Read the empty man reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the empty man reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Men - The Stone Man, Book Two: A Science Fiction Thriller []  2020-12-9 18:48

    Wow! This book certainly took my breath away! I could NOT stop reading until I had reached the end!I will not give a synopsis; I will not spoil this for you. When it comes to this story (as well as to beautiful much every book written by Luke Smitherd), reading it new and without preconceived notions will create this so much better! Why do I say this? The writing is phenomenal! The author draws you in with his style and gradual hero building while the story zooms on ahead. We feel the fear and wonder with the characters - the emotion is so true and palpable. And, real to form, there are twists and turns we never see coming!I have been reading and enjoying Luke's stories for quite awhile - and I have loved each and every one! The stories are so very various that it's hard to explain. (When you read his work, you will understand me perfectly.) The author mixes up his genres in such a method that it simply works. I really love his dark sense of humor as it appears when we least expect it. I also love how he can take a conventional subject and turn it into something else so freshly his and his alone. He throws in action and suspense - and it seems to take on a life of its e author's story here (as well as previously written ones) is very unusual, simply in the manner of presentation. He can cause you to suspend belief... and you wonder how that could happen. Because of the unbelievable writing, you will be swept along - and it seems all of a sudden you have reached the end! Another necessary reason I love this: the story sticks with me and I catch myself still thinking about the story LONG after I had finished reading it! Then... I read it again!If you like stories that are indeed unusual yet thought provoking, this is the book for you. Once you obtain into reading the author's work, you will simply crave MORE! What else can I say? Grab the story and have fun this author's work! You will wish more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Men - The Stone Man, Book Two: A Science Fiction Thriller []  2020-12-9 18:48

    Luke Smitherd is beautiful much a can’t miss. Glad to have this sequel out, as it’s as amazing as the first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Men - The Stone Man, Book Two: A Science Fiction Thriller []  2020-12-9 18:48

    If you're a fan of The Stone Man, purchase this now.If you've never read The Stone Man, read it. It's cheap. Then buy The Empty Men when you're finished.I've been a fan of Luke's work for ages and have been looking forward to a Stone Man sequel since the original was released half a decade ago. When word got out that it was finally coming, I was excited - but also a bit skeptical. Would it capture the same magic as the first novel? And would it respond the questions I had when I turned the latest page?Suffice to say, I was blown away by The Empty Men. It starts out with one of the most memorable introductions to a novel that I've read in years - getting the blood flowing in just a few short pages. And from there? It never lets up. The action is bigger than the first book. The mythology gets deeper. And even though we're following a fresh cast of characters, I'd hazard to say that they're even more interesting and better developed than Andy and co were in the original. You'll care about the people on the page, but Luke does such awesome work with pacing and structure that you'll also never obtain bored. It's fast, clean, and it shows through and through why it took so long for him to [email protected]#$%!: he obviously wanted to deliver the best sequel he possibly could - and he succeeds.Any criticisms? Not really. Some questions still linger by the end of the novel - and it's clear that Luke is setting things up for future installments. But he does so well placing his chess pieces on the board here that I'd imagine more answers are coming in the very near 's a amazing book and I couldn't be happier that I read it. Looking forward to The Stone Man Part 3, whenever it comes 'round.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the empty man or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    this author has a writing style very much like James Lee was an perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Amazing read. Hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    I skipped to the end after a while, it was all about making meals and driving an RV it was the worst book I have read in a long time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    I just loved this book. First time I have read anything by Ms. Brown, so double gift for me, looks like there are a lot more of her books just waiting to be e Empty Nesters is not your typical romance novel. There is nothing formulaic about it at all. Refreshingly original, it is a amazing read from begin to finish, and I [email protected]#$%! hadn't finished because I was having such a amazing time with all of the different characters and the ways they dealt with their life's issues. Not going to restate the plot; that's been done by it. Read it. Be a happier person😊. I mean, this story even has warm fuzzy kittens, for crying out loud.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    The first chapter of this story reminds me of O Henry's "The Ransom of Red Chief." Spoiled rich child finds himself in danger when he slips away from his sister and their guardian. Donovan survives the jungles of Australia with the aid of an Aborigine youngster, while escaping a risky man, who is tracking him for profit. Descriptive narration, comical at times, yet suspenseful. Donovan's family rethink their private values as they desperately find for their lost son.Entertaining and suitable for readers of all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    LOVE THIS BOOK! My student were exposed to this charming tale when I taught second grade. It was in one of our texts. Now the grandkids' school chose it for their Hero Trait on Integrity. Beautiful, charming, meaningful story of a small boy faced with a choice on whether to be honest or not, in the face of competition. Attractive art. My two (ages 8 and 6) love it; I love it. Cute story, amazing art, engaging story, amazing moral to the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    I’m sad that I ordered a fresh book, but I got it and it was completely folded in half and all the pages are creased. Should add something stiff to the pack to hold it flat in the mail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    I found it really simple to obtain drawn into this story, especially after the first chapter. The characters are all well developed and realistic, and the situations they search themselves in are hilarious yet believable. One unanticipated happening after another sends a small brat named Donovan into the amazing Australian outback, in complete wilderness where he is pit versus survival. In the meantime his family and the old man who was supposed to be watching over him engage in a hysterical effort to search him. The book has a vivid method of describing the scenery and evokes a powerful sense of adventure. It also has a amazing sense of humor and keeps you entertained. It is a sort of coming-of-age book, and I think there's alot to be learned from it.On a side note, a lot of of the best authors I know of are able to realistically portray a main hero that's totally various than the author, through personality, age, and even gender, like William Sleator, Stieg Larsson, Tag Z. Danielewski, and William is is a amazing book for all ages, and I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys humorous and meaningful adventure novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    This is a amazing book. It is suspenseful, well written and I did not wish to place it down. Highly recommend. Must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    I had really mixed feelings about reading this book. 3 women got married to military men and raised there families in the same neighbourhood. The story started out good, then I became depressed, sad then it had a satisfied ending. The method 2 of these men cheated on there wives and asked for a divorce was just unexpectable. No man could be that stupid. I couldn't place the book down, but again I didn't like the method it created me feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    A mate of mine told me about this book and I was immediately taken with the story. I love the core point of private integrity, sincere effort, and honesty in the story. I think that the method the story twists and makes its point at the end is strong and will stick with its target audience. Heck, it will stick with me. But then I was already taken with those values a half century ago. When I see so a lot of young people willing to hack to “get ahead” and the idea that the ends justify the means or that getting your agenda implemented “by any means necessary” seems justified, well, I am horrified. This book makes the opposite and more traditional point. I think the traditional value has a longer term importance where the short term getting it all now seems beautiful to some in the present, it yields a toxic e illustrations for the story are also attractive and add to the interest kids will have in reading the book. This is a story an adult can read with a kid a lot of times without wanting to beat their head versus the wall, unlike so a lot of children’s books that quickly become torture to read over and over and over again.I bought several copies for my grandkids and will hold buying them as fresh grandkids come along. And I will likely give it to other kids for gifts, as well. I think it is that ed by Craig Matteson, Saline, MI

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    One of my all time favorite children's books. Attractive hero building story with gorgeous illustrations. You could look at the detail in the pictures for hours, but the sweet, easy story is the best part of this book. My favorite of all Demi's books. Should be on every child's shelf, especially if you like effortless teaching on the value and power of honesty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Truly enjoyed this novel. Interesting characters and amazing descriptions of the "Far Empty" west Texas.Will be ready for another of this author's novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Perfect first novel look forward to future releases

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Amazing to search a fine fresh author, a master at defining characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    This is the book everyone will love. I laughed, I cried, I was mad and the enchanted. The lives of these powerful women is the excellent book. I felt as if I were right there with them as their lives changed some for better and some for the worse. Loss and love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    I would nor recommend this book. The plot was boring andPredictable. I skimmed through most of it waiting for any kindOf action.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    I found it was fairly simple to obtain pulled into the story. Right from the begin the author has a method of being descriptive as the story unfolds and you learn about the protagonist, a young boy named Donovan. One happening after another unfolds and soon Donovan finds himself in the Australian Outback where he must learn to survive or perish.During Donovan's misadventures where he goes missing, his parents and an older man who was supposed to be keeping an eye on Donovan, have a few humorous happenings that take put while trying to locate the missing boy, that will create you chuckle and even sometimes laugh out l in all the story is unbelievable coming of age tale, which was fun to read, and leaves you hoping for more from the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    I gave this book a four star rating. Probably for younger teens. But I enjoyed the book. Created me feel like I was in Australia. Enjoyed the description of the country and Its History. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    The notice of this story is about telling the truth. I loved how that notice was so clearly demonstrated. I personally did not like the photos simply because the young children I read this too had problem connecting to those images. The photos are an ancient Chinese style done on fans. The photos look like they came out of a museum, not a children book. It is amazing fir children to be exposed to other cultures and their artwork etc, but I just felt the photos did not connect to the 5-6 year olds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    This is a unbelievable book about honesty. I bought this as a bonus for my daughter’s first grade teacher. She hadn’t seen the book before however she really enjoyed it and so did the class! My one mistake was not buying a copy for our house!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Quick paced, gritty, and fairly believable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    I found this story so simple to read, it is very well e characters are simple to recognise and understand Although they do not reflect the majority of families, there are similarities in family ly book for young readers and for parents to read aloud. And a nice relaxing read for us adults who indulge in reading voraciously !!There is a cool notice about families and what is necessary in finitely recommend thisThank you for the low kindle nni Clarke

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    Lots of misspelled words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    Wow so enjoyed this story and characters. The emotions and love these characters have was captivating and amazing. All the heartache shared and the joy found was so compelling and believable. Family is truly of the heart and not necessarily blood as you portrayed in this story. I am hoping there is another fascinating tale with these exceptional characters and hold them coming to see how their lives grow. Thanks for another fascinating storyline and characters!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    WOW!! Carolyn Brown has done it again. This book is full of heartache, hope and love. Tootsie and her deceased husband Smokey were like parents to their neighbors. Carmen, Joanie and Diana felt the same about them. Then Smokey passed away and Tootsie was e ladies are all troops wives whose husbands are all in the same unit. They have each other to lean on when they are deployed. Diana has been divorced for five years. As the husbands are on deployment Tootsie suggests a street trip. Every year she and Smokey took a trip to their first home in Scrap, Texas. She enlists the girls to go on this trip with her in her fresh motor home as this is her first time without Smokey. She is going to have her nephew Luke be the driver.Just before they left Carmen received some devasting news. This created the trip even more important to obtain her mind occupied elsewhere. Yet during the trip the hits just kept coming to Carmen. One had to wonder how she was going to survive it all. The Lord works in strange ways and this trip turned out to be medicine for all. I only mentioned Carmen but Joanie and Diana were blessed on this trip.I want I could say more but I don't wish to spoil it for anyone. You will love these women and Luke also even though you will shed a few tears. I loved every min of it and was sad when it ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    I heard about this attractive story in another book called, Golden, by Joni Hilton. I love children's picture storybooks so I was curious and checked it out. I love it's unbelievable notice of honesty and integrity. It's a parable for what is truly necessary in life! I not only bought the kindle ver for myself, I bought a hardcover copy to give as a gift. It is marketed for ages 4-8, but it's also for those who are young at heart, and anyone who loves books!Note: The kindle ver of any picture book is never going to be as nice as the hardcover copy. But it's still nice to have because it's always with you, and simple to share from an iPad. You just have to learn how to "click" the words on the very first page to enlarge them—in this case, the dedication—and then swipe each page after that to enlarge the rest of the text."You did your best, and your best is amazing enough to show to the Emperor." —Demi, The Empty Pot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    I was well acquainted with the book. It’s an outstanding “character development” story. I used it with adults to illustrate a point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    I loved this story since I was first introduced to it as a kid. It features such an necessary notice that everyone needs to know, regardless of age. Integrity and honesty victory in the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Amazing book! If you like Ace Atkins,James Lee Burke,Larry Brown,David Joy, you need this book!!! Can't wait for next one!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Loved all the characters and the story line. Very simple to follow and switched up point of view. Definitely recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Empty [Book]  2017-12-12 18:0

    Kind of of the wall. I liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    I'm sad, happy, angry; yes, all of my emotions came out as I listened to this book. My heart damage for Carmen, my heart smiled for Diana, and my heart cried and rejoiced for Joanie. This is a unbelievable story. There is romance but it's more of an daily life and daily situations kind of story. Most readers can relate to these characters and the things they experience. The Empty Nesters is not all "feel good". If you are looking for a book that will let you to completely escape, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a well-written, emotion-shaking life story, then this is for you. I can see this book becoming a film and if it ever does, I will be the first one to purchase a ticket to see it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    Diana, Carmen and Joanne are Troops wives who have neighbors for years and their husbands serve together. When their three daughters decide to join the service and leave for primary training they are empty nesters. Carmen gets divorce papers the next day so they are all sad. Their neighbor Tootsie is a latest widow and is grieving her husband.When the women are asked to go on a trip in the large RV Tootsie just bought to go to Snap, Texas where her and her husband always went in the summer they couldn't say no. Her nephew ends up driving the womenAnother amazing story about heartache, endurance and friendship by one of our amazing story tellers. Always amazing to the latest page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Nesters []  2019-12-25 18:0

    This is a wonderful, but very emotional book! I cried a amazing bit. It's a story of three troops wives whose daughters leave for the military after high school graduation. They go on a street trip with their elderly newly widowed neighbor. This reminds me of the author's book The Wedding Pearls except that one has a lot of laugh-out-loud parts. I do, however, highly recommend this book. I love Carolyn Brown's books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    The Amazing Empty: A Novel was a amazing novel. Donovan is fully-rounded character. He is impulsive, mischievous, reckless and loveable. Someone once told me that the difference between boys and girls is that boys will throw themselves out of moving cars just to see what will happen. Donovan is that boy. Melillo writes her main hero in a method that causes adults to chuckle and will hold young readers fully engaged with a desire to know what happens next and if young Donovan will escape the perils he lillo's writing employs a powerful sense of humor but at no time is the plot sacrificed for that laugh out loud moment. Everything that happens within the course of the story-line could realistically happen in life and that very sense of realism is enchanting. On the other hand, my heart tugged a bit as a parent. The idea of not knowing where ones kid is and the danger Donovan faces hurts the soul. His family is worried and they have amazing reason. That the narrative switches back and forth between Donovan and the find for him plays on the emotion of the reader. They're worried and they have amazing e pacing of the plot-line within The Amazing Empty: A Novel created the novel a fast but satisfying read. Either Melillo has a talent for conveying action in the least amount of syllables possible or massive editing went into this amazing work. The end effect is a story that is fast-paced and leaves the reader with their hearts e Amazing Empty: A Novel is a delightful read for all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    I really loved this book, i have to admit the first few pages were slow, but it picked up quick and i could not place it down, it was an simple read, and an adventure in growing up understanding the true world. i have already passed it own to my kids to read, my 12 your daughter is half method through and is already wanting to go on such a journey...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Empty []  2020-1-18 19:43

    Melillo has knocked together a very amazing story. With adventure, amazing characters, and page-turning action. An simple and enjoyable read. Very well done, indeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Empty Pot []  2020-9-7 18:47

    This a delightfully simple story to read, the word to picture ration is unbelievable even for your most impatient listener, the pictures are interesting to look at with a lot of small rewards for the interested viewer. The story is the gem, giving a amazing opportunity to discuss what honesty and integrity and honor are. Loved this story, I will be looking to obtain copies for gifts. Totally recommend 100% and keep no discount for our review or with our purchase, but you're welcome to leave feedback if this was helpful to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    Amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    This book is more about recovering than actually going through the anorexia process. I don't suggest the book if you're not ready to recover. Although, it occasionally gives out some hints and tricks, it's just not worth it. I would recommend reading Wasted by Marya Hornbacher or The Best Small Girl in the Globe if you're still on your journey to becoming a skinnier you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    I could not obtain into this at all. I had to return it in the end. It just didn't grab my attention, no matter how hard I tried.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    I felt like most of the book was really only written to persuade the author that she has indeed overcome her eating disorder. The editing in locations where there were steps or bullet points were so had in some locations that entire words were missing. Just glad it was a quick read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    I'm only about a quarter of the method through this book, but I'm reviewing it now because I really don't think I can be bothered to [email protected]#$%!. My largest problem is the powerful Christian leaning of the book, which I, admittedly, would have known about in advance if I'd read the full description. However, even if I still held those beliefs, this would still be a beautiful not good book. I was hoping for a cohesive story line, but this book is incredibly choppy and fragmented. It seems like the author just wrote down thoughts as they came to her without ever going back to edit. Honestly, with the amount of typos in this book, I really feel like there was no editing involved at all. One final complaint is that this book, at least in what I've read so far, has brought nothing fresh or meaningful to the table in terms of discussion of eating disorders. It's mostly talk about the author's relationship with God with cliche descriptions of avoiding foods in the cafeteria and mates being concerned about weight loss peppered in. Even though I'm not even half method through the book, the author has already started retelling the same stories in various chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    This book cannot be judged by its cover. I felt like this book had so much potential, but the word not good keeps coming to mind. I was so disappointed. Everything the author talked about was in relation to God and the bible. Since I have various religious beliefs, I could not relate to anything the author was going through because I could not obtain past how much religion was the underlying theme to all of her entries. I thought this book was going to be about the author's struggle with her eating disorder, but really it just kept talking about what she felt God wanted her to do and how to deal with an eating disorder while believing in God. I would not recommend anyone purchase this book if their intention is to learn more about eating disorders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    I have read Christie's previous book and thought it was excellent. Along comes a second book and it is written at a more teen oriented audience which I believe is a crucial component in looking at the beginnings of eating ristie admits early on in her book that she is not sure why she is writing the book. She also explains that her spiritual side has developed from living this disease and that she feels the need to pass along her is book is well written, not technical and is a compassionate memoir. She pulls no punches and tells it like it is - does not glamorize the whole eating disorder thing and honestly tries to remember and reflect on the thought patterns as she re-reads some of the entries created in her journal during her struggles.I loved this book because it is down to earth and is aimed at the generation that needs it the most. Eating Disorders ARE NOT cool -Buy this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    I got this book for a school project and I like it a lot. I'd recommend it even for just reading just for fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    I can't quite figure out why the other reviews say so a lot of negative things about this book. Christie is writing from her heart and is writing to offer support and encouragement to others who are experiencing an eating disorder. Every chapter is honest and yet shows hope. Christie's strength to war this war was solely from God and she has one or two verses per chapter, which as a Christian, is perfect. We used this book as a nighttime "devotional" to think over the day and prepare for the next. Some of the things she wrote felt as if she had read my journal! This is a amazing book to read if you are trying to overcome an eating disorder. It will hold you honest but offer you hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empty []  2020-7-2 19:44

    My review mirrors most others. Not only is it primarily bible verses (which is MY fault for not reading the reviews first) but the layout is so crazy that it's difficult to read. A book should be have a flow to it. Unfortunately this one is chopped up so badly with "journal" photos and paragraph comments from others that it's not worth the effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Man, Nature, and the Nature of Man []  2020-1-22 22:41

    Short, but poignant. Strikes home deftly, and makes you think about your put here in reality. Helps you accept yourself and others and nature itself in a much more intelligent, meaningful, and non-violent way. I recommend anything by Watts. He was one of our intellectual shining is audiobook is little compared to the plethora of lectures you can search for free on the Tube of You. Still, it is worth every penny. Especially because you can load it into an iPod and have it on the Alan Watts' books and check out those online lectures. Your life will be changed. For the better. Not by dogma and guilt, but by common sense spirituality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Man, Nature, and the Nature of Man []  2020-1-22 22:41

    This captures bits and pieces of a few of Alan Watts' lectures. I can't think of anyone more enjoyable to listen to than Watts, and there are only a handful of people with his level of wisdom. When Watts gave lectures he didn't test to persuade anyone to anything, he just seeks to entertain you... spiritually and philosophically. So you might not obtain the best of Watts' 'arguments', but it's Watts, anything and everything the man did is precious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Man, Nature, and the Nature of Man []  2020-1-22 22:41

    I want you could obtain this in DVD but they never did it yet... Amazing stuff

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Man, Nature, and the Nature of Man []  2020-1-22 22:41

    cant go wrong with Alan Watts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington: The Indispensable Man [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    It’s so poorly edited, at least in the Kindle version, that it’s tough to read. So much amazing substance but I couldn’t obtain through it because at some points it read like nonsense. I’d love to recommend this but read at your own risk.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington: The Indispensable Man [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    Flexner has made what seems very hard to search nowadays: a balanced biography. The research and conclusions are solid, and it is an enjoyable read, even entertaining at times. For a scholarly work, this was a welcome e illustrations and formatting of this edition created the purchase well worth the additional cash spent; it is a quality book that I will hold around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lawnmower Man [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    It Lacks Qualcast Quality. The Lawnmower Man is directed by Brett Leonard who also co-writes the screenplay with Gimel Everett. It stars Pierce Brosnan, Jeff Fahey, Jenny Wright, Geoffrey Lewis, Jeremy Slate and Dean Norris. Melody is by Dan Wyman and cinematography by Russell Carpenter. Dr. Lawrence Angelo (Brosnan) is a huge mover in the science of virtual reality. When he tries his fresh technology on mentally challenged gardener Jobe Smith (Fahey), it elevates him to a higher intelligence and it’s not long before Jobe acquires scary fresh powers… Originally meant to be, and titled as, Stephen King’s Lawnmower Man, the movie eventually, after a King lawsuit, ended up bearing very small resemblance to the author’s short story. There’s a couple of little ligaments that link the two, but in the main (not Maine) this Lawnmower Man is its own entity and an obvious attempt to money in on the then virtual reality zeitgeist. Lawnmower Man has a cult fan base, of that there is no doubt, where much like Tron from 10 years earlier, the effects work and the capturing of something very much being “in” with the youth of the time, has proved perpetually appealing to nostalgists. But strip away these and you have your primary Frankenstein story for the 90s, a beautiful standard story lacking smart smarts or deep thematic points of worth. And then of course there is the bizarre fact of having a movie decrying the advancement of computer technology, by using computer technology to create the film’s strongest moments! Hee. It’s only adequately performed by the cast, and Leonard’s direction matches his writing, which is mundane when not about the visual effects; effects work that dated very quickly as it happened. Other cuts and sequels would follow, the former didn’t improve the same primary issues of the theatrical cut, the latter releases proved to be laughably bad. The Lawnmower Man, an interesting film in the context of its time, and certainly fun enough for those who were there cloaked in a visually inspired warm glow, but it has not been a must see movie for anyone else since 1995. 4/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Man in the Shadow [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    The Bingham County Bully. Man in the Shadow is directed by Jack Arnold and written by Gene L. Coon. it stars Jeff Chandler, Orson Welles, Colleen Miller, Ben Alexander, John Larch and Barbara Lawrence. Uncredited melody is by Hans J. Salter and Herman Stein, and cinematography by Arthur E. Arling. The cattle city of Spurline is ruled by Virgil Renchler (Welles), one man refuses to bow to his despotic rule - Sheriff Ben Sadler (Chandler). Obreos No Son Permitidos A Traves De Esta Cerca. The above statement means that field hands are not permitted beyond this fence, it's an opening salvo that greets viewers of this atmospheric and relevant CinemaScope picture, and it's something that perfectly sets up the unseemly tone of the story. The story is easy enough, a city is run by an unsavoury business man who thinks he and his cronies are above the law, the townsfolk think he is as well and tow the line, even in view of the overt racism and treatment to those of other ethnicity. When a murder is committed it brings in the upright and loyal to the law Sheriff, who as you might guess will have to stand alone versus tyranny. "Now you're shocked? All you decent people were shocked? For god's sake why? Because my name's Ben Sadler instead of Juan Martine, cuz I'm a tax payer instead of a drifter?" With mood established, both in narrative thrust and monochrome magic, movie is more concerned with political bile, the abuse of power and troubled consciousness than being an action piece. You may well know how this is all going to end, but it's told and performed in such a gripping fashion that it holds court from first frame til last. A number of striking photos would grace a lot of a movie noir, the night shots of the town, a dastardly crime perpetrated in the shadow of a swinging lamp, the ominous lighting of the Renchler Ranch, and then there's the potency of the criminal acts, which are admirably constructed. Both Arnold and Arling proving to have keen eyes for visual impact. Welles doesn't have to stretch himself but makes a telling tag as the huge bad, while Larch does a nice line in snarly henchmen villainy. Sadly where Miller is concerned, as Renchler's daughter it's a token role that any gal could have played, the role seemingly only serving to have her strip to her undies and be annoyed with her dad. Head and shoulders above everyone is Chandler, there are those who call him wooden (amongst over things), not a bit of it. The right role, such as this, showcases his worth, his subtleties, his physicality and a calming grace that makes one lament his too short career and life. Thematically this sort of piece has been done much better elsewhere, but this is laudable items all told and well worth discovering for potential first time viewers. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Man in the Vault [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Bowling for deposit boxes. Adapted by Burt Kennedy from the Frank Gruber novel, The Lock and the Key, Man in the Vault is a minor 50s crime flick that has somehow been lumped into the movie noir encyclopedias. Andrew V. McLaglen directs and William Campbell, Karen Sharpe, Anita Ekberg and Berry Kroeger star. Story has Campbell as a locksmith who gets coerced into a deposit box theft just as Sharpe turns his head romantically. Amazingly, nothing much happens, there's a lot of talking and pouting, Campbell's teddy-boy quiff always holds court, while Kroeger tries to eat all the indoor scenery. William H. Clothier is utterly wasted on photography, only really getting to use his skills when the story enters out onto the true L.A. locations; which are actually the film's only saving grace. OK! The deposit box sequence has a modi of suspense, the mystery element as Campbell tries to fathom out what's going on also works, but come the weak and cop-out finale you may well want you had done the gardening instead. 5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    This android games controls are messed up,when I go left or right I jump and move that method and that's a disadvantage

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    The android game is set up extremely not good and the controls are awful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    Most annoying and ugliest android game I'd ever seen why can NPC's just 3 or 4 hit me and I die this android game is the most ugliest android game don't download this promise the owner is copying the original android game so don't download it ok!!!!!!!👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    Very funny and indeed addictive. It is my destressing game. Lovin it. And also, at the next modernize create the NPC more smarter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    Stupid android game ever I can not slay the yellow dude f this android game it sums :((((((( STUPID GAME!!!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    This android game suck do not obtain this android game it will create you rage quit why quit

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    Not poor

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    This android game is so amazing and i can fly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stick Man: The Fight [App]  2017-11-12 13:0

    Dont dowload

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man of Legends [Book]  2017-10-26 18:0

    Ok, can I just say that I am sick of writing critical reviews. Nobody likes them. They don't create me happy. They don't create the author happy. I frequently have to deal with mad comments... The entire operation is about as fun as a kick in the teeth. But in this case, I don't know what else to say, because I hated this book. I quit at pg 83, and there isn't a single one of those pages I didn't have to force myself to s, there absolutely is a possibility it got better past the point where I stopped...But quite frankly, life is too short to waste on a book that is incapable of engaging me in a whopping 83 pages, particularly considering all the books out there that are. Books capable of engaging me within the first paragraph of the first page. I wish to spend my life on THOSE books. Also, I'd like to say up front here that, "the begin of this book was boring/confusing/you-have-to-read-past-100-pages", is a common theme, even among five star reviews. If that’s ok with you, then obtain it!!! But again, life is too short for to why I hated it, it's hard to place into words. I don't know where to start. The book opened on a dream, following the main protagonist (who I didn't realize was the main protagonist until page 50 or so) and I couldn't have cared less about him OR his dream. I didn't even know him, and the dream was completely irrelevant and boring. After he woke up, he almost immediately gave a description of himself by looking in a mirror--something I absolutely hate since I simply CANNOT connect with a hero that way--and after that, the book launched into a literary ocean of frustration, confusion, and riously, I really do hate critical reviews, but at some point around page 60 all I wanted to do was begin bashing my head versus the ere were so a lot of POVs I couldn't hold track of them all. It wasn't until around the aforementioned page 50 that I realized what I was following was: Will. And other random, irrelevant characters whose only purpose seemed to be to observe Will, for the benefit of the reader. And all of it was just one boring rehash after another of a point about Will’s hero that had already been driven home. Honestly, how a lot of times do you have to observe someone handing out charity cash to understand that yes, obviously, he’s a amazing guy? at particular stage was repeated about 6 times, but I got it the first time, so the other 5 were epically unnecessary.And as for the rest, it wasn’t any better. I didn’t care about anyone, including Will. I hadn’t been given a reason to care. I couldn’t obtain into anyone’s head. I had no idea who was actually relevant to the story later on, and who was just a convenient prop for demonstrating bits of info or more of Will’s “character”. I didn’t care about the mystery either. It turns out (though I didn’t really obtain this from the description) that it’s a religious thriller. Off the top of my head I’d say like Angels and Demons, but that book had me hooked from the first is one only fed me vague tips about some mysterious darkness, in a manner that was prominent enough it was obvious I should care about said hints, but so vague and with so small info there is no method I could possibly know enough to feel genuinely disturbed as, yes, I so obviously should have.I cared about nothing and no one, and so finally, I allowed myself to quit. It wasn’t the too-many-POVs that got me. I recently read Into the Water (14 POVs) and gave it 4 stars. It was the fact that I was 83 pages in, and I still hadn’t been given a single legitimate reason why I should WANT to hold reading. Not. ONE!!!I give this 2 stars because while I hated just about everything else about this book, the writing was solid. I’m absolutely positive a lot of people will love this book, and that it will obtain its fair share of glowing reviews.But I’m not one of them. And this review isn’t it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man of Legends [Book]  2017-10-26 18:0

    Initially, I didn't think I'd finish the book as it started out jumping from hero to hero which I found confusing but once I figured out who was who, the format worked well. It follows the travels of Will, a man of a lot of names since he cannot die or age.we follow him over two centuries always a step ahead oh the Catholic church who is trying to capture him. He runs into a lot of we'll historical figures asking the method and gives them suggestions to better some project they are working on or in sine other method impacts the world. It's a fun story. Just hang on through that awkward first part you'll love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Iron Man: The Gauntlet [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    I love Eion's style, and grew up on Marvel, so this was the excellent match. Don't expect the high fantasy style of Brooks or Jordan. This is easy fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Best Man [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    I don't even know where to begin with this review. To simply say I loved this book is a large understatement. I adored Frankie and Aiden. Frankie is sassy, stubborn, loyal and smart. She is tough and I loved getting glimpses of her softer side. Aiden is the ultimate playboy billionaire. Watching him fall hard for Frankie was a attractive thing! The banter in this book is hilarious! Add in some unbelievable secondary characters (some I loved and some I wanted to throw in a pool) this book was just absolutely amazing. I know I will be rereading soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rosetta Man [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    The Rosetta Man is a fun read that is full of wonder and humor. One of the things I liked most about this novel is the sense of the absurd that Claire McCague infuses into a story about first contact. It's a serious topic, to be sure, but she is able to lighten it up and give it a sense of depth at the same time. One of the most impressive things is how each hero has their own voice, their own perspective and they don't end up lumped together. This was just the kind of science fiction that you'll wish to read if Hitchhiker's Tutorial is something you enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rosetta Man [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    As a reader, I was drawn to The Rosetta Man, but as a reviewer, I'm having a hard time explaining why. I enjoyed the speculative math the real-life-scientist author wove into this fascinating energetic tale, but as a story, it was rather like the long buildup to the anticlimactic Burst.I found stage transitions a bit jumpy, with lots of characters to hold straight. I never really got a sense of the sort of person Harry is and only a broad-brush feel for most of the other featured characters, some of whom got lost in the crowd. I was amazed how, for a synesthete with sensitivity to energy projections from animals and aliens, not good sleep-deprived Estlin remained so interactive with his colleagues and the Waes. And I really wanted to learn more about the Wae collectors.I'm guessing, from the abrupt, not-really-resolving-anything ending, a sequel may bring more substance to the speculation. With some structural planning, developmental editing, and more proofing, this could be provoking and overall readable. As it is I'd give it a 3½☆, but for the potential and the quirks, I'll round it up to 4☆.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sonny The Mad Man [App]  2018-3-6 13:0

    This android game was much better than i expected dude ! , although i'd seen a lot of ppl saying the controls are horrible before i download this , i did not expect that the controls were that poor lol, the moving button should be larger , the whole left-bottom side of the screen should just be used for moving the character, not also controlling the character's camera when i "missclick" the button tho,also the shoot button should be improved too, it should be able to move the camera while shooting . The video test ideas are quite special awesome ! Multiplayers mode would be superb tho , but i think you seriously have to improve the controls FIRST , its really ruining ur awesome game. Nice work anyways :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sonny The Mad Man [App]  2018-3-6 13:0

    Controls are horrible

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sonny The Mad Man [App]  2018-3-6 13:0

    This android game is actually fun to play but I kinda want the aiming in this android game wasn't odd since you can aim by touching anywhere one the screen which makes it kinda hard to aim but it isn't that annoying tbh. Overall a unbelievable game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sonny The Mad Man [App]  2018-3-6 13:0

    Controls are garbage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Abolition of Man [Book]  2018-4-1 18:0

    Post-Modernism is like a copper nail in an oak tree. Eventually it poisons the tree and the oak dies. Thinking that amazing and evil have no relevancy to life destroys a culture and leaves it barren. That is the direction we are heading in. We are authors of our own destruction by believing that amazing and evil are subjective and not real. This poisoning has been going on so long that it takes on the qualities of a cancer. The body never wars cancer because it does not recognize it as a disease. The cancer then metastases and kills the body. This book was written more than 80 years ago, and yet yzes our current condition. When truth no longer seems available, we seek something like it out. Why do you think young people are drawn to radical Islam? Read this book before your eyes are sown shut by skeptical, self centered, and mean spirited elitists disguised as social leaders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Abolition of Man [Book]  2018-4-1 18:0

    I had never even heard of this boo before taking the Hillsdale course on C.S. is little - not much more than pamphlet size - so I thought I would read it before bedtime. One week later, I am still enjoying (savoring) each sentence and do believe it will be finished tomorrow. When it is, I shall wait a week - then read it again.C.S.Lewis has always been an simple read for me. Each paragraph in 'The Abolition of Man' causes me to stop and think - and solidify my thought before I go on. It is a magnificent polemic that has created me recognize and review much of my culture I took for granted. Some trends that Lewis has pointed out to me, I now knowingly embrace - others, I carefully reject.I would recommend this book to anyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Abolition of Man [Book]  2018-4-1 18:0

    I've read this book several times now. This is a must have in order to understand Lewis and the surrounding culture in which he writes. It's certainly not as theological as the other writings, but you learn some amazing insights into the broader liberalization of our culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Abolition of Man [Book]  2018-4-1 18:0

    Had to read it three times, but it was worth it. Interesting to see his insights in light of what is going on in the 21st Century.A must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Misremembered Man [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    A stand alone read. I read this book back in 2011. I didn't know how to write a review or even that reviews even existed. It was one story that has stayed with me. It is sad on so a lot of levels. Kids separated from their family. A spinster living alone, an old bachelor lonely. They meet but it does not turn out like you think. She is educated, a teacher, and she starts to investigate records at the Catholic orphanage. The findings are is is a amazing read. Some books/stories just stay with you over time and this is one of those for me. it is not a romance but there is love involved. The conditions of life at the time of writing were not good. It is hard to see how they could not be depressed. I guess if you have never had more you don't know what you are is is a amazing read and I highly recommend it.I was not paid for this review. I am not an author nor do I know one. I am not kin to this writer. I am a reader and this is my opinion, nothing more, nothing less. 2/2/18

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Misremembered Man [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I laughed a lot of times while reading this novel. Yet, the story is so sad and bewitching. The characters are well-written and painfully lost. The painful experiences they endured is hard to read. But still, it is uncanny how optimism laced throughout the story.Jamie and Lydia's connection is clever and all the other well-written characters that shaped their lives gives hope to their troubled past. Reading the book, which takes put in Ireland, I felt like a curious bystander watching the idiocracies of a culture I long to know even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Misremembered Man [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    As I was reading this book, I was thinking how I would certainly contain in my review how I didn't like reading of the poor and hideous treatment the orphan boys received at the orphanage: and suggesting that much of it could have been minimized. Then I search out in the 'afterword' written by the author that she did research about those Catholic orphanages and that, while the instances in the book were indeed fiction written by her, each of them represented actual happenings that had occurred to true boys in orphanages in that country over a period of years. And that the latest orphanage like those only closed in 1999! It created me sick to realize that there were nuns who could actually engage in such barbaric and inhumane treatment of precious and innocent CHILDREN!! And be so devoid of emphathy - yet do so in the name of God!As I read the book I kept thinking that there was no method a tortured individual like Jamie could possibly wind up finding a wife or getting to have a true family and the kind of life he so deserved and so desperately wanted. And that his becoming 'paired' with Lydia would be a downright insult to the reader. So the ending was not just very nice but also a pleasant surprise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Inside Out Man []  2020-1-6 18:52

    The Inside Out Man by Fred Strydom is an unusual novel with an intriguing but rather convoluted storyline.Raised by a single mother who died when he was a teenager, Bentley “Bent” Croud is a talented jazz pianist who plays in local bars a few times a week and lives in a rundown apartment he has dubbed the “Crack Radisson”. Learning of his barely recalled father’s death, he receives a bit of a puzzling inheritance. Not long after hearing this news, he is offered a hefty sum to perform at weekend party on Leonard Fry’s huge estate. After the weekend is over, Fry has another proposal for Bent which is rather bizarre. In exchange for access to all of his possessions for the next year, Bent agrees to serve Fry three meals a day after he locks himself in a room in his mansion. At first enjoying his luxurious accommodations, things take a rather odd turn after Bent meets Leonard’s friend, nt is an interesting hero who does not seem overly unhappy with his life when he first meets Fry. He has a passing acquaintance with his neighbors and although the bars where he plays piano are not high end, he is comfortable with the bartenders and patrons. Bent agonizes over his decisions to Leonard’s two very various proposals, but in the end, he is curious enough to agree to his benefactor’s somewhat peculiar e Inside Out Man is well-written and at first the storyline is engaging and interesting. However, the novel quickly takes a very strange and dark turn and readers will have a difficult time knowing whether or not Bent’s experiences are real. Fred Strydom brings the confusing novel to a twist-filled conclusion that is somewhat ambiguous and rather unsatisfying.I received a complimentary copy for review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everlasting Man []  2020-1-18 20:59

    What a refreshing reminder of the glory that is man. Chesterton reminds us that for all the similarities between man and the other animals, the gulf between us is even greater. In the same method he then shows us that for all the superficial similarities between ancient and other religions and Christianity, the gulf is even greater. He makes us see that the most necessary parts really are the only parts that matter. I have been forever liberated from superficial sophistry that focuses only on the superficial for the sole purpose of obscuring the only things that matter. Thank you, G.K. What a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everlasting Man []  2020-1-18 20:59

    I have read much of Chesterton's works including his Father Brown books. This one is one of the best that I have read to date on my faith. I know that it was written some time ago but it seemed so fresh, so up-to-date. The title is the give away. The ideas about which Chesterton writes are ageless. But he is able to write about them in original, precise, and modern language. Anyone who is Christian ought to read this magnificent work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mismeasure of Man []  2020-1-16 21:38

    The Mismeasure of Man lays out the fallacies inherent in our too-frequent attempt at reifying something as complex as intelligence. Gould exposes the unfortunate history of our pseudoscientific endeavors where evident truth is traded for social dogma and institutional convenience. The implications of this history are alive today, restricting opportunity and stifling humanity’s possibility at achieving real equality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mismeasure of Man []  2020-1-16 21:38

    This is brilliant encyclopedic work on the scientific rigors used over the past two hundred years to rank the intellectual and biological qualities of humankind. The author methodically exposes how pseudo- science has made so a lot of processes and treatises to prove the superiority of the white male . Enlightening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion Man Rescue [App]  2019-3-19 13:32

    I love this game. Its is such a amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lucky Man [App]  2019-4-25 13:49

    I honestly don't see any flaws about it,so amazing job creators

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lucky Man [App]  2019-4-25 13:49

    if it wasn't for my battery draining away I would be able to stop

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lucky Man [App]  2019-4-25 13:49

    Amazing Graphics I love the bonus))

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lucky Man [App]  2019-4-25 13:49

    Very nice app,easy to use ....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slender Man: The Forest [App]  2019-1-22 0:41

    It's a amazing game. as long as you dont look at him he cant damage you. does anyone know what that girl was. she just popped up on the screen all of a sudden she has huge teeth and a twisted up face. shes not like slenderman where he's in the game, she pops up on the screen. allow me know

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slender Man: The Forest [App]  2019-1-22 0:41

    it's fun and not to scary and I'm in middle school and not even close to being scared I love it but create it a small more scary seriously this should be 10+.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386