Read the great lakes water wars reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the great lakes water wars reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    Christmas gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    Interesting reading on Michigan's new water lakes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    I began reading this book when I borrowed it from the library; about half-way through, I realized I wanted to have my own copy and so I bought it. For anyone who loves the Amazing Lakes, who cares about the show and growing problems around water in the U.S. (and the world), for anyone who cares about public policy, the environment, water, the planet, the Amazing Lakes and the entire Amazing Lakes basin - read this book. It's a very amazing work of research, but could be considered an introduction to even more current matters on the same topics. In the approximate 12 years since the book was published, much has happened - a book about Nestle's giant straw stuck into America's waters would be book unto itself (any proceeds should go to the intrepid and very courageous band of locals in Michigan who have taken on and continue to war the amazing war versus Nestle); Flint and water and Michigan government; Michigan and PFAS and government, including corporate power, the Department of Defense/the Pentagon, etc...... So much to be said and learned and felt about water, especially Amazing Lakes waters. All America needs to be much more water-smart. This book will support achieve that.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the great lakes water wars or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    A serious book on a serious matter in the Amazing Lakes region and very informative. It's not a given that there is enough water folks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    I liked the well-written, thorough overview of the a lot of struggles that have taken put over desires to remove Amazing Lakes water to a thirsty world. Material is thorough enough to use as a reference anytime the subject is discussed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    Very thought provoking. As well as seriously alarming

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    Informative and well-written

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    So you think you know what's going on? This is a book full of info on the struggles to protect one of the greatest natural resources on the planet. Not a lot of preaching but a whole lot of facts. That's the method I like them. It was finished before the Amazing Lakes Compact was signed but you should read it before you Google.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    This was a amazing book. The whole problem of water will continue to loom huge and we all should have an understanding of the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Lakes Water Wars []  2020-5-21 18:19

    Amazing information, but very academic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    Was as expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    Amazing factual book, I live next to Lake Huron and this book is amazing for a coffee table book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    Amazing images with interesting stories to go along. Got it as bonus for husband who loves shipwreck history and the Amazing Lakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lighthouses of the Great Lakes []  2020-7-13 20:9

    Attractive calendar. I love lighthouses and this is a lovely method to have fun memories of the ones I’ve seen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    Was a Amazing bonus to my sea going friend!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    I didn't realize it, but this is a huge table top sized book. It is really pretty, lots of pictures and information, but big. We had recently visited Ohio and the Amazing Lakes, and we were intrigued when we visited the natural lakes museum. I ordered this book as a light reading for my husband, and he has thoroughly enjoyed occasionally looking through the various stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    The pictures are great. I can't imagine trying more than one trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    gave this as a bonus for my husband who loves to learn about the shipwrecks on lake Michigan. He said it has a lot of amazing interesting information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    Who knew there were so a lot of wrecks?? Michigan's history wasn't always 'automobiles."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    Very interesting reading of some of the a lot of tragedies that befell mariners on our Amazing Lakes. The Author contains numerous B&W images of some of the vessels prior to their demise and some after. With close to 90% of the pages containing photographs and detailed info as to the type, length, width, weight tonnage of each ship it gives the reader a visual as well as mental picture of the vessel they are reading about. With info of the a lot of vessels ranging from a few paragraphs to a couple of pages you appreciate the numerous hardships the squads had to endure. Have loaned the book to several mates and all have enjoyed immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes []  2020-6-18 20:0

    In my opinion, this book is unbelievable for leaving on your coffee table for people to browse through. It not only looks very nice but it's useful to spark a conversation about diving and also has decent content and history about some wrecks. Personally, I bought the book as sort of a reference for scuba diving and I found that "Divers tutorial to Michigan" was more of what I was looking for. However, like I said, this is a amazing book and I am really satisfied with it for what it is!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    Execllent resource book. It helped convince me to go on that trip to Lake Erie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    Got it for a Christmas gift, and my husband has read it twice already! Might wish to consider an modernize and add Bandit lures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    Amazing buck, over 3/4 method through. Very intro for newbiest to huge water trolling of crankbaits. A few amazing hints mixed in though. If you have spent a couple years trolling cranks this book tells you what you already know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    I haven't finished it yet,but what I've read so far has been filled with useful techniques and info for walleye fishing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    Amazing reading not that informative I didn't think.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    Amazing for a novice fishermen to learn about trolling for walleye.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    Amazing information for the beginner!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    I have fished for walleyes for a lot of years and occasionally trolled for them as well. I just wasn't happy with my lack of info about the fine points of trolling Lake Erie for these unbelievable fish. The detailed description of everything from recommended gear to trolling speed for various lures and seasons filled in all the knowledge gaps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    Amazing knowledge booster but nothing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trolling Big-Water Walleyes: Secrets of the Great Lakes Fishing Guides, Charter Captains, and Walleye Pros []  2020-7-21 18:59

    AWESOME BOOK ON FISHING IN THE GREAT LAKES .THIS AUTHOR REALLY KNOWS HIS STUFF.I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERY ANGLER WHO OWNS A FISHING BOAT TO PICK ONE UP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Nipigon: Where the Great Lakes Begin []  2020-1-20 19:47

    Enjoyed the information, but there was quite a bit of repeat. I've been on the lake about 10 trips, one week each. So, the history of the lake was very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Nipigon: Where the Great Lakes Begin []  2020-1-20 19:47

    A very readable overview of that mysterious huge lake on the map I always wondered about. I was reading for the early history of the zone and got a amazing feel for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    The first 2/3s of this book focuses on invasive species and the people who are contesting those biological incursions. There is a bit of history tying it all together, and a lot of unbelievable research illuminating the issues, but a fair chunk of the story focuses on the impact and consequences as felt by the fishing industry, vacationers, the shipping industry, and municipal water managers. I greatly appreciated the occasional geological, ecological, and hydrological perspectives of the different scientists interviewed by the author, as well as the motivations and decisions of policy makers and how their endeavors affected the e latest third of the book looks to the future and addresses the concern of resource extraction, exploitation, and degradation. I would have loved to seen more of this topic, but the author finished on a positive note with restoration and rehabilitation being the rallying cry of anyone hoping to pass this regional treasure onto future generations (for better or for worse).This should be purchased and passed around the Amazing Lakes communities so that the 40-50 million locals can appreciate what they have before it is lost. Politicians only care about their reputation while in office, and profiteering capitalists only see this land as an opportunity for private gain. Authors like Dan Egan provide us with the knowledge important to protect and defend these fragile and finite resources. This is an necessary work of journalism and deserves the respect and appreciation of anyone and everyone living in the Amazing Lakes anks Dan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    Dan Egan's "The Death and Life of the Amazing Lakes" is a sweeping chronicle of North America's biggest fresh-water lakes and the environmental threats they face. Tracing their geological history, from the end of the latest ice-age some 10,000 years ago, to today's troubling headlines, Egan explores man's impact on one of the World's most precious resources: fresh-water. Well written and meticulously researched the book is endlessly fascinating with the author's hand-on approach of traveling to a lot of areas and interviewing the people who live and/or work in these affected areas. The issues started with the building of some bypass-canals in an attempt to link the Amazing Lakes to the Atlantic Ocean and the globe of international shipping. Done with the best, of intentions in the mid 19th Century, these canals would let goods from all over the Globe direct access to our "inland seas" and the communities who crowd their shores. Sounds like a amazing plan, right? Issue is; these canals not only served as a pathway for globe commerce they were also a excellent avenue for any invasive organisms that happened that way. Whether these organisms swam, drifted or hitched a ride in the ballast of a cargo ship, they came in vast numbers from all over the Atlantic Seaboard and beyond. And they were unstoppable! I really enjoyed reading Dan Egan's marvelous book on the history and ecology of the Amazing Lakes. Written for the layman reader in clear, non technical prose, Egan starts out with their origins at the end of the latest Ice Age. But it's man's impact on The Lakes, both intentional and non-intentional, that makes up the bulk of the book. The only connection between The Amazing Lakes and the Atlantic Ocean is the St. Lawrence River so any unwanted organisms would have a hard time getting past the a lot of rapids and of course Niagara Falls. The early 19th Century governments of the United States and Canada wanted to begin the zone to worldwide shipping as a boost to the local economies and improve both commercial and recreational fishing. To that end it was decided to construct a series of canals that would let the passage of deep-sea ships through a series of locks. There were a few dissenting voices heard but but those voices were largely ignored by the two governments and the canals were created available to overseas shipping concerns and the doorway to The Amazing Lakes was opened wide. At first everything worked fine but it wasn't long before environmental issues began to crop up. Foreign organisms, fish, algae, ect, found passage to The Lakes on the hulls, and in the ballast tanks, of deep sea ships and, it turns out, the locks were largely ineffectual in stopping the invasion. Biologists and fishermen began noticing some strange fish in their catches. unfamiliar shell-fish and algae blooms added to the warning signs, but to no avail. Adding to the issue was the sewage discharge from coastal communities and and over app of fertilizer by farming concerns. It's a war that continues to this very day. I was amazed at some of the suggestions created by professional biologists and by politicians, in both countries, to "fix" the problems. Also awesome was the connection between The Amazing Lakes and the Mississippi River and bodies of water even further west, it truly is a little world. I wholly recommend this book to anyone interested in the ecology and and social impact that can occur when Man tries to "improve" on Nature and how short sighted some scientists and governments can be. I received this Kindle edition through the Amazing Reads Giveaway program. There were no technical or downloading problems with this st Ranger

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honor The Earth Powwow: Songs Of The Great Lakes Indians []  2020-7-5 19:58

    Well theres not much of a choice of pow wow melody when you are trying to from a shop or online. But thats a given everyone knows you have to obtain pow wow melody at pow wows. This the the only legitimate one I've seen online. Its not a compilation for fresh agers, so if you are looking for some touchy feely kindred spirit-this isn't the one. But if you are looking for straight up pow wow tunes, northern style this is the one. I like the female voice with Smokeytown Singers, she kicks it up true high at the end of each push up, it sounds cool. Amazing to dance to also. Smokeytown Singers create the CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    How much can the Amazing Lakes take? Dan Egan chronicles the successive invasions by lampreys, alewives, and zebra and quagga mussels. (Interesting fact: under some conditions, these mussels can filter "all of Lake Michigan in less than two weeks, sucking up the life that is the base of the meal web and making its waters some of the clearest freshwater in the world.") He explains why salmon were introduced in lieu of an emphasis on restoring native lake trout. He documents the spread of invasive species (into and out of Lake Michigan) through the flow-reversed Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal. He follows the northward approach of bighead, silver, and black carp. He persuasively argues for ballast-loaded overseas ships transferring their cargo to local ships or railroad lines instead of squeezing though the St. Lawrence Seaway. Egan demonstrates the urgent need for the United States and Canadian governments to actively protect an eco-system holding 20% of the world's non-frozen surface new water. Most importantly, after all the poor news, Egan concludes with proposals and discoveries that provide hope for our Amazing Lakes. Fascinating reading; highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    This is a superb and comprehensive history of the efforts men have created to control the Amazing Lakes, and the often hugely harmful results, usually not e Seaway was obsolete when it opened because its locks were too small, and shipping containers launched about the same time changed the whole nature of commercial navigation. But ships using the Seaway did bring in devastating foreign invaders, from aquatic plants to sea lampreys, alewives, and mussels. Egan is amazing on the financial interests, the appalling inaction by the EPA on ballast and pollution from farms, and the Troops Corp's resistance to consider shutting down the Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal which threatens Lake Michigan with an invasion of carp. I've read pieces of a lot of of the subjects he covers, but he goes into amazing depth and links the pieces together in a very readable book. His conclusion seems to be to proceed with caution, but thee is hope. Native species such as lake trout and whitefish are rebounding and there's hope for perch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    I could happily tell tales about adventures on or on the edges of the Amazing Lakes that would create this note less a review and more a private travelogue. As much as I think I know, Dan Egan’s book gave me a fresh perspective about what has happened in and under the water. In short, I learned more about canals, locks, dams, sewers, trout, lampreys, alewives, salmon, mussels, carp, and toxic an artfully connects all the subjects in a historical overview. His descriptions and explanations of lake degradation provide enough detail to understand the connections between human actions and consequences, but not so much that the reader feels intimidated by specialized knowledge or discouraged to complete the book. Then Egan describes some options for the future, including public policy decisions that might be created in to improve the health of Amazing the wake of reading this book, there are a number of questions that hold my mind working late at night: Exactly what is the chemical compound used to kill/control sea lamprey, and what is its long-term effects on humans and wildlife? Will the “front door” to invasions (St. Lawrence Seaway) die its own slow death due to the relatively high cost and decreasing profitability of maintaining canals and locks? What are the most necessary practical and political hurdles to cross in to close the “back door” to invasions (Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal) and to restore the natural divide between the Amazing Lakes and the Mississippi River basin?If you live near and/or love the Amazing Lakes, then this is a book I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    I consider myself relatively well-informed, but every page was a revelation. Could have something to do with the fact that I am an Easterner, not familiar with Amazing Lakes history, which is fascinating. But the environment and climate change are universals, and this story of human abuse of Nature and resulting imbalances, and attempts to fix them, and the unforeseen consequences of the fixes.....on and on, as well as the kind of shortsighted resistances place up by often well-meaning (although sometimes not so well-meaning) groups and individuals rings so real in these times.Dan Egan's writing is clear, concise and, with his inclusion at every turn of the people involved, a page-turner, not often said about non-fiction, at least for though the topic of the stupidity of environmental degradation is often depressing, the inclusion of some very interesting positive stuff, adaptation of some threatened species, and especially people's recognition of how to head off future crashes without creating fresh catastrophes, left me much more hopeful.We all have to live in this world, the book gave me a view of a put I think I'm going to visit soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honor The Earth Powwow: Songs Of The Great Lakes Indians []  2020-7-5 19:58

    Best cd ever!!! I bought other cd's however if you wish to hear the true powwow songs, this is the cd to get.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    Maybe not of interest to everyone, but if you have history with, and love for the Amazing Lakes this is a amazing read. I turned the pages like it was a murder mystery and I could hardly wait to search out the next clue about what would live and what would die beneath the waves. Full of fascinating science and interesting trivia and history. I am going to read it again to support me remember what I learned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    This is an perfect telling of the ecology of the Amazing Lakes. It emphasizes the role that invasive species have played in the decline of the Amazing Lakes during the 20th Century. The book can be trying to read if you love the Amazing Lakes and grew up near them as I did; almost everything humans have done in and to the Amazing Lakes watershed have caused problems. But it helps to have a concise discussion and history of those issues and Egan's book does this admirably. The book is very well written. The narrative flows quickly and Egan does a amazing job of keeping your interest piqued. Egan makes clear that in a natural system as complex as the Amazing Lakes, humans really have small clue what we are doing. Nor do we have the insight to understand what our actions will cause decades hence. I've feared for some time that as a planet and species, we're screwed. Sadly Egan's book did small to allay that fear. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honor The Earth Powwow: Songs Of The Great Lakes Indians []  2020-7-5 19:58

    This CD is yet another jewel from Mickey Hart's "The World" series, this time focusing upon powwow music. Despite the growing interest in Native American culture these days, there isn't alot of good, authentic Native American music. Of course, this might be expected given the wide diversity of Native American melody styles, but there is one style tha tends to unite a amazing a lot of groups: powwow music. Powwow melody serves to bridge boundaries between nations and even between the past and present. It is perhaps one of the most representative forms for Native American melody as a whole (or at least, in the United States and Canada). The melody on this CD comes from the northern style, from the Honor the Earth powwow to be more specific. It is all authentic and was recorded on site. This is a amazing CD if you are inerested in learning about powwow melody and provides a amazing point of reference. As other reviewers have said, it is not some gofy fresh agey CD, but actual powwow music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    Dan Egan's book is fascinating from begin to finish. I learned a myriad of fresh facts about the Amazing Lakes' geological and inherent histories, as well as about accounts of invasive species introduced through the miscalculations of people and governments. Egan's compelling talent for telling stories with engaging info and intriguing characters makes this book an enjoyable educational experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Death and Life of the Great Lakes []  2020-1-22 20:50

    I've had the advantage of hearing Dan Egan from a front row table promote his book, and he was very good. But, his writing is 10X better than his speaking skills. He takes complicated problems and breaks them down for the average Joe. I recommended this book to my book club, which is currently reading it. All of the feedback is unbelievable positive. He locations these problems in both a national and international context. It's not just another regional issue. About the only significant threat which he misses is the 65-year-old oil pipeline which runs under the Mackinaw Straits. But, that may have come to the forefront after his book went to print. He makes a cogent argument that the Amazing Lakes are left begin to the import of more invasive species in little ship ballast tanks, which are the only ones which can still obtain through the St. Lawrence Seaway, and these ships bring less than 2% of foreign cargo into the United States. Bottom Line: That cargo could just as easily be off-loaded to trains and trucks at our seaports at very small additional cost. I would like to see a more quantitative economic analysis of this argument. But, Egan is a newspaper reporter, not an economist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honor The Earth Powwow: Songs Of The Great Lakes Indians []  2020-7-5 19:58

    If you're looking for watered down fresh age "indian" music, this is not for you. But if you wish to obtain sliced begin by the raw intense and sometimes almost scifi sound of true indian song, then this is it. The singing is absolutely haunting and if this items doesn't obtain you looking forward to the next nearest pow wow i don't know what will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Finns in Michigan (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-2-2 1:36

    I bought this as a bonus for a relative that is of Finnish heritage from the UP. She said that this book is is written for someone interested in a detailed acc of the local history. It actually goes into detail about specific families. It's not for casual reading; I would describe it as a book for research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Resorts of the Iowa Great Lakes (Postcards of America) []  2020-7-21 19:51

    Jonathan Reed has done it again. His first historical book of the Iowa Amazing Lakes, "Okoboji and the Iowa Amazing Lakes," quickly became one of my favorite books about the rich history and stories of this region. But tonight I read (start to finish) "Lost Resorts of the Iowa Amazing Lakes" and now have a fresh favorite. Jonathan highlights - with awesome historical images and prose - the resorts and zone I and my ancestors have always loved and called home. I found myself scrutinizing every photo, wondering what it was really like to live in the age of the grand hotels, trying to search myself guzzling watermelon or dancing the "Bunny Hop" in the Vacation Village photos, and imagining the region as it was in quieter times - when catching a fish and watching a sunset created a day complete. A must-read for every lover of the Iowa Amazing Lakes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    This is a fascinating book about the unexpected storm that caused so much death and hurt on the Amazing Lakes. A native of Chicago, I always thought the ocean was dangerous, but not the lake I swam in during my childhood. Even when the Edmund Fitzgerald song hit the airwaves, I really thought it was a singular humacher is an perfect non-fiction writer, including plenty of maps and identifying info about the multiple sailors as they appear and re-appear through the book. He tells his story, which bounces around in time and on different of the Amazing Lakes, in a non-linear manner that keeps the ships' identities and gives a face to the a lot of squad members on them during that fateful period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    Perfect book. Makes you feel like you are there with the wind blowing and the snow beating versus the pilot house windows. Really amazing follow up on what happened to each ship as far as what is known. Very interesting about some of the latest discoverys on the lake e story begins with things being sunny and pleasant and goes into the sudden and violent change in the weather. I had a hard time putting the book down. Amazing reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legacy of Albert Kahn (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-1-22 0:20

    I was surprised at the length and breadth of Kahn's body of work. He had an awesome career in both commercial and residential construction. I was particularly interested in the Hudson Motors industrial complex in Detroit. There were three pictures referring to the main administration bldg. Unfortunately the mfg. plant complex was not pictured. However, there were a lot of a lot of images of all his major works for anyone interested in early and mid-century industrial and residential construction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Finns in Michigan (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-2-2 1:36

    Interesting book I'd recommend to people interested in the Finnishsettling in the USA. Lots to learn from this book about the politics of the time and areaand the Finnish people and their high value of their special and high level culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Finns in Michigan (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-2-2 1:36

    I bought this book as a reference. It sounded dreary, but I figured it would respond occasional stead, it was quite fascinating in a dozens of ways. It dealt with the background of Michigan's Finnish immigration (the first and largest 19th c. migration stream), the decline of the tar trade as sailing ships became obsolete, the dreadful winters and crop failures of the late e settlement of little communities is detailed -- interesting to Upper Peninsula people. I had to stop before the meaty chapters on the Apostolic Finns and the politics and purposes of the 20th c. cooperative movement, headquartered in Superior, Wisconsin. Its relics can be seen throughout Finnish rural locations of Upper Michigan, Wisconsin, and bably the author's bi-cultural perspective, being a native of Finland transplanted to Suomi College in Hancock, Michigan, makes this such an interesting book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    Schumacher's book on the Amazing Lakes Hurricane has all the info and captivation of the rest of his ship stories. He makes a commendable effort to cover the whole storm in a few hundred pages. Each lake is covered and all the mysteries are examined. This is a amazing overview of the storm and the terror it caused. I want he had written more as the book could have easily been three times as long. Regardless I am not disappointed in the least that I purchased this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Okoboji and the Iowa Great Lakes (Images of America) []  2020-7-28 19:19

    It's always fun to explore more of the history of where you were from. The settlers from method back when would be shocked if they could see it now! Amazing research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Finns in Michigan (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-2-2 1:36

    For anyone interested in reading about the history and contributions of Finnish immigrants in Michigan, this is a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Resorts of the Iowa Great Lakes (Images of America) []  2020-7-7 19:26

    Jonathan Reed has done it again. His first historical book of the Iowa Amazing Lakes, "Okoboji and the Iowa Amazing Lakes," quickly became one of my favorite books about the rich history and stories of this region. But tonight I read (start to finish) "Lost Resorts of the Iowa Amazing Lakes" and now have a fresh favorite. Jonathan highlights - with awesome historical images and prose - the resorts and zone I and my ancestors have always loved and called home. I found myself scrutinizing every photo, wondering what it was really like to live in the age of the grand hotels, trying to search myself guzzling watermelon or dancing the "Bunny Hop" in the Vacation Village photos, and imagining the region as it was in quieter times - when catching a fish and watching a sunset created a day complete. A must-read for every lover of the Iowa Amazing Lakes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    I found this story of the storm of 1913 on the Amazing Lakes very interesting and informative, since I do not know much on his held my interest and never got bored, had to hold reading for it was that interesting.Highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    I've read a lot of books about Amazing Lakes shipwrecks, including a lot of he referenced. This was amazing because it's fresh and most, if not all the wrecks have since been found. The fact most had no survivors, we'll never truly know exactly what really happened. The book is an simple read and he did a amazing job of connecting all the dots. It was really amazing to search out about the Wexford, which for 80 years or so, folks were looking in the wrong place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    I had previously read White Hurricane by David Brown, another acc of this amazing storm, and was eager to learn more. But the editing of this treatment is quite poor. In dealing with an happening that happened to various ships, on various days, on various lakes during the course of the storm, you have the fundamental question of how to arrange the narrative. Do you with one ship's ordeal all the method through, even if it means backtracking to an earlier time to begin the next story? Or do you give a chronological treatment, bouncing back and forth between lakes and ships. This treatment uses the latter, and ends up being very confusing, as the author jumps around so that you are taken back to a ship in problem that you learned about a lot of pages ago and can't quite remember the info of, to another another ship on another t bad, but it could have been much better and more clear if handled differently.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Finns in Michigan (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-2-2 1:36

    very much enjoyed reading this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Finns in Michigan (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-2-2 1:36

    amazing read for us yoopers! enjoyed it very much. most of the family names are still in this area. thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    I have read a couple Michaels books. I like his writing style and you can tell he spent a lot of time doing his home work on the topic of this book, as he has done on his other books I have read. A added in this book are several old photo's which actually support to give a clearer picture of the ships/boats involved and time period of this story. Michael weaves a amazing story in this book and I highly recommend reading it if you are interested in history and stories from the inland waters and waterways of the Amazing Lakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    I'm from the amazing lakes region myself and so this particular history hit home for me. The author clearly researched his facts and presents them in a clear and engaging style. Although you may search yourself at times confusing one or more of the ships names, as there are several mentioned throughout the book, the story is engaging and keeps you moving along.I particularly enjoyed all the pictures of the storm as well as the ships. It was very interesting to see this era of my region's history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Finns in Michigan (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-2-2 1:36

    A amazing read and very amazing information. Enjoyable as my elders grew up n the Houghton and Keweenaw county zone and names are familiar to me..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Finns in Michigan (Great Lakes Books Series) []  2020-2-2 1:36

    I enjoyed this book a amazing deal. My dad's family came from Finland to the U.P. of Michigan. It was fascinating reading the history of the Finns who migrated to the U.S., and how they lived, reasons for coming to the U.S., etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    4.9 stars for this perfect work telling the complete story of one of the greatest disaster tragedies in American History, yet one that is known about by very few people even in the geographical zone around the Amazing Lakes themselves. In early November of 1913, an wonderful storm of amazing intensity and endurance lashed the entire Amazing Lakes Basin with what could only be described as a real inland hurricane, driving a dozen modern steel ships beneath the waves in an upheaval of wind, snow, plummeting temperatures, and a pure Hell's fury out on the Lakes. There was drama, heroism, tenacity, and marvelous stories of survival and of death. And, even a few bits of mystery, such as why were sailors from one of the sunken ships found with life jackets on them from another ship? Written and published just after the 100th anniversary of this wonderful storm, the story is told fairly and well, and more completely than ever before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November's Fury: The Deadly Great Lakes Hurricane of 1913 []  2020-7-27 18:37

    This book paints a vivid picture of the ferocity of the 1913 storm and the struggles of the mariners who, either through not good judgement or not good luck, were caught in it. It is a catalogue of the individual shipwrecks and the human suffering associated with each one. I recommend this book for anyone who is interested in history, the Amazing Lakes, or maritime disasters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A 1000-Mile Great Lakes Island Adventure: One Woman’s Epic Journey Exploring the Diverse Islands of the Five Great Lakes []  2020-7-7 18:57

    it was amazing but there is a lot of history on the Manitou islands and I would have liked a small more of that instead of piping plovers . I guess its her book and it is what it is .I'm glad I read it but I would have liked to read about her hiking and camping on the more remote locations of the islands and describe the terrain .But she did a amazing job with what she did do .The people were interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A 1000-Mile Great Lakes Island Adventure: One Woman’s Epic Journey Exploring the Diverse Islands of the Five Great Lakes []  2020-7-7 18:57

    A unbelievable read about Michigan!!! Thank you so very much!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    It needs to allow you upload docs without having to take a pic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    The only reason I downloaded this application was because I was informed I could take pictures of my IDR documents for quicker processing, but the camera doesn't work properly. I fit the entire document into the box, but the camera only takes a picture of a little section of the document instead of the whole thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this app! Not having to go online to view my axxt, create payments, etc. is SO satisfying!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Wrost application ever!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Keeps telling me Amazing Lakes has stopped when I press on the camera icon. Cannot submit any documents!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Wont allow me choose my device to install it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    I hold getting an error notice when I test to log in, so this application is useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Now that the bugs are fixed its a good, useful app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Shipwrecks & Survivals []  2020-1-10 18:54

    Author is both factual and (despite the awfulness of ships and their squad being lost in the Amazing Lakes) has a amazing sense of humor. Non-readers should pick this one up. They would be hooked after the first few pages. The author also wrote a novelized ver of the building of the Soo Locks in the Amazing Lakes and another novelized book about a red-headed sea captain on the Lakes. A superb writing style is characteristic of this author, and this edition carries the story of the Edmund Fitzgerald as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Shipwrecks & Survivals []  2020-1-10 18:54

    Those who love the sea will be awed by the overpowering majesty & danger of sailing these amazing freshwater seas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Suite []  2020-1-18 22:46

    Peaceful and beautiful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Suite []  2020-1-18 22:46

    Just love this cd! thank you for a unbelievable purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    You cannot see any itemized lists of your loans or the interest rates etc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Amazing application does what i need it to. Just [email protected]#$%! had the option for finger print security.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Complete garbage!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Excellent at keeping me up to date about payment/account actions/options

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    It's horrible

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    It keeps crashing and closing when trying to submit my IDR forms

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Suite []  2020-1-18 22:46

    Having grown up in Michigan I'm somewhat familiar with the a lot of moods of the Amazing Lakes.Dan and Gordon Gibson and squad take us on a magnificent journey from Lake Superior to Lake Ontario and capture some of the best collection of bird sounds I have ever heard. Chirps of small birds going about their business to entire gaggles of geese in joyous chorus en route to some far off destination are beautifully combined with little waves gently caressing the sugar sand to the majesty of the mighty Niagara Falls plummeting to the chasm below and then further until we float out onto attractive Lake Ontario. Soothing melody is interwoven to create this a masterpiece of sound tapestry. I found this CD in a nice shoppe in northern Wisconsin on a trip back to Michigan three years ago. They were playing it as background melody and I had to have it. SO GLAD I created the purchase. In the past three years I have played The Amazing Lakes Suite easily more that 500 times--maybe closer to a thousand times. I rarely remove it from the player. My cat, Lacey, loves the birds, and when she has had a rough day (dogs, mad squirrels giving her heck, fireworks, air shows) she likes to search solace in this unbelievable creation as much as I do. Amazing for playing while working, composing letters (it's playing right now!) or peacefully snoozing. You probably obtain it by now: this is one of my very favorite CDs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Suite []  2020-1-18 22:46

    A must if you like the Amazing Lakes. I’m a Michigan person and love the sounds of nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Shipwrecks & Survivals []  2020-1-10 18:54

    I love this book!!! one of the best about amazing lakes shipping,heart wrenching real tales,the section on Edmond Fitzgerald is awesome..it really brings shipping history alive..I've had this book for 25 yrs!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Shipwrecks & Survivals []  2020-1-10 18:54

    I was going to visit White Fish Point, so wanted to read before I went. I am glad I did. What I saw there created more sense and easier to remember

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Shipwrecks & Survivals []  2020-1-10 18:54

    This book tells more of the background of the Amazing Lakes. Issues with the currents, temperatures, payloads, and the experience of the re history of the individual ships and crew. My uncle sailed these lakes and I was too young at the time to really understand what he went through.I highly recommend this book if you are at all curious about the Amazing Lakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A 1000-Mile Great Lakes Island Adventure: One Woman’s Epic Journey Exploring the Diverse Islands of the Five Great Lakes []  2020-7-7 18:57

    The three books Loreen Niewenhuis has written on her Amazing Lakes adventures are enjoyable, interesting and educational. I have learned more about my home state of Michigan through her adventures. It is always a better read when the author is intelligent, thoughtful, and has a sense of humor. Thank you Loreen Niwenhuis!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A 1000-Mile Great Lakes Island Adventure: One Woman’s Epic Journey Exploring the Diverse Islands of the Five Great Lakes []  2020-7-7 18:57

    If you have enjoyed Lake Michigan from any perspective - swimming, boating, driving past, or walking on the beach - you will have fun this audiobook. I enjoyed hearing Loreen's descriptions of some of the port towns and lighthouses that my wife and I have driven through or boated past. Amazing historical overview of some of the industry along the shore of the lake decades ago. I am anxious to listen to Loreen's book about her journey exploring the diverse islands of the five Amazing Lakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Amazing for making payments. The reason I'm giving 4 stars is it doesn't tell you any detailed information. No interest rates on each loan or how my loan is broken down. I need to use a computer for that

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    I can't even my bill through the app. My only option is to send income documents which I've already done. This application is a waste of zone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    I would prefer seeing more in depth info about my loans not just a huge picture summary. Also fingerprint sign in would be great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Lakes Mobile [App]  2017-11-7 13:10

    Very convenient for submitting documents

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386