the complete tales and poems of edgar allan poe Reviews & Opinions


Submit the complete tales and poems of edgar allan poe review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Poe is certainly one of the best known American authors, and his fame is without any doubt well deserved. Because the 7 stories included here are all top-notch, this book is well worth downloading -- especially since it is offered for free (thank you Simon & Schuster). Of course, Poe's tales do reflect 19th century content and style, so to some modern readers they may seem excessively wordy, overly descriptive, and not particularly "exciting." But mature and discerning readers who can appreciate Poe's precise and deliberate use of language and his uncanny ability to make and sustain an eerie atmosphere will certainly relish the entries in this little amazes me, however, that someone of Poe's stature has his name misspelled in the Kindle Store's descriptive blurb. His name is Edgar Allan Poe (with an "A" not an "E" in "Allan"); it is NOT Edgar Allen (sic) Poe. Be that as it may, this is a well-formatted collection of seven stories. Five are in the horror/terror genre, and two ("The Purloined Letter" and "The Murders in the Rue Morgue") are mysteries starring the pioneering fictional detective, C. Auguste Dupin (whose methodology was later imitated by countless other authors of detective fiction, including the amazing Sir Arthur Conan Doyle). The book has an active TOC, but there is no introduction, and neither explanatory notes nor illustrations are provided. Nevertheless, as a freebie, it is certainly worth acquiring, and it certainly makes a amazing introduction to Poe.If you read and have fun these tales, I would recommend purchasing a COMPLETE edition of Poe's works; first, because you obtain a whole lot more amazing Poe that method (stories, poems, essays); and second, because there are so a lot of inexpensive, complete sets available in the Kindle Shop to choose from. (For my "keeper copy" I opted for a particularly well-formatted edition costing only $.99 from Top Five Books; to see it type "Poe Top Five Books" in the Kindle Shop searchbox.) Of course ALL his works, being in the public domain, may also be had for free, but a complete bundle is very convenient and provides instant gratification -- not to mention a lifetime of reading and re-reading pleasure.UPDATE: Poe remains as great, but this small collection, has flip-flopped in price from free to $.99 back to free. It is not really worth even the low price of $.99 since (as I mentioned above) you can purchase a set containing EVERYTHING Poe ever wrote for that same $.99.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Amazing collection! I have to give this particular ebook 5 stars for a lot of reasons but the main being that the authors/publishers have chosen to share Poe's work for free through this medium. I note this and stress on it so heavily because there are a lot of other ebook versions out there where people are charging up to $5 or more for everything that is included in this (all of the work is in the public domain and I search it quite dishonorable to charge cash for text that can be found through a fast google search). Also, top quality formatting!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    I'm not quite sure why the editor chose these specific stories to form this collection. I understand that the theme is supposed to be "terrifying tales" but some of the stories doesn't seem to fit. The majority of the stories, "The Tell-Tale Heart," "The Cask of Amontillado," "The Masque of the Red Death," "The Fall of the House of Usher," and "The Pit and the Pendulum", are obvious choices. (I would question the order in which the stories were presented.) However, the two C. Auguste Dupin stories seems to be misplaced. I didn't search them to be scary. If the objective was to introduce the reader to the first detective story, then why omit the second Dupin story ("The Mystery of Marie Rogêt")? That method the reader can read all the stories about Dupin. In lieu of these detective stories, the author should have just added other tales such as the "The Raven" or "The Black Cat."

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the complete tales and poems of edgar allan poe or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the complete tales and poems of edgar allan poe video reviews and related movies:

    See Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe - Barnes & Noble Leatherbound review on youtube.

     related image

    See edgar allan poe collection // on youtube.

     related image

    See The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe | Barnes and Noble Collectible Edition Edition on youtube.

     related image

    See "The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe" (Anthology Review) on youtube.

     related image

    See POEMS AND SHORT STORIES by Edgar Allan Poe - FULL AudioBook | GreatestAudioBooks.com on youtube.

     related image

    See Unboxing do livro - Edgar Allan Poe Complete Tales and Poems | Editora Castle Books on youtube.

     related image

    See Unboxing the Barnes & Noble Edgar Allan Poe Leatherbound Complete Collection on youtube.

     related image

    See 🦇 SIX CREEPY TALES by Edgar Allan Poe - FULL AudioBook 🎧📖 Greatest🌟AudioBooks on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    I first started reading Poe in a high school literature class. I quickly became a fan, thanks in part to a really amazing teacher. I like how a lot of of the stories move along quickly but have surprises around every corner. His stories are timeless and will forever be appreciated as amazing literature. This is a really amazing collection of Poe stories, especially for someone wanting to obtain used to the scope of his writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    As a longtime Poe lover, I was thrilled to see this book available as a one-day freebie. I grabbed it and am very happy with the stories included.If you love Poe, tales of the macabre, or wish some creepy stories to read at night then I'd recommend downloading this book. Well worth the current price!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    I bought this book before my family and I left for a camping trip. Everybody loved reading from it, and the children loved listening to us read from it. At night, we would all sit around the fire and take turns reading the stories from it, out loud to everyone. This is a very amazing book and it came through for just what I downloaded it on my Kindle for. It was absolutely perfect! None of the stories were so scary that the children couldn't hear them, so that was also really good. This book kept everyone from age 7 to forty two entertained. Amazing job with this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    When I was a young man I read because I had to, not because I wanted to. As I have gotten older I can see why reading was so encouraged in my youth - it helps to make a well rounded mind. Reading Edgar Allan Poe's classics helps to take me back to a simpler time. His writings are truly imaginative and so much more classy than the gore that is presented today to our youth. I am very impressed with the Amazon Kindle selection of classic books and how nicely the Kindle application works on my tablet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    AWESOME BOOK. I love Edgar Allen Poe. He is one of my favorite story teller, poet, author, writer, and gifted individual I have ever read. His stories are so terrifying good. He was so talented that I am at awe with his work to this day. I especially love reading his stories around Halloween to the children! I highly recommend these classic tales that are free to download in kindle. A amazing enjoyment to me. This free download had several of his best works of art. A must read for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    What's not to love about Poe? Seriously. What could I review other than the kindle download. Well...considering this was a free download, no complaints there. Nor is the quality of the kindle ver something to wag a finger at. My kindle ver fits perfectly and the table of contents feature works amazing encase, you're like me, you wish to skid between stories and reread material as you desire.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Terrifying Tales by Edgar Allan Poe: Tell Tale Heart; The Cask of the Amontillado; The Masque of the Red Death; The Fall of the House of Usher; The ... Purloined Letter; The Pit and the Pendulum review []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Have always loved Edgar Allan Poe and he out did himself with these tales. Could not stop reading these and I recommend you read them in the day. Terrifying is an understatement for these tales. Gotta read them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    ....there is no table of contents. you have to dig through it to search what you want. But I was able to search the works I fell in love with as a teenager; "Annabel Lee", "The Cask of Amontillado", "The Raven", "Tell-Tale Heart" et. al I just hated having to look and look for them. It is broken into 4 parts simply called I, II, III and IV and there is nothing to tell you on which page these particular works can be found. So even though it has them all, it would have been better if there was a table not only showing where they could be found, but also a list in the front of the book of WHAT works were in there as well. Other than that, I am satisfied with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    I am totally amazed why this amazing collection is sold only just for a couple of dollars. Not only the content is legendary, but the Kindle book is well structured also from the technical point of view (that is not obvious for all Kindle books). At latest I have the change to read Poe in original language practically without any costs.Poe is -as almost every horror story fan has admitted- amazing entertainer and thrilling author who raises also a lot of deep philosophical and psychological questions in his text, but he is also using rich language and a lot of strange and old words that are a true challenge and the put for learning for any medium-skilled foreign reader (like me) who wish to improve their English skills.Absolutely one of the best trades I have done in classics, enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    This was originally reviewed (along with every single story inside this anthology) over at , in the series "Tackling Poe". Naturally, to leave a review of everything here would be far too long!I finished reading Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales & Poems about a week ago, but I wanted to give myself some time to digest everything, watch The Raven, and to formulate my final begin off, I think that––overall––this collection was fairly good. I did have some problems with it, as I’ve talked about before in some of the earlier parts of this heavy review series. I really didn’t like that each story was just a sub-chapter of a larger heading, and formatted in a method that you couldn’t hold track of how much time was left in each segment (I often use this when I’m trying to justify staying up late or reading more during a break), and there were a few incorrectly classed pieces under the Essays e compiler of the work did do a very amazing job formatting the poetry and fiction prose. They used real type, so even on the Kindle, it created for very lovely reading. Small embellishments, like special titles, created the anthology look more polished.I would have liked to have seen more context notes, because some of the stories and poems created a amazing deal more sense with the context I was able to glean from the internet (after only moderate searching). Since all of Edgar Allan Poe’s works are public domain, and free, I expect more of an anthology, in this regard. In a lot of cases, the poetry or fiction notes that Edgar Allan Poe wrote to his editors at the time were not included with the stories, to the detriment of quite a few of ever, I know that to compile and format an anthology of this size and breadth is near impossible to do without some technical errors, and as most of my complaints were merely stylistic and subjective, I can recommend this anthology to most readers. Nothing will compare, I think, to seeing Poe’s works on paper (and being able to search quotes at a glance), but this is a close second. The section in the back which lists references to derivative or inspired works was very interesting. Much respect to Maplewood e anthology is a beast, totaling over 407,000 words that I’m finally at the end of the collection, I would like to offer a list of recommendations. I’ll choose ten of his “classics”, ten “unknowns”, and fifteen poems which I do not think are well-known (of course everyone knows to read “The Raven”, “Annabel Lee”, “Lenore”, and so on). All of these are entirely subjective, but I think if you read nothing else but some of the thirty five I suggest here, you’ll have fairly amazing luck in reading something you’ll enjoy. They are in no particular e Classics:1. The Fall of the House of Usher2. The Black Cat3. A Descent into Maelström4. The Gold-Bug5. The Oval Portrait6. The Cask of Amontillado7. The Pit and the Pendulum8. Ligeia9. The Tell-Tale Heart10. BereniceRelatively Unknowns:1. The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar2. Loss of Breath3. William Wilson4. The Premature Burial5. King Pest6. The Spectacles7. The Business Man8. The System of Doctor Tarr & Professor Fether9. The Colloquy of Monos and Una10. The Power of WordsPoems:1. The Town in the Sea2. Eldorado3. For Annie4. The Bells5. The Conqueror Worm6. The Haunted Palace7. In Youth I Have Known One8. Imitation9. The Valley of Unrest10. Tamerlane11. Sonnet – To Science12. The Forest Reverie13. The Village Street14. Alone15. Israfel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    I started reading Poe in the 8th grade a lot of a a lot of a years ago and have been reading him ever since. I was absolutely delighted when they came out with this Kindle edition. Unlike some here, I thought the formatting was amazing and the navigation on my Kindle almost flawless...I had no issues what so ever. Unlike some, I was unable to search any stories or poems that were not published in this collection...perhaps I simply overlooked them. Over the years of reading Poe I don’t think I have missed very much so there was nothing fresh here for me but that is okay because the vast majority of his work needs to be read and reread as you grow older. Your perception of a story or poem changes as you grow older and a story read through the eyes of a 12 year old kid is quite various that reading it though the eyes of a fellow who is well into his 70s. I continue to read I particularly enjoyed this Kindle ver due to the fact that some of the words and language used by Poe is no longer with us – times have changed and along with those changes are changes in the English language. Words Poe used at the time of his writing are no longer is use and a lot of young readers (myself included) simply are unfamiliar with their meaning. The Kindle allows you to instantly search the meaning of these words and not have to stop and dig trough your faithful dictionary; my Old Webster’s Fresh Universal Unabridged is falling apart after all these years and my back is poor and I am having issues lifting the thing now.Anyway, Poe is Poe and despite the dark reputation he has with a lot of readers, contributed a lot to American literature. To understand Poe goes far in understanding the evolution of where we have been from a literary stand point, and how we got to where we are this day and possibly where we are going in the is is one of those collections you probably won’t wish to set down and read from cover to cover in one reading but rather one that you will wish to pick up periodically and simply have fun between reading the books you normally read...it gives you a nice break and all of is stories are quite entertaining.And for those of you that HATE Poe because you were “forced” to read him in high school as require reading...hey you are older now and your time is your own...give him another chance...you might be surprised to learn you actually like the items now...on the other hand...maybe not!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    To save paper the people who work at this establishment made for you the most disastrously formatted collection of Poe-try and stories. Is this a fresh paragraph? or a fresh story? No it's 5 various works squished back to back between 2 pages. Included also: text blocks so huge your eyes will roll to the back of your head!This actually looks like the most concise ver of a collection of Poe works for the size. That's not a complement though. A headache to read, so frustrating ive debated chucking this book into a paper shredder. Invest in a better version.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    I'll be honest, I am quite a fan of Poe's later works, and I have enjoyed a lot of of the stories in here that I'd never heard before. However, I can say that a few of the stories present his earlier work really, really, was boring! Before he began using poetry as his main writing style, he really liked being overly descriptive to the point that your mind numbs. One story early on in this was so poor that I tried skimming to obtain to "good parts" and couldn't really search anything so I just jumped to the end. Thankfully his writing gets much better, and there are some fresh gems here to add with his more popular works. I think this is a amazing collection of stories overall and I appreciate that it allow me see how far he's come. If anything, this should be encouraging to any beginning writer that even a amazing like Poe had to work on his craft!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    While I've read quite a few of these works in other imprintings, this is the most complete compilation I've found to date. And for my Kindle Application for Windows-8 it's sure to be an oft visited resource. If you have favorites among Poe's works, you'll probably search them in this table of contents. Over 100 texts included. (Short Stories alone take up four pages of the contents.)It's got my favorite of his poems, "Lenore" written for a dearly departed young wife, and "To One In Paradise." Some of my favorite short stories are show as well, including "Fall of the House of Usher", "Tell Tale Heart", and "The System of Dr. Tarr and Professor Feather." While not every piece of literature here is tainted with murder, a lot of feature a character's remorse or shock of bereavement. I'm reminded of the seemingly invisible monsters drawing the carts to Hogwarts in one of the Harry Potter ere, the small blonde girl 'Luna' confides in Harry, "you can only see them if you've seen someone die." As macabre as it sounds, there's a humility in confronting an ever show and certain mortality. The author of Ecclesiastes wrote it like so, "the living know they shall die." It's seed is show in the summation of the Deathly Hallows tale where the latest brother finally departs with death "as an old friend." When Tolkien's Silmarillion comments on the "doom of men", as death was called by the kings of Numenor, he also notes that the Valar considered it a merciful limitation on the sufferings of humanity. Likewise, some have reckoned the act of God in Eden, prohibiting the 'knowing' humans from eating from the tree-of-life to be a mercy instead of a punitive action. Bearing the void which never leaves, 'thousands of days' instead of 'thousands of years'.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    It seems crazy to me that I literally can't remember if I read Poe in school or not! Was he so shocking to me that I blocked him out or did I just somehow manage to navigate around his classic works?In any case, as an adult, he is an absolutely fascinating hero to me in the most heart-wrenching way. I think a lot about those tortured souls who place such awesome work out into our globe and yet suffer so immensely in their own ways. Poe and his works definitely belong in this category!My only challenge with this book was figuring out the table of contents but it's actually very well done once you obtain it. There is so much content in here that there is basically one table of contents at the beginning and then a "sub" TOC for each volume of work. I.e. Click on the "Volume" chapters to obtain a full listing of what gems are in r anyone who loves The Raven, the photos that accompany this poem really are attractive and add to the reading experience tremendously. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    Edgar Allan Poe is undoubtedly one of the most influential writers of all time. This collection breaks everything he ever wrote into his short stories, novel, poems, and essays, most of which have their own reason to be worth reading. There are a few duds, every writer has to have some, but there are some wonderful highs as rst, the short stories, which Poe is most well-known for. This is definitely the best section of the book. All of the Poe's most well-known classics are here, and I would also recommend some of his lesser known stories, particularly A Descent into the Maelstrom, The Black Cat, The Spectacles, The System of Dr. Tarr and Professor Fether, and The Business Man, as particular greats. You should be able to read every story in this collection in less than an hour, so you can finish them in one sitting.Poe wrote only one long novel, and even it can be stage as a collection of a few short e Narrative of A. Gordon Pym is a very heart-wrenching story, classic be honest, I'm not much to read poetry, so I'll hold this brief and say that the Raven is great, and if you do like poetry, there will be plenty more here for e essays are well worth the read as well. Several don't seem particularly various from his short stories, and I'd say Thou Art The Man and Hop-Frog are the e most annoying thing about this book was that Poe had a habit of quoting french and Latin in his stories, and there were no translations to be had here. It can be annoying, but it doesn't really ruin the stories. I hope you search these tales of mystery, horror, and sometimes comedy as entertaining as I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Complete Collection review []  2020-1-22 19:15

    You've just got to love Kindle. Where else could you obtain such a fabulous collection of books for this price? I remember years ago belonging to the Masterpiece Book Club. At that Time, a beautifully bound classic book arrived each month for the low price of $9.98. We thought this was a bargain. With all the books we purchased, we never received such a thorough collection of Poe's works.What a attractive compendium this is. I've read almost everything Poe has written over the years, but I'm really looking forward to re-reading some of my favorites and also a lot of works that I'm sure I've is is just the type of reading I like to have access to when I don't wish to obtain into a long story. I'll be keeping this on my Kindle for those times I'm waiting on hold, in the doctor's office, or just in long e link to the free audio book is an unexpected pleasure and just icing on the cake. I highly recommend this unbelievable collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    I loved this book. I thought it was especially cool that that original Poe tales were included. It had been a while since I'd read them, so I went through this book by reading the Poe ver first, then the retelling, to see all of the various ways the authors interpreted and built upon Poe's works. It's so cool to see how these authors re-imagined these stories in such a wide dozens of ways. This book could be especially valuable to a student or class studying Poe, helping them connect with the material in entirely fresh ways. Regardless of a classroom setting, these stories are just fun :) excellent for anyone who wants to read something a @#$%!&illing on a cool fall night surrounded by Halloween candy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    Just in time for the season of frights, His Hideous Heart takes familiar Edgar Allan Poe stories and reimagines them across a wide spectrum of genres, sexualities, genders, and ethnicities. My private faves contain Emily Lloyd-Jones's exciting retelling of "The Purloined Letter" and Dahlia Adler's creepy spin on "Ligeia."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    This was SUCH a delight - such a wonderfully wide dozens of retellings, and most of the authors were fresh to me but there were several whose work I will now seek out. My favorites were the stories by Tessa Gratton, Dahlia Adler, and Rin Chupeco. I also really loved having the Poe text right there and being able to alternate reading the originals and the retellings. This is a excellent atmospheric read for fall!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    This was so much fun to read and excellent for the spooky season! I always loved Poe in high school but it had been forever since I’d read his stories and this book has them all laid out in the back with the reimagined works in the front. I flipped back and forth for every story and my favorites was the Annabel retelling and Lygia retelling, least favorite the Fall of the House Usher retelling. Also the black out Raven by Amanda Lovelace was great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    As a large Poe fan I found a lot of of these stories poorly written with loose links to the actual works. Not a amazing quality or dozens of authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    Amazing retellings! This novel got most of my family involved. My husband liked it. My daughter loved it. And as an English teacher, I adored it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    Love modern retellings of classic tales!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    When I first heard about this anthology, I just about lost my mind. I have been a fan of Edgar Allan Poe (aka Creepy Edgar) for years! His stories and poems are so dark and twisty and spooky. They’ve always intrigued me. And then I got an email asking me to be involved in the blog tour for His Hideous Heart and I almost fainted! I could not have said yes quick enough lol.Let’s obtain started!Whenever an author (or a group of authors) retell a classic, there’s always a worry (at least for me) that they won’t do it justice. That was not a issue here. They took enough of the originals so any Poe fan (lol me) could recognize the story they were retelling but also create them special enough that they are brilliant stories in their own. Alright, let’s talk individual stories!She Rode a Horse of Fire by Kendare Blake (inspired by Metzengerstein)When a rich girl pretending to be a maid dies in a stable fire on the estate, Friedrich goes into a deep dark depression, blaming himself. He locks himself in a room and becomes obsessed with a painting. The housekeeper, Eliza, is the only one brave enough to see him and when she visits, he tells her that the picture keeps moving, changing.But all of a sudden, he comes out of his depression and goes driving one day. He comes back with a girl and they seem to fall in love. Everything is amazing until Friedrich is found dead at the front gate. With no other heirs to the estate, Eliza won’t allow it go to anyone oughts: This one is so utterly creepy and ’s Carnival! by Tiffany D. Jackson (inspired The Cask of Amontillado)Cindy leads a man, Darrell, back to what is supposedly her house. She tempts him with sorrel and then once he arrives, she bricks him up in the wall. It is her revenge for his past oughts: I loved this story! It’s all about revenge just like the original but this time, it’s a woman setting out to obtain ght-Tide by Tessa Gratton (inspired by Annabel Lee)Jackie meets Annabel Lee during her trips with her family to the Kingdom of the Sea, a resort overlooking a bay. They become quick mates but soon turn into something more. Jackie and Annabel Lee fall in love. But when Annabel doesn’t return to the resort the next year, Jackie goes looking for her. She’s not sure she can live with what she finds?Thoughts: This is one of my favorite stories in the whole anthology. It’s f/f which I love and the setting and the whole tone of the story is absolutely beautiful. TW: suicideThe Glittering Death by Caleb Roehrig (inspired by The Pit and the Pendulum)Laura is taken and tortured by a assassin known as The Judge. She tries to reason with him, trick him, but it never works in her favor. She finally realizes he is drugging her with the water he give her. When he starts hosing her down, she spills out her water without him noticing. Finally seeing her possibility for escape, she makes a run for it. But he’s quickly stops her. Will she be able to create it out alive?Thoughts: Oh this story was utterly perfect. It is beautiful violent but Laura is a awesome and intelligent as hell.A Drop of Stolen Ink by Emily Lloyd-Jones (inspired by The Purloined Letter)Augusta Pine (not her true name) infiltrates her method into the Atreus Partnership with a fake identity tattoo. Everyone has a tattoo that includes their private information. She’s there to take down the head of the company. He has a duplicate ID tattoo which is supposed to be impossible and very illegal. It turns out The Feds created it, he stole gusta is facing a prison sentence and working as a spy is the only path to her freedom. But when she finds the tattoo, it’s in the latest put she would have oughts: This story was so fun. It has an f/f relationship in it towards the end and it’s just heist-y and sci-fi and so intriguing.Happy Days, Sweetheart by Stephanie Kuehn (inspired by The Tell-Tale Heart)The narrator kills a boy (Jonah) she’s seeing. Why? He keeps winning everything she worked so hard for. She stabs him multiple times and then she hides the body. But when the police come, she hears a noise that shouldn’t be possible…his heartbeat. Will she turn herself in or obtain away with murder?Thoughts: I LOVED this take on The Tell-Tale Heart. It was much more relatable than the original (not that I would slay a dude). The narrator’s ambition and fear and maybe even love for the boy she feels throughout the story is so e Raven (Remix) by amanda lovelace (inspired by The Raven)Thoughts: Please read this one aloud! The rhyming scheme is perfectly in tune with the original and it’s so much fun to say and angeling by Marieke Nijkamp (inspired by Hop-Frog)Children who the globe deems broken and abuses are saved by the changelings and brought to a various globe where they are cared for and oughts: Excuse me while I cry because this story is so attractive and I wish it to be real! This is definitely one of my faves of the anthology. It is also written in parts going from the past to the show and I love when authors do e Oval Filter by Lamar Giles (inspired by The Oval Portrait)Tariq is a football player who’s injured but in recovery. While in an ice bath to repair his muscles, he takes out his phone and scrolls through Instagram. But while looking at pictures, he sees a picture of someone he knows shouldn’t be there. It’s Courtney. His girlfriend. She’s dead. But when he tries to present it to someone else, the acc is gone.When he goes back on Instagram, he sees it again, but this time, the pictures look wrong. They look like she’s being thrown around, hurt. The next time he checks his phone, a picture of has Courtney become his homescreen and then the picture starts to move. Various shots flick back and forth making it look like her eyes are rough the pictures, Tariq finds out who killed Courtney and he avenges oughts: This is so perfectly interpreted for today I can barely obtain out words. it’s expertly done and the final stage will leave you shook!Red by Hillary Monahan (inspired by The Masque of the Red Death)Death (a slight woman in a shabby coat) comes arrives at Prospero’s, a fancy club for the strong and the wealthy. And she shows no oughts: This original Poe story is one of my favorites and Hillary Monahan did not disappoint with her retelling. Death comes for the rich and she does not pull any punches. *cackles*Lygia by Dahlia Adler (inspired by Ligeia)The narrator remembers their love with Lygia who died of cancer and everything they never got to do together and be. But then she starts falling for someone else. She likes them a lot but they still aren’t Lygia. Unless, she can create them into her??Thoughts: This is another “grab the tissues” story. It’s also another f/f (flails with delight). I really like this one because you think it’s one thing at the beginning and then the end hits and you’re e Fall of the Bank of Usher by Fran Wilde (inspired by The Fall of the House of Usher)Rik and Angry obtain a challenge to go to an offshore bank and see if they can cheat it. If they do, they obtain a ton of cash which would let them to finally disappear. But it turns out to much more risky than they expected. Can they victory the challenge or will this latest shot at freedom take their lives?Thoughts: HACKERS! Who doesn’t wish to see a bank crash and burn especially after all they have done in the past? This story is utterly creepy and I wasn’t sure whether Rik and Angry were going to survive in the end (no spoilers!)The Murders in the Rue Apartelle, Boracay by Rin Chupeco (inspired by The Murders in the Rue Morgue)Written like a conversation between the narrator and a friend, she talks about this guy (Ogie) she met in Boracay (Philippines) and how amazing he is and that he doesn’t judge her. She info the time they spend together, but it soon turns dark when they start to investigate one the multiple murders on the island. But as the narrator finishes her story, it seems like Ogie might hiding quite the oughts: Trans Rep!! The narrator is a trans woman and damn does this story take you on a ride. The conversational tone is PERFECT and the method it’s written created me feel like I was there. And I always love a story with a amazing murder ank you to Flatiron Books for the free ARC in exchange for my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    (Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.)I couldn't imagine a book that was more on brand for me. Edgar Allen Poe re-tellings, edited by a unbelievable human, full of some of my favorite and most anticipated authors? His Hideous Heart is created for me. I was unbelievably lucky to obtain an early copy and I devoured it whole. His Hideous Heart retains the magic of anthology, while bringing fresh life to Edgar Allen Poe. Part of why I love anthologies, is that not only do they offer you experiences to become closer to your favorite authors, but also to explore fresh loves. And what a subject. I can remember my first experiences with Edgar Allen Poe in middle school. Being absolutely transfixed by his writing, his characters, the atmosphere. Obsessed with the Gothic imagery and haunting ese stories retain the eeriness, the creepiness, the same feeling of curiosity, and breathes fresh settings, characters, and technology. Nothing is as it seems and it only makes me wish to go re-read the originals. Re-tellings will consistently captivate me - how much you retain from the original, what themes you bring forth, and which elements you eliminate. This anthology was like watching my wildest fantasies come true.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    His Hideous Heart: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe's Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined review []  2020-1-14 19:25

    His Hideous Heart is a very powerful compilation of works that aim to update several original Edgar Allen Poe stories. Poe stories that obtain the modern treatment contain "The Cask of Amontillado," "The Tell-tale Heart," and "The Raven." In addition to the modernized works, the original stories are published in the back of the edition for reference (I did not read these for this review.)I'm not a large short story person and fairly selective about young adult fiction, so I was pleasantly surprised that the majority of stories found in this collection are intelligent and compelling. Most of them really capture the tone of an Edgar Allen Poe story perfectly. Stand-out favorite stories contain "It's Carnival" and "Night-Tide," but must of these are rated at least four stars if I were to rate them e least powerful stories in the collection in my opinion were the latest two, which is a shame because I always wish to leave a short story collection on a high note. But even these are amazing and worth ank you NetGalley and Flatiron Books for my free review copy. All opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    All the classics come in this book. It's a fast read and I like that the book is little enough to toss in my purse so I have something to read while I'm waiting for an appointment or over my lunch break. Arrived quickly in the mail.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    Hey, what can I say! This is the complete collection of one of the best known American authors of all time. This collection is a amazing addition to any collection of books, and might even entice electronic, paper-phobic teens to flip though and search something they enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    Hard not to love Poe's poems! and to have it in a nice little book that is simple to carry is also nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    Together and it is in affordable option for some of his more popular pieces I'm glad that I purchased and it was a nice addition to my small library

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I love the dark stories from Poe and they are excellent for a short read while most are short in length. Also the Poems are various as well but just right to create you think before your off to bed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    First thing to say is that I was surprised when a saw the book, it was quite bigger than what I thought I would be. I just did not read the Product Dimensions in the description, be sure whether you wish to buy a huge book or not. I have to say I was dissapointed because I expected a smaller book to carry it everywhere. About the content of the book I just have to say that it is amazing, Edgar Allan Poe is a GENIUS, this is the kind of author that catches you from the first page to the latest one. The best thing about the book is that you do not have a selection of the tales that only shows one side of Poe. If you really wish to obtain into the globe of Edgar Allan Poe this is the book you must buy. You will not regreat it, it is worth to buy it, and you do not have to worry about the price it is really low compared with the quality of book and reading you have in this thing that really could be a issue is that the print is very small, some people will search that really annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    What can be said? Poe was a angry man, or least bi-polar (with medication still decades away!). He was also a genius in his own right and way. His poetry was, no doubt, his medicine. His genius found a method out, a method of some relief - he HAD to write. His early demise is a sad, sad, mystery. A longer life might have revealed even greater works, (perhaps happier / lighter?) I do believe. As it is, we must be content with these that we have. But beware. Some of his works must not be read too deeply.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    This is really a complete book of Edgar Allan Poe's true writings. I got this book for me, but it has been a amazing book to have at home for my 8th grader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    This is a amazing collection of Poe classics. In my opinion, it is the single best compilation. I love the little format as it makes for simple travel or to put within simple reach for reading. Absolutely love this edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Works (JKL Classics - Active TOC, Active Footnotes ,Illustrated) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    Poe was a one of a kind writer. Obtain past all the naysayers who dwelt on his private life, have fun his uniqueness and you'll grow from. the experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Amazing biography series that all children will enjoy. My students (4th grade) can't seem to place them down. I've had them in my room for the latest few years and they just eat them up. The content is simple to understand and it provides amazing info on each person/topic along with a timeline in the back. Amazing for parents and teachers alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Accurate acc of his life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Another amazing edition from the "Who Was..." Series. Amazing introduction to Poe for young fans or any age fans who wish a fast overview of the man who place mystery and macabre on the literary map!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Children love these books at the library!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    I truly enjoyed it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    These books are amazing for young and old. Excellent little bite or synopsis to inform and entertain.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    My grandson loves this book. He is going to be Edgar Allan Poe for Halloween.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    Bought this for my grand-daughter for school

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    This line of books is awesomeIts not too long but it is packed with alot of info!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Was Edgar Allan Poe? review []  2020-1-16 7:59

    very amazing series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nevermore: A Photobiography of Edgar Allan Poe review []  2020-1-20 21:1

    This book was an simple read for the 5th and 6th graders at my school location. The enjoyed it for poetry month!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nevermore: A Photobiography of Edgar Allan Poe review []  2020-1-20 21:1

    Plenty of photographs, plenty of interesting facts, this book is an perfect go to tutorial for younger fans of Poe. This book was clearly a labor of love, it's beautifully designed and written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nevermore: A Photobiography of Edgar Allan Poe review []  2020-1-20 21:1

    Karen Lange's fresh addition to the bicentennial Poe fever is titled "Nevermore", after the poem "The Raven" which Poe was called upon to recite in nearly every public appearance he ever made. Her treatment of the author's life is, like her book on Jamestown, geared toward young adults, but does not soft pedal his failings or his psychological basis. The story is a fascinating one, right out of the 19th century: full of pathos and family tragedy, with a full treatment of what it is that created Edgar Allan Poe the quintessential Gothic master of fiction and poetry. My only complaint with the book is that Ms Lange neglected to give him his due in one critical area: his development of the perfected short story. If you doubt this, read "The Minister's Black Veil" by his contemporary Nathanial Hawthorne (a more typical horror story of the period). Now, compare this to "The Cask of Amontillado". Poe was a amazing admirer of Hawthorne, but clearly learned from his "mistakes". As with Blackwood, Machen and Lovecraft who followed, Poe was a real master of the weird and gruesome. Unlike them, however, he was the first, the Creator of proto-horror. He did the same for science fiction and the detective story. "Nevermore" digs deep into the sorrowful life of this man, the rejection of his adopted father, the protracted death of his kid bride, his family's abject poverty and his creative struggle. The reader is amazed , in fact, why the globe didn't slay him off sooner. The unasked question at the end in this, the 200th anniversary of his birth, is this: would we have his superb poetry and blood-curdling fiction if he'd had a satisfied life as a government clerk, with rosy-cheeked wife and children? Ms Lange's handling of Poe's fascinating story (with perfect graphics and photography) is well worth the purchase price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nevermore: A Photobiography of Edgar Allan Poe review []  2020-1-20 21:1

    Edgar Allan Poe's parents were actors in a day and age when the profession was not particularly well respected and a "boo" was not uncommon. Edgar's siblings, Henry and Rosalie were abandoned by their alcoholic father and when their young, tubercular mother died at the tender age of twenty-four they were tossed to the winds. Two-year-old Edgar was "taken in by Frances Allan," but never adopted, though lived a life of privilege. The only thing he had left of his family was a little portrait of his mother.Poe was a amazing student, but things did not bode well for him. He had a falling out with his wealthy foster father, John Allan, and without cash he soon fell into debt and began to gamble. He ran off to Boston and began to write poetry. Still impoverished he enlisted in the troops under a fictitious name and oddly enough, rose quickly in the ranks. Later, after another, but final falling out with his foster father he became dependent on other family members. He began to write and it started to pay off. The cash he created was meager and he "joined forces with English author and activist Charles Dickens to argue that writers should be paid more for their works." He began to write suspenseful tales that tapped into "readers' anxieties." Yet, despite his success he still couldn't pay his bills. He started to binge drink. What would become of him?If you are a Poe fan, you're going to love this book. The writing had a nice conversational style and quickly drew me through the book. The photographs, appropriately, are in darker tones. In the back of the book is a chronology of Poe's life and extra recommended book, article and web website resources. Also included is a listing of locations you can visit. Although several of his works are cited, there is no listing of Poe's literary works. If tales like the Premature Burial scared you half to death when you were a youngster you'll love this photobiography!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    In the additional on my Blu-ray of the film, director Hessler states he was upset with Jason Robards' performance in the title role and laments he didn't obtain to inherit Vincent Price as the film's star when he was asked to direct it. In watching, I quite agree that as fine an actor as Robards was, his heart wasn't in horror and thus his tone is off here. Still, Herbert Lom is amazing as the antagonist and there are a lot of enjoyable wonders to behold. I strongly feel that had Price acted in Robards' place, this movie would have joined the fine string of minor masterpieces Price starred in during that purple patch of his career.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    My rating is too harsh, but I'm stuck.I didn't wish a book full of excessive detail and footnotes. This book passed that ever, the author went into a lot of literary detail and discussion which was not what I wanted.What he did do was present the life of Poe and provide info that one doesn't obtain from a fast look at Google.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    This is a rather factual acc of the man's history of failures due to drunkenness. We know about that already! What we wish to search out is why he was so wonderfully and creatively nuts!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    This was a fair and accurate acc of Poe's life. However, it is quite brief and leaves the reader lacking or desirous of more info regarding this fascinating author. Further, if one is interested in analysis of Poe's works, he or she should seek other resources. This book serves well as an introduction to the author, but lacks depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    A must read if you wish to understand Poe. His twisted life, and how he dealt with it is quite tragic. But you will obtain to feel as to the method he wrote and why. A sad tale, but worth the effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    A marvelous biography of Edgar Allan Poe. He had such a miserable life that some of his nightmarish stories could have been a part of his biography!Orphaned at an extremely young age, Poe was adopted, but never loved or cared for by his adopted father. He grew up unloved, neglected, kept in poverty. The only light in his life was his aunt and his cousin, Virginia, whom he married when she was 13!As with so a lot of geniuses, i.e., VanGogh, Edgar Allan Poe's work was never appreciated while he was alive, but adored after he died in poverty.I never knew that Poe had siblings; a sister and older is biography was excellent! Christine Schulz

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    Poe was an amazingly imaginative person but in most ways was ahead of his time. After reading the book I think I understand his binges better, If I had that items in my head all the time I'd wish to escape too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    This is a excellent book for a ex-English major with only a slight knowledge of Poe. Colllin's style is engaging, and the story he tells in interesting and seems well-researched and fair. I enjoyed reading this biography, and intend to read more of Poe's work than I had encountered before.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    I was surprised by a lot of facts I did not know about Edgar A. PoeStill have more to read of the book but have recently purchased another book about Mr. Poe. This book peaked my interest with his work.Anyone interested in knowing more about Edgar A. Poe would not be disappointed with Paul Collins book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    Very well written. Unbelievable biography. Flows easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Edgar Allan Poe: The Fever Called Living (Icons) review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    An perfect and detailed acc of the troubled life of a amazing American writer, this biography does not shy away from Poe's a lot of short-comings, both as a man and as a writer. Financial pressures and his lifelong struggle with alcoholism led Poe to produce a amazing deal of work that is of dubious quality. Collins, however, is able to present the significance of Poe's greatest stories and poems, particularly as the originator of the detective story genre. I would have like to have learned more about Poe's relationship with his wife, Virginia, whose lingering death was the amazing tragedy of Poe's life. Her long and ultimately fatal illness, like the early deaths of his mother and foster mother, must have played a role in Poe's fascination with doomed love and death. The death of a attractive woman was a frequent subject of Poe's stories and poems, especially his final poem 'Annabel Lee,' written two years after Virginia died of tuberculosis and only a few months before Poe's own death. The book also conjures up the literary globe of the mid-19th century and the difficulties faced by writers seeking to be published and paid. This is a useful acc for anyone interested in understanding the man behind some of the best-known stories and poetry in American literature.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Edgar Allan Poe's terrifying words + stunning visuals makes for a frighteningly amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Never more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Simplemente maravilloso

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Well done First of all it's about time you guys got these for the Android device system. Secondly Bravo to anyone who can create reading an interactive experience as opposed to a one-sided Affair. Of course those of us who do love to read know that it is and always has been and interactive experience. But the music, interaction, and animations do add more Dimension to the experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Stops working I had the application for a while, but for some reason it just stopped working. I have downloaded it several times and nothing has changed. I feel like I have wasted 5 bucks. If I could actually obtain it to work, I would rate this at 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    So satisfied to see this Just finished this on the anniversary of his death and the art and the interactive features makes this a must for any Poe fan. I've read "Hop Frog," "The Black Cat," and "The Raven." But this brings fresh dimensions and cool scares. Look forward to the 3rd installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    The Application won't stay begin and continues to shut down everything I turn a page. Unusable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Yes! This was a lovely experience! I normally like a book in hand, but this was delightful. It quite literally gives you sights and sounds to place to the stories. A must experience for any Poe fan!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    More More More! I have only on complaint. It's not long enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Absolutely love it Love everything about this. Amazing tribute to Poe and really sets the mood for how he writes. I'll hold coming back to this application forevermore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    As a former English Lit major this was method more fun than I had in school!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    It's fine but it wont allow me stay in more than 5 mins

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Raven I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Just wonderful!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 2 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Unbelievable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Would give a higher rating, but it stopped working on my Note 8 and gave an error notice I copied and sent to their customer support email...3 times over several months. Did not keep one reply. Uninstalled application then re-installed it which seemed to work for a while, then had other issues. Reinstalled again and seems OK now. Application is cool, customer service non-existant. Amazing illustration, melody is well done. Poe fans will be taken by this. If you have problems, test reinstalling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Casual application that uses "boot at startup". That's a cardinal rule broken in my books and is a heavy reason why I run root, custom Rom and bootloader as a substitute to msconfig in android device environment. Also wants "contacts" and "location". Data mine much ?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    first time i paid cash for an application and it doesn't work. and its for a university class, but i cannot access it to do my assignment. very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Crashes on opening on my Galaxy s9, reinstalled twice. Unplayable, a waste of cash

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Beautifully crafted with engaging story lines from the master of suspense horror, I would ask the developer/s one favour, Please please could you have a 99p / 99c sell on ALL your apps, I believe you will sell more of your games, and will I believe also, encourage fresh players to a amazing fun genre of gameplay, After all, not all of us can swallow the guilt of sending midgets to their death via means of fire, rocks, bullets,rockets,dragons, etc etc. Lol.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    This is an amazing application for fans of Edgar Allan Poe. It's so immersive and fun to use. I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    The animation sic are awesome, just test to create some illustrations more similar to the stories

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    I need the pit and the pendulum.... the raven..... lenore! Love this app! The animations are EVERYTHING as is the musical ambience. ♡♡♡♡♡

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Scary stuff. Fantastically done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Bring back the .99 cent deal.. puuuuhhhhh-lease

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Beautifully narrated♡ Love it! Quite an experience😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    A fun method to experience these stories!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Very fun and well presented. Melody and animations really add to the story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Awesome animations, melody loops should be longer, amazing experience overall

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    This is great! Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Enchanting Even without headphones I have no problem placing myself in the writings of the stories with the depictions and interactions. My only vice is the problem I've had with turning the page. I search it momentarily rips me from my imagination and involvement in the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    It's nicely done 99c for four short Edgar Allan Poe books is all it's worth.. Just be aware of what you're buying. Check the titles in it before buying, don't create the mistake I did and buy the first collection, the choice of books in it is not so amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    I LOVED IT. READ TWO STORIES THUS FAR AND GREAT. ONLY ISSUE IS THAT THE PRINT IS TOO little AND I COULD NOT FIND A WAY TO ENLARGE IT. I USED A TABLET TO READ IT BUT MUCH TOO SMALL

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    iPoe Collection Vol. 1 - Edgar Allan Poe review [App]  2019-1-21 23:7

    Amazing! I've only read one story so far but the experience was amazing ! Loved the interaction. Enjoyed having to "flip" the pages, the melody fits beautifully and the artwork is marvelous. Definitely worth the 5$!

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter