Read the longing reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the longing reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Very thought provoking book but a bit too much dwelling private history. Caused me to do a lot of soul searching, which was profitable. Where is the home that your mind goes to at the mention of home?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    The BOOK was really words from the heart. A warm and gentle brief more on the life and longings of the man. Quite calming and involving a body to explore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Buechner is great, always. However, this book was not composed or organized well. It begins with the Longing for Home theme in a unbelievable way, then concludes with a series of devotional-type chapters that don't seem at all similar to the original theme. The Kindle ver has huge problems, because when I reached 49%, the book was done. I kept reading to search out what annotations could possibly take 51% of the text. Ends up, the book repeats itself, just starts right over again. So, it appears as double it's size. Strange. I hate it when a book I am enjoying reaches its textual conclusion before 50%! I count on that percentage sign!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the longing or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    As described. Amazing value. Fast Shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    The writing of this book is magnificent, particularly in the opening chapters where the author expresses his nostalgia and home sickness for his past youth and home. Being in my mid 70s and living thousands of miles from where I was born I could really relate to this. Further into the book where the author writes of his distant family and books he had read did not engage my senses so much as his earlier writing did, especially when he wrote in blank verse of people I could not search much interest in. I suspect the fault may be more mine than the author's but I would have preferred him to continue his private observations and refections on life and ageing as I found them more interesting and helpful to contemplate. I will revisit the book again and I am glad I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    I had a hard time following this book initially. It took more effort than it was worth. However, the rest of my book club all enjoyed it so, read it and see for yourself!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Having read several of Buechner's works and enjoyed them all (particularly the non-fiction) I would rank LONGING among my favorites. As in LISTENING TO YOUR LIFE (parts of which deal with the same experiences presented here)--as with most of Buechner's work, the author strikes a spiritual note that goes straight to the heart of what moves, troubles, uplifts, without sacrificing the intellectual on the altar of what some have rightly termed his "poetry." LONGING, as with so a lot of of the others, is a book that one keeps on the most accessible shelf to go back to and back to. It seems to have something to say to all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    This author is wonderful! His writing reveals truths about the human condition as he tells his own story. Poetic sentences throughout create me stop and reflect. Highly recommend. Check out his other books as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Less: Living with Minimalism []  2020-1-23 18:0

    I am not a minimalist and I don't even play one on TV. But ever since minimalism became a thing, I have been obsessed with the subject and its promises of meaning and Ig worthy aesthetics. I have read all the books that Chayka references in his very amazing book on this topic. But I am totally a voyeur. By which I mean I am also a large skeptic and when things that are somewhat common sense -- STOP BUYING SO MUCH **** BECAUSE IT'S RUINING THE PLANET AND YOUR LIFE -- become an internet cult and Reddit forum, I think the subject is oversold and everyone is susceptible and dumb. But I will admit that I think about every purchase, am obsessed with clean, empty zone and buy a lot less than I used to. BUT DON'T CALL ME A MINIMALIST, DARN le Chayka is a very gifted writer, and not just because he weaves together a lot of threads -- blending subjects and themes together that might seem disparate -- in a completely organic, thought-provoking way; it's also because his sense of humor is subtly on every page -- by which I mean his acerbic wit. This book was a lot more fun/ny to read than I expected.I also think this book has broader appeal than those like myself who search the minimalist movement compelling / addictive / gross / fascinating. Also, this book is a thousand times more interesting and well-written than the books on minimalism that inspired it (understatement).tldr: Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Buechner who is an advocate of biography as theology - uses experiences from his life to address an essential longing for finding our method "home". His honesty and clarity of thought captures the reader so that one begins to experience Buechner's life and story and can easily relate his longings to what I understand is an essential longing that we all have to search our method home. Home can be that put that we remember having,wishing that we had, or perhaps the desire for heaven.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing for Home: Reflections at Midlife [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Classic Frederick Buechner, delightfully written and filled with wisdom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    After reading and loving, "The Dirty Life," and a few others in a related vein, I bought this book for vacation reading. I help eating locally-grown meal as much as possible and the whole idea of self sufficiency, even though I'm a dedicated city dweller.Wanting to own a farm was not on my mind when I was Jenna Woginrich's age, and I think that is why I found her story so fascinating. She managed to persuade me, oh I think about a third of the method through, that I wanted a farm, too. How she gets her farm - her setbacks and triumphs - really makes for a amazing story. The author writes in a very straightforward, no frills method that I found appealing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    When I read Jenna Woginrich's latest book I was impressed with the method this 20 something goes out and gets what she wants instead of just dreaming about it the method most of us do. Barnheart continues the story of her journey as she skills up, makes the hard decisions, and learns the hard lessons while actually going out there and living the life she desires. Her voice is truthful and frank without ever being preachy. She shares her failures with the same unvarnished honesty she uses to recount her successes, and never lets herself off the hook when she errs. I search Woginrich very inspirational, and will rely on her example as I belatedly obtain off my tush and start my own Barnheart style journey at age this if you could use an example of courage, steadfastness, and willingness to place in some hard damn work or if there is any kind of life change you are putting off because of self doubt or nervousness. This book is just the right kick in the pants you need to support you obtain started, whatever it is you long to do.I am very much looking forward to seeing where Woginrich goes next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    Jenna Woginrich has written a lovely, pleasant, and simple to love book about her journey from aspiring homesteader to farmette owner. Her writing is endearing and extremely honest and she makes me wish to test homesteading for myself even though I haven't a clue how to obtain started. I applaud Jenna for sharing her very true experience of following her homesteading dream and, after reading this book, I wish to know what she did next. This book won't change the world, but you will create you smile and cheer for Jenna as she realizes her dream.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    Awesome feelings drawn out sometimes with words I didnt quite understand, but the magic is there regardless. I imagine translation from language to language some things can be lost, but I believe the intent and feelings have remained here. I was moved in so a lot of ways, but in the end, always towards Love. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for the Bomb: Oak Ridge and Atomic Nostalgia []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Amazing job on the historical aspects. Sort of dry and sometimes confusing when trying to create the connection with nostalgia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    I really enjoyed this read, and I learned so much about Luther I didn't know. I just want he had been able to have fun his success more. If the book is accurate, his largest dream was to have a number one pop chart hit. His dream was finally realized, but by then he had had a stroke and was not even able to attend the Grammy's to keep his award. There were a lot of interesting stories and revelations in the book. At one point in college he told people Dionne Warwick was his sister. He was that infatuated with her singing style. He idolized Aretha Franklin. They also had a major fight. He also had bitter disagreements with Anita Baker, but toward the end of his life he had rekindled those relationships. David Bowie gave him his first major break. He was popular for doing countless commercial jingles and created a ton of cash doing so. He used meal like a and his up and down weight loss fueled rumors that he had contacted AIDS a lot of times. He lost all his siblings to Diabetes. His father as well and his mother after his death. I thank God for giving us Luther and the melody he has left behind. I want he could have found the love he so longed for. I believe in death he found the ultimate love in the hands of the Creator.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    As the ultimate Luther fan, I bought this book in hardback when it was first published. Seeing that it was revised and "expanded" I bought it again for my e-reader. Want I hadn't. There is nothing fresh here. Just spectulation and a lot of innuendos. What was the point of having it revealed that Mr. Vandross told a mate he was in the life? If he was deeply closeted and wished to stay there, why test to out him in his death? I search this ver of the book very disrespectful to his memory. So what if he was demanding and a perfectionist. He left a amazing body of work behind. It was his artistic vision he wanted others to see and share in. I took from the book he went through a lot of private pain. A shame he could never search the joy he brought to so many. This ver states on his Christmas album it included The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Begin Fire). This was not on This is Christmas album. This was on the album A Unique Christmas 2 with several other artists. The song was produced by Quincy Jones. Came out years before Luther's 1995 Christmas album. Minor detail, but should have been checked just the same. Want Mr. Craig Seymour would e-mail me would love to talk to him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    I thought she had it and she told me she did not and that she is REALLY enjoying it - learning things about him she never knew - this from an ARDENT fan of his. So I guess I would recommend it - just by dint of second-hand knowledge - but I do believe what my sister tells me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for the Bomb: Oak Ridge and Atomic Nostalgia []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Amazing read. Informative of things the method they were in Oak Ridge during the Manhattan Project and after. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for the Bomb: Oak Ridge and Atomic Nostalgia []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Longing for the Bomb is a breezy history of atomic-era Oak Ridge. Written in an overly cute style, it's not always clear what the author means in her willful mixture of metaphor. Some of the stories are good, while others don't create a lot of sense or seem to fit. She misquotes Oppenheimer and doesn't give the context to explain much of what she refers to. It's not really an academic book even though it's published by a respectable university press. It's an insider's book. If the topic has meaning for you -- the more personal, the better -- you will probably appreciate the author's attempts at cuteness. Otherwise, maybe not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    It was the title of this book that attracted me. Very soon, though, I was engaged in the story of Jenna, her dogs, hens, sheep and turkey. I have a black thumb, but this book has created me consider trying to grow things again. I urge any reader who wants to have that "slip inside the narrator's skin" kind of reading voyage to read this book. I felt for the narrator for a lot of reasons; dogged by poor credit scores, misunderstood by crazy neighbors, we've all been there at one time or another. What a unbelievable tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    I as with a lot of other fans lost more than a singer when Luther passed away latest year. Luther's songs touched the very core of me during the days I was trapped in a loveless marriage; he seemed to know very intimately what I was experiencing and seemed to express those very words so meticulously in his verses. It wasn't until I read this book that I could even start to know why. His own tragic and lonely find for love ironically proved to be a blessing to the globe in providing the a lot of cherished loved songs that will play on forever.If you are a real Luther fan this is a MUST read. You will start to understand and search the parallels of his works with his private life and his haunting weight struggles. A real professional, Luther never delivered less than perfection in his melody and it was through his pain that his fans were able to look beyond love. I am looking forward to a followup to this book. : )

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    I recommend this book to everyone. Rumi's poems offer a look at Iranian culture that we rarely see. What is necessary to remember is that Rumi was a poet, a spiritualist, a sufi and a devout and well-schooled Sunni Muslim. He was never divorced from his religion and we do him a disservice when we test to pretend that his spiritual quest is various from the formal teachings of his religion. His is a notice of Love; his poems are a bonus to all, no matter whether we embrace a formal religion or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    Rumi poetry is insightful, and thoughtful provoking. It makes me turn inward and contemplate. Amazing layout of the poems with pretext at the beginning of each chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    Rumi poems are often magic, but the method the e-book it place together makes them difficult to read. This is a very limited collection. Far better to buy a larger collection in print.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    This seemed like too much about the author/translator and not then bough Rumi. Will hold at it with other translations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    It was a marvelous book that portrayed his life vividly. I found his story to be saddening but full of hope. I recommend this book to who ever is interested in his life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    A lot of insight into a man whom I watch on YouTube all the time. I saw that millions of dollars couldn't create him satisfied without his own love and self acceptance. No closet is dark enough or deep enough to hide you from your own truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    I already have Jenna's earlier book "Made from Scratch," which I thoroughly enjoyed. Jenna's writing style is clever, humorous, and a joy to read. Reading "Barnheart" I felt like I finally found another person who wanted what I want. I like to think of myself as a future farmer. I have always felt like I was alone in dreaming about buying land, working with animals, and living off the land as much as possible. But reading about her experiences has created me realize I am not the only one and that with time it is possible. If you also wish to live in the country or at least have some farm animals running around your back yard I would recommend this book. I will be buying any future books she writes. I hope you have fun them like I have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for the Bomb: Oak Ridge and Atomic Nostalgia []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Lindsey A. Freeman's book is a pleasure to read because she is an extraordinarily gifted writer, who is able to show sociological ysis with unusual eloquence. Her acc of the complexities of the history and politics of the Manhattan Project are enhanced by her sensitive acc of the human level of the Americans who created it possible to achieve the near impossible. Some of those participants were her own family members! At the same time, she is candid in her acc of the imperfection of politics as the "art of the possible" and the limits under which a democracy ing this book provides an enriching experience for the show generation. I'm certain that few would believe it possible to imagine an American government which could enact policies that would now be considered totally utopian: free medical care, public transportation, housing, in a full-employment economy, and with no complaints, and that was only the beginning. Yet at the same time, this utopia systematically incorporated the ethos of the "American Dilemma" - racial segregation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    I first read this book when it first came out, not toolong after Luther's tragic ther was a real talent and he had to overcome somany obstacles: his weight fluctuations, anxietal-depressiveeating, the fact that he wasn't a conventionally handsome manby entertainment industry standards, as well as his own personalinner turmoil. But he did it with the sheer power, beauty,and penetrative quality of his god-gifted voice that cutthrough everything that lay in it's path!Luther Vandross's voice stands alongside all the soulfulgreats of the past: Sam Cooke, Jackie Wilson, Marvin e, etc.,and his musical legacy will never be forgotten.He grew up in NYC, in the projects, in a house filled with love.He absolutely lived for amazing melody and amazing food!--Both being very comforting to his shy and introverted nature!He lived for Dionne Warwick, Diana Ross & The Supremes,Patti Labelle & The Bluebelles, as well as all of theother musical greats of the 60's and 70's!Music was his life's design from an early age, and he madeit happen through the sheer force of his will & talent!I think this author gives a amazing inner and outer portraitof Luther..his amazing points, his poor points, his fears &anxieties, etc. I have always felt that he struggled withhis ity as far as being able to be begin about it andcomfortable with it outside of his trusted inner circle.His fears were well founded, given the homophobia and stigmaabout homoity within the black community.His melody was, after all, the melody of love and manya woman swooned over his voice as well as manyhetero couples who fell in love, got married, playedthe break up/makeup game, and created babies all with his musicas the soothing so, add to this, the generation that Luther was apart of,who thought that one's ity was something that wasshameful and should be kept under wraps.I can understand that Luther, after so a lot of years ofstruggling to create it, didn't wish to jeapordize hiscareer in anyway! As far as I'm concerned, I would'veloved Luther and bought his albums no matter what!He was simply, the truth!So I don't begrudge his decision to neither deny norconfirm his ity out in the open. (Who Cares!)I loved all the amazing stories of Luther on the street withDavid Bowie, Bette Midler, Roberta Flack and others as herose up from nothing to become one of NYC's bestsession/back-up/jingle vocalists and learned much aboutthe behind the scenes inner workings of the melody industry,which would serve him all too well later on in his careerwhen he would score platinum and double platinumover and over again! (-:If he lived for Diana, Patti, Gladys and Dionne...he absolutely burned incense and created offerings at the alterof one Ms. ARETHA FRANKLIN!!He called himself an "ARETHACOLOGIST", and swooned overher every nuance and vocal flourish!--Dreaming of the daywhen he would obtain to work with her and all of his other idols...and boy, did he create it happen!This book starts at the point of his debiliating stroke,which, followed by a sudden heart attack, silenced hisgreat voice forever on July 1, en it travels back throughout his awesome journey filledwith love, laughter, pain, struggle, divatude, and allthe amazing things that create up a amazing biography!Kudos again to the author, and I would tell anybody to buy this book!Rest In Peace Luther Vandross!! (April 20th, 1951 - July 1st, 2005)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    A very revealing look into Luther's life. It seemed as though Luther was telling his own story. So a lot of revelations and information----juicy is an understatement!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    Whenever I read Coleman Barks, I remind myself that I'm reading more Coleman Barks than actual Rumi. Other, truer translations of Rumi are not at all like Mr. Barks' bite-sized pieces of excellent English imagery.Taken for what it is, Coleman Barks' Rumi is a transporting and profound experience. Its beauty has brought me to tears at times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    This is an awesome book of Rumi's work. The translation is spot on and clearly presented in an simple to read structure. One of my favorites for sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    Jalaluddin Rumi is an Aghgan-Persian Sufi mystic and poet of the 12th century who produced, among others, the Book of Love, an awesome book of love e Book of Love is one of those books that everybody should read at least once in a lifetime. It is full of depth about the human soul, the real essence of our humanity disregarding origin, and, most importantly, about the nature of mi talks about divine love, mystic love, romantic and erotic love, and mates love with candidness, cheekiness, sense of humour, and amazing metimes the poems can be read in a mystic or romantic way. The poems are so new and modern that one wows at the fact that a Muslim mystic wrote them a lot of centuries ago. Even if you are not into Poetry, which is my case, the poems are still simple to read, enjoyable and is edition as a preface and introductory study, and each of the fifteen groups of poems have also a small commentary to contextualise them and the theme they revolve around. I don't know Arabic, but the translation seems correct and it is simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    I just got done reading Barnheart and loved every word. This isn't just for other people dreaming about owning a farm. This is a memoir that is just really a amazing read and for anyone interested in reading about other peoples lives. I felt like I was right there with her. What a brave young lady to take all this on and give it a test to live her dream. Amazing for you, Jenna. I couldn't place the book down. I rarely comment on the tons of books I read throughout the year unless they really move me. This one did. I will order her other book and pre-order the one coming out in 2014.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    God forbid I should test to judge anyone's translation of anything from ancient Persion. Reading Rumi can be a transcendant spiritual experience. Coleman Barks gets mysticism. I love reading and rereading these poems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rumi: The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing []  2020-1-22 19:7

    Rumi is one of the world's most popular poets, and his poetry is truly treasured across continents and cultures. This translation is a amazing one for American audience with a dozens of differing religious views. One may read Rumi's poems as one's yearning to return to the divine or simply interpret it as the heart's yearning for one's real love. It's moving, simple, spiritual but not dogmatic and heartfelt imagery. I have fun reading various interpretations of Rumi's work because his Sufi philosophy must be understood by the translator and from that private understanding one translate them into different languages. As such we too as the readers can understand the poem and translate it into our hearts. Thoroughly enjoyed the book, recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    I enjoyed this book a lot. I have a case of "barnheart" myself, although I'm not sure my health will ever let me to actually fulfill it (even if I could afford to). But- that's why I love reading accounts written by people who DO do it- and who knows? When I first read Sue Hubbel's book about beekeeping, we didn't figure we could do that, and now we have 3 hives!Now- this is not in any method a how-to manual. It's fairly scanty on a lot of of the details, like- how huge is the chicken coop? for how a lot of chickens etc.? If that's what you're looking for, this is not the book you ever, if you are longing for, or even thinking about, a little homestead- this is a thoughtful yet mostly light-hearted, inspirational book that is a quick and entertaining read. It even has a satisfied ending!I loved the author's voice in it- chatty, and at least as wry about herself as about anything else. She discusses her poor times and failures intelligently and without self-pity, but doesn't gloss over them either.I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 mostly because it is very short; I read it in one morning, among doing other things. However, for what it is, that's a beautiful decent length.I'd recommend it to those of us with "barnheart" who are living vicariously!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    Amazing voice for the most part and how she arrives at her own farm is a amazing story. I wasn't crazy about the politics being thrown in. Extreme at times and off-putting. Like people shouldn't have a right to have property if they don't place it to the use she does. And it should be taken from them. But otherwise, loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    This is an inspiring memoir by a talented and energetic young writer/farmer/blogger. I bought this copy as a bonus for a young mate who has a lot of talent for whatever life she chooses. Jenna W. describes her particular malady as Barnheart - a need to have her own farm. She goes on to diary her journey toward that goal while keeping her day job. Her honesty about the trials, successes, and failures she takes on is heart warming and revealing of a young generation who exhibits hope and positivity for a wholesome future. It's a fun read taking the reader enthusiastically into its story. One wants to stay in that life which may be done reading the blogs. I can't wait for the next book carrying on from where this one leaves off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barnheart: The Incurable Longing for a Farm of One's Own []  2020-1-25 2:47

    Such a gem. If this is the direction your trying to go in life it’s just the thing to give you hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    Luther Vandross who a lot of consider to be the best male vocalist of his generation is given the womb to the tomb treatment in this finely written book by Craig Seymour. Any Luther Vandross fan knows how guarded he was about his personal life. The author does a amazing job of contextualizing Luther's life story, from his struggles with his weight, his rise to superstardom, his unsuccessful quest to search the kind of love that he sang about in his songs for himself, to his untimely death. This book is an simple read that die hard Luther fans will love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross []  2020-1-17 22:53

    I am not impressed with some of the "diva-like" behavior of Luther, but, I had no idea of the contributions he created to music, from his jingles, background singing and the passion that he wanted to express in his t a lot of people obtain to develop close friendships with their idols. He did. Bless you Luther. I plan to listen to your songs with a various ear, now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    Absolute delight. Loved every min of this. I highly recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    Reads like it was written by a 12 year old. Trite, childish, boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    I loved Danilo and Sofia’s story!!Fragile Longing is a coming of age, arrange marriage mafia romance. However, it doesn’t go into amazing detail with violence that you’d normally expect with a mob romance, it focuses more on their traditional lifestyle and is story starts off slow but Sofia is coming of age so that’s to be expected. Once she marries Danilo the story picks up beautiful quickly.I was a small unsure about what to expect from these two but was extremely happy by the outcome. They both war their pride, insecurities, and at times a hopeless sense of responsibility. That makes their HEA all the sweeter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    This book was everything and more! Sofia and Danilo’s relationship was intense and frustrating. This book is a most read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    This is a unbelievable summer read by Jamie Brenner about family, mates and healing. It’s a five star beach book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    Jamie Brenner books are a amazing method to begin the summer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    From the moment Sofia and Danilo were paired together, I knew this book was going to destroy me. But what I didn't expect was how much hurt Sofia did to herself. Cora expressed how much self-love is necessary with Sofia's hero and I about cried my heart out for the girl. All her life she was pushed to the side of her family because of the shadow she lived by her older sister. Even though this book can be read as a standalone, I did recommend you to read Twisted Pride.Danilo, the young Underboss of Indianapolis is a risky enigma to the world, who carefully conceals his soft heart and gentle manner. There are a lot of layers to him and once they unveil it is difficult to keep resentment towards his behavior. Just like every other created man, Danilo has to hide his real nature from the world. In public, he is cold and mad but behind closed doors, he is gentle and kind to those close to W, I did not expect Danilo to be the method he was in the sheets...WOW! Sofia is one lucky young lady and Danilo is one lucky me characters from the previous book due create cameos in her but you also obtain introduced to upcoming characters who (fingers crossed!) may have a book coming in the near future!Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book just like any book by this awesome writer. Danilo and Sofia's story was magnificent and enjoyable from page one to the last. This book is filled with hurt, comedy, angst, and overall romance!Cora really is amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    I'm not a girl of a lot of words. I will say that I enjoyed this book. It was small various in my opinion to some of her other books, maybe a bit softer. Which is not a poor thing. I love how powerful Sofia was and how we got to see the more of Danilo side. I definitely recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    ​I have never been to Provincetown, but I feel like I have after reading this book. Obtain caught up in a dramatic chain of happenings in a moving story that has elements of bygone love, love that will be tested, fresh love, and the love of a child. Add some secrets and plans gone awry and you have the fabulous makings of a book that will take you away. This is Jamie Brenner’s novel SUMMER th has plans. Not just for the summer but for the rest of her life. Set to retire in the beachside community of Provincetown, she is about to turn the keys to a dreamy rental cottage just as summer is about to start so that she can look for a permanent home. She sold her business after a prosperous career. She is unenbered. No husband. Estranged from her only child. No schedule. This is what freedom feels like. Until a baby is abandoned on her e owners of the house, Elise and Fern, moved out to focus their energy on their recent project, a tea . Just in time for the bustling summer season. The put oozes charm and it seems a cup of soothing tea is just what locals and visitors alike need especially served by the town’s resident loving e Barros are a fourth generation Provincetown family whose roots are as deep as the oysters they harvest. Their daughter Jaci is returning from college for the summer and giving the family some serious push-back about re-joining the family business, much to their chagrin.Long-time resident and owner of the local inn, Amelia, grounds everyone, offering a put of respite, exquisite dinner parties, and artistic inspiration. Often adding unofficial city therapist to her list of anwhile, back in Manhattan, Olivia is struggling with a latest breakup and fighting to maintain her status at a social media management company where she was close to the top. Or so she thought. To say nothing of the strained relationship she feels she has suffered for most of her life as Ruth’s nd out how these women cross paths, in this little town, rich with life, love and home.Jamie Brenner’s writing is synonymous with summer. So, kick off the season properly with her newest book. She will leave you longing to package your beach bag.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    It was nothing special

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    Beautifully addictive book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    I saw it was released early and I worked my butt off so I could log off and cuddle up with this hotly anticipated book, and I was not disappointed!!!While a few reviews mentioned Sofia wanted to be a copy of Serafina, I didn’t feel like that was always the case. Maybe in the beginning, as she tried to navigate her feelings but as she matured, she certainly came into her own and developed her own personality.Danilo was sweeter than I expected him to be. And very patient with her, which I could appreciate given the age difference and obstacles they had to overcome. I did [email protected]#$%! was a small steamier a small sooner - would definitely classify this one as a slow burn! 🔥Overall, I was so satisfied to read this and Cora did a amazing job with this oryline: ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️H/h chemistry: ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️Heat factor: 🔥🔥🔥

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    Cora Reilly has done it again with Fragile Longing, unbelievable story of Danilo and Sofia. I cannot wait to read Samuel and Emma's story next and loved the glimpse we got of Seraphina and ve this 10 stars if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    Wow, I am quickly becoming a large Jamie Brenner fan. This is my second book of hers to read and both were fabulous. Every time I went to read I felt like I was stepping into this quaint small beach town. Multiple story lines kept things interesting. There was the middle aged woman who rented a summer home at the beach and her trendy daughter has her own story going as well. All very interesting characters in this book - a group of mates anyone would love to have. Add a mystery and it just cannot be place down. I was sad when it ended and will definitely go back and search more books by this author to read. Drawing Home is another unbelievable summer read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    Ruth Cooperman has worked hard for what she has. A successful cosmetics company and plenty of money. But it has come at a high cost. Her daughter, Olivia, and her ex-husband she is ready to start a fresh chapter in her life. And what better put than Provincetown? Where she and Ben met and fell in love. Unable to search a home to purchase, she is renting Fern and Elise’s home for the summer. They are satisfied to rent it our for the summer and live over their fresh Tea .When Ruth opens the door one morning she finds a baby. A very fresh baby in a carrier on the front porch!When Elise and Fern take the baby no one could have expected how a group of women would bond over such a little is is a attractive story of love, loss, redemption, and women raising up and caring for each is is your summer read. But create sure you wear sunglasses because trust me, you are going to sob more than once. And laugh as well. I am so in love with this group of women and Provincetown. Oh, yes, this one touched my Galley/ May 5th, 2020 by Little, Brown, and Company

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    Maybe spoilers...Well. Surprisingly enough, I didn’t HATE it. Which was odd, right? Seeing how the theme was unrequited love and Sofia being the “consolation prize” and what not. We all know from previous book, Sofia has been angry crushing on Danilo since yay high. And he happened to be her sister’s ex-fiancée. Add in the factor that I really didn’t look forward to another Savio 2.0. The guy was just utterly repulsive to me. So I went in with lower expectations though still wanting a HEA for this couple. I required to be convinced Sofia wasn’t second best. And that Danilo truly loves her. That it wasn’t just out of duty, pity or e first half of the book was agonizing, painstakingly slow. And entirely too much focus on Sofia’s younger years. Her naiveté and her seeking out Danilo whereabouts. Checking up on who’s he dating or sleeping with. Even at age 15, 16, her crush never quite went away. Instead it morphed into an unhealthy obsession. Her complete infatuation and pining for Danilo despite years spent apart and him screwing all the blondes he can. (In his head, this was a FU to Serafina. He was punishing her this way). And though it irked me, I was more aggravated with Sofia. She never grew out of her love-sick fascination with Danilo. And her constantly comparing herself to Serafina was tiresome. She truly was her own worst enemy."He’d wanted Fina, had chosen her, and now he was left with me instead."Always less. Never enough. ""Serafina had been close to excellent in people’s eyes when she was still around, but now that she was nothing but a fading memory, her absence amplified all that she had been. She’d become larger than life."Trust me, this went on for while. It was really frustrating because I was waiting her Sofia to emerge as a [email protected]#$% heroine. I wanted her to develop into a powerful woman who didn’t need a man to validate her worth. Now Danilo. I wanted to hate his guts more for how he behaved and his transgressions. I did. He @#$%ed me off with his early disregard of Sofia. And all the womanizing while engaged to her.“You weren’t supposed to be at a party, Sofia. We weren’t married yet, so I was still well within my rights to do as I please.”"I’d been effing blonde girl after blonde girl for years, as if I could eff her out of my system. It never worked. Any reprieve I felt system. It never worked. Any reprieve I felt was short-lived before my anger burned only brighter."BUT, he wasn’t a completely immoral, unredeemable a-hole to me. I didn’t search him maliciously cruel and hell bent on making Sofia miserable. He just never noticed her. She was just a child when promised to him. After the whole fiasco, of the broken engagement, Danilo only thirsted for revenge. He felt nothing beyond his blind rage. He wanted vengeance and couldn’t see Sofia as anything but a political arrangement. A stand in“Remo had taken Serafina from me, had stolen her innocence and her heart. I’d lost my fiancée—my future wife—when Remo had kidnapped her and had gotten Sofia as a replacement.”In the end, he realized how wrong he was and that it' Sofia he really wants. He was sorry for his treatment and expressed his remorse. And he was kinder and took gentle care of Sofia. I believe in his sincerity and that he grew to love and appreciate Sofia on her own merit. He was determined to change his ways. No more screwing OW. He wanted to earn her forgiveness for what he wrecked with his past misdeeds.“I’d sinned versus my own wife, someone I was supposed to protect from the day of our engagement. Instead, I’d run with my pride and bathed in self-loathing, hurting her in the process. That she was still willing to let tenderness for me showed how kind-hearted she was."“I allowed myself to take Sofia in, to see her for what she was: a gorgeous young woman. Not a consolation prize, not Serafina’s sister. And damn it, Sofia was stunning. She met my eyes, and I hoped she could see that from this day forward, I’d do my best to create her forget our painful encounter and all my other eff-ups.”Danilo growled. “Of course. I love you. I can’t bear the thought that something might happen to you because I’m not there to protect you. Serafina and Emma got damage when I was away, and it almost broke me, but with you . . . with you, I don’t think I could actually live with myself. You are my life, Sofia. Don’t ever risk your health or life again.”Theirs wasn’t a excellent love. Far from it. I wished it was more epic and had more fireworks but it worked for them. I didn’t search myself wanting to rip Danilo's balls out or damn his soul to hades like other Heroes. I could have done with less of Sofia’s musings and feelings of inadequacies throughout the book though. But she got the love she wanted. I didn’t feel she was second best. Danilo assured her of his love. The epilogue was nice. So amazing to see them expand their family. The Remo & Serafina cameo was definitely a bonus. And I know this will be years later but…man… I love Greta & Nevio. Can’t wait for their books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    Cora Reilly does it again!! Absolutely wonderful, entertaining book that gives you all the emotions. I absolutely love this globe she made and you love mafia books this book and this series are for you. This can be a stand alone without reading the entire series but you won’t be disappointed if you read the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Longing []  2020-7-26 23:29

    This book was fine- entertaining enough. But, I couldn’t believe how unrealistic the “fern having the embryos implanted” storyline was. Either the author should have k ow, or she should have done some research- you can’t just decide one day that you wish embryos implanted, go to the dr, and do it- That takes weeks and weeks and weeks and weeks of appointments, medications, shots- etc. I thought that was a huge miss in terms of a situation that could even plausibly take place, and it sort of ruined the story for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    No one writes mafia like Cora Reilly- the longing, the tension, the instalove angst with lots of the forbidden and danger. I love her books, and this story I have been craving method back since Twisted Pride- I wanted to know what happened to the jilted fiance and the replacement bride, and now we obtain their story. It wasn’t at all what I thought it would be, but turns out it was just the story Sofia and Danilo st of us know the backstory- this is the story of two people trying to move on with a looming ghost- the ghost of Serfina, who is alive and well but removed entirely from their lives, and that forever changes their paths. Sofia is to replace her sister as Danilo’s fiance-a man a decade older who is hung up on her sister, a man with wounded pride. Sofia is overjoyed- she’s always secretly loved him. To Danilo, Sofia is a child- he can’t visualize that relationship, and he also can’t bear to think about anything that reminds him of Serafina - so while he accepts his duty, he distances himself from his kid bride. In their prolonged engagement as Sofia ages, she suffers- she longs for the attention of her fiance, but she knows she is just the replacement, the not-good-enough consolation prize, because everyone wants Serafina- even her family never notices her because of the hole Serfina has left. And she also discovers a amazing and painful truth- Danilo is not the prince charming she always imagined- he’s ruthless, cunning, a predator.While this falls into the same tropes that we all know and love Cora for- mafia, arranged marriage, age gap- this book is decidedly various than some of her others. The plot is much slower, more leisurely- mafia danger really takes a backseat. And Cora gives us a very prolonged exposition- this book really reads like a duet. In fact, at first I thought it was a bit slow- I wasn’t sure where it was going. We spend A LOT of time with these two pre-marriage, at different phases of Sofia’s maturation. Almost half the book is there- and then things escalate REALLY quickly, and the slow and gradual emotional center crescendos into an explosion. And the more I thought about it (see late in the review) the more this pacing created sense- these characters are trying to remove the chains of their perceptions of Serafina, and we have to know them first. But man, my heart HURTS- Sofia’s story just ripped me up, this girl goes through so much emotional pain, but her heart stays so pure and loving.I LOVED Sofia- she may be one of my all time favorite Cora heroines. She’s got the right amount of spunk and sass, but she’s not obstinate or difficult. You can really see the impact of growing up in a loving family - because she’s comfortable in her life, she’s joyful and fun and surprisingly bold. Sure, she’s naive, very much so since she’s so young when this story begins, but she has an emotional center that is mature and stable, a loving and patient heart. And she isn’t resentful, even though she should be. Danilo was a bit less interesting at first - a y classic Cora man. He’s the mafia underboss- cold, scary, pragmatic, but I also loved how vulnerable and begin he was- in his internal monologue but also eventually with Sofia. This is one of the Cora couples that communicate really healthily (eventually), that evolve and grow together- in part because we obtain to spend so long with them. Danilo ended up surprising me in the end- I felt he’s actually the most progressive, the most “soft” and tender of the mafia men-and I adored him the more we knew him.What I loved about this love story is that this is about two people trying to refind their identities. To be more than the sister, more than the jilted groom. To stop defining themselves based on a moment in time (and not just what happened with Serafina, there is a key moment between these two too). They are both lost- Danilo is his pride, Serfina in her insecurity. Both have fragile longing- for the love they THOUGHT they would have, for the lives they thought they’d live- and then they finally SEE each other, when no one else has truly seen them. They have to work through their OWN items before they can create it work- which is again why the time Cora invests in a longer exposition pays off so much. And when they do? These two are MAGICAL. A sweet, tender, and intimate chemistry but one with such emotional depth and a mutual of Remo and Serafina should know that their presence is very much felt and experienced in this story- I won’t tell just how or what to expect, but I think fans will be satisfied with how Cora respects both Sofia’s story and her character, which contains being honest about how Serafina has impacted her, while also respecting Serafina’s journey, not changing how we feel about Serfina And that is a very delicate balance, one I have more and more help for Cora over- she ensures we still love these characters while being honest, and most importantly, she finds a method to create this about Sofa and Danilo, even though EVERYTHING for them goes back to Serafina and her story. The investment in the early stages of this relationship matters, Cora’s decision to really sink into the evolution in time, ensure that- it ensures that we know Sofia, we know Danilo, as individuals- we see them as the protagonists long before it becomes THEIR story. I guess we as readers required time to address the ghost of Serafia too- and if not for this approach, her shadow might have been too looming. Really intelligent plotting- even if it FELT different, or even slow, it was what we required to see will also be satisfied to know we obtain SO much awesome action with side characters. I’m so madly in love with Anna- and we obtain some amazing tips as to her story. She is a PISTOL and I can not wait to have her unleash on the Outfit. And Samuel is a surprise treat- as well as Danilo’s sister, Emma. I am so excited to obtain more into both of their stories- they intrigued me even more than Anna.I loved getting Sofia’s story- and Cora continues to reign as my go to mafia author. The epilogue here is especially fantastic, and I’m loving the sweeter, more vulnerable relationships we’ve gotten in the latest few Cora books and the more insulted focus. I can’t wait for what is next- this book created me even more excited for the next generation stories! 4.5 stars overall

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fragile Longing []  2020-9-30 18:0

    This book is a disaster. Sorry to say because I really wanted to like it. I’ve been interested in this story since the happenings of Twisted Pride. It looked promising back then. Now after finally reading it, I have to say it’s left a poor taste in my mouth. It’s a first Cora Reilly book (apart from TH) that I was really struggling to finish (I was close to DNF it around 50% and the latter part I just skipped pages).The plot was too predictable and I had a feeling that also repetitive (Saying that it’s simple to foresee where e.g Samuel’s and Emma’s story is heading). There were some interesting moments and characters (Anna, Santino and mostly Leonas

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whale and the Cupcake: Stories of Subsistence, Longing, and Community in Alaska []  2020-2-1 15:2

    I loved this book!!! Disclaimer-- I live in Juneau Alaska. The images and stories brought back e "Alaskana" is solid and the images are perfect links to the adventures and people. The Bush is well represented. I ordered two copies for my children down e recipes and cooking philosophy are Alaskan. Simple, but with lots of room to vary and match what is at hand. Thanks for a fun read. Much is Alaska sans industrial tourism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    This book is absolutely amazing! The globe that Lana creates is astounding! There is such a unbelievable pairing of post apocalyptic and fantasy in a method that I never should have thought of. I cannot wait for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    Glamour motivates us, a lot of of us anyway, in ways we are aware of but do not necessarily call "glamour," because we have too narrow a definition of the term. It is not just Hollywood or Broadway; in a lot of cases Hollywood or Broadway are the opposite of glamour. This book distinguishes between 'glamour'--that mysterious, magical longing--and 'romance'--in the sense of a romantic myth or dream: we can be swept up in the romance of a amazing struggle in which we hope to ultimately prevail, but a glamorous project succeeds with a wave of the hand. Nor is glamour the same as charisma--that inspiring resonance we have with a leader. Some people have both: read the book to explore a couple of examples. But glamour goes well beyond charisma: charisma is limited to people, but inanimate or abstract things can have glamour. This is a book, like Postrel's other two books, to read more than once. By the way, the Kindle ver has a little bonus: one of the Charles Dana Gibson reproductions retains the original caption in the Kindle version, but it is missing in my hardcover version. There may be other differences--get both: the hardcover for the looks, the Kindle ver for the text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whale and the Cupcake: Stories of Subsistence, Longing, and Community in Alaska []  2020-2-1 15:2

    Julia O'Malley provides attractive insight into what makes Alaska unique and unique, using meal as her muse. From the thick forests of Southeast to Alaska's northern coasts, Julia expertly tells the story of Alaska and her people and what various foods mean to our collective Alaskan identity. Julia's masterful storytelling is on full display, with achingly attractive prose found on every page. The book is a fun feast, and a must for anyone who has ever yearned for new produce in the middle of winter, eaten more variations of smoked salmon than they can recall, or guarded boxed cake mix like a prized possession. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    I enjoyed everything about this book!Strong heroineUnique magical worldFun charactersGood plot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    An unusually interesting book. The questions it raises, the suggestions it makes, teased my mind for a lot of hours between reading ia Postrel asserts, and asserts very convincingly, that `glamour' is something various from beauty or iness, from fame, wealth or style; in spite of the fact that a lot of such attributes seem to typically hover around a glamourous e seems to believe that the perception of `glamour' is a relatively modern social phenomenon. It has something to do with the modern idea that the form and content of peoples' lives can be to a huge extent of their own making. People are not necessarily doomed to accept the limitations and the drudgery of the former `lower classes'. The word `glamourous' is most often applied to individuals, less often to locations or even objects that are potentially associated with glamourous amour seems to be a concept known to both es, but differing in its different forms for each of them. Male glamour, one supposes, may well be older than female glamour, because it was originally associated with warfare or with phenomenal business success. It was only in the nineteenth century that glamour seems to have appeared as a persistent yearning in women, because before that the possibilities that were available for women to have any say in either their life-styles or their occupations were almost nil. And the idea of glamour is not total fantasy. It seems to require the faint perception of at least a far-out possibility. The glamourous figure is not just adored, he or she is an inspiration who, in imagination, might be amour for the nineteenth century woman in both Europe and America was largely centered on wealth and attractive possessions, frequently cloth and clothes. In certain sophisticated circles, however, (especially in European high society) the concept of a freedom more equal to that granted to men did appear and take on a glamourous aspect. Glamour is a social phenomenon, and the forms it takes for various people depend on what their peers search desirable as well as on the individual who feels the longing. It is not the same thing as style, but it shares the same kind of social e perception of glamour became much more widespread in the twentieth century and began to evolve and rapidly change its forms. The movement of populations into huge cities, the widespread use of photography, the near universal literacy, the cinema, the generally improving living standards--all of these things contributed to this evolution, because glamour is, in part, a social phenomenon. Rather, perhaps, it is an individual phenomenon which tries to reconcile the dreams and longings of the individual with the requirements and the possibilities of amour in the twentieth century became less differentiated by and more differentiated in the locations and the activities which it invested. All glamour now, at least, seems to require a powerful suggestion of excitement as well as degree of self-assuredness and effortless self-control that might be called serenity but is more often described these days as `cool'. The glamourous individual is in command of his or her situation, but at the same time, that situation is felt to be rich in excitement, in adventure, in possibilities which hold on revealing themselves, but have no specific occurred to me, reading this book, that glamour is essentially a vision of adulthood on the part of a young person. It is not the vision he or she was trained to expect or strive for. It is not dull or demanding of amazing effort and everlasting incremental advancements or (worse) failures. Responsibility is taken seriously, but carried easily. Life is excitement and adventure. The notion requires at least the idea that there is some chance of fulfillment. That chance probably recedes in every life and so does the idea of glamour. It may linger for some people who are especially fond of `genre' literature, where the different genres tend to have protagonists whose lives or personalities seem glamourous to the reader and where some people can temporarily shed the tediousness of their everyday lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    This book is inspiring and educational. Ms Postrel is a fine writer... her use of the English language is a pleasure to read. I have learned so much reading this book... it may fit well for viewers of PBS's "Mr Selfridge" and "The Paradise" as both these mini-series dealt with the power to persuade (the female) population ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    I really liked Rush (the male protagonist) and Clarke (the female protagonist). I really enjoyed the worldbuilding and the kick but scenes. It is an awesome begin to a series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    I enjoyed this book! It was like being on a journey with Clarke and Rush. Was exciting to go along with how their globe is so various and loved the end!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    Wow, what an exciting fresh series. I loved it! The author has made a mysterious and thrilling fresh globe in this book. The storyline is gripping and all the characters are well-developed. It's one of those stories which you just don't wish to end. You pick up the book and then you can't place it down. And you wish it to go on sh has given up on everything. He has accepted his fate and now living the remaining of his cursed life quietly. He was a Guardian once and he has always done his duty well. Then he created a mistake and he has been paying for it since. When Clarke comes into his life everything changes. Once again, he has found a purpose, and even though he feels that his end is near, he will cherish the time he gets with arke has woken up from a nightmare or maybe into one. Nothing is as it was supposed to be. The globe she knew, is gone. And this fresh globe is full of horrors she can't even imagine. In all this, Rush is the only Fae she is willing to trust. Somehow she feels safe when she is with him. Now she just needs to search her put in this fresh globe and maybe she will be able to escape the nightmares.I love everything I have read from this author, but I have to say, this might just be my favorite book yet. I loved every second of it and I don't think that I have enjoyed a story like this in a long, long time. This book has everything; mystery, adventure, romance, an exciting world, and most importantly, characters you can root for. It's a complete pack and I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for a amazing book to read. And if you're a fan of fantasy then that's an added bonus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    Very ambitious book that illuminates how desire yearns for opportunities to be transformed, uncover treasure, and solve mysteries. Even fighting glamour can be just as glamorous with that same hook of a better life and consist of the same vague longings. Using glamour as a method to highlight healthy desires and expose frauds allows desire to be accepted instead of being denied. I was glad that the early dismissal of envy wasn't complete and the pervasive envious feelings of not being happy was explored towards the end of the book. A lot of personality disorders are exacerbated by envy and the emptiness of lack. Addictions can also be inflamed by the illusions of glamour. Glamour is equally beneficial or detrimental based on the actual info of the experience or the actual results.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    If you've ever wondered why you're deeply affected by certain photos or photographs, by political candidates or ideas, by technology and works of art, this book is a must read. With prose as evocative and clean as a glass house overlooking a distant cityscape at night, and with illustrations as interesting as they are expressive, Virginia Postrel uncovers the elemental aspects of human longing and reveals how human desire has been reflected throughout history in glamorous objects, scenes, and people. In so doing, she gives the lie to the widely held idea that glamour is shallow and trivial, demonstrating that it is, instead, quite deep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    I waited impatiently for this book to come out for about three months and it did not disappoint. I don’t wish to ruin it but Clarke and Rush’s relationship builds so excellently. Already pre-ordered the nextBook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    This was a fresh genre for Ms. Pecherczyk, and I am honestly satisfied she took a chance. This is a unbelievable mashup of post-apocalyptic/dystopian, science fiction, fantasy, and e latest thing Clarke remembers is the aftermath of a nuclear war. The scorched sky. Nuclear winter. Hiding in a little Vegas apartment with her friends, waiting for it all to end. But when she wakes up, her clothes are disintegrating, her jewelry is rusted, and the soda can she'd been drinking from just the day before looks ancient. And she's being stalked by e creatures are Fae - the race that arose after humans destroyed the globe with a nuclear war. The Well, the heart of the planet and source of all magic (mana), had enabled human DNA to mix with animals (and plants) to make those that would live in harmony with nature. What humans remained had confined themselves to a single city, stinking of metal and plastic, and torturing any Fae that fell into their grasp. So the Well made Guardians to protect sh used to be one of those Guardians, until he was cursed to live unseen and chop off from the Well. The curse also means when he runs out of mana, he will die. When he finds an opponent human being attacked he is shocked to explore that she can see AND hear him. So he agrees to support her - IF she will be his secrets from their pasts come to light, Clarke & Rush search themselves drawn to each other. Clarke, a psychic in her time, finds her powers growing exponentially...along with the knowledge that the evil she left behind may not be in the past after all. All Rush wants to do is create peace with his son before it's too late, and he'll use anything - and anyone - important to do so. But can their growing feelings support them save each other, and the world?This is just a brief synopsis. I really can't obtain into all the intricacies that Ms. Pechercyzk managed to weave in her worldbuilding without spoiling quite a bit. While I could work out the vague shape of the story's end, how she got there was an amazing ride. The side characters had personality, and I am fervently hoping at least one of them gets a book of his own. Throw in the complexities of Fae society, shifters, and villages straight out of a RenFaire side by side with glass castles, and you've got an awesome story.I received an ARC of this title and this is my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    I've been eagerly awaiting this book ever since Lana announced it, and holy hell it did not disappoint! If you love:- gorgeous and alpha Henry Cavill as the Witcher- Beauty and the Beast curse slowly killing our hero- a heroine who is more connected to this fresh globe than she realizes- shifter Guardians whose job it is to protect the earth from humans- forbidden romance between an exiled Guardian and a psychic human- a twisty plot that keeps evolving with all the secrets being hidden- a steamy library scene- a heroine who gives the character the will to fight, and a character who inspires our heroine to use her Sight for goodthen this book is for you! I absolutely adored this novel. The action was nonstop, the pacing flawless, the humor subtle but present, and the characters perfectly imperfectly. Rush has suffered in silence and loneliness for so long that when he stumbles across Clarke in danger, he revels in the feeling of finally being seen at the same time that his protective instincts flare to life. Clarke's life hasn't been simple either, but after Rush saves her life when they first meet, she begins to see him as someone she could actually depend on. Both characters have been beaten down by life, but their journey together allows them to finally search peace and hope for the future. I cannot wait for Thorne's book next as he is just as surly and brooding as Rush!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    Another reviewer dismissed this as "a repetitive collage of shallow photos and commentary." To which I respond: yes, brilliantly so. Postrel juxtaposes a series of structurally related relationships between us and that which we search compelling about those others who seem to possess something we lack. It is this "collage" that lets us see through the differences -- say between the glamour of battle and glamour of a 1930's Hollywood -- and makes visible the precise nature of both our longings and self-delusions. I would read this in conjunction with Rene Girard's theory of Mimetic Desire, which approaches all of this from a very various perspective, but adds amazing insight into why Postrel has seen the truth about glamour, if not the full explanation for why this is the case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    Postrel has succeeded at demystifying glamour. She carefully defines her terms, presents compelling examples, and peppers the text with original and useful insights in diverse fields - psychology, marketing, and aesthetics, among them. What is more, her writing is both attractive and clear. While you may not always agree with her, you will know exactly what points she is making and what are her arguments. There is an occasional appeal to subjectivity, but she is always honest in admitting this to be the e end effect of all this is that she convinced me - a professed anti-aesthete - that I am susceptible to glamorous appeals, sometimes for bad, but usually for good. Postrel makes the case that glamour, properly discounted for its inherent unreality, can be fuel for achievement and happiness. For that alone, this is well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    Amazing totally various story about eat characters love Rash and Clarke and their story along with the rest of the eat romance with drama,action adventure and a love ally enjoyed reading.Voluntarily reviewed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Longing of Lone Wolves: Season of the Wolf (Fae Guardians Book 1) []  2020-7-18 18:45

    I liked things about it so strongly, and disliked others in the same way.Let’s begin with the good.- I loved the arke was really well made. Her insecurities came out small by little, and always at the right time in the story (which was, of course, the wrong time for them). In the end, she was faced with the same tough choice she had at the beginning of the story. But this time, eventually, she reacted differently. I loved it, as it shows the amazing character’s arc she’d gone through. This time, she fought for the people she’d come to sh had reasons to be the method he was. Yes, he was a jerk. But who wouldn’t be, stepping in his shoes? The method he changes makes a lot of sense, too, and it was always well-timed.- The post-apocalyptic setting was nothing but e history of how this fresh Earth was born was excellent in every detail (although, alas, the a lot of info such history requires are part of my largest problem with this book, but I’ll obtain there later).- Along the same line, the explanation for the fae and other being’s existence is the most satisfying I’ve ever ey don’t simply exist. There’s a reason for it, and one that makes excellent sense.- Loved, loved, loved the explanation for how the well-blessed union played rfectly logical and in line with the “rules” Lana set out for the , all that being was a lot of people, each with his/her story briefly narrated, so a lot of fresh concepts and rules, so a lot of feuds, so a lot of details…As a fantasy reader, I’m used to takeing in fresh locations and realities, but here, sometimes, I was lost. Or losing the train of the main concept/action. I found myself distracted by the main subject of the scene, and that was the cause of e writing style didn’t t per se, as I prefer short and to the point, as opposed as long narrative/descriptions, but when that style is paired with such complex world-building, chances are it gets messy.I do understand the author’s conundrum of being faced with a task so huge as inventing Earth from scratches and do it without dragging the story for 200,000 metimes the author doesn’t wish to, other times the pub-house would not let it and require a reduction of words.Whatever the reason, in this case, running like that, in a globe so complex, left me breathless (not always in a amazing way). And that brought frustration.I think my getting to the end of it is a testament to how amazing the story’s concept and characters are amazing and well made.I’m also sure that the second book would go more smoothly, because the rules are set, and it’s worth the reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    The Power of Glamour is a thought-provoking book--and an inspiring one. It is also beautifully written and illustrated with gorgeous photographs. I reported on this book to my club, and immediately everyone started talking and asking about it. Glamour really does cast a magic spell, and Postrel's book _about_ glamour is also magnetic. I now have an explanation for my reaction to certain people, decor, paintings, photos that I consider glamorous. Translucence, mystery, smoothness, effortlessness--all are elements of glamour. The ultimate mystery, however, of why certain glamorous photos can influence not just decor and clothes--but the direction our lives take-- remains. The brilliant Postrel is a cultural critic of capacious understanding and sympathies. Believe me, you will have fun this book--and you might be changed by it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    I really enjoyed Virginia Postrel's The Power of Glamour and I strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to better understand what glamour is, its history and how it impacts us both individually and culturally. The book is very well written and includes a lot of photos and examples to illustrate the ideas explored throughout the e author begins with "the magic of glamour" to set the context. She describes glamour as a form of rhetoric that involves an interaction between an object and the audience. She then builds out her definition of glamour over the next several chapters. There are 3 recurring elements in her ysis of Glamour: The Promise of Escape and Transformation, Grace, and Mystery (leaving something to the imagination). Each of these chapters is full of interesting info and ysis. For the purpose of this review, I would like to note a few key things she points out in regard to ace gives us the impression of something being effortless even though in reality there is a tremendous amount of hard work that we don't see and which is required for that grace to be developed (think of all the practice Michael Jordan required to do to become so graceful on the basketball court, that Astaire and Rogers required to do to look so graceful on the dance floor). As she points out "glamour appears effortless" and this is what "makes glamour so risky and so alluring."Ms. Postrel also differentiates Glamour from other similar concepts. I found her ysis of the difference between glamour and charisma to be very enlightening. She presents a chart with the differences between the two concepts (she also notes that objects can be glamorous but they cannot have charisma) and then notes some examples to illustrate those differences. Her example of Barack Obama as someone who has Glamour explains how this helps with getting elected but becomes a hindrance when trying to enact specific policies. She also notes those rare individuals, like Steve Jobs, who have e traces glamour all the method back to Achilles and she takes us through the history of glamour and explains why the concept really took off in the 20th of my favorite features of the book Icon section at the end of each chapter. Each chapter has 2 icons that are explored and they illustrate a lot of the ideas in the book. I found each of these interesting but my three favorites are: The Superhero, The Gibson Girl and The e author notes at the end of the book that:"The story of glamour is the story of human longing and its cultural manifestations. Like other forms of rhetoric and art, glamour can embody amazing ideas or poor ones. It can inspire life-enhancing actions or destructive ones. Its meaning and its effects depend on the audience. But one things is certain: glamour is not trivial."Ms. Postrel has given us a detailed ysis of glamour and the strong role it plays in our lives. By understanding glamour more deeply, we can be alert to both its positive and negative effects. I highly recommend this book as a amazing method to better understand and appreciate "The Power of Glamour".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion []  2020-10-25 18:17

    Amazing insights into consumer behavior, and my own. The author outlines the characteristics of what we cal "glamorous" and demonstrates its non-existence. The book is full of images demonstrating the points she is trying to create in a method that helps the consumer, me, see how they are trying to buy a lifestyle by paying too much for a e other day I bought some paper straws with red candy cane stripes. I knew I was just buying into some Masterpiece Theatre episode, so I could sit on the steps to my apartment building and pretend I was sitting on a veranda on the grounds of a huge, ancient house during a party. But it was only a few dollars and a cheap thrill for the anks to this book, the undercurrent of my purchasing decisions has been brought to the surface and can be factored in to the overall costs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Privilege of Youth: A Teenager's Story of Longing for Acceptance and Friendship []  2020-1-25 10:27

    I have read all 3 books A Kid Called It, Lost Boy and the Privilege of Youth all in 1 week. I had problem reading the first one due to the horrible cirtances for this not good kid but I created it through. I had to buy the next 2 and have just finished all 3 today. What a strong story of loss of a childhood, struggle of a teenager and finding the love he so desperately sought. I will now read A Man Named Dave. Congratulations of a life well lived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Privilege of Youth: A Teenager's Story of Longing for Acceptance and Friendship []  2020-1-25 10:27

    Amazing product. Amazing quality. Quick shipping. Satisfied customer. Received in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Privilege of Youth: A Teenager's Story of Longing for Acceptance and Friendship []  2020-1-25 10:27

    I have yet to read it but the quality is quite good. Looking forward to it since I’ve read Dave’s first three books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Motherhood: Holding On to Hope in the Midst of Childlessness []  2020-1-20 0:24

    A book full of truth and hope on childlessness has been so needed. I am so thankful for Chelsea sharing her journey of grieving and loss in this book, and pointing the reader to the truth of God’s word on grief, loss, and the hope that is found in him, and only him. Please read this book!! (Even if you’re not walking through this journey. Chances are you will know someone who is).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Motherhood: Holding On to Hope in the Midst of Childlessness []  2020-1-20 0:24

    This is an necessary book addressing the pain and suffering as the effect of being unable to bear children. Chelsea Sololik found out at the age of nineteen that she would be unable to bear children. Her journey through the grief and suffering as a effect of that condition is at times painfully honest. She openly shares her feelings as she processes what that means as she gives up the desire of bearing her own e offers practical tip to individuals who are experiencing the same pain she has, those who are involved with someone dealing with infertility and finally how the church can minister to those who are is book also explores how to grieve unfulfilled desires; how to trust God in the seasons of sorrow; how to war for and keep on to hope and finally how to search purpose when a traditional mothering role is not an option.I highly recommend this book to anyone struggling with the problem of bearing their own children. I received this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for this honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Africa: Journeys Inspired by the Life of Jane Goodall Part One: Ethiopia []  2020-1-16 2:27

    On occasion, the memoir form has been dismissed as the pursuit of self-indulgence by a writer seeking immortality for a life insufficiently lived. But Annie Schrank’s “Longing for Africa” Part 1: Ethiopia” is not only an exception to this judgement, it is an outstanding exception. If you read only one memoir this year, create it “Longing for Africa”. You will be rewarded.Annie Schrank is a remarkable person and a fine writer. She talks with ease, candour and professional flourish about breathtaking and noteworthy incidents -- happenings that are of significance not only to the 20-year old designer she was when she left Fresh York to begin a leather-good factory in Ethiopa, but matters that will resonate with readers for whom private growth, courage, love, initiative, empathy and the social, economic and political evolution of the developing globe are regarded with interest and significance. Oh, and, of course, !Although her Fresh York employer had partnered in the leather factory initiative with the governor of a province a days’ drive from the capital, nobody could have foreseen the difficulties that would be encountered or that the country, stable for a thousand years, would suddenly be rocked by a communist is absolutely fascinating story told in multiple and well-integrated strands, shows the author to be a well-educated, highly courageous, reflective and emotionally mature adult despite her tender age. She has a staunch character, a amazing deal to thank her loving parents for, professional skills and is a fine observer of both the human and physical landscape of the provincial Ethiopia that she is plummeted into with virtually no is is a memoir that deals most competently with a host of both comfortable and distressing matters -- delight, famine, , love, innovation in business, delighted exploration, anthropological observation, home-made food, brutality and kindness. But I was left with an overwhelming respect for the integrity of the author.If you read only one memoir this year, create it “Longing for Africa” by Annie Schrank. You will be well and truly rewarded

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Africa: Journeys Inspired by the Life of Jane Goodall Part One: Ethiopia []  2020-1-16 2:27

    In the subtitle of this book author Annie Shrank credits Jane Goodall for inspiring her to visit Africa during the 1970's. Today Jane travels the world spreading a notice of peace, hope, and conservation. Despite her hectic schedule, she took the time to read Ms. Shrank's book and to write a glowing recommendation that appears on the book's cover. That speaks volumes.While reading this astonishing book I could not support but feel a bit guilty. At the same time in 1974 that Annie Shrank was experiencing poverty, drought, famine, and political upheaval in Ethiopia - and lamenting that this was not the Africa of her dreams - I was two countries to the South, in a lush rain forest in Tanzania, watching chimpanzees with Jane Goodall. Had Ms. Shrank shown up at Jane's camp back then I'm absolutely certain that Jane would have welcomed her to stay. Both have wonderful determination and share a deep compassion for people and for animals.While in Africa I had a lot of remarkable experiences but nothing resembling what Annie Shrank encountered in Northern Ethiopia. Isolated in the remote city of Mekele during a period of increasing political unrest, she managed to thrive under cirtances that would have sent most Americans packing for her credit she created mates easily, was very resourceful, and was quickly "adopted" by a loving Italian family that had established roots in Mekele and helped her adapt to the foreign land and culture. Her story, told with wonderful detail and passion, is beautifully written and entertaining. I recommend it without reservation and look forward to reading about her subsequent adventures in East Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Africa: Journeys Inspired by the Life of Jane Goodall Part One: Ethiopia []  2020-1-16 2:27

    What a thrilling adventure Annie Schrank describes in her Africa experiences! I was lucky to read the manuscript previously and love the book even more because of the vivid detail Annie embedded. I felt like I was in Africa with her! I started reading it on a flight and was perturbed when the pilot announced we were landing. Although I was on my method to Kentucky, I felt like I was transported to Africa instead! It was such a amazing book that I can't wait for it to turn into a movie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Africa: Journeys Inspired by the Life of Jane Goodall Part One: Ethiopia []  2020-1-16 2:27

    Read this for my book club and I’m so glad I did. This is a coming of age story that will inspire, entertain and provide insights into various cultures for readers in all various stages of life. A sleeper that wowed me.An avid reader

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hours After: Letters of Love and Longing in War's Aftermath []  2020-1-16 7:3

    I was very satisfied to read about the Kleins after the battle and their memories. They sound like a unbelievable couple. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Africa: Journeys Inspired by the Life of Jane Goodall. Part Two: Kenya []  2020-6-28 18:56

    This is the 2nd book in this series written by Annie Schrank and I enjoyed this one even more than the first one! Annie has a unbelievable method of painting a picture with words of what she saw and you feel like you are in Africa, on the journey with her. I loved reading about the adventures of this awesome young woman, who was continuing to fulfill her dreams and discovering herself along the way. This is a amazing story and unbelievable read, but the real takeaways for me are the vivid descriptions of life with the different tribes in Kenya and the vast differences amongst them. I highly recommend this book for a amazing summer time / light read, but something that has some substance and meaning. Really hoping she writes another book soon!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Africa: Journeys Inspired by the Life of Jane Goodall. Part Two: Kenya []  2020-6-28 18:56

    After reading Annie's first book, I'll read anything she writes, no question. She's one author that can describe you a picture that you can see with only her printed words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Longing for Africa: Journeys Inspired by the Life of Jane Goodall. Part Two: Kenya []  2020-6-28 18:56

    So a lot of experiences tbe brave author went through. To poor the kids 's book project never was published. Meeting a amazing humanitarian whom she loved but lost was heart breaking to read. The plight of the orphans is as true today as it was then.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386