the incredible adventures of jack flanders Reviews & Opinions


Submit the incredible adventures of jack flanders review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    This is some truly imaginative stuff. A true treat. I've lent these discs to a lot of and all have love them. Magical tales well written and superbly acted. Rich, immersive soundscapes transport the listener to another realm. You might not wish to return.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    I have enjoyed this series very much. The only issue is that the sound arrangement is less than optimal. When Jack talks so softly you can't hear him, you miss the subtle connections in the story. However, I have found this to be the case with all of ZBS stories. Their sound quality is lacking! But don't allow that stop anyone from enjoying the brain's creative interaction that listening to radio drama afords. It's so much better than TV or films because I'm the producer, and that's the fun part.Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    Wonderful.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the incredible adventures of jack flanders or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the incredible adventures of jack flanders video reviews and related movies:

    See Jack Flanders The Ah Ha Phenomenon on youtube.

     related image

    See Jack flanders audio adventures on youtube.

     related image

    See Dreams of India on youtube.

     related image

    See "Pinocchioladdin" - Part 22 - Pinocchio's Depression/Panchito Steals the Lamp on youtube.

     related image

    See The Simpsons - Almighty Bart (Part 2) on youtube.

     related image

    See "Pinocchioladdin" - Part 21 - Commander Rourke Gets Exposed on youtube.

     related image

    See "Pinocchioladdin" - Part 28 - Happy Ending in Agrabah on youtube.

     related image

    See WAITING FOR THE TOUR DE FRANCE: (DIX TRIPS - Vol.24) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    So much fun. Jack Flanders is mysteriously sent a green velvet chair and while sitting in it, has the most wonderful adventures, seemingly while visiting another dimension. Meet pirates, art critics, small girls who smoke Havana cigars, and a dangerously attractive woman, the Madonna Vampyra, who may be the source of the chair. Amazing for long vehicle rides.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    I first heard of Jack Flanders in my early teens when it aired on NPR, back when NPR aired unbelievable radio dramas. Now all NPR offers us is repetitive news stories all day long. Very boring. But yes, going back to our character Jack, I loved listening to this present every week because of the mental escapes it offered (a amazing method to forget about homework). I absolutely love the concept of an average guy recieving a weird pack at two in the morning on a stormy night and discovering the pack is a velvet chair which has the power to transport you into a neverworld of demons and pirates. A put where anything can happen at any given moment. The visuals you see in your mind as Jack ventures through mystical lands are far more vivid than anything you could see on a TV screen. The sound effects are superb and they pull you in to experience everything Jack does. The actors are brilliant and very convincing in their roles. The ambient melody score by Tim Clark draws you into each adventure even ep in mind that once you play these CD's, your ears will be glued to the stereo. TIAOJF will hypnotically keep your interest through each enchanting , I plan to purchase "The Fourth Turret Of Inverness" which I also heard on NPR as a youth. There are at least two more adventures which I haven't heard, but I plan to buy those too - "Moon Over Morocco" and "Return To Inverness". Hopefully, the latter adventures are as amazing as the first two and from what I hear, they ese dramas create excellent listening for when you travel. Just slip on the headphones and escape to the far reaches of your imagination where floating islands and sky pirates await you. Just be warned, you may never return (or want to).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    Listen, as amazing three masted sailing ships take to the sky, cargo holds packed with winged sheeps and the fabulous flying Frombork. Sky pirates appear of the port bow, and only Captain Jack with his Lightning Sword and magical Top Hat can save the e Wonderful Adventures of Jack Flanders is an enchanting audio fantasy. It is packed with High Adventure and Magic, and a fair amount of wisdom. The story begins when Jack recieves a Huge Overstuffed Green Velvet chair in the mail. At midnight, when he slumbers in the chair, his mind travels to the unbelievable realms of the Nevermind. His travels take him aboard the Sky Galleon "Blue Swallow," where he clashes swords with the pirate queen "The Black Mona Lisa." He encounters Small Freida, with the piggy tales and havana cigars. He travels to the Velvet Realms and bargins with the Lords of Death.A very satisfying adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    Amazing fun, adventurous, and enchanting, this series combines old time radio storytelling with eastern and western spiritual mythologies. Following the protagonist Jack Flanders as he encounters flying pirate ships, disguised goddesses, and expanding multiverses, all launched from a mysterious and comfortable green armchair that arrives in the middle of the night. Hours of entertaining fun. Highly recommended, along with the prior "Fourth Turret of Inverness" series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    This is a very intertaining story. Loved the sound effects is whole series is done well. I've listened to it a lot of eat for driving.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    ZBS produces timeless stories that seem to evolve as the listener grows. The writing, acting, music, and production is always top-notch. "Incredible Adventures" is a special and entertaining fantasy tale that has plenty of humor and meal for thought. For those who have heard other Jack Flanders stories, you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Incredible Adventures of Jack Flanders review []  2020-1-14 19:18

    Sitting in his mysterious green velvet chair, Jack travels to a mysterious realm where sailing ships come with wings and they cruise the skies and sorcerers duel with lightning bolts. And don't forget the pirate queen and the Seven Deadly Snark Brothers, their fleet is lurking behind the floating islands.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    The full title of this book is meatier than its shorthand version: "Bloody Jack: Being an Acc of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy." The title, plus the cover illustration on the HMH trade paperback edition, offers exactly the bait to draw a young boy into a reading as if our young reader (as this older one did) should miss the clue in that title; Jacky is a girl. A plague orphan masquerading as a boy to be safe on the mean roads of London in the 1790s, Jacky has learned how to cope on her own. Joining a road gang, she has learned to war to hold herself and her comrades safe and r youngsters like her, the life of a ship's boy presents a shining promise. Imagine being fed each day, having a put to sleep out of the weather. Imagine not having to war rival gangs for your right to exist. As for the dangers, well, Jacky is philosophical: "It's just as dead you obtain from starvation, muggin', or bein' stepped on by a horse, as you obtain from drownin'. which is, of course, the seagoin' option. And I hears they'll feed us, even. ... [Besides,] a girl what's born for hangin' ain't likely to be drowned."At first the pleasures of her fresh position far outweigh the duties. Jacky is astounded to be served meat at her meals, and isn't worried about weevils in the biscuits. She sleeps soundly in unaccustomed peace, and is allowed to replace her brother's cast-off trousers with a hand-made uniform, so long as she makes it e dangers Jacky finds on board are nothing she can expect from life in London's streets: sadistic sailors and pederasts, strict preachers and officers, and a growing attraction to one of the other ship's boys are the least of her worries. Hot-cannon wars with pirates and the careful choice of where to have a tattoo and how to handle a visit to a brothel loom larger for Jacky and her mates. They take a young boy's perspective on all these perplexities, even religion: "No, Jesus ain't the King of Heaven," counters Davy. "His dad's the King of Heaven and there'd surely be hell to pay if Jesus come to dinner all covered wi' tattoos, 'specially with 'I loves you, Mary Magdalen' all over His Sainted Belly."I first read "Bloody Jack" after reading the trilogy "The Hunger Games" ] and the first book of another dystopian trilogy, "Divergent" ]. It struck me then that Jacky was just as valorous, struggling every bit as hard versus a globe that did not welcome her, and as much—or more—challenged by her unorthodox nature as either Katniss Everdeen or Dauntless Tris. Yet the worlds Jacky inhabits are real. Her history is fiction, but only in its details; the broader picture Meyer paints reveals a real photo of life in 1790s London, work on board a merchant vessel, and the struggles of those who live in the British Colonies of the the end, Jacky's sex has small to do with her courage, or her adventures. Young male readers can squint one eye and look past it to see the rollicking adventure it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    I have read and listened to all the books in this series. I totally love them! Even though these books were written with young adults in mind, at 50+ years ago I still loved them. I got hooked on them by listening to them on audio books. The narrator brings the stories to life with her inflections and unbelievable accents. I can still hear Jackie saying, "but I test to be good, really I do" in my head. It makes me smile when I think of it. I recently gave the first book to my granddaughter who is 12. These books are not 100% PG. You will have to use your own judgement as to the appropriate age for these stories. The later books go obtain a bit racier, but I am perfectly comfortable with my granddaughter reading them at 12. The books are full of adventure, drama, humor, and just plain fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    For all of you who are missing a bit of adventure these days, take heart, Bloody Jack Faber is here to save your day. This is a wondrous tale of a young orphan living in the roads of 1800’s London. Her chances are near zero, but she manages to align herself with a group of resourceful road urchins. When she finds her group leader Charlie dead she suspects the corpse dealer Mung. With reluctance, Mary strips Charlie of his cloths and place them on. They are far better than the ones she had. Mary is afraid she might be next and makes arrangements for another group leader to take over her little remaining troop. She has no plans on staying and comes to the conclusion that she is better off disguising herself as a boy. Using the knife she took from Charlie she cuts her hair short and makes her method to the docks. Life is easier being a boy she finds. Mary spots a amazing ship the Dolphin and thinks about going to sea. The ship’s Master is looking for Ship Boys. Why not try? What skill could she have that would be of value? She yells out, “I can read.” Welcome aboard matey. When asked what her name is, Mary says Jacky Faber, and so begins the adventure of the fresh ship’s boy. I can’t say enough about how brilliantly this book is written. It is full of wit, charm, sadness, and longing. The characters are dynamic, complex and delicious. You will come to love or hate them and remember their courage, fears, and their unbaiting will to survive versus amazing odds. I recommend this book to everyone, young and old. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    There are not a lot of books about pirates, so having an entire series is so awesome. I really have fun that the narration is in first person, and that the language fits the education and speech of the character. It may be difficult to comprehend at first, but it gets easier the longer you read is book shows us the plight of a orphand girl who uses her cunning to obtain onto a ship as a ships boy. She is easily mistaken for a boy with her crude looks and speech. This is a amazing beginning to a amazing series. Even as an adult, i enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    I eyed this book in libraries for years before I checked it out. For all of two seconds, I worried I wouldn't be able to obtain past the cockney language of the first couple chapters, but the colourful Jacky's language quickly improves as she learns more. Throughout the whole series (all 12 of them), Jacky's spirit near jumps off the page. The books are even better if you listen to the audiobooks too--Katherine Kellgren is a master at accents and sically, there's a reason this series became a cornerstone of my relationship with my sister, and we reference it to this day. 100% recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    Bloody Jack is one of my favorite books and is endlessly re-readable. Jacky has one hair-raising adventure after another, often followed by narrow escapes as she travels (or flees with the law at her heels) from one put to another. This series gets even better from book to book as Jacky goes from road urchin, to sailor, to "Fine Lady in Training" to pirate, to pioneer, etc. Jacky will test her hand at anything, sometimes disastrously, often hilariously and she never fails to search both problem and adventure.If you haven't read Bloody Jack do so immediately. You'll laugh and cry and fall in love with the awesome and outrageous Jacky Faber, and best of all, there's lots more books in the series and you haven't even gotten to the best ones yet.Even though Jackie is a teenager, she's quite mature in her outlook on life and adults certainly won't feel they're reading a book written for young readers. (I was astounded to search this book in one library's children's section, most definitely misplaced. The author accurately and comprehensively describes life circa 1800- fascinating, but totally inappropriate for children.)What's best about these books is Jackie herself: her irrepressible exuberance and excess of curiosity invariably land her in hot water, but her fast wits and never-say-die attitude, even in the face of seemingly impossible odds, usually manage to carry her e author does a marvellous job of bringing the early 19 century alive, and the stories are filled with a wealth of period detail of every sort: the dress, food, music, customs, etc., of a lot of various countries and cultures. Jacky's adventures provide the author with the opportunity to discover numerous historic happenings and the lives of people both amazing and small.Jacky is no Pollyanna stumbling from one disaster to the next and ever in need of rescue, nor is she a MarySue of limitless resources ready to triumph over every adversity without mussing her flawless coiffure. She makes mistakes, gets herself in problem even when she should know better then lies or runs away; she whines and gets depressed when things don't go her way, is an unrepentant flirt, a thief and a show-off, and frequently confesses to suffering from numerous moral failures because she "wasn't raised up proper-like." But she's also a loyal friend, a natural leader, intelligent as a whip and a winner of the downtrodden. She is a real heroine who is genuinely outraged at injustice and won't hesitate to throw her little self at overwhelming odds in defense of her chosen mates and allies. You just can't support cheering for e Audible Audio ver of the series, read by the very talented Katherine Kellgren, really brings Jacky to life. Ms. Kellgren does a pitch-perfect job of capturing all the various characters, giving each a distinct, memorable voice and nailing the accents perfectly. A wealth of period melody brings yet another very enjoyable dimension to the audiobooks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    What I liked: I liked the characters, especially Mary/Jacky and Liam and Jaimy. They all had flaws, but for the most part they were likable. Also Mary/Jacky and Jaimy were so amazing and I loved their relationship. The characters are definitely what kept me engaged with the book.What I didn't like: Dialects aren't my favorite thing to read, so it took a few chapters before that wasn't distracting. I did feel like there could have been more of an actual plot beyond "I'm on a ship pretending to be a boy" - the other conflicts (the pirate incidents, for example) were short and quickly resolved. I also hated that it ended on such a cliffhanger because I feel like it was trying to force you into reading book 2. There was also a lot of discussion about what a sin/how gross it would for any of the sailors to be gay when everyone thought Jacky was a boy, and while I obtain that the author was trying to be realistic I'm not sure that it's amazing to have too much of that in YA books, so that bothered me a bit.Overall: Overall I really enjoyed the characters, but nothing else about the book really did much for me. I don't think I'd continue the series, but I'm definitely going to google to see if she ends up with Jaimy in the end :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was laugh out loud funny and never a dull moment. Written in the vernacular slang of a London commoner around the turn of the 19th century and from the viewpoint of a young girl who is orphaned, became a road urchin, in a gang, and finally pretends to be a young boy on a Navy ship. Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    This beautifully written story chronicles a period in the life of Mary Faber, a homeless orphan growing up on the roads of England during the late seventeen hundreds. The harsh reality of her life is drawn so clearly that I could almost imagine being there with her. Small Mary is a tough survivor who manages to beat all the odds despite the lack of resources that we consider essential for life. After a few years on the roads Mary makes a life changing decision. she decides to leave the safety of her group of homeless kids and her kip (living quarters)beneath a bridge. Disguised as a boy she secures a position as a ship's boy named Jack. Mary is much better off in a lot of ways but still must constantly war for survival. She carefully hides her gender while learning how to sail and live aboard a ship. This story should appeal to anyone of any age who enjoys reading about adventure, life during a various time period, or life aboard a ship with an added dash of romance and some humor thrown in. This is the first book in the Bloody Jack series and ALL are good. They are best read in order as each book picks up where the latest left off. I will not say anything regarding what happens in the rest of the series but I will say they will hold the reader enthralled as Mary shares her life and her a lot of adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 1:40

    While I strongly suspect the author wrote these as YA books, I did not approach this, the first of about a dozen Jacky Faber adventures, with that in mind. I am sure for some parents Jacky may seem just a small racy. She (spoiler alert) retains her virginity in spite of a shipmate who hankers after the boys on the ship and a fellow "ship's boy" with whom she develops a lusty romance. Mr. Meyer's research has led him to a flavorful look at life on the roads of London in the mid-eighteenth century and then on and below the decks of one of His Majesty's ships of war. Jacky indulges in what she calls "The Deception," being a girl in a man's world. Mr. Meyer moves his story with dispatch and has plenty of suspense along the way. There are pirates to conquer and love to be found. He has bestowed upon his heroine a distinctive voice, which adds a layer of pleasure to the proceedings. I am still deciding if I wish to go on with the series, but the first book is amazing fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    A toddler favorite. The boy loves talking about Jack Jack, since Jack Jack is a baby (like his small sister) and he's a superhero (all the talk these days). This book gets him to slow down and sit with me a bit and he pays attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    If you have seen the film (which was amazing IMO), this is basically an excerpt from it when mr wonderful finds out JackJack has powers. I've been reading it the latest week every night for bed time to both kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    Bought this book for my husband for Father's Day to add some dozens to our night time story selection with our 2 year old. We all have fun reading it, it's funny ( and relatable for us parents) and if you love the incredibles you'll love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    My daughter loves the short video of this. Naturally she makes jack jack noises while I read this to her at bedtime

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    This book was funny because it was about Jack-Jack. This is one of our favorite stories about the Incredibles. I am 5. R.E.C. 👶🏼

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    Purchased for my cousin's daughter who loves the incredibles. She was very happy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    older children really have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    They took one of the best parts of the film and created a amazing story book out of it. A fresh favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    Adorable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredibles 2: Sweet Dreams, Jack-Jack review []  2019-12-9 18:0

    Bought this book for my nephews and the story line is adorable. They loved it. Highly recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    This is a unique request by our 13 year old daughter. We knew she wanted it, and had planned on it being a Christmas gift. But she kept squealing about "can I have it" often enough we decided to bonus it to her now. The first night she had it, she had taken several school tests and was exhausted. She attempted to begin it, but when we peeked in her room she was sound asleep. Jack & Jack were under her pillow! The following evening, once her homework was done, her head was buried in the book until bedtime. We never heard a sound from her all evening. Asking how she likes the book elicited a giant grin. About 2/3 of the method through it and she is already talking about reading it again when she etty amazing recommendation

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    I had gotten this as a bonus for my sister for her birthday. she loved it, it’s a really amazing book and It came at a amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    my daughter loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    My niece loved this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    Niece loves the book...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    It was bought as a bonus for my stepdaughter, she really likes it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    This book was amazing! I would give it a 100/100 if I could. It really gives a deep insight into their lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    for Christmas bonus but who doesn't love the Jacks?!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks review []  2020-1-14 19:22

    A+++++++++

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    This third book in the series takes us even deeper into the troubles of Jacky Faber. She comes into possession of her own ship and proceeds to overtake other ships for the prize money. In the process, she becomes recognized as a pirate, and now she is the one being hunted. She also is heartbreakingly close to being reunited with her love, yet of course torn away at the crucial is installment has a bit of a darker tone to it as Jacky gets into her first really poor bit of trouble. There is not really any turning back from being labeled a pirate, but from what we know of Jacky, she will search a way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    As always a thrill and a journey when we follow Jackie Faber and her misadventures and this one takes you all over from London, to Ireland to around the globe this girls knows how to travel. This volumes just like the previous will take you through different emotions as you follow the amazing and poor luck which always seems to attach itself to this not good girl. Unlike volume 2 where she was at the lawson peebody school this time she is rarely stationary in one zone for long and this time around the dozens of people she meets and influences appear as well as well as some past friends. You will have fun this volume because as a hero she grows up a lot while small by small you feel the kid is slowly vanishing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    Jacky gets herself in and out of more scrapes with the Royal Navy, sees her dear Jaimey, and makes fresh mates (and enemies) in low and high places. Worthy sequel. I really love this well written series of a very precocious teenage girl trying to survive in a man’s globe in 1803.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    The book arrived yesterday, and I am forcing myself not to [email protected]#$%! in one sitting...I don't wish to obtain through to the end (Viva Jacquelina!) too soon and have to wait for Boston Jacky to be released in 'Under the Jolly Roger' we meet some amazing fresh characters, including Higgins, who will become an necessary part of Jacky's life, and we are reacquainted with two characters from her days as an orphan on the roads of London, corpse-seller Muck, who is 'pressed' (kidnapped) onto the Wolverine with her, and fellow Rooster Charlie gang member Judy, who Jacky saves from a poor situation...Jacky also visits her old kip and meets the current group of orphans living under the bridge.Our heroine is as resourceful, sassy, and impetuous as ever, and her good-hearted nature shines through even in the worst of situations...I am looking forward to reading the rest of it, and may return to modernize this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    Jacky Faber, new off a very popular whaling ship, goes to meet her beloved Jaimy, but sees him with another woman. Jumping to conclusions, she runs off and suddenly finds herself pressed back into the King's service aboard a ship under a cruel and angry captain that threatens Jacky's honor. Jacky's wit and sea knowledge and ability to gain the respect and admiration of her fellow seamen soon causes her to become captain of the ship. Jacky's adventures take her on a risky journey, dealing with spies and even a price on her head for piracy. Jacky, as always, must deal with being a woman in a globe that grants her very small respect, freedom, or power, but constantly threatens her. It is an older, wiser, wilder, and more hardened and lonely Jacky that we meet in this book, as she has been burned in love, swears off all men, but surrounds herself with them. But it is still the wonderfully complex, strong, fierce heroine that we all love and admire. This book is one of the strongest in a excellent series full of high adventure, complex and loveable characters, and a detailed and attractive historical landscape. Jacky's unbelievable voice and the author's daring, unabashed look at her globe and her dangers makes this a unbelievable read for adults as well as older teenagers. Grade: A+

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    This is an perfect story. I have not finished with all 12 books but it is a very entertaining adventure from the first book the 4th so far. I love seeing Jacky go from one misadventure to the next. She is a amazing hero and the narrator brings her to life as a whimsical carefree fun loving person. The author has made a believable globe full of suspense, danger, and amazing clean fun. I know I will listen to these books over and over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    This is the third book in the Bloody Jack series of adventure books. Jacky continues to experience difficulty fitting in at her school. She leaves school suddenly when she gets in problem and takes to the high seas again. Jacky proves to always be up to a challenge and her adventures are as frequent and as thrilling as a James Bond movie. I can easily imagine this series of books place on TV or the huge screen, they are that good! This series is best read in order. The first four are 1)Bloody Jack 2)Curse of The Blue Tattoo 3)Under The Jolly Roger and 4)In the Belly of The Blood Hound.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    Under the Jolly Roger is part of a the Bloody Jack series. It is listed as Young Adult...But it really isn't limited to that. I am much older. True, it is a unbelievable romp with sometimes unbelievably narrow escapes but it has very necessary and inspiring lessons in leadership and responsibility. It is always exciting. I especially like listening to the audiobook ver as Katherine Kelgren does an awesome English accent. It is best to begin with Bloody Jack.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    I loved the first two in this series and am about to begin this one. My 13-year-old LOVED it. He writes: (possible spoilers) An amazing adventure story, like Protector of the Little and the Hornblower books combined. It wasn't to short, which I like because I am a quick reader. But just because it's long doesn't mean its dry and boring, the action moves along at a quick pace, from Jacky living in London, to her being a midshipman, lieutenant, and eventually acting captain of a little ship in the royal navy, to her commanding a privateer ship. If you like early 19th century ship stories, or powerful female characters, or just amazing adventure stories, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack Adventures Book 3) review []  2020-1-11 19:26

    This was a amazing installment of Bloody Jack Adventures. I'm sure there is going to be a 4 book or Mr. Meyer's readers (including myself) are going to be very upset. I can't wait until the next book comes out. Like the first two book in the series a lot of adventures come to Jacky. I read it in just one day and wanted to continue to hold on reading when it ended. Once again Mr. Meyer brings together a unbelievable book.I say if you liked the first two you are going to love this book!*side note* Do you message that with every book they hold getting longer? I'm not complaining, in fact I love that. But I just thought I would throw that in. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    amazing ,and add more levels ,i clear all levels...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Super

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Amazing game, really difficult in places. I can't believe how short it is. You have amazing skill, maybe you could consider extending it and building on it. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    please tell secret room no 5 of level 13 not able to search one

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Android game is very good. Please add fresh level

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    very nice game.. u can search special things in every level.. just awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    i wish this game. can you pls extend more levels... its nice android game for me 😀 i feel like no more stress everytime i play.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    very nice android game no ads i clear all 43 scene i am so happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    awesome👏✊👍 one.. I want I could play it more.. but hs completed all levels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    My all time favorite. I just love this game. Waiting for 2nd part

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Super ,can't search android game in the earth like this ,love it ,crazy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    very nice n enjoying android game hold it up very nice texture smoth n accurate control just love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    excellent,..hi squad can you please add more levels because i have cleared all levels... waiting for android game modernize with fresh levels... amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    completed all the challenging levels... quite tough but very interesting 😍😍😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    me & my son love this android game very much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Super android game with limited labels fully enjoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    very nice game...but plsss i need update...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Unbelievable small nugget of a game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    superb game... what about more level..?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Nice game....please modernize fresh levels...i'm cross all levels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    i like this game. It's very nice and enjoyed this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    This is amazing offline android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    superb game, nice creativity

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    android game is amazing kindly modernize this android game please

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    The android game nice and it is simple to play😊

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    grate android game in globe my farvate android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    very amazing game..love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    This is very interesting and challenging game. Plz create wonderful jack 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Please discover more levels its awessooommmm!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    clear all level pls add fresh levels

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    its better for our whole mind

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Please add more level

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    spr android game ..now i'm addected this game. please add more levels

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    this android game is so awsm 🤩😍🤩😍🙌

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    this is awesome android game i love it i play this android game daily

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    I like this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Very fun and challenging

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    ver 2 please...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    super igrica ....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Incredible Jack: Jumping & Running review [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    fresh updates

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret agents. Incredible adventures review [App]  2019-2-24 13:23

    I will have a look

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    My children are really enjoying this book. It's well written, and the examples actually work! My 13 year old daughter was able to create terrific progress. Best children python book I've found yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    As an college educator in computer science, I am always on the lookout for fresh programming textbooks that might be helpful for beginning students. Often times, books that are "designed for kids" tend to be amazing for adults as 's what I like about this book:- Designed for first-time beginners who know absolutely nothing about programming!- Teaches the fundamental basics of Python that are required to make various, fun projects.- Beautifully illustrated with visual examples. The book just makes you "want" to learn how to program, especially the first chapters!- Focuses more upon GUI programming, such as how to work with Turtle Graphics, Tkinter, PyGame, etc.What needs improved:- Teaches Python 2 (instead of 3 -- the current version).- Requires users to install PyGame (a android game development feature), which works well for Windows-based PCs, but not so much for Mac users.- Some chapters focus so strongly on making the experience "fun" that the author tends to gloss over necessary programming concepts without giving them the attention that's required to ensure the reader adequately grasps them.Overall, it's a fun book that's helpful to beginners. Yet, there are aspects that should of been improved in order to create it awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    The publisher says this a book is intended to support 11 to 15 year olds who wish to learn how to program in Python on their own. This is true. Author Craig Richardson does an exemplary job of making programming in Python – and I am not being loose with my words – simple to learn. Not only for kids, but for adults as well. I would instantly recommend this book as an introduction to programming for people with no prior experience in the art. I like Richardson’s approach. He has made 10 “adventures” to tutorial the learner through their mastery of primary programming concept and the Python language. (By the way, Richardson specifically prohibits the use of Python 3: for this book, only Python v2.7.8 or later will work.) The “adventures” are oriented toward easy android games which probably has the greatest possibility of keeping younger minds involved and won’t bore adults either. All the code is very clearly laid out and is also downloadable. Videos are also available for some topics. (I haven’t worked every code example, so I can’t comment on bugs, if any.) Lots of illustrations as well. One thing Richardson does that most Python teachers don’t is introduce Tkinter, the module used for creating Graphic User Interfaces (GUI) very early in the game. A lot of Python instructional don’t mention Tkinter, assuming their readers will use only Command Line driven programs. I think Richardson’s approach, especially for younger learners, is much better and will support hold reader interest. This is a fun book. It makes learning Python simple and entertaining. True, Adventures In Python covers mostly primary stuff, much of which will not be terribly useful in the true world. But this book will definitely support the motivated reader become comfortable with bossing the computer around through coding and does provide an understanding of Python. And, as I said, adults fresh to programming would search this book useful as well. In my opinion, an perfect adventure!Jerry

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    This instructional and FUN introduction to Python programming aimed at adolescents but appropriate to anyone with minimal programming background has much to recommend it. It has FUN graduated examples beginning with Installation, Hello World-type programs and Turtle Graphics, using graphics for android games with the TKinter graphical extrensions, Pygame ending with highly interactive graphical e book is divided into 10 increasingly advanced projects all of which are fun and e author has taken unique care that all of the examples are cross platform. Installation instructions are included for Windows 7 & 8, MAC OS X,Linux and Raspberry Pi. The author has chosen to use the Python 2.6+ rather than a ver of the 3.0+ stream. I believe the reason for this is the wider availability of programming environments and Libraries--indeed most scientific applications of Python default to 2.6+ as certain scientific libraries are not available yet in a 3.0+ release.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    I've got to hand it to Craig Richardson, author of "Adventures in Python," because he gets right to the interesting items about programming, namely how to make graphics (using Python Turtle graphics) and how to make graphical user interface windows (using Tkinter). I've been through quite a few Python texts and even backed a Kickstarter effort to make a Python programming book, but none of them do as amazing a job as "Adventures in Python." The books tells you how to load Python, goes through the "print" and "raw_input" (the latter for user inputs) commands, then covers variables, concatenation, if-then statements, looping and saving programs to ".py" files for simple loading. All this is accomplished within the first 55 pages, all clearly and all in full ter that, Turtle graphics is introduced and, I must say, the examples provided were straightforward, clearly presented and, in a word, excellent. The author covers how to write a program that will make an n-sided polygon based on the user's input of "n."Following the Turtle graphics chapter is one on "windows, buttons and other GUI stuff." This is where the book really blows away a lot of other Python texts which, I've seen, tend to gloss over the info of "Tkinter," the module/library Python uses to handle GUI (i.e. graphical user interface) options, etc. (Another amazing book for Python GUIs is "Modern Tkinter for Busy Python Developers.")Farther along, the author introduces "PyGame" and how to install it, after which he delves into easy android game development with mouse trails, images, music, etc. Too much to list.Highly recommended. I'm going to use this book to obtain my nine- and eleven-year-old kids into programming on the Raspberry Pi.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    This is a really fun book on Python that I gave to my 9 year old son to begin teaching himself. The book contains all sorts of really fun programs that my son was able to type in himself and then see right on the computer screen. You really don't need to know a lot to obtain started as the book drops you right into some neat programming. My son was previously using Scratch and had small issue making the largest problem with the book is that I have found some typos in the code examples that impact their ability to execute. For instance, Python requires proper indent to indicate hierarchy of commands in something like a while loop. In one example, the "quit" statement is indented below the while loop. My son typed it in verbatim, so instead of the program looping until it broke the while loop, it quit immediately. We quickly found the issue and removed the indent, but the error is still in the I highly recommend the book for content and instruction, but have to warn you to double check the code examples and create sure they are accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    This book is as described in a lot of ways. It is, as it states, a book for people who wish to learn Python, even if they have no programming experience. The fact that it is targeted to the younger crowd, is evident in the layout. The use of color, fonts, and graphics (including screen shots) makes for a very user friendly reading experience. Also, code is lightly highlighted. I search that useful because often, I learn faster by examining code first, and reading the surrounding material second. I do that because I have programming experience, but even if I didn't, I would still appreciate the highlighted code because I can quickly review what I have just learned.If you have programming experience, this book will be a amazing intro to Python, but you might be better served by a book heavier in syntax and things that are special to is is a amazing book for children and adults who wish to learn Python and are coming in with small experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    I'm 25. I have no experience with programming. With the latest need for scripting at my company, I've started hauling donkey learning codeacademy, udacity, and miscellaneous books. The simplicity and fun nature of this book is suited for beginners of all ages.Written for teens, but excellent all ages. There are several "adventures" in this book, guiding the reader through writing easy programs. Lots of screenshots, pictures, and simple to understand commended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventures in Python (Adventures In ...) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    I have a 12 year old that only used his Raspberry Pi for Minecraft. It has several "adventures" that are presented well and kept my 12 year old's attention. This is a amazing learning resource for e only negatives are1) Uses Python 22) Requires PyGame (free)These are not deal breakers, but they take a star away for me.I would definitely recommend this book to young future programmers

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter