the life and death of stars Reviews & Opinions


Submit the life and death of stars review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    I enjoyed reading the author's insights of working in an ED.I've read several books filled with funny stories but, Mr. Jacobs' POV is much more slanted (maybe jaded while at times hopeful), about the current method of so a lot of lives in our country.We have a relative who is also an ED nurse, even took a class to become certified in that department. While there have been funny things they have skirted around, mindful of privacy laws while telling us, this past year forced them to apply in another department.Why? Left one ED tired of patients who wanted nothing but another prescription for drugs and shout at you when you say , "NO." Or asking to be stitched up quickly so they can go search whoever shot them; and they moved to a fresh facility faced with the entitled, disrespectful attitudes from people who can't understand why their not getting support *right now* because they're just that version mind if the staff is around one patient trying to bring someone back from death's waiting room. Leaving wasn't an simple decision for them to make, and they may go back into it at another time. But, as Dani said, the lines and lies of people who just won't wait another min or those who tried, and succeeded, in ending their lives over a brief moment of *no huge deal*, takes a ank a nurse today and, if there's a crowd of people needing help, think about what you're going to say before it comes out. Place yourselves in their shoes and take a seat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    This book was so amazing I couldn't place it down and read it all in one day!!I don't think I have ever read a book by another nurse that truly conveyed nearly every single thought and range of emotions that I have experienced as an ER nurse. I strongly recommend this book not only to other nurses but to those who wish to have a better understanding of how the ER works.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    An perfect and heartfelt book. The author is clearly very dedicated and brings the reader along with him as he learns the expertise of being a amazing nurse. I've now read all his books and enjoyed them all! I hope that he writes another book soon!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the life and death of stars or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the life and death of stars video reviews and related movies:

    See The Life and Death of Stars: White Dwarfs, Supernovae, Neutron Stars, and Black Holes on youtube.

     related image

    See The Universe S01E10 LIFE AND DEATH OF A STAR BluRay 1080p on youtube.

     related image

    See The Life and Death of Stars on youtube.

     related image

    See The Life Cycle of Stars on youtube.

     related image

    See Stars - introduction to Star Birth, life and Death on youtube.

     related image

    See The Lifetime Of A Star | Astronomic on youtube.

     related image

    See Your body was forged in the spectacular death of stars | Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz on youtube.

     related image

    See What It Would Be Like to Live on the Death Star? A Look at What Life Was Like During Rogue One on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    very truthful and appreciative to the profession of nursing. Want the book however was longer. This is definitely a short story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    Loved this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    This book is what nursing is really about. These people have one of the toughest jobs and how they go home and come back to work after the things they see is amazing. This book was so touching and I couldn't keep back tears.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    Very disappointed with this book. As a retired nurse I did not need to read about the moment of death. It was too much about the nurse at two small about the latest moments of the patients.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    Sometimes it is important to push past the author's egotistic statements about being a nurse, but I found doing that created this first read of Dani's writing, well worth the effort. First thing was what seemed to be the utter reality of what he experienced and felt. After reading some other ER books by Registration Clerks and Doctors, the author's writing style was crisp, clear, smart and fairly well edited with minimal typos. He kept me reading into the night. I cannot say that for other writers. Second and probably most necessary for me was reading how case after case of elderly patients required to have a DNR document in put or be subjected to (IMO) relentless efforts by medical personnel to revive people...I think this is a kick back of technology that doesn't let us to expire when there's the chance to obtain shocked, compressed or injected with items to bring us back. Although the author does not say this directly, his views on the topic so reflect my own that I am making a DNR document my current project. Take heed folks, there are alot of awesome lessons in this unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    I’m a RN and I’ve read all of Dani’s ER books. So totally true!! I’ve been able to “live” vicariously through these books without having to deal with all the stress. Thank you, Dani!! Hopefully he’ll write another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurse Life and the Next Life: A Nurse’s True Stories of Life versus Death in the Emergency Room review []  2020-1-21 20:25

    Entertaining stories and glimpses into the life of a nurse. I like how the author uses medical terms and explains them rather than holding them back. I'm a huge fan of having medical terms in medical stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    This book was recommended to me by someone in 1975, which I read eagerly at the time. It was right after my maternal grandmother died, and the year Life After Life was a best seller. This was very comforting to me. There's no phoney hocus pocus, no exaggeration. The book is based on solid medical research. Latest month I ordered a copy for my mate who will soon lose a loved one. The ladies are amazing friends, aged in their 80s and 90s. They're next door neighbors in the wing in which I live, in a retirement building. I gave this book to the recipient, and she read half of the book at first sitting, reading all night. She has thanked me several times over, as she has derived much comfort from it. Now, she says, she has a fresh perspective on the inevitable change every human will eventually make. We should consider our "lost ones as "elsewhere," rather than dead. They aren't lost at all. I'm glad I read the book back in the mid 70s, and I am happy that this has comforted my friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    This book helped me heal after my mothers death December 1st. I was a wreck with grief for 2 1/2 months. I had that 1% doubt in my mind that maybe, just maybe, there wasn't a Heaven after all. I started drinking (every day)! I was a mess!I read this in two days, and was "healed"! I felt so much better after reading it, that I gave it to someone else to read who was also grieving her fathers death.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    If you are interested to learn how the near-death experience is the put where science and spiritualism meet, don't waste your time on this boring, pop-psychology book. Turn instead to "Consciousness Beyond Life: The Science of the Near-Death Experience" by former cardiologist Dr. Pim Von Lommel. He provides fascinating accounts of the near-death experience provided by patients in his scientific, longitudinal study, but that is only the beginning. Take your time, use your brain, and learn how quantum physics, Carl Jung, and the near-death experience are all tangled up in each other. Leave "Life After Life" on the shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    First published in the late 1970s, I believe this book is still the best introduction to the phenomenon known as the "Near Death Experience" (NDE). Whether you're a believer, skeptic, agnostic, atheist, Christian, Buddhist, Jew, Wicca--makes no difference, since the experience has been documented to happen to anyone regardless of their cultural influences or upbringing. If you have heard the phrase "near death experience" but have only a vague notion of what this entails, I urge you to pick up this book and read it--if you hold an begin mind, it could change your life :)Simply put, the NDE may give us a preview of what happens to humans when we die. I first read this book around 1985 and found it both fascinating and enlightening. It is very straightforward and even-handed in it's reporting--without religious overtones from the author, although he does draw correlations between NDE's and their possible appearance in texts such as the Tibetan Book of the Dead, the Bible & Greek philosophy. At the time of publication, Dr. Moody had only investigated about 150 cases total--since then, as the technology to resuscitate patients has improved, thousands more have experienced the NDE. The book also made an begin dialogue about NDE's and a lot of more who had kept the experience secret (for fear of being ridiculed) have come forward with their story.If this book whet's your appetite for more on the topic (and much has been written about NDE's since) allow me recommend a few more titles for continued reading:The Light Beyond by Raymond Moody -- in my opinion, the best of his follow-up books on the subject.On Life After Death by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, M.D. -- One of the pioneers of NDE research & best known for defining "The 5 Stages of Grief & Dying." She & Moody were both studying NDE's at the same time without being aware of each other's e Tunnel and The Light by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, M.D. - Another collection of her writings & lectures on the topic of NDE'though there are a lot of more books on the topic (some by researchers, others by those who experienced an NDE firsthand) I always recommend these first as they are well-researched and, in my opinion, show the topic with the least amount of bias.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    Perfect book that uses a structured methodology in building a solid case for the afterlife. If this book changes you - it can only be for the better. I'm hooked on the NDE subject now after hearing Moody's reasearch. It's providing a lot of answers for me to modern questions that arise in all aspects of faith. These accounts pair well with all faiths in the fact that "love" should be at the root of everything we do during our lifetimes. Read only if you are ready to be awakened to the truth beyond this physical realm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    This book isn't proof of the after life. And I don't think that was Raymond Moody's intent was to offer irrefutable evidence of life after life, but for anyone who wants to hear stories from people who've had interesting experiences near death, they're told well in this book. As depressing as a book about death might seem, this book left me feeling positive and reignited my curiosity about the nature of our lives here. Maybe there is a life after life...But I found it strange that everyone's private experience was so pleasant. Seems like Raymond Moody is just telling us what we wish to hear. 'Now now there's no need to worry.. Death isn't so bad" is almost what it feels like. I know I've heard about death experiences that weren't so pleasant. Why did Raymond Moody exclude the more negative experience?Non the less, still a heartwarming and interesting book to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    This is one of the most life-changing books I've ever read. If you read all the reviews you'll search Dr. Moody has endured a lot of negative press from those who feel threatened by his findings. Sad. He is positive and as unbiased as any researcher could be. He basically discusses evidence showing there may be life after death from the point of a news reporter reporting on a collection of interviews where there's a common thread. That's as unbiased as it gets.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    Though overall liked the content, I still had so a lot of unanswered questions. I realize that I'm not going to obtain everything answered because no one dies and comes back. It just left me wanting more answers, unsettled! Also while the book being amazing there were a few sections that did not keep my attention. Having stated this I would still recommend it! There was definitely a degree of comfort even though it alternated with topics also expressing agitation and fear.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    Years ago, my own aunt told me about a near death experience that she had as a child. As a effect of that experience, she never feared death. The private accounts in this book sound a lot like those of my aunt, who died several years is book was for me more of an interesting exploration into a mystery that humans will never solve. We like to think that we are so wise and that our science can explain everything, but the truth is, we will understand what God wants us to understand, see what He wants us to see and will never have all the answers unless or until He reveals them to us in His time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon - Survival of Bodily Death review []  2020-1-19 22:38

    This is one of the absolute best books ever about the afterlife! I know there are people who think those of us who have ever been to the afterlife are just crazy and were hallucinating, I know now that the afterlife is indeed real! I was actually able to prove this to my mother after I woke up from a coma caused by a ruptured brain aneurysm and a stroke and when I woke up was telling her things she swore that there was no method I could have known unless I had actually been to heaven. I am glad that I went there first because my mother passed away a week ago tomorrow and I have comfort because I know heaven is indeed real!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    I had a possibility to talk with the author a few years ago and found his story to be a fascinating acc of one man sharing the memories of another. Since reincarnation is not consistent with my own beliefs, I cannot explain these experiences, but I do search them compelling and worth the time to hear and read. Although the Andrews family and the Titanic Society adamantly denounce Barnes (not his true name) and his story, there is too much he should not have known, and even could not have known. Even if it were possible, I cannot imagine anyone willing to do a comprehensive study of a man only to be viewed as a demented nutjob by his peers. Even if you don't believe in reincarnation, I give Barnes' story an enthusiastic five stars. He used to have his own website, but alas, seems to have otherwise vanished. It's too poor as I think his story would create an perfect movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    I honestly stand on the line in whether reincarnation is real or not, but this book was a very amazing read for me. It was amazing enough that I actually went and brought the Audio CDs of the 'interview' for more information on it.I have always been a fan of Thomas Andrews, he was always factor in my life as a amazing hero, person to look up to, someone from history who could truly touch me in the ways that other history 'icons/heros' could not. I first learned about Mr. Andrews in the 2nd grade, around, oh my, it was right after Ballard found the Titanic and it was place out on VHS for all to see, so around 87-88-ish. Thomas Andrews just stood out to me, I'm honestly not fully sure wh, but this man just grabbed at me and all my growing up into my teen and adult years I have always wanted to learned all that I can about him. Whether Barnes truly is Andrews reincarnated or not? I'm not sure, but the man does know a lot for someone who's never known anything about him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    This was a amazing book. I couldn't place it down. William Barnes really brings Thomas Andrews back to life on the page. I help and believe in a past life experience, and truly believe he was Mr. Andrews. This is a amazing book to add to your Titanic books that you have. I will read this book again that is for sure. Thank you for telling us your story of living with as you so gracefully place it has a "double memory." Now for the reader, you will not regret buying this book. You will learn a small more about Thomas Andrews and his feelings about the Olympic-class ships.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    It's interesting to note how criticism of this book has changed in 4 years. When Mr. Barnes' book first came out in 2000, it was criticized because so-called experts claimed that Thomas Andrews could not have known about the quality of Titanic's steel (actually, how could he have NOT known?) or that Titanic would break, or that she'd overturn if the compartments were allowed to flood evenly. Those people evidently failed to take into acc that Mr. Andrews was one of the preeminent naval architects of his day, and was even called upon by rival shipbuilders to help them in troubleshooting design flaws in their 's interesting now to read critiques that say all one needs do is go to the Discovery Channel to obtain the same "secrets" that William Barnes speaks of. I strongly suspect that Mr. Barnes' detractors have secretly hoarded his book over the past few years, researched and verified his past life memories, and then tried to take credit for things Mr. Barnes awesome past-life recall had long documented. If people would only take the time to research a small about WHAT is now known, and WHEN it became known, they would realize that the info which came from Mr. Barnes' past-life regression (which occurred prior even to the publishing of his books and tapes) predates a amazing deal of now common knowledge.I credit Mr. Barnes with the courage to step out and tell his story, realizing that reincarnation is not yet accepted by a lot of people in western culture. As time passes, everything he wrote about Titanic's secrets -- down to the most arcane -- is being proved. Others may give credit elsewhere to the info Mr. Barnes has released, but those of us who have followed his awesome story from the beginning (including the wonderful synchronicities and even astrological verification between the Andrews and Barnes lifetimes), know that Bill Barnes is the genuine article.I highly recommend this book not only for its detailed acc on the life of Thomas Andrews, but for the insight it provides to past-life researchers and those who themselves experience past-life vin Doheny, BA, CHT, MBTCenter DirectorSound Mind & Body Healing CenterEagan, Minnesota

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    I first bought the book and audiobook because of an interest in Titanic's designer Thomas Andrews, and at first I was skeptical and thought if it wasn't true, it would at least be a amazing story. HOLY COW WAS I WRONG (in a amazing way)! As soon as I heard Bill Barnes speak as Tommie Andrews, I thought, "How could this be anyone other than Thomas Andrews?" After all, the accent is correct, his mannerisms, vocal expression, and facts are also correct, and he even fills in little info for us that present that he is not joking and that this is not faked (and fresh ideas are presented as well). I mean, think about it, who in their right state of mind would go and invent a reincarnation story? It would take years and years of study (not only of acting but of the actual history of one persons life, and people that have a profound knowledge of a specific person have dedicated their lives to learning about them, yet still cannot truly know them like Bill Barnes knows Thomas Andrews), hundreds of thousands of dollars, and method too much time! Therefore, he must be telling the truth through his eyes and what *he* experienced. Also, on that note, one must hold in mind that this telling of the Titanic disaster is told through Tommie's eyes and most of what is said under hypnosis are Tommie's thoughts. So, if something in the story seems slightly various than the actual recorded event, that is because we are seeing the disaster through his perspective. Everyone has their own perspective. It's like how poor guys believe they are actually good. It's their l in all, an EXCELLENT choice for any Titanic fan (especially if you are interested in Thomas Andrews)! It is a thrilling tale and its very haunting to hear Tommie's voice come through the speakers! I found myself riveted to my seat in awe and crying my eyes out when I heard Tommie's final moments and beyond. It is a must buy! You will not be disappointed! Do not judge this audiobook or book before you listen to or read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    This is an perfect audio book. Chilling in its content and more and more relevant and prescient as more info comes out about Titanic. You will not forget this story and how it is told and will likely listen to it several times as I have. This is a keeper in my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    Mr. Barnes writes a facinating story of his past life as Thomas e book is so well written one can only think it came from Thomas Andrews himself! No longer was I sitting in my bedroom reading his book until the wee hours of the morning I was with Mr. Andrews as he narrated the happenings of his life to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    I absolutely recommend this! It created me feel like I was right there, in the middle of can't go wrong, best ever book on the Titanic!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    No Issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life and Death: A Past-Life Interview with Titanic's Designer review []  2020-1-20 20:17

    I still can't believe I got this book before Fresh Year!!! I'm so happy^^ This story is so real, This is the one of my favorite book and I read this book more than 3 times. This book shown you about Thomas Andrews's life and the beginning of Titanic. It's so hard to place all this in words...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    I have read a lot of book regarding death and Near-Death Experiences (or Actual Death Experiences (ADE) as the author likes to call specific types of NDEs). Dr. Parnia's thinking is exceptional, precise and scientific. He is dealing with a fresh phenomena and is his analytical and methodological thinking is outstanding. He describes death (our current understanding), resuscitation science, the AWARE study (trying to collect info during ADEs) and much more. Visionary - such a clear, begin and non-prejudicial perspective on consciousness as a separate entity from the body.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    In Erasing Death, Sam Parnia has made a highly readable review of the zone of resuscitation medicine and of the now widely accepted phenomena of Near Death Experiences (NDEs) or Actual Death Experiences as he calls them. He provides a very thorough exploration of all the possible scientific theories, clearly showing why each falls short. In addition he has bought to light some of the recent developments in medicine that should improve survival asing Death also delves into the philosophical debate about the existence of the soul, and whether it is something that is generated by the brain or that uses the brain as a host. This discussion is expanded into the whole zone of what consciousness means, including tussling with some of the modern attempts to explain it in quantum mechanical terms. Parnia is clearly a man who has contemplated and researched these concepts for a lot of years, driven by the context of his own father's tragic permanent loss of consciousness and of the different experiences he has witnessed in emergency ever, many, would have bought this book to learn about results from the AWARE study and Dr Parnia does not disappoint. I will not place a spoiler in, particularly relating to any evidence supporting the out of body experience, but he does discuss some tantalizing initial findings. Interestingly, it would appear that a book published over a year ago, called Aware of Aware by Ben Williams, may have been on the cash when it came to predicting the outcome. From what is revealed in Erasing Death it would appear that there are plans to expand the study and tighten some of the techniques used to insure better capturing of any evidence. As Parnia points out, this is a fresh zone of science and these researchers are the trail blazers.Overall I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in the zone of resuscitation medicine and NDEs. There are occasions when the writing is massive on detail, and lay readers may obtain impatient, however this level of thoroughness should be expected from someone of Parnia's status and experience and only adds to the increasing authority that he brings to this discussion. For anyone who wishes to be fully informed on the recent and most valuable research this an absolute must read. Well done Dr Parnia and thank you for your dedication to this incredibly necessary are Of Aware

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    With amazing excitement I bought this book, and found that it was more about resuscitation than the topic of death, and what happens during the dying process and what we call death itself, that was what I was hoping to learn. I have been reading everything I could on this topic since my Dad died,( a lot of a lot of years) because I was only 16, and it was traumatic at that age to lose my young father. If I was just beginning to read about the miracle of death, I would have probably been more excited with the book, but because I read this book from a more experienced point of view, I was disappointed that more info had not been gathered. I was expecting more about death and dying, but of course that was not the subject, the topic was with wonder, that......yes, we can resuscitate people up to 8 hours after death occurs, if their body is kept at the right temperature. That is the wonder of this book, the ability to resuscitate a lot of hours later, with the proper care. Anyone in the medical business should love the info and caring that goes into saving the lives of people, with the right equipment and care. Hopefully we will prepare our first responders so they can save more lives that once would have been lost. I wonder, what happens to the dying person just before death, just before they lose their ability to communicate. Maybe a study of people who have been with the dying would add to the small bit of info that is garnered in the hospitals. It is awesome what people say on their death beds, if you ask!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    The book explores the problem of death both from the physical/medical side as well as the spiritual realm. I found the discussion of how the body reacts as it shuts down at death fascinating. The author created some very amazing points about the inconsistency and efficacy of resuscitation efforts in emergency rooms around the country if not the world. While some of the discussion about the spiritual side of death I have heard before, the author does add some interesting fresh ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    Parnia deftly explains very complex processes for a non-professional audience. The book is roughly divided into an exploration of resuscitation and of experiences reported by people concerning while dead. In both sections he discusses standardization of process and scientific method. His language is smooth and simple to follow while not being so elementary to be condescending or boring.His discussion of the "zip code" lottery that dictates the skill of the squad attempting resuscitation is truly shocking. Equally disquieting is the fact that survival of cardiac stoppage has not improved since 1965. He presents compelling arguments for the training in CPR, the use of lowering the temperature in the patient, updating equipment, and mandating best practice are all balanced persuasive. Equally fascinating for me were his description of the exact mechanisms of death. He is quite detailed on the cascade of happenings that accompany the halting of a rnia has chosen to scientifically study the reports of patients returning from cardiac death. His findings come strongly in help of cultural reports. He makes very solid argument for believing the brain and the self are not one entity. The philosophical history is an interesting adjunct to the exposition. This part of provides a concise and thorough explication of the theories of the near death experience. He also provides convincing counter arguments to those who believe they are simply artifacts of the dying brain.I heard of this book on NPR, and I am happy with the reference. There is some repetition of content between chapters, the context is different. Therefore the repetition may be to help various points. It isn't annoying. Whether your belief system allows for after death experience or not, this book offers a balanced view of the subject, handled from the point of view of a researcher. The material on resuscitation speaks for itself. It is a book worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    So this is my first non childrens book purchase from Amazon and WOW. I had heard the author on WPR doing an interview about his work and decided to give him a read. I can honestly say I didn't wish to place this book down. It wasn't a life changer, but an eye opener. The author, Sam Parnia, info fresh methods involved in saving ones life and the lack of effort in the medical community to provide these to you. He starts with his history getting into the field going on to explain the fresh differences between life and death. To read that you can be revived HOURS after you die but only if you obtain lucky enough to search the right doctor at the right hospital was very interesting.I will say that is all facinating but not the reason I was interested in the book. Upon finding that people can be revived hours later, the author started interviewing people to search out what they experienced while they were 'dead'. This is what captivated me for hours and hours. This info completely changed the method I look at religion and the Universe. I am not going to give you my understanding or interpretation, you will have to read it for yourself. That, I do recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    It took me a lot of months to finish this book, because it is a LOT to digest. After a string of losses, I could only handle little portions at a time. But it is truly a fascinating read. My only criticism is that in their attempt to create sure we understand clearly, the author repeat a lot of information, which for me actually created it harder to understand at times.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    This book may have helpful information, but I cannot obtain past the private philosophy that permeates the book. I like concise writing, but can accept some fluff pieces, as long as I can still search the substance. There is not enough substance in this book.He started losing me on page 23 (in chapter 2) with the sentence: "People don't set the parameters for what death is; sciences does." So, does he think science is not practiced by people? Scientists = people, so of course "people" create these determinations. He is only trying to establish his definition of "death" as "cardiac arrest." Even people with minimal training in rescue therapy have some possibility of restarting a person's heart, even without the support of a machine. He still wants to call it death because he thinks that will create his book more forceful, or n't waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    I cannot recommend this book enough! It's kind of scary to know, depending on which hospital you go to, whether they will do all they can to bring you back to life when you suffer cardiac arrest. Amazing exploration of what happens to consciousness between the time you die and the time you come back. There are two theories of your brain & consciousness (or your soul): Is consciousness just a by-product of your brain cells or is it a separate entity? Read this book and decide for yourself!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Erasing Death: The Science That Is Rewriting the Boundaries Between Life and Death review []  2020-1-21 20:12

    This is such an necessary book by Dr. Sam Parnia. His agenda is ambitious and no less than fundamentally transformative to the topic of end of life care and it he covers the following:1) An exposition of the progress and the current state of resuscitation science, including the use of Therapeutic Hypothermia to treat and prevent anoxic brain injuries.2) Discusses the challenges with defining death and redefining it in a more meaningful and consistent way.3) Introduces fresh more precise terminology (ADE) to replace ambiguously defined terms for experiences that people have during cardiac arrest and during the resuscitation process (NDE).4) Reviews mounting evidence that points to the chance that consciousness can survive for some undefined period of time without the brain.5) Destroys arguments about end of life phenomena being brain-based hallucinations caused by oxygen deprivation.6) Covers the nature and structure of scientific efforts to collect data that may validate (or falsify) anecdotal evidence.Ignore the smattering of lower reviews. Anyone familiar with the topic will realize what an ambitious effort this is to improve quality of care for victims of anoxic brain injury, place better guard rails on the definition of death and highlight the true challenges in validating people's ineffable experiences. If you are interested in what happens to us when we die and wish to breakthrough both religious dogma and relentless skepticism, pick up this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Near Death Experience: NDE - The Life After Death Explained review []  2020-1-26 23:42

    The near death experience is a sensation that has always intrigued me. Some people swear to have gone through it at one point and it's just so fascinating to learn more about it. This book is a particularly amazing read for me. It explains how the phenomenon works and how it can take place. Of course, these are all readings and I have no particular method to prove if it does happen, but the book has done a lot to satiate my curiosity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Near Death Experience: NDE - The Life After Death Explained review []  2020-1-26 23:42

    Disappointed. Have read some books on this topic that I thought were much more informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Near Death Experience: NDE - The Life After Death Explained review []  2020-1-26 23:42

    as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Near Death Experience: NDE - The Life After Death Explained review []  2020-1-26 23:42

    interesting, but not what I was looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Near Death Experience: NDE - The Life After Death Explained review []  2020-1-26 23:42

    What's not to love when it comes to reading others NDE? As you read them you beautiful much imagine their wonderful experience as it allows you to experience it as well feeling awesome and looking forward to the most awesome Heaven and love that we do not experience here on earth...lucky them, they got to have a peak at it and share it with us all. =-)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Near Death Experience: NDE - The Life After Death Explained review []  2020-1-26 23:42

    I like the different ideas explored but I think having more actual NDE accounts would have created it a more fulfilling read. In particular I would have liked hearing from those willing to share the teachings they received. I am very interested in this topic and have read hundreds of NDE accounts so to me this is a amazing read for those just delving into this subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Near Death Experience: NDE - The Life After Death Explained review []  2020-1-26 23:42

    Gives hope for an afterlife

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This book was recommended to me by someone in 1975, which I read eagerly at the time. It was right after my maternal grandmother died, and the year Life After Life was a best seller. This was very comforting to me. There's no phoney hocus pocus, no exaggeration. The book is based on solid medical research. Latest month I ordered a copy for my mate who will soon lose a loved one. The ladies are amazing friends, aged in their 80s and 90s. They're next door neighbors in the wing in which I live, in a retirement building. I gave this book to the recipient, and she read half of the book at first sitting, reading all night. She has thanked me several times over, as she has derived much comfort from it. Now, she says, she has a fresh perspective on the inevitable change every human will eventually make. We should consider our "lost ones as "elsewhere," rather than dead. They aren't lost at all. I'm glad I read the book back in the mid 70s, and I am happy that this has comforted my friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This book helped me heal after my mothers death December 1st. I was a wreck with grief for 2 1/2 months. I had that 1% doubt in my mind that maybe, just maybe, there wasn't a Heaven after all. I started drinking (every day)! I was a mess!I read this in two days, and was "healed"! I felt so much better after reading it, that I gave it to someone else to read who was also grieving her fathers death.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    If you are interested to learn how the near-death experience is the put where science and spiritualism meet, don't waste your time on this boring, pop-psychology book. Turn instead to "Consciousness Beyond Life: The Science of the Near-Death Experience" by former cardiologist Dr. Pim Von Lommel. He provides fascinating accounts of the near-death experience provided by patients in his scientific, longitudinal study, but that is only the beginning. Take your time, use your brain, and learn how quantum physics, Carl Jung, and the near-death experience are all tangled up in each other. Leave "Life After Life" on the shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    First published in the late 1970s, I believe this book is still the best introduction to the phenomenon known as the "Near Death Experience" (NDE). Whether you're a believer, skeptic, agnostic, atheist, Christian, Buddhist, Jew, Wicca--makes no difference, since the experience has been documented to happen to anyone regardless of their cultural influences or upbringing. If you have heard the phrase "near death experience" but have only a vague notion of what this entails, I urge you to pick up this book and read it--if you hold an begin mind, it could change your life :)Simply put, the NDE may give us a preview of what happens to humans when we die. I first read this book around 1985 and found it both fascinating and enlightening. It is very straightforward and even-handed in it's reporting--without religious overtones from the author, although he does draw correlations between NDE's and their possible appearance in texts such as the Tibetan Book of the Dead, the Bible & Greek philosophy. At the time of publication, Dr. Moody had only investigated about 150 cases total--since then, as the technology to resuscitate patients has improved, thousands more have experienced the NDE. The book also made an begin dialogue about NDE's and a lot of more who had kept the experience secret (for fear of being ridiculed) have come forward with their story.If this book whet's your appetite for more on the topic (and much has been written about NDE's since) allow me recommend a few more titles for continued reading:The Light Beyond by Raymond Moody -- in my opinion, the best of his follow-up books on the subject.On Life After Death by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, M.D. -- One of the pioneers of NDE research & best known for defining "The 5 Stages of Grief & Dying." She & Moody were both studying NDE's at the same time without being aware of each other's e Tunnel and The Light by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, M.D. - Another collection of her writings & lectures on the topic of NDE'though there are a lot of more books on the topic (some by researchers, others by those who experienced an NDE firsthand) I always recommend these first as they are well-researched and, in my opinion, show the topic with the least amount of bias.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Perfect book that uses a structured methodology in building a solid case for the afterlife. If this book changes you - it can only be for the better. I'm hooked on the NDE subject now after hearing Moody's reasearch. It's providing a lot of answers for me to modern questions that arise in all aspects of faith. These accounts pair well with all faiths in the fact that "love" should be at the root of everything we do during our lifetimes. Read only if you are ready to be awakened to the truth beyond this physical realm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This book isn't proof of the after life. And I don't think that was Raymond Moody's intent was to offer irrefutable evidence of life after life, but for anyone who wants to hear stories from people who've had interesting experiences near death, they're told well in this book. As depressing as a book about death might seem, this book left me feeling positive and reignited my curiosity about the nature of our lives here. Maybe there is a life after life...But I found it strange that everyone's private experience was so pleasant. Seems like Raymond Moody is just telling us what we wish to hear. 'Now now there's no need to worry.. Death isn't so bad" is almost what it feels like. I know I've heard about death experiences that weren't so pleasant. Why did Raymond Moody exclude the more negative experience?Non the less, still a heartwarming and interesting book to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This is one of the most life-changing books I've ever read. If you read all the reviews you'll search Dr. Moody has endured a lot of negative press from those who feel threatened by his findings. Sad. He is positive and as unbiased as any researcher could be. He basically discusses evidence showing there may be life after death from the point of a news reporter reporting on a collection of interviews where there's a common thread. That's as unbiased as it gets.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Though overall liked the content, I still had so a lot of unanswered questions. I realize that I'm not going to obtain everything answered because no one dies and comes back. It just left me wanting more answers, unsettled! Also while the book being amazing there were a few sections that did not keep my attention. Having stated this I would still recommend it! There was definitely a degree of comfort even though it alternated with topics also expressing agitation and fear.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Years ago, my own aunt told me about a near death experience that she had as a child. As a effect of that experience, she never feared death. The private accounts in this book sound a lot like those of my aunt, who died several years is book was for me more of an interesting exploration into a mystery that humans will never solve. We like to think that we are so wise and that our science can explain everything, but the truth is, we will understand what God wants us to understand, see what He wants us to see and will never have all the answers unless or until He reveals them to us in His time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed "Near-Death Experiences" review []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This is one of the absolute best books ever about the afterlife! I know there are people who think those of us who have ever been to the afterlife are just crazy and were hallucinating, I know now that the afterlife is indeed real! I was actually able to prove this to my mother after I woke up from a coma caused by a ruptured brain aneurysm and a stroke and when I woke up was telling her things she swore that there was no method I could have known unless I had actually been to heaven. I am glad that I went there first because my mother passed away a week ago tomorrow and I have comfort because I know heaven is indeed real!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    One of the best works in the Star Battles franchise. Cam Kennedy's best artwork. Cool stories with twists. I love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Not bad! It's always nice to see Boba Fett in action!!!! It is also nice to see the Star Battles universe continue!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This comic info the machinations behind the courtship and marriage of Jabba's parents and the key part that Boba Fett played in it. A fun read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    For a man who maybe has a screen time of 15 mins and probably three lines of dialogue (at least, in the classic trilogy), Boba Fett has a cult following. So you knew that people would jump on telling his story, revealing his bounty hunter this graphic novel, a compilation of three prior comics, Boba Fett is requisitioned to work for Gorga the Hutt, who is trying to woo Anachro. First, Gorga hires Fett to nab Bar-Kooda, who has been oppressing Anachro's father. Then, Gorga hires Fett to return his kidnapped Anachro to him. Lastly, Gorga attemps to rid himself of though the romance of hermaphroditic Hutts (perhaps this was written before that was established in canon?) was a small squicky, I rather enjoyed the novel. I felt Fett was characterized rather well (maybe a small chatty, but really well). His intro, hunting the men on speeder bikes, was pure Fett. Also, I rather enjoyed the story, which is basically just how one Hutt gets married to his love (and how Anachro defies the Hutt stereotype). I liked seeing the interaction of Gorga to Anachro, and Gorga to his Father-in-Law, two scenarios not prevalent in Star Battles and certainly not from the Hutts' e artwork I felt lent itself well to the story. The coloring the same way, though it did grow tiring, all the colors seemed to be the same over and over again.Certainly not the most clever graphic novel ever made, "Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery" is an enjoyable yarn that will preoccupy your mind for a while and possibly obtain you to ought to you by*C.S. Light*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    With ok art but an endlessly silly story, this is the worst of the fett collections. Add that part of a few pages don't present up on my kindle, helps give it a low review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This book (for me) was fun to read, but at the same time it had a kind of dreary, black atmosphere. This isn't really a shortcoming, since it was meant to be there to give the book the kind of dreary "death, lies & treachery" feeling that its title suggested. This it did very well, especially with that dull colouring scheme that a lot of people here have complained about. For my part, I didn't mind it at all for I thought that it fitted exactly the atmosphere of the locations that this book went.Overall, this book is unusual compared to most Star Battles books. None of the characters can really be considered the "good guys" except for Magwit, who only appears in one part of the book and is not really a major character. Another reason that it's unusual is that it focuses on a completely various part of the Star Battles universe; the dark, unsafe outskirts. And the final reason is its atmosphere. "Death, Lies, & Treachery" really does describe both the book's storyline and the book's atmosphere. However, this book is still very enjoyable, and the few comic moments that there are are created much more enjoyable when you come to them straight from the serious atmosphere of the previous strip. Anyway, I gave this book a "4" instead of a "5" simply because of it's slightly depressing atmosphere. However, I think that while in the atmosphere that this story required, the book couldn't have been created much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I loved this book! I purchased it by accident after putting another one down (in a physical bookstore which shall remain nameless) and was afraid I would not like it -I'm not a Fett fan- but I was pleasantly surprised! The book has a plot around the action with Fett that is extremly amusing. The other characters are victim to all sorts of crazy convolutions of fate and private agenda, and Fett's indifference to anyone's issues but his own adds a tip of irony that makes this book positively delightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Most people don't think comic books aren't that good. I'm here to prove them wrong. I collect these books and this trade paperback is AWESOME!!! Boba Fett has been one of my all-time favorite characters. The comics in this book truly capture the darkness of this character. This is a must for all Boba Fett fans. The only thing I found wrong in this would be the art. It would have been better if the creators used the dynamic coloring that other comic artists do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This was a amazing graphic novel with the exception of the art. Reading it, I was under the impression that the only color available to the artist was green. Still, the story was amazing (not to mention interesting) concerning a Hutt getting married. Another con about the art is the fact that Bar-Kooda looks almost exactly like Ry-Kooda. Another downside to the story is the end. (SPOILERS AHEAD) The end is highly predictable, what with Boba riding off into the sunset with his mission complete.(SPOILERS END) This still gets 4 stars because, simply put, it's Boba Fett, and it's hard to ruin him. Reccommended to Fett fans only.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Boba Fett: Death, Lies, and Treachery (Star Wars: The Empire) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I can be beautiful forgiving where Star Battles is concerned. But the Boba Fett spotlight book "Death, Lies & Treachery" is just plain e art by Cam Kennedy is ugly, with monochromatic washes on a lot of pages that create it look like a child's paint-by-numbers book. You know the sort of thing I mean; small Timmy doesn't yet understand the correlation between numbers and colors, so he just paints the whole page green. Kennedy's work is like that.And the story by John Wagner isn't much better. It's a trilogy of sorts, all putting Fett at the beck and call of a Hutt even more loathsome than Jabba. His basic foe (or, rather, his basic foe and his basic foe's brother) is a caricature that one can't even start to take Tom Knapp, Rambles.(n e t) editor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    It's really difficult for me to adequately describe how unbelievable this book is. I had gone through severe emotional turmoil and searched for understanding and guidance for a year before I found "Life Lessons" As a consequence, I highlighted a lot of paragraphs and sentences in this book and reread some of them daily. When I finish with reading the book's highlighted areas, I begin over from the beginning again. This book was a lifesaver. It is absolutely non-judgmental, compassionate and inspires peace for the soul. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    When I went through the toughest break up of my life, I read this book on my ipad. I required to search out what lessons could be learned from all my pain and take a new look at my life to see if I was going in the direction that would cultivate highest self. Reading about life lessons yelled me begin to heal. I learned so much I bought it as a paperback and gave it to my newly ex-boyfriend so he could obtain the most out of our breakup as well and grow from it as I was starting to do. He was thankful and read it happily. We enjoyed a few conversations afterward about our are some of my favorite quotes:"On these journeys we may be given a lot, or just a small bit, of the things we must grapple with, but never more than we can handle. Someone who needs to learn about love may be married a lot of times, or never at all. One who must wrestle with the lesson of cash may be given none at all, or too much to count.""When we face the worst that can happen in any situation, we grow. When circumstances are at their worst, we can search our best.""You undoubtedly have faults, but they are not you. You maybe have a disease, but you are not your diagnosis. You may be rich, but you are not your credit rating... All these things are changeable. There is a part of you that is indefinable and changeless, that does not obtain lost or change with age, disease, or circumstances. There is an authenticity you were born with, have lived with, and will die with."This book teaches so much and I have read my highlighted versions over and over again. This is a book you either hold easily accessible or buy electronically so you have it everywhere you go.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    If you've read a few books by NDE peeps or Kubler-Ross' memoir, there isn't much fresh in this book as to what's necessary in life. I wanted more anecdotes from people who were dying and had lessons to share vs short lectures on topics I'm familiar with. I absolutely adored and was riveted by Kubler-Ross' memoir. Check that out. I might read it again.If you haven't read a lot of books by NDE's or Kubler-Ross or Brian Weiss, etc., then this might appeal to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    Elizabeth Kübler-Ross joins with David Kessler in their book "Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living" to tutorial us through life lessons and live fully in every moment."Life Lessons" is Elizabeth's eighteenth book. It's a unique bonus as it's the latest book she wrote before her death in 2004. She had a stroke on Mother's Day in 1995 that left her paralyzed and next to death's door for a lot of months. But she did not die. She says she's still learning the lessons of life. God is shrewd; her head was not affected by the strokes. She can't use her left leg and arm but she can talk and think. It's her final lesson. She must work on receiving, on learning to say thank you. To be nurtured rather than nurturing. Throughout her life, she gave and gave, but never learned to receive. She must learn patience and surrender.Elizabeth says each of us has a Mother Teresa and a Hitler. The Mother Teresa is the best in us and the Hitler is the worst in us. The goal in life is to search the best, obtain rid of the worst and be authentic by standing in our truth. Admitting we have the capacity to be inauthentic and carry negativity is essential so we can work on the issue and release it. It's not always simple to search out who we are authentically. The reality of the globe is that some relationships don't work out; there are supposed to be disagreements and disappointments.David says the grandest kind of perfection of who we are contains being honest about our dark side and imperfections. Elizabeth says the windstorms of life, makes us who we are. We are here to heal one another. Most of us spend a lot of energy keeping a lid on our unfinished business. We wish unconditional love. To be loved for who we are rather than what we do or don't do. However, when we feel unloved, it is not because we are not receiving love; it's because we are withholding love from ourselves and others. Love has to come from within. We can't solve all our loved ones issues but we can test to be there for working with the dying and the living it became clear to Elizabeth and David that most of us are challenged by the same lessons: authenticity, love, relationships, loss, power, guilt, time, fear, anger, play, patience, surrender, forgiveness and happiness. The fourteen chapters reveal the truth about theses topics, present we are place on the earth to learn the lessons, we are not alone and we are all connected. Also to watch love grow and to see how relationships enrich us.I attended one of Elizabeth's five-day Living, Dying and Transition workshop in the early 80s. It had a profound result on me and changed how I viewed the world. She showed us how everyone has the capacity to love others unconditionally and that it is our unfinished business that keeps us from doing so. In her workshop she made an environment where we were encouraged to express our damage and rage in an atmosphere of love and acceptance, so we could be done with it. Feelings were not talked about but felt. If sad, we cried; if angry, we were given a rubber hose and an old telephone book and told, "Have at it!" I was skeptical about what this outpouring of negativity would accomplish. Yet it worked. I was amazed how angry, depressed people transformed themselves into radiant, loving persons right before my eyes. I realized in this workshop that we are all connected and that our life stories are much the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    This is the first book written by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross that I read, and I am delighted with it. I enjoyed every bit of it. The book is also written by David Kessler, and both give us a attractive lecture about life. I honestly think that not a lot of of us search real joy in living and life itself. We torment ourselves with trivial everyday's items but miss the huge picture altogether. And if anyone understands what life is all about its the dying. They know there is no more time left to waste and they trully search peace and happiness in their lasting time here. Through lots of anecdotes with their patients they share with us they remind us how to handle loss,, anger, fear, etc. They also give us a amazing lesson in relationships, love, happiness, and forgiveness among other aspects of life. Basically life is the school and those are the lessons we are here to learn and master. And above all we should always strive to search happinness, which is never found in the outside globe or our circumstances, it's something that we can search within all the time. Definitely a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    Went to class David Kessler taught here in Sacramento and I found him very interesting and insightful. I'm very interested about mindful living and living simply and fully. Simple to read and understand sand very insightful. I have a few of is books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    I’ve never been much of a reader but someone I follow really likes this book and recommended it. Allow me say, I loved everything about! Simple, simple read for someone who isn’t a reader. Not only that but it’s so eye opening and inspirational! I think it’s totally worth buying it. For a “non reader” or a reader. This book is awesome overall. The notice this book has is eye opening.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    I read this book as part of a little group study. We all found it very readable and found a lot of things to discuss. Each chapter stands alone, so if you wanted you could just pick the subjects that appealed to you. I felt that it was written in language that anyone could understand and there were a lot of topics that were relevant to my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    Read when you’re young and re-read throughout your life. I have read and reread this book for the latest 30 years to remember we only have one life to live and one time to die with no regrets

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living review []  2020-1-22 22:22

    This book was an simple read, yet contained valuable info that we ALL need to consider. Face the reality that our time on this earth is limited. You need to decide what is the most necessary thing in your earthly life. We need to focus our limited time & energy on those things that are truly necessary & not worry about trivia. The authors clearly explain through others accounts that dying is not a thing to be feared. Dying is a part of the cycle of life. It is not the end, but a door to a various kind of life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    My recommendation is to either purchase this book in Kindle or Paperback format. The book is conversations between Dolores Cannon and Spirit. Dolores asks questions and Spirit answers these question. In the audible version, the narrator asks both the question and provides the answer. So it becomes difficult to follow "who is speaking": Dolores or Spirit. I therefore do not think this book lends itself to Audible. The info is fascinating, enlightening and powerful. Buy it in physical format instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    First time was a charm, and so I ventured into my second Dolores Cannon adventure after her rather mind-blowing CUSTODIANS work. As in the latter, this one was equally fluid through the pages and maintained a reader’s continuing interest until the end. However, where CUSTODIANS was to some degree conviction-rattling in a creepy way, BETWEEN DEATH & LIFE led well into all those afterlife matters and left it with, well, a sense of mundane or ordinary feedback (from Spirit).CANNON begins straight from the beginning by revealing the so-called Death Experience, and takes the reader along into the expected (e.g., Greeters, Various Levels, Guides, God, Satan, and the General Council), while also later shocking the reader with the unexpected (e.g., Imprinting, Walk-Ins), all of which presented in very understandable terms. I found myself reading along with my own questions, and as if on que, CANNON raises the same and I found myself thinking, ‘Thank You, e huge riddle, however, remains unanswered. This work is written in a question-and-answer style narrative between her and a number of Spirits providing the answers, which brought some monotony among the pages which struck me as odd. Odd, insofar as a dozens of Spirits (personalities) all provided the same identical tone and manner-of-speaking, nearly robotic, oftentimes at length. Whether edited for contrast or explanatory reasons, it somehow left this worthy read “subject to question.” As it had once been told to me by a member of the Newton Institute, regressions are never as read in books but often involve multiple sessions just to narrate a meaningful, single paragraph. Direct, unedited or collated, quotes would have created this a near masterpiece experience.Having said that, this read is still enjoyable with informational value, and I will continue venturing into her other works.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    This is an exceptional book giving us (here back on Earth), easy and logical answers to the questions we have always asked ourselves. Is Earth all there is? Where do we go when we die, what do we do when we obtain there and what do we do next? Who is God? How does Earth compare with other life in other solar systems. There are lots of answers in this book to a lot of of our questions. And even some answers we didn't know enough to ask the questions. When you finish reading this book, you will learn possibilities you never dreamed of.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    Eh Boy, I haven't stopped thinking about this book since I read it latest month. It's so much info about Afterlife, it's very difficult to wrap your head around it. I will probably read it again. I am very interested in this topic and hopefully, we will all benefit from "knowing" what happens so we can come together on this planet instead of the metimes Ms. Cannon is too repetitive in her questions and I understand why but it's annoying. I want she asked more pertinent questions that are not religion similar but I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    This is not the first book of its kind that I have read, but it does fall under the category of life changing, especially if you are one who believes in one life and that after you die you either go to heaven or hell (I think the Pope decided to obtain rid of the limbo/purgatory part of the belief system). I read an average of 65-70 books a year. At the time I was reading the works of Dolores Cannon, she had written fifteen books. I read all her books and I went to Arkansas to meet her in person. She looked really normal! Her books are entirely the the time you finish reading this book, you will be thinking that maybe there is more to life and life after death than we had been led to believe. This book is about reincarnation. It answered some private questions I had which I could not come to terms e book is truly life changing....and for the better. One thing it created me realize is that religiosity can severely dumb as down. One of our major religions used to run Inquisitions versus anyone delving into any sort of info not sanctioned by the church. That was severely limiting, and that was how that particular religion maintained its control over its flock......by keeping them IGNORANT. My use of the past tense does not mean it is no longer happening. The effects of the Inquisitions continue to reverberate throughout the centuries. I handed a mate an article about reincarnation and she exclaimed, "Oh, my god, what am I reading?!", and literally dropped the article I handed to her. She prides herself with being "conservative" which I invariably equate with "controlled" and/or "ignorant". Like I said, staying ignorant these days is a matter of choice. The info superhighway is now well within everyone's reach. I never impose my beliefs on anyone. I do test to share info which I deem too necessary to hold to myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    This was a very thought-provoking read. Very well organized and well-wriiten. If indeed this is true, which it presents as such, this certainly gives me a better perspective on life than what I've been taught. I actually feel a amazing relief after reading this book, and my life makes more sense than it ever has. It's like a amazing burden has been lifted from my entire being. I don't feel stuck anymore. I feel like I have a new-found purpose. As much as I read the Bible, I have always felt like I could never be "good enough," and usually feel like I'm basically worthless. But after reading this book, which covers a amazing amount of topics, I feel like I'm learning instead of being judged based on one possibility to obtain it right. I'll be thinking about this a lot. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    Audible was my first choice for this book, but the narration was too difficult to follow, so i returned it and bought the kindle version, as the same person was both asking and answering questions. i had fallen asleep and awakened tired and frustrated. it took but a couple of mins to realize why. it was so difficult to listen to and follow. they should have the Audible book re-narrated.well, Cannon appears to have fallen hook, line and sinker for everything about these regressions. some of them seem to be legitimate, while in others it sounds like fantasy could be involved on the part of the person being regressed. but in all cases, i believe in Cannon's goodness and sincerity of purpose.i'd like to think that a lot of what is presented in this book is true. having said this, it would be really hard to stumble onto awesome finds like Cannon did in **Jesus and the Essenes** and Weiss did in **Many Lives, A lot of Masters** yet manage to retain healthy skepticism going forward rather than accept info received as automatically and necessarily legitimate.i would definitely seek out Cannon were she still alive, as intrinsic goodness emanates from her spiritual journey. whatever is real about the legitimacy of the info she gathered...and it could be a high degree of accuracy, or not...her intentions were undoubtedly beyond reproach from when she began this journey until she died.[after writing this review, i found the following admission from the introduction of Cannon's latest published book, **The Find for Hidden Sacred Knowledge**: "... I no longer question the info I keep through my thousands and thousands of clients who come to me for therapy. I know beyond the shadow of a doubt that nothing is impossible in my work. ..." (for my part, i agree with the late Ms. Cannon that nothing is impossible; however, that is a moot point. once she decided to suspend healthy skepticism and believe everything without question, to assume Truth as a given, the floodgates were opened.)]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    I am always searching for answers. This is a very interesting book with some viewpoints I had not read before coming from channeled spirit . There is a lot of inconsistency with descriptions of the afterlife and the different levels of enlightenment, Christ, evil, satan, etc. It makes me question the level of enlightenment of some of the entities that were speaking to Dolores in trance. By the end of this book, I was beginning to wonder if some of the topics were indeed NOT in trance and we were hearing from conscious interviewees (people in the here and now) and not disincarnate spirits from between life since some of it seemed very dogmatic and tied to current beliefs of a lot of individuals. Essentially, it makes me wonder if some of Dolores' topics were faking. Not to discredit her, she was the hypnotist or regressionist; the interviewer and not the interviewee. The interviewees contradicted each other quite a bit. Personally, I prefer and always go back to Seth Speaks by Jane Roberts. This...Leaves you with questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    I have never felt right with any religions. Only bits and pieces felt truthful. I have memories. Of being before I was born. Vague they are, but they never totally erased from my memory. Some of the things I have read in this book I have been telling people for years. One of them being the effect of suicide. I have never had anybody give argument on that one. I believe it may have prevented some attempts. This book such a unbelievable read. Some of it I already believed to be true. This book answered more questions than I would have even thought of asking. This author is amazing. This book may not be for everyone. You must either already know some of it or PLEASE hold an begin mind. I believe the reasons for our existence are in this book. Thank you to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit: An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives, guardian angels and the death experience review []  2020-1-15 23:46

    A lot of things she said create sense and a lot just don't. I am a psychic medium and I have been researching the life and death and also read a lot of real facts for a while. I also study aliens and Gaia such as pleaidians and reptilians and soul recycling, 3D, 4th, 5th, 6th realms etc and the whole astral projection, etc. Overall, this author has very limited views from interviewing a few spirits from afterlife which I know for the fact that those informations are not all true. Overall, its not a poor read, but i would just take it at face value.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    Being a Stephen Curry fan, I have to say this book shows the side and background of Curry that most people take for granted and that most fans don't see. This book tells the story of Curry's life on and off of the court nicely. I believe that both a younger and older fan would be able to have fun reading about the life journey, struggles, and achievements of Steph Curry as he makes his method to the NBA and as an MVP of the Golden State Warriors. The book is in no method an simple nor difficult read. It is written in a method that is suitable for all types of audiences. It shows all aspects of Steph Curry's life from his adherence to family through thick and thin, his faith, and of course, his basketball career. This book really focuses in on Steph Curry himself apart from the method media shapes him and the method we perceive him on our tv screens.I would definitely recommend this book to any Golden State Fighters fan, Steph Curry fan, or even any fan of the NBA. No matter whether you are 10 years old or if you are 50, this book is a amazing read for anyone who wants to follow Steph Curry's progress as an NBA player and as a normal, daily human.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    I purchased this for my son and expected a quality product. It has Large print and the photos are stole from internet ry disappointed. Curry has nothing to do with this book. The cover is pixilated as wel to top it the back of the boom the author practically begs for Amazon not buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    I really enjoyed this book about Stephen Curry, it showed you who the true Steph is. You learned a small about his family background, his childhood, his early career in high school and college. Your learned how he is a family man who has been with his wife since he was fourteen years old and a man who strives to complete his goals. He knows he is not the best which is amazing because it proves hes not conceited, he knows that he always has something he has to improve on. This book was a amazing small starter book to learn more about Stephen Curry, I was a bit disappointed that it was so short because I wanted to hold reading on and on about him but it was all done. I read this book very quick and it is very short and simple to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a love of Steph Curry or of basketball. This book is also very inspiring for anyone who is looking to have a career in basketball and someone keeps telling them they cannot do it. That's what they said to Steph Curry and look at him now. I received this book at a discount for my honest and unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    Amazing info about Steph Curry and his background. My ten-year-old grandson really admires Steph Curry and I'm so glad that he chose Steph to admire. Steph is a Christian and he has worked so hard to obtain where he has gotten. You got to admire this three-point player! It's an simple read and very inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    I got this mainly because my 12 year old is really into sports and Stephan Curry is one of his favorite players, but he hates to read so I wasn't sure if he would like it or not. I am satisfied to say once I gave it to him to read he didn't stop till he was done. Not that this is a long book by any means but he never reads so it's a amazing begin at least. He said it was amazing and enjoyable to read.Disclosure: I was given the opportunity to purchase this product at a discounted rate in order to try and give an unbiased review. As a longtime customer of Amazon, I also depend on others' honest reviews for purchases. The discounted rate of a product will not have influence over my private opinion.I purchase lots of stuff through Amazon, some I obtain for free, some I obtain at a discounted rate, and some I pay full price. I will always disclose if I keep an item for free or a discounted rate. I do a lot of reviews so here is a break down on how I determine my star rating of a product:5 stars – I love it! It is amazing and I highly recommend everyone to purchase this product!4 stars – I like it, but there are some flaws. Don't we all have flaws? I would purchase again.3 stars - It was okay, but I would probably not buy it again unless there are no other options.2 stars – There may be worse products out there, but you can definitely search better choices.1 star – I dislike the product, I want I had not purchased it and recommend others to not purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    I have been a fan of Stephen Curry for a while now. I really enjoyed reading how much he had to overcome so a lot of obstacles to obtain to where he is at today. The story was written well and I'm sure any sports enthusiast would have fun the story. The chapters are short, so I was able to read a chapter or two at a time in my spare time and it is a kindle book, which I have on my phone so I can read where ever I go. Amazing book. Well worth the read.I received this at a discount in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    So I don't pay too much attention to basketball, but when it comes to the Bay Zone I must represent and love all the bay teams. A's, Giants, Raiders, Niners, Sharks and of corse GS eph Curry has had an AMAZING year and is a amazing player so I had to read this book. Since its on my kindle I can read it anytime. I'm about 1/4 into this book and cannot place it down. A must have for any GSW fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    My grandson loved it. He loves Stephen Curry so he'd love anything about him. He's six but I purchased so he and his dad could read and talk about it together. Which they did. Stephen Curry does have a amazing story to tell with a solid notice of "don't allow anyone tell you you can't achieve something" which never loses its power. By no means though are the graphics "stunning" so that was my huge disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    As a senior citizen I share my love of the Fighters and Stephen Curry with my granddaughter. I gave her this book so I decided to read it too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stephen Curry: Rise of the Star. The inspiring and interesting life story from a struggling young boy to become the legend. Life of Stephen Curry - one of the best basketball shooters in history. review []  2020-1-16 7:12

    I ordered this biography Stephen Curry Rise of The Star by John Emerson for my son. He is eleven years old and one of his favorite players is Stephen Curry. My son started reading this book book immediately! The book starts in his early childhood as he watched his father play professional ball. It continues through his high school years, explaining how he had to overcome some difficulties due to his e book covers the highlights of his college career and NBA career as well of course. Each chapter has a quote by Stephen Curry. There are also nice photographs throughout the book. Overall, this is a nice book for any young basketball fan, around 10 and up. Excellent for upper elementary through high school. I received this product for free in exchange for my unbiased and honest review. My opinion of this book is in no method affected by the author or seller of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life and Death Dilemma, The review []  2020-1-16 16:16

    This book is necessary because it gives a Biblical perspective to the topics of death and disabilities. Life is precious, and we need to equip ourselves with knowledge of life and death and disability issues. I'm very grateful for Joni and what she has to teach us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life and Death Dilemma, The review []  2020-1-16 16:16

    The subject is important to read about, but this book never gets very specific.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life and Death Dilemma, The review []  2020-1-16 16:16

    This is a Very amazing book. It Gives an encouraging solution to these deep issues that don't have simple answers, and it is written by a person that has been there.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter