Read the evolution of central banks reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the evolution of central banks reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    radio free outer banks []  2020-9-24 16:44

    I like listening to items about the Outer Banks... my favorite put to be. Need to add a surf or beach report.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    Mohamed, what an outstanding book. You cover a lot of of the themes we discussed in the past and bring the material with a clear and concise message. Global central banks have unlimited means but their actions have far greater consequences than a lot of may realize. We may have approached the "T-junction" as you place it a few years ago when you coined the phrase for the first time. Central banks are driving investors into various directions at the junction, and this is why policy divergence and volatility will remain in effect. Divergence and volatility could intensify in a worse manner because of central bank policy pulling investors in various directions at the junction. This may effect in the "ultimate policy response" in the form of "helicopter money." This is likely when the T-junction gets so crowded, the financial system falls back into a full scale deleveraging like what happened in 2008. The same central banks policies that were place in put to prevent a repeat of a 2008 style deleveraging, will fail because those same policies made the T-junction. Investors and other readers should take note of this book, and understand Mohamed's framework to navigate the a lot of unintended consequences of global monetary policy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    I found myself begging for something more concise. I too often felt like I was rereading the same reoccurring repetitive concepts redundantly, again and again, over and over, repeatedly, page after page, chapter after chapter... OK, it wasn't that bad, but it does loop back a little, revisiting the same ideas, a bit cyclical... OK, OK, I'm saying it again, but too much repetition makes me skim instead of read hoping to search something new.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the evolution of central banks or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    The author seems to believe that the only hope for a globe with lots of issues is to centralize economic and fiscal decision making in international bodies. His text comes back to the same themes repeatedly. He doesn't believe that nationalist and populist positions are "good for the world" but that nation's should sacrifice their own best interest by giving away their sovreignty to unelected technocrats. He is well spoken and persuasive but I don't accept his premise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    El Erian expertly lauds the central banks. He provides his usual educated and thoughtful views. One can be lulled to sleep thinking the globe has been explained and advised. But the abstractness and generality of his comments and the lack of specifics dooms this book to be enjoyed mostly by academics who never had to figure out how to accomplish the ends they seek. When finished it is a food without calories - you remain hungry for more than the blandishments of an academic mind and want that he had served up a true meal. Buy the book. Read it. Then explain how he will overcome the political malfunctions which he notes must be overcome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    El-Erian is clearly very bright, and the central messages of the book are hard to argue with. We are indeed in an environment where central banks cannot do much more to set polities and economies on a better course. However, there is too much repetition, and the book required more thorough editing. I found it difficult to follow the narrative thread. It would not be unwise to read segments that interest you and leave the rest behind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    What I liked about it was the clear-sighted recognition that the Fed and other central banks aren't evil and our legislators are the ones reneging on their responsibility to ere were two things I didn't like. One was El-Erian's use of language. For example, he has ten problems to which he devotes a chapter each. Each of these chapters starts with an italicized issue. This would work very well, except each time he uses run-on sentences and superfluous adjectives that actually muddle the issue. I found myself going back and restating the problems in a clearer fashion. Second, he repeatedly says that there are specific things that households should do to prepare for the anticipated "T-junction" and to support influence a positive outcome in it. Unfortunately, he never articulates what these things are. Ending with the vague ideas of optionality, agility, and resilience doesn't support me much. In fact, I'd wager a lot of people reading this book don't use the word "optionality" in their everyday lives and would be unclear what actions they'd need to take to implement that concept.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    Amazing book with detailed explanation on central banking, it's role in the global crisis of 2008, what they did to mitigate the cirtances (and alternate tactics considered), what central banking is facing now and a prognosis and glimpse of our global monetary future. A small 'self-serving' ('I knew what was going on and they didn't'), but a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    Mohamed El-Erian’s fresh book, The Only Android game in Town, yzes the post-Great Recession financial globe where the institutional response is dominated by central bank monetary policy actions. He does a amazing job presenting the proximate causes of the financial crisis and praises the coordinated reaction of central banks around the world. He further describes how central banks (with a unique emphasis on the Federal Reserve Bank) have led the economic policy response to the financial crisis. They have been “the only android game in town”. But central banks did not strive to become the dominant player in financial markets. They were forced to fill the void made by the lack of policy decision making from other government and international institutions. Mr. El-Erian showed why the Fed had no other choice. Mr. El-Erian proposes that the “new normal” of low economic growth, low inflation and low interest rates (as described by former Treasury Secretary Larry Summers) can continue for an extended period but is ultimately unsustainable. He asserts that we are coming to an inflection point, or T-junction as he calls it, where the global economy will take on a fresh course, whether by design or cirtances.I agree that we are approaching an inflection point but the T-junction Mr. El-Erian describes is narrowly focused on financial markets whereas I believe the inflection point will be much broader and encompass major changes in society. Mr. El-Erian cites ten huge challenges before narrowing the proposed policy foci down to four. But Mr. El-Erian makes no specific policy proposals except for some organizational changes to the structure of the IMF (where he once worked). For someone with Mr. El-Erian’s presence on the financial globe stage, I was hoping for something more tangible. Instead he seems to digress into recommendations on decision-making techniques that sounded like they were coming from a McKinsey consultant (I kept waiting for the PowerPoint presentation). The decision-making techniques are all amazing suggestions on how to reach a decision but I was hoping that Mr. El-Erian could throw out some proposals to be n’t obtain me wrong. This is a very amazing book by one of the top insiders to global financial circles. It has amazing yses of the situation in financial markets and has some amazing insights. I was just hoping for a bit more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    Not for the beginner in economics. El-Erian is relying too much on central banks to provide the method to prosperity instead of government co-operating in providing projects and obtaining loans from banks with low interest and long terms. He doesn't mention the ISDA and the work they are doing in defaulting on controlling excessive credit in derivatives that are strictly gain/losss cars instead of taxed instruments of fiscal responsibility for investors risks. How can government let tax incentives if the goal of derivatives is gain/loss!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse []  2020-1-25 9:56

    Amazing book and a small worrisome... Hopefully he will be the fresh VP of the Central bank and be able to change the system from the inside. At least he sees the destructive potential of this administration of idiots.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    amazing collection of live nirvana songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    Best Nirvana CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    Amazing live album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    My Favourite live Nirvana album ever. When CD's were out this was my first one I bought and from beginning to the end Nirvana truly at their best and very aggressive as well. Must have for any real fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    Amazing postume album by Nirvana, have a selection of live performances on one of the best band moments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    Amazing live album from Nirvana. The fact that Smells like Teen Spirit is on here alone is reason enough to obtain this album. The album went to no. 1 and went platinum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    Boy do I love this one, the sound quality is amazing and it is Nirvana at their peak. Amazing value also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    amazing lp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    A amazing live performance from the greatest band ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah []  2020-11-1 18:55

    amazing songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Explains amazing patterns of dating and mating strategies. Well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    I enjoyed this book immensely. Considering that choosing a friend and keeping that friend are tasks that everyone has to grapple with eventually, I'm just shocked that this material isn't taught in every high school across the country. Imagine the pain and suffering that could be avoided if each and every person learned how human mating has evolved over time and what their evolutionary roles and ongoing responsibilities are as potential mates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    The Evolution of God is not only well-written and skillfully argued. It is an necessary book in the field of religion as a part of culture. Wright's focus is on the development of monotheism and the purposes this idea serves in both past and present. He argues that monotheism that we search in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam has traceable history and also a trajectory of development. it seems to have arisen out of an original polytheism and gained its early form as ancient Israelites began to insist that, while the gods of other peoples existed, theirs was the only god worthy of worship. It was only in the later stages of the Hebrew Bible's composition that the Jews became fully committed to the idea that there is only one fully divine being. The Jews then transmitted this idea to the founders of Christianity and Islam and place all three faiths on path toward what Wright calls "non-zero sum-ness." What he means by this boils down to a growing tendency of monotheists to view other societies and religions, as potential partners in improving the world, rather than competitors for the limited goods that the work has to offer. He leaves begin the question of whether or not this movement in the human idea of God might be evidence of God's objective existence. In any case it has enormous power on the level of morals and ethics. One might expect such a book to be fraught with academic deadly-boring-ness. But Wright is a clear and engaging writer accessible to any educated reader. I definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    The Oxford Dictionary defines religion as the human recognition of superhuman controlliing power and especially of a private God entitled to obedience; as such a diety has the ability to help or hurt man. The evolution of such concept is well handled in this perfect description of how mankind began to recognize and deal with this phenomenon as later interpreted by shamans, middlemen, who made organized religous beliefs and systematic worship practices; a pedagory for modern religions around the world. If anything the book allows the reader to better appreciate the fundamental aspects of all religous beliefs and could move one to build on what we all share as opposed to arguing which is the best path to take in achieving reciprocal altrusim and charity towards others. Only drawback is that the author doesn't contain more insight into the Far Eastern practices even if such are referred to as philosophies of life and not a religous orders. Readers of this book might also be interested in reading Fingerprints of the Gods by Grahm Han that unlocks ancient religous practices of the Incas, Mayans and Egpytians and ties them to the three key belief systems that originated in the Levant - Judaism, Christianity and Islam. Did a prophet liken to Moses, Jesus and Mohammed also appear centuries earlier in these civilizations? Did the religions that followed merely graft on to the tales and legends that came before them. Did any religion emerge out of whole cloth or were they part of a tapestry of evolution uisng pieces of what was already practiced? Makes a amazing compliment to the Wright book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    Wright's introduction, Afterword, and Appendix highlight this book for me---and throughout, the vital evolution of non-zero-sum awareness, with its potential to reconcile religion and science---which the future of human civilization on the planet may depend on. His candor, clarity, and keen historical insight are truly refreshing, even when the history is truly god-awful. Rigorous scholarship, massively footnoted, can create for tedious reading, but his wry humor and colloquial phrasing ease the way. He does not cite current developments in Jesus scholarship, however, which disappoints me. Whether he's unaware of the Jesus Seminar, and work by folks like John Dominic Crossan, Marcus Borg, and John Shelby Spong, or knows and discredits them, I found no clue. Regardless, this is the most objective and thorough consideration of God up to now, and maybe for a long while yet to come. It challenges true-believers and rabid disbelievers, alike. It's a keeper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    This long book is quite an achievement. Wright presents a very plausible scenario for how the monotheistic God of Abrahamic religions evolved. It clearly won't appeal to most adherents of those religions or any religions for that matter. However it is very well written, fairly compelling, well researched and very thorough. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Amazing book about human behaviour

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    What to know all about it. This is it. Huge fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Obesity []  2020-12-9 18:14

    The book is well written and covers the topic quite extensively. It is sometimes repetitive but reading is never boring. If you never read anything on the topic of Evolution of Obesity, it will bring you close to the current knowledge on this quick changing subject. However, if you have a more academic interest on the theme and already read review papers, it is unlikely that it will add much to your current knowledge. It may call your attention to various approaches to the topic that you were not aware of and that is amazing anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    The author takes us from the days of the hunter-gatherer that worshipped a lot of gods to show times to the religions that worship the single Abrahamic god. Judaism, Christianity and Islam. The book focuses on on the evolutionary development of mankind's moral compass and how that shapes our beliefs. Most interesting for me was the in depth discussion about the Apostle Paul and his contribution in making Christianity mainstream. The reason for the four star rating instead of five stars is I felt it was a small too wordy forcing me to skip over several pages in order to keep my interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Bought this book for an anthropology class and loved it! It's super interesting but still very accessible if you have no knowledge of dating and relationships. I really enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Essential reading for everyone interested in human behavior and human ity

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Obesity []  2020-12-9 18:14

    A detailed scholarly acc explaining why homo sapiens tends to obesity. This book is targeted at the educated reader. It reads more like a journal review than a book for the public; so beware if you are unfamiliar with the jargon of bioscience. The references are copious. It provides a amazing summary of current obesity research mixed in with paleontology. In a nutshell our metabolism and biochemistry evolved as highly active beings. Unlike other mammals and apes our larger brains continue to grow massively after birth. This requires huge fat stores as neonates and as infants. Huge maternal fat stores in pregnancy helps the growing fetus to load up its fat stores. This explains the evolutionary advantage in effortless fat storage in the pregnant woman.We naturally gravitate to our current obesogenic environment. It is normal in the animal kingdom to limit ones activities to no more than important to eat, socialize and breed. To cope with this fresh environment we have to accept that a sedentary life is unhealthy. We simply must increase our activity. In addition we need to exercise some cortical control (our brains) over the instinctual desire to overeat. After reading this book you will understand the complexities of satiation (a bit like a blend of nuclear physics, neuroanatomy and endocrinology) and any thoughts of a single "silver bullet" fix for obesity will unfortunately vanish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    Just finished reading Robert Wright's book the Evolution of God. A amazing book arguing that monotheism was the outgrowth of a process of growing social and economic connections. A amazing sociological reading the economic and political reasons behind the rise of monotheism. At one level I found it better than Karen Armstrong's book because it attempts to explain this evolution rather than just describe e book starts by revealing a lot of fresh facets of animistic religions that I was not familiar with. It created me look up Primitive Culture by the popular anthropologist E.B. Taylor. Wright's book also has a fascinating acc of the emergence of Judaistic monotheism from monolatrist thought. The book has a surprisingly positive appraisal of Islam as a modern religion.Overall the book argues that man's understanding of the divine develops from the particular (deity of one tribe) to the general (God of all mankind) and from the irrational (animism) to the rational (God is the Logos of the world) as man himself develops from primitive to modern society. Its a very Hegelian argument but couched in an ostensibly materialist epistemology (in the sense that the positive evolution of morality is, to my mind, somewhat of an begin question).What fascinated me the most about the argument was the instrumental role of the philosopher Philo. Philo emerges as a giant religious and secular philosopher because of his successful synthesis of the Greek notions of Logos with monotheism. This was an aspect that I was not very familiar with and till reading this book I had never ranked Philo very high in the history of philosophy. With this book, however, he turrets above the others as the thinker that is instrumental in the synthesis of religious and philosophy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    I am voting this five stars even though I search the book's key premise questionable (see below.) Wright has provided a scholarly, beautifully written, vast, even Armstrongian (*The History of God*) acc of the progression of human religion from primitive, hunter-gatherer animism to the complex social and theological morality of modern religious doctrines (focusing on the three Abrahamics in primary form). As the title indicates, the underlying theme is that, despite fits and starts, notions of God have not just changed, but progressed, possibly indicating that there is "in a sense" (a qualification Wright employs incessantly) a "purpose" to human history that contains moral progress in the form of greater religious inclusiveness when believers are induced to accommodate "non-zero-sum" outcomes. Since I'm not an historian, anthropologist, or theologian, I have to accept the quality of the scholarship at face value, but it seemed authentic. It was an absolutely fascinating read for me and I recommend it for anyone who likes their nonfiction detailed, heady, and boldly at being said, I have to wonder just how real it is that religions naturally evolve toward greater tolerance even in the long run. First, I suspect modernity itself (the move away from supernatural interpretations of the universe) is a larger factor in explaining greater tolerance toward outsiders than any internal adjustments that religions are making. Wright does discuss this, so maybe it's just a semantic squabble, but I see this as more an example of the *erosion* of God, not His evolution. Second, Wright bases his overall thesis on textual ysis and historical behaviors of key religious figures. No doubt the kings, chiefs, rabbis, priests, and mullahs exert significant control over commoners whose histories are not recorded, but I suspect any commitment the average daily religious adherent feels to "non-zero-sumness" is fragile at best. If at the right moment a prophet, priest, cleric or guru sanctions it, witches, heretics, and infidel die, and the average believers with their swords or bomb straps will care nothing for any evolution of God noted by Wright.But maybe I'm wrong. And it's a fascinating book in any event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    I imagine the authors went on google scholar and typed “What do women want” and “what do men want” and then wrote a fact, those searches are two of the chapters in this book. This book has ZERO emotion. It’s a collection of studies where they interviewed thousands of people and asked them questions like, “Rank these attributes in a mate”MoneySocial statusEtc etcThe author clearly has no BS this a legit method to search out what is really going on here? I think NOT! If you actually wish your questions answered, look elsewhere. If you wish to play logic android games with the author, buy away!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Very insightful and well researched, an interesting book for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Obesity []  2020-12-9 18:14

    really met my expectation!!! it was very nice for the price i got. you can really trust this seller, go for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Obesity []  2020-12-9 18:14

    This book explores where our vulnerability to obesity comes from, explained from the standpoint of biology and evolution. The authors' thesis is that a "significant contributor to modern human obesity is the mismatch between our current environment and our evolved adaptive responses." We haven't changed our genes in such a short time, so what is it about our biology that allows our modern environment to trigger such a rampant increase in obesity? There is much discussion at the molecular level, and as such, the reading may be dry for those without a bioscience background. But if you'd like a more in-depth discussion of the a lot of biological factors at play in adiposity, along with why our species adapted to this disposition, it's a fascinating read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    This book is not for everyone. If you are afraid to question the complete and total accuracy of the Bible or the Koran, you should not read this book. If you truly wish to understand the history and cultural context that underlies our beliefs and religious doctrines, read this with an open, questioning mind. The Evolution of God is one of the most thought provoking and insightful books I have ever read. I had difficulty relating to the "game theory" ysis and to Mr. Wright's concept of God at times, but that still did not detract from the overall principle that is the topic of this book. I can honestly say that this book forever changed my perspective on religion in a amazing way. While it may seem that, to understand the origins and fraility of doctrines and beliefs we are taught we must unquestionably accept as members of modern Christianity or other religions, would lessen a person's belief in God, in fact this book has only strengthened my belief in the perpetual existence of God and the bonds that bind all of humankind through God.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    Wright demonstrates how the biblical concept of God evolved in response to "events on the ground." The Commandment to have no other gods (plural) is a remnant of polytheism. But as people interacted across increasing distances thanks to advances in navigation, shipbuilding, etc., the globe shrank accordingly. Trade and commerce needed that "others" be treated with decency. As more people entered one's own circle of moral concern, the globe came to be thought of as the realm of one God. The subtext of Wright's narrative is that history followed (and does follow) a path of moral improvement, a theme developed in terms of post biblical history in Steven Pinker's The Better Angels of Our Nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    I love this book. I found out about the author by signing up for an online class that he taught. The book is exactly as titled. It's very scholarly and treats the concept of the evolution of the "divine" in Western religions beginning with Judaism and ending with Islam, followed by conjecture about where these religions might go in the future. It's a very scholarly tome, but I can't stop reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Had to buy this for a class. Interesting read, Buss discusses things in daily language while keeping you engrossed in the story. I learned some interesting things about mating and ity. The one drawback is that there were a couple chapters I felt were too long and a bit boring. Overall, a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Desire []  2020-1-19 21:57

    This was on of the most insightful books I've read on human behavior. After reading it, I have a completely fresh outlook on human dynamics and relationships. Amazing read, would recommend to everyone 5/5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of Obesity []  2020-12-9 18:14

    This book is a sobering, but much needed, overview of the complexity of the obesity issue, a public health problem that has recently acquired prominence. Although it does not appear to have been written for a general audience, it includes numerous insights on appetite, appetite, meals, and their genetic, biochemical, and social components and origins. It you are interested in a deeper understanding of obesity, the reward is worth the examples of the insights in "The Evolution of Obesity", I would cite two that I found particularly informative. First, the biochemical signals involved in appetite and fat storage (e.g., insulin and leptin) are active and play necessary roles in systems other than metabolism. Recognition of this is very important, because it implies that it is extremely unlikely that a "magic bullet" will be found to treat obesity. Second, even a relatively lean person has sufficient energy stored as fat to satisfy primary requirements for about a month! From this point of view, excess fat is clearly maladaptive, and is associated with a state of chronic internal inflammation. The human body does not appear to have a method to recognize and dispose of excess fat (adipose tissue). Carbohydrate and fat calories consumed are either used directly or stored. There is apparently no method to directly shrink adipose tissue other than through the usual metabolic pathways. It seems to me that this supports the author's concept that humanity evolved in a calorically-limited environment, but now that there is virtually unlimited access to high energy density foods, the metabolic system is unable to effectively cope with aspect of obesity and metabolism that the authors do not address but I want they would have is the question of mass and energy with respect to meal and adipose tissue. Basically, the problem is that adipose tissue and obesity are characterized by weight (i.e., in terms of mass), but foods are characterized by calories (i.e., in terms of energy). The basis for the interchangeability of these terms is assumed, but the discourse on obesity would benefit from a clear explanation for it. I think I can guess why this is done, namely, a mass balance for metabolism (mass of meal in = change in body mass + mass of metabolites out) would be very difficult to e book makes it clear that human metabolism is exceedingly complex, and that we are a very long method from a detailed understanding of it. This situation will undoubtedly disappoint and frustrate the meal police, since it will be impossible to search a single villain on which obesity can be conveniently blamed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    I understand for some people this story may seem repetitive and boring, but I loved this book... not only because i have a son that suffers from short term memory loss (although not to that degree and he is not medicated for it) but because I feel like it has something for all of us. One of Floras rules was “live in the moment whenever you can. You don’t need a memory for that”. That felt like just amazing tip to me. We are all better than we think we are and definitely more capable. I loved that she maintained that memory and it propelled her into having something of her own even tho as an adult reader I knew how it might go. I do have to admit If my son had it to that degree and was running off to the artic, i may have to medicate myself for the stress of it 😄, but I see in the story that everyone has their own parh and one is not better than another. That was a nice reminder for me. The writing was amazing and with the repetition it created you go through the struggles as a reader that Flora faced daily. I loved Jacob and their relationship. The only thing I found I didn’t care for in the story was Drake. People mentioned in reviews that they didn’t care for Paige but I loved her, she was a true mate and sometimes true mates fight. All and all I would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    I can appreciate that Flora's story has an unconventional ending that has multiple dimensions. Flora struggles as I do but to such a deeper extent and yet as she flails through life she is satisfied to be living and I found my self inspired by this attractive hero (SPOILER ALERT)The ending is sad, with the death of a dear family member and ally. But somehow hope still lingers though everything is lost. The book closes with Flora learning which people in her life really matter and a globe of possibilities begin up to her despite all she has been through and "lost". I expected this to be another dumb love story and was disappointed in the best way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    Much better than I expected. Very interesting character. Nonpredictable plotline. The ending was very satisfactory, but I stoll [email protected]#$%! were longer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of the Outer Banks []  2020-6-11 19:24

    I recently travelled to the Outer Banks and got this book to learn about the area. I loved the book and used it as a travel companion guide. Thanks for the stories!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    A amazing novel from a amazing young adult writer. A amazing addition to the boarding school ankie is soon to be a sophomore at her fancy boarding school, and her figure has filled out. Her fresh adult body has given her the power to attract the most famous guys in school. But Frankie is more than a amazing body, and she is out to prove that to everyone. When she is excluded from a secret society for guys only, she decides to outsmart everyone and prove how clever a girl can ankie is a real feminist, and she is sometimes too intelligent for her own good. But Lockhart makes you fall for her wit and genius, and will have you thinking twice about the male dominated society we live in. A excellent book for the politically oriented teen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    The songs on this album brings home the fact that James Cleveland was a amazing musician/vocalist that knew what the people required and wanted to hear. His interpretations of Biblical passages was like none other and will always stand on their t this album and be enthralled by an perfect choir showcasing some of the most attractive gospel melody around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    pleaswd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    I was obsessed with this book from begin to finish. I became completely enveloped. I could feel the frustration and fear and pure joy Flora felt through the entire novel. Will definitely read this one a million times before I die.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    Amazing classic gospel music. Certainly will have one tapping their feet and swaying their hips. Rev. James Cleveland was a master pianist and organist who knew how to gather a crowd and sing praises and glory to the Lord G-d. One cannot deny this ... hear for favorites: "Joy of My Salvation," (we sang this song in youth/combined choir at church) "God Is Standing By," "I Stood On The Banks of The Jordan," "I Can't Stop Loving God," (which is a take-off of Ray Charles' "I Can't Stop Loving You"), "My God Can Do Anything" (we sang this song in youth/combined choir at church), "Life Can Be Beautiful," ... in fact, the entire CD track listing are all my favorite ere is no method this CD can rate a one-star by anyone. Well, except for one ... the Denier (one who deny the Truth).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    I love the songs I grew up hearingMy mother took my sister and I to a concern at a highschool in Youngstown, Ohio with my at was my introduction to Mr. Cleveland and his music. We used this CD to comfort family members during my Step moms funeral in 2012.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of the Outer Banks []  2020-6-11 19:24

    This was a bonus so I guess it is well received.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of the Outer Banks []  2020-6-11 19:24

    No info! Could've gotten this information off Google! Waste of money! Wish my $ back! I felt ripped off! Sad!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    I bought The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks shortly after it was released in 2008 and I kept passing over it when deciding what to read next out of my ridiculously huge TBR pile. A couple weeks ago I decided to head home for the weekend, which is, total, a 10 hour drive. When I was browsing audio books, I stumbled across Disreputable and decided it might be fun to listen to during the long drive - I had no idea just how much fun it would be!Disreputable was my first audiobook experience and I have to say I think I created a amazing choice! I will admit to feeling a bit awkward because I was laughing aloud as I was driving along and my mouth would occasionally drop begin as fresh twists in the plot came to light. By the time I got home I was 5 hours into the book and I went straight to my bookshelf to finish up the latest hundred pages - I couldn't even wait for the drive back to listen to the rest!Frankie Landau-Banks is a girl after my own heart. She makes her mistakes and she sticks to what she believes. I could definitely relate to her curious, and sometimes manipulative, nature. I would love to read another novel about Frankie's adventures!I was in love with the secret society aspect of the novel. I can't say too much about it, as I don't wish to spoil anything for those who haven't read this yet, but it was really well written, and from what I could tell, researched. I liked all the small facts E. Lockhart threw into the the story about various well known societies. All of the history behind the various pranks that were performed was also interesting, and, in a lot of cases, e only part that I wasn't totally happy with was the ending of the novel. Again, I can't say much because of spoilers, but I really thought the story would end a bit differently. I still loved it though - ending and all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    I'm not long winding on book reviews and I despise reading spoilers!! I'll hold it short and sweet - It's a amazing read and i would recommend! I read "we were liars" and fell in love with E. Lockhart's writing style. I can say that this book did not disappoint (even with high expectations of reading "we were liars" first). I love the style so much I ordered three more of Lockhart's books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    This review originally appeared on e One Memory of Flora Banks is probably one of the best books that I've read to date - it was deep and told such an wonderful story that was both heartwarming and heartwrenching at the same e One Memory of Flora Banks starts off with our main character, Flora Banks, at a party that her best mate is throwing for her boyfriend, who is leaving to go study in Svalbard, Norway. It might not seem odd for any other teenager - a fun party at a beach house, with mates gathering to say their goodbyes and want someone amazing luck. There's the typical activities - drinking, dancing, and of course, everyone is having fun. Except for Flora.Flora, who had suffered, but recovered, from a brain tumor when she was ten, does not have the ability to create fresh memories ever since she had the tumor removed. While it was removed and she survived, she can no longer remember fresh things - her mind essentially resets itself a few times a day, and she doesn't remember anything that happened. She does, however, remember things from before the tumor took her ability to create fresh memories - including her family, the city she lives in, and her best friend. The best mate who is saying goodbye to her boyfriend, Drake, who is leaving for Norway.Drake, who Flora finds herself sitting on the beach with and kissing.Of course, Flora writes down what happened that evening, as she does with everything, she doesn't forget. She writes on her arms, she writes in a notebook, and she writes sticky notes and leaves them around, so she can remember things. So she does this so that she can remember her very first kiss with this boy that she finds herself having feelings for.But the thing is, the next morning, Flora does not need these notes - she remembers being on the beach with Drake. She remembers the kiss. She doesn't understand how - this is the first thing she has been able to remember since the brain tumor was removed, and she isn't sure how to deal with it."I can remember it. I remember things from before I got sick, and now I remember kissing Drake. I know, now, that I am not a small girl, because I kissed a boy on a beach, and he asked me to spend the night with him. I am not ten. I am seventeen.I can remember it. The stone, or Drake, created me rhaps this is what it is to fall in love."When Flora's parents leave to go to Paris to tend to their son, Flora's brother, who is terminally ill, they leave Flora in the care of her best friend, Paige. But her mate has seen the writing on Flora's arms, and the notes in Flora's bag, and she knows that Flora and Drake kissed. So to punish her, she leaves her one for days, Flora takes care of herself by writing reminder notes to herself - things like her parents are in Paris, things like she should clean up, and she manages to hold herself going. Her parents aren't aware of the falling out she has had with Paige, and they think that she is there taking care of Flora, as planned. But Flora is by herself, and she hides this well.While she is home alone, she begins talking to Drake through e-mails, telling him that she remembers the kiss and she wants to be with him. The two of them e-mail back and forth, which warms Flora's heart, and she slowly starts falling in love with him. But when he decides that maybe things won't work out because she isn't in Norway, she sets off on a journey that will take her there, in order to surprise Drake and present him how much she e journey to Norway is a difficult one - after all, Flora can't remember things past a few hours, so she will forget names, faces, and where she is, unless she continues to hold notes and review them. Even with that, the journey is unlike anything she has ever been through - all in the name of love and the kiss from a boy that she can't forget.“I am really here. Yet I know I am not. I am inside something that must be buried in my head. I am layers deep in my own brain.”This is such an amazingly written book - since Flora is our narrator, we more or less obtain to hear her thoughts and see the globe how she sees it, including the difficult things, like forgotten memories, not knowing who people are, and the overwhelming desire to search is book is strong and tells a story of what amazing lengths that the human heart can go to in the name of love.I haven't read anything quite like this - I have read books that deal with memory loss and amnesia, but nothing quite so in-depth and focused like The One Memory of Flora Banks. This book is really amazing, and obviously well researched, and I think the author did a superb job of writing Flora's character.While I guess the ending hadn't really been what I was expecting, it wraps up the book so nicely and makes the story feel complete. So a lot of things in this book are depressing, but at the end of the book, there is a fresh hope given to both Flora and the reader, which I loved.Flora's hero is written so well - I found myself really loving her and hoping for her throughout the entire novel. While she did develop a fast love for Drake, it's because she believes that the reason she can remember the kiss from Drake is because he must certainly be the one - they must be meant to be together. The journey that she sets off on in order to search him is amazing. It shows just how powerful and determined that Flora ige's character, on the other hand, is beautiful much a jerk, and I found myself disliking her from the very beginning. Ditching out on something necessary like watching over Flora because Flora kissed Drake was kind of immature - seeing as how their relationship wasn't going to work out anyway. The method she spoke to Flora and didn't wish to support out with keeping her safe while her parents were away was selfish and hurtful to Flora, regardless.With an engaging story and a determined hero who is willing to go to amazing lengths to obtain what she wants and keep on to a single memory, The One Memory of Flora Banks is the kind of book that you won't wish to place down until you've finished it completely, and even then you're going to wish to read it again!Note: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    My daughter loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of the Outer Banks []  2020-6-11 19:24

    Planning a trip soon down highway 12; I wanted to understand the history. amazing book Will be reading several before my trip in August

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    I love this song. It moves me like no other!!! It's getting harder and harder to search melody like this anymore. Anytime I search melody like this, I test and obtain it. Even though this was previously recorded, you can still feel the anointing from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    This is the method melody is played. You can feel it from the songs how devotional this album is. I say if you wish to remember how to worship GOD this melody will support you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    Frankie Landau-Banks just wants to be allow in. As a sophomore at a prestigious East Coast boarding school, she is very satisfied that a really famous senior thinks she is adorable. But he and his buddies have the camaraderie, the intellectual repartee, and the bonding that appears to be creating a potential springboard for their future lives. That's where Frankie wants to be, but her boyfriend cannot imagine including her. Smart, philosophical, and highly creative, Frankie wants to be both arm candy and also to be, not only included, but the leader of the pack. She will have to choose, and though the going gets rough, she will choose and she will eventually be satisfied with her E. Lockhart writes books for teenage girls that helpfully explain boys to them and that also encourage girls to not become dependent on boys for their own identity. She does this in a very entertaining and light-hearted fashion-her books are page-turners, well-written, entertaining, and helpful. The Disreputable History of Franki-Landau-Banks won the Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature and was a finalist for the National Book Award. It is a pleasure to recommend it for teenage girls-the content is even appropriate for middle school girls, though high school girls will probably search it more interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood On The Banks Of Jordan []  2021-1-17 19:21

    I really loved this rendition of the song. No one does it like the Rance Allen Group!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    The One Memory of Flora Banks is a unbelievable book. Although I felt it a small confusing at times, the ending is simply amazing! The plot twists are strategically placed and clearly thought through. It is a "heavy" book, in the sense that it requires active reading but I would most definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    Fair price got to me quick! and all of the songs are just what I wanted!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    EXCELLENT GOSPEL SONGS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    I fell immediately for this book, from delicious plot to precocious protagonist, and I’d go as far as to say that I think this is a book that all young adults should be reading. It could ostensibly be seen as a book about fitting in and finding your put in the world, but more than that it is a book about power and ambition, and the amazing lengths that a girl will go to get that power.A lot of reviewers have dissed the narration of this book, with a sort of unnamed narrator telling the story of how Frankie shook things up in her sophomore year of high school, but I really enjoyed it. It felt so very confessional and conversational having a third party tell the story, and I thoroughly enjoyed that broken fourth wall feel of the for Frankie, she’s by all means not perfect. She comes across as a bit brash and entitled at times, but her heart is in the right put and her drive and ambition create her really relatable. Who hasn’t wanted to shake things up a bit to war versus the patriarchy and perceived slight? In this book, Frankie does just that, and her eventual fall into obsession with her cause is a fun is book is a wild ride, featuring secret societies, gender politics, and a lead hero that is just plain sick of feeling left out. It is both highly political and wildly funny. With hijinks that could only happen away at boarding school and a delicious sense of revenge, readers will love Frankie Landau-Banks and her endless drive to come out on top.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    Two of my favorite themes in literature are coincidence and the find for identity --And when you obtain a book about how coincidence can have a part in shaping identity, all the better."How does a person become the person she is?" the narrator of The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks asks, adding, "This chronicle is an attempt to tag out the contributing elements in Frankie's character. What led her to do the things she did: things she would later view with a curious mixture of hubris and regret."We know from the outset of the story that Frankie has somehow infiltrated a secret all male society, the Loyal Order of the Basset Hounds, on the campus of her exclusive prep school and masterminded some borderline criminal pranks. The story explores the how and the e how is where coincidence comes in. Her father was a basset hound and she's heard his stories. Her fresh boyfriend, Matthew, is a basset hound and when he blows off a date, she follows him to a secret meeting. It just happens that her roommate's boyfriend has the keys to all the off limit locations on campus. She met the basset hound "king", Alpha, on the boardwalk the previous summer and when he summoned away for a few days over Halloween, it gives Frankie the opening she e why is more complicated. Frankie is certainly tired of being treated like an innocuous "bunny rabbit" (her nickname) in need of protection. She's recently blossomed into a knock-out young woman, but she's not content to be anyone's arm candy. She's a firm believer in the equality of the es and it irks her to be shut out of "the old boy's club".Frankie is a strategist, a debater, and someone who wants to be a true "off-roader". She asserts her special identity by using "neglected positives" (i.e. ept to mean skilled - from inept) in daily speech, by challenging the unwritten rules of who sits where in the caf, and of course by covertly taking over the basset ankie is a amazing hero - one that I immensely enjoyed spending time with. And this is an perfect book - one that begs for a sequel!Run and pick this one up ASAP. You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    Quiet genius sometimes needs the right motivation to flourish. Frankie's genius is her creativity and sharp sense of humor with a dash of vengeance thrown in for private fun. Tired of being treated as the cute, funny girlfriend of the most famous boy on campus and not being seen as a whole person; tired of only being asked her opinion on trivial or gossipy subjects and not included in discussions of any substance; tired of people just assuming she does not have a brain worthy of any notice, Frankie mounts a history making campaign of genius practical jokes. Her goal is to create people message her real personality, creativity, leadership and intellect. I loved Frankie. What a amazing role model for being authentic, powerful and significant. Sadly, I think most teen readers, and some adult readers, will totally miss Frankie's very necessary message, just like Frankie's best friend, older sister and boyfriend did. Genius is often misunderstood. Go Frankie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    Looking for a cool method to introduce feminism to young adults? Look no further than The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart. Frankie is one of the coolest female protagonists I have ever read. Attending a prestigious, previously all boy boarding school, Frankie causes lots of trouble. The moral of the story, and the motivation behind Frankie's actions, is that women can be powerful and awesome! My one complaint-I want Frankie wasn't hot. I know she does not really play into her curvy figure, but still. I want she could have been a Hermione Granger (not Emma Watson, but true Hermione as J.K. wrote her!) However, I guess she kind of needs to be hot in order to interact with the boys the method she does, but I still want that wasn't a part of the text. Also, she does maintain enough insecurities to create her likable and believable.Looking at Fresh Girl's Jess, quirky, female protagonists are becoming more and more popular. Frankie is not a stereotypical hero in any sense, and this could be a amazing novel to focus on dynamic characters because we see Frankie grow and change-out of the shadow of Zada into a fierce, funny, and strong-willed girl. You could also point out the special point of view, which I think really serves to set this text apart.Lockhart's novel is quick paced, filled with plenty of adventure and mischief. At some times cliche- we have all read the story of the younger girl who gets hot and gets the guy. We know the stereotypes of girlfriends who are not quite true-blue. We know the story of the girl fighting to best the boys. Luckily, despite these things, Lockhart's Frankie is funny and special enough to provide an interesting and fun read. Frankie is also unique because she does care about how her actions affect others. It also makes you think, more than you might originally assume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of the Outer Banks []  2020-6-11 19:24

    Started out a amazing read, enjoyed a lot of the history, but when I got to the end, it left me feeling"where is the rest of the book" I thought my Kindle was broken.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood On The Banks Of Jordan []  2021-1-17 19:21

    GOOD LISTEN MUSIC !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    This an perfect compilation that I enjoyed as a child. It brings back amazing memories and I am glad to have this on my fingertips. I have listened to it several times over and will more and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Stood on the Banks of Jordan []  2020-5-8 18:36

    Amazing old school gospel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    I had no idea what this book was all about - I have to admit that reading it at times and being within the thought processes of Flora created me feel uncomfortable and almost anxious. As I read through it I couldn't imagine what the ending could be - but I loved the book. Very various - yet it created you care about Flora and about her brother. Highly recommend but be aware that it is a special experience, and worth it in the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The One Memory of Flora Banks []  2020-1-14 19:41

    I was disappointed in this book, I wanted it to go a various method than it did

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of the Outer Banks []  2020-6-11 19:24

    Very interesting book that I couldn't place down. Being from NC, even I learned some history lessons that I knew nothing of previously. I do have fun this writer's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of the Outer Banks []  2020-6-11 19:24

    I'm also a transplant to Eastern North Carolina. I fell in love with the Outer Banks, especially Ocracoke, the first time I visited. This book provides a welcome background to much of what I've seen over the past 25 years. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of the Outer Banks []  2020-6-11 19:24

    I actually haven't finished the book yet - just wanted to note that we've had five generations coming to the Outer Banks since the early 60s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    Sometimes the writing is drop dead gorgeous, and some of the insights and observations, (either briefly noted or presented at length), are quite arresting. But other times the writing just leaves us in "Gossip Girl" territory. Lockhart does women, (Frankie and her roommate, Frankie and her older sister), very well. Her treatment of the Alabaster boys is awfully shallow. That works well enough for this story, but it is a shame to miss adding a small more depth and understanding to those Basset Hound boys. But that's a quibble. There are more interesting things going on in our heroine's head than in any other teen/ya book I've seen, and there is more entertainment in the plot and satisfaction in the writing than one has any right to expect. This is certainly a amazing choice for a more adventurous teen reader. (For what it's worth, if you are thinking about this book or have read it and liked it, the next step might be Libba Bray's Rebel Angels trilogy, which has a fantasy element but also a very realistic treatment of young schoolgirls in the Victorian era. A personal school book with very well developed male and female characters and a 1920's setting, (and the same "rebel" theme), is Jeff Carney's "Adventures of Michael MacInnes".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks []  2020-8-15 18:53

    This book is even smarter and more delightful than its protagonist, and that's saying a lot. The summer before her sophomore year, Frankie Landau-Banks has filled out nicely. Now, back at elite boarding school Alabaster, she finds herself with an amazing-catch boyfriend, senior Matthew, hanging out with his self-assured senior friends.But Frankie's still only on the edge of things. She'll never be admitted to the Bassets, the school's all-male secret society. As a girl and one of the few Jewish children in maybe the WASPiest prep school in America, she'll never be part of the future old-boy's network. Even if she's smarter and a better ankie doesn't like being excluded. She's going to do something about that and shake up the school's administration and patriarchy in the e might obtain expelled. She might lose her boyfriend and entire circle of friends. What she will not do, after masterminding the mind-bending pranks of the Fish Liberation Army, is go quietly.A subversive, moving romp about risking what you have for what they won't allow you be, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks is a twisting tale of tweaking the strong and privileged by one who refuses to stay in her place. A amazing read, and one that stays with you.--Dean Gloster

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    This was a amazing look at a multi-generational family of liberators. They liberate things of value from people who have ere are no true surprises in the story but it is a very enjoyable read anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    This is a fun story, and it's going to create a fun film if the right people are involved. I bought the six-issue set from TKO directly and it arrived in a attractive box. is a gifted writer, and this is only her second attempt at a comic book series. Her first, Globe of Wakanda (Marvel), won an Eisner Award. The most recent, The Sacrifice of Darkness, is adapted by another writer, Tracy Lynne Oliver, who was chosen by Roxane. For The Banks, with its clever high concept, the art often seems in service to the story, which isn't necessarily a poor thing. But with an artist as talented as Ming Doyle (with gorgeous colors by Jordie Bellaire, one of the best colorists in the business), I would hope for a greater synergy between the texts and images. While reading The Banks, I often felt like I was seeing storyboards for the film yet to be made. By contrast, The Sacrifice of Darkness achieves synergy quite often, with a greater reliance of "silent" panels and a general tendency to allow the photos carry key narrative moments. Even with these caveats, I think The Banks is the second-best book in TKO's second wave of titles, and I hope more Marvel and DC readers will give this and other TKO titles a try. There hasn't been a poor one in the whole lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    Read somewhat superficially, this is a fast-paced heist story focused on the relationship between three generations of headstrong women as they prepare to take on the largest heist of their lives. It touches on all the tropes that create heist stories fun and engaging, and it uses them to amazing effect. Someone used the term 'popcorn-y' to describe it and I'm stealing it because it fits perfectly. It's the graphic novel ver of a popcorn movie. You just sit and have fun without thinking too much about it.If you're the kind of reader that likes characters to have fully-fleshed out existences with reasonings behind their actions, then this might not be the best book for you. If you look beyond the flash of the story, it feels like had moments she wanted to hit and just patched the spots that connected them with superficial elements that don't always create a lot of sense. You can easily ignore that and just have fun it as a fun story, but consider yourself warned.When it comes to the art, I also found it a tad wonky. It sometimes seems sketchy without it being intentional, and there were moments when I couldn't tell the characters apart. Even worse, there were times when the same hero had a completely various body type from one panel to the next. It's somewhat jolting to suddenly have a female hero with linebacker shoulders in one panel only to be rail-thin the l that said, I read this as a piece to have fun so I'm rating it on the higher end. I'm aware of the problems with it, but I still had fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    I love Roxane 's writing. Hunger and Poor Feminist present a deft command of language, and her short stories and An Untamed State present her deft command of characters. However, The Banks is proof that learning to write well in one medium doesn't necessarily transfer to another. While the story and structure are fundamentally sound and enjoyable, the comic itself is FAR too dialogue heavy, with moments of exposition via dialogue that would be flagged as awkward in most undergraduate writing a result, the comic misuses the strengths of its visual medium, with panels using the imagery only to help the text rather than to make a combined force that tells the story. This is most evident on the panels that are meant to convey powerful emotion; they exist almost like emojis attached to text messages rather than as synergetic blends of words and pictures. This isn't helped by the woodeness of the dialogue at times, which slows down the pacing, especially because as written, almost every charaacter also avoids contractions and slang. This, again, makes it feel like you'd encounter it in an undergraduate writing studio, where a student has internalized the "rules" of "proper" language and has begun writing sterilized, unliving prose as result. That isn't how writes in her other short, The Banks had a lot of potential, but it's not realized because it never really becomes a very amazing comic. It probably would have been a better short story or even a novel because then exposition could have been moved to more established formats, and if written from the first person, she would have had the internal monologue to convey necessary information. As a comic, though, it is clunky and awkward and never fully becomes what it could be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    The Banks follows a family of bank robbers, as the youngest finally comes around to her mother and grandmother's ways when her rise to the top is again blocked by the white male's club culture. But there's a more private revenge also taking place, but that's what e story is beautiful simple going, never fully amping up suspense or cleverness, but it has characters that are effortlessly cool and worth rooting for. There isn't a lot of flash here and that's it's strength.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    With works of genius like this, will ALWAYS have a meaningful and lucrative career. This feels like a mix of Set It Off and Hustlers. But it’s a completely FRESH take on the story. The characters are so relatable and real. Ming Goyle COMPLETELY KILLED with these breathtaking illustrations. 5 stars all around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    I got this sooner than was reported, which was nice because I got it for a book club. The story follow the excellent Heist script, which was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the colors and how they were used to lead the reader into the time period, or the environment that the characters were in. The writing was deft and appropriate for the characters and their personalities. I enjoyed the dynamic visual depictions of the characters and how they grew older in their own specific way. I also appreciated the cultural realities that the characters had to contend with in order to survive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    Overall, The Banks was an perfect family drama set within a heist plot. There is a amazing creative squad on this one: Roxanne (professor, writer, social commentator), Ming Doyle (well-traveled DC artist), and Jordie Bellaire (colorist, but also a amazing writer and artist in her own right).Others have reviewed this title saying they want there was a small more heist to this family drama - and I agree that, as initially marketed the delivery doesn't quite live up to the strength of this "family in crime" premise. While the huge poor is cartoonishly two-dimensional, the other hero development is quite strong.I am a huge fan of Jordie Bellaire's work and one thing that really stood out to me in my enjoyment of the comic was the use of color. You obtain a feeling for this just by reviewing the "Look Inside" feature on Amazon. The use of color here really helps drive the overall mood of the work. The only thing that would have pushed this to five stars for me was to create the antagonist a small more believable and focus on the heist planning and action in greater detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    Enjoyable read. Amazing story and art work. Roxanne and squad Go!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Banks []  2021-1-7 18:27

    I read Roxanne 's "Bad Feminist" and was moved by her complex insights into race and gender in the United States. So imagine my surprise to see her name as the writer for "The Banks." I had to read it and was delighted to see a totally various side of her. This is a solid story of intergenerational bankrobbers who happen to be Black women. The writing is terse and captures the struggle of the youngest member of the family trying to break away. The art is awesome and the coloring captures the noir mood of the story. A clear winner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of a Girl []  2020-1-22 19:8

    I cannot say enough amazing things about this book! The writing is attractive and I really similar to the topics. I’ve found it hard to search a lot of famous poetry that isn’t about romantic love. This book was about such deep, inward growth, self love, and evolution. So excited to see what this author does next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of a Girl []  2020-1-22 19:8

    I have bought a lot of books off amazon and a lot of other stuff as well but this is my very first review it is THAT worthy. I’ve had it maybe a month and I’ve read it three times. Each time I search something various to be captivated by. It is a gem of a book, HIGHLY RECOMMEND. I look forward to future books by this poet ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of a Girl []  2020-1-22 19:8

    For a long time now, I've been searching for a book of poetry that is a mirror of my own soul. I finally found it in "The Evolution of a Girl." L.E. Bowman's words have given light to the feelings I have had a difficult time expressing as I've gotten older. I used to write poetry as a carefree teenager, but have withdrawn within myself as I've aged and have struggled with the loss of my artistic expression. Since reading this book, I have started to write a few things and hope to continue to be able to do so. I would like to say thank you to L.E. Bowman for releasing her [email protected]#$%!&o the globe in the form of this attractive book about the female voyage of self-doubt, realization, and growth. Truly an inspiring read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of a Girl []  2020-1-22 19:8

    It's as if I was waiting my entire life for this book of contemporary poetry about womanhood. The poetry is attractive and sharp. The illustrations are thoughtful and well-crafted. I am giving this out to a lot of of my female mates for Christmas. Highly recommend and I hope to read more from this writer.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386