Read the horrifying vhs tape from my childhood reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the horrifying vhs tape from my childhood reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spells of Death (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-27 18:57

    They say, "never judge a book by its cover." And they're right. I saw this cover and thought, "OMG. This is going to be a scary, fun read - I can't wait!" Then upon reading the info of the book (which I'm sad to admit, I didn't do until posting this review), you explore it's supposedly 31 tales of horror - book 1 - 9 pages. So it's a SUPER short story, that should be ok. You are never more grateful that it's only 9 pages when you suffer through the first page. I hate giving poor reviews. But, for the love of God - read your work a few times before publishing. Read it to the mirror, to others, aloud, whatever it takes to realize that commas are your friend. Even for a 9 page short story, this was terrible. The thoughts were incredibly unfinished and the story didn't seem plausible or place together - at all. I wanted to like it, but wow. Absolutely not good writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    it's a very amazing story I enjoyed it. l love bloody Mary. it's do cool I hope u like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spells of Death (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-27 18:57

    Amazing stories

    0  


    Add your opinion on the horrifying vhs tape from my childhood or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spells of Death (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-27 18:57

    I did have fun the read, it does support you to slay some time, but there's nothing surprising in the whole story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    Review of Kindle editionPublication date: September 3, 2012Publisher: Drac Von StollerLanguage: EnglishASIN: B0095PNP084 pagesI had previously read some of Drac Von Stoller's stories but was not impressed. However this story is free and, according to the description, all of Von Stroller's stories have been newly rry Mr. or Ms Von Stroller, I am still unimpressed. Reviewer RRM said that this was like reading an article from Wikipedia. I concur.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    If you girls or boys that test to play this android game just rember before you play the android game tell your parents you love them a lot and plus if you play this game. you are the meanest child in the globe because your going to test and talk to the dead please DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    It was the most lame ver of bloody Mary in centuries.Even an angel with not one drop of scary can tell one method sucked and it suck pure dead [email protected]#$%

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    12/04/2016I've heard so very a lot of versions of this legend that it isn't even funny. I swear, I think it's almost as old as time itself. I like hearing all the variations, but I'm darned well not bold enough to test the conjuring. There are just some things I don't meddle in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spells of Death (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-27 18:57

    Even FREE is too much to pay for this absurd slab of nonsense. C'mon, can't you even TRY - just the slightest bit? And I apologize if you are mentally 'challenged' or whatever the P.C. fighters are calling it these days... but, i mean, jeez...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    Im not sure what's the author's purpose with this short story. If it's to obtain you scared, or if it's to hook you up and obtain you to obtain the book with all the tales. I know it's free but common! this was like reading an article from Wikipedia

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    I’m too chicken to say it three times!Well, as you can probably guess, teenagers are having a sleepover, on Halloween, no less, and they decide to do the Bloody Mary thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    Bloody Mary is a retelling of the urban legend with a slight twist.While it was entertaining and brought up past memories of campfires and story telling it is just the tale of Bloody Mary in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    Love it. You can't stop reading it. It even gives me nightmares. I can't even look in the mirror. Wow

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloody Mary (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-17 19:18

    I hope no-one spent cash on this book. Poorly written. Very short and kind of dumb, will not read again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spells of Death (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-27 18:57

    Very amazing read. I enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spells of Death (31 Horrifying Tales From The Dead) []  2020-11-27 18:57

    The book lacks detail and feels as if it is rushed. More descriptive detail and story development is greatly needed.

    0  


  • 1

    Useful review?

    truelane from the hartford [True lane]  2021-4-1 14:46
    [email protected]

    I rode in my daughter's vehicle for a 6 hour round trip. Real lane never asked if I was the driver. I amassed a pile of violations just sitting in a seat. What goes?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    It's pieces you went through as a kid learning to play the instrument not paying them much attention because you were, well, a child. And when you grew up, you didn't pay them any attention because you thought they were for children. Perlman in his transparent, direct method of telling a story, and attractive playing as it always is, breathes life into passages and phrases. This disc will remind you that it's up to the musician to create music... or not. It wouldn't be the piece's fault.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    I chose this recording for the Viotti concerto, and I must say this is a superlative musical experience, especially for the unbelievable first movement cadenza, which could not have been intended as a student piece. The remaining works I search essentially minor and a bit academic. Other than the fact that Perlman played them as a student they don't seem to fit well with the Viotti on one disc. Still, if it's the Viotti you want, you can't go wrong with this legro Molto

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    Perlman plays four concertos and one ballet stage that are usually played by intermediate level violin students. Recordings of these pieces are hard to find, so it is nice that a master of the violin decided to create a recording using a student orchestra at Juilliard. Perlman does a unbelievable job of playing easy music. It is nice for kids to have a recording showing them how one of the world's best violinists makes their beginner concertos into attractive music. I highly recommend it for Suzuki students in Vol. 4 who are beginning to play concertos (the first Seitz in Vol. 4 is the 3rd movement of the Seitz Concerto no. 2 on this CD). It is nice to hear the concertos with full orchestra, instead of the usual violin plus piano that is usually found on the Suzuki e melody itself is simple: it is aimed at kids who are intermediate violin students, not Symphony Hall. The first two concertos are played in first position only. If you're looking for Perlman playing advanced melody with all the "bells and whistles", then this is not the CD for you: you should look for his recordings of the standard adult repertoire. If you're looking for a CD to please your intermediate level violinist, then this one will likely do the trick. My 9 year old daughter loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    I am probably biased. Mr. Perlman is one of my favorite violinist. He is a phenomenal player.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    Perhaps we are all a bit too sophisticated. This recording, with the stated purpose of letting students hear a master play them, is a joy to listen to. There is small pyrotechics or flashy playing, in fact much is "first position" playing. While a student may aspire to equal the master in playing these pieces, they are also quite a "student violinist" I appreciate both the artistry and simplicity of these works. It is all amazing melody that has been too easily relegated to the areana of student st of us will never share the scene with violinists the calibre of Perlman, but we can play and have fun the same music. Thank you Mr. Pearlman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    I thought about to purchse this cd when I daughter was playing most of the pieces few years ago, but I never did. However, I just bought it now and I found it is really worthy if you have a young player at home. Perlman recorded this cd to encourage young players to play violin with fun. I think he did a unbelievable job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    Love this recording!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    I bought this for my 8-year-old son, who is a beautiful devoted violin student. He loves it and he has listened to it every night for a while now. He likes melody on when he goes to bed and has enjoyed this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    Perlman is not only a fabulous violinist, he is an awesome teacher. I love this CD because he decided that there were a lot of concertos of his childhood that were worth recording. My violin students play a lot of of these and it is unbelievable for them to here such a popular violinist performing them with the Juilliard orchestra.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concertos From My Childhood / Perlman, Foster []  2020-7-16 19:50

    The reason that I gave a 3 begin is that its CD case is not a regular CD case. The case is created of hardboard which doesn't provide amazing protection. The CD sounds great. The pack is not good. BTW, it is only 1 CD, not 2 CD in the description.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transylvanian Cookbook : 100 recipes from my childhood in the heart of Transylvania []  2020-9-6 18:13

    With everything being available online with just a easy touch of a button, the decision to buy a cooking book does not come simple these days. But I do not regret getting this one. Reminds me of home. I did not obtain lost in it. The pictures look amazing, and I can vouch for some of them that they taste awesome as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transylvanian Cookbook : 100 recipes from my childhood in the heart of Transylvania []  2020-9-6 18:13

    Dracula didn’t use to drink blood. But he used to eat royally and this book brings to light recipes of true meal from times immemorial. The author of this book dug deep into Dracula’s homeland to bring us the best recipes Transylvania has to offer. Awesome book, awesome food!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transylvanian Cookbook : 100 recipes from my childhood in the heart of Transylvania []  2020-9-6 18:13

    If you are not already familiar with romanian cuisine, and anot experienced cook; this cookbook may be eat recipes, and attractive stories and pictures, but if you don't know what you are doing the recipes can be impossible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transylvanian Cookbook : 100 recipes from my childhood in the heart of Transylvania []  2020-9-6 18:13

    If you have ever lived or traveled to Romania, you likely will have experienced the beauty of Transylvania and the delicious meal that awaited everywhere. Muresan's Transylvanian Cookbook lets you bring some those unbelievable recipes back with you. His cookbook is well illustrated and includes metric and English equivalents. Directions are simple to follow. Can't wait to test the Ciorbas this winter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transylvanian Cookbook : 100 recipes from my childhood in the heart of Transylvania []  2020-9-6 18:13

    The recipes are amazing and the end product is delicious!!!I grew up around Victoria so I’m grateful that finally someone took the time to write down those amazing recipes and publish them in this unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transylvanian Cookbook : 100 recipes from my childhood in the heart of Transylvania []  2020-9-6 18:13

    Amazing pictures... nostalgia. A la recherche du temps perdu!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transylvanian Cookbook : 100 recipes from my childhood in the heart of Transylvania []  2020-9-6 18:13

    If you would like to know what kind of meal Dracula was eating do not wait too much ... buy it even Amazon does not have it in stock, I bought two and I received them in three weeks but it was worth the wait ... THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. Transylvania is one the best locations that you need to see in this lifetime with nice people, wild places, old castles and tasty food. If you cannot visit it and you would like to test Romanian traditional meal this is the best cookbook that you can buy. While you are watching some horror films test some Dracula's beetroot salad or some Dracula's blood black pudding ... you are going to be part of the movie! If you already visited Romania I am very sure you are missing the grilled Transylvania sausages (mititei), stuffed cabbage leaves (sarmale), beef goulash, or bean soup with smoked pork knuckle! If you like deserts, test plum dumplings, small lies donuts (scoverzi), chocolate salami or chocolate balls with sour cherry. All these recipes and a lot more you will search in this cookbook. I am going to order more, this is a nice bonus for people interested to know and cook meal from a amazing land ...Transylvania!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transylvanian Cookbook : 100 recipes from my childhood in the heart of Transylvania []  2020-9-6 18:13

    I recently travelled and found this amazing piece of Transylvanian cuisine in the Bucharest Airport. It's not only a modern book about old recipes, but very private and honest in it's intentions. Pictures are great, recipes are well described - simple to cook from. I loved the Wild garlic and cheese dish- now in season - delicious. Some recipes are massive in meat but I love meat. A amazing gift!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    The stated purpose of this book is to recount a curated collection of the most terrifying paranormal stories ever recorded. The author states that the happenings are drawn from all over the globe and that all are supported by hard evidence. Included are various examples of supernatural happenings representative of the following categories: ghost stories; hauntings; and other parawnormal activity. The content is interesting, but this book includes a lot of editing errors. It is plagued with odd sentence structure, improper word placement, and run on sentences in so a lot of passages that the narrative is almost incomprehensible. Additionally, there are a number of verb tense agreement issues, misplaced words and phrases, misspellings, and other errors that detract further from readability of the narrative. I cannot recommend this book in its current state. I suggest that the author remove this book from circulation in order to rework and edit its content. The material in this ook is interesting and worthy of publishing after corrective actions are taken.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    I'm not sure who's ratings I read before I purchased this book... the author's family members maybe? There was absolutely NOTHING "horrifying" in this book, except perhaps the fact that I actually purchased it. I was desperate for something to read, or I wouldn't have bothered continuing; although I held out hope that maybe the NEXT story would be horrifying. In nearly every story, the author makes a statement like, "Is this really true? We may never know." So how in the heck is she calling these "real" ghost stories? Save your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    I love ghost films and stories, even this book is short the stories are amazing! The author write so fluid and well this urban legends and reading this at night is unbelievable but scary, and more if you know that these happens in true life. I totally recommend this book is simple to read, the stories are interesting and if you are a horror or a ghost lover you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    I felt like it was too short. I would have loved to continue reading more ghost stories, but the book wraps up quickly, and with what I felt was not the "right" story, though it was interesting. Needs some fine tuning, focus, and expansion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    I absolutely love reading about real paranormal events. These stories send chills down my back. If you'd like the Paranormal this is a definitely amazing book to purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jessica Ennis: Unbelievable - From My Childhood Dreams To Winning Olympic Gold: The life story of Team GB's Olympic Golden Girl []  2020-8-23 18:49

    A surprisingly well written book and it shows her life, warts and all. Some very huge highs and lows throughout her life and although I have read very few autobiographies I really enjoyed this one. I would like to have known more about the funding of her squad (where it came from etc) but other than that it is very comprehensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jessica Ennis: Unbelievable - From My Childhood Dreams To Winning Olympic Gold: The life story of Team GB's Olympic Golden Girl []  2020-8-23 18:49

    An interesting and simple read of the reality of being a globe class athlete working through all the trials and tribulations associated with this level of sport

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    I'm glad I found this book. It's so hard to search a decent, well-written collection of real ghost stories on Amazon. I've read some of these stories before, elsewhere, but there was still more than enough to hold me entertained.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    This is a amazing book for teenagers starting to read ghost & horror stories. Bought it for my niece and she loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    Not a very thick book but I loved the various stories in there .. Id love to visit a few of the locations mentioned and it also contains the strange story of Alisa lam (pretty sure I spelled her name wrong) all the stories are based on true events

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jessica Ennis: Unbelievable - From My Childhood Dreams To Winning Olympic Gold: The life story of Team GB's Olympic Golden Girl []  2020-8-23 18:49

    Not a poor book, but won't read it again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    This collection is of 12 stories that are told beautiful straight forward, often with a small more info than is important to create the story interesting. I did not search the stories particularly appealing and am amazed anyone would search them scary, as some other reviews claim.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghost Stories: The Most Horrifying Real Ghost Stories from Around the World Including Disturbing Ghost, Hauntings, & Paranormal Stories []  2020-1-30 20:5

    This has been really enticing to read! I love horror stories, they hold me so invested and up all night. People like me are really into these horrifying happenings such as murders, paranormal activities, etc. and we couldn't suffice our cravings into fresh findings about horror. Well this book has a lot to tell and goosebumps shook my entire soul from being horrified by these almost believable stories. I'm still not convinced that some of them might be created up, but still they were amazing enough fake or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jessica Ennis: Unbelievable - From My Childhood Dreams To Winning Olympic Gold: The life story of Team GB's Olympic Golden Girl []  2020-8-23 18:49

    I've become something of a fan for Jessica Ennis. Perhaps just because she is so regular in my mind. She is a amazing example of what can happen if you are encouraged early on and you work hard and hold it real. Daily working parents, typical enough begin in life and with extraordinary work came amazing success. Meanwhile you have to walk the fine line of watching other "juice" and create large gains in strength and speed and you know something is most likely afoul but what can you do? So much effort goes into these events. You might wonder what goes through someone's mind waiting for their turn in an happening where the whole globe is watching. That's what's in this someone who runs a amazing bit, I have been injured a few times and I know how painful it is to have to stop that which you love. I was running so often that one day I felt a muscle just give out on me. So I started riding a bike to obtain my fix for being active, up until the wheel got caught in a train track, flipped over at 30 km/hour and flipped over, broke three ribs, my collar bone and really damage my elbow and hip. It took me 7 months to heal up. Meanwhile all that had been gained is quickly erased. It can drive you mad. So when I read of Jessica's injury I know how hard it can be. I think it is the not knowing. As she writes in the book, everyone tells you everything will be fine. And then it isn't. And then you obtain injured again and they tell you everything will be fine again, and this time it is. Daily is spent stressing your body to its limits. Things break and only then do you know if you pushed too hard. In this globe every Olympian is pushing themselves to the max. Imagine that every day you train and year after year you create little gains in your speed, strength and delivery. It's not for fame or money. It's to know you are the best. And the entire time to strive to be the best and obtain that gold, you have to know that it won't is is the kind of book I really like to read. Bought it from the UK shop and had it delivered to the United States before the Kindle ver hit the US. Bought it again once it hit the Kindle. Perfect athlete and an equally perfect book. Grateful she shared her experience. Amazing luck in your future Jessica!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jessica Ennis: Unbelievable - From My Childhood Dreams To Winning Olympic Gold: The life story of Team GB's Olympic Golden Girl []  2020-8-23 18:49

    Enjoyable, simple read - would support motivate anyone to dig in and obtain out there (if you wish it enough).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jessica Ennis: Unbelievable - From My Childhood Dreams To Winning Olympic Gold: The life story of Team GB's Olympic Golden Girl []  2020-8-23 18:49

    Amazing for very sporty people or just someone who enjoyed London 2012. I really enjoyed it and I'd recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annapurna: Gastronomic delights from my Fiji Indian childhood []  2020-11-30 19:55

    I bought this off Amazon for my e-reader...first time for an e-cookbook, also first experience with Fijian is was not a long cookbook, and the recipes actually began on page 37, but I didn't mind so much, as the background regarding the dishes was interesting. Coming from the American midwest, the meal was very foreign to my taste. The only problem I had with the recipes chosen was that nearly all the snacks were deep-fried, making them impossible to create without extra purchase of kitchen equipment. Additionally, several of the author's recipes use a "dessert spoon" as a measurement, which isn't standardized in the US, and can widely vary depending on your silverware set. (I don't think this is a large issue, given that spices are to taste, anyway).I really liked the beverages and the miscellaneous section--and that Appendix is the BOMB dot com. It really is excellent, and explains all the spices, seasonings and dishes, along with possible menus for the food.3 out of 5 for applicability to my life, but 5 out of 5 for being just a amazing cultural resource. Need more cookbooks like these! Overall great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jessica Ennis: Unbelievable - From My Childhood Dreams To Winning Olympic Gold: The life story of Team GB's Olympic Golden Girl []  2020-8-23 18:49

    This unbelievable book is such a personal, insightful and deeply thought-provoking acc of how Jessica Ennis climbed her method to the top from nothing. This is the story of how the girl next door, who had dreams and huge aspirations, ended up as an Olympic star and competiting in the London 2012 Olympic Android games for her country. Heartwarming, honest and strong Jessica's story is one of hardship, blood, sweat and tears thus proving that to achieve amazing things one has to work hard. Her commitment and dedication to her sport, and her focus on reaching higher goals whilst always pushing herself to her limits, is a testimony to all sports specialists who dedicate their life to their art. This astonishing and utterly remarkable read also contains never seen before photographs from behind the scenes, as you discover Jessica Ennis' globe from her perspective and viewpoint.On the 4th August 2012 Jessica Ennis kicked off what some described as the greatest night in British sporting history, and for her it was the end of a long, winding and sometimes harrowing road...Nobody was under more pressure at the London Olympics than 'the face of the Games'. Yet Jessica delivered the heptathlon gold medal, and the large outpouring of relief she showed afterwards hinted at the roller-coaster journey she had been on. Behind the smiles and politeness, Jessica has endured much. Bullied at school for being small, she proved to critics and rivals alike that size really didn't matter.*Hers is an inspiring tale of following your dreams no matter what life throws at you.*In 2008 Jessica thought her career might be over when she was injured on the eve of the Olympic Android games in Beijing. But she overcame this setback to rebuild her career and technique, becoming the globe and European winner in successive years. Her largest try was yet to come, though, when her rivals overhauled her in the build-up to London. Wonderful is a refreshingly candid acc of her rise to fame in a highly charged globe in which body photo problems and abuses lurk. From the special pressures facing her, to behind-the-scenes glimpses into the greatest present on earth, and a revealing acc of her love-hate relationship with her long-term coach, Jessica reveals the truth behind the smiles for the first time. Wonderful contains exclusive behind-the-scenes is is the story of how an ordinary woman used an extraordinary talent to claim the title of the world's greatest all-round female sports star.Emotive, touching and truth-drawing this is a book that affects one profoundly, as the strong notice within speak to the heart and touch the soul. Empowering, inspiring and rousing after reading Jessica's acc you will instantly feel energized and rejuvenated to go and seek out the best in life. I must say that this has to be the most memorable, inspirational sports biography I have read in a long time and which I highly recommend as something to obtain you motivated in a morning! Just brilliant and intensely gripping you will search it hard pressed not to be touched by Jessica Ennis' tale, which speaks of such truth and realistic outlook on life in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annapurna: Gastronomic delights from my Fiji Indian childhood []  2020-11-30 19:55

    This is one of those recipe books where I gave it a glance or two, then realised that this is within my limited culinary range, and just the list of ingredients starts a salivary early laid out, just the right amount of history and background, simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Annapurna: Gastronomic delights from my Fiji Indian childhood []  2020-11-30 19:55

    Naidu shares her favorite recipes from her childhood in the Fiji Indian zone in a delightfully written e begins with a brief synopsis of Indian cooking - with lovely explanations of the vibrant and rich e recipes were well-formatted and laid out. There were a few pictures to accompany the more difficult recipes (which I much appreciated).There are recipes both familiar (banana cake) and completely foreign (gulgula) to me - but all sound fun and cording to the author, all of the recipes are passed down from her mother, aunts and others close to her during her childhood - I really liked the private touch!All the ones I've tried out so far have A) worked and B) were delicious!The pictures are from her Chicken Curry, Tomato and Cuber Salad and Banana Cake (which has become a family favourite! )

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I have it on my phone & what I like about it is the extra security you can apply to it. But the one aggravating problem it has is having to update my password because it for whatever reason it doesn't recognize my present password []  2021-2-21 21:2
    [email protected]

    I appreciate the additional security that the application provides with the phone and so much more the application offers. The application needs some fixing & perhaps updating as well. From the thumbs down I've seen in the reviews This Summit Credit Union Customer knows that it's time for the amazing application to be greater. I wish to give much thanks to developers of the cardnav application for doing a amazing job &I know they can do a greater job of tuning it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    David from Sqribble []  2020-10-19 7:47
    [email protected]

    Hello my name is David, I want to very first begin by stating your www service is incredible! I feel like you can use a bit more text content though.. and I understand it's quite bothersome producing it all yourself. Do you by possibility also have difficulties making Reports, Guides, Digital Information for your product & services or perhaps E-BOOKS? Basic things like offering an E-book can help you obtain countless fresh leads each month! New revolutionary technology has JUST been released that allows you to INSTANTLY develop expert Ebooks, Reports, Guides, Lead Magnets, Whitepapers, and digital info-products AUTOMATICALLY, and "ON-DEMAND" ... at a push of a button! Try it. > 

    0  


  • 2

    Useful review?

    Generals from FuryLion [game mobile ]  2020-12-18 12:14
    [email protected]

    I think the android game generals is worthy of your attention, but If you're a coward, you don't belong here. Only Generals can play this game. Discover cunning tactics and become the best general in the world! The android game invites you to make your own invincible troops and try it versus other players in quick uncontrollable battles! You can experiment and explore advantageous tactics and become the best general in the android game world! The features of the android game are such that to make an invincible troops and improve it you need to collect the best units. The android game offers you to war versus armies of other players and thus testing your tactics to see who is the smartest general! Discover various strategies and strategies! Of course not without leadership lists. Earn trophies and climb the leaderboard to become the best general in the world! The android game is great, but it has its challenges. I'd like to draw your attention! A network connection is needed here. Generals is free to download and play, but some in-game stuff can also be bought with true money. If you do not wish to use this feature, please disable in-app purchases in your device settings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    purchase lasix from Dallas [buy lasix in Australia]  2020-9-17 7:0
    [email protected]

    buy lasix with prescription lasix 40mg smartphone online where to purchase lasix in Cleveland where to buy lasix in Sacramento online where to purchase lasix in Oklahoma buy lasix in Cincinnati where to purchase lasix in San Jose buy lasix in San Jose

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    purchase lasix from Chicago [lasix how much]  2020-9-13 16:15
    [email protected]

    where to buy lasix in Sacramento lasix prescription where to purchase lasix in Boston lasix medication order lasix online best method to search cheap lasix in Tulsa best method to search cheap lasix in San Diego buy lasix 100mg how to obtain lasix over the counter how to buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy from canada [buy from canada]  2021-4-2 20:46
    [email protected]

    asthma and air pollution what is the definition of treatment canada tadalafil

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix online from Portugal [how to buy lasix in Norway]  2020-9-14 16:24
    [email protected]

    lasix online pharmacy in Finland where to buy lasix in Los Angeles online buying true lasix without prescription where to buy lasix in Canada how to buy lasix in Nashville-Davidson best method to search cheap lasix in Oklahoma lasix online pharmacy in Indianapolis lasix online without prescription where to buy diuretic lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Puerto Rico

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    write my paper [dissertation]  2020-10-11 18:55
    e34iniy [email protected]

    Amazing data. Thanks a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    my canadian pharmacies blbs [cheap online canada pharmacy edfe]  2020-10-8 23:36
    [email protected]

    list of canada online pharmacies from canada pharmacy generic canada pharmacy online canadian pharmacy for cvs pharmacy buy online canada pharmacy pharma from canada rite aid pharmacies canadian pharmacy for canadian pharmaceutical online pharmacy medications online canadian pharmacy my canadian pharmacies

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    from canadian pharmacies divo [buy online canada pharmacy neqv]  2020-10-16 16:40
    [email protected]

    northwestpharmacy .com canadian pharmaceutical canadian pharmacy canadian discount pharmacies from canadian pharmacy online pharmacy united states of america online pharmacies without prescription canadian online pharmacy canadian online pharmacy canadian pharmacies generic ed medication canada pharmacy online united states of america pharmacy online online canada pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Flag of Childhood: Poems From the Middle East []  2020-10-9 18:43

    Palestinian statelet of Gaza, Palestinian State of Israel with its Arab Autonomy and Palestinian Kingdom of JordanNaomi Shihab is not a Palestinian poet, though her father was born in a country of Palestine formed almost a hundred years ago by the British who tried to civilize their fresh Kingdom of Jerusalem.Her father, a journalist, was not a refugee; he was a free-spirited Arab who didn't wish to practice omi acknowledged later that her father was a wanderer. Not a refugee! He could go back and forth to Ramallah or Jerusalem which were part of the Palestinian monarchy even after omi Shihab became a omi's mother was a German Lutheran based in Missouriwhere Naomi lived in her formative Shihab is a “profiteer,” she tries to compare her native city of Ferguson to modern Palestine which was long subdivided into Gaza, the Arab Autonomy in Ramallah, Israel and the Hashemite Kingdom of Eastern Palestine (Jordan) now ruled by half English King omi Shihab Nye is a highly educated person and a manipulator:“She was a Palestinian born in Jordan.” What does it mean?The Kingdom of Jordan is located in Palestine, in case you don't for her poetry it is full of question marks (Give us answers, Naomi!) and e task of a poet to give us e chimney poem follows. Note that there are no chimneys in the South Levant including the British Palestine.Tip their mouths begin to the sky.Turquoise, amber,the deep green with fluted handle,pitcher the size of two thumbs,tiny lip and graceful we put the smallest flowerwhich could have lived invisiblyin loose soil beside the road,sprig of succulent rosemary,bowing ey grow deeper in the center of the we entrust the little life,thread, fragment, breath.And it bends. It waits all the bread cools and the childrenopen their gray copybooksto shape the letter that looks likea chimney rising out of a house.And what do the headlines say?Nothing of the smaller petalperfectly arranged inside the larger petalor the method tinted glass filters and boys, praying when they died,fall out of their e whole alphabet of living,heads and tails of words,sentences, the method they said,“Ya’Allah!” when astonished,or “ya’ani” for “I mean”—a crushed glass under the feetstill shines.But the kid of Hebron sleepswith the thud of her brothers fallingand the long sorrow of the color Palestinians [the Arabic speakers in Judean Hevron, Dirah or Samaria] Hold Warm - Poem by Naomi Shihab NyeChoose one word and say it overand over, till it builds a fire inside your hafera, the one who holds out, Alphard, solitary one,the stars were named by people like us.Each night they line up on the long path between ey nod and blink, no right or wrongin their yellow eyes. Dirah, small house,unfold your walls and take us well went dry, my grandfather's grapeshave stopped singing. I stir the coals,my babies cry. How will I teach themthey belong to the stars?They build forts of white stone and say, "This is mine."How will I teach them to love Mizar, veil, cloak,to know that behind it an ancient manis fanning a flame?He stirs the dark wind of our breath.He says the veil will risetill they see us shining, spreading like emberson the blessed hills.Well, I created that up. I'm not so sure about Mizar.But I know we need to hold warm here on earthAnd when your shawl is as thin as mine is, you tell a native speaker of English, not Arabic, Naomi should educate herself more in American poetry; her brain comes from her mother. And she should stop using poetry for political ends by employing the wrong terminology and to obtain preferential treatment as a member of a protected e Pasts[The template borrowed from Charles Simic, a Poet Laureate of the United States]Our pasts must have causes for hidingTheir a lot of twists and turns from usAnd those causes must have something to do with either pity or spitefulness.I believe that most of us don’t careAnd that surely is the ere's a slim possibility of being introducedThough we are still neighborsWho walk away from each other steadily and even break into flight,Speechless and turning deafAccelerated into nothingnessBy an adorable babyOr some sparrows looking for feedOn the paved over archaeological sitesContaining fossils of weirs in lost riversDec 23,2010John Ziemba proofread on the 7th of December, 2012

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Flag of Childhood: Poems From the Middle East []  2020-10-9 18:43

    These 60 poems come from a dozens of geographic places. Reading the short biographies about the poets, helped me understand the fluidity of some of these Arab places… a lot of of the authors had moved from their birthplace. Some were written by children, and I think the book is suitable for children. I think its valuable that I couldn’t derive a common “Arab” e book is divided into loose chapters “A Galaxy of Seeds”, “The Globe is a glass you drink from”, “Pick a sky and name it”, and “There was in our house a river”. Some of my favorite included Adonis beginning Speech “That kid I was/ came to me once/ an unfamiliar face”. The Train of our stars by al-Raheem “The night is a train that passes,/carrying moon and stars..” and Shurayh’s untitled “Today I realize/ that my spirit has rusted/ to a degree/ I shall not be able/ to shine it again”. In the final section Serri’s “Thread by Thread/knot by now/ like colonies of ants/ we weave a bridge”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Flag of Childhood: Poems From the Middle East []  2020-10-9 18:43

    Haunting, thoughtful, challenging poetry that made worlds of human experience in war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Flag of Childhood: Poems From the Middle East []  2020-10-9 18:43

    nice reading for an begin minded person

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    my case in gov search [broward county civil case search]  2020-9-3 1:23
    [email protected]

    see post miami dade criminal case find brazoria county case find website here her comment is here search more his comment is here kcoj case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix online from New Orleans [best price for lasix in San Antonio]  2020-9-14 7:48
    [email protected]

    cheap lasix in Hungary usa lasix lasix cost furosemide 20mg how to buy lasix in Switzerland where to buy lasix in Memphis cheap lasix in Minneapolis lasix 40mg smartphone online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix online from Virginia Beach [ordering lasix]  2020-9-13 15:49
    [email protected]

    cheap canadian lasix discount canadian lasix buy lasix in St Louis best method to search cheap lasix in France top 7 best locations to buy lasix in Hungary lasix water online where to buy lasix in Austria

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Even before I read this book, I had created a lot of of the conclusions the author makes. Any parent who wants his/her kids to be responsible adults should read this book, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Very necessary book for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    I've read a few of John Holt's books (How Kids Fail (Classics in Kid Development),How Kids Learn (Classics in Kid Development),The Underachieving School), and to my mind, Escape from Childhood is the most philosophically 'meaty' of them. Here, John Holt provides a fairly developed (and he admits where it is not) vision of what children's rights should be in a free society. Unlike most of his other books, this one does not simply focus on Holt's arguments versus compulsory schooling, but gives a more comprehensive argument about children's e first half of the book more or less includes an overall notice and argument that we should not think of kids as 'cute small innocents' who NEED protection as children. We laugh when kids do something immature (where we wouldn't laugh had an adult done it), do not often allow them fail (as a learning process), and, sometimes without knowing it, force them into dependence on us. Holt's notice is not that we should NOT protect children, or that we should allow them simply do as they'd like without interference; rather, he believes that that we should protect them when they'd like to be protected, offer tip in a method that leaves them free to reject it if they'd like, and be very cautious that we do not coerce kids in a method that highlights our need for them to be kids (under our control) rather than aiding with the child's e second half of the book - I think, the more substantive half - enumerates and defends ten rights Holt believes kids should have in a free society. They are:1. The right to equal treatment a the hands of the law2. The right to vote, and take full part in political affairs.3. The right to be legally responsible for one's life and acts.4. The right to work, for money.5. The right to privacy.6. The right to financial independence and responsibility7. The right to direct and manage one's own education.8. The right to travel, to live away from home, to choose or create one's own home.9. The right to keep from the state whatever minimum income it may guarantee to adults citizens.10. The right to create and enter into quasi-familial relationships outside one's immediate family-ie.11. The right to do, in general, what any adult may legally do.Holt, contra some defenders of children's rights, does not anticipate that all kids will desire all of these rights. If a kid doesn't wish to vote (as he figures most kids won't), travel, establish alternative living arrangements, or keep a primary income from the government, they shouldn't have to (in the same method adults who do not wish to publish or write choose not to exercise their freedom of press). And Holt does not assert these rights simply versus governments (that the state may not abridge the right to travel, etc), but, when necessary, versus parents (Holt is aware that kids often need protection from parental pressures not to exercise certain rights).So, as an example, Holt defends the right of a kid to determine how, by whom, and for how long, they will keep education. Holt deals with the "but won't kids just choose not to go to school" objection by suggesting that while it is possible, it is more likely that kids will simply choose to learn things they wish to learn, rather than things detached government experts believe they should learn. To the "school is a sanctuary from nasty true life that all kids should have" objection by noting that we often falsely assume that schools are often quite as nasty as "the world." To the "but won't this effect in parents forcing their kids to work rather than go to school?" objection, Holt reminds us that if each kid has the option of receiving a guaranteed primary income, they can choose to leave, not work, and go to school if they'd like. Also, Holt -even though very fuzzy in detail - believes that governments could devise laws to protect kids from this sort of parental coercion (in the same ways that there are laws versus adults forcing other adults into labor).Holt is particularly concerned with the importance of exit rights for children's (and others') freedom. Simply put, I am most free when I can exit particular social arrangements and replace them with another viable option, and am not free when I am not free to exit. Going to school is fine, but forcing students into school - allow alone a particular school - leaves the kid absolutely unfree and slave to others' decisions. As Holt writes fairly early in the book (talking about our tendency to force care upon children), "No one can truly say 'Yes' to something, be it an experience or another person's offer to live, if he cannot truly say 'No.'" Hence, the proposal to guarantee a government-provided primary income to kids who choose this option; rights to travel, search a fresh home, etc, become somewhat more difficult when the kid can only do these by risking their only source of support, the parents.Unfortunately, the book and Holt's ideas are still a bit fuzzy. First, there is very small evidence of any kind on whether kids can intelligently use freedoms like these; evidence is highly anecdotal starting with something like "An eight year old mate of mine in Boston..." So, some readers will rightly be concerned that giving five year olds the right to use (a right that has serious consequences at FIRST misuse), can only be done if we have reason to assume that kids will be somewhat responsible. Second, there are questions about whether parents must fund some of these rights: to have the right to choose their own education or travel, does that mean that parents must pay the cost of it, or must this be taken from the probably limited primary income the state provides? Third, Holt's ambivalence about the state and its role leads to a very inconclusive argument at times. He does not wish the state to administer schools, but does wish them both to provide the funding for, and regulate, personal schools, only to ruminate on the likely chance that the state will abuse this regulatory role, using it to limit educational choice and up tuition Holt's credit, he does admit that his vision of children's rights is somewhat preliminary, a suggestion to obtain a conversation going rather than a complete, exhaustive, vision. And it certainly is the former. If anything, this book is a amazing read because it allows us to contemplate (and see a possibly heretofore-not-entertaind rationale for) children's rights in a free society. Disagree with Holt, and you will have a lot to chew on here, allowing you to better think through your disagreements. Agree with Holt, and you will have some thinking to do in order to fill in info that Holt himself leaves incomplete.Either way, Holt gives us a lot to chew on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Very nice and thought provoking read, and the authors deep respect for kids clearly shines e text is incoherent in locations which seems to be the effect of poor scanning and a lack of editing, and that is why i give it only 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    This book is fascinating and a passionate argument for the human rights of children, our blind spot. Childhood is not magic; unless you have parents who treat you as an equal and tell you the truth, parents who lead by example instead of ruling with punishment, unnatural consequences and harsh discipline. Kids have needs and rights, it's about time we started listening to the experts on being children, kids themselves. Kids are not treated as full humans, childhood doesn't cover up this fact, it makes it even clearer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    This book has really blown me away, causing me to re-think what it means to be a child, what childhood is like from the perspective of the child, and how adults treat children. Excellent, perfect book. I especially love chapter 24: The Right To Control One's Learning. The whole book is amazing though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    John Holt is a thought provoking and challenging writer. His thesis here is kind of a mess, but anyone working in education, in particular primary/secondary would do well to read this, if only to have to articulate a clear, thoughtful rejection of the work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    If every parent read John Holt's works, a lot of millions of kids would obtain to have the freedom they deserve, to follow their own passions, to dream their dreams, to live. We would stop locking our children up in buildings all day every day, pressuring them to be robots. We would stop ging them. We would begin to respect them again."Schools" as we have them arranged on a mass scale are just jails, it was real when Holt first published, and it is so much worse now. FREE THE CHILDREN.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Wealth of information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    my heart transplant for your amusement []  2020-8-16 15:50
    [email protected]

    "My Heart Transplant for Your Amusement" by Vince Clews The essence of this book is Vince's story about his heart condition and the obstacles he had to overcome to create the transplant happen; but, it also a love story of Vince's love for his wife, Carol. That love is evidenced in his accolades describing her faithful attendance to his every need, demonstrating what it means to vow, "I will love you and honor you all he days of your life". This is a amazing read and makes one admire the Clews for the tenacity they demonstrated in overcoming the continued frustrations of this rollercoaster ride. I would suggest a various title ~ as I was not amused! I might suggest, "My Heart Transplant: A Good-Humored Look at a Life in Crisis". It is amazing read and I love a guy who watches The Meal Channel to see Barefoot Contessa and Giada with cleavage showing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape From Childhood: The Needs and Rights of Children []  2020-2-7 20:36

    No one see kids development like Holt. His keen observation is a gift. Reading his book place our decision to homeschool our children into proper perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey []  2020-7-23 20:27

    This book is unbelievable for African American History Month. Amazing Artist

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey []  2020-7-23 20:27

    Bought it for a children's lit class- did what it was supposed to do?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Stones Applaud: How Cystic Fibrosis Shaped My Childhood []  2020-7-2 19:44

    I really enjoyed this book, and read it in 2 sittings. The author was a courageous young woman and I'm amazed what she accomplished in such a short life. It is written in a pleasant conversational method that I felt like I knew her a bit when I e one thing I [email protected]#$%! had was a more in depth study of the authors family (Theresa also had a sister who had CF, and died a few years after she did). Her family went on to have a few more kids (were her parents aware of the risk?) after her and her sister were diagnosed. I was also curious to how it affected them emotionally, I want maybe her parents could have touched on this a bit more, just because it was so interesting I would have loved to know more, particularly how her sister struggled as well.I also recommend Breathing for a Living by Laura Rothenburg, my favorite book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey []  2020-7-23 20:27

    Attractive and artful illustrated book as presented to my student. Book arrived with sliced cover, too late to return for fresh cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TRANSFORMERS: Memories from Childhood []  2020-1-21 22:58

    Kind of disappointed. It's just an essay with no illustrations. Would only give it three stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TRANSFORMERS: Memories from Childhood []  2020-1-21 22:58

    That is asome TRANSFORMERS MORE THAN MEETS THE EYE!!!!!!!!!!!! That's how I remember it, I always watch it woohoo!!!! I in the transformer craze!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TRANSFORMERS: Memories from Childhood []  2020-1-21 22:58

    Amazing short story of how Transformers impacted and shaped the life of a young boy.  It definitely gave me one of those feel amazing smiles as I remember toys such as,  G.I. Joe, Construx, and Pop-Up taking up hours of my days stuck at home after school was out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TRANSFORMERS: Memories from Childhood []  2020-1-21 22:58

    I can completely relate to the author when it comes to my childhood memories of Transformers. Though his experience is unique, there were several things that sounded just like me when I was growing up in the 80's. For example, finding your Christmas bonuses early and checking them out when your parents weren't around. I remember getting two Transformers figures one year (I believe it was 1984). They were Decepticons called Thundercracker (F-15 jet) and Soundwave (Tape recorder/player). I carefully unwrapped them, removed the figures, played with them for a few minutes, and neatly returned them to their original boxes (making sure to wrap them how they were before so no one would detect my tampering). I absolutely loved the cartoon, and I also read the comics. I used to walk to the local convenient store/gas station to buy the comics. Those were the days when comic books were stacked on a rotating rack, which you almost never see nowadays. My dad, who passed in December of 2011, brought me to my first comic shop back in the 80's. I remember wanting to collect back problems (the first several problems in the series) since I hadn't started reading the [email protected]#$%!&il the second year of publication. Thankfully, the shop had all of the problems I wanted, and I currently have the complete Marvel collection (through problem #80). I also have a large toy collection. Though I have some of the vintage 80's figures, most of my collection consists of re-issues, etc., which I plan to pass down to my son one day. A couple of other things the author mentions that I have fond memories of are those amazing 80's department stores, as well as the Transformers talk on the school playground. Whether it was Best, Ames, Total, Kay Bee Toys, or Toys-R-Us, I was constantly searching for Transformers figures. In terms of school, I was in the fifth grade at the time, and I remember one child had the entire Devastator set (six construction robots that formed one giant robot). I was so jealous! My favorite Transformer was an Autobot named Hound (a green military-type jeep). A child in my class claimed to have Hound, so I gave him a couple of my Transformers in exchange/trade for him. Unfortunately, I never did obtain Hound in return. He always had an excuse for not bringing it. Though I ultimately received other figures in exchange (like Wheeljack and Silverstreak), they weren't quite the same. In any event, I absolutely loved those days as a kid. Transformers were (and continue to be) my favorite. Nothing brings back amazing childhood memories like those robots in disguise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Stones Applaud: How Cystic Fibrosis Shaped My Childhood []  2020-7-2 19:44

    My husband's best mate has Cystic Fibrosis and that initially led me to read this book. Our long-standing friendship with him has led me to a passable knowledge concerning this disease, but I looked forward to reading this book and gaining fresh is book was very well written and informative, not just about the physical trials of this disease, but also about the continual shifting of emotional perceptions and reactions to all aspects of life while battling a chronic and fatal illness.Overall, I found this book to be a brutally honest acc of one woman's struggle with a disease...however, I think that this is an accurate portrayal of her struggle in the time period in which she was raised. Reading this opened up a very detailed discussion with our friend, whose experiences have been related in some ways but vastly various in other ways. Teresa's acc is largely laced with frustration, anger and bitterness at her treatment, others reactions and to her disease in general.Our mate and his experiences have been much more optimistic and I accredit this to his facing the disease one decade later than Teresa. This has led me to two conclusions about the timing of her life and the writing of this book. First, that she wrote it in her early twenties, during a time in life when a lot of of us having just become adults are still settling into ourselves. This may have contributed largely to the general negativity in the book.But also, I felt it somewhat hopeful for the disease in general, that though Teresa had to face such inadequate and uninformed health care, that in such a short time CF has come so far. Of course it still has a ways to go, but a lot of of her experiences are now obsolete because research and knowledge have increased at a continually growing e other well-known book about CF (Alex, the Life of a Child) is told from a mourning father and I found to be decidedly tragic and emotionally draining and this book seems to have a much more even and pragmatic approach.I would hesitate to recommend this book to parents facing a newly diagnosed child, only because I feel, after speaking at length with our friend, that the research is moving so steadily forward that this book, thankfully, seems soon to be an inaccurate representation of the face of CF today. Although the emotional and social problems addressed will undoubtedly remain relevant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey []  2020-7-23 20:27

    Fun and funky illustrations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey []  2020-7-23 20:27

    My nursery school students and I loved this story! We used the book to do a train similar art response.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey []  2020-7-23 20:27

    Shows lack of research and very wordy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey []  2020-7-23 20:27

    Detailed book, more appropriate/relevant for upper elementary. Attractive illustrations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey []  2020-7-23 20:27

    The pictures are rich and colourful and the poem flows like a song. I enjoyed reading it to my kids for bedtime. The soothing repetition really helped chill us all out

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Stones Applaud: How Cystic Fibrosis Shaped My Childhood []  2020-7-2 19:44

    Teresa's book about her life is excellent. She's a strong-willed, brilliant person who conveys her experiences without a tip of self-pity. She's articulate and honest, and she opened my eyes to the shortcomings of preventative medicine and its neglect of those who are already living with disease. She also reminded me that you can't take a break from fighting injustice. Every day she fought it, through exhaustion and other people's ignorance. Teresa seems to have had a tireless spirit, and I hope this book helps people remember to continue Teresa's war versus medical complacency and the marginalization of chronically ill people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TRANSFORMERS: Memories from Childhood []  2020-1-21 22:58

    As a Transformers fan, I'm always interested in seeing how other people were introduced to the fandom, and what created them love these giant robots from outer zone so much. I've even been tempted to write a book about my own experiences with the fans and following surrounding the franchise. I wasn't aware another fan had chronicled their experiences as a book until this popped up in my "other books you might like" feed (I blame buying and leaving a review for Dan Gilvezan's "Bumblebee and Me" regarding his work on the original show...). I was curious to see what experiences another fan would share, and so, despite usually not shelling out cash for e-books (I go for freebies or borrow them from my library's website), I paid the 99 cents for this one.I understand that 99 cents is phenomenally cheap for an e-book, but I still feel cheated on this one. While not outright BAD, it's really not worth the largest beef with this "e-book" -- I use the term loosely because it's really more of an e-pamphlet -- is that there's really nothing of note here. Author Charles Smith talks about how he found Transformers as a kid, how he excitedly collected them, and then... nothing. I was hoping for there to be more of a story. Did his interest fade over time, only to be rekindled by the fresh movies/shows? Did he like or dislike any of the other incarnations of the series, such as Beast Wars, Armada, Animated, the "War For Cybertron" video games, or the Dreamwave or IDW comics? (At least the live-action films obtain a brief mention, though he doesn't give much opinion on them...) Does he have a favorite character? Is he involved in the fandom at all now?There could be any number of possibilities for a longer story, but the author seems to have decided that just ten pages is enough. It's more of a blog post than a book, really. I just feel like he could have expanded this to be so, as other reviewers have pointed out, he does create some mistakes. I found a few spelling/grammar errors that really should have been caught before this was released, and yes, Bluestreak wasn't named Silverstreak until almost two decades after his release, most likely due to copyright conflicts. Perhaps he forgot the name of the hero and looked up the current name instead of the original name? All the same, this error could have been caught by a proofreader.While it was nice to learn the story of how a fellow fan grew to love the Transformers universe, I really feel silly for having paid cash to hear said story, especially given that it was lacking so much in substance. It probably would have served better as a blog post, or a single chapter of a larger story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TRANSFORMERS: Memories from Childhood []  2020-1-21 22:58

    This book is about one Transformers's fan's introduction to the globe of "robots in disguise". As a fan, it brought back memories of the first time I played with a Transformer, and the awe I felt, and still feel, today. It's a fast read, took me about 30 minutes.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386