the friday society Reviews & Opinions


Submit the friday society review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    So the setup here is a setting around the turn of the century in London, with several appealing stars -- three young women with interesting talents and general dissatisfaction with the method their lives are working out. Cora is a scientific and engineering genius who is frustrated that her boss, an MP and a genius in his own right, doesn’t seem to appreciate all she does. Nellie is an assistant for a popular magician, and while he does appreciate and help her, she dreams of having her own adventures. Michiko is a young Japanese woman, superbly trained as a samurai, but with limited skills in English and yoked to an abusive egomaniac.What brings them together, besides random chance, is a villain — an ominous, strong foe known as the Fog — who’s roaming the roads at night murdering prominent gentlemen and innocent flower girls, breaking into the Turret of London to steal the Crown Jewels, and eventually staging a daring and destructive attack on the entire e police are helpless, and the greatest men in the nation are clueless, so what hope can we expect from a girl trained in the construction of steampunk weaponry, another girl who knows more about sleight-of-hand, trickery, acrobatics, and thievery than anyone else in the city, and another girl who is one of the most skilled martial artists in the nation? And if they know that their actions could have serious repercussions, what sort of disguises will they devise to protect themselves? Will they, perhaps, become superheroes? (Hint: Yes, they will.)I’m not normally all that huge on steampunk — I love it in theory, but it often doesn’t live up to my expectations. But I loved the stuffings out of this book — partly because it wasn’t entirely a steampunk story. You can’t expect a lot of faithfully rendered Victorian/Edwardian attitude — it’s really very anachronistic, as all three of our main characters generally talk and act like modern-day women. Honestly, I think that’s fine — this was designed as a young adult novel, specifically to appeal to girls, so I don’t see any issue with having our characters think like more modern women.Which brings us to our characters themselves — Cora, Nellie, and Michiko are all total winners as characters. Cora brings the frustrated snark along with the brainy science, Nellie is part girly-girl, part swashbuckler, all enthusiasm, and Michiko is controlled, quiet, and generally confused by almost everything Cora and Nellie do. And they all work together really well. They all obtain individual moments to shine, and they all obtain moments where they shine as a team. They even obtain moments where they fail to shine, just to present that they're not perfect, unstoppable heroes.I am fairly impressed that Kress specifically planned to have Nellie be the hero most fond of stereotypically girly pursuits, primarily for the sake of realism — plenty of girls like dresses and shoes and sparkles while still being awesome, and liking "girl stuff" certainly doesn't prevent someone from being awesome. So I love the fact that this aspect of her hero was e action’s great, the mystery is fun, the plot twists are entertaining. I suppose I should’ve figured out what kind of disguises they were going to come up with, but I didn’t, so that added to the fun, too.If I’ve got a criticism, I’d say I want Michiko had known a bit more English. There were too a lot of scenes that featured Cora and Nellie talking to each other while Michiko stood by silently. But hopefully, that will be less of a issue in the sequels (and I hope there are sequels on the way).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    This is a steampunk story with friendship and lots of girl power. Cora is a lab assistant to inventory Lord White who found her in a not good part of city and educated and trained her. Nellie is a magician's assistant who was discovered when she was a kid doing burlesque. Michiko is was in training to become a samurai when she encountered her current employer and finds herself in London giving fighting e story begins by introducing the three girls and their mentors before it introduces the mystery. Each girl has part of the story and it isn't until they all meet that they obtain a better picture of what is going on.I liked that each girl has a special personality and a special relationship with their mentors. I likes the steampunk gadgets that Cora and the villains of the story invent. I liked the friendship that grew between the girls as they teamed up, each with their own particular skill set, to solve murders and search out who was blackmailing ere were lots of interesting situations and the villains were method over-the-top from the scientist who was collecting body parts and had a unique interest in eyes to the grave robbers who supplied him with is was a fun adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    A Rollicking Frolic with HeartSomebody "borrowed" this book from me when I was halfway through. I blame it on the superb cover that screams steam punk grrl power and is therefore irresistible to certain light-fingered ever, I eventually retrieved my copy and was rollicked through to the end. I'm the more impressed by the author's ability to make compelling and amusing characters since I found the plot relatively pedestrian, reminiscent of all those overwrought and over-the-top super character films which are also saved by compelling and amusing characters. Yes, Iron Man, I'm looking at you. Love the red and gold detailing, by the way.I like all three protagonists: Cora for her brainy prickliness and determination; Nellie for her sparkly physicality and canniness; Michiko, well, for everything. Among the supporting cast, I've developed a fondness for the mysterious Magician; the cunning parrot Scherazade; Officer Murphy; and Hayao, the boy with a talent for running (up walls and over rooftops as well as on the ground.) I hate Michiko's employer, Callum, but that's okay, because I'm beautiful sure I'm supposed to. Jury's still out on Cora's boss, Lord White. I don't quite trust him, but again, that's okay. A small uncertainty about an (ongoing?) hero isn't a poor enes that particularly worked for me were those between Michiko and Hayao, Nellie and the Magician, and Cora and her old playmate, now a flower girl. I also had a squeamish fascination for the stage in the pub, when Cora stands up to Andrew and his nasty coterie of Eton chums. In all these scenes, I sensed the coming together of theme, of the proper relationships between master and assistant, teacher and student, richer and poorer, stronger and weaker, mate and friend, even lover and lover. The proper bond, I read here, is one of mutual respect, and the result? Well, beating the poor guys, for one thing.Another tribute to the author's ability? I didn't place the book down after the first few pages, when it became painfully clear that anachronistic slang was to be one order of the day. This is a pet peeve of mine, and I think the book would have been gained much integrity by avoiding it. However, obviously, other attractions got me over the peeve - a very rare occurrence!Other nits: I could have done without the Andrew-Cora subplot, though its denouement is interesting. Maybe if this subplot had lost the insta-lust and make-out sessions, which struck me as out of hero for Cora and the historical period, Andrew's "progressive" egotism notwithstanding. The principal villain had some intriguing parallels to our heroines but failed to totally convince me - ditto the villainous secret society. It might have been the monologuing and the (for me) over-the-top nature of the final threat. The climax was fun, with some very nice details, but felt slightly rushed. Ditto an earlier action sequence at the Turret of London.Overall, however, a powerful begin to what could be a fine series. Certainly, the close of the novel opens up all sorts of possibilities for the further adventures of Cora, Nellie and Michiko, aka the Friday Society.Oh, and you know what would be cool? A graphic novel ver of the story! Just saying....

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the friday society or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the friday society video reviews and related movies:

    See THE FRIDAY SOCIETY - by Adrienne Kress (book trailer) on youtube.

     related image

    See The Friday Society, Adrienne Kress - 9780803737617 on youtube.

     related image

    See [book review] The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress on youtube.

     related image

    See "Falling down" by friday society on youtube.

     related image

    See The Friday Society -- "Meth" on youtube.

     related image

    See Young Society Julyamsh 2014 Friday Drum Contest Song on youtube.

     related image

    See 27/12/2013 at A:M AFTER HOURS & THE FRIDAY SOCIETY on youtube.

     related image

    See New Release Tuesday: Burned, Almost Truth, Poison and Friday Society! (December 4-6, 2012) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    This was one of those books that I bought beautiful much solely because of the book cover. I mean, just look at it! It screams girl-power, steampunk and fun. And in those 3 respects at least, it definitely ra, Nellie and Michiko are thrown together by possibility one night, at the stage of a grisly murder. Fate has their paths crossing again and again, a friendship blossoms, and they search themselves working together to solve a series of mysteries that may or may not be all e beginning of this book is unbelievable - I loved the method the 3 girls are introduced to the reader. I liked learning about each girl's past and getting to know her personality. Each has her own private struggles to overcome, as well as interesting relationships with secondary e steampunk setting is also nicely done. There are gadgets galore, cool inventions and the clothing descriptions are awesome. The language/dialogue does feel a bit off with modern phrases popping up here and there, but I got used to it after awhile and didn't think it was overly ings I didn't like:Although it starts out strong, the story does lose steam about midway through. The writing is snappy and fun, but sometimes (and towards the end, a lot of times) the "fun" goes a small over the top and spills into the realm of absurdity. Although I laughed several times throughout the book, I found myself rolling my eyes just a small bit more. In particular, the part where the villain is revealed and motivations are explained is downright ridiculous. Really, the mystery as a whole was beautiful lame and one aspect of it was very predictable. The ending played out like a poor cartoon though the plot is weak, the parts that focus on the characters and their relationships are amazing enough to mostly create up for it. Anyway, the book cover beautiful much says it all, what you see is what you get: no dark, intricate plot or deep emotion ridden story here, but rather, a light, fun and an overall entertaining read (as long as you're willing to place up with some silliness).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    So it took me a small while to read the whole book. Not only because it's a splendidly told story that unfolds as the main characters are developed and revealed. But also because the rest of my life kept annoyingly interrupting soon as my vacation started, I went back to reading, and just finished the book.I thoroughly enjoyed it, the steampunk, the sizzling characters, and the style of writing. It's left me wondering what will happen next, what fresh things will be revealed. I wish more. Send more please?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    Cute idea with three very differnt women in an action adventure cerca 1900 London. Just does not work. The characters are flat and contrived. Trying to balance the characters comes across as awkward. It cute in locations and an example of social conventions during the period.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    Haven't quite finished this one yet, but it is as enjoyable as the others from Adrienne that I have already read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    This was definitely not my cup of tea. It really seemed like Young Adult fiction but I might have been biased by the three main protagonists being teenage girls. The writing style certainly could fall under YA and the cutesy chapter titles were definitely not aimed at a 40-something male reader. Chapter 30 (And What Has Cora Been up to This Whole Time?...." comes to mind as a amazing at being said the plot was a bit contrived towards the end but the steampunk inventions were very interesting. I wouldn't say that it was a waste of time to read (I did [email protected]#$%! after all) but I wouldn't read it again and can't say that I would recommend it to any of my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    The characters in this story are great. They are likable and their struggles are enjoyable. Fast jumps between the main characters create the story go by quickly. The story has a slight Steampunk feel without going to far into that genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Society review []  2020-1-14 19:38

    I really wanted to like this book. It appeared to have a lot of my favorite tropes, steampunk? check. Girl Heroes? Check. Believable Girl Heroes? l of the girls just coincidentally happen to have *all* of the skills they need not only to be amazing killing/problem solving machines, but each of them has spent enough time in a geisha house/burlesque house/time as a flower girl to be *Girly* "Like OMG I'm so glad that I spent that time with that Geisha after training for years as a Samurai so that I would know about things like makeup and dancing!" Seriously this is a thing in this book. (Lets ignore the fact that both disciplines took years to master) or "OMG I totes managed to stay a virgin while being the hottest act at that burlesque house that I was at for like five months" or "I've only shot a gun once but I was the only one in my group to hit the target on the first test and that means that I can pick up any gun and shoot like Annie Oakley."This novel asks the reader to suspend all disbelief without a worthy pay off for doing so. Hyde spent time as a flower girl but no mention of how flower girls were very often just low rent prostitutes, or very often victims of rape and assault. And Hyde out of all the other flower girls just happened to have a amazing but not good family to take her in and hold her safe. Same for Sparkles, spent time in a burlesque theater but managed to retain her virginity? Right. Michiko just somehow managed to obtain training as a samurai in a feudal patriarchal Japan? Really?Also for all that we are told time and time again that the girls are intelligent they frequently do stupid things and their internal dialogues read like the musings of Valley Girls in the worst way. Other reviewers are talking about how *fun* the dialogue and tone of the book is but it wears thin very quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    This book was a Hugo and Nebula nominee. It must have been a slow year. The story follows Friday Jones, a laboratory made artificial person who works as a specialist courier. On return from a mission to the moon something goes very poor and Friday ultimately finds herself chop off from all she knows. The story, told in first person, follows Friday as she attempts to reconnect with her old life and search her footing in her fresh situation. The story is ok, a decent read. I found the ending a bit of a dud and some characters were acting, well, out of character. Be aware this is typical late Heinlein: sex, sex and more sex. Also, I absolutely detest the cover art of the Kindle edition. Someone must have been paid by the number of eye searing colors the could use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    I slogged through this a bit. The globe ( and colonized planets) has been divided into different areas controlled by governments or perhaps huge company conglomerates. It represents a globe going through lots of transitions but using all sorts of technological wonders in transportation and energy sources. I kept thinking the next chapter would wrap it up, but Heinlein just kept heaping more locations to go/ways to obtain there/people to have sex with. I did like the heroine. She seemed introspective, observant, intelligent, and aware of herself trying to fit in. I would not say this is a must read, but if you are a Heinlein fan it should be on your to read list.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    Loved this book when I first read it years ago. As with other Heinlein novels, it's as much about culture, particularly social norms and prejudices, as it is vision of possible futures. Social commentary about politics and religion is embedded in the plot. I was intrigued by the exercise regarding how to identify a failing society; there is something to consider in relation to current (2018) politics and culture in the United a caution, readers may be offended by the attitude takwn by the novel toward sexuality (including the pregnancy of a 14 year old toward the end of the novel) and religion (particulsrly Catholicism).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    Heinlein is more prophetic today than he was 35 years ago, when Friday was published (1982). It was a favorite when first I read it, and still today having just completed reading it for a second time. Heinlein has no equal on the bookshelves, in ink or electrons. He is, especially in his later work, keen on creating a compelling insight into our common humanity in an uncommon future. Friday Jones, our heroine, is a genetically enhanced human, or artificial person, in the parlance of the book. She is kooky intelligent and as deadly as she is sexy. But hers is a coming of age story nevertheless. I personally like stories slight on plot and massive on hero interaction. This book delivers. We learn about Friday in the first person and about the future of our species as Friday navigates mega-corporations and intergalactic political duress all the while trying only to search a loving home. And for those fresh to Heinlein, be ready for some not-so-subtle commentary on morals and ers should note that the transition from ink to electrons was not without errors galore. I suspect this too is a condition we live with in 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    I was introduced to sci fi by Robert Heinlein in his Rocketship Galileo novel at 12 years of age. It was an instant addiction and I read every book he wrote afterward as soon as I could obtain my hands on it.I loved Friday the first time I read it in 1982 and like a fine wine it has improved in my perception with age. It has motivated me to re-read more of his classics. (They're ALL classics!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    One of my favorite Heinlein books. I received my first copy of this book during my second tour in Vietnam and it was a truly amazing method to escape from some of my less satisfied times. I think this was about my sixth time to read it and it was just and good. If you don't love Friday (the main star) I will be surprised. A truly high class SciFi drama.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    Amazing social commentary from a master writer, done up so the reader enjoys being preached to! Heinlein always criticized societies, but his characters always outperform the common citizenry to amazing effect. Whether it's Michael Valentine Smith, Friday Jones or Lazarus Long, we read, are entertained, and are inspired.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    This was my first full novel by Heinlein - until now I had only read a few of his short stories. This is a amazing novel, but frankly I preferred his short stories more.Having said that, it has interesting characters, an adequately paced and we'll told plot, enough of a whiff of mystery (and even some intrigue), and some respectable scifi-type philosophical questions thrown in there to create it worth a read on a long journey (which is what I did).The only draw back I think is that the novel teases and flirts with some huge problems but doesn't really take any bold turns with them and so never fully explores them I l in all, it s a amazing read, but nothing exceptional in the sci-fi landscape, which is what I'd have expected from the master that is Heinlein.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    Friday The book is great! Loved reading it! HOWEVER, the Kindle ver SUCKS old rotten ostrich eggs. It's FULL of typos, some of which are not difficult to figure out, but when you come across a word, "cormls," even in context it's damn hard to figure out what it is ... see Friday Kindle version, zone 5520. I just bought the Kindle version, then read in the comments section about the typos. So I looked myself, and the comment was correct! My advice? Hold the hardcover or paperback(s) you have of Friday and read them. The Kindle ver is aggravating because of the darn typos, which is from not good proofreading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:0

    Unquestionably the weakest story line and poorest hero development that I have ever seen in a Heinlein book. Nothing but sex, sex and more sex in a purely wonderful future setting. I am a large fan of the author, but this one book is not worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Friday Deals | Black Friday Offers review [App]  2017-11-25 21:9

    Unbelievable application, user friendly UI.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Friday Deals | Black Friday Offers review [App]  2017-11-25 21:9

    Awesome... Best price to compare

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Friday Deals | Black Friday Offers review [App]  2017-11-25 21:9

    Navin bhai jordar jordar

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    The Secret Book And Scone Society is the first book in a unbelievable fresh series by author Ellery Adams. This book is absolutely the best book I have read all year. I was unable to part with it until it was finished and I cried when it ended. This is mystery magic ! . Ellery Adams has a talent for transporting the reader and as you read this book you are transported to Miracle Springs, a put of healing that will touch your heart. Nora has come here to live and run a bookstore called "Miracle Books." She is a "Biblotherapist" ( a admirable vocation for a cozy series protagonist! ) with a innate talent for finding books a person needs when they visit her bookstore. She is also a victim of a fire and has secrets she does not share surrounding her previous life. She is a loner who keeps to herself and happily runs her business. She lives in a renovated train vehicle near her bookstore which was delightful to experience through her eyes. She longs for friendship and a normal life but accepts due to her outward scars and inward trauma she is fine alone. However this is Miracle springs and her life is soon to take a turn with the best miracle of all, friendship.Miracle Springs is also the home to three other independent very damaged women in town. Hester who is a baker of comforting scones that when eaten revel deepest secrets. . Estelle runs the hair salon and June is a manager of a healing waters spa. They are drawn together by a death that occurs in their city that involves Nora and decide to come together to form a quick friendship as they attempt to solve the murder. They agree to share their secrets and in doing so become quick mates and form their secret club, The Secret Book And Scone Society. As they told their individual stories I found myself very touched . These women are people all would hope to have as friends. They are all of us damaged by life. They band together to solve the crime and support each other as their friendship they start to investigate they search a not good underlying crime occurring between the local bank and the Sheriff. They soon join forces and are a unstoppable force versus the evil that threatens their lovely town. They are brave, intelligent and take a lot of risk together to stop the is book will create you believe in the healing power of books. Ms. Adams has well crafted all the right cozy elements with a unbelievable mystery and finely tuned conclusion that will leave you breathless and wanting to read the second in series roughout the book and at the beginning of each chapter are marvelous book quotes and delicious scones. The city is delightful and the rich info put you in this attractive village. This is one of the best mysteries I have ever read. I await the next in series and appreciate the ARC by the author which did not influence my review. I read this book cover to cover unable to place it down. At Chapter 3 the author has a quote by Maya Angelou that says "There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you. " A excellent quote for this book and for The Secret Book And Scone is book is a masterful buildup of suspense, amazing characterization and a exciting conclusion that create this my favorite book of the year. ,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    I'm only 14percent into the book and I have to take a break. The characters are extremely cliche (the White characters are young, successful business owners, while the only Black hero is middle aged, poor, overweight, and works as an entry level employee) and the writing is a bit ambitious in its attempt to convey info to the far, I have felt absolutely no connection to the victim. There is an attempt to make a sense of urgency in finding out whodunnit, but I don't really care! Also, there's far too much dialog between characters who are just sitting around so, how is everyone extremely perceptive? The baker intuitively knows what treat to concoct, and the bookseller divines what book to recommend for healing her customers? All by perception? This sounds a bit too close to Juliet Blackwell's Witchcraft Mysteries (which I HIGHLY recommend), where the main hero recommends clothing based on vibes she gets from her feels that the author inconsistently copied and pasted writing styles from Juliet Blackwell and Rhys Bowen. The effect is a random hodgepodge of detail and dialogue.I read Ms. Adams' Church series and found the characters unlikeable but I thought I'd give this a shot. Since I spent $10 for this, I'm going to reluctantly see it through.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    This is the first book in a fresh series by Ellery Adams. It was just as enchanting to read as is looking at the cover of the book.We obtain to meet four powerful, and damaged women living in Miracle Springs, North Carolina. A city known where people travel to for healing.When a man is found dead these four women decide to find for answers and the truth.I have read Ellery Adams other series and love them, but this to me is her best.A story how very various individuals can form friendships.I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    I'm a huge fan of Author Ellery Adams work, so the moment I saw her announce her fresh series, I pre-ordered the book. I sure wasn't disappointed!The Secret, Book and Scone Society takes you to Miracle Springs, NC where four independent women - Nora, June, Estella, and Hester - become mates while trying to solve a murder that's tearing their city apart.While the women move towards solving the murder, you learn that the bookseller, spa manager, beautician, and baker aren't quite what they seem: they each have a secret. One by one, they reveal their secrets to each other as they obtain closer to discovering the e Secret, Book and Scone Society has well-developed and quite flawed characters that beg you to turn the page to obtain to know more about them, especially those secrets they've kept for years. Despite the cozy genre, there is an edge or reality and darker themes to this series, which I personally lled with a delightful town, those characters you can't support loving, and lots of twists and turns, The Secret, Book and Scone Society will leave readers both happy - and ready for the next adventure with Nora and friends.(Note: I received a copy from the Publisher via NetGalley. All opinions are my own)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    Ellery Adams has done it again. She's shown women that they are stronger than they think they are. Her mysteries always have some kind of notice at least to me and this one is no different. Nora has a bookstore and a gift. She can pick the right book for what a person needs in their life at that minute. When a man who came to her shop and was killed, Nora doesn't believe it was suicide. She enlists some other store owners and these women form their own sleuthing club. I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    I haven't even finished this book yet and I am loving it. Part of what makes it more enjoyable is Ellery Adams herself. On Fb she had all these secret pictures that we had to test to figure out what the picture was ~ and who ever did could victory something. This was prior to the release of the book. Now that I am reading the book I can see where all those pictures and clues came from : the book !Oh and something else " Ellery Adams" does in this book, that she does on her fb page is share a lot of quotes.Warm fuzzy comfortable quotes from other writers and other books ~ all of these quotes and cute things in Nora's bookshop create me think that Ellery Adams is a lot like Nora.. in a way.. I bet her house is full of unbelievable books ~ and unbelievable is book, with Nora and her caboose home, her book store and comfy chairs, fun coffee mugs, and Hester's scones just makes this a really nice comfortable book to read.I like the characters in the book, I like the story ~ I am just thoroughly enjoying this book more than I expected this point in the book, no spoilers here people, I wonder if the main hero Nora stays " connected " to the paramedic?I don't understand other reviews I have read about how the reviewer only gave this book one begin ~ I just don't see is is a fun and enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    I love all of Ellery series so I was really happy to keep an ARC for this fresh series! The characters are complex and interesting. The mystery is interesting and it was hard to place the book down for parenting and adulting! Love how the secrets are revealed and written so beautifully! Highly recommend this amazing book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    I can across this book while on vacation, and it immediately grabbed me. While I liked the characters, the plot, and the overall conclusion, it was the actual writing that grabbed me. It was one of the few books that really engaged all my senses - especially the descriptions that included scent. They helped to fully flesh out this book, enabling me to be fully immersed and honestly forget I was reading - it was more like being part of the book! It was a nice touch that I feel really helped to place this book over the top. When I had to return this book to my vacation library, I went right back home and ordered a copy for my home library - I know this will be a book I read more than once (but come on, ask my family, I read ALL my books more than once)!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    After a private tragedy, Nora Pennington moves to Miracle Springs to begin a fresh life, opening her own bookstore, Miracle Books, and leading a quiet, more sheltered lifestyle. Her fresh forte is that of a bibliotherapist, matching books to her customers that come in seeking peace, forgiveness or healing. But when one of her potential customers turns up dead, Nora is sure he did not commit suicide, based on their brief conversation together earlier. Circumstances then bring together three more damaged women to Nora's shop and they soon search themselves involved in solving his death. But even more important, they ultimately look for ways to heal themselves. And thus, the Secret, Book and Scone Society is born. This is the first book in a fresh series by Ellery Adams and as with her other mystery series, immediately captures the reader with its characters, mystery and twists and turns. Each of the four woman has a private "secret" that has overshadowed their lives, and each needs to search a method to work through this and learn to share and trust again. While the mystery was an necessary part of this story, it definitely took a backseat (rightfully so) to the journey that Nora, June, Hester and Estelle all are taking together...broken souls in need of healing in a city known for healing strangers. I can't wait for the next book in this series to learn more about these characters and their relationships with each other.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society (Secret, Book, & Scone Society 1) review []  2019-12-20 18:0

    It is time to memorize four names, create that five names. Nora, Hester, Jane, Estella, and Jed. Why? Because, you are going to admire each of these characters once you read this book!There is a little city in North Carolina that specializes in alternative, as well as conventional healing therapies. This city includes businesses that deal with the physical and emotional ailments, such as: scones that offer comfort, spas to create every person look their best, pools to ease pains, and even a bookstore geared to respond the questions your soul e owners and staffs of these enterprises often have personally felt the anguish their clients are or have gone through. This gives an special perspective to their therapies.Enter some really troubled and poor persons and you have a mix ready for a murder or two or d a sprinkle of romance and you have one amazing fairness, the Author gave me a copy of this book. I consider her not only a amazing author, but, also a truly Dear friend. I was buying this book either way. Ms. Adams never writes a poor book. And, I was very satisfied to search I like this fresh premise greatly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I am not a knitter, nor do I have any interest in becoming one. However, it is hard not to become caught up in the lives of these well-drawn characters, and it's very simple to care about what happens to them as they explore each other's strengths and weaknesses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    This book can be enjoyed by fresh or well experienced knitters. Being involved in a newly founded Knitting Group where members are of all levels, ages, experience is wonderful. Sometimes just being together to share stories, develop friendships, knit a bit or a lot can be equally rewarding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    i enjoyed this novel about diverse women. as a quilter i could connect with the love of wool and cotton. i know that my interest has helped me create mates with people at various skill levels.i did not have any expectation of learning something earthshattering, just sat back and enjoyed the book. all characters were included as it drew to a close, yes, with moist eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Keeping the characters and their lives straight was a small difficult, but managed as I read. Was shocked at times when the profanity was tossed in...Was a attractive story of the method love develops between most unlikely ecious love!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I really enjoyed this story. I have been aware of quilting groups but had never considered a knitting club. Doing crafts or anything in a group is an perfect method to bond a group of very diverse individuals. i will read mode by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I enjoyed this book, does have some twists and turns and an simple read. Story line could be a small confusing, but if you hold up you are okay. Interesting story for those who have tried to knit, makes you think you might wish to test again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    It's a amazing read. It is a story about mates who become your family and who bond over the same passion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    This book is a fun read. With knitting in common this group of gals in Fresh York share life's ups and downs. I love the powerful friendships that develop. They ach learn to forgive in their own way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Loved the story about powerful women who search caring and strength in a group .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Seems purchased through Amazon books take quite awhile to be shipped. Book was very amazing and enjoyed reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    Not overly impressed with the layout. The pictures are in one section, and the info in another. I worry that this could obtain annoying. I do like that the various monster types are split into catergories, but more could probably be done to differentiate these sections, and/or the habitat type, location, etc). The little dust jacket is a bit odd and flimsy, but the book doesn't look very amazing without it either. I think the book will be useful, and beautiful to flick through the pictures too, but these probably won't be my first choice for future field guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    It's very thorough on what it does cover but I think it should have been split into several tutorials covering regional locations such as the East Coast, the Gulf Coast and the West Coast. Because of the fact it tries to cover all areas, it is not nearly as comprehensive as it could be had it been split up. I also think there could have been a more comprehensive set of color plates as a number of animals described have no image at all and some even have no line drawing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    So interesting. As with all NAS books, lots of learning in these pages. The photography is gorgeous and since I live , surrounded by water and beaches, this is excellent for my learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    I haven’t had the time to sit my butt down to look the two unbelievable shell and beach life books I purchased but, I’m certain they will keep a wealth of info and attractive pictures because I grew up having one of their bird books in our home (Northeastern) and it was fabulous!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    Perfect resource book on Seashore creatures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    I love this book i love the ocean and i beach come and this book is just what i ankyou

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    We bought this for our eleven-year-old grandson, who is already fascinated with and knowledgeable about marine life. I knew about the Audubon guides, because my parents hold them at their put on the beach, and my husband and I use them to identify the wildlife we see on our walks there. The organization and color images support us to search the monsters we've observed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    I really like the tutorial as a whole. A lot of a lot of types of sea life and explanations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE BIBLE FOR SNORKELING....THIS IS A MOST IF YOU LAKE TO DO DIVING AND OR FISHING WITH YOUR KIDS

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    This is a very informative and well photographed book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    I always loved the vivid pictures in these books. This is a amazing resource for most of your major plants and animals of the Mid-Atlantic. However, when it comes to plants, it only covers the major species, for which I have to knock off at least a star. It is not all inclusive to say the least and it can lead one to incorrectly identify a plant. Like most all of these type books, it must be used as a reference in concert with other books as it is not a stand alone guide. It also is not amazing that useful for plant identification in the winter. I do like the layout, maps with geographical range, and the fact it contains additional info such as warnings for toxic plants as well as notes on edibility.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    As an fan of the outdoors, I often end up carrying several field tutorials with me to identify wildflowers, trees, and animal tracks. This compact tutorial provides a resource for all of the above plus stars in the night sky, birds, insects, snakes, spiders, butterflies, reptiles, and just about every other type of living thing you can expect to search in the region. While it isn't as exhaustive as my more specific field guides, it's breadth of subjects covered create it an invaluable addition to any outdoor enthusiast's backpack.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    We are relative newcomers to PA and although a lot of of the flora and fauna we observe in our fresh surroundings are the same as what we were familiar with in NJ, there are enough that are fresh that we required a tutorial to support us identify them. This tutorial does the trick. For example, it confirmed that the critter ambling up our driveway was a mink, and gave us names for the a lot of dragonflies that we observe in our back yard. Although it is not as all-inclusive and descriptive as a bird book or a tree book or a wildflower book might be, it identifies most of what we observe so that we can more easily look up a more detailed description if we so desire. We are getting a lot of use out of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    This Audubon tutorial is very good. I used it bird watching on Maryland's Eastern Shore, as well as kayaking in Northern Virginia. I've also used it to identify beetles and snakes in the region. However, I think some sections may be too limited, i.e. insects. Yes, I know there are a ton of insects and spiders, but I still think they could have included more. I highly recommend it, though.I am now buying it for my 10-year-old nephew to have fun while using his fresh binoculars during scouting. My brother and sister-in-law say it will be excellent for him. His reading skills and science knowledge are above average.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    Amazing book to carry along on outside adventures, pictures are accurate and bright.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    these are amazing field tutorials for reviewing a region and selecting parks to hike

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    As described

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    Nice for fast reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    Very amazing overall. But missing several necessary entries (like kudzu). I feel like Virginia could have been grouped with the southeastern states because a lot of Virginia plants and animals aren't in this book because they aren't abundant in the other Mid-Atlantic states.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday the 13th review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    'Friday the 13th' turned out to be one of the largest disappointments when it comes to horror classics remakes. After watching the trailers, I got the wrong idea that this movie was going to be more serious. The previews gave me the false impression that this remake was going to go deeper into Jason's background story or maybe even offer extremely gory murders, when in reality, it is exactly the opposite. I'm not one of those horror lovers who wish to know everything similar to the villains, their origins and such, but in this case, it would have been acceptable to throw in some flashbacks regarding Jason Voorhees' past. Unfortunately, this remake wastes all the opportunities to create this interesting and instead, it offers an exaggerated and ineffective amount of comedy situations that are badly placed and ruin the chance of creating a genuine horror feeling. Comedy situations in slasher movies are no surprise, but in this remake, the attempted comedy is badly placed and seems like it was forced by the producers to create the movie more marketable. I will give an example: after a really tense and dramatic persecution, the movie cuts to a stage involving a horny stereotyped hillbilly lusting over a mannequin, while Jason silently walking up to him from behind, with the obvious intention of slashing him. How can they mix cheap humor and tension in one scene? The results obviously cannot be good. It was a murder scene, but instead of causing uneasiness, tension or shock, everyone at the film theater was laughing at the guy talking about how he lost his virginity to a mannequin. The worst part is that the so-called humor is extremely 15-years-ago and even back then, it wouldn't have been funny. The gore is very unsatisfying also. Nowadays, slasher movies usually offer creative and really brutal murders and even if the plot is not so good, you can always at least settle for that. When I found out that Marcus Nispel was directing this, I thought it was amazing news, because he directed "The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" remake, which is a fine example of a film that may not be as amazing as the original, but at least it offers something more serious, gory and overall fulfilling. Naturally, since Marcus Nispel also directed 'Friday the 13th' remake, I expected something in the same vein as 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' remake. Sadly, that was a very inaccurate assumption. In this film, the gore is completely unsatisfactory and in some cases, the murders are even funny. The entire film theater burst into a maniacal laughter during some of the murders and I must say that in those cases, I had to agree with them. Another thing that bothered me about this film, is the fact that they could have showed a small bit more about the hero of Mrs. Voorhees. Unfortunately, she only appears during the first seconds of the movie and they chop her scenes with the opening credits, which is a disgrace. The confrontation between Mrs. Voorhees and the counselor girl is perhaps one of the finest points of the entire 'Friday the 13th' series, and it should have been remade in an equally tense way. Cutting the stage with the opening credits is, in my opinion, a self-sabotage. I think it's safe to say that a lot of fans of the original movie were eager to learn some more about Jason's beloved mother and see her more time on the screen. But no... apparently, they didn't even take advantage of that opportunity to create this film more interesting. True, we see a small bit about Jason's environment, since the characters obtain to take a tour inside his house and it was a amazing idea to present his bedroom and evidence the fact that once upon a time, the killing machine was an innocent boy with a normal life. However, that doesn't create up for the lack of zone that Mrs. Voorhees had on the story. 'Friday the 13th' turned out to be a teen comedy with lousy humor and some badly placed murders from the beginning until the end. Watch it if you're curious, but unless you're a silly teenager who thinks everything is funny, don't expect anything even remotely good, because you'll be devastated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday the 13th review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Clearly, the squad behind “Friday the 13th” expected at least to create a reasonable profit out of it, but I seriously doubt that anyone involved in the making of this movie even considered the chance of it becoming the cult classic that it is today. Victor Miller, who wrote the story, openly admitted that he was riding off the success of Halloween (1978). The late actress Betsy Palmer even claimed that, after reading the script, she thought the story was trash (well… she actually used another word), but she took the job because she required a fresh car. Small did she know when she took the role that her hero would immortalize her as one of the largest horror icons of all times. Yes, it is evident that Victor Miller and Don Mancini capitalized on the success of Halloween (1978), but the truth is that “Friday the 13th” manages to stand out on its own, and in the end, other than being two slasher movies about a assassin who prowls around murdering teenagers; these two movies don’t really have that much in common. To this day, John Carpenter’s “Halloween” is considered a more “serious” horror movie (for the lack of a better word), while “Friday the 13th” remains a classic, but is still seen as a less underappreciated respectable flick. Why? Probably because, even though I absolutely love it, I will admit that “Friday the 13th” certainly has a campy nature (no pun intended). In my case, I don’t mind the campiness, I actually have fun it. In “Friday the 13th”, the story begins in 1958, in a summer camp named Camp Crystal Lake. We see two young camp counselors who are about to have sex, when someone appears out of nowhere and murders them both. We don’t obtain to see who the assassin is, since the murders are shown in a point-of-view shot, and the reason behind the murders is not yet explained either. The story then jumps to 1980 and it focuses on Alice, a young and sensible girl who, along with other children of her age, is hired as a counselor by a man who attempts to reopen Camp Crystal Lake. Unfortunately, someone doesn’t seem too thrilled about the reopening of the place, which will lead to a series of gruesome murders. Could it be the same person who killed those two counselors back in 1958? In the end, it is Alice who will have to come face to face with the assassin and war for her own life. *Spoilers ahead* Plot-wise, “Friday the 13th” may not be too remarkable, but it doesn’t really need to be either. I could be wrong, but I believe this movie first introduced the formula that consists on: a summer camp as a scenario, a pinch of mystery, plentiful gore, creative deaths and a gratifying reveal towards the latest minutes. Just like this movie attempted to ride off the success of a previous slasher, ironically, “Friday the 13th” itself ended up generating a bunch of (arguably) inferior clones as well. Of course, commercial success doesn’t necessarily imply quality, but I do think “Friday the 13th” has a certain something that makes it appealing to a lot of people. For the most part, the characters in this movie seem somewhat generic and one dimensional, which is a common attribute in slasher films. There really isn’t much of a hero development, and we don’t obtain to know them very well. Most of the victims are young boys and girls who seem to be in the camp to have a amazing time themselves, rather than working hard to create the kids happy. Surely, these characters don’t really deserve to die for being immature and silly, but at the same time, it is hard to feel too poor for them either. However, the first hero that gets killed after the time-jump seems genuinely sweet and caring, so one obviously feels poor for her when she is brutally murdered, just for being naïve enough to trust a stranger. I think this death after the time-jump was a excellent move, because it sets the tone perfectly for what is going to happen later: a bunch of innocent young people will be brutally murdered without having done anything to deserve it. The acting in “Friday the 13th” is mostly plain or, in some cases, over the top, which, along with the silly dialogs and lines, provides the movie with an enjoyable campy nature. The late Betsy Palmer, who played the role of Mrs. Pamela Voorhees, was nominated for a Razzie Award, and while I love the hero of Mrs. Voorhees and I felt poor to hear about Palmer’s passing, I can understand why she was nominated. It’s true, Betsy’s portrayal of Jason’s mother is over the top and it can appear as unintentionally funny during her delivery of some of her lines, but at the same time, I’m not sure if I can imagine the hero being played differently at this point. Then we have Crazy Ralph, literally jumping out of a closet, telling the children to leave, because they’re doomed and that Camp Crystal Lake has a death curse. This character, aside from being called “Crazy” Ralph, (in case anyone didn’t message that he was crazy in the first place), is perhaps one of the campiest characters in the slasher subgenre, which earned him an iconic put in the franchise and even a little part in the first sequel. “Friday the 13th” offers a nice dozens of gory murders, with Tom Savini in charge of the makeup effects, which is an undeniable seal of quality. The legendary “axe in the face” death stage is perhaps one of the most memorable parts of the movie for a lot of fans. In this scene, Sean Cunningham and Tom Savini not only offer a morbidly satisfying and shocking on-screen death, we also obtain a lot of tension and suspense preceding the murder, which creates a feeling of panic and desperation. The final confrontation between Alice, our final girl, and Mrs. Voorhees, Jason’s vengeful mother is really extensive for a amazing cause, as it helps to build a lot of tension that culminates with a gruesome murder. To some extent, when Mrs. Voorhees suddenly appears out of nowhere and begins to tell the story of what happened to that “poor boy”, it is simple to assume that she is responsible for the carnage, or at least, that she is involved to a certain degree. Up until this point, we had never seen her before throughout the entire film, so why is she popping out now? There are no other supporting characters left to blame for the murders and Mrs. Voorhees shows up the exact moment when things got really ugly? What could she be doing at Camp Crystal Lake in the middle of the night, other than murdering boys and girls? Of course, our final girl, even though she is not unintelligent, seems to be somewhat oblivious of what is really event and this is what makes up wish to shout “Get out of there!”. Mrs. Voorhees is basically explaining the whole story to the audience, but at the same time, she is subtly revealing herself as the killer, before going into a weird trance, in which she starts talking as if she is possessed by Jason, her own son, who drowned at the lake (I always considered this like a switched ver of Norman Bates and his mother). As mentioned before, the acting in this final confrontation is not exactly brilliant and the audience ends up getting more than they probably required to understand the story, since Mrs. Voorhees’ monologue basically goes into detail of what happened, just to create sure we obtain it right (just like when they create sure that we understand that Ralph is a crazy old man, by calling him “Crazy Ralph”). Regardless of the over the top acting and the spoon-feeding to the audience, the confrontation is full of tension, and it is still considered one of the most memorable “killer reveal” moments in the history of horror for a amazing reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Foster review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    I want I could give this timeless Arthur Marks-directed masterwork TEN stars! That is just how much I LOVE it. Friday Foster is one of my all-time favorite movies, and I could never wax weary of it. I love this film so very much, as do I its attractive star protagonist, Pam Grier ... An inimitable motion picture luminary in her own right. Opening to a groovy soundtrack, "Friday Foster", the film, pays homage to the namesake of its lead character, Friday Foster, a stunning former model turned magazine photographer played by Grier, who finds herself entangled in a web of murder-for-hire involving America's wealthiest black man, the fictive Blake Tarr, who is respectively portrayed by another 70s film/TV legend, Thalamus Rasulala. It is inside of an airplane hangar where a hired assassin attempts (but fails) to assassinate the billionaire Tarr, forcing Friday, unbeknownst to the would-be killer, to seek safety in a shielded area. The stubborn and rebellious Friday is not only shaken up, but an eyewitness to the goings on: For she eventually sees the assassin's face, as does he hers. And just that quick, Friday gets her name added to the murder hit list. Why? Well, because Friday, while snapping pics of the chaos, also captured a still photo of the would-be killer's face. From there folks, the fun-filled action and suspense builds ... And builds ... And builds... As the plot uniquely unfolds in this fast-paced, and well-shot action thriller, the Yves Saint Laurent silk scarf-wearing, Louis Vuitton Speedy bag-carrying Friday decides to take it upon herself to "play detective" - much to this head-graying and frustrated dismay of her boss - in order to obtain to the bottom of the mystery surrounding the foiled assassination attempt on Blake Tarr's life, and also to prevent the hit-in-waiting on her own. Enter personal eye, Colt Hawkins - played by the irresistible Yaphet Kotto - who squads up with Friday (at Friday's request) to capture not only the would-be killer, but also those higher ups who executed the contract on Tarr's head in the first place. . . Friday Foster, the film, takes its watchers on one helluva risky and exciting thrill ride - from the throes of Los Angeles to the political power seats of Washington, DC - leaving a trail of dead bodies in its wake ... Including that one of Friday's best friend, Cloris. Rounding out the all-star cast in this hilarious, though undeniably suspenseful cinematic work of art are: Carl Weathers, Godfrey Cambridge, Eartha Mitt, Jason Bernard, Ted Lange, Rosalind Miles, and Julius Harris, just to name a few. A well-aged tale of money, power, ruthlessness, deception and murder, Friday Foster is a cult classic in motion picture history. Its dramatic suspense never lets up until the end credits start to scroll. Amazing movie! Five out of five HUGE stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blondie in Society review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    I have always been more of a cat-lover than a canine-enthusiast, but the Blondie movies have been amazing both in how they've had the Bumsteads' dog Daisy in the series as a whole, and here, as Dagwood gets taken in, buying a Amazing Dane for $50, that both eats its owner out of house and home and is seemingly unfit for dog shows because of his tendency to fall asleep during them. I loved the method that at first Blondie is almost driven to divorce because of it, then eventually comes to love the monstrous dog. Very enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    Amazing app, UI tweak will create it 5 star like swiping between podcast categories, text is a bit hard to select at the top. Love the colour scheme and having everything in one place. Eliminates the need to check on FB hope there's push notifications for fresh posts and podcasts

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    MashaAllah! This is beyond my expectations! I pinned the www service on my phone to have access to all the resources available at SS, but this makes everything much easier. May Allah bless your effort and grant you tawfeeq inshaAllah.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    The section for the Podcasts are organized in a unbelievable way! Overall the application is easy and simple to navigate and doesn't have superfluous information. I hope in the future there is a method to have lessons accessed as well for those who are registered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    Amazing app! Very simple to navigate. Streamlined. Updated. Full of thought-provoking content in snippets fit for a long ride or a short wait. MashaaAllah! Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    Everything in one put and simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    Search me a better application than this, I will wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    Amazing application that provides fast information for Safina!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Safina Society review [App]  2018-4-10 21:8

    Amazing app!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    The lock only works 10% of the time. And when it does, it takes forever to lock/unlock. Firmware modernize take half a day. Useless... Going to obtain the nest smartlock instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Getting there. I love the fresh Auto Lock. Needs to begin up WiFi and obtain Google Home and IFTTT integration.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Want I could return these pieces of junk. No Alexa integration. No Android device widget. No WiFi. But most importantly application can't "find" my locks 90% of the time when I'm standing right in front of them! They're grayed out making the whole "connected lock" thing useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Connection to the lock is slow and auto unblock only works one out of ten times

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Bluetooth is so spotty that I cannot use the lock

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Rarely works.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Not good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    RETURN AND BUY AUGUST. Too late for me to return. Bluetooth is still spotty as hell, no Google Assistant/Google Home or Alexa help still, no WiFi still. Installation is beautiful straightforward but instruction booklet is missing steps and out of order.. Oh and the siri help requires you to hold an iOS device within Bluetooth range of the lock at all times haha what a joke.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Piece of garbage, don't waste your money. My Friday Lock is now seating in its original box, no one even wants to buy it from me. Save your cash and obtain something thats actually practical and works most of the time and not some oversized shell looking door knob with zero reliability. I got myself a zwave schlage and never looked back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Friday Lock review [App]  2018-8-28 13:7

    Does not work with Android. My wife has an iPhone and it works fine, but we have had the locks for over a year and they still haven't had the application working for Android device at all

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    being a huge flaming lesbian I absolutely love the fact that you can only date a girl - the android game itself is not my style, but I only downloaded it so I could be gay. I know they probably didnt mean to create it gay, but thanks for letting me fulfill my fantasies!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    This android game is the same as the CEO one and the President game. Also the stupid Emporer game...all these android games are the same: you be a man ir a woman and all the people you marry are females (never a male to marry) and the story lines are basically the same; especially this one and and the CEO game. Like I just started and your 1st girlfriend is the same exact one from the CEO game. Please come up with something original with male love interests, more people of color and better story lines.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    Loved it! Even though I'm a girl and not gay, I don't care, seeing as it is just a game. But please do understand that people are homophobes, and to allow people choose their sexuality in-game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    So far I love this game. I picked a girl obviously because I'm a girl and it doesn't really bother me in love with tht same sex it's just a android game after all but you should have the option for girls to date a guy and not just women which is why giving it 4 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    Being a lesbian myself as of two years ago (Yes, I was asexual aromantic for the first 16 years of my life), I really don't mind the whole "dating the same gender" system in this. Though there are straight, bisexual and pansexual people who play this, so maybe allow there be a sexuality option in the future?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    I'm not a lezbian. This android game is not for straight girls. I left it as soon as it showed a girl breaking up with my female hero in the beginning of the game. If this is fixed I may test the game. But I do not wish to date my own sex. Not even in a game. I don't mind if others wish to be involved in that but I wish no part of it. It looks like a cool android game so I hope this gets fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    Pick my person to be a girl, because I am a girl, and without ever asking it had her with a girlfriend! Total BS. If it is a android game of choices, why do they create that choice for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    It didn't load like wanted to. Also I picked the girl because I'm a girl but I didn't wish to be in love with a girl. Also why don't you have any men or women of color?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    I dident like it I picked a girl and I'm not bi or gay I wanted to date a guy not a female

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    So, it's a amazing android game but why does my woman have to date women? Do the guys have to date guys? Is that just the android game setup? Either way... deleting the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    Wouldnt allow me confirm. Nothing and it wouldnt download

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High Society review [App]  2018-12-13 13:0

    First first I downloaded this android game then why did it download the second time that's f****** b******* then when I started to play the android game it was freezing up no Direction android game really sucks play it for 5 mins , deleting the android game

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter