this compilation; it's complete and should latest a lifetime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe []  2020-2-1 0:22

    What can it be said about the literary talent of Edgar Allan Poe at this point of time? This American writer was an astounding man of letters, without whose contributions our globe would probably be more boring and dull. He was able to elevate an underrated narrative format like the short story form to the category of true art, and also the first one to reasonably theorize about it.Even though Poe was something of a "mixed bag" (a critic once said of him that he was "three-fifths genius and two-fifths sheer fudge") his best tales are still intimidating narrative achievements. Some of the best are: "The Pit and the Pendulum", "The Masque of The Red Death", "The Black Cat", "The Tell-Tale Heart", "The Imp of the Perverse", or "Descent into the Maelström" (to name just a few, of course). To pass away without having read some (if not all) of these masterpieces should be considered as something akin to a deadly sin or a capital offense. Poe was not A short story writer, he was THE short story writer, and a lot of of his tales are still coveted triumphs that a lot of aspirants to penpushers revere and envy. No matter if Poe is not sufficiently appreciated in America (is that really so?), here in Europe we'll be extremely happy to give him a home. As a matter of fact I'd even contribute tax to build him a public statue if I was asked to. The amazing moments that his best works have given me create him deserving of that. No other American writer has been so influential or has achieved so amazing a renown worldwide (especially in Europe and South America). Compared to his, the work of other writers like Tag Twain or William Faulkner strike me as "period pieces" and "local colour narratives".Among all the different editions readily available compiling the entire Works of Edgar Allan Poe, this omnibus by "Doubleday Publishing" is perhaps the best option for your money. It contains both his entire poetry and short fiction, as well as his only novel (`The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym'); it is also reasonably priced and the book is quite compact, without being excessively huge or bulky (you are not needed to be a weight lifter to read it in bed). The only edition that probably surpasses this one in quality and contents is that published by "The Library of America" (but which is also more expensive). If, like me, you don't care much about Poe's poetry, then "The Complete Stories" by Everyman's Library (ISBN: 978-0679417408) should be a amazing choice as well. It doesn't really matter as long as people hold reading Poe from time to time and thus maintaining his brilliant legacy alive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    A masterpiece of Poe biographies which doesn't dwell on the typical, but seems to ask, and respond a lot of of the questions most of us wondered about the mysterious author and poet. What haunts, places, and even people inspired and lead him to the special works we now know? It's a sort of equivalent to looking through the underwear drawer of someone strong and famous, an insight into a person you didn't think you'd ever obtain a glimpse of. I couldn't place this book down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    If you are reading this review, you are likely either a fan of Poe, a fan of travel guides, or a fan of Ocker 's other work. In any of those instances, you are going to be delighted with your purchase. It's private without being overly autobiographical and informative without being dry. The only caution I would is that this book makes me wish to drop my responsibilitiss, package a bag, and obtain to road-trippin'!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    Fascinating book on Poe and the haunts and locals associated with him. The author takes a very anecdotal look at Poe's whereabouts, broken down geographically rather than chronologically. I was in Baltimore -- at the very nicely restored Poe House -- when I stumbled across this one. I skipped straight to the Baltimore section and was able to do my own small Poe tour in that city. Ocker helps separate the myth from the reality and has a lot of fun doing it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    I am a large fan of Edgar Allan Poe. Lots to read in this book. A solid addition to my Poe library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    Allow me first apologize to the author. He did a amazing job and clearly place in countless hours of work on this book. I wish to really love it and I do like it but I found myself allow down on the organization and a few random fading in the narrative. The author does advise the reader that the book is not organized chronologically and allows reasons for such and I accepted that as perfectly fine. However, I found myself wishing it were following the chronology of Poe's life more and more, as I read through. What I discovered was that pages dedicated to Poe's death and burial zone were what I bought the book seeking. The book allowed me to search that, as I was getting frustrated,waiting for something exciting or more touchable to present itself and it did...regarding the death burial and resettlement.If you are a Poe scholar or extreme fan, you either already own this book or need to. If you are a casual Poe fan, the book is an perfect reference for some oddities of Poe. But if you are like myself and just like the old films created from the Poe writings and/or the poems themselves, this book is not likely to satisfy what you are seeking but I do not say this in critique of the author; rather, I encourage everyone to read this book but have expectations that you may search yourself skipping around to land on those points that perk your interests.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    A unbelievable book that blends the facts of Poe's strange and difficult life, along with the author's perfect and, dare I say it, exciting journey to those locations that will forever be intertwined with Poe. This book is in no method your ordinary biography of Poe, but it's every bit as amazing as any of the other bios out there, and it stands alone in its uniqueness; a uniqueness based on the author's narration. Upbeat, excellent, and with just the right amount of humor. It's also a book that will stay with you long after you turn that latest page. And as such, it's a amazing addition to the Poe Collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    I can’t wait to begin reading this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    For Edgar A. Poe fans this is a amazing book. I am a large Poe fan and have read tons of books about the genius author (and most of his prose). I have also visited a lot of of the websites in America that claim Poe lived, slept etc. And I must say this book adds to all that. The whimsical author shares his visits and adds fresh insights and ideas to the Poe phenomenon. Even the updates on museums was intriguing. Amust read for anyone interested in early America's greatest writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    This was a fun book to read. The author traveled to different states and areas (including England) that have a connection to Edgar Allan Poe and along the method also meets with different people involved with Poe in some way. It's part travelogue and part biography. It's also amazing fun, entertaining, and written conversationally, with a humorous comment tossed in every now and then. In a word: Excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-6-23 19:19

    I have followed J.W. Ocker's blog for a while and now his Patreon newsletter. He's a fun guy, a amazing writer, and really engaged. He does all the street trips and leg work we all would wish to do. Did I learn fresh things about Poe? Yes, although I am a Poe-et myself. Mostly this book is an insight into an American subculture as fascinating as Poe himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nevermore: A Photobiography of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-1-20 21:1

    Plenty of photographs, plenty of interesting facts, this book is an perfect go to tutorial for younger fans of Poe. This book was clearly a labor of love, it's beautifully designed and written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nevermore: A Photobiography of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-1-20 21:1

    Karen Lange's fresh addition to the bicentennial Poe fever is titled "Nevermore", after the poem "The Raven" which Poe was called upon to recite in nearly every public appearance he ever made. Her treatment of the author's life is, like her book on Jamestown, geared toward young adults, but does not pedal his failings or his psychological basis. The story is a fascinating one, right out of the 19th century: full of pathos and family tragedy, with a full treatment of what it is that created Edgar Allan Poe the quintessential Gothic master of fiction and poetry. My only complaint with the book is that Ms Lange neglected to give him his due in one critical area: his development of the perfected short story. If you doubt this, read "The Minister's Black Veil" by his contemporary Nathanial Hawthorne (a more typical horror story of the period). Now, compare this to "The Cask of Amontillado". Poe was a amazing admirer of Hawthorne, but clearly learned from his "mistakes". As with Blackwood, Machen and Lovecraft who followed, Poe was a real master of the weird and gruesome. Unlike them, however, he was the first, the Creator of proto-horror. He did the same for science fiction and the detective story. "Nevermore" digs deep into the sorrowful life of this man, the rejection of his adopted father, the protracted death of his kid bride, his family's abject poverty and his creative struggle. The reader is amazed , in fact, why the globe didn't slay him off sooner. The unasked question at the end in this, the 200th anniversary of his birth, is this: would we have his superb poetry and blood-curdling fiction if he'd had a satisfied life as a government clerk, with rosy-cheeked wife and children? Ms Lange's handling of Poe's fascinating story (with perfect graphics and photography) is well worth the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nevermore: A Photobiography of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-1-20 21:1

    This book was an simple read for the 5th and 6th graders at my school location. The enjoyed it for poetry month!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nevermore: A Photobiography of Edgar Allan Poe []  2020-1-20 21:1

    Edgar Allan Poe's parents were actors in a day and age when the profession was not particularly well respected and a "boo" was not uncommon. Edgar's siblings, Henry and Rosalie were abandoned by their alcoholic father and when their young, tubercular mother died at the tender age of twenty-four they were tossed to the winds. Two-year-old Edgar was "taken in by Frances Allan," but never adopted, though lived a life of privilege. The only thing he had left of his family was a little portrait of his mother.Poe was a amazing student, but things did not bode well for him. He had a falling out with his wealthy foster father, John Allan, and without he soon fell into debt and began to gamble. He ran off to Boston and began to write poetry. Still impoverished he enlisted in the troops under a fictitious name and oddly enough, rose quickly in the ranks. Later, after another, but final falling out with his foster father he became dependent on other family members. He began to write and it started to off. The he created was meager and he "joined forces with English author and activist Charles Dickens to argue that writers should be more for their works." He began to write suspenseful tales that tapped into "readers' anxieties." Yet, despite his success he still couldn't his bills. He started to binge drink. What would become of him?If you are a Poe fan, you're going to love this book. The writing had a nice conversational style and quickly drew me through the book. The photographs, appropriately, are in darker tones. In the back of the book is a chronology of Poe's life and extra recommended book, article and web website resources. Also included is a listing of locations you can visit. Although several of his works are cited, there is no listing of Poe's literary works. If tales like the Premature Burial scared you half to death when you were a youngster you'll love this photobiography!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Amazing collection! I have to give this particular ebook 5 stars for a lot of reasons but the main being that the authors/publishers have chosen to share Poe's work for through this medium. I note this and stress on it so heavily because there are a lot of other ebook versions out there where people are charging up to $5 or more for everything that is included in this (all of the work is in the public domain and I search it quite dishonorable to charge for text that can be found through a fast google search). Also, top quality formatting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    I'm not quite sure why the editor chose these specific stories to form this collection. I understand that the theme is supposed to be "terrifying tales" but some of the stories doesn't seem to fit. The majority of the stories, "The Tell-Tale Heart," "The Cask of Amontillado," "The Masque of the Red Death," "The Fall of the House of Usher," and "The Pit and the Pendulum", are obvious choices. (I would question the in which the stories were presented.) However, the two C. Auguste Dupin stories seems to be misplaced. I didn't search them to be scary. If the objective was to introduce the reader to the first detective story, then why omit the second Dupin story ("The Mystery of Marie Rogêt")? That method the reader can read all the stories about Dupin. In lieu of these detective stories, the author should have just added other tales such as the "The Raven" or "The Black Cat."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    AWESOME BOOK. I love Edgar Allen Poe. He is one of my favorite story teller, poet, author, writer, and gifted individual I have ever read. His stories are so terrifying good. He was so talented that I am at awe with his work to this day. I especially love reading his stories around Halloween to the children! I highly recommend these classic tales that are to in kindle. A amazing enjoyment to me. This had several of his best works of art. A must read for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Have always loved Edgar Allan Poe and he out did himself with these tales. Could not stop reading these and I recommend you read them in the day. Terrifying is an understatement for these tales. Gotta read them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    I first started reading Poe in a high school literature class. I quickly became a fan, thanks in part to a really amazing teacher. I like how a lot of of the stories move along quickly but have surprises around every corner. His stories are timeless and will forever be appreciated as amazing literature. This is a really amazing collection of Poe stories, especially for someone wanting to obtain used to the scope of his writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    As a longtime Poe lover, I was thrilled to see this book available as a one-day freebie. I grabbed it and am very happy with the stories included.If you love Poe, tales of the macabre, or wish some creepy stories to read at night then I'd recommend downloading this book. Well worth the current price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Poe is certainly one of the best known American authors, and his fame is without any doubt well deserved. Because the 7 stories included here are all top-notch, this book is well worth downloading -- especially since it is offered for (thank you Simon & Schuster). Of course, Poe's tales do reflect 19th century content and style, so to some modern readers they may seem excessively wordy, overly descriptive, and not particularly "exciting." But mature and discerning readers who can appreciate Poe's precise and deliberate use of language and his uncanny ability to make and sustain an eerie atmosphere will certainly relish the entries in this little amazes me, however, that someone of Poe's stature has his name misspelled in the Kindle Store's descriptive blurb. His name is Edgar Allan Poe (with an "A" not an "E" in "Allan"); it is NOT Edgar Allen (sic) Poe. Be that as it may, this is a well-formatted collection of seven stories. Five are in the horror/terror genre, and two ("The Purloined Letter" and "The Murders in the Rue Morgue") are mysteries starring the pioneering fictional detective, C. Auguste Dupin (whose methodology was later imitated by countless other authors of detective fiction, including the amazing Sir Arthur Conan Doyle). The book has an active TOC, but there is no introduction, and neither explanatory notes nor illustrations are provided. Nevertheless, as a freebie, it is certainly worth acquiring, and it certainly makes a amazing introduction to Poe.If you read and have fun these tales, I would recommend purchasing a COMPLETE edition of Poe's works; first, because you obtain a whole lot more amazing Poe that method (stories, poems, essays); and second, because there are so a lot of inexpensive, complete sets available in the Kindle Shop to choose from. (For my "keeper copy" I opted for a particularly well-formatted edition costing only $.99 from Top Five Books; to see it type "Poe Top Five Books" in the Kindle Shop searchbox.) Of course ALL his works, being in the public domain, may also be had for free, but a complete bundle is very convenient and provides instant gratification -- not to mention a lifetime of reading and re-reading pleasure.UPDATE: Poe remains as great, but this small collection, has flip-flopped in from to $.99 back to free. It is not really worth even the low of $.99 since (as I mentioned above) you can a set containing EVERYTHING Poe ever wrote for that same $.99.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    When I was a young man I read because I had to, not because I wanted to. As I have gotten older I can see why reading was so encouraged in my youth - it helps to make a well rounded mind. Reading Edgar Allan Poe's classics helps to take me back to a simpler time. His writings are truly imaginative and so much more classy than the gore that is presented today to our youth. I am very impressed with the Amazon Kindle selection of classic books and how nicely the Kindle application works on my tablet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    What's not to love about Poe? Seriously. What could I review other than the kindle download. Well...considering this was a download, no complaints there. Nor is the quality of the kindle ver something to wag a finger at. My kindle ver fits perfectly and the table of contents feature works amazing encase, you're like me, you wish to skid between stories and reread material as you desire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum []  2020-1-22 19:14

    I bought this book before my family and I left for a camping trip. Everybody loved reading from it, and the children loved listening to us read from it. At night, we would all sit around the fire and take turns reading the stories from it, out loud to everyone. This is a very amazing book and it came through for just what I downloaded it on my Kindle for. It was absolutely perfect! None of the stories were so scary that the children couldn't hear them, so that was also really good. This book kept everyone from age 7 to forty two entertained. Amazing job with this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    I truly enjoyed it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: A Biography []  2020-2-12 21:52

    Terrific book about a much misunderstood man. I highly recommend it. Even if you aren't a fan of Poe,it will support you to comprehend his writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Children love these books at the library!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    very amazing series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Amazing biography series that all children will enjoy. My students (4th grade) can't seem to place them down. I've had them in my room for the latest few years and they just eat them up. The content is simple to understand and it provides amazing info on each person/topic along with a timeline in the back. Amazing for parents and teachers alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    These books are amazing for young and old. Excellent little bite or synopsis to inform and entertain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Another amazing edition from the "Who Was..." Series. Amazing introduction to Poe for young fans or any age fans who wish a fast overview of the man who place mystery and macabre on the literary map!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    This line of books is awesomeIts not too long but it is packed with alot of info!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: A Biography []  2020-2-12 21:52

    There are only 144 pages but I found a lot of useful info in it. I required 4 sources and this was simple to read and my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Accurate acc of his life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    My grandson loves this book. He is going to be Edgar Allan Poe for Halloween.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Bought this for my grand-daughter for school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    This was a fair and accurate acc of Poe's life. However, it is quite brief and leaves the reader lacking or desirous of more info regarding this fascinating author. Further, if one is interested in analysis of Poe's works, he or she should seek other resources. This book serves well as an introduction to the author, but lacks depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    An perfect and detailed acc of the troubled life of a amazing American writer, this biography does not shy away from Poe's a lot of short-comings, both as a man and as a writer. Financial pressures and his lifelong struggle with alcoholism led Poe to produce a amazing of work that is of dubious quality. Collins, however, is able to present the significance of Poe's greatest stories and poems, particularly as the originator of the detective story genre. I would have like to have learned more about Poe's relationship with his wife, Virginia, whose lingering death was the amazing tragedy of Poe's life. Her long and ultimately fatal illness, like the early deaths of his mother and foster mother, must have played a role in Poe's fascination with doomed love and death. The death of a attractive woman was a frequent subject of Poe's stories and poems, especially his final poem 'Annabel Lee,' written two years after Virginia died of tuberculosis and only a few months before Poe's own death. The book also conjures up the literary globe of the mid-19th century and the difficulties faced by writers seeking to be published and paid. This is a useful acc for anyone interested in understanding the man behind some of the best-known stories and poetry in American literature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    A must read if you wish to understand Poe. His twisted life, and how he dealt with it is quite tragic. But you will obtain to feel as to the method he wrote and why. A sad tale, but worth the effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    Poe was an amazingly imaginative person but in most ways was ahead of his time. After reading the book I think I understand his binges better, If I had that items in my head all the time I'd wish to escape too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    This is a rather factual acc of the man's history of failures due to drunkenness. We know about that already! What we wish to search out is why he was so wonderfully and creatively nuts!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386