Read the great curries of india reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the great curries of india reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    Amazing curries and very good, detailed info and instruction. I LOVE this cookbook!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    THAN U

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    Every recipe in this book is wonderful. I have been cooking from it for about three weeks now and have yet to be disappointed. The recipes require you to expand your spice collection dramatically from the average american selection, but this is for the best. Fortunately, the book also goes into amazing detail trying to teach the reader how to appropriately use all of those fresh spices, as well as trying to explain the significance of each dish in Indian culture. In the end this has taught me how to create all of my private recipes better through the smart use of spices. A bonus that is worth a lot of times the monetary value of this publication. I recommend to book to anyone and everyone who loves making and eating delicious food.-contented chefP.S. Every recipe in the book can be easily converted into a vegetarian dish, which is amazing for people like me who do not eat meat.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the great curries of india or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    Plan to use several recipes from the book. Have to create my own Indian meal as my wife doesn't like it'

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    This cookbook is comprehensive in covering a wide dozens of foods as well as in providing through info on variations in cooking times, the philosophy of Indian food, what makes up an entire meal, spices, and different hints and short cuts. Every dish I've tried has been delicious. There are a lot of color photographs of the completed meals as well as the different spices and ingredients. I appreciate the first half of the book being spent on these Indian kitchen basics listed above - it also contains a section on chiles and curries, in terms of the building blocks of a amazing curry and how to create a amazing primary curry that you can then use to make your own dishes. This is one of two go-to books I use for Indian cuisine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    If you like curry or wish to learn, this is a very useful book full of gorgeous images and a large dozens of recipes. We have like every one we've tried.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    This book has some marvelous recipes and the pictures are crisp and well-taken. I particularly like the spice tutorial at the beginning of the book, which tells you how each spice works - whether it sweetens, thickens, colors, or some other related trait. The descriptions are excellent, and the tutorial makes it simple to figure out what you can substitute if one of the suggested spices isn't available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    The book is amazing for people who are already familiar with Indian cooking. I am already familiar with Indian Cooking and didn't have much of a issue in figuring out potency of spices and how to adjust for mild, medium and hot.I use 3 of the recipes in this book fairly regularly and my family like the dishes. This book is one of the best of the Indian cook books I have both in recipes as well as in illustration. I would very much like the author to write an authentic Indian cookbook from various parts of India as she has the knack for putting it all together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    This book is worth buying just to look at! Reading the first 50 or so pages, you are provided with background info on the author's culinary experience, cultural influences, and most of all an in-depth look at the spices involved in cooking all Indian meals. Once one reaches the curry recipe portion of the book, one is treated to full page after full page of gorgeously arranged dishes of what looks to be delicious food. The only dilemma I foresee is having the book close enough to the cooking action - yet not so close as to risk splashing something on the pristine pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Curries of India []  2021-1-10 20:20

    I like this approach. Amazing results from the recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    price of tablets in india [ without seeing a doctor]  2020-12-4 10:13
    [email protected]

    osta 100mg discount online discount sales Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophies of India []  2019-12-22 18:36

    This is an perfect audio introduction to the different philosophies of India: basic Hinduism and Buddhism. The different key concepts of each philosophy (dhamra, dhukka, karma yoga, etc.) are discussed in lucid detail. One walks away with a fresh (or renewed!) appreciation for the diversity of thought show on the Indian peninsula.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    Too much teaching and not enough music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    If you have no other piece of Indian melody on your shelf, you at least ought to have this e melody has lasted over 1000 years; nothing amazing lasts that long unless it is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    Required for school. Came quickly, amazing price. Would order from company again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    An perfect book that covers the rise of religious fundamentalism in India which now seems to be at its zenith. Khushwant Singh captures the malevolent disease that is hurting one of the world's biggest nations and exposes it to the world. These dark forces if they continue unchallenged will indeed bring about the end of India.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    Perfect book and amazing work by Amazing author Kushwant Singh. It is a huge thing to write so openly about the future signs of India on the basis of current situation. It opens the eyes of the reader after reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    tadalafil india pharmacy jmqe [canadian pharmacy- pomp]  2020-10-19 20:49
    [email protected]

    indian pharma canadian online pharmacy reviews northwest canadian pharcharmy online canadian pharmacy - canadian pharmacy without prescription pharmacy online the canadian pharmacy online canadian pharmacy usa pharmacy online indian pharma canada online pharmacies pharmacy rx one from canadian pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE CONSTITUTION OF INDIA []  2020-1-28 20:58

    the constitution of india simply boasts its rich language and e mere reading of the book fills me with patriotism .it is simply the best constitution in the world

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    I have fun sitar music. This CD is for folks who wish to learn about the sitar, it had commentary from Ravi telling about the melody but I just wanted music. I don't suppose there could be any better artists than Ravi to explain what is about to hear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    The hypnotizing sitar. Beautifully performed by the master himself. Ravi Shankar!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    Sunil Khilnani's "The Idea of India" is simply out of date. It was written in 1996 and deals almost entirely with the period before the economic reforms of 1991 that launched the Indian economy on a higher growth trajectory. The only parts of the book that are still relevant are those dealing with the stability of Indian democracy and continuing impact of the British Raj. The rest of the book has simply been overtaken by subsequent events.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    The author tries to encapsulate the idea of India in five chapters:Democracy (how this was possible in India, and in fact how democracy created India possible!);Temples of the future (on growth after WW II);Cities (and the role they play in changing India);Who is an Indian (the most complicated of all chapters!)The Garb of Modernity (on ongoing change)A useful bibliographical essay completes this articulate ese are necessary aspects of what makes India, of course, but hardly the only ones and perhaps not the main ones. Most people in India still live in the my view the main drawback of the book is its excessive praise of Nehru. Yes he did hold India united after partition and preserved democracy but his autocratic economic planning delayed India's development, which really took off after the Nehru/Gandhi dynasty came to an end with Rajiv's resignation in 1989 and assassination in any case, there can hardly be any such thing as "the" idea of India. A better title might have been "One Idea of India".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    Sunil Khilnani, is a amazing writer, and is an honest and adept political scientist. A rare breed.His book, "The Idea of India" has a very poetic narration, one gets a feeling of reading a amazing literature, a shakespeare or milton like. At the same time, for someone who is not used to deciphering data, he may obtain lost, with the plethora of info being fed in a style he may not be accustomed to, hence, the book mandates, a careful e book was published in 1997, and the author rightly claims, that the purpose of writing this book is to fill a vacuum, to provide a perspective keeping the "larger picture" intact. The book discusses the amazing and poor of the colonial rule, the issues faced by the post independent India, from its international relationships to its handling of global economic challenges and deals with the evolution of the Idea of India from Nehru to Mrs Gandhi and then further with the rise of Khilnani, spends enough time, explaining the impact Nehru had in dissipating the idea of pluralism and sovereignty in the minds of Indian citizens. It also, at the same time, discusses his failures, in his theory of non-alignment and his relationships with China. Hence, the criticism that the book is very pro-Nehru or leftist is completely e book isn't perfect. One can argue, that it doesn't speak much about the rural side of post-independent India, its evolution with time, and its impact with the change of political idea. That critique won't be unfair, as the book does tend to revolve around the Urban side. With a title, specially dedicated to Cities. Also, the book seems to have either overlooked or not stressed much upon some factors which did play an necessary role in shaping the Idea of India. Like the idea of the educated nationalist elite, which wasn't homogeneous but differed from Gokhale to Tilak to Ambedkar. Summing up all in a single idea, was a bit unfair. The topic of role of Election Commission of India in making it possible to realize the idea of Democracy also leaves one unsatisfied.But, overall he manages to shred some fresh insight on a lot of subjects. His perception of understanding cities of Bombay, Chandigarh, Ahmedabad and Delhi is refreshing. The genesis of the Idea of Nehru's India, and how it was various from that of Gandhi or the nationalist elite is also intriguingly interesting. The factors which led to the downfall of congress and rise of BJP are also worth pondering upon. His bibliographical essays in the end are a gold mine for further 's a shame that so a lot of things have happened post 1997. The book seems to leave one thirsty for more, specially with the history of Gujarat riots, the manmohan era, and the rise of Modi, all of which happened after the book was published. In my opinion, India after Gandhi by Ramachandra Guha, offers a related ysis, and discusses more details, and is more upto date. For someone, who is just starting to learn Indian politics, I'll recommend him to read Guha's book first. This book, expects you to have a decent background, and is not meant for starters. But, for someone who is serious about understanding Indian Politics, this is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    Portrayal of the REAL INDIA we live in.I do not wish to sound pessimistic, but for how long are we going to live in denial of what plagues this country, the FRINGE ELEMENTS and their internecine battles. A warning bell for more Communal Violence and Hatred in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    As usual a frank & sophisticated Khuswant Ji with very realistic thoughts and true events. It is must for for India to hold religion and politics separate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    The writer is an Indian and a Sikh by religion...i wanted to create that clear since SOME people have the habbit of making false e books is very good....it tells us about the growing Hindu fundamentalism in India with the killing of thousands of Indian Christians and Muslims. And with the BJP (Modi), VHP and Shiv Sehna (Bal Thackrey) rulling India i just feel sorry for the religious minorities of "secular" d book! Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    Ravi Shankar, the internationally acclaimed sitar maestro, provides a fast understanding of some of the main components of Hindustani music- which is the classical melody of northern India. In explaining concepts such as a 'raga' ( a melodic form with a specific ascending and descending order of notes, but not a scale, as he explains) and 'talas' or rhythmic cycles, he presents his artistic interpretation of certain 'ragas' on the sitar, with rhythmic accompaniment on the 'tabla' or percussion instrument. As he advises the (western) listener, the best method to have fun this genre of classical music, is with an "open mind" without expecting to hear familiar elements of western classical music, such as, harmony and counterpoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    .I like Sunil Khilnani's philosophical and historical approach to the idea of India. His in-depth studies of the concept of "India" are thoughtfully done. Rather than judging one view as better or more complete than other, Khilnani simply lays the concepts on the e ideas of both 19th century Indian and European historians, the politicians Gandhi, Nehru, and Jinnah, Bal Thackeray's followers, and others, plus the thoughts of modern Indians educated both at home and abroad, are there to think about and learn from. Khilnani ends his book with a quote by Rabindranath Tagore: "A country is not territorial, but ideational," following it with a slogan from the tourism board's poster, "India is a state of mind."I especially liked this book because it created me think bigger thoughts. As I read it occurred to me that studying the successes and failures of the nation of India would be a amazing lesson for the EU, which is also composed of a lot of related but disparate people striving to work me books are amazing to read in pairs. This one would be amazing to read immediately before reading "Imagining India" by e books were written ten years apart and, like Lego blocks,they neatly fit [email protected]#$%Stanton, Delaware

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    Professor Khilnani balances scholarship, insight and flow of intellectual history. A true teacher concerned with the student- his fortunate reader. Mike Foster

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    Forget the optimistic portrayals of India designed to encourage investment and trade - or at least take them for what they are. A Sikh Indian author warns about extremist religious, especially Hindu Right, violence and how it could destroy India. This is `reality' although it need not, and probably will not be, apocalyptic.Politicians, perpetrators who stimulated Gujarat violence never were punished. Volatile myths under the guise of archeological `science' deny the true problems. Most `popular' violence has been aided if not directly caused by politicians. Latest studies have suggested that electoral politics has some potential to reduce these antagonisms where several ethnic and religious communities are required for their votes by local politics.(Those interested might search the film "Bombay" entertaining and sometimes even humorous portrayal of interfaith marriage, dynamics of 'eligious' riots, and the chrge that the politicians are to blame.)The partition itself is in huge part the effect of British divide and rule policies after the "Mutiny" was violently place down by a shocked occupation. Economic changes and decline together with sometimes disorienting communications and `modernization' as well as importing fresh laws and changing values themselves encourage ither political jockeying nor idealistic education alone will secure a peaceful future with differences that can become virulent even after periods of peace and coexistence that on a private individual level are not uncommon. India may not "end" but neither will internal peace be secure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    A no holds barred indictment of India's latest slide into the depths of Hindu chauvinism from one of India's foremost commentators.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    This was more of an educational CD rather than a melody CD......It is amazing for someone wanting more of an educational lesson but for meI just wish the music.......

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    This is a unbelievable CD that contains the speaking voice of Ravi Shankar explaining the ragas. It is especially precious now that he has passed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE CONSTITUTION OF INDIA []  2020-1-28 20:58

    Small bit disappointed. Cover page is not aligned properly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    This book is a comprehensive ysis of India after its independence in 1947. Khilnani provides a persuasive overview of Indian politics, economic policy and identity formation (and reconstruction). This work is a solid introduction to some of the problems in contemporary India and how state leaders like Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi responded to them. The Khilnani's writing style is repetitive in some parts. In general an insightful book for students of Indian political landscape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    I have to admit that I hadnt fully read it when I bought this book because of who it was dedicated to - Sanjay Sarabhai - a mate from school days, who passed, unexpectedly, suddenly before his 21st birthday. (The author - Sunil Khilnani - resembles Sanjay, and is, if I remember, his maternal uncle. )Troubled by latest turn in the politics of India - the rediscovery of 'Hindutva', the celebration of a mythical past based on Hindu brahmin glory (even a temple to Nathuram Godse - Mahatma Gandhi's assassin) I have re read the through the book, which tries to describe the Idea of modern India as a nation, when such reminders of a secular, democracy seem to be fading into the age-old communal fog of hatreds - Hindu v Muslim, high caste v low caste etc. The Indians I meet, even in Silicon Valley USA, seem to think that it is always the fault of one group or the other, the permanent issue of Pakistan, even when I remind them that India has fallen so far behind in modern technology and commerce, particularly when compared with its similarly sized neighbor China. Is it all the fault of the Nehru Gandhi family, of Pakistan, of the British? turns out scapegoating is a famous as ever, and although Khilnani's book eloquently reminds of the ideals that made a nation out of medley of communities, castes, languages and religions, there seems small hope that any of these ideas have any traction in India's enduring obssession over religious lines. History repeats - first as tragedy, then as farce. I think, for India, history first tries Irony, and then meekly accepts the absurd. how else to understand that Donald Trump - true estate con man, racist demagogue turned US President was being shown around the 'charkha' at the Sabarmati Ashram of Mahatma Gandhi (funded by the Sarabhais I believe) where Gandhi showed the power of private sacrifice and individual dignity versus the forces of money, power, empire, and particularly religious animosity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    'I thought the nation was coming to an end,' wrote Khushwant-Singh, looking back on the violence of Partition that he witnessed over half a century ago. He believed then, and for years afterwards, that he had seen the worst that India could do to herself. Over the latest few years, however, he has had reason to feel that the worst, perhaps, is still to come. In this fierce, uncompromising book, he shows us what few of us want to see: why it is entirely likely that India will come undone in the foreseeable future.ysing the communal violence in Gujarat in 2002, the burning of Graham Staines and his children, the anti-Sikh riots of 1984, and targeted killings by terrorists in various parts of the country, Khushwant Singh forces us to confront the extreme corruption of religion that has created us [Indians] among the most brutal people on earth. We [Indians] have always been too easily tolerant of extremist ideologies, but the rise of religious fundamentalism among the Hindus threatens our democracy and everything else that we take for granted. With sections of the ruling coalition openly supporting the divisive and retrograde agenda of the fundamentalists, it is the very idea of India that is at stake. 'Unless a miracle saves us,' Khushwant Singh writes, 'the country will break up. It will not be Pakistan or any other foreign power that will destroy us; we will commit hara-kiri.'A brave and passionate book, The End of India is a wake-up call for every Indian citizen concerned about his or her own future, if not the nation's. For the rest of us this book reveals a darker side of the 'world's largest democracy'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE CONSTITUTION OF INDIA []  2020-1-28 20:58

    Very not good formatting. Did not expect this, better to buy other versions available

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    Melody was excellent but did not appreciate the directors chop melody lesson for each song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    Love sitar melody and Ravi was the best. Very pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds Of India []  2020-6-16 19:17

    I gave him an old boombox (80s) and he said to send him some tapes from the sixties..didn't know we didnt have audio tapes like that then)so I sent him some ravi, janice, hendrix, and bob dylan from amazon to listen to. He liked them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    This is a very elegantly written book, the writing style is nice. Khilnani is right about one thing - that the architect of India is Nehru who helped build a western democracy with amazing values and who strove through over 15 years as prime minister to cement it. This foundation has been amazing for India allowed everyone to participate and everyone to interact. Today, India is one country and free speech and freedom is an essential part of the fabric and for that, we have to thank Nehru undoubtedly and the other western educated leaders at independence.But the book misses the point on the modern India of the latest two decades. Khilnani tries to search deeper meaning in things that have small meaning. Hindutva was an ideology sold by Advani to sway the masses, nothing more. The BJP is floundering today because it has failed to provide quality governance and is unappealing to a lot of who like India's multi pluralism. The Congress on the other hand provides the same not good governance but is more inclusive. His take on the likes of Deva Gowda and Mulayam working for their own constituences is misplaced - that has been event from politicians all the time. Then there are the errors in facts - Deva Gowda never brought projects to Karnataka during the time he was PM.And then there is this supposed endless passionate talk about who is an Indian. In 35 + years of living in India, I have never encountered such a discussion. We are who we are and we dont fret about topics like who is the real Indian? Only arm chair reviewers like Khilnani do.And the book misses the whole problem of now what? What do we do about corruption, lack of education, increasing crime, pollution? Whats the solution for India? Its obvious the political class are failing us. How do we obtain out of this quagmire? Can personal initiatives do everything? Can there be a fresh political movement that can take over? Can the current leadership re-invent themselves?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of India []  2020-11-25 19:48

    I believe that this is one of the most smart and articulate books on Indian politics ever written. Sunil Khilnani, a professor of politics at Cambridge, brings unyielding subtlety and sophistication in a book which well matches the complexity and contradictions of Indian politics. He artfully demonstrates and corrects such simplistic and prevalent misconceptions as surrounding the nature and origins of India's early state-led industrialization or the nature of its democracy.A somewhat longish extract will illustrate the subtleties of different concepts that the author elegantly develops in this magnificient work:QUOTE In India, democracy has had to function in a society of peculiar complexity where a lot of various temporal and historical plans coexist. Indian continues to be a predominantly agrarian society, whose people are not indifferent to religion, and where the individual does not have a powerful political or social presence. But towering over that society today is the state. This state is far from supremely effective: it regulalry fails to protect its citizens versus physical violence, it does not provide them with welfare, and it has not fulfilled its extensive ambitions to transform Indian society. Yet it is today at the very centre of the Indian political imagination. Until small over a century ago, the social order of caste had created the state largely redundant...The past fifty years have trenchantly displayed the powers of the state and of the idea of democracy to reconstitute the antique social identities of India - caste and religion - and to force them to face and enter politics.UNQUOTEIf you have wondered why so a lot of books have failed to effectively unravel and interpret the intricacies of political evolution of this entity called India, Khilnani's ysis will be a welcome eye opener.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    One should read read read and read at least 20 times may learn some amazing thing for your self I t may turn out be true. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of India []  2021-1-26 19:48

    The childish Hindutva/Bharat ideologue(s?) attempting to cast false aspersions on this book and discredit the author in their reviews are unable to address any of the problems that Singh writes of in this perfect work. They just bark their standard "sullah this, miya that" garbage (everything is the fault of the Muslims!). The ignorance/stupidity of their statements lends their negative views an air of positive endorsement.1) Khushwant Singh is a SIKH, not a MUSLIM. (That should be obvious to anyone with a REAL Desi background based solely on his name).2) Khushwant Singh is also one of the most famous and prolific authors in India, so I'm not sure why people are attempting to portray him as a Pakistani or a "fake Desi." Please refer to: [...] Next time, educate yourself before you speak. (Or read a book before you criticize it).3) The description of the black stone in the Kaaba as a "shivling" is laughable; it bears no resemblance to a "Shiv Ling" (Shiva's , which Hindus worship) & is NOT EVEN WORSHIPPED in the first place. This betrays your lack of even the most primary understanding of a religion you so adamantly is undeniable by anyone with a grasp of the current socio-political situation in India and the Indo/Pak subcontinent in general that India is imploding & on the verge of Balkanization. The Hindutva-Brahminist extremists have alienated every single other ethnic group and minority in the country, and the current balance of power cannot be n't listen to the mewling Hindutva paper tigers. Check this book out for yourself, it's definitely a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Mughals and their India []  2020-2-6 19:27

    I read this book before a trip to northern India and it served my purpose exceptionally well. I found it to be an objective, nuanced, and well-researched book, and one I would highly recommend to anyone looking for more insight into the Mughal Empire. If you are traveling to northern India and looking for context, look no further, and consider reading this *before* you go!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Mughals and their India []  2020-2-6 19:27

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Mughals and their India []  2020-2-6 19:27

    Regretted buying it. Uninspired refusal of these successive wars of the Mugal emperors..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Mughals and their India []  2020-2-6 19:27

    Very well researched book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    At first I was intimidated by the size of the book and the enormous variety. I finally took it off the shelf and selected a chicken curry to test and then picked a recipe for a cauliflower curry as well since i had some on hand. Wow. Probably two of the best things I've ever created at home. I had the two dishes with a nan from the local indian grocery and was very satisfied. i like the method he is precise about identifying the effect you want... "until the edges of the onions are brown and the pepper is starting to turn black" or ... " until it starts to stick then add water" ... practical points i can watch for in the cooking of it. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    I love this book, I love this book, I love this book. The recipes are unbelievable and turn out well every time, and Mr. Iyer's commentary is light and amusing. He is amazing and describing techniques in terms an inexperienced person can understand (like "let the rice bubble until craters form") and explains why you cook things a certain method - how toasting affects spices, how fat carries flavor, how braising affects texture, etc. I got a copy years ago when I first started cooking for myself and although I don't cook Indian meal often, the techniques and approaches he described have had an invaluable impact on my own approach to cooking. I've also explored "The Art of French Cooking" and have to say this is equally useful for teaching technique and probably more practical for daily dishes. I've given this book as bonuses and loaned out my copy countless times. It's simply unbelievable and one of my favorite books - not just favorite cook book or favorite Indian cook book. Unbelievable resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    I borrowed this book from my Library because I wanted more dozens in my cooking. I was getting bored with my usual cookbooks and my usual curries. After trying out a few of the recipes I decided that I had to obtain this book. I usually do not obtain books that have a lot of meat recipes as I am a vegetarian (what is the point?). I also have a rule to throw out a cookbook for every fresh one I get. So I do take care before ordering. This method I am not just aculating books but actually using them. I got rid of my copy of the Joy of Cooking. I had not used that in 2 years. I now expect 660 Curries to join my rotation: which is usually from1) Madhur Jaffrey: Globe Vegetarian2) Chandra Padmanabhan: Dakshin3) Habeeb Salloum: Vegetarian Middle Eastern4) Nancie McDermott: True Vegetarian Thai5) Eileen Lo: Vegetarian ChineseI expect Raghavan Iyers book to replace the Madhur Jaffrey book as my first go to book for Ideas on what to make. Even though I have other books, I usually do not cook from them regularly. Books like the Indian Slow Cooker (Anupy Singla), Cooking with Pedatha, Julie Sahni's Classic Indian Vegetarian, Tag Bittman's Vegetarian doorstop, 1000 Mexican Recipes, Paula Wolfert's Couscous, Madhur Jaffrey's Invitation to Indian Cooking, Madhur Jaffrey's Globe of the East (vegetarian) etc etc etc. I list this to just give an idea that I test to be catholic in my tastes when it comes to cooking. I look for dozens in the taste, aroma and feel of the different dishes I test to e apparent authenticity of Iyers book is what sold me. I say apparent because I have not really had Bengali cooking before, so I do not know what that tastes like. But the few things I have tried with Okra, Potatoes and Aubergine have all tasted DIFFERENT. And for me that is important. A lot of (if not most) Indian cookbooks have the same spices and base for starters. All of my North Indian dishes taste kinda the same because I use the same primary spice/sauce. But with Iyers book; my Punjabi style dish tasted remarkably various from the Rajasthani one. And I wont even obtain into the differences between different mega regions of India. I think that because Iyer grew up in one of the most Cosmopolitan and diverse cities in India (Mumbai); he was exposed to a amazing dozens of cooking that informs his book. I mean not just South Indian vs. North Indian; but Parsi, Sindhi, Gujarati, Maharashtrian, Tamilian, Hyderabadi, Punjabi, Bengali, Keralite, Mangalorean and even Nepali and something he calls "East Indian".I expect to have a long season of "Happy Cooking" (to quote Jacques Pepin) with this W: I live in Chicago so I have access to most if not all of even the most obscure spice/ingredient he uses. I remember a time when I could not obtain Kokum or some wierd Indian vegetable like Drumsticks or Snake Gourd or Fenugreek leaves. Now all this is available! So I have no more excuses not to cook as authentically as I can. And in that Iyers book is a true godsend.I gave this 4 stars because there are some niggling errors. He gives some spice mixtures that have no recipes attached to them (at least I could not search any). He says he does not like using an Electric Rice Cooker for Basmati Rice (which is a amazing idea); but fails to mention whether it is quite adequate for regular Additional Long Grain Arkansas rice that I use for my everyday cooking (for which the Rice Cooker is a godsend). He confuses Indian names for certain vegetables or misidentifies them. But these are niggling things that only bother a nitpicker like me. The recipes are where a cookbook should really be judged on; and in my limited experience this book is is not for a beginner though. That should be clear. Also this is not a comprehensive book for Indian food. No comprehensive chutneys/pickles/snacks/salads/soups/desserts/breads section. So this should be your "In Addition To" Indian cookbook. There are books that do a better job of a more comprehensive listing. I would recommend Neelam Batra's 1000 Indian Recipes or Pushpesh Pant's book (if you can obtain it) and use Iyer's as an add on. I am a vegetarian so I do not have those books; but have heard amazing things about them from Indian omnivore Cooks. For a Vegetarian like me, I expect Dakshin and this Iyer book to fill most of my Indian vegetarian needs.Highly recommended for a moderately accomplished home cook who wants to experiment with more dozens in their Indian Curry repertoire. But beware; the recipes are time intensive. This is not "Curry in a Hurry".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    Poor news first. If you click on "Look Inside," what you see is not the book you are ordering if you obtain the paperback version. Those beautiful color images and descriptions of curry ingredients from various parts of India? Those pages aren't in the book at all. Not even in boring black and white. Perhaps the image section is in the (apparently now out-of-print) hardback version, or maybe in the Kindle version. But maybe not. Buyer at having been said, I am really enjoying this book. I read cookbooks like some folks read novels, and this one doesn't disappoint. It is full of info and stories and generally enjoyable patter, not to mention an encyclopedic list of recipes. If you don't like reading through lots of recipes to obtain to the ones you actually wish to cook, this may not be the book for you. But if, like me, you have fun reading recipes to obtain ideas for spinning off your own kitchen creations, or just to learn more about cooking and combining flavors, you will like this book.I haven't created any of the recipes as I just received the book yesterday, but the post-its came out when I hit the appetizer section and haven't stopped yet. There are a lot of them, in spite of the fact that I am vegetarian and a lot of of the recipes are not. That's OK, plenty of recipes to go around so it was still worth the price for me. And the sauce he uses with scallops or lamb might work well with tofu or chickpeas. You never know until you try.I have a lot of Indian cookbooks, mostly veg, and I highly recommend some of them. I cook regularly from Julie Sahni's Classic Indian Vegetarian and Grain Cooking, Madhur Jaffrey's Vegetarian India, Anupy Singla's The Indian Slow Cooker and Vegan Indian Cooking, and The Hare Krishna Book of Vegetarian Cooking. These books are loaded with information, encouragement, and delicious recipes that are accessible to Western cooks. If the recipes I've flagged in 660 Curries please my palate as much as I think they will, I will be glad to add this book to that list of recommended titles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    A cookbook can be an exploration, particularly when you explore a amazing one with a partner. We have been trying these recipes now for a solid 6 months, a fresh one every 2 weeks or so, and there are so a lot of subtle variations that we have only rarely wanted to repeat one. This contradicts my primary pattern with cookbooks, where I search a few choice recipes and ignore the rest. We just can't obtain enough of these and now our cupboards are bulging with fresh spice combinations, types of lentils, and sauces. This is a splendid introduction of a fresh type of cuisine, one of the best ethnic cookbooks I have yet found in a 30-year journey of domestic adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    I have created about a dozen recipes so far and every one of them has earned my own and my friend's and family's rave reviews. Yes, the recipes are exacting and particular and require an entirely fresh array of spices and much time spent preparing pastes, spice blends. They also demand lots of marinating. infusing, blending, chopping, and braising but what a payoff. The complex and subtle flavor and texture cannot be had any other way. If you have fun the pleasures of working in a fragrant kitchen and adore Indian cuisine this is the only Indian cookbook you will ever need to purchase. I came across this book when I took Mr Iyer's Craftsy online class and tried his rice dish. When the platter of fragrant vegetarian rice disappeared within mins of cooling from oven heat, I tried the next and the next recipes, ones I would not usually search interesting - and not a single flop among them. Fabulous vegetarian recipes as well as meat and any & all side dishes.A nice gift is that Iyer often contains a short description of the history or some other anecdote about the dish - truly a labor of delicious love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    We got this book about 5 years ago and didn't use it but maybe once or twice. Then about a year ago I created one, and now we can't stop. My husband and I are quickly making our method through the book and making notes about each recipe, like if it's a fast cook, amazing for guest, 10 point like scale.Each of the recipes has a small description, and about half the time a hint note at the end of them. We have learned so much about cooking Indian, and even the culture.If you are concerned about the ingredients, don't stress it. You can obtain almost everything at your local grocery store. The only challenging thing is the spices, which we have been able to search them all here on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    Very amazing overview of India's history, enough tidbits to stimulate your interests, and so a lot of eras. This is a dynamic region of the world. Now add sections on both the British and Dutch East Indies Companies, and you have a quite a nice collection of history. Check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    A lot of info about trading companies and the trade from India.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    A amazing overview of Indian culture. It’s so fascinating to study of the geography & of foods . This book should be used as textbook on this fabulous culture!Another superb job of research & writing on necessary topic matter !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    Captivating History on India is shining a light on a completely ignored facet of history in the western world. This is a much required topic to be explored by all students of history from middle school on up. The various dynamics of religion, empire building, invasions from the Greeks, Huns (who knew), Turks, Tartars, Mongols and then the Europeans who came to trade, but conquered and tried to destroy their culture. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    This fast short review starts from ancient India up through to modern times with stops along the method at the different empires like Mauryan Empire and their religion and their struggles, to visit with Mohandas Gandhi a major political and spiritual leader of India and his passive struggle, another stop at different religions in the country of India, along with the persecution and intolerance's from each over the another and then the gaining in Southeast Asia amazing wealth by the East India Company more then some kings, before they were taken down by another fraction. We then travel to the Dutch East India Company controlled by European royalty the trade , wealth and armies and less we forget Indias participation in both Globe Battles as alies. This is a fascinating book. Besides a look into the history of Indonesia, one of the most intriguing locations on earth, these books will give you hours or insight into the origin of capitalism and the history of a country most people don’t know about except through films like Gunga Din and life and times of Gandhi. Captivating History has done it again on combining the Trio of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    History of IndiaA good, sweeping review of a complex nation with a turbulent history.Odd though that Gandhi was given amazing coverage (as befits such an influential individual), but no mention of his e East India CompanyA amazing wrap of a such a large enterprise which set benchmarks applicable to business today. The ending became rather drawn out and repetitive. How amazingly presumptuous were the European powers of that era who felt that they had a right to just move into another country, victimise the population, remove their produce (even at bargain prices), and evict people from their own land. Then, to cap it off - test to convert them to their own irrelevant religion!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    I really didn't know anything about India before I read about it. I learned so much amazing info from this book bundle. All the info was informative and detailed and I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    This book is a welcome addition to the Captivating History array of books because I suspect Americans know no more of India's history than was shown in the film Gandhi (like myself).Β  One part I've especially liked is the attention paid to the various religions in India and how they have morphed, tolerated or persecuted each other.Β An awesome piece of history was the Portuguese Inquisition taking put in a trading partner's country (India).Β  Talk about gall.Β  The shocking thing was that they persecuted Jews, Buddhists, Muslims, Hindus, Protestants, and even latest converts to Catholicism.Β  Their view was that these were just converting to save themselves.Β  Talk about 'not being able to victory for losing.'After the Portuguese finished purging people of the 'wrong' religion, the British (through the East India Company) came to age the wealth of India through trade agreements.Β  Before long, they mustered armies and were fighting with other European nations for trading rights inside India.Β  Β By 1857, the EIC virtually owned India.Β  But Queen Victoria took India away from the EIC and started to rule the country herself.Β  I was surprised to learn that the Indian Troops created up much of England's military force and was heavily used during WWI and WWII.Β  By the end of WWII, the middle class of India was eager for is book gives an perfect explanation of the caste system of the Hindu.Β  I thought the closing sentence of the chapter was particularly poignant, "It is one of the few oppressive regimes in the globe in which the people who are revered and the people who are impoverished are genetically one and the same."**The second portion of this book is about the East India Company.Β  Just because they got a charter from Elizabeth did not mean there was smooth sailing.Β  The EIC found itself surrounded by other European nations, vying for trading contracts with the Indians.Β  They also had to contend with the home crowd that complained about the heavy export of British gold and silver to buy Indian (and Chinese) combat that drain of gold and silver (because the Chinese only wanted to buy cotton and opium, and wanted to be paid in gold and silver), the EIC decided to dump large amounts of opium in China and trade it for tea and sugar.Β  The English public wanted teaΒ and sugar, so the EIC (East India Company) traded those goods for opium (that the Chinese government didn't want).Β  It led to battles but by then the EIC had made their own standing n and Middle Eastern empires had (from time immemorial) allowed the natives to conduct their religious affairs without interference.Β  Forced religious conversions engender civil unrest and rebellions.Β  The EIC wanted no part of this.Β  And the EIC continued that policy but by 1833, a fresh charter needed the company to let Christian missionaries to proselytize in India.Β  Β Β The British colonialism showed that they considered the Indians to be lesser beings.Β  Between the missionaries converting the 'heathens' and the British looking down on the Indians, problem was about to fester.Β  At about the same time, the British government was coming to the conclusion that it should take over the Company in is book offered a fine explanation of a complicated company in a very various time.Β  How and why the EIC became powerful, what they did with their power and how they were finally brought down is all included.Β  Additionally, the author explains how the company changed things then and in the years to follow. There are bios of necessary participants in the EIC story included.**The final portion of this book is about the Dutch East India Company.Β  During most of history, kings, queens, and emperors controlled the money, influence, and armies.Β  However, a group of merchants banded together and out-earned any king on earth.Β  The book indicates that the Dutch East India Company was worth 10 times what Apple Corporation is worth today (as of December 2019, they were worth 1 trillion dollars).This nimble small story explains the beginnings of their 200-year reign over trade and their eventual decline (and the reasons for it).Β  While Spain, Portugal, France, and England were fighting over the Fresh World, the clever Dutch decided to go after trade in the East Indies.Β Β The entire economic system we have today comes from this company (first publicly sold stock, formed the first stock market, made stock futures, short selling, stock options, and a lot of more).Β  This company also helped explore Australia, Fresh Zealand, and Tasmania.Β Β 

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    This was a amazing book about an zone that so small is known or taught about in the Western world. It gives a amazing oversight on the reasons behind some of the conflicts and tensions that currently exists in India and their neighbors, especially some of the disputed e intellectual advances created by the people of India was especially e contribution to the math and science that were discovered and the impact that it had on other cultures was particularly interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India: A Captivating Guide to the History of India, The East India Company and Dutch East India Company []  2020-1-17 19:8

    I was able to explore a lot about India's history that I didn't know before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    First a confession: I returned this for a refund. The problem is, 660 recipes is about 560 too many. It's just overwhelming. I don't have time to read that a lot of recipes when I just wish to concoct a couple of dishes for our dinner. Given you can always mix and match Indian recipes anyway, switching ingredients according to taste or experience, I just don't see the point. I didn't test even 1/660th of the recipes on offer, I'm very satisfied to believe that every single one of them is unforgettably delicious, but I just don't have the time or energy to search out.Another thing that place me off: in the long, long list of ingredients for each recipe, there are nearly always a couple of things which turn out to be the product of other recipes. If you're running a restaurant and do things in bulk, that is fine. But if you just wish to cook one meal, it doesn't work out, and it's just too ank goodness for Madhur Jaffrey!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    Love, love, love this book. I have a large arsenal of family recipes for Indian food, and am a beautiful amazing cook myself, but ever since I got this book, I've been using it every time I wish to cook Indian food. It has a amazing selection of regional cuisine so that even those fresh to Indian meal can move beyond the tikka e new masala recipes are very handy and I search myself grinding up new batches every time a cook.I would give this book 6 stars if I could. While all recipes are curries, a seasoned cook will be able to easily adapt the flavor profiles for stir fries or for grilling marinades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    660 Curries []  2020-11-9 18:1

    I’ve really enjoyed this book and have created about 10 of the recipes so far. They are simple to follow and frequently you don’t need a lot of ingredients (other than spices). The resulting dishes have been highly reviewed by my fiancΓ© (who is indian). I haven’t created any of the specific spice blends - just used related looking blends that I already had in my cabinet and supplemented as needed.... but I also like to do my interpretation of the recipe as I adjust it a bit to our tastes or adding additional vegetables. If you are looking for a amazing cookbook with accessible recipes, this is an perfect choice! I’ve already bought it for my parents as a gift!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacred River: The Ganges of India []  2020-2-1 5:36

    I bought the e book kindle ver of this and would not recommend. This is a picture book with beautifully done art work that isn't formated will for the e reader

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    Bought this book, eager to read it. But poor formatting by publisher or Amazon or whoever has prevented me from reading this book. Despite that tried but after two pages gave up- upper case, lower case mixup, no pagination, paragraphs emerging, bold and normal characters jumbled. It's a mess, this can't comment on the book at all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    The formatting of this book makes it literally unreadable. I'm very disappointed, and hope a better ver is published soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    The book is poorly edited. Several chapters often sound repetitive and boring . The chronological order could have been used and the appropriate conclusions listed in a separate exec summary

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    Insights into the internal rot are well described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    Boring reading. Place it in the bin after 20 pages. Repeats himself. Have ' read a related acc of the fall

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    Before you buy this item, if you buy this item, just be aware that this kindle edition is poorly made.I've just purchased this book and all I see is alternating sentences in bold and normal font and everything is jumbled is is a sure shot recipe for ruining what could have been a unbelievable read.I'm not sure if refund is allowed for kindle editions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    An necessary contribution to the literature on the public sector in India because of the detailed discussion of a lot of problems which shows things need not be so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    Amazing attempt some revelations, yet too lengthy at times, as the author seems to obtain carried away as though he was making a note to the Ministry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PAKISTAN OR THE PARTITION OF INDIA []  2020-1-28 20:24

    One of the best book on the subject. It yzed the topic from multiple point of view without being judgemental. Every view is logically explained and supported with data. An perfect read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Descent of Air India: Revised Edition []  2020-1-30 19:18

    All the chapters are mixed together. There is no method to read the book. Parts are in bold(one chapter) and other in normal writing(another chapter) with one line of each. The worst kindle book ever bought. A refund is definitely due.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four days of Pongal: The Harvest Festival of South India (Festivals of India Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    After searching, this was the only English written children’s book we could search on Pongal. I really appreciate the author’s efforts to make an informative book after what must have been a related find to search such a book. The reason I give it only three stars is that it’s written much like a presentation so I cannot obtain my younger kid engaged with reading the book. I want there had been a little sample with the book description to be able to see this ahead of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Indian Slow Cooker: Recipes for Curries, Dals, Chutneys, Masalas, Biryani, and More [Book]  2017-12-27 18:1

    nice recipes although I never fully follow directions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Indian Slow Cooker: Recipes for Curries, Dals, Chutneys, Masalas, Biryani, and More [A Cookbook] []  2020-11-30 19:55

    I love indian food, most of the recipes in this book are actually things i haven't tried before, or variations. Like the most common thing i think is the tomato-butter makhni i think it's called here, but i think at my local Indian restaurant it's just butter chicken. But i was expecting more curry type recipes. What is a nice touch is that she covers the spectrum of dishes, like a few various curries, but like i said not a lot, dals, chutneys, a few masala's, biryani and other rice dishes. So overall, i wont go into the recipes as if you read the other reviews, a lot of indian meal is created outside the crock pot, so she has all sorts of recipes, and the saucier/vegie ones that can be cooked in a crock pot is presented as a crock pot recipe. So the book is a amazing method to obtain started in learning how to create indian meal and adapt them to crock pot cooking, but it also shows you how to create other side dishe as well. My goal is to create some really amazing various curries/masalas in the crock pot so besides this book as a starter, i will look for a indian curry cookbook as well. Book quality is very amazing though with like a few recipes and then a picture of one of the dishes, few more pages etc... Amazing starter book on general Indian cuisine. Oh and it says regional, so possibly a mix of northern and southern indian recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Indian Slow Cooker: Recipes for Curries, Dals, Chutneys, Masalas, Biryani, and More [A Cookbook] []  2020-11-30 19:55

    I got this because I have problem finding pre-made curries, and when I do search Indian meal in stores, it is so overpriced!I had seen this author on TV and she was so creative while keeping it simple. For some reason, it never occurred to me that a crock pot cooks like tandoori but in a more economical way. Lots of exciting recipes to have fun slow-cooking through this Winter, can't wait!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Anarchy: The Relentless Rise of the East India Company []  2020-1-17 20:14

    History is an unbiased aggregation of facts. WilliamDalrymple has a franchise going on India of around 18th/ 19th centuries, mix of opinion, experience - part travelogue, part anecdote. A man who can afford his indulgences. Anarchy would have been a amazing book if there was less Dalrymple on it - he is not reporting facts but castigating East India Company. Maybe to please his audiences in India

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret of the India Orchid: The Proper Romance Series []  2020-7-3 18:56

    Stunning description, of country,people. I love the solid for of romance between Anthony and Sophia it s very refreshing. I think Anthony should have expressed his concern for secrecy in his letter and allow Sophia know what he was about in leaving England. It pessimist too intense the other way.Wonderful read. Inspiring. Love the method the kid was involved. I love kid psychology. Love children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Indian Slow Cooker: Recipes for Curries, Dals, Chutneys, Masalas, Biryani, and More [Book]  2017-12-27 18:1

    To much prep for me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Indian Slow Cooker: Recipes for Curries, Dals, Chutneys, Masalas, Biryani, and More [A Cookbook] []  2020-11-30 19:55

    Using this book ever since I got it for my husband who is enchanted with Indian cooking, but I've always been the slow cooker person in the house. Soups and stews stretch meal dollars and so do Indian foods--that is, after you obtain through the kitchen set up with all those dishes, spices, leaves, etc. with which an American housewife like me is not too familiar. (So there's an investment to make, if you wish a small more spice in your life.) We've only created a beginning in testing these out, but the results in all cases were good, although I think a lot of Indians born would like these dishes to be several notches hotter.We cook a lot of beans and so it's been particularly fun to place a fresh ethnic twist on an old po' folks' favorite. We also created several of the vegetable dishes which were successful and tasty, as well as a well-received Pork Vindaloo, that universal favorite of Indian restaurants everywhere. The heart of this style of cookery seems to be in the creation of the Masala--and I'm looking forward to tinkering with these recipes and turn up or down different spices as I understand more. There's lot to learn, but a amazing teacher makes for amazing kitchen fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Indian Slow Cooker: Recipes for Curries, Dals, Chutneys, Masalas, Biryani, and More [A Cookbook] []  2020-11-30 19:55

    If you're looking for a beginner's cookbook for slow cooking Indian food, this isn't really it. The recipes aren't difficult, per se, but they do require certain specific ingredients that you may struggle to search at a regular grocery store. Fortunately I live in an zone with a few locations that carry more than just a lone pack of cardamon seeds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Partition of British India: The History and Legacy of the Division of the British Raj into India and Pakistan []  2020-1-26 21:48

    All people seek freedom. Sometimes people cherish religion more than independence. This conflict has resulted in a lot of unsatisfactory governments and borders. It was difficult to divide India, but it was done and people adjusted their lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Partition of British India: The History and Legacy of the Division of the British Raj into India and Pakistan []  2020-1-26 21:48

    The authors at Charles River Editors do an perfect job producing a lot of topics and this read is very well done too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Anarchy: The Relentless Rise of the East India Company []  2020-1-17 20:14

    I am honestly a bit disappointed in this book from William Dalrymple because he is a favorite author of mine, and I felt like the history of the East India Company was the excellent topic for him to tackle. Dalrymple writes vivid, moving and colourful histories of the Indian subcontinent and I thought his idea here that the East India Company represents the prototype of an unregulated corporation run amok was one loaded with implications for the present. The epilogue fleshes this idea out quite nicely, and I thought the book would be a hybrid of sorts, with history, political ysis and cultural insights that Dalrymple does quite well. But for the most part the book is a quite detailed military history of the region and times. It just was not as amazing as I expected from this author. I do recommend Dalrymple to anyone with an interest in the region and time, but I don't feel this was his best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Anarchy: The Relentless Rise of the East India Company []  2020-1-17 20:14

    This is a fascinating and probably will be the definitive book on how the East India Company and the British made what is now India, Pakistan and Bangladesh from a potpouri of independent and warring states. I only gave it 4 stars because for most readers the detail which create this such a valuable reference work will deter a lot of readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret of the India Orchid: The Proper Romance Series []  2020-7-3 18:56

    More utter awesomeness from Ms. Nancy Allen e Secret of the India Orchid has it all: exotic locations, rich cultural globe building, romantic tension so thick you couldn’t break it with two hands, mystery, suspense, chase scenes through the jungle & everything else that might d it. It was a delightful breath of new air, and a sublime private mini vacation.Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Anarchy: The Relentless Rise of the East India Company []  2020-1-17 20:14

    In typical Dalrymple style this has awesome sources and amazing storytelling. He lays out the transition from a trading company to a colonizer to an empire in amazing detail. The stories of brutality are incredible. The complicated back and forth between the Crown, the Company, the Indian kingdoms, and somewhat independent actors was fascinating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret of the India Orchid: The Proper Romance Series []  2020-7-3 18:56

    I can't say I love India Regency books, but this one surprised me. This book has some characters from "A Fine Gentleman", but it is stand alone. It had mystery, suspense, intrigue and romance. What more could you want?I loved both the character and the heroine. They both felt like true people with true personalities. I love that the heroine was feisty but forgiving. We all like it when the guy has to work for it!This was a proper romance but with kissing which I personally love. There was attraction without going too far. Perfect job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secret of the India Orchid: The Proper Romance Series []  2020-7-3 18:56

    This story was very intriguing as it took put in both England and India. I enjoyed the historical aspect of it also. There were times when the main hero was a small too bold, I think, as when she ran through the jungle at night. But I enjoyed the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Indian Slow Cooker: Recipes for Curries, Dals, Chutneys, Masalas, Biryani, and More [Book]  2017-12-27 18:1

    I don't understand some of the reviews claiming this has nothing to do with a slow cooker. Almost all of the recipes involve a slow cooker and provide tremendous flavors. If you're a lazy slow cooker because you think that's what slow cookers are for, then this book may not be for you. If you look at a slow cooker as a means of control and love indian cuisine and not just "indian food" then this is a amazing resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Indian Slow Cooker: Recipes for Curries, Dals, Chutneys, Masalas, Biryani, and More [Book]  2017-12-27 18:1

    Disappointing. One of the reasons for me to use a crockpot is for simplicity sake. Throw everything in it in the morning, obtain back in the evening, ready for a fine meal. But these recipes are a bit more complicated, a "bit very more" intricate.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386