Read the craft of the japanese sword reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the craft of the japanese sword reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


    Add your opinion on the craft of the japanese sword or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    Very amazing book. I am satisfied with purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    Outstanding read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    This book goes into the info of the making of a Japanese sword.I own Sato's "The Japanese Sword : A Comprehensive Guide" as well as Yumoto's "Samurai Sword a Handbook", and they are clearly not as complete as that one (esp. Sato's.)"The Craft of the Japanese Sword" is awesome in that it has a huge number of extremely clear B&W pictures. Those are clear enough to present examples of the steel's grain, of what an utsuri looks like, of what makes nie various from nioi, of the appearance of the hamon at each scene of the polishing, etc. The clarity & quantity of the pictures is the main asset of this book to the katana enthusiast, be they interested in modern or antique swords, created in Japan or e book is also amazing because of the information it provides on all the stages before the blade is forged (i.e., how to get the important steel ingot, or tamahagane) and after it is forged (polishing, of course, but also the craft of the scabbard, of the fittings, etc...)This is a super dense book, packed with info, where not a single line is wasted. I cannot recommend it enough to anyone interested in the Japanese swords, be they swordsmiths, martial artists, or collectors. The book is geared toward the swordsmiths but provide so much information that a martial artist or collector planning to invest into a fine blade should absolutely read that book. This will prevent a lot of a disappointment...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    An perfect begin to finish description of the manufacturing of the Japanese Katana, from the smelting of the raw iron to the final polish of the blade. Very well-written and easily understandable for the novice reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    I have a zillion books on Japanese swords, but never found one specifically detailing the metallurgical and technical side of how a sword is made. This is THE book to have if you wish to know step by step how its done. An wonderful read. I don't care how much you know about swords, you will learn something here and have a deeper understanding and appreciation for how brilliant a Japanese sword really is. 1000yrs of technology in one book. You will never look at a Japanese sword the same method again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    Everything one could wish to know about the metallurgy and forging of katana.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    A must for any sword collector or enthusiast or just for someone who wants to learn more about Japanese swords.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    Kapp is an authority on this topic and this is the classic reference work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    I wasn't expecting a book as amazing as this. I bought it for general knowledge, but i found a lot of info about the practical craft of making swords, that i'll definitely use some of them when making a blade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Craft of the Japanese Sword []  2020-6-10 20:37

    Excelente guía del proceso tradicional japones y del estilo private de Yoshindo Yoshihara, muy buenas ilustraciones y fotografías.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    I own over a dozen books on Japanese swords. Some of them do indeed go into greater depth on one aspect or another, but this is the best overview of the process from sand to shirasaya I've ever seen. Even after reading multiple books and watching multiple DVDs on the subject, I still had questions. This book answered should be noted that this book doesn't go into much detail on the furniture of the sword. In particular, tsukamaki is ignored except for a casual mention or two when discussing existing, mounted 's a attractive overview, filled with huge pictures and printed on heavyweight paper. If you're looking for one book on the subject, this should be the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    Attractive created and written book with allot of historical and modern sword making metallurgy..make you really appreciate the art of sword making

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    Perfect book. Full of very clear images of all aspects of Japanese swords, the various types and styles, as well as the making of the sword. The author, Yoshindo Yoshihara-sama is recognized as one of the finest living Japanese swordsmiths, so in my opinion this book is golden. Took a few days to ship, then arrived very quickly, and in brand fresh condition, as advertised. I highly recommend it for Japanese sword enthusiasts. Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    Very clear. Explains everything there is to know about Japanese swords. There is a point missing. The lamination of very old Japanese swords is not touched in this book. But aprt form that a superb book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    What a spectacular book.I am so grateful that, Leon Kapp and Yoshindo Yoshihara - (and the rest of the squad that worked so hard on this book) - are the kind of people who understand the belief that: 'If you obtain you must give and if you've learned you must teach".Over a thousand years of teachings, of and error, have all been coalesced into this book and it, like the swords that come from Master Yoshindo's forge, is a masterpiece.Each page is a treasure trove of wisdom and techniques and the more you read, the more you start to explore that the Japanese sword, who's origins began as a quest for the ultimate edged weapon, has now evolved into a science and an is book has changed my view of the Japanese sword and I now want to do all I can to continue to learn about and preserve these precious portals into the past. I now appreciate that the Japanese sword is not just an art piece crafted by one single artist, but rather; each sword is a symphony - a collaboration between multiple craftsmen; smelters, steel smiths, polishers, engravers and carpenters who have all dedicated their lives to producing an item of real beauty - the excellent balance between form and function.If you have a love for Japanese swords, or if you just want to learn more about the Japanese Culture behind their production, then I recommend that you read "The Art of the Japanese Sword". It is an in-depth revelation into all the hand-skills, the technology, the tools and the means of appreciation that you will need to obtain better acquainted with this fine craft and these fine artifacts. This book has greatly enriched me, the reader. And it has sent me on a quest to one day, (hopefully), be the custodian of one of these amazing swords. I say custodian, because I have learned that you can never truly own one of these swords - you merely look after it for the following generation.Wynton Visser -JewellerSouth Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    Unbelievable Book !!!This book starts with some history and the respect to be shown for the swords, and from there, it tells (with an abundant amount of pictures) just how every step in the process of the construction of the sword is performed, by the master sword smith himself, Mr. Yoshindo will realize just how much effort goes into making a REAL sword,the CORRECT way.I highly recommend this book, one of my favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    This book is a must have book if you are interested in Japanese swords. One should note that it is specific. It covers the making of a blade from Tamahagane (bloom iron) through forging, polishing, Habaki crafting, and ending with the making of a Shirasaya (Storage Scabbard). The book does begin with a brief history of Japanese swords ,Blade description ,sword appreciation, and a small about sword furniture. There are a lot of clear images along with descriptions that explain the entire process. The book is attractive and well written. I want there were about another 20 pages to cover the Tsuka,Tsuba, Saya, and other koshirae better. But I admit they are covered in a lot of other books and are topics in this book . You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    Bought this for a family member who was looking for this book for the longest time. I first spotted this book in Japan and was regret not getting it then. Couldn't search it anywhere when I came back to the states. Amazing book, very detailed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    Clearly produced by an well-informed admirer of the art form, this book is a technological, artistic, and cultural delight. Technologically because it provides comprehensive data on the mechanical processes required to make different Japanese swords; artistically because the volume displays pleasing composition and execution in its layout, printing, and binding; and culturally, as it provides a look into the Japanese society and mindset that made (and continues to create) these formidable works of art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of the Japanese Sword: The Craft of Swordmaking and its Appreciation []  2020-6-14 20:7

    I'ver read 4 swords of japanese sword so far and I believe if you wish to learn how to appreciate a japanese sword, this is the book to get. The others i read dive into the spirituality and religion that influences the sword, and the history of japanese swords. This particular book dives into how the sword is created and the finer points of appreciating the metallurgy of the sword and why a certain type of sword proliferated during the time. There are lots of high quality pictures in the book of the necessary swords that were made. I would highly recommend this book as the basics for fresh students to get.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chrysanthemum and the Sword: Patterns of Japanese Culture []  2020-1-23 0:39

    The are different editions and revisions. I bought the 1946 ver because it was closest in time to when it was issued for use by the Battle Department after WWII and used to support with the occupation. Being closet in time to WWII I figured it would truest to perceptions at that time before "revisions" set in. It is a fascinating insight to a culture very various than ours and gives amazing understanding of what was driving a lot of of their actions. If you have fun history, anthropology, and sociology this is an perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    This book has been a waste of my and I will return it as soon as possible. I have an MA in Japanese Studies and have lived several years in Japan, while studying Japanese history as well as practicing martial arts. The main reason for this unfortunate judgement lies in the fact that Mr. Craig should not have attempted to bring Japanese history into his story about the Mugai Ryu. He has consistently misinterpreted, as well as misunderstood, Japanese history in it's factual reality. Furthermore, he has not been very consistent in making his mistakes by, for example, stating that the war of Sekigahara took put in 1601 (page 3) while the correct date is 1600 (which date is used later on in the text). Another one of the inconsistencies is the date of passing of his kendo teacher, Nakamura Takeshi. On page 111 Mr. Craig writes underneath a picture of Nakamura sensei the year 1997, while on page 113 the same Nakamura sensei is said to have passed away in 1996! This is surely not the method to honor the memory of his teacher. Elsewhere in the text Mr. Craig makes the historically completely incorrect statement that Toyotomi Hideyoshi "became a teacher of martial tactic to all the retainers of the Tokugawa shogun" (page 70). This would have been an extremely powerful feat, since Toyotomi Hideyoshi died in 1598 and the Tokugawa family only became historically third in line to be bestowed the title of shogun in 1603! Therefore, the afore-mentioned Hideyoshi could never have become a teacher of anything to the retainers of the Tokugawa, not to mention that Hideyoshi actually was the one person who united Japan under his rule in 1590 after his own overlord Oda Nobunaga, who began the unification process during the late 60's of the 16th century, had been murdered by one of his vassals in 1582. This makes it absolutely impossible to defend that someone in Hideyoshi's position of power would have been teaching anyone at all. Next, Mr. Craig is going completely over his head when he attempts an interpretation of the so-called "heino bunri", which he himself persistently calls "nohei bunri" (pages 4-6). Here he states that "nohei bunri" was an experiment by the Tokugawa to make a peasant army, while in fact the system, called correctly "heino bunri", was the attempt to separate the fighters from the peasants and this process was started, actually, by Hideyoshi in the 80's of the 16th century. In doing so, initially only in the domains under his direct control, Hideyoshi made a standing professional troops of warriors! Not peasants! The whole matter has nothing at all to do with creating a peasant troops and wasn't even a Tokugawa experiment! The Tokugawa, after coming into power, only capitalised on this earlier institutional novelty introduced, as mentioned, by [email protected]#$%!&hese are just a few of the historical and factual mistakes contained in this book, by which it is rendered wholly untrustworthy for any reference purposes whatsoever. However, should Mr. Craig someday decide to write an autobiographical work on his experiences in the globe of Japanese martial arts, I would seriously consider buying it since this part of his book was the only one worth reading to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    This book was fantastic! I started reading this authors books with "The Art Of Kendo" which was equally as rewarding! I liked this book so much I hunted down the Mugai Ryu video which I could not search on Amazon. I found it through the publisher([...])but I am sure you can probably obtain it through the author. Darrell Craig's HOUSTON BUDOKAN Dojo can be found on the web. My wife is reading "Japan's Ultimate Martial Art: Jujitsu Before 1882 the Classical Japanese Art of Self-Defense" and it has helped her greatly in her Jujitsu study! This book is not a history lesson, he gives a small history in the first chapter so you will understand what it is you are studying. This book has opened a whole fresh globe to me that I didn't even know was there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chrysanthemum and the Sword: Patterns of Japanese Culture []  2020-1-23 0:39

    Amazing item and fast delivery at bargain price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    this is a amazing book, i love it--been looking for it for awhile thank you, and i got it at a decent price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    I found this book helpful and informative regarding one form of mugai ryu. I recommend adding the book to your collection if you're interested in iaido (or like to collect Mr. Craig's amazing martial art stories).I also found the majority of reviews below helpful. As noted by some, this book isn't a history book, and it clearly doesn't apply to all forms of mugai ryu. I, too, found a few typos, but I search them everywhere and won't condemn a book for that.I happened to have traveled to Japan with this book and was satisfied to present it to a well-respected kendo instructor - who admired the book profusely. Of course, the sensei landed up with the book! Now you know why I need another copy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    I began reading another book by this author "Japan's Ultimate Martial Art... Jujitsu Before 1882 The Classical Japanese Art of Self- Defense"; I enjoyed the book so much that I looked for another book written by this author(Darrell Max Craig). I found the book "Mugai Ryu...The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword" to be complete; in the sense that he really pulls you back into the time period of fuedal Japan when the sword was the weapon of the Japanese warrior. It brings a sense of reading a history novel, a fantasy (as in I was swept away within this book), but mostly true app of the sword. Everything was explained in his very down to earth way, which I so appreciated. This book was another amazing search and worth every cent. I would recommend this book to any one who is interested in the Japanese sword.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chrysanthemum and the Sword: Patterns of Japanese Culture []  2020-1-23 0:39

    Amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    perfect book on mugairyu iaido,but i think photo,s would have helped with understanding the kata more easily,i do understand the reasoning for figure drawings!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    I found this book enjoyable, however it would have been better if the author had focused on Mugai Ryu like the title would indicate. At a lot of points in the book the author elaborates what his sensei from Hokoshin Itto Ryu had to say. Going into the history of that style. I bought this book to learn about Mugai Ryu history and tradition. It did NOT cover very much of that at all. In fact, the founder (Tsuji Gettan Tsukimochi) is only briefly discussed in one chapter. Overall there is very small discussion of Mugai Ryu. The title of the book is misleading. Much that was included in this book did not belong. It was disapointing that so small of the book focused on the proposed topic matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    I lived in Houston, Texas at one time. I was never a student of Mr. Craig's, but having in an interest in the martial arts, this is how I came to know about Darrell Craig's dojo and his books. He is well know and respected in not only the Houston martial arts and law enforcement communities, but he is well known (and quite credible) in the writing and tv communities too. He is well know for his festival appearances and relationships in the Japanese community. I have enjoyed all of his previous books and this one is certainly the best.What Mr. Craig writes in his books is apparently basically what he practices. No one disputes Mr. Craig's over thirty years of experience. He makes it very clear in this book about Mugai ryu that (while the reviewer from the Netherlands disingenuously does not), there are as a lot of as five various claims and several various "soke's" to the one all real form of this type of Japanese swordmanship called Mugai ryu. So, apparently any claim to "authority on Mugai ryu" is an immediate so, as far as I can tell, Mr. Craig does not claim that this is a history book, and I don't know anything about Japanese history to care enough about a several year mistake. Of course the movements are various in the book than the movements practiced by others worldwide, Mr. Craig did not learn and does not teach the movements of this particular reviewer from the Netherlands. I think the reviewer's one-star review was less of a review and more of a commercial.I can't practice the attractive and fascinating art of Iai, but at least I can read about it from Mr. Craig's book. He consistently provides unbelievable glimpses into an art form that most westerners search absolutely mysterious. Six stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    As far as I can tell, if you wish to know about Mugai Ryu Iaido, this is the only android game in city unless you are amazing at reading Japanese. Author information on the history, philosophy and katas of Mugai Ryu and shows some wazas from some of the old kenjutsu ryus. ALso shows some advanced Mugai Ryu techniques in addition to the katas. It would have been nice if there had been more on the bunkai behind the katas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mugai Ryu: The Classical Japanese Art of Drawing the Sword []  2020-6-24 18:58

    There is very small English language work on Mugai Ryu. I personally am aware of only 2 books. Both by Mr. Craig. There may be more, I don't know.I was a Jujitsu student of Craig Sensei, so I may be a bit biased. But I will test to be objective. I am also a student of Muso Shinden Ryu Iaido and have some familiarity with Mugai ter reading the book, I know more about Mugai Ryu than before I read it. So I have to say the book met it's is is not a "how to book", no book really is for any martial art. But if you are a student of Iaido you should be able to obtain a lot out of the kata descriptions and e book has been criticized by some for having non-Mugai Ryu content. But these stories of Mr. Craig's training in other styles do not detract from the book. They go that much further to establish his expertise in Japanese styles of swordsmanship and bring more entertainment value to reading the aig Sensei has now dedicated nearly 50 years to to travelling the globe stydying, training, competing and teaching Japanese Martial Arts. Much of his training and rankings come from organizations that do not even admit Japanese civilians, allow alone foreigners. This is very much to his and adds to the uniqueness of his credentials and l Iaido students should own this book, as well as his ground-breaking Iai: The Art of Drawing the Sword which has been copies for more than 20 years now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    If you were interested in WWII and/or the war at Midway, you probably read Prange's "Miracle at Midway" and found it thrilling. The "Battle of Midway" film follows closely on the book, with the added obligatory romantic interest (and she is lovely). Both were based on Fuchida's acc published quickly after the US occupation government allowed such literature.If you are interested in WWII and/or the war at Midway, you should read "Shattered Sword"; research done by Tully and Parshall search that Fuchida's acc was written and strongly biased for public consumption. It was less than honest at best, and known to be so by Japanese sources. You will be disabused of several fantasies, none of which diminish the importance of the battle: It marked the end of Japan's expansion in the North Pacific. At Guadalcanal, the Japanese offensive was halted in the South Pacific and not long after in Fresh Guinea. Within 6 months, the Nazis found the end of their tether at both Stalingrad and in Africa; the Axis was thereafter on the defensive; the battle was decided. Sadly, the Axis demanded millions of more deaths to be convinced.Tully and Parshall are nothing if not thorough in their research; the Japanese losses at Midway had nothing to do with 'planes not launched from the flight deck' (as Fuchida has it), the losses had to do with carrier operations, carrier design and the unrelenting (if, until the end, futile) US attacks on the Japanese carrier forces: By the time of the dive-bomber attacks, "Like blood from a wounded patient - time the lifeblood of decision and action - had been oozing out of Kido Butai all morning, slowly and inexorably. Now the patient was beyond recovery" (pg 231).What follows hopes to be the specific for the bombs which demolish the Japanese carriers, the futile attempts to save them and a more accurate report of how they ended up on the bottom; the later two pathos, to be e war didn't end with the sinking of the Hiryu, and the remaining sinkings (on both sides) are not ignored. Similarly, the importance of the war is examined, and in my opinion, properly defined; it did not end the battle in the Pacific. It ended Japan's attempt to expand in that Frank's "Guadalcanal: The Definitive Acc of the Landmark Battle" and "Downfall", if you presume to be educated about Midway, you must read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    I am in awe of the work these authors have done. An awesome amount of detail is provided about IJN and Japanese carrier operations which serve to let the reader to understand the reasons for the outcome of this pivotal battle. The assumption of a lot of readers (myself included) was, in an unthinking way, to think the Japanese did carrier operation much as we did in Globe Battle II. They did not. As a result, their ships were of a various design to accommodate the various maintenance, arming, fueling, and spotting of aircraft. Ignorance of these differences has always concealed some of the reasons for the Japanese defeat. This "arcane" information, heretofore known only to the Japanese in their untranslated (to English) archives, is the items that makes this a truly special book. The authors debunk a whole list of Midway myths with wonderful, detailed, documentation. Enough said, as tons of other reviewers have said the same things about this wonderful, unbelievable book. The book is a "keeper". Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    This book will slay a number of your notions about this battle. In a splendidly-researched work, the authors have brought to our attention facts that have long been known in Japanese military academic circles, but not in America. They give fair treatment to the authors whose treatment of the war form our national picture (Walter Lord, Gordon Prangue, and some others), but are relentless in debunking some widely-held myths (such as Fuchida's "5 minutes", supposedly after which, the Japs could have launched counterstrikes from aircraft already fueled and armed and spotted on the decks (they weren't), the supposedly large advantage in forces of the Japanese that could have been engaged, and others).It's not an simple read, though the authors write well. But the level of detail (especially, the amazing differences in how the Japanese built and fought their carriers) makes it a task for the serious student.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    This was supposed to be a amazing book. but Its not a amazing read at all the author is about as pompous as you can get.Jumps all over the place, it seems every past historians wrong except himself. "self proclaimed expert"I love history and have a huge collection in my library especially on the navy in the pacific dad fought there in ww2

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    This is a very amazing book about the e authors fault Yamamoto for the Japanese defeat, but suggest that another commander would have devised a plan much as Yamamoto did; thus, highligting an institutional failure. The authors maintain Yamamoto was too over confident and divided his force to its own disadvantage. The different subdivisions couldn't provide mutual help at critical moments during the ey argue Yamamoto was so sure that the U.S. navy was already defeated, that he was afraid they couldn't be baited into a war if the Japanese fleet appeared too formidable. Hence, he used the Japanese carriers as bait to draw the U.S. carriers out of Pearl at was poor enough, but then Yamamoto allowed two carriers to be sent to the Aleutians and three were sent the Coral Sea. Those were compromise dispositions to victory Troops help for his Midway plan, but it violated the IJN's doctrine of mass. And the authors emphatically point out that the Aleutian mission was not a feint operation to draw U.S. forces away from Midway. It was a distinctly separate operation from the invasion of the Japanese war-gamed the Midwy operation before hand, the "red team" had the U.S. carriers present up in locations and at times that would upset Yamamoto's plan. Each and every time Yamamoto's referees ruled that the Americans would not or could not do that, and the android game would then proceed according to the script Yamamoto wrote for them – including "unsinking" the Kaga after the "red team" had sunk it.Of course, when the actual war occurred, the Americans didn't follow Yamamoto's script. The Americans showed up where they shouldn't and couldn't be. And the rest, as they say, is e authors are also critical of Genda's decision not to employ three to five more find planes to scout out the American carriers. In their opinion, if the American carriers had been sighted one hour earlier, the war wouldn't have been such a one-sided e authors really obtain into the nuts and bolts of Japanese carrier operations and noted that when Nagumo launched his strikeforce versus Midway all of the planes had cleared the decks in seven minutes. In contrast, when the Hornet and Enterprise launched their strike versus Nagumo, it took over an hour to obtain all of their planes in the air.On the other hand, the American carriers had better hurt control operations, e.g., they drained their aviation refueling hoses and filled them with CO2 and the firefighting water mains were compartmentalized, whereas the Japanese were divided only to port and starboard, and when any part of those systems were damaged, the whole system failed.And contrary to famous belief, per the authors, Nagumo did not have his counterstrike force spotted on the decks. Nagumo had been too busy landing the Midway strikeforce, rotating his CAP, and evading the piecemeal American attacks to spot the counterstrike force on the decks. As evidence the authors cite pictures taken by the B-17s that present the flight decks were clear except for a couple of CAP Zeros on one e authors also argue that it wasn't a "decisive battle" because it didn't change the course of the war. They maintain that the Japanese were destined to lose, and their loss at Midway only shortened the time of what was always d book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    A few years ago, I read Craig L. Symond's The War of Midway (Pivotal Moments in American History) and saw Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the War of Midway: The Japanese Story of the War of Midway by Jonathan Parshall and Anthony Tully referenced in it. I took a look at the book on Amazon and it had a plain easy cover, giving it the feeling of an academic work, so I added it to my reading list but didn't place it very high on the list. Recently, I finally got around to reading attered Sword presents a fresh method of looking at the War of Midway. It is well researched and well documented with extensive endnotes and a lengthy bibliography. It is detailed yet captivating. Most of all, it presents powerful arguments, backs up those arguments with documented sources, and effectively turns the traditional narrative of the War of Midway on its ear. The authors discover doctrine, strategy, planning, and strategies from the Japanese perspective; in doing so, they don't just challenge the conventional wisdom about the war and its after effects; to borrow from the title, it shatters place it mildly, this book is not what I thought it was. It is not a dry academic work, it is well written in a witty, conversational style. You're not only getting a completely fresh understanding of the battle, you're being entertained. It truly is hard to place this book down. Very seldom do you come across a book that presents an all-new method of looking at a historical event, but this book fits that bill. I've purposely not included any of Shattered Swords' conclusions in not to spoil the book. Buy it read it, you won't be disappointed and you'll come away with a whole fresh understanding of one of Globe Battle II's necessary battles. I also think that those interested in military history can come away with necessary lessons, one of them being not to apply one side's doctrine and operational practices to its opponent, analyze both sides' actions in the light of their respective doctrines. It's helpful to have about the War of Midway previously and have an understanding of how the US Navy fought the battle, but this truly is a five-star book and one that anyone interested in the Pacific Theater of Globe Battle II must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    The authors of this book should be incredibly proud for how convincingly they created their case in this book. After reading this compelling book, which weaves technical info about ship armament and doctrine in beautifully with profiles of hero and temperament, it is hard to understand how Nagamo could have created any other decisions but the ones for which he has consistently been criticized for in the West since Midway. It's not simple to capture the technical aspects in such a method as not to be dry but the authors have done it really well. Without the technical details, from the capabilities of the AA guns down to the speed and disposition of the Japanese carriers, the understanding these authors bring to the subject would be impossible. So it is all the more impressive that they managed to do so in such an engaging is book is a must read for anyone interested in Midway. The authors characterize the strengths and deficiencies of the Japanese doctrine, leadership and weapons and create a very compelling case for why we shouldn't look at the actions of the Kido Butai from the lens of American naval doctrine and actions. The famous narrative of the war in the west is that a lot of of the Japanese decisions on that day were incomprehensible and incompetent. But the authors do an awesome job of explaining the context behind the decisions and shed amazing light on method things turned out the method they did during the engagement. With the extra insight the authors bring, a lot of of the decisions that day, while fundamentally flawed in hindsight, created sense or at least were the most reasonable options available to the commanders of the carrier task force. Doctrine, technology, and inflexibility as well as questionable decisions and assumptions on the part of HQ and Yamamoto contribute to a better understanding of how the tide of battle changed in the Pacific.I want I could give this six stars.Edit: I just wish to add that I'm not saying this book is the definitive explanation of why happenings unfolded as they did. I am only saying that the conclusions are well researched and thought out and that the book provides a compelling and engaging glimpse into the war from the perspective of the Japanese, which as far as I am concerned, is under represented in western analysis of the battle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    I first read about the war of Midway as a child, when I was absorbed with WWII and devoured tons of books on the issue. However, my knowledge was based on info rendered false by this work. It is now clear that, based on the research conducted by the author, that the American win at Midway was not a "miracle," rather it was an entirely predictable outcome given the IJN war plan, doctrine, and personalities involved. Not an assured win by any means, but certainly a likely one when all facts are considered. I cannot recommend this book enough. Like Kagan's On the Origins of War, the fresh interpretation of historical happenings provides an entirely fresh perspective on history of this period. Considering the potentially dry nature of the topic matter, I found this book to be a true page Turner that I could barely place down once I'd started. I very much recommend this book to any student of the Pacific Battle in WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    Loved this. I think lawyers with a history interest will especially have fun this as it's written in a method so as to show all sides of an argument, then show what the authors think is the best case. Should Spruance have chased? No, they say, but they don't arrogantly lay out the conclusion one method or the other as some books do. They marshal the facts, show every argument fairly, then create their case. Highly recommended to all interested in the battle, particular I liked how accessible the prose was. The authors don't assume you just know that carriers turn into the wind, or why. They explain it in easy terms that are simple to ly, it was a nice change of pace that this was written from the Japanese point of view. They go into info about necessary differences among the carriers of the IJN versus the US and even among the IJN carriers themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway: The Japanese Story of the Battle of Midway []  2020-1-24 20:30

    The War of Midway is viewed from the "other" side. Authors Parshall and Tully examine the planning, execution and famous (mis)conceptions surrounding the war that.. turned the tide for the US in the Pacific? A miracle win? Revisionist history? The authors lay no claim to any of in conjunction with other works, it gives a fuller picture of the what and why of June 4, ey examine, among other details: how long does it take the IJN to begin a full strike, IJN hurt control, Yamamoto's over-ambitious plan that spread the IJN across the north Pacific, The Aleutian feint, the doctrine of the IJN, the true losses incurred by the IJN, Kido Butai's air find doctrine and practice (Amari's Tone #4 was not the weakest link), why Fuchida's portrayal of the war that has influenced public and academic understanding of the happenings is considered flawed.Easy-to-read, with clear diagrams and well documented footnotes. Worth the investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    Amazing book on the building philosophy, selection of materials and historical notes of building a traditional shinto temple. Not really an instruction manual on how carpentry. I was looking for a book to present me the in's and out's of wood working, but this is not really that book. It does go into detail on how to select the wood and why. It also has super amazing pictures on the actual temple itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    If you have fun Japanese carpentry and woodworks, this is a must-read! Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    An perfect book. The author is able to capture the spirit of Japanese carpentry. I to was able to apprentice under a daiku. A bit on usual I admit but probably the best teacher I ever had

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    Right from the first page the reader is transported into the life of the master builder. A clear departure from Western architecture, where design is the inspiration of an individual, Japanese tradition follows rules made by the forest; the method trees grow their strengths and the specific use for each material. Azby's private journey through the difficult and demanding globe of the apprentice woodworker allows the reader a special view of the culture of wood going back to ancient times. Well worth keeping and sharing.Karl Bareis - custom builder

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    I am not a carpenter by trade, though I have worked in construction. My father, however, was a carpenter.I always found the concepts and rules of constructing buildings to be fascinating. A hardly, practical app of the physical sciences is important for the creation of buildings that stand the try of time. From that perspective, I have found traditional Japanese carpentry to straddle the line between science and art. The intricacies of their woodworking techniques are not well understood in the is book was a pleasant glance into the practice of dedicated tradesmen from another land. I got to see some examples of joinery, and also the training and attitudes of the craftsmen. This was well worth the read and the asking price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    amazing pictures, amazing information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    This is a book for woodworkers who are interested in Japanese carpentry and how it evolved. No, it will not create you an expert in Japanese woodworking technique any more than a book on American woodworking will create you an expert but it is a very interesting read if you have marveled at buildings in Japan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    Well researched and written, and w amazing reverence. Well illustrated, inspiring!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    Not a 'how to' book at all. Ordinary carpenters may be mystified by it. Perfect at conveying the spirit and sophistication of the high level temple woodworkers of Japan. Well worth the time to both read and contemplate the history and tradition that inform and help the elegance of traditional building arts in Japan written by a long-term resident (Japan) American architect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Genius of Japanese Carpentry: Secrets of an Ancient Craft []  2020-1-29 17:0

    Amazing book and attractive pictures but it's all about a single restoration of a Temple. Not much about how to actually do Japanese carpentry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Horrible grammer and spelling I can't even create it through half a page once it improves I will read it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Terrible, not good writing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Again, I couldn't obtain into it like with the demo, the English is still very choppy and someone should have helped edit it more before releasing it. I'm sure it's a amazing game, I just can't really obtain into it. I won't refund, for help of the author, but I'd like to see changes created when the android game is updated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    The grammer is just not good, makes it impossible to test and obtain into the game, really want I could obtain a

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    I'm finding it hard to obtain in to it simply because the words are either mixed up or used wrong and I only just started.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    The grammar is not very amazing at all extremely confusing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Poor language structure is far worse of a sin than poor spelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Shannara []  2020-4-1 19:16

    I had high hopes for this book and read through first few chapters quickly... unfortunately I found the story, details, series of happenings and the writing extremely lacking. I even bought the audiobook to go with it and gave up on the book halfway through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Shannara []  2020-4-1 19:16

    I picked this book up because of a present once. It was enjoyable and well-written, but I dunno. Maybe because I saw the present based on this series first and then read the book that created me not really obtain into the book.If you like elves and adventures, pick up this book. It was well-written and seemed like a amazing read, it just wasn't up my alley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Hachiman []  2020-2-4 7:7

    Well written book but depressing especially since the story is true.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Carthage []  2020-8-15 18:59

    I usually write reviews of military history based on a number of curacy: No issues here. I am no expert historian but the historical facts represented here coincide with other accounts of the first Punic Battle I have read and are backed up by a number of references and postscripts that are intelligently and unobtrusively placed after each chapter. This was seriously well researched. The fictional characters (would have liked to have been told for sure who these were) inter-related well with the known actual historical scriptions: Top quality accounts of the lives, struggles and a genuine feel for the hardships of life in this era. The political and religious powers and their conflicts to gain famous control of the masses are also well presented. The harsh punishment for failure as a Carthaginian general does create one wonder why more Carthaginians didn't just stick to the mainline commerce that Carthage built it's power on, rather than aracters: Do I care for them and their fates? Most definitely! The heroes are charming, resourceful, faithful and loyal and the villains are thoroughly boo-worthy. This book is extremely powerful in filling out personalities, exposing flaws and creating a desire to see how each survives, or tion: Wars scenes on land and sea are clearly and entertainingly described and there is enough "blood 'n guts" to satisfy most followers of this genre. I was able to follow most of the battleground strategies and manouvres more successfully than is sometimes the case in related books. Top points for this one!Feelgood factor: I finished the book very satisfied to have shared the author's efforts. Looking forward very much to reading more of his historical novels. I am unlikely to delve into his SF work though. Just me!Negatives?: Just a little complaint about a number (not a amazing number) of annoying miss-spellings that always somehow seemed to confuse. The opponent created an effective "blockage" (instead of "blockade"). Her cheeks showed signs of "rogue" (instead of "rouge"). Even "thought" I had supported him (instead of "though"). Not a ball-buster though as far as enjoyment was es at the decent Kindle and also comes very highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Carthage []  2020-8-15 18:59

    it is a magnificent book full of actions and intrigues, Punic gods and poor people from the ruling class of Carthage. the author tells us about the period of the latest phase of the first Punic battle so vividly that i felt as if i am in this desperation time. the happenings are described by Hamilcart Barca an anchester of Hannibal the carthagean character of the second Punic war.who played a part in Cathage surviving.an entertaining book for those who love history with its unbelievable and interesting characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Shannara []  2020-4-1 19:16

    Apparently this series has been around for quite a while. Better late than never. Terry Brooks is also fresh to me and has been a staple in the fantasy novel genre for a lot of years as well. Luckily I stumbled across a short story of his which sent me searching for more of his magic. I must say I found I think I found a fresh favorite. This story has a lot of unbelievable characters from fantastical descent with rich histories that wrap you up in their world, lives, friendships and their journey to save all this from the evil that wants to devour it all. Kinships are created from a lot of walks of life to travel through risky lands filled with the monsters who will test to stop them from saving their people and lands from being wiped out by evil.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Shannara []  2020-4-1 19:16

    I have the hard copy in storage but with the dry spell of decent fantasy, I decided to it for my kindle and just have a really amazing read. A amazing reminder of what makes a amazing story. Fresh fantasy is amazing but it has a lot of the "Call of Duty" adrenaline fixes to hold readers ink I'll go with Green Angel Turret next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Android game was unreadable up until now. Read a few pages, and a lot of work was done to fix this adventure. So glad to finally have it fixed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Since the recent update, this android game has become much better. Its still not perfect, but you can understand it at least.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    It is much better after the modernize

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    This android game needs a amazing proofreading. This has a lot of potential but I could't obtain into the story because of the grammatical errors. Trying to read this became quite painful after a while. I'm going to hold the android game in hopes of a amazing modernize in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    The grammar is so horrible as to create the story unreadable. Waste of until it is spellchecked and edited by a native English speaker.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    More Story less android game of choices

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    don't spend the on this book it's not good the grammar is so poor a friendly sugesstion just don't obtain it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    The English was written strangely but it added to the flavor and language of the words as if it really was from another world. I enjoyed it and they length was very satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Not good grammer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Carthage []  2020-8-15 18:59

    The Sword of CarthageThe Sword of Carthage, by Vaughn Heppner, tells a tale of the first Punic battle through the eyes of Hamilcar Barca, the father of writing The Death of Carthage, my novel of the second and third Punic wars, I naturally tried to learn all I could about the first Punic war, but somehow it remained shrouded in mist. I could not wrap my mind around it. All of that changed when I read The Sword of Carthage. Vaughn Heppner brings ancient Carthage alive and paints in bold strokes a fine portrait of the city, its culture and it's struggles with its deadly enemy, is said that Rome worshipped Mars while Carthage worshipped Mammon. While that has some truth to it, it is an oversimplification. Carthage had a complex cast of Gods. One was Baal, and Baal had a consort-Tanit. Tanit is also associated with Ishtar, the goddess of love. Ishtar is related to the Greek Goddess Aphrodite and to the Roman goddess Venus. But the Carthaginians also worshipped Melquarth whose name translates literally to King Of The City, and who bears a amazing resemblance to Hercules. Melquarth was admired by the more warlike among the Carthaginians. Hamilcar Barca believes that he is the chosen of Melquarth. In the Sword of Carthage, young Hamilcar Barca, influenced by his uncle Malchus, longs to become a soldier. His father, Ithobal, a Suffete and a very successful merchant adamantly forbids it. He hires Bromilcar, a priest of Tanit, to tutor Hamilcar, and forbids any encouragement of military ambition. Ithobal's father had been a amazing general, but was killed by an elephant in the battle versus Pyrrhus and Ithobal despises the whole notion of military force. But Hamilcar comes under the influence of Cimon, an old Macedonian soldier who guards his father's estate and he becomes enthralled with Cimon's battle stories. Ithobal is furious when he learns of Hamilcar's military ambitions."Soldiers are born in pigsites and mountain shacks." He tells Hamilcar. "Cunning men them with gold and high sounding slogans. Only a fool needlessly risks his [email protected]#$%!&?hobal sets out to prove the point to his son. He dismisses the aged Cimon from his service and tells him that he will see that he never finds work again, but then him double weight gold shekels to flog the boy. Cimon, knowing that he will be destitute otherwise, reluctantly hobal tell his son that the only two careers begin to him are priest and merchant. While Hamilcar shows some aptitude for both occupations, he never gives up his desire to become a soldier.When Hamilcar is fifteen his father dies and Hamilcar believes that his father was poisoned by his step-mother Elissa and the evil priest Bromilcar who has become Elissa's lover. Bromilcar marries Elissa, and by a decision of the Suffete, Hamilcar become's Bromilcar's ward until the age of 21. Bromilcar continues to interfere in Hamilcar's attempts to achieve a military career. Hamilcar also suspects that Bromilcar wants to search a method to obtain rid of him in to obtain his inheritance. Bromilcar sends Hamilcar off on a trading mission and and it becomes clear to Hamilcar that when they reach their destination, the caravan master will Hamilcar into slavery, a fate that Hamilcar evades by bribing Bromilcar's Celtiberian anwhile the Romans are wreaking havoc. They conquer the Carthaginians at the war of Agrigentum, driving them out of most of Sicily, and have dealt them several naval defeats. The Roman Consul Marcus Atilius Regulus has invaded north Africa with eight legions, and is laying waste to the countryside and conquering allied cities. Libyan and Numidian allies are deserting Carthage in droves.When all the other Carthaginian generals reject Hamilcar's services in deference to the increasingly strong Bromilcar, He manages to attach himself to the aging alcoholic general Bostar, impressing him by taming a large savage elephant that no one else had been able to handle. He convinces Bostar that the only possible salvation for Carthage lies in hiring Spartan mercenaries, and, indeed, the day is saved, at least temporarily, by the leadership of the Spartan king e Sword of Carthage is superbly researched and seems to weave every shred of evidence available into a convincing and exciting narrative. Anyone interested in the Punic battles will eagerly devour this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Carthage []  2020-8-15 18:59

    I love history, especially the ancients. Sword of Carthage throws the reader right in the middle of ancient Carthage. It was a rich empire cornering the Mediterranean trade and exploiting all the goods the lands had to offer. However a fresh power threatened ... everything. What a amazing book full of so much history with just as much author's interpretation and fiction.Another plus is the annotations at the end of each chapter giving the reader a bit more from historical texts and ere is always a but though...Numerous spelling errors and grammatical errors plague the story. It was a amazing enough story that it was simple to overlook them but they are ur stars nonetheless. Simple to read, full of action and drama and loads of facts perfectly intertwined into the story. I look forward to reading more of Vaughn Heppner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    If I'm going to for something wish to be able to read it without having trying to decipher it. And I also I at suck grammar so if I message it. It must be bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    I tried to read it but it felt like this guy didn't know english and used a very poor translater ( Google probably) I can normally handle grammar error but not when they are in every sentence and can't understand what I am reading modernize the grammar and I might it again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Awful. Not worth spending on or reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Almost unintelligable. This should not be for at all. There has been no effort place into the translation whatsoever and I would like my back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    The English is very poor and it makes it hard to obtain into the story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    Not good grammer. Hard to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    I had a hard time reading it. The plot is cool and the characters are fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Shannara []  2020-4-1 19:16

    When you read this the first time, you will be taken aback, if not simply disgusted, at this book's complete similarity to Lord of the Rings. Enough has been said about this. I consider myself to be beautiful pioneering in coming to assimilate myself to the text and putting in the work to appreciate it, but I found it to be such a reproduction of the former work that I simply couldn't have fun it and place it down before finishing.A few months later, disappointed in myself, I tried again. This time it felt like a totally fresh book: I suppose my primary familiarity with the plot allowed me to appreciate the richness of the writing, which is truly awesome. While perhaps Brooks can be faulted for having shamelessly copied from Tolkien, he actually is a amazing writer, and the adventure and description in this novel is very immersive. I'm glad that I came to appreciate the book finally, and now I can participate in the rest of the Shannara works!So take my advice: read it twice! If you're disgusted the first time, give it a break, then, with new eyes, test again, and you'll probably see it for what it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Shannara []  2020-4-1 19:16

    40 years from first publication & this book fails the try of time. Entertaining, but the plot slavishly follows the LoTR & There’s too much telling, not enough showing. Brooks clearly gets better, but I don’t think this gets a book today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Carthage []  2020-8-15 18:59

    The second Punic war, Hannibal, elephants, and Italy, has been written about more than the first Punic war. This book describes how Carthage came to have the forces it did. If someone told me a Greek General had led Carthage fighters riding elephants and Numibian Calvary to conquer Roman legions in Africa I would have been sceptical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword of Carthage []  2020-8-15 18:59

    Heppner has written a thoroughly enjoyable story of the first Punic Battle as seen through Carthaginian eyes. The facts are well researched and the story is based on historical records. The book is well paced with interesting and believable characters. I recommend this book especially if you are a fan of Roman military stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    This book has some issues. Largest issue is the writing: when I say writing I mean grammar and spelling. English is likely not the first language of the writer. Aside from the improper Grammer and spelling the plot itself was actually decent. I bought this book and the ending is a cliffhanger. Other than the grammar, spelling, and cliffhanger the book itself is quite good. Reminds me of Lord of the rings: in a amazing way. You are the character searching after a lost sword to take down the evil.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    The grammer is horrid. I bought it and could only barely force myself through what I think is chapter 1. I didn't even start the adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sword of the Elements [App]  2019-10-24 13:57

    English. The author clearly speaks English as a second language, and has neglected to have a native speaker or at least someone more proficient in the language proofread and edit his work. The entire work is filled with choppy, poorly phrased sentences; some so much so that you can't even tell what they are trying to say. It is headache to read and entirely destroys any immersion in the story. Until this is fixed, I would not recommend buying this game.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386