Read the delicate things we make reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the delicate things we make reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    “The Delicate Things We Make,” is Milena McKay’s debut novel. I read the story first as fanfic, but McKay has transformed it into a wlw romance novel that should be read by everyone’s path it crosses. It is a superb transformation, full of intrigue, romance, angst, and jor work has been done to the plot to bring it into book format. I would imagine this is no simple feat and I would compare it to a landscape photographer trying to shoot fashion. There is the intrigue in the publishing, fashion and art world, and one of the main characters, Jamie, a journalist takes you into her investigation in Fresh York e story centers around Jamie Walker and Vivian DeVor in both a tangled plot and love. Jamie is a forthright, and perfect journalist who hits hard times and Vivian a reclusive artist. The characters are vivid and well developed including all of the secondary characters. They all have roles in this story as it changes from intrigue and mystery to the underworld of fashion and publishing, where careers are created and destroyed in an instant and how a reclusive artist whose identity is unknown managed to control the fashion globe with her extraordinary e story plunges deeper in not only revealing corruption, but the private stories of those affected. How they were sabotaged, blackmailed, harassed, harmed and the Human Rights Violations that were exposed. No spoilers – read the Kay’s hero development is wonderful, providing depth and necessary aspects about her characters that are very necessary to the story. Jamie is sweet, kind, intuitive, genuine and a bit uncoordinated in an endearing way. Vivian is confident, intelligent, guarded, stoic, graceful and appears to have a tough exterior to Jamie’s openness. The romance develops between Jamie and Vivian as they collide into each other’s e romance of Jamie and Vivian runs from playful, lighthearted and amusing with awesome banter between them, angst and tenderness, to intense love and . The scenes are very hot indeed. McKay allows the connection and communication between Jamie and Vivian develop as the story progresses. The scenes between them are raw, intense, full of desire and beautifully written. There is a cadence to them, a unbelievable rhythm that you will read and have to re-read, related to listening to the same piece of melody over and e authors language and vocabulary are rich, tempting and seductive: “Vivian’s mouth was a revelation. They’d kissed before, they’d spent glorious moments in the study reveling in each other, but this was different, this went beyond desire, beyond hunger. This was sensuality itself, desperate and rough, and a touch savage, turning Jamie’s mind inside out, burning her from within.”Each element is necessary to the author in this book. The cover, with credit given to @onewritegirl, is beautiful, elusive, black and white like a charcoal drawing, and as you read the book, you will understand why it’s just perfect. McKay’s attention to detail, the breath of the story, the twists and turns and her depth of hero prevents you from putting the book ere has been a lot of research the author has done from legal, fashion, publishing and art globe standpoints. I have been admonished by a mate that “Millennial Pink” and “Gen Z yellow,” are in fact very necessary ena McKay reveals not only a very exquisite romance but how the globe of fashion, publishing and art are about a product or idea that can convince us to believe or buy something. It can become exaggerated and ruthless without regard for who gets tossed aside or abused, because it’s about a moment and money. Those moments eventually belong to the past, to history that can lose its relevance and become admired. McKay’s characters have not allowed the victims tossed to be forgotten and also that love has edless to say, I don’t think I have to write, "go buy and read this book", but I am anyway. A debut author who can write this way? Gosh, I am so looking forward to more of her writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    I loved The Delicate Things We Make. Talk about a wide range of topics. We have romance, struggling journalist, artist with hidden identity, abuse victims and survivors, and love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    I thought it would be hard for a debut writer to at least match "Those Who Wait," from 2020, but this is even better. For me, easily one of my favorite all time books that will go in my permanent library. I hope this is just the beginning of a bright career in writing for Milena! Just one thing for the future that I hate to even mention. Have your editor check that rule about the period going before the quotation mark. It was really distracting at the beginning of the book.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the delicate things we make or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    Very talented author who pens a story in this book that .makes the reader plunge into the characters and the plot. I did not read a single line that disappointed me. Very nice craftmanship in a genre full of wasted words and limited talent. But not Ms. McKay. This book pro es that she is an absolutely readable and skillful storyteller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    Amazing debut novel ! This is a must read! Well written, well fleshed out MC and supporting cast. I laughed, cried and cheered on the MC. There’s angst, romance, intrigue and a unbelievable backdrop of NYC. This story sucked me in! I was lucky enough to read this prior to release with an ARC and I proceeded to buy it also. Can’t wait for further novels by this author! Well done !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    No fluff. The author takes the reader on a pleasant journey through the eyes, thoughts, and feelings of Jamie. Jamie is no martyr. She has strength of hero and love of others. She wars for those who cannot yet war their own battles. I was extremely impressed by this book and look forward to future novels of this caliber.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    The Delicate Things We Create is written by the debut author Milena McKay. And what a debut this was!The story was utterly engaging and satisfying; there's a wide grin still plastered on my face as I speak. And the writing? It was sublime; I'm still basking in its afterglow! Aside from the engaging plot and the characters, the transitions between scenes got me hooked from begin to finish. They were smooth!On top of that, the mystery plot, which I did not expect, held me captivated from the very beginning, too. And I was introduced to more than two stunning, passionate, and smart women. What more can I ask -- really!This was such a remarkable book for a debut, indeed. And it is, by far, the best book I have read this 2021. This certainly is my kind of book.And Milena McKay? I believe this fresh author is about to become one of my sought-after WLW authors! I am honestly totally looking forward to reading her next gem!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    If I can the I have to give this novel 20 stars. What a story!!! The raw emotions, the mystery, the plot, the anguish and the antold love captured my mind and my soul. Brilliant!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    Well THIS was a hell of an impressive debut! The premise is that a down-on-her-luck investigative journalist gets the opportunity to revive her lagging career when she is hired to uncover the identity of an elusive artist considered one of the best and most influential in the world. But as she pieces the clues together and discovers who it is, she suffers a crisis of conscience when she discovers the reason the artist doesn't wish to be found. She feels an immediate and powerful pull to the topic before ever laying eyes on her and quickly realizes there's a much bigger story to be told. It's about how our upbringing affects us as adults. It's a Me Too story. It's a story of pain, survival, healing and growth. It's about having values and doing what's right, even at the expense of yourself. It's about bravery. And it's a attractive love story with love scenes to match. I highly recommend this one, folks. This is definitely an author to hold an eye on as I expect amazing things are ahead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delicate Things We Make []  2021-4-6 23:33

    For a debut novel, this book is gorgeous! I was hooked in the first chapter. Jamie and Vivian are attractive MCs with a story that is equally as beautiful. This book will definitely end up on my read again list. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    Cradle to Cradle describes the harmful environmental impact caused by the manufacture and packaging of goods. While we may calculate the cost of raw materials to create a product, we do not contain the "cost"/harm to the environment. We do not choose environmentally friendly materials to create products. We do not factor in the permanent loss of those materials when the products are down cycled and end up in landfills. We ignore the wasteful and impactful packaging of products as well. Cradle to Cradle challenges us to consider all costs and impacts involved when designing, manufacturing and packaging e authors walk the talk by using a non-paper substance for the book's pages that outlast the pages of paper books and can be recycled into other books (not down cycled or discarded). Take this book to the beach; it's waterproof!The authors create for a strong partnership William McDonough brings his chemistry background to the subject. Of the tens of thousands of chemicals available, which ones are environmentally friendly? Which ones can be reclaimed and used over and over with minimum down cycling? Michael Braungart is an architect. In The Respond to How is Yes author Peter Block suggests that leaders should pattern themselves after architects (not engineers or economists) who must balance artistic beauty and true globe constraints (engineering and financial) in their work. The artistic element keeps the engineer and bean counter from dominating the process, causing unbridled harm. Following the tip of their book, we could start to use products that were truly elegant - products that would evade birth to death cycles by being suitable for birth to rebirth adle to Cradle is an necessary book which condemns current practices while stimulating one's imagination and hope for the future.--Jack Bender, author of Disregarded: Transforming the School and Workplace Through Deep Respect and Courage[ASIN:0977827275]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    This is not some ideological rant about how the authors wish the globe to be free of pollution, with no plan to carry that out. Both men, not only collaborated on this book, but have formed a business partnership, to design some of the most cutting edge, 'green' manufacturing facilities in the world, e.g., Herman Miller's fresh building, and Ford's redesigned assembly plant. The authors take a look at the most common so-called environmentally friendly ideas as, recycling, and allow me know, that it should be renamed, downcycling, and was only delaying the inevitable trip to the landfill. Thus, allowing us to feel amazing about doing "someting", but in reality accomplishing nothing that would SOLVE the issue in the first place. Meaning, that industry needs to truly recycle, which means taking back used products, and reusing the material again to produce a similar, and/or better product, thus grossly reducing, and/or eliminating industrial waste.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    This is a five star book. It's not a recyclable book, it's a reusable book. The cradle to cradle thought process is intended to replace the previously considered to be thoughtful cradle to grave process. The end of a product should be the beginning of another. Reuse. That's the e practice is that this book can't be turned into any other book. No one is making further books with this synthetic (and superior and cradle to cradle planned) paper. And over the years the only product that ordinary folks ever use that is certified as cradle to cradle are the postal service's priority mail boxes. It's not a success across the board, just here and there. The practice of cradle to cradle has been a failure. Sorry! [email protected]#$%! weren't the case, but it ybe someday we'll say, now everything is created cradle to cradle, can you imagine that it took so long to catch on?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    Finally, I've found the book that speaks simply and eloquently about the issues I've felt no one is addressing -- the ROOTS of the issues we are now facing, namely, lack of smart design and forethought. Studying to be a scientist in college, I remember being so frustrated with some science publications -- they were virtually unreadable! -- and thinking it's a issue of the system and of the author, who does not consider why he is writing what he is writing. He should be writing to communicate information, in a easy method that could be available to a huge audience. Instead, it seemed that people were writing to obtain published to obtain grants to produce more research that they continued to miscommunicate in more impossible-to-read publications. And I've felt similarly about the method our whole human-made globe runs -- we've forgotten what the point is, which is to live and have fun and have our children continue to do the same. And it's simple to foget when one has a reductionist approach, when one specializes in something and never looks up to see what's around. This book should be taught in all schools as part of the curriculum. It's a breath of new air of thinking globally and holistically in a globe that is largely reductionist in reasoning. It is very encouraging to see such amazing work come from such an interdisciplinary partnership. And I love the fact that this book is a polymer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    Arrived quickly and safely. Book came in the condition it was described as. I love buying used and felt even better when it arrived in a minimal packaging envelope.I've read segments of this book, excited to finally read it in its entirety. This book is a staple of sustainability literature, especially for product designers. Give it a read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    I love this book, the history it imparts, the ysis of our current method of thinking and doing, and the presentation of an approach (already in practice in some places) that can stop the wasteful use of limited resources and transform our economy to be both productive and sustainable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    With all the talk these days about Global warming this is a amazing book to r many, in my opinion including myself, educated in related thought processes dating back to beginnings of the industrial revolution has made a lot of of the problems, as a world, we now face. The two authors test to break down these barriers and describe ways in which we can all treat the planet with a small more respect and develop fresh ways of thinking. The idea as they write,"throwing that away." Where are you throwing it away to? It basically ends up in someone else's back yard polluting their environment while delaying the inevitable pollution of your local environment. I hope this book motivates at least a few individuals enough where they do become active or lead them down a path where they develop ways to decrease individuals carbon foot eas written about in this book reflects the Sundance Channels: The Green, Bid Ideas for a Little Planet, shows about individuals trying to create an a more sustainable environment. Some of the doentaries similar to this series shows locations that have been so heavily polluted and groups trying to remedy them. It was quite alarming to see locations such as ain, a amazing book with a lot of fresh ideas and ways to look at things

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    A unbelievable book of ideas regarding design (not design ideas lol).I'm an aspiring architect & really appreciate how the author explains everything. I read this in a library in 2 visits & am buying a copy for my private library. The ideas shared in this book are invaluable for anyone in every facey of design (from clothing to cars). 100% recommend to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    An eye-opening historical doentary on the progress of technology, and how we underestimated its impact on the environment. This author not only takes you on a journey back to how a lot of pollution and waste problems arose, but also tutorials us to how to be better consumers and run our businesses with the environment in mind. These are easy, logical solutions that benefit us as individuals as well as support the environmental issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things []  2019-12-17 21:6

    The book is a well-argued manifesto on why and how we need to change our core philosophy of how we design e first thing you message is that this book is rather massive compared to normal books its size. This is explained by the authors trying to live their philosophy by creating a book out of a material that can be truly recycled as opposed to current paper which, while it can be reused, requires several unattractive processes and is not endlessly e book makes a lot of other decent arguments for why we should think of products as temporary services rather than things we own and therefore dispose of when we are done. The book makes a case for current recycling (or down-cycling as they call it) measures as being okay - as long as it is thought of as no more than a temporary stop-gap measure to be used while we pursue real technical and regular nutrient e only improvement I would like to see is more in-depth examples of how this process has been applied to commercial processes. They kept going back to the same one or two examples and I think there are more out there and I suspect by the time this book in republished there could be even more worthy examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    Can I give it six stars??? The story is a page turner from the opening paragraph. The author has managed to write a attractive story about love and what's necessary in life while providing such a compassionate awareness for a disease we only associate with the withered elderly. The manner by which she delivers such s rich story, taking readers back and forth in time, is surprisingly effective abs engrossing. I read this book in three nights, looking forward a day to getting back to characters that had become so true to me. I cried at the end. I didn't wish to say goodbye either (read the book and you'll know what I mean).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    Ii did not like this book. Why? A lot of reasons 1. Conversations were too predictable. 2. No " home would let the cook to be the housekeeping department... infection control so this aspect was far fetched . And 3. The author should have done some research on patients "bill of rights".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    A sweet ( but not saccharine), sympathetic story about early-onstage Alzheimer's. I appreciated that the characters were depicted as more than their disease, and that even in dementia, a person can still retain a bit of what created each of them unique. There are minor points in the plot that are unrealistic, and, to be honest, the story was very predictable. But the humanity of the characters makes this a very affecting story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    This is a very amazing read. I could hardly place it down to tend to everyday things I required to do. Like most everyone, Alzheimer’s has touched my life in a lot of ways. A lot of mates and family have suffered with memory problems. This is an insightful book that created me think and brought a tear or two. I hope everyone enjoys this book as much as I did. I enjoyed all of the personalities at the nursing facilities. They soon became familiar fiends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    Wow! The author took a difficult subject, created worse by the youth of one key character, yet did not let it to become maudlin. It truly was a journey of joy, explored through characters aged 10 through 90, each with a different, difficult situation. I was mesmerized, drawn into the lives of these people, singularly and as a whole. You will have fun each page, ending this novel with some sadness, but much hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    Whether you have ever known a person with dementia or are just reading this book, you can not support to be moved by this attractive book. I felt so a lot of emotions of love, worry, sadness, and anger, and yet through it all there is always hope and deep compassion. The Things We Hold is an extraordinary novel about the love between Anna who is 38 and has early onset dementia and Luke, 41 who also has dementia and is a resident in Rosalind an elderly care home. Anna can't remember his name but calls him "young guy" and the two only wish to be with one another. Eve is a latest widow, who finds herself needing a job and is hired to be a cook in the Rosalind facility. She struggles to hold a deep dark secret so that she can hold her daughter Clementine in her same school district without moving. The hero development is deftly told with alternating chapters by Anna, Eve, and Clementine going back through time. There are decisions made, that alter life choices, and the author does a magnificent job of giving keen perspective to the characters and their feelings as they evolve. Life is not always what is seems on the surface. Brilliantly written, with a true feel into the mind of someone struggles with dementia, this book is one I so loved. Truly it is one that touched the deepest corners of my heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    A various spin on the subject of Alzheimer's disease. Characters and subjects are very relatable. The idea of love is at the center of the novel while also dealing with true life problems and death. Ending, while a bit abrupt, was interesting as it is begin to reader's imaginations or a sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    This was a brutal read but not in a graphic sort of way, more like you just feel like you hold getting sucker punched in the heart. But yet just about every time I would begin to feel like this was such a cruel and unfair world, there would be this attractive moment in the story that really emphasizes what life is all about. I can't guarantee if you read this book you will love it, but I do think it will stir up some emotions especially if you have had someone close to you suffer from thirty-eight years old, Anna Forster is suffering from early onset dementia. She moves into an assisted living facility where she meets Luke, the only person who is even remotely close to her in age. And while time might not be on their side, they develop a connection and Anna knows she's going to have to war to remember what is most necessary in life.I apologize that my synopsis kinda sucks but it's tricky to really describe the plot as it has alternating timelines and also other hero perspectives like Eve, the cook at the facility, and her young daughter Clementine who are both struggling to begin over. So the book is special in the fact that not only do you obtain to witness Anna as her memory begins to fade but also how her caretakers and family are dealing with it as well. By the end of the book you do feel like you also know the other residents in the assisted living facility as they each have an interesting is such a strong theme of the book and I'm not just talking about romantic relationships, but also the love you share with a child, parent, or sibling and even just plain, old friendship. This story really tugged on my heartstrings. There is so much sadness in the book , but even in darkness there is light. There are some unique moments in the story that in my opinion create the book well worth reading even though it is a tough, emotional read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    I liked it although I am dealing with a spouse with dementia, this book does kind of hit on how we test to protect when we feel helpless, while others are in denial. It showed what one thinks is not the only perspective when looking at it from another's view. I was caught up in how we all could work harder to not be cruel, especially in front of young children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep []  2020-11-25 19:35

    When I read what this book was about I knew I wanted to read it. Dementia/Alzheimers disease is horrible for an older person but this deals with 2 people in their mid to late 30's with early onset Alzheimers. I laughed, I cried, I got frustated with the main characters family, and the administrated of the nursing home. This book is a quick read entwining two stories, plus more than one main character. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it for anyone who wants more of an insight into people with Alzheimers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    Unbelievable story! The people who lived through the atrocities of Globe Battle II in Nazi occupied locations dealt with an almost unimaginable reality. “The Things We Cannot Say”, though fiction, gives us a glimpse of some of the hardships faced by people in Poland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    I will not be summarizing the storyline, instead I will be reviewing my likes and e chapters alternate between Alice (present-day) and Alina (past, during Holocaust). The year that the chapter occurs is not included, and the story itself does not rely on years/dates...so much of the time-frame is left to your own is style that alternates between the show and past has been away over-done, and this novel proves no different. Because of that, most of the story is predictable; you already know that the show day hero is searching into the past during WWII and finds the missing pieces to their past and how they are connected to each other. There is nothing to the style or plot build-up that sets it apart from other comtemporary historical e main hero Alina (living in past during WWII) is two-dimensional. Her hero is very romanticized, so her chapters can be unconvincing.I did like the other main hero Alice (present day). She is simple to relate to, and very much authentic.Overall, the story is simple to predict- 3 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    Even though the story itself is fiction knowing these happenings did happen create me so sad. This was a attractive story of love, sorrow and peace. God bless those that survived through these horrific times and thank you Kelly for putting the story that may have happened sometime during that poor period of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    The Things We Cannot Say was so beautifully written about a time in history that was anything but beautiful. I don’t wish to give away much about this book. It’s a must read. What I will say is, this book tells of the most beautiful, enduring love story (Alina & Tomasz) of all time. I will never forget these people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    A unbelievable real to life story of what life was like in Poland during globe battle 11. We need to read things like this so that a repetition can be avoided. I liked the fact that the story went back and forth between a show day family and a family in the 40s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    This book will stay on my mind for a long time . I have read a lot of books about the battle and the result of it on the families that lived though it, and I must say this book seemed so true at apoint I looked on line to create sure I was reading a fictional book.I will be recommending this to anyone I can as a must read . The only negative I can say is it was a bit uncomfortable reading the latest part of the book while getting my hair dyed, with tears freely flowing down my face.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    I cannot understand how this book was published withut the editors catching a glaring error. At different times in the book the hero Alice e color of her daughter's hair as chestnut, honey blonde and golden blonde. I have to wonder what other errors went unnoticed. Also, the "surprise" ending became glaringly obvious when I was only halfway through the book and the dialogue of the characters was stilted and unnatural. A cliched and dissappointing attempt at telling a story that should have been a fascinating look at one of the darkest moments in history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    Oh my, I could not place the book down. I downloaded it at 7 PM latest night and with a few hours sleep, I finished by 11 AM today. Maybe that says it all. I experienced every emotion, remembered my own journey three years ago to Auschwitz And Warsaw and Kraków. My respect for the people of Poland is boundless. And there are reminders that certainly create me Concerned for our own moment in history. PS I have no family connection to Eastern Europe or Germany.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    This book will definitely be added to my all-time favorites of Globe Battle II books written about the resistance. Got wrenching at times and I will admit to an ugly cry at the end

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say []  2020-1-1 18:33

    I had to wait a few days after I finished this one to write a review. My feelings were so mixed I wanted to give them time to straighten themselves out and see if they went more towards yay or towards nay. I’m still confused so I’m going to explain why right here. I’ve read so a lot of WW2 similar novels, most based on fact or at least somewhat real to what may have happened during that time, so I sometimes feel some writers just rehash overdone storylines or, worse, overlook historical happenings for the sake of a storyline rather than integrity. When it comes to those aspects Kelly Rimmer was beautiful much on track in her novel: the storyline is quite original in terms of where and when it takes place, and she also seems to have stuck very close to historical accuracy. I grew up with my stepfather’s family who were forcibly removed from their homes in Poland in 1940 and sent to Siberian concentration camps before being released and sent off as refugees with no home, and no country to call their own anymore, so a lack of historical accuracy would have created me stop reading the book.I also liked the narrative style, with the two separate voices: Alina’s voice recounting her life and the happenings she lived through in Poland after the German invasion, and Alice’s show day voice as she navigates through her own life and then an unexpected trip to Poland. Kelly Rimmer is also a amazing writer, and she creates a unbelievable vision of the small city in Poland, life under occupation, and also Polish farm why are my feelings so mixed? It was all just too easy, and fell into put so well. Just so predictable and slightly wonderful too. So much of the story is based on the romance between Alina and her boyfriend Tomasz, that it actually becomes repetitive and slightly boring. Alina is portrayed as a character when to me she is spoiled and scared of everything. Alice is even worse, I wanted to shake her several times and tell her to obtain out of her own head for a moment, place down the glass of whatever alcohol she was imbibing and pull herself together. So, as you can probably gather I wasn’t a fan of the characters really... And someone should have addressed the method alcohol is used as a crutch in the novel, because Alice definitely has a issue and no one seems to have an problem with it (or maybe I’m just sensitive to it having been amidst addicts all my life, I don’t know).So, all in all, there were a lot of things about the story that irritated me, some things I liked, but I still stayed up reading it method past my bed time, because I did wish to see what happened in the end, even though I kind of predicted it. I think this novel will appeal to a lot of people, I just required something a small meatier, a small less romance, and a small more depth for myself.If you like romance, WW2 stories, and don’t mind a bit of predictability, you will probably have fun this novel.(Side note, as I had to mention this pet peeve of mine that really bothered me in the novel: it’s “dzień dobry” not “jen dobry”. I know that is not a huge problem on the grand scale of things, but for accuracy’s sake the correct spelling of the Polish word should really be used.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    Interesting topic. The book started out powerful with very amazing observations about craft and the people that create it up. Towards the middle it was getting method too philosophical for me. Korn seemed to obtain bogged down in semantics more and more as the chapters progressed. The liberal dosing of thesaurus words added too much fluff .... "like this1 and this2 and this3"; doesn't take 3 repetitive words to create a point.I started losing interest and barely created it to the end. Honestly couldn't tell you what the latest few chapters were about as my eyes glazed over.I think with some judicious editing of all the fluff, it'd be an easier and more enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    A thoughtful and interesting acc of his private journey as a craftsman and the humanistic underpinnings of that process. He relates it to private transformation which I think a lot of makers experience. He is also honest about the pitfalls. If you are a maker, it is an insight into what perhaps drives you. I similar to it because I am a maker and have often wondered why I went to such lengths to learn to do things in glass and fiber.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    OK read but he gets a bit long winded during some of his explanations. He's very passionate on the topic but in end not exactly what I thought it would be about. More ethereal theory than actual wood working.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    It's a memoir about finding happiness in your work and also showing the struggles of following what you love. Korn writes very well, charting his growth from unskilled carpenter, to fine furniture creator, and finally to builder of his own woodworking school. The book is highly private and very relatable to anyone who has questioned how they create their living and what kind of legacy they wish to leave behind. Though explicitly about woodworking and the skills involved, it is more broadly applicable to any craft.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    If you are buying this book because of the title, don't bother. If you wish to know what he eats for breakfast, how a lot of various buildings he bought, his romantic breakups, his divorce and a number of other private things that have nothing to do with craftsmanship then buy the book and be ready to have things discussed with no order what so ever. I thought the idea of chapters was to aggregate happenings or thoughts but apparently in this book the chapters were there merely as locations to me people will have fun this book and that's fine because various people expect various things. But while I read and enjoyed The Craftsman by Richard Sennett and Class as Soulcraft by Matthew Crawford, which were entirely various from one another, struggled with this one to understand what point he was trying to make. Reading it each day, as I like to finish books that I start, was d Luck

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    I enjoyed reading Peter Korn's book. His coming of age after college working on houses then on to pursue furniture making intrigued and gave me pause in my own idealism. To hear his experiences of sacrifice and changes to obtain to a put of making a live able earning while finding satisfaction in his craft, I admire his confession through writing of how this journey has been worthwhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    Just as Robert Pirsig became the voice of a generation, Peter Korn reminds us in his fresh and necessary book to slow down and obtain our hands dirty; he reminds us that bringing ourselves into relationship with the items of art, be it paint, words or wood, resonates at a deep level and satisfies in a method that nothing else in our quick lane modern lives can. As he does in his own wood-working school in Maine, he teaches that it isn't necessarily about talent, but it is necessarily about connecting to our deeper selves. He has fought to walk his talk in a life that hasn't always been easy, and his book deserves every star I can give it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    This book, may require a second read, or it might not?My tendency when going through books, is to underline and highlight the heck out of em. I consider them valuable tools to use. I wish to reflect as I go, rather than go back through a whole is book, that didn't happen too e reason I bought this book, and I imagine a lot of people would be in the same boat, as far as buying decisions go.. was I was hoping that it would point me in the right direction, as far as "life choices" go..like, on the journey that we call life, I was hoping that this would be a helpful guidepost on that trail. Don't obtain me wrong, I picked up some nuggets of wisdom, but I didn't really obtain pointed in any e largest thing I probably took away from the book is this:-If given the opportunity, or if you can make it.. flounder about in life. Test fresh things, hobby's, interest, and see what sticks. You may not gain exactly what you wish from these 'actions' but you will gain something, and taking action is the most necessary thing you can do.-Also, life will poop on you.. hardcore sometimes. Its not personal. Its just life relieving itself. I honest to god feel sorry for the author, but maybe it was Karma or something?Anyways, the book was okay. It was worth the money, and the time to read through it. But the Main title and the sub-title really should be reversed. I think that would give more an accurate picture on what the book is about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    This is a unbelievable book for any crafts-person, regardless of the craft. After decades of doing handwork (mostly textiles) without evening thinking, I began to wonder why I need this work so much. Why does handwork feel like a form of breathing to me? What are we doing when we craft, really? This book place into words, and validated, experiences that remained hidden and undervalued to me. Chapter six, in particular, has become something of a private manifesto, and I plan on rereading it every year. His special private story humanizes the insightful and potentially ethereal philosophy of the book. This book is an absolute gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman []  2020-1-20 1:21

    Why We Create Things is a book of introspection, history, scholarship, and enlightenment. Peter Korn deftly weaves stories of self, others, craft, and minds into a compelling and riveting narrative. In light of today’s widespread “Maker Movement”—most of it centered on digital tools—it is illuminating to return to physical making for insights into craft as a form of self-fashioning wherein each of us, through human effort and creativity, can place our own private spin on tradition and, in turn, transform tradition, ourselves, and, perhaps, society as well. The claims in the book about mind and meaning are all empirically well supported in current research, though Korn does not belabor this fact. However, the book goes beyond facts that are real to discuss facts that matter. In the end, the book exemplifies something that scholarship is only now coming to realize: mind, emotion, values, and the self all merge and reinforce each other in the act of mindful making. The book is artfully written and is a fully engaging read. In my own view, we live today in the midst of a lot of crises because we have forgotten—often in the pursuit of greed and ideology—that the globe “talks back” when you act on it and that failing to listen to it with respect is risky for body and soul. Why We Create Things lovingly shows how we can listen to things to become better people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like Streams to the Ocean: Notes on Ego, Love, and the Things That Make Us Who We Are []  2021-2-3 20:55

    Streams to the Ocean is not only the title but the central metaphor in Jedidiah Jenkins’ fresh work. We are born into this life like rain falling from clouds, gather dirt like streams in experiencing the globe and fade into the ocean to create method for fresh streamlets to carve their own path. It does well to provide some unity to thoughts that might otherwise seem to be scattered. And, though I disagree with some of Jenkins’ core convictions, I think the book is a success if its goal is to provide twenty something adult readers meaningful reflections on life and the identities that create us who we rst, the strengths: the style is like you’re in a conversation with a amazing friend. Maybe it’s one a.m. and everyone has left the party except for you and he. With the support of alcohol, you muse, confess and laugh together. In keeping with this supposed setting, Jenkins achieves a tone of sincerity; even admitting to private failings that most public personas would lie about if someone discovered them. I don’t know him, but you’ll feel by the end of the book as if you want you for the weaknesses: not a lot of of the reflections are particularly fresh or of much depth. He relies on scientific but mostly famous sources from psychology for much of his material. At times it can feel like you’re listening in to his therapy session. Young adults may search it interesting. Those who are well read may [email protected]#$%! had some more heft.But, in the end, it won this reader over. The discordant notes of some trite prose didn’t overwhelm self-evidently sincere midlife reflections from an obviously decent person. Not a must read but, if you’re acquainted with some of Jenkins’ other writings, you’ll probably have fun getting to know the author at a more private level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like Streams to the Ocean: Notes on Ego, Love, and the Things That Make Us Who We Are []  2021-2-3 20:55

    Disappointed. I ordered this book early and waited anxiously for months for it to be released having loved his first (and better) book To Shake The Sleeping some moments I had to shut it off (audiobook)...filled with platitudes and lacking the warmth, insight, and storytelling of his first work in a method that was frankly embarrassing to listen to.Ultimately, author aggressively and clumsily tackled subjects that are perhaps better left to more seasoned writers. Problems of ego and love and so on...it’s so simple to sound like an insufferable know it all when taking about such topics...for some reason I expected him to be better at avoiding that trap.I want he had gone slower and waited a few more decades to attempt such necessary themes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things []  2020-2-6 22:6

    Another outstanding book by Peter Wohlleben. However, the delivery time has been very long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things []  2020-2-6 22:6

    For reading....?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    I picked this book as my August Kindle First read. Without giving anything away, I will test to review the e story is told through multiple POV chapters of characters living in a close-knit suburban city - some of whom have never left and others who have had to return after years of being away. The chapters are short, slowly building up the story from different perspectives, and effectively ease the reader into the underlying mystery of the city and leave you wanting to hold reading the book to search out exactly what is going on. The characters are 3-dimensional, and their chapters noticeably differ in tone and writing style. I have been disappointed with some of the Kindle First books I've selected in the past because the writing was too bland and predictable, and amazing writing is very necessary to me. This book was well-written, pleasant, and a nice fast read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    According to the description, this is a book about secrets. There ARE secrets in the middle-class enclave of Sycamore Glen, NC. Old ones and newer ones; necessary and trivial. Some are deep, dark secrets and some are the kind of secrets that people think they've kept under wraps until something happens that makes them realize that everyone knew all along. The smooth surface of social intercourse must be maintained and sometimes pretending not to message what's right in front of your nose is the only thing to do.But it seems to me that on a deeper level it's a book about loss. The losses that all of us sustain as we go through life and must deal with as best we can. There are inevitable losses that creep up so quietly we don't see them coming and couldn't do anything about it if we did. Sometimes (ironically) our losses are a effect of getting what we hoped and worked for. Bryte has longed to be a mother, but her achievement of that status brings an end to the freedom and satisfactions of her career. Zell and her husband have worked and sacrificed for years to raise their kids and create them independent adults. Now they can have fun their well-earned "Golden Years" but Zell has a sense of emptiness and would give anything to go back to the chaos of a young family. Be careful what you want ere are the unspeakable losses that we know CAN happen. The end of a marriage. The death of a spouse or child. A severe, life-changing illness. We create bargains with God and do all the right things. I will eat a healthy diet, exercise, buy a vehicle with a amazing safety rating, and never, ever allow my kids out of my sight. All worthwhile precautions, but then a shocking accident at the community pool reminds everyone that even the most stringent precautions don't always stave off tragedy.And there are losses that take us completely off guard. Police. Lawyers. Embarrassed mates and neighbors. The sense that "things like this don't happen to people like us." Two women in Sycamore Glen have men in prison. One has a family and powerful help system. One doesn't. Is loss easier if you've never known anything else or harder if you had a lot to lose?What struck me forcibly was the lack of complacency. These women know that they lead enviable lives. They cling to what they have and test to deserve it. They are "good people." They look after each others' children and walk the elderly neighbors' dogs. In a time of crisis, they even reach out to the neighborhood undesirables - the renters in the run-down house they call "the eyesore." It's awkward, but they do it. God love 'is is very much a "woman's book" although one of the main characters is a man whose wife deserted him and their children. Typically, he gets much more sympathy and support than would be extended to a woman in the same situation. All woman believe that men are really the weak, helpless ones and men take full advantage of that 's also a very Southern book. The younger women sometimes lapse into "you guys" but they also say "a gracious plenty" and pepper their conversations with the polite Southern woman's disclaimer, "if you ask me." The nights are hot and the days are hotter and comfort meal is a tomato sandwich on squishy white bread with lots of mayonnaise. Even the author's name is a tip-off. I grew up with Marybeths and Mary Lous and Mary Sues and Mary Carolines, but never a plain Mary. Southerners are amazing for embellishment. If you can't create something better, at least you can beautiful it up. Sometimes it's a bit self-conscious in a "we're-Southern-aren't-we-cute way" but mostly it rings true.I enjoyed this book. Some of the people and the situations are cliches, but cliches and stereotypes exist because there's some truth in them. While we all feel unique, there are only so a lot of human possibilities. The teen queen whose adult life disappoints her. The shy wallflower who blossoms into a beauty but lacks confidence. The old people who envy the young ones' full lives and the young people who envy the old folk's freedom and financial security. The men and women who fall in love and don't live happily ever after. The misfits who create us uneasy and fearful. The losers who irritate us by making the same mistakes over and over. These are real, recognizable is isn't a excellent book. Sometimes the author makes her points a small too carefully. Ideally, the characters should tell the story and the reader should interpret it. Still, the author made a cast of characters and created me wish to finish the book and search out what happens to them. Isn't that what fiction is all about?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    The Things We Want Were Real is the ideal novel to end your summer. Packed with intriguing characters of all ages, each keeping his or her own secret, I flew through this fast-paced fresh release. Stretching from Memorial Day to Labor Day, the plot centers around a neighborhood pool in the Sycamore Glen subdivision of Matthews, North Carolina. As old mates are reunited and fresh friendships are formed, enough drama transpires in these 290 pages to hold you reading well into the night. The story unfolds one layer at a time as Whalen reveals her complicated plot with all its twists and turns. She leaves no strings a dangling. And you know how much I like my plots wrapped up tight with a beautiful ribbon on top. Sycamore Glen could be any neighborhood in any little city across America. And the characters could be your neighbors and your friends. Whalen left me wanting more from this cast. What say, Ms. Whalen? Should we be on the lookout for a sequel?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Don't Say: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-2 18:0

    This is a compelling story of love and secrets a story lasting over sixty years through two globe battles it brings to life the bohemian lifestyles of two very talented artists Emma Temple and Patrick Adams and the circle of artists that surrounded them and the method they lived, and the unique painting that ended up being part of a mystery that brings another two people together, create yourself comfortable for this one you will not wish to place it down.Emma Temple a talented artist lived a life as a pacifist simple going caring but powerful in her own way, she married and had a son but her husband was never the love of her life that would be renowned artist Patrick Adams, but even though he too loved her he could never love Emma the method she loved him. They lived a bohemian lifestyle sharing house as a group in London and in Sus travelling and painting theirs was an begin love, when Patrick decided to paint a portrait of Emma this became so popular that years later after Patrick’s death it caused a mystery that required to be ura is Emma’s granddaughter a talented musician, who loves her ninety year old grandmother very much, Emma is the latest of the popular artists circle still alive and has allowed Laura to use the portrait as collateral for a loan to study music, when it is discovered that the painting may not be the original, this of course starts a lot of rethinking by Emma about the man she loved and brings us closer to a lot more people and brings Laura in contact with art assessor is is a really moving story deep in history and a wealth of fabulous characters and what and how they lived through sixty years the loves the gorgeous artwork and their layback lifestyles, it had me turning the pages as I got to know Emma and Patrick and Laura and the families I loved them all, I loved their personalities and cheered them on with what they went though, there is lots of emotional affairs with various people, but above all there is love a real love that lasts a lot of years. MS Carey has again taken me on a journey that is captivating and I highly recommend it, thank you MS Carey for another keeper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annabelle & Aiden: Oh, The Things We Believed! []  2020-1-29 17:47

    A uniquely unbelievable book for teaching children the importance of raising questions and seeking facts. Gorgeously and intricately illustrated. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel []  2019-12-22 18:42

    This book will definitely be added to my all-time favorites of Globe Battle II books written about the resistance. Got wrenching at times and I will admit to an ugly cry at the end

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Things We Never Knew []  2020-6-23 19:2

    This novel is the epitome of a excellent young adult novel. A amazing story, unbelievable writing and dialogue, appealing characters and so, so, SO much heart. Captures the beauty of young/first love and of trying to figure out who you are and why you are the method you are. SO glad I found this masterpiece and I know I’ll read it again. Loved every page. I’m even going to treat myself to the author’s first novel, Calling My Name. This one = 5 stars all the way. I’m sad to have finished it! (Great for young (and older) adults.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep: A Novel []  2021-4-6 21:20

    Wow! The author took a difficult subject, created worse by the youth of one key character, yet did not let it to become maudlin. It truly was a journey of joy, explored through characters aged 10 through 90, each with a different, difficult situation. I was mesmerized, drawn into the lives of these people, singularly and as a whole. You will have fun each page, ending this novel with some sadness, but much hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things []  2020-2-6 22:6

    A bonus for my grandson that turned out to be perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    After a miserable experience with July's Kindle First selection, I was tempted to pass August by. But the title of this book caught my attention, and it was as far removed from historical fiction--or in the latest case, hysterical fiction--as I could lks, this small book was a treasure, a journey sometimes pleasant, sometimes perilous, but always gripping, through a bucolic and almost too-good-to-be-true fictitious suburban enclave just outside the very true metropolis of Charlotte, NC. I can attest to the landscape's atmosphere conjured in deft, often lyrical prose by the author--I've been there and seen that back in the day, and it's true enough. Without trying, I believe you can actually smell the chlorine, hot asphalt, chop grass, and hear the sounds of children at the pool, amplified by the concrete surround and the humid, breathless sides the setting, which in the author's hands is a hero on its own, we see this little globe through the shifting viewpoints of kids and adults. Normally I'm not a fan of a multiplicity of such viewpoints from so a lot of characters, but this time it worked for me. I found the important distinction between the adult women, Jencey, Zell, and Bryte, and the adult men, Lance and Everett, for example; they each had a voice, and each had secrets that colourful those voices. Above all is Cailey, who sees more that summer than she wants to see and hears things she shouldn’t, and tries to understand. She speaks honestly, as a child, and not a miniature adult. That is difficult to portray with skill, I think.I thought at first that the problem of “secrets” might mean this story would have something of the ominous thriller about it, but no. Not all secrets are scary, and not all lies are harmful. Yet there is enough here in the memories of the characters and in their intertwined lives during this particular early summer to hold the reader engaged. Don’t expect these short chapters that build towards a satisfying but in some ways unexpected conclusion to barrel along like a runaway train, leaving you exhausted in its wake. Instead the chapters and their resident characters will tug you gently at first, and then more insistently, until you obtain where you’re going. I think you will truly have fun the trip.And Cailey… well, she is quite special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    Rating 4.5/5.0The story starts at the beginning of the summer in a little neighborhood. Everybody is getting ready to go to the neighborhood's pool. This summer something happens there that interconnects various families' stories and issues in an interesting way. The nice thing about what the author did is that she gave us the various families' stories from the various characters perspectives. Loved how the characters felt detailed and deep except for the names which take a while to hold recognizing who is who as there are multiple main characters in this book. Then I have noticed that the only hero that the author wrote in first person was Cailey. Maybe that was the main hero because lots of events/secrets unfold because of e incident in the pool has happened in true life in the author's neighborhood as she mentioned it in the book and she used it very nicely to connect all the various stories. There is everything here, romance, kindness, evilness, betrayal, suspense and so a lot of other things. There is a bit of everything here but everything is added appropriately. Nothing feels over the my opinion this book is highly recommended because it is not just stories but also some necessary life lessons that anybody could benefit from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    This book was written from the perspective of various characters, so each chapter was a character. Some of the names were odd, so that took some getting used to as far as sorting them in my mind, but once I got it, it was fine. The story centers around an incident that happened at the neighborhood pool in the summer and how that brought the characters into each other's lives in ways they never thought. The more I got into the book, the more intrigued I became with the story and was really wanting to know where it was going to lead. There were some plot twists that I appreciated and I liked how one of the hero advantage points was from a preteen girl. The author did a amazing job at fleshing out the characters and you really did feel for and care for each and every one of them. It was the excellent length to obtain the story told in a fast manner without feeling rushed and there weren't any plot holes that I could see. It was a very enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Don't Say: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-2 18:0

    THE THINGS WE DON’T SAY by author Ella Carey is a July 2018 release by Lake Union ura had her grandmother’s painting as collateral for her loan. Then she finds that the painting could be a fake. What would happen now? Would Laura be able to prove that the painting is true and painted by the popular painter? She’s determined to uncover all the secrets surrounding this.On a parallel storyline we read about Laura’s grandmother Emma Temple and her life happenings leading to the painting of her E THINGS WE DON’T SAY is an interesting story. It has drama, love, and scandal. Author Ella Carey once again brought this well-written story to the readers. This story is thrilling to read as you encounter mysteries and suspense.Highly recommended for all readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel []  2019-12-22 18:42

    I will not be summarizing the storyline, instead I will be reviewing my likes and e chapters alternate between Alice (present-day) and Alina (past, during Holocaust). The year that the chapter occurs is not included, and the story itself does not rely on years/dates...so much of the time-frame is left to your own is style that alternates between the show and past has been away over-done, and this novel proves no different. Because of that, most of the story is predictable; you already know that the show day hero is searching into the past during WWII and finds the missing pieces to their past and how they are connected to each other. There is nothing to the style or plot build-up that sets it apart from other comtemporary historical e main hero Alina (living in past during WWII) is two-dimensional. Her hero is very romanticized, so her chapters can be unconvincing.I did like the other main hero Alice (present day). She is simple to relate to, and very much authentic.Overall, the story is simple to predict- 3 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel []  2019-12-22 18:42

    A unbelievable real to life story of what life was like in Poland during globe battle 11. We need to read things like this so that a repetition can be avoided. I liked the fact that the story went back and forth between a show day family and a family in the 40s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annabelle & Aiden: Oh, The Things We Believed! []  2020-1-29 17:47

    JR Becker has done it again, the second book in his Annabelle and Aiden series is just as fabulous as the first! Oh, The Things We Believed is a unbelievable introduction to philosophy for young children. It discusses creation myths in an unbiased secular method through delightful lyrical prose and captivating illustrations. In just a matter of days this has become one of my daughter's favorite books along with Becker's first Annabelle & Aiden book, The Story of Life. These superb stories are sure to entertain and educate both kids and parents and are likely become favorites in your home as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annabelle & Aiden: Oh, The Things We Believed! []  2020-1-29 17:47

    The rhymes feel forced distract from the story, which is loose at best. Why couldn't it have been written with more of a narrative? And the interspersed facts are distracting and should have been saved for a section at the end. I really wanted to like this but will hold looking for a book to read to my 4 year old about why some of her mates practice religions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annabelle & Aiden: Oh, The Things We Believed! []  2020-1-29 17:47

    Bought this book for my 14 month old son. The concepts are a small ahead of him but it’s so incredibly beautifully illustrated that it doesn’t matter - for now he’s satisfied to look at the pictures and point. This book is so smart. It presents complex info (for a little person) in a clear and relateable way. I’ve been recommending this book to everyone and I can’t wait to add the other two to our collection. The authors / illustrators have done a stellar job here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Things We Never Knew []  2020-6-23 19:2

    In just one weekend, I finished this Young-Adult novel. Its chapters were brief, some less than a page, and they alternated between two narrators -- both in 11th grade, both involved in school basketball. Well, Carli began to contemplate quitting; Rex was the media darling. My ignorance of that sport didn't impede my ability to escape into this first-love turned out that even the teens' high-income upbringing couldn't shield them from such hardships as, say, a fracturing marriage -- leading to guilt over the idea of choosing one parent over the other, heartbreaking for me to see. The problem of a present, yet uninvolved, father also arose – opening the door to a view of our human fallibility in seeing the huge fact, the two protagonists gradually had to grapple with issues stemming from miscommunication and second-guessing. Carli exasperated me a bit with her peculiar find for "signs" for direction in life, but I accepted this as more an adolescent mindset. Incidentally, I admired Carli's awareness of some Shakespeare trivia which I'd never before known.I liked how the 3rd-act plot twist, somewhat hinted early on, still took me utterly by surprise. The drama amplified from there... but in a wholly unexpectedly manner! As a lifelong Texan, I appreciated the Houston-area setting, crazy weather and all. The bit of steaminess and a few profanities were not excessive to me; rather, they were reasonable for this novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep: A Novel []  2021-4-6 21:20

    Whether you have ever known a person with dementia or are just reading this book, you can not support to be moved by this attractive book. I felt so a lot of emotions of love, worry, sadness, and anger, and yet through it all there is always hope and deep compassion. The Things We Hold is an extraordinary novel about the love between Anna who is 38 and has early onset dementia and Luke, 41 who also has dementia and is a resident in Rosalind an elderly care home. Anna can't remember his name but calls him "young guy" and the two only wish to be with one another. Eve is a latest widow, who finds herself needing a job and is hired to be a cook in the Rosalind facility. She struggles to hold a deep dark secret so that she can hold her daughter Clementine in her same school district without moving. The hero development is deftly told with alternating chapters by Anna, Eve, and Clementine going back through time. There are decisions made, that alter life choices, and the author does a magnificent job of giving keen perspective to the characters and their feelings as they evolve. Life is not always what is seems on the surface. Brilliantly written, with a true feel into the mind of someone struggles with dementia, this book is one I so loved. Truly it is one that touched the deepest corners of my heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep: A Novel []  2021-4-6 21:20

    When I read what this book was about I knew I wanted to read it. Dementia/Alzheimers disease is horrible for an older person but this deals with 2 people in their mid to late 30's with early onset Alzheimers. I laughed, I cried, I got frustated with the main characters family, and the administrated of the nursing home. This book is a quick read entwining two stories, plus more than one main character. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it for anyone who wants more of an insight into people with Alzheimers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel []  2019-12-22 18:42

    The Things We Cannot Say was so beautifully written about a time in history that was anything but beautiful. I don’t wish to give away much about this book. It’s a must read. What I will say is, this book tells of the most beautiful, enduring love story (Alina & Tomasz) of all time. I will never forget these people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel []  2019-12-22 18:42

    I cannot understand how this book was published withut the editors catching a glaring error. At different times in the book the hero Alice e color of her daughter's hair as chestnut, honey blonde and golden blonde. I have to wonder what other errors went unnoticed. Also, the "surprise" ending became glaringly obvious when I was only halfway through the book and the dialogue of the characters was stilted and unnatural. A cliched and dissappointing attempt at telling a story that should have been a fascinating look at one of the darkest moments in history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel []  2019-12-22 18:42

    I've read The Nightingale and The Lilac Girls, as well as a lot of other Holocaust novels. This one rates up at the top. Part of the reason I read about the Holocaust is to honor my friend, Alter Weiner (From and Name to a Number), a Holocaust survivor who was tragically killed in a pedestrian-car accident latest year in Portland, OR. I promised him I would never forget what he told me, what I learned of his life through his book, and what I've learned through my reading, and to never miss an opportunity to bring the Holocaust to light to present-day mates and associates. One of the easiest ways I can do this is to recommend books that I've read. I loved this book so much, I bought a hard copy to have to lend first, I was impatient with Alice's chapters, wishing to delve into Alina's hero more. Soon I was anxious to see what they were each going through. I think Alina's hero was realistic, especially in that she was protected and spoiled, her parents feeling she was too young to deal with the occupation full-on. But as time goes on, as she grows and matures and the Nazi cruelties continue, she steps into a role she did not ask for to support someone else and to fulfill her promise to Tomacz.I have enjoyed going back to review my highlighted Kindle notes, looking up Righteous Among Nations and cities mentioned in the book. I would recommend this book to anyone curious or interested in the Holocaust. We must never forget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Things We Never Knew []  2020-6-23 19:2

    Such a attractive story of young love and heartbreak mixed with the love and pain that comes with family and secrets being kept.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annabelle & Aiden: Oh, The Things We Believed! []  2020-1-29 17:47

    We absolutely love these books for our three kids, ages 3-8. They align with our views as scientists, UUs, human beings, and members of this universe who would like to leave the put better than we found it. Beautiful, engaging artwork. Family time well spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    This was a very various method of writing. Once I got used to the small snippets of each hero it was interesting to figure out where it was going next. They all tied in and similar to each very well. It could be a story of any little city in America and all the secrets they harbor that many, somebody or nobody knows about. They seem to always come out though, sometimes long after the parties involved are dead. Whether discovered letters or someone dying or someone old just reminiscing.I grew up in a little city and lived in a lot of of them. I fact now that I live in a put where hardly anybody knows anybody it is beautiful boring compared to little city life. I guess you could say the catalyst in all this is small boy nearly drowning. My brother did drown and I can relate to the reaction of the towns people of the little town. At least I guess it is a little city or community in the book. The girl on the milk carton: It was interesting to explore where she was the whole time and nobody even suspected - sound familiar I want there had been a lot more on that part of the story. I wonder how a lot of even remember the milk cartons with kids on them. Never realized until I read this how long they have been gone, replaced by plastic jugs. I mentioned them to a lady (I was recommending the book to her) in her 30s and she had no idea what I was talking about. Even the story about the woman's reaction to and solution to the issue she discovered at the fertility clinic tied in very well with little city life. I'll bet she's not the first to use that method.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Don't Say: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-2 18:0

    An emotional journey of everlasting love! When faced with the chance that something she believed to be real might have been far fetched, a woman travels through her memories to recall the love story that defined her life. Going back and forth between show time and the past, we learn about the life that Emma lived and watch her granddaughter test to secure the truth for her. The characters are well developed and the storyline is intriguing. We are left wondering until the very end what truly happened, and it doesn't disappoint in the emotion and depth of mystery. There was a small lag in parts that could have been improved upon, but overall, a really stunning read!Emma Temple has lived a full life filled with love, loss and accomplishment. She's satisfied to fill her artistic heart with the painting that has brought her joy throughout so a lot of of her ninety years along with loving memories of the past. When a scandal makes it's method into her life, she's left bewildered and doubting things she thought were real from the past. Could it be possible that the portrait the love of her life, Patrick Adams painted and gifted to her wasn't actually his work?Laura Taylor trusted in her grandmother's painting enough to secure a student loan to attend a prestigious school of melody using it's value to secure the funds. Now that it's validity is in question thanks to an art dealer, she's struggling to figure out how to prove it is authentic. She's on the verge of losing everything, and if she finds out that Patrick didn't actually paint the bonus of love he bestowed upon her grandmother, it will break Em's heart!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep: A Novel []  2021-4-6 21:20

    I liked it although I am dealing with a spouse with dementia, this book does kind of hit on how we test to protect when we feel helpless, while others are in denial. It showed what one thinks is not the only perspective when looking at it from another's view. I was caught up in how we all could work harder to not be cruel, especially in front of young children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep: A Novel []  2021-4-6 21:20

    A sweet ( but not saccharine), sympathetic story about early-onstage Alzheimer's. I appreciated that the characters were depicted as more than their disease, and that even in dementia, a person can still retain a bit of what created each of them unique. There are minor points in the plot that are unrealistic, and, to be honest, the story was very predictable. But the humanity of the characters makes this a very affecting story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    I decided on a 5 after a small bit of debating to myself, because it really kept me reading! When I hit the 85% Tag at 1am I just had to [email protected]#$%!. I couldn't search a amazing spot to stop because everything was moving rapidly and if you are like me, then you know you can't quit reading at climax! Another reason I gave it a 5 is because there were not a bunch of grammatical or spelling errors. I know I am not the excellent speller and completely understand mistakes happen, but when you have an author who has errors throughout the book, it gets distracting. Some people may read and gloss over info so they don't notice, but I read all of it and it brings me to a brief pause. So when you constantly pause, it breaks the "mood". That's why I say "well written". (Maybe I should become a proofreader lol) The only reason I debated a giving a 4, was because there are quite a few characters and each with their own private story, that it seems overwhelming at first. However, they all do tie into each other very nicely. Life isn't excellent in anyone's home and this is a story of just how real that is. If only we could all be willing to support each other without it being a cause of something traumatic. But I suppose that's also how you search the amazing in horrible events!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    I got this bok through the Kindle First program. It was a small outside my normal reading choices, so I wasn't sure if I would like it. Surpassing all my expectations, the book was awesome! This was a book that felt real. The characters could have been my neighbours, the neighbourhood my own. We all have various struggles and victories, and I loved the method the various fears and problems were handled, the care and attention that the author bestowed on the "everyday" and created me feel like these were people I cared about, people I knew. A near tragedy unites a neighbourhood, an old mystery is solved, a young girl regains a piece of hope and gets to experience a part of childhood for maybe the first time. Drama and laughter, love and heartbreak, healing and love. Wow. This was a book I had problem putting down, and it is so very worth the time it took to read! Recommended for ages 18+ due to the nature of life. 🎹

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annabelle & Aiden: Oh, The Things We Believed! []  2020-1-29 17:47

    I bought all three books in the Annabelle and Aiden series after reading rave reviews here and on other websites. I had high hopes but was not impressed. Some of the interesting facts were printed in such light text and odd fonts that we couldn't read them. The rhyming text just didn't work and was painfully awkward in some parts. The illustrations were just okay. I may return them even if I have to pay return shipping. These aren't books that you'll read more than once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annabelle & Aiden: Oh, The Things We Believed! []  2020-1-29 17:47

    This book is beautifully and charmingly illustrated, and while each page is full of lots of info and information, the imagery engages the reader and is simple to follow. (All so cute, I love the characters.) Most importantly, Oh, The Things We Believed helps the reader see that thinking in a scientific, rational method does not destroy the amazing wonder of the universe but reveals it! Every family should read this together, on a regular basis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annabelle & Aiden: Oh, The Things We Believed! []  2020-1-29 17:47

    Attractive art. Hard to see words on a phone for the Kindle version. Amazing subject, would have liked it to go a bit deeper, but amazing discussion starter and my 5 year old enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel []  2019-12-22 18:42

    This book will stay on my mind for a long time . I have read a lot of books about the battle and the result of it on the families that lived though it, and I must say this book seemed so true at apoint I looked on line to create sure I was reading a fictional book.I will be recommending this to anyone I can as a must read . The only negative I can say is it was a bit uncomfortable reading the latest part of the book while getting my hair dyed, with tears freely flowing down my face.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel []  2019-12-22 18:42

    Unbelievable story! The people who lived through the atrocities of Globe Battle II in Nazi occupied locations dealt with an almost unimaginable reality. “The Things We Cannot Say”, though fiction, gives us a glimpse of some of the hardships faced by people in Poland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep: A Novel []  2021-4-6 21:20

    This was a brutal read but not in a graphic sort of way, more like you just feel like you hold getting sucker punched in the heart. But yet just about every time I would begin to feel like this was such a cruel and unfair world, there would be this attractive moment in the story that really emphasizes what life is all about. I can't guarantee if you read this book you will love it, but I do think it will stir up some emotions especially if you have had someone close to you suffer from thirty-eight years old, Anna Forster is suffering from early onset dementia. She moves into an assisted living facility where she meets Luke, the only person who is even remotely close to her in age. And while time might not be on their side, they develop a connection and Anna knows she's going to have to war to remember what is most necessary in life.I apologize that my synopsis kinda sucks but it's tricky to really describe the plot as it has alternating timelines and also other hero perspectives like Eve, the cook at the facility, and her young daughter Clementine who are both struggling to begin over. So the book is special in the fact that not only do you obtain to witness Anna as her memory begins to fade but also how her caretakers and family are dealing with it as well. By the end of the book you do feel like you also know the other residents in the assisted living facility as they each have an interesting is such a strong theme of the book and I'm not just talking about romantic relationships, but also the love you share with a child, parent, or sibling and even just plain, old friendship. This story really tugged on my heartstrings. There is so much sadness in the book , but even in darkness there is light. There are some unique moments in the story that in my opinion create the book well worth reading even though it is a tough, emotional read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep: A Novel []  2021-4-6 21:20

    This is a very amazing read. I could hardly place it down to tend to everyday things I required to do. Like most everyone, Alzheimer’s has touched my life in a lot of ways. A lot of mates and family have suffered with memory problems. This is an insightful book that created me think and brought a tear or two. I hope everyone enjoys this book as much as I did. I enjoyed all of the personalities at the nursing facilities. They soon became familiar fiends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Keep: A Novel []  2021-4-6 21:20

    It was okay.... I like books that are hard for me to place down and this one was really simple to place down. I didn't obtain hooked and wasn't attached to any of the characters. I did not like the ending and I didn't like all the point of view changes and time period changes. A small confusing and sloppy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things []  2020-2-6 22:6

    Like how water makes it very readable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things []  2020-2-6 22:6

    More interesting info about how integrated living systems are.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things []  2020-2-6 22:7

    Very nice book. Comprehensive and exactly what I was looking for. Arrived method ahead of schedule.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    Maribeth Mayhew WhalenGenre: Contemporary FictionNetGalley, Kindle First⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️I was completely enchanted with Sycamore Glenn, ready to sell and move to "The Glenn". It seems like a unbelievable put filled with attractive interesting people. I really enjoyed Maribeth's writing style and hearing the story from each characters point of view. Summer is my favorite season and I totally found myself at the pool, working in the yard with Zell, and sitting in the dark feeling the dew fall at the pond with Cailey. Perfection! Throw in a missing teenage girl, infidelity, creepy and peeping neighbors, along with a runaway wife and a near drowning event; seriously it could not obtain any better. I recommend this unbelievable book to anyone who loves the Fourth of July and the heartbreak/joy of friendship lost love, and dysfunctional life as we all know. You will not be ank you NetGalley and Amazon Prime Kindle First, for the opportunity to read this book for a fair review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Don't Say: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-2 18:0

    This book is absolutely poetic, in love with artists and their creations. It info the joy of a brush stroking paint onto a canvas with as much reverence as it does the different relationships within.Emma and Patrick's story is told between the past, beginning in the early 1900's, and 1980 with Patrick gone and the story revolving around his painting, the story title Things We Don't Say. Emma and her granddaughter, Laura are the two main characters in the 1980 time frame, much of their lives echoing each other. Their passions for art, music, and love drive the book e mystery behind the painting unfolds slowly, each stage written with extreme info to colors, appearance, surroundings in homage to the artists within. It's best to settle in with a cup of tea and have fun every carefully chosen word.While there is tension and heightened emotion, even that is expressed with elegant grace, a throwback to a writing style of a gentler time. There are a dozens of relationship styles not openly discussed in years past that are embraced here, again with soft, well chosen words.I enjoyed the writing style and topic matter, and will be looking for more from this author. Among my favorite quotes:“As I obtain older, I’m coming to believe that being in love is less and less important, but loving people is more so. Friendship is the thing. Loving one’s friends. And accepting them as they are.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Don't Say: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-2 18:0

    Allow me say first that this was a well written book. Those who have fun history, convoluted relationships, and talented artists will likely have fun this ing basically historical fiction, it is not my preferred genre. I picked this as my June First Read because, like the latest couple months, nothing else was offered that interested me. I randomly picked a selection latest month, and ended up being satisfied with it--but this book, I'm afraid, just wasn't really my cup of e alternating time periods and the historical background didn't really hold me involved. It read beautiful slowly for me, and for most of the book I struggled not to place it aside. Although Emma was an interesting character, I couldn't understand some of her actions and decisions. I'm afraid that I found Patrick to be an opportunist and a "user". Also, until the latter part of the story, I wasn't feeling much for Emma's Grandaughter, either. It's difficult, no matter how amazing a story is, to thoroughly have fun it if you don't feel connected to the characters. Towards the end, the plot did obtain more interesting as the mystery of the painting was is book was only an "OK" read for me, but others who prefer historical fiction may [email protected]#$%!.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386