Read the great swim reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the great swim reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I was looking for a book for my 14 yr old son. He's very intelligent but hates fiction because he says is normally sad or unrealistic. This book solved that. It really capture a teens boys experience in a fun way. I enjoyed reading it, and am beautiful sure he will too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Amazing book for middle and high school boys!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I may have a very immature sense of humour, but the gross scenes in this novel had me hooting with laughter. Enjoyed the banter between the boys - all so perfect. Their friendship, while still being boys, was the shine in this novel.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the great swim or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Written for a teenage audience and my "I hate to read" fourteen-year-old son read it and enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I'm reviewing this book based on reading the first page (and laughing) and the latest chapter. I bought it for my 14 y.o. son. He has to read one book per quarter and write a report on his eyes, reading and torture are the same thing. He greatly dislikes having to read. He did amazing reading the Harry Potter books as he listened to the audio at the same time but those books are "below his level" now and he required a book that was "grade appropriate." I knew I had to search something that would hold him interested and something that would entertain him. I searched around Amazon for about an hour and came upon this book. I read the summary and the reviews and what hooked me was the hilarity of the book. We again went with the actual book and then downloaded the audio and he follows along with the audio (works amazing for children with comprehension issues!!).WOW. I was amazed! We "make" him read for at least 30 mins and when that time is up, he is DONE. His first night with "Swim the Fly" he read for an hour and a half!!! Without us "making" him!! And the laughing!! He laughed - a LOT and very hard at times! And then he did something he never did before, he came out and would tell me about what he just read!He also couldn't wait to obtain back to the book and would read HOURS at a time!! (the audio is 7 hours I believe) He finished this book in record time and laughed thru all of it!!IMHO - this is a fantastically funny book that teenage boys will love and relate to. Kudos to Mr. Calame for writing a amazing young adult book that showed my kid that reading really can be FUN!!! We've already ordered "Beat the Band" for next quarter!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    This book has a strange plot, but it gets teenage boys to read! As soon as they started reading, they wanted to hold the book for good. Some parents may think the content is inappropriate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I'm not a laugh-out-loud kind of reader. But I found myself, probably about a quarter of the method through, snickering, with my wife asking "what's so funny?" By the halfway point, I was beyond snickering and just plain laughing out loud. And the huge bonus? It's got HEART. I love books with heart. You feel for these kids, you understand them, you cheer for them, and in their trials you see yourself a little, and what's necessary in life: compassion, family, true friends, and doing the right thing even when it hurts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I bought this for a group of students who weren't huge readers and quite frankly reluctant to read anything. When they read the synopsis of this novel the whole group of them said, "Let's read it!" and they did! They would come into chat about the story and what they thought about the characters. This group of boys liked the novel so much they actually created a short iMovie trailer for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Like all amazing comedies, Swim the Fly transcends "funniness."In addition to the almost incontinence-causing hilarity, this book is real to life, capturing the awkward, sometimes mortifying experience of being an adolescent, while entertaining with brilliant characters, snappy dialogue and a gripping, redemptive e novel is full of witticisms that stick in my memory, but are probably unprintable here (I haven't read Amazon's review policy). Calame has that rare bonus of fiction writers -- a fresh, special and memorable voice.He [email protected]#$%! the ball out of the park here.p.s. I had the same feeling of hearing an original voice that I did when watching Juno. I hope this, too, is created into a movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim the Fly []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Swim The Fly was a breezy coming of age book about 15 year old boys. It created me laugh, but also cringe at some of the situations Matt and his buddies got into that summer. The story was always full of heart and I ended up cheering for Matt all the method through. I learned goals can be achieved sideways as well as head on. It would be fun to read with your kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Emily portrays such a realistic and relatable photo in her poems. She brings comfort to those who struggle with the disorders she writes about and focuses on still loving yourself through it all. This book is one of my absolute favorites, it’s a fast read, but one that I will pick up and read over and over again to remind myself I’m not alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Every small thing she does is magic, every small word she writes is perfect. Absolutely LOVED it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Very talented poet. Really enjoyed and identified with a lot of of these poems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    I adore this book. The poems are so relatable and beautifully written. The author did an awesome job of compiling them together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Emily writes exquisitely. She expresses raw human thought with imagery that makes you instantly connect to the words on the pages. So relateable. A must read. Could not place it down. 🌊🌊🌊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    This collection is amazing! It delves into the parts of mental illness that people will never understand. This book is honesty in its rawest form. It is love, it is pain, it is hope. This is a phenomenal work of poetic art, and its honesty is unmatched by others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Emily Byrnes' second book of poems has again spoken directly to me. Just like A Strangely Wrapped Gift, Brynes' poems capture the essence of our soul in these attractive small waves that literally 'swim' across each page. In Swim, there is a small more attention paid to mental health issues, however, the poems speak so universally to human emotion, that even as a person who has not suffered from mental illness the book resonates to the core. The book is hard to place down and is a wonder to read. I know the author personally and wonder how it is that she is at least a decade younger than me...her writing is REAL - teens and young adults will feel found with this book in their hands. It's a magical thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Emily's writing is so simplistic, so honest, and so relatable. With elegance, she is able to place into words the pain countless others are unable to describe, themselves. So a lot of people suffering from mental illness will search a home in this book, and just sit with someone that gets it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Wow this was truly amazing. I tagged and bookmarked so a lot of poems that hit home. I definitely recommend reading this book. If you like books like Milk and Honey then you definitely have to add this to your reading list! I laughed and cried and did a lot of “oh yea totally feel you.” Awesome job Emily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim []  2020-2-5 1:25

    It wasnt of MY taste

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    Rachel Krall is the host of a successful real crime podcast, 'Guilty or Not Guilty'. Her first two seasons have uncovered fresh evidence that overturned a conviction of murder and solved a cold case. Now her third season takes her to the little North Carolina coastal city of Neapolis where she will be following the trial of Scott Blair, a college student arrested for raping a sixteen year old e case has divided the little town. Scott was an outstanding swimming star of the local high school and is almost certainly on his method to the Olympic swim squad ..... unless he is convicted of rape. However, his wealthy parents can afford a top lawyer and publicity to place Scott in a amazing light. Unfortunately the girl he allegedly raped has been forbidden by the court to speak about the case and so is unable to defend herself publicly. Despite being called only 'K' to protect her anonymity, everyone knows who she is and she has been vilified and bullied at school and on social e novel is written in two voices. That of Rachel as she attends the trail and records her everyday thoughts for her podcast and that of Hannah, a woman looking for Rachel's support in finding the truth about her sister Jenny's death 25 years before. Hannah contacts Rachel via notes left for her to find, that will draw her in until she becomes obsessed with finding out more about Jenny's death with it's obvious parallels to the trial she is attending. Rachel's pursuit of the truth behind Jenny's death befor and after her days in court serves to provide most of the tension in the book as she uncovers long held secrets that have been buried deep by the town.Rachel is well written by Goldin as a journalist who is acting as an impartial observer to the trial, reporting the facts but also discussing the ethics and difficulties of such a trial where it basically comes down to his word versus hers and who the jury can most be persuaded to believe. Through Rachel's voice Goldin also highlights how traumatic it is for a woman to have to relive every detail of her rape on the witness stand and to then have the Defence lawyer test to prove her a liar. She asks why any woman would wish to go through that unless she had been raped. Whatever the outcome, K's life will never be the same satisfied and carefree one she had before the meeting ere is a tip that Goldin might be back with another season of Rachel's podcast and I for one would welcome that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    I am having a hard time trying to describe how I feel about this book. It has a amazing mystery at its core. The hero of Rachel was engaging. The rapes and violence were difficult and sad. But the book is well written. I will definitely read another book from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    This was a WOW book from begin to finish! I really looked forward to reading it because I had read THE ESCAPE ROOM and loved it. In her recent novel, Megan Goldin did an even better job of drawing me into the swirling waters of her plot and trapping me there. I loved every min that I spent with Rachel, Hannah, Jenny and K. Rachel is a podcaster, in city to cover the rape trial of swimming winner Scott Blair. She is an investigative reporter who knows how to do her research and to track down witnesses. In the middle of her podcast that is a do or die for her career, she is contacted by a girl named Hannah who wants her to look into the death of her sister Jenny, a young teen who supposedly drowned twenty-five years ago. Rachel is interested in the rape trial, but she is totally absorbed by the tragic death of Jenny. I enjoyed the pacing of the plot, the various points of view and especially the transcripts of the podcasts. Everything was very realistically and sometimes graphically displayed. There were twists that were expected and then some that were total surprises, which created me rate the book even higher. If I could give it more than five stars, I definitely would! Fans of psychological drama and suspense will love this book!DisclaimerDisclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. I was not needed to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, “Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    Compelling mystery/thriller and a fast, fun read. Amazing writing, complex characters, and well-paced plot with unexpected twists, turns, and surprises. Ms Goldin’s first book, The Escape Room, was terrific. The Night Swim is as good, if not better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    I am a large fan of crime shows. When I came across the opportunity to read an early copy of this story and I read the description, I was sold. Thank you to St. Martins Press for the possibility to read this early. From the beginning I was hooked and intrigued. This is a definite must read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    I have never written a book review before but as a practicing prosecutor for over a decade, the chapters dealing with the trial were cringe-worthy wrong. The author used exculpatory wrong, everything about the trial procedure and process was extremely wrong (witnesses don’t sit in on openings, defense opening violated numerous professional responsibility ethics, and a BIG error dealing with victim testimony but I don’t wish to have a spoiler). Suffice to say that it seems the author got her knowledge of criminal proceedings from Law and Order TV. To me, write about what you know. Not what you see on TV. Majority of folks won’t care but for those of us who actually practice - it was too distracting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    AUGUST 2020 : 4 STARS. Ever since her true-crime podcast became an overnight sensation and set an innocent man free, Rachel Krall has become a household name. She now finds a note on her vehicle windshield begging for her support in a 25 year old possible murder. The fresh season of Rachel's podcast brought her to a city that is being torn apart by a devastating rape trial. A local swimmer destined for the Olympics has been accused of raping the beloved granddaughter of the police rst book for me by this author was The Escape Room (2019 - 5 Stars) which was originally recommended to me by author Robyn Harding from Summer 2019 Thriller List. As mentioned in the description, TRIGGER ALERT for rape which is a major focus in the entire book. I thought this was another amazing one by Ms. Goldin! I loved the alternating of Rachel's podcast and the actual trial testimony. The connection between the 25 year-old possible murder and the show trial really intrigued me. Kept me turning the pages trying to place it all together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    “The Escape Room” was such a unbelievable surprise for a first novel, especially a thriller, I wasn’t sure what her second would be like. I needn’t have worried. It’s a terrific, absorbing read, about a podcaster covering a controversial rape trial, who finds herself drawn into the story of another rape and possible murder 25 years before. This is an author to watch!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    This author crafted a profound story wrapped on dual mysteries. Rachel who is a social influencer, relays the story via her Podcast. I felt as if I spent a few days on the NC coast, where the seas bring in waves and storms. The victims stories are relevant to current changes in how women have become as strong as their male counterparts. The past and show are fuwould highlsed into an Agatha like mystery. I would highly recommend to all older teens, their parents and teachers. I believe that having powerful intelligent females as role models and story tellers is vital to the protection warranted for our kids. This would create a terrific mini series.I look forward to her next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Swim: A Novel []  2020-8-31 18:22

    I read this book in one day! I could not stop reading. It felt like I was a bystander in the novel which created it feel so real. I wanted to search out the truth just as much as Rachel and Hannah did. Highly recommended!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    It was bought as a gift. Recipient liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    I ordered the book for my son who is a HS Swim coach. he uses it often as well as the others that were purchased at the same time. Received stuff before anticipated delivery date!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    If you are a lap swimmer, master's swimmer, triathlete, or begin water swimmer, you need to read this book. Interesting, informative, and fun, the author reinforces why we who participate in the water in some capacity actually love the water - embrace the water, look forward to the water. What a blessing for those of us who love the water! And the benefits are all amazing ! I am grateful for being a swimmer and proud that I share the love with Greek philosophers, poets, authors, generals, Benjamin Franklin, Franklin Roosevelt, and Lynn Sherr!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    The title of this book lead me to believe that it would be full of anectdotes about the joys of swimming. As a former swimmer, I wanted a book that would capture that happiness. Instead, it contained a lot of historical facts and explanations. For someone who is interested in the swimming's historical context, it would be a very amazing book. It's just not what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    I purchased the Swim Coaching Bible Volume one long time ago. I think it was a unbelievable book (I still refer to it regularly). So when I heard of the Volume II from email, I bought it right the method with high offense to all these successful coaches, but I am a bit disappointed on this. Overall Volume I is far better than Volume II (sorry coaches). I felt some coaches still have a lot of unbelievable items being held back and was not covered in their chapters.Well if you did not Volume I, Volume II is still a amazing book to read (if there is no comparison like Volume I).I am expecting articles like that of Richard Fast in Volume I, but I was disappointed of not finding one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    Probably interesting for experienced t the best book for intermediate swimmers (swimmers were not a target group).Still worth to be read in my view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    All Coaches can uses this. It is practical and very usefull, something that one can use in your day to day training. A amazing find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    I hate to give it one star because I definitely think the writer's heart is in the right place, but this book was poorly written, trite and disorganized. I had hoped to learn some history and to read some special insights into the mysteries of the joy of swimming. Yes, there was history and eclectic information, but it was hard to follow as the book's structure was elliptical, the stories started and stopped and were interrupted by stray info and the author's own swimming story. (I don't object to her including herself; just that she did so boringly and without insight.) As for the special insights I'd hoped for, I was startled by such utterly pedestrian statements -- and here I paraphrase -- as: "When you swim, you are truly weightless;" or "Everyone who emerges from a swim feels energized and refreshed."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    This book provides a comprehensive modernize from the old "Swim Coaches' Bible."The sections on underwater kick, sprint, and mid distance are phenomenal and incredibly helpful in designing work e section on distance swimming was not as amazing as the previous books section. It was not nearly as thorough as the previous books. While they introduced some amazing fresh concepts, the authors of that one section did not offer a conclusive report.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    Daughter is a university swim coach and loved it, she says it should be needed reading.Would recommend this provider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    I recommend this book to anyone who swims, no matter your skill level! I'm a 60 year old lap swimmer and it's amazing to read about the joy swimming has given to other people since we entered the water! This book is full of interesting information about swimming. I've read other swimming books, which were much too technical and dry. "SWIM" brings out why a lot of of us have been water lovers our entire lives! The only swimmer I am competitive with is myself, and this past year I've claimed swimming as an amazing form of yoga!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    I thoroughly loved this book and recently completed my first begin water swim latest year. But I want the author had someone explain to her the difference between a 25 yard pool and 25 meter pool. These are various lengths! She writes, "to them (the swim racing community). 66 lengths of a 25 yard pool create a mile."I think she meant to write "66 lengths of a 25 meter pool."One mile = 1609 meters = 66 lengths of a 25 meter poolOne mile = 1760 yards = 72 lengths of a 25 yard poolBut amazing book overall. Makes you wish to jump in and go for a swim now, which I am about to do now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    The endurance swimmer, Diana Nyad, achieved her lifelong ambition of conquering the straits of Florida on September 2, 2013, after her four earlier setbacks. Why she swims. Nyad explains her reason to the author, Lynn Sherr, as getting out of her everyday lives and exploring the universe of her mind.Why people swim. The reason varies from a pleasant pastime to medical must. Some may love the sense of freedom in the water and the calmness of the rhythm of their strokes and breathing. It would be a method to forget becoming old. Swimming will be the world's cheapest antidepressant, makes people satisfied and mellow. It might be the best method for others to fall asleep. In swimming you are the man you wish to be. Unlike most addictions, swimming is actually amazing for us, perhaps even better than we thought. It helps to build lean muscle mass and promote flexibility. It has some amazing result in tranquilizing nervous system and enhancing cardiovascular performance. Lynn Sherr picks the togetherness with the water as her number one reason. The water and Lynn become partners, it keep her up, she pushes herself through. At some levels we're genetically related to fish. The fish part of us is written inside of the primary structure of our bodies. We left this part behind in the process of evolution. It's as clear as the fact dolphins work at 60 percent efficiency in the water and humans only 11-12 is book is not a philosophical research about swimming but an encyclopedia of swim similar knowledge, which Lynn Sherr collected during her trainings preparing for the crossing of Hellespont. Swimming was practiced regularly in ancient times but virtually disappeared centuries. Swimming was so deeply embedded in the culture of classical Greece. It was a critical life skill, was also one of the martial arts. I would like to point the Japanese Ninja had trained different water relate strategies like to walk on the moat, swim across the moat and hide in the moat. Swimming vanished as Europe plunged into intellectual darkness. Like swimming itself the pool as a famous addition to courtyard or backyard disappeared from Western history. Some historians blame its decline on the church. Some say the ban on mixing water and flesh was due to misguided medicine, which terrifying warnings of diseases lurking in contaminated water. It reappeared with the dawn of the Renaissance. It was very interesting to know the original form of free style was introduced firstly by American Indians to European people. The nineteenth century was the swimming century. Swimming was the most famous recreational activity in America in the 1920s and 1930s. Swimming pools became a symbol of luxury, the exclusive province of royalty and the rich. Nowadays the pool zone has become another room in their home. They wish to see the water move; they wish to hear it move; they wish to dance; to turn colors at night. Swim gears also experienced dramatical change in accordance with searching fastest form to swim. You'll search further interesting trivia about swimming in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    This was a fun book for people who like to swim. I'm not sure if you would like it otherwise. It included a lot of fun facts and is interesting if you know precisely what the author is talking about. As it is summer and I am swimming daily, it was reinforcing and simple to relate to the various stories. The author imparts a joy for swimming that I liked reading about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    If you found volume I useful, I strongly recommend you to obtain this second part of The Swim Coach Bible. Complete your swimming bibliography with this must-have book on your bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    Amazing book for all Coaches, parents, and swimmers alike

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible Volume II []  2020-2-6 22:32

    Amazing book that is a must read for coaches of all levels and experience/

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    I love swimming and have always been crazy about the water. Present me a pool or an ocean and I’m satisfied to jump right in. I chose to read this in order to motivate me to swim more often. I used to swim far more before I had a family. It doesn’t support that I’m the only one who has such an intense passion for it, although I hold telling myself that that is no excuse!I’m giving this book 3 stars since I didn’t particularly care for Sherr’s jumping around on subjects all over the place. I would only recommend this to those who love swimming. The book is thoroughly researched – some of it is interesting and other parts were a bit boring for me. I am grateful to have read it, since it’s definitely motivated me to hopefully swim more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    I enjoyed this book tremendously and I'm very impressed by her perseverance and determination to swim the Hellespont at any age for that matter, but especially at what is considered to be an "older" person. Though she's in amazing shape I don't mean this in a negative way. If you have fun reading about historical facts similar to swimming and the author's description of her training and swimming experience this book is for you. I am an occasional swimmer but I highly enjoyed reading about her experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim: Why We Love the Water []  2020-7-2 19:53

    I first heard about Swim on Dr. Radio (Sirius XM Radio). I recently started swimming because of a running injury. When I heard Lynn speak about her book, I knew I had to read it. It had been years since I had been in a pool, but once I started swimming regularly I was addicted. After reading Lynn's book, I now know why. I learned so a lot of things about swimming that no one ever tells you when you are young and putting on that cold, wet bathing suit at summer camp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I have all of the Taormina's books and this is one is okay, but it is not her best. I also own Swim Speed workouts. Too much of this book is spent underscoring why the reader should be focusing on the high elbow and less time really illustrating the drills to excellent it. Swim Speed Strokes is a amazing book because she provides amazing photos to illustrate the technique along with the why... So my guess is that was intentional because that is exactly what you obtain in Swim Speed Workouts. The point is that buy both Swim Speed Workouts and Swim Speed Secrets.. If you are only going to buy one.. then Swim Speed Workouts is the better buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I have been stuck at 2:00/100m. (Don't laugh there are plenty of us out there.) It didn't matter what I did and to be honest I don't have the time to see a coach on a coaches' schedule. After reading all of the things I am messed up on, haha, I got it. The light bulb went off and I went back to true basics, floating, sculling then working stroke. I an now down to 1:45 and getting faster. I will never be the fastest, but I am no longer at the back of the pack. Movin' up!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I am a 51 year old Master's Swimmer. I swam competitively in the 70's and 80's and then took about 30 years off swimming. Back in the 80's we learned the "S" pull; when I came back to swimming 7-8 years ago I found things had changed and now it was all about "early vertical forearm". I tried really hard for years to modify my stroke but could never obtain it. In the meantime I was getting very frustrated as my swimming seemed to be getting worse despite my efforts. My daughter's swim coach recommended this book. I read it cover to cover a number of times. I found some of the items in the beginning a bit hard to follow - but the pictures are really great. (especially if you are a visual person). I worked on the principles hard and tried to incorporate some of the recommended drills but not every day (hard since I swim with a team). It took about 6 months but all of a sudden one day it just clicked and the results were stunning. Once I got the catch right, I immediately dropped 3-4 seconds per 100 with less effort. Seriously. Overnight. When does that ever happen? Its gotten me so energized and excited about swimming again that I've entered my first meet in 2 years. So, in summary amazing book and I highly recommend it ! Have patience as it may take some time but once you obtain it right the results are dramatic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    This is my very first book about swimming technique. So I never had idea what kind of info (technique) I can obtain from this book...I was shocked about such a explanation of mechanical movement in the water!! This book gave me a lot of fresh insight and technique to improve my swimming. I strongly recommend to beginners, but even master swimmers,too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I am a triathlete (or perhaps a wanna be) and swimming has not been my strength. While I obtain tip from coachs on movement that is visible outside of the water, I typically see MANY people doing exactly what those coaches are telling me my issue is, yet going MUCH faster than I. Clearly, something else is the problem, something going on under the surface, that's making the difference. This is where Sheila focuses - on the pull. She invokes the 80/20 rule and states that the other items - body streaminglining, arm recovery, hand entry - is all the in the 20%. And the best evidence she provides for that is Johnny Weissmuller held all swim records in the 1920s, while swimming holding his head out of the water! His speeds are certainly not up to today's olympic standards but he swims WAY faster than I or 99% of most triathletes (57s / 100m is Beautiful Darn Fast). What he did have was a really amazing is is a well-thought out book with drills and training approaches. She does take her time making her point in locations but this is the best book on the necessary parts of technique that I've seen. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I'm beating a dead horse here a small bit with the fourteenth consecutive five-star review, but it has to be said - this book is about as amazing a swim instruction book as it gets. A coach would be better, of course, but beyond that, this book teaches you how to swim freestyle like the pros do.I literally read this book in one sitting from beginning to end (there's a lot of pictures), and the next time I got in the water, I could swim faster and longer than ever before. The high-elbow catch technique is tiring at first, but it allows you far more strokes in a given time period, and really engages your entire body more than when your elbow sinks. My lats were on fire after a 1000-yard 's hard to say all that much about the actual contents of the book. It teaches the high-elbow crawl stroke, and that's it. It has a few drills, but it's all items you've probably heard of before (catch-up, sculling, etc.). But unless you have a swim coach who's already taught you how to swim the excellent freestyle stroke, this book is a must-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I’m still trying to learn all the ins and outs of the freestyle stroke and found this book helpful. It explained the catch in better, easier to understand terminology than I’ve found anywhere else. I liked the numbers for guidelines on stuff like DPS and stroke rate that I plan on using to review my progress. Only want this book would have some full workout programs in it instead of a list of drills.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I am a back of the package triathlete and picked up this book to support with my swim times based on Amazon reviews. I had been doing different total immersion drills over a few years, but have always been a slow swimmer. I just read this book yesterday and went swimming today. My 100 meter time went down 15 secs without even doing any of the drills yet, just by focusing on "feeling the water"! (mind you, I'm still over 2 mins per 100) Also, my chronically sore shoulder felt amazing after my swim, using the stroke adjustments recommended in this book. I'm very excited to follow Sheila's plan to build up strength and continue to improve. I found the book an enjoyable read and very clear. Can't wait for my next race!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I have read several various books/systems to improve my swimming. I pick and chose from each. I learned more about the importance of the "catch" , tempo and several helpful drills. This info was not in the other books. Probably could have taught the techniques with fewer words, but an enjoyable and valuable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Speed Secrets: Master the Freestyle Technique Used by the World's Fastest Swimmers (Swim Speed Series) []  2020-1-8 19:8

    I am a senior (i.e. older ) surf rescue team member but each year have to pass a 400m swim e try has to be no stopping and completed in under 9 minutes. It used to be simple but now almost heart attack intense for me to do it in the issue with endurance but couldn't create the best times had been around 9:10 for 400 metres. I got Sheila's book and clicked to her "catch" arm postioning, tried it and in one session went from previously 9 minute 10secs to 8min 42secs with no perceived increase in effort. One session!I could have wept with delight - it was honestly that magically different. My best time recently has been 8min 20secs and am now not getting stressed about cracking the 9 min barrier for a few years! Thanks Sheila from an old codger.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    Well written with keen insight in squad coaching. Most of early content might not offer much to athletes or to 101 coaches. Still, it is worth reading for the kindle version... table of content doesn't exist and graphs/images aren't displayed... see picture attached. Publisher didn't do the work properly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    Exactly as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    One of the most influential books I ever read on swimming. I've re-read it every couple years for the latest 6 or 7 years. Some of the best minds in swimming drop knowledge in each chapter. Strongly recommend for any coach, wherever they are at in their coaching careers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    This book is great. Full of amazing tip and information. It truely is my bible; I refer to it often. I recommend it to any and all swim coaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    Not current enough. A lot of of the ideas seemed 30 or more years old.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    This book is amazing for anyone who works with children in sports or education alike. The ideas are developmentally appropriate and versatile enough for anyone to utilize to make successful programs. A successful program builds successful children who are confident and prepared to enter the globe after sports, and/or to continue on for a lifetime of fitness. I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conquer Your Fear of the Triathlon Swim: End the Dread! []  2020-7-21 20:21

    I've had pool and begin water classes with Ali and thoroughly enjoyed them. I didn't grow up a swim squad child so I'm learning as an adult, and it's hard. Also embarrassing that my 8 year old son, who loves swim team, is faster than I am in the water. The concepts Ali and Melon show here for being confident in yourself in the water are exactly where I required to focus. For the first time in my life I'm comfortable breathing while swimming! No longer will my local triathlon mates introduce me as, "This is Barry, he can't swim. "

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    Amazing quality, amazing price and helpful information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    This is a amazing book to break down everything for a fresh coach. It's an awesome resource even for veteran coaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conquer Your Fear of the Triathlon Swim: End the Dread! []  2020-7-21 20:21

    Something I’m dealing with right now! Lots of amazing hints to remember and implement for a much more enjoyable swim experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    Bought both volumes and didnt really offer any AMAZING info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Swim Coaching Bible, Volume I (The Coaching Bible) []  2020-11-20 20:56

    I bought Swim Coach Bible vol. I & II, and I don't regret it at all. These editions are brilliant. Definitely a must-have for every dedicated swim coach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Run, Swim, Throw, Cheat: The science behind in sport []  2020-1-22 20:33

    Written from a biochemist scientist's point of view I can't think of a better resource on current performance enhancement technology. When the author opines on the social significance of doping he create a few startling pronouncements which are right on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-19 19:51

    After several years of using In The Swim chlorine tablets, I tried a various brand to save some money. Not long after switching, I noticed my chlorinator wasn't working properly. My chlorine level in pool would drop, and I'd think the chlorinator must be low on tablets only to explore it was still full from latest refill. This kept event off and on. I played around with adjusting the dial, and it seemed to work for a brief period. Then I'd have the same issue again. I decided my chlorinator had stopped working properly and bought a fresh one. Soon after replacing it, I realized I was continuing to have the same issue. I then concluded that the beginning of the issue corresponded with using the various brand chlorine tablets. How frustrating! The cheaper tablets just did not dissolve reliably like the In The Swim tablets always had. I finished up the tablets I had on hand, and now I purchase only In The Swim tablets. Expensive lesson to save a small cash on tablets. :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-19 19:51

    We live in Calif and have struggled with our pool the past few years and working hard to hold it nice year round. These In The Swim 3" tablets have been superior to others that we have used. They are slow release, where others disintegrate much too quickly. The wrappers may be a pain in the neck, but being wrapped really cuts down on the amount of odor you're hit in the face with when you unscrew the bucket lid. Just place a garbage can near your pool items and it won't be an problem to discard the plastic wrapper. I'm ordering these again this year. I read about a lot of customers receiving broken tablets, but we were lucky that ours were all intact; this is probably the luck of the draw with the shipping handlers between the manufacturer and your house.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-30 19:35

    In The Swim was 5 stars for me until my recent container of 3" tablets. The tablets look dated and when applying the same amount of product to my pool it was ineffective. Measured chlorine before and after even with increased dosage did nothing. These have obviously been sitting around or not good quality control. I have used In The Swim products since 2015 from shock to tablets and always been satisfied until now. So as a loyal customer I call Customer Care and got the run around needing to follow protocol, review the contents and images, then provide solution all while my pool turns green. So I have to buy fresh tablets at a pool shop to hold this from event now all while waiting on protocol. Tip to In The Swim: I wouldn't be calling if the product was working and if you wish to hold customers loyal provide them with solutions during these times like a few tablets the next day while waiting for protocol. Very disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-30 19:35

    We live in Calif and have struggled with our pool the past few years and working hard to hold it nice year round. These In The Swim 3" tablets have been superior to others that we have used. They are slow release, where others disintegrate much too quickly. The wrappers may be a pain in the neck, but being wrapped really cuts down on the amount of odor you're hit in the face with when you unscrew the bucket lid. Just place a garbage can near your pool items and it won't be an problem to discard the plastic wrapper. I'm ordering these again this year. I read about a lot of customers receiving broken tablets, but we were lucky that ours were all intact; this is probably the luck of the draw with the shipping handlers between the manufacturer and your house.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-30 19:35

    I have used this brand for a year. I just bought more. I did research ,this is the top brand. Some guy gave it a 1 star, because he had to obtain the tablets out of a cellophane bag. Wow-that's why I love this brand. The bags protect the tablets when shipped. I bought another brand, were not wrapped, all the bottom tablets were broken powder- He said he almost passed out, when he opened the container (Did he have his head in it?). This is chlorine ,what does he expect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Smooth: The Complete Coaching System for Swimmers and Triathletes []  2020-1-7 18:59

    I am a recreational swimmer who tried to relearn to swim better back in 1998 from Terry Laughlin's book. I have never been on a swim squad to obtain amazing coaching advice.I have recently looked at a few fresh and old how-to-swim books. The newer tip is quite various from the older books which encouraged habits that can easily lead to shoulder injuries.1)A fresh book "Swim Smooth" has the most modern tip of all, along with a fine web website with a super free application you can download and watch from any angle and at very slow speed (esp from underneath to see the difference from the old S-shape recommended arm movement for the crawl). Looking through this book a few days ago already has led to a major revision of my can obtain the essential information from this fun book by just looking at the numerous pictures and reading the self-taught freestyle stroke has several major flaws, eg. I should not angle my hand sideways on entry which can injure the shoulder and I should not cross the center line on arm extension or pushback (some old books present the arm crossing horizontally under the body) which loses propulsion and leads to being off balance. The entry angle should be at a steep approx 45 degree angle and the hand should hint down for the catch right after full extension (instead of gliding more). And forget about a sideways scull and S-shape arm movement (update: I have added back a partial S movement which seems to flow better with increased speeds if you use fins, plus Olympic swimmers do that too).Anyway, the book "Swim Smooth" and web website (with the downloaded MrSmooth app) is my top choice for a relearn-to-swim-freestyle book for amateurs who have no coach.2)Next in line is the perfect second edition of "Fitness Swimming", pages 1-69, page 86, and pages 119-120 (the rest is workout schedules). This book has by far the best compact explanation of the theory and guidelines for the modern injury-free freestyle . It finally explained to me exactly how to accomplish the 2-beat kick as well as the unfathomable (from other books) 6-beat kick.3)Then there's the other modern swim book that I re-learned to swim from in 1998. Too poor in that book (or even his recent one) there is no amazing description of the arc the hand travels (ie. S-shape or not) or fundamental principles like the hand must always be inside the elbow distance (otherwise .. injury) and the related dangers of angling the hand on entry, or of the merits of a steeper hand entry (but see his DVD below). Terry Laughlin's books (latest best all-stroke intro is called "Extraordinary Swimming for every body") have been adopted widely and I still would recommend this book as one of the several must-have's for someone still learning to swim better. If I was teaching someone to swim from ground zero, I would use the exercises to lead up to the crawl in that book's freestyle chapter (which are easier to see/appreciate in the bigger format "Total Immersion Pool Primer", basically drills in balance and body rotation) or in Terry's DVD "Perpetual Motion Freestyle in 10 Lessons", which teaches how to swim by progressive enhancement of fundamental balance and propulsion skills. The graduated drills are clearly demonstrated and the progression to developing the complete stroke and 2-beat flick kick is logical.4)"Learn to Swim in a Weekend" is a super compact (90 pages), all-picture tutorial to the major strokes plus turning and diving, about 8 simple to look at pages per stroke type. This is a fun book to look through and the pictures are superb in showing the essentials of each those are the 4 most essential how-to-swim or how-to-relearn-to-swim-better books I've en there's the very old swimming book "Swimming: Steps to Success" which has some poor crawl tip (which was considered amazing tip in the 1960's), but contains a few non-major strokes such as the sidestroke and the Double Trudgen which I'll learn sometime to amaze folks - I mean, who really knows that stroke nowadays other than ocean lifeguards! The third edition of this book has not changed from the very old first edition, so do not expect modern swimming advice.History: the first-ever "modern" swim book was "Complete Book of Swimming" by James Counsilman (1979) which authors since have liberally copied text from. This was "the" modern theory and how to swim book until the 1990's and has held up remarkably well, plus it's fun to see pictures of Tag Spitz's swim strokes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Smooth: The Complete Coaching System for Swimmers and Triathletes []  2020-1-7 18:59

    I started swimming about three years ago. So as someone without the best form, this book has created a large difference in my is book is very useful for all levels, especially people looking to improve their form. I think the presentation of the materials is excellent. It is one thing to hear and read about amazing technic, but this book makes a difference with the amazing illustrations. I have changed my form and have a better 'feel' for the water of the local Masters clubs runs a video clinic every quarter. I plan on participating in the next one and comparing my video footage to the info in the book.Highly recommend this book to swimmers and triathletes. This definitely gave me my 'ah-ha' moment where swim technic all kind of makes sense now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Ultra-Efficient Freestyle!: The 'Fishlike' Techniques From Total Immersion []  2020-7-2 19:53

    Seems to correct complaints of his other book. Has pictures. Clear and to the point. Lovely method. Fitness Swimming has the same info. But that book has a more racing competitive tone whereas this is focused on developing a workout you’ll love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Ultra-Efficient Freestyle!: The 'Fishlike' Techniques From Total Immersion []  2020-7-2 19:53

    MUST BUY FOR ANYONE WANTING TO BETTER THE FREESTYLE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Ultra-Efficient Freestyle!: The 'Fishlike' Techniques From Total Immersion []  2020-7-2 19:53

    Clear useful drills, focus thoughts, illustrations. Clarifies, adds to previous TI books, videos, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Winning: Planning, Periodizing and Optimizing Swim Training []  2020-8-23 18:50

    Needed reading for any coach of endurance athletes. Simple, simple to understand reading of the aerobic versus anaerobic systems, and how to apply lactate testing to training.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Winning: Planning, Periodizing and Optimizing Swim Training []  2020-8-23 18:50

    I wish to cancel the order I did by mistake , I required it on paper and not on kindle but it doesn't give me the option , can you guys to this more simple, thanks for your help

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five "B" Method to a Successful Triathlon Swim []  2020-11-18 18:52

    A master book from a master coach!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-19 19:51

    I purchased this product latest year and it seemed to work relatively well, although I did message my pool used them up more quickly than it had in the past. This season I had a couple of dozen tablets left from latest year to begin out, but they don't boost or maintain the chlorine level despite multiple shock treatments which bring the free chlorine level to well over 5 PPM. My 32K gallon in-ground pool utilizes a chlorine injector, which is dispensing as it should. Despite setting the chlorinator full open, the level rapid falls off after shock treatment. With 23 years maintaining this pool I have never had this occur. The tablets were stored off season in a heated facility in the original plastic bag and individually other reviews have stated, my bucket was delivered with a lot of of the tablets broken and/or crushed. The individual wrappings are covered with chlorine dust and little particles so when the bags are torn begin it goes everywhere. I want they would sell them without the wrapper as they used to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-19 19:51

    I have used this exact product for a lot of years but can no longer recommend it. The latest bucket I received had a number of broken / crushed / split tablets hidden in the middle layer, so they weren't noted until several weeks after I started using this bucket. The wrapping was also torn begin some so there were loose bits of chlorine in the bucket. As a result, the smell was quite strong each time I opened the lid, and there was so much dust released when I tore begin the wrapper that I couldn't avoid breathing it. I used to prefer these to the unwrapped ones I buy locally so I didn't have to wear gloves, but now I have to use gloves, a mask and safety goggles to avoid the dust and the broken bits. I ended up opening the rest of the tabs and transferring them to another bucket to lessen my safety concerns. It's possible I am becoming more sensitive but I'm switching back to my local supplier brand. (only shipped tablets are wrapped for transport safety reasons).Apart from these issues, the tablets are a quality source of chlorine (high % with no fillers) and the intact ones worked well in my feeder. They might still be a amazing choice if you use them in a skimmer and aren't sensitive to chlorine - the price and service are very good, so I left a "3" rating.I described my positive customer service experience on the seller's page. It's real that chlorine is not returnable but the seller addressed my concerns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-19 19:51

    Lets face it. There are hundreds of ways to sanitize pool water. Some will swear by one method and others will curse it. To buy a sanitizing product we have to take things into consideration.1. How huge is the pool?2. How often can I work on it?3. How convenient is it to get the products I need?4. What works best for my water?In my zone there are several pool stores. Lelies dominates and for the first couple years I went to them. I was shocking my pool weekly with power powder plus and performing all the other maintenance they told me to do. For the sake of this review I wish to state that I have stopped using Leslies and went my own route. I also used Borax to make a buffer. I do not use algaecide at all. Baking soda for alk, muriatic acid to soften. Calcium is first two years with a pool I wound up draining it twice as the water got so poor I couldn't bring it back. I tried everything Leslies told me and spent more time cleaning the pool than using it. Now however, I have found my balance. Once I filled the pool in April I got the water setup. Used the borax and buffered it. Balanced it out with the acid, adjusted the calcium, tested for phosphates. Once it was dialed in I started checking chlorine levels every few hours. I would shock on Sunday with Power Powder and by Tuesday the chlorine level was zero. I then went and bought tabs at Leslies. These tabs kept the chlorine level higher but it bounced between 1 and 5. Then I ordered this chlorine. I have used this since May and through the entire swimming season. My chlorine levels have been solid at 4 every day at any given time of e bottom line is that there are a lot of ways of doing this and for the most part every one of them will work. But perhaps they will not work in your water. These work perfectly in my water but may not work in someone elses water. So to summarize the four questions above my pool is 15,000 gallons and I can give one afternoon a week to work on the pool. Having this product delivered right to my door is much better for me than going to the pool shop and this chlorine works unbelievable with my water.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-30 19:35

    After several years of using In The Swim chlorine tablets, I tried a various brand to save some money. Not long after switching, I noticed my chlorinator wasn't working properly. My chlorine level in pool would drop, and I'd think the chlorinator must be low on tablets only to explore it was still full from latest refill. This kept event off and on. I played around with adjusting the dial, and it seemed to work for a brief period. Then I'd have the same issue again. I decided my chlorinator had stopped working properly and bought a fresh one. Soon after replacing it, I realized I was continuing to have the same issue. I then concluded that the beginning of the issue corresponded with using the various brand chlorine tablets. How frustrating! The cheaper tablets just did not dissolve reliably like the In The Swim tablets always had. I finished up the tablets I had on hand, and now I purchase only In The Swim tablets. Expensive lesson to save a small cash on tablets. :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Swim 3" Inch Pool Chlorine Tablets - 10 Pounds []  2019-12-30 19:35

    Lets face it. There are hundreds of ways to sanitize pool water. Some will swear by one method and others will curse it. To buy a sanitizing product we have to take things into consideration.1. How huge is the pool?2. How often can I work on it?3. How convenient is it to get the products I need?4. What works best for my water?In my zone there are several pool stores. Lelies dominates and for the first couple years I went to them. I was shocking my pool weekly with power powder plus and performing all the other maintenance they told me to do. For the sake of this review I wish to state that I have stopped using Leslies and went my own route. I also used Borax to make a buffer. I do not use algaecide at all. Baking soda for alk, muriatic acid to soften. Calcium is first two years with a pool I wound up draining it twice as the water got so poor I couldn't bring it back. I tried everything Leslies told me and spent more time cleaning the pool than using it. Now however, I have found my balance. Once I filled the pool in April I got the water setup. Used the borax and buffered it. Balanced it out with the acid, adjusted the calcium, tested for phosphates. Once it was dialed in I started checking chlorine levels every few hours. I would shock on Sunday with Power Powder and by Tuesday the chlorine level was zero. I then went and bought tabs at Leslies. These tabs kept the chlorine level higher but it bounced between 1 and 5. Then I ordered this chlorine. I have used this since May and through the entire swimming season. My chlorine levels have been solid at 4 every day at any given time of e bottom line is that there are a lot of ways of doing this and for the most part every one of them will work. But perhaps they will not work in your water. These work perfectly in my water but may not work in someone elses water. So to summarize the four questions above my pool is 15,000 gallons and I can give one afternoon a week to work on the pool. Having this product delivered right to my door is much better for me than going to the pool shop and this chlorine works unbelievable with my water.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Smooth: The Complete Coaching System for Swimmers and Triathletes []  2020-1-7 18:59

    I strongly recommend this book for someone learning to improve their stroke. I really like they have identified the various types of swimmers and test to improve you based on your type of swimming. This methodology makes more sense to me. Their breakdown of the various aspects of the swim stroke was very well done. Also liked their begin water swim hints and training for this type of swimming. Largest knock on this book is that it doesn’t spell out swim plans and just gives you a menu of options for swim sections and you’re supposed to mix and match the various sections.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Smooth: The Complete Coaching System for Swimmers and Triathletes []  2020-1-7 18:59

    From begin to finish this book will support the beginner to the advanced swimmer. Clearly written and most importantly with amazing results after reading you will feel as though you can master swimming to your potential. And you will be able to discern what other swimmers are doing/not doing correctly as you create your swimming changes. It was hard for me to tell what others were doing correctly OR incorrectly until reading this book and now I know I can create those same changes work better for me. THANKS, SMOOTH SWIMMING for making my swimming days more enjoyable, relaxing, and productive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Run, Swim, Throw, Cheat: The science behind in sport []  2020-1-22 20:33

    Examples of some interesting points in the book contain caffeine outperforms amphetamines, some are banned for moral purposes instead of performance enhancing, and bodybuilders taking steroids take Tamoxifen (a breast cancer that reduces female hormones) to avoid growing breasts. The book also explains in detail how athletes are tested for performance enhancing .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Run, Swim, Throw, Cheat: The science behind in sport []  2020-1-22 20:33

    Very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Ultra-Efficient Freestyle!: The 'Fishlike' Techniques From Total Immersion []  2020-7-2 19:53

    I choose this book because the a lot of positive reviews similar to the TI System. After reading this book and now fully practicing the technical side of things. I'm starting to really feel the benefits in the water. Perfect read for all swimmers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swim Ultra-Efficient Freestyle!: The 'Fishlike' Techniques From Total Immersion []  2020-7-2 19:53

    Inspirational practice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Winning: Planning, Periodizing and Optimizing Swim Training []  2020-8-23 18:50

    I've now read most of part 1:Very interesting book that gives valuable info an insight into training planning and e author is clearly very found of lactate testing. However the book does not provide the fresh way, and according to the author, better method of lactate testing interpretation, and states that in 40% of the cases in the classical interpretation the tip given based on the results will be wrong. This was a bit disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Winning: Planning, Periodizing and Optimizing Swim Training []  2020-8-23 18:50

    This book has a amazing deal of info about conditioning, recovery and is specifically for swimmers, but anyone can project the info into their sport with a small is highly technical and not simple reading, but is well worth the price for anyone serious about e only problem I had with the book is the charts and diagrams do not scale with the zoom and are hard to ere is no method to rotate the book in the PC ver of the Kindle reader, and some of the diagrams are landscape,which also complicates extracting the information. Amazon needs to add a rotate function to the PC reader! A Kindle is simple to turn on it's side, not so much a desktop PC.... :)I hope the publisher reprints the book, I would buy a physical copy, too...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Winning: Planning, Periodizing and Optimizing Swim Training []  2020-8-23 18:50

    The book deals heavily with swimming but the principles can be applied to other endurance sports. I found it helpful in periodizing workouts.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386