Read the isle of sin and shadows reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the isle of sin and shadows reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    This story was various from anything I've ever read. And Keri seems to be the author to pull me in various directions. The worlds Keri creates pull you in and you are left with nothing but holding on amd goimg along for the ride. And this ride was deliciously different. The Isle os Sin and Shadows is exactly that. Sinfully dark and mysterious. Can't wait to see what Keri comes up with next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    5 I WANT MORE STARS!!! This book deserves more stars than 5....it is so good. Wow, such a special various story that will be in my top 5 books for this year....I ALREADY KNOW. Keri Lake's words are like gold, you will treasure forever. I wish more words from her like now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    I seriously wish to bow down to Keri and her awesome writing abilities, especially when it comes to dark, gothic romance. Her talent knows no bounds and she never ceases to amaze e Isle of Sin and Shadows is unlike anything I have read before. It's a dark, gothic southern romance riddled with lots of suspense and thrills. This book is a page turner and one that is impossible to place down once you start. It will seep into your dreams and stays with you all day."You're my favorite ghost story."I won't go into any info of this book as the blurb gives you all that you need. I will tell you that this book is dark and has some scenes that may be too graphic for some, but for me and a lot of others who love a spine tingling read – this book is everything we love about dark e slow burn romance that ties into the suspense and mystery surrounding both Celeste and Thierry is amazing. This book will keep readers captive in so a lot of ways and having them gasping for breath at each twist and turn. This book took me on a dark trek that I could never anticipate and I loved every word of it. This book played out like a film in my head and I couldn’t obtain enough of it."You're right. You can't change who I am. But you've already changed what I want."Keri not only delivers a very well crafted plot and brings us characters that have a lot of layers to them. The story in told in Thierry and Celeste's POV and will flip to the past, at times and that helps readers dig even deeper into the bayous of e Isle of Sin and Shadows is a dark, gothic romance that is unlike no other. If you can handle a book full of mystery and suspense with dark undertones, then this book is for you!"Faith is a very strong thing. Even when it's not entirely based in fact."

    0  


    Add your opinion on the isle of sin and shadows or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    Allow me first say that I have read every Keri Lake book I can find. She is one of the very few writers whose next book is better than the last. I am an avid reader and it is so disappointing to fall for a writer only to be allow down by their next book, this has never happened with Keri. A feat in which should be celebrated in itself. Now on to the book review, a gripping tale that keeps you guessing and theorizing the possible endings only to be blown away at the end. I would change nothing about Celeste and her seek for the truth about her past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    Amazing idea. Amazing writing. Atmospheric, lush setting. Sounds amazing at first... then it goes down hill. I enjoyed this book until about 25% of the method in when I realized it has dozens of graphic violence for absolutely no reason, and the writer seems to really have fun giving vivid info about every rape stage that she contains (of which there are many...so many).I realize that this book is meant to be disturbing and I’m not one to shy away from dark stories or broken characters. This book goes beyond that though. It’s too poor that the author is so obsessed with over the top violence, mostly of the kind. It adds no value to the story and is really just a cheap, lazy method to attempt to add a darker element to the book. It reeks of poor writing and lack of imagination and makes the reader feel soiled and just overall icky for even having read so, this is a carbon copy of one of the author’s other books. This book seemed more and more familiar as I read until I realized it’s the same exact story as Master of Salt and Bones. How does an author obtain away with publishing the same characters, same story line, and the same “twist” at the end, while simply changing the setting of the book and the name?It’s really a shame because this author could do so much better. She has talent when it comes to the actual writing, and her main characters are flawed but endearing enough that you root for them. She’s also amazing at setting the stage for the reader and creating atmosphere and imagery. If only she could stop with the fetishized violence and the rampant misogyny. After two books, I will never read another by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    She is a amazing writer! I love the woman characters she creates and the darkness of the male characters and the story. It’s so real to the globe we live in and she isn’t afraid to write stories like that. I will hold reading her books. I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    Ok, I didn’t like it nearly as must as Master of Salt and Bones! I also didn’t like the creole talk by Luc. It makes it harder to understand. I obtain WHY the author does it but I just don’t care for it. JMHO. The book is slow to pick up. It wasn’t til the 45% point that is got interesting. Method to long. If I had NOT just finished Salt and Bones I would have stopped reading it method before the 45% point. But the perfect reviews kept me going. The book is extremely well written with no typos or mistakes. (That i could find). I think that Master of Salt and Bones was exceptional and maybe that has colourful my review. Was I recommend it? Yes I would. Maybe read this one first before Salt and Bones. If you like stories set in Louisiana, by all means read this book. Voodoo, this is the book for you. Four Stars on this one. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    All the stars. This book has mystery and creativity. This book kept me on the edge of my l the stars. I love all of her books.Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    It's been method too long since I've felt the need to gush all over a book review. This one... sorry I can't support myself.I have been a long time fan of this author and her masterfully written stories. Her mind is a conundrum of dark and depraved with glorious threads of attractive imagery, edge-of-your-seat mystery and intrigue and pulse-racing romance. The Isle of Sin & Shadows is a excellent combination of all of these and just another to add to the long list of Lake's seulement... If only, what then?Don't be fooled, you won't be spoon-fed, but each and every thing that happens in this book is a beautiful, twisted piece of this magnificent, multi-layered puzzle. And trust me when I say, you'll be working for the answers.But for me, that's the true beauty of a well-written story, right? I love it that I'm still thinking about it, weeks after I've closed the cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle of Sin and Shadows []  2021-4-6 23:59

    What a story!! What a page-turner!!!! Loved every single word! Loved the characters! This book it's just... AWESOME! Keri Lake is becoming one of my favorite authors! And this book cemented that!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    Item arrived as expected & as described. Amazing exchange!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    I love this CD. I wore out the first one I had, so this is a replacement

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    Amazing condition !! Better album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    I luv this CD!!! Live ver of some of my favorite Pretenders songs!! It was more like Chrissie Hynde, up close & personal, relaxed- seated, with her acoustic guitar...Singing & playing the songs, like a balladeer- in a very soft & angelic style, & the band, with added strings, rather than the rockin' versions of these songs, that we're more familiar with....that are on their previous cds.& other media...OK!! Thats my review, & I'm Stickin' 2 it!!! Thanx for reading!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    An outstanding live performance. Stripped down, the Pretenders' talent truly shines. Their artistry stills packs the punch that is missing from so a lot of "unplugged" collections. This collection has rapidly become on of my all-time favorites. I hold listening to it over and over; I haven't done that in decades. Any Rock lover will sink his or her soul into this. The artistry will likely grab anyone who loves melody of most any genre. Absolutely fabulous!Bob, North Carolina

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    I ordered this on vinyl 2x and both times the LP's do not have a clear sound. My turntable in Technics, powered w/older style Kenwood receiver/ 15" Cerwin Vega's. Would love to have a clear sounding LP! I have CD's of the same item but there is nothing like the sound of amazing old vinyl. Thanks for letting me post

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    I'll comment on the vinyl. The vinyl is quiet and well pressed. The recording has a huge soundstage which gives a flavor of the room. The individual instruments and voice are well resolved so it's simple to track them individually if you want. The ensemble sound is also quite coherent so the melody moves as a whole as well. Recommend the vinyl.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    I was there

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Isle Of View []  2020-8-7 19:47

    It's The Pretenders! I love these instrumental accompaniments to some of my favorite Pretender songs. This was a amazing show, and the soundtrack is perfect! Chrissy Hynde is perfect, as always.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    Very amazing read from Sean on archery and spirituality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    It was ok I will look at some of his other books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    simple to read and very Amazing hints for Archery newie. I like it a lot. tHanks a lot Sean .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    amazing cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    The sad thing about The Georgia Satellites....There largest hit "Keep Your Hands to Yourself" killed them. No one ever gave the band a fair possibility after that. Also they grew with every album; with that said..this was their best and sadly their latest record. It is powerful lyricly and diverse musicly. The songs themselves are an intersting mix style wise. Straight ahead rock n roll(Dan takes Five); mixed with some country(Sweet Blue Midnight)& folk(Another Chance). They sounded like The Stones from the Beggers Banquet/Let it bleed era; meets Small Feat...lots of nice punchy slde guitar. Personel favorites from this CD: "Dan takes five", which is based on a true life Dan Baird street trip. Also "Six years gone" which is rumored to be about a failed Rick Richards relationship. One latest thing to concider; in the days before CD's and downloads; when cassettes ruled....THIS IS ONE THAT YOU WOULD NOT FAST FORWARD THROUGH.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    Absolutely amazing! A lot of perfect hints on archery shared from his own experiences. A "must have" for the beginner. a "should have" for the experienced, and a "wish I'd had it" for those who are the accomplished, but could have arrived much sooner!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    Amazing condition just as described I am very happy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    The Georgia Satellites issued three high-octane rock n' roll records in the late 80s, at a time when such a thing wasn't excactly in vogue. The first one was a minor hit, the next two beautiful much sank without a trace, and that's a shame, because this one in particular is a really amazing listen if you like straight-ahead three-chord rock n' roll."In The Land Of Salvation And Sin" was the Satellites' latest regular album, originally released in 1989, and it is their most stylistically diverse by far. That doesn't create it an eclectic record by any stretch of the imagination, but the tempo does vary quite a lot (!), and there are even two acoustic numbers present...which makes for a lot more variation than "Georgia Satellites" and "Open All Night" place together!Most listeners will be content with just The Satellites' perfect compilation album, "Let It Rock: Best Of The Georgia Satellites", which also contains a few amazing non-album tracks. But if you do wish more, this one is a fine purchase as ing with the tremendous fiery rocker "I Dunno", "Salvation And Sin" contains a number of the group's best songs, like the bluesy swagger of "Six Years Gone", the melodic mid-tempo rockers "Days Gone By", "All Over But The Cryin'" and "Bring Down The Hammer", and the country-ish ballad "Sweet Blue Midnight".The Satellites also perform a nice, drawling cover of Joe South's "Games People Play" (a song which has inspired covers ranging from straight country & western to hard rock and reggae). And the unbelievable acoustic shuffle "Another Chance", which sees all four band members trading off lines, is one of the Satellites' finest original l in all, this is the Georgia Satellites' best album, with their self-titled debut a close second, and while you can obtain almost all the amazing items from their first two albums on "Let It Rock", "Salvation And Sin" is beautiful much amazing from beginning to end.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    Another amazing book by Sean McVeigh. I enjoyed it. As an old dude taking up bow hunting, I learned a lot from this book. Thanks rk E

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    unbelievable fast read and very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    It is a amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    Amazing CD. Awesome band and amazing energy. They hold it real!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    In The Land Of Salvation & Sin is a rock n' roll masterpiece. When it was released in 1989, it went largely unnoticed and that really is a shame. There's no filler here an it is easily the Satellites' best album. It is in my private top 5 and also one of my desert island albums (you know, if you were trapped on a desert island and could only have 5 or 10 albums to listen to for the rest of your life). This album has more scope than anything else they ever released. There's a slow ballad, an acoustic track, [email protected]#$% rockers, and some fun songs too. Highights contain All Over But The Cryin', Six Years Gone, a poor ass cover of Joe South's Android games People Play, Another Possibility and Dan Takes Five. Dan Baird's songwriting was unbelievable here. You back that with Rick Richards laying down some downright dirty guitar licks and solos and the always amazing marriage of the rhythm section of Rick Price and Mauro Magellan and you obtain one honey mother of an album. They were all at the top of their android game here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    Amazing insturctional book about archery, enjoyed his stories. The author Sean McVeigh not only helped me as a beginner through his book but he also shares hints on youtube. Its a amazing book check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    Just amazing southern rock, some originals and some covers, in their unique, hard rockin' style. Glad to search this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    In the Land of Salvation and Sin would be the third and final album the Georgia Satellites would release before their breakup in 1989. While their self-titled debut would be very successful and spawn their largest hit with "Keep Your Hands To Yourself", they suffered from the sophomore slump when their next album Begin All Night contained few memorable songs and bombed upon its release. Having lost their momentum, In the Land of Salvation and Sin suffered the same fate as its predecessor and would ultimately lead to the band's demise. However, the few that bought the album would search a diamond in the rough as it showed a quantum leap in Dan Baird's songwriting abilities as well as a musical diversity that was absent from their previous releases. Thus, In the Land of Salvation and Sin has become one of the amazing lost albums in rock history, only appreciated by the few fans that purchased it.Every track here is very amazing with a few being among their best. "Days Gone By", "Six Years Gone", and the cover of Joe South's "Games People Play" are all amazing songs, containing memorable choruses you could sing along to. "Shake That Thing" is an amazing tribute to the late Lowell George, sounding like an updated ver of Small Feat's "Fat Man In The Bathtub." The mid-tempo tracks "Bottle O' Tears", "Crazy", and "Bring Down the Hammer" continue in the Lowell George tradition with extensive slide guitar from Baird and guitarist Rick Richards. The fast-paced rockers "I Dunno", "Slaughterhouse", and the relentless "Dan Takes Five" present that the band hasn't abandoned the hard rocking spirit of their first two albums. However, there are three tracks that truly create this album a hidden treasure. "Sweet Blue Midnight" is a tender country ballad featuring amazing vocals from Baird and unique guest Nicolette Larson. "Another Chance" is one of those amazing acoustic songs you can imagine a bunch of your mates singing around a campfire on a hot summer night. Finally, there's the most well-known track, the mid-tempo "All Over But The Cryin'." One of the all-time amazing breakup songs, it's arguably the best song Dan Baird ever wrote. If this were released on country radio today, it would be a large hit. All told, In the Land of Salvation and Sin shows that the Georgia Satellites had a lot more to offer than just "Keep Your Hands To Yourself." Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    I first found Sean on Youtube and really liked his archery videos. He mentioned this book on one of them so I decided to order it, because I wanted something I could have in hand to refer to while out at the target. The narrative presentation keeps the reading private and interesting, and I really like his approach and way to learning archery. He explains how to yze what you're doing, how it effects your accuracy, and how to correct it. He admonishes patience and repetition, and I agree these are key practice components to becoming a better archer.I like the method the book is divided into sections and personally appreciated his spiritual testimony.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sin and the Spirituality of Archery []  2020-2-2 6:7

    amazing book looking forward to read his other book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    It came on their time and sounds good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Land Of Salvation and Sin []  2020-12-19 21:48

    As expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Democratia: The Isle of Five [App]  2020-8-25 13:31

    The android game is very badly optimised. It overheats my Oneplus 7T Pro even on primary settings, even going as far as throwing up the Android device temperature warning. Playing singleplayer is also impossibly hard as the AI will simply gang up on you if you're doing too well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Democratia: The Isle of Five [App]  2020-8-25 13:31

    I've always wanted to see someone create a political android game like this. The two things that I believe could be improved on would be an increase on the number of elections in a android game and perhaps more cooperation with the other clans (participation in unique building projects perhaps).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Democratia: The Isle of Five [App]  2020-8-25 13:31

    Das Spiel ist spannend. Die politischen Themen und Abstimmungen sind spannend. Jedoch sind die Beschreibungen zu knapp um immer zu wissen was der Guild lieber möchte. Mein grösstes Issue ist die Spielsteuerung auf meinem Mi 9T. Ich kann nur zu 80% treffsicher antippen und das Konvertieren schaffe ich mit 5-10%. Der Genuss ist dadurch sehr tief und nach kurzer Zeit ist man frustriert. Ich würde am liebsten 3.5 Punkte geben. Bitte wenn möglich Steuerung überarbeiten dann machts auch Spass.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Democratia: The Isle of Five [App]  2020-8-25 13:31

    Ripped off Poor North. And super not good optimization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    not good camera and kind of flunky controls

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Some love went into this, but it needs a lot more. Everything seems very early in development, but the largest problem for me is how the camera sways sickeningly as you move (no player control of camera).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    Unlike the other two Call the Midwife books that I have read, this book tells the life stories of two characters that the author encountered working at Nonnatus House. The first, Jane, is a quiet, fearful young women. She fears her own shadow, and cannot be trusted with any responsibility due to her fear of making a mistake. The other character, Mr Collett, a soldier who fought in the Boer war, begins as a client needing a nurse, and becomes a real mate to the author.Jane's story is the story of the workhouse, a horrible institution that punishes people for being poor. Starting out life as bubbly, charming, smart small girl, Jane's spirit is completely broken by the inhumanity of the workhouse e soldier, Mr. Collett starts out as a patient, but moves into the category of mate as his wounds heal. His life story is gradually revealed as her visits become more social than h stories reveal the humanity of the people who came into contact with the sisters and nurses of Nonnatus House, until changing economic times forced the end of the East End and the need for the services of Nonnatus House.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Amazing graphics, but very slow, I don't feel the experience is worth the 'cost'

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Cliché story, nauseating camera movement and boring button-smash war mechanic. But amazing graphics and smooth animations!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    I got the first book because I was a fan of the PBS series. It was darker than the series but I still enjoyed it. When this one came on sale right after I finished the first one, I got it as suming that a lot of the people who consider buying the books are doing so because they like the series, I feel compelled to warn you that this book is very much darker than you are likely expecting. I don't like to do spoilers so I'm not going to obtain into details. I'll just say that while the series isn't always lighthearted and can be beautiful gritty, this is much darker than the series gets. I'd say it even crosses over into disturbing in 's well written and I wouldn't tell you not to read it but I would advise caution if you're thinking of getting it as a bonus for someone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    This second memoir in the "Call the Midwife" trilogy by Jennifer Worth is vastly ahead of the first, with both fluency of language and quality of storytelling having taken a quantum leap. I don't know whether there was more editorial input, or whether the author simply learned more literary craft, but whatever the case, I can recommend this book without reservation. Unlike the anecdotal, disjointed result of the first book, this second volume includes full-arc stories, each of which is utterly compelling. If the final narrative doesn't bring you to your knees in empathetic pain, you're probably not n't be inhuman. Read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Amazing game! The graphics are really nice and the video test is also really cool. The story is also told with a lot of amazing cutscenes, so it is a beautiful amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Old games.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    SHADOWS OF THE WORKHOUSE is probably my favorite of the trilogy. Worth's narrative is far darker than the PBS series, and yet also richer in a lot of ways, dotted with bright bits of humor, faith, and her unsentimental glimpses into the durability of the human spirit. She doents "near history": a globe now gone, that would be forgotten except for her saving pen, which brings to life the people of two generations ago, their wonderful poverty, and the wonderful misfortunes that some suffered, as well as the wonderful gallantry shown by others who were determined to bring support and assistance. All told in a quiet, unassuming way. Worth's acc is uplifting, but not in the overly sweet method of so-called "inspirational" books (which I loathe) of today. She tells a dark story and tells it in a straightforward way, but that makes the bright lights of faith, compassion, belief in duty, all the more bright and startling. This book was a page turner for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    An perfect retelling of the not good in 19th and early 20th century England. Jennifer Worth, writer of "Call the Midwife", tells the stories of some of her patients during her days of midwifery and other nursing experiences in the 1940s and 50s even after the workhouses were officially supposed to be closed down. A lot of of these are very heartwarming, but others are very distressful. Some of the same characters of 'Midwife' return, such as Sister Monica Joan and Chummy. A very heartwarming book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    It has a very special graphical style related to the "The Trail". The UI is simplistic which on mobile is a very amazing thing. It loads quickly and no lag on my device. I saw no hero customization,but i only booted it up to look it over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Fun android game especially for free on sale. Just needs gamepad help and a few laggy glitches fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out of the Shadows []  2020-2-2 5:57

    I think they got a lot more years in them! Sounds like 80ish awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    I rarely end a book in tears, but this one really got to me. It raises 1000 questions about the amazing of social programs and public works, as well as the evils. Yes, evils. The epilogue explains it quite well. There was good, but there was also amazing neglect and lack of oversight for these not good people. Why couldn't there have been kinder and more compassionate treatment? Why were the rules so harsh to families? Couldn't families have been allowed to see one another and visit one another? Those who grew up in the work houses under cruelty became the masters who were cruel. Given that everyone was terrified of going to these work houses, why didn't the government inspect them and create radical changes? This underscores the fact that governments throw cash at a issue and consider it done and never count the cost for what it takes to really create them work well. There seems to have been no attempt to transition people out of the work houses and it became a hopeless method of life. This is how politicians assuage their consciences about the poor. Better to send a welfare check.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    I've loved the PBS series - each episode brings its own message, and you never feel cheated after watching. But after the first chapter of this book two, I thought I might search it disappointing - it differed wildly from the first. But I ended up loving it all the e first half of the book tells the stories of Peggy, Frank and Jane - all workhouse kids who ultimately reside in the dock zone of Nonnatus House. Peggy and Frank are siblings who live together on Dog Isle; Jane was with them in the workhouse, but found herself a residence inside Nonnatus House, where she felt a failure at everything. We learn about their lives in the the mid-20th century workhouse and how they each carved out a method to survive and, in various ways (often thanks to the wisdom of Sister Julienne), search a form of e second half of the book regards a patient, a Boer Battle veteran, that narrator Jenny initially struggles to understand, but ultimately grows to love. I remembered some of the episode from the series, but the story was so poignant, and so lovingly told, it just pulled at my heart.I read ens, but that was a distant, a literary, time in my mind. I didn't realize that the shadows of the workhouse would loom so large, with England relying on the workhouse buildings to help veterans, widows and orphans as recently as post WWII. Every country has had its challenges in dealing with the indigent, and the US definitely is far from a model here. But how desperately sad to have so a lot of who offered their lives for their country, or who supported their families, or the the future of the country, lost in the march of Worth contains an epilogue to underscore the veracity of the stories, and books for further reading. Overwhelmingly touching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    I loved the Masterpiece Theater series, "Call the Midwife", that I viewed on PBS. I was totally captivated, and realizing that the series was based upon the memoirs of Jennifer Worth, a nurse and midwife who wrote about her experiences, I decided to read the books. I have not been disappointed. I have loved the books as much as the PBS autifully written, the author is a born storyteller, captivating the reader with her description of life in the East End of post Globe Battle II London in the 1950s. She also gives the reader a historical perspective of why life was perhaps the method it was, almost as if she were looking at it through the prism of a social scientist, tempered with the sensitivity of a medically trained caregiver and e also gives us a very enjoyable glimpse of what her life was like working with other young single women as a midwife, affiliated with a convent of nuns dedicated to providing prenatal care and midwife services in the impoverished East End.Her insight into their lives and that of the nuns with whom they worked makes for a fascinating memoir. Her acc of one nun in particularly, Sister Monica Joan, will certainly bring a smile to the reader. She is every bit as endearing and wacky as she in the PBS series, where she is masterfully and elegantly portrayed by Judy Parfitt, who brings her to this book, the author also focused on those in the East End whose stories were heavily influenced by having grown up in the workhouses that were prevalent at the turn of the 20th Century, and the impact that the workhouse had on all those who grew up within that ensian system. The history of the workhouse is given full shrift, grounding the reader in the historical reasons for their existence and why they were looked upon as the latest rung on the ladder of poverty or the port of latest e stories the author tells of a brother and sister, a woman whose spirit was broken, and an elderly Boer Battle veteran, all of whom experienced life in a workhouse and the impact it had on each one of them, are heartbreakingly told and speak to the triumph of the human spirit. The author sheds light on why they ended up as they did and is never judgmental. Her stories are ground in compassion for all they had endured in the most trying of cirtances. Those interested in the human condition will be riveted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    It's a fun game, but my goodness the camera placement really fricked me up. The silly pan left-pan right-pan up and weird topic focus on the first 'cutscene' looked very amateurish. Camera zone was ridiculously inconsistent. Simply walking around was a chore, as it kept jumping around which created me dizzy. It's worse during wars and created it difficult to obtain the hero where I wanted it to go, and created it simple to obtain stuck and die. If fixed the android game has nice potential.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Enjoyable. Unique. A stand out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    This is the second book in the series. It focuses on the impact of the workhouses on the lower classes, focusing on three individuals who spent their childhood years in one. Peggy and Frank are brother and sister, and Jane works with the nuns. In addition to their stories, the author info the history of the workhouse and how it changed over time, and what problems arose with those changes. Frank’s cancer diagnosis shows how bonded he and Peggy are and their traumatic childhood separation and Frank’s determination to provide for his sister shows a quiet heroism. Their story is complex and may be difficult for some readers. Jane also has a past in the workhouse and was mates with Peggy. She went from a bright outgoing kid to a fearful, timid adult from her experiences. With some support from Sister Julienne, Jane finally finds some happiness. Sister Monica Joan also plays a key role in the story and her aberrant behavior lands her in problem with the law.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    I'm really enjoying these books by Jennifer Worth because she really brings that time after WWII alive. The people who lived there near the docks in London, it's awesome to read about their hardships and realize what powerful people they were in spite of the a lot of issues faced. I was especially touched by Ms. Worth's relationship with the older gentleman who served in WWI and in served during WWII locally, who lost his entire family. We've gotten too far from the idea of serving others to bring a light to their lives. Worth's writing is good, it's very basic, and she gives a lot of background as concerns the history of the area, and into nursing care as well, which I have fun since I teach pathophysiology and physiology to college students. The stories of Sister Monica Jones provide much required humor in the midst of so much hardship, and I can imagine the need for everyone in the household needing to hold an eye out on this curmudgeon, who lived life on her own terms.Excellent book, I am always disappointed when the stories end!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I bought the book and finished it out on the audio, mainly because I didn't wish to place it down while I was working. I think that there are a few things that surprised me about the book. I was beautiful much figuring it would be a middle book allow down, where there is no clear resolution. There will be more in the series, or at least that door is left wide open, but I was at least happy with the ending. There are a lot of back story elements I am still left a bit curious about, but I actually enjoyed this a bit more than the first book. Some of the reason has to do with seeing the growth in the characters, both in their skills, but overall maturity. There is the over-arching element of doubt which makes the characters more human and relatable. At first I was bummed by the charters spending so much time apart in this story, but I do feel that it helps with creating their maturity and own identity. The only thing that I really could not obtain on board with was some fighting, from a distance, that did not really let for a fast resolution, or any resolution with the characters kind of reflecting on how they treated each other. Meh, it's small, but overall, I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Perfect sequel. This book was just as much a page turner as the first, if not more so. I enjoyed following the individual development of both lead protagonists and how that growth enhanced their relationship. I hope there will be a third book in this fun magical series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    If you haven’t yet, you need to read “Of fires and Stars”, you will then fall in love with it. After you fall in love with it be satisfied and know there is a second book “Of ice and Shadows”. I promise you will not be disappointed. You willlove the characters and the epic globe that Audrey builds in each story. Check it out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I absolutely loved this book. Awesome to see Denna and Mare’s relationship grow and develop. Above all else though it’s amazing to finally have a book with queer characters that aren’t demonized or ized and actually have their own hero development and story arcs that have nothing to do with their ity. It’s refreshing to see fleshed out characters that aren’t defined by who they love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    A unbelievable sequel two both of the previous books set in this world. This book is a direct sequel to "Of Fire and Stars". But it is also,in a lot of ways, a sequel to "Inkmistress", which takes put a lot of years before the happenings of this story. While reading "Inkmistress" isn't needed to understand the story, I w would recommend it, since it will increase your enjoyment of the e pacing, hero development, and storytelling in this book are superb. The ending is very satisfying and feels 'complete', unlike the first volume, which was also fantastic, but seemed to obviously be only the beginning of the story. However, there were enough begin plot threads left to tantalize the reader into hoping that we've not read the latest of Mare, Denna, Tristan, Evie, young Faye, and the Dragon Queen.Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I love this series in its entirety and I’m hoping it becomes a trilogy! The globe building is amazing and I love the mysteries that the reader tries to unravel from reading the two perspectives. Also, it’s amazingly !!! I want I had a book like this to read as a kid. The method the relationship is explored between the princesses feels so real, which makes this book such a treasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    The expansion of the globe and its magic system was my favorite part. The chapters with descriptions of the Denna learning to use her powers was a particular highlight. The romance was fine but felt a small contrived (had to remind myself they were teens and first romance). Definitely a worthy sequel and hoping for a third book now that everyone has matured past teenager with a richer globe set up to explore

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I eagerly awaited this sequel, pre-ordering it well in advance of the publication date. While I found the early part of the book a bit slow, it wasn't long before everything heated up. There was powerful emotional tension between Denna and Mare that was complicated by a number of things, Denna's unpredictable magic, their mission that seemed to obtain more complicated by the day, and her decision to leave abruptly to see if training with the queen would let her to have better control and understanding of her powers. The strain of that latest one could easily have fractured their relationship. Then, there are some fresh players who are quite interesting. My favorite is Fadeyka (who might well deserve a book of her own in the future), but Alek and some of the other mages in training grew on me as well. The story sustains an perfect level of intrigue and tension, particularly toward the end of the book. It's a satisfying read that was well worth the wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Fresh characters introduced allowed for more dozens but drove Mare and Denna farther apart. Denna's powers were something to fear but also wonderment however in this story its mainly the former. It was ok but lacked the drive that the first book did. Granted I'll still read it if they decide to continue this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    After faking her death, Denna and Mare are finally back together and seeking support with Denna’s magic abilities. After concocting a cover story, Denna must pretend to be Mare’s maid during their long journey to Zumorda. Once they arrive, they explore that Zumorda is very various from the globe they’re from. Magic abilities are prevalent and used begin in daily life, which is something Denna and Mare are not used to. While Denna hopes to search someone willing to train her, Mare has started to wonder if they could just strip Denna of her abilities. Unfortunately for them, the political climate starts heating up as they begin to explore their private differences.I have been a fan of this series since the first book, so I was very excited when we got a release date for the official second installment in the series. I absolutely love the characters from the first book as well as the prequel, so it was amazing to see Denna and Mare encounter one of the characters from the is time around, the pair are in a fresh setting, so we got to meet a whole fresh cast of characters. I absolutely loved some of the fresh characters, especially Alek and Fadeyka. I would love to see Tristan and Evie again as well as see them developed a lot more than they were this time around. There are so a lot of amazing and interesting characters throughout the story that I want they were true people.A lot of the story involved Denna and Mare exiting the honeymoon phase of their relationship. I knew they would work through it, but it was still amazing to see the ups and downs of their relationship and how they would become more solid as a couple in the end. Both characters grew a lot throughout the story, so that was very exciting as well.Unfortunately, I did search the plot a small clunky at times. I wondered how the prequel was going to take form in the second installment, so that was interesting to see, but it seemed like a few aspects were shoehorned in. Much of the book seemed to be preparing for the next installment in the series, so there was a lot of build up only for it to fizzle out very quickly at the end. I also want that the globe building was a lot better once Denna and Mare got to Zumorda, especially from Denna’s perspective since she was a lot more begin and understanding than Mare for much of the book. Regardless, I am looking forward to the next book and I hope that the problems I have with this installment gets sorted out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    This book does a amazing job of tying up the loose ends from the previous book and gives us a prequel for Descendants 2. After seeing the trailers for Descendants 2, this book provides a better insight on what is going on. If you plan to watch Descendants 2, I highly recommend that you read this book because it fills in the blanks that I don't think the film will respond or explain.Overall I enjoyed reading this book and enjoyed the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    Melissa has written another amazing Descendants book. I couldn't place the book down (hence still be up at 2:44am). I can't wait to see if she has another book up her sleeve! The characters come alive & you feel like your there also, or like your watching a film spread out in front of you. What a amazing method to pass the time until the film comes out in July.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    It was an enjoyable read as always and thanks to the authorFor writing another amazing story. I loved the hero Interactions between them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    She lov s the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    Mal, Evie, Jay, and Carlos are back at it--I just love these characters. However, I liked the first two books a lot better than this one. Although, it was interesting to learn more about the other villain children (like Uma, Harry, etc.) and how their lives have changed due to the original four leaving the island or when the magical barrier on the island mysteriously disappeared a couple of times. This book was interesting addition to the series, I have no clue if more will be added, but I did have fun reading this. I recommend the entire series to YA readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    I really like my brand fresh book called the rise of the Isle of the Lost and I can't obtain enough of it reading it so I really like it a lot and I really love to read because it's what I like to do for fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    This was a amazing introduction to the villains of the film coming up. I can not wait to see it. I had so much fun reading this book. I recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    My 9 year old was so excited to keep this book over the weekend! She struggles with reading -- so anytime I can search a book that she enjoys - it's a amazing thing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    This book was a really well written one with twists and turns and just when it gets better, a twist happens to create even better! I recommend this book for people who have fun reading as much as I do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of the Isle of the Lost []  2020-1-20 21:2

    We were really excited to finally obtain this in the mail as the first two books were awesome! Not as amazing as the first two. It's really hard to obtain into. This can not keep my daughter's attention at all. It's just not exciting. We hold reading hoping it'll eventually pick up, but it just hasn't and we're more than half method through. We had high hopes, but this one came up short.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    A unbelievable read that grabbed right from the beginning, the hero building and globe building is fantastic, the scenes are written epically, this read definitely kept me captivated from the begin to the finish of this read. I definitely auna Joesten

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    I loved the Serpents and Kings Series that this book is a spin off of. However, this book is even better! It is the begin of another exciting series that I wish to read and re-read. This book [email protected]#$%!.M. Gaither’s other books have it all. There is a powerfully imaginative globe unlike any other. There is thrilling adventure and action scenes. Magic that is fascinating. Humor and romance. The sarcastic barter between the characters is lively and enjoyable. Most importantly, it has a powerful female main hero who faces challenges and struggles with her own reality. I devoured this book in about a day. It ends in a cliffhanger and you’ll definitely be wanting more. I can’t wait until the next book(s) come out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    You're welcome to read this book and have fun an adventure in a far away land! I just finished a series by Sarah J. Mass and was looking for something not too massive but another fun fantasy with amazing hero development (I'm a sucker for a powerful heroine) and I found it with The Song of the Marked. There's a lovely, tease of a twist at the end which created me wish to begin the next book in this series straight away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    This book was wonderful. I really enjoyed The Serpent & Kings series, but surprisingly liked this book even more. The globe and the characters that SM Gaither builds is amazing. It is one of those books that you finish and wish to immediately re-read. Can't wait for book 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    In a globe full of magic-kind Cas is fate-marked and she thus always considered herself to be magicless. However in a land also devastated by the fading sickness she and her adoptive mother Asra had been stricken by the illness but survived. The Emperor-King Varen was interested in her because of this fact and although she had previously hated him she was taken by the kindness he showed towards her and her group of mercenary mates she called family. As they begin working for Varen she finds herself working in close proximity with Elander, the Captain and leader of the emperor's peace keepers. Elander is a man of mystery and Cas finds him intriguing and falls for his allure however Elander warns her not to trust the man he himself works for and she is torn between the two of them. Is she being used by both? Can she really trust no one but her dear friends? This is the first book in a fresh series set in the same setting as the previous series but with totally fresh characters. I love the tension building throughout the book but hate what SM Gaiter did to us, her readers with that ending. I just need to read book 2 yesterday, because this cliff hanger ending is killing me. Another huge well done for what envisages to be another thrilling and brilliant series from one of my very favourite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    What a unbelievable book. From the first chapter it had my interest. Cas is a amazing hero and can't wait to see where the story takes her in the end. Just when you think that you know where the story is going another twist and turn comes along and opens up several other possiblities. The end definatly leaves you wanting more and looking for the next book in the series. I couldn't place the book down and ended up reading it in 2 days. Looking forward to the release of the second book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    The Song of the Marked is the first book I have read by this author, and I received and ARC in exchange for an honest is book is the first of a series, so a lot of zone is used to build the world, set up the characters, and introduce the belief system. In this world, there are those who possess magic and those who don't. Magic users have marks on their wrists that correspond to their type of magic, and the divine being that the magic comes from. The book starts after a kind of purge/war and there is a disease (called the Fade) spreading quickly, a disease that usually kills it's victims very quickly...a disease that Cas has survived with for over 13 s is a sort of mercenary with a lot of secrets and a penchant for getting into the kind of problem that she has to war her method out of. She has amazing intentions, for the most part, but tends to allow her protectiveness override her common sense. All in all, she's a complex hero that manages to create you root for her, even when you think she's making not good decisions. Needless to say that when she is given the possibility to investigate the Fade and possible search a method to cure it, she jumps on it. But people aren't always honest, things are rarely what they seem, and the largest secret of all may be Cas herself.I enjoyed The Song of the Marked, and overall, I only had a few issues. The author is very detailed and a small wordy, which bogs down the pace on occasion. There is also a lot of info to retain in order to test to hold people and their powers straight. I was also a small frustrated with the hero development of Cas. She's spent her life living like an outlaw, but when faced by some very necessary decisions, she seems incapable of remembering her survival skills and in fact gives too a lot of people the very info that could destroy her and all she wars for. It seems out of hero and makes her seem weak.I was very intrigued with the story and the world, even with its complexities. The supporting characters were fun, even if the plot didn't leave a whole lot of room for them to develop, yet. The twists shake things up nicely, and there is plenty of material for future books.If you like fantasies, magic, hidden agendas and intrigue, this book is for you. Oh, but fair warning, the book ends just when things are heating up. It doesn't end on a cliff hanger, exactly, but it doesn't tie anything up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    I absolutely loved S.M. Gaither's Serpents and Kings series, so I was super excited to know we were going back to that world! I was no disappointed! I was intrigued from the get-go. Casia is an interesting and fierce female who has had a very interesting and stressful go at life. Things obtain even more crazy! There may have even been a mentioned of two of our favorite High Rulers in Sundolia. I cannot wait for Book 2 in this series! I was definitely left with a blown mind and questions I immediately need answers to! I highly recommend this read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Song of the Marked (Shadows and Crowns Book 1) []  2020-9-12 18:58

    This was my first ARC from S.M. Gaither and I am absolutely hooked by her writing! She creates such powerful heroines that I can't support but root for! The first 20-25% of the book is a lot of globe and hero building and was a small slow but once it picks up, the action doesn't stop! I didn't see the end coming and I can't wait to see the next installment to see how Casia's and Elander's stories continue!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales of Sin and Redemption []  2020-1-17 0:7

    If you don't know "Slim,"...you should siddle up and stay awhile! Superb electric blues on this one, so much so that I've ordered several other of his titles! There exists a PLETHORA of talent in this "genre'" of melody ladies and gents, and fortunately for those of us who love it, can continuously obtain thrilled by the extraordinary, inordinant amount of genius, gifted artists in this musical arena that to the average person are virtually unknown! The only true issue is that the melody ain't cheap because, for a dozens of reasons, it was never commercially viable! I literally stumbled across this on Amazon after ordering a Bonamassa CD! You know: "people who bought so and so also might be interested in!"Again, it never ceases to amaze me how much true talent does exist in this milieu, but that being said, anything by "Too Slim and the Taildraggers" is above par in said catergory. Superb guitar, clever, pleasantly presented lyrics with a wry message! this not Buddy or B.B., so sample a few tracks and have fun the ride! [...]??!! Hey fellow melody afficianados, I spend a lot of time , energy, and cash reviewing all sorts of melody here on Amazon so if this review helped,... please click!?? A lot of thanks and see ya on da flip side!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales of Sin and Redemption []  2020-1-17 0:7

    Seemingly possessed by the demons inherent in a rock'n'roll lifestyle, Too Slim has penned these 11 original songs testifying to trials and tribulations, but with salvation nevertheless close at hand. Despite a possible tongue-in-cheek perspective, the songs possess a certain sense of spirituality. For example, "Walk on Water", the percussion-heavy opening track, tells of the guidance offered by an older and wiser mentor philosophizing about human t all the songs are about regret, guilt and fear of retribution. However, these sentiments are expressed quite vividly on the seemingly Robert Johnson/C.C.R.-inspired "Mississippi Moon" - "....hellhounds runnin', hot after my tail [and soul], on a moonlit night on the swamp with the snakes and the alligators". The guitar-explosive "Soul Perspective", showing a slight nod to Robin Trower's "Day of the Eagle", and "Missed that Train", both underscore his determination to overcome negative forces.Rather than berate himself too much for his weaknesses for alcohol and women, as evidenced in the radio-friendly "Brown Bottle Rock", the sultry double-entendre of "Broad Minded" or the slinky rockabilly edge of "Some Kinda Momma", Too Slim rejoices in these celebratory vices. Maybe he's not quite ready to be saved yet!The nostalgic, but overly-long "Wish I Was Fishin" and "Oven Burnin' Woman" are funk-blues-jazz-rock mixtures, the latter offering a sensual ogy to wood-chopping not unlike blues-harper David Rotundo's "Can I Come In Your Kitchen", which gives a fresh meaning to "cooking"!"Flatback Flathead", a slide guitar scorcher with a driving beat, is the requisite vehicle song. It's right up there with Deep Purple's "Highway Star", David Lindley's "Mercury Blues" or Golden Earrings' "Radar Love".The CD closer is an perfect smooth jazz instrumental showcase that reinforces the tightness they have accomplished as a team, while displaying the tremendous individual talents of these three musicians.Diane Wells

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales of Sin and Redemption []  2020-1-17 0:7

    A must own for blues fans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales of Sin and Redemption []  2020-1-17 0:7

    Since seeing this amazing band live several times I have bought 4 of their albums but I think this is the best one I have. Tim "too slim" Langford is a amazing guitar player with dozens of energy. Tee shirt says "Straight Whiskey Blues With A Southern Rock Beer Chaser" Amazing method to describe their music. I recomend you buy this album and if you obtain a possibility to see them live, don't pass it up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Isle: The Complete Series []  2020-11-21 18:41

    I read these the first time as a young teenager. Such odd yet compelling language and pace to the stories. The stories stuck with me and I was very excited to see them finally created available in Kindle format, as the originals my mother owns have almost fallen apart from numerous rereads.I would highly recommend these books to others. They are a fairly fast paced and stick to the active story. The spoken language in the first book may take a small getting used to but it fits and is enjoyable. The middle books dealing with the Isle are my favorites. The change in story telling style with The Black Beast and Golden Swan took a bit to warm up to, but it did shed more light on the multiple hero perspectives, and the story arc created for an enjoyable conclusion of the Book of Isle set. I look forward to watching my own children read and explore the magic of Isle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Isle: The Complete Series []  2020-11-21 18:41

    Very enjoyable series. I read it all over 5 days.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386