Read the makings of you reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the makings of you reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    To damn short , I'm beginning to message a trend where an Author writes a decent size book . Then the next ones that come out in the same series are shorter and shorter . Very irritating other then that it was a decent story but I'm losing interest fast. Hopefully Wacht improves the next book or I'm done

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    Strongly recommend this series. Each book seems to be better than the rong hero building by the author has you appropriately becoming emotionally attached to Thomas and the wolf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    But short

    0  


    Add your opinion on the makings of you or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    Mr Wacht is a superior author. Perfect flow, very few grammatical or spelling errors, quite refreshing. So why the little slivers (165 pages) of product? Will this progress to 100, 50 pages? I have high hopes of reaching the end of this story before my own extinction. Book 4 covered less than a fortnight of storyline. Doesn't bode well for my aspiration of experiencing Thomas's triumph over the Dartford, or more tragically, the author dropping the story for other pursuits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    Amazing book, however, the novella format is getting a small annoying. I’ll likely not continue with the series until the entire story is completed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    Love this series. The characters are being flushed out while also making me more committed to the story. I only want that each book was longer. It looks like the author is going to have a book out every 4 month(ish).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    It takes an author of some talent to create the reader hate some characters while admiring others. Peter Wacht is one of those authors. I almost read book 4 non stop. While there were a few noticeable errors, it was a very enjoyable experience. I anxiously look forward to the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    I loved every second of the fourth instalment in the series and am eagerly awaiting for the fith book. I've enjoyed watching the characters grow as they learn more about the globe and how their actions can affect other's lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    This installment in the series really is the cash maker, with all the action and relationships coming to the fore. I am very excited for the next book and the direction the series seems to be going. I do hope the author continues the series and treats us with a longer book. Amazing work author!Highly recommends for fans of KDT and other medieval swords / sorcery fantasy fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Makings of a Warrior (The Sylvan Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-1-16 1:15

    I would give this a rating of 4.5 but that wasn't an option. I have read all 4 novels in this series and am really enjoying it. I hope Peter can come up with at least 3 more books for this series. I think it would take at least 3 more to cover everything that I wish him to cover. I have lots of questions and imaginings about how the story could unfold. I can't wait to see how Peter procedes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    This was an exhausting story. No wonder the author was tired all the time. Kudos to her for emerging victorious from her long journey!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    Didn't like it. Never finished book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    Kathleen Frazier has written a masterpiece, chronically a harrowing journey on so a lot of levels. From growing up in an alcoholic home, discovering her inability to sleep as well as being empathic, I felt such a kinship as a reader. The deep fear that she lived with for so a lot of years is palpable. I couldn't place the book down! What a joyful victory, that not only has she conquered her malady, but brought something that she felt she had to hide into the light to heal so a lot of others who are suffering. Hurray, Kathleen, for your bravery, honesty, with, and deep compassion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    Interesting book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    Kathleen Frazier writes this memoire with a pen dipped in fierce courage. Each sentence is shaped by the trauma of alcohol (her own and her Irish family’s), psychological displacement, sleepwalking and night terrors. Frazier reveals a life journey of triumph over denial and despair . Her words are a hard mirror of emotions which a lot of readers will search familiar. Ultimately it is the tale of transformation through self love , finding connections and getting a amazing night’s sleep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Anglotopia: The Makings of an Anglophile []  2020-8-12 19:13

    Very much enjoyed this book on England.Overall a amazing read.Would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    Unwrapping life’s transitions from childhood family dynamic to college social interactions and finally to a career and professional life all while being in a waking daze of bone deep exhaustion from her long struggle with night terrors, sleep walking and insomnia, Kathleen Frazier tutorials the reader through a gripping journey of fear, discovery and ultimately healing. I couldn’t place 'Sleepwalker' down.Kathleen O'Grady

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Anglotopia: The Makings of an Anglophile []  2020-8-12 19:13

    This book is my everyday escape to England. It doesn’t disappoint. I’m limiting myself to a chapter a day. I learn more about my favorite country each time I delve into it. The American perspective makes this book even more enjoyable. The author’s self-effacing humor, his knowledge of history and his honest observations create this a true joy to read. I bought the kindle ver because I couldn’t wait for print ver to arrive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    I am a lifelong sleepwalker and thought I would love this memoir, but I found it beautiful frustrating, for a few rst, the author repeatedly (and I think unintentionally) conflates sleepwalking with mental illness, even though they are not at all the same. There is some acknowledgment of this at the end of the book, but the author continuously identifies sleepwalking as the source of a lot of of her problems, when it is clear that nearly all of her issues (including her deep fear of being seen sleepwalking) stemmed from an abusive childhood, alcoholism, truly wonderful problems with self-doubt and self-hatred, and a pathological obsession with how she is perceived by cond, and this gets to private reading preferences, the book includes a lot of long passages wherein the author info her nights spent awake, her troubled thoughts, and her nightmares. I found these sections to be tedious and repetitive. If you like reading accounts of disordered thinking, these sections might be more interesting to you, but I found them boring and frustrating.I have a amazing deal of sympathy for the author; she had a hard life. But this book is not really about sleepwalking. I have sleepwalked for my entire life, and when I do not take medication for it, I sleepwalk nearly every night. It is a frustrating and occasionally risky issue to have, but it became a much larger problem for the author because of her comorbid conditions, like alcoholism and mental health problems that caused her to suffer from severely low self-esteem. She blamed her issues on sleepwalking when it seemed that sleepwalking was among the least of her concerns.A few positives: The author's descriptions of sleepwalking, night terrors, and waking up from an episode are very accurate. Additionally, she was successfully treated for sleepwalking, which is necessary for people to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    Sheds amazing light on the life changing issues of night terrors and sleep walking. Held my interest. I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    This is a unbelievable memoir. Ms. Frazier is a amazing writer. She's funny and intelligent and fabulously honest. She has wonderful descriptive ability. Just a unbelievable writer.I wasn't reading this riveting book very long before I thought, Oh man, I hope she eventually figures out she has PTSD. So a lot of Adult Kids of Alcoholics have PTSD and don't know it. People assume PTSD is from war, rape and molestation only. PTSD is the body's response to trauma when the trauma energy is not released once the fight/flight/freeze/collapse scenario is over. For kids in alcoholic homes who powerlessly suffer unpredictable insanity and violence over and over from the people who are supposed to protect them and hold them safe, they just never obtain the zone and time and sense of SAFETY for their bodies to naturally release the trauma energy (since the trauma just keeps on going as long as the parent(s) hold drinking and acting crazy.)In my opinion, the sleepwalking was a major symptom of Ms. Frazier's PTSD. For me, meds kept a lot of the symptoms down for 20 years--although I did have night terrors in my 20's, 30's and early 40's. Someone was always trying to slay me. Lucky for me, I'd wake up in the living room (I lived alone), shaking, adrenalin shooting through me. in a state of terror--but never walking out the front door or doing violence to myself or my space.When Ms. Frazier had her only period without the night terrors, (SPOILER) she was starring in a high school play, which created sense to me. She was releasing energy, in that case, in a beautiful, entertaining way.I was thrilled that eventually she found a method to rid herself of the sleepwalking and night terrors and could sleep. The med she used did not work for me at all, but I withdrew easily under a doctor's supervision. (An old time anti-depressant allowed me to sleep every night for 20 years, until it didn't anymore.)According to PTSD authors like Peter Levine, our bodies are always trying to rebalance and go back to a state of equilibrium by finding a method to release the trauma energy. In my opinion, night terrors are one method the body tries to do this, recreating trauma so the body can release and reboot. But again, that's just my opinion. For me, the meds that did work for 20 years stopped working at 49. Then I had to search a method to sleep and release the emotional and trauma energy., which had been numbed and buried in multiple ways. (I quit drinking in my 20's and quit painkillers in my 40's. Dubious but common "solutions".) The best method for me to heal continues to be Trauma Releasing Exercises (Dr. Berceli DVD). But everyone finds their own way.I absolutely loved this book. I identified with so much of it. Ms. Frazier is a attractive writer and a attractive person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleepwalker: The Mysterious Makings and Recovery of a Somnambulist []  2020-9-11 18:0

    Sleepwalking isn't something I've ever been exposed to, but have always been curious about. I know the importance of sleep, and yet didn't realize how devastating sleepwalking could be for a person. This book captured me from the first page to the last. Kathleen shed a light on a dark, debilitating secret in hopes that others would search relief. Terrifying accidents, dangerous behavior, drinking to test to knock herself out so she wouldn't have to experience the pain of sleepwalking. Her journey proved that fierce determination to obtain well, access to quality medical care, and a small help from mates and loved ones makes all the difference. No doubt she can rest assured that this book will support so a lot of who take sleep for granted or who are afraid to reach out for support for sleepwalking. It is possible to recover from sleepwalking. Kathleen Frazier is living proof.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    For a Kindle BDSM book this one is beautiful good. Although there is no freaking until 1/4 of the method through the book, the bits aren't bad. The writing is almost entirely free of typos and grammatical errors throughout the story, and the author spends a decent amount of time developing the characters as human beings rather than stock characters in a throw-away e strongest parts of the story are the scenes where Carly is dominated with ropes, whips, hot wax, and toys, but there are, oddly, only a few of these moments sprinkled in between perfunctory episodes at the hospital surgery. At times it felt like Grey's Anatomy or ER fan fiction with BDSM scenes thrown in (or like Dr. y if you've seen Supernatural). Although it is clearly fantasy--the male dominants are very polite, skilled, mature, and financially loaded; a jilted, obsessive submissive turns out to be a really amazing sport--there is a concerted effort in the book to represent an authentic, safe, and consensual BDSM lifestyle, with passages that go out of the method to showcase the author's knowledge of unique jargon and community lingo ("let's run a stage together"). A amazing deal of attention is paid to the setting of consensual boundaries through careful conversation, the use of checklists, and scales of 1-10 indicating private interest in specific acts. The author delays actual intercourse between the two protagonists in order to demonstrate the development of "serious" feelings between the dominant and submissive, which feels like an effort to depict them as dynamic, three-dimensional characters who develop as the story progresses, but seems fundamentally at odds with their chosen begin e weakest parts of the book are the tail-ends of the BDSM scenes, which always resolve with the submissive protagonist losing herself in mindless fantasyland pleasure trips while being dominated--unfortunately for the reader, it is very rarely clear what the dominant protagonist is doing to her to create her lose her mind and why it works for her, and it seems to me like the point of this type of story is not to leave the expert play up to the readers' imaginations, but to provide that vicarious experience for them through graphic description.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    This book was amazing for me. It had a amazing deal of erotica and fun story line. I liked the characters and the scenes. Lets have more like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    A easy read with too nothing earth shattering but compelling and fun to read. More focus on the than the romantic relationship, but the the relationship was a slow build up and took the characters by surprise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    At sometime in our lives, most of us have wanted to run away, forget all our problems, and begin anew. Charlotte Metcalf has lost her memory of the latest four years, and it is not something she wanted at all.We meet Charlotte as she is is being jostled about, out of her broken vehicle with the noise of a wailing kid in her ears. Out of the ambulance and onto a stretcher in the A&E or ED in London, where she was poked and prodded and x-rayed. No broken bones or brain injury apparent, only a loss of 4 years in her memory. No memory of her 3 year old child, Anabelle or much of what happened in that time. She knows David her husband, the love of her life, and Miriam, her mother in law. She sees a neurologist who tells her to live her life, her memory may come back or alternating chapters, we learn of Charlotte’s life in the past four years. Meeting David, their marriage, her high powered job that consumed much of her time, discovering she is pregnant while still on the , David’s joy and her uneasiness. The pregnancy, the birth, and caring for Anabelle. And, discovering that all is not what it seems with Anabelle. Charlotte’s life completely changed, and she loved it, or did she?Then, she learns of David’s secret, her accident occurs, and now, here she is. She and David have grown apart, and Charlotte needs to redefine her life. This is a well written book, that captured my interest. A superb life that is uncovered with secrets and accommodations to fulfill her life. Leah Mercer, gives us a novel that will have you wondering and maybe identifying in some way. Trying to search her way, Charlotte faces truths she did not know were commended. prisrob 10-01-19

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    Review Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars - At a Sub and Dom meet and greet one night opens the door for Carly Bloom and her resident director, Dr. Pierce Anderson to go beyond their strictly professional neurosurgical mentor-mentee relationship to one which explores their undeniable attraction to each other. Crossing the line never had felt so right, because soon they were doing things which seemed an poor lot like dating on their time off. However, just when things were beginning to fit so unbelievably well, signs seem to pop up which signal that maybe this was not meant to be, since it was already tough enough with it being something the hospital would frown upon. Fortunately for them, their characters will not allow things stew for too long, they are far too intelligent for that! Amazing steamy first read from this author, with a excellent happy-for-now ending for this couple.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    The edge of you was a really fast decent read. With a amazing set of hero that you will have fun watching them come together and figure out the best method for them to be together .Overall a nice fast steamy read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    This is basically what the provided synopsis says it’s about, for the most part. Charlotte awakes from a crash losing the latest 4 years of her memory. She forgot she had a daughter and struggles to accept the life she had been living the past four years. The first 2-4 chapters are Charlotte waking up in the hospital, thereafter the rest of the story is essentially Charlotte trying to decide if she wants to stay home with her daughter or go back to work while balancing an estranged relationship with her ere is no mysterious element with her memory loss because flashbacks are added in throughout the story. Early on, starting with chapter 3, readers quickly know what her old life was like compared to her show life. After chapter 3, the chapters alternate between flashbacks and the present. Do not expect mystery with e themes explored are family, marriage, and women in the workplace---explained below:I love things that give women a voice and advocate for feminism, but this was not insightful towards either. The subject was touched on, albeit surface level, with Charlotte’s workplace and the treatment towards pregnant women, but it was not strong enough; the story was too so, based on the synopsis provided I was expecting a story-line for mothers that was heartfelt and moving; something that was also emotionally family centered like the film Click or The Family Man, but it was neither. I expected an emotional rekindling with her daughter or captivating connection, and it didn't happen. The style was bland. We do see a marriage crumbling, and it is simple to relate to; however, it is isolated without intense e story progresses at a snail-moving pace. Even at 60% (marked on my Kindle) it was still dragging. At 60%, Charlotte is still holding onto remnants of her past (job) while trying to accept bits of her show (daughter). This is much of the story: Charlotte prioritizing and weighing her options. No twists, turns, emotional scenes, or drama. After 60%, it continued down this same st of the story was anticlimactic, as mentioned above. The climax, in my opinion, was chapter 47; before this chapter the characters experience no growth or change. Please note there are only 48 l in all, this is a story lacking a stimulating plot-line about a mother deciding to go back to work in order to climb the corporate ladder or stay at home with her toddler daughter. While this is a amazing premise that is simple to relate to, feeling like you must choose between your career or your child, the story was not executed well. It was very monotonous and repeated the same ideas again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    Usually I steer clear of this topic and this impulse-pick First Reads choice turned out less entertaining than I'd hoped. Maybe this was because the plodding plot seemed beaten down (almost, almost but never quite to death) by the blow by blow, day after day after day, dull as dishwater, yet oddly disturbing ween this and that, within show and past chapters, intriguing questions almost arose then fell by the wayside--about self, personality, family, friendship, marriage, childhood, gender, workplace, mind, memory, medicine and more. So I found self-education e writing portrayed situations and scenarios vividly, the characters grew less stereotypical, and I kept seeking inspiration and encouragement in their stories. But the process felt so tedious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    Yikes. Patiently read 50% and skipped to the end. I missed nothing that I didn't predict would already happen. I'm sorry Leah bc I know your heart went into this and I hate to criticize your efforts. I wasted my free read on this and I would be ticked even if I spent 99 cents. Not very amazing writing and a very boring predictable story line.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    This book was a fascinating read, an respond to the question "where did things go wrong?" Written in a smooth, layered manner, I enjoyed watching Charlotte uncover things she hadn't understood about herself after being given a second chance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    I wasn’t sure about this until I started to read it. Then it caught me up into trying to [email protected]#$%!. Talk about staying up hours later past bedtime. During the day on my lunch hour. I was a bit sad to finish it.. where can I search a Dr. Pierce????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    I regret that I wasted my October free book on this novel. Utterly predictable and it just drags on and on and on. To my credit, I finished it, but really should have jettisoned it after the first few monotonous chapters. Frankly, I would not waste my time on this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    Poor language

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    Charlotte really comes across as a self absorbed twit initially. Also, the premise feels a bit absurd. Are we really expected to believe that she left the hospital after a major wreck and head injury, and nobody noticed her memory problems or even checked?If you can obtain past that, the book does tell an interesting story of a woman caught between two worlds (parenthood and work). That said, as others have noted, the book is largely in Charlotte's head and the pacing is rather slow. Lastly, the book's ending felt a bit overly convenient, but I'm happy with how it resolved and found it an enjoyable read (other than the above noted issues).I'm being generous with the 4 star rating here. If partials were possible I'd give it 3.5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    I enjoyed this book, it kept me interested, the BDSM scenes were good, hero development was amazing but I feel like the end left me hanging. No HEA, no epilogue, no mention of another book. Disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    I wasn't sure about it at first but it was a pleasant surprise. A few errors here and there but overall I thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it! I'm looking forward to reading more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    The three stars is more technique than storyline.O.k.fairly certain the best mates fiance's name changed 2-3 times. I could be wrong but I don't think e authors concept of sub zone was very various from every other I have experienced.I feel like the group they met through should have created another appearance in the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Edge of You []  2020-1-15 21:25

    Wow! I loved reading this book! I wasn't sure what to expect at first but after reading a few minutes, I was sucked in! Quick paced and very hot and steamy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    Why can't writers build a vocabulary huge enough that they can write without using four-letter words and crude language? So sad to give up reading what promised to be a amazing book just a chapter into it because of such a reason!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Puzzle of You []  2020-2-2 20:33

    This was my pick for my Prime monthly book. I did [email protected]#$%!, but it was a struggle. I found Charlotte annoying, David rather wimpy, and Annabelle much more challenging than your average 3 year old. I didn't like any of them very much. Maybe that was part of the problem.I really liked that Nicolas Cage film (Family Man?) and probably expected it to be something like that. He was impatient and grumpy, but still had his moments. Charlotte didn't have those. Her feelings were so wrapped up in guilt, it was difficult to see where her real feelings were.I usually read my books several times. I will not reread this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For the Love of You []  2020-1-23 3:20

    The legendary R & B group whose hits, such as "It's Your Thing," "Fight the Power," and the title track - "For the Love of You," are highlighted on this 10-track budget CD, a 2003 reissue from a compilation originally released in ough I was not a fan of the group back in the day, I did purchase the original vinyl single of the track "Inside You," a rarity featured on this compilation. The bass really pumps on this song, though it was not one of their largest hits.If you are an audiophile who truly wants the best sound reproduction of the hits featured on this CD, I would not recommend buying this particular compilation because you obtain what you pay for if you skimp from purchasing a premium-price remastered CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For the Love of You []  2020-1-23 3:20

    GOOD QUALITY

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For the Love of You []  2020-1-23 3:20

    I wanted a CD :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For the Love of You []  2020-1-23 3:20

    On the album (for the love of you)I'm lookin for part 1 & 2 of the song (inside you) I wish to buy it. Thanks: Hanna

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For the Love of You []  2020-1-23 3:20

    Careful, this will cause you to do things and have fun is can be heard over and over and over. No one will ese guys maybe guilty of causing a population increase.... with their music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For the Love of You []  2020-1-23 3:20

    Amazing music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For the Love of You []  2020-1-23 3:20

    I love this CD. Thank you. Satisfied Holidays to u and your family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    google it now and you will be at best site for transaltion [Teacher]  2021-1-11 9:32
    [email protected]

    my opinion is to create it part of everyday practive to obtain leran from the bests.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of [ safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    god of pranks []  2021-1-17 19:25

    try

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the dentist []  2020-11-21 20:54
    [email protected]

    Thank you Moses. Thanks to the entire staff. Reminds me of my appointments. Explain in detail what's going on. Patient and kind. Office is very clean and inviting. Satisfied Thanksgiving. Please stay safe. Thank you. Janice L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    It's like reading Porth's book on Pathophysiology of Diseases of the brain but MUCH MORE easier to chew. It's like a really amazing little sugary snack compared to a large food with dozens of protein. In other words, it's digestible and fun to read compared to text books I am forced to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    This is a book for beginners. If you've never read anything on neuroscience before, this book is an awesome first step -- especially if you read it while watching (or after you've watched) David Eagleman's TV Series, "The Brain".If you are a professor or student looking for fresh ways to teach, fresh examples and engaging stories, or fresh lines of thought to deliver neuroscientific contents, this book may also be interesting for you -- yet, less so. This was my r those who are already familiar with neuroscientific concepts and just wish an modernize on cutting edge neuroscientific research, there's really nothing fresh , considering that this is a book obviously written for beginners, I give 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    One of the best books I've read in a long time. I often obtain bored with a book and don't finish, but this kept my interest. Eagleman does such a amazing job of explaining himself that you don't have to be a scientist to understand it. This book created so much sense and it answered those questions that you have wondered your whole life. I highlighted much of it and search myself rereading parts. I would recommend it to anyone even remotely interested in why human beings act the method they do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    an perfect book for those interested the less considered aspects of how our brains work. I saw two programs of David Eagleman on PBS which prompted me to purchase this book. In my library, I have a couple of shelves on the brain, as well as years of collected articles. (Having a brain tumor has added to my interest) This is a most unusual presentation. Maybe wath his PBS presentation to see if this sparks your interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    This is an perfect book for anyone interested in brain function. It's well researched and well written. I will reread this book in the near future,it's that good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    This book is the TV series in it's physical form, that's why it is so illustrative both in its language so in its illustrations. I recommend its reading after Incognito (2012), the book that originated the TV series. In fact, The Brain (2015) is like a very well done summary of Incognito. It's not a spin-off, it's a reinforcement.I'd recommend its reading together with Andrew Thomas's Hidden in Plain Sight 9 - The Physics of Consciousness. If you wish to live a full experience on what is going on inside your head, you should test all this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    Most of the info given in this book was already in the authors previous book, however this book is precious because it includes a philosophical approach to the neuroscience and fresh technologies can come to life based on e author is a neuroscientist, that's why I believe everything written about neuroscience is real but out of his field there are wrong (at least begin to argument ) data. For example "brains in vats" argument doesn't not belong to Rene Descartes. It belongs to another philosopher Hilary Putnam. ( Descartes' argument on the same topic was a demon making humans dream whatever he wants). The book also upset me as a Turkish reader by presenting genocide claims versus Turks as historical spite these points I liked the book and it can be considered as mind opening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    The most fascinating book about what makes us who we are since Carl Sagan's "Dragons of Eden". "The Brain" is not to be compared with Sagan/s book. Sagan was an astrophysicist excited about all natural things. "The Brain" is so intensely interesting, more so because the author, David Eagleman is a neurophysicist, with a deep understand of the physical properties and activities of the brain, and how it works. Eagleman puts forth awesome facts about the workings of an organ most of us seldom think about. I will reread it soon, because there is so much to understand.I would advise anyone considering reading this, that it is not a textbook. Eagleman is a very amazing writer. The book reads itself to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    This book provides insight into two subjects that are very necessary to me:1. Syndrome E and propaganda effectiveness support explain the holocaust. Each year I read at least one book about this topic. We must remember so that we do not repeat this dark period of history.2. Dementia coverage supplements the a lot of books I have read about this subject in 2019. My wife was diagnosed with mild/moderate dementia this January. I am determined to become and effective caregiver.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brain: The Story of You []  2020-1-21 20:8

    The Brain: The Story of You by David Eagleman“The Brain" is an perfect companion piece to the six-part PBS series of the same title. Neuroscientist and best-selling author David Eagleman, educates and fascinates the general public with a unbelievable popular-science examination of our brains. This captivating 224-page book contains the following six chapters: 1. Who am I?, 2. What is reality?, 3. Who’s in control?,4. How do I decide?, 5. Do I need you?, and 6. Who will we be?.Positives:1. Famous science at its best. Accessible, enlightening and fun to read.2. The fascinating subject of neuroscience in the masterful hands of David Eagleman.3. Full of colourful illustrations that complement the perfect narrative.4. Eagleman’s writing style is simple on the “brain”. His goal is to educate the general public and he succeeds.5. Full of interesting facts spruced throughout the book. “As a lot of as two million fresh connections, or synapses, are formed every second in an infant’s brain. By age two, a kid has over one hundred trillion synapses, double the number an adult has.”6. A amazing description of the teen’s brain. “Beyond social awkwardness and emotional hypersensitivity, the teen brain is set up to take risks.”7. Goes over some of the keys components of the brain. “The scientists were particularly interested in a little zone of the brain called the hippocampus – vital for memory, and, in particular, spatial memory.”8. Contains interesting stories. The story of Charles Whitman is quite enlightening with major repercussions on a society that values evidence.9. Describes how memories are formed. “Our past is not a faithful record. Instead it’s a reconstruction, and sometimes it can border on mythology. When we review our life memories, we should do so with the awareness that not all the info are accurate.”10. Describes some of the tools of a neuroscientist. “One method to measure that is with electroencephalography (EEG), which captures a summary of billions of neurons firing by picking up weak electrical signals on the outside of the skull.”11. Considers necessary philosophical questions. Does the idea of an immaterial soul reconcile with neuroscientific evidence? Search out.12. Describes reality. “One method to measure that is with electroencephalography (EEG), which captures a summary of billions of neurons firing by picking up weak electrical signals on the outside of the skull.” “Everything you experience – every sight, sound, smell – rather than being a direct experience, is an electrochemical rendition in a dark theater.” “The slice of reality that we can see is limited by our biology.”13. Describes consciousness. “…the conscious you is only the smallest part of the activity of your brain. Your actions, your beliefs and your biases are all driven by networks in your brain to which you have no conscious access.” “I think of consciousness as the CEO of a huge sprawling corporation, with a lot of thousands of subdivisions and departments all collaborating and interacting and competing in various ways.”14. Describes how the brain decides. “It’s simple to think about the brain commanding the body from on high – but in fact the brain is in constant feedback with the body.”15. An interesting look at willpower. “…willpower isn’t something that we just exercise – it’s something we deplete.”16. A look at social neuroscience. “Our social skills are deeply rooted in our neural circuitry – and understanding this circuitry is the basis of a young field of study called social neuroscience.”17. A fascinating look at Syndrome E and its repercussions. “Syndrome E is characterized by a diminished emotional reactivity, which allows repetitive acts of violence.” “Genocide is only possible when dehumanization happens on a heavy scale, and the excellent tool for this job is propaganda.”18. A look at the future of neuroscience. “The secret to understanding our success – and our future opportunity – is the brain’s tremendous ability to adjust, known as brain plasticity.”19. Can consciousness be uploaded? Search out.20. A helpful glossary of gatives:1. As expected, a book this succinct will leave some interesting neuroscientific subjects on the table. The subject of free will gets shortchanged.2. A book intended for the general public and a companion piece no less, will lack depth.3. The eBook edition has some glitches, as an example, additional blank pages inserted.4. Endnotes included but no formal summary, this book exemplifies my love for science. Eagleman is a master of his craft and a skilled writer. He covers complex subjects on the neuroscience with ease and provides the general public with an appetizer of knowledge. Neuroscience is a fascinating field in it is infancy and Eagleman successfully whets the public’s interest. I highly recommend it!Further recommendations: “Incognito: The Secret Lives of the Brain” by the same author, “How to Make a Mind” and “The Singularity is Near” by Ray Kurzwell, “Who’s in Charge?” by Michael S. Gazzaniga, “The Human Brain Book” by Rita Carter, “The Tell-Tale Brain” by V.S. Ramachandran, “Hallucinations” and “The Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat” by Oliver Sacks, “A Whole Fresh Mind” by Daniel H. Pink, “In Find of Memory” by Eric R. Kandel, “Self Comes to Mind” by Antonio Damasio, and “The Mind” edited by John Brockman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    click this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here click this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canada pharmacy csmp [canadian pharcharmy online reviews fply]  2020-10-15 13:43
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy canada online pharmacy scam canadian pharmacies for pharmacy online pharmacies without prescription cvs pharmacy canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy - india pharmacy canadian pharmacy canadian pharcharmy in canadian pharmacies

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    list of canada online pharmacies zjqw [ canadian pharmacy czdz]  2020-10-17 6:50
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacies canadian overnight pharmacy canadian online pharmacy from canadian pharmacies brand online canada pharmacy canadian online pharmacy reviews pharmacy canadian-pharmacy-online scam online canadian pharmacies canada pharmacies online prescriptions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canadian pharmacy qlsr [canada rx pharmacy deoo]  2020-10-19 20:18
    [email protected]

    canada online pharmacy buy from us pharmacy generic pharmacy canada online pharmacies canadian rx pharmacy canadian pharmacies without prescriptions ed canadian pharmacy the canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy for everyday use brand online canada pharmacy canada online pharmacy canadian pharmacy online generic pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    price of tablets in india [ without seeing a doctor]  2020-12-4 10:13
    [email protected]

    osta 100mg discount online discount sales Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to buy lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo purchase lasix from Portugal where to buy lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to buy lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    over the counter []  2020-10-25 17:54
    [email protected]

    medicine fresh zealand silvasta fresh ed tissue in the nose [url= [url= dysfunction injections[/url] [url= [url= booster way book[/url] [url= function returns as copper decreases[/url] [url= [url= medication over counter[/url] [url= [url= dysfunction icd 10[/url] [url=

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    You Are What You Love by James K. A. Smith is a little book with huge ambitions. It aims to reshape the method evangelical Christians understand discipleship, replacing their emphasis on thought with an emphasis on desire. Rather than saying, “You are what you think,” Smith urges Christians to say, “You are what you love.”For Smith, this reshaping of discipleship is not something new, but something old. Both the Bible and the pre-Enlightenment Christian tradition taught that “the center of the human person is located not in the intellect but in the heart.” For example, consider Jesus’ words in Matthew 15:19: “out of the heart come evil thoughts—murder, adultery, immorality, theft, false testimony, slander.” Or consider Augustine: “You have created us for yourself, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.”Jesus’ words reveal that the heart orients us toward evil thoughts and evil deeds. Change the heart, and the thoughts and actions will follow. Augustine’s words remind us that our heart is oriented toward a telos, an end or goal, a vision of human flourishing. Because God created the heart, only the heart that seeks His telos—the kingdom—finds rest. Every other kingdom leaves our hearts weary and e issue is, how do you disciple the heart? How do you properly form human desire? Through practice, which develops habits. A cousin of mine likes to say that practice makes permanent. That’s as real for playing the piano as for developing moral character. What we do repeatedly shapes who we cording to Smith, the practices that shape our hearts can be called “liturgies,” a churchy term for the order of worship. Martin Luther said, “Whatever your heart clings to and confides in, that is really your god.” There is a liturgy, then, that develops a amazing heart for the real God. There are also liturgies that develop poor hearts for false gods such as consumerism. Smith urges us to take a “liturgical audit” of our lives to create sure our practice is oriented toward the proper telos, God and His kingdom, not some lesser ith uses the term liturgies expansively. In the final three chapters of the book, he uses it to describe Christian practices in the home, at school, and in one’s vocation. The heart of his book concerns the worship practices of the gathered church, however. It is here that the Christian heart is most formed. Smith states that his book “articulates a spirituality for culture-makers, showing…why discipleship needs to be centered in and fueled by our immersion in the body of Christ. Worship is the ‘imagination station’ that incubates our loves and longings so that our cultural endeavors are indexed toward God and his kingdom.”For him, worship is about “formation” more than “expression.” It is God himself meeting us to shape us into the kind of people who do His will, not just an outpouring of our sincere feelings about Him. (Pentecostals might be tagged as “expressivists” because of their exuberant services, but it seems to me that their theology of spiritual bonuses aligns with the notion that God is the agent of worship, not just its audience.) Seen this way, and mindful that practice is repetitious, Smith urges Christians to hew closely to the traditional “narrative arc” of worship—which consists of gathering, listening, communing, and sending—and to eschew “novelty.” (He’s not talking about the “worship wars,” by the way. This has to do with the structure of the worship service, not the style of its music.) That liturgy “character-izes” us, meaning, it shows us that we are “characters” in God’s story and then forms the appropriate “character” in erestingly, Smith argues that Christian cultural innovators need to be rooted in Christian liturgical tradition: “the innovative, restorative work of culture-making needs to be primed by those liturgical traditions that orient our imagination to kingdom come. In order to foster a Christian imagination, we don’t need to invent; we need to remember. We cannot hope to re-create the globe if we are constantly reinventing “church,” because we will reinvent ourselves right out of the Story. Liturgical tradition is the platform for imaginative innovation.”I hope I have accurately and adequately communicated the gist of You Are What You Love. It is a thoughtful, thought-provoking book that I would encourage pastors, church leaders, and interested laypeople to read. Having said that, though, I wish to create two “yes, but” rst, yes desire, but also thought. In other words, I agree with Smith that the heart is the heart of discipleship. This is a point on which evangelicals should unite, whether they are heirs to Jonathan (“religious affections”) Edwards or John (“heart strangely warmed”) Wesley. I am concerned, however, that Smith has swung the pendulum too far toward a discipleship of desire in order to compensate for the tendency in evangelicalism to swing the pendulum too far toward a discipleship of thought. This is, admittedly, an impressionistic critique. Smith is a philosopher and theologian in the Reformed tradition, after all, and the Reformed are known to be punctilious about doctrine. Still, I would’ve liked to see more on the discipleship of the mind in the cond, yes process, but also crisis. A process-orientation in discipleship focuses, as Smith does, on the development of spiritual habits. A crisis-orientation focuses on the necessity of decision. The characteristic forms of process-oriented discipleship are stable liturgies, the sacraments, and spiritual disciplines. The characteristic form of crisis-oriented discipleship, at least among evangelicals, is the altar call. As a Pentecostal, I would also add the call to come forward for Spirit-baptism or healing. There is small put for crisis in Smith’s book. Perhaps this is an overreaction to the crisis-orientation of evangelicalism and Pentecostalism, which often leave small room for process. Still, it seems to me that both are important to discipleship. Wesley was no slouch when it came to process. His followers weren’t called “Methodists” for nothing, after all. But he still stood outside the mines and called miners to repentance and faith. I didn’t see that in Smith’s ese two “yes, buts” notwithstanding, I intend to re-read and meditate further on Smith’s book. As a Pentecostal, I disagree with certain aspects of Smith’s Reformed liturgical heritage (infant baptism, for example), even as I am challenged by the overall thrust of the book. The heart is the heart of the matter. Any discipleship that fails to take that truth into acc fails to achieve its aim.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    I loved the ysis and critique that too often we create discipleship all about knowledge and not about the desires of our hearts. As a PCA ruling elder it was a amazing reminder that we are driven by our loves as much as our beliefs and the church has to be as much about reorienting our loves as much as gaining more facts. Amazing balance between head and and heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    I loved the book. Candice Pert explains science in a very simple way. I loved the connection between emotions and the immune system. It is also interesting to learn how politics affect research, something that I had suspected but it confirmed it. The communication between cells is awesome and magical. A must read for anyone. Support your body to war disease, read Mrs Pert book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    Dr. Pert did a very amazing job of writing this book in a method that's very simple for the layperson to follow. It's hard to place down...very interesting and informative. I have referred to it a lot of times since I've had it, and I re-read some parts over and over. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    You are what you love? Really? So, If I love God, am I God?Do you have fun being asked innumerable rhetorical/philosophical questions, followed by an opinion -posed as fact?Do you appreciate the restating, in every conceivable and frequently twisted method possible, amid endless questions, the same primary biblical proverb: “As a man thinks in his heart, so is he.” ?Do you have fun the muddling of definitions of words such as “liturgy” and “habit” which instead of construing confidence in intellectual comprehension produces an “I’m smarter than you because I use complex definitions and have PHD after my name requiring your subjugation” mentality?Are you stimulated by illogical and contradictory ideas, swirling philosophical rhetoric, and incomplete reasoning on almost every page?Do you can’t not love double negatives utilized with abandon?If your respond to these questions is, “Yes”, YOU will really have fun this book! If your respond is, “no”, I cannot stress enough to run of the rules in our home is:“Do not make unnecessary work for others”. A amazing teacher can take a complicated topic and create it reachable. This author does exactly the opposite -creating lots of unnecessary mental e app of “writing is 1 percent inspiration, and 99 percent elimination” by the editors would well serve the reader.While there are some good, thought-provoking ogies in this book,obviously, this purchaser did not care for this writer’s mishmash writing style and wouldn’t recommend it. I pity the students that are needed to read it.Take a amazing look at how you spend your time and money. This will reveal what you really love. Create adjustments as required and remember the children’s song “O Be Careful Little..” when choosing your everyday activities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    A lot of amazing quotable and thought-provoking statements. Smith shares insight into how our thought patterns, our loves, our objects of worship, and our sin are often the effect of a herd mentality of riding with the flow of our culture and environment. So a lot of practical applications of this writing. The leanings toward liturgical and traditional worship wasn't as helpful to me, but I was able to start formulating other antidotes (habits and practices) to counter the thinking-less adoption of the culture around me. Perfect read--and I just bought 2 more to share with friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    I came to know about Candace B. Pert through the mind-boggling movie 'What the Bleep Do We Know!?' I found her presence markedly impressive and right away ordered her book. Molecules of Emotion is not only an extraordinary scientific study, but it also comes with much autobiographic content. Candace Pert has the courage to reveal a lot of info from her life as a female nce the 1970s, the late Candace Pert has persisted in her vision of finding molecular evidence for the functionality of our emotions, and our ity, and more generally for mindbody medicine, within the boundaries of modern science. The book, if all that extra info was taken out, would be a research paper, too thin to fill a book. And it would probably miss its goal entirely. It’s this holistic and empathic approach, and needless to add that it’s an artistic approach as well, that makes this book so unique. And it shows that this scientist is actually a amazing human. Actually Pert, together with the brilliant animations in the Bleep movie, created transparent how human ity works, and that it is not a mechanical abstract function, that it is not, an instinct or ‘drive’ as Sigmund Freud called it, but a direct outflow from our emotional give an example, how she explains this rather complex matter in a very readable, comprehensive way, allow me place this quote:—If receptors are the first components of the molecules of emotion, then ligands are the second. The word ligand comes from the Latin ligare, ‘that which binds’, sharing its origin with the word religion. Ligand is the term used for any natural or manmade substance that binds selectively to its own specific receptor on the surface of a cell. The ligand bumps onto the receptor and slips off, bumps back on, slips back off again. The ligand bumping on is what we call the binding, and in the process, the ligand transfers a notice via its molecular properties to the receptor. Though a key fitting into a lock is the standard image, a more dynamic description of this process might be two voices—ligand and receptor— striking the same note and producing a vibration that rings a doorbell to begin the doorway to the cell./24Candace Pert’s project was since its humble beginnings in the 1970s very daring, as until now mainstream psychology treats emotions as ‘floating parameters’ that are hard to grasp by our reigning mechanistic science paradigm.But in her own words, her vision even went beyond. She did not just wish to succeed in her private research project, but desired to support bring about this large paradigm shift to a lot of scientists who are currently working on it. And she wanted this paradigm shift to expand also into medical science, so that the psychosomatic unity of body and mind are definitely recognized in is known from the Bleep film how brilliantly Pert explained her research, how she can convey complex matters in a easy comprehensive way. And here is how she explains emotions under the particular angle of her research:—When I use the term emotion, I am speaking in the broadest of terms, to contain not only the familiar human experiences of anger, fear, and sadness, as well as joy, contentment, and courage, but also primary sensations such as pleasure and pain, as well as the ‘drive states’ studied by the experimental psychologists, such as hunger and thirst. In addition to measurable and observable emotions and states, I also refer to an / assortment of other intangible, subjective experiences that are probably special to humans, such as spiritual inspiration, awe, bliss, and other states of consciousness that we all have experienced but that have been, up until now, physiologically explained./131-132To summarize, this highly readable book from an awesome scientist may scramble you up a bit, but this is a amazing thing to happen. The book is not a dry research report, but in the contrary reads like an adventure novel—the novel of a daring woman who has achieved much in her life. She has won the hearts of a lot of people and through touching their hearts she has been able to place fresh seeds in their minds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    I was disappointed that the book was more about Pert’s private journey than the science . I know that there are more women who would read the book if the title reflected the issues women in science face in male dominated fields. Sometimes she handled her situation well and sometimes not so much, but her experiences shared could be of amazing value to other women, scientists and otherwise, who are disadvantaged by their gender.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    I purchased this book as needed reading for a class, and while I am not one to typically write book reviews, I feel compelled to in this case.While I am sure that Dr. Smith is a morally upright man, whose faith in Christ is in the right place, his understanding of cultural anthropology is shallow at best. He appropriates terms to juxtapose his point, while completely neglecting their proper meaning in order to shoe horn his ideas. His understanding of Cartesian Philosophy is dim at best, basing his whole argument on the notion that we are often considered "thinking thingisms" (a low brow method of stating that we are merely thinking substances), simply because Descartes concluded in his meditations "I think, therefore I am", completely missing Descartes conclusion to his own existential crisis.He is painfully contradictory, criticizing post-modern day church culture and yet in the same breathe, contends to use innovation not to change the church, but to bring it back to it's medieval glory. That's not to say that there are not amazing points in his book, such as how mega-churches and youth groups have made a zealous and emotive form of worship that is designed to serve the person, and not worship the Lord -- in that we are in total agreement. However he seems to have this notion that as "culture makers", we should use be using the tools of innovation to excited and inspire people back into the Church..He uses logical fallacies akin to all squares are rectangles, therefore all rectangles are squares, in that he equates love to desire and therefore all desires are loves. This statement in and of itself is incredibly myopic and shows that his understanding of desire is very one dimensional. He grossly over uses the word liturgical where he ought be using ritual, and tries to "repurpose" it, as if it isn't commonly used today, properly, in the Catholic and Protestant language. While he is right to point out that there is a ritualistic modus operandi to things such as ping and our day to day dealings, calling them liturgies is a stretch in that it is the wrong language to describe what he is a lot of cases he seems to do what most post-modern "scholars" do nowadays, as well as what is expected in academia in that he uses a computer to search ideas and quotes that juxtapose his ideas, cites it, and calls it an academic, scholarly work all the while missing the greater every chapter he does a "what if I told you" line, where he comes off as a second rate, bargain bin Morpheus (from the Matrix), trying to sound more smart than he really is -- creating this almost rose tinted ideology about how reality ought work if only we approached it as "lovers" and not "thinking thingisms". The other issue is that in the first chapter, at the same time while asserting that we are "thinking thingisms", he goes onto say, that 95% of our days are automatic responses. So what are we, are we automatons, or are we thinking thingisms?The largest issue with this whole "love" ideology is that regardless of how it is presented it comes off as this high school romance fluff. While Smith does assert that notion, he does the exact same thing only giving it his own spin, and thus justifying it as different. Love and intellect, heart and mind, faith and deeds, are NOT mutually exclusive but instead are partners that walk hand in hand. When they are out of balance they produce discord and chaos -- we are not merely just "lovers", and we are not entirely "brains on a stick".I brought up this book with some scholars that I am acquainted with and each time they said that it sounded like he was misrepresenting Augustinian Philosophy, and while I create no claims to be familiar with Augustin, nor have I read his works in depth, Smith does in fact state that his concept is based on Augustinian thought.Unfortunately, while you can take a quote out of a book, you can misrepresent a quote by misunderstanding the greater whole and I believe that Smith does this wards the end of the book Smith basically just reiterates his premises and repeats himself not really making anymore sense than he did in the beginning. This book might be fine for some looking for some vapid, feel amazing theology, but in the broader sense it lacks depth and understanding of greater principles. If anything, I take this as an indication of just how deeply damaged and mindless the Church as a whole has become.On the bright side, his mention of the film "Stalker" did intrigue me, so I look forward to watching that in the near future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    I've read Smith's earlier works, some of which are recapitulated in You Are What You Love. This one is much more accessible, but equally as challenging. He gives a clear and compelling vision of what it means to be the church in the globe (albeit a small too Calvinist for me) and how to re-shape Christian imagination for the kingdom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    This book is awesome on a number of levels. It makes you think about the absurd politics that interfere with serving the public good. We have brilliant scientists playing junior high school android games involving their egos, machismo and greed. Candace Pert was a character who was far underrated in her accomplishments and service to humankind. And this book provides the missing link between body and mind. It was a amazing reference for my book Stressing Out Over Happiness published in 2016. If you wish to truly understand the industry of , android games and deception from an insider's perspective at the highest level, read Molecules of Emotion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    Definitely a thought provoking and interesting book. I didn't always agree with the author. I particularly thought it was ironic that she kept complaining about a male dominated and ist scientific world, but every single man she encountered she had to describe their physical appearance. She usually commented on their physical looks. It just seemed a bit silly to me that she complained so much about it but always had to focus on the physical characteristics of her male colleagues. Other than this, I really enjoyed the book. It resonated with me and I would be interested to continue to learn more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    The huge takeaway I got from You Are What You Love is that our habits (called "liturgies" in the book) don't just reveal what we love but they actively form and influence our affections. This has huge implications for how churches disciple believers and also structure their worship services. It does sometimes feel like Smith overestimates the effectiveness of more traditional liturgical practices in church; I know plenty of people who left more liturgical churches because all the "bells and smells" did nothing to move their affections. It works for some people but not for others. I do think the key point is that contemporary churches need to be more intentional about everything they do and evaluate the implications of their practices. Definitely a lot to think about and process from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    This superb book will stimulate those who read it carefully and thoroughly to a deeper—and more importantly more hopeful—journey of life. Smith may have undersold the importance of conscientious thought to the well-lived life, but he should not be accused of discarding it altogether. His critical emphasis, though, on the development of habits and on the importance of holy worship is rightly placed; these must be elevated in the discussion of life choices or all is lost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    The book was all about her and her stuggles. I bought the book for the science not for her bibliography. Extremely disappointed. The description is misleading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    I just got done reading Molecules of Emotion and I loved veral of the reviews on this page complained that it was more of a memoir than a text. And they are right, it is - but it is not something that merits complaint. Rather, i think Candace Pert does a unbelievable job of showing her private journey, and the path along the way.i would have rated it with five stars, but unfortunately, the book has a lot of typos. i search it hard to believe that as classic a book as this one would have so a lot of grammar and spelling mistakes. Nearly all of these would and should have been caught by a amazing editor. I found them rather distracting, making it somewhat harder to read. It was an unfortunate wart on the what would otherwise be a solid five star r some books, that would have been it. The book would have going onto the shelf, mostly unread. However, this book was amazing enough that I was able to look beyond the editing mistakes. And in the couple of days it took me to read it cover to over, i was fascinated by the globe rt builds.i love the picture she portrays of science - specifically the National Institutes of Health. It shows the atmosphere in a national-lab setting and portray it and the publish-or-perish scientific globe in a less than flattering picture of the peer review system. Versus this backdrop we have a lot of 'NeuroPeptide' or life sciences discoveries. where is all this leading, I don't have the foresight to predict. But that's the beauty of science, and Dr. Pert does a unbelievable job of picturing all aspects of her journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    I have been influenced by James KA Smith over the past several years more than almost any other author. In the latest three years I have read five books and a number of shorter articles, not to mention watching at least a dozen lectures. And I do not think I am alone. I was in a personal Fb theology discussion yesterday when in 110 comments, Smith was referenced at least 8 times with no less than four of his books directly mentioned or hinted ere is a reason Smith is becoming influential. He is speaking to several problems that are necessary and prominent. You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit is the recent attempt both to deal with the problems and the first book to really attempt to speak to a lay audience about ere are three true points being created in the book. First, we are not solely intellectual beings. God made us with intellects and brains, but also emotions and unconscious bias. We are not, to use his common phrase, "Brains on a stick." We are fully human, and we are intended to be that method by God. That may not seem like a huge deal, but much of Christian culture has understood us to be Brains on a Stick. Our evangelism, discipleship and spiritual growth are often primarily oriented toward the intellect. There is also the anti-intellectual parts of Christianity. But they are in a lot of ways just as oriented toward the Brain on a Stick idea, just using the insight in a various e second point is that because we are not brains on a stick, we need to take into acc the different ways that we are influenced and shaped. Jamie Smith uses the term 'liturgies' to describe the shaping activities that are all around us. Going to the mall is a consumerist liturgy. The bright airy buildings give us comfort and place. Our five senses are being engaged by Cinnabon and the skylights and the comfortable seating areas. We are being shaped by the feeding of our desires and absorbing our put in the globe as consumer. Sports have a various liturgy. We feel a participant in something greater than ourself, we have the us versus them mentality ith uses Liturgy to talk about the subtitle of the book, how any repetitive activity shapes us over time. As Christians, we wish to be shaped to become Lovers of God so that we will become more like God and love the things that God loves. So Smith defends the concept of habit as spiritual formation. This includes, but is not limited to understanding our weekly Sunday morning worship and 'quiet times'.You Are What You Love has an extended discussion of how these liturgies work in families, with kids and education, and for adults through vocation. The illustration of these three chapters at the end moves the book from theoretical to illustrative, giving the reader a framework to see both habit and culture in fresh ways.I have been convinced over time that worship should not be primarily about hearing a 45 min informational notice that encourages us to work harder or gives us more information, which we then are expected to place to use at home on our own. For Smith, our church worship should be focused on a sacramental re-orienting of loves to God. That re-orienting through sacramental worship is not a once a week fill up that gives us what we need until we come back again the next week to top off the tank. But the re-orientation should be the grounding in a communal re-orientation that continues throughout the week among that same community.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Are What You Love: The Spiritual Power of Habit []  2020-1-16 10:23

    A famous more accessible ver of the academic Desiring the Kingdom, the central thesis is that what we really love may not be what we say we love. Humans are not merely brains on a stick and while we may affirm something on an intellectual level, our desires and our habits will ultimately present what we really love. I loved Desiring the Kingdom but I appreciated this work even more. Smith’s contention that even the seemingly benign habits like the use of our smartphones or going to the mall had a convicting result on being more aware of how my habits have a method of shaping me. The bit about the mall as a secular put of worship cultivating worshippers of consumption was a spot on cultural assessment. The bit about marriage on pages 118-121 was hilariously true.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    This is a unbelievable autobiographical book that takes you on a journey as she discovers the method the brain works. It can be a bit technical for the non nerd types, but if you can obtain past the scientific terminology to understand the underlying story that the brain can and does link memories and emotions using chemical signals that tell other parts of the brain and the body how to answer when that memory is triggered. By understanding this it can potentially be possible to reprogram the brain to disconnect negative emotions and feelings by turning off the cell from sending out those molecules anymore... at least that is how i will be looking at the work she did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecules of Emotion (Why You Feel the Way You Feel) []  2020-11-14 20:22

    My favorite book of 2015. Candace did the groundwork in scientific research of the result of neurotransmitters and endorphins beginning in the mid 70's and this is her private and professional story. The facts are undeniable yet our ability to utilize her valuable info still remain untapped in a lot of respects. Pharmaceuticals are one aspect, the actual understanding of our biochemical and psycho-neurological makeup a whole other concept. Amazing book for anyone studying natural cures, holistic health, energy work, psychology; the applications are endless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of the Fox : Romance You Choose [App]  2019-5-13 21:27

    This is the best gave ever I hope you create more android games like this there so good!!!! ❤😁

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of the Fox : Romance You Choose [App]  2019-5-13 21:27

    (˘❥˘)(˘❥˘)(˘❥˘)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Raise Me Up: The Best of []  2020-2-1 23:46

    Item as described. In mint and original condition. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Raise Me Up: The Best of []  2020-2-1 23:46

    If you have fun a good,sincere Christian,singing from the heart, you will have fun this CD with Aled. Some familiar,some newer numbers. A amazing mix. I recommend this CD. I prefer O HOLY NIGHT ver with the young Aled singing dubbed with the adult Aled but this offers a change which is still very meaningful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mall of the Dead:Romance you choose [App]  2020-2-1 13:41

    I loved the android game and the characters (especially Weber/Zero)!!!! I did NOT like how it ended. That's why I'm only giving it 4 stars. Very abrupt ending, no true ending in my opinion. Genius, are you making a second season for this?????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mall of the Dead:Romance you choose [App]  2020-2-1 13:41

    It is so awesome I love weber with his alter ego and i love all of the special personalities that go together so well! I hope for more android games like this(minus the zombies) in the future.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386