Read the fear footage reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the fear footage reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    I began reading this book knowing very small about Zimbabwe, only that the leader who defeated the white minority regime has been manipulating elections to remain in power, and the fact that Zimbabwe has gone through an unprecedented hyperinflation.I had no idea what a violent creature Robert Mugabe was. After having place the book aside after reading about 1/3 of it, I picked it back up but didn't think I could take any more. Story after story about people having their homes burned down, their limbs broken, and their livestock slaughtered, all for not supporting the political party dedicated to violence and terror, the ZANU-PF.But I'm glad I did continue, because the horrific stories eased up, and the story entered fresh location as the iron grip of the Mugabe regime loosened up ever-so-slightly, enough for Mr. Godwin to travel around the country and provide some vivid snapshots of contemporary Zimbabwe, from the aftermath of Mugabe's 1980's ethnic genocide, to the collapsing infrastructure all around, the murky globe of diamond mining in Zimbabwe, and private interactions with the key figures of the political is frightening to think that upon several occasions he could well have been killed, in which case we may never have learned much of this a lot of commentators have noted, one of the most compelling realities that you come away with after reading this book, is the absolutely wonderful courage of the Zimbabwean people to refuse to collaborate with this murderous regime, at risk of torture and/or can only hope that the people of Zimbabwe one day soon will be able to live in freedom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    Having lived in the unbelievable country of Rhodesia for 13 years, I came to love the richness of the land and especially the generous spirit of the people. To see them subjected to the savagery and despotic rule of Mugabe leaves me struggling to search words to describe my sadness. Peter Godwin's narrative is chilling because it is so real. He clearly knows and understands his topic matter thoroughly and does not keep anything back. The tragedy is that the people of Zimbabwe have paid a not good price for the political decisions that handed this attractive country over to someone most of us recognized early on as as a ruthless, and unconscionable dictator who has killed millions of his own people. Godwin's obvious affection for the innocent victims, their torture and the fear they live with on a everyday basis will leave you feeling a deep sense of despair.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    This book cannot be read in one sitting if you have any empathy with the characters in it. There are members of our church who escaped this tyranny a decade ago. I asked one of them to read it and tell me how accurate it was, based on her experience there. It was too painful for her to finish reading - too a lot of sad memories. Mugabe's reign started like a lot of reformers and turned out like a lot of of them - noble and uplifting at the beginning, corrupt and murderous at the end. Mugabe is depicted as evil incarnate and from the testimony of our church members who lived there, the depiction is no exaggeration.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the fear footage or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    Peter Godwin is not just a writer who got his facts from visiting or touring as a journalist. He was born and grew up in Zimbabwe and since leaving the country to attend university in England after serving his mandatory service in the BSA Police in a remote rural area, he has returned time and time again, first to care for his aging parents in Harare and to write about what he has seen and experienced personally, and also for the news media who employed him as a e Fear gives truthful and graphic private recountings of what it is like to survive (if you're lucky) in the Zimbabwe of today, if you oppose the Mugabe e horrific 33-year nightmare rule of Robert Mugabe has plundered the assets and ruined the vibrant economy inherited from the White government of Prime Minister Ian Smith. Mugabe has overseen the systematic slaughter of over 20 thousand plus of the Ndebele people in the south of the country, and caused the starvation of thousands more of the entire population by removing the farms of the very people who grew the food, the white farming community. White farmers who had developed thriving farms over decades, were robbed of them literally overnight and a lot of of them brutally beaten or murdered in the takeover. The farms were divided up and redistributed in plots to blacks who claimed to be "war vets" (many of them who weren't even born during the conflict of the 70's) and today the majority of that land stands fallow and unproductive with subsistent farming, the buildings burnt out or destroyed. Still a lot of more thousands of Zimbabweans have fled the country for jobs in South Africa, and those who remain have been topic to unbelievably cruel tortures, vicious beatings, and murder in Mugabe's dictatorial determination to retain his maniacal rule.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    A paradox of a book - on the one hand, a amazing pleasure to read because so well written, but on the other, very discomforting because of the topic. I knew small of Zimbabwe, beyond a vague awareness that it is a country whose level of human development used to be above the average for sub-Saharan Africa, but had dropped to well below average even for the region in latest years, and that this was due to the disastrous governance situation. Having recently worked with someone who is originally from Zimbabwe, when I saw this book, I picked it up. I now have a much clearer picture of what a lot of have labeled a 'failed state.' This acc of happenings following the 2008 elections is grim, and as I finished it, I had tears running down my cheeks even though I was sitting in a busy cafe. Yet, amongst the terrifying stories he hears and recounts, Godwin also finds wonderful resilience, which gives one hope. A amazing reminder to those of us who live in functioning democracies that we should not take it for granted. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    This ought to be needed reading for every citizen on the planet because until the globe understands the depth of the torture that Mr. Goodwin so very bravely sought out to write about, Mr. Mugabe and his co-monsters will continue on to not just slay but mutilate and torture an entire nation while destroying the farms and businesses that were in put when he took the "throne." Yes, Ian Smith had to go as did his racist globe view but the very latest thing Rhodesia required was a truly insane tyrant. They in result traded a migraine for a brain ough Canadian born, I live in the US and tend to be aq pacifist but after hearing - not seeing - the performance of the Navy Seals when they captured bin Laden, one has to wonder why that US is wasting zillions of dollars bombing the middle east when the final effect will present all we gained was more ill will than we had going in.A prudent use of the Seals to take out Mr. Mugabe and his closest mudering friends, would create so much more sense than Iraq, Afghanistan and Libyia place together. No, there is no oil in Zimbabwe but there are human beings who literally are being gored to death every day and if we collectively continue to ignore it, this will be on our plate as a reminder of just what we didn't do when we could have with relative Goodwin is beyond brave for taking very serious risks day after day as he moved around Zimbabwe to talk with and meet the opposition leaders as well as so a lot of of the maimed. Often they were one and the same person. But Mr. Goodwin shows that rare sort of courage that makes us all feel so inadequate but he is kind enough to suggest ways we can support from this book because you will never forget it. It isn't the first example obviously of man's inhumanity toward man but it's a current story that can be addressed right now if we have the will to see King Mugabe tumble forever from this earth to what after reading this book, I hope will be a berth in hell next to Hitler's and Pol Pot's and Stalin and Mao and all the others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    I really enjoyed this book. It took me a while to read, because some of it can be quite dense. I started reading this book a few weeks before a latest visit to Zim, and I felt completely prepared afterwards. Peter Godwin really place a lot into this book, and it shows. I thought that the end was a small anti-climactic or gratuitous. It seemed like an obligatory ending. I may just need to read it all again to really absorb it properly. Some of the stories told in this book can be hard to read, even for the detached ones like myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    A unbelievable read from the top to bottom about the transition of power from an optimistic Robert Mugabe to the tyrannical and violent Robert Mugabe. Gritty, realistic and brutal, Goodwin captures what could have been a fabulous country, full of promises but kept under the iron-fist of Mugabe's militia s, ideals and love of power. A real testament to the courage of the people of Zimbabwe, regardless of skin color, to live free.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    A horrific archive of atrocities committed versus an innocent people by a harsh, despotic regime that will stop at nothing - even political genocide - to remain in power. In telling the chronological story of the descent of Zimbabwe, this book picks up where When a Crocodile Eats the Sun leaves off. Even though the focus is no longer on Peter Godwin's family, the book remains intensely personal, giving voice to oppressed, tortured, heroic people whose lives, families and careers have been torn apart simply because they showed help - or were similar to someone who showed support, or were, perhaps, about to present help - for the wrong political party. This book makes tangible the suffering that often seems so abstract and remote to us. One chapter in particular, entitled "Where Do Tears Come From?" was written with such agonizing pathos, I know I will never forget it. I'm surprised by how ignorant I was of these current crimes versus humanity. They are not often chronicled in the news. I hope more people will read this book, and I admire Peter Godwin for risking his life to write it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fear []  2020-1-18 20:28

    I read this book because I thoroughly enjoyed Godwin's previous works about his life in Zimbabwe. This book has a sadder and darker tone even compared to his past couple works. At the time he wrote this book, the Mugabe regime had largely done its not good hurt to Godwin's family so this book has a less introspective and autobiographical feel to it than in his previous works. He also spends a considerable amount of time and detail thoroughly doenting the horrors inflicted on the people of Zimbabwe by the Mugabe and his accomplices. Godwin is clearly using his book to not only spread the word about what is going on in the country, but as a way of doenting the crimes of Mugabe and his followers for potential action if and when Zimbabwe becomes free. This means the book can be very hard to read at times because it frequently goes into gruesome detail about the murder and torture inflicted on the opposition to with his other works, this book is beautifully written and Godwin's bonus for writing shows consistently throughout. An awesome byproduct of this book along with his others is how they present the beauty of the both Zimbabwe and its people. Even though he's describing the horrible downward trajectory of the county's history as seen through the prism of his family's experience, he still manages to communicate how unbelievable the people of Zimbabwe truly are in a manner that makes me want to visit the country someday to experience it for myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    Original gangsta tunes meet the fresh digital world. Raw Footage is aptly named. Cube holds nothing back including his emotional desire to "Fistfight the President" ie: Bush Jr. While on other tracks he returns to his OG style of Rollin in the hood in a clean vehicle doing dirty deeds. This CD is worth every cent for its catchy tracks and "raw hood rap"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    This is maybe the best Ice Cube album since The Predator. I like it a lot. I think it's a amazing mix of younger, angrier and rebellious Ice Cube and the older Ice Cube. There's the more substantive songs like Gangsta Rap Created Me Do It, Why Me?, and Hood Mentality and songs that are more chilled on topic matter, but still bumpin, such as I Got My Locs On and Do Your Thang. And plenty of songs are a amazing blend of the two, like It Takes a Nation, where he drops some dope lines here and there that create you realize how aware he is of the times he's in. "The only rapper that wanna fist war the president." lol I love it. Laugh Now, Cry Later was good, but this one is better I'd say. If you're a fan of Ice Cube, I'd say definitely pick it up. If you've never been a huge Cube fan, but are interested,... welllll.. I'd still say it's worth coppin, just because it's current and yet not typical radio rap. The beats are all on point, and Ice Cube is definitely packin heat on the mic. Huge up to Ice Cube and Lench Mob Records for puttin out one of the best rap CDs this year, along with Nas that is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    VERY GOOD MY FRIEND

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    Raw Footage is definetly the album the brings back the gangsta side of Ice Cube. The Ice Cube that rap fans have grown to love and hate. The Ice Cube that did songs like, "Amerikka's Most Wanted, Wicked, and who could forget, The Ni**a you love to hate." Ice Cube maybe focusing more on his acting roles in movies, but he is proving to the fresh generation of rap superstars with Raw Footage that he truly is, The Original Gangsta.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Square Footage Calculator [App]  2019-9-21 0:55

    Nixe

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    My husband just had to have this cd. I bought it for him a couple years ago, and he still listens to it nearly every day. I like most of the songs. Its better than whats out there today, that's for sure. I also like the fact that a copy of it is stored in my amazon music, so if i ever lose the actual cd, we can still listen to the songs!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    The lyrics are still solid, but the sound is--thin. The anger and energy of the early albums is missing and the production sounds hasty and weak. Even a bunch of studio session musicians would have been an improvement. Sure rap depends primarily on the lyrics, but if the sound is boring, who's listening? The riffs are generic and it sounds like 1980s synth a lot of the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    I listened to all of the songs and I decided to buy this album because every song on this album is all original. It is real west coast rap and it is mainly composed of Ice Cube, but all his songs are hard and the lyrics always tell a story. If you wish meaningful rap melody and gangsta rap, you have to own this album. I don't buy melody typically because usually most albums have only a handful of amazing songs are amazing beats. Its all your own perspective, but if you wish to listen to true rap, this album "Raw Footage" needs to be in your collection. If you are a fan of old school rap you also have to have this album, you'd be doing yourself a disservice not to own this album. It has the obvious "gangsta rap created me do it" and "do ya thing" but every song is meaningful and the beats and bass of the beats are great. Definitely a must buy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    Ice Cube drops heat, but misses with this one. Remember when he accused other rappers of dropping "doo doo lyrics"? Well, Cube is guilty of that same thang on this one. I can't believe he wrote and spit some of the corny sh-- on this cd. I gave it a 3, but the beats are beautiful dope, but 3.5 wasn't an option. I dont dare to say, but I think Ice Cube needs a ghost writer...... or at least an editor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Square Footage Calculator [App]  2019-9-21 0:55

    Works 99%.. Needs modernize for Android device 9

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear Power (The Fear Chronicles Book 2) []  2020-6-18 19:6

    Rena Mason never experienced fear until she reunited with her father and brother after being on the run with Travis. Now, she’s living at the Agency and learning all is not as rosy as it appears. She needs to control her power and to do that, she needs to learn how to fly. Fear at not being able to save everyone shreds her insides. Travis tries to support her fly but with each effort, she fails miserably. Meanwhile, Louis tries to kidnap Rena twice and threatens to do more if she is not turned over to him. When a woman working for Louis reveals who she really is, everything Rena believes is shattered and she’s in more danger than ever before. Will she escape the Agency to search the truth or will they control her the only method they know how?Wow, what an adrenaline rush! Picking up where Fear Justice left off, Fear Power amps up the stakes and action while delving into the Agency’s innermost agendas. We see the Agency through Rena’s eyes as well as obtain a glimpse into the political interference from the US government. The Agency is like the military and those who misbehave or question the Agency in any method obtain punished or eliminated. The action is so well-described, I forgot where I was, and my body moved of its own accord. Once I started, I couldn’t stop reading. I love the intricate characterizations of both Rena and Travis. There’s plenty of philosophical questions that come up as the story moves along which only adds to the depth of the of Alias, X-Men, Marvel and DC Comics will devour this book. Highly recommend! I’m counting the days until book three is released.Disclaimer: I read this on Kindle Unlimited CA.Favorite Character/Quote: Rena. Throughout this book we see her grow as a young woman and an instrument of the Agency. The teen rose-tinted glasses fly off and she’s invariably on her own. Will she choose the right path or lose control? You’ll have to read it to search Rating: 5+ stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear Power (The Fear Chronicles Book 2) []  2020-6-18 19:6

    So this book is out of my normal reading type. The cover looked interesting and the description was really good. I decided to give it a possibility on a whim. I’m glad I did. C.C. Bolick has not allow me down. Every chapter is action packed and keeps me wanting more. I love her characters and watching them grow with each book. I can’t wait to see what’s next for Rena.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear Power (The Fear Chronicles Book 2) []  2020-6-18 19:6

    Fear Power is the second installment in author C.C. Bolick's The Fear Chronicles. Timeline wise, the happenings of this story takes put 6 weeks from the end of Fear Justice. Protagonist Regina (Rena) Wilson has the power to stop and begin nuclear bombs. She finds herself once again reunited with her father, and her brother under the power of an agency that was made to monitor humans who have powers and protect the public. As the story opens, Rena is now listed among the Top 10 most risky people in the globe and moving up. That's saying something from someone whose powers are triggered by her a continues to work with Travis Payne who might very well be the most risky man in the Top 10 with (4) various powers. Unfortunately, Rena isn't as safe as she should be. She's too reliant on Travis who is walking on thin ice with agency's leadership. She needs to control her power and to do that, she needs to learn how to fly. Fear at not being able to save everyone shreds her insides. Rena gets an in-depth look into how the agency works, including how some strong DC Swamp monsters are running the agency for their own private agendas. If they agency can't control you, they obtain rid of you.Louis Castillo is still working to, what he calls, liberate Regina who he claims is his daughter. Louis is the leader of a terrorist group who now wants to get the ability to teleport. After Rena is sent on a mission to diffuse nuclear bombs around Atlanta. she runs into a woman who seems to know quite a bit about Rena and her abilities. A woman whose identity I will not share with you. Rena also gets some education from tertiary characters like Rachelle who is able to control temperatures, Angel Lockhart who can control her victims, and Van, a man of mystery & e author further steps into the science fiction genre by revealing that there's another planet with advanced technology who have been visiting Earth for years. Will be interesting to see if this story progresses to send Rena to Golvern. Will also be curious as to how Rena reacts to the bombshell she was handed at the end of this story. Too a lot of lies. Too a lot of secrets. Too few people for Rena to trust.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Square Footage Calculator [App]  2019-9-21 0:55

    It's not calculating correctly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    This is an album representing real growth. I want more people knew about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raw Footage [Explicit] []  2020-5-1 18:40

    Amazing cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear Power (The Fear Chronicles Book 2) []  2020-6-18 19:6

    This was my first book from this author, and it won’t be the last. Within the first few pages, I was hooked on the characters and the twists and turns of a plot that left me guessing. Rena’s globe is populated by people with strange and downright scary powers, all who seem to have a hidden agenda. Who can she trust as she struggles to understand her own strange powers? The suspense never lets up and kept me turning the pages to the end. I have already ordered the next book in the series. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    I think there is some very amazing info in this book. I want everyone I knew would read this book. With that said I do not agree with the authors slamming of the American culture and his anti gun views. But there still is a lot to learn from his writings. While I do not agree with 100% of everything, I'm a huge boy and can sift through some of the items I don't agree with. Plus, I think it can be a amazing thing when you expose yourself to views that oppose your own views. It's OK to have what you think and believe challenged. It helps you grow. It can strengthen what you think and believe. Or it can change what you think and believe. It's also OK not to agree. I think we need to remember that, and even while we disagree we should still be respectful of those we disagree with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    When you buy a song you should be able to place it in your phone to play as a ringtone or sound or in Google play but you can't. You can only play it in amazon melody app. So I won't be buying any more melody in amazon BOC..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    This song captured a lot of my feelings when I was a teen and hearing it now brings back a lot of memories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    Not a amazing book. Too short and somewhat boring

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    This book is based on a limited sample of schools and students. It is highly anecdotal. It's unclear how much of the "fear factor" is legitimate and how much is the author imposing her perceptions. Also, all the students she discusses seem to have the fear factor; there is no talk of students who don't have it, possibly mischaracterizing the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    awesome book! I watched Rebecca Cox at a conference and thought her ideas were critical for college teachers. Reading the book reaffirmed my initial impressions. It has changed the method I talk to my students (community college), and the method I approach issues in the classroom. Almost without fail, when I mention students feeling like they don't belong in college, a few heads will gently nod - they hear someone speaking what they feel. We've also used it our college as part of our Growth Mindset (Dweck) programs because it helps teachers address student fear of risk.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    Author Graham Greene described this espionage novel as an "entertainment," and entertaining it certainly is. It's also beautifully written, with a character - if that's the right word - so damaged, so vulnerable that the reader can't support but sympathize with him and his predicament as he bravely tries, in war-torn London, to search the reasons he is being hunted by both the police (for a murder he didn't commit) and by Nazi agents for the secrets he may have unwittingly exposed merely by winning a fateful cake at a village fete. The author had first hand experience of the blitz in London, which is on display in the grim, fitfully violent globe of this tale. That it's also quite funny, in a darkly unsettling way, is only one of the reasons this novel transcends the strictures of the the spy genre. In fact, Greene was inventing the genre as he went along. Only Conrad and Somerset Maugham had explored this location in a literary method before him. Ian Fleming's James Bond and the espionage fiction of John Le Carre were still in the future when "Ministry of Fear" (great title!) was published in 1943.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    If you were to level an accusatory finger at Greene's "entertainments", as he called them, you might say they're too much like "novels". They're stitched up too conveniently and implausibilities become credible as you're bustled along by the hastily woven plotting – it's almost as if the novelist saves himself from the incredulity of the reader at the latest moment by sleight of hand, and you allow him obtain away with it – or otherwise – with a grudging (perhaps nodding) respect. "The Ministry of Fear" is one of Greene's best of this category, and it's amnesia (of the hapless protagonist, victim) that rescues what almost becomes an implausible narrative. Read it to the end and it's haunting on multiple levels, hinting at some of the much greater work Greene does in "The Heart of the Matter" and "The Quiet American". Even when he was writing fast, there's a profundity to Greene: she loved him better when his past became a mystery to himself ... and so he allow it be. Lot's of plot twists and action in between

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    This was a fun, simple read. The descriptions of the characters and landscape are incredible. I definitely recommend this for readers of all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    My wife said it was the best book she has read in a long time! She looks forward to reading more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    Sometimes you just like a amazing story and here it is. I love all the characters , the setting on the Isle of Mann , the mythology, the botany, the romance, even the monsters. No work to read, mysteries solved and excellent for a sequel in which Fynn returns. Sarah Marsh can tell a amazing story. I bet when she was very young she created up scary stories to tell all her friends. I thoroughly enjoyed this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    What an extraordinary novel! I doubt if there exists a more powerfully accurate evocation of London in the Blitz. But Greene's "entertainment" is so much more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    "Ministry of Fear" is set at the height of the German bombing of London in 1940. As often in amazing spy novels, an ordinary man is drawn into an espionage plot by random happenings and must use his wits to survive and unravel the mystery. In this case, the plot involves Nazi spies stealing British state secrets during the bombing and our ordinary man has a particulary checkered past. Amazing writing as always with Green. What didn't I like? The female lead fell in love with our character - which is the key plot turning point - much too quickly and inexplicably, and then the whole plot resolved itself too quickly in the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    This book is an interesting read based on four separate research studies on college education. Although the book focuses on community college students, the problems discussed are applicable to all types of college ch of what is discussed in the book has likely been on the minds of those who teach; however Profesor Cox supports these thoughts with concrete evidence and clear examples. She also demonstrates how professors can support students to overcome the fear factor that they often e book is aptly timed, given the latest coverage community colleges have had in the news, i.e., the focus given by President Obama and others on the importance of community colleges.A must read for every college professor that wants to ensure that students are successful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    Bought this book for an assignment for English ReAding 310. Want I would've bought and read it in high school. It would've helped me a lot by telling me it's okay to feel overwhelmed by college, etc. Amazing book for book reports

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    I'll go beyond the other reviewer and say this book offers amazing insights not just for community college instructors, but for anyone teaching in higher is book is written in a bit of an academic tone but still doesn't feel like a chore to read. Dozens of amazing quotes from students and insights that you might not have thought of. For example, you might think students would love pass/fail assignments, but for some, it tends to motivate them less because they aren't going for "A" work, they're just doing enough to obtain a "pass."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    I am giving this book a five star rating because this book should be needed reading in every American high school. De Becker's book has received criticism for gender bias in highlighting gender-based behavior that puts females at a substantially higher risk of harm. It is real that de Becker describes feminine behaviors, attitudes and actions that are culturally ingrained and reinforced in girls from childhood. Rather than look away, he makes it clear that women need to yze their behavior and listen to gut feelings. In risky situations a woman's social conditioning can stifle that little inner voice of fear. You can't always be "nice". Through-out the book, de Becker provides special insights into the unsavory aspects of American society that we ignore at our peril. He describes the toxic effects of media culture and celebrity based on decades of true life case-work. De Becker shows us the consequence of America's love affair with guns and the consequences of our collective apathy and negligence. He provides no-nonsense solutions that could save the lives of many, a lot of children. De Becker has looked into the abyss for us with courage and compassion. I will be passing this book around to all the necessary women in my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    This book begins by noting that 75 women are raped every hour and 2 women are killed by a male partner every 2 hours. The numbers change a bit year by year (you can google it for an update) but the point is that at show the patriarchal globe is dangerous. De Becker notes that at core, men are afraid women will laugh at them, while at core, women are afraid men will slay them. His expertise on violent behavior began as a kid raised in a violent home. His clients now contain Hollywood stars and government agencies. His advice, and the core of the book is to trust your intuition. If you feel fear in a situation, don’t override it. He says that human violence is not random or senseless, at least not to the perpetrator and that there are pre-incident indicators. He has taught them to the FBI and in this book will teach them to you. His stories are fascinating to read as well as instructive. The chapter, “I Was Trying to Allow Him Down Easy,” was amazing. He notes (and demonstrates) that men who cannot allow go choose women who cannot say no. As for guns, statistically speaking, the man and wife who own and have licenses to carry concealed weapons to protect themselves are far more likely to shoot each other than some criminal. This book is quite readable and useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    2 year old loves it. she almost can read (talk) along with the whole book. 4 year old likes it as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    One of the amazing rock classics, (Don't Fear) The Reaper was a huge hit in late 1976 for hard rock band Blue Oyster Cult, a band that generally had huge album sales from their FM fan base. But this song was so unique it broke out into an AM [email protected]#$%!. It was very toned down for Blue Oyster Cult but that's what created it work. For all it's theme of death it's not mad or hysterical but rather uses a mellow, almost folk-like vocal by Buck Dharma (who wrote the song) along with tightly harmonized backup vocals and guitar to carry it's ultimately positive notice of accepting the inevitability of The Reaper. Everything is restrained until the wonderfully explosive guitar interlude about two and a half mins in. The band's engineers made an echoing acoustic for the instruments that also serves the song l in all a melodic and memorable hit. Oh yeah, it's also got that cowbell!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    I don't know what it is, but I just Love this song. It used to be on Prime but was taken off, so I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear Power (The Fear Chronicles Book 2) []  2020-6-18 19:6

    In Fear Power, we learn more about Rena's powers, the mysterious organization for which her father works, and the globe around them C. C. Bolick has created. Rena learns answers to questions about herself which lead to more questions. Fear Power is a amazing read you won't wish to place down, and it will leave you wanting to know more about Rena. As a neat tie-in for those who have read C. C. Bolick's Leftover Girl series, we obtain a glimpse of how the wider Bolick universe connects. Can't tell you more though without giving away too much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. I [email protected]#$%! would have been a small creepier but all and all, it was good. I love a amazing old creature book and this was definitely it AND there was a nice love story in it too. What really intrigued me throughout the story was the setting. I felt like I was there running through the hills and forest, or avoiding the sea. It was fantastic. I hope there's another story to continue with Bridey, but if not, I'm happy with how the story ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    Vivid imagery, well-placed tension, and a deep sense of culture that left the taste of salt on my lips. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    Surprisingly fun! I couldn't place it down and read it right through quickly. I'm hoping for a sequel and will be looking for more from the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    While not as smoothly written as what we anticipate from Graham Greene, this is a very complicated political mystery thick with intrigue and head-snapping surprises. Still keeps you glued to the page!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    I spent 20 years on the roads in local law enforcement. I always felt that the Temporary Restraining Orders (TRO) we served on stalkers and spousal abusers were as worthless, in most cases, as the paper they were written on. Usually they simply served as a salve to sooth our justice system's guilt over unwillingness or inability to take powerful and immediate action, or develop alternative solutions. As Gavin de Becker so aptly points out, when it comes to committed stalkers and abusers, not only are they not afraid of a piece of paper, it incents them to even a higher degree of activity and perhaps violence. The author makes an perfect case that we should be much more judicious in evaluating such cases versus a threat matrix and answer in various ways depending on the nature of the threat.I also greatly appreciate the author's discussion of the origins of fear and how necessary it has been in allowing mankind to develop. In addition to the twenty years I spent in law enforcement, I am also a Certified Body Language trainer and teach the power of nonverbal communication. As research has shown, what we call women's intuition is in reality the fact that women, on average, are far better at picking up nonverbal cues than men. That "intuition" was absolutely essential for the females of our species to survive in a very hostile world, where they were of slighter stature and required to quickly detect threats around them. As the basic caregiver to kids they also required to be able to effectively interpret the cues and needs of infants and little kids before spoken interesting study involved showing short movie clips with the sound turned off to groups of men and women. Women scored an wonderful 87% accuracy in evaluating the situation shown in the video. Afraid guys we only scored 42%. fMRI scans reveal women use 14-16 regions of their brains during communication, while men only 4-6 locations (most women probably would dispute giving us that much credit-:)In modern society, in the interest of being "polite", we often suppress our natural intuition, our gut feelings. Back in my police career we didn't even have a term called Body Language. We only knew it as "street-smarts". One of my amazing fears has to do with my attractive wife's suppression of her natural intuition around strangers, in the interest of being polite and non-judgemental. The nature of my our respective careers requires us to live in a dense urban area, surrounded by all sorts of threats. Dark parking lots, underground garages, elevators and roads filled with road people and addicts. While our building is very secure, once you are on the roads it's a whole various ball game. She has terrific intuition when she uses it. She is like a perfectly honed tuning fork when she is willing to trust her intuition, but due to her kind and trusting nature, she often suppresses it in the interest of being all-inclusive and vin de Becker's loud notice to women, Trust your gut, Don't suppress your intuition, Don't worry about hurting some stranger's feelings is a strong one. It is my hope that my wife and every woman will be willing to read the book, reflect on all the strong stories in The Bonus of Fear, including the author's private story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    This book was so hard to read. The writing is boring and I found myself screening through the pages and skipping entire chapters. Furthermore, it was published in 1998 and has not been updated. A lot of the examples (stalkers, or other risky situations) included people sending, receiving mail. Like snail mail! Who receives regular letters anymore??? No mention of the Web, email, forums, how it can be used to search information about us. How to be careful with the people we encounter online, dating websites...The globe has changed a lot in the past 20 years. The dangers or the method we should be using our intuition or protect ourselves have changed and evolved. But this book has not evolved or being updated at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    This book addresses a huge gap in our understanding of effective college teaching by examining how students approach teaching. Using qualitative data from four studies, Cox shows how students' expectations, their fears, the method they interpret instruction, their external commitments and their learning tactics all play a major role in the success of teaching. We teachers focus so much on pedagogical approaches, but they method the students interpret and answer to the pedagogy can undermine any pedagogical approach. The effect can be disappointment for both teachers and students. The teacher then blames the pedagogy, the students, or high schools for not preparing students adequately. The student blames the teacher or the subject. In the book, Cox describes a case that I found particularly instuctive where both teacher and student were well intentioned and trying hard, but due to how the students misconstrued the teacher's pedagogy, the class failed. Cox's emphasis is on community college students, but there is plenty that applies to all college e book reminded me of Bain's "What the College Teachers Do" because clearly an effective teacher must know how to communicate the goals of a class and correct student misconceptions about both the content and the pedagogy. It also reminded me of Light's "Making the Most of College: Students Speak their Minds" because it examines the student perspective, but this goes much more into depth about teaching. Although the book examines the student perspective on teaching, it really isn't a book for college students to read who wish to overcome their fears and anxieties. There are better books for e book doesn't offer simple answers, but it does raise a lot of necessary questions relevant to teaching. I recommend this book to teachers and administrators who care about effective teaching and student retention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    Ill advise anyone to read to this book for those who are in high school and fresh in college taking general education courses. This is a book to helps us all understand the struggles of graduating out of high school and being fresh in college and have busy working lives and so on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    My grandson enjoys us reading this too him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    Sometimes there are books my children (ages 4 and 7) have fun hearing that I don't have fun reading. This book is actually fun to read, alternating between the voices of the tiger and of the other animals in the forest. The story and pictures that go along with it are funny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    Amazing Song, but I do agree with Chrisopher Walken. It could have used a small more Cowbell! I GOTTA HAVE MORE COWBELL, BABY!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    I heard this as the theme song to "The Lowe Files" on TV and loved it...it's an older (1976) song, but I hadn't ever heard it before. I love the songs and bands of the 60's and this sounds like those songs that I love!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    Amazing story, Can't say it was one of my favorites because the ending didn't give me enough closure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    This book is an invaluable resource for women. The 4th chapter by itself is worth the price of the book alone. Titled "Survival Signals" this chapter will teach you the sophisticated manipulations that criminal predators use to test and gain control over will learn about: "forced teaming"- establishing premature trust based on sharing a predicament. "charm and niceness" (remember, niceness does not equal goodness.) "too a lot of details"- When people lie what they say doesn't sound credible to them so they hold talking. "typecasting"- Involves a slight insult to obtain the woman to answer by engaging verbally with the crim-pred. "loan sharking"- (it's hard to tell a creep to eff off when he's done something helpful and now you are indebted to him.) "discounting of the word NO"- refusal to respect the word no is a signal a crim-pred is trying to control you or refusing to relinquish ere is much more detail in this chapter, and I cannot emphasize enough how necessary it is to recognize these "interviewing techniques" that criminal predators use. Thank you Gavin de Becker for writing such an necessary and informational book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    I do not remember why I bought this book. I must have seen a mention of it in something I read, but I am really glad I bought it. This is the first book that has created me reach for a highlighter since college. (And that was a lot of years ago.) Shoot...I have no highlighter. That means another ping trip!I have been reading this book in little pieces, because it is very dense, full of information. It also has interesting stories, and there are enough of them to give weight to his methods and predictions. I feel empowered now, even though this book is 20 years old. My intuition has been awakened, and I will listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    Everyone should read this book! We all need to be aware of our surroundings, not looking at electronic devices. This author is an expert in security and has seen it all. People tell him that someone is threatening them, but they don't know who it could be, with more questioning, they Do know, they just don't wish to face the chance of the nice neighbor or coworker being the one. Much easier to feel that it must be a stranger. If something doesn't feel quite right, pay attention. We Know when something is wrong,, but as women we are taught to be polite. Women have died because they discount the uneasiness of a situation or person. We don't wish to be rude, at least my generation does not. Very valuable book. Women should all read this book and give it to their daughters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    How can community colleges avoid "cooling out the mark" for the millions of students who attend and, far too often, quit? Rebecca Cox has written an effective sequel to Mike Rose's Lives on the Boundary, explaining what terrifies and discourages students at two-year colleges, students who desperately need to succeed. Working from observations and interviews at a number of community colleges, Cox argues that successful community-college faculty need both to project professional expertise and create encouraging, trusting bonds with students. She also argues that to break the cycle where students buy into education as transmission of facts and undermine their own college experience, colleges must change their orientation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    If you care deeply about transforming students to learners and professors to learning-facilitators, read this book. It doesn't offer detailed solutions, but it does point the concerned reader in the right direction. Thankfully, there is growing research in the scholarship of teaching and learning that helps too. Ideally, this book would have shared more of this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    Graham Greene's "The Ministry Of Fear" is a gripping and brilliantly written novel. In short, it is one of the very best books I have read about London and the German Blitz of that town during Globe Battle 2. It is a thriller, a mystery, a psychological and sociological study of the effects of bombardment, night after night, and it all takes place, to a certain extent, in the mind of its main hero Arthur Rowe, who is suffering from amnesia, and by accident, gets caught up in a German spy ring working and stealing doents from the British e characters are so memorable and the plot so masterfully devised that this book is going to remain with me for a long time. 7jane, a goodread member, recommended this book to me and she also said that the book has remained with her long after she read it. It was a amazing e writing is very descriptive and intense and there is never a time in which you don't think that you are there during this not good time. Graham Greene is one of the amazing novelists of the 20th century and this book has been just another reminded of how amazing he really was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    A man with psychological issues and a troubled past stumbles into a spy network and becomes involved involuntarily with a Nazi Sot espionage ring. I was beautiful well hooked from the opening pages and sorry when it ended. The story takes put in war-torn London and depicts the horror of the German bombing. Greene paints colourful pictures of the London Blitz with movie-like precision. There’s a nice love story entwined, which I have fun in a amazing book. Like Foyle’s War, it highlights the irony and absurdity of looking for a murderer when thousands are dying every month. The plot thickens as it is revealed that the Nazis are heavily involved and playing a role along with British traitors who are ‘true believers’ in that form of Som and globe domination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    What a strange story---the more I read, the less I liked it. He may be a amazing writer but you definitely know you're reading something written decades ago. The espionage had all the sophistication of secret decoder rings found in cereal boxes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    This book came in a book box for one of my grandchildren, and she loved it so much that I bought it for a various grandchild (different parents). It's really beautiful funny, whether you're the adult reading it, or the kids giggling over the tiger fearing the bunny. Nice illustrations, not too long, amazing for preschool kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    I am using this book in my kinder and 1st grade writing lessons. This is a unbelievable book to support model opinion writing, or persuasive writing for young readers and writers. I am also using this book to support teach about fear, being nonjudgmental and listening to the art; so assuming. The print is excellent for sharing with a huge group of students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    Such a fun and imaginative spin on a well-known classic. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    This is one of those songs that is just excellent for driving. Hit the begin street and crank it ip!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    I love this song. I haven't heard it in years since high school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    Both my 13 year old daughter and I could not place this book down! We were immersed in the the fictional globe of Bridey Corkill on the Isle of Mann. The story was beautifully told with depth of characters and thoughtful info that immediately drew us in. I am not usually a YA nor fantasy reader but I found this book to be captivating and well-written. The story was layered with a delightful mix of history, fantasy, romance, and heroism. My daughter has been recommending this book to all her mates (and I have told their parents to have some fun and read it too)! We have enjoyed discussing all the twists and turns of this story and look forward to reading more of Sarah Glenn Marsh's books... Hopefully a sequel is on its way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    "Teenage paranormal romance" is not a description that would normally sell me on a book. I was very pleasantly surprised by the engaging story, exciting world, and unbelievable characters. Marsh did her research to build the globe of her fictional ver of the Isle of Man, as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Drowning Deep [Book]  2017-12-9 18:0

    Typically this is not my type of book but I know Sarah and thought I'd give it a look. I loved it! I found that I had to hold reading to search out what was going to happen next. I look forward to reading more by this talented author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    Graham Greene is one of the greatest writers of the 20th century, though not especially accessible to those with no sense of history. The Ministry of Fear, a spy thriller set in England during the Second Globe War, is more accessible than most.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ministry of Fear []  2020-1-29 19:12

    Graham Greene is a fascinating author with an awesome range in his portfolio of novels. He has created me laugh out loud in Journey without Maps, Travels with My Aunt, and Our Man in Havana. The Quiet American totally various as a story of love and intrigue in 1950’s Vietnam. A lot of of his novels several involve spies, including this one. This book needed my full attention. The plot is convoluted and slightly obscure as the reader stands in the shoes of Arthur Rowe who is unwittingly caught up in wartime espionage in London in the early days of WWII. He is confused and so are we at times. It all begins when Arthur wanders into a little fundraising fete and through a series of curious events, wins a cake. His life is never the same. The book is divided into several parts, including one where Arthur has lost his memory so things are even more foggy on both sides of the page. Arthur is dogged in his pursuit of the truth. Describing much of the plot would ruin the book for you, so I will leave it vague. Graham Greene is a master. That said, this book was not my favorite of his. It is definitely worth reading, but if you are fresh to him as an author, I would not begin here. Four Stars minus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The College Fear Factor []  2020-1-30 18:52

    Needed for school. I felt like most of this was common sense to any current college student. Wait, you mean students and teachers have a disconnect? Really? News to me...(sarcasm).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    Years ago, I had a strange encounter. My vehicle was stalled in massive traffic, I pushed it onto a side road (I'm a guy) and tried to reset it. A guy showed up (older and slender) offering help. I refused his support but the hung around trying anyway. Said he saw me and had his wife drop him off to help and she'd be back in a minute. She never came back for him. I got the vehicle started and felt obligated to give the guy a lift, he lived two roads over.When he got in the car, I suddenly felt DANGER radiating at me from the passenger seat. It actually felt like a heat lamp burning my skin, a physical presence I'd never felt before or since. I went to FULL RED ALERT, and was on edge until I got him to his house. I allow him out with the vehicle in reverse and my foot ready to stomp the gas. He held his hand out for a shake I didn't feel like, but we're trained to BE POLITE so I took it. This wussy looking guy had a grip like iron. As I left, the danger feeling stopped and I eventually forgot about forward to finding this book. As I read it, that incident came back to mind. I realized he had lied repeatedly and tried to manipulate me, taking advantage of my society-trained compulsion to be "nice" to a pushy stranger. My subconscious noticed all the things I ignored, added them up and decided he was trouble. Bigger problem than I'd ever met and it created damn sure I paid attention.And that's exactly what this book teaches you to do. LISTEN to your instincts and OBEY them, don't endanger yourself to "be polite" to someone who makes you nervous. That danger signal may have saved my life, and I'm not an simple target.I have bought, loaned and given away at least ten copies of this book. Everyone thanks me profusely and passes it on to someone else they care about. Obtain it for you, obtain it for a loved one. Obtain it for the women in your life, who are unfortunately preferred targets for criminals. Ignore the second half, it's all about workplace and profiling. But the first half could save your life, or that of someone you love. BUY IT NOW.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift of Fear []  2020-1-16 21:38

    I'm dying for a fresh updated ver of this book. It's amazing - with one caveat: as a lot of people with PTSD know, we're fast to pick up on those danger signs, but research shows that we're much slower acting on our inner signals. We all know why. Want Mr. de Becker would address the large number of post-9/11 changes and how those with trauma-tinged perception can figure out exactly how to navigate this tricky situation. Still a amazing recommendation for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    The kids and grands in your life will revel in Richard Morris' 4th book (DO obtain the others - as with this book, the words and the illustrations are bound to appeal to every young kid.) This time children obtain both Richard Morris' delightful humor and creative whimsy as well as intro to William Blake's popular poem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    Cute!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Bunny []  2020-7-22 19:36

    Love that it's based on my fave poem!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    Love this is a deep love song but is often misinterpreted as a suicide is about eternal love beyond the grave.A Classic from my youth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (Don't Fear) The Reaper []  2020-8-18 20:39

    This is easily one of the most famous songs ever recorded. It still gets plenty of air time on radio, and children whose parents weren't yet born when Blue Oyster Cult first recorded it know the words, and sing along with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Survivors: The Fear Saga, Book 2 []  2020-1-16 15:26

    If I could package all the ingredients to a amazing story into my own bag - this series would be it. Had my attention from front to finish and by chapter 4 I had already downloaded the 2nd book. Like the plot, characters and action (lots of action.) This second book did not disappoint and found myself deeply engrossed in the hero dynamics and action. Can't elaborate with giving story only regret is they didn't have an audible ver of this so I could have used some long driving time to hold reading it.I read a lot of books and if I could give 6 stars I would have.Just checked the forums and looks like the author will have next book out in December! I only hope it is earlier rather than later.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Sky: The Fear Saga, Book 1 []  2020-1-31 1:54

    A 4.5-star review (if I had a 0.5 star possibility)Very well written, and initially very intriguing for the scientist/engineer in me. Asteroids hurtling towards earth with physically unlikely characteristics. The entire book is very well written, interesting, and the plot keeps you hanging on the edge of your seat. My only gripe is that it (semi-spoiler alert) includes aliens arriving on earth, who manage to not only blend in physically, but also socially in terms of behaviour and culturally, e.g., in speech, mannerisms, and most unlikely, flirting successfully with unsuspecting humans. Technologically advanced aliens arriving on earth is quite believable, but for them to infiltrate and fool their surrounding humans so completely seems highly improbable (to me).--vick

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Sky: The Fear Saga, Book 1 []  2020-1-31 1:54

    Fear the Sky was a amazing book. I thought the characters of Neal Danielson, John Hunt and madeline Cavanaugh were really thought out and woven into the story line well. The concept of "androids" living among us with alien minds was fantastic. The fact that they couldn't use any technology without drawing attention to themselves because of the "eyes in the sky" was a true nice touch. I am excited on where this series is going. The concept is very well thought out. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Sky: The Fear Saga, Book 1 []  2020-1-31 1:54

    The primary idea for this novel is very interesting, and parts of the story worked well. Two problems resulted in my two-star rating. One is that there are some hugely improbable plot points. Can't go over these without being a spoiler. Yes, I know this is science fiction, but it should be tethered to reality. The second is that the book is very poorly edited, with lots of typos, grammatical errors, and word misuse. So, someone's interest is "peaked" rather than piqued, or they are in the "throws" of some problem rather than the throes. Phrases like "you were extolling me", and thinking that the members of a cohort are referred to as "cohorts": "four godlike cohorts soar far above" really got to me after a while. So, primary idea excellent, writer very promising, but really needs a first-rate editor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Sky: The Fear Saga, Book 1 []  2020-1-31 1:54

    It's a well-written page turner with a grand and reasonable premise: aliens in desperate need of a habitable planet have found one, currently e creative author has readers accept a sort of blend of alien psyche that is very human in thought pattern with a robotic body. In communication with all-seeing satellites that have hacked into everything in the Internet, these are strong insidious 's a masterful story with just the right blend of twists and turns. You're not likely to connect deeply with the characters, but they believable and interesting, providing a human element.But create no mistake, this is a story of spies and war. The author has deep knowledge of planes, weapons, military tactic and more. He could easily write a historical fiction battle novel and in a lot of ways that is what this novel is. I came into this novel seeking something various so gave it four stars. If you like this kind of topic matter and style, you might give it five.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Survivors: The Fear Saga, Book 2 []  2020-1-16 15:26

    This series is refreshing compared to a lot of the sci-fi I have read. I love the fact that the timeline is relatively long filled with plenty of opportunities for disasters, triumphs, tribulations, worry,and exaltation s. The hero set is broad and diverse. Some die,some added,all evolve. The timeline is "realistic" if any can be called in sci-fi. Meaning that it takes time for happenings to happen. A lot of books tend to forget that aspect. Kudos to Moss for at least trying to hold it realistic. I am looking forward to the next book and recommend the series to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Survivors: The Fear Saga, Book 2 []  2020-1-16 15:26

    This is a amazing continuation of the series that began in Fear The Sky. Once again, it's a really page-turner, and once again I obtain to blame Stephen Moss for a bit of sleep deprivation. ;)Hard hitting action, perfect tension, amazing continuation of the characters we already know well and further development of some where necessary, all delivered with the high quality writing demonstrated in the first book. If you have read and enjoyed the first book, then you already know you wish to continue with this one, and fair warning, you'll be itching for the release of the 3rd one by the time you have finished.If you haven't read the first book, "Fear The Sky", then go do that. Then, if you have fun it, you'll wish to come back and obtain this one. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tempest (No Fear Shakespeare) []  2019-12-18 20:12

    This tutorial is very easy to follow along, compared to the Old English versions. My sister purchased this edition for her class, and it has greatly helped her to create sense of the writing, rather than to have her mind boggled. The side by side of the original and the modern text, once its able to be grasped the meanings and the contexts, really does allows one to appreciate the beauty of the play and the writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tempest (No Fear Shakespeare) []  2019-12-18 20:12

    A amazing help

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tempest (No Fear Shakespeare) []  2019-12-18 20:12

    Book for school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rise of Nuclear Fear []  2019-12-23 20:30

    A comprehensive and in-depth ysis of nuclear fear throughout time. Quite informative but not necessarily interesting. Massive influence from the discipline of psychology. Generally a amazing introduction to the subject but readers more interested in the problem may like the book more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fear the Survivors: The Fear Saga, Book 2 []  2020-1-16 15:26

    This novel was one of the most exhilarating science fiction stories I have ever read, and I have ready many. It continues the epic story begun in Fear the Sky, and gives it a much more terrestrial focus. The hero development is even better, deeper, and more relatable than the already perfect hero development of the first book. Reading this book gave me a feeling much like I imagine people must have experienced when watching the trench run in Star Battles for the first time in 1977, though I am much too young to have experienced that firsthand. There are certain moments in certain books that create your heart beat faster, and create you suck in your breath as you prepare to turn the page, attempting to read quickly enough to hold up with the action. This book has those moments in abundance. This book also has horror, dispatched ruthlessly by one particularly vicious antagonist versus all-too-relatable victims. It might not be enough to give you nightmares, but then again it might. If all that isn't enough, this book does something I've seen precious few science fiction books do, which is bring new ideas to the conversation of the nature of technology and innovation. One example of this in particular is a part that I will refer to as "the bicycle metaphor", which I have never heard anywhere else and which I think was a particularly brilliant bit of writing in an already golden--no, create that platinum--piece of creative storytelling for the adventurous reader.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386