Read the last days of jack sparks reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the last days of jack sparks reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    This book gives us a protagonist who is right up there with Ignacious Riley of Confederacy of Dunces in his level of self-delusion and self destructive ego. The guy is breathtakingingly, eggregiously, self-centered. Somehow though, the author manages to create us like him. That is an awesome e book is very clever in that the conceit is that the book you are reading is the book that Jack Sparks is writing in the story. It includes author's notes to his editor written in amongst the paragraphs and, as the book is supposedly published posthumously, includes after- the-fact interviews of the other characters who interacted with Jack. These interviews and writings are an interesting addition as they give depth to characters that Jack neglects due to his self-centeredness and also reveal another side to Jack himself that he himself seems loathe to terms of being a "horror" novel, it is very successfull as well. It kind of freaked me out to tell the truth and I am not very freakoutable. I almost found the stress level too much - the diabolical plotting of the villain is just mind-boggling in it's relentlessness. I had to place the book down towards the end to take a moment of zen and l in all, this is an perfect "horror" novel that could and should be found on the more hallowed shelves of the "Literature" section.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    This book came to my attention while I was reading reviews for another book, here on Amazon. It piqued my interest enough that I decided to check it out. I knew from the get-go, I probably would not care for Jack Sparks as a person, however fictional he is. He is very much a narcissist, yet he created a very compelling narrator. It's that slow-building, creepy, kind of read. A compelling, atmospheric, suspenseful, classic kind of horror, which had me skeptical at first-with an opening like that can you blame me?-I thought it was going to be a knockoff of almost every other horror movie/book out there. Nope. Started slow for me but by the time I was halfway through I couldn't place it down, at the same time I wasn't so sure I wanted to know what was going to happen next. In the end I found the novel to be a refreshingly and surprisingly amazing horror tale. I highly recommend it, especially if you really love these types of stories and books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    A lot of times when I'm reading I'm not ready for the book to end. The story and the characters linger for hours or days after the latest word has been read. It was no various with The Latest Days of Jack Sparks. The fact is, I still haven't wrapped my head around this novel. And I'm actually okay with it.A thriller that circles the supernatural and is tinged with comedy. Sign me up! Amazing pacing and an intriguing story, I was immediately drawn in. But I was so naive to think that I had had it all figured out. Jason Arnopp did an awesome job at keeping the reader guessing, even after the story ends. It is intentionally bewildering in the best method possible, and I honestly don't think the story could have been told any other way. The story leaves you alternating between laughter and confusion and anticipation page after page. It's a masterful blend that just works splendidly.If you're looking for a new take on the horror genre, or something a bit unusual, I would highly recommend!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the last days of jack sparks or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    4.5 stars Very pleasantly surprised. I love the *idea* of horror books but am usually not as huge of a fan of them. Also, a lot of times when books are billed as funny, I don't think they are. But this is truly a funny, fresh, interesting and, yes, fairly-scary book on demonic possession.We've seen the plot before: skeptic sets out to disprove supernatural claims but winds up in a mess of his own hubris. What makes this stand out from something blah like Room 1408 is Jack's particular brand of modern-age, self-promoting sass. He's not good to people, including himself, but at least he's funny about it and we know he pays in the end. He's a writer who compares himself to Richard Dawkins again and again (wishful thinking), but I saw him as more of a jerky Tim Ferriss. Also, we learn beautiful quickly what an unreliable narrator Jack is, with effectively-placed emails and other accounts that refute his versions of events. Elisandro's was so amazing that I hope Arnopp can write us a book on his latest days ere are quite a few pithy comments about social media throughout ("His words barely sink in, because no one really listens any more. People only care about what they're going to say next.") along with some reverential treatment of Hollywood horror films. The ongoing skewering of supernatural beliefs is absolutely terrific, including for example a comment that scary youtube channels owe the composer of The X-Files theme tune millions in royalty dollars.Just a heads up - of course there's poor language and dark themes --demonic possession is not high tea at the Ritz--, but the more unpleasant things are often just briefly mentioned and/or undertaken by a background character, which makes the book more palatable overall. Some probably could have been left out altogether (one man is said to have molested his son), but I guess it's there (again, briefly there) to boost the road cred of our does obtain a small convoluted toward the end. (Spoiler alert --) for example, I don't obtain why Bex's ghost showed up just to ruin his battery signal. But overall, a amazing fun horror read that I'm pushing on mates who think reading is all Battle and Peace and books on the refugee crisis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    This Book did not take me on the same journey as most of the reviews indicated it would. If I could give 2 1/2 stars I would. The beginning of the book did not grab me. The narrative is all over the put and it was hard to follow at times. I continue reading and the book did improve but again not to the anticipated mail biting I expected based on the reviews. The multiple viewpoints from the characters can be confusing. It ended as it began, very lack luster.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    Holy mindf*ck.I won’t ingest, chew, swallow and regurgitate the synopsis like most reviewers tend to. I can’t exactly pinpoint what I loved about this book. All I know is that I’m looking into even more of this Author’s books (btw A Sincere Warning About the Entity in your Home is also a amazing book by this Author, but it didn’t mess with me like this one).This book is like Anopp’s Thriller, Horror, Comedy, Time Travel and Gore love child. I didn’t know whether to laugh or give into the heebie jeebies. It did take until the latest quarter of the books to begin coming together, and for a while I was afraid I picked up a true dud... but holy crap. Jason knows how to end a story. The www service is a really nice touch... for those of us not really willing to allow go of the book when we’re done reading. Amazing stuff, amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    "The Latest Days of Jack Sparks" is one clever knock-out of a horror novel, in that the author, Jason Arnopp, has figured out how to blend old-school horror tropes with social media addiction in a true page-turner.Our non-hero, one Jack Sparks, is a self-obsessed narcissist who's risen to fame writing books about "things". , gangs, etc., all bearing the titles "Jack Sparks On -----". His downward spiral after becoming an addict while writing "On " hasn't stopped, despite his insistence that he's clean and sober. Fighting the demons of his upbringing and disassociation from family, he becomes supercilious and uber-snarky as he immerses himself into the dregs of human behavior to write best-sellers. His ego takes over, as no one alive says "no" to him. Now, he's taking on the supernatural, and attends an exorcism that will ruin him, because he laughs during the Arnopp take us on a -fueled trip that crosses the ocean, and the belief systems of a seriously messed up writer versus the reality of the supernatural. Jack Sparks is one hard hero to like, but the revelations of his life finally reel the reader in. What happens to him is both chilling and heartbreaking, as he becomes a convert to believing in the unseen, through his own machinations on social media. You'll never look at Fb or YouTube in the same method after reading this book. Time-travel, cocaine, and the death of a number of supporters, friends, and yes, opponents will seriously mess your head up if you can finish this awesome novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    THE LAST DAYS OF JACK SPARKS by Jason Arnopp (TLDOJS) is the best novel I've read all year, outdueling Paul Tremblay (A HEAD FULL OF GHOSTS and DISSAPEARANCE AT DEVIL'S ROCK) for author crown of writing unreliable, supernatural narrative. It is this unreliable narrative by Jack Sparks himself that gives this gem of a story life. Among other things, the hero of Jack Sparks is y, egotistical, and instantly disliked by the reader, but the author cleverly interjects the Sparks' narrative with chapters explaining how unreliable his ver of the truth really is. By doing this, the author Arnopp further enriches the reading experience and deepens the mystery of how, and why, Jack Sparks eventually dies. And once finished reading this masterpiece, you can't support but applaud how the author has tied everything together into a WTF moment that makes you only wish to dive right back in, rereading the book all over re importantly, TLDOJP is terrifying. There are moments of creepiness that truly gave me goosebumps. This rarely happens for me, especially reading. Jason Arnopp [email protected]#$%! a home run with his first novel, and I can't wait to explore whatever else this author conjures e highest of recommendations5 out of 5 starts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    Oh wow. What a amazing book!!! The protagonist is disgusting in the method Patrick Bateman was, although their narcissistic ways comprise most, if not all, of any similarities between these two men.Jack is enough to bring bile up from the depth of our stomachs in his numerous examples of the a lot of ways in which he is vastly superior to all other people. Yet amazingly, the author somehow gets us to like this guy...to begin to relate; to develop a kinship.Oh, there is so much I can say to sing this book's endless praises. Instead, I urge you to take a peak yourself, at the 1st few pages only. If you are not drawn to get the book in its entirety fairly soon after you examine these beginning pages, I'll be shocked.I don't even remember another exorcism/demon possession story that hit me like The Latest Days have. It's such a witty book! I recommend it at the top of my lungs! The best scary book I've read this year, without a doubt!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Jack Sparks []  2021-4-6 23:20

    It lags a bit in places, mostly due to hero written in such a method that he is quite unlikeable. I found myself wishing he would die and sooner than later. For that reason its hard to become emotionally invested in the characters and that takes away from the story quite a 's more than worth it though when you obtain to the end, which is a complete surprise and a very well thought out ending that is executed masterfully.I bought the audio book but would recommend the written version. This isn't a slam on the voice actor who did a fine performance: its just that some stories are easier to obtain through sometimes via reading than listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    I had no idea what or who this was about going in. By the end I just required to know more about all these sbags. This was an absolutely fascinating listen to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    I knew nothing about the industry until I listened to Jon Ronson's "The Latest Days of August," and subsequently "The Butterfly Effect." These were both very well done: informative, balanced, humane. Kudos to any reporting that puts a human face on a largely ignored and reviled profession.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    This was a Christmas gift! As we used to say in the old days "It was cool!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    Used for dancing and screaming lyrics in the car. My wife be's diggin it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    A fun collection of amazing disco songs. Original artists and original recordings from best I can tell. :-)Get this if you love disco or if you just like dance music. Don't allow the word disco fool you. It's all amazing dance beats and fun rhythms to shake your booty!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    This is one of those books like Ben-Hur: everybody's heard of it, everybody's seen 1 or 2 films of it, but nobody I know has ever actually read it. It's a proper, cultured, genteel British read, but with more than a small Lord Byron-esque intrigue, violence, and innuendo thrown in, haha. The author was inspired to write it after walking around the recently-uncovered ruins of Pompeii in the late 1820s, and the book is completely faithful to the town, down to the smallest info found in different buried mansions and temples. It is, in a true sense, a tribute to the people who lived and died there in 79AD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    Interesting, ends bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    A true treat for David Letterman fans, this book tells the story of the latest six weeks of his "Late Show." If you pick this book up looking for any juicy backstage gossip you will be sorely disappointed. In fact, there is nary a critical word of the former late-night talk present host here. Ryan offers (too brief for me) thumbnail sketches of these episodes interspersed with quotes from the a lot of present staffers he interviewed. Since neither Letterman nor Paul Shaffer are among them the book may seem to offer a shallow, incomplete look at the end of the show. That may be enough for Letterman fans like me but not for someone looking for a small more depth.Other elements create this book a amazing read. Having heard a lot of of the names of these staffers on the present (or having seen them in sketches), I appreciated the possibility to learn a small about them and their work, how they started with "Late Show" (or "Late Night" at NBC). The most entertaining part of the book comes from their own views on their boss and show. It is clear that a lot of of them chose to stay with Letterman even when the end was obviously near. For each of them, the awareness that this was the greatest job they would ever have, the one they would miss forever, outweighed the need to look for a fresh one. That realization makes for a special tale, especially for those of us who still believe the present to be not just amazing but irreplaceable. The excellent read for everyone who still misses Dave.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    Loved that it brought back to life the latest days of one of the best shows ever. I knew it had to end one day. Nothing on today comes close. Thank you you read it hold YouTube close so you can watch what is referred to in the book. As a result, it is not a quick read but it is better that way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    This soundtrack is amazing because all of the disco songs on it were beautifully remastered. if you wish to make batter these particular titles in your library, then this is a must buy. the sound is perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This was a really interesting listen. I didn't know this story before hearing this, but I thought it was portrayed well and in a method where it was just presenting the facts. I think a lot of things from this will stick with me for a while. It brought up, and helped shine a light on, a lot of problems that I think need more attention. I definitely recommend to anyone who knew of August Ames, who is interested in hearing about what struggles and life this woman led, and anyone who is just looking to listen to something different.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This was my second Jon Ronson podcast and it was good. I had read that August Ames killed herself so i was interested to hear this story. Covers social media bullying and a sad childhood. A girl who seemed confident and satisfied , but was actually sad and lonely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    the book is much more insightful and complex than the movie. but there is also a mid Victorian quality to the writing of the novelist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    I started reading this book about 63 years ago, when I was still in high school, but never finished it. I finally got through the whole thing. I found that I hadn't forgotton all my Latin. And the book was very interesting. I truly enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    If all you know about Sir Edward Bulwer-Lytton is the notorious opening sentence of another of his novels, "It was a dark and stormy night ...," and that this is supposed to imply that he wrote overblown purple prose -- I urge you to test The Latest Days of Pompeii (first published in 1834). You may be surprised to search yourself in the hands of an expert storyteller and, yes, an often splendid stylist.Bulwer-Lytton was one of the most famous fiction writers in the 19th century (and his reputation has really only waned in the latest 60 years or so). Our ancestors weren't naive dupes; they rightly recognized that there was something exceptional about Latest Days. If the book is now out of fashion, it nevertheless remains a fascinating iefly, the story concerns four people in Pompeii in the period leading up to the eruption of Mount Vesuvius that buried the town in ash in AD 79. They are Glaucus, a Greek-born, rich young man who is a bit of a rake (he gambles on the gladiatorial games) but fundamentally decent; Ione, his lover (in the author's words, "The wealth of her graces was inexhaustible -- she beautified the commonest action; a word, a look from her, seemed magic. Love her, and you entered into a fresh world, you passed from this trite and common-place earth"); Nydia, a blind slave girl passionately and uselessly in love with Glaucus; and Arbaces, a brilliantly malevolent high priest of the cult of e reader, too, passes out of "this trite and common-place earth" in the book's pages. The style is of another time, to be sure, one that is unashamedly colourful and romantic. To some not good cynical souls I suppose it will seem corny; to those who still look at the stars and sunsets with awe, the language will resonate with a thousand delicate st Days is not only an evocative re-imagination of a historical time and place, and a craftily plotted story; it also touches on deep philosophical matters. Bulwer-Lytton was interested in the Mystery cults of the Roman empire, including that of Isis. Although, probably to avoid offending the conventions of his time, he had Glaucus and Ione eventually convert to Christianity, it's hard to doubt that he was sympathetic to earlier pagan religions. Although Arbaces is the villain, his literary portrait is drawn with keen psychological insight and his religious rites are thoughtfully and strikingly portrayed. (The stage in which Arbaces tries to initiate Ione's brother into the secret -- highly sensuous and erotically tinged -- rituals of the cult is electrifying!) Mystical undertones are not far from the jewelled surface of this read this as a period piece, but not in a condescending way; allow yourself be drawn into the sun-glazed temples and forums, the loves, the cruelty and the jealousies of ancient Pompeii. See them through a dreamy, extravagant early-Victorian literary sensibility. Give yourself up to Bulwer-Lytton's magic, as so a lot of did in generations before you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    I'm a diehard Letterman fan and I couldn't place this down! The insight into the final shows was so fascinating. I hung around the block the night of the final taping and even ran down to the theater to grab something from the dumpster the next morning. (I have part of the bridge and a bolt from a jib cam, total nerd). Amazing read! Obtain it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    For the first few chapters, I was just along for the ride. Then, as patterns start to form, the personalities of the interviewees come into focus. Eventually, I found myself backing up periodically to check and double-check various parts of the timeline. I had to go back and re-listen to the first few is is a nuanced and poignant exploration of a tragedy that has yet to be resolved. I hope for Mercedes' brother, family, and mates that it contributes to the ultimate resolution that they deserve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Books crazy interesting. Sad thing is i know that Amna girl. I see her almost daily. I had zero knowledge she was in this book and she told me she did so now ots going to be weird to see her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    I CHOICE THIS RATING BECAUSE THE MUSIC ON IT IS GREAT,SOME OF THEM ARE HARD TO FIND AS, I LISTEN TO THIS CD THE SONGS ARE FAMOUS AND GREAT DANCE SONGS. MOST OF US REMEMBER THE SLOW ONES BUT NOT THE DANCE SONGS.WE ALSO REMEMBER WHO SONG THEM ALTHOUGH I DIDN'T REMEMBER WHO SUNG ALL OF THE SONGS I REMEMBER DANCING TO THESE TUNES AT PARTY'S AND CLUBS DURING THE 70'S AND 80'S IF YOUR LOOKING FOR GOOD OLD SCHOOL DANCE TUNES THIS IS THE PERFECT SOLUTION TO YOUR COLLECTION I SAY BUY BUY BUY

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    Nice selection of disco melody from the crazy 70's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    For those willing to brave through some of the difficult literary style, this book is a true treat. I have read it four times and have yet to tire of this story. The antagonist is a truly menacing villain and the plot is rife with subplots driven by primary human emotion of both virtue and vice. All this set to a well doented tragic happening in human history makes this a riveting read. Advice: push through the chapter on Ancient Greek/Roman architecture, the only slow part of the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    The book story itself, as well as this edition, are fine. But the packaging was sloppy and careless, to the extent that the gummy flap of the envelope was stuck to the cover and some pages, impossible to remove without damaging it. Since the book was meant to be a gift, this was disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    A tremendously detailed back-stage chronicle of the final 28 David Letterman Shows. Insanely readable-the written ver of crack, once you begin you cannot stop. Well organized, funny, poignant-an absolute must read for anybody who ever had an interest in David Letterman or how a nightly talk present is place together. Full of delicious info about guests, Paul and the band and of course David Letterman. Highest recommendation. Have YouTube cued up as you read this book to revisit the a lot of memorable moments described in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    The book is a small sad. All of these people who worked for David Letterman throughout the a lot of years, were about to be unemployed. That undercurrent runs all the method through the narrative. Everybody loved Dave, and wanted to see it to the end. But I kept thinking about those staffers who wanted it to continue, and were about to be out on their cans. Letterman seemed above it all, and everyone else had search something else. The inside information about the latest show, was almost worth the price alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    Amazing selection of disco melody at a amazing price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    I LOVED the Butterfly Effect, so I had high hopes for more content from the same creator. Unfortunately, this seemed more rudderless, and just seemed to meander.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Amazing Author and enjoyed the book. I'm not one to do much reviews on a Book by anyone I don't know. If you're a prime member you've got almost 99% more than the General Public.. Do Enjoy!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    This is a romantic historical novel, with a convoluted and exciting romantic story of passion, hate, revenge, and adventure. So what? There are a lot of books like that, most of them beautiful cheap and predictable. The trick, of course, is the writing. Bulwer Lytton, an early Victorian hero with his own peculiarities (he was very interested in the mystical cults of Rome) is an extraordinary storyteller. The plot, as I said, is long to summaryze, but it concerns Glauco, a Greek stud who is beloved by almost every woman in the story; Ione, the Naples girl he loves; Nadia, a blind slave who is -of course- in love with Glauco, and the excellently portrayed Arbaces, a priest of the cult of Isis, the Egyptian goddess. Two other interesting characters are Julia, a rich and mean heiress who is, alas, in love with Glauco, and Salustio, a dissipated and drunken e plot revolves around the constant intrigues of the characters, which contain magic love-potions, betrayals and heroism. But at the back of the action, there is a volcano about to explode and leave this city covered by dozens of dust and volcanic rock. The characters are planning their lives and lusting for passion, without knowing that they have no future. Like some of us, mming up, this novel is amazing entertainment, smart fun. The best, in my opinion, is the re-creation of a lost world, a town full of color and passion, living in full while Destiny works its own way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    I've been a large Letterman fan since his first talk present started in daytime in 1980. I even attended a live taping with my cousin Jon in Summer of that year. It didn't latest much longer. Guests were John Sebastian and...Benji. This book fast-forwards to the final six weeks of The Late Show, and gives amazing insights into the vibes the production staff felt and how they took care of David's every need, right up until air time. Thus you obtain a real inside look at how a heavy production comes together night after night. The ending, as expected, is full of pathos as staff work their butts off until the final, tearful moments. Dave is surprisingly warm and generous, though removed from the production staff. A true eye-opener is how he chose musical guests (and even their material) to express his own feelings at the end, something he was notoriously reluctant to do. A really fine read for Letterman lovers and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    I'm a large Letterman fan and thought I had read or heard all of the best stories from the final weeks of his show, but Scott Ryan shares stories, anecdotes and images that you've never heard before. After reading his book, you come to realize just how unique and truly groundbreaking the final six weeks of the Late Present were. The hard work, creativity and dedication of his staff to create these latest six weeks something unique is admirable and makes you long for the Late Present all over e format (transcribed interviews plus his own narrative) is perfect! Highly recommend for any fan of Letterman, late night or the creative process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    A great, fast read for Letterman fans. Lots of nice insight into the approach and execution of the final six weeks, from those who were critical to the show's success. I enjoyed hearing the viewpoints of a lot of producers and writers on some of the amazing closing moments, like Norm McDonald, Jack Hanna, the final Top Ten List and the Foo Warriors closing video montage. For fans of Letterman and the best late night talk present in history, you'll love the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Disco []  2020-1-22 2:28

    as im listening to the cd it played down to the 13th song and half method thru it stopped and would not CONTINUE i tryed to play 14, 15, 16, and 17 but nothing DO NOT BUY THIS CD .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This was decent enough although not a topic I really care much for. It’s about a young Woman in the industry whose commits suicide and there’s a lot of speculation on whether she was bullied through Twitter because she had created some comments about the industry. The investigative reporter, I think, does a amazing job with interviewing everyone and anyone who was involved in her life, even to the point of passing off her much older husband who blames everyone but himself for her suicide. One problem the reporter finds is there are so a lot of of these young girls in this industry who have mental health problems and everyone knows it but no one is involved in helping them. Which is a shame because this is not an industry that promotes self worth!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of August []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This is a very thoughtful book about how things are not as how they first appear, particularly as they appear on social media. In the end, not much is solved, but that may well be the point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    I collect books by the Heritage Press and was eager to add this book to my collection. "The Latest Days of Pompeii" is an interesting read for those who are keen on the topic matter. Unfortunately, the book arrived damaged. I was not satisfied with the method the book was described, since if I had known its condition, I would not have purchased it. I was happy however, to learn that the seller issued me a full refund upon learning of my experience which is amazing business practice, as it should be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii []  2020-10-2 18:30

    Edward George Bulwer-Lytton is best known for coming up with the immortal phrase that Snoopy is always typing: "It was a dark and stormy night." Unfortunately, he's never that concise in "Last Days of Pompeii," a bloated and melodramatic historical novel full of Victorian cliches, and without a hero who acts like a true focuses on the final days of the ancient Roman town of Pompeii, which was buried in a volcanic eruption in 79 A.D. In particular, it focuses on a virtuous young Roman man, Glaucus, who is stuck in a love quadrangle with a beautiful, equally virtuous young lady, a blind slave girl, and a sinister Egyptian who beguiles the virtuous young the background is a turmoil of religious and social problems, with a deadly volcano smoldering behind it all. Then, a murder is committed -- and Glaucus is arrested for the crime, and sentenced to be sent into the arena. When Vesuvius blows, will any of them survive?"The Latest Days of Pompeii" is one of those novels that had immense promise. Unfortunately, Bulwer-Lytton turns it into a Roman soap opera. Rather than focusing on the more interesting aspects of Pompeii, Bulwer-Lytton decided to focus on a contrived web of very boring doesn't support that "Last Days of Pompeii" is also written in a chokingly dense style, very ornate and full of poor poetry. The dialogue is even worse, with lines like, "'With all his conceit and extravagance he is not so rich, I fancy, as he affects to be, and perhaps loves to save his amphorae better than his wit." Okay, whatever. The story might be more palatable, had Bulwer-Lytton not tried too hard to create the language stand out.Bulwer-Lytton also seems to have been showing off his knowledge of Roman architecture and clothing, since the descriptions of the atrium and triclinium are more complex than anything he gives the characters. He regularly interrupted the narrative just to lecture readers on historical trivia, on everything from medieval necromancy to Italian arently in the interest of keeping the novel "human," Bulwer-Lytton introduced some romantic tension. Unfortunately, his characters don't act like true people -- really, who would fuss about their love lives while escaping from an erupting volcano? It's hard to imagine anyone so oblivious and self-absorbed, but the annoying blind slave Nydia apparently can't think of anything aucus is a paragon of virtue, despite what Romans of the time were like; he even converts to Christianity for no apparent reason, in keeping with the attempt to create him fit the Victorian ideal. On the flipside, Arbaces is a rather cartoonish -- even slightly racist -- villain, who is just there to create problem because he wants to."The Latest Days of Pompeii" is an intriguing idea for a novel, but a flop as Edward Bulwer-Lytton actually wrote it. Too poor the volcano didn't blow a lot sooner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    I enjoyed reliving the latest 60 shows but more importantly, learning about how the shows were place together. I also liked the chapter on the construction of Dave's monologue (I didn't know that two of Johnny's writers faxed jokes to Dave every morning). The book created me remember how amazing "The Late Show" was and how nothing since then has come close.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days Of Letterman []  2021-1-15 18:0

    Amazing book in terms of learning how the present was run during the latest six weeks and prior. What would have created it standout is I place from Dave and Paul along with some of the frequent guests.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    This is a amazing overview of the Incas after their first contact with the Spanish. I picked up this book after traveling to Peru as I was just fascinated by everything Inca when I was there and realized how small I knew. I would recommend you read this book BEFORE you go to Peru if you are going; picturing thousands of fighters standing atop Sacsaywaman fighting 100 Spanish knights, and being able to see the walls they stood on would be dly, this book really only focuses on the Spanish conquest, but this is not the fault of the author. The lack of writing, and the ruthless culling of all things local by the Spanish after their arrival, means that the specifics of the Inca's history is incredibly sparse finitely a amazing book to read if you are interested in the Incas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    Growing up I didn't care for history much always seemed a boring mash up of dates and figures (I think like most Americans I learned it wrong in school). However, I have been wanting to prepare myself for my trip to Peru so I started listening to this book. Wow! I love the writing and the narration....it's like listening to this very interesting story only it isn'ta story it's real. This is a must read if you are visiting Peru. The audio book is great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    Wow. What an awesome book! I've read tons of historical non-fiction books. And, this without a doubt falls into my Top 5 of all e author does an awesome job of telling this story. His attention to detail really helps bring the characters to life.I don't think you need to have any specific interest in South American history, to search this book enjoyable. And, I would recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    I bought this book as part of my pre-reading before heading to Peru for a couple weeks of trekking followed by a visit to Machu Picchu. The book was full of facts and figures and detailed accounts from the Spanish point of view. Perhaps because the Inca were conquered by the Spanish the cliché that "History Is Written By The Victors" is evident in this work. The only surviving accounts of the period are from Spain... The author explains clearly that the only basic sources are from the victors, and that even those may have been fanciful accounts by individuals who were more interested in their own self-aggrandizement to the Spanish Crown than in accuracy. I enjoyed the book and it was a valuable read before going to Peru.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    I do recommend this book but there are two problems I have:1. The author basically exonerates the Incan leadership of any blame for the defeats by Pizarro. Of course no one can know how long the Incans could have held out versus a continuous onslaught of Spanish over time, but better leadership from Atahualpa and Pizzaro is an unknown person in history. The Incans like the Romans got a Commodus when they required a Marcus Aurelius...2. The author does not do a very amazing job of showing the exploitative structure that was the Incan Empire. For sure the Incas had better government than the Aztecs, but it was still a very exploitative structure...in fact, the encomienda system was very related to the Incan l this said, this is overall a very amazing book and I would highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    Kim MacQuarrie's "The Latest Days of the Incas" is one of the best pieces of nonfiction I've ever read. His depiction of the vanquishing of Atahaulpa, his kidnapping and ransom at the hands of Pizarro and his band of conquistadors, and the subsequent sacking of Cuzco reads like an epic novel. The story really comes alive in MacQuarrie's very able hands, filled with action-packed drama and suspense. We all know how the story turned out. Yet MacQuarrie keeps us turning the page with his skillful recounting, providing a highly satisfying read to anyone remotely interested in this subject. I wholeheartedly recommend this book for anyone planning a trip to Cuzco and Machu Picchu. It will definitely create your journey richer and more interesting if you have read this gripping history in advance. A large two-thumbs up for MacQuarrie and this unbelievable book. Frankly, in writing my own book, The Unconquered: In Find of the Amazon's Latest Uncontacted Tribes, I found MacQuarrie's work an invaluable tutorial for understanding the reach and impact of the Incas into the Antisuyo, the Eastern Quarter; that is to say, the eastern slopes of the Andes leading down into the Amazon. But this work is so much more. It greatly enhanced my understanding and appreciation of the Incas and the history of the Conquest, itself a key moment in global history. Thank you, Kim MacQuarrie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    I am amazed at the level of detail in this book right from the first footsteps in the foreign land. Wonderful read that locations you in the heart of historical wars and conquest as if you were there. One such battle, puts 200 Conquistadors (and slaves) versus an Inca troops of 20,000 fighters the author puts you in the very heart of the war so you can not support but feel the rising panic in your throat as you read.A Very well researched book that explores not only the differing cultures but highlights mans unflinching avarice and greed, often becoming more savage than the "savages" being conquered in the name of a God the inca never could comprehend or understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    This is an perfect book, and does a superb job in detailing the latest years of the Inca Empire. Kim has done a marvellous job in bringing the latest years of the Inca Empire. I had read about this vaguely, but this brought a whole fresh globe to life.He has been balanced in his approach, and while he undoubtedly indicts the Spanish for their appalling behaviour, he does, subtly, present that they were brave (but, cruel) men, who had no respect for the Inca culture. This is, however, not restricted to the Spanish. The English did not respect Indian culture when they came into India. My own countrymen have been guilty of related transgressions, I am sure, when the South Indian kings spread Hindu culture in South Simple Asia. This does not excuse the Spaniards, e latest days have been brought to life in a manner that is sad, exciting, tragic all rolled into one. Yes, I agree with the reviewer "CJA' in that he could have spoken about how the Spanish subsequently tried to stamp out the Inca culture, but I would not have traded this for the tale of how the ruins were l in all, a marvellous book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    his is an perfect history of the Spanish conquest of Peru and its aftermath. Detailed history of Inca resistance and initial losses. It was a much hard fought colonization than usually presented in history books. Give lush detail on the activities of the later Inca emperor in their struggle to rid themselves of the Spanish. The one drawback is that MacQuarrie give small ;credit to the Indian allies of the Spanish. He makes it sound like a little band of Spanish on horses fended off hundreds of thousands of the Incas and there allies in one siege that latest for more than a year. At the same time, it is clear that the Incas had strong native enemies. This part of the story is hardly convincing. Otherwise it is a amazing read,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of the Incas []  2020-1-28 20:30

    Kim MacQuarrie provides a well-written, and engaging telling of the first Spanish incursions into Peru, from the Extremadura origins of the Pizarro family, to the execution of Atahualpa and beyond. I picked this up because I was planning a trip to Peru, and, specifically, Lima, Cuzco, Machu Picchu and Puno. At halfway through the book, I've learned a amazing deal about the pre-Colombian societies that pre-dated the rise of the Inca, the story of the rise of the Inca, the complicated succession struggles among Inca royalty, the Spanish designs on manipulating the Inca leaders to increase their wealth and gain social standing and so forth. The tale is a bloody one, but MacQuarrie tells it well, and gives a thorough accounting of all the major players. The book comes complete with illustrations and quotes pertinent to each historical period. I strongly recommmend this as a read for someone with small to no knowledge of Peruvian history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    If you care about historical accuracy at all you will not be a fan of this book. Too often American history is used as fodder for entertainment without cause. Tesla is turned into a caricature of himself and drama is made where it wasn't needed. This book created a mockery of a turning point in history by implementing a love story that was unnecessary. It and read more like a simplistic film script. My book club members liked it. I did not.If you're going to write a book of 'historical fiction' then do not use the name of individuals who actually lived at that time. Otherwise it's not only untrue, but it will confuse those who aren't familiar with that specific time and place. If you wish to know something of Tesla as he truly lived watch the awesome PBS series about him. This book just annoyed me. I like historical fiction in terms of learning about a time and put you wouldn't know otherwise, but why the author didn't just change the name instead of choosing to be inaccurate I do not understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    Wow I'm addicted to this series. Send help. Or more books. Preferably more e Latest Days of Lady Cordelia is about half the length of the normal Beaumont and Beasley books. It's nonessential to the main series, but just as fun to read and introduces the Neverwolves, which are mentioned occasionally in the main books. (Side note, I really wish to have a pet Neverwolf. They create cute chittering noises and and I would never have to lock my doors).Pretty much everything about the ending was excellent and unexpected. This story is also a amazing reminder (as if I need one) of why Cordelia is so awesome. She's a small bit crazy, but determined and confident in a method that I never see in the cookie-cutter "I'm a determined and confident character!".I would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of John Lennon []  2020-12-8 18:0

    James Patterson is certainly a prolific writer. He seems to have written about 70 books, either by himself or authored with another writer. He’s written books for adults, children, and teens. I’ve never read a James Patterson book, until I read his latest, “The Latest Days of John Lennon”. I mention the sheer number of books Patterson has written because sometimes it’s indicative of a book’s quality.James Patterson mostly writes fiction, but his book about John Lennon is nonfiction. He traces the life - both musically and personally - of Lennon, bringing to the story of his life and death a workmanlike quality. Patterson - and his two collaborators - tell John’s story in relatively calm fashion, leaving the passion to those who mourn Lennon’s death in the roads of Fresh York Town and cities around the world.But if Patterson writes about John Lennon’s death, he certainly doesn’t leave out the man who pulled the trigger. Who was Tag David Chapman and what was his beef with John Lennon? James Patterson does a amazing job at looking at Chapman. This book is well-written enough to hold the reader’s interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Days of the Pharaoh (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-4 19:19

    A political happening in history recorded in an simple to read manner. I can't say that I was highly motivated to engage in the story but I am not a large political fan and so ended up skimming through most of the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii (Classics Illustrated) []  2020-2-12 21:34

    I am in the process of reading it. I is very interesting, but cannot create a full statement until i read it all.. So far ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Socrates (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-2 19:41

    I read this on Kindle while waiting for the arrival of another Plato book in hardback. Although my interests are elsewhere, I don't regret having read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    While I was fascinated to read about the magical era of invention in the late 1800s, I would rather have read an in-depth, well researched non-fiction book, like those written by David McCullough, than a fiction book, even if based largely on fact. The central theme of the book is the lengthy litigation ongoing between Thomas Edison, who advocated use of Direct Current (DC) based electricity, and George Westinghouse, who favored Alternating Current (AC). In the end, as we all now know, AC won out. Except for cars (and related uses) which use DC current, the rest of our lives are powered by AC current, in which Nikolas Tesla (who plays a major role in this novel) played a significant part in development of the technology. Thomas Edison is beautiful much portrayed as a narcissistic, self-centered, victory at all costs hero who will stop at nothing (lying, cheating, spying, etc.) to victory at any cost - and he is well-backed in that regard by J.P. Morgan, who owns 60% of Edison General Electric. Ultimately, Edison's refusal to move away from his significant investments in the less efficient Direct Current approach resulted in George Westinghouse (and others) to push AC as the standard for distributing electricity throughout the U.S., and Edison's falling sales and profit prompted J.P. Morgan to remove him as head of Edison General Electric and move his investments into the AC technology led by George Westinghouse under the renamed General Electric company. Based on my fast research, it appears that the basic events, characters, activities, and results portrayed in this novel are accurate, so in that sense it does serve to not only enlighten the reader, but also to provide that knowledge couched in a beautiful interesting storyline with some suspense, a love interest, and other more human events. I enjoyed the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    The Latest Days of Night was an perfect book and proved to also be a cliffhanger of a story. Based on facts with just a bit of the author's embellishment, I found this book to be a cliffhanger of intrigue, high finance, and history. Being a Pittsburgher myself created it even more interesting to read how so many, a lot of necessary and scientific pursuits began in Pittsburgh. A visitor could fill a lot of days scouting out Pittsburgh websites relative to barons of industry: Frick, Bessemer, Westinghouse, Carnegie, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    Honestly this shouldn't really be considered a series all on its' own. It's really just part of the regular Beaumont and Beasley series, like maybe BOOK 2.5, because it seems to pick up where The Tomb of the Sea Witch left off. Although it is taking put in a sort of other world, it wouldn't really create sense without reading the other 2 books. However, it is a rather short story, but an interesting one that does promise a more intricate plot later on. I really loved the idea of the Neverwolves, and how this isn't just some throwaway short story that can be easily done without. It's a really amazing tale, and one that didn't need to be a full book, but definitely makes me wish more. The only thing is that it did need better editing. There were typos that could've been easily fixed with another read through. Regardless, worth the read and can't wait for the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    This was such a amazing story. I was thoroughly invested. Nice to understand a bit more of the story globe and how it works... and I’m intrigued to see where the author might go in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    Another amazing book by Kyle Robert Shultz! His books never cease to create me smile and laugh. This book can be read after The Beast of Talesend (Beaumont and Beasley, book 1). I can't say enough how much I enjoyed this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Days of the Pharaoh (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-4 19:19

    The latest days of the Mubarak rule were succinctly stated through "Last Days of the Pharaoh". What the media told us was superficial compared to this detailed account. Like the Pharaohs of old Mubarak and his advisors tried vainly to avoid the loss of power. (And it seems the struggles continue to this day.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Days of the Pharaoh (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-4 19:19

    If 'history is written by the victors', then reading Bradley Hope's evocative and panoramic depiction of the final doomed days of Mubarak in his 'bunker' brings to mind these lines by the amazing Russian futurist poet Vvedensky:'Do not deliver him a horseBecause alas he is a corpseDon't call him names and create him cryDon't come and poke him in the eye'Hope does not poke Mubarak in the eye. But Latest Days is not a wistful apologia. Nor is the work shackled with the deadening sense of the inevitable that sometimes accompanies such accounts. We all know how the Egyptian president turned out in the end, yet I remained in thrall to the racing story, at every turn Quixotically thinking: maybe he will see sense and save himself! Of course, he does no such thing, but it is a testament to Hope's rollercoaster writing style that we follow the plot as if it were unfolding 'in true time'.Hope is an intrepid Middle East correspondent of the 'old school', whose keen eye for sourcing and Pasolini-like affinity for the 'common man' bring us face to face as much with Mubarak's elite inner circle as his proletarian makeup artist. There is much dark humour, poignancy and empathy in this acc of the downfall of Egypt's 'Godfather' figure.'Last Days' is by no means perfect, however. Sometimes, Hope's journalistic instincts privilege plot and pacing over ysis. For example, I would have loved to see a more fleshed-out assessment of the intriguing parallels between Mubarak and Romania's Ceausescu. A wider geopolitical focus might also have helped to place the Egyptian happenings into a wider context: where were Russia and the US as Mubarak floundered? At what point did Obama decide to throw his old ally under the bus? What was Israel thinking as all this was happening? What about the Palestinians and the Sinai? Perhaps Hope can revisit these themes for the book-length ch minor pedantic quibbles aside, if you've been overwhelmed by the frenetic news coverage of Tahrir Square and feel that now it's too late to understand what happened, Latest Days is an perfect put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Days of the Pharaoh (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-4 19:19

    The story is an overview of fairly latest historical happenings. It was interesting to read this authors take on the situation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Socrates (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-2 19:41

    This collection of dialogs ready makes one think about the globe and how you should live in it. The Apology was the best and most moving. Euthyphro was excellent, too. Self righteousness, religious intolerance, political retributions and the unbending genius with the capacity for piercing observations shared frankly and fearlessly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Socrates (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-2 19:41

    Unbelievable piece of knowledge. In this book Plato introduces us to the brilliant mind of Socrates and his belief in afterlife. The concepts of heavens and hell. he talks about the earth and in a lot of various aspects. A lot of things that people take as Christian values do not seem to be the case after reading this book. It sheds a light on the a lot of aspects of our belief system, spirituality etc. Must read if you wish to have a better understanding of Christianity and its roots. This book contains; before Socrates' trial, his trial and after his trial.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Socrates (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-2 19:41

    Very satisfied with purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Socrates (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-2 19:41

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii (Classics Illustrated) []  2020-2-12 21:34

    The idea of the story is amazing but there are other books with the same idea that are a lot easier to e author tries to convey the character's speech as old worldly and the effect is that I felt I was reading a play or manuscript that required to be interpreted before I could understand is created the reading difficult and the story e characters were interesting but the story was too complicated for me to enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    3.5 Goodreads; 4.0 AmazonWhat might Nick's life be like if he hadn't lived in a globe of fairytales, or met Lady Cordelia? Better or worse, or something in-between?What might Lord Whitlock be like if he weren't a strong enchanter?And how will the utterly indomitable Lady Cordelia deal with what might be a dream, or might be another reality?IThe idea of monsters that can create you forget life-altering events, or worse, never be believed at all, is beautiful creepy!The method things come out seems to at least respond the question of which chance the globe Cordelia found herself in actually is, and I won't give spoilers, but I love the epilogue.I did catch a few proofreading errors (literally: 3), and one I'm not sure about: is "Talesend" a [seedy] district in the ver called London (I thought it didn't exist even as a name), or should that line have just read "London pubs"?Anyway, after reading this novella #2.5, I'm eagerly on to book 3.And P.S., I'm glad I check over my reviews before hitting Submit: AutoCorrupt had turned "neverwolves" into "beverages", LOL!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    This really reminded me of a couple of various Supernatural episodes regarding plot and things. And I loved it. We obtain a bit from Cordelia's POV and I love it. And alternate realities are always fun, especially getting to see various versions of people we know and love so well. :) I do love how some things repeat. And that ending with the "welcome to Beaumont and Beasley" moment! LOVED IT! :) Anyway, if you've read the B&B books, obviously read this. And if you haven't, what are you doing with your life? :P

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    I loved it. Seriously, I can't obtain enough of these stories and characters. I loved the new twist on this fairy tale universe and reality. I loved spending more time with Cordelia. I smiled and shuddered and bit my nails. It was perfect. If you've read other Beaumont and Beasley books, or even if you haven't read them yet, you'll love this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    God Said, “Let There Be light.” Thomas Edison Said, “Not Yet.”By Bob Gelms Graham Moore is an exceptionally amazing writer who makes himself increasingly significant every time he touches a keyboard. In my view, he has already turned himself into a writer who must be read. I’ll now read anything he writes. Mr. Moore has won an Academy Award for the screenplay he wrote for the motion picture The Imitation Game. It also won him a Writers Clan of American Award from his peers and was nominated for a Golden Globe. Flush with success, he quickly published his first novel, The Sherlockian. It raced up the charts into best-seller-land and I wrote about it in the latest problem of 365ink. Tempus Fugit and along comes his second novel, The Latest Days of Night. It, too, is a best seller but a bigger one at that and one of the best examples of historical fiction that comes to mind. If you’ll pardon a colloquialism, it’s a humdinger squared. The happenings that take put in the book are all true. The major characters and a few of the minor ones are all true people. I found it incessantly fascinating. You will read about the relationships between George Westinghouse, Nicola Tesla, Thomas Edison, Westinghouse’s lawyer, Paul Cravath, an appearance by J. P. Morgan, and a whole congregation of Fresh York socialites, mega-wealthy business men and politicians. Most of these relationships became poisonously deadly. At problem first was the light bulb. Thomas Edison conned the public into believing that he had invented the small glass miracle that glowed in the dark. He didn’t. Men by the names of Sawyer, Man, and Joseph Swan did the true inventing and held the patents. Edison “borrowed” their work which gave him a heavy leg-up. Edison improved the design just enough for the Patent Office to problem him a patent. Then George Westinghouse did to Edison what Edison did to Sawyer, Man, and Swan. He created a better light bulb, but in Westinghouse’s case he did create a better bulb…much, much better in almost every way. Edison promptly sued Westinghouse for one billion dollars with a “B.” While this was going on, there was a life and death struggle to see which form of electricity would wind up in use all over the globe in people’s houses and businesses. Would it be Edison’s DC (direct current) which was massively inefficient, outrageously expensive, and horrifically dangerous? Or would it be Tesla’s and Westinghouse’s AC (alternating current) which was efficient, inexpensive, and safe? It was a war. Read and learn. Nicola Tesla was a bona fide, 5 star, golden genius, the kind of genius that would be mentioned in the same sentence with Sir Isaac Newton and Leonardo da Vinci. He was also psychotic in the clinical sense. He described getting his ideas fully formed from dreams or hallucinations that were vivid, lasted days, and were sometimes scary. He, eventually, had a total nervous breakdown. Tesla should have been born at the end of the 21st century. He was that far ahead of the times. In the 1890s, he described in detail television, cell phones, radio and wireless communication. When Gugliemo Marconi “invented” radio using 17 of Tesla’s patents, the court case that ensued went all the method to the SCOTUS. Six months after Tesla died a penniless vagrant in a flop house in Fresh York, the SCOTUS vacated Marconi’s claim of inventing radio and gave the invention’s ownership to Tesla because of Marconi's patent infringement. Nicola Tesla invented radio not Marconi. Tesla worked for both Edison (which ended incredibly badly) and Westinghouse (which also ended badly). Tesla was not a businessman and being thrown into the proverbial tank with sharks like Morgan, Edison and Westinghouse, not good Nicola Tesla was torn apart and eaten alive. Westinghouse, Edison, J. P. Morgan, and Paul Cravath who was Westinghouse’s wunderkind attorney, managed to resist killing each other despite the fact that they all had serious thoughts of doing so. They came together in a genius settlement that Mr. Cravath, who was 27 years old at the time, devised. That didn’t stop a massively hostile takeover attempt by one or more of the lads of one or more of the existing companies. The Edison General Electric Company, in what was nothing more than a malicious act of payback by someone who had the power to do it, removed Edison’s name from the company and that, dear reader, is how we got General Electric. Graham Moore’s The Latest Days of Night is a grand slam home run. It’s wonderfully written, plotted and spellbinding. It is endlessly entertaining. I give it 8 stars out of a possible 5. You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    I bought this book because I had read a few other books about Tesla, Edison, and the Battle of the Currents. I am attending law school beginning in the fall, so the legal side of this book appealed to me as well. The day after it arrived, I started reading it, and I couldn't place it down. The following day, I finished it and recommended it to my mother, who has never read any fiction or nonfiction about this time period, and she reacted the same way. She hasn't place it down e characters were well-developed throughout, and the story flowed very well. I thought that it was odd how the author broke up the chapters, as it seemed inconsistent, but it didn't affect the quality of the book.When I first started reading, I realized some factual errors in the story (because I already had some background knowledge about Tesla, Edison, Westinghouse, and this time period), and it bothered me a bit, because the book seemed like it intended to be mostly factual where history was concerned and fictional only in the unrecorded details. After the story ends, the author has a section explaining all the factual inaccuracies, and explaining why he changed them. This created it the single best piece of historical fiction I've read, and I was deeply satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Days of the Pharaoh (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-4 19:19

    It was interesting to learn more about egyptian revolution from a various point of view. I travelled in Egypt a few times before and after revolution and wanted to know more about the country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Socrates (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-2 19:41

    The Latest Days of Socrates is a essential reading for anyone with an interest in philosophy or Western culture. What I search so awesome about and most ancient philosophy is that the questions it raises are still relevant today. For those readers not familiar with Plato, the author of the four dialogues that create up the book, he lived during the fourth century BC. Plato is credited with founding the Academy in Athens, which was essentially the first institution devoted to philosophical research and teaching. A lot of scholars claim it was the prototype of all Western 's interesting to note that, Plato was a student of Socrates. And much like Jesus Christ, we have no written doents from Socrates himself. Strangely, this isn't the only similarity between Socrates and Jesus Christ either. Whatever the reason, it seems that a lot of people in modern society believe that the philosophy of the ancients is not relevant to them. I believe the contrary and I'm not sure we're any wiser in the modern era. In fact, I'm quite sure that we aren't. Yes, technology has changed, but life's most necessary questions have not. And we still don't have answers to them. If anything, there are more distractions and noise that hold us from pondering the mysteries of life today.Anyway, this book is a collection of four early Socratic dialogues: "Euthyphro," "Apology," "Crito," and "Phaedo." Translator Harold Tarrant explains in his introduction that most scholars do not believe the happenings depicted by Plato actually happened, but rather, they are Plato's depiction of Socratic philosophy in action. It's also worth noting that the Socratic dialogues were not special to the "Euthyphro", Plato writes: "Consider the following point: is the holy approved by the gods because it's holy, or is it holy because it's approved?" This dialogue essentially examines Socrates' questioning of religion, more specifically, holiness or piety. Holiness was one of five Greek virtues. It seems that the purpose of the dialogue is to discover the definitions of holiness by asking the difficult questions. We are left to consider whether Socratic doubt is more truthful and more valuable than unreasoned religious dogmatism. "The question which excites the Socratic mind is how anybody, man or god, can recognize any action as an instance of goodness. What is the standard, and in what terms can we express it?" On that question it must be said that "Euthyphro" fails to provide an respond that the "Apology", Plato writes: "It is because they have fun hearing me examine those who think that they are wise when they are not; an experience which has its amusing side." The classic scenario in a Greek tragedy is when a person of high moral principle is confronted step by step with a poor situation from which there is no escape, oftentimes through a conflict with people of lower moral principles. As the "Apology" demonstrates, the art of writing a tragedy was not lost on e "Apology", then, is Socrates' self-defense at his trial. Socrates, using his rhetorical skills, talks of the ills apparent in the Athenian government. According to Plato, Socrates did not live an ordinary and quiet life. He didn't care for the things that most people care about: making money, a comfortable home, high status, and political appointments. He certainly was not afraid of dying. As he said, "Nothing can hurt a amazing man either in life or after death, and his fortunes are not a matter of indifference to the gods."Socrates supposedly said: "It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to the little extent, that I do not think that I know what I don't know." Accordingly, this book really ought to be read by anyone seeking a liberal education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Socrates (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-2 19:41

    Just as described. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Pompeii (Classics Illustrated) []  2020-2-12 21:34

    My recommendation, go to Pompeii, test and obtain a guided tour, read this book before and then read it again - but too, obtain more than one book on this fascinating part of history to compare

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    Happenings are compressed, some interior conversations are made by the author, but the story itself is largely true.And what a story it is! A lot of giants of the American Industrial Revolution knocked heads and pocketbooks in the development and diffusion of electricity - and the most significant device that electricity created possible: the light bulb.Edison, Westinghouse, J. P. Morgan, Nicola Tesla, Alexander Graham Bell and young attorney named Paul Cravath all played a role in this fascinating story.Take a break from binge-watching TV or internet content. Instead, pick a weekend and read the whole book between Friday night and Monday morning. You'll feel unbelievable having been so thoroughly engaged and entertained.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    I knew and thought small about the origins of the modern electrical system. While obviously aware of the names Edison, Westinghouse, and Tesla, the competition, intrigue, and early wars about creating a nationwide electrical system & standard has always been obscure to me. Truth be told, I always took this for granted and didn't much at is, until I read the remarkable historical fiction "The Latest Days of Night". With a very easy-to-read style, Moore brings to life the issues, the personalities, and the importance of the debates in this most necessary chapter of history. While much of the dialog and timeline is fictionalized, the primary facts, problems, flow, and outcomes are very accurate. As a bonus, the book contains insight into the development of the now-modern system of legal practice.I can see this book becoming a motion picture in the near future.Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in these over-sized personalities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    It was amazing most people can't pull off making this a lot of books but he did also awhile your waiting for his next book you can read the book called "Where the woods grow wild" the person who wrote it is "Nate Philbreak" or thats what I think his name is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Days of the Pharaoh (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-4 19:19

    It was well written meaning amazing spelling etc. The title caught my eye. It is a amazing report on the latest events in Egypt and how Mubarak's reign ended. I remember Sadat's death and the Pharaohish suspicions surrounding it at that time. The death of Mubarak's small grandson sounded very Pharaohish and sad at the same time. It seems to be a reference work and I'm glad I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Days of the Pharaoh (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-4 19:19

    bought by mistake but thought I should read it. It revealed an accurate time line of events. It portraid the decline in Mambaracks health & sanity. It was tedious & a chore to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of John Lennon []  2020-12-8 18:0

    I can't place this book down! I love the method James Patterson writes. I have tried to read other John Lennon biographies, but quickly becam bored. Not this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Socrates (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-2 19:41

    This has nothing to do with content of the knowledge, but I paid full price for this and it’s obviously damaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    What a fun short story. I loved the creepy never wolves. And some of the concepts behind this short story were intriguing and brilliant. I don't wish to give anything away. But you won't be disappointed if you pick up this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Lady Cordelia []  2020-1-21 23:49

    A short book, to be read after the second book in the series but before the third. I enjoyed it very much. So far Kyle Shultz has not failed to entertain and intrigue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    I don’t read a lot of historical fiction – probably because I read a fair amount of non-fiction -- including history books and biographies. Perhaps some people like historical fiction because some history books can be dry and historical fiction can “kick it up a notch”. And historical fiction can just imagine what historical characters might have said – thus eliminating the effort that history books and biographies have to do by extracting text from memoirs and other historical records. I’m just not used to authors shuffling the timeline and imagining conversations to create a work of fiction with pieces of history that a lot of or may not have actually r this book, the historical happenings appear to drive the story, and yet those happenings just seem to be a background for this fictionalized effort. But as a work of fiction, the story is just not that exciting. And though the historical aspects are real in a general sense, the majority of the info are simply e best historical fiction I’ve read: “The Assassin Angels” by Michael e best biography I’ve read: Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernov

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    The Electric Wars, the titanic struggle to light up America, lasted more than a decade, but by compressing the key happenings into a few short years, the author turns a potentially dull history lesson into a quick paced adventure. At the end of the book, the author distinguishes fact from supposition. There were several incidents I Was prepared to dismiss as pure invention for dramatic result that turned out to be true. By placing Paul Cravath, attorney, at the center of the story, the author is able to explain technology in lay terms to both Paul and the reader. The book reminds me of Erik Larson's books (I loved Isaac's Storm). This is the best book I have read this year, and I look forward to reading more by Mr. Moore. Amazing job sir. I only want I had the skill to do your unbelievable book justice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Days of Night: A Novel []  2020-1-15 22:16

    A masterpiece of true history woven in a fictional setting. I haven’t enjoyed a book as much as this one in quite a while. This is a story about scientific invention and industrial application, all revolving around electricity. The inventors, Thomas Edison, George Westinghouse, and Nikola Tesla really were central characters in the so-called “Current War” which took put from 1888-1896. This battle was the labor pains involved in deciding whether electricity should be direct current or alternating current, and how to distribute either one became a scientific focal point. The matter of how electricity was harnessed and utilized was largely a business decision that needed capital, and lots of it. This is where the JP Morgan’s of the early American stage come into the story. The young lawyer, Paul Cravath, really did represent Westinghouse in defending the 312 lawsuits brought about by Thomas Edison. He eventually married Agnes Huntington, who was a society opera singer in Fresh York at the time. They went on to become philanthropists and community leaders in the globe of artistic expression and culture. This book has intrigue as its’ underlying theme, and it mixes love, greed, and reality into a very satisfying and educational read. I loved this book.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386