Read the end of food reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the end of food reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


    Add your opinion on the end of food or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    This is a most thoght-provoking book. I was introduced to it through an interview with the author on NPR and was intrigued because he had written The End of Oil a few years ago and was beautiful much spot on about what has transpired. Meal - its production, consumption, history, etc. - is so well-covered in this book that I can never, ever think about meal in the same light, or not think about it for that matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    amazing purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    A dense amazing read that points to the shortcomings in the meal system and the a lot of alternate polyag systems that could replace it if the intransigence of the entrenched rich corporate farming system can be overcome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    This is a surprising book of interesting facts and figures about an industry that affects us all on a everyday basis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    The End of Meal follows on Paul Roberts' End of Oil. Ok, so this guy seems to be finding a lot of ends of things, so isn't this just an exaggeration? Sadly, no.With the same comprehensive, reportorial style as his fantastic The End of Oil: On the Edge of a Perilous Fresh World, Roberts delivers a compelling and chilling view of where things are headed in the globe of the meal all of us eat every day. Nuances, details, linkages and causalities are all explored dispassionately and might think of this book as just another apocalyptic view of the world. There are plenty of dark views to be had on the bookshelf, to be sure. But End of Meal is as complete, solid and factual as End of Oil.I read End of Oil when it came out in 2005. A lot of of its observations, predictions, and revelations, were dismissed by a lot of as overblown and sensational. Some were difficult to understand and accept. But three and a half years later, his observations are widely accepted.End of Meal has the same quality -- one can hardly complete this book without having a deep and necessary understanding of one of the most primary elements of the human race. This is a must-read book for anyone who would like to peek into the future -- and take some actions now that will benefit not just the environment, but your health and well berts has done it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    Perfect work. Very informative and nicely written. Simple to read, fun to pursue and very enlightening.I learned a tremendous amount about our meal system and how it works which makes it easier to understand some of the difficulties we are encountering.Highly recommended to anyone with an interest. That would be any of us as we all eat, don't we.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    Anyone who has read Michael Pollen will wish to read this book. It is as thought-provoking and disturbing as Pollen's "Omnivore's Dilemma". Paul Roberts is making it clear that the current state of the meal supply is unsustainable and without action, the human race will soon run into trouble. Read this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    Outstanding book -- worth every min of your time to read -- a must read text!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    An insightful, analytic, unbiased view of the meal economy as it exists today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Food []  2020-1-26 23:45

    I have purchased more than 2 dozen copies of this title and given them to friends, politicians and meal industry people. A balanced and often scary analysis of the global meal system. From water, to industrialization to disease to hunger and obesity Roberts covers it all. Exceptionally well written. No time for reading ---- obtain the audio book! Just read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    As the author so vividly points out, it's not religion, but FAITH which is the most risky component in society. His diatribes are meaty and relentless, yet the juggernaut slows towards the end where he explores mysticism as a viable alternative to dogma. It seemed as if an all-out frontal assault dug in for a holding action. Nonetheless, he scores a number of impressive points whilst examining the retardant effects religion has on knowledge & culture throughout history--and especially TODAY.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    The author would have been better served by an editor who kept the book more technical in tone and scope throughout. A book on best practices for prevention of health issues was what I'd hoped for and was anticipating after I read the sample. Instead, I was subjected to repetitious opinionating. My thanks to Amazon for a and removal of this book from my Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    A very optimistic view of the chance of ending illness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Nature []  2020-1-30 19:46

    Quite a bit "out of date" at this time and a bit depressing though somewhat "optimistic" given show reality as perspective on its original release date. Still, the End of Nature is useful in its comprehensive treatment of the topic and remains what I believe to be an necessary read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Age+ [App]  2020-4-19 13:23

    Very helpful. Have learned a lot!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Road []  2020-2-4 10:28

    Such an interesting book. I started reading it casually and soon things got serious. I found myself reading it and then sitting in my vehicle in the parking lot because I couldn't stop reading. I had to know what was going on. Every time I though things may be getting settled down, here we go again with a fresh bit of drama. I also love to read about how life was during various times in various areas. I found myself getting attached to the characters. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Road []  2020-2-4 10:28

    The storyline was O.K., although I kept waiting to hear about whatever happened to the dogs. Also, although I realize this novel is told from a child's perspective, I couldn't obtain past the numerous spelling and grammatical errors. I was never sure if the story was purposely written that way, or if it was the effect of not good proofreading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    I agree with his primary premise that police are called upon to handle social issues that are simply outside their role. Police are expected to solve every social issue and they just can’t do it. But from there he goes into a long rant on a dozens of subjects and a lot of vague solutions. It’s the typical liberal agenda of pointing out the issue but only offering platitudes and vague ideas for solving them. The first few chapters are interesting but it went downhill quick from there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    I love this book! It takes on another perspective of the issue of policing and over policing, as well as the issue of officers being trained for combat/war type situations rather than how to act when you see a easy situation in the street. Awesome book, I completely recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    Great, powerful, necessary book. I only want Professor Vitale had more answers as to how we can fix the issues that he so clearly diagnoses!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Normal []  2020-6-2 18:26

    Stephanie is obviously not very likable, as others have noted. But I am basing my review on the book itself not on her personality. The book is a good, simple read. Stephanie's anger is understandable, but probably not completely rational at times. It seems like she was beautiful mean and nasty towards members of her husband's family even long before Bernie was arrested. I understand her pain and anger towards the Madoffs to an extent, but her husband ultimately created a very selfish, stupid decision to end his life and leave his four kids without their dad. This is a very sad story, without any true resolution or sense of peace at the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    Any fan of metalcore needs to own this immediately, period. This is Killswitch's best album (apologies to the AOJB fans) and also a amazing gateway for those looking to dip into the more extreme forms of metal. I could pick 3/4 of the album to recommend here, but suffice it to say that Rose of Sharyn and the title track are the cream of the crop as two of my favorite songs ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Spear []  2020-7-31 20:8

    Such sacrifice and sorrow. Such redemption and joy. A people given a fresh method of life that stops the killing, but at a not good price. This film created me look into my own heart and wonder. I know we each have our own paths in life and in death, but I feel like my path is little compared to what these and so a lot of Christian martyrs have traveled. Hebrews 11:37-39 They were stoned, they were sawed in two, they were place to death by the sword. They went around in sheepskins and goatskins, destitute, oppressed, and mistreated. The globe was not worthy of them. They wandered in deserts and mountains, and hid in caves and holes in the ground. These were all commended for their faith, yet they did not keep what was promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Spear []  2020-7-31 20:8

    My opinion this was a amazing story that I never obtain tired. It's awesome what love for one another can accomplish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Spear []  2020-7-31 20:8

    This film was based on a real story and I can tell you as a descendant of a native culture I do not search this a racist movie at all. It's a movie based on a real story of one man who really wanted to create a difference in attempting to save a tribe from decimation by modern day people and from each other while at the same time trying to save their souls. But that's not what the movie's about . It's about forgiveness. The scenery is spectacular and the people are beautiful. Just watching helped me escape the current globe we are in with our lockdown. I had so much joy following their and secluded life. I hope at this point they are hidden from this virus. It's a compelling story with a lot of action and violence which you will search in any part of the globe that is untamed. But the necessary part is the journey in which they're not only saved as a people But saved as individuals. The main hero reaches a point in his life where he is awakened to his own heart and the kindness very deep within humanity. And thank God it was through Amazing people with no hidden self agenda who created contact with them. The casting was excellent!!! If you obtain a possibility take a look at the documentary. I am saddened at the passing of the main hero Mincaye who the story is mostly about passed away earlier this week. on you can search his lovely obituary called REMEMBERING Mincaye by Steve Saint. There are a few short movies about his first travel to the US and exposure to a modern globe he knew nothing of. Seeing things almost with the eyes of a child. Such a amazing movie I encourage you to watch it. It will blow your mind and tug at your heart strings.End of the Spear should really be seen by all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    Although written almost 40 years ago (1978) it is as real today as it was then. The globe and its leaders haven't changed their stripes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Nature []  2020-1-30 19:46

    So, I am finally reading The End of Nature; one of my sisters who doesn't even read that much raved and told me to read it. I remember being so impressed by Bill McKibben when he published it (in the Fresh Yorker I think), as he is the same age as me, and I admired such eloquence, scholarship and amazing writing from someone in their late twenties. And now, finally reading this book, I am thinking, well, I am even more impressed, because I am so struck by how attractive the writing is in this book, on nature itself, and on man's view or idea of nature. The ideas of separateness, boundaries, limits, and humility, and that these are amazing things, run through my mind as I read this book. The issues existing in 1989 from global warming create me think that the book was written only recently. Anyway, I recently read Eaarth, Deep Economy, and Enough (another REAL eye-opener for me), and I surely appreciate this man (and his concern, and care, and action, to obtain us cracking on this big, huge problem).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Nature []  2020-1-30 19:46

    Receipt book on time have not had time to read of course thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    This book simplifies the complexity of vital developments event in medicine today and teaches us how to create the most of what's available, as well as what's soon to come. Dr. Agus explains the workings of the body that is easily understood, At the end of each chapter he lists necessary Health Rules. I bought mine years ago and bought this one for a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    I liked the easy wording so I could understand all the medical aspects..and especially liked the chapter on Vitamins and vitamin supplements..I brought it to my d he took me off all but two of my vitamins! What a saving..I suggest everyone read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    Amazing book, amazing price...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    Sam Harris's brilliant argument versus dogmatism and religious moderates isn't only effective regarding religion, it's effective regarding any problem in life. Follow the evidence, use the methods of science to search what is objectively true, and create your decision based on what is true. Giving credence and respect to beliefs with no evidence is something that our society needs to do away with. Feelings aren't facts and Sam makes that point in a calm yet forceful argument.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    This is the first album I've had by them and I really like it now, though it took multiple playthroughs before I finally appreciated how amazing they are. Intense metalcore melody with amazing screams mixed with deep, melodic singing create this one of the best bands in the genre. Their guitarists are very creative and talented, making that the best part of this band. Recommend to anyone into this sort of music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Age+ [App]  2020-4-19 13:23

    This application is so amazing. I'm glad Endtime Ministries released to where anyone in the globe can just go on there phone and can excess this necessary information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Road []  2020-2-4 10:28

    I loved this uldn't place it down.I will definitely read more books by this ep up the amazing ni Healy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Road []  2020-2-4 10:28

    I thought it was a very amazing book and had a lot of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Road []  2020-2-4 10:28

    Recommend "End of The Road" to anyone with an interest in or connection with the Southern Applachians. Just had to hold reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Spear []  2020-7-31 20:8

    If only all people would respect and treat others as they wish to be treated and be a amazing example as these missionaries did, the globe would be a better place. Even if you don't agree with them , you have to respect all the courage and faith that it took to do what they did. I both admire them and respect them for their amazing faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Spear []  2020-7-31 20:8

    Though the film started out interesting, and the areas are beautiful, it's hard to ignore the fact that the the ageless story of Christians thinking their religion is superior to others and destroying cultures is still accepted. Then considering the a lot of diseases the natives were exposed to be said Christians wiped out whole villages also takes put in this film I search it hard to believe she reviews found this story inspiring. Some of the native actors did well. I just want there was ore truth in the story brief before I obtain invested in these types of movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    Muggeridge reminds us that there is really nothing fresh under the sun. This book is a excellent antidote to the modern culture and a timely explanation of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    Thought provoking

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Normal []  2020-6-2 18:26

    While I found it to be a very interesting read, I couldn't support but wonder how the author & her husband were allowed to hold 3 multi million dollar properties. Yes, it seemed that the husband didn't have anything to do with the ponzi scheme, but one has to wonder if the other trading firm - which he ran, could have existed without the millions of dollars pumped into the other company through ill gotten gains. You can't really feel poor for her, as it doesn't seem that the author has ever had to work & even after the collapse of the company, she's still out taking surfing lessons in Nantucket whiles 100s of other people and charities are left penniless. The other thing that struck me is that she expected Ruth Madoff to abandon her husband of 50 years for her sons, but had no issue writing him letters in jail. It's horrible what happened to her & that her husband killed himself, but the only people you really can feel poor for are his children. She comes across as a spoiled, bitter woman & you can't really feel poor for her. I purchased the book for $0.01 on Amazon. It is a really fast read, I read it in 1 day, so if you wish it, do yourself a favor & obtain it from the library or it from a reseller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    "The issue is policing itself." True. Once dismissing all the excuses out there of what is wrong with policing, Professor Vitale analyzes the issue and comes up with deep solutions for a fix. Inside of ten chapters--everything from The School to prison pipeline to the battle on drugs--the book captures the essence of why this institution has been a complete failure. Police in the US use their weapons more than police in all other industrial countries in the globe and this is a significant finding. Th question is why? The discussions of policing, gender & race are necessary too. Policing work (chapter 6) is excellent. The discussion of Harvard professor Henry Louis Gates tells the story of how even affluent Black people are policed. Finally, the conclusion calls for an end of militarized policing. I agree. EXCELLENT. RECOMMENDED!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    Solid book overall. Author makes amazing points about police officers being wrongly relied upon to be mental health professionals, counselors, mentors, social workers, juvenile psychologists, etc etc along with their responsibilities as law enforcement. The flawed US educational system and mental health care system are two most notable problems that have forced increased interaction with police by vulnerable populations that have been otherwise given up on. Amazing chapters and some solid reform ideas for the subjects of... police in schools, police dealing with emotionally disturbed people, prostitution, homelessness and some parts of the drug chapter.1 star removed because in some cases he overgeneralizes people from various backgrounds specifically minorities, people living in poverty, police, government. In some cases if feels like he addresses minorities and people living in poverty as if they are all of a related mindset and view themselves as helpless victims of attacks by the government and don't control the individual outcomes of their own lives. Also the solutions to some issues are in my opinion unrealistic, example - Take guns away from the police in the United States. Overall the author has some amazing ideas and I learned some valuable things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    Must Read. Every citizen regardless of where you land on policy should is will affect your stance on law enforcement, regardless of ideals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    How I want that this book had been available 40 years ago when I was having doubts about my faith in middle school. To have known that there were so a lot of others like myself who did not place constraints upon their questioning would have been so incredibly liberating and saved me from an extra 10 years of slipping, sliding and unguided pointless research. To be sure, the find continues, but on far sturdier cannot be overstated the liberating result of Harris' constant calling out of the incredulousness of the magical and completely unverifiable claims of millennia old religions. Also refreshing is to bring in some history about how those claims have been used to justify some of humanity's most problematic traits like racism, mob violence, misogyny and the like. He makes the necessary observation that in no other spheres of life do we rely on millennia old knowledge. To truly live as Jesus would have, test using 2000 year old medicine, or dress in the same cloth, or grow your meal the same way, or travel the same way, (we could go on).Once, in a family discussion (argument) about the merits of allowing the teaching of 'intelligent design' in public schools on the basis of being 'fair and balanced', I allowed that would be acceptable when Sunday schools, in the spirit of reciprocity, would be mandated to also teach evolution. I now have another book I'd like to bring to both classes - The End of Faith!! May I live so long to see the day (sigh).In a various direction, an eye opener for me was Harris' pointed confrontation of the Islamic faith. On that score, he almost becomes an ally of my, mostly right-wing - gun friendly - soldiers for the Christian faith - mates and family. I wouldn't be surprised if some would complain by claiming that he is in some method possibly racially or tribally prejudiced, but it seems to me that this is simply going after the 'low hanging fruit' that is in our headlines almost daily. He makes a telling point that we don't see a lot of Christian suicide bombers. And so, rather than relying on dusty history to create the point of how religious faith might have been abused in the, possibly irrelevant past, he brings it into the show day where it can't be as easily denied. (I want he would have turned his sharp mind versus the modern day faith healers like Benny Hinn and his ilk.)Highly stimulating and highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    Oh this book... I am very picky when it comes to books. So kind of take my rating as you will. The spacing between lines and words makes this book visually unappealing and hard to read. Outside of the looks of the book it is truly packed full of knowledge... Just mostly banter though... Why all religion is poor blah blah blah (which i agree being an Atheist) BUT just wasnt hitting on a lot for me. Nothing i havent picked up by reading an actual bible. A lot of quoteing2 and acknowledgments. Witch trials is probably the most interesting part of the book bc there is an actual story line d to thumb through but not a read and read again for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    Real to his reputation, Sam Harris is extremely well thought out, speaks vividly but clearly, and takes a controversial stance but evidence and logic difficult to argue with. I will admit, while tolerance is a valuable moral undertaking, this book will not provide any effort in that direction. In fact, while Harris is completely void of any racial or religious hate, his stance is such that tolerance may no longer be the very best option-too much tolerance can act versus us and may even be at the root of a global problem

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Normal []  2020-6-2 18:26

    As a daughter who lost her suicidal mother at 16 and suicidal father at 26 I understand the void and the survival mode. This book has opened my wounds and while reading it I know it's 100% truth because it's also how I feel. The anger, denial, acceptance, depression, bargaining that just keeps circling. This is a real story, humiliating to the writer, not meant to glorify herself but only to test to heal and expose her side. A chronic non healing ulcer. Like mine. Sorry for your loss. Hope we have the strength to just hold swimming specially for our children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Normal []  2020-6-2 18:26

    I couldn’t place it down. He worried and worried and ruminated about what and where the next bomb is coming from and what it’ll do to his marriage, his family, his ability to work, he didn’t see an end in sight to the horror and pain. He seems like a attractive man both inside and outside. It’s heartbreaking. More power to you Stephanie and your attractive children.P.S. Stephanie included pictures of their wedding celebration and them with their kids. You can see Mark’s amazing love for his kids. Makes the book even more heartbreakingly unique 😢

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    I got this book after seeing some of the five-star reviews, and watching the author's January 9 pre-publication interview with Connie Chung. I've now read it, and I found it provocative and engaging. The author describes the relevant studies in an easy, conversational manner, and he presents convincing cases for several various life-style changes:(1) Taking a baby aspirin a day might well save your life.(2) If you spend a lot of time sitting down on the job, obtain up every once in a while and walk around. Take the stairs when possible. That could add years to your life.(3) Frozen fruit is probably better for you than "fresh" fruit. As a result, making smoothies is probably better than juicing.(4) As the costs of whole genome sequencing come down (and patent problems are resolved), people would be well advised to obtain their genome read and diagnosed - whether by this author's company or another's. While genes don't tell the whole story, they can be very indicative of preventable problems. And prevention is far preferable to treatment.(5) Do whatever you can to avoid the release of stress hormones - those can chop your life short too. Obviously stay clear of stressful situations (or develop coping mechanisms); less obviously, test to eat your meals on a regular schedule, and hold a regular sleep schedule.(6) Do what you can to avoid inflammation generally - inflammation can have long-term effects. Taking a everyday aspirin is a amazing start; getting a regular flu shot might be another.A bit more controversial are his recommendations regarding statins and nutritional supplements. He says that taking statins when you turn forty will reduce your chances of inflammation and cancer, and he points to studies that suggest that in some cases, taking nutritional supplements can do more hurt than amazing - specifically that taking huge amounts of vitamin D or vitamin E has been linked to prostate cancer, and that tumors tend to feed on vitamin C. I see that other reviewers consider these studies biased (apparently they were for by pharmaceutical companies), or simply wrong (was the study vitamin D, or its metabolite calcitriol?), but I think the author makes a valuable contribution by bringing them to our attention. If in fact the studies he relies on are flawed, people will come forward with the studies and books that refute them.I'm giving the book four stars because it taught me some things I didn't know and because I think it makes a true contribution. I'm not giving it the fifth star, because I don't think it's that much better, or that much more of an eye-opener, than any number of health and fitness books I have read. All of them have the same primary notice about taking care of the entire organism, yet the author here acts like he's the first one who thought of that. And didn't Aristotle recommend moderation in all things?On top of that, I'm disturbed by the method this book was marketed, and the route it took to the top of all the best-seller lists. I see from Beowulf's review that all of the big-name reviewers (Al Gore ["dramatic, fresh method of thinking about our own health"], Lance Armstrong ["tour de force"], Dean Ornish ["brilliant fresh model of health"], Steve Case ["shatters the myths"], etc.) turn out to be mates or investors of the author's, and that most of the five-star reviews are probably fake. I also recently learned that Connie Chung - whose interview with the author convinced me to the book in the first put - is actually the author's mother-in-law (or step-mother-in-law, to be more accurate - he's married to Maury Povich's daughter). I don't think it's fair to customers not to disclose all of these connections, and I'm concerned that all of these undisclosed connections have contributed disproportionately to the popularity of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    Dr Agus has some amazing things to say, but his thoughts on vitamins and supplements is disturbing. Perhaps he has not read Dr. Moyad's book on supplementation and the mounds of scientific data that back up the effectiveness of a lot of supplements. Statin drugs? Lots of science behind those drugs, but why not warn that they often create people feel so horrific that they syck the life out of them?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    Based on the cover and introduction, I expected a book on Police and/or Prison Abolition but instead this is more toward progressive reformism. Disappointing. Some of the info is interesting but much of it same old, same old.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Nature []  2020-1-30 19:46

    Mr. McKibben's book demonstrates clearly how humans have rushed headlong into "improving" our mode of living and made heavy injury to our homeplace: Earth. Hurricanes, tornadoes, tsunamis larger, more numerous and more destructive than we have ever seen before are showing us - if we are not too blind to see - that we are creating crises with ever-increasing speed. Earthquakes in locations we have never seen before, large oil and sludge spills that are killing our wildlife, destroying .our vegetation, making neighborhoods unlivable in the foreseeable future: all are eloquent signals that we have no choice but to change our thinking and our is destruction did not start in our century. It has merely picked up increasingly more speed as we go. Nature has been reliable in spite of our unreliability toward nature. We've never seen a living passenger pigeon, because it was created extinct by hunters more than a hundred years ago. Our salmon, trying to swim upriver to spawn, are running into dams that stop them. Some of us remember DDT. It was banned in this country decades ago, but we are still living with the consequences, with some birds' eggs with such thin shells that they are crushed before they can be hatched. Soon after WWII pregnant women were giving birth to deformed babies. A lot of of those babies e time has come to recognize our failing condition and change McKibben has spoken,eloquently .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Nature []  2020-1-30 19:46

    The book is a bit old, and I didn't always agree with all of McKibbin's philosophies; but 90% of the book's contents, I did agree with (can't argue with unmanipulated facts and statistics), as well as with his ideas and suggestions. The book was quite disconcerting, but TRUTH must be faced, ugly or not. I wish to look up some of the 'predictions', which by now must be being fulfilled, or disproved, but I haven't the time, and I actually dread the confirmation, too. I am using this book for reference. It is/will be a big, "I told you so," to those who adhere to the old way of "ignore it and maybe it will go away," when presented with mounting evidence of our very serious environmental circumstance. But, that is small comfort to those of us who are the voices "crying in the wilderness,"--figuratively, and in the not-far-enough-future, likely a physical impossibility as our wildernesses are disappear at such an alarming rate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    This re-release of Killswitch Engage's third studio album is a definitive over the original. Nothing versus the original of course, but this one's additional CD has some nice extras on me high points:Excellent overall quality.Anything from the song quality to the album art courtesy of Mr. D'Antonio. Adam D. strikes again with his top notch production is unavoidable to discuss this release without first mentioning the addition of Howard Jones and replacement of Jesse Leach for the main vocalist spot. This is a large point of contention with some of the bigger KsE fans (myself included) since some feel that Jesse was better than Howard. All arguments aside, the bands musical arrangements are still top-notch. Adam and Joel both shred in a godlike fashion while Mike D. holds down the bass line, and fresh drummer Justin Foley, replacing Tom Gomes, keeps the beat with slide rule ong with songs [email protected]#$%!s. A couple of KsE's songs have become timeless hits, perhaps the most well known one being "The End of Heartache."The e disc that comes with the pack is a nice additive to the regular CD. It includes a few live versions of different songs, including some from "Alive or Just Breathing," a Howard Jones ver of Irreversal and various versions of a few various songs. The live versions are quite amazing and the fresh Irreversal is related to the remake of "Fixation on the Darkness," an Alive or Just Breathing hit by Jesse and Pete (ex guitarist and friend).Lows:Well, none really. A few listeners might not have fun the latest few songs as much as core fans, but the first 75% of the CD is enjoyable for even the lightest of metal fans.Overall I would highly recommend this album to metal fans, however, if you already own the original album, you might wish to consider picking this one up before you jump. If not, pick it up ASAP. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    It's usually difficult to reconcile a band's talent with the prodigious hype they receive. This is not the case with Killswitch Engage, a band justifiably getting wonderful promotional clout from Roadrunner Records and metal enthusiasts alike. Given the metalcore sound of this albun, it's surprising to see it ranked in the top 50 of amazon's melody sales. Then again, Killswitch Engage's "End of Heartache" is simply that e pounding riffs on "End of Heartache" are reminiscent of the ones on "Alive or Just Breathing." They kill. They rip [email protected]#$%!& of all metal acts out there today. Killswitch Engage is one of the few bands who can obtain away with hardly using any solos and still sound special and superb.I'm more partial to the melodic vox of Jesse David Leach, who left the band some time ago. His replacement, Howard Jones, is damn good. His melodic vox is decent, but his caustic vox is better than Leach's. Jones can shout with the best of e title track, "End of Heartache," is a terrific track, perhaps the album's best. It incorporates everything...melodic singing, acidic screams, assassin riffs, technical musicianship...everything. "When Darkness Falls" and "World Ablaze" are simply amazing, ally, if you like hard rock or metal, you cannot go wrong with this purchase. Best Buy had it on for $7.99; talk about a steal! This disc will have a rightful put among my top playlists for a while, no bout adout it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    I was a small nervous when Jesse left and Howard step up as lead singer. But you only have to listen to hear the awesomeness of this album. I mean Alive or just breathing was awesome , one of the best metal albums of all time breathing fresh life into the metal world. So back to the End of Heartache, the riffs are light years ahead alive, and the melodies and the tightness of the band is just all there making a classic metal album. Bringing death metal and metal core into the mainstream, still keeping the edge but making it listenable by anybody even non metal heads not a simple task. A amazing metal album, in a short few years probably going to be a metal classic up there with Master of Puppets, Paranoid, Reign in Blood, Rust in Peace, Vulgar display of power etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    Legendary band

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    I'm not a theologian. There are perfect reviews for this book already. I agree with a lot of and disagree with some. I got this because of what I am seeing in America today. It looks to me that "church" is becoming another huge business model without regard to the corner stone. I see Christendom dying as well. It seems we are trying to prove relevancy to a globe that is increasingly looking for purpose as a business and not as disciples. Not standing as a worldview that sees everything through that lens but one that keeps apologizing for being what we are. Like we've done, or doing, something wrong. We haven't! Mr Muggeridge's assertion is right on that we have gotten so enamored with the business of church we have lost sight of church. He bases a lot of this on his private experience dealing with the Soviet Union in the 20's through the 70's When he learned that the Soviet communists through their deliberate effort to destroy Christianity, and all religion, not only failed in their effort but the church actually grew inspite of the lack of business structure. I also need to say he sees the death of Christendom coming also from a globe that is increasing secular and hostile to Christianity. That the elitests dismiss any, and everyone, who presents a fundamental belief in Christ. This book is based on a series of lectures he gave at a university. He obviously was an ardent admirer of Pascal. He also referred to Dostoevsky Solzhenitsyn in the book. It isn't very long but it has a lot in it. Read it. A amazing investment of time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    Pascal and Muggeridge create a fascinating is short book, 62 pages, consists of the inaugural addresses of 'The Pascal Lectures on Christianity and University', given at University of Waterloo in 1978. Contains a seven page introduction about Pascal. Each of the two sections concludes with a few questions and is simple to read. His love of Pacal is clear. Humor is not avoided. Commenting on Pascal, says "There is only one blot on his record, and that is that he invented the computer." (1)MM says about Pascal's 'Pensees'. "But it is quite likely that had Pascal lived to translate those notes into a long, well reasoned thesis, they might have had infinitely less result than they had as Pensees, which so touch people, so enchant you, as you read them because of their brevity, their sharpness, their rather haphazard quality." (4)So true!MM explains: "Pascal was also a very proud man. But he it aside his pride to bow down at the alter rail with his fellow Christians, whomsoever they might be, in excellent brotherliness. This was an necessary aspect of Pascal. Before scientists became as arrogant as a lot of of them are today, he, a superlatively amazing scientist, practiced real humility, which is the greatest of all virtues. . . . Because he understood how necessary humility is and because he could recognize the arrogance that was growing up among scholars and learned people, he foresaw the dangers that the enlightenment would bring." (7)The twentieth century broke the covenant with the enlightenment. Pascal was proven correct, Voltaire was proven finishes the first essay this way: "You have the most extraordinary confidence, a sharpened awareness that this earth of ours with all its inadequacies is an extraordinarily attractive put that the experience of living in it is a wonderful, special experience, that relations with other human beings, human love, human procreation, work, all these things are marvelous and unbelievable despite that can be said about the difficulty of our circumstances; and finally, a conviction passing all belief that as a min particle of God's creation, you are a participant in his purposes for his creation and that those purposes are loving and not malign." (24)Perhaps Pascal's bonus to is is an modernize a year later. I listened to the Amazon audible ver today. Read with a British accent. This reading sounded like a speech - and a very amazing one! I was more touched by this listening than reading the text version. MM depth of faith, his love for Christ, his trust in God and his loving concern, really came across. Plan to listen again in the years to come. Faith strengthening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    This is an perfect book for content that especially applies today. The book itself is well created for a paperback.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    One of the shortest most strong books I've ever read. Clear, concise and direct. Not just a amazing read but a valuable resource. If you've wondered where our 'elder statesmen' have gone; wash your ears out with this classic apologetic.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Road []  2020-2-4 10:28

    Although the book was reasonably amazing reading, jumping between an individual's prospective, and him, (Lil Jim), as the third person, was very distracting. Also the use of the word 'quite' instead of 'quiet' was annnoying. Not very well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of The Universe [App]  2020-4-4 21:35

    So much fun all about skill, the art is fun and I search I don't have fun playing as much without the music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Spear []  2020-7-31 20:8

    This film is racist beyond belief. White young missionaries are going to the Amazon jungle, ostensibly to save the warfaring savages from themselves. Throughout the movie white people are presented as amazing and loving, while indigenous people are presented as quarrelsome, not loving, and stupid. Nowhere is there any acknowledgement that indigenous people have extremely valuable knowledge that allows them to live in a put where a white man would not latest a week. Very patronizing and outmoded in its approach. A lot of factual inaccuracies. The tribe and the zone were poorly researched. Not worth watching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Spear []  2020-7-31 20:8

    Indigenous People are unique in their connection to the Amazing Spirit and to the Earth. Do not become so tame that you lose this power. Yes, live in peace, but retain your Natural Life and teach it to those who are simultaneously teaching you. We do not have to be identical to live in peace.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the World [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    First of all, allow me tell you straight off the bat that my rather high rating here has nothing to do with the film's quality. It has some decent aspects, mind you, but has 'TV-movie' or 'late-night time-waster' written all over it, despite Sir Christopher Lee's presence and a really amazing ending, for such a low-budget production. The beginning is also quite amazing and intriguing--it's everything in between that lets the movie down. I like Sue Lyon (Stanley Kubrick's 'Lolita', although she's not a amazing actress, just an intriguing presence) and Macdonald Carey--but these actors are clearly at the scene of their career when if they're not doing theatre, they're taking TV-work or B-movies such as these, that fine actors such as Ray Milland, Bette Davis and Joan Crawford gave credibility to, in their declining years. There isn't a lot of action. It's full of lulls and rather boring--you obtain a lot of sequences of looking at screens or printouts from those clanky old computers and printers that used to take up so much space. Lee does the best he can, there's amazing chemistry between Lyon and her protagonist-husband, there's amazing use of stock footage of disasters event all over the world, and the climactic shot at the end is perfect despite the low budget. It created me wonder how it would have looked if shot a few years later, when 3-D created a brief comeback as a fad. I gave one star (out of five) for one of my favourite horror actors ever, one for that shot at the end, and one for the method the poster reminded me of my favourite album cover--Oxygene by electronic melody pioneer Jean-Michel Jarre. How I want his melody from that album had been utilized instead of the shreck that was used. So, in total, 3/5, or 6 out of 10.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Road []  2020-2-4 10:28

    This is written,"my pa says schoolin is a waste," (was worst for women,) "can believe doin this to a small girl the meanness in folks.....doing nothing but place a smile on people's faces." (I don't like to read when they damage kids,) Nathaniel and his dreams,go to college for colourful to be somebody.Queenies the dog,hurt to loose a dog like that.I'm have fun the otta stop,snot-nosed,git et hisself,haha,good elma

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Road []  2020-2-4 10:28

    This is s very for read, Zeata needs to write more novels like this one! Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    "The End of Illness" David Agus sounds like an amicable, thoughtful oncologist, and I agree with a few things he says (listed below). But, fundamentally, he is a Blue-Ribbon, card-carrying technocrat who sees squads of medical systems technicians "swapping out faulty components" when these are detected through screening is is a book of life and for life full of info to tutorial you toward better health and a lifetime of illness. If you read nothing else about your health this year do not miss Daivd Agus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Nature []  2020-1-30 19:46

    Very interesting to read and learn about the beginning of our understanding of climate change. Brings the scientific evidence to the forefront whether one chooses to believe or not. Obviously this was written some 25 years ago or so , so our science today is better informed. Still worth the time to read this to understand what all the controversy is about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Nature []  2020-1-30 19:46

    Brought attention to the seriousness of climate change. however lost concentration with personnel issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    Harris both knows his items and feels passionate about it. He articulates clearly the dangers of granting organized religion such power in a government, be it the US or elsewhere. He has particular animus toward Islam; I'm not sure how much that's due to the fact that this was written in GWB's first term. Obviously, he's not going to victory any converts (so to speak) who are powerful adherents, but he inadvertently works versus his own agenda by tacitly ridiculing those who may be struggling to leave orthodoxy behind and align themselves with reason. I was raised evangelical, and I fully understand how insane the Eucharist sounds. If one was raised with that or other mainstream religious beliefs, however, the process is in disentangling the strong emotion and sometimes community vested in those beliefs. Talking about washing down Jesus' body with a burgundy accomplishes his desired snark level; it also renders anyone who struggles with that belief one step up from a Neanderthal. I was disappointed, too, to see that for someone who espouses forward-thinking behavior and mindsets, his language is stunningly sexist: surgeons are male; examples are male; even the god in which he doesn't believe is male. In sum, he argues a case that anyone who doesn't believe in God already believes and his tone makes it difficult for anyone trying to leave orthodoxy to engage with his ideas without feeling completely ridiculed. I think a more helpful book would be geared toward this latter group; not by endorsing religion, but by making room for their struggle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    It is a bold approach to tackling the problem of religious doctrines and how they affect their followers beliefs and actions. Sam Harris puts it all on the table and pulls no punches as he compares modern educated reasoning to the thoughts and philosophies of the authors of such doctrines espoused thousands of years ago and still blindly followed today. A person who is a firm believer of their doctrine of choice will not search this book comforting and will most likey call Dr. Harris the devil. A person who has serious concerns about following any of these doctrines will most likely come away from this book with further insight and common sense info to objectively look at the topic with a descerning eye. As Dr. Harris so clearly points out, we demand objective proof in almost anything we do or accept in our lives before we take action on it, except when it comes to religious faith... there it seems people are willing to follow their doctrine off the proverbial cliff with no questions asked. I commend Dr. Harris on his work and gumption to place it out there. I would highly recommend the book to anyone with a penchant for learning and truth when it comes how they should live their life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    Amazing read from an expert on policing. Although there has been a lot of talk about policing reform in latest years, the bigger picture is often lost. That is this book's contribution. It points out that policing is just one of a lot of public tactics for dealing with social ills. Why do we always turn towards the most punitive approach that demonstrates the worst possible results?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    This book is thoroughly researched, well-reasoned, and engaging. Vitale lays out a comprehensive history of how the system of American policing we see today is the inevitable effect of purposeful institutional design that has shaped the attitudes and techniques of law enforcement personnel for decades, even centuries. He then goes on to chronicle in amazing detail how dramatic expansion of the police state, beginning with the Reagan Revolution and continuing to this day.I can not recommend this book highly enough. To have any hope of improving our criminal justice system, we have to understand the forces that shaped it to be what it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Normal []  2020-6-2 18:26

    I enjoyed this book the first time around enough to be giving it a second read now. That being said, I dislike the author, tag madoffs widow , more each time I read it. Although I can see she created an effort to give an honest accounting of their story, warts and all-I just search her so off putting, so spoiled, petty, nasty, smug, petulant, and unsympathetic. She inserts nasty small details, things we don’t need to know, but she wants to say. She does remark more than once on how Tag never pushed or expected her to be a chic socialite wife, but nonetheless, this is a woman who “dreamt”of getting married at her parents vacation home in saint Bart’s, but generously settled on a five star establishment in Nantucket and the Harlem’s boys choir live performance at the wedding, you know, like most people. I think clearly she resided in rarified air prior to marrying, regardless of her claims that her family was only upper middle class at best. She does seem to think she was more down to earth than the madoff family and the circles they ran In . As noted by previous reviewers, she makes rather ungenerous observations on others, all in laws, ex spouses of inlaws, and most dismaying-on her husbands kids with his first wife. She tells several stories of calling her then fiancé and later her husband, mark, to shout at him for everything from trying to honestly tell her he didn’t think he could obtain remarried to her absurd, naive, and misplaced anger over the madoff familys reasonable (seemingly at the time) request that she sign a prenup. I feel poor for the madoff family, minus Bernie-and the authors mystifying lack of empathy for Ruth is perplexing to me. Although she clearly feels Ruth was innocent in her husbands Ponzi scheme, She wanted Ruth to turn her back immediately on her husband of over 40 years, and when that proved to be too difficult, she judged Ruth as harshly as she herself was judged in the aftermath of this nightmare, yet ironically seems to have zero ability to see the irony. She simply seemed to lack any humanity in her handling of any of her husbands family. This contrasts with her loving descriptions of her own family and friends, and children, of course. She stolidly defends her husbands innocence and that of his brother, telling the agonizing info of the entire nightmarish ordeal vividly,never wavering in her complete trust of marks ignorance while casting Bernie in the deservedly harshest light possible. This is a gripping story and this book tells it well, minus the pampered princess narrative that rears it’s well coiffed Head a small too much, especially in the beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Normal []  2020-6-2 18:26

    After reading Diana Henriques' fabulous "Wizard of Lies," I was interested in the extended family's perspective of Bernie Madoff's not good crimes. I wasn't expecting the tenor of this recitation by Bernie Madoff's former daughter-in-law, Stephanie Madoff Mack. Ms. Mack was married to Bernie Madoff's son Mark. The book recounts her life with Tag and the Madoff family before, during and after the Madoff scandal. Tragically, her husband committed suicide two years after the Ponzi scheme came to light, leaving her to parent two young kids on her own. Her anger toward Bernie Madoff is white hot and absolutely understandable. What was harder for me to understand as the reader was how seemingly petty and jealous Ms. Mack came across toward others in the Madoff family, including her husband's ex-wife, Susan, her brother-in-law Tag Madoff, his girlfriend, Ruth Madoff (probably for amazing reason), and a whole host of others, including some snide remarks about her step-children. Additionally, although the author is not a professional writer, the quality of writing was not good, and seemed petty at times. Ms. Mack has a compelling story to tell, but I don't think it came across effectively in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Normal []  2020-6-2 18:26

    I couldnt relate to the voice of the author but it did give a peek into the life and attitudes of the uber wealthy . The author positioned herself as the victim and experiencing very difficult time but has no clue what it is like NOT to live with a home in Greenwich, CT AND an apartment in NYC.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    It's their first album with Jones as lead vocalist and song writer and his addition pays off big. He's such an awesome talent and he took what was a beautiful solid band musically and gave them that small bit additional to create them memorable. The End of Heartache is a must imo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    I am giving this review a 4 star instead of 5 because of confusing shipping information. I really like the album though it was described accurately and all the songs play and it is a massive hitter. I will consider buying more stuff in the future from the seller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    ... Muggeridge has written. But this kind of book makes one excited about doing so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of the Spear []  2020-7-31 20:8

    So refreshing to search a clean film with a amazing notice and story, that isn't and poorly place together. All actors did a top rate job. I would save this to watch again, which is rare for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    … smart dismissal of all religion and its moronic, deceitful concept of 'faith'. By age 13 I realized I was at least an 'atheist' after years of forced weekly Bible classes in public elementary school in the 1950s where only Catholics were allowed to leave the classroom. Despite my early contempt for religion and utter dismissal of the Bible as anything worth human attention, I still studied all mainstream religions for several decades trying to understand what the hell the appeal of them were to my mates and relatives. Once I discovered Ayn Rand's writings in the mid-1980s, I realized that my efforts had been a total waste of time. After a lifetime of having religious idiocy imposed on me from every corner of society, at age 70 I'm now done being silent, patient and respectful of that which is clearly mankind's largest self-imposed fraud. Rand observed that "faith is belief in the absence of reason"; Sam Harris has eloquently and thoroughly explained why, and it's time humanity woke up from its supernatural stupor and gave all religion the boot worldwide. (It occurs to me that religion's idiotic "conversion therapy" currently in use versus homosexuals can and should be used to remove the religious brainwashing that has been polluting our children's minds for centuries...)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    Written following (and partially in response to) the 9/11 terrorist attacks, The End of Faith is nothing short of a call to end the endless chain of irrationality that constitute the world’s religions. Harris decries faith as not a virtue at all, but a vice that puts all other vices to shame. He makes a persuasive argument that faith is responsible for a amazing degree of violence and evil in the world. Whether you’re religious and wrestled with your faith from time to time or have always been secular, I guarantee this book will cause you more than a moment’s r those of you that are curious and still reading, allow me give a simplification of a few points in the book. These are by no means borne out in totality. You’ll have to read the book for that!Harris accuses religion of being, at best, an obviously false set of metaphysical claims, and at worst, dogma that can motivate people to commit atrocities that would be unimaginable otherwise. One often hears in response to this, “But what about Stalin, Hitler, Kim Jong-Il, etc.? Were their movements not secular?” Perhaps, but only in a limited sense. To paraphrase Harris, their movements were not based in rationality, but in a particular kind of irrationality. “I know of no society in human history that ever suffered because its people became too reasonable.”Another central point of The End of Faith is that not all religions are made equal, and we need not pretend they are. To understand what a religion is capable of convincing people to do, we need look no further than those who are most convinced of those beliefs: the fundamentalists. The beliefs of fundamentalists often most closely reflect the text on which their beliefs search basis. To understand their actions is to understand the worst parts of holy might think Harris is ignoring religious moderates in all this. They’re the vast majority, so they should at least be considered important. The issue is, they’re a largely silent majority. Why are religious moderates most often complicit in, or even subtly supportive of, the actions of extremists? Even when moderates do actively condemn fundamentalists, it’s hard to imagine fundamentalism ever disappearing while the religious texts remain static, and barbaric as ever.Often, when discussing the merits of religion, one hears the cry that religion fulfills spiritual needs within people that cannot be fulfilled otherwise. At the end of the book, Harris addresses this with ideas that would eventually lead to his later book, Waking Up: A Tutorial to Spirituality Without Religion. He suggests that spiritual experiences need not lead us to believe in medieval fantasies. A life devoid of religious dogma and corrosive fictions need not be a life without spiritual fulfilment. While I haven’t read Waking Up, I fully intend to and look forward to it.I’d highly recommend this book to the religious and the non-religious alike. While it isn’t always without issue, it’s provocative in a method that isn’t especially common these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Faith []  2020-1-1 18:26

    The author spends countless pages proving what everyone knows already:The old religious texts of any religion are a pile of nonsense (what do you expect from books concocted by people barely out of the stone age?).But he then goes off on some useless angle that Islam is somehow worse (obviously false as anyone experiencing the Muslim globe before the Bush battles can tell you), and he tries to prove Noah Chomsky plus some guys you never heard of wrong, while quoting none other than Alan Dershowitz as his single source to sing some praises on Israel.I gave up 're much better off reading books of Richard Dawkins and especially Carl Sagan if you want to read amazing books in favor of reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Policing []  2020-6-14 18:35

    He delineates very clearly how the police have taken over in all locations of our society. He describes the different ways we have tried to mitigate this and how those ways failed. He possible better paths to take. Unfortunately I'm 74 and I don't think much will change in my life time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    It concerns me that this author ignores the a lot of studies in the major medical journals that present positive results for vitamins, and minerals in conquering serious health conditions. He sees the future "end of illness" through DNA studies and fresh discoveries by huge pharma. He writes well, tho, and I learned a lot by reading this book. It is just that I see future health through eradication of the things that work versus health, rather than through fresh medicines. He did not change my point of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Illness []  2020-1-25 1:3

    A amazing book, well written and speaks as to some future medical progress, as well as ways each of us can improve our own health. But it could have been much better if it had concluded with a more specific path to follow for the future. It suggested tests to have run to establish a baseline, but in the end I still had no idea of how each try would point me towards some solutions to my own medical problems, other than the standard "see your doctor regularly" which I've been told for over half a century now and which is stated at the end of every television commercial for every medical product being advertised. Dr. Agus has written a fresh book that suggests that others may have felt this same method and which seems to address his tip on practical approaches that can take advantage of all the suggestions in this book. I have just ordered it and hope that it does so in reality. Time will tell.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    This band is truly awesome I've been listening to them for the longest time. they will always be my favorite besides lamb of god. If your not a Killswitch engage fan you will still love it. the songs are so amazing it will give you Goosebumps. there newest album is mind blowing too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Heartache []  2020-7-18 19:45

    Love amazon music. Download + CD?. Goodbye iTunes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Christendom []  2020-7-26 20:22

    Amazing read. I enjoyed/value the perspective it gives

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386