Read the japanese sandman reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the japanese sandman reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    Don’t usually do audible books but this book is amazing. Was hooked right from the begin .Did a unbelievable job totally worth it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    The best method to describe this is an old school radio play. Its not just read its performed by a heavy and unbelievable cast, I got this on day 1 and i'm on my 2nd listen through which considering its over 10 hours s beautiful good. If you haven't read the graphic novels then you really need to but for me this was a amazing ver of the first 3 in the series. Completely faithful to the books but so cool top hear it performed. Cant wait fir the next installments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    I love Neil Gaiman and the different narrators are amazing - I'm listening to it as I type this!! Neverwhere is still my favorite but this is in the top 5 Gaiman books I've heard. Go Neil!! Definitely NOT for kids....

    0  


    Add your opinion on the japanese sandman or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    I was a large fan of the graphic novels growing up, so once i heard there was a audible drama coming from the same guy that produced the Neverwhere one it was a "shut up and take my money!" scenario. The voice actors chosen for this series are excellent, and James McAvoy did a amazing job of infusing Morpheus with the gravitas and globe wariness that I heard when I would read the hero on paper. The melody and sound effects were amazing and really added to the experience and I ate up all 11 hours of listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    Top notch voices from globe renown actors bring the story & characters to life. I feel drawn into the fantastical globe of the sandman who lives in dreams. I haven’t read the written ver of this story, but I have enjoyed ‘Good Omens’ by this decided to listen to this fresh production. Am enjoying it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    This is truly such an awesome adaptation of the Graphic novels, although this is only the first part which has adapted the first volumes, it is such a stunning production with the excellent cast and excellent n't wait for the rest to be released!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    I beautiful much started listening as soon as amazon said it was available. Beautifully voiced from the cast, unbelievable tale to match the hardcovers I had bought. I cannot recommend this enough and am gladly awaiting the next parts which I do hope come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    I got it with Audible, so those stories are acted out for you on audio-book!! Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    When I first read the Sandman series, some of the hero voices I imagined were there, but some I could never have envisioned. I love that obtain to revisit this masterpiece series from Neil Gaiman and hear it just as he envisioned it in his mind. The cast is simply excellent. I wish more of this, please. Finish the saga and contain both of the Death miniseries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman []  2020-9-23 19:24

    I have always loved The Sandman books! Hearing it performed by a really awesome cast!?! I love it! I can't express how much I love this!! I am only into chapter one and just in love with it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Given that the story basically ended in the previous volume, there is a certain anti-climatic feel to this -- Gaiman is wrapping up loose ends, providing closure for (some) characters, and throwing us some interesting mini-stories about side characters. With a story as complex and delightful as this one has been, this isn't necessarily a poor thing -- it just isn't as engrossing as some of the previous , as usual, is attractive -- a unbelievable accompaniment to the tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Once in a while there comes a series that you honestly don't wish it to end... ever. This is the case with the Sandman. I was a late bloomer and discovered Sandman very late but I simply DEVOURED these graphic novels and have gained a newfound level of respect for Neil Gaiman with each Sandman I've read. I classify literature into blah, mediocre, barely worth your money, readable, quite decent, impressive, holy smokes and life changing and to me, the entire Sandman series is life changing. The method you look at life changes if it gets to you as deeply as it got to me and I can only give thanks for Gaiman and the extremely talented artists that brought forth one of the most mesmerizing series in any medium. Like some of the characters though, I had to take a while to mull over the end of this series and the passing of one of the most unique characters I've ever wanted to share a beer every hundred years. For lack of a better word, amazing. There is no detail overlooked regarding hero development, storyline, loose ends, explanation, ideas, creativity or bringing forth a brand of dreams we gladly share as our own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    As a comic book fan I know most people probably imagine the globe of comics as being about super heroes or Sunday Funnies. But, the comic medium is worthy of so much ndman is that "much more". The story is excellent, and is wonderfully executed. You're going to wish to obtain all of these at once, because they can't be place down.If you're already a comic book fan, you've likely heard of Sandman. So what are you waiting for? Read this already!If you aren't already a comic book fan, maybe it's time to give it a chance. If any story is going to change your mind about the possibilities of this art form, this is the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Im a huge neil gaiman fan so I love this series. This particular volume is amazing because it weaves together so a lot of things from the sandman mythos in a brilliant way. It may not have been the ending I personally expected but that by no means makes it bad. Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    What could I say about The Sandman that hasn't already been said. It's just the best series ever ran and if you are just starting to read it now, obtain Vol. One andstart from the beginning, please. You won't stop until you obtain back here, I promise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Ok, technically these are not the FINAL Sandman problems (there's a few more "aftermath" type left). But this is truly the LAST Dream storyline. And it's amazing. I've always believed that you cannot truly judge a story/series until it's ended. A lot of fail at pulling together the begin threads. A lot of fail at building climax. This excels in everything. A fitting ending to a unbelievable storyline.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    In a series I love, this is one of my least favorite volumes. Maybe it's because it has a feeling of trying to gather up all the elements of an amazingly diffuse story. Maybe it's because I just wasn't crazy about Hippolyta's storyline. And I just didn't like the art all that ill highly recommend the series, this just isn't one of my favorite volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    The final volume of "The Sandman" (not counting the self-contained, limited stories), in which Neil Gaiman and his readers say goodbye to Morpheus, the Lord of the Dreaming. The first part of the story resolves the happenings from the previous volume, "The Kindly Ones", after which Gaiman presents three self-contained stories, one about Hob Gadling and another William Shakespeare. "The Wake" is a satisfying conclusion to the regular "Sandman" series while leaving enough in play that Gaiman could return if he chose to revisit this world."The Sandman" series is nothing short of modern mythology writ huge and exemplifies everything to which the comics medium aspires. Its thematic range and Gaiman's special voice ensure that it will remain a staple of graphic storytelling for years to come. It deserves to be mentioned in the same awed tones as "Watchmen", "The Dark Knight Returns", and Jack Kirby's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    It doesn't obtain any better than Gaiman writing Sandman. This is world-class literature. As distinct from the rest of the Sandman oeuvre, this book has a dark inevitability about it which perfectly suits its role as a coda to the main is review is, in a method pointless (except for what little amazing it does Gaiman's Amazon account). If you haven't read the rest of Sandman, for God's sake don't begin here. And if you HAVE read Sandman, you already own this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    The Wake is an wonderful swansong to the core run of The Sandman. A lot of questions left unanswered are addressed, such as the other play Shakespeare was commissioned for, who of the Endless had a predecessor, a lot of tie-ins from World's End, and much more. After the reductionist art of the Kindly Ones story arc, this volume is refreshingly packed with attractive and complex photos by different artists. The ending is perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    After almost 10 years of struggling to complete my collection, this was a fitting end. I am not sure I can fully express the resolution and comfort I felt in the final moments of completing this storyline. The notice has come at a time in my life when I required it the most. Mr. Gaimen, and the artists who contributed to this graphic novel are truly it! And at the end, I hope you see the respond that has been woven into this story, from the beginning, right up to the latest words written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Love this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    A mate bought me the first Sandman book a few weeks ago, and upon finishing it, I immediately went out and bought the entire rest of the series. They are all wonderful, but this one is my favorite. It ties together all of the other story arcs - both the larger arcs and the stand-alone short problems - into a cohesive climax that is gorgeously written and thing: DO NOT READ FRANK MCCONNELL'S INTRODUCTION UNTIL AFTER YOU'VE READ THE NOVEL. There is a MAJOR spoiler on the first page of the intro; I was so angry about it that I started yelling out loud at the book. In one of the earlier volumes - I forget which - the intro contained spoilers, so Gaiman moved it to the end of the book and wrote his own short intro. I don't know why they couldn't have done that n't begin with this book; begin at the beginning with Preludes & Nocturnes and work your method here. It is beautiful, mythical, heart-rending. And don't read that intro!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Once again Gaiman is on his mark, as the writing and overall story is amazing. The artwork? Not so much. This is easily the poorest illustrated volume in the Sandman series. But the story is powerful enough to not only create the reader feel depressed, but also feel hopeful with the next ree minor, supporting characters really shine in this volume - Matthew, The (new) Corinthian and Lucifer. These three characters alone have enough emotion to interest a lot of people, and combined with the overarching story they really ain, the writing is top-notch Gaiman, and the storyline is fantastic. The artwork is at the very bottom of the series - but the writing alone makes up for the not good artwork. This is a volume that will change things for a lot of people and should not be read unless a lot of of the earlier volumes have been read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    As a comic book fan I know most people probably imagine the globe of comics as being about super heroes or Sunday Funnies. But, the comic medium is worthy of so much ndman is that "much more". The story is excellent, and is wonderfully executed. You're going to wish to obtain all of these at once, because they can't be place down.If you're already a comic book fan, you've likely heard of Sandman. So what are you waiting for? Read this already!Excellent Story. Highly recommended for a reason.If you aren't already a comic book fan, maybe it's time to give it a chance. If any story is going to change your mind about the possibilities of this art form, this is the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Story was fantastic, but have to give 3 stars for (*my subjective opinion*, I'm sure amazing reasons abound) the change in art. The style jars a reader after having been used to more detail & contours up until now (across the minor variations that lent flavor). I had a hard time recognizing characters from prior issues. Probably either (a) my untutored eye, (b) reading the series on a Kindle Fire instead of an actual 'book', or something. Love Sandman, and this piece of the series still worth the $10 without a doubt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    First of all, all of the artwork is some of the most gorgeous painting and drawing I've seen in any comic book. So vibrant in color and detailed in design. Unbelievable tribute to the old original Sandman artwork and st importantly, Neil Gaiman lovingly concludes The Sandman comics with this prequel that dazzles and delights the mind. He gives us greater insights into the mind of Morpheus as well as reveals about the other Endless. This is a MUST READ for any and all fans of The Sandman te: Read this after you have read the original 10 volumes of The Sandman, Endless Nights, & Death: The High Cost of Living. You will obtain so much more out of this! Thank you Neil Gaiman for this heartfelt end to your masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    Sandman Overture is worth the price of admission for the art alone. Every page is so immaculately executed, with brilliant layouts, clashing styles and pure imagination, that this title stands on its own as a gorgeous primer on modern comic-book art. The fact that it is also an perfect prequel to the much beloved Sandman series is just the icing on the cake. Gaiman throws a curve-ball at us, taking dream on what is truly a science-fiction adventure, rich with alien life-forms, and madness consumed stars. The ethereal nature of the Sandman books is in tact, again requiring work from the reader to extrapolate the meaning of happenings and general timeline, making for a cerebral read that quenches our overdue thirst for more Morpheus.I would love to see Gaiman and Williams return to Sandman again. It's a pipe-dream I know, but imagining the monthly that these two equally brilliant minds could bring us is an exhaustingly decadent thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    This volume takes put during a 'reality storm'. During which a lot of various characters from various worlds and walks of life search themselves shacked up together at the Worlds End Inn, wherein they pass the time by telling each other stories. Thus the volume consists of those stories told. I liked it a lot, and the story about Prez Rickard stood out as particulary is volume was introduced by the other author that I'm currently reading, Stephen King. I thought his was the best introduction to any volume thus far. The length was perfect, he created his respect for Gaiman and his work clear, and he did it in style. Some introductions to these volumes I found to be dragging on, or just.. too much. King nailed it. Another interesting tidbit about volume 8 is there are no 'issue-breaks' where the cover of the individual problem is shown. It is a seamless collection of the six problems it contains, and as such it read like a story, instead of pieces of one. Amazing work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    I hate to say it, but World's End is the most disappointed I have been in Neil Gaiman's Sandman collection. The above four-star rating is a rounded up, generous score based mainly on the better stories and the perfect 's End is another collection of short stories, and like previous short story collections, each individual tale is meant to illustrate it's own theme. Unfortunately, this is one of those instances where the writer spends so much time on the theme that they forget to create the story itself interesting. 'Fables and Reflections' is still my favorite of the Sandman stories, with 'Three Septembers and a January', 'August', and 'Ramadan' being stand out issues. Those stories managed to blend theme, artwork, and interesting plot much more cohesively than this collection e stories in this book have the framing device of 'people stuck at inn by a storm swapping tales to pass the time'. It's a beautiful amazing storytelling method, and it reaches some true 'inception' levels of meta humor when the people in the stories begin telling stories. But that type of humor can only obtain you so far.And, I've mentioned the artwork, but seriously, there are a few panels in the final part of the book that are simply hauntingly beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    The artwork in Overture really grabbed me. The dreamlike feel of the story sequences was magical. This is not (in my humble opinion) the best of the Sandman comics, but it is an necessary addition. I really liked how Gaiman brought everything full circle. The "Noah's Ark" of beings that must forge a fresh universe is touching too.I think I longed for a tale or two along the way, hapless mortals caught up in the struggle. We obtain one such figure in Hope, but she wasn't as clearly defined as I would have liked. This is the story of the Endless and of Dream's capture and its portent and it does not deviate from its central goal of revelation.I like that existence and the Endless who rule it are defined as the product of the union between Time and Night. Dream's dad seems genuinely cool. His mom sort of scares me though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    This volume takes put during a 'reality storm'. During which a lot of various characters from various worlds and walks of life search themselves shacked up together at the Worlds End Inn, wherein they pass the time by telling each other stories. Thus the volume consists of those stories told. I liked it a lot, and the story about Prez Rickard stood out as particulary is volume was introduced by the other author that I'm currently reading, Stephen King. I thought his was the best introduction to any volume thus far. The length was perfect, he created his respect for Gaiman and his work clear, and he did it in style. Some introductions to these volumes I found to be dragging on, or just.. too much. King nailed it. Another interesting tidbit about volume 8 is there are no 'issue-breaks' where the cover of the individual problem is shown. It is a seamless collection of the six problems it contains, and as such it read like a story, instead of pieces of one. Amazing work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    PREFACE:WORLD'S END is a amazing collection of short stories, but it works best as part of the Sandman series. If you have not caught up by reading volumes 1-7, I'd suggest finishing those volumes before moving to this one. It's not absolutely important (this volume takes put largely outside the continuity of the universe), it helps if you are familiar with Gaiman's style and characters. If you have not read any Sandman yet, you're in for a treat: The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition).REVIEW:WORLD'S END is a 6-issue arc that is composed of 6 short stories. Picking up off of the hefty The Sandman Vol. 7: Brief Lives, Gaiman takes the listeners outside the Sandman narrative for a handful of musings. WORLD'S END follows two travelers who mysteriously search themselves lost in a storm. Seeking shelter and safety, the two travelers search their method to World's End, an inn that exists somewhere between zone and time. The inn is populated with other wayward travelers, from various times, dimensions, and universes. With everyone stuck at the inn, the patrons pass the time by sharing ese standalone stories range greatly in content, delivery, tone, and characterization. What I admired most about this collection was the range that Gaiman has control over. Each issue's narrative feels almost as if it were written by a various author -- this creates an impressive perceived verisimilitude to the characters' stories. These shifts in tone, however, are nearly seamless. The stories work with the reader and not versus them. There's a moment in WORLD'S END when Gaiman is describing a hero telling a story in which a hero is telling a story about another hero telling a story. Sound confusing? In the moment, it makes excellent sense, it's perfectly clear, and it doesn't feel out of put at all. Even though this arc in a lot of ways stands alone outside of the main Sandman narrative, these 6 problems make one complete volume. The editors of the book have removed the problem covers (usually separating stories) to give WORLD'S END a seamless feel. It might not sound like much, but the result works really iman admits in the acknowledgments that WORLD'S END was inspired by his desire to experiment with other authors. The effect is incredibly interesting and beautiful. Each patron's story is pencilled/inked by a various artist as compared to the frame narrative. This conceit adds further depth to these stories; WORLD'S END is a story about the power of stories. While some of these narratives search us encountering Morpheus, he's conspicuously missing for the most of the volume. There's a amazing reason for that, but readers will have to wait for the final moments of the volume to explore why. The ending is spectacular.I've read this collection in the original trade-paperback ver (released in the mid-90's) and again in the updated ver (released in 2012). This fresh edition includes everything from the previous collection (including Stephen King's introduction), but the color has been restored to reflect Gaiman's intent. The difference isn't jarring, but in the case of WORLD'S END, which relies heavily on the artwork, I'd definitely side with this version. Additionally, this listeing is available on Kindle (and other eReaders). As of recently, readers can read graphic novels/comic books on devices other than Kindle Fire (iPad/Android readers rejoice!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    This volume marks the long-awaited return of Neil Gaiman to his beloved Sandman series.I was quite excited to see that Gaiman had place this out as I loved his Sandman series. This was simply was one of the best, strangest, most *innovative* comic book series I ever read. I've also become a fan of most of Gaiman's books so seeing this was out was a natural.I must say I *liked* it, though not as much as I'd hoped. The story tells the tale of a mistake Sandman created long ago in not killing a star (this is normal for these books, go with it) that (because he didn't slay it) goes angry and begins the end of the universe (that kind of thing happens in these books, if you haven't read them before). Over the course of the book he discovers what he did wrong and then proceeds to see if he can fix it.....along the method he falls into a black hole, meets both his parents, and we more or less meet nearly all of the other Endless.I was surprised I didn't like the book more -- honestly I think the issue is the method the artwork and story flow. They felt a bit disjointed at times, and there are a couple of chapters that felt "included" to create the book bigger rather that substantive parts of the story arc. It DID wrap up -- kinda -- though I felt the ending was sloppier than those I remember from the Sandman comic series. The artwork however is superb and there are several "trick" pages in the book that fold out and such to give the artist a bigger canvas. It WAS a amazing book, but not quite as amazing as I'd THOUGHT it would commended for fans of the original, though it's not quite in the same 'vein' -- you could be disappointed. If you haven't read Sandman at all this is NOT the book I'd begin with -- too much is assumed you already know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Just loved it. The Overture is in its own league. It is billed as a prequel, but that presumes that time flows only one way, and in this set of integrated stories it flows all over the place. The sandman series comes later - kind of, not exactly - the happenings in it are sometimes before some of the action in overture, sometimes after - they are simply from various points at the same time (or the same points at various times, Ive not quite got that unraveled yet). Not front to back or vice versa, more like time flows out from each major hero (and some of the minor ones as well) and then through the other actors. Even the Sandman does not always grasp the flow of time through other characters - cant elaborate without spoiling. Ive never seen writing quite like it. Gaiman's writing style is spare, yet it gives more than it seems. I think that is because it relentlessly plays on the imagination, and because he seems to partner so well with the graphics. And the artwork is otherworldly. Like time, the art scatters ideas and photos across the page rather than lolls them through a series of routinized boxed images. Love that, love that. I should also probably thank the editor for investing in high quality reproduction; the final product is one for the ages (and I am old, so that contains me completely and mercilessly). I could pin the artwork across my rooms and treasure it, even independently of the story line. All good, all special. What a feast!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    This is the sort of book that has an impeccable pedigree. Neil Gaiman returning to the hero that created him famous, plus the incredibly talented JH Williams on art, with an untold story of the Sandman's 's a amazing book.But is it any good?By which I mean was it readable, was it memorable, did it have meaning, did I like it? And well... yeah, but not much.Overture is a prequel set just before the happenings of the first problem of Sandman telling the story of how he was captured and the mysterious mission he was returning from. In the process a lot of questions are answered, a lot of things are explained. Maybe too many, Did we need to know the secret origin of Morpheus' helmet? Did we gain or lose something when once one of the best lines in the original series gets a back story?I'm not sure this story required to be told. And with the ending a forgone conclusion it was hard to obtain too concerned about the goings 's a amazing ride, full of the unbelievable creative throw-aways that tag Gaiman's Sandman books and a fun return to a fondly-remembered series.But I wasn't left with a particularly powerful impression except maybe that I'd like to reread Sandman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Sandman Overture is worth the price of admission for the art alone. Every page is so immaculately executed, with brilliant layouts, clashing styles and pure imagination, that this title stands on its own as a gorgeous primer on modern comic-book art. The fact that it is also an perfect prequel to the much beloved Sandman series is just the icing on the cake. Gaiman throws a curve-ball at us, taking dream on what is truly a science-fiction adventure, rich with alien life-forms, and madness consumed stars. The ethereal nature of the Sandman books is in tact, again requiring work from the reader to extrapolate the meaning of happenings and general timeline, making for a cerebral read that quenches our overdue thirst for more Morpheus.I would love to see Gaiman and Williams return to Sandman again. It's a pipe-dream I know, but imagining the monthly that these two equally brilliant minds could bring us is an exhaustingly decadent thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    First up, all of the 10 volumes of The Sandman novels deserve 5 stars. They are a phenomenal acheivement in not only graphic novels but in storytelling itself. The story is complex and cerebral and the characters so well developed that Sandman is one of my favorite stories period. The novels are intensely violent and often disturbing but everything that happens serves a purpose, and nothing happens by possibility or just for the sake of things happening. Something that happens in one volume may become vitally necessary 3 or 4 volumes later. By the end of the 10th volume everything has come full circle with an appropriate and satisfying end.With regards to Volume 8 itself it is not my favorite volume but it is still very good. The main storyline being that two wayward travellers create their method to a tavern called the World's End where a dozens of interesting characters - not all human engage in far as the volume's content on the Kindle Fire - I was hesitant to abandon the volumes in print worried that the Kindle Fire might provide a more difficult viewing experience. That hasn't turned out the be the case. The novel is simple to read, you can scan in to specific boxes, and the colors are vibrant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    First of all, all of the artwork is some of the most gorgeous painting and drawing I've seen in any comic book. So vibrant in color and detailed in design. Unbelievable tribute to the old original Sandman artwork and st importantly, Neil Gaiman lovingly concludes The Sandman comics with this prequel that dazzles and delights the mind. He gives us greater insights into the mind of Morpheus as well as reveals about the other Endless. This is a MUST READ for any and all fans of The Sandman te: Read this after you have read the original 10 volumes of The Sandman, Endless Nights, & Death: The High Cost of Living. You will obtain so much more out of this! Thank you Neil Gaiman for this heartfelt end to your masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    First up, all of the 10 volumes of The Sandman novels deserve 5 stars. They are a phenomenal acheivement in not only graphic novels but in storytelling itself. The story is complex and cerebral and the characters so well developed that Sandman is one of my favorite stories period. The novels are intensely violent and often disturbing but everything that happens serves a purpose, and nothing happens by possibility or just for the sake of things happening. Something that happens in one volume may become vitally necessary 3 or 4 volumes later. By the end of the 10th volume everything has come full circle with an appropriate and satisfying end.With regards to Volume 8 itself it is not my favorite volume but it is still very good. The main storyline being that two wayward travellers create their method to a tavern called the World's End where a dozens of interesting characters - not all human engage in far as the volume's content on the Kindle Fire - I was hesitant to abandon the volumes in print worried that the Kindle Fire might provide a more difficult viewing experience. That hasn't turned out the be the case. The novel is simple to read, you can scan in to specific boxes, and the colors are vibrant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    First up, all of the 10 volumes of The Sandman novels deserve 5 stars. They are a phenomenal acheivement in not only graphic novels but in storytelling itself. The story is complex and cerebral and the characters so well developed that Sandman is one of my favorite stories period. The novels are intensely violent and often disturbing but everything that happens serves a purpose, and nothing happens by possibility or just for the sake of things happening. Something that happens in one volume may become vitally necessary 3 or 4 volumes later. By the end of the 10th volume everything has come full circle with an appropriate and satisfying end.With regards to Volume 10 itself it is not my favorite volume but it is still very good. This volume concludes the Sandman storyline and ties up the loose ends that remained from previous volumes. It is a fitting and appropriate ending to the far as the volume's content on the Kindle Fire - I was hesitant to abandon the volumes in print worried that the Kindle Fire might provide a more difficult viewing experience. That hasn't turned out the be the case. The novel is simple to read, you can scan in to specific boxes, and the colors are vibrant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 10: The Wake (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Well, here we are at the end of the series. If the Kindly Ones was the action climax of the series, the Wake is the emotional 's tough to talk about this book without giving spoilers, so I suppose I'll hold this brief. This book includes a large number of heartfelt speeches and hero moments, some of the best in the entire series. Gaiman obviously place a lot of work into this wrap up. My only complaint was that we couldn't have more info on some of the minor characters in the stories. But, the idea of 'there are no endings' has been a huge theme of Sandman since the second collection, so what are you going to r comparisons sake, I would rank all of Sandman collection from best to least amazing as: 6, 7, 2, 10, 9, 4, 1, 5, 3, 8. Satisfied reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    The Kindly Ones, like Brief Lives, has a reputation for being the best story line in the Sandman series. I wouldn't give it quite that much praise, but is certainly one of the stronger stories, and worthy of a five-star issue with this problem is the artwork, which is at best divisive. The characters are drawn like cartoons, like in 'the tale of two cities' from World's End applied to the whole book. It created for some amazing individual panels, but overall I thought it was distracting how fake these people , onto the plot. With the series wrapping up, Gaiman brings back almost everyone from previous problems to allow us no how they're doing. Yes, not all of them are plot relevant, but if you weren't interested in human drama and subplots you wouldn't have gotten this far into the series as it ere is also some serious emotional moments in this book with Morpheus, although those don't come out in full force until the Wake. If you've come this far, you should definitely read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 9: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    I have the whole Sandman series in graphic novel format already. Being a Neil Gaiman fan, I don't have much of an option. lol... But, when I saw that it was coming out on the Kindle Fire, I had to buy it. Now I have the whole series in a format that's simple to access and I don't have to worry about my children damaging my print editions. The zoom feature works great, the colors and graphic info are impressive. I couldn't be happier about how these e-book editions turned out. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    I've always been a fan of Gaiman, and of the Sandman series. I was so excited when the Omnibus arrived! It's a attractive tome, very beautiful with a vintage look to it. It's quite heavy, so you can't really read it standing up (unless you're trying to combine your reading and exercise routine). I don't mind that at all - on the contrary, I feel it adds to the intensity of the experience. The tome makes me feel like Destiny of the endless reading from my book of fates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    This is a wonderful, classic series that I would categorize as a must-have for any comic reader - old or new. If you're a fan of fantasy and don't even read comics, this is for you. This is your gateway . If you're a long-time DC reader, there are a lot of well-executed references to main-DCU characters. And then further, if you're a long-time comic nerd and you somehow haven't gotten around to reading The Sandman yet... obtain to it!I've read the old problems with their classic 90's colors, and at first was quite upset to learn that these omnibuses had been recolored. There is a certain vibrancy to the colors of old, but after running out of copies of the originals, I settled for this lovely omnibus. It took some getting used to, but the recolor is solid. It absolutely stands on its e omnibus is solidly bound and the bindings do not suck pages into some terrible, nebulous oblivion at any point.Overall, I'm thrilled to own this omnibus, and you will be, too! I look forward to purchasing volume 2 whenever I have the means.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    As long as you don't mind the weight of the book, it's absolutely fantastic! The only reason I gave it less than 5 stars is because if paying a three digit number for a BOOK, you expect that the seller will have taken care of it. When I received the book, there were dents and scratches all over the cover. If you're like me and actually take care of your comics/books then this will kind of peeve you. So, my problem isn't with what's inside the book or how it's made, those I give a 5 star to. It's the seller and their ability to take care of their product that is very expensive for a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    As my namesake implies, I like complete sets, but I also like craftsmanship on par as well. I purchased the Omnibus (both 1 & 2) because I read about the binding problems with the Absolute Editions and I felt that maybe they'd worked the bugs out of it for the Omnibus versions, which were shorter. I also thought I'd save some money. While the latter was true, the former was NOT.Whatever problems of glue-bonded spines the Absolute Editions carry, the Omnibus have it worse because the page count is so high and on glossy paper, which is heavier than traditional bond. The spine has a thin black sheet of paper to serve as the patch for the glue, and it pops and peels when the book is opened past the fits 100 pages. You can begin the book without doing this, but you have to angle the covers at about 30 degrees to hold the tension off the spine. Glue is simply NOT suitable for a 1000+-page book of this weight and I don't know WHAT they were thinking by using it instead of Smythe sewing. If I'm spending $100 or so for it already, I don't mind the additional cash for a sturdier brace. I imagine that the book will be falling apart in the next 20 years as the glue decays.I regret my purchase and want I would have spent the additional coin on the Absolute Editions. There are extras with those and the page count is lower, so the strain on the glue-bound spine is lesser. If you're going to have the same issue either way, you might as well go with the product with a more manageable means.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    5 stars for content. 4 due to binding. If you’re not already in love with the content, there are cheaper ways to obtain your feet wet with TheSandman. So, I’ll skip a content review and go straight to the packaging. The cover and paper are all nice stock and weight. The quality of the print is unbelievable and the pages feel like the separate evenly without any weird spinal bending. Only flaw is the material used to cover the spine is down too low and showing at the bottom like a slip peeking out from under a skirt. It’s not a large flaw, but makes one wonder if some material is missing, unseen, at the top. And for a retail 150 volume, one would expect better. I purchased the second volume as well, and it doesn’t have this issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    Neil Gaiman’s creation, The Sandman is one of the amazing graphic arts masterpieces. Neil Gaiman (along with Alan Moore) are genius creators that bring to their work more than just a comic book sensibility. I’m sure both have a deeper literary foundation than just the Mort Weisinger edited Superman, the Julius Schwartz super character revivals, and the Marvel Universe of Stan Lee, Jack Kirby, Steve Ditko, and Don Heck. All these comics mentioned are indeed amazing but most writers since them seem to not test to break fresh ground and just repeat a formula until Alan showed everyone how It could be done. With Neil I feel that he is quite familiar with a lot of writers that have enriched my life like TH White, William Hope Hodgson, Clark Ashton Smith, CS Lewis, JRR Tolkien, Jack Vance, Harlan Ellison, Roger Zelazny, Fritz Leiber, Mervyn Peake, Michael Moor, and Gene Wolfe. These unbelievable creators shared a rich Imagination and a lot of a mastery of creating poetry in prose. Neil is a master storyteller with this skill first most powerfully demonstrated in The Sandman comic. I love these Omnibus editions with long runs of the title contained within and physically the omnibuses are quite beautiful. It has been several years since I had read these problems and I had forgot what amazing artists had worked on these issues. Some of the artists I was already familiar with and knew to be amazing ( Colleen Doran, P Craig Russell, Bryan Talbot, Charles Vess) along with artists that I was unfamiliar with that delivered outstanding graphic storytelling like Mike Dringenberg, Sam Kieth, Jill Thompson, and Shawn McManus. Truly a masterpiece of imagination that belongs on everyone’s shelf. Absolutely read this then go out and read the collected CA Smith, Lord Of Light by Roger Zelazny, Deathbird Stories by Harlan Ellison, The Dying Earth by Jack Vance, the Fafhrd and Gray Mouser collections, Clive Barker’s Imajica, Michael Moor’s Elric series and Mother London, William Hope Hodgson’s The House on the Borderland, Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake, Almost anything by Henry Kuttner and Catherine Moore, anything by Leigh Brackett, and Alan Moore’s Jerusalem. Certainly Neil’s prose novels The Ocean At The End Of The Lane, Neverwhere, American Gods, and Stardust belong in your future readings also. Satisfied magic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    I'd like to begin my review by pointing out I'll be reviewing the edition itself not the story. Sandman is a unbelievable work of fiction and widely considered to be one of the greatest graphic novels of all time, if you haven't read it you likely just haven't been able to convince yourself it's worth the $100+ price mark (it is by the way). The point is, you shouldn't be asking yourself whether you should obtain Sandman, you should be asking yourself should I obtain this printing or one of the 10 that came before y would consider DC's absolute editions to be the pinnacle of collected editions, for my part I've always found them a bit too bersome and more than a bit too pricey. This Sandman Omnibus is much more in line with Marvel Omnibuses (which is to say it's nearly identical), you obtain a sturdy hardcover filled with approximately 1000 pages of material for roughly the same price mark as a single absolute that holds half the material. The main difference between this and Marvel's omnibuses is that this addition does not come with a dust jacket, but instead the hardcover itself has been turned into a work of art. The binding is stripped in a method that resembles an old textbooks, the cover is stamped with silver and black in just the right amount of flourish, and even the ends of the pages are dipped black (in a manner all too clearly meant to imitate a bible). Presentation wise its the first graphic novel I've purchased since the Dark Turret Omnibus that looks like a genuine work of art without even breaking it open.When you do obtain around to breaking it begin you'll message the book uses the recolored pages found in the absolute editions (or most latest paperbacks), this might be a drawback for some but having read both editions I found the recoloring to be a plus. The binding, which appears to be a combination of glued and sown, lays flat enough you don't lose chunks of the story even on two page spreads. The one addition I found to be something of an annoyance is the added problem number on the bottom left corner. This doesn't appear on all pages, it's done in a manner related to adding a page number (just two or three times an issue) but its enough text to be distracting, at the very least they could have just place #1 instead of "The Sandman #1" each ere's really not much in terms of extras, enough pages in biographies to draw a small of your time but nothing else. That being said this is really, in my mind, the best edition of Sandman released so far. I wouldn't go so far as to turn your absolutes in and create a repurchase since there's really not much fresh here, but if you're interested in picking Sandman up for the first time or replacing your deteriorating first editions this omnibus offers tremendous value considering the price.**Note as of this review Amazon is not displaying the correct title photo for this book. Amazon shows an photo of Morpheus on a white background, while the book itself is more of a cherry brown color with text reading Neil Gaiman the Sandman Omnibus Volume I instead of any prominent image.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    This book is not what I expected based on reviews and the description. I purchased it for my 12 year old grandson and it is totally inappropriate. I have learned the hard method that I need to read a book before I give it as a gift. It is filled with horrible language about degrading Behavior towards women and everyone. It is dark, violent and frightening and has no positive redeeming value. Thank goodness my daughter in law intercepted it before my grandson was able to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    PRODUCT DOES NOT DOWNLOAD COMPLETE. MISSING PAGES. Tried deleting and reloading a lot of times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    A collection of one shot stories between the Doll's House, and Season of the Mists story arch, you can really obtain a sense of Gaiman playing with his now iconic hero here. From the dream of a heartbroken cat, to the very first production of A Midsummer Night's Dream, the tales weave through time and zone as we obtain to see fresh sides and aspects of the Lord of Dreams, discovering fresh facets of him as the author himself discovered them. While there is very small to be lost plot wise by skipping this volume, there is everything to be gained in reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    Gaiman is a master. His mind functions in a method no other person's does, and in this series he takes you on the grand tour of it. I will warn you, this volume has a script in the back which constitutes about the latest quarter of the book. This script is an earlier ver of the story "Calliope" and gives you a look into the creative process. It's very interesting as an inside look at the art of making comics, but may be dull to some who wish more story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    The globe of comic books was a very various put before the Sandman came into being. Neil Gaiman revolutionized the graphic novel with "The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes," an exquisite story filled with shadowy realistic art and strange magical beings. This is one of those rare stories that tantalizes you with beauty and chills you to your core, all at the same time.A group of occultists are attempting to summon and trap Death... but instead, they capture Dream and lock him in a glass orb. Decades pass, and countless people are locked in slumber -- unable to dream, unable to wake for long. One day, Dream escapes his prison and reenters the world, but loses the latest of his power with his final act of revenge.His Dreamworld palace has fallen into ruin, and his magical stuff have been scattered. To regain his power, he must obtain back his helm, his pouch of sand, and his dreamstone. His journey to regain them will take him across worlds -- to John Constantine and a woman destroyed by dreams, to the depths of Hell at a demonic club, and a ghastly madman who drives different people to depravity and e globe of "The Sandman" is a strange one -- it lightly interlocks with other graphic novel series, effortlessly slips from one globe to another, and exposes both the beauty and ugliness of our own world. "Preludes and Nocturnes" is an perfect introduction to Neil Gaiman's strange, expansive globe -- as well as his hollow-eyed its core, the story is rather simple, since it's basically a quest for Dream's three magical "tools." But Gaiman paints it with foreshadowing, nightmarish grotesqueries (flesh melting off bones, John Dee's drooling lipless face), and some zanily macabre humor (the Hellfire Club... in hell!). And as the dust settles, Gaiman caps his story off with a quieter interlude in which Dream encounters his sister Death.And the artwork is sublime -- realistic in style, but often bizarre and a small frightening in theme. And despite the core colors being shadowy greys, whites and blacks, there are splashes of bright colors everywhere. Green fields, blue hallways, psychedelic skies, hallucinations filled with sickly pallid hues.And Gaiman made one of his most iconic, complex characters in Dream -- his inhumanness is underlined by acts of amazing cruelty and kindness, and his sad, grim demeanor is more than a small touching. The author also spun up a very nonstereotypical ver of Death. No robes, scythes or skeletal faces here. In fact, forget about anything sinister -- this ver of Death is a delightfully quirky, perky goth chick."Preludes and Nocturnes" is a harrowing and hypnotic look into the globe of dreams -- what happens when the Sandman is imprisoned, and what must be done after. Sublime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    Artwork doesn’t obtain in the method of story. Lettering, captions and dialog bubbles all work to relate a sense of the surreal and mystical parts of dream. Hero development and arc is pushed through poetics and artwork. Not at all massive handed in its message.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    Perfect Story. Highly recommended for a a comic book fan I know most people probably imagine the globe of comics as being about super heroes or Sunday Funnies. But, the comic medium is worthy of so much ndman is that "much more". The story is excellent, and is wonderfully executed. You're going to wish to obtain all of these at once, because they can't be place down.If you're already a comic book fan, you've likely heard of Sandman. So what are you waiting for? Read this already!If you aren't already a comic book fan, maybe it's time to give it a chance. If any story is going to change your mind about the possibilities of this art form, this is the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    Highly episodic and enjoyable, but does not move the plot. However, Colleen Doran's art adds a consistency to Sandman that I enjoy. I miss the old covers and the problems involving Shakespeare and Ra's proteges after particularly fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    A newly updated(recolor) of the original. + it's cheaper. If you're looking to obtain into The Sandman this is where you start."winner of the American Library Association's Alex Award as one of 2000's top novels for young adults) as well as the short story collections M Is for Magic and Smoke and Mirrors. He is also the author of The Wolves in the Walls and The Day I Traded My Dad for Two Goldfish, both written for children. "Reading a easy description on any front page anywhere will generally tell you what you're getting. These are for young adults(late teens-early 20s) to adults. Don't listen to any 1 star review anywhere that's leaving a not good rating for a book of any kind just because some person or persons didn't even read a description allow alone a Google search. Friendly reminder to anyone don't leave not good reviews because you created a mistake.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    The book's beautiful, but the packaging left it with a bent cover. It was a gift, so I didn't have time to return it. But this is an ongoing issue with the books I order from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    First off, this probably isn't the best volume (Dream Country - problems #17-20) to just pick up and read if you haven't read the past 2 volumes. There's some characters (Death) and story lines (Shakespeare) that rely on volumes 1 and 2 respectively. You could read this one if you really wanted but I'd suspect the gravity and history of the stories would be lost on fresh far as the stories go in this volume they are mostly one shots and aren't continuing - much like volume 2 was with A Doll's House - so it's a nice change of pace if you are coming straight out of volume 2 into this this one. Each story has a beginning, middle, and end without having to read the entire volume to obtain the full story. With that said each story has its own notice and meaning so be prepared to read each one twice or more to really obtain a handle on the art and dialogue to better understand its purpose. As such, it is this book that, in my opinion, makes it the reason why a lot of consider the Sandman series to be the "intellectual's graphic novel". We learn a small history about Morpheus and really see him evolve as a hero in this book. If you've read this volume along with the first 2 and still don't like the series then this is probably a amazing stopping e book itself is just like the previous two; amazing paper quality, nice size, recolored artwork and includes a script at the end from Gaiman concerning one of stories, Calliope (if that interests you). It also includes the Globe Fantasy Award winning short story, A Midsummer Night's Dream.A fast summary of the 4 problems inside:Calloipe: A man imprisons one of the Muses and uses her to spur his creativity which attracts the scorn of Morpheus.A Dream of a Thousand Cats: Even animals can venture into Dream's domain as we learn of the rule of cats and humans rise over them.A Midsummer Night's Dream: Shakespeare must pay well on his debt to Dream and perform his popular play to an unnatural audience.Facade: An immortal women wishes for death.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    I heard that the first Volume of Sandman was relatively slow so I started with this volume and Im extremely glad I did. Neil Gaiman elevates the genre to heights not yet seen. So good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    The artwork in Overture really grabbed me. The dreamlike feel of the story sequences was magical. This is not (in my humble opinion) the best of the Sandman comics, but it is an necessary addition. I really liked how Gaiman brought everything full circle. The "Noah's Ark" of beings that must forge a fresh universe is touching too.I think I longed for a tale or two along the way, hapless mortals caught up in the struggle. We obtain one such figure in Hope, but she wasn't as clearly defined as I would have liked. This is the story of the Endless and of Dream's capture and its portent and it does not deviate from its central goal of revelation.I like that existence and the Endless who rule it are defined as the product of the union between Time and Night. Dream's dad seems genuinely cool. His mom sort of scares me though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    This is the sort of book that has an impeccable pedigree. Neil Gaiman returning to the hero that created him famous, plus the incredibly talented JH Williams on art, with an untold story of the Sandman's 's a amazing book.But is it any good?By which I mean was it readable, was it memorable, did it have meaning, did I like it? And well... yeah, but not much.Overture is a prequel set just before the happenings of the first problem of Sandman telling the story of how he was captured and the mysterious mission he was returning from. In the process a lot of questions are answered, a lot of things are explained. Maybe too many, Did we need to know the secret origin of Morpheus' helmet? Did we gain or lose something when once one of the best lines in the original series gets a back story?I'm not sure this story required to be told. And with the ending a forgone conclusion it was hard to obtain too concerned about the goings 's a amazing ride, full of the unbelievable creative throw-aways that tag Gaiman's Sandman books and a fun return to a fondly-remembered series.But I wasn't left with a particularly powerful impression except maybe that I'd like to reread Sandman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    PREFACE:WORLD'S END is a amazing collection of short stories, but it works best as part of the Sandman series. If you have not caught up by reading volumes 1-7, I'd suggest finishing those volumes before moving to this one. It's not absolutely important (this volume takes put largely outside the continuity of the universe), it helps if you are familiar with Gaiman's style and characters. If you have not read any Sandman yet, you're in for a treat: The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition).REVIEW:WORLD'S END is a 6-issue arc that is composed of 6 short stories. Picking up off of the hefty The Sandman Vol. 7: Brief Lives, Gaiman takes the listeners outside the Sandman narrative for a handful of musings. WORLD'S END follows two travelers who mysteriously search themselves lost in a storm. Seeking shelter and safety, the two travelers search their method to World's End, an inn that exists somewhere between zone and time. The inn is populated with other wayward travelers, from various times, dimensions, and universes. With everyone stuck at the inn, the patrons pass the time by sharing ese standalone stories range greatly in content, delivery, tone, and characterization. What I admired most about this collection was the range that Gaiman has control over. Each issue's narrative feels almost as if it were written by a various author -- this creates an impressive perceived verisimilitude to the characters' stories. These shifts in tone, however, are nearly seamless. The stories work with the reader and not versus them. There's a moment in WORLD'S END when Gaiman is describing a hero telling a story in which a hero is telling a story about another hero telling a story. Sound confusing? In the moment, it makes excellent sense, it's perfectly clear, and it doesn't feel out of put at all. Even though this arc in a lot of ways stands alone outside of the main Sandman narrative, these 6 problems make one complete volume. The editors of the book have removed the problem covers (usually separating stories) to give WORLD'S END a seamless feel. It might not sound like much, but the result works really iman admits in the acknowledgments that WORLD'S END was inspired by his desire to experiment with other authors. The effect is incredibly interesting and beautiful. Each patron's story is pencilled/inked by a various artist as compared to the frame narrative. This conceit adds further depth to these stories; WORLD'S END is a story about the power of stories. While some of these narratives search us encountering Morpheus, he's conspicuously missing for the most of the volume. There's a amazing reason for that, but readers will have to wait for the final moments of the volume to explore why. The ending is spectacular.I've read this collection in the original trade-paperback ver (released in the mid-90's) and again in the updated ver (released in 2012). This fresh edition includes everything from the previous collection (including Stephen King's introduction), but the color has been restored to reflect Gaiman's intent. The difference isn't jarring, but in the case of WORLD'S END, which relies heavily on the artwork, I'd definitely side with this version. Additionally, this listeing is available on Kindle (and other eReaders). As of recently, readers can read graphic novels/comic books on devices other than Kindle Fire (iPad/Android readers rejoice!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    This volume marks the long-awaited return of Neil Gaiman to his beloved Sandman series.I was quite excited to see that Gaiman had place this out as I loved his Sandman series. This was simply was one of the best, strangest, most *innovative* comic book series I ever read. I've also become a fan of most of Gaiman's books so seeing this was out was a natural.I must say I *liked* it, though not as much as I'd hoped. The story tells the tale of a mistake Sandman created long ago in not killing a star (this is normal for these books, go with it) that (because he didn't slay it) goes angry and begins the end of the universe (that kind of thing happens in these books, if you haven't read them before). Over the course of the book he discovers what he did wrong and then proceeds to see if he can fix it.....along the method he falls into a black hole, meets both his parents, and we more or less meet nearly all of the other Endless.I was surprised I didn't like the book more -- honestly I think the issue is the method the artwork and story flow. They felt a bit disjointed at times, and there are a couple of chapters that felt "included" to create the book bigger rather that substantive parts of the story arc. It DID wrap up -- kinda -- though I felt the ending was sloppier than those I remember from the Sandman comic series. The artwork however is superb and there are several "trick" pages in the book that fold out and such to give the artist a bigger canvas. It WAS a amazing book, but not quite as amazing as I'd THOUGHT it would commended for fans of the original, though it's not quite in the same 'vein' -- you could be disappointed. If you haven't read Sandman at all this is NOT the book I'd begin with -- too much is assumed you already know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    Just loved it. The Overture is in its own league. It is billed as a prequel, but that presumes that time flows only one way, and in this set of integrated stories it flows all over the place. The sandman series comes later - kind of, not exactly - the happenings in it are sometimes before some of the action in overture, sometimes after - they are simply from various points at the same time (or the same points at various times, Ive not quite got that unraveled yet). Not front to back or vice versa, more like time flows out from each major hero (and some of the minor ones as well) and then through the other actors. Even the Sandman does not always grasp the flow of time through other characters - cant elaborate without spoiling. Ive never seen writing quite like it. Gaiman's writing style is spare, yet it gives more than it seems. I think that is because it relentlessly plays on the imagination, and because he seems to partner so well with the graphics. And the artwork is otherworldly. Like time, the art scatters ideas and photos across the page rather than lolls them through a series of routinized boxed images. Love that, love that. I should also probably thank the editor for investing in high quality reproduction; the final product is one for the ages (and I am old, so that contains me completely and mercilessly). I could pin the artwork across my rooms and treasure it, even independently of the story line. All good, all special. What a feast!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 8: World's End (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-18 18:1

    I hate to say it, but World's End is the most disappointed I have been in Neil Gaiman's Sandman collection. The above four-star rating is a rounded up, generous score based mainly on the better stories and the perfect 's End is another collection of short stories, and like previous short story collections, each individual tale is meant to illustrate it's own theme. Unfortunately, this is one of those instances where the writer spends so much time on the theme that they forget to create the story itself interesting. 'Fables and Reflections' is still my favorite of the Sandman stories, with 'Three Septembers and a January', 'August', and 'Ramadan' being stand out issues. Those stories managed to blend theme, artwork, and interesting plot much more cohesively than this collection e stories in this book have the framing device of 'people stuck at inn by a storm swapping tales to pass the time'. It's a beautiful amazing storytelling method, and it reaches some true 'inception' levels of meta humor when the people in the stories begin telling stories. But that type of humor can only obtain you so far.And, I've mentioned the artwork, but seriously, there are a few panels in the final part of the book that are simply hauntingly beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    Preludes & NocturnesConfession time I have never read this awesome series until just now. I have heard about it for years but my experience with graphic novels tends more toward superheroes.I am so glad I finally wised up and opened this first in The Sandman is Morpheus who takes center scene the Dream Lord who has been captured by mortals and held for years as they demand power from ter escaping and of course bringing revenge on the guilty he must search his power sources that were rst up his pouch of sand. This leads him to John Constantine's , he must go into hell to face Lucifer to retrieve his ly, he must get his ruby that includes so much of his power within e journey is a warrior's journey to search his power again.I think my favorite part was his meeting his huge sister Death at the end. She is an wonderful hero that I can't wait to see more of.I have already started ordering the subsequent graphic novels. I can't wait to continue my journey into Neil Gaiman's awesome world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    I only really dug two of the four stories in here, which are standalone single problems that aren’t forwarding a larger storyline. And those two are the ones in the middle, about cats and Shakespeare. Gaiman is a wise man in the fields of authority and creativity, and these middle two each really offered a beautiful full worldview on their own. The other two strive for emotions they really don’t connect to by the end. Also included is Gaiman’s script for the first story as a curioso. Overall, a stepping stone and pause before hopefully getting into some meatier stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    While this Volume includes stories with the Sandman a secondary or tertiary character, the writing is sublime and the art still has the classic sandman style. While this is not the most noteworthy nor exciting volume it is, none the less, another unbelievable addition to the r the casual reader, as this volume is not integral to the main sandman storyline and lacks some of the dark themes found generally found in the other volumes, this may be a amazing introduction to the universe and will support prepare you for some of the darker themes Gaiman often includes. I will, however, suggest that once you are feeling prepared you should begin over with Volume r the non casual reader, it's a light read. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    We ordered Volumes 1 and 2, having never read either before but having heard that the series was really good. Volume 1 arrived in amazing shape, and stayed that method as my wife and I each read through it. It felt durable, and it would easily lays open. But from the very first time we opened Volume 2, the binding has been creaking and cracking, and feels fragile. Unfortunately, the return window had ended by the time we finished Volume 1 and discovered the issues with Volume 2.I'm not even going to attempt to review the story, since that is so subjective, but, if you are someone who likes to curl up in bed with a book, this publication is a small too huge and too massive for that... We did compare our copy to a friend's publication that had the first ten comics, and this publication has crisper photos and brighter colors, which create it both attractive and easier to absorb.(We reviewed Volume I at five stars and Volume 2 at three stars for the durability issues)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    Volume 1 includes problems 1-37 and the sandman unique #1. It is a large leather bound book that weighs about as much as a baby. This omnibus is featured at a discounted price on Amazon even though it seems really expensive once you've looked around youll see this is actually a really amazing price for a near complete leather bound collection of Sandman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Omnibus Vol. 1 []  2020-9-23 19:16

    This review is not for the story but for this specific edition. I debated which volumes to obtain and looked at trade paperbacks, the absolute editions, and the three omnibus volumes. These are the reasons I purchased this edition over the ice: I like to collect nice editions that will look amazing on my shelf and latest for a long time and through a lot of readings. The three volumes, which are discounted about 40% at my time of purchase, were by far the least expensive method to collect the Sandman story while still getting a hardcover format. If you are not a collector and just wish to read it for the story, Kindle editions or trade paperbacks through Amazon will be the least expensive method to purchase the story.Look and design: The books are as huge as your standard omnibus if you are familiar with how Marvel and DC publish their comic collections. They look awesome on the shelf and the design is consistent. Nothing bothers me more than to have a set or series that does not match in either design or size. The three volumes together collect the entire story, including extra materials, and it's compacted into less shelf zone than the absolute nding: You may see criticism on the binding. Although the binding could be better, you can prevent hurt to the spine by properly opening the book. If you are unfamiliar with properly breaking in the binding, there are plenty of resources online which will teach you how to break in the spine and prevent hurt during reading. You should never leave the book begin on the table overnight or flip it upside down. This can also lead to spine damage. I have taken proper care of my volumes since they are expensive, and have not had any problem mentioned by other is is a amazing story and these volumes offer a amazing deal for such a unbelievable collectors item. I would highly recommend purchasing them if you wish to collect the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    Here is the begin of an adult fiction masterpiece. I recommend reading it for the first time knowing as small as possible. As the story unfolds you may realize that this comic really is on a higher level. This is not a comic for the dull minded, as it takes an engaged and thoughtful brain to truly grasp the poetic philosophy behind the page, but neither does it take an active genius to comprehend its layered contents. I can happily confirm that the digital ver is perfectly scanned for your viewing pleasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    It was hard to choose tags for this book... It's a weird ride but once you start, you are hooked.I avoided the Sandman comics for a long time because...? I was curious, but maybe I was afraid to take the leap. But I'm on a Neil Gaiman kick right now, so I decided to take the plunge and bought the 30th anniversary edition from amongst a lot of options. I wanted to see what the fuss was about, why it's considered to be such a classic. Now I know.I had no idea what this was going to be when I started reading. It begins with a cult. The leader is trying to trap Death so he can achieve immortality. (No death equals eternal life!) But he catches Death's small brother instead. And while the Lord of Dreams, the Sandman, Morpheus is in captivity, three precious artifacts are stolen: his dream dust, his mask, and a ruby containing parts of himself. Volume 1 of the trade paperback series shows what happens to us all without the Sandman, and follows Morpheus along on his journey to reclaim his times the story was horrifying, and sometimes it was really trippy. Morpheus is on earth, he visits hell, and he takes us to his dream realm. I enjoyed the eclectic story and characters, though Morpheus himself was by far my favorite. The art was a feast for the eyes. I can't wait to see where else the series takes me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) [Book]  2019-12-5 18:0

    Interesting but not epic. A small darker view and it seems to be trying almost too hard at times. I did not like it enough to continue the series. I can see its appeal but it’s not for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    Dream CountryThe four offerings in this book are each awesome in their own favorite was the first one, Calliope, it is about a muse being held captive and abused horribly by writers. At the beginning of the tale, she is giving to a young writer who is suffering from writer's block. Thankfully Morpheus, one of the Endless comes at e second tale really got to me, A dream of a thousand cats, tells how reality was once changed and can be changed back.A midsummer's night dream is about Shakespeare's play being performed in front of the actual characters that are in the play. Of course, Dream is also e latest tale is called Facade and tells of a woman who has been changed by the Egyptian God Ra and her struggles to survive. I love how Death shows up. Death is an awesome hero and one of my favorite of the Endless.I am enjoying making my method through this Sandman series and can't wait to read the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sandman Vol. 3: Dream Country - 30th Anniversary Edition (The Sandman) []  2020-7-16 18:0

    If you are looking at the 3rd volume of Sandman, it's because you know Sandman is very good, you know Gaiman is very good, and you know you wish this. I'd be surprised if anyone ever reads these reviews.But I wanted to leave a review to warn you to obtain this from someone other than Amazon fulfillment. The shipping was fast, but the packaging was unacceptable. It showed up in a "box" that was essentially a big, flat piece of cardboard folded around the book and taped shut. There were a lot of gaps in coverage such that substantial portions of the book were exposed to the elements during shipping. If you live somewhere rainy, this pack is almost guaranteed to arrive completely ditionally, the inside of the "box" was significantly larger than the book, and no precautions were created to secure the book or protect its cover from scuffing in any way. It slid around freely in the "box" with the slighest of movement, banging into corners and sides and potentially scuffing the cover. Mine arrived with only corner hurt and top edge damage, but it is a miracle that the cover art wasn't also scraped up. I expect that most others will not be so lucky. Amazon does not understand the collector mindset that wants to have this book (and presumably the other 11 that you will probably buy) in at least a respectably presentable condition, and they create no packaging concessions to protect this tom line, you know you're going to buy this. Just don't buy it from Amazon if you care about its condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    Ah, the fun that is the logical quagmire that is Hell—a put of damnation but nonetheless important in the good-evil model of the world. Gaiman takes his Sandman through the acrobatics of important evil in order for there to be amazing and gets to stretch his mythological legs in the process, as all kinds of pantheons come groveling to Sandman now that he has a key to Hell to bestow, since Lucifer has retired...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    First up, all of the 10 volumes of The Sandman novels deserve 5 stars. They are a phenomenal acheivement in not only graphic novels but in storytelling itself. The story is complex and cerebral and the characters so well developed that Sandman is one of my favorite stories period. The novels are intensely violent and often disturbing but everything that happens serves a purpose, and nothing happens by possibility or just for the sake of things happening. Something that happens in one volume may become vitally necessary 3 or 4 volumes later. By the end of the 10th volume everything has come full circle with an appropriate and satisfying end.With regards to Volume 4 itself it is one of my private favorites. The main storyline being that Lucifer abandons hell and leaves the keys to far as the volume's content on the Kindle Fire - I was hesitant to abandon the volumes in print worried that the Kindle Fire might provide a more difficult viewing experience. That hasn't turned out the be the case. The novel is simple to read, you can scan in to specific boxes, and the colors are vibrant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    My favorite volume yet in Gaiman's 'The Sandman'. Thus far The Sandman has been a series of stories, rather than one cohesive one (although certain happenings from prior volumes are referenced in this one). I have heard that from this point onward the story does obtain a bit more cohesive, maybe it does, we will see, but as far as a complete story this was undoubtedly the best one yet. Along with Morpheus were are treated with another appearance by Lucifer in this volume. Not just Lucifer but Odin, Loki, Thor, Anubis, Bast, even Chaos itself graces these pages. Sound interesting? It is. Read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    I love reading Neil Gaiman's Sandman series! The third volume was sort of a allow down but Gaiman was able to create it up to readers in this volume. I've read three books by Neil Gaiman , American Gods, Anansi Boys, and Amazing Omens. It amazes me how Gaiman is able to use mythical characters and come up with special and original stories. I was really interested in reading this to search out that Lucifer was abducting his position in Hell and all the various deities vying for the begin position. Damian was able to search a solution to appease all the characters including Morephus himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    Like a lot of young boys I read comics as a child. Spiderman and Silver Surfer were my favorites and I still have fun dusting off an old Marvel from time to time. When I got to college a lot of of my brothers were passing around the old president's copy of Watchmen and I was floored by how amazing comics could be. I created my method through a lot of other Alan Moore works finding, with a amazing deal of surprise, that I rather linked Swamp Thing which brought me to Neil Gaiman. Knew the name but was unfamiliar with his work. Started in on Sandman. The first three volumes were quite amazing and I could see why Gaiman was mentioned along with Moore as being the gold standard. Then I read volume 4. The layers upon layers of mythology, the masterful building of suspense. this is quite simply the best comic book I have ever read (excepting for Maus, which is in a separate category. I mean, yeah it's a comic, but...if you have read it you know of which I am trying to speak. If you haven't read it do so). The third problem I nearly applauded when I finished it. My largest fear having just finished this volume is that all other books, comic or otherwise, will be a disappointment. Oh well. The Dark Knight Rises was no Dark Knight but it was still rather well done. Fingers crossed though that Neil could somehow replicate this extraordinary tale in volume 5!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    I liked how this volume allow the reader look at Lucifer and hell in a fresh way, posing a theory that hell is not"miserable" but more of what you wish it to ever, got this because I thought Death would be in it more and she is not, so I am a small disappointed (not the author or seller's fault just something I read wrong). Plus a lot of people quote this as their favorite Sandman so, personally I like Gaiman's "Preludes" volume a lot more for the characters, artwork, and abstract story.Iconic volume though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    Gaiman’s Sandman as a whole is a masterpiece of storytelling. At times sublime and clever at times baffling but always thought provoking.I originally read it as the monthly book but it really was meant to be read in volumes like this. I think this one is my favorite of the series. I’m probably biased due to being a large fan of the Lucifer spin off by Mike Carey. Without this story that one would not have been told. Either method this series stands the try of time better than most comics ever could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    As someone who came into the Sandman party a few decades late, I must say that this volume is a amazing return to form for the series as a whole. The previous volume, Dream Country, felt more like set-up for future story lines (one of which pays off in this volume), while this one feels more like the first volume in the sense that it expands upon the lore and provides unbelievable hero development. I honestly did not think that I would search a sequence of happenings that would rival the abstract war between Morpheus and the demon in the first volume, but nearly everything in this volume rivals that scene, from Lucifer's and Morpheus' interactions to Morpheus playing host to the widest array of mythological beings I have seen outside of a Marvel or DC book (and even then, the characters are NOTHING like the aforementioned companies' iterations).Fantastic art and intriguing writing both support to create this volume of the Sandman one to be remembered for a amazing long while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    I've heard for years and years about how amazing this series was, and that I was seriously depriving myself by not reading them. Well, for the most part the hype so far has held up. You can read the blurb for the story summary. Lots of amazing surprises, and once again Gaiman finishes up an unfinished story (that of his long-lost love Nada) that he teased several problems back.I'm finding more and more similarities in this series to Starman by James Robinson. Robinson would place out a teaser or foreshadowing in a throwaway line, then pay it off years later in a story that had you going back and saying "Oh, so THAT"S what he was referring to!" Well thought-out characters, extremely intricate plotting, the ability to talk about adult topic matter without being prurient, rewarding the careful reader with Easter Eggs, etc. That's Gaiman. As best as I can tell from the 4 volumes I've read so far, he deserved all the accolades he received. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman, Vol. 4: Season of Mists []  2020-2-9 19:21

    Reading the volumes chronologically, this is my favorite so far in the series. It wonderfully ties in some plot points from the previous story arcs and becomes a surreal journey through the Dreaming and the netherworld to ponder the significance of Hell, the damned, and the motivations of the different old gods and spiritual forces who seek to claim it as their own. Gaiman's imagination soars in this collection, and the art, colors, and lettering are phenomenal and wildly creative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll's House (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Large Neil Gaiman Fan!! I will own all the Sandman series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll's House (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    From the art work to the characters and storyline - Neil Gaiman, and all the other collaborators, have done it again! I finished Volume 1 and immediately ordered Volumes 2 & 3! Got them both in the mail today, have already finished Volume 2 and about to begin the 3rd! It is SO good!!! (And obviously addictive!) Highly recommend to any graphic novel fans, Neil Gaiman fans, and so on!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll's House (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Mr Gaiman manages to wrap a haunting tale, chilling at times, into something that leaves you thinking. Amazing job sir.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll's House (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    I don't understand why people consistantly refer to this title as the weakest entry in the Sandman series. I have read all ten volumes, and have to say that it is in fact one of the best. Of course, finding a poor Sandman book is like finding a poor Beatles album. It's really not about which one is the "worst", but which one is the least memorable; the one you are least likely to refer to over and over again and re-read just for the hell of it. And Preludes and Nocturnes is certainly one of the more memorable iman was fresh to his series, and he did not have very much direction. Preludes and Nocturnes leans towards classic horror, whereas other volumes, such as The Wake, and A Android game of You, are closer to fantasy. So Preludes and Nocturnes is various then all the others. So what? There are so a lot of classic moments that are contained within its pages, moments that stick in your mind and don't leave. Moments such as Dream's escape from his prison and the logic that followed, the introduction or Cain and Abel, John Constantine and his quest to search the pouch of sand, Dream's journey to Hell and his war with Choronzon over the helm, the ENTIRE FRIGGIN CHAPTER OF 24 HOURS, and the final introduction of Death at the end--the sweet, amazing natured goth girl who just happens to be the same person we often see personified as a dark cloaked figure with a scythe. The list goes on and on and on.Of course the same could be said for any of the other volumes, but that is exactly my point. Preludes and Nocturnes is not better then Brief Lives, nor is it worse. It exists to advance the story to its eventual conclusion, and it does a amazing job. There are some flaws--but everyone will search something they don't like in each of the volumes. Don't listen to those people who say "if you read this one first, you'll obtain the wrong impression of Sandman". Bull. If you don't like this volume, then Sandman is not for you, end of e worst thing you can do is skip this volume in favor of another, later chapter, such as Season of Mists. Begin at the beginning--Gaiman did, and his work turned out just fine in the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll's House (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    I loved the first volume, but this one was so amazing I found it nearly impossible to place down. The story arc is epic, involving, full of surprises, and incredibly dark, culminating in the very funny and macabre "Cereal" convention. As dark as this story arc gets, it keeps that unbelievable dreamlike sense of surrealness that makes Sandman so unique, and you are compelled by your care for the characters and the pure fascination of Gaiman's tale. As with the first volume, the levels of humanism and drama achieved here are staggering.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll's House (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Beautiful good, but extremely creepy. Not to give any spoilers away, but this volume was really macabre and had some really disturbing moments. If scenes of extreme (but not gratuitous) kid abuse disturb you, this might not be for you. Still very much worth the price of admission, if only because it leads you to # 3 and onward.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll's House (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Perfect Story. Highly recommended for a a comic book fan I know most people probably imagine the globe of comics as being about super heroes or Sunday Funnies. But, the comic medium is worthy of so much ndman is that "much more". The story is excellent, and is wonderfully executed. You're going to wish to obtain all of these at once, because they can't be place down.If you're already a comic book fan, you've likely heard of Sandman. So what are you waiting for? Read this already!If you aren't already a comic book fan, maybe it's time to give it a chance. If any story is going to change your mind about the possibilities of this art form, this is the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll's House (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-17 18:1

    Not the fabulous read advertised but still good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    Husband loved it, it was a bonus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sandman Vol. 4: Season of Mists (New Edition) (The Sandman series) [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    I've heard for years and years about how amazing this series was, and that I was seriously depriving myself by not reading them. Well, for the most part the hype so far has held up. You can read the blurb for the story summary. Lots of amazing surprises, and once again Gaiman finishes up an unfinished story (that of his long-lost love Nada) that he teased several problems back.I'm finding more and more similarities in this series to Starman by James Robinson. Robinson would place out a teaser or foreshadowing in a throwaway line, then pay it off years later in a story that had you going back and saying "Oh, so THAT"S what he was referring to!" Well thought-out characters, extremely intricate plotting, the ability to talk about adult topic matter without being prurient, rewarding the careful reader with Easter Eggs, etc. That's Gaiman. As best as I can tell from the 4 volumes I've read so far, he deserved all the accolades he received. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386