Read the house on fisher street reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the house on fisher street reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    Didn't know what to expect. Waiting to see ghost walking around the house, but somethingworse was there. Quick paced. Amazing story. Unexpected ending. Would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    The book was just as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    A true thriller, never a dull moment. Keeps you on the edge of your seat. Don’t wish to place it down.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the house on fisher street or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    I can't say this is my most favorite Cross book, but not the worst either. The reviews that say this is like a film are wrong. Sure, lots of films are about burglars who break into the wrong house. But I've never seen a film with this overall ere are a couple of interesting subjects this book created me think rstly, wealthy people are so, the human mind can be something totally e beginning of the book ( setting up the burglary) was kinda boring. Then the actual breaking left me scratching my head at how simple it was. Luckily, all of that gets explained away as you read on

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    this is one of the most disturbing books i have ever read. gruesome i won’t be reading any other books from this author

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    Stolen story from a film that came out a few of years ago called, "don't breathe" with the EXACT same plot. Amy Cross should know better than to steal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    It is a mystery that leads you in various directions. Three young people break into a house, to rob it. This house has a method in but not out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    THE HOUSE ON FISHER STREET by Amy Cross is an original suspense-thriller. Now, as a general rule, I don't usually concern myself with other reviewers, but I need to address something I read in the Amazon review section. Someone stated this novella is a rip-off of the film Don't Breathe, and went so far as to say the plot is the exact same. THIS IS A HUGE LIE!!I have watched the film several times, and read this book completely from beginning to end. The only related element is three people breaking into a place, which is a common trope in the horror genre. Nothing else is the same. The characters are different. The setting is different. There are several twists in the book which are not in the movie, and there are twists in the film which are not in this book. Either the other reviewer didn't read the book past the first chapter, or the person is deliberately slandering Amy Cross. Now on to a TRUTHFUL review...Three young people attempt to break into a large house surrounded by more than one security measure. They search what they think is a flaw in the design, and use this flaw to gain access into the house. Soon, they realize they misjudged the situation. The owner is not as predictable as they thought, and there is an unusual reason he lives there. The ending has more than one surprise, and the epilogue is the icing on the cake.With that said, as much as I enjoyed this story, this is not as frightening as a lot of other books by Cross. She spent too much time on the trio plotting the heist, and not enough time on the action within the house, particularly the scenes in the basement. The potential to be truly horrifying wasn't well-met. Cross should've have given the owner a better backstory. To be fair, I expected something supernatural to be is is one of those rare occasions I'm recommending the book, even though it's not one of my favorites by Cross, because I'm disgusted by the false review. There are authors and Hollywood writers who plagiarize each other, but this is simply not the case here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    Strange premise but a amazing fast read. Just when you think all is right, it takes a turn for the worst. Interesting characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Fisher Street []  2021-4-6 23:18

    I think the plot is the best thing going in the story. Stage settings and characters could use a small work. Loved the ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    The House on Mango Road is an novella holding a attractive story of a special girl told in an intriguing way. The book breaks from standard storytelling procedures and instead tells the story of a young girl, Esperanza, growing up on Mango Road by method of short vignettes. Some heartwarming, some terrifying, these vignettes tell the story of a girl trying to explore who she is and how to live in the globe around major struggle seen throughout the novella is that of self-definition, as every decision Esperanza makes is underscored by her struggle to define herself. In the beginning of the novel, she desperately tries to escape the identity that has been given to her by her family; she wishes she could “baptize herself under a fresh name, a name more like the true me, the one nobody sees.” Because Esperanza doesn’t even know who she herself is yet, she tries to forge an identity for herself from everything that she thinks she should be like. One such attempt is her pursuit to test to be like Sally, “the girl with eyes like Egypt and nylons the color of smoke.” However, she soon finds that she is not Sally, and she can’t force herself to be more like her. Ultimately, the subsequent journey of acceptance throughout the novella leads her to discovering how to define herself. She learns to accept where she is from, and even though she knows that “one day [she] will go away,” she will always be the girl from the house on Mango om her struggle of self-definition to a lot of other problems she faces in the book, Esperanza is a powerful and complex heroin to this powerful and complex novella. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novella, and I give it four out of five stars. I thought it was a amazing read, but it did not deeply move me in the method a five star book would.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    This is a review of the AUDIBLE ver only. The Audible ver does not match up with the book even though it says "unabridged". I bought it to support my dyslexic kids listen and follow along while reading; the book/audible ver were completely different. Thank you audible for allowing me to return the me seem to be annoyed by her voice - I always search it interesting when an author reads her own words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    I like ghost stories in historical locations and read this one straight through. Although Melanie was a beautiful annoying person, I thought the plot was great. When I saw there was a series going I was excited and ready to purchase the rest of the books. However, after reading reviews and finding that the other books end in cliffhangers, I'm not going to continue the series. I cannot help authors who use this tactic to obtain readers to buy future books. If the books are amazing and plot lines interesting, we will buy the next books without having to be tricked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    When Melanie Middleton inherits a historic Tradd Road home from a man she met only once, she has to solve the mystery of the man's mother's disappearance which eerily parallels her own abandonment by her mother. Melanie vehemently denies that she sees ghosts but that doesn't stop her from seeing she begins to restore the home, with the assistance of Jack Trenholm who is a writer in need of a book idea, her best mate Sophie who is a quirky college professor whose specialty is old Charleston homes, and Chad who is one of her clients looking for a ying to solve the mystery of the disappearance of Louisa Vanderhorst leads to another mystery. A Vanderhorst ancestor might have hidden some Confederate diamonds somewhere in the house. Melanie could use the diamonds to support restore the house but a descendant of the man Louisa was supposed to have run off with - Marc Longo - is also on the hunt for the sides ghosts, this book has tangled family relationships. Melanie's father, who turned to alcohol when Melanie's mother left, has been named the trustee of the cash left to Melanie to restore the home. Melanie has long since learned that he could not be depended on. Also Melanie's mother has been trying to contact her but Melanie has written her out of her is was an perfect and spooky mystery with a amazing setting and intriguing characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    The House on Mango Road by Sandra Cisneros is a Bildungsroman that centers on the life of Esperanza, a twelve year old Chicana girl living in the slums of Chicago. The book deals with a lot of of the problems of growing up as a woman, such as emotional development and ism in society. I personally found the book impactful even though I could not relate to most of the stories. It is a short read and has a very interesting format. The novel is constructed as a collection of poetic short stories that outline a year in the main character’s life. One of the most compelling arguments created by the author is the role of ambition in breaking systems of oppression. Throughout the novel, Esperanza describes being ly assaulted by a group of boys, forcibly kissed by an old man, and her family’s impoverished condition. But, she decides that she will not become a victim of her condition. She was born in the Chinese year of the horse, as was her great-grandmother who also was named Esperanza. The main hero chooses to be as powerful as a horse even though she recognizes that Mexican and Chinese culture “don’t like their women strong” (p.10). Her great-grandmother was at one time “a wild horse” (p.11) until her great-grandfather reined her in. Esperanza refuses to end up the method that her great-grandmother did, even saying “[Her great-grandmother] looked out the window her whole life, the method so a lot of women sit their sadness on an elbow. I wonder if she created the best with what she got or was she sorry because she couldn’t be all the things she wanted to be. Esperanza. I have inherited her name, but I don’t wish to inherit her put by the window” (p.11). She finds later in the novel that she is a gifted writer and could use that talent to leave Mango Street, which to her represents perpetual poverty and patriarchy. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book. It created a multitude of arguments about society, some I agreed with and some I did not. But, it gave a perspective that I do not usually hear in high school - which was refreshing. I would give this book a four out of five.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    As others have noted, it's hard to categorize this book. Set in the show time, it's a mystery dealing with lost diamonds from Civil Battle days and also with the disappearance of a young mother in the 1930's. It's a romance involving Melanie Middleton, who inherited the house on Tradd Road in Charleston, and her two suitors, Jack and Marc, who have various reasons for wanting to search the missing diamonds. It's a ghost story with spirits, mostly friendly, who inhabit Melanie's fresh house and garden and wish to communicate with her. It's also a story of family relationships--of various generations and various times, of people living and people dead--and of the restoration of a historic home in a zone rich with reminders of past eras and people who once lived there. Add to that the fact that the story is told in a compelling narrative, and you've got a amazing book. Yes, some of the romantic developments are a bit exasperating, and one aspect of the mystery is rather obvious, but I still had a lot of fun reading this book and I intend to look into the sequels. I would definitely recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    I was surprised I had never read The House on Mango Road since it has been on so a lot of needed reading lists! Told from the point of view of a young girl, in short vignettes, is an interesting method to learn about her world. If you haven’t read it, add it to your list and if you haven’t read it since you were a kid, reread it! The stories will be a small various this time, your point of view as an adult will look at her stories differently!Esperanza is a young Latina girl growing up on Chicago. At only 110 pages she expresses happiness and sadness. But she really writes about what freedom means to her and what feeling oppressed is like. 🏡If you have ever watched the present Jane the Virgin, she is a young Latina writer and I can see some comparisons from the book. Then in season 4 she actually talks about this book and other powerful Latina female writers. That is when it reminded me, I required to read this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    It is a very nice book, there are a lot of plot twists that you do not expect to occur. However, I believe that this book is ideal for an older crowd because connections can be created to aspects of today's globe that younger kids may overlook. One key concept throughout this book is the idea of the forgotten and locked away woman. This is played with a lot throughout the full story; a lot of women seem to be trapped away confined by things that they can't control. One of the key things however is the fact that you are able to see yourself or connect to each story in some way. This to me is critical in a book. The only issue I have with the book is the fact that some parts seem to be left underdeveloped, but this is due to the fact that it is told through the eyes of a young girl.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    In A House on Mango Street, the author, Sandra Cisneros, describes the life of young Esperanza’s growing up in the rural zone of Chicago. This book tastefully describes the hard subjects of discrimination and assault but also is at some points hard to follow due to the vagueness in the a summary, Esperanza, being a young hispanic girl in the 50’s was a very hard thing to go through. In her first job she was kissed by an old man who “[kissed her] hard on the mouth and [didn’t] allow go,” for just one example (55). She lives on the not good side of mate and faces discrimination anywhere she goes. She goes through life experiencing assault, hardship, friendships, family problems and more. It is somewhat heartwarming and somewhat terrifying read.I really enjoyed the method the other wrote this book. The story is grouped into little anecdotes instead of the normal chronologically written books. Each chapter is 2-5 pages making the book a fast read. Although the book does not have much depth to it, it is a fascinating read and adds a lot of subjects that you would not expect to appear within this book. The author uses lots of amazing comparisons like “my mother's hair, my mother's hair, like small rosettes, like small candy circles all curly and beautiful because she pinned it in pincurls all day, sweet to place your nose into when she is holding you, holding you and you feel safe, is the warm smell of bread before you bake it, is the smell when she makes room for you on her side of the bed still warm with her skin, and you sleep near her, the rain outside falling and Papa snoring.” This book was a amazing and easy read but did not hit me the method a 5 star book would so that is why I gave it 4 stars.I did not truly dislike any part of the book. I think it was a very nicely written book, tastefully covering a wide range of topics. Although like I previously mentioned, it is not a book of depth. It does cause much deep thinking and yzing so if you are looking for a hard read this is not the book for you. But if you are looking for a simple and interesting read, A House on Mango Road is a amazing choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    This book is like so a lot of with female main characters. The main hero is supposed to be a powerful person who has overcome some amazing trauma, which leaves her weak/blind to some aspects of her life. What it always plays out as is that the hero is stubborn, irrational, and heedless of true danger. Oh, there’s an mad ghost in my house that has proven it can and will damage me? Huh. Well, whatever. It’s bedtime. Goodnight! Ugh. I finished this book, but I am definitely not planning to read the sequels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    I don't understand all the one-star reviews for this series as I search the Tradd Road books immersive. Excellent summer read material, at least by my standards. I've read two of the books this week after one was recommended by Amazon and I can't wait to download the third. Transport yourself to the storied roads of Charleston and go behind the facades of the stunning homes there with this fast-paced, engaging series. Other reviewers complain the main hero is annoying, but I search her well-rounded and relatable. Her backstory is well fleshed out so that you understand the motivations and meaning behind her liness. The rest of the characters hold the story fun, and White gives you a tale with enough twists and intrigue to leave you wanting to spend as much time as possible on Tradd Street.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    I finally decided to read this highly acclaimed book, and, I confess that I was disappointed. Brief vignettes depicting life in a not good neighborhood from the viewpoint of the Latina author, while coming of age, just did not do it for me. Nor did I search it all that interesting, however novel the approach. As a Latina, myself, I was predisposed to search it of interest, but all I found was that the Emporer did not have any clothes. The bottom line is that I simply did not particularly like the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    What an poor book, my kid had to read this book for school. A very boring, a waste of my time to read. why did they even publish this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    I love Charleston, have family there, and my sister-in-law's name is the same as one of the roads referenced in this book. Unfortunately, Ms. White needs to go back to writing school, as this book is sloppily written, with not good construction and trite cliches throughout. To cap it all off, neither she, nor her editors bothered to learn that Mayo Clinic is in Rochester, MN! May she never write "due to the fact that" again! I'd hoped it would be an amusing summer read. Don't waste your cash or your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    I could not obtain beyond a few pages. The grammatical errors, misplaced modifiers, etc. were painful. I have often said as long as a book is literate it matters not how light the content. Obviously, a lot of people have fun the author. I was looking forward to the Charleston setting. Just a warning for those who may search the writing style jarring!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    Hello there! 💖 I read this book in school when I was a child which was cool but reading it now is even better! I love Sandra Cisneros, I even saw her speak when she was in San Francisco over a decade ago. I have read her other books, as well as her terrific and attractive poetry. I can't wait to buy her "My Wicked, Wicked Ways". The House on Mango Road is awesome and eye-opening. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone. Being part Mexican, I can relate as I see anyone else would. Thank you for reading this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street []  2020-1-25 9:53

    Sandra Cisneros is a amazing writer. I have enjoyed a lot of of her books, however she is NOT a narrator. I am not sure if she intentionally narrated this in a teeny little slow voice because she thinks that's what teens who read this book sound like, (which they don't b.t.w.) or if this is her actual voice, but honestly the slow super baby toned voice was absolutely enervating. She sounded condescending. Please read this book with your eyes not your ears. It was a dreadful listen of an otherwise unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    It's hard to like a book when you utterly hate the main character, but I guess it's a testimony to the author's story-telling skills that I liked The House on Tradd Road despite Melanie Middleton. For a supposedly uber-successful realtor and respected businesswoman of thirty-nine years old, Melanie is incredibly rude, tactless, and immature. Her specialty is selling historical old houses to her clients, but she describes people who buy old houses to restore as "stupid." Nice, huh? In addition, she thinks all old buildings, even those in residential neighborhoods, should be razed to create method for parking lots and convenience stores. I hated this hero from page one. Add in her intolerance (the method she criticizes her best friend's clothes and the fact that Jack has female friends), and the method she treated the dog whose owner died (trying to give the dog to anyone, even threatening to dump him at a shelter just so she wouldn't be inconvenienced by him) and by the end of the book I was rooting for the malevolent spirit to take her out. I won't even go into her teenage-girl-drama temper tantrums, complete with "I never wish to see you again!" pronouncements. The fact that she had a crappy childhood didn't even soften my dislike for this horrible woman.If you can obtain past Melanie the @#$%!, the story is a amazing one. I'll admit that I had parts of it figured out long before the author "revealed" certain parts, but there were still some surprises. The secondary characters are great: Sophie and Chad, Jack and Amelia, Mrs. Houlihan, Melanie's father, even Rich the plumber. Marc wasn't so great, but he was a two-dimensional character, and it's clear he was only thrown in the story to make some conflict. The story could have been told without him and would have been better. I want we would have seen more of Susannah. It would have been amazing if she had turned out to be Melanie's grandmother. I thought that was where the author was going when she mentioned the color of Susannah's eyes. I think the author missed a really cool plot twist though I'd like to read the rest of this series, I'm place off knowing Melanie is the main character. I read the first chapter of the next book, and she's still the same whiny temper-throwing twit. I may see if my local library has the books, but if not I won't read them. Melanie Middleton isn't worth the cash to buy them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    I purchased this mystery/ghost story in huge part due to the amazing price, and I enjoyed it. The very beginning was a bit overly descriptive (meaning every noun had at least one or two very "moody" adjectives describing the location) - don't obtain me wrong, I like to "see" the setting, but I don't need so a lot of dramatic descriptions in just a few paragraphs. This seems to be a common occurrence in novels that take put in the South (I suppose because so much about the South invites exaggerated prose). That said, once the actual story got going, it was fun. This is not Agatha Christie, and you know beautiful much from the beginning who the ghosts are at work in the story, but the characters are simple to hang out with and understand. The fact that the main hero hates her ability to see ghosts and downplays it as much as possible keeps the story from degenerating into just another "Ghost Whisperer" kind of tale. Her parental problems support round her out (as a person). I would be interested in reading the subsequent books in this series, but I'll likely test to obtain them at my local library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Tradd Street []  2020-7-12 18:30

    Liked the story line. But, Mellie, the main hero is a horrible person, really do not care what happens to her, she is a self absorbed, immature, ungrateful, fool. She thinks the globe revolves around her. Her best mate that will support her at a drop of a hat, all she does is place her down for how she dresses, thinks and acts. Instead of being grateful, anyone would even waste their time on someone like her and really do not care that she does not gain weight, has nothing to do with the story. Again, liked the story line, but hard to read, when the main hero is so unlikable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Henry Street (1915) []  2020-4-5 18:18

    The writing is accurate and grammatical but no story flow, or building of interest. More like reading a report. This is too poor since the stories could have been woven into a rich tapestry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    It is empty now, but it won't be for long.... So begins this unbelievable book which is a unbelievable introduction to the Lyle, Lyle Crocodile Universe. In this book, Mr. and Mrs. Primm and their son, Joshua move into a fresh apartment on E. 88th Road in NYC. While they are unloading their belongings, they hear sounds that go SWISH! SWASH! SPLASH! SWOOSH! They wonder what it is, and when Mrs. Primm goes to the bathroom to wash her hands before lunch. She spots a crocodile in the tub! She points it out to her husband. They go to call 911 just to search out that the line isn't connected yet. Fortunately a young actor delivers them a note telling them that the crocodile is friendly, but that the only meal he'll eat is Turkish Caviar. Whatever will they do with him? Search out now for yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    The publication date says 1973 but it was written during the 1940s or 50's I would say. Not too a lot of homes still had hand-me down Victorian furniture in 1973! ha! I received this book myself when I was in early elementary school (1964-1965) and loved it. I will now go on the find around the house for it to pass onto my granddaughter. Lyle will bring a smile to anyone's face and children will love the idea of having a pet crocodile in the bathtub!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Childress Street: A Memoir []  2020-12-11 18:17

    Kenji Jasper presents his nonfiction debut in The House on Childress Street, a memoir about his family, most specifically his late maternal grandfather, Jesse Langley Sr. This book is a departure from the literary urban fiction Jasper is known for which contains Dark and Dakota Grand. In this sometimes slow moving tale, he is trying to come to grips with the remote, distant man who was the patriarch of the Langley clan. Jasper's quest was to understand how this man's influence drove the rest of the family and to understand the legacy he sse Langley was considered a true man, albeit a complex man, to his family and his community. He went to work every day, provided a home and a paternal ildress Road was where Jesse Langley reigned supreme. It was where family and mates gathered and where no one ever questioned his remoteness, his acid tongue or his words and deeds. As is so often the case in African American families, his family was left with unanswered questions.Jasper felt a need to search his grandfather's roots as if he was in a race to escape the madness that threatened to infiltrate his life. He and Jesse had planned a trip to Greenville, North Carolina, the old homestead but Jesse died a few weeks before their departure. Jasper created the trip by himself in 2004, met some of Jesse's brothers and asked them questions about him. Most they could not answer. For example, the mystery of who Jesse's mother was and what happened to her remains a mystery. Jasper came home with lots of stories but realized the answers he was looking for in the old cotton fields of Greenville were not to be e story meandered around trying to search a frame of reference jumping from Jesse's life, the dissection of Jasper's parents' marriage, to observations on to the construction of the Black family and to his childhood and coming-of-age. He attempted to juxtapose his own life and that of his grandfather's but it never quite fit. The continuous scrutinizing of his parent's lives plagues this discourse even as Jasper yearns for a family of his own that so far has eluded his thirty years on this is book was as much a commentary on the Black family; a dissection of the history of a particular family as well as a delving into the psyche of the man who loved him and who he loved but did not know. Jesse Langley Sr. led a hard scrabble life in the South, came to Washington, D.C., married, raised a family and died like so a lot of black men of his era. Part memoir, part sociological study, this book was a much required catharsis for Jasper. I would recommend to those who are interested in studying the Black ra R. WilliamsAPOOO BookClub[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Childress Street: A Memoir []  2020-12-11 18:17

    As an instructor at Duke's Center for Doentary Studies, I have had the opportunity to view and read quite a few pieces of creative non-fiction. Jasper's The House on Childress Road has quickly become a fresh favorite! It is refreshing, to say the least, to hear the distinct voices of urban late 20th/early 21st century Black experiences. I have used this text in my past two seminar classes to highlight a number of issues: 1) The highly private nature of our work as doentarians, folklorists, historians, anthropologists, etc. 2) The concept of the hidden journey of digging into our family and private histories--a journey that takes a life of its own, and 3)The complications of interviewing and representing those closest to us--our communities, our families. Even outside of the academy, I search this to be Jasper's best work. The House on Childress Road is an elegant representation of the real lives and ancestral voices lingering around this clarion voice of the Hip Hop generation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    I am writing this with my five year old granddaughter, who loves this book and is so excited to write her first review. She loves the part where Mrs. Primm, the mother, opens the bathroom door and discovers Lyle. We live in NYC, near houses that look just like Lyle's. So we went over to look at the houses and pretended we heard Lyle. We love this book so much that we plan to read other Lyle books. Yay!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    I’m giving this book as a bonus to a dear family friend’s first grandchild. I read this book to both my kids and grandchildren when they were little and as a reader in grade school for their classes. Upon receiving, I opened the book and started reading it aloud. Before long, my grandson was Swish, awash, swooshing me! Sweet!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    One of my favorite books as a child, and now I obtain to share it with my son.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    Such a cute book that I remember my grandmother reading to me as a child. I had to obtain it for my son!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Henry Street (1915) []  2020-4-5 18:18

    Fine book, quick shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Childress Street: A Memoir []  2020-12-11 18:17

    This book was more than just a story about Jasper's family but also an opportunity to discuss psychological trends that are linked spiritually and scientifically to patterned behavior. I enjoyed Jasper's interjections about how discovering fresh things about his family helped him to better understand his e high points of course were the journey Jasper takes the reader on throughout the novel. The low points are Jasper's writing style, which is disconnected, conversational and at a lower level of intellect than what he could potentially write.I guess in an attempt to capture more readers who typically read urban fiction, Jasper uses primary vocabulary. However, for a Morehouse grad, I am certain he could bridge the heady Colson Whitehead with the ghetto-drama Omar Tyree to make a truly captivating story and in depth read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    grandkids like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Childress Street: A Memoir []  2020-12-11 18:17

    There is a saying that when a person dies, an entire library is lost for good. Loss and grief often lead people to wonder about what stories and lessons they missed out on, and after reflection, they may even wonder how well they really knew the loved one who has passed on. After the death of his grandfather, Kenji Jasper found himself wondering these very things, and in THE HOUSE ON CHILDRESS STREET we follow his find for answers about the life of his grandfather, a man affectionately known as "The Lone Ranger." Through the course of the book, he shares his memories, interviews family members about the life of his grandfather and along the method learns more about his family, and himself. In the end, he probably has as a lot of questions as he does answers, but in spite of this, the process is one of healing and is book is probably more about Kenji Jasper's self-discovery than it is about his learning more about his grandfather. I loved the concept of the book and could relate to the author's need to take this particular journey, as I have found myself asking related questions about my own loved ones after they passed away. There were times when his vivid imagery of times past, candid ysis, and probing questions about the meaning behind it all, held me captive as a reader. However, there were other times when the book got bogged down by info that I felt took away from the overall theme. For example, the book contains biographical sketches of a lot of of the author's uncles and other extended family. While they contributed to what he learned about his grandfather, the often lengthy exploration of their respective lives distracted me and took away from the book's focus. Still, THE HOUSE ON CHILDRESS STREET is a book about the extraordinary impact of ordinary people on the lives of those around them, and will serve as a lasting ed by Stacey Seayof The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Childress Street: A Memoir []  2020-12-11 18:17

    I loved Childress Street. I loved it because I saw my own family in that book on so a lot of levels. It was a story that I would have never had the talent to tell, but certainly have lived inside of. Kenji Jasper is a writers writer. While it can be a small challenging to follow the family tree, it is worth while because it initiates self reflection. Kenji Japser's story telling is amazing...but his comentary is even better. That is what makes Childress Road various from any of his other books. And the fasinating thing that happens at the end is ep it up Kenji Jasper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Henry Street (1915) []  2020-4-5 18:18

    not what i expected. did not [email protected]#$%!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    I love this story and intend on buying all of the books in the series! A bit too involved forMy four year old but i love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Henry Street (1915) []  2020-4-5 18:18

    Breath of new air about the principles of nursing. A unbelievable insight into the life of a woman truly before her time, who placed the focus on TOTAL family care, and care INSIDE the home and community. Her emphasis on health and prevention was remarkable as well as her leadership in development of policies and practices of women's, children's, and the developmentally challenged rights to life, health, and happiness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Henry Street (1915) []  2020-4-5 18:18

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Childress Street: A Memoir []  2020-12-11 18:17

    The House on Childress Road (Childress Street) commences with the death of the author's (Kenji Jasper) maternal Grandfather and Jasper's then startling revelation that he didn't really know much about his Grandfather. Jasper perceives his maternal Grandfather as a dutiful provider yet loner within his family setting. Jasper lovingly refers to his maternal Grandfather as the "Lone Ranger". The memoir involves the author's quest to learn more about his maternal Grandfather's life and relationships with his wife, his children, his siblings and his friends. Initially, Jasper begins the journey with the working premise that his Grandfather was a man without emotions, a virtual recluse within his own family. However, through different interviews with family and mates who knew the Lone Ranger, Jasper discovers an array of factors that shaped the Lone Ranger's personality over time. Childress Road is written as a memoir, but reads more like a journal. Although Childress Road is somewhat unorganized in style, Jasper still manages to convey to the reader his staunch determination to explore who the Lone Ranger actually was. Along Jasper's quest to explore more about the Lone Ranger, Jasper manages to create strides in his own self-discovery as a young African American male trying to create his own method in show day American society. Jasper discovers that those past happenings that shaped the Lone Ranger, have made the man that Jasper himself has evolved to. With Childress Road Jasper allows the reader to reminisce with him about familiar themes that a lot of African Americans may share, i.e. the Amazing Migration from the southern farms to northern factories by a lot of African Americans during the 1930s' through the 1950's in order get advancement and opportunity; the deep spiritual connection of a lot of African Americans to their churches and pastors; and past beliefs of the proper roles of African American women and men within the confines of commended as light, simple reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    Unbelievable story, loved the drawings, did not know this book or author before. Amazing surprise

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on East 88th Street (Lyle) []  2020-1-16 7:41

    Our sons first grade class went on a field trip to see a play about Lyle. The pay included this book and Lyle, Lyle the crocodile. We all loved out! Such a fun storybook series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Henry Street (1915) []  2020-4-5 18:18

    My sister, the nurse, loved this for her birthday. She likes the well written history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Henry Street (1915) []  2020-4-5 18:18

    This book delves into the life of Lillian D. Wald and her accomplishments. From her involvement in the Henry Road Movement to her stance toward the Federal Children's Bureau, Wald exemplifies the progressive social reform movement. Further, her lead in the push for full-time nursing staff in public schools and progress with the Red Cross to wipe out the influenza epidemic represent the power of this influential leading woman in U.S. history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Childress Street: A Memoir []  2020-12-11 18:17

    I think with this one, I've read all of Jasper's novels and I have to say this one was the best. Jasper starts off with the intention of writing about his grandfather, Jesse. Unfortunately, Jesse dies before Jasper can begin the interview process so, he has to get insight about Jesse, the Lone Ranger, through the eyes of Jesse's children, brothers and other family members. It's sad that Jesse didn't live long enough for his true life story to be told. This results in the book being a mix of memories of Jesse and Jasper's memoirs. We don't really know what Jesse thought, felt, or actually experienced. We don't really know why he was such a hard-nosed husband and father. We do know that his family loved and respected him so, I guess that's all that matters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    This book is horrible. I lived in Fresh Orleans both pre- and post-Katrina, just four blocks away from the author’s house on First Street. I was looking forward to reading about Fresh Orleans during that time period. Thankfully, the vacuous, self-absorbed, chef-obsessed, drunken, name-dropping tale does not resemble the Fresh Orleans I know and love. However, all of those elements create the story mostly unreadable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    This book is horrible. I lived in Fresh Orleans both pre- and post-Katrina, just four blocks away from the author’s house on First Street. I was looking forward to reading about Fresh Orleans during that time period. Thankfully, the vacuous, self-absorbed, chef-obsessed, drunken, name-dropping tale does not resemble the Fresh Orleans I know and love. However, all of those elements create the story mostly unreadable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    I'm from Fresh Orleans, and really enjoyed this book. Ms. Reed captured the real spirit of Fresh Orleans and her residents. This story tells the heartbreak of Katrina, while portraying the resiliency of its citizens. It created me homesick!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    This book is awesome. My children enjoyed choosing which hero to be. This book encouraged my children to pay attention and interact with the book. Will be buying other books like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    This unbelievable story of cultural acceptance and pride is a read in which a 10 year up to adult will enjoy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    Amazing product and very helpful for the project I was using it for!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    As a native of Louisiana, I was enchanted and a quite grateful for this entertaining book of my beloved Fresh Orleans. Some reviewers have been critical of the author stating that they purchased the book in order to learn more about the aftermath of Katrina. The sub-title of this book is "MY Fresh Orleans Story"... NOT my Katrina story. The author delights in the quirky-ness of natives and locals and by doing so brings back so a lot of memories of the times I have enjoyed in Fresh reality, Fresh Orleans is worth visiting now as it was before Katrina. The spirit and hero of this amazing and special town remain. The author captures the flavor of Fresh Orleans. I enjoyed this book and hope you will also!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    Entertaining stories about the author's home in historic Fresh Orleans. As usual, Julia Reed's stories can make an photo of an earlier time when southerners were elegant, well-mannered, and always ready to allow the amazing times roll! Unbelievable book to be read again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    I'm from Fresh Orleans, and really enjoyed this book. Ms. Reed captured the real spirit of Fresh Orleans and her residents. This story tells the heartbreak of Katrina, while portraying the resiliency of its citizens. It created me homesick!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    Great, fast read. Brought back a few Katrina memories...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    Scooby Doo beginner mysteries are the PERFECT book for 1st graders being introduced to chapter books. The print is fairly huge and there are a few color images throughout the book. I adore Scooby and his stories/adventures and the books are cute/fun stories. I like to engage my daughter when we read them together asking her questions like “what do you think will happen next?” Or “who do you think is in charge of the crime”... the mysteries I can figure out for the most part, they’re children mysteries so they’re a small predictable BUT they’re not so predictable that the children can’t use their imagination to test to solve the mystery themselves and when they do predict correctly it just shows they are engaged with the story and actually listening and having fun. You choose books are amazing too because they obtain to create decisions and see the outcome of their actions. It’s beautiful amazing idea and we love these books. We also bought them for a miracle Christmas family with 7 year old boys and we think they will love them too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    My children love these Scooby-Doo "You Choose Stories" - they obtain so excited to read them over and over, because they can change the stories every time, and it's fun to hear them read with the hero voices.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    I love the concentrated info concerning "House on Mango Street." All the info I need to plan a unit is all in one place. I wouldn't LOVE for MAXnotes to make more of these books for more of the reading material in my school's classroom sets.Oh well. I'm going to buy more of these books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    Is it about the book, or is it about the fact that this is my first book on the Kindle Application for iPad? Of course it is about both! Kindle Application is certainly one of the best reader apps I have encountered. I don't think I have to rate the book. It has won so a lot of accolades that it speaks for itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    I had to teach The House on Mango Road for the first time this year with my 9th graders. This book really helped me with assessments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    Julia Reed captures the essence of Fresh Orleans as only a gal from south of the Mason Dixon could. Her adventure of life in Fresh Orleans is refreshing and downright hilarious. You'll wish to read her other books after finishing this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    As a native of Louisiana, I was enchanted and a quite grateful for this entertaining book of my beloved Fresh Orleans. Some reviewers have been critical of the author stating that they purchased the book in order to learn more about the aftermath of Katrina. The sub-title of this book is "MY Fresh Orleans Story"... NOT my Katrina story. The author delights in the quirky-ness of natives and locals and by doing so brings back so a lot of memories of the times I have enjoyed in Fresh reality, Fresh Orleans is worth visiting now as it was before Katrina. The spirit and hero of this amazing and special town remain. The author captures the flavor of Fresh Orleans. I enjoyed this book and hope you will also!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    Unbelievable historical read on a tragic happening that affected the entire nation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    My daughters love Scooby-Doo and while they are learning to read, they love that they can pick where their story goes. Gives them a various story each times with multiple read-through uses. Worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    It was a very fun story with a dozens of choices and ends. The only thing I would have like was it to be longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    Ordered the wrong book. Didn't need this one. Since I got to hold it I'm still going to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    This book helped me explore themes from a book I've read 6 times that I never found! Very helpful to understanding the text, the relationships and how it relates to human development. It was broken down by chapters and explained each character's connections and significance. I loaned it to a mate who had the same response! Absolutely helped me obtain an "A" on my paper!BUY IT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    Interesting and fun read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    I liked the natural method she wrote, like reading a letter from a friend. I also admire her patience with all the “workers” she hired while screaming at them under her breath. I read this straight through!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    I loved the book! I read the entire thing in one evening. Julia's style of writing makes it feel like your mates having Sazerac's and dinner at Arnaud's. Her descriptions of the town are spot on!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    Entertaining stories about the author's home in historic Fresh Orleans. As usual, Julia Reed's stories can make an photo of an earlier time when southerners were elegant, well-mannered, and always ready to allow the amazing times roll! Unbelievable book to be read again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    I liked the natural method she wrote, like reading a letter from a friend. I also admire her patience with all the “workers” she hired while screaming at them under her breath. I read this straight through!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    I enjoyed this 'slice of my life' book from Vogue and Newsweek writer Julia Reed. She's crafted a unbelievable existence for herself in Fresh Orleans and I, for one, enjoyed the breezy, warts-and-all peek inside. That Katrina occurs smack in the middle of the author's narrative gives her tales here additional meaning. We know what's about to happen as she first settles into her 'House on First Street.'Reed knows that ultimately she suffered lightly from Katrina compared to others. While writing, she and her close mates are carefully aware of communicating anything that sounds like what she deftly calls a 'Marie Antoinette moment.' I believe she succeeds on that front. Moreover, in the long run Fresh Orleans needs and depends on free-spending denizens like Ms. Reed. The city's proprietors will no doubt grant and welcome her reveling in little victories like restaurant re-openings, the arrival of first-class cooks back in town, the first gala fund-raiser, and the resumption of table-taking at old stomping grounds. It's consumption of this nature that is vital to the city's recovery. Julia Reed is at the center of this Reed collects mates by the bushel full. Reading this book, it's not hard to see why: with a lot of mates in need, she proves here to be a mate indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    Probably next to Cheese Thief, this and Zombie Farm are my favorite Scooby-Doo You Choose books. Laurie S. Sutton's very first batch of stories was awful, although Bigfoot Beast provided decent entertainment. The second batch written by Laurie had a five-star story, and a three-star is batch had two five-star stories, Spooky Road reminded me of a classic episode, somewhere in Scooby-Doo, Where are You! (yes the show's title had a grammar error) or The Scooby-Doo all begins on a dark night, and the gang is looking for a restaurant. However, the van stops, and there isn't any amazing reason for it to. All the phones are suddenly dead. The gang goes into the house and is greeted by a mysterious man who leads them in. Reminds me of some SDWAY e gang then splits up and you obtain to follow them and encounter a lot of ghosts, including a spectertacular chef! (Worst pun I've ever created.)*ALERT: SPOILERS BELOW*The solution is related in every path I've got to so far, it's somebody who's staying in the mansion with their cousins (none of them obtain along too well* who wants to scare them off.Overall, I enjoyed reading Spooky Street, and the illustrations are fabulous. I'd recommend it to any Scooby fan. Well, almost any, that is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    fun and adventurous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    The House On Mango StreetBy Sandra CisnerosThe House On Mango Road is the excellent book to read if you are a fourteen year old ndra Cisneros writes about her experiences when her family moved to a house of their own on Mango street. She writes about the neighbors, the sights and sounds of the road and the relationships she has with the people on Mango sneros’ describes how she relates to the other people and locations on Mango Street. How she developed relationships with the people and what the experiences she had as a teenage girl were.I think this book is amazing if you are a teenage girl, however I would not recommend it for a teenage boy. I found it hard to read because I’m a male.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    A+

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    Julia Reed captures the essence of Fresh Orleans as only a gal from south of the Mason Dixon could. Her adventure of life in Fresh Orleans is refreshing and downright hilarious. You'll wish to read her other books after finishing this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    Great, fast read. Brought back a few Katrina memories...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story []  2020-1-31 1:19

    I enjoyed this 'slice of my life' book from Vogue and Newsweek writer Julia Reed. She's crafted a unbelievable existence for herself in Fresh Orleans and I, for one, enjoyed the breezy, warts-and-all peek inside. That Katrina occurs smack in the middle of the author's narrative gives her tales here additional meaning. We know what's about to happen as she first settles into her 'House on First Street.'Reed knows that ultimately she suffered lightly from Katrina compared to others. While writing, she and her close mates are carefully aware of communicating anything that sounds like what she deftly calls a 'Marie Antoinette moment.' I believe she succeeds on that front. Moreover, in the long run Fresh Orleans needs and depends on free-spending denizens like Ms. Reed. The city's proprietors will no doubt grant and welcome her reveling in little victories like restaurant re-openings, the arrival of first-class cooks back in town, the first gala fund-raiser, and the resumption of table-taking at old stomping grounds. It's consumption of this nature that is vital to the city's recovery. Julia Reed is at the center of this Reed collects mates by the bushel full. Reading this book, it's not hard to see why: with a lot of mates in need, she proves here to be a mate indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on First Street: My New Orleans Story (P.S.) []  2020-9-3 20:6

    Interesting and fun read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    We just recieved four of these Scooby Doo "you choose" stories. My 3 and 5 year old are enjoying them immensely, even though they are more text than pictures, which is a leap to a fresh level for them. They will have fun reading these on their own in a couple years too, for now it makes an interesting storytime choice because there are several variations on the stories in each book. It will probably be most enjoyable for young readers who are already into Scooby Doo, which my children are!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    My grand daughter loves being read to and loves Scooby doo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Spooky Street (You Choose Stories: Scooby-Doo) []  2020-12-1 20:26

    Amazing Book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Mango Street (MAXNotes Literature Guides) []  2020-12-17 20:11

    Interesting read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Lemon Street: Japanese Pioneers and the American Dream (Nikkei in the Americas) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    The House on Lemon Road is a magnetic book. I planned to read a mystery along with the book in case I required a break from a "history text." I never touched the mystery. I required to follow the story and the characters that Mr. Rawitsch brings to vivid life in his book.Rawitsch literally stumbled upon this remarkable story as a young graduate student in Riverside. I cannot believe his e story is about Jukichi Harada's dangerous decision to move to California from Aichi-Ken, bringing his wife, Ken, and their baby to a land where they were forbidden citizenship, could not legally own a home and were looked upon as aliens of an inferior race - amazing only for menial e enormous losses the family suffers along with their modest but steady gains held my attention and sometimes moved me to tears. I found myself delighted to learn of their victories and successes earned after their years and years of effort.While Jukichi and Ken are forced to remain citizens of Japan for their entire lives, all of their kids became or were born American citizens. One of their kids was released from an internment camp to war for his country in WWII - a soldier in the US Army. One son became a M.D., graduating from U.C. Berkeley, and two sons became dentists. One daughter raised a family and one daughter saved the house on Lemon Street.But, it is the easy house on Lemon Road in downtown Riverside, CA that is the family's lodestone and bonus - it represents the universal story of searching for our place, our own is nice small house in a nice small neighborhood takes care of the Harada family. The fate of the house on Lemon Road is to become a still vibrant Time Capsule that provides physical proof and hard evidence of the story of a single family's persistence and eventual win on the long, hard street to becoming American.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Lemon Street: Japanese Pioneers and the American Dream (Nikkei in the Americas) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    Very interesting telling of what happened to this family. An era I wasn't very familiar with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Lemon Street: Japanese Pioneers and the American Dream (Nikkei in the Americas) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    While this book is from a university press, I found it to be written in a highly-accessible and engaging style. What unfolds is a moving and intimate acc of the hardships and victories that Japanese immigrants experienced on the West Coast during the latest century. I already knew a small about the subject, but here the author delivers me into a vivid globe where I witness in detail the journey of Jukichi Harada and his family to America at the turn of the century. The Haradas settle in Riverside, Calfornia, begin a restaurant and through their hard work are among the first to purchase and own property. I was inspired to read of their effort to survive the Amazing Depression, then their challenge to a lawsuit seeking to prohibit their ownership of a house in a white neighborhood on Lemon Street. Theirs would become the first Japanese-American try case to the notorious California Alien Land Law of 1913 which prohibited Japanese ownership of property. Ultimately they won their case, but then the aging Haradas and their adult kids faced the onset of Globe Battle II and their forced removal to the relocation camps. This book poignantly conveys what the Japanese community faced in racism and losses, and also the support they received from non-Japanese allies in mounting little victories, and the ultimate historic importance of one family property--the Harada House in Riverside--which survives to become a national landmark and testament to one family's unswerving perseverance for putting down roots in America.I highly recommend the book for anyone interested in not only broadening his or her knowledge of the Nikkei community's struggles, but also for anyone wishing to experience a universal struggle for dignity and place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Lemon Street: Japanese Pioneers and the American Dream (Nikkei in the Americas) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    An wonderful book from cover to cover. It fully examines the individual impact on the Harada Family of two very dark times in American history: the Japanese Internment after Pearl Harbor and the lesser known, but still distasteful Alien Land Law of 1913.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Greed and Glory on Wall Street: The Fall of the House of Lehman []  2020-3-30 18:0

    Learned a lot about the Lehman Brothers. Cotton trading of Lehman brothers in Montgomery, Alabama to 55 Water road in Manhattan to Shearson/American Express buyout in 1985. Egotistical, greedy millionaires. Read about the final couple years that ended in 2008 with bankruptcy. Now I know how they started.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House on Carnaval Street: From Kabul to a Home by the Mexican Sea []  2020-7-10 19:2

    This a amazing simple to read book. I really enjoyed it

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386