Read the mayan civilization and the galactic centre reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the mayan civilization and the galactic centre reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    I can only surmise that the 5 star reviews on here were written by the author's family members or bots because this "book" was disastrously bad, I returned it immediately.Even the book itself seems to be surprised it is in print when it asks you to click on printed links. Clearly, there was no e size is pamphlet thin, the content is so broad even the most cursory scan of Wikipedia yields better information. The style of writing and the briefness leads me to believe this might just be an essay assignment some precocious high schooler has passed off as a book. In which case, well done you! If Patrick Auerbach is indeed not 16 years old I recommend to him The Elements of Style (link below) you think I am exaggerating, please feel free to purchase a copy for yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    Book gave a general overview of the Mayan civilization. It covers the architecture of the temples and cities. It goes in depth about their calendar system ether importance of time to the Mayans.A segment is devoted to the topic of torture in their society and another of the importance of respect for the dead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    It was a bonus and a huge hit.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the mayan civilization and the galactic centre or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    Nice try. The author should start by announcing that he is not an expert in Mayan civilization but has a few ideas he'd like to test out. That's OK, but on a topic so specific, a small expertise is expected. And a small editing would have been appreciated. But, it was free (for Prime membership), so who can complain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    I visited the Mayan ruins when I was in Mexico. The book added to my knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    Was wonderful. Explained a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    Not what I expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    This "book" was rather like an extensive magazine articlel. We had visited the Mayan Ruins Chichen Itza ruins in Cozumel, Mexico.I was looking for a more extensive report of the Mayan civilization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods []  2020-9-22 21:5

    It’s a amazing read even though I only bought it for school I truly enjoyed reading it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    Nice try. The author should start by announcing that he is not an expert in Mayan civilization but has a few ideas he'd like to test out. That's OK, but on a topic so specific, a small expertise is expected. And a small editing would have been appreciated. But, it was free (for Prime membership), so who can complain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    Very interesting book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    I visited the Mayan ruins when I was in Mexico. The book added to my knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    Book gave a general overview of the Mayan civilization. It covers the architecture of the temples and cities. It goes in depth about their calendar system ether importance of time to the Mayans.A segment is devoted to the topic of torture in their society and another of the importance of respect for the dead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    It’s a amazing read even though I only bought it for school I truly enjoyed reading it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    This "book" was rather like an extensive magazine articlel. We had visited the Mayan Ruins Chichen Itza ruins in Cozumel, Mexico.I was looking for a more extensive report of the Mayan civilization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    Was wonderful. Explained a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    I can only surmise that the 5 star reviews on here were written by the author's family members or bots because this "book" was disastrously bad, I returned it immediately.Even the book itself seems to be surprised it is in print when it asks you to click on printed links. Clearly, there was no e size is pamphlet thin, the content is so broad even the most cursory scan of Wikipedia yields better information. The style of writing and the briefness leads me to believe this might just be an essay assignment some precocious high schooler has passed off as a book. In which case, well done you! If Patrick Auerbach is indeed not 16 years old I recommend to him The Elements of Style (link below) you think I am exaggerating, please feel free to purchase a copy for yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayan Civilization: The True And Surprising History and Mystery of the Mayan Calendar, Ruins, Religion & Gods (History Books) []  2020-11-25 19:45

    Not what I expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    For several years i was looking forward to obtain book such as this one. JMJ did as usuall amazing work. I like his style of writing. Filtered facts, returning to previous ideas, corection of the not well developed. Reviews of all passed parts. Amazing fact JMJ tutorial us in 2012MAYA cosmogenesis to understand the meaning and purpose of the 2012. In this book JMJ shows us how the alignment is binded to Mayas time and to Ours. Where, When and What. So you can take some software and check your self if he tells us truth. Also if you take some other books similar to this issue, you will be suprised by relationships between the facts. PopolVuh + this book + 2012 Maya Cosmogenesis + Orion Mystery + Hamlet Hill are really amazing combo to obtain fast overview about the 2012 issue.I am not going to write and opose to the facts in the book, this review is just to tutorial other to buy or not to buy this book. So facts could be checked by orderer.-keep it readin'-

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    This book was interesting and a decent read. Jenkins brought a lot if information together and didn't go overboard on the religious rhetoric. I found it to be a amazing comparison of interesting facts brought together with some interesting opinions with nothing forced on the reader. You are left to create your own conclusions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    John Major Jenkins has done a large amount of research, reading and thinking about the meaning of the Mayan Long Count end date of 2012. Whether His conclusions create sense to you depends on your belief system and your frame of is difficult to evaluate a lot of his conjecture about ancient civilizations and what their icons, symbols, and writing might have meant in regard to the 2012 date. To Jenkins, it clearly means the alignment of the Winter Solstice meridian with the plane of the Galactic Center, which is event now, in our own era. Although the Mayans chose to end their count on December 21, 2012 (by our calendar), the actual alignment happens over a period of time. A lot of experts think a better date would have been 1998 or 1999. If the alignment is the reason for the end date, and if the alignment happens over some years of time, that seems to indicate the date does not signify an apocalyptic event, as a lot of think. Jenkins speculates that the "end time" is really a period of rising awareness, a time when our very consciousness can shift to a fresh I read of the a lot of "sacred alignments" on earth, necessary ancient cities and markers that line up in geometric fashion, I was reminded of another book I recently finished, Henry Lincoln's book, The Holy Place, about the zone around Rennes-le-Chateau France. Lincoln identified a lot of geometric alignments that he felt were beyond chance. But Jenkins raises the intriguing idea that these alignments on earth -- which mirror the occult dictum of "as above, so below" -- may not have been deliberate, but may be an unconscious response to some type of energy from space, or some dimension beyond our the Galactic Center the source of wisdom, of spirituality? Has our evolution seen sudden jumps because of this energy, and are we getting more of it now that our solar system is lined up with the Galactic center? These seem strange questions to those of us living in modern urban locations where we cannot even see the Milky Method at night. It is always a rare and attractive night for me whenever I can see stars because, living in the Detroit area, we have method too much light pollution and not good quality of air to see the kind of panorama of lights the ancients must have seen. Jenkins makes the point that the Milky Way, our galaxy, is very visible from the high locations of South America. I thought huge parts of the book were tedious, as the text went over numerous examples, quoted the author's favorite writers, and expounded on astronomical lore that was too obscure to evaluate. If you have no acquaintance with the Precession of the Equinoxes, then a lot of the material here will be hard to follow. I recommend Graham Han's book, Fingerprint of the Gods, as a amazing introduction to the concepts of Precession and how the numbers are encoded in ancient legends, writings, and e most interesting part of Galactic Alignment was near the end where we obtain the author's ideas. But here he diminishes what are fascinating speculations by too much sermonizing. If you don't believe in an unseen spiritual globe or believe you have a spiritual body that continues to exist when your body dies, then the author's remarks will sound like so much ho. Since I happen to share the author's beliefs, I did search his comments worthwhile. But I have to wonder: If this is a period when we have the opportunity to begin ourselves to higher levels of enlightenment, are we doing that? There certainly has been a lot of interest in spiritual subjects and re-examination of ancient beliefs. People are studying the Kabbala, embracing Fresh Age ideas, meditating, learning about charkas and natural healing... but we also just re-elected George W. Bush. The conservatives and fundamentalists are also powerful and religious differences around the globe are bringing us battles and division. You could certainly build a case that none of this shows a human race becoming more spiritual or more enlightened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    I recently discovered this book and I want I'd found it sooner. It has so much info of interest to me concerning ancient galactic astronomy (a subject very near and dear to me). John's writing style is fluid and his wisdom is deep and meaningful; he walks a steady-line between scientific inquiry and penetrating spiritual insight; he maintains appropriate rational skepticism. I am delighted to own this book and it furthers my own work tremendously. John Major Jenkins is one of the most insightful and penetrating investigators working to understand the metaphysics of the ancient globe writing today. His seminal insights about the Mayan Long Count Calendar's End Date spawned an entire industry; but here, in Galactic Alignment, John goes further, to present that the Milky Method has been the jewel in the crown of the ancient mysteries among a lot of other civilizations and cultures\, as well. I love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    So far, so good. I haven't finished it, but it encompasses a lot of what I have been researching over the latest years... bottom line, let's see what happens in Dec. 21 2012...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    The Apocalypse is "the exteriorizing of our soul and the interiorizing of our body."--Terence McKenna (1946-2000)A masterpiece of musings on the End-Date AD 2012. And if you carefully contemplate the connections cross-culturally, then an occult -- hidden -- truth leaps at you, ultimately. It in fact unlocks the gate to the realms of the invisible that Terence McKenna, the fresh age "shaman of hyperspace," spoke so eloquently. Specifically, it has to do with the opening of our third eye, and the apocalyptic implications on our society that spends its mornings at Starbucks, and its evenings watching Wheel of Fortune. Yes, I guess this book isn't for everyone, but it sure tuned-up my chakras, created my mind's molecules shift to the next higher orbit! It will yours too, if you place down that TV tuner and read this book with an intention to learn the secrets of the ages -- and apply them to your life's larger purpose, to survive the second coming of cosmic consciousness in era-2012.Dr. John Jay Harper is author of  Tranceformers: Shamans of the 21st Century  and  Science of Soul: The End-Time Solar Cycle of Chaos in 2012 A.D. .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    Very enlightening! Sent me to the e-library. I think this book is very timely . . . considering growing proof all things in the universes are connected and most are trans-communicating. Strongly recommend for those interested in how and why hu-mans came to be . . .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    The book was delivered as was said. The Author brings out a lot of interesting info but is a small long winded at certain points. At times he seems to forget that not all of the readers of his book have his background in the things he writes about. Overall the book was a amazing deal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    the book presents very novel, out-of-the-box but profound concepts and makes for an interesting reading experience. the integrative nature of the theories, synthesizing mayan, Egyptian and vedic thoughts and mapping philosophies to galactic structure and movements is commendable. the latest chapter is especially ever, unless one is at least an astronomy hobbyist, a lot of terms and concepts can be difficult to understand. so one may have to skip these 'proofs' and proceed directly to the conclusion, but then you miss out on the in-between logic. the pictures / diagrams depicting galaxy-solar system movements and planes can be quite confusing, as there are multiple axes. these are not always depicted accurately, IMO. hence i could not really fully comprehend the "alignment" in actual astronomical terms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions []  2020-9-26 19:1

    As presented with timely delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    2nd grade history: the Mayan civilization. Warning this review includes spoilers. We begin off with a amazing surprise. The Mayan civilization was developed by the Mayan people. That was a true shocker. Children even second graders are intelligent and know that civilizations are often named after the people who created up that civilization. Now we obtain into amazing facts. We are told they lived in an zone from southern Mexico thru western Honduras. I like that they gave country landmarks instead of saying that they lived in Central America. This book now begins to describe what the Mayans are known for; their architecture. They present a lot of pictures of the still standing Mayan ruins, including an easily recognizable observatory. Next we discover their writing system. This book gives a amazing definition of glyphs the symbols that created up their writing. Then we learn that the Mayans had a various idea of what a attractive person looks like. Nest we learn that the Mayans developed the science of astronomy. This book also touches on the religion of the Mayans. We learn quite a bit from this short 18 page book about the Mayans. I think it is a amazing put to start. This book does a amazing job at touching on a lot of of the major points about the ancient civilization we know as the Mayans. I received this kindle e-book for free, (at the time of my review it is free to everyone,) in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    The Mayan civilization is a fresh topic for my 3rd and 5th grade homeschool children. So even though this book says it is for 2nd graders, I used it to introduce the Mayan civilization to my kids. From the begin of this book it captivated them with the pictures. In this instance, a picture spoke volumes more than the words ever could!This book is laid out with a short introduction of the Mayan culture and then alternating pages of short bits of info and full page pictures. The short bits of info are on different subjects such as Mayan writings, architecture, appearance, culture, and stone work. This info was fine when read by me to my kids but even my 3rd grader would have had difficulty with the language in this book had I not read it to her. This info was placed on the side of an overlaying picture that supplemented the e pictures in this book are wonderful! They fully illustrate the subjects being discussed and are intriguing enough to spark discussion among my kids. They wanted to know so much more that we searched out the answers to their questions online. That to me is a amazing introduction book! It sparked an interest!I received this e-book for free in exchange for my honest review. This incentive did not affect my review of this e-book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    Another amazing 2nd grade book with subjects that deserved to be read by children. The Maya civilization was a Mesoamerican civilization that deserves study and to be known by is book from Speedy Publishing provides any kids with the most primary info about the Maya culture. Of course, there is plenty of info available about the Mayans but you must understand that this is a book for little kids and only a few concepts and reference are giving on this book in order to stimulate a kid interest to further read about it.On this book you and your kid may search perfect photographs about actual Mayan ancient places. There will be a short written reference along with the photo.I am sure that this book will leave you and any kids in need to further knowledge about this culture so don’t be surprised to feel that way.Certainly is an little book intended for little kids but is a amazing book, with lovely pictures and one that must be included in any electronic library at home and school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    I am not sure it would be impossible to make a children's book to include all the info about the all the history and culture of the Mayan Civilization but this is a start. My daughter is two so she is a too young to understand the info that was presented in this Baby Professor book. But I'm sure this would be very appropriate info for school aged child, especially a second grader. This kindle edition was flawless with it's formatting. It was easy and simple to navigate. There was a fact presented on each page followed by an illustration.2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) the Kindle Edition includes info about the Mayan Civilization. The eight facts that are presented are interesting and easy to understand. There are fourteen illustrations depicting the history of this civilization. They are amazing quality on a phone or smartphone screen.I would definitely recommend this book (and the entire series) to parents, teachers and students.**This product was provided to me for free in exchange for my honest review. All of my review above is 100% my own and it reflects my honest and unbiased opinion.**

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    This is a unbelievable introduction to the Mayan culture -- especially useful for enrichment and as a starting off point for globe history study in the low grades or travel to Central America. Although it says 2nd grade, the vocabulary is challenging and it's helpful if teacher and student read the book aloud together -- this method the vocabulary, like glyph writing -- can be pronounced properly and used as a subject for further investigation. It also does not fear from telling a less rosy truth - the ballgame mentions that the losers were place to a sacrificial death. The pictures are pertinent to the text and present how impressive the remaining artifacts are -- and the picture of large-nosed carvings was explained by the culture, that the Mayans admired crossed eyes and prominent noses. I received this product in exchange for an honest review and am delighted with it --If my review helped you respond any questions, or allowed you to figure out if you should purchase or not, please indicate that my review was helpful :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    The book is quite short which is amazing for a 2nd grade level. The words can sometimes be difficult so this is best as a read aloud since there are no pronunciations in parenthesis anywhere in the book. The layout of the book as an e-book seems a small bit off. The first page with the introduction is simple to skip. There is no "the end" page which can be frustrating for a kid reading alone to know if they are done or not. The pictures are very nice in this book. Most of the pictures do not have descriptions of what they are. I think it would be helpful if there were extra descriptions of the images to ensure the kid gets the most out of reading this book. It is a very short read so it is simple to search time to read this together with a child. Since it is so short and not very developed I think it is a one-time read and done book. I would be hesitant to spend very much cash on this due to this and its lack of value in terms of what info is provided. However, kids do have fun it for a one-time so for a teacher sharing this with multiple kids it could be a better value than as a parent purchased item for a little family. I received this product for free or at a discount in exchange for my honest. unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    This was another amazing book! The Baby Professor books are amazing tool when wanting to have your young readers begin learning fresh ese are amazing fast reads that are visually stimulating as well as fun to read. These are meant to be reference tools not whole topic books. Each of the books tend to be about 18 pages long, just enough to intrigue growing minds. I nanny two young kids and I'm always trying to hold them busy with fresh things to do. I really like that I can download these books onto my smartphone with the amazon kindle application and have access to them whenever I want. It makes it a lot easier than carrying around a whole bunch of books and cleanup is amazing! I like to have these available when we are running errands and the children are bored. They are just enough info that allows the children to learn something in a short period but even makes them excited to learn more about the subjects. "The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books" is full of info that teaches children about the Mayan civilization, their architecture and interesting facts I didn't even know. Like the Mayan's found flat foreheads and crossed eyes beautiful. This is excellent for young small readers, who are interest in learning fresh things. I did keep the book at a discount or for free for my unbiased review. My opinions and feelings about the product are 100% my own and haven't been swayed in anyway. If you liked my review and found it helpful, please feel free to give it a like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    My 3rd grader enjoys reading non-fiction books for fun, so I knew she would really have fun this series of books. She did not like this one as much as others that she has read. Her main complaint was that it was too short and didn't really offer enough info about the Mayan Civilization. I think what is disappointing about this book is that it presents as a text book, but it's actually 18 pages of facts about a certain topic. It makes a amazing non-fiction picture book, as long as you're not expecting it to be the end-all and be-all of educational info on the e plus side: this book has vivid, gorgeous images of Mayan historical objects and locations. The info that it provides is amazing and interesting for a young reader. I also like that it explores a subject not normally offered in your typical picture books.**Disclaimer: I was given this book at a reduced price in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not paid to provide a positive review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    This book is full of amazing info about the Ancient Maya civilization. It takes around 20-30 mins to read this book. It has gorgeous pictures and teaches kids and adults alike about the civilization that lived in southern Mexico, Guatemala, Northern Belize and Western Honduras. When I was in high school I visited Mexico Town and several Maya pyramids in the zone with my Spanish class. This was an perfect trip for me I learned a lot on the trip. This book brought back a lot of of the things I saw when I was there. Mayan culture was popular for their architecture in the pyramids, observatories, temples and palaces a lot of still stand today. But the most popular of these structures are the pyramids. How did they do it without the use of today's technology? I don't know but the feat was impressive. The Maya had 800 glyphs that created up their written language. Some of the glyphs were pictures and others represented sounds. 'This book is impressive, has amazing photographs really showing the reader what their language looks like, what the Maya were popular for and how they conducted themselves at play as well as in religious ceremony. It's a simplified method of teaching Maya history and the pictures will hold the most active kid interested. Another amazing one for Baby Professor and Speedy grandson is in 2nd grade, is an avid reader, he reads method above his school grade. He told me that vivid pictures let him to use his imagine to transport him to another put and time. He would love to have this book in print to add to his extensive library, I may have to buy it for him and I am very willing to do so.***I am grateful to have received this product for a discounted rate in exchange for my personal, honest, unbiased and non-compensated ease if you found this review helpful in making your decisions, please press the “Yes” button below.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2nd Grade History: The Mayan Civilization: Second Grade Books (Children's Ancient History Books) []  2020-1-26 21:25

    I love this book for our three children, with small support of our oldest sibling kid our three year old has understood this. With me being foreign to this country I honestly have fun books like this too, even though it states a grade but we haven't been taught this kind of history of the U.S. it was more of a broader spectrum. I like the fact that you could use this book also for homeschooling material because of the facts and then the visual and awesome pictures. It has awesome pictures in it and that is what our kids adore the most of all books are pictures so it is easier to learn since they are visual learners. If your kid is not a visual learner this book would also them because it has facts in it as well. I have received this book for discounted or free in return for an unbiased review. Since I don't like to create things up this is a real review and I hope this review was helpful to you. If you think so please click yes. We appreciate the offer that we were allowed to review this book for you and hope this will support others to determine to create the choice of purchasing this book or not!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayan Calendar and the Transformation of Consciousness []  2020-1-9 19:0

    With the background knowledge of a novice I sought out a book to extrapolate the core ideals of the Mayan calendar. This book did exactly that, and in a method that was not only non-threatening, but encouraging and inviting as well. I leave tho book with a desire to spread its news and to seek more wisdom. Definitely one of my top reads and a book to hold close at heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayan Calendar and the Transformation of Consciousness []  2020-1-9 19:0

    I enjoyed reading the history of the calendar, by of and howit could be applied to modern times good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    The book is written in very clear and simple to understand language, by two authors with experience and passion for preserving and protecting this and related sites, as well as educating people on its importance and grandeur. I have now personally been to Tikal twice, and I search this book to be an invaluable companion to understanding this immense and impressive site. Dieter Richter quite literally may be the most knowledgeable person in all of the Peten region and beyond regarding Tikal, as well as a lot of other lesser-known but also fascinating Mayan websites in the region.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    I had the special privilege of meeting Dieter Richter during an end of summer trip down to Guatemala in 2016 to learn about the Mayan people and volunteer at an English School in Guatemala City. Our first stop was to see the attractive town of Flores in Petén; Dieter owns and operates the Hostel Café Arqueológico Yaxha and this is where we first met. Over the next 4 days we had a personal tour of the Tikal, San Clemente, and Yaxha cities courtesy of Dieter and his company. I couldn't explain in any amount of written words the kind of experience this was. All I can say is, that I day-dream and night-dream about my time spent in Guatemala and a large portion of those precious memories are thanks to Dieter and his work. Some months later when I came home and had the possibility to read "Tikal: yze, understand and live the largest Mayan city-state", I felt as though I was right back in the lowland forests of Petén, gazing awestruck at the grandeur of one of Central America's most fascinating pieces of history and their work to preserve it for future generations. The in-depth knowledge that is expressed throughout the entire book is mesmerizing. It is written in an simple and straight-forward manner that would let anyone to understand. It walks you through the National Park as if you were already there experiencing it. A definite read before you create your trip to Tikal!---- or afterwards, like me, to feel the beauty and amazement of Guatemala flood back into your heart and mind! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    In-depth examination of Tikal architecture and its relevance in Mayan culture/life and historical significance. Offers detailed ysis of the evolution of Tikal with underpinnings pertaining to societal structure and class dynamic, and posits compelling contentions for its downfall.Would recommend for anyone visiting Tikal...informative, thorough and written in a narrative easily followed throughout the website with attractive images and reconstructions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    This e-book is written in a manner anyone can understand. It's full of amazing info about the history of Tikal as well as what to expect while visiting the site. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    Three years ago I had the unbelievable opportunity of visiting Tikal with my daughter. It was magical experience! At the time I only had country travel books with me which are massive and awkward to use in the field. This ebook option I came across and purchased latest year I think is going to be ideal for my return trip to Tikal later this year. Besides the ease of having at one's fingertips on a phone in their pocket, I found this book to be very well organized, detailed and came with perfect diagrams. I much prefer these photos over photographs as they clearly helped identify key structures and points of interest in a very easy manner. From the physical structures themselves, to the relationships with solar and celestial bodies, to the historical background of social, cultural, geographic and climatic conditions .... I found the authors did an perfect job of sharing the really necessary facts of this ancient marvel, but in an simple to read and engaging manner. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is considering visiting Tikal!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    Wow, so satisfied I read the book before going to Tikal. The website itself is impressive, but knowing which building was used for what and what happened where brings you to another level of experience. The book describes perfectly every building complex and explains, why the Mayans constructed it exactly like this. Most fascinating for me are the differences between the various acropolis - temple, palace and mixed acropolis and the wonderful planification and construction of platforms and even streets using them to supply the water reservoirs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    Travelmate and I enjoyed this book greatly during our latest travel to Tikal and Temple IV. Especially cool are the listing of Tikal temple Son/Moon alignments. Our trip did not overlap with those necessary days, but the book contains spectacular photographs of the alignments!Very well place together!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    I met Dieter Richter (co-author) when I stayed in a house in his yard in Flores about a hear ago and studied at the language school owned by him and his wife Eva. Originally from Germany,he is an architect who has lived in Guatemala for a lot of years and studies Tikal through out this time. He shared his knowledge with us (as well as a few dinners and rousing card games) and gave us some fresh insights into Tikal. I haven't had a possibility to read this book yet, but have already read another of this works that I got latest year. I have no doubt that it will be equally engaging and, if you have an interest in this part of the world, give it a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal: yze, understand and live the biggest Mayan city-state []  2020-7-8 19:5

    Amazing tutorial book about a amazing website to visit. It takes you on an exiting tour of Tikal, explaining about the various Temples and other buildings as well as some history in an simple to understand way. Amazing read and simple to follow maps.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    I downloaded this on a whim when bored and I am so glad that I did. The story is fun and unpredictable with some surprising depth. I am going to obtain the sequel now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    OMG, it just gets worse and worse.... The first 2 or 3 seasons were beautiful good, then the method out crap and repetitions started. I absolutely cringe when ever William Henry has ANYTHING to say. Everything he says is just totally absurd. And while David Childress sometimes has something interesting to add, once again I cringe when he makes some fantastical statement and then adds "It can only be ancient aliens!" with a facial expression that appears to be part embarrassment at making this ridiculous statement and part cringing at himself for doing it. and there are others. Don't obtain me started on David Wilcox.Early on in the series you can hear different so called "experts" continually quoting Zecheria Sitchin on annunaki as meaning "those who from the heavens came". Sitchin is supposedly a self taught "expert" on Sumarian script.... Nope, if you google and read the translations by ACTUAL experts in the Sumarian language none of Sitchins fantastical forays into ancient aliens occurs on the tablets. In fact, Annunaki means offspring of An or princely offspring and are the unnamed deities of Sumaria believed to be the offspring of An and Kia, his ese people never give any reference for their fantastical claims, primarily because they don't wish you looking anything up. For instance, in one episode, I forget which one and which season, they talk about the sea monster which swallowed Jonah and state that it is mistranslated as a whale (I agree, the Jewish term actually means "giant fish" or sea creature) but then state that when you look up the story it describes the body as being metallic. Nope again. Looked up the story in the O.T. Read the entire thing looking for that, not there. If you look up debunking ancient Aliens you can search a lot having said that.... I came to the conclusion there might be alternative interpretations of a lot of scenes and happenings in the O.T. independently from reading my Bible about 35-40 years ago; independently from Erich Von Daniken, and defintely independent of the present Ancient Aliens. There was definitely something strange going on back then that in a lot of instances sounds like ancient aliens or some other technologically advanced civilization. There's no need to create items up, just read it with an begin mind that there could be a possible various explanation for some of the strange events! And the apocryphal book of Enoch reads like a science fiction tale in an ancient language!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    The author is method too enamored of "big words" and uses them incorrectly. As examples, he continually uses "populous" when he means "populace", and has professors wearing certain styles of clothing to "elucidate prestige". Coupled with punctuation errors, grammatical gaffs, run-on sentences, inconsistencies in his worlds and characters, and an excessive tendency to explain everything, I don't think I'll be able to continue reading this. The book reads as though it was an idea that was then expanded by adding a lot of words to bulk it up without adding any value, and then revisited a lot of times to create sure the narrator would seem to be extremely well-educated and knowledgeable about EVERYTHING. However, when the narrator is explaining that a "condition" that is common to all humans has been identified as a "disorder" that is fundamental to what makes people human, he is revealed to be anything but well-educated and knowledgeable. Something common to all people is by definition normal - even if it seems irrational to the author - and a globe in which "learned scholars" have identified it as a disorder is is needs significant editing to create it readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    I love the word play throughout the book. I laughed out loud so often while reading, and tried to explain why to those around me, but then I just told them they would have to read the book to search out for themselves. It is complex, mysterious, and fun! This has been my favorite summer read, so far. Amazing job, Matt! Woot, woot! I can't wait to read even more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    I think I lose a few IQ points every time this present comes at being said, I guess after 13 seasons, you run out of things to talk 's a fun show, and I give it 5 stars not only for Giorgio's hair, but for the diverse guests they have on.Each guest is a small stranger than the latest one. Each "fact" that gets presented is more ridiculous than the latest one.But hey, it's all in amazing fun, and it doesn't take itself too only complaint is the narrator. I cringe every time he follows up something with a rhetorical question. ("The templars? From space?"........."Jesus was an extra-terrestrial?"......."The Dalai Lama is in touch with alien spaceships?"...)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    There is more evidence of Ancient Aliens than there is that Joe Biden didn't hack in the 2020 election.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    I love me some ancient aliens. But recycling the same materials as since S2 with all the fresh releases this year about ufo activity and ships not built on earth. Cmon Georgio. Obtain the hair additional spikey and let's obtain into the fresh items already. Shame on Amazon for its weekly release schedule. Binge watching AA is the entire point of streaming service. Ffs reward your long term members. Set up a tier price system for people who don't mind and allow those who pay yearly have access and freedom to binge watch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    I'm almost at the point of the reviewer who gave the book 2 stars. Is this self published? That's how it reads. The writing is irritating. Word choices are bizarre and inappropriate. There's this irritating NYC voice. The grammar is sometimes wrong and there are a lot of typos. It needs both a proof reader and an editor. So why am I reading it? Amazon's blurb created the story sound interesting. So far the story is carrying me while the writing keeps saying place me down. I actually did place the book down to write this review. Now I will go back to it and see how long I can take it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    An enveloping world. A detective novel set in a distant future where human and humanoid variants have settled on planets throughout the galaxy. Bob and the Chief are special figures in the law enforcement globe of the future, in that technology for all its progress is still unable to do their jobs for them. Entertaining and intriguing, the science part of the sci-fi is informed and the fictional science, given that it is set 100,000 years in the future, is not implausible. Detailed in its imagery and imaginative. Through Bob portions of these other worlds are seen and attempt to be understood, with the understanding that alien worlds encompass too much size, zone and variation to be understood by any visitor. Bob's adversary, the mysterious genius at the root of the story, is a three-dimensional hero with a vision for the future of the galaxy - a long, deliberate plan with ramifications that Bob and the rest of the population are just beginning to realize. A worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    I've only seen a few episodes but I'm very happy with this season eventually I will learn all the seasons

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    My hat off to the writer for a beautifully written story. I'm all about science therefore, sci-fi is my go to put when it comes to reading, "Bob The Galactic Hero," despite the title, lived up my expectations I'm not one to give 5 stars to a novel I do not deem an perfect read, the story follows Bob's investigation into a series of deaths that set the story into motion with a very unusual conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    Was not expecting such a gem. I especially enjoyed the different mutations of humankind and the low key nature of the hero. Bob.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    Debunk the dinners, bunk. First of all, there is a debunker fit every claim that exists, from the YouTube movie, "Race to cold fusion" and the flat earthers, too "global warming." Then those debunkers, have their own e thing about debunking, evidence cited or not, is that supposedly every book in print is supposedly wrong, let's do a easy thought bunking evolution with logic, darwin claimed that over eaons, animals isolated geographically. Evolved through survival of the fittest, passed their genes on to make animals like the platapus?Highly improbable, it's more likely that, a fully formed platypus was born. The species between would have died notb posing on genes. It makes sense, evolution, until you really think about it.Any one who died not like this present because Stkr of the theories, most, are a leap off a e enigmas remain, discoveries today have vindicated a lot of ideas in the first seasons, and my favorites; the megalithic construction devolving to simplistic methods not the other method around deserves serious scientific tom line of we money not build it today, like most megalithic relics, then how was it done with less people no technology and most cases noooooo writing. It either was aliens or an unknown more advanced than today human society that rose and was whipped off the historical o choices, I for one, think it's equally possible it was either or, or that most of the series makes you question what modern society accepts as absolute truth .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    Its not only entertaining but it dose an awesome job discussing subjects that are normally considered boring, while making them simple enough for everyone (regardless of your education level) to follow along. In addition to this, I love the shows determination to point out the obvious truth that mainstream ding-dongs wont talk about!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    This story is GREAT. There is a whacky yet underspoken sense of humor that flows through the entire book, and I kept expecting it to turn into something like the classic tale of the universal respond to everything, but that never happens. This story just does its own thing and it's a really entertaining read.Highly recommended by, well, ME.I hope there's more like this to come from Mr. Vandergriff ... perfect work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    Why am I reviewing my own proof? I dunno. No one but me can buy one and I wrote the book. You can buy an official copy. I'll buy the proofs thank you. Poof and it's gone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bob the Galactic Hero []  2020-1-27 23:44

    Very fine writing! What an exciting and interesting book to read!! Highly recommended!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    I have been a huge fan of Ancient Aliens since Season 1 and watched all Seasons, you can watch them over and over, very interesting information!Please hold the Seasons coming....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Galactic Keyhole []  2020-12-27 19:51

    "The ancient people say that these structures were created using MAAAAGGGICAL, water.... come ON, there IS no such thing as magical water!"lololll don't obtain me wrong i take this present seriously but i love the reactions of David Childress, and Giorgios frustration from time to time it's hilarious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    To read Daniken's book, you have to be aware that Daniken not only believes in aliens but propounds that aliens made humans. I have read a lot of of Daniken's books and have always found him to be t, this book wasn't one of my favorites. I felt the title mostly capitalized on the upcoming Mayan prophecy without really fully explaining it. I wanted a clear explanation for December 23, 2012 but felt this book didn't do any better of a job than any of the doentaries or articles I've already read. Could that be because it's all a bunch of bunk? Probably. But, fun e author does create a very clear and believable argument that Mayan culture was so technologically and culturally advanced that some other ancient alien culture must have been involved. One thing I really like about Daniken as a researcher is that he actually goes into the field to examine the evidence and doesn't just rely on others' works and hearsay. This book also provides photographic evidence so the reader can 'see' for him or is a really fast, really fun read and a amazing introduction to Daniken and his theories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    Hazel Beecroft nails it again with another amazing story of a young equestrian, a horse, and the complexities of life. This is a totally believable and repeatedly moving book, well- written and very hard to place down. I look forward to further novels about the equestrians of Fenson.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    A romance novel with a few horse terms thrown in. The author goes on a rant every few pages to explain the main characters inner emotions. Mostly the story is told and not shown.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    I have read all the books by this author and this one did not disappoint. The characters are well developed and the plot is centered around my favorite discipline Eventing. Ms. Beecroft is very knowledgeable about the topic matter and draws her readers in. Thank you for another well written equestrian novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    I was first introduced to the ideas of Erich von Daniken some 25 years ago when I picked up Chariots of the Gods from my Dad's bookshelf. I read it perhaps in a couple of days and I was hooked! To a young boy, the ideas were mind-opening and revolutionary and in some method at least sparked a life-long interest in what may be `out there'. So Daniken's books and I go a long method back, and along the way, I did read a couple of his other books- in addition to umpteen books by others in the genre- Han, Sitchin etc. At the end of the day, who knows how much is fact and how much is conjecture, but what is certain is that our past is much murkier and interesting than we would like to believe, and our legends and myths may well shroud some interesting facts about our I picked up this book thinking on reading the blurb that it would shed some light on the supposed `return' of the Gods as per the Mayan calendar. Honestly, I was a bit disappointed- not only does it digress a lot from that premise, it does not really add much to ideas Prof Daniken has expounded upon in other books. At times, it just seemed like, he'd bring up an idea and then say, `refer to my book xxx'. Given that he has written a mind-boggling 25 books on similar subjects, I wonder if this really adds value to that bookshelf or is in some respects a rehash of existing material. There is perhaps one piece of interest for me that I had not learned about in detail before- the ruins at Puma Punku, but that could have been covered in one article- the rest of the book was not worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    I had to stay up late one night to finish this book and the ending surprised me (in a amazing way). The characters are interesting and have depth, the horses are realistic, the author obviously knows riding and eventing. I would recommend any of her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Civilization: The West and the Rest []  2020-1-15 22:50

    The positive things which other readers say about this book are true, but I was puzzled by two of the six causes named for the greatness of the west. Two of the six causes named were work and consumption. Hunter-gatherers work and consume. But they don't aculate capital or anything else we associate with greatness. Better terms than work and consumption might have been productivity and under-consumption. These make surplus capital and greatness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Human Cosmos: Civilization and the Stars []  2020-11-25 19:52

    This is one of the most interesting books I’ve ever read. I am buying it for my mates and family for Christmas — even though they’ve already had to live through me reading passages of it aloud!Dr. Marchant did us all an immense favor by distilling a millennia of info about our relationship to the stars overhead into thoughtful, meaningful categories (by chapter, ex. Myth, Land, Time, Art) and writing in such a method as to create complex historical info feel as simple to understand as if you were chatting with a friend.I’ve always loved astronomy and never particularly loved history and now I can say I’m a fan of both.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Civilization: The West and the Rest []  2020-1-15 22:50

    Niall Ferguson has the following impressive credentials: Laurence A. Tisch Professor of History at Harvard University; the William Ziegler Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School; a senior research fellow of Jesus College, Oxford; and a senior fellow of the Hoover Institution, Stanford. How’s that for a resume. He has the education, undeniably, but is he astute about how the globe is right now and what created it that way? The respond is: Yes, he is. And he shows it in this comparison of Western civilization’s free shop capitalism vs every other kind of political, social, and economic construct over the course of 500 years and how it has provided better economic and social benefit than what he terms all “the Rest.”Tackling that kind of historical, political, and economic ysis is courageous and daunting. However, Ferguson is up to the challenge, offering cogent reasons why capitalism in the form of free-market entrepreneurship was a success over the course of those five centuries and why all the other systems, such as communism and som and the latest of the Ming dynasties were not. As with all amazing professors, he makes special comparisons and offers outside-the-box examples to help his assertions. The inward looking philosophy and mistrust of innovation by the Ming dynasties of the late 18th and early 19th centuries was reflected in their rejection of the European clocks of that era when the clock was originally invented by the Chinese. Of course the pendulum has shifted 180 degrees from that insularity by China today. The role of Gutenberg’s printing press in the spread of Martin Luther’s Reformation ideas, which encouraged wealth as a sign of salvation, led to rapid economic expansion. The inability of the USSR to produce a pair of jeans comparable to America’s Levi’s 501 jeans was symptomatic of communism’s disregard of consumerism which led to its eventual downfall. These are just some of the perceptive examples he uses throughout the book.Ferguson postulates six reasons why the West became dominant:• the Scientific Revolution (all “the major 17th century breakthroughs in mathematics, astronomy, physics, chemistry and biology happened in Western Europe)• modern medicine (“nearly all the major 19th and 20th century breakthroughs in healthcare, including control of tropical diseases, were created by Western Europeans and North Americans”)• the Protestant or work ethic (the role of that principle in social and economic organization, in the expansion of literacy, and “sustained capital aculation”)• competition• “the rule of law and representative government… based on property rights and the representation of property-owners in elected legislatures” (as shown by the differences in evolution between North and South American economies and political structures)• the consumer society (the Industrial Revolution made a supply of productivity-enhancing technologies to meet the demand for more and cheaper goods)Some more juicy examples of Ferguson’s ysis of societies: He is a fan of Edmund Burke, the Irish statesman and philosopher who predicted the French Revolution’s decent into depravity while America’s Revolution did not because of the magnitude of the battle that engulfed France. He also discusses the pros and cons of colonization and the replacement of it with consumerism as represented by the meteoric rise of the Singer sewing machine. In terms of the Cold War, he says: “Yet the Cold Battle turned out to be about butter more than about guns, ballgames more than bombs…The issue for the Soviet Union was simple: the United States offered a far more beautiful ver of civilian life than the Soviets could.” The tournament between churches in America for the saving of souls explains why there is a vast decline in Protestantism in Europe and a rise in Protestantism in America given that “Americans have experienced more or less the same social and cultural changes as Europeans” since the mming up, Ferguson examines the rise of China and the decline of the West with the pros and cons of that perception. He ends that discussion with optimism for the West and a challenge: “Yet this Western pack [civilization] still seems to offer human societies the best available set economic, social and political institutions—the ones most likely to unleash the individual human creativity capable of solving the issues the twenty first century globe faces. Over the past half-millennium, no civilization has done a better job of finding and educating the geniuses that lurk in the far right-hand tail of the distribution of talent in any human society. The huge question is whether or not we are still able to recognize the superiority of that package…At its core, a civilization is the texts that are taught in its schools, learned by its students and recollected in times of tribulation… But what are the foundational texts of Western civilization that can bolster our belief in the almost boundless power of the free individual human being? And how amazing are we at teaching them, given our educational theorists’ aversion to formal knowledge and rote-learning? Maybe the true threat is posed not by the rise of China, Islam or CO2 emissions, but by our own loss of faith in the civilization we inherited from our ancestors.”This is a highly original and influential historical tome written by an erudite historian and economist about an economic system, capitalism, that has affected billions of people in positive ways throughout five centuries. Read it to understand how the globe got to where it is today, what might be in shop for it in the future, and how the West can retain the lead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Civilization: The West and the Rest []  2020-1-15 22:50

    For me this presented some fresh insights about why and how the West caught up and pulled ahead of older, more vilizations. Recommended for all our high school and college graduates who know so small about history and about the conditions that enable people to thrive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    This book was a unbelievable entry into the true thoughts of a rider, of any level. I could feel the cues, fist forming for the halfhalt, stabilizing on the corners. The love between horse and rider was the most poignant aspect of the story. So glad I bought this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    This was a unbelievable book, a true love-story about a woman and her forever horse and her forever man and the horse and man that came between. It takes a not very likable woman and leads her through immaturity and selfishness to a real horsewoman and faithful wife. I loved this book and can hardly wait to read more by this author:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Civilization: The West and the Rest []  2020-1-15 22:50

    You don't have to agree with Mr Ferguson's every word to nonetheless search this an illuminating and perspective-tilting wide angled telescope on five hundred years of history. Written in a highly engaging style and narrated brilliantly by the author. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Human Cosmos: Civilization and the Stars []  2020-11-25 19:52

    Based on my rxperience with the Audible ver of this book I purchased a hard copy...not disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    I really enjoyed this book. The story is engaging, the characters come to life. I especially enjoyed the thinking about the role a horse plays for a professional versus an amateur - and for a person in general. The horses are portrayed fairly realistically. Also some interesting perspectives and insights into marriage and expectations. It created me laugh, and it created me cry. A amazing book. I couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down The Centre Line []  2020-1-11 19:25

    Selfishly focused away from a dull marriage, bemoaning her penniless life, Sage Patterson loves her horse, Star. But fails to message Star is not quite up to snuff until a dressage writer, right after another dismal test, tells her Star is pletely distraught, Sage and husband Robin have a full battery of tests run to determine the is lame in both front feet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tikal and Uxmal: The History and Legacy of the Mayan Capitals of the Classic Era []  2020-1-26 21:25

    This book contains history of both sites, but it's best when it's actually describing the archaeology and their influences at each city.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    I, like quite a few others probably, heard of Erich von Daniken as a effect of History Channel's Ancient Aliens unique and series. I chose this book, his currently most latest book, as the starting point in reading some of his literature. I bought the ebook and my only criticism about the ebook is that is it difficult to really examine the pictures on the Kindle. For that reason, I think it would have been more beneficial to purchase the physical book. However, I was able to do Google photo searches to search the same pictures (or at least pictures of the same topic matter, since he uses a lot of his own private pictures) to see what he was talking terms of the content of the book itself, it was an enjoyable read. I found the most interesting parts of the book to be the comparisons of ancient cultures and ancients texts. Rather than starting at the beginning with his first book, I started by reading his most recent, so he references his others books quite a bit for the previous info he's already described/explained/compared so I do feel tempted to read some of his others just to hear what he has to say about those other topics.I feel like obviously I cannot decide what is real or untrue in the book, but it certainly presented some amazing meal for thought. Basically the whole time I read it, I kept checking online to cross-reference his claims and it actually created me learn as I went and kept researching beyond what he presented. Like I side, I don't know how much info that I can sit here and say "Yes, I believe it" about, but entertaining the idea was certainly does create me question how much of what we believe is real and how much has been misinterpreted over time. If anything, it's a wake-up call of how ignorant about own history we are.If you felt intrigued by the History Channel special, I absolutely recommend this book, even as a starting point in his literature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    Erich Van Daniken is always a amazing read. He keeps his arguments easy and always focused on the ancient gods as aliens theme (which is one possible alternative). I would give this higher rating if I didn't feel some of the material was reuse of earlier book material of his, and if he would just take his research a small further. But it seems he doesn't wish to entertain the chance that ancient gods and ancient technology marvels could just as easily be attributed to ancient human civilizations lost after the end of the ice age and the rise of ocean levels. But, as I said, still an enjoyable read. Just be a bit skeptical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    Eric clearly knows what he is talking about, he is 'The' Authority on this subject. The method he stresses that we are not institutionalising into our education system the facts about stone structures in Bolivia and Peru, is brilliant. It was amazing that he wrote something for release in 2010 because a lot of well known authorites haven't produced anything recent. With 2012 approaching, we need some latest min tip from a recognised authority. He could have created this book shorter to avoid some unrequired info in the end. Avid followers of this subject like myself can now relax and feel like we are in the r those reviewers that were unsatisfied because they wanted specific dates and specific info about Dec 2012 I'd recommend reading The Secret Language of Eras: Explore man's past, show and future with Personology. This book takes a fresh look at the dating system and backs it up with a various kind of evidence. The author divides time up into 200 year periods and reviews history back to the year 3000 BC. Its obvious that there is a pattern to our behavious as human beings, and December 2012 could be that milestone for the next era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    I read Chariots of the Gods in 1973 and it was truly groundbreaking. I then read Gold of the Gods not too long after that...also good, but not as good. I read a couple more along the method and there was nothing new...just the same forward 4-decades: This is more than a rehash of his early works. Twilight of the Gods is one of his best works ever. The research is thorough and he presents the evidence in a most compelling method with a style of writing that can appeal to all ages and reading e writing was tight, there were no typos, and I can't wait to order another of his more latest ad to see that van Daniken is still leading the method with the ancient astronaut hypothesis that he did so much to pioneer and popularize so very long ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    I have fun Erich Von Daniken, the Ancient Alient theorist, but I did not have fun the writer very much. To his credit Mr. Von Daniken demonstrates a powerful passion this topic and presents a lot of believable ideas. He uses such force and conviction when he describes the reasons for Alien encounters in the past and how they have shaped our future that I wish to believe them. Unfortunately this book lacked evidence, focus, and the organization to hold me reading.I have become fascinated with the TV present Ancient Aliens in which I first learned about Mr Von Daniken's research. He has me convinced that not only were the Mayans a civilization well ahead of their time, but leads me to believe that there is a reason why it has taken us so long to catch up. There must be some sort of extraterrestrial connection. But why write a book about the Mayan Calendar and then spend a dozen pages or so giving us the same info that we could search on the internet? I thought he was going to present me something profound, begin my eyes to a fresh angle that I have never heard before. I was disappointed that a majority of the book bounced around from subject to subject like the rubber balls that the Mayans made from their trees. I was looking for more solid evidence supporting the significance of the Mayan calendar, but found very addition, he fails to go into greater detail, and instead references one of his other books. His reasoning for a lack of detail is due to the fact that he already wrote about the subject before. Then why are you writing about it in this book? To me, there is a clear lack of focus and organization that is frustrating. If you wish to blow the reader away, then do it. Don't tease me with fascinating ideas and then move on the next topic. I was already on board, that is why I bought the book. Halfway through I wanted to place it down and watch another episode of r me, the book did not quite live up its hype, but regardless, I still search Erich Von Daniken to be a progressive thinker and I like the method he questions our primary beliefs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    While I am irristably drawn to this subject,(for some unknown reason), I didn't love this book. Von Daniken is prone to hyperbole and loses some credibility with me by using the exclamation marks more that 3 times in a paragraph, in every paragraph. He makes a few rather compleling points about alien technology on our planet,(for example, the excellent stone walls of the Inca and Maya civilizations) but fails to be completely convincing. I thought Graham Han did a better job in his "Shynx" book. But still, if you like this sort of thing, it is fun to contemplate his alien themes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    There's some amazing info in this book. von Daniken explains in a easy method how the Mayan long count is calculated using four separate calendar wheels. There's some amazing pointers to other books e down side is that after 40 years and 30 some odd books von Daniken still has small idea of what he is even talking about as far as mythology and its deep and mystical relationships to the bible and Christianity.von Daniken is one of the stars of the TV present Ancient Aliens together with Giorgio Tsoukalos who is the publisher of Legendary Times Magazine. There's some amazing episodes of this TV ever that TV present is based on the so called Ancient Astronaut theory. For them everything in mythology will eventually obtain down to the level of flying saucers and visitors from outer ey view the mythological gods as zone travelers from other planets who just had more advanced technology than the human beings that were already on Earth. According to this idea the zone gods made the pyramids and other mysterious monuments and went away, vowing that one day they would return. They think that maybe in 100 years or so we will become the gods of some other worlds.But according to mythology Zeus, Osiris, and the other gods had an integral role in the spiritual evolution of the human race. They became intimately involved in the affairs of mortals. This is implying much more than just some people who came to the Earth in flying fact the mythological gods never left. They have continued to appear on Earth over the centuries.Edgar Cayce was I believe the reincarnation of the amazing Egyptian god Osiris. Cayce tells how he himself as the Atlantean priest Ra Ta, together with Thoth and Horus, made the pyramids and other monuments at Giza.Edgar Cayce was more than just a so called 'sleeping prophet'. He was a spiritual teacher and Cayce left a tremendous legacy of mystical statements that have helped a lot of people in countless the latest chapter of this book von Daniken goes on a religion bashing campaign. He says when the zone gods return they will present how all of the world's major religions have been wrong. This may even lead to some sort of conflict he implies.von Daniken's years of studying about the pyramids have gone to his head and given him an inflated opinion of his own knowledge which is dead wrong in a lot of ways. He reminds me of Stephen Hawking who believes that his mathematical equations have allowed him to know more than God knows and in fact we don't need God, if He even e Mayan calendar and 2012 are similar to the 25,800 astrological cycle, the precession of the equinoxes, and also somehow ties in with the super heavy black hole in the center of the galaxy. I don't think von Daniken even mentions any of this or if he did it wasn't much.He says some weird things like if Christ was really born 10 years later than what was recorded our calendar is 10 years off so instead of 2011 it is really 2001. So what ? In that case we would just be talking about December 2002 instead of December 2012. What significance does our calendar have to the end of the astrological age ?Anyway von Daniken thinks the December 2012 date is valid. Jeff MarzanoThe Lives of Edgar CayceFingerprints of the GodsThe Mystery of the Crystal Skulls: Unlocking the Secrets of the Past, Present, and FutureUfo...Contact from Planet IargaThe Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient EgyptEdgar Cayce's Story of the Origin and Destiny of ManEdgar Cayce's Atlantis and Lemuria: The Lost Civilizations in the Light of Modern DiscoveriesInitiation in the Amazing Pyramid (Astara's Library of Mystical Classics)Fulcanelli: Master Alchemist: Le Mystere des Cathedrales, Esoteric Intrepretation of the Hermetic Symbols of The Amazing Work (Le Mystere Des ... of the Hermetic Symbols of Amazing Work)Mythic Troy: The Complete Story Legend Archeology and Intuition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials []  2019-12-19 19:1

    To be honest, I never read "Chariots of the Gods", so I basically dove into this book with some understanding about Erich von Daniken and the premise of his other is a fast and simple read that is thought provoking and leaves readers like myself to come to their own conclusion whether you believe what he writes. The material provided was interesting as well as some of the info Erich provided. What I found interesting was that he feels that in December 2012 he feels the globe will not end, but change with the return of extraterrestrials. What I want he could have touched on was some of the info behind the Chinese calendar and how it relates to the Mayan calendar in terms of the December date as I just do not seem to remember too much about that and if it was mentioned in the book.He focused a bit on the Aztec and Mayan societies as the ar for the December 2012 due to translation and interpretation of stuff not destroyed by the conquistadors and other artifacts. Whether the reader agrees with the interpretations is another thing.A fun book to read that goes by beautiful quick, and I am not a speed reader, and makes for interesting subjects with other people for their thoughts. A worthy purchase from someone who took plenty of time researching this possible event, enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Civilization: The West and the Rest []  2020-1-15 22:50

    This book does a amazing job of illuminating the characteristics that may have given rise to West’s ascendance over the world. Although the “Killer Apps” he offers are still somewhat broad and may need to be narrowed down further to obtain a better understanding of “what’s really assassin about these all is right wing in his ideology and in his books this usually pops out on certain issues. For example he usually bashes Islam, advocates attack on Iran and makes fun of communists such as Cuba. In his books, he will create some unsubstantiated claims out of the blue. So you have to be ready for some of e section about “Protestant Work Ethics” was not convincing at all. From my own experience, when I came to US over 35 years ago, from early on I was surprised at how not good the work ethics are in US. Americans just did not seem to work as hard and they’re far too preoccupied with leisure. I have seen this throughout my professional career. As an example, in Silicon Valley, original Americans are largely replaced by Asian and Indians mostly because they’re not able to compete well. They usually stick to Marketing and Sales where it’s more fluff than work.Overall the book significantly understates the central role the discovery of Americas has in the rise of the West.Overall I learned a lot and I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Civilization: The West and the Rest []  2020-1-15 22:50

    Having being born in British India; worked for 15 years in Independent India; then immigrated to and worked in the US for 30 years, I was curious to know how Professor Ferguson handled a large topic such as civilization in the Western and non-Western Worlds. His book was a very pleasant surprise.Ferguson is a man of tremendous scholarship which he carries lightly and easily. There is not a single page in his writing of academic heaviness, obscurity or dullness. His writing style is always simple to read and always beautiful enough to persuade you effortlessly to look forward to the next page. This in itself qualifies him for a Five Star e guts of the book answers primary questions such as: Why did modern civilization happen in the West and not elsewhere? What has been the result of religion on civilization? Is Western civilization now in decline? How does modern industrialized China compare with the West?I (a retired Engineer) found the book to be altogether delightful reading and would strongly recommend it to anyone - especially those from the Third Globe - interested in the primary questions mentioned above. Don't be frigtened off by 400 pages, including notes, bibliography andindex. The book has some fine illustrations, maps, graphs and photographs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Civilization: The West and the Rest []  2020-1-15 22:50

    I like the subtitle "The West and the Rest". It shows how the collaborations that resulted from begin approaches to developing resources, not easy plundering, resulted in the greatest accomplishments that have been adopted by extant civilizations everywhere. There were some surprises for me, including the idea that the human tendency to warring actually had a human benefit. The origins of the word denim, jeans, and the Japanese word for suit, as in suit of clothes, were delights.He points out that it really makes small difference which particular civilization is the dominant one from time to time. The successful ones will always have incorporated the most civilly advanced concepts.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386