Read the duke of wellington in 100 objects reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the duke of wellington in 100 objects reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    price of viagra tablets in india [viagra without seeing a doctor]  2020-12-4 10:13
    [email protected]

    osta 100mg discount online cialis discount Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    cialis in canadian pharmacies nniw [viagra pharmacy bxaw]  2020-10-16 13:32
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy-viagra canada pharmacies highest rated canadian pharmacies canadian pharmacies generic drugs online canadian online pharmacy cialis pharmacy canadian pharcharmy canadian-pharcharmy- internet pharmacy pharmacy generic cialis canadian pharmacy cialis canada pharmacy from canada pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Oakland online [how to buy lasix in Puerto Rico]  2020-9-17 7:28
    [email protected]

    lasix online from Seattle buy lasix online from UK how to lasix in Portland lasix from Los Angeles lasix buy lasix online from San Diego where to lasix in Kansas online buy lasix in Sweden lasix online pharmacy in United States

    0  


    Add your opinion on the duke of wellington in 100 objects or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Albuquerque [where to buy lasix in UK online]  2020-9-17 13:34
    [email protected]

    best for lasix in Poland top 5 best locations to lasix in United States where to generic lasix where to lasix in Japan top 9 best locations to lasix in Israel buy lasix online with prescription lasix online pharmacy in Oklahoma cheap lasix in Indianapolis buy lasix in Portland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Albuquerque online [best price for lasix in Netherlands]  2020-9-13 17:18
    [email protected]

    cost of lasix lasix online canada lasix in Omaha where to lasix in Austria where to lasix in Detroit where to lasix in Memphis price lasix purchase lasix from Fresh York where to lasix in El Paso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to purchase lasix in Charlotte [purchase lasix cheap]  2020-9-14 2:9
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Omaha online can u lasix over the counter top 11 best locations to lasix in Canada cost of lasix for dogs get lasix prescription how to lasix in Omaha cheap lasix in Fresno lasix dosage purchase lasix from Austin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Czech Republic online [how to buy lasix in Italy]  2020-9-13 21:51
    [email protected]

    how to lasix cheap lasix in Hong Kong discount brand name lasix where to lasix in France lasix online india lasix per pill where to lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Columbus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to lasix lasix online in india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    list of canada online pharmacies zjqw [cialis canadian pharmacy czdz]  2020-10-17 6:50
    [email protected]

    cialis canadian pharmacies canadian overnight pharmacy canadian online pharmacy cialis cialis from canadian pharmacies brand online canada pharmacy canadian online pharmacy reviews cialis pharmacy canadian-pharmacy-online scam online canadian pharmacies canada pharmacies online prescriptions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    lasix online pharmacy in Cleveland [buying lasix without prescription]  2020-9-17 5:15
    [email protected]

    lasix in Greece lasix comparison lasix in Puerto Rico lasix in Germany where to lasix in Japan online how to lasix in Miami cheap lasix in Spain

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in San Diego [where to purchase lasix in Charlotte]  2020-9-13 14:26
    [email protected]

    united healthcare lasix best for lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Cincinnati online how to lasix in San Diego where to lasix in Sweden where to lasix in Tulsa buy lasix fedex shipping

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Greece [cheap lasix in New York]  2020-9-13 15:58
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Phoenix online top 8 best locations to lasix in Omaha lasix online pharmacy in Denmark where to lasix in Tucson online best method to search lasix in San Francisco how much does lasix cost where to lasix in Austria best for lasix in Fresh York

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Denver online [best way to find cheap lasix in Long Beach]  2020-9-17 4:36
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Boston canada lasix generic top 6 best locations to lasix in Los Angeles where to lasix in Toledo buy true lasix where to lasix in Greece online best for lasix in United Kingdom best for lasix in Austin best for lasix in Japan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Tucson [buy lasix online from Japan]  2020-9-13 22:54
    [email protected]

    lasix in Tucson lasix online pharmacy in San Francisco lasix online pharmacy in Kansas buying lasix best method to search lasix in Charlotte top 3 best locations to lasix in Indianapolis best for lasix in Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Netherlands [lasix medication]  2020-9-17 6:15
    [email protected]

    how to lasix in Detroit where to lasix online canadian lasix online lasix online from Canada cheap lasix 100 canada lasix online pharmacy in Seattle lasix by mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canada pharmacy csmp [canadian pharcharmy online reviews fply]  2020-10-15 13:43
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy cialis cialis canada online pharmacy scam canadian pharmacies for cialis pharmacy online pharmacies without prescription cvs pharmacy canada pharmacy cialis canadian pharmacy - cialis india pharmacy canadian pharmacy canadian pharcharmy cialis in canadian pharmacies

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    my case in gov search [broward county civil case search]  2020-9-3 1:23
    [email protected]

    see post miami dade criminal case find brazoria county case find website here her comment is here search more his comment is here kcoj case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the dentist []  2020-11-21 20:54
    [email protected]

    Thank you Moses. Thanks to the entire staff. Reminds me of my appointments. Explain in detail what's going on. Patient and kind. Office is very clean and inviting. Satisfied Thanksgiving. Please stay safe. Thank you. Janice L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Portland [best price for lasix in New York]  2020-9-14 1:55
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Sweden buy lasix in San Francisco where to lasix in Baltimore online lasix 40mg cheap lasix in San Antonio top 7 best locations to lasix in Hungary top 9 best locations to lasix in Netherlands purchase lasix from Saudi Arabia buy lasix online from Washington buy furosemide

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can lasix buying lasix in canada how to lasix in Norway best for lasix in Long Beach where to lasix in Washington how can i lasix best method to search lasix in Czech Republic where is better to lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canadian pharmacy qlsr [canada rx pharmacy deoo]  2020-10-19 20:18
    [email protected]

    canada online pharmacy cialis from us pharmacy generic pharmacy canada online pharmacies canadian rx pharmacy canadian pharmacies without prescriptions ed canadian pharmacy the canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy cialis for everyday use brand online canada pharmacy cialis canada online pharmacy canadian pharmacy online generic pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    erectile pills over the counter []  2020-10-25 17:54
    [email protected]

    erectile medicine fresh zealand silvasta fresh ed drugs erectile tissue in the nose [url= [url= dysfunction injections[/url] [url= [url= booster way book[/url] [url= function returns as copper decreases[/url] [url= [url= medication over counter[/url] [url= [url= dysfunction icd 10[/url] [url=

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Extraordinary. Everything: the format, the language, above all the content matter spanning all cultures, never boring, ever illuminating the immense shadows of ignorance around those glimpses of our own story that school managed to slip through, but never really taught. I know the author could not possibly fit in the whole British museum, but I miss one more single item I test and never fail to go and see again every time in London: the "Karissima Lepidina" notice on wood smartphone that from the marginal outpost in Vindolanda speaks of family life and value through about 18 centuries with an immediacy... that requires no mediation, almost no translation: women were writing, cursive handwriting was telling, postage was functional, time was set apart to hold in touch, leisure trips were planned... I would really like everybody to learn from the mastery of Neil Macgregor the details. May the next edition will be of 101 objects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    I don't think this replaces the pod cast series, but is a amazing addition. I would love to have had the series be visual, not just audio clips, and this book gives more photos that support understand the objects. While there are quotes from the audios in the book, it is not just a transcript, but has fresh info that adds to the experience. I think it will stand alone as well, but it's hard for me to tell because I have listened to (some of) the

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Each of these BBC broadcasts, here in printed form, are absolutely brilliant. Mr. MacGregor has a rigorous and poetic grasp of these different and symbolic representations of the past. I have had the privilege of visiting the British Museum at least 8 times during my lifetime. I plan to visit it again, like a little child, and seek out the brilliant treasures Mr. MacGregor describes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    I'm afraid I must respectfully disagree with other customers in the review section. For the price, this is a FIVE-STAR book. It is illustrated beautifully with full color photographs. I have the hard-copy and not the Kindle ver (though I do own a Kindle). My guess is that the pages would show stunningly on the Kindle for iPad or Kindle for Mac. I also have a Kindle E-ink reader. I doubt it would present well on that latest device. I noticed one of the reviewers criticized the image quality. I must disagree. I search it to be top notch. It is presented in a matte format rather than glossy print.. so my guess is the reviewer would have preferred the glossy versions. I, on the other hand, love the matte finishes on all the photographs which are nicely crisp and detailed.EXCELLENT book for the price. A excellent bonus for a history buff. I love it and I bought it here on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Well organized. The history behind each of these attractive objects is so well presented. The high quality images support create this book a treasure. Also, at the museum, only a subset of these objects is displayed at any time. To see them all, one would have to create a lot of trips to London. If planing to visit the British Museum, knowing something about this collection of pieces beforehand, makes the adventure even more enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    This is an perfect read. As usual, BBC does not disappoint. The book is compiled from transcripts of a 100-episode series on BBC Radio. One hundred objects are thoughtfully picked from exhibits at the British Museum to chronicle the history of mankind, from its earliest beginnings up to the 21st century. The 100 chapters are short, but solid, each corresponding to an episode on radio. The book is amazing for leisurely, but very informative reading. A definite advantage that the book has over the radio episodes is that it shows each of the 100 objects in full e book is highly recommended for any reader who is interested in understanding the development of mankind. It provides clear and useful background for reflecting on how we have come to where we are -- when and how we have progressed, as well as when and how often we have regressed.I read a Kindle version, which allows me to magnify photographs to look closely at the 100 objects. My only complaint is that, with Kindle, it has been rather more cumbersome for me to refer back to the page with the photographs in each chapter while I was cruising through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    When I began this formidably lengthy book I thought I would cherry pick among the 100 objects, choosing the ones that seemed interesting and skipping over others. In the event, I found it difficult to skip over anything, for each chapter seemed to include fresh and absorbing information. I thus wound up reading about virtually every one of the 100 stuff il MacGregor is a scholar of singular erudition who writes in a lively and engaging prose style. With the aid of numerous professionals whose commentary he invites, each of the 100 objects is brought to life by being placed in its appropriate geographical, historical, anthropological or archeological is is a truly unbelievable work of scholarship, one that is as pleasurable to read as it is didactic. Anyone interested in the history of art will not wish to miss it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    I believe I learned more per page reading this book than any I've ever read. A tour through all of history using objects collected (stolen?) by the British Museum, this book is a bravura execution of material culture and archaeological studies. In fact, I used several entries with my Advanced Placement Literature class in to expose them to effective and interesting "close reading." MacGregor does with objects what literary critics do with a passage of poetry: he describes the object (lovely pictures ARE included), he gives a fascinating context of the period in which this object was used, and finally, provides an analysis of what the object "says" about the people, nation, and region that used or owned it. I search this way of historical explication incredibly engaging. Rather than start with abstract concepts like democracy, Federalism, or ethnic cleansing, MacGregor begins with the concrete--a vase, a coin, a flower pot-- and says here's what this culture produced, here's what that says about them. This also dovetails nicely with what I teach in class regarding advertising; that we can come to understand the ideals of a nation by studying its advertisements. Interestingly, the objects MacGregor chooses also function as "advertisements" for their respective milieus. A testament to how well this book is written and constructed is that I read it incredibly quickly. Before I knew it, I was on object 56 at the 300 something page tag and I had no mental fatigue. The fact that the book is organized in 100 3 to 4 pages "chapters" helps a lot because I found myself reading a few objects here and there whenever I had some spare time. I recommend this book highly to anyone who has even a fleeting interest in archaeology or cultural materialism; your efforts, and the rather hefty of the book will be worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Reading this book is like taking a tour of the British Museum. The author presents 100 objects from the British Museum and presents their stories and their significance in globe history. The objects are presented in roughly historical and also grouped according to several themes, and the author points out some common threads that are woven through this of the best parts of reading this book is encountering little-known facts, people, and cultural artifacts which one doesn't usually search in a textbook-style presentation of globe history.Overall I found this to be a very enjoyable read, simple to pick up and place down again, and I tended to read this during spare moments or a few chapters in the evening after rhaps the only "weakness" of this book is that as the book moves from object to object, there is not necessarily a coherent story line, and so I did not tend to feel drawn on to the next te also that the pictures in this book are in nice, high-resolution color. (Of course, not all Kindle models can display color.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    This book will change your entire perspective of what historical objects in a museum represent. Neil MacGregor's discussion of each object is concise, well-written and often contains brief, but meaningful insights by an expert in an appropriate field. As an example, Neil MacGregor transforms what on the surface appears to be a mundane Egyptian sculpture of cattle, to a discussion of the transformation of humans as hunter/gatherers to communities which could only exist with the domestication of crops and livestock. In his concise discussion of that single object, Mr. MacGregor adds a very concise, clear discussion of the resulting geneology of modern cattle as from Asiatic origins and a brief discussion of the religious significance of cattle in some cultures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    18 yr old nephew liked it. He is a 12th grade pitcher with a D1 athletic scholarship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    Unbelievable book on the 100 objects that created baseball the method it is today. I love that each object had a sub story in it instead of just describing the object and letting it be. Does a really amazing job in explaining the origins of baseball as well as some of the myths surrounding the game. I don't think he is much of a traditionalist as he does seem to be pro-DH and thinks that players "allegedly" took steroids in the 1990's despite mountains of evidence that players did in fact juice. Other than those two minor details, Mr. Leventhal writes a amazing history on the object that created the game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    Difficult to obtain my father-in-law a bonus he can use...But he Always loves books about baseball of yesteryear and really enjoys this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    This is one of the best baseball books ever. I really love the stories behind these stuff depicted in this well research and engaging book. I have over a hundred "baseball books" - autographed memoirs from Hall of Famers and other books that have caught my eye over the years. This one is my favorite right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    Must for avid students of the game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    If you have an interest in the history of baseball,this book is certainly a must.Well structured,it goes from the beginning to our obtain to know everything about the sport that you need to ong the way,it is filled with anecdotes about the objects on display.I have read several baseball books and i considered this one to be among the top makes wish to go to a ball 's a 101 course about the history of the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    This is a well-written and highly informative book that is a "must have" for anyone with an interest in the history of baseball. The historical images are fascinating, each representing a scene or feature in the evolution and historical progression of the game. It is a gold mine of fascinating information, and I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    My husband loved it. He likes everything about baseball, and this book was a favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    A bonus for my 84 year old, baseball loving dad. He loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Baseball in 100 Objects []  2020-11-23 18:25

    A bonus for my son, a baseball fan. He was happy to keep it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    I am absolutely in love with Sunanda Chatterjee stories and she is hands down one of the most brilliant storytellers I've come across. She knows how to weave eloquently powerful plots and effortlessly intricate across multiple genres leaving the readers spellbound and seamlessly pulls the readers in from the obtain go and this one is no various . Her plots and characters are always well developed and as a reader you obtain to truly understand what the characters are thinking or why they are acting or behaving in a certain method , even with the elements of suspense till the end of the story she never leaves any loopholes or lingering questions. I am awed by how smoothly all her stories are amalgamated by touch of romance, a amazing dose of suspense , specks of life lessons and pearls of wisdom. By the time readers are done with the story they are truly awestruck with how brilliant and exceptional storyteller Sunanda is . She is one of those talented storyteller who definitely knows how to obtain her readers fully invested with the story and the characters from the first page until it ends and this story was no different. The story and characters stay with you for a very long time even after the you are done reading the story. I was intrigued by the storyline and was curious to read how she would be building up the story. The story was quick paced and I got pulled in from the first page, the characters were very believable and like all her stories, Sunanda leaves the readers with so a lot of loose ends and leaves readers on tenterhooks & on the edge but everything is tied together and falls in it's put by the time the story reaches its h Harrison's and Laura's characters had the mystery aura surrounding their persona . From the method they meet each other, their hidden past & the secrets and how the story proceeds Sunanda has beautifully weaved the story. I loved all the supporting characters and they played an necessary part in the story , I just fell in love Juhi's hero and how she was a pillar of strength & a real mate for Laura. The stark personality contrast between the two best mates is like chalk and cheese but their friendship & bond surpasses all these differences. I really enjoyed how beautifully their friendship and bond was captured in the story. There were times while reading the story during which I had wondered how she would tie this loose end and she did effortlessly with no loopholes. Latest but not the least I was truly blown away by how Sunanda has kept the element of suspense almost until the end of the story until it reaches its climax like all her other stories. I can't wait to read the next book in the Wellington Estate Series. This one is definitely A must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    Interesting characters and engaging plot. Surprise ending...I will read more book from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    Loved this entire series. The author never disappoints

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    How often we come across incidents or people who carry the burden of punishment for the sins committed by their parents? Whether it is a petty mistake or a serious crime, society never allows the off-springs to forget that their parent/s did commit the mistake and they should for ns of the Father is the first part of Wellington Estate series and main protagonists are Harrison McNamara and Laura Carson; both suffering from the after-effects of their father’s deeds.But what happens when Laura’s true identity is revealed to Harrison? Will both be able to forget their past and begin anew?Sunanda’s stories always have a nice pace and are always filled with the right amount of suspense and romance which keeps the reader hooked and asking for more.Her language, the cover picture, the story plot, the pace, the characters are so flawless that reading her books is a bliss for any ns of the Father is a must read if you wish a amazing and quick read with romance and small mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Amazing characters. Amazing theories about how people work. Cleverly woven tale. Makes you wish to know the rest of the stories and how things turn out for everyone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest this book, Ms. Chatterjee has managed to make a tightly woven plot that combines both romance and suspense. By skipping back in time, she enables the reader to understand the motivations, strengths, and weaknesses of her main times, Ms. Chatterjee’s writing becomes clichéd. For example, when Harrison is thinking about the models in the case he is working on, he thinks “he could save them from the clutches of the devious professor”. The reader forms a mental picture of a professor twirling his moustache and leering. Or in describing a sunset, Ms. Chatterjee writes that “the sky blushed like a bride”. These two examples are unworthy of a writer of Ms. Chatterjee’s ly, Ms. Chatterjee seems to have an almost 1950-ish view of men and women. At one point, she writes that “His presence in the condo would change the dynamic from the estrogen-heavy aura of tea and tears over poor dates to a thrilling and hopeful air of anticipation and stability” as if two women spend all of their time with tea and tears. Her female characters do not lack talent or intelligence yet always seem to need a husband or father figure to take care of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    I became a fan of Sunanda Chatterjee when I read her book “Fighting for Tara”, which is a super amazing book. So it was but natural for me to wonder how “Sins of the Father” would compare. And though “Fighting for Tara” will always remain one of my favourite books, this one did not ne of her books are just romance. And this one with its suspense and psychological tinge makes for a very interesting ciety can be very unforgiving and often kids are created to for the sins of their parents. But isn’t it also real that the kids themselves feel the need to for their parents crimes? What happens when as a young kid you are exposed to the fact that your father is not the character you think he is? How do you react when his actions have caused you tremendous pain? A lot of times the kids feel that in some method it is their fault as well. They carry the burden of what their parents did for a long time nanda brings this out beautifully in the method the characters interact with each other in the book. I firmly believe that no book is based on just one person. Every amazing story is a blend of all the characters, the main ones and the supporting ones. Sunanda has managed to weave in all her characters into the fabric of her story and that is what makes it such a delight to read.“Sins of the Father” is the first book in the Wellington Estates series. I am really impatient to read the next in the series, “Old money”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    This amazing GIANT volume sports awesome museum photographs outlining and dating arms and armor of feudal Japan in a rarely equaled effort. I have never seen a better (or easier) method to identify artifacts by period and style. The overlays that present the fighter and his armor (layer by layer) echoes back to a period that finds computer graphics in an infant scene and dates this volume with a "noble" but "failing" effort to impress (by dress.) This unbelievable collector's vision of history would stand better without the outdated overlays- BUT- don't miss this library addition. Historian's and collectors alike should not be without a copy !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    Very amazing book on the Samaurai!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    I purchased this bound book, Samurai by Stephen Turnbull, to gain some info and to be entertained by the drawings for a time. This book does a amazing job explaining to a layman some of the knowledge of the Samurai and the times they were in command of the security and of the Japanese Island. I give it four stars and I may change my review with more reading of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    Very informative. All of Turnbulls books on the Samurai are interesting and full of Japanese woodcuts from the time frame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Third Reich in 100 Objects: A Material History of Nazi Germany []  2020-1-17 20:55

    The Third Reich in 100 Objects is just what the title indicates: an examination of Hitler, the Nazis, and the people of Germany at war, by looking at objects from the era. Although printed on quality paper and filled with photographs, the majority in color, it is not a huge coffee table picture book, for its focus is not on the objects themselves, but on the larger circumstances that produced them, and their historical significance. Roger Moorhouse is an historian who has already written extensively about the Third Reich, and his text - two or three pages on every object - is knowledgeable and authoritative. He writes well, too, and with considerable insight and wisdom. He also takes care to footnote his sources for quotes and facts, and provides a bibliography for readers who want to pursue specific questions e collection of objects on which Moorhouse comments is diverse, and sometimes quite surprising. There are expected stuff aplenty, to be sure: a copy of Mein Kampf, popular weapons and aircraft, the Arbeit Macht Frei gates, a Judenstern. But an Elastolin figure of Hitler? A souvenir bracelet from the MV Wilhelm Gustloff? An iron bed from a psychiatric asylum? A postage stamp featuring Reinhard Heydrich's death mask? None of these are trivial, either - the regime's interest in political indoctrination extended even to children's toys, the cruise ship Gustloff was a centerpiece of the "Strength Through Joy" program (and, in 1945, the topic of the worst maritime disaster in history), about 100,000 disabled people were killed by the Nazis in a program that prefigured the Holocaust, and Heydrich was the highest-ranking Nazi assassinated during the war, an action for which some 1,300 Czechs with their lives. Perhaps the most breath-taking object, to my mind, was the German-Soviet Treaty Border Map, signed by Ribbentrop and by Stalin himself, setting the boundary in conquered Poland on the Bug River. It is awesome that the map still give an idea of how Moorhouse approaches his task, I'll use his latest object, Goering's cyanide capsule. It is used to tell the story of Goering's death, of course, but also to discuss the widespread suicides among Germans as the end came, and particularly among high-ranking Nazis. In fact, the container used in Goering's case was one of 3,000 created at Sachsenhausen for the SS, of which about a thousand were delivered to the Reich Chancellery in Berlin for distribution to the Nazi elite. It is characteristic that people who planned and performed so much death for so a lot of others should have planned and performed the same for themselves as nce a reviewer is supposed to search stuff to criticize, I do have a few quibbles. The image of Doenitz's baton is printed upside down. It is a mistake to write that the Bf 109 was "supplanted" by the FW 190, although it was certainly "supplemented" by it. In fact, 109s were used as warrior escorts for heavily-armed 190s in attacks on American bomber formations, since they had better high altitude performance and so stood a better possibility to war off the Thunderbolts and Mustangs. I also found it odd that neither the 88 mm nor Tiger discussions mentioned how symbolic they became to Allied soldiers, who thought every shell thrown at them came from an "88" and every tank they faced was a "Tiger." Finally, I was surprised that none of the early German tanks were discussed, or indeed any armored cars other than the Tiger I. The early tanks were as emblematic of the "Blitzkrieg" victories as the Stuka, and more responsible for them. Perhaps the Panzer 38 (t) would have been a amazing choice, not only as a representative of early battle armor, but also as a basis for discussion of the German use of "booty" vehicles, weapons, and aircraft. Few things more deeply underline the desperate strategic situation of Germany, which undertook to create battle on three powers that between them controlled about half the world's land surface and the greater part of its oceans, than its crying need to plunder its conquests of everything that could be of these instances show, I really had to find to search anything to criticize. The book provides an perfect introduction to Nazi Germany, lively and multi-faceted. I think it will be enjoyed by both casual and serious readers, and will probably cause a lot of to go further in their reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    The book arrived on time and it's in excellent state indeed, like the description ally satisfied!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    Very interesting acc of the rise and the fall of the samurai in Japan. Plus, the over-sized book is full of gorgeous artwork from the various time periods. But be warned, after reading this historical account, you might lose some of the romatic notions you had about the samurai...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    Well written aimed at the samurai wannabee.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Third Reich in 100 Objects: A Material History of Nazi Germany []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Thanks to Alex and the rest of the squad at Pen & Sword for providing me a hardback copy of this book that I freely chose to review.I have always been fascinated by antiques and collectibles, not so much for their monetary value, as for the stories (and the History) behind the objects. As museums prove, objects can create us feel closer to other cultures and eras, creating a tangible reminder of lands and times distant from ours. Some objects might have an intrinsic interest (they are created of valuable materials, or by well-known artists), others are interesting because of their owners (kings, queens, or popular historical figures, like writers, inventors, artists…), and others because of what they represent. Although no objects are amazing or poor in their own right, they become infused with meaning through the use they are place to, and they can create us feel all kinds of emotions, from delight to abject this book, the author has collected a hundred objects to give us, as the subtitle states, ‘A Material History of Nazi Germany’. And he achieves his aim with flying colours. The author is an expert on the period and has written a lot of books about Hitler and Nazi Germany, and although I’m sure various people would have chosen differently, the selection he has place together gives the reader a amazing understanding of all aspects of life in Nazi Germany. We search private objects, both of the Nazis (from Hitler’s paint box and his moustache brush to medals, decorations, and death cards) and their victims (the well-known Judenstern [the yellow star Jews had to wear), a forced labourer’s ‘Work Card’, or Sophie Scholl’s Matriculation Card [a member of the White Rose resistance movement]), objects that illustrate daily life under the regime (ration cards, a gas-mask, the devaluated German banknotes, Hindenburg Lights…), examples of propaganda (The Schattenmann [the shadow man, a warning versus talking about military secrets], a dozens of posters including one for the propaganda anti-Semitic movie Der Ewige Jude, the Amazing German Art Exhibition Catalogue, and the a lot of imposing buildings), objects directly similar to the war, including weaponry (planes, tanks, bombs, even the V-2 Missile) and documents. Each object is accompanied by a brief note (around a page or so) explaining its origin and putting it into ard Overy’s introduction sets well the project of the book and its author and emphasises the importance of photo for Hitler and his party. This becomes increasingly evident as one progresses through the book, where there are ample examples of uniforms, symbolism (like their use of runes, the swastika, and the German eagle), badges… The writing is both informative and compelling, and it varies to suit the nature of the object. Sometimes it is descriptive and fairly neutral, but at others, it is impossible to read without feeling grief, sadness, and/or anger. The book has the advantage of not following a narrative thread, whereby it is simple to read in fits and starts, and readers can pick and choose the objects they are interested in, or go through them all, as I did. If we read it from beginning to end, the objects form a chronological history of sorts, as we begin with objects that reflect the beginning of the regime, and eventually obtain to weaponry and documents from the very end of the war. The latest object is Göring’s cyanide capsule, so you obtain the ere were objects I was familiar with, and others that I knew about but had never seen (for example, the iron bed of a psychiatric asylum, that, as a psychiatrist, I found particularly moving and horrifying), and some that were complete surprises, like a Hitler Elastolin Toy Figure, the Mutterkreuz (a cross given to mothers who had 4 kids or more. The author summarises it thus: It signified, in effect, the politicisation of the German womb, [Moorhouse, p. 109]), or the very cute ‘Goliath’ miniature tank (sorry, but there are some lighter moments as well). What I was more impressed by, apart from the quality of both, photos and writing, was the method these disparate objects and the narrative behind them managed to give me a amazing sense of what life was like at the time, without having to read tonnes and tonnes of pages full of dry information. This book illustrates well the power of images. I have read plenty of books set on that era and watched a lot of films that take put in the same historical period but seeing the true objects helped me feel closer to the action, the people, and the happenings than I had ever before.I recommend this book to people interested in the history of the period who are not huge experts on it and don’t wish an exhaustive acc of wars and events. I also recommend it to anybody thinking about writing a book about the era, or people who design sets or work sourcing props or designing backdrops and objects for theatre, tv or film. There is plenty of material to inspire numerous productions, and it is all collected in a single, easy-to-read, and well-indexed volume, with notes that facilitate further research tasks. Another winning volume published by Pen & Sword.A fast note: my ver of the book is a hardback copy, but I’ve checked the e-book ver and the photos are as amazing as those in the print ver (although depending on the use you are thinking of giving it, you might consider what suits you best, as there’s small difference in between the two versions).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    Sins of father haunting once life is as painful as it can get. From love to pain and from pain back to love is a journey the author weaves in this always Sunanda Chatterjee takes you through unexpected twists and turns before you obtain to have the satisfied ending. The story builds up the emotions and anxiety. The troubles and pain the characters go through are brought out so well with its pulsating build up, and the attractive culmination of the journey is so fit for the e love between the protagonists is so smooth and soft, it left a tag on my heart. A delightful read! A amazing blend of suspense, drama, and romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sins of the Father (Wellington Estates Book 1) []  2020-2-2 3:33

    Having read and enjoyed some other books by Sunanda Chatterjee like “The Blue House in Bishop”, I was excited about her fresh release. And I’ll admit that a hot police sounded beautiful enticing too…I wasn’t disappointed in the story, the—once again—authentic and well-fleshed out characters, and the glimpses of the setting. It was lovely to see that Laura had an Indian mate (I’m very interested in her story), and that Laura’s father turned out to be not what I had expected. Laura herself was intriguing and believable, with hidden strength and a tragic past. She fell for Harrison rather quick and hard, but the forbidden attraction never seemed over the top and was laced with enough back-and-forth to retain its spark. As for Harrison, he fascinated me too because he comes with a load of emotional baggage all wrapped up in irresistible character e author’s language is simple, the style matching a fast-paced romantic suspense novel set firmly in the here and now. But off and on, I stumbled upon a phrase that stood out in its stark beauty and supplied emotions that could otherwise have been lacking. Take this gem, for example: “Her heart felt like an unfinished symphony, the latest resonant note ringing in her head in an endless loop, reminding her of her failures, her emptiness.”The saga provides some suspense, just the right amount of backstory, and a struggle for a satisfied ending. Chatterjee tells a gripping, emotional tale of sin, retribution, and redemption that digs deep and raises necessary questions: How much of our parents is inside us? And can love facilitate forgiveness?I can't wait for the next book in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    This is probably one of the best books for learning about extensive info about the Sengoku Japan Era. This Book talks about what armor and weapons were used by the soldiers in the battles. Another feature that this book has is short biographys on the Specific Samurai. If your like me this will create you ere is info about Oda Nobunaga in this book, but sadly it is limited and not enough satisfaction. I wanted to obtain a complete Biography Oda Nobunaga's entire life.Over all This is a very amazing book for learning Japanese History, despite the fact that I wanted a full biography of Nobunaga Oda

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Samurai in 100 Objects []  2020-11-20 20:23

    Amazing Price, Amazing Read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Third Reich in 100 Objects: A Material History of Nazi Germany []  2020-1-17 20:55

    I picked this one up on a whim in the book shop and ended up buying it. I am glad I did – it was surprisingly good. I have read a few books on Globe Battle II, and I know the primary facts of it quite well. However, I learnt quite a bit about Germany before the war, when the Nazis were taking ere is quite a mix of objects included in the book. Each object has one or more pictures (of amazing quality) and a couple of pages of discussion. Through the stories of the different objects you obtain a amazing overview of the third reich. There are several themes represented by a lot of objects, for example weapons (Stuka airplane, Luger gun), Hitler (Mein Kampf, Berghof), and the holocaust (the gate to Birkenau, poison gas). A lot of objects with how the Nazis came to power and how they tightened their grip on it – very chilling, and something I didn’t know much e book feels well research and is a very simple read. Each object is a amazing starting point for describing some aspect of Nazi Germany before and during the war. The sum of the stories is quite fascinating, and I learnt a lot I didn’t know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Third Reich in 100 Objects: A Material History of Nazi Germany []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Insightful and beautifully illustrated. A must read for the WW2 historian!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Third Reich in 100 Objects: A Material History of Nazi Germany []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Mention of the Third Reich brings to mind photos of waves of goose-stepping SS, Tiger tanks, Stuka dive-bombers, concentration camps and the evil madman intent on destroying mankind as we knew it. Yet the Third Reich was people - men, women and kids living in a poisonous, all-embracing Nazi state. Their reality of life in the Third Reich is captured in Roger Moorhouse's fascinating THE THIRD REICH IN 100 OBJECTS, A MATERIAL HISTORY OF NAZI GERMANY. A 2017 Greenhill Books offering, it provides a special window on life in Hitler's e 100 objects in Moorhouse's book range from the iconic - blood flags, Nazi salutes, Bf 109 fighters, U-boats, Nazi party badges, [email protected]#$%!&ler Youth uniforms, VW Beetles, 'Mutterkreuz' decorations, Enigma machines and anti-Jewish posters to commonplace objects like winter aid collection tins, Hitler toys, ration cards and even Eva Braun's lipstick case, The topper, to me, is probably the long underwear worn by Rudolf Hess in his crackpot flight to England in 1941! Yet this is more than just a catalog of Nazi German icons for Moorhouse does a unbelievable job of explaining each object and its background and relevance to the history of the Third short, THE THIRD REICH IN 100 OBJECTS is a new, revealing and educational look at history's most evil empire. Highest recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    These books have flaws, but I enjoyed reading rbidden Duke. 4 stars. I enjoyed the story, but I thought it was too much of a coincidence that a ruined woman from the country with no connections found the excellent position as a companion as soon as she tried. Her fresh employer in London is not only kind and generous (almost immediately offering to sponsor a season for her) but also the stepmother of one of the most eligible bachelors in the ton.Duke of Daring. 3 stars. I normally don't books with a woman-pretending-to-be-a-man theme, whether it's as a duelist, highwayman, knight, or gambler. I prefer women who are powerful as women. That's just me; besides, that pretense usually lasts only until the heroine meets the character and if I like the author I'll test it. But Lucy pretends to be a man throughout this book even though the character sees she's a woman immediately. (Funny--no one else ever does.) The gender bending gets creepy for me when the heroine thinks a couple of times "I want I'd been born a man" (which would be fine in a book about a transgender man, but that's not what this is). It's even creepier when the character makes love to her while she's wearing her fake beard. Ew. Again, OK for those who like that, but it's not what I expected and not what I would normally to choose to de comment: Heroes in historical novels featuring women dressing as men always think the heroines look hot in their pants. Is that an effort to create contemporary women think they would be sexy to historical heroes in what they're wearing while reading the book?Duke of Deception. 5 stars. I found this really interesting. We learn Sutton's secret early--he has a mentally ill brother. I don't know enough about mental illness to know how accurately it's portrayed, but it seems plausible and sympathetic. We gradually learn the heroine's secret and reason for fearing marriage--an abusive l three books have extensive scenes, most of which I skimmed through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    I like a series where all three stories connect! The first a older debutant must marry or father will choose. The second book involves a dear mate of previous is one needs so she disguises as a man and goes to gaming hells. The third another dear mate is saved from evil lord after her dowry and don’t give up even after she marries!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    These books were amazing. It took me 2 days to read all three only because had to stop and wipe my eyes take cold showers and read a couple of pages so I could remember that I read it right. I loved all 3books and now heading for the other ones. These books I will be reading agin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    I truly have fun reading Books by Darcy Burke. These 3 books of The Untouchables was entertaining."The Forbidden Duke"Tituss & Eleanor Story is Unbelievable & Adorable. Their Journey was so Sweet."The Duke of Daring"Lucinda & Andrew was Adorable. I Love how Lucinda dresses up as a Man & had the courage to not only go into a Gaming Hell but won. I enjoyed how Andrew got involved even though he didn't allow anyone stay close to him until Lucinda in his life."The Duke of Deception"Edward & Aquilla's Story was Absolutely Wonderful. Their Story was blissful. I Love how Edward chose Aquilla. No one knew why he was interested in a Woman & then became uninterested & not for the Lady's hand in marriage. When we search out his secrets are we search out that Aquilla's Father has sprung a marriage to a Disgusting man who is doing whatever he can to secure her into marriage with him at any & all counts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    I have read all three of these books individually before, but I purchased this book to reread them from the beginning. Love the method the stories intertwine the couples. Must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    This is a set of three romances set in the early 1800's. They are well written and are just nice romantic stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    1. THE FORBIDDEN DUKE - 3.25 STARSYou will have to suspend your belief on a lot of things in story in how they played out. This was at least 4 stars for me until the h does something I felt was out of e is ruined 9 years previously because she was caught in a kiss with a man she thought would marry her. Which was normal for this time period. Thank goodness I didn't live in this time period! The h says several times she wouldn't be caught in that position again. Well, she ends up initiating the kiss several times and more. WHAT!!!!So much for learning from your mistakes!I did have fun the stepmother and her caring attitude. I thought the the h found a job too easily though. It would have been more plausible if the stepmother knew how her stepson was responsible for the h 9 years ago. That would have created more sense in her hiring ere is one steamy stage outside of marriage, heat level 4.5 out of 5. I also, wanted more drama when the h learns the part the H had in her being cheating, no cliffhanger, HEA, steam and small on romance.2. THE DUKE OF DARING - 3.50 STARSI did have fun this story, but it would work better if shorter and not repetitive. Seems like when the h was Smitty, it was the same story but in a various setting. Plus, the anguish of the H was over ere is a friend/villain and I couldn't obtain over that he confessed so soon. Was like it was an afterthought to place it into the story.I did feel a connection to the H/h and when they create love (outside of marriage), it was sensual and filled with passion. Heat level 4.5 out of 5.I enjoyed the h's mates and can't wait to read their stories. No cheating, no cliffhanger, HEA, some romance and steam.3. THE DUKE OF DECEPTION - 4.25 STARSI felt more of a connection to this couple than I did with books 1 and 2. Even though I can't stand stories with secrets, this one I understood and agreed why the H kept his. His family was very necessary and he wanted what was best for them. The h had her own secrets, and as it is today verbal and physical abuse are hidden. People are reluctant to admit what is going on behind closed ere is lovemaking, within marriage described several times - heat level 4.5 out of 5. I felt the passion and love with this couple so it wasn't vulgar. Described several cheating, no cliffhanger, HEA, romance and spice. Some parts are heart breaking and some heart warming. I recommend this story. (ljb)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    I do have fun historical romances particularly when they take put in the 1800s. I like the fashion, the court ships, and the characters. I also appreciated the addition of mental health in the story line. I plan to continue reading this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    THE FORBIDDEN DUKE - I loved Titus St. John, The Duke of Kendal also know as The Forbidden Duke who lives a secluded/private life. He has redeemed his youthful, rakish ways for the latest 9 years after he helped ruin a young lady her London Season & caused disappointment to his father. He now only attends his stepmother's ball once a year & dances the first dance with a young lady needing a boost in society. When he meets his stepmother's fresh companion, Miss Eleanor Lockhart, he recognizes who she is & also, starts having feelings he never had before. Will she remember him, before he became a Duke? Will the secret he is keeping ruin his chances with Eleanor?This is a amazing book about the Regency Ton & its rules & also, the misguided, careless youth & their second possibility to right a wrong & fall in love. I highly recommend this book & all the books in this series - you won't be disappointed!THE DUKE OF DARING - Lucinda Parnell is being overcome by poverty & she risks everything by dressing as a man & gambles for money. She is an independent lady that will be ruined if anyone in the Ton discovers what she is doing but it is her latest hope. However; Andrew Wentworth, Earl of Danforth or as society calls him "The Duke of Daring" has been watching her. He easily discovers her disguise & chooses to help her in her endeavor to victory some money. She does not wish or need his support & insists on doing it the method she has planned but refuses her wishes. Both of them have experienced a broken heart & neither wish to allow their guard down but the attraction can only be denied for so long. I wanted both of them to experience true happiness & I am so satisfied they found theirs. I highly recommend this book - the characters are unbelievable & the story will hold you turning E DUKE OF DECEPTION - Miss Aquilla Knox wants nothing more than to live independently & she has her reasons for never wanting to marry. This is her fifth season in the Ton's marriage mart & she has vowed it will be her last. Because she doesn't have any desire to search a husband, she has plans to search employment as a lady's companion.Edward Bishop, Earl of Sutton, nicknamed Duke of Deception by Aquilla & her mates has earned his name because of the a lot of ladies is has led on. He needs to search a wife & due to his family circumstances, not just any lady would measure up for his requirements of a bride. Aquilla and he accidentally encounter each other & he is intrigued by her & she is convinced he is just looking for another bridal applicant.I highly recommend this humorous journey with a couple trying to navigate the social demands & how to be honest about their feelings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Untouchables Books 1-3: The Forbidden Duke, The Duke of Daring, The Duke of Deception []  2020-7-9 18:32

    Met and sometimes exceeded my expectations by surprising me. Interesting to have a woman dress as a man with the difficulties of disguise in that historical era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Democracy of Objects []  2020-1-27 23:42

    I first became acquainted with object-oriented ontology through Graham Harman. Harman's work, however, always seemed a bit too rigid, almost atemporal, with objects "receding" to the point of becoming, as Bryant describes, "vacuums." Bryant's metaphysics, which he calls "onticology," smooths out a lot of the rough edges of Harman's system by invoking Deleuze's concept of the virtual...but with a catch. Rather than seeing the virtual as a sort of predifferentiated continuum, Bryant conceptualizes the virtual as bound up within each object, comprising its "substance." It still hasn't sold me completely on object-oriented ontology(I lean more toward process philosophy, though I think object-oriented ontology has valuable insights to contribute), but it definitely advances the conversation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Democracy of Objects []  2020-1-27 23:42

    This review generally attempts to give an outline of what this book aims to do and why it is generally done well. I am not an academic; I read most of this items for purely recreational r those who are not familiar with the context of this book, it situates itself within the group of Object-Oriented Ontology (OOO) which makes it affiliated with the speculative realist "movement." While folks who fall under that umbrella often differ in more ways than they converge, they all share a rejection of 'correlationism': the idea that we humans can only ever have some access to the correlation of thinking and being. For Bryant and others in the OOO camp (other authors here contain Timothy Morton, Ian Bogost, and Graham Harman)this manifests in the primary assertion that all things are objects. This may seem like a counter-intuitive (or out-right wrong) thesis, but in this book both the arguments versus correlationism and for the primacy of objects are exceptionally clear and yant names his particular brand of OOO "onticology." While the book has to be read in full in to understand what his ontology entails, a few things [email protected]#$%! from other formulations. The first is the use of Deleuze. Bryant has already written an perfect book on Deleuze (Difference and Givenness), and here he integrates Deleuze's concept of the virtual into an understanding of objects. Unlike other authors well-versed in Deleuze, Bryant accepts much of Peter Hallward's criticisms of Deleuze (see Out of This World) and thus re-positions the virtual into what he calls "virtual proper-being" which can be brutally summarized as the potentiality of an object to become other than its local manifestations (while still being that object). In this way, Bryant argues that some objects must be independent in to have any causal efficacy of their own, and this requires the rejection of Deleuze's "monistic virtual continuum." As Bryant states "...the claim that the virtual is true is not the claim that the virtual is a potential being, but rather the claim that the virtual is always the virtuality or potentiality of a being or substance." Bryant's acc of the virtual in Deleuze may be controversial, but the argument is coherent and persuasive (It should be noted that he doesn't spend a lot of time tearing down other's positions, this discussion is more used to differentiate his position in contrast with Deleuze's own).The other influence that signifies a novel contribution is that of Luhmann. Using Luhmann (along with more familiar points of reference on these subjects such as Maturana and Varela)Bryant adapts concepts of autopoiesis, allopoiesis and operational closure in a novel method to his ontology of objects. The method Bryant explores these concepts is original, and he has to create some serious changes to the aforementioned theories in for them to work with onticology. All of this gives onticology the tools to be able to explain why and how objects can persist in their existences and structure through time as relatively independent dynamic systems. The chapters dealing with these problems were the most illuminating for me, and as someone who has read a small Luhmann, they are refreshingly concise in their presentation.Other less prominent resources contain Jacques Lacan (but not in the method one would think) and Bruno Latour along with Graham Harman. This does not mean, however, that this book is just a hodge-podge of various philosophical theories; this book is no Being and Time but it certainly makes several original contributions. Bryant's fresh articulation of "substance" was particularly salient in my opinion. If I had any gripes it would be that I thought his discussions of Badiou were a bit lacking. This is a little part of the book but I feel that any parallels Bryant draws are purely analogical; it seems he is partially aware of this but I still do not think it added very much.Overall, this book is definitely worth reading. For me the true force of Bryant's project is the method it seams to take the most useful aspects of the "object-oriented" and "process" camps of speculative realism and synthesize them into what is a very robust ontology (though still very much part of OOO). I particularly recommend this book to people intrigued by Continental Philosophy but who assume that it spends too much time interpreting figures and not innovating in its own right and often falls short of the "clear writing/argument" criterion. I'm not saying these charges are always justified or applicable, but I certainly think that Bryant's book avoids them and provides readers with fresh concepts to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The System of Objects []  2020-8-10 18:41

    The quality is very good! Thanks you so much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Democracy of Objects []  2020-1-27 23:42

    I'm still skeptical about several of the core premises (the ontology of objects does not handle boundedness well, imho) but the work itself is masterful and clear, even to philosophical novices. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The System of Objects []  2020-8-10 18:41

    Hardly seems to have been written in 1968 (Year of publication) the writing still relevant. I especiallyappreciated the essays on Warhol and contemporary art in general, and the interview in which the author clarifies some of his most extreme published statements. (I've only read about half of this book so far)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The System of Objects []  2020-8-10 18:41

    Very mind-boggling key points on the shifts in our material culture of before industrialization and after. Even though some passages as aforementioned were confusing because of those loaded sentences caused by translation, this is a must-read. There are some very well-stated thoughts on the shortcomings of industrialization which I was delighted to discover. There are also some analysis on color in mass-production and this and that which were enlightening. This book is half prose involving observations of societal changes, and half persuasive reasoning with theory and proof.I want more industrial/product designers could read this book. I agree with the point about how the gesture of an action is missing from a lot of of our functional objects. The myth of the functional object was interesting to think about. As a Sculptor, it helped me question my role as a maker in this era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The System of Objects []  2020-8-10 18:41

    It's really a nice book...everyone should obtain one lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The System of Objects []  2020-8-10 18:41

    This is a rather involved piece of work.I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The System of Objects []  2020-8-10 18:41

    In 1968, Jean Baudrillard had spent more than a decade teaching sociology and translating German texts before he found his real vocation: using his vast shop of erudition to critique what he saw of a society that could not be adequately accounted for by orthodox production oriented Marxist tenets. Where Marx saw a product built by human needs, he saw that product only in terms of the interaction between worker and capital used to roll that thing off the conveyer belt. Where Baudrillard would see that same thing, he would see not the mechanics of manufacturing that thing but the utility it had and how the consumer would react emotionally and viscerally to possessing e term "consumer" had a unique resonance for Baudrillard. Most contemporary theorists used it mostly to designate one who a product and beautiful much uses it as the manufacturer intended. Along came Baudrillard to expand the definition to contain the "why" and the "how" one consumes the object. What needs does consuming that thing satisfy in the user? What lengths will a user go to horde multiple copies? And most important, what is the interaction between designer and manufacturer to produce a product that will subtly shift the consumer from viewing that product from its traditional orthodox use to an unorthodox use that imparts to the consumer a driving sense to view, use, and ultimately horde it so as to ensure a continuing profit for all concerned in the manufacturing process? In The System of Objects, Baudrillard combined theories from Saussure, Barthes, Bataille, and other counter-culture critics to acc for the then burgeoning discipline of consumer science e globe of low-tech objects and commonplace gizmos were to Baudrillard the arena in which Marx's triangle of capital, worker, and process had to give method for a more sophisticated way to determine why consumers and use as they do. After all, who looks at mirrors in any method except as a reflecting device? Well, for Baudrillard, a mirror spoke volumes about the social pecking of its user. The more cumbersome, the more ornate a mirror was, the more its affluent owner prized it. Further, to capture one's photo in a mirror was a most ephemeral synchronic affair. The next step was to retain that photo for a longer diachronic period. Thus, image albums (equally ornate and pricey) become the pseudo-mirror. The "System" of the title was Baudrillard's vision of Marx transformed taking objects on a journey that begins in the objective globe of calculable functionality and terminating somewhere in the incalculable globe of human psychology in which the Yellow Brick Street of consumerism swirls ever outward never reaching completion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The System of Objects []  2020-8-10 18:41

    Note: A number of 5-star ratings refer to delivery and condition of the book and/or do not indicate whether buyers read or understood the deed, it's a challenging read. In my case it was needed for a class. The work encapsulates much 1960s thinking and French philosophy/world view. At first one wonders whether the confusion results from an unsuccessful English translation. Then, the sheer number of words employed for the delivery of a single concept serves to frustrate and delay comprehension. Run-on sentences take seemingly contradictory trajectories. There are a lot of noteworthy insights and concepts worth pondering once they have been gleaned. However, the delivery system will stymie seekers for whom time is a precious commodity or who do not have fun extreme verbosity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The System of Objects []  2020-8-10 18:41

    Shipping was timely, product was prefect!The book was for a class, so it is alright. A bit dated in spots, but a amazing deeper look at objects in our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Smithsonian's History of America in 101 Objects []  2020-12-5 19:59

    This is an extremely fun coffee-table book that's not just for history buffs! It's an accessible look into American History that's excellent for teens through adults. My 7-year-old nephew even loves it - there are certain portions he's asked us to read to him more than once. Though I bought it for myself, it would also create a amazing gift. As I have this book sitting out, a multitude of family and mates (and mates of friends, etc.) have leafed through it and all of them have liked it, so it would even be a amazing bonus for some you don't know all that well! Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Smithsonian's History of America in 101 Objects []  2020-12-5 19:59

    My husband and I fell in love with this book during a trip to the Smithsonian museums. The book is filled with an immense amount of info which is presented in a fascinating, readable way. It brought back unbelievable memories of our trip too. The images are gorgeous and a excellent complement to the info being presented. The books has sturdy binding and stout construction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Smithsonian's History of America in 101 Objects []  2020-12-5 19:59

    I am about halfway through the book and am enjoying it very much. However, it is not just the history. I realize that it gives an emerging description of the American Hero like no other book I have ever read. You can gaze at each object in detail, consider the respective narrative, and what comes through is a value base--i.e., what is held dearly-- which is distinctly American. I think this is shaped not only by what is gained ("manifest destiny") but by what is lost (the passenger pigeon and near-extinction of the buffalo).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Smithsonian's History of America in 101 Objects []  2020-12-5 19:59

    Amazing book! I read it and bought one for my son too! Fascinating stories about item in the Smithsonian museums with pictures and short stories about them so you can read about a few when you have a small time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Democracy of Objects []  2020-1-27 23:42

    A bold test at revisiting ontology, but with a seeming attention to the social dimension of such conceptions, hence the "Democracy" of Objects. This is a beautiful central reading of the newer Object Oriented Ontology movement.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386