Read the gulag archipelago reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the gulag archipelago reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


    Add your opinion on the gulag archipelago or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    Although there is nothing inherently wrong with abridgements, books like this, and this book in particular, should never be abridged. I have read the 3 volume paperback ver and it is worth the time...and some effort.I'm writing this review so people will know they are buying the abridged ver and not as an attempt to trash this masterwork. This is a amazing book! Because of this it should be read in its so, as an eBook there is no reason all 3 books could not be sold as one...after all, there is no weight to them.Happy Reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    This book is a true page turner - I couldn't place it down. I think it's really necessary that people begin educating themselves about the former soviet union and the true atrocities that occurred. There's been a lack of education in the US. I went to public schools and they basically told us a small bit about WWII and Nazi germany and left the soviet union entirely out of the conversation. The book smelled a small funny when it arrived but was brand fresh so I'm guessing just musty from storage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    This book helped me understand the underlying causes for human misery. We all play a part in the destructive patterns in this world. Our job is to do our best to create the globe better at all times. In for evil to succeed it needs partners at all levels (leaders and followers). If we stop following and supporting we can then create it much harder for evil people to lead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    I regard this book as of the most required reads of the current generation of Western Civilization. As a millennial, throughout my life there are few things that I have heard more than "the power of the collective through community." I have heard this most often in reference to some form of Communism or Socialism. Always accompanying these isms have been general statements of their respective failures as political theories quickly silenced by blanket statements such as, "Yeah, but it's a nice idea though" or "Oh yes. The USSR was an ugly blot on history of Marxism BUT that is not REAL communism. The Russians did it wrong." Those statements, not only logically fallacious but also exceedingly arrogant, comes out of the mouths of almost every young person (14 to 30) that I speak to about Communism. They believe, through the meddling of media and academia, that Communism is a caring ideology that wants what is best for others. They are all about feelings and the supremacy of people's experiences. Well, that is what Solzhenitsyn does: he brings to you the reality of the sinister totalitarianism that is Marxism. Though he is regarded as one of the finest scholars of the 20th century he has done what the millennial generation wants: he has created it personal. This book has opened my eyes to the horrors of Soviet Russia and what is more, throughout his story, he reveals necessary aspects of our human nature. You Western son or daughter MUST READ THIS BOOK. It will change your life if you do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    I was near certain I had ordered an unabridged ver and almost dinged a star, but even abridged, this is a hefty book. I realize now that I probably would not have wanted the full version, which might well reach 2000 pages or more. I search reading Russian translations slow to read - a amazing intellectual challenge, but there is a point where it could be too much. In the introduction, it mentions many, a lot of people have in fact started this book, but precious few have ever finished it! I usually hate the concept of abridged versions, but in this case I think it is a amazing idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    This book place in words what a lot of of my extended family members in the Soviet Union went through. And, to think that a lot of here in North America wish to replicate that evil system here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    Unless one in the West intentionally exposes himself or herself to a book like this, they will think our life here in the West is normal and universal, but it's not. Solzhenitsyn writes with journalistic prose to expose the true nature of humankind, of power, of communism, and all connected to these things. This sobering work took me through an emotional rollercoaster, leaving me gripped in contemplation and inward reflection, knowing that I too have the potential within me for amazing and evil alike. And, as he makes clear, we all have a choice and none of us are victims. The power is in our hands to bring light or darkness, love or hate, amazing or evil. Truly, I want every American and European would read this book and really give it time to sink into their minds and hearts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    Why is this book so hard to get? Won a Pulitzer but not readily available via prime or on kindle? For one of the most necessary works in human history- about government oppression- I search it odd that this was so hard to obtain a keep of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    Wonderful stories from one of the most murderous times in history. We know a lot about the atrocities of the second globe battle but very small of this history is known to young people around the eksandr Solzhenitsyn is a master with words. The book takes time to read because you're constantly thinking about what you've just read. The content will leave you dumbfounded! This should be a set book in schools. If this info were well known to our younger generations, perhaps the globe would be a various put and our future more ere is so much that can be learned from reading this book. I highly recommend this book to anyone who believes that we can learn from history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago []  2020-1-19 21:41

    Bestseller. If somebody believe that book is a picture of history which is over surely is wrong. Communism is still alive because is amazing for poor guys and they are multiply like worms. People cannot make system amazing for everybody. It is a amazing lesson for dreamers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-18 20:31

    This is a very necessary book and should be needed reading in schools.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    This is a must read and should be needed reading at the universities. Young people need to understand that it is necessary to truly understand the ideologies that you latch on to as they have very true consequences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    The hardcover ver includes, at the bottom of a lot of pages, the author's notes. These notes should be considered an essential part of the book. They are interesting and designed to enhance and embellish the text. Do not the paperback version, because it does not contain those essential notes by the author.Obviously, this book (in hardcover form with the notes) is essential reading-- everyone who is able should invest the time to absorb this important, very moving, stereotype-shattering, great/classic work of non-fiction. According to Wikipedia, since 2009 this book (in Russian) has been needed reading by Russian high school students (in Russia).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    this private acc has begun to support me understand my own capacity for evil. Alexandr Solzhenitsyn says 'The battleline between amazing and evil runs through the heart of every man' i think it has helped me recognize the types of things i have to do to spot evil thoughts and to know how to contend with them. the things i read in this book have created me sick, such that i think about the gulags often. i think about how people starved to death and how they lived or survived by labor or being a 'stoolie'. Despite the horrors of this book i think it has created me a better person. it will create you one as well. please this book for your own sake and sakes of those you love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    Talk about an eye opening experience. How did we not learn any of this in school? Shame. The imagery of the sewer system flushing the perceived worthlessness of life is a heartbreaking one. I'm a third of the method through the book. It's hard to read but entirely necessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    One of the greatest tragedies in the history of mankind, period. The Soviets outdid Hitler and imprisoned and killed around 14 million of their own people. It's mind boggling! And it's true. Sadly, it's still happening, on a much smaller scale, but this system is still in use to this day. Solzhenitsyn has done a unbelievable job of collecting numerous prisoner accounts and turning them into a very readable series of literature, despite the danger it brought to him and those close to him. He will always be a character of mankind, in my eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    Talk about an eye opening experience. How did we not learn any of this in school? Shame. The imagery of the sewer system flushing the perceived worthlessness of life is a heartbreaking one. I'm a third of the method through the book. It's hard to read but entirely necessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    Read this book. It is one of the most strong things ever written. It acts as a history of Soviet Russia, and a insightful depiction of Soviet the process of arrest in Soviet Russia. This Volume of The Gulag Archipelago covers the process of Arrest, the Corrupt courts, the different statutes under which people were charged as well as a lot of stories about people within the Soviet system. Their triumphs and their lzhenitsyn calls the book "An Experiment in Literary Investigation", and there really isn't a better method to refer to it. Due to the lack of available documentation Solzhenitsyn was forced to piece all of this info together from official soviet propaganda, books which had been banned that he was able to obtain his hands on, and the private acc of many, a lot of e second aspect of the book, and perhaps the more strong one is the Book's analysis of the nature of humanity. IT is difficult to summarize this aspect, but the ideas contained herein deserve ease read this book, if you read it seriously it may give you insights into human nature that you need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    One of the greatest tragedies in the history of mankind, period. The Soviets outdid Hitler and imprisoned and killed around 14 million of their own people. It's mind boggling! And it's true. Sadly, it's still happening, on a much smaller scale, but this system is still in use to this day. Solzhenitsyn has done a unbelievable job of collecting numerous prisoner accounts and turning them into a very readable series of literature, despite the danger it brought to him and those close to him. He will always be a character of mankind, in my eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    I have not finished this book but saw a review that said there were no author's notes in this ver of The Gulag is is not true. This version, the red-covered Volume 1 of the Gulag Archipelago DOES have authors notes, and lots of them. However, the abridged ver which is by the same publisher and has a related cover to this book, does not have author's notes obviously. Just clearing up this confusion. This Volume 1 does have the original author's notes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    I LOVE history, but was surprised I had such small knowledge of the happenings that transpired in Russia during this time period. I am just stupified as to why this is not taught in schools...well maybe not these days. While it is a somewhat difficult to read book, you will still obtain the idea as to what is happening. I accidentally bought 2 of these books when I created my purchase. It will certainly go to someone who also enjoys history.I do not regret my at all!!! And it is just too amazing of a to pass up. Even if you don't [email protected]#$%!, you will at least obtain an idea as to what was going on. And honestly, those who don't learn from history, are bound to repeat it. I could see this sort of thing event again...in one method or anks to the amazing Jordan Peterson for recommending this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-18 20:31

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    A must-read for those of us raised in comfort. A reminder that life needn't be (and through most of human history, wasn't) so comfortable. It is a reminder of the dangers posed by Authoritarianism, and a lesson that "evil" is not "out there" somewhere, lurking in a foreign land, but swirling amidst the "good" in the heart of every man. The vagaries of fate and disposition can leave any man as either executor or executed... or both at various times.A few quotes:"If only there were evil people somewhere insidiously committing evil deeds, and it were important only to separate them from the rest of us and destroy them. But the line dividing amazing and evil cuts through the heart of every human being. And who is willing to destroy a piece of his own heart? During the life of any heart this line keeps changing place; sometimes it is squeezed one method by exuberant evil and sometimes it shifts to let enough zone for amazing to flourish. One and the same human being is, at different ages, under different circumstances, a totally various human being. At times he is close to being a devil, at times to sainthood. But his name doesn't change, and to that name we ascribe the whole lot, amazing and evil. Socrates taught us: Know thyself! Confronted by the pit into which we are about to toss those who have done us harm, we halt, stricken dumb: it is after all only because of the method things worked out that they were the executioners and we weren't.”“Ideology—that is what gives evildoing its long-sought justification and gives the evildoer the important steadfastness and determination. That is the social theory which helps to create his acts seem amazing instead of poor in his own and others' eyes, so that he won't hear reproaches and curses but will keep praise and honors. That was how the agents of the Inquisition fortified their wills: by invoking Christianity; the conquerors of foreign lands, by extolling the grandeur of their Motherland; the colonizers, by civilization; the Nazis, by race; and the Jacobins (early and late), by equality, brotherhood, and the happiness of future generations. Thanks to ideology, the twentieth century was fated to experience evildoing on a scale calculated in the millions. This cannot be denied, nor passed over, nor suppressed.”“There is a easy truth which one can learn only through suffering: in battle not victories are blessed but defeats. Governments need victories and the people need defeats. Win gives rise to the desire for more victories. But after a conquer it is freedom that men desire—and usually attain. A people needs conquer just as an individual needs suffering and misfortune: they compel the deepening of the inner life and generate a spiritual upsurge."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    Already knew a lot of this history but Gulag is on Jordan Peterson's reading list so.... Gulag is not the story of Aleksandr Solzhenitsy, nor is it a history book- it is much more than that. The true value, and I think a main reason its on JP's list, is in the underlying notice that this is not the story of Russia, or the Russian people, or Stalin- or anyone- but of everyone. Every single one of us, every day, in ways huge and small, acts in ways that serve to bring forth either a better world, or the hell of the Gulag Archipelago. Be warned, this is some very unpleasant reading. No one wants to think of being imprisoned indefinitely in a "cell" too little even to sit or lie down in, allow alone in one with so a lot of bedbugs they are falling off the ceiling and crawling from everywhere, so a lot of you cannot slay them all even if you could stomach the stench. But it will be worth it to absorb the lesson that this is the cost and end effect of lies. Speak the truth. At whatever cost. If you wish to know how high the cost of lies can be, read the Gulag Archipelago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago, Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-6-27 19:0

    Difficult to read knowing it's a real story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago, Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-6-27 19:0

    Excelent,very informative and very detailed accounts of human suffering in comunist prisons. Hard to beleive what human beings will do to their own race!The Gulag Archipelago Val. l,2,and 3 should be mandatory reading to all our students in our American Schools.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-18 20:31

    A series of books everyone should read at least once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    A must-read for those of us raised in comfort. A reminder that life needn't be (and through most of human history, wasn't) so comfortable. It is a reminder of the dangers posed by Authoritarianism, and a lesson that "evil" is not "out there" somewhere, lurking in a foreign land, but swirling amidst the "good" in the heart of every man. The vagaries of fate and disposition can leave any man as either executor or executed... or both at various times.A few quotes:"If only there were evil people somewhere insidiously committing evil deeds, and it were important only to separate them from the rest of us and destroy them. But the line dividing amazing and evil cuts through the heart of every human being. And who is willing to destroy a piece of his own heart? During the life of any heart this line keeps changing place; sometimes it is squeezed one method by exuberant evil and sometimes it shifts to let enough zone for amazing to flourish. One and the same human being is, at different ages, under different circumstances, a totally various human being. At times he is close to being a devil, at times to sainthood. But his name doesn't change, and to that name we ascribe the whole lot, amazing and evil. Socrates taught us: Know thyself! Confronted by the pit into which we are about to toss those who have done us harm, we halt, stricken dumb: it is after all only because of the method things worked out that they were the executioners and we weren't.”“Ideology—that is what gives evildoing its long-sought justification and gives the evildoer the important steadfastness and determination. That is the social theory which helps to create his acts seem amazing instead of poor in his own and others' eyes, so that he won't hear reproaches and curses but will keep praise and honors. That was how the agents of the Inquisition fortified their wills: by invoking Christianity; the conquerors of foreign lands, by extolling the grandeur of their Motherland; the colonizers, by civilization; the Nazis, by race; and the Jacobins (early and late), by equality, brotherhood, and the happiness of future generations. Thanks to ideology, the twentieth century was fated to experience evildoing on a scale calculated in the millions. This cannot be denied, nor passed over, nor suppressed.”“There is a easy truth which one can learn only through suffering: in battle not victories are blessed but defeats. Governments need victories and the people need defeats. Win gives rise to the desire for more victories. But after a conquer it is freedom that men desire—and usually attain. A people needs conquer just as an individual needs suffering and misfortune: they compel the deepening of the inner life and generate a spiritual upsurge."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    this private acc has begun to support me understand my own capacity for evil. Alexandr Solzhenitsyn says 'The battleline between amazing and evil runs through the heart of every man' i think it has helped me recognize the types of things i have to do to spot evil thoughts and to know how to contend with them. the things i read in this book have created me sick, such that i think about the gulags often. i think about how people starved to death and how they lived or survived by labor or being a 'stoolie'. Despite the horrors of this book i think it has created me a better person. it will create you one as well. please this book for your own sake and sakes of those you love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago, Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-6-27 19:0

    This is a very necessary book and should be needed reading in schools.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago, Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-6-27 19:0

    Just bought volume 1 and 2 today after hearing a lot of volume 1 on a book on tape. Crucial info even now. This and 1984, which is fiction, present why we must be informed before we vote or throw away vital rights and enable unaccountable Governments. It is all quite terrifying. Jordan Peterson emphasized the importance of this awesome work of history. They should create high schoolers read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    I have not finished this book but saw a review that said there were no author's notes in this ver of The Gulag is is not true. This version, the red-covered Volume 1 of the Gulag Archipelago DOES have authors notes, and lots of them. However, the abridged ver which is by the same publisher and has a related cover to this book, does not have author's notes obviously. Just clearing up this confusion. This Volume 1 does have the original author's notes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    I LOVE history, but was surprised I had such small knowledge of the happenings that transpired in Russia during this time period. I am just stupified as to why this is not taught in schools...well maybe not these days. While it is a somewhat difficult to read book, you will still obtain the idea as to what is happening. I accidentally bought 2 of these books when I created my purchase. It will certainly go to someone who also enjoys history.I do not regret my at all!!! And it is just too amazing of a to pass up. Even if you don't [email protected]#$%!, you will at least obtain an idea as to what was going on. And honestly, those who don't learn from history, are bound to repeat it. I could see this sort of thing event again...in one method or anks to the amazing Jordan Peterson for recommending this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-18 20:31

    Excelent,very informative and very detailed accounts of human suffering in comunist prisons. Hard to beleive what human beings will do to their own race!The Gulag Archipelago Val. l,2,and 3 should be mandatory reading to all our students in our American Schools.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-18 20:31

    Just bought volume 1 and 2 today after hearing a lot of volume 1 on a book on tape. Crucial info even now. This and 1984, which is fiction, present why we must be informed before we vote or throw away vital rights and enable unaccountable Governments. It is all quite terrifying. Jordan Peterson emphasized the importance of this awesome work of history. They should create high schoolers read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago, Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-6-27 19:0

    A series of books everyone should read at least once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago, Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-6-27 19:0

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    This is a must read and should be needed reading at the universities. Young people need to understand that it is necessary to truly understand the ideologies that you latch on to as they have very true consequences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-7-21 20:44

    Read this book. It is one of the most strong things ever written. It acts as a history of Soviet Russia, and a insightful depiction of Soviet the process of arrest in Soviet Russia. This Volume of The Gulag Archipelago covers the process of Arrest, the Corrupt courts, the different statutes under which people were charged as well as a lot of stories about people within the Soviet system. Their triumphs and their lzhenitsyn calls the book "An Experiment in Literary Investigation", and there really isn't a better method to refer to it. Due to the lack of available documentation Solzhenitsyn was forced to piece all of this info together from official soviet propaganda, books which had been banned that he was able to obtain his hands on, and the private acc of many, a lot of e second aspect of the book, and perhaps the more strong one is the Book's analysis of the nature of humanity. IT is difficult to summarize this aspect, but the ideas contained herein deserve ease read this book, if you read it seriously it may give you insights into human nature that you need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    The hardcover ver includes, at the bottom of a lot of pages, the author's notes. These notes should be considered an essential part of the book. They are interesting and designed to enhance and embellish the text. Do not the paperback version, because it does not contain those essential notes by the author.Obviously, this book (in hardcover form with the notes) is essential reading-- everyone who is able should invest the time to absorb this important, very moving, stereotype-shattering, great/classic work of non-fiction. According to Wikipedia, since 2009 this book (in Russian) has been needed reading by Russian high school students (in Russia).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation []  2020-1-31 7:41

    Already knew a lot of this history but Gulag is on Jordan Peterson's reading list so.... Gulag is not the story of Aleksandr Solzhenitsy, nor is it a history book- it is much more than that. The true value, and I think a main reason its on JP's list, is in the underlying notice that this is not the story of Russia, or the Russian people, or Stalin- or anyone- but of everyone. Every single one of us, every day, in ways huge and small, acts in ways that serve to bring forth either a better world, or the hell of the Gulag Archipelago. Be warned, this is some very unpleasant reading. No one wants to think of being imprisoned indefinitely in a "cell" too little even to sit or lie down in, allow alone in one with so a lot of bedbugs they are falling off the ceiling and crawling from everywhere, so a lot of you cannot slay them all even if you could stomach the stench. But it will be worth it to absorb the lesson that this is the cost and end effect of lies. Speak the truth. At whatever cost. If you wish to know how high the cost of lies can be, read the Gulag Archipelago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Genuinely still a 5/5 after all these years, must have played this android game for at least 500 hours over the years, ive had it since my HTC Tattoos days(2010ish) Addictive as hell android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    If only I could go head to head with other players. It gets boring after a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Now I remember why I uninstalled it years ago... It's addiction in the truest form. I need to uninstall soon cuz I cant quit playing. One hint is to skip all the 2 player campaign levels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    I have played this for about 5 years... I think i require medical help. It's the excellent level of simplicity and challenge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Amazing game. Easy and simple to learn tactic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    I think ive had this android game since my blackberry mid 2000's, still my goto game. Amazing distraction android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    HAD FOR YEARS STILL PLAYING.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    I have been playing this android game for a year, I relaxes me. Want they would come up with other levels or a ver 2

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    I've been playing this android game for years now & I still like it. I really want the developer would come out with a sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Really simple, addictive game. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    This android game is super easy but really addictive. If I need to hold one little android game on my phone, this is THE one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Addictive game. Easy concept but very tactical. AI gets really nasty later on, very hard to beat. Campaigns are nearly impossible! Don't be fooled by the easy idea... you have to plan your actions and hasty moves are quickly punished... 1.30am... just one more game... could do with a mute option on the begin screen rather than buried in the menu.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Love this game, cannot place it down despite completing the ranks, I begin over and over. Increasing rank doesnt seem to increase difficulty. The android game unfortunately is too simple which is why I gave only 4 stars. More islands would be amazing as some levels there are only about 7 so the level is beautiful much over in 10-15 seconds. overall very amazing game, few tweaks could create this a strategic masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Came in the latest room I installed but disappeared in a reset, now im buying it...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    I've been playing this android game for almost 8 years

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Best 89p I ever spent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Amazing easy android game that keeps me entertained for a either a few mins or an hour. It needs the option to turn the melody or sound effects on/off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Can't restart campaign after you have obtained the highest rank

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Needs to be harder...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Fungi

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Fun, challenging

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Best time waster ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Best time killer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    The heroin of mobile games. Addictive as hell and even though I've long since finished it I still play it. Have had it years and it's still my go to game...And I hate mobile gaming generally

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Menu key no longer activates menu so no method to turn the sound off or other options like restart the campaign. So once you finish the campaign, you're 100% done for good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    I love this small game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Been playing this android game forever on every device... Relaxing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Love this game. Need more levels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archipelago [App]  2019-9-21 1:58

    Amazing fun and developer is very responsive and begin to ideas. Love that this ver of the android game has permissions required, thank you very much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago (Pocket Penguins) []  2020-2-10 18:56

    Very good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago (Pocket Penguins) []  2020-2-10 18:56

    The book arrived in excellent conditions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago (Pocket Penguins) []  2020-2-10 18:56

    If you are interested in natural history this will obtain you thinking, in to hold up with it I had to two bird books and a butterfly book. I think that Wallace was remarkably prescient. It is NOT an overnight read, I do about 3 pages a day. Needless to say I thoroughly recommend it but only to selected readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago (Pocket Penguins) []  2020-2-10 18:56

    This book completes the quartet of popular nature/travel writings by amazing scientists of the nineteenth century. It follows in the footsteps of Humboldt’s “Personal Narrative”, Darwin’s “Voyage of the Beagle” and Bates’s “The Naturalist on the River Amazons”. All four books are thoroughly entertaining, though all are also rather is fresh Penguin edition is an perfect one. (I am referring to the paperback edition – I cannot comment on the Kindle edition.) It is nicely produced; it contains both volumes in one book; and it includes an perfect and very full introduction by Andrew fore he went on the expedition described in this book, Wallace had already travelled to South America (initially with Bates), and the dangers of such expeditions are shown by the fact that Wallace’s younger brother died of yellow fever in South America and by the fact that, while he was returning to England, Wallace’s ship sank and he lost most of the specimens he had collected, with Wallace and the squad being rescued after spending ten days in an begin e travels described in this book form the background to the contribution that Wallace created to the development of the field of biogeography. Berry explains the significance of “Wallace’s Line” in his introduction.But Wallace is best known for coming up with the theory of evolution by natural selection independently from Darwin. In fact the idea occurred to him when he was laid up suffering from fever while on the expedition detailed in this book. (Though Wallace does not actually mention this in “The Malay Archipelago”.)Wallace certainly deserves for independently coming up with the same idea as Darwin, but nobody should take seriously the ridiculous conspiracy theory which claims that Darwin stole the theory of natural selection from Wallace.Wallace himself was always satisfied to play second fiddle to Darwin. For example, in 1908 Wallace created a speech to the Linnaean Society in which he explicitly defended Darwin’s priority, pointing out that “...the idea occurred to Darwin in October 1838, nearly twenty years earlier than to myself (in February 1858); and that during the whole of that twenty years he had been laboriously collecting evidence...”Darwin’s notebooks from the 1830s and his essays of 1842 and 1844 present that Darwin had developed his theory long before he published “On the Origin of Species” and long before Wallace had his brainwave.Wallace was an admirable character. He did not have the advantages of wealth that Darwin had; he was a socialist (of sorts) who had progressive views on a lot of issues; and his attitude towards native peoples was, as Berry says, “unusually enlightened” for an era when racism was rife.Wallace also disagreed (later in his life, at least) with Darwin’s mistaken decision to let into his evolutionary theory a subsidiary role for the Lamarckian idea of the inheritance of acquired characteristics. In this, Wallace has been said to be more Darwinian than Darwin himself.Unfortunately, on the negative side, Wallace also ended up believing in spiritualism and arguing that the human brain/mind could not have evolved. Darwin and Wallace had become amazing friends, but Darwin was disappointed with Wallace over this issue. Darwin and Wallace also differed over the relative importance of natural selection and selection. But these differences of opinion did not stop Darwin successfully campaigning to obtain a state pension for Wallace.I thoroughly recommend this book, which incidentally was a favourite of David Attenborough’s when he was a boy. But if you wish to know more about Wallace, I would also recommend “Alfred Russel Wallace: A Life” by Peter Raby, and “Infinite Tropics: An Alfred Russel Wallace Anthology” edited by Andrew il Webster.(England)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago (Pocket Penguins) []  2020-2-10 18:56

    I just loved it. Vivid writing. Fascinating mix of science and travel diary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago (Pocket Penguins) []  2020-2-10 18:56

    Unbelievable Classic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago (Pocket Penguins) []  2020-2-10 18:56

    An epic journey in every sense of the word. Its interesting a previous reviewer asserts that any claim that Darwin stole the idea of natural selection from Wallace is a "ridiculous conspiricy theory".Most of Darwin's earlier writings on the topic are muddled and incomplete and largely draw upon ideas as already evinced by contemporaries like Hooker, Lyell and Lamarck.Darwin hastily published his findings only after first receiving a letter from Wallace from the Malay that was the first complete explanation of the the theory of natural selection and they were read on the same day at the next National Geographic Society meeting in London. Darwin's was read first so he got the the credit. e only reason Wallace took a back seat to Darwin is he didn't care for the spotlight that came with being the originator of such a e beauty of this book is that it takes you through a lot of of Wallace's experiences that are all the time shaping his ideas about natural selection and its role in evolution. While he is often more a naturaliat than a scientist he treats nature like his laboratory, keenly documenting his a lot of astute observations. Surrounded by Orangutans and Birds of Paradise, witnessing striking various floras and faunas on each island, and mingling with tribesman that had become experts at utilizing their particular surroundings.-It allows you to understand how he developed such a powerful grasp of the concept of how monsters change over the years to become better adapted to their environments.Darwin, meanwhile,was back in the UK chopping up every domesticated animal carcass he could search in his lab, battling health issues, onto it but not quite able to crack to e difference between the two men? While Darwin was searching desperately for the key mechanism for evolution in the sterile man-made confines of a laboratory, Wallace was immersing himself firmly among the process in all its glory in the wilds and the theory found him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    An absolutely fabulous book by a much overlooked genius. The typos and errors are really not much of a distraction from a amazing read. What Wallace endured and discovered should put him in the elite group of scientists and explorers. Read it with an atlas in the other hand to obtain the most of this thoroughly enjoyable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    Allow me first obtain out of the method why I didn't give this 5 stars. The easy fact is that it was horrendously edited. I realize it was a group of volunteers who transcribed the original so we could have it for on Kindle and I applaud and appreciate that. But surely, someone could have at least read it through and edited it correctly. If it wasn't for the editing it would certainly have 5 is is a fascinating book. In every possible way. One might think that it would be a easy travel journal with a focus only on insects and birds, but it is so very much more than that. It opens a window onto the social and scientific climate of the 1850s in a large way. From the very casual and nonchalant racism and sexism and superiority complex of the white man, to a bit more self-aware discussion of how his own society fails and is flawed in comparison to the peoples he meets during his travels, how missionaries might be better off evangelizing through action than word, how a lot of of the assumptions of what culture is are is however, also a book about birds and beetles, and butterflies etc. But through the lens of a man who is beyond excited about seeing things that so few Europeans have seen and even fewer have seen through the eyes of a scientist. He discusses the work of his peers, such as Darwin as it relates to his observations, he discusses the reasons for some shortcomings in the work of those who cam before him. And finally he lays out his ideas for the concept of the Wallace Line a hugely necessary concept in understanding evolution and natural history via geographical/geological s fascinating and strong to see how much work was done with nothing but observation while trekking through the jungle for years. No microscopes, no genetic studies, no lab, few doctors or medicine, no engine for his boat at the mercy of the nature he is partially appealing due to the adventure, partially due to the insight, the discovery of fresh species, and partially the fact that we have a first hand acc of growing of a scientific field. Worth the read. I can only suggest people do, see if you can search a ver that has pictures to accompany his descriptions and amazing editing though, it would create it just that much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    It's a small dry.....much like a school history book. It's factual and detailed but not really all that interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    Interesting book with amazing content but although it claims to be illustrated the pictures are few and far between and none are from the original publication. In addition it is full of typos that look like the effect of not good OCR scanning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    A must-read for every ecologist and every traveler in Indonesia. An awesome man!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    Most everyone has already noted this: this book is an awesome resource by a very racist researcher. Most colonial accounts are like this, so brace yourself. This is a biologist's travel journal. Priceless recorded history, culture, environment, mores, customs, etc from a male colonizer gaze.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    very amazing complement to the reading on the voyage of the Beagle. It is amazing to read directly from the author, to read what people have done to support us learn about ourselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    Really perfect travelogue of the area, did review of book for Choice, gives background of politics locally and internationally, shows the issues collectors encountered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    Yes, the book is full of typos, etc. But...I search Wallace's journals fascinating; not just as a story of (the sometimes mundaneity of) adventure (the everyday slog, info of arranging trips and so forth), but as a picture of the mind and times of a working-class Victorian explorer. I have fun having this book in my pocket, so to speak. I'm grateful to Amazon for making it available to me for free.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Malay Archipelago : Volume II (Illustrated) []  2020-2-9 18:49

    This classic in natural history is a amazing choice to read on your intelligent phone during the long plane trip to Indonesia. I think I would have liked BOTH Wallace and Darwin!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    The book will give a climpse into the workings of the british empire in kenya and the books does a amazing job of telling the truth about the terriable things the british were doing to the people of kenya. They were not so civil and yes definately not Christian in deed and actions . The birth of the modern day kenya was marked but alot of brutality from the british towards kenyans if you wish an accurate look into colonial kenya from an impartial source i would recommend you begin with this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    I now realize a lot more about my country than I did before. I found this historical book very enlightening and can now realize a lot more of the issues in our world. Someone else started the issues and we are left to clean up. This is history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    Review -Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya"Mau Mau: The Kenyan Emergency" by Peter Baxter is a very clean, very nice and respectable report on the official actions of the British governmental officials during the years 1950 - 1060. The detail of the official actions of the government are well laid out. The names and personalities of the Kenyan governors and others in power are nicely laid out. Peter Baxter was born in Kenya, now lives in the US, and writes extensively of African history, especially the battles of liberation 1950 - 1980.But, reading this at the same time as reading "Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya" by Caroline Elkins, a Harvard Graduate Student, the difference in the sides of the story told is amazing. Baxter briefly mentions brutality and mental illness, and how the majority of the deaths were in his acc black on black. Baxter mentions the pipeline of detainees and forced labor but does not delve into the horrors of these camps like Elkins does. Baxter makes brief reference to the racism and immorality of the white settlers. Elkins remarks on a Nairobi social club frequently visited by the settlers in which on entrance the members were obliged by their own rules to switch partners and rooms were provided for "entertainment." The screenings of all blacks in Nairobi for Mau Mau sympathy and aid, Operation Anvil, is mentioned in both books. Baxter merely states the men and a lot of women were taken to detainee camps outside the city. Elkins talks of beatings, torture, castration, starvation, exposure to elements and other mistreatment of the blacks taken off the road on the merest whiff of evidence, suspicion, or retaliation that occurred in those detention camps.I also have read Peter Hewitt's private memoirs "Kenya Cowboy" of his time in the Kenyan Police Force during this same period. Hewitt's acc is a retelling of his private experiences and not of the other issues about in Kenyan at that time. But Baxter quotes Hewitt at length in help of his outlining of the official government actions. Hewitt's acc also testifies to the physical state of the Mau Mau after 1955, which was horrible. Hewitt's acc is very private as to his actions and experiences. Hewitt entered Kenya a few short months after the Ruck Massacre, and about the same time as the Lari Massacre. Hewitt does not go into the pipeline or other aspects of the e legends in history classes that adhere to the Mau Mau "emergency" are of vague "horrible deeds" done by 1) the Mau Mau, 2) the British officials and troops and 3) the loyalists Kikuyu. While Elkins writes with all the indignation of a person who finds her heroes have clay feet, Baxter writes to justify and minimize the episodes of the actual history. I suspect the truth is somewhere in the middle. Both Baxter and Elkins mention the plethora of books on the battles of African Liberation and how they vary in content. Thus one has to consider the violence and virulence of the period and how both sides and the later researchers are all still pushing their points of view. Baxter's book is a amazing outline of the official actions of the British. Elkins book is researched among the Kikuyu people and well reflects their recollections and oral traditions. Aside from the similarity of the names of people and locations and dates, one would not think one was reading of the same people, put and period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    Allow me just say that this is a depressing and compelling book. Not a decade after the end of WWII Britain instituted its own system of brutal prison camps in Kenya that violated every human rights accord Britain had signed in the wake of one of the greatest atrocities in history. The purpose of this was to suppress a rebellion of the anti-colonial Mau Mau in Kenya. The British portrayed themselves as trying to bring civilization to the backwards ignorant Africans but the facts present that this was not the case at all. Using a combination of 1st person interviews and archival research, Caroline Elkins proves that the British suppression of the Mau Mau was far from civilizing and as the title states was much more akin to a Soviet prison camp than the rehabilitation centers they were said to be. The level of detail that Elkins gives taken from accounts of prisoners and expose's done by government investigators create for hard reading and the level of detail can obtain repetitive at times creating a numbing result for the reader. I believe the reason for this is to refute British denials of wrong doing and Elkins does accomplish this. This is a amazing book that exposes the real brutality behind colonization and the nature of the "civilization" that was imposed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    This was one of the hardest book that I ever read, even though it was well written and interesting. I persisted since I was going to lead Healing from Battle and Genocide workshops in Nigeria and Kenya in May 2017 for Black Africans from about 17 various countries. The book provided me with very valuable info about the history of e history was very disturbing to read. After all this happened after the Nazi genocide of the Jews of Europe and was committed by the British government with the knowledge and collusion of the leaders of the Conservative party. The stories of murder, rape, and torture, and forced evacuation of their homes and villages, were confirmed when I listened to the stories of about a dozen elders [men and women ages 80 to 106] while I was in Kenya.I do have one complaint about the book. Professor Elkins only uses the word "genocide" once to describe the British actions in Kenya. I wrote to her asking why, but did not keep an answer. From my perspective what Elkins describes fits the definition of genocide from the U.N.: killing members of the group; causing them serious bodily or mental harm; deliberately inflicting on them conditions calculated to bring about the group’s physical destruction; imposing measures to prevent births within the group; forcibly transferring kids of the group to another group. (adapted from the United Nations Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide, adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on December 9, 1948).Read the book and you can decide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    Kenya in the "Emergency" of the Mau-Mau rebellion by the Kikuyu people filled the 1950s up to the early 1960s British decision to relinquish "colonial" control and let independence. They are the years flowing into my life as a (not Peace Corps) resident teacher at then remote websites at Homa Bay and Ikuu near Chuka high on the slopes of Mount Kenya. The most disturbing portions included learning how close I was to some of the worst (not the absolute worst) abuses were committed by British authority and its surrogate white settler authority on the ground in Kenya. I was reminded of when I showed a photograph of American citizens being loaded on trucks and buses to be taken away to detention camps out in the deserts of California and Arizona. They rn in America with Japanese ancestry, causing their homes and other property to be taken away. The picture was a park only a block away from where we lived in California. I was less than 3 years old at the time so I could safely say, "I didn't know" as my mother did. So much we seem to not know. it was what a lot of Germans said when confronted by Nazi death camps after Globe Battle II. The book extensive documation of horrors reminiscent of Holocaust atrocities. Documents were severely limited because unlike the Germans. British authorities had opportunity to destroy most materials during what became a warm and friendly turnover of power to Kenya's first Kikuyu President Jomo Kenyatta. I did have fun comments on the Luo possible president Tom Mboya who was three times in my house in my Homa Bay home. Unfortunately he was assassinated on the road of Nairobi. The other Luo mentioned is Oginga Odinga. His son Raila has twice run for the Presidency, first in 2007. Since President Obama's father was born and raised near Homa Bay, Luos in Western Kenya exclaimed, "only in America can a Luo be elected President. Somehow we in this nation should take a measure of pride. My worry is it seems most Kenyans, like most British, somehow have forgotten (as we have of American-Japanese internment and "ethnic cleansing" of native Americans) these atrocities that became so simple for too a lot of to commit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dive Maldives: A Guide to the Maldives Archipelago []  2020-1-25 17:42

    To begin, The Maldives are a group of over 400 islands (many uninhabited) that can be found in the Indian Ocean south-west of the Indian continent. These are the 'paradise' islands - idyllic bleached sand, green lagoons and blue ocean. The sun is virtually guaranteed 365 days a year (though trade winds can support lower the temperature from time to time). Most islands can be circumnavigated on foot in less than ten minutes, so I would advise anyone thinking of visiting The Maldives to do so only if they wish a holiday with nothing to see and nowhere to go, OR wish to spend their holiday clutching the bar stool and watching the waves caress the beach, OR love water sports. It's as quiet as that, and scuba, snorkeling and water-skiing are about as active as you'll get. If you fit into the third category, you'll adore these islands and their friendly peoples. You'll undoubtedly appreciate the diving which, in my view, ranks with the very best in the globe (and I've dived a lot of places). Tim Godfrey has spent a considerable amount of time and effort putting together 'Dive Maldives'. When you consider, for a start, that the islands cover an zone of ocean as huge as Texas, you'll understand the scale of the task. And for readers who have attempted underwater photography, you'll appreciate that it can take several dives just to obtain one amazing picture. This book includes 191 superb images taken throughout the atolls that create up The Maldives. Also included are 114 computer-generated maps with descriptions of over 270 dive websites based on the author's private research over 12 years. Included in this comprehensive book is info on uninhabited islands, reefs, Protected Marine Areas, heliports, channel names, and some of the better-known dive website locations. The dive website maps present the topography and scale of the reefs, using symbols for features such as caves, overhangs, saddles and canyons, as well as commonly seen fish and marine life. Here divers can obtain a pre-dive glimpse of what they can expect to see during the dive. EXCELLENT stuff, thoroughly researched and exquisitely photographed. For visitors to The Maldives, who have diving in mind, this book is an absolute MUST HAVE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    I grew up in Kenya in Kikuyu and I always heard stories from my grandmother and amazing grandmother how horrible the British were, but I was young and had no idea how poor it was for our grandparents who survived the colonial period. I wept for my grandparents when I read this book, its unimaginable how cruel and sadistic the British colonial masters were. What's even more sad is that some of the same cruel colonialists still live in Kenya today since not all the settlers moved away after independence. The majority of settlers moved to Rhodesia and South Africa after independence but a huge number of them remained and still occupy vast tracts of prime land in a free, independent and democratic Kenya to this date. There is no statute of limitations for murder and I hope that in the near future we will be able to track down any settler still living in Kenya who is guilty of murder and torture of Africans and create them for their past sins. I for one don't think they should be living a life of luxury in Kenya when they have the blood of so a lot of on their hands. I intend to use my meager resources to search them, expose them and hope that one day they face justice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    This is an awesome book, that should be a recommended reading in every high school. The story of the mau-mau was something I did not know a lot about, and this book was an eye-opener. Caroline Elkins has done a amazing job in thoroughly researching what a lot of wanted buried forever, and bringing out all the sadism and savagery in vivid detail. One of the best books I have read, ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya []  2020-1-24 20:29

    The book, while highlighting a tragic chapter in the history of the Kenyan people as well as the horrific consequences of a paternalistic British colonialism, feels long. This book presents fact after fact connected to the brutal colonial policy of the British in Kenya. I can't think of one example of "benevolent colonialism" and how the British ruled in Kenya will create you sick. How the British could on one hand demonize the Nazi camps in WW2 yet turn around and brutally treat the Kenyan people is mind boggling. While the Mau Mau movement certainly acted in brutal ways at times, it's hard to know what really came first... Mau Mau brutality or British at said, the book feels a bit long. Imagine trying to keep your breath underwater for a long period of time. At some point you have to come up to breathe. When fact after fact of brutality is recollected it seems like it has no end. At a lot of points I had to place the book down because it was just too much. The research done seems top notch but the point was created by chapter 3 or 4.I read this book in preparation for a trip to Kenya this summer. It does give me some modern day historical background that will support in relating to the Kenyan people.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386