Read the guns above reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the guns above reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    This book is sort of "Master and Commander meets airships." A fun alternate-universe book about a Napoleonic-style battle in which blimps and dirigibles with steam-powered propellers provide fighter-bomber air cover for armies marching with muskets and cannons pulled by horses and oxen. The heroine is Lieutenant Josette Dupre, the captain of a little dirigible in a male-dominated troops that still thinks women should not be in combat. The rigid airship (filled with bags of very expensive "luftgas," which one assumes is helium) is armed with two little naval-type cannons and riflemen, but they can also drop exploding cannon shells as bombs. Yes, there are cannons on a dirigible -- what could possibly go wrong? Other non-rigid blimps are filled with "flammable air" (which one assumes is hydrogen), but are still steam powered and topic to catastrophic fiery crashes, especially if they engage in aerial combat. The military actions are entirely consistent in a Napoleonic sense (like the Sharpe novels), and the humorous military dialogue is rip-roaring hilarious and totally believable. There are two books out in the series so far, and a fresh one is supposed to be out in 2020. This is a must-read, and you won't be sorry. I hope the author keeps this series going for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    Overall, I liked the book. Unlike a lot of steampunk novels, the airships here are much more realistic - not magical contraptions, which I found interesting. (And unusual.)Characters and story were... okay. Plot was not that complicated, (or interesting) more of a car to obtain the characters doing things, and and excuse to do airship stuff. While I liked the characters, I never got the sense of a whole lot of depth. Not necessarily a poor thing... not all stories need deep, mysterious pasts or anything.Overall I enjoyed the book. While I am not going to immediately run out and the next one, that has more to do with a heavy backlog of books to read. :) Might I obtain to it eventually? Sure.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the guns above or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    More flintlock-punk, though this one brings in just a bit of steam ink Mundy & Leary in the air, but this time Mundy is in me years ago, Josette Dupre donned male clothes and enlisted in the SignalAirship corps. Apparently this, while not common, happened often enoughthat the powers that be decided to semi-regularize the situation byestablishing an "Auxiliary" officers rank tree beside the normal ranks,and place the women in it. The auxiliaries are strictly forbidden fromflying the airships, and are supposed to be set on the ground beforeany ship enters combat. As the rules are completely impractical, theyare widely ignored, unless someone with pull has a our story opens, Auxiliary Lt. Dupre, her captain having beenshot, has place her failing airship down, deliberately, on the enemyranks and having squashed enough units to turn the war has madea bit of a name for herself in the press, which she dreads as itinevitably brings her to the attention of the commanding generalin the context of stealing his thunder. In fact there is very littlethunder to steal as the pointless conflict over a resource richterritory which changes hands every time a contending country recoversfrom the latest battle is going only so-so, and mostly that's his ill he is fully prepared to cashier Dupre and create an example of her,and by extension all the Auxiliaries (which program he adamantly opposes),and would have done so by now if Dupre hadn't also come to the King'sattention. The King is playing his own android game (apparently) and personallyawards Dupre a *regular* commission, and an airship to go with anwhile young aristocrat "Lord Bernat Manatio Jebrit Aoue Hinkal"comes on screen and we aren't quite sure what to create of him. Heseems like an airhead when he tries to explain local politics to aforeigner, and we first meet him in bed with a hooker. On the otherhand, he kisses her as she's sleeping, and leaves her a gold coin asa tip, neither of which he has to do. In fact, he's beautiful nearly brokeand that hint leaves him just about enough to semaphore to hismother to send money, and have lunch. The answer to that missive isnot as satisfactory as it might be as his mother advises him to seek outhis uncle, who will take care of him. Needless to say, his uncle turnsout to be the commanding general and after a harrowing few mins ofalmost not being able to avoid being sworn into the Troops as an ensign,"Bernie" wangles an assignment to fly on Dupre's ship as an observer, andgather enough dirt on her to allow his uncle end her career despite theKing's complicate matters, the ship is, those three words designed to strikefear into any airman, a 'revolutionary fresh design' and the opponent is aboutto begin a second front, a prospect totally unexpected by the commander, andnot one the generally ramshackle defenses of the country can easily counter.I quite enjoyed this, which is the begin of a series (and the only onecurrently available). My only true complaint would be that "Bernie"wises up more quickly than is realistic. On the other hand, you wouldn'twant the airhead ver center scene for too long..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    This book grabbed me by the throat on the first page and the intensity never allow up!Talk about Honor Harrington but on an airship when women were barely tolerated in this world's Air Signal Corps. The female captain (our protagonist) isn't paranoid because her superiors really ARE out to obtain her and wait anxiously for her to fail!In fact, she's assigned an observer on her first independent airship command (who, fortunately, is at least a amazing shot on the fresh rifles) otherwise completely unqualified to be an airman. He's the General's aristocratic nephew and is there to catalog Lt. Josette Dupre's failings in as much detail as he can so as to obtain Captain Dupre dismissed as quickly as possible from ptain Dupre is given a brand-new airship (with, of course, a revolutionary fresh design) and it is up to her to acquire her supplies (including crew) and place the fresh ship through its paces. I really loved Dupre & her stalwart crew's attitude towards getting her supplies, even if she has to go around the quartermaster, because what bureaucracy wants to give you amazing quality goods without a fight! Dupre is a realist and so is her crew.Highly recommended for fast-paced action, steampunk technology, attention to detail, and characters who don't know the meaning of the word quit when there is a war to fight!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    If Patrick O'Brien wrote historical fiction about a unbelievable alternate earth with airships and massed bayonet charges, you'd obtain something like The Guns Above. Robyn Bennis has written an entertaining and at times surprisingly private book that reads like truth about a globe that doesn't exist. I honestly don't wish to say much more about it than that, except to repeat that it's a amazing adventure, I loved the characters, and you without ever slowing down to a boring pace to walk through the details, it's clear that the science and engineering of this globe 's awesome, and I wish the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    I loved this book! Robyn Bennis is my fresh favorite writer for well-drawn and intriguing characters (the likes of whom I have almost never met) and their believable relationships; historical realism (even though fantastic) and the science of airships; witty repartee and fun; and hold-your-breath war scenes (which are not my usual field of interest). I can't figure out whether I'm getting this for Mom for Mother's Day, Dad for Father's Day (they're divorced and no longer share books), my 20-something nephew for his birthday... or all of them. I think -- all of them. And more mates later will search themselves on this same bonus list... and be thrilled. Looking forward to reading whatever the wicked-smart Robyn Bennis writes next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    I really enjoyed this book. Could not place it down and read it 3 the powerful female protagonist (think Winter Ihrenglass but captain of an airship) Very nicely detailed and suspenseful air battles. Lots and lots of dry wit and humor which had me laughing out nical info on the airships were amazing in globe building but without sounding like you were in a though you have a male antagonist, there is no attempt at romance between the 2 lead characters. Which is awesome.I can't wait for follow-on books and yes, please allow there be a series!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    I was sad when this ended because I wanted more, more more. It was like the end of a amazing vacation and wanted to do it all over again. The story was like an Aubrey–Maturin story (wise captain, his spy friend, politics, war, carousing, naval battles, rough surgery) but steampunk, more accessible and damn quick moving. Can't wait for the later volumes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    The Guns Above by Robyn Bennis is a Steampunk battle story about a woman who, by luck and her willingness to fight, becomes an airship captain. She is set up by the general, with his nephew Bernat being sent aboard to report on her and provide evidence she’s ter the opening battle, the first third or so of the book progresses naturally along these lines with Josette trying to establish her command, and Bernat attempting to foil that, until it gets into the thick of the book where a amazing war is promised and then delivered e plot is beautiful straightforward so it’s a bit hard to talk about that without spoiling it, but those who wish an epic steampunk battle piece will not be disappointed. The amazon listing states this is in the tradition of Honor Harrington, and I think that despite the setting change from zone to airships, this book delivers on that about perfectly. Fans of David Weber should absolutely love r my private tastes, the Weber-esque aspects were the weakest parts of the book. It goes into hefty detail on the workings of the airship, the procedures of the crew, etc. Now this isn’t poor writing by any means, it was all very competently done, but those stretches of pages don’t appeal to me, and they occupy huge portions of the book's true estate in hefty detail. That said, it will likely appeal to every other science fiction reader out there huge time, so it’s understandable why it was written that way.Where Bennis actually does quite well that goes beyond what Weber’s done in my opinion is provide a very perfect dichotomy of characters. Josette is rough, rugged and a hard worker to root for. Bernat at first may drive you crazy, and you’ll search yourself agreeing with Josette’s internal and external assessments of him, but he grows on you as his intelligence and wit are revealed. The side characters like Bernat’s lordly uncle and Jutes are well done and memorable e best part of the book, however, is the tone. It’s so masterfully done and multi-dimensional. While it’s a very dark story, really highlighting the horrors of battle and making a very gritty environment, the sense of humor and sarcasm from the characters makes a unbelievable balance to that. I laughed out loud at several points during the book, which is very difficult to create me do. And at the same time I felt horrible for the characters for what they were thrust into. Being able to achieve both of those moods simultaneously is an wonderful feat in writing. This adds a layer to the characters where they don’t just feel like military ’s paced very well, and the developments are very nice in terms of the war. I want we’d see a small bit more of the private side of the characters, as things are hinted at but the focus stays very much on the war. That’s natural given the crazed state they’re in, but there are points where we could have seen just a small bit more of a push in that direction.On the battle itself, I do appreciate the author’s subtle anti-war messaging to it, the method that Bernat as a lordling really can’t explain what the war’s about and why it matters, nor can the military in Josette. They try, but the reasons are thin. They just have to destroy the opponent because. And sometimes our true battles feel like that in earnest, especially in the latest few decades. Josette’s sense of duty despite this is both admirable in points, and makes you wish to shout at her to do something else – but it does always come off well developed and natural. This notice didn’t come across as preachy at all either, which is a bonus.On the flip side, I didn’t feel much sense of progress from Josette or Bernat internally. The latter gave up on his mission to destroy her, but didn’t really change or develop in much of a sense. Josette by the same token had her command firmed up, but the same in terms of lack of much internal development. And I didn’t obtain a amazing sense of resolution of the battle – now this is consistent with the worldbuilding as the battle is talked about as a multi-generational thing that never seems to end, but I would have liked a clearer resolution in that regard where I at least felt some progress was created one method or ere is one other notice of the whole women are oppressed and held down and everyone’s sexist which is not subtle at all, and while at certain points of the book it can obtain a bit burdensome, I don’t search it as overwhelming as I have in some books. Still at this point, there are far too a lot of books with that monolithic notice where it rings propagandic from publishers in our society rather than ringing true, and it’s not fun to read in the least. For the majority of the book though, it doesn’t have much of an impact or cause too much of a e prose is about perfect. I mentioned the wit and humor at points, but the descriptions of all the airship components and the workings are really marvelous. You feel very immersed in the globe as a reader, it’s incredible. This is a amazing steampunk fantasy globe that’s sensible in every regard.I’ve place a lot of criticism in here but the true reason for that is I was so immersed that I care about the book, settings, and characters. It’s very few and far between that a book makes me care to that level of detail or that I can envision so much of it so vividly. I found all of it memorable, and extremely well done. I’ll go so far to say that this is the best book of 2017 to this point about halfway through the year. Highly recommended.9/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns Above []  2020-1-18 21:18

    I am not sure what about this book caught my eye, but I am glad it did. It was a fun read. And I do mean fun. The author has a dry, clever wit that pleases me down to my toes. She writes a pleasant and compelling narrative, with powerful characters and characterizations. Yes, there are some recognizable tropes, but they are the framing of the story, not it's substance. Yes, you will see some resonance with the Aubrey/Maturin series (of which I am a fan), but this is by no means a copy. It is it's own story with its own is book is a amazing debut with its powerful authorial voice, very small wasted space, and a clear vision of the story being told. I will Bennis' next book the day it comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    As a fan of amazing melodic metal such as IN FLAMES, and SOILWORK, I was so satisfied when I finally descovered another super [email protected]#$% band. And this album especially, is no exeption to their amazing skill. This was the 1st of their albums I bought because the songs on this album were the first songs i heard via youtube. Now I have all their albums but when I first got this, I couldnt stop listenning to it over and over. And even when I wasnt listenning to it, the melody was willingly and pleasently stuck in my head for days. The epic music of their songs is just amazing. I admit I first had to obtain used to the vocal style but I have now and i consider myself one hell of an Insomnium fan. I think this is still my fav album of theirs. BUY THIS AND SUPPORT ONE OF THE ACTUAL GOOD BANDS OUT THERE!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    Wow, I really can't believe anyone has written a review on this timeless piece of metal art! It's been out for how long now? Well, I'm sure somebody can do a better job at writing a review than I ever could, but just my 2 is record blows the previous 2 out of the water. It's in the same vein, but the songs are SONGS! It just keeps getting better everytime I listen to it. After my initial I saved it only for gloomy mornings/days as it's the right melody to set the mood, but just recently I place it in my vehicle stereo on a attractive sunny day and it just created my day even that much better! Go figure. If you're having problem deciding whether or not to obtain this gem, just obtain it. You won't be disapointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Above The Stars [App]  2019-2-22 13:48

    Nice android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    Whoa, I've never heard an album that vibed so well. This album flows so smoothly that it is amazing. What really makes me angry is that I slept on this album for quite some time. This album dropped back in 2002 (I was about 16 at the time), and at that time I was living with my dad in San Antonio, and kept up with all the fresh melody on The Melody Choice Channel. So when I went to Atlanta to visit my mom for the summer, she didn't have cable at all, making it hard for me to hold track of anything that dropped. Basically if an album came out in Spring/Summer of '02, and didn't obtain played on the radio in ATL, chances are that it fell through my hands. But luckly I was able to search this lost gem not too long ago, and I have to say that this album is almost, if not excellent in my opinion.What I like about J-Live's album "All Of The Above" is the fact that he makes some of the most complex hip hop melody and is straight foward about it. Most of the time he pass off positive messages in his rhymes. In "How True It Is" he basically explains how true it is and being positive about the whole thing with such rhymes as, "The illest weapon you can load ain't your nine, boy, load your brain". Another track that has a excellent vibe is "Are You Satisfied", with amazing production and true nice lyrics.I like the tracks "MCee" and "Do That $#!%" how he breaks down what an emcee should sound like, and don't have to rhyme about vehicles and in to prove that they are rappers. On the latter song, he really makes a amazing poing that some people rhyme about pushing expensive vehicles when they are even old enough to drive. And the song "One For The Griot" is a funny storytelling song with one heck of a twisted ending. Thats possibly one of the best storytelling songs I've heard since Slick Rick, if you ask en we have more where the production blends in and vibes perfectly. "Like This Anna" is a head nodder song for attractive women. "The 4th 3rd" is another song with an perfect laid back feel that I found to be perfect. "Travelling Music" and "Charmed Life" have amazing transition from one song to the next. The final track "The Lyricist" really shows appreciation for the art of being a fabolous is album is amazing in my opinion. I'm glad that I heard this album, because it's not too often that I hear something like this. And it's not too often that I give a excellent rating to something. Meaning that it had to blow me away to keep a excellent score, and this album does. "All Of The Above" is possibly one of the best albums that I heard on this side of the 21st century. Chances are if you don't fell this album, you're not into hip hop, plain and simple. Otherwise if you're a fan of real hip hop with positivity, I am almost certain you will have fun this album. Being a lyricist as myself, I wish to create an album something related to this here. Word is rics: A+Production: A+Guest Appearances: A+Musical Vibes: A++Overall: A+My Favorite Tracks: How True It Is, Satisfied?, MCee, Like This Anna, One For The Griot, Do That $#!%, Nights Like This, The 4th 3rd, Travelling Music, All Of The Above, 3 Out Of 7, The LyricistPeace Everyone!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    I know, "consistent pleasure and satisfaction" isn't necessarily what one expects from atmospheric melodic death metal, but that's what you obtain right here. I really have fun this band's work and this record is my favorite in the genre. Their lyrics, which sometimes quote literature and poetry, are very strong, and I search their melody very moving and stirring.Lots of bands have technical chops; lots of bands have growling vocals. Very few bands manage that mysterious alchemy where all the elements come together to bring pleasure, to sweep your emotions around, and to deeply satisfy you all through a song or album. This one does. Just look at all the effort and thought the other reviewers have brought to the table. We're trying to give back what Insomnium has given to e artwork is nice too - a 12 page booklet with paintings and lyrics. I was very satisfied with this purchase. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    I bought this CD looking for a solution to ease my need for pure death/doom metal. What I got was much more than just that. Insomnium has done for me what no other band has ever done. They were the one band that has been almost the excellent band to represent not just my interest in music, but who I am. While Latest Statement sounds a small like Opeth at parts, everything is nothing but original, dark, heavy, atmospheric, and the list goes on. While i could sit here and write a long useless review, I will hold it short and sweet. Insomnium is the one band that any and all death metalheads look for when they for music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Above The Stars [App]  2019-2-22 13:48

    Very fun game. Easy to learn but hard to place down. Always love android games with offline play. The ads are very fair too. No more ads blocking your play zone or forcing you to watch after the level. More developers should do ads like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Above The Stars [App]  2019-2-22 13:48

    Awesome game!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    NOW IF YOU WANT TO KNOW THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS ALBUM, READ THIS REVIEW. DONT IGNORE IT BECAUSE IT'S LONG!With that said...Slept on by many, All of the above is the epitmoe of hiphop; Awesome lyrics, flow, stories, beats, samples, scratches & concepts all into one. J-Live; one of the most slept on and underrated MC's in the entire history of hiphop, with this release, has proven just why he is considered to be of the most smart and creative Mc's ever to emerge from the underground. Now, the reason why so a lot of slept on this is probably because it does not initially have the same impact that the "best part" did (and still does due to it having finally being released properly)as the best part showcased tight lyrics but even better beats w/guys such as DJ Premier, Pete Rock & other respectable producers. Whereas, All of the above is more of a lyrics & concept album...in this respect it is literally flawless. Proof of this is the exceptional joint "MCee" where J-Live threads the letters "M" and "C" into the starts of words, sentences and so a lot of other locations so brillianly it's no wonder he was an English Teacher. Now, I know peeps will be saying "yeh, well that aint original...some guys do the entire alphabet" So what...its the method in which J-Live lets his flow rip up the track and makes it rhyme at the same time."You know why, cause I'ma Master of Ceremonies,Making a Comeback,n Moving the Crowd w/ Angry Charisma,Most of y'all cornballs, Mingle at Concerts,Making a Claim but you know who is the ['MC']More Concentration on My Cadence Might Cloud your mindControlling your Movement Capaciously,My Capacity to Massacre Crumbs And Motive ChangeMost Certainly Makes you Consider Me,Champion, Microphone is Consistently,Modelling Candor of Magnificence,Cunning and Marvelous,Crafty yet Malevolent,To all Cultivators of Mindless Crap!Yeh, now thats what you call Hiphop, and thats whats missing in this game...originality. Now, to dwell on only one song would mean surely that the whole album pales in comparison...NO! Beautiful much all tracks on this album have their own concepts and sound that create the album a much more of a varied listen. For example tracks like "How True It Is" talk about the realness of life in actuality and what responsibilites come with handling your ish like a man. Then "Satisfied" (Considered by some to be the best J Live track of all time) talks about the tragedy of 9/11 and priorities and values that we all share. The beat is just crazy on this one..making you wish to throw your fist up and stand for something. Then on a more lingustically clever approach, Live tells a Vivid story with a dozens of twists on "one for the griot", whilst "Like This Anna" uses the idea of a woman named "Anna" to play with the idea of the phrase "it's like this and a, its like that and a" used commonly in hiphop today. However, for me, the best of these is "A Charmed Life" where live talks about his life stages over a ridiculously chilled out and charming jazz I would say the ONLY Flaw about this album is the method that the "stir of echoes" track and the "interlude" were place together as they are both easily the most un-satisfying of the tracks and definitely slow the energy of the album down. But that's the only flaw for me with this album. Now, With all that said any REAL hiphop head (and I mean it, I aint using this played out term for nothing) MUST OWN THIS, along with the best part! You will have stumbled across a gem that you never really payed much attention of the best Lyrical masterpieces ever created, All of the above is something that you cannot afford to just ignore! J-Live if you reading this then KEEP DOIN YOUR THING, it really is appreciated over here in the UK...keep on keeping it LIVE!And with that said...all I can say is 10/10 Lyrics 9/10 Beats (and thats being critical) a slept on refreshing rics - 10/10Beats - 10/10Originality - 10/10Replay Value - 9/10P.S. Pick up anything else by J-LiveIf you found this helpful, check out my other reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    I just picked up this rarely-mentioned LP from the Fresh York underground MC. I like this album, and I'm glad I have it, but overall, it's one I'm going to forget about beautiful e intro "First Things First" is nice, a small too long perhaps, and the first two songs are great! "How True It Is" has quality lyrics and the chorus never stays the exact same, and "Satisfied" is awesome, my favorite off the whole album. "Satisfied" is a moving and rallying political statement, that almost makes me wish to obtain up and march and throw my fist in the air! The first interlude("I'm A Rapper") is effective and hits home moving into "MCee," a well-written song, with an obligatory sample of Rakim, and a superb second verse showcasing his skills. "Like This Anna" plays on an old phrase and gives sincere tip to the women out there, and "4th 3rd" is similar, about a love that couldn't be because of difference in religions. In "One For The Griot," J-Live tells kind of a hackneyed story, but excells when he uniquely gives two various twists to it at the end. "Stir of Echoes" has a spacious, twisty beat and is only perfect based on the strength of the latest verse by J.Once the second interlude comes in, it seems the momentum and energy of the album kind of dies. Maybe it can be blamed on the mellowness of the latest half of the album, but none of these songs stand out as much as the amazing ones in the first half. Actually, "Nights Like This" was very good. It's a slower, sultry track where J-Live gets at his introspective and conscious best. "All In Together Now," was commendable and sounds amazing on paper, where he interchanges the sentences and they still create sense, but isn't that amazing to hear. "Travelling Music"...decent, but probably filler, and the title track and "Happy Belated" are alright, but easily forgettable. "A Charmed Life" may be one of the better ones though, where he gives his autobiography, which is a welcome addition here. The tracks have some moments, but ultimately forgettable.I appreciate J-Live's presence on the underground scene, and the fact that he produced some of the songs and worked the turntables for a lot of of them should not be taken lightly. My observation of him has to do with originality. His voice and flow are above-average, but oh-so-familiar. He can't really be blamed for that can he? His lyrics are good, they represent what's amazing about Hiphop, but they're all-to-similar to what you will hear from the next conscious or underground MC. Seriously, with few exceptions, it's something you've heard before if you actually have been following underground Hiphop. Example being "One For The Griot," despite a special approach to it, he describes a very generic story, at least for rap's sake. While I commend him for spitting what he does, and it's obvious he's very studied in Hiphop melody and has some tangible skills, you don't hear too a lot of original thoughts. He's headed in the right direction, but he needs to eventually search his own voice and own opinions. Know what I mean?J-Live is an artist that I will be following in the future, but the flashes of brilliance displayed on this album are nearly negated by lack of originality in lyrics. However, one zone that he does present originality, other than DJ'ing and producing, is song-writing. He gives a nice dozens of songs that differ in flow, #of verses, and time. He isn't relegated to the three verse, 3+1/2 min song structure that is employed by so a lot of others. He doesn't always hold the choruses the exact same in some of the songs as well. I don't know how he can improve the uniqueness of his lyrics, though. Maybe, if he were to not curse as much, which he does quite often here despite no Advisory symbol, because it doesn't seem like it comes naturally by him, it seems forced often times. Also, despite his conscious lyrics and introspective takes, there is no mention of a god as the foundation of his being. The best MC's throughout time, in huge part, all have mentionings or odes to a greater power at work in their lives. Talking about your spiritual sides or beliefs in Hiphop never gets old! The production throughout is solid(some done by him), often jazzy, but somehow, I don't usually say this, but this album almost bores me sometimes. It's easily too long, and too drawn out, would have been better if the # of tracks would have be chop down. In the end the best things about this album are the song "Satisfied" and the cover, which is a replication of the legendary John Coltrane's "Blue Train." Damn! Even that's not original.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Above The Stars [App]  2019-2-22 13:48

    amazing android game lot of fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    I have nothing really fresh to add to the numerous positive reviews on here. That said, I'm just chiming in to lend help to this album. Above the Weeping Globe is the only Insomnium album I own, so I can't compare it to other works in their catalog. I do, however, listen to a amazing of melo-death, and I can say definitively that this is the best melodic death metal album I've bought in a long time. Drawn to Black is, in my opinion, the stand out track.If you've exhausted the supply of classic entries in the genre (Slaughter of the Soul, The Jester Race, etc) and are looking to expand to a band still releasing powerful material, I can't recommend Insomnium highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    If you've got an ultra massive itch that requires attention, this my mates is prescription strength medication. Now, while I truly have fun a few Melo-Death Metal bands I can not falsely claim that I am a longtime hardcore fan. However, I am a hardcore fan of this band, and in particular this CD. In my opinion this is Melodic Death Metal done to perfection, or as near to perfection as this genre has ever produced. The melody is extremely heavy, yet very melodic, and is just plain exhilarating to listen to. The lyrics are excellent, and can only be described as superbly written dark poetry, REAL poetry. However, it should be noted that while the lyrics are excellent, the vocal delivery is very difficult to understand. But this is somewhat normal for the genre, and since the melody on this CD is so outstanding the vocal shortcoming really does not bother me that much. However, on the other hand, in the case of this CD I am not sure it is a shortcoming, but rather a conscious and savvy decision to hold the growling vocals at a moderate volume to hold them from becoming overwhelming. Yeah, I'm going with , while a lot of of you may search this CD on the tame side, for me this CD very skillfully pushes the envelope of what I am willing to listen to. Anyone who dismisses this CD as soon as they hear the growling vocals will have no idea that they've just missed out on one of the best metal CD's ever; seriously. Again, it is extremely massive but still has an perfect flow and melodic sense to it. This CD is not all about constant blast and hyperblast beats, or being nonstop quick and furious just for the sake of. I think this CD is simply extraordinary, and I can say without reservation that this is the best Melo-Death Metal CD I've ever heard. It's clear that a lot of others also believe that this CD is something very special, as currently this CD has received only high praise and five star ratings, deserved five star ratings.If you have never listened to this genre of melody before create no mistake about it these are tightly timed complex compositions performed by accomplished musicians. Your average mainstream musicians could not even attempt to play this difficult material. In terms more of you may understand, it would be like asking Nickelback to play Dream Theater's 'Stream Of Consciousness', or play Opeth's 'Ghost Of Perdition', or anything from Dream Theater or Opeth really. It's just not going to happen. Or it would be like giving Kindergartners instruments and asking them to play Nickelback material. Probably not going to happen. OK, that was a bit harsh, but you obtain my point. Now, although this CD is certainly not for everyone, if you are an honest and real Metal fan you will surely search this CD to be an essential addition to your melody collection.***************************UPDATE - November 21, 2007I owned this album for six months before submitting the above review, and owned it an extra six months before submitting this addendum. Well, after a full year I've concluded that this is not just a really amazing or amazing album, it's a phenomenal album, a juggernaut. Furthermore, I now own all of the albums that most consider to be the best Melo-Death Metal albums of all time, but in my opinion, to date this album is the genre's acme. For what it is I consider 'Above The Weeping World' to be the (non-mainstream) equivalent of Iron Maiden's 'Powerslave', Dio's 'Holy Diver', AC/DC's 'Back In Black' or Metallica's 'Metallica'. 'Above The Weeping World' is a Melodic Death Metal masterpiece, and I use the word masterpiece somewhere between rarely and never.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    Another amazing album from these guys. One for sorrow probably still my favorite, but this is top 3. Amazing stuff

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    With reading all these amazing reviews I was looking forward to receiving this album, and now i'll probably be putting it up on eBay sometime place it rather bluntly the album bores me. I mean haven't we basically heard this all before. Nothing really original or innovative. I don't think his lyrics are all that witty, and the subjects he speaks about are all commonplace. The only other time I've heard J-live was in Dan the Automator and Prince Paul's Handsome Boy Modeling School. In "The Truth," he is so witty and uses a common law theme throughout the track. It was one of the best rhymes I've heard. I was expecting more of this, but it is few and far e production is beautiful solid with some decent scratching. J-Live definetly has skills, and comes out with a solid release, but he brings nothing fresh to the hip-hop table in terms of production, lyrics, or delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    This album came out when I was a college senior in VA (April '02). I was delivering pizzas at the time and I stopped by Plan 9(a local spot) to some fresh material during my break. I saw this album sitting in a bin marked "Employee Favorites". I saw it was a hip hop album, but I didn't know who J - Live was. So I said "what the hell" and I bought it. Now, this album is in my favorite 25 hip hop albums ever (see my listmania list). There aren't a lot of flaws on this album. If you need a break from "hip pop", then give this album a listen. You won't be disappointed. The beats are on point and the lyrics are straight fire. You can't miss with this album. If you're a "hip pop" fan that wants to expand your library a little, this album will fit in nicely. It has an old school feel to it, but it's still hot. J Live is a multidimensional MC. "One For The Griot" is storytelling at its best while he takes a well known hip hop saying and turns it into a love song about a girl named Anna on "Like This Anna" and on "MCee" he raps the whole song using words that begin with M and C. J Live is an emcees emcee, he can do it rsonal Favorites: Satisfied?, Interlude 1 (I'm A Rapper), One For The Griot (my favorite), Travelling Music, MCee, A Charmed Life, & Nights Like This

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Above The Stars [App]  2019-2-22 13:48

    Awesome android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    This was my 2nd of Insomnium and I really like it. I was looking for something massive with amazing guitar work and Above the Weeping Globe works with growling vocals front to back. The overall mix is done well allowing one to crank this up without concern. I do think the vocals could have been turned up in the mix a notch or 2. The guitars work well together both massive and accoustic, the bass player adds some bottom that give the lead guitar room to roam and the drummer nails his part perfect. Plus, the drummer picks some nice spots for double bass runs without overdoing it. Insomnium was a nice discovery for me for a dozens of reasons. While there is heavier-faster-thrashier melody Above the Weeping Globe is beautiful solid. It follows up Since the Day All Came Down, which I also enjoyed, with amazing growth in their songwriting. It's moody melody that ebbs and flows yet a fun ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    I had heard one of Insomnium's previous albums before ever hearing this one, I my thought was kind of "meh". I'd even forgotten who they were until I listened to this one."Mortal Share" is hard to miss. That was my hook into listening to this album, and honestly, it took me about 3 or 4 listens through the album before I started thinking, "Wow... this is really good!". That is unusual, because I knew right away that Scar Symmetry, In Flames and ETOS were awesome. Insomnium's melody seems a bit on the "simple" side for some reason, but their songwriting overall it superb and totally makes up for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    I stumbled across this album almost 10 years ago... I don't even remember how. I had never heard of J-live, but by the time I got to the third track I was hooked. It's the kind of album that you can listen to the whole method through. It's a shame that this isn't played on the radio for more people to obtain a taste of it, but it just makes it that much better for those that have heard it.Favorite tracks:2. How True It Is3. Satisfied?14. Travelling Music15. A Charmed Life

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    One of the best albums I've ever heard. Lyrically, J-Live is light years above his peers. It's the type of album you'll catch fresh quotes after the 100th om rhyming about being a rhyme, to changing the storyline multiple times, to spitting a verse where every two words start with M and C, the best summer night song (Nights Like This)...the album is crazy O it's up there with The Best Part.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    It's hard to believe that this "little problem" almost sidelined the career of one of today's sharpest emcees. Having worked as a 7th and 8th grade English teacher, his lyrical dexterity and poetic attributes are just as much a effect of his schooling as his love for Hip-Hop. After achieving The Source magazine's "Unsigned Hype" accolade while still a student and an impressive 39,000 copies of his independently released debut singles "Braggin Writes" and "Can I Obtain It" in 1995 and 1996, J-Live found his highly anticipated first album, The Best Part, shelved indefinitely due to major record label consolidation. Though never released officially, the massively bootlegged effort would go on to become an underground , thanks in part to the hype gained by the tragedy that befell The Best Part, J-Live is in the driver's seat with another highly anticipated "debut" LP, this one called All of the Above. Filled with the agile raps and quality melody that fans have associated with this artist, the album will definitely strike a "blow to the state" of current mediocre Hip-Hop. So, what does it take to be a amazing emcee? Rhymes? Storytelling ability? Delivery? Craftsmanship? The respond is simple:All of the above.J-Live kicks things off with a universal greeting of peace and a short freestyle on "First Things First." Over the smooth jazz track laced with a rumbling bass line and vibrant xylophone accompaniment, he introduces his fresh album and allows himself the opportunity to vent about the fiasco that keeps his real first debut album collecting dust. It's cool that he included that so people can see that even intelligent and talented artists like him are vulnerable to industry politricks.With "One for the Griot" J pays respect to the revered African storytellers of old by weaving a story of his own, punctuating it with a tense guitar and piano driven track. The story he tells is of a man who awakens to search himself in a strange bed after a long night of partying and drinking at the club. The effects of the alcohol have all but erased his memory, so he struggles to remember info from the previous night and cope with his situation. Another inventive aspect of the song is that J-Live changes the ending of the song twice in a cool "Choose Your Own Adventure" book style, to further place extra twists on the story. On "A Charmed Life" J allows himself to respect and give thanks to his own family for raising and teaching him and exposing him to music.J also dips into some very substantive subjects on All of the Above. J-Live raps some words for inspiration and help for women with the superb "Like This Anna," cleverly modifying the classic emcee adlib of "like this and a, like that and a" to build the song; creativity at its finest. This track has a very smooth "electric" vibe, reminiscent of some of the classic Hip-Hop love ballads authored by A Tribe Called en, the Five Percenter leaps out of him for an inspired performance on the politically charged "Satisfied?" Using a folk harmonica to add dramatic result to a famous drumbeat, the emcee imparts his thoughts about peoples priorities and values relating to wealth and social standing. He even questions the validity of looking at the police in a various light since September 11th. J raps,"The same ones that traded books for guns/ smuggled drugs for funds/ and had fun lettin' off forty-one/ but now it's all about NYPD caps, and Pentagon bumper stickers/ but yo, you still a ni**a/ it ain't right them cops and them firemen died, the sh*t is true tragic/ but it damn sure ain't magic/ it won't create the brutality disappear/ it won't pull equality from behind your ear/ it won't create a difference in a two-party country, if the President cheats to victory another four years/"But of course, aside from all the introspective and intellectual stuff, one of the chief responsibilities of an emcee is to create heads nod, and J-Live certainly satisfies this prerequisite throughout the album. After a clever poem/skit that outlines the difference between a rapper and an emcee, J declares his dedication to his vocation on "MCee." He spits high-powered vocals over the track, just having fun showcasing his abilities. With the second and third verse he even plays with his rhymes, ingeniously alternating between words that begin with the letters "M" and "C." Definitely no "mindless crap" here. Asheru of the Unspoken Heard and El da Sensai stop by to join J-Live on the collaborative "3 out 7." Over one of DJ Spinna's tightest beats, the three spirited emcees drop verses, each doing an admirable job of tearing down the mic. This song absolutely should have been e only true complaint fans should have with All of the Above is the fact that the slower and more serious songs are grouped together on the latter half of the album. This arrangement causes the album to feel like its dragging toward the end. Adding a few additional uptempo songs in there or a various track arrangement altogether would have helped inject some energy into that section.But overall, J-Live has place together one of the most superlative "sophomore debuts" Hip-Hop fans have ever seen with this album. It's obvious that he has learned a amazing from the artists and musicians that he's toured with, and it shows on each and every track. A to his versatility as an artist, J produces the majority of the tracks (even handling the scratches for the most part), though he does recruit quality personnel, such as Joe Cash and DJ Jazzy Jeff's A Touch of Jazz production company, to back up his l of the Above allows J-Live to demonstrate what dedication and determination can accomplish when tempered with talent and ability. And the best part of it is, he's just getting started. Buy this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Above The Stars [App]  2019-2-22 13:48

    Android game won't load. All I obtain is a white screen. I have tried restarting my phone and have tried deleting the game. Such a shame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above The Weeping World []  2020-1-17 0:57

    OK, here it is in a nutshell... I'm not a teenager, I've been a Metal fan for well over 20 years, I have over 1000 Metal albums, and 'Above The Weeping World' is my favorite of them all. All hyperbole aside, 'ATWW' is an absolute Metal masterpiece, period. If you think otherwise, you are either callow or you quite simply haven't REALLY listened to or given the album the time it richly deserves. To my ears, all things considered, 'ATWW' is the best Metal album ever recorded. End review.P.S. - If you'd like to read my earlier, slightly more in depth review of 'Above The Weeping World' you can do so here.P.P.S. - If I didn't know that 99.9% of the population hates this kind of melody (growling vocals) I would have 'Last Statement' played at my funeral. Hell, I may do it anyway!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    OK. Confession time. I do a bit of a gyg helping to clean up an old 8-story building on a at least weekly basis. Sometimes it takes a small bit of additional energy to hold it going, and one of the albums which I have often listened to while I was on the job is this one. It is slick, with amazing rhyme and terrific tracks. And almost without fail I have someone coming up to me to ask: "Who is that? I really like that!"OK, so enter 'J-Live'. Clearly a hip-hop, rap mogul of high values and wordy art, and end of end, I haven't tired of listening to him r me, this rates with the top of what rap and hip-hop can be (where-in my favorites might be Nas, Tahib Kwelli and I guess a bunch of others.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All of the Above []  2020-7-5 19:55

    J-Live's "first second album," All Of The Above, is an perfect hip-hop album that delivers on all levels. I first heard J-Live on the Handsome Boy Modeling School album where he drops one verse on "The Truth", and i was blown away by his tight flow, his amazing rhyming, and his seemingly infinite ideas. Needless to say, i picked up his album as soon as it came out. The album has perfect graphic design and informative liner notes by J-Live.J-Live is a complete MC, and the best there is today. He is clever, funny, simple to understand, passionate, fearless, deep, political, cocky, skillfull as hell, inclusive, and respects hip-hop's past. Other than the track featuring Asheru and El Da Sensai, J-Live is the only MC on the whole album. And the thing is, you don't even message because he is so good. J-Live has a few trademarks which contain creating rhymes that work both on a storytelling and conceptual level. He also is really amazing at taking daily hip-hop phrases and flipping them and giving them a more literal e production on this album is good, and doesn't outshine what's going on in the vocals. The beats represent a nice dozens of musical styles, from dancehall to smooth jazz to straight up andout Tracks:"Satisfied?," where he fearlessly and masterfully comments on the post-9/11 situation."MCee," where J-Live uses only words that begin with M and then C for the whole second verse, and starts each line with M or C in the third."Like This Anna", where J-Live turns "like this anna, a like that anna" and turns it into a song about a hypothetical girl named Anna."One For The Griot", where J-Live tells a story, then backs it up and changes the ending two times."Stir Of Echoes" (last verse), where J-Live drops one of the trippiest rhymes i've ever heard."Do That S#!%" where J-Live wars hip-hop ignorance.and "All In Together Now" where J-Live takes a verse at half speed in fragments, and then speeds up the delivery while switching all of the fragments around to give a various meaning. He does this on two verses. It's is album gets better with each listen and in my opinion, is the best hip-hop album of 2002. Don't sleep on this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Everything took me back to my childhood when soundtracks you had it before the film came out to go see or watch on tape and artist came together on a project with the film producers melody producers and it just worked creatively those days are long gone need to come back a soundtrack use to place a fresh artist on on on !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Amazing soundtrack

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Al B Sure! created me this cd. I had to have his ver of Al Green's I'm Still In Love With You. Although Al still has the best version, Al B did a Sure! job of recreating this classic in his own style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    I only bought this soundtrack for "Part Time Lover", "Didn't Mean To Turn You On", and "Regulate" but there are more jams on here to be enjoyed. I bought this album without knowing that my parents had already owned it! I highly recommend it, as it brings that OG West Coast flavor that the android game desperately needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Death Row Records at it's best. It is something on here for everybody, R&B, Gangsta Rap, and it also contains Warren G break outsong Regulate. You may not dig every song on here but 2-PAC, SNOOP, & THE DOGG POUND do their thing again with some moWest Coast Classics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    This is a powerful contender for best "urban" soundtrack of all time and, as a hip-hop fan, one of the few examples of the soul/modern R&B contingent not letting the side down. And there is lots of R&B on this soundtrack, much of it from huge names outside the Death Row roster (SWV, Aaron Hall). However, the three best tracks are all hip-hop, and amongst the best hip-hop tracks of their time. Warren G and Nate Dogg's "Regulate" is an all-time classic, and one of the smoothest rap tracks ever released. 2Pac's "Pour Out A Small Liquor" (credited as Thug Life, but it is a 2Pac solo track) is one of his best notice tracks with some of the most soulful production ever to grace his vocals. And The Lady of Rage's "Afro Puffs" is a underrated gem, every bit as banging as the tracks off the Chronic and Doggystyle, and makes me want I could go back in time to 1995 and force herself and Dr. Dre into the studio to produce a full length album. Those three tracks are the undeniable highlights, but the soundtrack is solid from beginning to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Amazing movie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Above the Rim: The Soundtrack []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Want I bothered to look at track list and reviews before as I too bought it solely for tupacs so much pain song , when searched this track it brings you to tthis album to is mis leading consumers. The rest of songs are soso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guns of Navarone [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Biffo - Bammo - Boffo! A squad of troops professionals are assembled with the task of infiltrating a German held Greek island. Then they have to destroy the mighty twin guns up in the hills that blight the British operations on the Aegean waters. Adapted from the Alistair MacLean novel, it's directed by J. Lee Thompson and stars Gregory Peck, David Niven, Anthony Quinn, Anthony Quayle, Stanley Baker and James Darren. Melody is scored by Dimitri Tiomkin and cinematography by Oswald Morris. Watching it now it seems oh so very formulaic, but it was rarely the norm back than for battle movies to always follow this brand of high end adventure staples. The makers take a bunch of men from the different social spectrum and thrust them together for an impossible mission. We have the stiff backed guys with moral reasoning at their core, the rough and tumble men, all face fuzz and machismo seeping from every pore, and a young baby faced youngster blossoming into a man by the day. They will be place through the mangler at regular intervals, faced with scenarios to try their metal, all while the group view each other with suspicions of motives and reasonings. Here the hero sub-plots, their hang-ups and frets, do not bog down the fun or the excitement, they enhance the narrative. We also obtain two ladies entering the group (Irene Papas/Gia Scala), and they too add some meat into an already beefy stew. Action is a plenty, suspense equally so. While of course there's twists and turns to input some mystery and pot boiling hero dynamics. Elsewhere, Tiomkin provides a robust Golden World Winning score, and Bill Warrington & Chris Greenham's unique effects won the Academy Award in that department; they look at times a bit weak now, but who cares right? The array of screen work, matte paintings and miniatures blend superbly with the outdoor zone photography, which points us to a time when movie makers worked their socks off to make the magic up there on the screen. Oh and the scripted dialogue, just unbelievable and beating an smart heart. One of the quintessential boy's own - men on a mission movies, The Guns of Navarone, still a treat over 50 years since it was first shown in cinemas, and crucially, it's still influencing other movie makers as well. 9/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Young Guns [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Young Guns Suffer Delinquency Baggage. "In 1897, just as today, a lot of public spirited citizens were aroused by the issues of delinquency among the youth of different communities...This story of one such community is based on fact." Intriguing opening salvo by the makers of The Young Guns, unfortunately the movie never quite reaches the dramatic heights it aims for. Russ Tamblyn plays a young fella who eventually gets fed up of being tarred with the poor seed family brush. Seeking solace in a community of like minded youngsters, he tries to hold the peace even as he rises to be the top man. It's all very safe and unremarkable really. Some of the youthful cast are guilty of auto-cue acting and Tamblyn is barely convincing. On the plus side there's plenty of angst about the place, hormonal and machismo wise, some punch-ups are handled neatly by director Albert Band, the black and white photography (Ellsworth Fredricks) is textured nicely and the finale - whilst totally expected - is delivered in a none insulting fashion. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    I thought I was an expert on guns until I read this book- count me contradicted!I learned SO much that I never knew, like how metal cartridges were in Europe in the 1840's; thought they weren't invented until after the Civil War!If you love Westerns or anything to do with the Old West, GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    I have not got all the method through this history book.. But so far love it..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the Magnificent Seven [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    The cowards die a lot of deaths... the brave only one. Guns of the Magnificent Seven is directed by Paul Wendkos and written by Herman Hoffman. It stars George Kennedy, James Whitmore, Monte Markham, Reni Santoni & Joe Don Baker. Melody is by Elmer Bernstein and Antonio Macasoli is the cinematographer. It's the second sequel to The Magnificent Seven which was based on Akira Kurosawa's Seven Samurai. Plot finds Kennedy and his assembled group of gunmen hired to rescue a revolutionary from a Mexican dictator. Routine but very watchable entry in the "Seven" franchise. It's nicely cast with Kennedy, Whitmore, Baker and Bernier Casey effective, and the photography from Macasoli is pleasing and makes the Spanish zone feel period Mexico. There's also amazing value in the writing as regards the characters and their hang-ups, while the climax is high on noise and adrenalin. Clearly not a patch on the original film, and when it all comes down to it this movie wasn't wanted or needed. But as it is, it's a decent time filler for those after a bit of standard gunslinging adventure. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guess The PUBG Guns & Items [App]  2019-4-17 13:27

    F Yo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    Absolutely love it!! I have always enjoyed the Guns of the West magazine and this is from the same people. Perfect resource for everything similar to American old west st have if you are into western history or even firearm history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    If you, like I was a few days ago, are still sitting on the fence about buying this book, because of the negative comments about it, still your fears and ante up your money. I don't think you'll regret it. This is an absolutely attractive book, with stunning photographs of both original arms and accoutrements, and modern reproductions, which the author clearly states in his second page of acknowledgements. I'm not an expert on this subject, just an average person with an interest in the period, and I haven't been able to place the book down since it was delivered, days ago, devouring both text and photographs. My only regret is that I didn't it sooner. If you're reading this, and still sitting on that fence, it's a regret you'll share with me, I'm certain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    I was looking for a book that described the guns of the old west. This book, Guns of the American West, greatly exceeded my t only does the author explain the origins and characteristics of each weapon, he also provides an perfect history, with outstanding images of the guns themselves, as well as the individuals who used them.I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the history of the old west, and the guns of the period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    Very amazing and detailed acc on some more and lesser known guns of the old west, some accounts of legends and a comprehensive tutorial on shotguns. Did miss some more info about the Remington 1875, the Winchester 1894 and some other models though. But that’s not enough to warrant a lesser grade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    Over the decades, I've read a lot of books on firearms...and a few of those are really outstanding...but it's only rarely that I am as positively impressed...excited, actually... as I have been by this glorious book. The book is primarily a collection of photographs, and those photographs are gorgeous. If you're interested in a book on this subject, you already probably see a lot of beauty in these old guns; but, Dennis Adler seems to have a unique talent for magnifying and enhancing that beauty. Sharply-focused, well-illuminated, often highly-detailed pictures of unbelievable old guns, a lot of photographed versus sumptuous backgrounds which not only avoid detracting and distracting from the guns pictured, but actually add historical meaning and context to them...this author has a talent for photography of guns (and vehicles too, or so I've been told) that I've not often seen before. And, the price: I'm accustomed to paying very high for amazing gun books, something I accept because I assume that the shop for such books is too little for the publishers to recover their costs through high volume. Well, this book is for that same market, and it only costs $18 from Amazon (and, I think, $30 list), and it's as amazing as some of the best firearms books ever published. I've just received Vanderlinden's truly perfect book on FN pistols: invaluable text and amazing photos, but it cost $65 and it's all black & white (and Adler's "Guns of the American West" is in color, completely in color...you should see the case colors on some of the SAAs.). I've just received Brunner's "The Colt Pocket Hammerless Automatic Pistols II": amazing photos, but this one costs $80(!), and wastes 78 of its 240 pages on a mindless, mind-numbing list of guns issued to generals. Adler's book has ~330 pages, and not a single one is wasted.Speaking of text: Adler's text in "Guns of the American West" is very good, and does a amazing job of discussing the guns, the historical backdrop, and the put of those guns in that history. This book does not have nearly the kind of detail and depth of a classic like "A study of the Colt Single Action Troops Revolver" of Graham, Kopec and Moore, and it can't: Adler's photographs shove out the text, and that is as it should be. This is primarily a pictorial history.And the price...perhaps I shouldn't hold returning to this, because the book is excellent, at any price. But in a field in which we've gotten accustomed to regularly paying $60 to $90 for amazing books (and hundreds of dollars, when those books, however mediocre, go out of print), I sincerely appreciate a publisher and an author who provide us with a amazing book at a fair price. In every way, Dennis Adler and Chartwell Books have provided a amazing service to those of us who can search fascination in a worn Smith topbreak, and they've treated us as though they respect us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    Very quality work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Guns to the Border [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Simmering Passions In Shadow Valley. Four Guns to the Border is directed by Richard Carlson and collectively written by George Van Marter, Franklin Coen and Louis L'Amour. It stars Rory Calhoun, Colleen Miller, George Nader, Walter Brennan, Nina Foch, John McIntire, Charles Drake and Jay Silverheels. Melody is by Joseph Gershenson and cinematography by Russell Metty. A small ole devil of an Oater is this. The Outlaw machinations and manoeuvres of Rory Calhoun's gang of outlaws is kind of secondary to the angle of the plotting. The pic is ripe with frustrations, born out by Colleen Miller's blossoming from tomboy daddies girl into a sex-kitten. There is nary a moment missed to sexualise the stunning Miss Miller, she gets wet a lot, and looks awesome with it, she suggestively licks a candy stick, and on it goes. It would appear on the surface that these are strategies to place horny Western fan's bums on seats, but there's a relevant thread running through the piece. That of awakenings, or growing up if you like. Be it Miller's discovering and curiosity about her sexuality, to the Outlaw gang who seem perpetually stuck in a globe of youthful exuberance, there's a constant "growing up" theme throughout. "We haven't seen an Indian all day" "Sometimes that's when they're closest" Lest I forget to mention this is an action film as well! Standard Oater conventions do apply in the action stakes, with Calhoun (a very under valued actor in the Western pantheon) exuding machismo at every opportunity. There's Apache attacks, fisticuffs, shoot-outs, deaths and chases, you know, the items we Western fans love in our 50s Oater diets. There's a running fun thread that sees Silverheels (who gets the best costume) and Nader taking each other on in friendly bouts of fighting, while a sub-plot involving Foch and Drake adds meat to the thematic stew. Thoroughly enjoyable and not without some intelligence and racy merit as well, Four Guns to the Border is well worth checking out. 7.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    This is a amazing book. It's fun and interesting to read, has attractive photography, and has more info than I thought could possibly fit into a book. This now sits proudly on my coffee table.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns of the American West []  2020-6-14 19:5

    Another gorgeous book by Dennis Adler. I received the Easton Press leather-bound edition of this book and it is even better. Adler is very technically proficient in his info and appears to truly love his work. Anybody can write a gun book but Dennis goes the additional mile to create them very special. I particularly love his coverage of cartridge conversions, which usually go unnoticed by the general gunwriting industry. I hope to see more of his work bound in leather.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    It is version good. lI used to hate guns but this android game allow me know more about guns have have fun FF about that i am using a erefore I rate it a 5**

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    Not compatible with huawei friend 10, pls solve it, this android game is the best gun android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    This is amazing simulator.Lots of guns! Add as a lot of guns as possible! NICE GAME!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    vary fun😁

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    automatic shotguns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    This android game is so boooring... the graphics are pixelated and you need to add more guns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    My only complaint is that there is a slight delay in sound with most of the revolvers. When playing Russian roulette, only the Taurus raging bull has the sound, vibration, and animation perfectly synced up. Fix this on the other revolvers and this application will be perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    thanks again for your support and help I have to go to a film and dinner at our house and I have a meeting e I will have it to you tomorrow morning at dinner with the family are doing well I hope to hear from the other night and it was the same as my wife and I are going to the mall to obtain it done by tomorrow morning I have a lot of work but I can't do what you have to do it again soon and we can go from there to the gym and then I will send you the link to the video of the guy who was the guy w

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    Don't turn the volume too high or your neighbors will call the police

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    The shooting is a bit slower for some reason but i remember this android game as a kid use to play it alot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    It's guns that's cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    ok but amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    if you on its name it tells the history of the gun and the android game is awsome it's self

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    In range mode, the sight targeting crosshair movement is horrible to control. But, once you do obtain the crosshairs where you wish them, all you have to do is continuously tap the firing button and the round will hit within a millimeter of [email protected]#$%!s, on the screen. That is not true life expectation. There is no challenge to this range aspect and not true life shooting range comparable. In weapon demo mode, it is cool to learn about other weapons and have a simulated firing of that weapon. Overall, this app is amazing for a brief learning experience and for wasting time. There is no other productive use for this application.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    amazing application please add more weapons including future ww1 ww2 modern old and more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    kind of nice not much of a android game but I like to check out the guns and read of them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    Amazing android game but this needs to turn the other method

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    I hete this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    Awesome, I love this game! 😀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    jejeje

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    like the guns like the android game I use it for playing with my mates very fun gun game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    This is amazing but for the kar 98k can you have the bolt closed and flip it to see the other side. Also do the darker wood color kar 98k with the hood. Please and thank you. Ps can you fix the find target's, it is saying network issue

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    It's very fin if you like guns. I do not 0erfer if you like loud things. It does not have the best and most true gun noises but it is still a amazing application and I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    Hey idiots, if you're saying this android game is boring or bad, you're too stupid enough even if you're saying it has too a lot of ads, JUST TURN ON AIRPLANE MODE DON'T BE SUCH COMPLAINING PANICHEADS!!!! I play this android game with my mates so if you're too stupid enough, have it your way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    it has ads.... until I turn off the WiFi. *DimmaDabs on the haters*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    i been playing this android game ever since it came out the best gun android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    guns suck.....get rid of them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    not good graphics

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    it nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    This is nice. Some of the guns are in the wrong places. The M1 Garand and Kar. 98k aren't assault rifles. The sound could be better, I feel, but I understand that it's hard to record a gunshot. These are only semi auto, unless you take it to a range. It kinda bugs me that a minigun does 120 rpm in the gun preview. There could also be more rifles. Overall, it's beautiful good, and I would recommend to a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    its actually quite fun if you can use your imagination

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    all the weapons sounds like been servicing counter strike 2.0 hahaha

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    amazing Amazing times!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guns [App]  2019-1-22 0:16

    goodguns

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386