Read the great edwardian feud reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the great edwardian feud reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    This is a amazing introduction to the Hatfield McCoy fued, but I should have paid more attention to the Amazon product tutorial and other reviewers (it's a young adult read, and well, I'm not a young adult). I was in a hurry and wanted a Hatfield McCoy book and also wanted to obtain free shipping on my order so popped this modestly priced book into my cart. Having said that, I am reading it, and enjoying it, but this is not for me a detailed acc of the happenings of this fued. It is written from the perspective of a young girl--Roseanna McCoy's sister Fannie, and I'm not sure how much is fact and how much is fiction. I recently researched other more pricey Hatfield McCoy books on Amazon, and opted to buy The tale of the devil--a biography on Devil Anse. Like I said this is a amazing "light" read of this popular American feud, but leaves alot of holes in the story for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    This is the fabled feud seen from the eyes of one young girl as she grows ally, this is a 3.75. The tone was consistent, the characters simple to recognize once she introduced them. I just found it hard to sympathize with Fanny McCoy, which is my fault more than anything.I'm glad she chose her final path in life by the story's end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    I just finished reading this book on my Kindle, in fact it's the first book I've read on my kindle. I loved the book. My father's family was from around this zone of Kentucky and the feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys has fascinated me for e author of this book brings that feud to life for the readers. It's a book about a lot of killing, but that's what happened, so to leave the killings out would create the book pointless. The author also did her background work well with this book.I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a amazing historical read. :)

    0  


    Add your opinion on the great edwardian feud or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    Well written, engaging. My child picked it for her advanced English class and has really enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    I read this book in just a few sittings. It was hauntingly beautiful. One of those books that years later you can see as photos in your mind so you are never quite sure if you read it or watched the movie. I think it is categorised as Young Adult but not sure why. The only reason I can think of is that the narrator is a young girl. BUT and for me it is a huge but. Since it is fiction albeit with a lot of historical accuracy why why why did it have to send so hatefully. I will not spoil it and perhaps others will not agree with me but it broke my heart and i dreamed about Rosanna McCoy for days afterwoods. The truth is I loved it but took a point off because it didnt have to end that way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    The Kindle edition is so badly transcribed it's hard to figure out what the text even means at times. For example, what on earth does "Her snide was like a knife" mean?Halfway through the book there is a reference to a person or put called BUI that is never mentioned anywhere else, which I'm guessing refers to a hero named Bill -- there are tons other errors in the book, that if someone had run even a primary spell-check, they'd have been able to search and correct most of them in minutes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    I enjoyed the book. It was a slow start, only because I was hoping for less of a fictional tale. Given that, I truly enjoyed this novel. The hero development flowed smoothly instead of dumping hero traits to do with as you e story is told through the eyes of a young girl so there is an innocence and naivite, aiding in our understanding of their culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    Bought this for a Mccoy mate of mine. He enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    Quickly...this was a unbelievable read. I had just watched the Kevin Costner mini-series of the Hatfields & McCoys and wanted to learn more about it. This was written for a younger audience I believe; however that didn't bother me one bit. I'm over 50 and read all sorts of books for all ages.I chose this book because it sounded like it would be different. And it was. Mainly due to the fact that it is told from the view-point of a child. Her name is Fanny and she starts out at age 7 and then progresses in age as the book goes along. She is one of the a lot of McCoy children. So she's right in the middle of all the action. But she is from that side of the feud - so you obtain her perspective of it from that family. She is not e mini-series created the McCoy family look like they lost the most and had to endure the brunt of the hardships in the feud. So does this book. You will feel even more sorry for this family as it goes into method more is is historical fiction though and some of the things are not factual and have been thrown in to jazz up the story. I like that. It didn't bother me at all and in fact created the story all the more metimes when you don't have all the info you need you do have to create up some things as fillers in a story to create it flow smoothly and create sense. We can't know what the "real" Fanny felt - we weren't there. She left no diary. So we can only guess and that's what this author did. But it works out fine. I feel the author threw her heart and soul into this hero and brought her back to life for us.We can feel Fanny's confusion and her fears. We understand her sorrow and agony. We wish to step in there and rescue her when nobody else seems to e book is written in such a method that it teaches you how people lived back in the late 1800's. It explains to you how they lived back in the woods and were isolated and had to do back breaking work in order to st of the work fell to the women-folk including the young girls. They weren't sitting around watching reality TV shows or checking out their Fb - ya know? They were stirring soap in a huge pot and sewing clothes, making quilts, chopping wood, feeding the hogs, milking cows, scrubbing floors, gardening & cooking all day long. Every the mini-series it shows that back in that time the men were in charge. Women-folk were not taken into consideration much. They were second class citizens who were told to hold their mouth shut and just do as their husbands told them. If a daughter disobeyed her father then she was shunned and disowned. How tragic. And unfair. But that's how it was.We don't realize how fortunate we are in today's world. This book will take you back to that time so you can see and feel and hear what it was like - just like a time machine, you will be e feud will come alive and you'll wonder who is going to be the next victim. It is not the same as the mini-series at all. Same people for the most part with a few additions; but shown in a various way.I'm not going to tell you what the actual coffin quilt is. That you'll have to search out for yourself when reading the book. If other reviewers have spoiled it for you by revealing what it is - then test not to read about it. I don't believe in putting spoilers in my reviews as it ruins the story for others who have yet to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys (Great Episodes) []  2020-8-8 19:7

    I think that feud between the family’s is very amazing to know. And if people like to read are telling them about history,and they have no clue. I have question will you create a coffin quilt 2 because I am ready to see what happens to fanny

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    This book is absolutely delightful. The illustrations are beautiful. Edith Holden’s notes transport you in time, leaving you with the feeling of being in the meadow with her, almost to the point of the sunlight on your face and the earth beneath your feet. The poetry is e seller was wonderful, even including a small bonus clearly chosen based on my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    I originally bought this book to chop up and use in my journals. I just CANNOT do that! I LOVE the illustrations! In fact, I ordered another copy to take with me on our vacation for inspiration!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    This was really fun to read! Enjoyed every small bit of it. The pictures are amazing! I want I was half that good...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    Love everything about it! The info and the print...and gorgeous illustrations!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    The red and white ver of this book with the red comb-style binding is not “Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady.” It is “CDoaEL Countryside Diary!” It’s essentially a book of blank pages for you to write your own Country Diary in. It’s sprinkled with little renditions of the original book’s watercolor paintings — ye gods, were the originals this faded?? — decorating pages filled with forms to tutorial the writing of your entries: species, date seen, location, observations. There is no evidence of a single word of Miss Holden’s writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    Attractive small book. I bought this to chop up for junk journals, but can't seem to do it! Copies it is. Really is a sweet small book with lovely water color illustrations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    I found out about this book while watching one of our favorite youtube channels Sew the Land. I thought it would be excellent to go along with our nature studies at home for my sons whom I homeschool.Edith Holden would walk, bike, and travel about in find for attractive nature. She'd write down entries each month of the year of 1906. In these entries she talks about flowers, plants, animals, weather, and contains poems and drawings/paintings of the things she saw. It was so interesting and we learned a e only tough part about this is that there are sometimes huge words I have never heard of in my life and her hand writing at times was not simple for me to read (for the most part she had really attractive hand writing though).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    Attractive book, or diary!! It's a copy but i can still appreciate the beauty in the words this lady wrote and the beauty in her watercolor work. I would love to one day, look at the original copy of this....its certainly would be inspiring!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    another in the collection, which you could use the water color paintings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady []  2020-1-29 19:36

    Had my copy of this book for a lot of years was very touched by the beauty of the illustrations and the keen observations. There is art and poetry everywhere! This is a woman who treasured every day and saw the wonder that is freely given to everyone. Real riches for those who have the eyes and heart to keep them. I love this book and have bought a copy to share with a very unique mate who will love it too. There is so much in the globe that is disheartening. Seeing Edith Holden's painting and her choice of verses and comments confirms that there is a grand plan and this beauty does not occur by accident. A visual, but not overt reminder that "His eye is on the sparrow... etc.". It is enriching and comforting and so beautiful. Most people wish to or test to hold a diary at some point. She has really done it wonderfully. Thank you Amazon for making it possible to share this loveliness with a fresh and appreciative reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Feud [App]  2019-5-22 13:28

    I'm mad cause the android game seems easy but I hold losing. Love it nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Feud [App]  2019-5-22 13:28

    Really well created tactic android game that is deceptively simple. Eady to learn, but difficult to master.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Feud [App]  2019-5-22 13:28

    Orignal and tactical android game with asynchronous multiplayer. Also some of the best blinking I've ever seen in games.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    The Lusitania sank in 18 minutes, I wondered what could the writer need so a lot of pages to tell the story. I realize all of us question actions after the happening and this author is very clear in pointing out the "it can't happen to me" mindset. Everyone who sailed on that ship were warned by the Germans who posted an ad in the paper that they would torpedo any ship in that zone and considered it a battle zone. The author compares the sinking of the titanic and the warnings but nothing could sink this ship, wrong again. The book is well written some stories are repeated several times a small annoying, yet it is well research and current to contain Ballards find and discovery of the ship in the late twenty century. Pictures and videos present the decline of the wreckage as it sits on the ocean bottom. I recommend this read if you like history you have fun it even more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    We are nearing the centenary of the sinking of the Lusitania and a plethora of fresh books are coming out. Two highly regarded historians, Greg King and Penny Wilson, have written an awesome real story of wealth and scandal set aboard the final voyage that ended in a large loss of cusing on the first class passengers, the authors use a lot of rare accounts not normally seen in books to move the story along. They zero in on the intimate backgrounds and what brought them to be aboard the ill-fated Lusitania. King and Wilson detail the special personalities such as a fairly begin couple, a bigamist, a Broadway and silent screen star, a philandering millionaire, nobility from the far corners of Canada, Italy, Wales and Ireland, automobile manufacturers, art dealer, sufferagettes, spiritualists, a female architect, doctors, nurses, soldiers... Think of it as Downton Abbey at sea. Society columns followed a lot of of these people- Alfred Vanderbilt, Rita Jolivet, Lady Marguerite Allan, Albert and Gladys Bilicke, George Kessler, Josephine Eaton Burnside, etc.. The huge cast of characters used to move the story along are well-chosen and are so well-drawn that it gives the book an intimate quality as if we are peeking in on them. An impressive array of images of the people and the ship support us as we test to picture who and what the authors are describing. The fact that several Lusitania families helped with info for this book shows the hard work of the e glamorous backdrop is the ship itself and the readers are treated to vivid descriptions of the Lusitania's luxurious interiors. Life at sea is not what it is today. As there were no commercial planes it was really the only method to obtain to another land. We follow this group as they create friends, sip tea, read, play cards, and dance, while trying in vain not to worry about submarines and torpedoes. The suspense of what is about to happen carries readers to the fateful day. The authors present the agony of trying to abandon the ship in 18 minutes. A lot of heroic deeds are recorded and sad tales of overturned lifeboats, parents separated from children, and strangers helping strangers in moments of e story does not end as the waters close over the stern; King and Wilson use their impressive research to present what happened to the survivors and the families of victims in later life. Some fortunes change for the better, others for the worse. I can assuredly say that this book will be very useful as a research tool in the future and highly regarded by lovers of history. Having read the authors previous works, I knew to expect a well-written book and I was not disappointed. I eagerly await their next work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    This was a very interesting book, a very well researched account, far better than Colin Simpson's earlier book, I found it really fascinating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    Makes you wonder if there were 1 or 2 torpedos that sunk her. Lots of questions about the squads actions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    A century ago the guns were blazing across Europe. Globe Battle I was the biggest conflict humanity had seen, and by the spring of 1915 hundreds of thousands had been killed and wounded. In the spring of 1915 an happening took put that came to symbolize for a lot of the waste and desolation that battle brings: the sinking of the Cunard liner Lusitania by a German submarine. Greg King and Penny Wilson's fine fresh history not only tells what happened at the sinking itself but also why it had such an impact on so a lot of e Lusitania and its sister ship the Mauretania were known as the Greyhounds of the Seas, popular for making the Atlantic crossing in record times while accomodating most of their passengers in a luxury that was ostentatious even by the standards of the day. They were tall, narrow beamed ships which gave a sense of spaciousness even in the relatively restrained Second Class sections. Built by the Cunard Line with loans from the British government, it was understood that if battle came they might be requisitioned and place into military service. In the event, when Globe Battle I broke out in 1914 the Lusitania was allowed to continue its passenger service between Liverpool and Fresh York, her cargo holds often filled with ammunition and other military equipment that was, legally speaking, barred from civilian ships. In the spring of 1915 Germany, frustrated by a British blockade that kept military and civilian supplies from reaching its shores, announced a policy of unrestricted submarine warfare in a location around the British Isles. A number of ships were sunk before the Lusitania, but the Cunard liner was the biggest and best known of the German submarines' ng and Wilson spend the first half of the book describing the Lusitania and giving short biographies of some of its best known passengers on its final voyage. Inevitably most of the material available deals with the wealthy First or Saloon Class passengers, like Alfred Gwynne Vanderbilt, but King and Wilson also focus on a lot of of the Second Class passengers, who tended to be middle class. There was also a Third or Steerage class, but most of the people holding those tickets left small or no records, and thus their tales had to go unreported. It's entertaining to read about the luxurious quarters the First Class passengers enjoyed, as well as their often scandalous careers before they boarded the Lusitania for the latest time.But the most compelling part of King and Wilson's book begins about half method through, when they reach the fatal day May 7, 1915, when shortly after lunch the German submarine U-20 (whose career and commanding officer Walter von Schwieger is also chronicled) fired one or two torpedos at the Lusitania off the southern coast of Ireland. The ship began to sink at once, with at least one mysterious explosion within the cargo keep causing fatal hurt to its hull, and it went down in 18 minutes. King and Wilson draw from memoirs and newspaper descriptions of the survivors to provide an almost min by min acc of the terror and confusion, abetted by poorly maintained lifeboats, incompetent and untrained squad members, and a captain who created a series of not good decisions. Those who survived the sinking itself then had to spend several hours in begin lifeboats or in the water before rescuers could arrive. In all over a thousand people died, most of them civilians, including a lot of young kids and e sinking of the Lusitania was not the "turning point" some have tried to create it. The US was outraged but remained out of the battle for another two years. The Germans kept sinking ships without warning,and the British maintained their blockade, while the not good wars went on and on. As King and Wilson tell it, the largest effect of the sinking was the hurt done to Germany's international reputation by the descriptions of the not good suffering and death toll. As for the surviving passengers and crew, King and Wilson provide an perfect epilogue in which they describe how the sinking altered their lives' courses and inflicted lasting physical and emotional e Lusitania tragedy has always been somewhat overshadowed by the Titanic sinking three years earlier as well as by the fact that it took put in the middle of an ongoing bloodbath. Now that a century has passed King and Wilson's fine book serves to remind us that hundreds of lives and a remarkable piece of engineering were lost to the globe that spring afternoon in 1915.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    The writer humanizes history. This is the story of the tragic sinking of the Lusitania, but it is also the story of the people who lived and die during this disaster. Most of the book sets up the happening by giving short biographies of some of the passengers. The book focuses on a lot of of the wealthy and well-known travellers. Warnings were given in advance. Families were torn apart. Kids died. Human error and not good planning were evident. Very informative. The book deserves an A+++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    this was an extremely well written book. reading of the disaster was as vivid as if the reader was seeing it all unfold. I have read several books about Titanic, but think this one does a better job of hero discription said and afterward. very glad I purchased this I-pad book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    This Lusitania book is about people who were on the fateful voyage. Mostly first class, some second class, no third class because they didn't leave a lot of clues about their e German U-Boat commander has always been vilified, but he was in a catch-22. The British were not playing by the rules of the sea. They carried contraband and place neutral flags on their ships. They ordered their ships to ram U-Boats. Walther Schwieger was within his rights to torpedo the British ship. It was in the battle zone, carrying contraband, unmarked. Lusitania was unarmed, but could have tried to ram ptain Turner bears much blame for his irresponsible handling of Lusitania. The Admiralty bears much blame for their carelessness in safeguarding the ship. The passengers knew they would travel through the battle location on a belligerent nation's rally, should Schwieger have torpedoed Lusitania? Did he feel any remorse? His battle diary was altered, and he died in the war. We'll never know if he did, in fact, fire a second y other books have been written about the Lusitania. This one is powerful on the human interest and light on technicalities. I found it totally engrossing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    The descriptions of the happenings leading up to the sinking were very true and exciting. I felt captivated and horrified by the actions of the captain. All in all a very compelling and well written history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lusitania: Triumph, Tragedy, and the End of the Edwardian Age []  2019-12-24 20:14

    This is a amazing complement to the other Lusitania book, Dead Wake. This book really delves into the people on the ship rather than the ship and what happened to it. If you were only to read one book, I would recommend Dead Wake.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    I don't know why but I feel like I'm reading the best soap opera the globe has to offer. So much drama being a Clinton. I don't know how they do it. Thank goodness Hillary never became president also. Talk about WW3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    Very interesting book depicting the "no love lost" attitude between the Clintons and the Obamas. Never realized Mrs. Obama despised Mrs. Clinton even more than her husband did, and she felt even more hatred towards former President Bill Clinton. The book depicts how much President Obama required former President Bill Clinton to campaign for him if he was to be re-elected to a 2nd term, and how much Michelle Obama was versus it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    Just finished reading this eye-opening book, copyright 2014, & here we are past the 2016 Presidential election which Democrats lost. I have read several Edward Klein books, & really have fun his writing style. This book is a stark reminder that public figures & celebs are basically just like the rest of us, but media hype builds celebs & politicians to almost god-like proportions. I totally enjoyed every page of this book, including the "Note to the Reader" where author Edward Klein explains his use of anonymous sources he interviewed who were unwilling to be quoted by name. Some reviewers disparaged this book because sources weren't identified, but revealing the long-simmering poor blood & chicanery between the 2 couples is the largest takeaway. I want the publishers had placed that "Note to Reader" in the front of the book, but other than that Blood Feud is a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    Amazing book. It validated everything I had thought of these families. I saw through Obama the first time I saw him. This book kept my interest and I wanted more at the end. So I will waiting for Mr. Klein's next book on the families leaving office and how Hillary took the news of not winning the presidency.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    This book reveals so a lot of facts about the Clintons and the Obamas that most of us "regular citizens" may have suspected but were not really aware of, since we don't have inner-circle access. It shows how politics at the highest level is managed by self-serving, overly-ambitious, self-absorbed individuals who are more interested in their own legacies than in the best interests of the people they serve, and the journalists that report on them do nothing to allow us know what really is going on. This book should be needed reading for every voter before they vote in 2016. I only want the facts in this book were more publicly revealed by the media.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    Not much revelation. This book is mostly based on gossip and lacks a lot of direct quotes or just doesn't even reveal a source. Having lived during the time of Bill's presidency, there was not one surprise. I didn't vote for her and I am definitely not a fan. However, the author seems to think he has the right to judge a lot of what I would consider her due. . If Bill had created me out to be such a fool, I can hardly have blamed her if she ran to the kitchen and came back swinging a cast iron skillet at Bill's head! Married people fight.. or most do. This is not a revelation... It would be hard to go a week around here without some snippy remarks and raised voices. I imagine all those years of living with that skirt chaser would unhinged me to the point that they'd have heard me all the method to the Smithsonian. The Travel Office and other revelations in this book have already been booted around for the latest 25 years! No fresh news, no fresh quotes, no fresh proof of anything. My opinion was there was nothing here to qualify as a reason to write a book. Waste of money...at least it place me to sleep!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    If only half of what is reported in this book is true, we should thank our lucky stars that the Clintons are not back in the White House and that the Obamas are out..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    This book shows what I have always felt and that is that certain people only seek this strong job for the power itself, not that they truly care about the country. Look at what has happened to this country in the latest 8 to 12 years. This country has been in debt for quite a while now, but Mr. Obama allowed thousands of illegals to enter this country. A country has to have rules and regulations. No borders and you can see what has happened in Europe. Crime is rampant and in order to stop this, European countries have now erected borders. I was born in Europe and trust me som does not work. Eventually the cash runs out, and the wise people leave the country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    The two emperors really do have no clothes!! This revealing book will be ignored by some, denied by others, and taken as gospel by the rest. Being a long time observer of body language and visual behavior cues, for me, this book explains a lot of of my private misgivings about these two couples. As Obama's term ends and Hillary's failure to victory the electoral college becomes another fact of life, their collective self indulgence and self pity becomes even more painfully obvious!! We are witnessing two small, self centered couples blame everyone but themselves for their failure when their most cherished objective ~ securing a lasting put in American success history ~ did not succeed due to their own faults!!Ed Klein has done more to rescue journalism from the depths of despair in this fascinating book than almost all of the LameStream Media combined!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. The Obamas []  2020-2-4 3:39

    A special read. Most books are comprised of an antagonist, a protagonist, or both. There is usually a safe haven to be found somewhere. Not so with this book. When the reader tries too flee from one antagonist, he finds no harbor. No put is safe. When you become I'll at the hands of the Obama's, your only respite lies in the arms of the Clinton's. It truly does create this a tough read. Only the strong.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    McCabe's Luck begins in the hills of Kentucky in the aftermath of the Civil Battle where hate runs deep and guild battles linger for years. Feeling like he ought to move on to Texas and start again, McCabe meets fresh mates but the past comes back to haunt him. Opponents come home to roost and there is the final showdown. I liked the matter of fact storytelling but not the changing points of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    McCabe is a civil battle veteran who leaves Kentucky for Texas. He goes to settle some land for a family he has befriended. And runs into problem as soon as he gets there, and this book tells the e author is very amazing at describing war scenes. He goes into info of the setup and how wars are won. You end understanding not only that the hero won, but how the hero e major flaw of this book is the editing. I'm not talking about typos either. I didn't see a lot of those. The author needs to either learn when to paragraph or use an editor. A lot of the time, it's hard to know whose talking and who's reacting to what's said. This would be such an simple flaw to fix, and the author is amazing enough to create learning to do this right worthwhile. Overall, a amazing book, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    I’m a huge fan of Westerns and for the latest few decades it has become a lost art. This was a attractive story—told by a man who knows what he’s talking about. There were a few locations of opportunity an editor can support you with here: like indenting paragraphs, removing the zone between paragraphs, fixing typos, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    I have to say, I do not usually read Westerns, but this book attracted my attention, and I was not disappointed!The story tells of a battle hero, Jake Mccabe, who is driven out of his home in Kentucky, and tries to settle his family in Texas, making a fresh life. He finds land which suits his needs, but once again, he is down on his luck when a neighbour who is in with the corrupt sheriff tries to take advantage and steal everything from him that he has worked so hard to obtain. The stakes are high; Jake loves his fellow man, and is doing his best for everyone. Not only that, there is a tip of romance ...The author has crafted a well-structured novel, with characters who lead the story. The first person narration is strong because it gives deep psychological insights into character. A particular strength of the book is the psychological insights into each particular character's motive and motivation. I also obtain the feeling that this writer writes about a globe he knows - although the story is fiction, in locations it feels biographical and personal.I particularly like the main theme of the novel which is about being determined, having the patience and courage to build something out of e writing style is subtle, and gives the reader zone for their own ere are some editing issues, but they did not detract from my enjoyment of the e ending of the story is uplifting and touches the emotions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    I loved the story, the characters, and the book cover, but sometimes the errors in the text just can't be overlooked. That is the case here. Even the greatest writers need editors and proper book formatting. This book is no exception. For example, on the very first page, Jake McCabe talks about his younger brother (Russell), but then says "My mother had died giving birth to me." He doesn't mention how a younger brother could come along if his mother was dead. Then, in chapter 2, Jake's love interest, Julia, in their farewell, calls Jake "Ike" which is her father's name. I couldn't hold track of all the errors. Furthermore, when a various hero starts speaking, it should start on a fresh line in the text. Otherwise, it can be difficult to know who is speaking. Only because I really liked the story did this book warrant four stars, and that is probably overly generous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    Wanting more , a amazing read, and thoroughly enjoyable. Amazing characters too. I would like more stories about this family, even one about how Boone came to be there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    Yet another amazing and captivating story from one of my favorite authors! Clearly a lot of research involved in this story about Texas land grants in the 1870s for civil battle veterans. But watch out for those Kentucky immigrants coming in—they sure shake up the Hill Country with all of their dust ups!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    I so appreciate this author's writing and story lines. Each story is simple to follow and an enjoyable read. McCabe travels from Kentucky to Texas as he starts a fresh life. While his past does catch up to him, he overcomes it and is able to have fun his fresh life. I hope there will be a sequel to McCabe's Luck! Hold up your writing, Mr. Lindsay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    Jake McCabe has been to war,his family killed. He went to see this neighbors the Hawkins it was decided Jake would go to Texas and search some land for both of them There's lot of gun action,range war. A amazing read..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    McCabe's Luck: The Feud Goes On []  2020-8-25 18:48

    Pcked up this bok the other day. Didn't take long to read, but a amazing story about a amazing guy winning. And today, we need to remember we are amazing and the amazing can win.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    I read this book quickly--it flows well and pulls you right along. The characters are interesting and I thought they were well depicted with enough background to create them real. They are all teenagers after all and have yet to develop fully. They don't have years of experiences to pull from.I liked the interactions between them as they came together to do something about the Emperor destroying their families and homes. The least developed was Bianca, and I was sad to not see her in the introduction to book 2. I hope she hasn't been lost as I felt especially drawn to thing I really appreciated is that, although they got themselves into tight spots quite often, they were not "rescued" illogically by some unbelievable happening. They had to rescue themselves. And, although Neil's advanced powers materialized at exactly the right time, it was well set up to do so. Not like a sudden rescue from outside the story as in deux ex machine like so a lot of fantasy writers use.And although Jonathan's action was certainly a surprise, it also was foretold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    I won a copy from a giveaway on Goodreads. The author or the people running the giveaway did not pay me for a review and all the thoughts here are my own honest opinion.What I Liked:The globe building in the story is fantastic! The author took time to explain how the superpowers work, to how each one of the three houses affected the state of the city. It was very realistic and interesting to read e powers that each of the three houses had was just, YES!!! Teleportation, super strength, and super healing. And that's just my very vague description of it. The book does a amazing job at showing us how these people live, how each one is various from each other. Ahh! It was just pure genius! I also love how they have to learn how to advance their powers and that they will gain unique powers when they encounter an extreme e writing in the story is also very good. The descriptions really create you see what is going on. And though the descriptions present you what's event and never goes into too much detail with violence or e Characters:Neil! I loved him. He was the main character, which created me a small sad as the other characters didn't obtain much book time. But Neil is great. His story is heartbreaking, and how he is always trying to please his father (by becoming the greatest killer ever). I love his power the best. How he can teleport and everything. It was just cool!Bianca! I loved her! I love how she is with Neil and I ship these two together. Though I did want that she had more book time considering how much of a mate she is supposed to be with Neil (they spent time with each other since young children). She had a hard life but was just full of @#$% and vinegar and she was a sweetheart (sometimes) and I just love that. She didn't have any powers, but she was amazing with her knives.Rhys! HE MUST BE PROTECTED AT ALL COST!!!! I LOVED HIM SO MUCH!!! HE NEEDED MORE TIME IN THE BOOK!!! HE WAS A CINNAMON ROLL AND WAS SO SMART!!!Jennifer. Ugh, I don't know about ctoria. I didn't like her at all in the beginning of the story. But she did grow on me. But I still didn't like her that grated on me a small because of her military/feisty/better-than-everyone attitude and she seemed a small spoiled. Though she did grow on me, mainly because of her servant nathan! I LOVED HIM!!! *Cries*Darius. I actually thought that he was a poor guy in the beginning because of Neil's reaction to him and the method Darius's brother is with women. While really in reality, Darius is a big, giant, strong, teddy bear warrior. And while he isn't at my most favorite character, I did end up loving him, alright?Carlin. Nope. He was a poor guy. I didn't like him, which I wasn't supposed too, so the book did good. *Grins*What I Didn't Like:The first thing that I didn't like is more of a me thing than a book thing, but, okay, I wasn't in the mood for a dystopian. I thought that this book was going to be about killers or something. Which it is. But the main plot had to do with these three houses and this corrupt government. This plot line did grow on me, and it did up being very well t Spending Enough Time with Certain Characters:This book is told with three main POV's. Though we mainly obtain Neil's POV. Which I love Neil, okay? But this created me not like the other characters as much.I had a few questions about the emperor's servant, but due to spoilers I won't ask them here. ;)Content in Book:1. Violence. (Disassembling someone's body parts to slay them. Assassins. Stabbing people with swords, with blood and gore. Stabbing people with knives. Arrows. Fire. Burning people. Turning people to ash. With hammers. Hand-to-hand combat. People getting killed. Bombs/grenades. Etc. The violence can be a small bloody and gory but never overly so, only semi-descriptive. Excellent for a YA novel.)2. . (Men having with as a lot of women as possible to hold their bloodline alive, only implied, never shown. A man known to not to treat women nicely, implied that he had with them, never shown. There is a woman sleeping with this one guy, they don't have and is not really descriptive. Wanting to hold this woman alive to have with her, never happens. Etc., The info are never really given to any scenes, beautiful clean.)3. Drinking alcohol. Getting drunk. Alcoholics.4. Minor swear words.5. A religion to this person known as "The Man with the Golden Light".6. Stealing. (Where people sometimes obtain hurt.)7. Spreading gossip about others.8. A guy who is rumored to have cheated on his wife.9. Servants/slavery.10. Dungeons. And the cruelty that is done to the prisoners there. (Including hanging them on the wall with chains and putting on a mask so is hard for them to breathe).11. Magic.Will I Continue With The Next Book in the Series???YES!!! I am really curious to see what happens next in the second book, The Flames.Who I Would Recommend This Book Too:Those who like killer stories. Those who like dystopian's. Those who like reading about people with superpowers. Those who like books with amazing globe building and amazing writing. READ IT!!! =)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    Original plot line and not predictable like so a lot of are. Multiple characters developed well. Really enjoyed this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    In Januarh , my mate and I were informed about this book from our librarian, after she told us that Kyle was coming to visit. I immediately downloaded it, and became inamored with the read. Seeing the characters develop over the course of the story was amazing, as their personalities grew, ideals changed, and relationships grew. It was a amazing read, and while the beginning for me personally was a small confusing the first time, it was an awesome read. It was amazing to have my questions answered by the awesome author and its definitely a book I will hold rereading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    That was... 😬 fore we begin, allow it be known that the very first thing about this book that caught my attention was its cover (the second book's, to be precise). They're gorgeous. And because of how attractive it was, and because Grace gave this book a amazing rating, I just had to check it out, you know?The concept worked for me. Three families in a city, gifted long ago with superhuman abilities to protect their people, now caught in an age of turmoil while three of their young heirs create it their mission to unite them once again? Sure, why not. I read the prequel novella (a freebie! Yay!) and liked it enough to give this series a try.😱😱😱 WhydidIevermakethatmistake.But I did, and, well, I'm here now. To give you my honest opinions.*while everyone in the background screams at Merie to obtain on with it already; they don't have all day*THE WORLDBUILDING was great. The town of Altryon itself isn't very unique, in terms of what you see in most high fantasies these days, but one thing that set it apart? Kyle Prue expounded on it. He actually dug deep into the wheels of society and what these three families did that created them so huge in it (other than having superhuman abilities, of course). It was... refreshing. It was real. It was something every spec fic globe needs very badly. 😊THE CHARACTERS... 😬🤯😱Neil: He was beautiful amazing for a main character. He was actually realistic. I just didn't love him all that much, most likely because he was the mainest main hero and I have a thing versus that. (don't ask) But his family... and everything he goes through... 😭Darius: 😭 One of my two favorites in this series. He is such a big, brutal, tough cinnamon roll and I love him so much 😭 Okay, I definitely could care less if I had the Taurlum ability (Vapros and Celerius on the other hand? ... Gimme), but he was just so excellent for his role. Almost nobody writes about the huge tough guys with the heart of gold anymore. And what he goes through in this novel alone... 😭(And I mean huge tough guys, not dark brooding guys. As in, actually intimidating in their size and strength and weight of four hundred pounds. Obtain it, YA?)Lilly: She's my other favorite character. She was also the awesome warrior-lady female MC everyone asks for but nobody writes! I don't know how, but Prue managed to equally balance her Celerius honor (*smirk*) with Celerius ferocity. Without making her the type of annoying, petty, pigheaded heroines that overpopulate YA these days. *slow clap* Also Jonathan 😂🤣😭 Also I died with her when *THAT* happened (if you read this, you'll know exactly what *THAT* is). Although she does have a habit of stitching herself back together. 🙃Rhys: Okay, so while Darius and Lilly created it to the very top, Rhys ain't far behind 'em. He is such a cinnamon roll and should be protected at all costs. lin needs to dieOkay guys, but this book had funny parts. I LOVE HUMOR IN BOOKS. It's just not enough of a thing in genres outside of comedy (and I'm not a comedy person!). I like clean humor and witty banter and ironic situations. The plot, too, it wasn't very twisty, but it was so well done. In my humble small opinion.Okay, so now that we've reached the... Midway point of my review? Looks like I'm gonna dig into the content portion of it. I've never done a content review in my life before, but today I'm gonna take responsibility and be helpful. *pats you on the shoulder*VIOLENCE: Whew, there was a lot of it. It's not graphic, thank goodness, but there is killing, fighting, falling out of windows and off of rooftops (not intentionally, mind you), throwing sharp pointy objects around, fires, gas masks, at one point there were grenades, and... you obtain the gist of it, I imagine. As far as content goes in that direction, there were scenes where 1) people are run through, 2) decapitation or dismemberment of certain limbs occur, 3) a hero gets their throat chop (but survives), 4) scary abilities that contain turning people into ash are place into use, 5) scary abilities that contain burning people to death are place into use, and 6) a hero wants to become an assassin, and knows a lot of people who are assassins. This is an killer book. You may be expecting yes, blood there NGUAGE: I'm more sensitive to language than violence, as it happens, so some who are not bothered by mild language (think PG-13 or Marvel) may be disturbed by the violence instead.D**n was used quite a number of times, along with h***. Bast**d and a** as well. That was it. Offensive to my eyes, personally, but MANCE: ha. One kiss, y'all (maybe two? Wasn't counting xD). Attraction between two characters. That's NUENDOS: One off-page stage was alluded to but never described. Several characters are known for "forcing himself upon women." Seduction is mentioned but not COHOL: There is drinking, bars, mentions of bars and drinking, and getting drunk, which all of the main characters happen to experience at some point or another. One hero becomes beautiful much a drunkard for a short period of time that isn't described in much detail. However, drunkenness is cast under a disapproving light (for the most part? I guess? At least that's what I got reading it) and in more than one situation proves to be LIGION: I don't know what kind of purpose the whole origin story and the Man with Golden Light thing serves. I don't believe the author intends it as an allegory, but there are some... connotations one might search quite familiar. There's a church and there are preachers, but that's about as far as it goes.And that concludes my long, lengthy content review! I recommend this series to anyone who loves a good, special young-adult fantasy, and who wouldn't be bothered by a small content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    An immersive and entertaining fantasy, The Sparks is a unbelievable introduction to The Feud trilogy! I loved the characters, the awesome world-building, the intrigue, and ree families – the Vapros, the Taurlum, and the Celerius- were chosen long ago and given superhuman powers with the task of protecting the town of Altryon from the dangers that lurk beyond their wall. Now, the three families are embroiled in a bitter feud, each determined to undermine and assassinate the others. However, when an even greater threat comes after the families, will they change their feuding ways and work together to conquer the enemy?The story primarily follows several teenagers from the three feuding families, including Neil and Rhys Vapros, Darius Taurlum, and Lilly Celerius. The narration is told from several perspectives, so you really obtain to see the globe from various points of view. I liked this, as you understand the thoughts and feelings of a dozens of people, amazing and bad, which immersed me even more into the story. They are so a lot of richly developed characters with special and distinct personalities, a lot of of whom face tremendous pressure to war the other families and maintain their family’s reputation. Neil, Darius, and Lilly have slightly larger roles than the rest, and I loved each of them!Neil Vapros is determined to become an killer and create his disapproving and critical father proud. I love his determination and charisma. He lives in an abusive home with almost impossible expectations place on him. However, he never gives up. He is strong, determined, and brave. Like his Taurlum and Celerius counter-parts, Neil is a leader among his people, although he seems to be working harder than the others to prove himself to his family. Lilly is strength personified and seems to have the best help system of the bunch. She’s a fierce fighter and loyal to her family. Darius is confident, aggressive, and often brutal, but there is so much depth underneath all of his bravado.I also like the moral greyness to some of the characters and their actions. It is unclear for most of the story who is honorable and trustworthy and who is treacherous, and just when I thought I had certain characters figured out, something would happen in the story that created me reevaluate my assertions. There are characters that I definitely rooted for and others that I loved to hate, but the moral ambiguity fascinated me.Another aspect of the characters that I love is the cool powers that the families possess. The Vapros can teleport and turn people into ash, the Celerius have quick self-healing powers and super speed, and the Taurlum have skin of steel and superhuman strength. Several characters have added abilities beyond the traditional inherited powers, and they hone their skills and use them to their advantage, especially when their lives are threatened. Prue did an awesome job in describing the powers and the imagery is fantastic!The author is also skilled in describing the intricacies of the families and the globe without turning it into a huge information dump. Altryon has a long history, as do the feuding families, and the progression and changes of the society are woven into the story quite naturally. Powerful messages of family, trust, faith, finding oneself, and resilience are also at the forefront of this engrossing story.A unbelievable and vivid young adult fantasy with dozens of action, political intrigue, and surprising twists, The Sparks will appeal to readers who like immersive, well-developed stories. Thanks so much to the author for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    Masterful story telling. Kyle Prue came up with exciting interesting characters. On par with Harry Potter and Divergent. Well written

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    This novel starts off with an attention grabbing assassination attempt, but quickly becomes much more than a book about murder. The complexity of the 4 main hero - Niel, Rhys, Darius, and Lilly, is wonderful. There is something completely relatable in each one. All four have excessively powerful familial bonds and loyality that initially pit them versus each el and Rhys are half brothers, members of the Vapros family, known to be skilled killers and support the common people more than most. Darius is a member of the Taurlum family, the largest and strongest family in the country. No one dares to mess with the Taurlum family - except of course the Vapros. Lilly is a member of the Celeruis family, known mostly for the military ties, and another family that one just doesn't mess ey are all descendant from 3 of the original 4 brothers, blessed by a strong God-like being with unique advanced abilities. Each family controls a part of the village, but can they hold their control and their feud alive when the emperor decides he wants them decimated? You will have to read to search out! I cannot wait to read more in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    Latest Spring I became aware of a book called The Sparks by Kyle Prue. There was an opportunity for the author to come to visit my school so I decided to read the book in preparation for the visit. I honestly sat down thinking: “OK, how amazing can this really be, a teenager wrote it. It’s probably full of angst and underdeveloped story and characters.” BOY WAS I WRONG! The Sparks drew me in and I finished the book within 2 days. I could not place it down. The main characters at teenagers who live in a town called Altryon. The teens all come from historical families in the city. Centuries ago the families were brothers who were gifted with powers during a war from “the Man with the Golden Light.” The brothers were supposed to protect the town together with their powers. The Vapros is a family that has been gifted with being able to materialize from one put to another visible put and to turn their opponents to ashes. The Celerius family is fast and honorable, they are the soldiers. The Taurlum are powerful with skin of steel to protect them. Sometimes, those powers can develop to more advanced skills, but those are various for each individual. There is no info on the fourth family because that brother died soon after the powers were given. As the years passed surviving brothers started their families and began using their powers. As happens with a lot of families, feuds between the families began which leads to the story. These families are still fighting a couple hundred years later and are actually killing each other. The story follows a teen from each family, Neil Vapros, Darius Taurlum, and Lily Celerius, who is struggling to figure out their put in the town and their family. The people of the town and the emperor of the town begins to war back at the families. The teens each have to take control of their life and their destiny, but they struggle to be successful on their own. They each have to decide if it is worth putting aside the feud that they have always known. The main characters are likable. I found myself rooting for them. I did not feel myself roll my eyes at any part of the story, they were too glued to the page. Kyle Prue showed his skill as a writer by developing his characters well, giving them a purpose, but also not making them weaklings that by some miracle save the world. The Sparks is a book that did not disappoint and left me counting the days until the release of The Flames, the second book in the promised trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sparks: Book I of the Epic Feud Trilogy (The Feud Trilogy 1) []  2021-1-4 19:1

    I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Kyle Prue. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of ur families were touched by the light in order to protect the town of Altryon: the Vapors, able to teleport and turn their opponents to ash, the Celerius, with super speed and the ability to heal from any wound, the Taurlum, with skin like steel and godlike strength, and a fourth family whose members have perished due to the constant rivalry among the four families. The inhabitants of Altryon live inside an impenetrable wall, and are governed by an emperor. The various members of the family are busy trying to slay each other when they search out that there is somebody who is going after all. Will it be possible to reunite the families and war versus this fresh danger or is their rivalry too powerful for this?Despite the short age of Kyle Prue when writing this book I have to say that this is a quite decent fantasy book. The globe building is well done, with original ideas, and a consistent story line. I missed more depth in the characters but I think it is completely normal due to Prue's age and inexperience.I enjoyed the various abilities the families had and the relationships among the family members. I would have appreciated a bit more hero development but there were a lot of characters and would have created for a longer book. There is a lot of action, and a couple of unexpected twists that I did not see coming.I found curious that only kids and teens could survive the attacks. It is very convenient for a YA book but somehow I do not search it very realistic.I was intrigued by what was outside the wall, and I expected to have some more info about it, apart from rumors. Usually in this situation writers have someone from the outside suddenly arriving and spreading some information. This would have been interesting here, but I understand that not even Prue knew what was beyond the huge wall. We will have to wait for the next book to search n Eric Preston delivered a amazing narration and hero interpretations. He used clearly differentiated voices for the characters and his speech was very is was an entertaining YA story, and I think it was very well written taking into acc how young Kyle Prue was back then.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    Gareth Russell has done his research. Uncovering previously unpublished sources and including photographs. Russell tells the story not just of the sinking of the Titanic, but of six well-known and well-heeled passengers and the role they played in history.He is a gifted writer and puts the happening in context with what was going on in the world. Especially the Americans and the British. With the Edwardian Era ending, battle on the horizon and changes in the social norms, technology, politics, Irish Home Rule, the class system, this was a major time of change for the world.We follow the stories of six of those passengers on the Titanic and how their lives changed. The description of the sinking, min by minute, the various ways Americans and the British handled the tragedy. Not everyone was chivalrous or brave. And for some that would haunt them for the rest of their r me personally, this was the best book I have read on the subject. And that was because it was so well researched and written. Myths were shown for what they were. Facts and journals told stories never heard before. The pictures were priceless in creating an photo in your head of who these people were and how they behaved.I would have no issue recommending this book as a definitive look at this point in our history.Extremely Well Done!NetGalley/ November 19th, 2019 by Atria Books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    "The Ship of Dreams", by Irish author Gareth Russell, is the latest, and one of the best books about the Titanic. Built in 1912, the ship didn't survive it's maiden voyage between LeHarve and Hoboken, It entered history with all the fervor of a "myth"; a myth of "unsinkability" and "endless luxury". However, the truth was that as huge and strong as the Titanic was, it would soon be superceded by larger, faster, and even more attractive ships. But like a attractive woman killed in her prime, the Titanic never suffered the agonies of growing old and feeble. She'll always be remembered for her uniqueness and the method she met her e subtitle of Russell's book is, "The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era". He looks at the ship from manufacture to her sinking from the view of the changes in society and class and economics as the England of King Edward VII gave method in 1910 to the rule of George V. The book is a superb look at British society, as the globe begins to change and Britain faces the loss of her colonies. That won't happen til after WW1, but by 1912, a lot of of the factors that will cause the battle are beginning to be in place.But if Gareth Russell's writing about society is well done, he also brings fresh life to the study of the Titanic and its tragic end. He mentions several facts that I - a fairly dedicated Titanic-buff have missed - one of which is that the First Class section had very few cabins with personal baths. With the exception of a few, including the one the Isadore Strauses traveled in - passengers used the hall toilets and bath rooms. It seems wonderful to me that Thomas Andrews - the designer of the boat who traveled on the maiden voyage and lost his life - couldn't incorporate even little toilet and shower rooms in the cabins!Several other facts about the ship and its passengers and squad were also new. For instance, while we're all familiar with most of the wealthy First Class passengers, I'd never heard of Countess Rothes, who was traveling with her cousin and a ladies maid. The Countess seconded the squad assigned to her lifeboat, rowing with them, and helping to cheer the other women in the lifeboat. There were several characters Russell focuses on, including Thomas Andrews and the Thayer family from reth Russell's book is an absolute joy to read. I found myself slowing my reading down, so as not to end the book too soon. I can heartily recommend "The Ship of Dreams".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    I have been fascinated by the Titanic for years. As soon as I saw The Ship of Dreams by Gareth Russell was coming out, I couldn't wait to read it. The author chose to expand upon the actual happenings by hypothesizing that the sinking also heralded the ending of the Edwardian era. It was very interesting to learn about how social changes were coming about and how they led up to the time period when the Titanic sailed. While the sinking itself did not tag the end of the Edwardian era (those changes were already happening), by focusing on six people, who sailed on the Titanic, the author could give us a narrower view of how society was changing, which we can correlate to society in general.I did have fun how the author demonstrated the changes event in society, but there were times that he went off on tangents that seemed very unrelated to the Titanic, it's passengers, or even the Edwardian era. The parts of the book I enjoyed, I thoroughly enjoyed, but there were times when I skimmed a bit because the topic was completely unrelated and not very interesting, honestly. I think the book would have benefited from a bit more editing. As a Titanic aficionado, I really enjoyed learning more about these six passengers in particular. If the book had stayed a bit more focused without the meanderings off on tangents, it would probably have been a five star anks so much to the publisher for the free review copy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    Unreadable..! The author jumps all over trying to provide an insight into the Edwardian era and minutae theough the lives of 6 privileged families. And that seems to be by design - but its really disorganization by design. Just unreadable...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    Russell goes into exquisite detail in The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era. Sometimes that was amazing thing for me, and sometimes it wasn't so great. While being fully aware that in addition to being about the Titanic and its doomed journey this book is also about some of the first class passengers that traveled on the ship, the parts that covered extensive and somewhat excessive history about those individuals felt tedious at times. When the background similar to the hero of the individuals and the reason for them being on the ship, it was amazing backstory. When it similar back their family history over the past five generations, not so much. The parts similar to the ship and the journey itself were intricate and mostly unbelievable and engaging - although at points here too Russell went into detail so fine that most people would probably glaze over. I definitely had points while reading when I was rooting for certain people to create it safely home. While Russell definitely spends time laying out the private history of some of the people, some of the happenings in Britain leading up to the sailing (including the death of King Edward VII), and happenings and private follow-up after the sinking, this book to me is not so much focused on how a certain era ended, beyond mentioning that it was becoming increasingly difficult for the titled class of England to keep on to huge family estates than it is the people that traveled on the Titanic, how they handled adversity and the ship itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    In the century since her tragic demise, Titanic’s story has been told time and again. From books (both fiction and non) to films and tv series, we’ve heard the tale so a lot of times it’s hard to believe there is anything fresh to discover. Are there any more stones to uncover? Acclaimed historian, Gareth Russell, set out to unearth those very stones, and in his gripping fresh work he polishes them to a shine. In doing so, Russell manages to accomplish the impossible: a new perspective on the most infamous shipwreck in Lord’s seminal opus, A Night To Remember, set a benchmark for works on Titanic that few have been able to reach. In The Ship Dreams, Russell not only meets that standard, he far surpasses it, raising the luxury liner from its established put as a martyred victim of human error to an example of cutting edge technology in a globe on the edge of collapse. Rather than portrayed as a ferry of death, Russell holds up Titanic as a real prism of life in an era marked by human triumph, buoyed by unprecedented wealth and sheer moxie.Poignant and meticulously researched, The Ship of Dreams is brilliant and heartrending. Sharp in his observations, Russell leaves no myth unchallenged. A gifted storyteller, each harrowing hour is rendered so vividly, one can almost feel the sting of the salty air and the bitter chill of the sea sinking into their bones. In Russell’s hands, the academic is both engaging and accessible; each detail finely wrought by a real master of the genre. Moving and elegantly constructed, The Ship of Dreams is a pure treasure; a gem not to be missed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    The sinking of the Titanic was one of the most horrific losses of life, with over 1500 dead. The giant luxury liner was touted to be unsinkable, but went down on its maiden voyage, the vessel struck an iceberg, ripping a gash down the side of the ship that was beyond anything that the designers could have imagined, and it led to catastrophic Ship Of Dream,s, Gareth Russel takes us into the lives of six of the more celebrity figures on the Titanic, and the aftermath of the sinking. It was something that would change their lives, and a lot of others in such a short time. For the ones who survived, it would stick with them for the rest of their days, marking each year that is was a book that was hard to place down! I was drawn into the stories of these families, and the heartbreak that was so prevalent on that night. For one family, they chose to stay together rather than be separated, resulting in loss of life for is book is a MUST read for anyone who enjoys history on the Titanic, or history in general! Well thought out, masterfully written, and a champion all around!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    4 starsI have been a follower of all things Titanic for a lot of years and found this book to be a welcome addition to my collection. Mr. Russell manages to place the ship and its passengers into a complete historical perspective. He shows that we are all “victims” of our social class and of the time in which we is book is a very amazing re-telling not only of the Titanic tragedy, but also Mr. Russell contains brief but very detailed biographies of some of the popular personages included in his book. The research alone must have been exhaustive and extensive. In addition, he included the political climate in Belfast and the rest of Ireland where the Titanic was built as well as both the political and social climate of Europe and us the conditions in Europe and America were masterfully described in what Russell describes as the end of the Edwardian e author also debunks the famous conspiracy theories about the sinking of the Titanic and the rumors that followed some of the passengers – both dead and alive – around like smelly small black clouds especially Mr. Ismay and Mr. Thacker. Their stories were tragic when piled upon their survival but for vastly various ere is also a copious bibliography and extensive notes for those who would like to further discover Titanic. I watched a doentary recently and read articles about how quickly Titanic is now deteriorating on the seabed. Another sad chapter for the old ry well done, Mr. Russell. I very much look forward to reading more from this author.I wish to thank NetGalley and Atria Books for forwarding to me a copy of this book for me to read, have fun and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    I found the book's subtitle to be a small misleading in that it is about the sinking of the Titanic, but the author really does a not good job of tying in the end of the Edwardian Era. The book om centers a number of the passengers on the Titanic and covers some of their history before the voyage, during the voyage, the sinking of the ship and the aftermath. I found the book to be inconsistent in parts of it really dragged while other parts moved at a brisk pace. The slow parts dealt with the author getting somewhat tedious in the background provided on the passengers featured in the book and somewhat frequent meanderings off the subject. The most interesting and engaging parts of the book centered on the voyage and the sinking of the ship. The author also provides his opinion on some of the myths surrounding the Titanic.I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the Titanic bearing in mind that the book is inconsistent.I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of NetGalley and the publisher with the understanding that I would post a review on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my nonfiction book review blog. I also posted it to my Fb page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era []  2019-12-23 20:8

    4.5 ILLING READ!2 hours and 40 mins from collision to disappearance....water temperature just under -2 is informative work of non-fiction begins with a detailed introduction of different passengers and crew, some I had heard of in previous TITANIC reads and movies, some not....including Jenny the cat who "prowled the halls after delivering a litter of kittens."Lots of secrets....addiction, affairs, hidden illegitimate children. Lots of fabrications, and Lots of history of the time.What I was looking for I received in the detailed description of different rooms aboard ship, eye witness accounts of the sinking, and Oh-My-Gosh, life after TITANIC....10 survivors committing tom line, unwise navigation plus speed kills. Only 712 survivors of over 2200 y thanks to Atria Books via NetGalley for the arc in exchange for review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    Love reading Yankee books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    As a lifelong baseball fan, any story that speaks of history/Yankees must speak to The Babe and Gehrig. The author spoke to lots of Babe/ Lou e title speaks to the feud between the 2 legends. Aside from Lou being a “ Mama’s Boy”, there wasn’t a amazing deal of fresh information re the popular feudThe stories of the two, did create the book an enjoyable/ simple read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    Learned alot about both men. I coached girls softball for years my daughter's where #3 and #4.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    I love the old Fresh York Yankees and I read anything I can obtain my hands on about Lou Gehrig. It is a amazing and interesting book and old Yankee fans need to read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    I did not have fun this book at all. Maybe it's because I just finished 'Big Fella' by Jane Leavy and "Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig" by Jonathan Eig, both are very e Castro book rehashes much of what has already been written. It is an simple book to read because of larger typeface and whitespace than what is normal for a serious nonfiction book. The Preface is 10% of the book (24 pages!) Also, there is no index which is a disappointment. IMO, serious nonfiction books should have one. Castro contains a lot of fluff, the book reads like a magazine article that has been unprofessionally expanded. He even contains some questionable information about a purported fling between Ruth and Eleanor Twitchell (Gehrig) that supposedly happened in the early '20s. Ealrlier books have not included this because there are no facts to back it up.I'm not going to donate or share this book, it is that bad. Read the Leavy and Eig books and you will have the entire relationship spelled out in full.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    Bought it as a bonus and the recipient loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of An Edwardian Lady: A facsimile reproduction of a 1906 naturalist's diary []  2020-4-3 19:40

    I don't know if it's fair to review a book that you primarily purchased to take apart rather than to read, but anyone who makes art/junk journals will LOVE this one. The illustrations are absolutely beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of An Edwardian Lady: A facsimile reproduction of a 1906 naturalist's diary []  2020-4-3 19:40

    Because it looked old, the paintings were bright colors, there were so many.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edwardian Modiste: 85 Authentic Patterns With Instructions, Fashion Plates, and Period Sewing Techniques []  2020-1-16 17:27

    An absolute necessity for your reenactment and/or period costuming needs. There are NO patterns, only diagrams on a graph so you'll need to enlarge them if you want to create them up. A small tricky for the novice, but worth the time to work up as they are truly historically accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edwardian Modiste: 85 Authentic Patterns With Instructions, Fashion Plates, and Period Sewing Techniques []  2020-1-16 17:27

    I love this book. So beautiful, so detailed. I haven't tried drafting any of the patterns included yet, but the layout is great. My only complaint is how poorly it was shipped. Because it is a paperback my copy arrived with MANY bent corners and scratches and the only protection in the box was a couple of air ows stacked on top of the stuff in the box. There was not a thing protecting the actual book. So I was beautiful disappointed in that (I've had it happen to me several times with Amazon and am just surprised that more care isn't taken to ensure that the books arrive perfectly, the shipping boxes sure are nice) The book itself is really well place together and I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who loves Edwardian fashion, even if they didn't sew.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edwardian Modiste: 85 Authentic Patterns With Instructions, Fashion Plates, and Period Sewing Techniques []  2020-1-16 17:27

    Finally a book with a enlargement system that realy helps to transfer the diagrams in FITTING 's still recommandet to create a fitting body first but I just created wider seams. Sideseams 2 inch (5 cm) and the other seams 1 inch (2,5 cm).The waist size is method of for me but, in the book, they tell you this will happen (because most of us don't were corsets anymore). I already ordered 3 more books of the same auther :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ashes: Book 3 of the Feud Trilogy []  2020-8-20 19:9

    I really enjoyed the whole series of this awesome adventure. The book is really well written and full of stunning characters. With lots of twists and turns it was difficult to place it down and read it in one sitting. I will be looking forward to more books by this talented author. I received a free copy and I voluntarily leave my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ashes: Book 3 of the Feud Trilogy []  2020-8-20 19:9

    This was a amazing series. This is book 3 of the series. I read all 3 books and loved each one. I was so into it. I was given a free copy for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    Author Tony Castro has written a dual biography of sorts on the years Lou Gehrig and Babe Ruth spent together on the Yankees. The book goes back-and-forth between the two players and this part of the book I found to be only so-so since the author often repeats what other author have written in previous biographies. The feud between the two players has been written to some extent in other books but author Tony Castro goes into more detail into a complicated relationship involving Lou's domineering mother and Ruth's adopted daughter's wardrobe in addition to other factors involving the players themselves.I found the chapter on the possible origins of the feud and the chapter on Lou's illness to be the most interesting parts of the book. Gehrig knew the extent of his illness although what others knew, including the Yankees and the fans, is questionable. At least, for the most part, the feud may have been place to rest after five years with the embrace of the two pictured on the book's e book concludes with Gehrig's Gettysburg Address on July 4, 1939, and Ruth's address on April 27, 1947, along with a letter Gehrig wrote to his wife after he removed himself from the lineup in Detroit.I did search one error in the book. Page 241 mentions the sportswriter "Richard" Vidmer. His first name, which is often misspelled, is actually Richards. The book includes eight pages of photographs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gehrig and the Babe: The Friendship and the Feud []  2020-1-10 19:17

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ashes: Book 3 of the Feud Trilogy []  2020-8-20 19:9

    I received this book in exchange for a honest turning to the land of Lightborns, Altryon, and Volteria was created one of ease with The Ashes. The characters dynamics with each other and the development within themselves create the book such an interesting read, and an awesome end to their tale. It’s full of everything required to have a story that will stand the try of time. The finale to the Feud Trilogy is one that will definitely make sparks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ashes: Book 3 of the Feud Trilogy []  2020-8-20 19:9

    This was a unbelievable conclusion to Neil's adventurous journey, he was a unbelievable hero throughout the series and I really enjoyed following along with him as he realized his destiny.*I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book provided by Hidden Gems*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ashes: Book 3 of the Feud Trilogy []  2020-8-20 19:9

    I loved this book! It was an amazing completion of the series. You obtain to see the characters work together to save the people. Some fresh characters come into play, and the villain is not who you think. Awesome author, can't wait to read more of his stories! I was given a free copy of this book for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ashes: Book 3 of the Feud Trilogy []  2020-8-20 19:9

    I voluntarily reviewed this after receiving a free copy. I enjoyed reading this book but I was expecting something different.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edwardian Modiste: 85 Authentic Patterns With Instructions, Fashion Plates, and Period Sewing Techniques []  2020-1-16 17:27

    This entire series from Frances Grimble is the most astounding amount of compiled research we've ever seen! A valuable resource for costumers, re-enactors, history aficionados, or anyone wanting a comprehensive look at these fashions and the culture surrounding them.I purchased the entire set for my wife (costumer, historian...) and we were completely impressed with both the quality of the content as well as the layout and organization of the series.Absolutely recommended...worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edwardian Modiste: 85 Authentic Patterns With Instructions, Fashion Plates, and Period Sewing Techniques []  2020-1-16 17:27

    As a director this was an excellant resource book, however my seamstresses found it next to impossible to figure out the patterns. It would take someone quite comfortable in making patterns. The directions are there and could be worked out with enough effort and trial. Still, as a resource it's amazing and was quite useful. The designs and info alone are worth the y RiggsThomasville, GA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of An Edwardian Lady: A facsimile reproduction of a 1906 naturalist's diary []  2020-4-3 19:40

    I really wanted to like this book being a naturalist and Horticulturist myself. I was really looking forward to reading Ms. Holden's impressions and chronicles of the nature unfolding around her for that unique year in her life. However, I was sadly disappointed as almost 50% of the entries were poems. I am not a poem person and unless you have fun reading poems by Shakespeare, Browning, Wordsworth and Burns, I would pass this by. While I did have fun the actual diary entries, the main redeeming feature for me was the attractive watercolor renderings of flowers, birds, leaves and insects. That alone created the purchase worthwhile for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of An Edwardian Lady: A facsimile reproduction of a 1906 naturalist's diary []  2020-4-3 19:40

    Seller took additional care in shipping item. Item was very well packaged. Book is beautiful! Very happy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edwardian Modiste: 85 Authentic Patterns With Instructions, Fashion Plates, and Period Sewing Techniques []  2020-1-16 17:27

    Love this book. Comes with a copy of the proportionate rulers required to scale the drawings. Definitely recommend if you are interested in making period accurate costumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Country Diary of An Edwardian Lady: A facsimile reproduction of a 1906 naturalist's diary []  2020-4-3 19:40

    Ordered book as I had heard of the lovely drawings. Although it is used, it was in perfect condition. Those who love nature will truly have fun this book.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386