Read the ethical consumer reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the ethical consumer reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hole: Consumer Culture, Volume 1 []  2020-2-8 19:4

    Intense, thoughtful, thought provoking, complex, rewarding, engaging ... I couldn't place this book down. I've read fifty or sixty graphic novels, and none of them are as thoughtful as this book. Hole as I understand it is about race and identity, about hate, about the African-American body, about consumer culture (as the title implies), and powerfully about stereotypes. One cool thing about the book is that it persistently challenges stereotypes by adopting and inverting them. And check out the art in this book: it's unconventional, evolving as the book goes along, and the kind of items that rewards looking for a long, long time. This is certainly a graphic graphic novel, so be ready for some intense content. But for anyone interested in bodies, in particular, this is one heck of a study of the body as a put for writing, change, and identity development. A very imaginative book ... when is someone gonna come along and create a film of this one???

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hole: Consumer Culture, Volume 1 []  2020-2-8 19:4

    An perfect read. First of all the story is compelling and clever. The use of the african god Legba to represent the cultural appropriation of African / African-American culture was extremely well done. I found myself drawn into the lives of Trina and Curtis. The artwork is excellent, the imagery and symbolism in this book allows the reader to obtain a lot of interpretations of this reading. I can't wait for volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hole: Consumer Culture, Volume 1 []  2020-2-8 19:4

    This is a nasty book of the horror genre, which is fine, but the characters are drawn ugly and the topic matter is also ugly. As a religious person I search that it completely misrepresents the nature of Vodou and the lwa. The book uses the holy veve on the cover and has a lot of explicit scenes of intercourse and gory violence within it. The story about consumerism and appropriation of black culture is lost. Ugly. This is no better than what the racist does with our attractive religion and our attractive spirits. With careless disregard for propriety this graphic novel insults our ancestors, our culture, our history. It is not ugly! They should apologize to all Vodouisant and religious people for defaming our spirituality.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the ethical consumer or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hole: Consumer Culture, Volume 1 []  2020-2-8 19:4

    Awesome graphic novel/comic book starring a black character. The protagonist is true and not true at the same time. He's got flaws, and a past that haunts him (almost every hero in this book does!), but he's also someone to root for. The story is intense and overwhelming at times, but then that's the point of a graphic novel about the consumption of black bodies in mainstream media. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hole: Consumer Culture, Volume 1 []  2020-2-8 19:4

    Just so you know, this graphic novel is written by a Euro-American (Damian Duffy) with assistance from a token lightskin guy name Jennings, who gives him "cred." Think Justin Timberlake and Timbaland. Next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hole: Consumer Culture, Volume 1 []  2020-2-8 19:4

    I loved this book. Even better the second time. Highly political with layers of relevant metaphor. Damian Duffy is an wonderful and accomplished writer and accompanied by John Jennings an awesome AfroFuturist creator. Their collaboration is an A+ sequential text special in its approach of exploration. Furthermore this text has become a major resource book for a lot of educators that discuss the subjects of and the complexities of consumer culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hole: Consumer Culture, Volume 1 []  2020-2-8 19:4

    It seems as though `The Hole' can be read on different various levels. For someone that never really read comic books and only delved into the short strips in a newspaper, I expected that the content within this graphic novel would be a fresh and inviting experience for me. I quickly learned that I couldn't read this as a easy novel. The leaps back and forth through time and the various hero storylines offered more than a primary novel. Plus as a novice comic reader, I had to adjust to taking in the imagery especially of artwork so detailed and graphic. The commonality of the various characters from the very loose and hoe-ish Trina, to the aggressive and mad Curtis though dark and sinister were all representatives of the realities of African American culture and the things we see throughout our communities. Within `The Hole' were representations of the photos that we are bombarded with everyday and their subliminal messages including the portrayal of the Black Man as violent thugs on television and in video android games (unfortunately barraging our youth), the over ized photos of Black Women and the references to her defined by her body or demeaned as a [...] or hoe. It's simple to be drawn the info of each photo both visually and literally in what the characters are saying or doing, as well as the meaning behind different depiction as in the representation of `Allmart', the Nazi symbol tattooed on Curtis, and the depiction of Voodoo in comparison to Christianity or Islam within our culture. I found myself reading `The Hole' in various modes...at times studying and seeking meaning behind the story as when Trina was swallowed up into Curtis chest and the relevance of use. Still at times (as when reading a primary novel) empathizing and just feeling the emotion of the story and anticipating what would happen next like in the case of young Trina wanting to spend quality time with her father and his ping spree not being a substitute for him being there. When she walked in on seeing her father smoked up/on fire, you couldn't support but wonder about her hero but still relate to the reality of how our young girls are impacted by the lack of affection or presence by their fathers and what results when they become adults. This book addresses so a lot of problems from religion to war, the pushing of pharmaceutical to medicate so-called human illnesses (ADA, etc), , and race. In reading this book, you can't support but complete it with a feeling that you have to re-read it to search the next level of meaning to what you just read. I don't think you can read this book just for the comic story, or you won't like it and will miss a lot and yet still the book at times can be overwhelming making you wonder did I really understand. Overall, `The Hole' can take you out of your comfort location with the dark, , and complexity of photos and substance and it challenges you to delve deeper, which to me is a pleasant surprise from graphic novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ethical Self: Using the Ethical Lens Inventory to journey toward ethical maturity []  2020-1-17 19:13

    Ugh, just a bunch of fluff

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    The Yamas & Niyamas is a unbelievable book that I would recommend to anyone. The book focuses on being amazing to ourselves and others as well as being show in the moment through 5 Yamas (nonviolence, truthfulness, nonstealing, nonexcess, and nonpossessiveness) and 5 Niyamas (purity, contentment, self-discipline, self-study, and surrender). The concepts and ideas are very easy and inspiring but at the same time not obvious in daily life. There are 4 weekly ideas and suggestions after each Yama and Niyama which I am going back through after reading it in full. They are personally challenging in a amazing way. There are so a lot of unbelievable insights for each and every one of these ideas. In yoga, the Yamas and Niyamas are considered 2/8 of the practice. Anyone practicing yoga or interested in self-improvement will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bejeweled: The World of Ethical Jewelry []  2020-2-12 20:49

    Highly recommend this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ethical Engineer: Contemporary Concepts and Cases []  2020-1-25 3:7

    The balance between performing proper engineering procedures and keeping your old-school supervisor satisfied is a difficult one. I look forward to reading your book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    A amazing read that is exceptionally annoying: the book makes you stop and test to justify your beliefs--which is precisely why is was written. Knowing what you believe is easy--trying to explain precisely why you believe it is the challenge!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    This book is really repetitive, it just says the same thing in each chapter. The one amazing thing about the book is that they use a lot of case examples to teach the chapter information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    This was cheaper here than at the college campus bookstore. It was just what I required for class.. I have no complaints or concerns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    Thought provoking and informational. My BSN class used this text

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal and Ethical Issues for the IBCLC []  2020-7-8 19:22

    Liz Brooks has been the "go to" IBCLC for a lot of years in questions of legal/ethical problems and the IBCLC. This book provides a amazing modernize to the fresh IBLCE Code of Professional Conduct as well as other IBLCE and ILCA doents all IBCLCs should know. In addition to explaining these doents, she also gives a lot of examples to clarify the issues. As a practicing IBCLC and an active participant in Lactnet, she is well aware of situations similar to our profession.I would recommend this book as a reference for all International Board Certified Lactation Consultants and those studying to be one, as well as to members of the health care squad who work with them, especially their supervisors/ is a amazing "read" also - althought i'm running out of sticky-notes to identify passages I wish to be able to refer back to!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal and Ethical Issues for the IBCLC []  2020-7-8 19:22

    Wherever you practice, regardless of your creditial, this book is a must have-buy it for your library or tell your supervisor that it's important for liability protection. Because of the well researched and clearly defined content, this book will hold you safe. Not sure why HIPPA is necessary? The respond is explained here. Seeing moms after discharge for a "quick look" at a breastfeeding problem? Here is why you need signed consent along with complete doentation. Using pictures from the web for your PP presentation or your flyer? You are going to need a defense lawyer unless you read her chapter on copyright laws first. As a lawyer and an IBCLC who has educated others about the ethics and standards of lactation care, Brooks is the go to author for a text on this exhaustive subject. The fact that she writes clearly in an understandable format for the lay person is an added (and needed) bonus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    Attention Professors considering utilizing this textbook in their Professional Responsibility courses: This really is one of the worst textbooks I've had in law school and wholeheartedly agree with all of the prior negative reviews. Please consider making it optional or choosing a various book altogether! There are few cases and the references to the model rules are randomly scattered about. Instead of providing examples of the "rules in action", the authors have opt-ed to contain instead open-ended hypotheticals with no suggested answer. Hardly helpful for actually preparing for an exam in Professional Responsibility and this will certainly not support any student as they prepare for the Multi state Professional Responsibility Exam. I immediately sold this book after the class was done and purchased a supplement for both the Professional Responsibility course exam and the MPRE. Even if you don't purchase a supplement to this textbook, you are better off reading the Model Rules and comments to those rules to pass this class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    This book looked like it had been stabbed when I got it. It is in not good condition and missing most of the latest 100 pages. I will never buy anything from here again! It was wrapped in paper and totally destroyed when I got it in the mail. I deserve a refund for this joke of a book. If I could have chosen zero stars I would have. This book is totally worthless due to the condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    The product I received was not the product shown above. It was a 2006, print out ver of the book stapled together. Very upsetting to say the least.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    Absolutely the worst text book Ive ever had to use in 7 years of school!!!! Overly word, filled with fluff. They takes 10 sentences to say one thing and then it's still cloudy what point she was trying to make. Often it comes across as patronizing and [personally opninated, like three examples are required to illustrate something she is trying to say. Not good use of reflection questions. I don't need 50 in each chapter !!! I can actually think and reflect for myself and don't need to be led by my s quite evident the authors are biased towards their own private views. It is obviously written by people in ivory turrets that have never been nurses or mD'sHorrible text book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    Very useful for undergraduate course on ethics. Offers amazing examples and opportunities for reflection on necessary principles. I want I had rented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    Required it for school though I think it was over priced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    The tutorial was very clear and precise in providing info that I required to complete a school project. I was very happy with the style of writing, because it was not too technical, but simple to understand. I would definitely recommend it to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    This book is a amazing read with a lot of amazing insight, you don't have to be religious, a yogi, or anything like that to absorb a lot of amazing info from it. A lot of what the book touches on will improve anyone's life and outlook like detaching from the constant need to aculate more and more, it just makes you nuts, declutter and simplify.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    It is difficult to add a review that has not already said everything amazing there is to say about this book. So, I add this here to support hold the 5 star rating for this book and simply say there is no better material on this subject that I have EVER come across as amazing as this. Cannot recommend highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    Well written, interesting, even has exercises for those looking to deepen their practice. I'm really enjoying slowly reading through it and would recommend it to everyone, regardless of religion! The yamas and niyamas are more primary life practices for being a amazing person rather than specific religious dogma.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bejeweled: The World of Ethical Jewelry []  2020-2-12 20:49

    Gorgeous book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal and Ethical Issues for the IBCLC []  2020-7-8 19:22

    This book is a must have for the book shelf of every Lactation Consultant. A lot of situations you may not have even thought about. As well as how to handle those situations when you are just not sure what to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal and Ethical Issues for the IBCLC []  2020-7-8 19:22

    This just may have been my favorite non-fiction read of the past year. I read it with a highlighter in hand to tag the necessary passages that will need a second glance. If you are an IBCLC, this is a important accoutrement to your practice. This is NOT a boring legal-ease tome. This is an up-to-date, pertinent, and enjoyable must have book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    This textbook is vaguely written, unorganized, and poorly edited. The ABA rules are sprinkled throughout in a haphazard manner in no particular order except as relevant to the particular chapter. There is no comprehensive collection of these rules for simple access anywhere ere are few cases to help in illustrating these rules; the authors have apparently spent all their time transforming helpful cases into begin ended hypothetical issues that are of small to no support in actually informing the reader. This textbook format is special and unusual in law books and should be applauded for creativity, even if the effect is an incoherent inability to pass on info to the om an editing standpoint, there are typos throughout that are embarrassing for Aspen Publishing as well as the authors. All of Chapter 6's headings on every page read "Chatper 6", for example. Just incredibly poorly done. My worst textbook of the entire 3 years of law school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    Nobody buys textbooks because they wish to, they do it because they are needed to by a professor. This textbook is no different. It is fine, it has a sensible layout and reasonable problems. Whatever. It's a textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    Amazing Condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    For those who don't know what the yamas and niyamas are, they are much like the ten commandments of yogic spirituality. This book explains them and inspires the reader to practice them in everyday life. The author has provide questions for journaling and reflection after each section. If you truly wish to live an authentic life with purpose and in harmony with the world, read and hold this book close. Namaste

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    I absolutely love this book. It is very accessible and simple to understand, you will not obtain lost in Sanskrit trying to understand the yamas and the niyamas with this book! I had to read this when I was going through a yoga teacher training program, and it was my very favorite of all of the book assignments. It's a short, simple read, and the author has a method of making the teachings very relatable to modern life. Fantastic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    There is small value in a textbook that offers such bare guidance into legal ethics. This semester, my class struggled to deal with this piece of garbage. Presenting few exemplary cases and relying primarily on abstract hypotheticals, few putative explanations were ever provided. Similar to this point, the layout of the book is also particularly poor; it is a waste of my time to ask me to read hypotheticals, but then not introduce the underlying material until subsequent sections. It would create sense to as students to read a hypothetical as a starting point, and then immediately introduce the materials. This is frequently not how this book operates. I do not mean the immediate subsequent sections include the explanations, if any is offered. I mean that sometimes it may be another 20-50 pages before a point is clarified based on an abstract hypothetical - if at ditionally, it often felt as if there was no rhyme or reason to the structure of the book on the whole, and there is also small examination of interplay between commonly-related though distally-grouped Model Rules. The vast majority of substantive offerings in the book are often fairly subjectively-written articles or short notes, which frequently seem to beg for extra expertise in similar fields that most students (and most lawyers) will not possess. Further, critical explanations of complex points are often compacted into bizarre charts where often a very easy sentence or two would resolve a student's underlying confusion.We are expected to pass the MPRE, and so a lot of law schools will turn to this waste of paper in a partial attempt to prepare their students. I have never written a textbook review of a casebook before, but felt I should take the time to do so in the happening any law professors out there are considering this book. Our exam was begin book, which was ultimately of minimal benefit to us as e only silver lining for me, pending a grade, is that I paid only about $45 for this book. If I had paid the bookstore price of $180+, I'd be is textbook is absolute garbage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    Create sure that you can use this edition and not the third edition in your class if required. Don't do what I did!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    It's super little book fits anywhere. And the content is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    I required this for a graduate level ethics class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    It was a amazing book to learn about Yoga and confirmed that Yoga is Hinduism, even though the author did not directly state this fact. One would need to be educated in the topic to catch all the Hindu allusions in the book. Specifically, the words used to describe poses and such are Hindu words, but the author created it look like it was simply morality and ethics. We can all agree that the morality of the major globe religions is essentially the same, but questions: who God? and how is one saved? and what is the nature of reality and the afterlife? are the questions that radically distinguish the various faiths. This book doesn’t touch on that much, even though the point of yoga is to connect with what is really true in the spiritual realm, which makes Yoga a risky practice if you subscribe to a various faith. By doing Yoga, you will consciously or unconsciously engage in spiritual relativism and this will have an affect on what you believe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    Apart from being the text book I required this book is a very amazing read for anyone who wants direction in wading through ethical issues. The points/ tools outlined herein are excellent, I would recommend this to anybody.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    Amazing Product!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    expensive

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    I've dealt with so a lot of unethical lawyers that Lisa's book hits the tag in what are the problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    Not what I expected but better I was expecting a huge massive text book but I got a nice little book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    Amazing book. Required it for a class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chemistry of Fragrances: From Perfumer to Consumer (ISSN) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    Very interesting and useful book for understanding more about fragrance and the ingredient chemistry behind

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    Professor Thales has written an insightful and practical managerial tutorial to startups and inbent companies. Based on my previous interaction with the author, I see that he has drawn on his extensive consulting experience and command of the academic literature to produce a systematic approach that will be valuable to executives and scholars. Full of theories, constructs, real-world applications and tools. It has been a long time since the latest time I've seen such a breakthrough book with fresh ideas that can lead us to rethink the conventional wisdom in marketing and digital transformation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    A important read for anyone in business who has been or is looking to disrupt the industry. Through well thought out research, Teixeira delves into the rise of technology and the result it has had on companies, both old and new. What makes this book so worthwhile though, is not Teixeira's breakdown of the rise of the digital age, but the method in which he teaches his audience how to hold current clientele, while also attracting fresh in the midst of such disruption. If you are looking to join the wave in learning how tech can either enhance or obstruct your business model, this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    What a thought-provoking and well-written book. It stirred my thinking as an individual healthcare consumer, as a business leader, and a member of our society. I love the phrase from the book, “your body’s vital narrative.” Our bodies give off so much data. It is telling us a story min by minute, hour by hour, and week by week. I’ve often wished I had the tools to read the info my body is telling me. The book invites us to imagine if we had consumer-grade tools to capture signals from our body, yze it, and take action on it. That would indeed be transformative. I know it would support me transform my behaviors. This book is a must-read for business executives, HR professionals, and innovators... especially innovators! We need your brains working on the issues outlined in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    I really enjoyed On Our Terms. I’ve read related books on the topic, including “Healthcare Disrupted” and “Need to Know: How to Survive on the Healthcare Battlefield.” Like those books, “On Our Terms” unveils the critical issues systemic to traditional healthcare that are preventing people from getting affordable care efficiently. Yet “On Our Terms" presents a special outlook on what’s required to solve the current state, which is not so easy as empowering health consumers, but empowering people who lack the same level of control, motivation, and health as those who are not affected by chronic illness. It's the latter process of empowerment that calls for an original approach quite unlike conventional thinking, and this book delivers that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Immersive Worlds Handbook: Designing Theme Parks and Consumer Spaces []  2020-8-29 18:48

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Consumer Mathematics: Reproducible The Mathematics of Trades & Professions []  2020-9-23 20:3

    Amazing book simple to follow

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Designing Connected Products: UX for the Consumer Internet of Things []  2020-12-22 20:23

    Every IoT professional or entrepreneur needs a copy of this on their desktop. I am one and I swear by it as a source of learning and as an inspiring reference when formulating fresh product propositions.I originally bought a copy of this electronically from OReilly. I subsequently loved the book so much I paid for a paper copy to sit on my desk with the other IoT references I use. ( Kindle is amazing but not really “browseable” as paper is. Sorry not good tree.)IoT is at a very nascent scene and useful IoT products even more so. Customer value propositions for IoT products are not clear yet and excitingly represent a fresh frontier of amazing huge opportunity. We are with IoT where the web was in 1994 and where the Private Computer was in 1979. It’s really cool tech and we know it will be really useful soon but there is a lot of painful learning to be done and a lot of grammar’s on use and UX to be written, before we make the assassin app’s that will create IoT products “must have’s”. That;s why you need this book as one of your guides.What a book like this does is bring the best of what has been deeply thought about by some of the best specialists working on IoT services each day – Claire Rowland and Elizabeth Goodman whose previous work I have followed in papers and conference talks. In Elizabeth Goodman’s case her partners book – Intelligent Things by Mike Kuniavsky – was one of the first and still a landmark book on IoT / Intelligent devices. These specialists have been kind and diligent enough to doent their learning and discoveries to make a “cookbook” of amazing IoT ideas and axioms.If you work in the field on the product or service implementation side - I strongly suggest you obtain a copy of this book to catalyze your own thinking, in this quick growing and frankly exhilarating field. It's not a tech book, it's a design book. It will inspire fresh ideas and save you a boat load of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Designing Connected Products: UX for the Consumer Internet of Things []  2020-12-22 20:23

    As a digital media professional I found this book to be really valuable. The authors have done a amazing job of touching upon all relevant aspects with concrete examples of the recent products and it's beautiful obvious that a ton of research went into this material. I hold myself abreast of the recent trends in Gadgets, Home Automation, Digital Media etc so was not expecting to search anything fresh but the first couple of pages itself listed some products/concepts that kept me engaged in the material. It also acts as a showcase of the brightest and the best Internet of things projects and products. This is certainly more than a UX book as it covers all of the technology problems around connected devices basically the entire ecosystem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    It's taken me a while to obtain through the book, and now I'm going to begin all over. As a public bus driver I am witness to a wide dozens of humanity every day. Bring able to see past all of their carp so I can except each of them as light some days is a true challenge. Thanks for helping me along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    In my opinion, this is the best and most necessary book on yoga to be released in a long time. Why? Because the ten yamas and niyamas -as specified by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras- are at the core of yoga and (I believe) essential for true private growth. And yet they are given cursory treatment by a lot of if not most yoga teachers in the west, who seem unaware of the subtle facets and profound qualities of these "jewels." And they are ignored by a lot of of today's mental health professionals, who seem unaware that modern psychotherapeutic approaches are embedded in yoga's prescriptions for "ethical" practice of restraints and observances. Somebody really required to write a book on this! And I must say, Deborah Adele really delivers the goods.Take for instance, Adele's chapter on Satya (truthfulness, honesty). It is a work of art in its own right, offering the wisdom and clarity one needs to liberate strong forces within oneself. In this chapter, Adele contains the sensible yet unusual insights of Carl Jung, Yogiraj Achala, and Mahatma Gandhi, among others, along with her own hands-on understanding. In the process, Adele addresses, for all of us, the fear (dangerousness) involved with being completely truthful, the differences between "Nice" and "Real," the epic partnership between truth (satya) and nonviolence (ahimsa), and the value of conducting our own Gandhi-esque "experiments" in ere is so much more to this chapter than the glimpse I've given here, but I hope I've communicated the fact that this chapter (and the book as a whole) has amazing depth and breadth. It is evident that Adele has immersed herself in the yamas and niyamas, emerging with lessons, teachings, and insights that could be of value to anyone. Highly recommended. I learned e author's www service provides lots of useful supplementary material, including some perfect video overviews, radio interviews and discussions. I liked the fact that Adele SOUNDED like a gentle, wise, effective person.I confess that I have a bias here. I believe that my own life has been influenced, and even transformed, whenever I've aligned with the yamas and niyamas over the latest 15+ years. And as a result, I was in the process of writing my own (first) book on this long-neglected topic, emphasizing how it relates to progress in psychotherapy. Well, I still think there's a future in that book! Suffice it to say that I share the author's enthusiasm for her topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice []  2020-2-1 10:21

    This book is the excellent addition to my practice of Yoga. Yoga classes focusing on two limbs (Asanas and Pranayama) of the Yoga Sutras of Pantanjali are simple to come by in any city or gym. However, the first two limbs of Yoga are foundational to all yogic thought and practice. These teachings are not always so readily available at a local yoga asana class. The ethical disciplines of the Yamas and Niyams are truely gems of ancient wisdom that support give direction to lead a balanced, thoughtful is book is beautifully written and simple to comprehend. After reading the first chapter, I was so inspired that I ordered five more copies to donate to my local yoga studio for students to borrow. I hope to continue to bring these principles to my practice of yoga on and off the mat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions []  2020-1-23 1:46

    I got this for a class. 6th ed. was the textbook, but this has all that I need. Amazing book. Arrived on time in amazing shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    It cost me $0.01 and 3.99 in shipment. When I got it I realized that the Model Rule was come to enforcement after the book publishing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical Problems in the Practice of Law []  2020-7-17 21:13

    I just finished my PR course. Its a readable and interesting book. Its full of issues that are amazing discussion material in class or in a study group context (our professor spent lots of time fleshing out the problems in the problems, especially given the lack of significant case law on this topic and the main focus on rule ysis). It even has charicatures that create for nice periodic rests from reading. I really dont think that the negative review is fair to this text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    Perfect book about thinking skills essential to amazing citizenship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning []  2020-9-15 20:1

    Was for class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chemistry of Fragrances: From Perfumer to Consumer (ISSN) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    Very amazing book, covered a lot of subjects and topics , to understand this book well, you should have a chemistry background , I think the benefite from this book is gaining wide knowledge not technics ,,, the structure activity relationship chapter is one of the advanced topic about finding fresh fragrances, specially about odor behavior and physical chemistry of the fragrances,,,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chemistry of Fragrances: From Perfumer to Consumer (ISSN) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    The Chemistry of Fragrances is informative, detailed and very helpful for anyone wanting to obtain into chemistry of fragrances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    This is a amazing business read on understanding the business model changes are the underlying key to revenue growth. Most people and ysts are all caught up in the technology that powers the "digital transformation" when in reality, first comes the business model that unlocks fresh value and second comes the technology. I recommend this book for anyone trying to obtain understand and simplify the tactic behind the business model transformation. The technology will take care of itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    My first contact with Prof. Thales Teixeira's work was in 2014 when I read the article "The Decoupling Result of Digital Disruptors". It was already an extraordinary framework but he kept developing it, other articles were published, but this book is easily one of the best ones I read in the latest 12 months. If you're trying to understand how fresh companies are revolutionizing their markets or creating fresh ones or if you are an inbent and wish to defend your shop position or approach fresh markets like a disruptor, you have to read this book as soon as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Immersive Worlds Handbook: Designing Theme Parks and Consumer Spaces []  2020-8-29 18:48

    This book does a amazing job of being both academic and entertaining. The examples and illustrations are nice and give amazing examples of all the aspects of creating an immersive world. One of the best features of this book is the layout which helps in the entire design process highlighting things that might be overlooked as well as providing the rationale behind the different aspects of designing such worlds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    Glen Tullman’s “On Our Terms” book provides a very informative look at the current health-care industry and the heavy opportunity for change that exists to make a fresh approach to benefit our collective health. Highlighted are fresh tools being place in put to reduce the cost of health-care and empower health consumers to live better and healthier lives. Using technology and data, companies like Livongo, are able to provide targeted, practical info which people can utilize to create real-time changes that can dramatically impact their well-being. In “On Our Terms,” Tullman articulates how a transformational change is possible in health through a reimagining of the health-care system into one focusing on predicting health-related chronic problems before they happen and proactively providing the right treatments for people in need. I highly recommend the book to anyone who wants to take a look into the future and see how serving health consumers on their terms could be realized.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    I would call this one of the most informing books I've read in a long time. Tullman writes with the passion of a caring father and the expertise of someone who has led several successful companies in healthcare and technology. "On Our Terms" is about a transition underway from the era of the patient to the era of the health consumer. It is exciting and much needed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    In this book Glen Tullman, the author and CEO of Livongo Health, explores the the opportunities that arise when the digital revolution eventually will empower the informed and connected health consumer to take charge of their chronic condition.I think the book is the strongest when Tullman conveys how in a fully connected environment the patient can actively manage her condition with the support of a powerful help system and how in the long run, this will actually lead to lower health care cost and a better quality of e author's explanations fall short in showing his vision about the up-front financing of these connected devices and services and even more, how chronically under-served communities can be is review was written voluntarily and based on an Advanced Reader Copy provided to me by the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Banking and Credit (Consumer Math series) []  2020-11-24 19:1

    It is excellent for consumer math for the unique Ed high school student I work with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Designing Connected Products: UX for the Consumer Internet of Things []  2020-12-22 20:23

    This book is about non-technical aspects of product "design". As such, it's a truly perfect book covering a very broad range to considerations for the design of a commercial product, for that reason I have given it five stars. It covers everything from product appearance, how to configure, manage the product, power consumption and how to supply power, how to connect to the internet, and the process of designing, pitching, and introducing your product to the marketplace. These are the subjects that easily create the difference between success and failure as a commercial does not, however, deal with the electronic, software, I/O, etc., implementation aspects of design (that I was looking for).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Designing Connected Products: UX for the Consumer Internet of Things []  2020-12-22 20:23

    I found this book extremely useful in teaching about connected products The authors cover design, cultural, and technical problems very clearly and pragmatically. It's a very helpful book whether you're a product designer, student, teacher, or just interested in the method connected products are (or should be) designed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chemistry of Fragrances: From Perfumer to Consumer (ISSN) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    I also own Scent and Chemistry, this book is a lot easier to read. It's more well written and easier to comprehend, there are no annotations/diagram numbers breaking up every sentence. The diagrams are much fewer in number than the aforementioned text book but no less informative. If you are a student of perfumery this book is invaluable, I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chemistry of Fragrances: From Perfumer to Consumer (ISSN) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    if you love organic chemistry and fragrance this is the book for you! Otherwise it includes little tidbits of info for natural perfumers. Natural perfumers should buy something by Mandy Aftel. If you are into synthetic fragrance you might like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chemistry of Fragrances: From Perfumer to Consumer (ISSN) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    The book is amazing and thank you...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    You could pass on this book and not read it. That would be a heavy mistake (unless you already know all the content inside).I read it 3 times, end to end and i am not done with it. It's like a treasure. There is so much relevant and actionable piece of info to use from it.What does it talk about?Basically because one guy talked to lots of businesses (large and small) and really used his brain to understand what's going on (it took him years), you've got this content / ysis on a platter. It explains you simply what's going on in term of disruption. Stop thinking about AI this AI that like i used to do... it gives you headaches. Technology is an enabler, not the ere is no point in me summing up this book, there is no shortcut guys, you have to read it by yourself and understand it so that you can enter the next level. When someone talk to you on this subject or throw you some statements you can provide one of the most relevant viewpoint i have read so far. I have met countless consultants, leaders and others who actually miss the point and i think that's why success rate in transformation is so low.I am trying to build a framework in Transformation (Evolution) as i am upset with what is out there. It's low quality, it's not fully relevant or it's created for business to spend millions of dollars for nothing. Satisfied to chat with any of you about this subject (just linkedin my name).A part of this book resonates so much with my experience. I built my own business in 2010 and i remember a chat with Adeo Ressi (the founder of the Founder Institute) who told me my product would need to be 10x better and i would have to care about this and that. Thales must had had the same feedback from entrepreneurs. Then Thales offers entrepreneurs a unbelievable method to think about their positioning and business model. I had such a tough time because back in 2010 i didn't know about this approach. Now that i read about it and understand it, i map my value chain and explore potential business opportunities, method faster than anks Thales. Amazing job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    Glen is a real serial disruptive innovator in healthcare IT. Yet the books makes too a lot of unsustained statements. The best path forward really is not managing chronic disease but financing preventive care to prevent chronic disease. After he was part of Presidents Obama HITECH which forced physicians to buy EMR from his company, the kindest thing that can be said is he learns from his own false narrative and mistakes. Yet he does envisions a very cool narrative to bring healthcare back to a profession that cares for persons and not clerical contractors who collect a fee for x number of clicks on a computer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    Trusting patients to take responsibility for their health outcomes is the best method forward in bringing treatment for chronic conditions into the 21st century.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Immersive Worlds Handbook: Designing Theme Parks and Consumer Spaces []  2020-8-29 18:48

    Inspiring and Wonderfully organized and written for people in the field of UXUI and exhibition design too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Banking and Credit (Consumer Math series) []  2020-11-24 19:1

    For the most part I like the straightforward approach this book takes. But I have run into several incorrect answers in the back and other issues that I can't figure out. I don't know if the respond they give me is wrong or if I am just missing something. I think there is not enough clear instructions. And if you run into a issue there is no resource to support you figure it out. I have spent method too much time pulling out my hair and trying to remain sane while working through this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Designing Connected Products: UX for the Consumer Internet of Things []  2020-12-22 20:23

    Amazing book that covers IoT extremely well and in depth but in simple to understand text. Would definitely recommend even if you have no plans to 'design a connected product'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Designing Connected Products: UX for the Consumer Internet of Things []  2020-12-22 20:23

    Amazing read to understand internet of things and how to go about designing connected products taking into acc network,user interfaces and challenges. Its a beautiful long book. I want the book could have cover more use cases and dwell deeper into implementation aspects to complete the the huge picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chemistry of Fragrances: From Perfumer to Consumer (ISSN) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    very informative. amazing overview of fagrances chemistries,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Immersive Worlds Handbook: Designing Theme Parks and Consumer Spaces []  2020-8-29 18:48

    A very descriptive well written book, destined to provoke thought on cutting edge themed design. A must have reference book for arcitects, designers, and decorators to learn from and reference regularly!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mathematics of Banking and Credit (Consumer Math series) []  2020-11-24 19:1

    For all my mates and your children. I know it only has 3.5 stars but allow me tell you, I want I had learned this items as a teen. I want I knew about it BEFORE I was unleashed on the word. Not to say my momma didn't try, she did. But this really is making [email protected]#$%! home for me and right now I am using this to teach it to my daughter for homeschooling. I just ordered my second book! If you are thinking about programs out there I highly recommend it as something you teach in the home. You and I both know public school will not do it, or will not do it right. This book and youtube are a god send! Best 20$ investment I think I have created in a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    Bravo Mr. Tullman! Well done! Empowering patients to manage their conditions and providing them with the technology and info to do so, will provide better outcomes and a greater quality of life! Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Designing Connected Products: UX for the Consumer Internet of Things []  2020-12-22 20:23

    As described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Designing Connected Products: UX for the Consumer Internet of Things []  2020-12-22 20:23

    Loved this book. It really clarified a complex topic for me and I’m continually finding it useful in my ’s got loads of visual, real-world examples to present the ideas and concepts in ry engaging, clearly written and most of all extremely practical for design specialists looking to hold the user at the centre of the Internet of Things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    This is the best business book I have read in a long time. Unlocking the Customer Value Chain proposes a novel framework for understanding the rise of tech-driven disruption across myriad industries in the latest 20 years, placing a powerful emphasis not on the technology itself but how it drives value for e author identifies commonalities between the method tech has changed the competitive landscape for companies as diverse as retailers, telcos, and auto manufacturers. Initially, I was surprised to learn that something insightful could be said across such a wide array of situations, but was ultimately persuaded by Teixeira's thoroughness in laying out his case. I suspect the book's framing is somewhat less valuable in a B2B context, but that is not an zone I can speak to with much someone who works in technology, the insights here will be especially valuable as I attempt to assess competitive threats to my employers's business. I think others will feel the same, and highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    I had always thought that startup disrupters were successful because of fresh technologies, but Teixeira convincingly demonstrates that much of the disruption is instead a reimagining of existing business rough a clear and well thought out argument, Teixeira shows the reader how to identify the customer value chain, the value-creating and value-destroying parts of a business model. Using a dozens of examples, he shows how successful competitors (and startup disruptors) have singled out vulnerable spots in existing business models to gain shop share. It quickly becomes evident that it is not the sudden emergence and use of fresh technology or software, but rather a smarter take on the business design that has given us a lot of of the fresh tech elite and brought the downfall of the old is book offers perfect tip for inbents on how to protect their existing businesses and similarly for startups looking for shop opportunities. A must-read for the modern strategist and entrepreneur!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    This review is slanted towards IT Execs - read this as you test to obtain a seat at the table and provide insight to the business. Amazing stories and ideas about how you can recommend revenue generation suggestions (as opposed to negotiating discounts with vendors who obtain access to your company's clients), understanding who is/will be chipping away at your business, and gain ideas on how to combat tech begin ups looking to take your shop share. I've read more in the past 6 months than I did in college, and this was the gem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    This is one of the most significant business books I have read in my entire life. The author makes an extremely compelling case on how technological innovations are not the main cause for industry disruption. Across multiple industries, Thales shows how business model innovation is the catalyst for disruption. My favorite example was how he breaks down the method Uber disrupted the transportation industry by decoupling the processes of getting from A to B by developing a revolutionary business model. This is supported by the proliferation of services that are now sold as "The Uber for something else" like Postmates and Turo.I recommend this book to anyone that is trying to begin a company that is looking for direction. The concepts explained in the book let anyone to search the holes that customers are trying to search an alternative for. I would also recommend this book to anyone at an established company that wants to understand how disruption actually works and how to take action in order to avoid the same fate as the taxi n't wait to buy this book, it's one of the best investments in myself I have ever made. I will be looking forward to Thales Teixeira's next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocking the Customer Value Chain: How Decoupling Drives Consumer Disruption []  2020-4-1 18:0

    This is a fascinating read that tackles a trend that has occurred over the latest 20 years: digital disruption by "technology" companies. In "Unlocking the Customer Value Chain," Thales Teixeira demonstrates that the technology startups (think Amazon, Uber, AirBnB, etc.) have not disrupted inbents with superior technology. These startups knowingly or unknowingly broke links between activities in the customer value chain and developed innovative business models to disrupt ales provides frameworks for leaders at inbent companies to identify potential disruptors, assess the risk these disruptors pose, and define the proper tactic to answer to a potential disruptor. Although the book is written for leaders at inbents, I would suggest "Unlocking the Customer Value Chain" to anyone that wants to understand how disruption is occurring in our fast-paced digital age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chemistry of Fragrances: From Perfumer to Consumer (ISSN) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who has or knows someone with a chronic disease. The author, Mr Tullman, presents a compelling argument for why the current healthcare system cannot address chronic disease from a cost or quality of care standpoint. Too often, he writes, hospitals and physicians are unavailable to people with chronic conditions when they need care, and so they are forced to depend on emergency rooms and expensive interventions. "On Our Terms" doesn't just focus on the issue however, it presents the solution; mainly empowering health consumers with information, tools, and an informed community to ntrol over their health and adopt better lifestyle behaviors. The process of empowerment is now possible with technology and data science. As Mr. Tullman writes, it must be carefully designed and applied to ensure that it creates the kind of experience people with chronic conditions truly desire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On Our Terms: Empowering the New Health Consumer []  2020-7-7 19:57

    I spent ten years in hospitals watching clinicians struggle to both treat chronic conditions in acute settings and find/direct patients to meaningful help resources after discharge. I was thrilled to read how Tullman hopes to revolutionize the care model. His plan to empower patients with targeted, practical info they can act upon in true time will be much more effective than the vague, haphazard help currently available to the typical diabetic. I hope he continues to expand the technology and care model to help all chronic conditions down the road.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Immersive Worlds Handbook: Designing Theme Parks and Consumer Spaces []  2020-8-29 18:48

    It's refreshing to search a design tutorial that doesn't start and end with the Disney parks. They obtain the odd mention here and there, but this book goes far and wide in looking for examples to demonstrate its principles. And it doesn't shy away from poor examples ere's lots of interviews from across relevant industries and lots of practical information.If John Hench's 'Designing Disney' is the theoretical design manual, this is the practical one - aimed not just at amateur devotees and students, but management and staff at existing facilities wanting to go a step only true gripe was with some of the chapter layouts - some headings and section breaks are poorly defined. Photos are also often poorly captioned. Minor problems t a easy read, but worthwhile.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386