Read the complete works of john lewis burckhardt reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the complete works of john lewis burckhardt reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lewis Carroll: The Complete Works []  2020-1-24 22:34

    I have always loved the works of Lewis Carroll! My grandchildren love for me to read these literature classics to them!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the complete works of john lewis burckhardt or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lewis Carroll: The Complete Works []  2020-1-24 22:34

    Attractive book, amazing shipping, definitely would recommend! The sleeve for the outside cover is clean, bright and with no rips at all! Not even wrinkled! Thank you seller, this is one of my favorite books ever, and I'm so glad to own a copy of it now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lewis Carroll: The Complete Works []  2020-1-24 22:34

    Fine

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lewis Carroll: The Complete Works []  2020-1-24 22:34

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lewis Carroll: The Complete Works []  2020-1-24 22:34

    Wonderful. Entertainment supreme.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete works of St. John of the Cross [App]  2019-11-12 13:34

    Amazing app, all the collections in one app, thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    It took some digging to come up with a Kindle ver of Shakespeare's Complete Works that's well-linked and has modernized spelling, but I eventually settled on this version. There's a general Table of Contents at the beginning listing every play and poem, and then each play has its own ToC, making it convenient to jump scenes. Of course, there are a lot of versions of Shakespeare's works online, but none I've seen have complete ToC'e formatting is clean, and, as far as I've read, there are few typos. Well worth a few bucks to be able to search your method around in what would be several hundred pages of printed matter. Someone looking for commentary and notes should look elsewhere, though; this is just a neat presentation of the works themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    I am a high school English teacher looking at the various versions of classics texts available for Kindle (fire), so my review will not be for the play itself, but rather for the eBook--readability, layout, price, and other is is an perfect complete Shakespeare, and at $1.99, a steal. It contains all of Shakespeare's plays and poetry. There are links to each play, and from the first page of each play, links to each act and scene. When you go to the poetry section, there are links to each poem. The layout on the page is very clean. The lines are properly laid out in poetic form and there are locations between each speaker. Unfortunately, there are no line numbers. There is no annotation in this version, but hey, it was two dollars!If you are looking for low and readability, this is easily the best complete Shakespeare!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    Be warned, the paperback copy is only sonnets and two plays "alls well that ends well" and "Antony and Cleopatra". Its basically 10% of the printed ebook. After receiving this I went back to see if maybe I read it wrong- but no this is not specified. When you choose hardcopy however, the changes by $90, which I never even saw and is misleading bc I was just looking for a paperback edition. Really sucks bc now Im out of a Christmas bonus on the latest mail day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    I did it and I know nobody else cares. I have loved Shakespeare since being introduced to his work in Jr. High. I read quite a few of the plays from that time and all the method through my college years. It was something about the language and the eloquence in his use of the language.I vowed to read all of his work and I finally place in the effort and did it. After reaching my annual reading goals early for the past three years, I spent the months of November and December working through the Complete Works. I read all the Comedies in 2013. They were fun and I got a lot of laughs from the unbelievable insults dished out by some of the characters. I read the Histories in 2013. Much more serious and difficult than the Comedies, but the Histories inspired me to read further into the the English Royalty saga, especially the unbelievable Plantagenet dynasty. I read the Sonnets and Poems quickly before diving into the Tragedies. The Tragedies are the essence of Shakespeare. This is where you search his greatest work.I'm not here to give you a critical revue of his work or debate about who actually wrote it. (It's hard to argue with his private greatness after reading the poetry that is absolutely attributable to him) I'm here to tell you how much you will have fun Shakespeare if you will commit the time to read it. Altogether, it took me six months to read all of it. I broke it down to two months a year. To truly appreciate it you have to immerse yourself in it. Do not read one play and place it down for a month and come back. I plowed through the Comedies and kept a Shakespeare Glossary begin on my tablet. After a few plays, I was reading it with ease. I even went back to re-read the first couple of plays to understand them better. As you progress through his work, you will start to see quotes you hear in every day modern life, you will see stories that are played out in nearly every theater, movie, TV, and melody production you will ever see. Although, it is real that his plots and stories were not completely original, you will see that his wording and eloquence are completely original.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    I recently rekindled my love for, and interest in the works of William Shakespeare when I was offered a role in a local community theater production of “Macbeth.” I decided to a Kindle edition of Shakespeare’s complete works in to research my part, memorize my lines, and simply have fun once again the greatest words ever written in the English language…This Kindle edition of “William Shakespeare: The Complete Works” from Latus ePublishing I search especially useful because of the method it sorts Shakespeare’s plays into comedies, tragedies, and histories and all of his poems (154 sonnets and 4 longer poems) I chronological order. This edition provides a linked table of contents that allows me to access each work directly without flipping myriads of pages. I can either use a mouse or touchscreen; either works equally ere are no footnotes or scholarly explanations of what Shakespeare meant, nor are there any illustrations. I consider this a strength of this edition. The book is set in a clear font that I search simple on my eyes.I think “William Shakespeare: The Complete Works” is an perfect book. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    DO NOT BUY THIS is a crappy print out of an EBook. And by no means is a complete works. It is just the sonnets and part of a few plays. Large large rip off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    To review, or not to review, that is the question:Whether it's ethical in the mind to discussThe complete works of Shakespear on AmazonOr to admit that I haven't finished an entire playAnd yet Shakespear's masterpiece on KindleAt .99 cents was a I couldn't refuseLamenting for a moment my college textWhich I could stick my fist throughAfter basement boxes got floodedShame I felt in the 90'sOnly scratching the surfaceOf that twelve courseWhen I saw theYet in my wildest dreamsI imagine reciting long sonnetsAnd retelling those heroic ballotsThat were written for everymanAnd spoken in a languageThat the queen and peasantBoth mused and reflectedCould such a text helpYou be more aware ofThe plight and patterns ofHuman nature and everyday actsWhich take put in societiesWith class division, politicsAnd the sensitivities ofhuman relationships; male and femaleOld, young, sick and vitalCould still have uncanny resonanceWhile reading of a hand held deviceInstead of feeling the plightOf a text that keeps the Chiropractor in businessOr the publishers who comeUp with a fresh editionThat has stood the testOf time spanning five centuriesWith over six thousand pagesNeatly organized in categoriesComedies, tragedies andHistories for all you e sin however in this editionIs the rampant spelling errorsAnd unoriginal line breaksThat were not what theAuthor Shakespeare intendedTo thine own text be trueAnd the delivery be inA fashion that isAccessible to the masses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    It’s a printed out ebook with no table of contents. The sonnets are probably there, but it’s awfully thin and lacking on the plays. It’s definitely not the COMPLETE works of Shakespeare. I’m beautiful disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    I want I could give this book more then 5 stars. I purchased this book about 8 months ago completely happy with the product, however I have noticed that not a lot of people were happy with this product, but none of them gave amazing reasons why, I will explain to you what the formatting and organizational tools of this book looks like, so you can decide whether it's what you wish or e method all of this content is organized is one of the reasons I love this book. It has all of the plays organized in the table of contents by each of the topics (comedies, tradgedys, and histories) with links you can on. When you on one of the links of one of the plays, for example: If you on Romeo and Juliet, you become redirected to another table of contents that organize the all the scenes in all the various kind of the formatting is the best you can obtain for being displayed on the kindle. It shows the name of the person speaking and then under the name, and indented is what they say. This kind of formatting is my favorite kind of formatting I've seen so far. It makes reading a play so much easier.But what I really like is that I have all of shakespeares sonnets and plays, all on one little electric device, Instead of having it in one heavy all honesty, I wouldn't mind paying $10-20 on a collection this organized.Overall I think this is my favorite so ease allow me know if this review helped you :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Shakespeare []  2020-1-17 22:23

    Of all of Shakespeare’s plays, The Tempest (1611) has a well-deserved reputation for being difficult to comprehend. For one thing, there is no obvious plot, just three groups of shipwrecked survivors who wander across the desolate island that is inhabited by Prospero, a master of the ancient arts of sorcery. They eventually all meet in Prospero’s underground cell, where he removes the spells he has placed them under, and then inexplicably sets all free. Also, Shakespeare doesn’t provide any motivation for Prospero’s obsessive study of these dark secular arts, which makes his gesture at the end of the play in freeing his captives and relinquishing his esoteric powers all the more puzzling. How are we to create sense of it?Isolated on his island, Prospero as the Magus has used his esoteric knowledge to control the elements of wind and fire, in the person of the sprite Ariel and its legion of shadows, and the elements of earth and water, in the person of Caliban, now the foster-child of Prospero, who has begun his education and taught him language, but who has enslaved him (his duties contain bringing firewood to Prospero’s cell and catching fish for his dinner, which he vehemently detests).The key relationship, however, is between Prospero and the sprite Ariel, who longs to be from Prospero’s dominion. As the play begins, Prospero commands Ariel to use its power over wind and fire to shipwreck not only the evil Antonio and his corrupt assistant Sebastian, but also the blameless King of Naples and his entourage including the wise Gonzalo, onto the Magus’ island. The shipwrecked passengers are broken up into groups, with the heir to the Kingdom of Naples, the flawless Ferdinand landing alone, completely unhurt, who happens upon the virginal Miranda and instantly they mutually fall in love. Prospero even commands a masque-dance to commemorate their iban, in the throes of his resentment, betrays Prospero and conspires with the drunkard Stephano and the jester Trinculo to slay Prospero in his cell during his afternoon nap. But Prospero is forewarned of their plot by Ariel. These three buffoons parade across the island’s landscape in a parody of self-important bluster, but then are hounded by Ariel as the Harpy into a glen nearby Prospero’s cell, with all the other shipwrecked characters in thrall to his power now located within his cell, as the play’s denouement in his personal element, and despite the moral outrage he has suffered at the hands of his brother, the villainous Antonio, and his stooge Sebastian, Prospero chooses to forego his righteous vengeance on these middling personalities. Indeed, what is the point of torturing these petty, greedy mediocrities? He disavows his esoteric power over wind, fire, water, and earth by tossing his magus’ staff into the sea, along with his hermetic books.What is the significance of the knowledge that Prospero had obtained at amazing cost to him, but now abandons? This is the unanswered question of the high-art of this late Shakespearean play. If you persist in uncovering the depths of real knowledge, and reach a coherent vision of that reality, what does that mean? Perhaps Shakespeare is saying, “Seek to achieve your own understanding, I cannot do that for you.” Isn’t this the most human accomplishment, a lifetime of immersion in philosophy, science, literature, the arts, and of course, love?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    This application includes an abundance of writings from major saints and major ecclesiastical figures, such as Saints Augustine, Ambrose John Christostom, Basil and Jerome (just to name a few). The treatises are timeless and a must for all who seek to broaden thier Biblical and theological understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    I'm so glad it's available offline! This application is a treasure worth a lot more than what we

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    The text is fine, but it's not very friendly without find and bookmark functionality. The TTS is very slow to begin and won't reset after pausing. Disappointing. Would love to be able to listen to it on my commute.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    I love it. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    This is an awesome app. I would highly suggest that you place a bookmark option, and enable search. Thank you, God bless!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    Very amazing application simple to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    Interface is very limited. No method to find names. Font cannot be adjusted. Not worth it as of thus time. Improve please.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    amazing . hope to read and later give my comments

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of the Church Fathers [App]  2019-6-27 13:43

    GOOD APP

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    Was mislead by the title the complete works of Tag Twain. It however include just one story penned by Twain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    For the previous ver (white cover, b&w picture of Tag Twain) (purchased and returned for 99 cents):I was so excited to obtain all of one of my favorite authors' works for under a buck.But there is really no sense in buying this Kindle collection if there is no ACTIVE table of contents. YES, the table of contents is there, but you have to go and test to FIND IT, bookmark it, and then the short stories table of contents does not work.If that doesn't bother you, then by all means go obtain it.I am, however, going to look for a better Kindled ver of all of Tag Twain's works, even if that means I have to a buck r the current ver (blue cover, b&w photographic-looking picture of Tag Twain) (purchased and happy at $2.99):PROS:- amazing table of content (TOC) (it finally works!): simple to navigate, etc.- some of the editorial mistakes have been corrected; for example, a previous commenter said that Huck Finn was missing from chapter 36 and on. I checked and as of August 28, 2012, all the chapters in Huck Finn are there.- fun pictures and photographsCONS:- MASSIVE BODY OF WORK = long time. I'm talking over 20 mins here. I would it on your USB and then transfer over to your Kindle if I were you.- I'm sure there are typos, but in such a large literary body of work, I won't be able to search them all too r an additional $2, the TOC is fabulous and it LOOKS wonderful (good type, etc.). The illustrations/photos are amazing to look at, and the biographies look actually somewhat interesting at a glance!If you're a fan of Tag Twain, or even just like some of his works, this is worth your money.P.S. Why obtain this instead of downloading items for free? Because I don't know about you, but I have over 500 books in my library. And it's just a lot easier to look at one book, go to the table of contents, and choose what I wish to read. A small lazy on my part, perhaps, but I've got 3 bucks to spare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    A classic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    I have to return it because it is ONE book. It says complete works and I obtain The Prince and the Pauper. For 25 bucks? I don’t think so. Very poorly described and advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    This e-book is very nicely formatted. For example, there is a link at the beginning of each chapter to take you back to the table of contents for the particular work in question and another link to take you back to the table of contents for the entire anthology. Very thoughtfully laid out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    This is a very thorough edition. I am sure I will be going back to this again and again. The fact I don't have to carry around a huge volume as this is a kindle edition is a plus for me. -Michelle

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    It is closer to the original with the italics and adorable illustrations! Who doesn't like Jane Austen ! The best edition out there, and only $1.98 on my iPad app! Awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    Have thoroughly enjoyed Tag Twain for almost 50 years - Tag Twain Tonight unbelievable as well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of F. Scott Fitzgerald []  2020-1-17 22:26

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    I bought this to round out my Jane Austen addiction. I have read a lot of her works, but in purchasing this book, wanted to create sure I didn't miss anything.I admit, I have not jumped into this book yet, but it's Jane Austen!! I have never read anything Jane Austen that I did not love to distraction. Some of her items is light, some is heavy, but it all wraps you up in another time, with characters of their time and trappings of bygone times that are so compelling. It is like Downton Abbey in print…or more properly, Downton Abbey is like Jane Austin on film…I love them all!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    This was a amazing for my kindle! The books are so simple to navigate. Each chapter heading contains a link to the main table of contents, as well as the book table of contents. The illustrations are included in each book, and there are no typos that I have seen. I have enjoyed reading persuasion and northanger Abbey on my kindle. I look forward to reading all the rest!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    Formatted very nicely. The electronic ver controls work very well. Have found no glitches. This ver has color illustrations, which are very nice. It also is a complete collection of Austen's works. All for very cheap! Really very satisfied with this purchase. Worth every penny and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    Despite the description and inner pages, the bound volume includes only one Twain work. I had the same problem with a complete Dickens I purchased from the same printer: one work e book came quickly and with adequate packaging. It's printing quality is amazing (it's a photocopy-type run, but the typeface is only slightly blurry) and it is physically well-bound. Two stars for the shipping department, printer and binding company.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    I just downloaded the book to my Kindle, and the Celebrated Jumping Frog story is there. It is a small hard to navigate to, but if you go to the contents of the short stories, on the Celebrated Jumping Frog, and then hit previous page you will be at the title. All in all this is a amazing buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    It's all you can expect of an e-book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    I'm not sure why that one person had a issue finding the Jumping Frog story in a previous review. Everything is here, literally everything. All you need to do to search it all on your Kindle [email protected]#$%! Menu, then "Go to..." and then scroll down to the table of contents button. There's a ton here, so you need to page over to the right to search more stories, which is where "The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County" appears. There's no reason anyone should have rated this a "one star." I'm flabergasted at all the stories that appear here, and I had no idea Twain was as prolific as he was. Very impressed with this collection, and I recommend it to all!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    Tag Twain's books are classics for a reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of George Herbert []  2020-2-5 0:47

    A diverse compilation from a man in love with God. His work reflects a divine connection and spills over into holy perceptions and finely tuned observations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Thomas Aquinas [App]  2020-4-24 21:31

    This is a concise documentation of the works of a amazing saint. I recommend this to anyone interested in the works of St. Thomas Aquinas. Well done to the development team.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    [This review--which somehow seems to be attached to several various versions of Jane Austen's works--pertains ONLY to the PALMERA edition currently being sold for $1.99 in the Kindle Store.]Austen is great, and this collection (from Palmera) is equally as great. It is complete and particularly well-organized. Content is simple to locate via several active TOC's (both a general and a specific TOC for the set and an individual TOC for each title), and it is nicely-formatted. Furthermore, I like that paragraphs are indicated by traditional indention rather than spacing. I'd go so far to say that, as of this date, this is probably the very best Austen ebook set currently available in the Kindle Store. It does, however, have one little spite the publisher's statement in the Kindle Shop blurb that original edition italics are used throughout ALL books in this set (a claim necessitated by the fact that so a lot of OTHER Austen ebook sets TOTALLY ignore and omit them altogether), italics are nevertheless still missing from ONE book: "Northanger Abbey." Granted, they are somewhat sparsely used in that particular work, so their absence in this instance is not utterly terrible, but when ANY words Austen chose to emphasize to better create her point are not properly indicated, some nuance of intended meaning (however slight it may be) is lost. This is all the more disappointing because this enlightened, well-intentioned publisher tried to do the right thing (and has largely succeeded), and it is by no means a deal-breaker, because (thankfully!) 5 of the 6 major novels ARE properly italicized (the aforementioned title being the lone exception). Compare this to the otherwise beautiful unbelievable "Delphi Complete Works of Jane Austen" which uses italics in only 4 of the 6 major novels ("Persuasion" and "Northanger Abbey" being the two exceptions). Choosing between the two sets is admittedly difficult because, italics aside, the Delphi set has some features I like very much; hitherto it was my favorite Austen set (but now I must confess, presently THIS one is).Jane Austen ranks VERY high on my list of all-time favorite authors, and I have previously purchased more than a few ebook collections of her works in my quest for the elusive, definitive, excellent one; in other words, a "true keeper" to read, re-read, and savor. Yes, I am something of a perfectionist, but I don't think it at all unreasonable to expect in an ebook edition that which virtually every off-the-shelf hardcopy and paperback edition of Austen has: ITALICS. Mine ALL do, and I wish my Kindle copy to have them, too. (I guess I have never become inured to the myriad defects seemingly inherent in ebook production.)Nevertheless, this Palmera edition is nearly excellent as is, and it is superior to every other Austen ebook set I have purchased or sampled. This is definitely the one to get.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    This edition is complete with hyperlinks that work, combined with charming illustrations...it really is lovely to have all of Jane Austen's works so conveniently at hand! I've read most, but not all, of her works, and this edition is the best ebook edition I've seen, by far! Excellent for my iPad!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Jane Austen []  2020-5-3 18:15

    This is a very complete collection of Jane Austen's works, including letters, mediocre poetry, prayers, juvenilia, unfinished works, and a memoir written by her e conversion to Kindle was done very well. At the beginning of each chapter, there are two links: one to the main table of contents, which has just the works, and one to the table of contents for the work you're reading. The table of contents for the Juvenilia leaves something to be desired, as it's hard to differentiate the individual e charming original illustrations are included. These look better on a smartphone or computer than on an E-ink reader. I want there had been a separate index of illustrations so I could have seen them all in color after finishing reading the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Mark Twain []  2020-1-16 14:14

    Prior to reading this book, I had a limited knowledge of twain. He is one of the best writers I have ever read. His wit and veiled sarcasm created me smile. He is a intelligent ads who everyone can like his mom fiction stories are just as amazing and for some better than his fiction. I loved everything I read. I felt his personality so strongly as time it was as if he was seated across the table from me. That is a rare quality. highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of F. Scott Fitzgerald []  2020-1-17 22:26

    Fitzgerald is a fabulous American author, and this edition from Knowledge House is very handsomely formatted (even moreso than one I had previously downloaded). There are active TOCs providing direct access to all content, and paragraphs are distinguished by traditional indention rather than by additional it truly complete? I've become wary of ebook claims to completeness, but it SEEMS to be, and IF, perchance it isn't truly 100% complete, it certainly includes a lot of Fitzgerald's works.A talented writer, Fitzgerald is best known for his evocative "Jazz Age" depictions of the 1920's, and numerous of his works have become modern classics; this ebook collection is a amazing method to get them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Milton (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 4) []  2020-1-18 18:58

    Always loved Milton's work... so nice to have it all in a lightweight portable Kindle! I remember how massive my poetry texts were from grad school. If you love the classics, collect these all from Amazon before they disappear. Too much attractive writing to be lost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    Need to begin this off by stating I am not a scholar so this is not a scholarly review, rather someone who reads Keats and The Romantics for pleasure and inspiration. The consistently stunning, concise cleverness of Keats' poetry, e.g., the surprise final line regarding one who cannot have fun being idle and so is awake when asleep is exceeded only by Keat's gentleness in his opinion of and direction to others exemplified in affectionate odes to friends. The is very kind for a Kindle edition, especially for the volume of poetry and biography with illustrations, and the Kindle edition makes the text simple for older eyes to read regardless of a bedtime or gym setting. One of my best book purchases, both content and format!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    One star for the e-book version, obviously not for the poetry of Keats. I upgraded to a touch-screen Kindle and the contents-page became entirely useless, consisting just of a list of bookmarks. Want Delphi would fix this problem.Editing to say that the issue is not insoluble, only not obvious. The irritating list of useless bookmarks remains, but scrolling back to the very beginning of the book (before the "Beginning" indicated in the "Go to" function), a workable list of contents can be found. Have upgraded my stars accordingly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    When it comes to rating poets, they don't rate higher than John Donne. The best known of the English Metaphysicals (another is George Herbert), Donne is like two poets rolled into in one: the early cavalier poet and then the later religious poet. His sermons are also well worth reading if only for their prose style. Probably the best known quotation from them is "send not for whom the bell tolls, it tolls for thee". Still very amazing advice, if a touch on the sombre side.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    A very amazing collection, yes. And Donne himself is John Donne. Just read, and read and read.But there is a huge but here: It is not possible to find the text-collection. And when the amassed text is so large, and the Kindle (Paperwhite) is not a very flexible instrument for text handling, it is essential to be able to find - which one can not. That is simply not amazing enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    I won't review Keats, but only say that this works very well on a Kindle. I've bought a lot of editions on Kindle and too a lot of are worthless, thrown into a digital format without thought. This edition was produced with thought. It's encouraging to see the development of digital books. They are coming into their own. For two bucks this book is more than worth it. The illustrations work very well. Illustrations were a true issue in the first Kindle books, but with the color Fire this has been solved, if the publisher takes care. Spend 2 dollars and yourself a copy of Keats.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    amazing for college catchup auto rvelous for archive and review.a must have for the artist ited r

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    The Delphi series in Kindle form are just a bit spotty but they mean it when they say 'complete works,' There is certainly no other series of books so complete and inexpensive!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    My all time favorite poet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Milton (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 4) []  2020-1-18 18:58

    Kindle. I'm loading up on all the literature I read & loved in the past. Quickest method to find for passages vaguely remembered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    What do we expect from an edition of Keats? All the poems helpfully organized, the plays, the letters, certainly. If possible, a decent biography, and illustrative material that brings home the distance between his time and is Delphi collection has all the poems, indexed in three useful ways: by collection, chronologically and alphabetically. Otho the Amazing and King Stephen are included. There are not one but three essays on his life. The poems, too, have useful contextual notes and illustrations that contain a facsimile of Endymion's first page and the final image showing the poet's grave in ere's probably more of Keats here than anyone but a scholar will have read before. For most of us a pleasure to come, and the biographies are a salutary reminded of how slowly Keats was elevated to second put among English poets behind only complaint: if you reverse the print to white on black for night-time reading on the iPad, huge sections of the poetry are lost. The reversal has failed to work on a number of pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    Interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    It was a amazing tool for studying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Milton (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 4) []  2020-1-18 18:58

    a nice collection at an wonderful price. i lack the expertise to comment on whether every work milton every wrote is included but am very happy with it, especially as it is so portable on kindle. The poems stanzas are preserved ,if you can read smaller print on your kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    Before buying this my familiarity with John Donne extended to his popular Sonnet X, Death Be Not the Delphi edition, we have quite an extensive array of poetry, prose, meditations and three separate biographies contained within. I own a number of Delphi editions and search them to be quite thorough, perhaps the most thorough offering you will obtain on a particular writer or metimes, though an edition professes to be complete, I often search there is a missing piece, and when this is pointed out Delphi are quite amazing at doing this case, the Shakespeare epitaph poem from his 1633 collection, which is surprisingly related to the William Basse poem in Shakespeare's First Folio is omitted. Likewise Death's Duel, Donne's final sermon though referred to is not ntents contain a very interesting piece based on Ovid's Flea, and Meditation XVII which influenced Hemingway's popular line 'For Whom The Bell Tolls.' Donne's sonnets and poems range rather surprisingly from the profoundly spiritual to the bawdy, and the quality of poems and expression is surprisingly good. Some of the Sonnets I search to be on a par with the Shakespeare Sonnets, and include intriguing conceits and extremely well constructed conceits, with titles such as'Spit in my face you Jews, and pierce my side,' which is quite a bold and possibly controversial method to begin a poem. Another one starts: 'At the round earth's imagined corners blow.' One of my favorites is 'Negative Love.'According to Ben Jonson who was not prone to giving compliments, he considered Donne first in the globe for some r what is contained here and for the this is quite an impressive l in all, if you like poetry, I see no reason why you would not love this collection. I think you will love it, and I hope this was helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    Fell in love with the Metaphysical poets the first time I read them... especially John Donne. Such conceits this man could conceive of and transform into incredible, memorable poetry.. Love that Amazon has it practically and complete and available. I test to add every day to my Kindle collections, before they disappear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    Have fun his work, so a lot of years later.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    The Delphi Poets edition of John Donne is an impressive accomplishment; a very wide range of material, some of it seldom printed, and hard to find, beautifully formatted, including, besides the Poems, some of Donne's public prose, and selections from his omits a sample of his Sermons (ten volumes of them in a mid-twentieth-century critical edition!), but, given modern sensibilities, this is understandable. On the other hand, Donne regularly preached to standing-room-only crowds: religious interest aside, I would have suggested various omissions, if needed, to create zone for some of his magnificent ever, the collection does have one drawback common to a lot of Kindle (and other e-book) editions. It is quite reticent about the sources of the texts it reprints; when and where they were published, and who edited at there was no concern for suppressing such info is obvious from the fact that the preface to the Letters reveals the source as C. E. Merrill's 1910 edition of "Letters to Severall Persons of Honour," one of the seventeenth-century posthumous editions of Donne's writings (which also included much of his poetry, and a lot of of his Sermons). It just seems to have been left out as irrelevant, or tucked away, to be stumbled upon by accident. Also left out is a whole lot of info important for understanding what Donne was talking about, back in the reign of James nce most readers will be interested, at least at first, mainly in the poems, I will concentrate on the issues this situation can pose to the unwary reader, especially (but not only) when it comes to Donne in some other poets of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, Donne (1572-1631) did not see much of his poetry printed during his lifetime, and the posthumous editions, including the generally superior 1633 "first edition" of a lot of of the poems, on which a lot of editors have tried to rely, all have ere were no eighteenth-century collected editions after 1719, which probably spared Donne's work some of the wholesale corruption that marked a lot of Shakespeare editions of the time. This was, of course, the time when Dr. Johnson dismissed Donne, and a amazing a lot of other poets, as "Metaphysicals" -- which was not the term of approval some moderns have created it. (Johnson picked up the term from Dryden, who was complaining that Donne's love poems could never have seduced anyone, an objection which assumes there is no other reason for writing such a poem.)Some of the Romantics were more generous, producing a trickle of editions of the poetry in the nineteenth century, based on the seventeenth-century printed texts, with different "correction" and "improvements" -- and easy errors. (Quite typically, the Sermons got a 6-volume "Complete Works" edition of their own in 1838 -- those Victorians knew what was really important! Too poor it wasn't a better edition, with a amazing literary commentary -- which is still needed....) [It was edited by Henry Alford (later Dean of Canterbury, and editor of a critical text of the Greek Fresh Testament), and is included in the "JOHN DONNE COMPLETE WORKS ULTIMATE COLLECTION" for Kindle. The other contents of this compendium also seem to be from nineteenth-century editions, and I may review it when I have figured out where the rest of the texts came from.]Of the few editions of the poems, Alexander Grosart's two-volume "Complete Poems" of 1872, in "The Fuller Worthies' Library," used (then-available) manuscript evidence, and included pieces found only in manuscript. This could have been an advance in scholarship, but, in the interest of Victorian notions of propriety, it was printed "for personal circulation," only. Spelling was mostly, but not consistently, modernized; and some of Grosart's attributions of poems have been rejected, among other re conservative was the American "Grolier Club" of 1895, (New York), "'The poems of John Donne,' from the text of the edition of 1633 revised by James Russell Lowell. With the different readings of the other editions of the seventeenth century, and with a preface, an introduction, and notes by Charles Eliot Norton." It, too, was intended for limited ese editions culminated in what appears to be the source of the Delphi Poets' verse. The poems therein seem to have been taken verbatim from the two-volume (about 650 pages) "Muses' Library" edition of 1896, the "Poems of John Donne" (the US publisher was Charles Scribner's Sons). E.K. Chambers, a distinguished scholar of Medieval and Elizabethan English drama, was the editor. Chambers also based his ver of the text on the early printed editions, and the work of previous editors; in this case on material gathered by Dr. Brinsley Nicholson, whose own work on the project was chop short by his death in is is, therefore, in practice as well as date, a nineteenth-century text, in modernized spelling, which the editor re-punctuated to suit himself, openly replacing the "chaos" left by is is not an obviously poor edition. It does not abound in primary errors about period grammar and vocabulary, nor does Chambers frequently indulge in editorial "improvements" when the text is already clear. But it has shortcomings, both on the technical side (such as in noting variations between the early printed editions) and for "the common reader" and ordinary r one thing, Chambers really should have more attention to that pesky, old-fashioned, inconsistent punctuation, which, after all, might be similar to what was in Donne's manuscripts; and could be rhetorical (a tutorial to reading aloud) rather than strictly grammatical (for those who read poetry silently, a very modern habit).Experience in teaching from Chambers' edition, which in locations baffled his students, and himself, motivated H, J. C. Grierson to produce a critical, old-spelling, text edition (Oxford University Press, two volumes, 1912): "The Poems of John Donne. Edited from the Old Editions and Numerous Manuscripts with Introduction and Commentary." This created use of a dozens of manuscripts, not autographs, but dating to Donne's lifetime, or contemporary with the printed editions. The text volume is about 500 pages (including Appendixes, with poems whose attribution to Donne Grierson rejected).The separate "Introduction and Commentary" volume is about 440 pages long (depending on how you count front-matter). This is partly dedicated to explicating the poetry (and justifying Grierson's readings of the evidence, of course), It also identifies Donne's topical allusions, people mentioned or addressed, the backgrounds of his use of metaphors and figures, and defines obsolete words, and obsolete senses of still-current words. Donne was regarded as esoteric in his own day, but even the commonplaces of the seventeenth century may be strange to moderns.(A amazing printed famous edition, or selections in, say, "The Norton Anthology of English Literature," or other collections for students, will have some of this material, based on Grierson, and his predecessors and successors.)Grierson's work, directly and by method of his impact on T.S. Eliot, and other poets, was fundamental to the modern revival of critical (and popular) interest in Donne. The two volumes of Edmund Gosse's "Life and Letters" (1899) also place Donne's biography on a sounder basis than seventeenth-century gossip, with a firm framework for attempts at a chronology of the ever, Grierson's edition, too, eventually was supplanted, in whole or detail, as more manuscript evidence kept being identified, and textual issues had to be reconsidered in the light of fresh evidence.And it wasn't (and isn't) simple. A manuscript might have poems it attributed to Donne, and might be his work, poems it didn't attribute to Donne, but other copies did, and poems attributed to Donne that were clearly by someone else. Donne seems to have circulated some poems in more than one version, producing conundrums for the unwary editor (and reader). Add seventeenth-century free-style spelling, scribal errors, and scribal "corrections," and one can understand why about a dozen extra "major" critical editions of all or part of the "Donne canon" appeared in the twentieth century.Of course, except for Grierson, these editions remain under copyright. Including, naturally, the in-progress "Variorum Edition of the Poetry of John Donne" (Indiana University Press 1995 and following). It is projected to run to eight volumes, some of them issued in parts. It was itself inspired by the revelations of yet more manuscript evidence, which once again required to be systematically assessed. (There is also an associated website, and bibliographic supplements are available on-line.)This all boils down to just a few , if the Delphi Classics edition has a poem which reads differently than what you search elsewhere, don't be surprised. (Don't assume that Chambers must have got it wrong, either.)Two, if you don't understand a poem by Donne (or a lot of them!), it may be due to the editing, or to a lack of essential info you can't be expected to have. Or, you may need to re-read, more slowly, and test out various phrasing of the lines. Then, too, sometimes Donne really is very obscure, or the poem is not up to his highest standards (or even very good). Quite possibly it has come down to us with irremediable defects, acquired in transmission or left by Donne.(Part of an editor's job is provide that information, and alert readers to actual issues with the text, and issues of interpretation; sometimes, just to say that you are not alone if you don't understand it, or don't like what you do understand.);Three, Delphi Poets, despite providing an enormous benefit to lovers of English poetry, has unintentionally hobbled them as r those who wish fuller information, in famous format, the Penguin English Poets series included A.J. Smith's "John Donne: The Complete English Poems" in 1971, revised 1976. (My attempts to summarize the situation with manuscripts and early printings wound up so much like Smith's summary, when I went back to look at it, that I gave it up as unintended plagiarism!) It is currently available as a Penguin Classic, and in Kindle format; although perhaps not for much longer. An apparent successor volume, "John Donne: Collected Poetry," edited by Christopher Ricks, with an Introduction and notes by Ilona Bell, is at this writing available in Kindle format, and scheduled for paperback release in 2013. Ilona Bell also edited the Penguin Classics "John Donne: Selected Poems" (2006).Grierson's Oxford University Press edition remained in print for much of the twentieth century, a single-volume small-type ver being included in the Oxford Standard Authors series into the 1970s, if not later. Neither format is available fresh [in print; but see Addendum, below] -- Oxford now more latest critical texts -- but the Oxford World's Classics, aimed at students and "the general reader," currently contains "The Major Works: Including Songs and Sonnets and Sermons" (originally 1990, revised 2000), and "Selected Poetry" (originally 1996), both volumes edited and introduced, with notes, by John r those interested in Grierson's old-spelling edition in particular -- it is quoted extensively in the secondary literature and later editions, and the notes in volume 2 are packed with info seldom repeated in full elsewhere -- the Library of Congress www service () provides a copy which can be read on-line or downloaded in pdf. The two-volume 1896 Chambers edition also is available from the Library of Congress site, and the full text (I think) can be found at Amazing Books Online (). (Grosart's edition, which may be of interest to students of the nineteenth-century, is also at ; and so is Lowell's).[Addendum, June 2016: As of mid-March 2016, Oxford University Press (or so says Amazon -- it may be some other party) has created H. J. C. Grierson's classic edition available in Kindle format, divided into the original two volumes (files). I intend to review this more fully after I have had time to work with it. For the moment, I am sorry to report that the Kindle edition lacks both a find function and hyperlinks (i.e., an interactive tables of contents), with the effect that is is much, much harder to use than it should be. There is also some marked carelessness visible on the Amazon product pages: the description appears to be a list of contents, but is actually a list of *other* books by or about Donne from the same publisher.][Additional Note, September 2016: I have somewhat belatedly noticed that the Modern Library E-Book “The Complete Poetry and Selected Prose of John Donne” is in fact newly — well, recently (2001) — re-edited, and not just one of their hold-overs from decades past, the 1948 "Complete Poems and Selected Prose" by John Hayward" in a fresh cover. However, the "text of the poetry and the prose given here, with some additions and rearrangement, reproduces John Hayward’s text," so it has nothing fresh on the textual side. It is edited by Charles M. Coffin, and has a fresh Introduction by Denis Donoghue, and Notes by W.T. Chmielewski. Further, it is currently available as a very reasonably priced Kindle (and Nook and iBook) edition.[Unfortunately, the Kindle edition, at least, was not properly converted to digital form. I’ve tried reading it on a Fire tablet, on Kindle for Mac, and on Cloud Reader. In each case, the collection of useful Notes appears in the Contents list, from which one can go to it directly. Clicking on the blue number of each note takes you back to the put in the text where it belongs; but there are no corresponding indications in that text to alert the reader to the existence of a note…..]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    I just adore Donne - how can anyone read The Flea or The Sunne Rising, and not picture the exact room he's in whilst seducing his lover?! This is quite a amazing compilation and simple to navigate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    Delhi collections cost small but create amazing literature andArt available. What a bargain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    Would that I had lived so much in such a short life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Milton (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 4) []  2020-1-18 18:58

    I like anything written by or about John Milton.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of John Keats (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:6

    Another awesome bargain from Delphi! This edition seems to have everything Keats wrote and is simple to navigate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Donne (Illustrated) (Delphi Poets Series Book 9) []  2020-1-22 19:5

    Had given one star because the contents page wasn't working. The issue has been fixed. And Donne is, of course, ank you, Delphi

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    John Buchan: The Best Works []  2020-1-22 19:9

    I simply have fun John Buchan's work a lot . . . my all-time favorite novel is "John McNab"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    I have loved the Inspector Lewis present for quite sometime. I was thrilled to obtain this complete box set but sad that it's over. I think they could have went on forever! I mean who doesn't feel that method over something they love. I also had a crush on Hathaway, but I is is unbelievable in my collection and I think any lover of the present will be satisfied with it as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    Watching this series was a natural progression after viewing the Inspector Morse set. I have been wondering about the town of Oxford. With multiple murders in each episode, are there a lot of people left living in that city? 😊 Truly I am enjoying the Inspector Lewis series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    I greatly enjoyed this complete set of the Inspector Lewis DVDs. As I am hard of hearing, I especially appreciated that these shows came with English subtitles. The lack of subtitles with the Inspector Morse shows has kept me from viewing the activities of a younger Lewis and his mentor, Morse. It is just too poor that the British never had a law along the lines of the ADA to guarantee the interests of the hard-of-hearing, and it is a amazing thing that PBS provided the closed-captioning for these Masterpiece Mystery Inspector Lewis shows.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    We are enjoying this series immensely, and the high quality is appreciated. I am a writer of conspiracy thriller and romance novels and short stories, so I really love watching these types of shows. I am a fan of all the BBC presentations, including: Foyle's War, Murder, She Wrote, Magnum PI & anything Agatha Christie (my mentor from the beginnings of my dream of becoming an author!!! KUDOS!I'm saving up to more of my favorite shows: Foyle's War, Agatha Christie series, Are You Being Served, and others . . .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    My wife and I have watched for first 13 seasons of Midsomer Murders and so this was a logical step into more modern-day British crime. We are about halfway thru the Lewis series and would prefer that it not end. We have enjoyed watching Lewis and his fresh partner Hathaway as they learn each other and play off each other's strengths. Lewis and Hathaway's boss is much more involved than Inspector Barnaby's ever was, and this relationship is an evolutionary process as well. The Oxford setting is not as confining as I thought it might be. Plus there generally aren't as a lot of bodies at the end of each episode as you had in Midsomer. Amazing acting, interesting settings and the usual posh, pompous or spoiled characters you would expect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    Amazon has screwed up the reviews of the fresh Complete Series box, confusing it with the Season 1-4 box (which was a disaster - edited episodes, no subtitles)The fresh "Complete Series" box (18 DVDs) is Seasons was released in October e top posted reviews on Amazon are for the Season 1-4 box.Ignore the 200 reviews dated before October 13, e reviewer complaints are no longer l issues were fixed by the time the Season 1-6 box was released, and remain fixed for the Complete Series box.-- all 33 episodes in the Complete Series box are the unedited UK version.-- all 33 episodes in the Complete Series box have English 1 = SERGEANT LEWIS (AGE 36) with Inspector MorsePHOTO 2 = INSPECTOR LEWIS (AGE 64) with Inspector HathawayPHOTO 3 = DR. LAURA HOBSON WITH SERGEANT LEWIS AND INSPECTOR MORSE 1995The writers originally envisioned Pathologist Laura Hobson as a possible love interest for Inspector Morse (Sergeant Lewis was married at the time).PHOTO 4 = PHILIP HATHAWAY IN 1967 (Endeavour), father of James 5 = PHILIP HATHAWAY IN 2016 (Lewis)PHOTO 6 = INSPECTOR LEWIS (?) reprimanded by DCI George GentlyPHILIP HATHAWAY:There are a number of characters common to "Inspector Morse" and "Inspector Lewis" (most prominently Lewis' love Dr. Laura Hobson)Also characters common to "Endeavour" and "Morse".But only one hero appeared (fifty years apart) in both "Endeavour" and "Inspector Lewis"- Philip Hathaway, father of Sergeant/Inspector James Hathaway1967: "Endeavour" Season 3, Episode 3Constable Morse investigates a series of suspicious deaths at Crevecoeur Hall, home of the incredibly wealthy Mortmaigne ilip Hathaway, the Mortmaigne family gardener, is one of the suspects (played by Rob Callender - image 4)Ten years later, just in time for the birth of his son, Philip Hathaway is promoted to estate manager2010: "Inspector Lewis" Season 3, Episode 2 (UK Season 4, Episode 1)There is another suspicious death at Crevecoeur spector Lewis is surprised to learn that Sergeant Hathaway is no stranger to Crevecoeur Hall or the Mortmaigne family2015: "Inspector Lewis" Season EightPhilip Hathaway (played by Nicholas Jones - image 5) returns for the final season of Inspector in his seventies, Philip Hathaway is suffering from Alzheimer's and does not recognize his son James--------------------My only regret about the fresh box is that it has not been released on dividual releases of Seasons 1-3 were on standard DVD, but Seasons 4-8 give you the option of Blu-Ray.Justifiable - the architecture and environs of Oxford University are the future, the "Complete Series" box may be released on Blu-Ray (but this would require going to the expense of remastering Seasons 1-3)Or there could be a mixed ver with Seasons 1-3 on DVD, and 4-8 on ybe.[hint: for ease of navigation, read the review through to the end, then come back and on the links.]SCANDAL: The original UK broadcasts of Inspector Lewis were 93 to 96 minutes.PBS broadcasts averaged 80 timing is complicated: Lewis was was broadcast in two 46-48 min program segments a week apart.[with duplicate sets of credits, plus "Next on Lewis" and "Last Time on Lewis" plus room in the hour for commercials etc. - Lewis was broadcast on ITV, not BBC]Seasons 1-7 in this box have the UK program content, but the two parts are spliced together, deleting the duplicate ason 8 is the only American release presented in literal two-part UK form (I prefer 96 mins without interruption).STUPIDITY: The initial DVD release of Seasons 1-3 lacked subtitles, and used the chop PBS blem repeated in the Season 1-4 box (Amazon reviewers noticed).But corrected in the Season 1-6 e individual DVDs of Seasons 1-3 were corrected and e fresh "Complete Series" box is ese versions of Seasons 1-3 should be OK:Inspector Lewis: The Pilot and Complete 1st SeriesInspector Lewis: Series 2Inspector Lewis: Series 3(but only from reputable dealers, and be wary of used DVDs of Seasons 1-3)Seasons 4-8 on DVD or Blu-Ray never had a issue with editing:Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis 4 [Blu-ray] Original UK EditionMasterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis Series 5 [Blu-ray]Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis Season Six [Blu-ray]Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis 7 [Blu-ray]Masterpiece Mystery!: Inspector Lewis 8 (Full UK-Length Edition) (Blu-ray)CONFUSION: There were nine seasons of Inspector Lewis in the United Kingdom, but only eight in the US.PBS broadcast the original UK Seasons 1-3 as US Seasons ill a total of 33 spector Lewis features a wide-screen picture and English SDH subtitles.I already own Seasons 1-3 on DVD, and Seasons 4-8 on Blu-Ray, so I won't be ordering the fresh box.If you have not already invested a lot of in the series (and don't need Blu-Ray)you can save a amazing of by ordering the fresh "Complete Series" box.----------------Inspector Lewis was broadcast on British tv between 2006 and 2015,but actor Kevin Whately (born 1951) has played the same hero since 1987- from age 36 (photo 1) through age 64 (photo 2)Before becoming Inspector Lewis, he was Sergeant Lewis to John Thaw's Inspector total:Sergeant Lewis = 32 Episodes with Inspector Morse (33 episode series - Lewis missed one episode).Inspector Lewis = 33 Episodes, 27 with Sergeant Hathaway + the final 6 episodes with Inspector Hathaway (played by Laurence Fox)-- a) Inspector Morse, aired 1987-2000with Detective Sergeant Robert Lewis - Following Morse's death, Sergeant Lewis was promoted to Inspector.-- b) Inspector Lewis, aired 2006-2015with Detective Sergeant James Hathaway - Following Lewis's retirement, Sergeant Hathaway was promoted to Inspector.-- c) Inspector Hathaway never had his own series, because Inspector Lewis, bored with retirement, came back part-time in Seasons Seven and Eight.A slightly resentful Inspector Hathaway now shares the "Inspector Lewis" series with Inspector gether they share Detective Sergeant Lizzie Maddox (played by Angela Griffin)Kevin Whately doesn't look 64 in the Inspector Lewis series, but check out his guest appearance as Inspector Don McGhee (photo 6) in the final episode ("Gently in the Cathedral") of George Gently, Series 5 [Blu-rayInspector Morse (played by John Thaw) was the first and best of modern British Police Inspectors.He is long overdue for remastering and repackaging at a reduced e 25th Anniversary set was a disappointment: Elderly video transfers, No subtitles, spector Morse 25th Anniversary Collection(read the review by Satisfied Reader dated November 11, 2012)I only hope the upcoming Thirtieth Anniversary may bring an improvementSee Comment One (dated October 15, 2016) for info about inexpensive imported DVDs of the "Complete Inspector Morse".And don't forget "Endeavour", aired is is a prequel to the Inspector Morse t in 1960s England (Robbie Lewis was still a schoolboy), when young Police Constable Endeavour Morse joined the force.(Morse dropped the first name after he created Inspector).If "Endeavour" is still on the air twenty years from now we might even meet Sergeant Lewis againFor links to "Endeavour" on DVD and Blu-Ray, see the first Comment (dated October 15, 2016) following this on "sort by oldest"TRIVIA:Inspector Morse and Sergeant Lewis worked for the "Thames Valley Constabulary"- the actual police jurisdiction containing Oxford the time "Inspector Lewis" debuted, a fresh Chief Constable had taken e was not as cooperative with the media as her predecessor had spector Lewis (and Constable Endeavour Morse) now work for the "Oxfordshire Police" - a fictional name.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    I almost bought the Region 2 collection to be sure I was getting the true UK versions (I really dislike the PBS broadcast cut-down versions of these shows). But, yes indeed... these are the true full length editions. Nice quality mastering. Basically, no complaints. If you wish to see/review/enjoy the full Lewis series, this is a amazing and well-priced deal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    Perfect packaging for this erratically released set! Finally have all episodes together in their proper and accessible organization, and even in the same format. Took three partial from Acorn (Thumbs Down!); Masterpiece Theater (Double Thumbs Down), and the BBC (Triple Thumbs Down!!!!!) before coming across and buying this compact PBS remastered reissue. Very satisfactory. Want that they would do the same thing for Midsommer Murders ONCE, without all of the phony, flimflam ripoff reissues that that series is being offered through. Clearly, the idea of customer loyalty and what it is that produces same continues to escape far too a lot of of these dvd series producers and promoters!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    Love the mystery. Happen to see an episode by possibility and I investigated and found them at amazon. I am quite happy with the series. Also bought the Endeavour series. Love these English mysteriesOnly thing I am sad about is the fact that one episode does not flow into another. You have to go back to the begin to obtain the next episode. Otherwise all was great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpiece Mystery: Inspector Lewis - The Complete Series []  2020-1-25 21:37

    Having watched the "Inspector Morse" series, expectations were high. Glad to report that they were met!Well written, well acted, all phases of production are excellent. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who appreciates high quality in any sort of series they are watching. "Inspector Lewis" is one of the reasons I prefer British shows over most shows that are on American TV.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gaudí. The Complete Works []  2020-2-1 0:8

    I enjoyed the writing in this book but the photographs of Gaudi buildings do not capture his work well. The Sagrada Familia and other Barcelona buildings are joyful and full of light whereas the photographs were dark and gloomy. I'll refer to my own pictures when I wish to revisit Gaudi buildings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gaudí. The Complete Works []  2020-2-1 0:8

    This was a bonus for my aunt who had traveled there years ago and is now disabled and unable to travel. It brought back a lot of amazing memories of the attractive buildings designed by Gaudi, and that gorgeous city, Barcelona. A amazing momento.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chopin: The Complete Works []  2020-1-23 2:59

    I've seen Garrick Ohlsson perform live a lot of times -- even within the past month. He never disappoints. He has intelligence, technique, and musicality. He started out life as a champion of the Chopin tournament in Poland, so he has credentials for this is encyclopedic traversal of the Chopin repertoire is beautiful unique. As amazing a Chopin exponent as Rubinstein was, he didn't leave us the "complete works". I have all of HIS CD's of the things he recorded in the one buys Ohlsson to obtain a fresh and new point of view as presented by a modern, living, performing interpreter.I have his Beethoven Sonatas, too. But I also have all of them from Kempff and Gulda.I have fun the slight (or more than slight) changes in tempo or phrasing or dynamics. If you're only going to do Chopin once, you won't go wrong with this set -- either musically or technically. I picked them up for about 80 bucks and they are a amazing addition to my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chopin: The Complete Works []  2020-1-23 2:59

    This definitely is one of the best collections of piano melody I have heard! I love Chopin, and I really like Garrick Ohlsson's playing.I would recommend it to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plato: The Complete Works []  2019-12-20 18:30

    I read the Jowett translation of the dialogues of Plato at the age of fourteen. It was a bit of a tough sled for me back then, because of the difficulty of some of the ideas, and the type of language used by Jowett. Nevertheless, I worked hard, made my own Platonic dictionary, even looked up the meanings of the words in the Pocket Oxford dictionary. The topics tackled by Plato are still alive and debated even today. Later on, while in the Navy, I bought a copy of the Republic and worked my method through that. In my latest book, The Wind, a thriller, I used the concepts in Republic extensively, though, not in a scholarly way. Plato, through his surrogate Socrates, introduced me to the Socratic Method, which is a cooperative argumentative dialogue between individuals, based on asking and answering questions to stimulate critical thinking. For years, I considered Socrates my thought hero. You won't learn logic here, but you will learn to ask questions and think. Logic came later with Aristotle. If you have the courage to take your time to read Plato, I feel certain you will emerge as a more thoughtful and wiser a person. Plato's works have endured for more than two-thousand years, and for amazing reason. I can't recommend Plato strongly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plato: The Complete Works []  2019-12-20 18:30

    I value critical thinking, and I have not found better pattern of human reasoning to learn from than those laid in Plato’s dialogs. One doesn’t require a gifted imagination, or to create elaborate mental contortions, to frame a subject inside the logical framework he laid out in dialogs like “Sophis.”Is one thing reading a handbook to learn how to think. But for me has been superior observing Plato illustrate the power of analysis by skillfully having Theodore, Theaetetus, Socrates, and the Eleactic Stranger dissect points and nuances that easily would be lost on a reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plato: The Complete Works []  2019-12-20 18:30

    If you read...if you think at all beyond what's for dinner and how the Giants did latest night, obtain this book. Plato's been a benchmark for human thought since Pericles. Thomas Jefferson read him, so you'll be in amazing company. And even though he sometimes sounds to the political right of Barry Goldwater, he usually just makes you go hmmmm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plato: The Complete Works []  2019-12-20 18:30

    This is a amazing compilation of one of my favorite Western philosophers. I highly recommend it for those wanting to obtain to know both Socrates and his student, Plato.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aristotle: The Complete Works []  2019-12-20 18:30

    Purchased this to authenticate quotes, rather than to read. But the find feature is utterly useless, and the lack of translation info mean trying to search ANY single line or quote is only 40% successful most times. For reading, the product is OK, but Aristotle is hardly the most latest philosopher, and vast amounts of his 'scientific thoughts' are utterly wrong.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plato: The Complete Works []  2019-12-20 18:30

    This Kindle edition of Plato includes (as far as I can tell) all of the definitely genuine dialogues of Plato, as well as some of the spurious (meaning probably fake) dialogues. The edition also does not seem to include any of Plato's letters (most of which are considered spurious). I have read through most of the dialogues (up to the "late works") and I have enjoyed them very much, and would recommend them to anyone interested. Most of the translations are by Benjamin Jowett, and a lot of of the dialogues contain introductions and/or essays by him. I found the translations to be excellent, and cannot imagine their having been any better. My basic complaint with this edition is the huge number of misspellings and errors in punctuation, which apparently resulted in the process of converting the works to a digital format. These errors become especially noticeable in the later dialogues, and while they never become intolerable, they are certainly an major oversight on the part of the publisher.Overall, this edition has amazing translations and all the genuine dialogues, but a lot of typos.P.S. If, while reading, you feel like Parmenides is the most difficult text you've ever encountered, don't give up! Just hold pushing through, getting out of it as much as you can-- I don't think anyone really understands it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plato: The Complete Works []  2019-12-20 18:30

    All 31 works for 0.99 cents is a large steal. I thank the translator for offering his work at such a low price. The 31 works has been a very long and challenging read, but with amazing reward in knowledge. The texts are not always simple to understand the meaninv of them. I usually will read one dialogue and then look it up on wikipedia afterwards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plato: The Complete Works []  2019-12-20 18:30

    A few typos, but a amazing introduction to Plato. Some interesting commentary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gaudí. The Complete Works []  2020-2-1 0:8

    What can I say- it's a very well done image book of Gaudi's work. It really makes me wish to visit Barcelona the next time I'm anywhere in Europe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chopin: The Complete Works []  2020-1-23 2:59

    A very in- depth rendition of Chopin’s music. The piano concertos are very various compared to earlier interpretations. Indeed, Mr Olsen has taken off the shop his earlier performances of these two works. The Mazurkas are played at a much faster pace making them real dances. The nocturnes are perfect.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386