the hidden girl and other stories Reviews & Opinions


Submit the hidden girl and other stories review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    About 100 little pages, easy sentence structure, and huge type, this book is written for the middle school reader. The subject and story isn't simple to show in a manner that is accurate without becoming upsetting for a young reader, but I think Lola Rein Kaufman does so quite admirably. With her first person acc and enough background history to provide context, this is an perfect method to introduce young readers to one of the darkest periods of latest history. If you buy this book for your kids to read, I suggest you read it first and then plan to discuss it with your kids after they have read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    This book was an simple read for an adult, and about right for an 5th-8th grader. The story is told well, without a lot of info that would scare a child. The author was finally able to tell her story a lot of years later, which tells how deep the experience affected her. It is is a short book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    When I ordered this I did not realize it was a Scholastic book for children. It is well written and a very amazing acc of the horrors one young girl experienced but not so that it would be too upsetting for an older kid to read. There is a amazing list of reference material at the end. It is a very short book and an simple read. I'd recommend it for older school age children.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the hidden girl and other stories or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the hidden girl and other stories video reviews and related movies:

    See The Hidden Girls of Afghanistan | Explorer on youtube.

     related image

    See Evicted: The Hidden Homeless (BAFTA WINNING DOCUMENTARY) | Real Stories on youtube.

     related image

    See Most Anticipated Books | 1st Quarter 2020 on youtube.

     related image

    See Hidden Car Camera on Wife on youtube.

     related image

    See One of the Most Dangerous Schools in America | A Hidden America with Diane Sawyer (World News) on youtube.

     related image

    See Young girl struggles with trauma from abuse l Hidden America: Foster Care in America (2006) PART 1/4 on youtube.

     related image

    See Hidden camera investigation: Nursing home abuse, violence (Marketplace) on youtube.

     related image

    See What life is like for the mentally ill in prison | A Hidden America with Diane Sawyer PART 3/6 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    My daughter was reading this in school and I wanted to read it as well. Amazing book that is appropriate for 4th graders+.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    Thank you for sharing your story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    Verynice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    Thank goodness I found the book on Amazon like I knew I would- my daughter read this for school and enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    This is a amazing book. I'm currently reading it to my class, and they are loving this book also!! They always ask me to read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl, The: A True Story of the Holocaust review []  2020-1-17 23:45

    This kind of reading make's me so fragil and remain me how bless we are at this time, and how necessary is the forgivness and love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    👊😉

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    A oldie, but goody.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    quick shipping, would buy again

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Classic song and one of my favorite songs of all time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    I know I am a Woman, but I thoroughly ENJOY this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    You either like the song or you don't. Here are a bunch of words just because you have to type something here. Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    I'm still looking for the strip clubs mentioned in this song. Just kidding, amazing ole 80's hard rock.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Had a true issue getting the melody files downloaded, but it sounded amazing after I finally got the tracks downloaded.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Just what I needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    I remember reading about Shyima Hall in the news: a girl kept as a family slave, literally right under everyone’s nose. It’s one thing to hear about such things happening. It’s quite another to have it so close to home. (She was in Irvine in Orange County. I was living in Tustin, an adjacent city, during the time.) Some years later, when I heard about her memoir, Hidden Girl: The Real Story of a Modern-Day Kid Slave (Simon & Schuster, 2014), I was eager to have a possibility to read her side of the e book begins with Shyima’s younger years in Egypt, her family plagued with financial difficulties. While the author doesn’t excuse her parents handing her over to work for another family, the book does present the reader why they probably felt they had no other choice. Kept as a slave, eight-year-old Shyima tolerated substandard living arrangements, received no education, and had no time for herself. It was work day and night. She kept track of time passed by the birthdays of her owners’ children.When her owners decided to move to the United States, they went to a lot of problem to create sure Shyima joined them. Shyima’s life of slavery continued over here, until someone dropped an anonymous hint about the suspicious girl to the police. Now free, Shyima’s struggles didn’t end. She faced court trials, foster family drama, and the struggle of trying to search her put in a very various culture. But in the end, you can see that she’s satisfied and optimistic about life and eager to educate the American public about the modern-day slave trafficking problem.Hidden Girl is a amazing book, taking its reader through a whole range of emotions. Cowriter Lisa Wysocky did an perfect job keeping a very foreign and small girlish voice to the narrative. And it was encouraging for me to learn that the Orangewood Children’s Home (with which my old church had been involved) played a positive role in helping her. The book is amazing evidence that – even though there’s a lot of social and economic problems abroad – there are true issues here at home that need our attention too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    What a compelling memoir. I cannot believe people could be so cruel as the Mom and Dad were, to treat a kid the method they treated the author. She describes movingly the years of slavery, and the awesome day when she was rescued. This is a very inspiring story about the years-long war to regain her life, health & sense of self. She is an admirable person who has accomplished much, and wants to support people who have been trafficked. We can all hold our eyes begin and create an anonymous phone call if we suspect someone is being held versus their will. We just need to know the signs, and the book gives us those. I’m so glad this book was written. It lifts me up to see all the amazing people who came into her life and wanted to support her. What a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This modern day slavery of girls in Egypt is so sad. I saw this girl on Dr. Oz and immediately got her book. I'm so very satisfied that she was able to obtain out of her horrible situation. I have so a lot of questions about this selling of your own kid because of poverty. I hope she makes a nice amount of cash from the sale of her book. She deserves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This is an interesting story of an Egyptian girl, Shyima, who was sold into slavery by her own parents! This is not uncommon for very not good huge e family who owned her called her 'stupid girl' which stripped her of her identity. Finally they took her illegally to America and she continued to work as their slave. Eventually she became free, hardly realizing what that meant. Shyima became an American citizen and started a fresh free life, having to begin her education late. She did a lot of work to speak out versus slavery of this type. This is a amazing book, although not the best in writing style, but it gets the emotions and sad facts across. I have read a few books about domestic slaves and this one has a happier ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    Shyima's story reflects the story of too a lot of kids who have been indentured around the world. She describes the injustice of her situation, the betrayal of her parents, and the inhumane treatment from the family who held her captive. Despite her bondage she manages to break free emotionally and creates a unbelievable life for herself, which she describes throughout the pages of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This was one of my favorite reads of 2014. I had caught wind of Shyima's story in the news, so when I found that she had written a book detailing her experience, I was compelled to buy it. It is written so simply, from a child's point of view. Also, as English is not the author's native language you can tell that she has chosen her words very carefully. It is a tale of a very sad experience, and you can't support but cheer on the author as she works to overcome her situation and see her abusers punished. She is a survivor, and you will search yourself willing her to hold on. An perfect book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This but is thought provoking and at times hard to read. But we'll worth reading, just hold some tissues close by. It gives a lot of amazing info as well.I am so proud of you Shyima, you are an inspiration to me. I was sexually abused as a kid by my dad, but the abuse you suffered is so far beyond comprehension I can't even tell e fact that you have created the choice to become a strong, happy, productive woman and mother is more than anyone could expect for you to do ,but I personally am so satisfied those are the choices you did make. Like you said, you could have turned inside yourself and lived the life of a victim, but you didn't and I am so, so proud do you for that so, thank you for writing this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This book is a most read book. The book is about a small girl who is sold into slavery by his parents. But unlike any other girl she decided to overcome all her trauma of her pass life and live the life that all humans deserve. A life of happiness. I cannnot believe that there is still people who would wish a slave. This people are horrible. I want that the Mom and the Dad pay for all the pain and unadjusted they cause to this small girl. I want there were higher sentences for this type of people. The only thing I didn't like about the book was at the end she hold talking about the same thing of how she wanted to become a police officer to support end slavery. I feel that there could have been a better ending. But the book is interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    It started to obtain really repetitive towards the ending of the story. I felt so poor about her upbringing though and the experience she endured. It's scary that things like this exsist in the world. I'm glad she was able to search her voice in all of this and bring to light the things that tend to happen in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Girl: The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    I could not place the book down until almost the end. Her story of being a slave engrossed me completely. I also found interesting her struggles to acculturate and get learning. Shyima's will to improve her lot in life shows just what determined and powerful people can accomplish. However, most fascinating was her depiction of her time in slavery. It's awesome to learn of how slavery still exists even in the U.S. Her plea at the end of how all of us can be more observant to support stamp out the practice really opened my eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    My daughter, who is 11, really enjoyed this book. She took away some really necessary messages and I noticed it helped build her confidence in standing up to people who were being mean to her. There are a few cuss words towards the end of the book (doesn’t bother me) but just thought I’d contain that in case parents do mine. Overall I’d recommend this book. 👍🏼

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    I loved this book! Real stories of women throughout history and in show day. They are inspirational and I highly suggest you google some of them to obtain more of their accomplishments. I love knowing that sometimes they faced obstacles and overcame and sometimes they moved on because life isn’t excellent and we aren’t all meant to victory at everything. I loved all the various personalities in the stories. It was a amazing book to end the week on!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    This is not a book for "all ages" as the title says. Moms be warned...the F-word is used at least once, and I've only read 3 women's stories so far. One of the stories is about a woman who steals a cow's eyeball from a community college and talks about her girlhood fantasies about death. (?) Empowering? Based on the title I bought this for my 9 year old. The stories are written by interesting women, but the language is quite mature and sometimes confrontational, often expressing rage or complex frustrations/feelings about society. Amazing for girls aged 16 and up in my world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    i got this for my 11 yr old niece, it opens the door for discussion about women's rights and just how much we females CAN DO !! each section gives a small historical overview of the time span allowing for more discussions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    Very informative...Given to my daughter and granddaughter (age 18). Both liked it very much. It is most necessary to have amazing stories about Women.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    I bought this book because a mate was featured in it. It was very enjoyable!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    This is a amazing book for young girls. It is very diverse with its stories and women they choose to contain in the book. there is something for every girl. I use this for my girls empowerment group. They love the stories. They can similar to them and it gives them awareness of women empowerment from all age groups and backgrounds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    This is awesome it has inspired me so much definitely recommended book for girls 9-17 it is my favorite book right now

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    It’s not necessarily what I was looking for- some of the stories are too “sweet” for what i was looking for. I do realize harships are various to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because I Was a Girl: True Stories for Girls of All Ages review []  2020-1-21 22:31

    This book includes biographies of women who have helped shape our world. It is both empowering and educational. I bought it for each of my nieces and a copy for myself!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    Interesting book TO START WITH. I read all the 5 star reviews,( and to my amazement, not ONE 4 star review), and I thought, "this book MUST be very good." It kept my interest for a while, actually, and then I became weary of reading court transcripts verbatim, along with the author's very very biased viewpoints . Do NOT obtain me wrong here. The "mother" in this nonfiction book is a very not good and perhaps mentally ill woman. I can in NO WAY excuse her actions, or the actions of her MINIONS. That being said, there is not one single word, not ONE paragraph, written as to WHY this beauty queen wife/ mother would go to such amazing lengths to not only divorce her husband of over 20 years, but to attempt to take away everything he had, including all five of their children. People USUALLY don't "snap" just like that. The husband himself said he "trusted her implicitly, and signed documents she shoved under his nose WITHOUT READING THEM." That was BEYOND foolish of him. What had happened in this marriage ? What went on between these two behind closed doors? The wife had a boyfriend, was a flight attendant, very attractive, etc. No, she wasn't a soccer mom, but how could she be? He worked from home, she didn't, so he was Mr. Hockey dad. OK, fine. Anything else? They were in heavy debt. Resentment, maybe? But I don't wish to obtain off track. What she did was outstandingly wrong wrong wrong. However, when she was living with the kids in the basic residence, why did the house smell like urine? Did they own a dog? And graffiti? Described, but never explained. Her abduction of the two oldest girls, aided by her disgusting "supporters" was a criminal act. Her hiding of them was worse. However , if she was working as a flight attendant at the time, why was she so difficult to locate? Questions, questions questions. I detested her main attorney; what a strange, annoying woman! But as I wrote above, the ENDLESS word for word reprints of the Family Court hearings seemed endless. I KNOW the kids are where they belong now. However, this story seemed to start with "BAM!" Husband wronged , wife is a psychopathic maniac. I would have been interested to read about the latest three or four years of the marriage. SOMETHING HAD TO PRECIPITATE this poor woman's heinous actions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    I rarely write reviews as so much of literature is subjective. What one person loves another will hate. However, I am driven to write a review of this book because it is just plain bad. It constantly switches perspectives, so it is very hard to follow. It is full of not only transcripts of the hearings and trials, but also copies of articles written by the author. It is blatantly biased although the authors are clear that they are on the side of the father. It is also very repetitive. The authors repeat the same ideas over and over, sometimes verbatim. I am a prolific reader for over 3 decades. I have fun all various types of writing across all genres and time periods (both when the piece was written and when the piece is set). I have rarely come across such a poorly written and poorly edited book as this. Save your brain cells and read something else. Anything else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    I was deeply involved in kid support, visitation, divorce and family law for a lot of years and have heard of many, a lot of volatile couples... but never have I heard of something quite THIS BAD. When parents use their kids as pawns to retaliate versus their ex spouse, that's one thing, but the mother in this story just completely stopped being a mother. She completely stopped caring about her kids - period! I don't understand that. I can't figure out if she did this out of revenge for her ex - who did nothing to her - or if she just didn't wish to be a wife and mother anymore. It's almost as if that's what it was all about. She just wanted a whole fresh life, free from responsibilities. But still, how can you just stop loving your children???

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    If even half of what wife did is true, she is mentally ill and a not good person,both. But the husband, the owner of a huge failing,busines is not to be believed. He claimed that he signed divorce papers giving up custody of his kids because his wife said it was going to be a paper divorce to protect assets...trusting her he didn't read the documents. He just signed them. Then he went to court and claimed she tricked him. Nobody is this stupid. And if the wife is as crazy and emotionally unstable as the author makes out then the husband trusting her makes no sense -- unless the Husband is as manipulative and narcissistic as his wife. And I think that latest part is probably true. The author makes no attempt to figure out what actually triggered the divorce proceedings. What motivates the wife is completely unimportant. Therefore the author cannot be trusted.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    A must read, hard to believe this is a real story. I was impressed by how well written and detailed the very complicated facts and happenings were presented, This mother set out to destroy her family. A very sick woman joined by equally sick people who supported her. Hard to believe the level of evil and craziness that happened. Thank goodness for the amazing people that helped the husband and kids restore their lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    I heard about this story at the time, but never really understood what happened, so this truly was an eye opener! Thanks to the authors who did all this hard work, years of it, to tell us a real story about people that can be so dishonest and corrupt! It's a must read! It'll grab at your heart and create you mad at the same time. What's wrong with a mother who can do this to her own children? And to the others that were involved, shameful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    The first 30% was so detailed with legal info I almost laid the story aside for something more captivating. However, as I moved into the story realized it was important to grasp what followed in understanding the implications of the details.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    This book challenged my thinking. It took my reactions in a lot of various directions. What presented in the beginning was in reality was not exactly what occurred. I am amazed at the patience the court officers showed. I am left with reevaluating my role in the social service/ family system. I have empathy for the family, the advocates and everyone that experienced these happenings in true time. This was a well written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    Well, I have read about half of this book and I am just not going to torture myself anymore! I have far too a lot of amazing books I wish to read and to continue one more min reading this one would be a large waste of my time! I'm not sure what I originally thought this book was about but it certainly wasn't this!! When I read real crime books I usually like detail but not like this!!! This book literally reprinted the court transcripts...every single word. And when it went to the transcripts, the print in the book went to a very little print that was very difficult to read. I really don't care to waste anymore time on this book, including this review. Just be warned, it is a terrible, poorly written piece of nothing. Please be careful and don't waste your time or cash on this book. There are hundreds of really amazing real crime books out there but this is NOT one of them! This is my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls Are Gone: The True Story of Two Sisters Who Vanished, the Father Who Kept Searching, and the Adults Who Conspired to Keep the Truth Hidden review []  2020-1-15 22:30

    I really had a hard time reading this book and I wanted to like it due to the interesting story line but it ended with just that. Method to much court transcript info which was very boring and dry reading. There didn't seem to be much in this book as far as getting to know the people in the story other then the author constantly reminded you how unbelievable David was and how poor Sandra was. I thought this was very one sided, in favor of David. The Author tells you over and over how hard David looked for his girls but never goes into detail as to how he looked or what he did. I live in Minnesota and do not remember this case being in the news and every one was hanging by the edge of chairs waiting for updates and news like the author claims. This book just fell very flat for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    If you are a man seeking to understand why the woman you love has found herself cast out of a group, or if you wish to understand your teenage daughter's challenges to forming long lasting friendships.Or if you are wondering how you ended up in the middle of a conflict with no idea how to support either is book was very revealing to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    I am a 44 year old Dad with a 12 year old girl. As a man with long term best mates relational aggression was not even on my radar. I didn’t comprehend it. When my girl would tell me about girls being mean pinching, pushing, kicking shins, silent treatments, etc. I didn’t think anyone could treat another person that way. My daughter is honestly smart, beautiful, athletic, funny as hell and really creative. But I fell into the trap of saying what did my girl do to deserve this. I blamed the victim. No one could possibly treat another like this unless they did something to deserve it. How wrong I was. 7th grade has come. The rumors and lies, nasty texts etc are happening. Thanks to this book I am supporting my girl and understand a small more how the dynamics work. I love my daughter even more knowing how powerful she has been dealing with things. Please read this book. Also don’t obtain overly involved. Empower your girl to handle it. Trust she is a powerful courageous girl and trust she will obtain through it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    The writing is exquisite, but the topic matter is gut-retching: girl aggression. I loved the method the author used language to emphasize the seriousness of what she is communicating: “girl ver of a stealth bomber” (p 69), “silent and smooth as a marble” (p75), “conflicts hang like leaking gas in the air” (p 69). As I read the book and its truth hit me, all I could think is, “How did I survive?” and “This is why I am how I am”. My reaction seems related to the author’s and some of the person’s she contains in her book. It seems that a lot of of us—girls and grown women—have reached the same conclusions as a effect of the aggressive behavior we experienced as students: we stopped trusting parents (p53) and other authority figures such as teachers; we don’t trust women (p. 55); we believe that people can and do erase people (p79); and, school can’t be trusted to protect its students (p115). The author reveals that females aren’t taught how to make relationships nor are we taught that conflict is natural. We aren't taught that there are mean people and toxic friends/relationships. The primary issue seems to be that girls/women are taught to be one way, but, in the true world, an opposite method is required. The author spends two chapters giving detailed instruction and examples of how parents can support their daughters deal with hidden aggression. She, also, discusses how teachers can spot and deal with covert aggression. She writes about modern day instruments of torture: FaceBook, sexting and other means of delivering attacks. All parents, no matter how excellent they think their daughters or the schools of their daughters, need to carefully read, and then use the info given in this book. Doing this could save their daughters much concern and possible damage.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Odd Girl Out, a book originally introduced on the OPRAH SHOW with the then grown women who were the “BULLIES” in high school and junior high/middle school. Thes, now adult women, expressed regret over their behavior when they were younger. This is a MUST READ for EVERY parent of daughters AGES 11 - 18 and school teachers of those ages. Odd Girl Out gave me insights into my students’ behavior when I was teaching middle school.Unlike boys who may settle their differences physically and then move on, girls who bully leave EMOTIONAL SCARS which can follow the bully and especially the victim into adulthood.Bully may be the wrong term here, since often it is more subtle, i.e. a group of mates suddenly leaving one from there group suddenly without EXPLANATION, out of their activities - sitting together at lunch.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    As an elementary school teacher, I recommend this book to every parent and teacher. I first read this when my daughter was in middle school. I wasn’t teaching then. Recently I ordered two more copies to hold in my private lending library. I love that it’s updated to contain the role of social networks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    This book is an eye opener - even though I experienced the reality of mean girl behaviors (to me and by me); I didn't know how to articulate and process it in a healthy method with my own daughter who was was definitely the Odd Girl Out in Middle School. Now that she is in HS, the maturing of her peers has improved the issue, but the maturity in her along with the content of this book gave her skills to manage it. I have given school principals and deans copies - one actually read it and had amazing is a reality our girls face - it is hard to address, we have to help and advocate for them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    This should be needed reading for EVERY mother of a tween or soon to be teenage girl. The wealth of info and insight opened my eyes to what my girl was really going through out there in "girl world" My daughter is now 21 and a lot of a lot of times has actually thanked me for reading this book when she was younger.When is the latest time ANY 21 yr old actually THANKED a parent for something they did back when they were growing up?READ IT READ IT READ IT!!!I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENOUGH!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    The insidious nature of attacks by girls on other girls, which starts when they are still small darlings in grade school, is very hard to understand. This books really helps. I think every teacher should be needed to read it in order to learn about the subtleties of the symptoms to look for; then maybe they can at least not discount the reactions of kids who are being attacked, so they don't feel so alone. I sure would like more tip on how to prevent it in the first place.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    A book written about a very necessary social dynamic. However, it was written in such a method that it could not keep my attention. It was laborous to read. I have been picking it up over the pass 3 yrs and I am a reading teacher.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    i'm not sure how i missed this book. it was published in 2002, and is absolute must reading for EVERY youth worker (male or female) and every parent of a 's a tough read and an simple read. easy, because simmons is an perfect writer and fills the book with true stories of true girls. tough, because the true girls she profiles reveal a profile of aggression (almost universally experienced) that is so painful, so destructive, it's difficult to read (especially if you care about teenage girls).i had a amazing chat with my 13 year-old daughter, liesl, after reading this book. she was very begin about how girls treat each other. i may be fooling myself, but i do think that liesl's personal school (a waldorf school, which is particularly nurturing and has no tolerance for mistreatment) protects her from the fullest extent of what this behavior would look like in the vast majority of schools. in fact, i could easily see liesl being the aggressor (the rumor-creator, the silent treatment-giver, the "we don't like you" club-originator), were she in a various e book talks at length about why this alternative aggression is so commonplace amongst girls. it also talks about why schools are so not good at addressing it. it's a bit light on suggestions for what we all (who care about girls) can do about it - but there is some of this, especially near the end of the ven my passion for early adolescent ministry, i was intrigued to read that this behavior is at its peak during the young teen years. the author focuses all of her research on girls from 5th grade through 9th grade, with the "sweet spot" (bad choice of words, i suppose) between 11 and 's one particular paragraph i found fascinating: at first glance, the stories of girls not being allowed to eat at the lunch table, attend a party, place their sleeping bag in the middle, or squeeze inside a circle of giggling girls may seem childish. yet as carol gilligan has shown, relationships play an unusually necessary role in girls' social development. in her work with girls and boys, she found that girls perceive danger in their lives as isolation, especially the fear that by standing out they will be abandoned. boys, however, describe danger as a fear of entrapment or smothering. this contrast, gilligan argues, shows that women's development "points toward a diffrerent history of human attachment, stressing continuity and change instead of replacement and seperation. the primacy of relationship and attachment in the female life also indicates a various experience of and response to loss. the centrallity of relationship to girls' lives all but guarantees a various landscape of aggression and bullying, with its own distinctive features worthy of seperate study.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This is a very fun android game but I redownload it today and this is a very fun android game to play everything is free and you can like create houses it's really really fun and I think other people should like test playing this android game because it's a really fun android games and you can actually just create stores houses whatever you think of and it is actually amazing for the children mine because it stimulates the imagination because you can build whatever you want.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Its an awesome game. This android game is like minecraft but BETTER for some girls. Instead of paying cash to unblock items, you just need to watch and add and you obtain the item and MORE !!! My opinion, you should test it and i guarante you that youll love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Hi, I haven't played the android game yet but I can tell that it will be all about fashion and girly stuff. It's a android game for girls but not all girls like pink and fashion unicorns kind of stuff. Me personally think it would also be cool if the was an option to ride/race a dirtbike! Or have a meal fight, create mud pies, have snowball fights. Just a suggestion. Now I am downloading the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I love it so much because you can do anything you wish there you can just watch a ads to obtain rid of ads so yeah it's free I love everything you don't really have to purchase items that much but I love it no matter what you can obtain really creative so it's really fun you could just build your own house it's like Minecraft but it's not Minecraft cost cash this one's free

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I am playing this in my smartphone and i havent olayed on my smartphone yet but im downloading it now but i know that it is fun because i played it on my phone and it is really fun and to present that android games like that are not only for girls my brother and my cousin played and they said it was a lot of fun and thry really liked it thank u for reading this opinion i dont really know what to call it but thanks for reading 😂lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I have had the best experience with can watch adds to obtain rid of them amd only 8 adds too.But I do obtain lost when I go outside and yeah.I just gave it 4 stars because I obtain lost outside.If you like getting lost this is the excellent android game for you.If not it's not really exactly the right android game for at's what I think!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I personally love this android game i love how you obtain to pick your hero and build things and my favorite part is where you obtain to pick your pet i have no complaints about this android game because there's no glitches or anything like that

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Its a very amazing android game because it helps you to build a house, I have played various types of android games like this but in those android games there are no building tutorials

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This android game is awesome you will love to play it's for free play now there are so a lot of times you can play this awesome application this is your opportunity to play for free play now !!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Android game is amazing I would totally recommend getting it at first I thought it was a horrible android game but once I played it more I loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    It is fun but there is too a lot of ads the first time I played I opened up the menu where you obtain other block two times and it created me watch an ad but other then that the android game is very fun but it needs some updates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This android game is fun! It almost like minecraft but instead everything is in your invintory (btw,i unlocked everything)! I cant see my sister but it fine. You should play this game!!👁️👄👁️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This android game is really amazing and it gives me an idea for my clothes And it gives me an additional time to obtain the clothes for my children to obtain dressed so they can be there favorite Minecraft character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This android game is so cool. My brother hates it because it's A GIRL GAME. and also you can watch only 8 adds and then you don't need to watch adds anymore. ADDS FREE!!!!!!!..............

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This is the best android game ever 😍 because it's the best android game ever you don't you can watch adds to fix your house and you can watch seven ads and have no ads during when you're playingI love this android game is just the best thing ever I just think this is the most excellent day for anybody out there was a girl and likedlike building things and animals and close this is the excellent android game for those type of girls.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This is a very boring android game i watched 8 adds to obtain rid of ads... It worked but the android game sucks. I ended up playing it for 5 mins and then uninstalling it. I highly recommend not to download this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I love this android game but there are a lot of ads in this game!!!!!!!😤

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    it's a very amazing android game for small children I think that children will love this android game I thought that the screen was a very amazing android game cuz I left all the cat and the dogs and you obtain to have a pet you got to do as I do and as you play you got more items and obtain to clean date people it's just the best my name is Christine

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Hello, just a concerned parent. Just by simply clicking on that application to view what android games my kid is download on to my phone, you obtain a disturbing notice claiming fresh policies came up and you must accept before playing. Almost as if its some sort of warping contract, that your being sucked into. Anywho, by not accepting and just reading the description alone just seemed a bit much, a android game for teenage girls but rating was suitable for ages 10 & up w/ a fantasy violence rating. Questionable?!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    It keeps giving me the same achievement. I've got the same one 7 times! Please fix that. But over all I would recommend this android game to a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    it was amazing at first but then It stopped letting me obtain in and too much ads

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I really like the game. But there were some issues when I was building.😁😁😁

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This android game is so much fun and you can like build your own house and kiss a go shopping you can obtain all type of shirt it's really fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Funny cats is right. When I was reading the review of funny cats, I thought it would be boring but I played it, it's cool and amazing,oh no, my ccoookkkkkkkkiieeeees!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Byeee!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Its a exelent android game but i would of give it five if it could of downloaded quicker the reason why i said this is because it took a week to download thats a bit disopointing rather than that its all amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Its so cool it is like its like mindcraft is so fun so if you obtain it you are going to have so much fun and i love the android game !! You are going to be so cute it is so pretty!!.❤❤😍😇😆😋😅

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I think it is a really amazing android game because you could build really huge houses and other cool buildings i love it so i hope they create part two #PARTTWO#FASHIONCRAFT#LOVE😄😄😄

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Its very annoying. I just begin it and accept something after wards it close. I thaught it will be fun, but something other happened. You guys how u play. I am just a kid.😒 nothing matters. Actually is this was helpful. Please click yes or no and thanks for your feed back your obidiently shiza shahad

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    It's a amazing android game if you love that shirt fashion for you is probably like you're like and I think it's really fun cuz girls need some fashion

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I love this application it's so fun! But the only thing I don't like is you have to build the houses is so tiring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    It's not good I used it for about 10 seconds looking for a cool android game for children but all I found was a boring waste of time.é we

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Its a cool android game but i dont like how i have a lot of ads and when i wish to fly i cant i have to watch an ad and it doesnt latest for long. I have to watch a lot of ads for a unicorn it was worth it but I dont like how the pet follows me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    this android game is so amazing only works if you have a iPhone I tried it on my friend's phone but it wouldn't work at all it only works for my phone is going to work on my phone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    Very inappropriate ads! My 6 yr old daughter is having pop ups asking her to kiss the "hot girl" girl kiss girl game... ridiculous... not satisfied at all....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I think this android game is awesome you obtain to build your own put do whatever you like have so much fun you will like this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    i really like this game. its almost perfect. it should have been excellent already if it was like a virtual globe so me and my sister would meet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This is a copyrighted android game they copied waterpark craft this android game trap you in the pools and when you fall in a other side of the boarder and does not support you back i do not suggest this for you dont waste time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    I loved this android game but when you got stuck it created a weird and annoying sound

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    This android game is so amazing! It's Just like minecraft but method better. it's basically a girl version! Soooooooooo GOOD!! if your a girl, you HAVE to download this game. iv only been on it for about 10 mins, and im already in love😍👌

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Craft Story: Build & Craft Game For Girls review [App]  2019-12-5 13:56

    It is free and fun to play. You can create fresh friends. Your mates can join. It is really fun

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter