Read the most famous opera arias reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the most famous opera arias reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    If there is any chance of finding two pink pearls it is the pair of recordings of Philippe Jaroussky for Virgin Classics (The Story of a castrato/Vivaldi Heroes).Shining examples of the rare but alive art of countertenors, Jaroussky shows himself as a master, with such a refined singing that is possible to say that we have the best of countertenor: a superb singer with -thank God- not castration.I search difficult to review one CD without the other, so this is a double recommendation. Under conducting of Emmanuelle Haïm (The Story...) and Jean-Christophe Spinosi (Heroes), Jaroussky validates an extravagant and uncommon -in modern terms- singing.Pure gold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Ms Damrau is simply one of today's finest exponents of serious vocalism. This is an exciting and innovative "coloratura" album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    this interpretation by Diana Damrau of various operas gives the opportunity of listing the art of various musicians,identify amazing attributes of various singers making a true pleasure to listen this amazing singer

    0  


    Add your opinion on the most famous opera arias or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I just recently discovered Jaroussky and and am beyond thrilled. I've never given countertenors much thought beyond an occasional Vivaldi opera but having these pulled together in one album changed it for me, all because of Philippe's incomparable voice and an upper registry clarity to create sopranos green with envy. In a matter of days, I've purchased several of his albums as bonuses and found it funny that my two colleagues (with drastically various melody tastes, one never having listened to opera before!) were listening to him with the same enthusiasm as I. Can not wait to hear more from him and hope that he'll tour in the MidAtlantic US soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I bought this CD initially for one reason, to hear more from the stellar French counter-tenor, Philippe Jaroussky. I was introduced to his stunning voice with his spectacular recording, "Vivaldi: Virtuoso Cantatas." As expected, he lived up to my high expectations with his recent recording. There is no one in the melody stage who sings with the beauty and flourish of this awesome young is CD takes us on a musical tour of discovery through 30 years of Vivaldi's operatic output, which has been mostly unknown. This recording makes a powerful argument that Vivaldi's operas deserve to come out of the shadows. Sixty-three mins of this gorgeous melody is not enough! Not surprisingly, a lot of of the brilliant present piece arias were written for the reigning castrati of that time. We'll never know what their voices really sounded like, but Jaroussky is the one artist who makes us cease to wonder, and the only question we have is, did they sound half as amazing as he does?Here are some brief notes on the tracks of this recording:Track 1: A powerful, bravura colatura aria. A amazing introduction to newcomers to Jaroussky's ack 2: A tender melody, it's simplicity ack 3: The unmistakable sounds of Vivaldi. A "Four Seasons" for male ack 4: Gorgeous larghetto, reminiscent of some of Handel's best - who knew Vivaldi was such a amazing composer of opera arias!Tracks 5-6: Another present piece. Think the legendary castrato Senesino on ack 7: A sublime largo, a double concerto for alto and solo ack 8: An incomparable "aria di tempesta" depicting a shipwreck being tossed from rock to rock. Jaroussky's voice rises above the waves like rays of golden acks 9-10: Vivaldi's foray into the traditional "sleep aria." Another bewitching aria given interesting treatment with an orchestration using recorders and oboes. Jaroussky's sustained notes are to die for, as are his brilliant runs and top notes in Track ack 12: An emotionally tender lament, with one set of strings playing "arco" and another set providing "pizzicato" as Jaroussky's lovely alto floats above it ack 13: Another typical Vivaldi aria with vigorous rhythms, and Jaroussky displaying all his gifts. We can never have ack 14: A lament written at the high point of Vivaldi's operatic career. One of his most atmospheric works for any instrument. Here Jaroussky shows he's more than a present man and has behind his voice strong emotion that can tug one's ack 15: A charming aria with the strings' "pizzicato" evoking the sound of bees and the beat of an impatient heart. With this final track Jaroussky leaves us in love and wanting is recording is a must have for all fans of the male alto. I also recommend it to anyone who enjoys bravura colatura of any voice. I'm sure there will be a lot of a soprano who'll say it's not fair that a man can sing like this!I'm glad Philippe Jaroussky is introducing us to forgotten Vivaldi gems with his latest recordings. As attractive as this treasure chest is, I can't support but wonder what rubies and emeralds he'll pull out when he turns to Handel. I hope we'll search out. In the meantime, I'm content to relish in the joy that happens when Jaroussky meets Vivaldi.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Ms. Damrau is arguably among the greatest lving lyric coloraturas of the early Twenty First Century. This cd demonstrates not only her wonderful instrument, but her acute intelligence with respect to interpretation and use of vocal nuance. Her choices for the cd contain not only arias from her standard repertoire, but roles from operas she has yet to debut. Each chop is a gem, delving into the aspect of a hero as she sees it. Obtain ready. It is not always traditional. One might ask why she chooses to interpolate a high f in Glitter And Be Gay. My respond would be: "Because she can." She is a singer still very much in the ascent of her is cd gives you what you obtain from Diana Damrau in a live performance: An awesome voice, solid technique, extraordiary musicianship, complete command of the moment at hand and the sense that she is singing just for you...and...you are never anxious that she may not create the next high note or difficult passage. It's all there. It's all happening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I could listen to this CD every day and never tire. Her voice is incredible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Jaroussky is always wonderful, and he does Vivaldi particularly well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Crème de la crème

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    With every diva getting a possibility to record their favorite set of classic coloratura arias, one must wonder why another drop must be poured into the bucket; however, Diana Damrau carves out her own small niche on this disc. Her flexibility and range is only outmatched by her gorgeously full tone. Je veux vivre, Una voce poco fa, and Glitter and be are three of the standout tracks. Strongly recommend this attractive set.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I GAVE THIS CD AS A GIFT FOR MY MOTHER AND SHE LOVE ITBEST REGARDS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Have enjoyed this CD. The sound quality is amazing with no volume adjustments needed. The soloist and the orchestra were "into" what they were doing: There was heart, not just technique.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    This CD is just perfect! Philippe Jaroussky is simply perfect....It is impossible to imagine a countertenor singing any better than this....and the selection of Vivaldi works is a most perfect showcase of his talents. A "must have" CD!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    This recording by Diana Damrau is very enjoyable. She has selected a number of selections which are not often performed (the only exception is Puccini's "O mio babbino caro" from Gianni Schicchi; why does every soprano seem to thinks that she has to record this piece?) which makes the recoding all the more interesting. However, I gave this performance only four stars because a number of these selections have been recorded by Natalie Dessay whose voice I think better suits the music. This is especially real in comparing this performance of Strauss' Großmächtige Prinzessin with that of Ms. Dessay's in Strauss: Amor - Opera Scenes & Lieder. Nevertheless, this is a recoding very much having. Ms. Damrau has a gorgeous voice and listening to her is time well spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    The opera audiences of the globe now have two incredibly gifted coloratura sopranoes who are also gifted actresses that know how to use text and melody as instruments of communication. I am referring to Diana Damrau and Natalie Dessay. They have learned their lessons well from both Maria Callas and Beverly Sills; two Superstars of making the text come alive and making us the audience believe in the Opera Experience as heighten DRAMA! These four mentioned ladies truly create us believe they are living and experiencing the moment. Miss Damrau may create musical choices that are sometimes various than we are used to; sometimes in tempi, phrasing and articulation. However, these choices are taken to convey her very private interpretations. Both Damrau and Dessay use all their skills and talents to create the moment appear to be truly real. It is a pleasure to listen to what they have to say and how they say it. Singing is basically extended speech on pitches. We, the audience, need to hear and understand the words. Miss Damrau is in very amazing voice and has given us a truly varied program. We hear: Gounod, Verdi, Strauss, Rossini, Stravinsky, Donizetti, Puccini and even Bernstein. [email protected]#$%!&alian, German and French give her no problems. To sum it up a knock out voice that truly communicates every note and syllable, DON'T MISS THIS EXCITING VOICE AND ARTIST!! I do have to agree with my fellow reviewers that there is some loss of bloom to the voice and a bit of pushing for some of the very highest notes. Perhaps, too a lot of Zerbinettas as well as Queen of the nights. Allow us hope this is only temporary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    This appears to be the second all-Vivaldi album of e countertenor voice is as amazing as ever in this album, but obviously the tracks are not as even as his other non-Vivaldi e slower arias have a definte edge over the quick bravuras, a phenomenon that may be largely due to the lack of chest help when the singer is singing totally in falsetto in the countertenor fach.Otherwise, this is another musically satisfying album from this phenomenal young singer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    No matter how much you may have relished (or detested) The Four Seasons and the Vivaldi Concerti for Sopranino Recorder, you haven't begun to appreciate the Red Priest until you've discovered his operas, at least 40 of which have survived in manageable scores. The "Naive" label has recently issued a box set of Vivaldi operas (search for Vivaldi Opera edition), a lot of of them featuring the artistry of male soprano Philippe Jaroussky. Of course, a dozen of these performances have already been available separately, with a lot of of the finest singers of baroque melody featured, but this CD might well serve as an introduction for listeners who are not yet prepared to spend $260 or more for the box.A thousand words might equal a picture, but no number of words can describe Jaroussky's singing. Luckily, there are MP3 samples for this CD. Even better, scores of Jarousky's fans have posted performances of his on youtube. I will paste a youtube address in a comment below, as soon as this review is available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    This was a bonus so I didn't listen to it but my mate who received seems to have liked it a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    attractive voice, as always, do have fun her singing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    If you're not bothered by recording issues and love Dessay, this CD. But the recording, by Musica Numeris in France, is sloppy at best. Perhaps the French engineer had a bit too much wine over lunch? Virgin should be ashamed and let's hope Sir Richard Branson takes more care with his airplanes than his Virgin group does with their CDs. The mostly clear recording is flawed by numerous "glitches" like the one mentioned by another reviewer at 2:21 on track 2. Some of it sounds like clipping distortion while others might be extraneous noises. Some of Dessay's crescendos are sadly distorted right at their climax. Quality issues like these are inexcusable on a full classical CD. And it's a shame because it's a amazing collection of arias and Dessay has an awesome voice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Perfect vocal. One has to appreciate her vocals to like her type of melody and sounds to be appreciated on arias.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Ah, Natalie Dessay. One of the amazing and most famous opera singers on scene today and in demand all over the world. This CD focuses on arias by French composers, most of which I had never heard before. Don't worry, for you fans of Offenbach, Olympia's aria is heard here. I don't remember the exact track names, unfortunately but I remember the highlights. Listen carefully for her sharp attacks in "The Bell Song" from Lakme and the vocal fireworks a lot of of the other arias require. Most impressive is the final min (especially the latest three notes - I believe one is high "M" above "L-sharp") of Meyerbeer's "Air". This is an impressive CD. Her voice is simple on the ears and never shrill. The balance between orchestra and soloist is excellent and the conducting is never a distraction (weird tempos, dynamics, etc.) A amazing introduction for you to this singer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Here, Natalie Dessay sings French arias. All in all, a satisfying album, with a few exceptions as noted below. A few samples of the cuts on this om Massenet's "Manon," she sings nicely. "Suis-je gentile ainsi" shows off her clear, light, agile voice. She demonstrates a decent trill and nice high note. "Obeissons quand leur voix appelle" is sung at a slower pace. Well sung, with some subtle vocal effects. This closes with a nice run, but a rather harshly sung high note. Then, "Rive toujours." This begins at a slower pace, but picks up. There is some nice ornamentation. For the most part, this is sweetly omas' "Mignon" features a unbelievable piece, "Je suis Titania la blonde." Dessay, again, displays an agile and beautiful voice. She demonstrates capable coloratura technique, featuring some nicely done appoggiaturas. In the latest segment, she manifests a nice trill. Her penultimate high note is a bit harsh. However, she concludes with a very well done set of trills and a amazing high om Gounod's "Romeo et Juliette," we have "Ah! Je veux vivre." The first part is smoothly sung. Nice characterization by Dessay. There is some beautiful and pleasant florid singing at the end. Finally, from Thomas' "Hamlet," she essays "A vos jeux mes amis." Nice effects and amazing vocal technique are displayed. Her voice is beautiful in this cut. Nice ornamentation toward the end. Some amazing trills and some nicely hit high is is a fine CD. Natalie Dessay shows her vocal virtues to amazing effect. She is obviously quite at home on the French repertoire, and this CD demonstrates that statement very clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Five stars for Natalie Dessay, who has an wonderful instrument, and a amazing selection of arias. But I've listened to 4 copies of this disc and each had a very short "click" at 2:22 on track 2 (the Gavotte from Manon). Must be a quality control problem. Maybe it was just a poor batch.Anyway, Dessay's voice is a force of nature; she must be one of the greatest coloraturas ever. I prefer her live ver of Handel's "Tornami" from Alcina to Sutherland's. And she's wonderful on Orphee Aux Enfers - not only a unbelievable singer, but obviously a amazing actress and , if you've not heard her before, give this album a test - ignore the "click" and listen to a truly angelic 5 stars for Natalie Dessay and the selections, and a slap on the wrist for the record label and its quality control.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    She is my favorite soprano, and this is an perfect recording. I have one other recording by her and plan to more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    The only reason it doesn't obtain 5 stars is for the choice of arias, not the greatest in repertoire: but if one is looking for rarer stuff, it can be considered a 5-star ssay is wonderful, as usual.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    A voice rarely heard. Wonderful agility, awesome coloratura work with cadenzas rarely performed today; a pure, scintillating sound with dramatic impact. A joy to listen to again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Natalie Dessay is quite a fresh and satisfied discovery for me. I've heard only two of her CDs, "Mad Scenes" and this one, "French Opera Arias." Both, in my opinion, are spectacular. Besides her obvious amazing looks and facility with the language, I believe she is the coloratura soprano who will be the Beverly Sills or Joan Sutherland to this generation. She is clearly the master of all the fioriture in these French arias, but she sings with a more pleasing tone in all registers of the voice than either of the previously mentioned sopranos did. (Sills' voice could have an unpleasant edge to it, especially in the high register, and Sutherland's dark tone and mushy diction are legendary.)I enjoyed all of the arias on this CD. Some are "old chestnuts" of the coloratura's repertoire ("Je Suis Titania," "Je Veux Vivre"), and some are rarely performed gems from Cherubin, Fete du Village Voisin, Robinson Crusoe, and Le Comte Ory. While she performs all of these admirably, I have to say that her arias as Ophelie in Thomas' Hamlet were a revelation. She infuses the hero with emotion and makes the madness seem real. I would love to see her perform Ophelie in person. I'm sure I'd be in tears.If you love the French language as I do, and especially if you speak it, you should give this CD a listen. Natalie Dessay will blow you away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Natalie Dessay is a delight on this CD of arias from 19th century French Opera. The listener can experience a singer who is both concerned about the vocal and interpretative values of each selection of this recital. The first two tracks of the Cours de la Reine Stage from Massenet's 'Manon' present a new voice that portrays easily the youth and frivolity of the title character. All the stacattos, cadenzas and high notes are on the service of the character. It is delightful to search some rarities on this recital, like the Fabliau from 'Manon' (an alternative aria that Massenet composed for sustitution of the Gavotte) and the pieces from 'Chérubin', 'La fête du village voisin' and 'Robinson Crusoe'. On the selection by Offenbach, Dessay sings a stunning trill on a Dflat and then goes to expectacular scales, finishing the dazzling waltz with an elaborate cadenza and a firm high E. Another highlight of the CD is the elaborate aria from 'Le Comte Ory' by Rossini, where the soprano's attention to the nuances of the piece bring out a lively interpretation. The aria from 'La fille du régiment' makes us want for a complete recording of the opera. However, the best part of the CD are the latest two tracks. Dessay brings all her bonuses to a climax with a marvelous performance of the Ophélie's Angry and Death Scenes from 'Hamlet' by Ambroise Thomas. This ver of the Angry Stage is even better than her previous rendition on her latest recital of French arias. This is a highly emotional interpretation where all the brilliant scales and cadenzas reflect the changing moods of Ophelie's madness and her despair as well as her innocence. This is the definitive performance of this melody on records, period. The Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse and the Choeur 'Les Eléments', ably conducted by Michel Plasson, complement Dessay beautifully. In summary, another unbelievable CD by one of the most remarkable coloratura sopranos of our time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I'm giving this two stars because the first disk of the set is defective. This is no knock on the music, its just disappointing to keep a damaged product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    It was delivered defective two times. Disc 1 has no melody on it other than the song names. I was not the only buyer to have this problem. The amazon representative said they would remove the product until the issue was resolved. I would check to see if it was resolved before buying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This is a amazing selection of well known arias and duets. Unfortunately several have been truncated to fit a 4-5 min track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    Arias is mostly the signature piece performed solo by the main hero in an is usually what people love and is collection is simply beautiful, mesmerizing. It captures a lot of memorable operatic keeps me satisfied and calm surrounded by these operatic sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    The first of these two CD's is magnificent. I'm the daughter of an operatic tenor and hearing the favorite selections was awe-inspiring The second CD is not as good--but perhaps because the selections are one's with which I am not as e quality of the CD is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I waited a long time to obtain keep of this. The artists and the arias ARE attractive - heavenly in fact BUT the recording on Disc 1 is poor. Listening to it on a disc player/stereo unit you realise it is just not quite as clear as it should be. I wanted to place these on my ipod so I copied them to the computer. When I play Disc one on the ipod or the computer there is a crackley noise right through the vocals. It is not possible to listen to it this way. I recopied it in case there was some interference somewhere and same thing happened. Disc 2 is fine. I would have returned it except I'm not sure if anyone merely listening on a player would agree with me there was a defect. I ordered this product in from the ABC outlet in Australia and weeks later they told me it was unavailable. I was delighted when I found it on Amazon. Now I'm wondering if it disappeared from Australian outlets because of the not good recording. A amazing shame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I have a little Sony boom box (which I also just purchased from Amazon). I am so thrilled with the quality of the sound. Needless to say, the arias are magnificent!!! A fresh favorite addition to my melody collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I bought this collection earlier this year. Both CDs were mislabeled and one did not play at all (plus the jewel case was smashed). Rather than go though the process of returning it I bought another. This one has an intact jewel case and the CDs seem to be labeled correctly, but CD1 won't play (or import to iTunes - the very reason I bought the CD). So, out of 4 CDs only 2 work (the same 2) I got 20 of the 40 most attractive arias. One on a mislabeled CD and one on a correctly labeled CD. I'm writing this here because I can't figure out how to lodge a complaint with Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This quality CD contains 2 disks with 20 operatic arias on each disk. It seems reasonable to call them all beautiful, but I bought this hoping for something inspiring beyond beautiful. I have listened to so much inspiring melody in my life I am dulled by much melody that inspired me in the past. I am satisfied I bought these CDs. I feel lucky if I a disk with a lot of nice melody on it but only one or two that inspire me. I was thrilled to search 7 inspiring arias on CD1 and 8 equally inspiring arias on CD2, both method above average for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This CD is exceptional. It's a stunning compilation of some of our greatest artists of the latest several decades singing absolutely gorgeous selections, well-chosen and brilliantly delivered. I'm ordering more to share the thrill!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    ....is a joy forever. Since Madame Sayao sang her latest notes more than 50 years ago, few will know her. That is truly sad...from the mid 1930's to the early 1950's, Bidu created the lyric soprano repertoire her own. Trained in Europe as the latest student of the amazing Jean de Reszke, she combined a attractive voice with a excellent technique. Bidu sang the whole lyric gamut, from Mozart to Puccini, but Violetta, Juliette, and Mimi were roles for the ages. To my mind, she remains the absolutely definitive Mimi....In this absolutely unbelievable collection, we obtain to hear arias from two of her three greatest roles, Juliette being found elsewhere. In addition, her Mozart sparkles, and the "Butterfly" and "Gianni Schicchi" selections will create your heart flutter. [OK, I know; Albanese was the definitive Butterfly...still...]. And, if that's not enough, the Debussy is worth the whole , Bidu is a forgotten treasure to all but a few. Not just a amazing voice, but maybe the most gorgeous female ever to grace an Opera stage. God blessed her with beauty, talent, and length of days...she, in turn blessed us all. Sadly, she didn't record much...several Columbia albums in the 1940's. But, those present her absolute prime. When Bidu quit in 1952, she had the sense to stay quit. If you love amazing singing, do not fail to grab this. Maybe my vicarious crush shows in this review; that's OK; this was a singer, and this is an album, for the ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    Bidu Sayao is a hidden operatic jewel! I had not run across her name through the years, even though I am an amateur opera lover. It is such a pleasure listening to her sing these mostly familiar pieces. A Brazilian who lived her final years in Maine, of all places.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    Excellent, amazing, recommend.(excelente para conhecermos melhor uma das mais importantes e conhecidas sopramos de todo o mundo)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    I have loved her voice since 1981 when I destroyed a Bidu Sayoa LP "French Songs and Arias" listening to it repeat for hours (Guess I could create a hat out of that record now).I cannot add anything original to previous comments lauding her silvery tone or elegant. intelligent, brave, sophisticated, subtle, balanced sense of style. Emotion and control!I would not normally have chosen a recording of the Debussy piece with its chorus and orchestration but am won over after several listens. I search her "Un bel di vedremo" refreshing and e liner notes insightfully outline her career; translated lyrics, for the Debussy piece at least, would have been welcome. Amazing sound quality with notes on sound transference technique from LP to CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    This album is a "must own" for all lovers of musical beauty. For me the album's highlight is the magical recording of "La Demoiselle Elue" from 1947 under the direction of Eugene Ormandy. The orchestra, chorus and the two soloists capture the hypnotic almost heavenly mood that includes some of the most gorgeous melody Debussy ever penned. From the opening notes, this recording holds the listener nearly spellbound and breathless by the sheer beauty of both melody and performance. Zone and time are suspended in the ethereal realm to which one is transported. An experience like this is what the word "great performance" was made to describe. Once you have heard it you too will be glad to count yourself among the ranks of those amazed and mesmerized by such glorious melody and in particular by the enchanting and beloved Bidu Sayao.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    fast response, amazing merchandise

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    This quality CD contains 2 disks with 20 operatic arias on each disk. It seems reasonable to call them all beautiful, but I bought this hoping for something inspiring beyond beautiful. I have listened to so much inspiring melody in my life I am dulled by much melody that inspired me in the past. I am satisfied I bought these CDs. I feel lucky if I a disk with a lot of nice melody on it but only one or two that inspire me. I was thrilled to search 7 inspiring arias on CD1 and 8 equally inspiring arias on CD2, both method above average for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    This CD documents commercial recordings of Sayao in the Debussy La Damoiselle elue, several Mozart arias from Marriage of Figaro and Don Giovanni, Violetta from Verdi's Traviata, some arias from Puccini's La Boheme , and other arias. Her early career featured either coloratura or light lyrical roles. The early recordings document a very attractive pure sound, perfect intonation,and a long legato line. These recordings which were done in her mid 40s and just before retirement from the opera scene at about age 50 present less ease at the top but a lot of of the same features. The style of singing is much various from what are ears are now used to. The top notes are more bell like and the pitch more stable. It is a shame there are not more recordings of Sayao in song recitals. The broadcasts from the Met from the 1940s with her do not display the real beauty of her voice. Per the program notes her favorite roles at the Met were Mimi, Susanna, Violetta, Manon,Rosina, Zerlina, and Adina. I am told by people who heard her that the sound was incredibly beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    I have rarely bought an album that I was so happy with. This album ranks with Joan Sutherland's "Art of the Prima Donna." The engineering is superb, and Bidu Sayao is in magnificent voice on all of it. It would be worth the if only for the "O mio babbino caro" and Musetta's waltz, which I have never heard done better, but all of the album is beautiful. She was one of the greatest sopranos of the twentieth century and this album will prove it to anyone but a total idiot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bidu Sayao: La Damoiselle elue / Opera Arias []  2020-2-2 22:0

    This is sheer delight. For an evening of complete sensory pleasure, read the Rosetti poem, allow a Godiva chocolate melt in you mouth, look at the Pre-Raphaelite painting, sip some sweet sparkling wine, and listen to this recording(lying down, of course).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    It was delivered defective two times. Disc 1 has no melody on it other than the song names. I was not the only buyer to have this problem. The amazon representative said they would remove the product until the issue was resolved. I would check to see if it was resolved before buying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I have a little Sony boom box (which I also just purchased from Amazon). I am so thrilled with the quality of the sound. Needless to say, the arias are magnificent!!! A fresh favorite addition to my melody collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I'm giving this two stars because the first disk of the set is defective. This is no knock on the music, its just disappointing to keep a damaged product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    This is a amazing selection of well known arias and duets. Unfortunately several have been truncated to fit a 4-5 min track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I bought this collection earlier this year. Both CDs were mislabeled and one did not play at all (plus the jewel case was smashed). Rather than go though the process of returning it I bought another. This one has an intact jewel case and the CDs seem to be labeled correctly, but CD1 won't play (or import to iTunes - the very reason I bought the CD). So, out of 4 CDs only 2 work (the same 2) I got 20 of the 40 most attractive arias. One on a mislabeled CD and one on a correctly labeled CD. I'm writing this here because I can't figure out how to lodge a complaint with Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    Arias is mostly the signature piece performed solo by the main hero in an is usually what people love and is collection is simply beautiful, mesmerizing. It captures a lot of memorable operatic keeps me satisfied and calm surrounded by these operatic sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    The first of these two CD's is magnificent. I'm the daughter of an operatic tenor and hearing the favorite selections was awe-inspiring The second CD is not as good--but perhaps because the selections are one's with which I am not as e quality of the CD is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I waited a long time to obtain keep of this. The artists and the arias ARE attractive - heavenly in fact BUT the recording on Disc 1 is poor. Listening to it on a disc player/stereo unit you realise it is just not quite as clear as it should be. I wanted to place these on my ipod so I copied them to the computer. When I play Disc one on the ipod or the computer there is a crackley noise right through the vocals. It is not possible to listen to it this way. I recopied it in case there was some interference somewhere and same thing happened. Disc 2 is fine. I would have returned it except I'm not sure if anyone merely listening on a player would agree with me there was a defect. I ordered this product in from the ABC outlet in Australia and weeks later they told me it was unavailable. I was delighted when I found it on Amazon. Now I'm wondering if it disappeared from Australian outlets because of the not good recording. A amazing shame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    This CD is exceptional. It's a stunning compilation of some of our greatest artists of the latest several decades singing absolutely gorgeous selections, well-chosen and brilliantly delivered. I'm ordering more to share the thrill!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunt the Bismarck: The Pursuit of Germany’s Most Famous Battleship []  2020-1-22 0:47

    Fresh book on the Bismark and the Hood, well written, interesting read, and very informative. Learned a number of fresh facts that I was not familiar with. So much went on in the short time between the Bismark's sailing and her sinking by the British navy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunt the Bismarck: The Pursuit of Germany’s Most Famous Battleship []  2020-1-22 0:47

    In May, 1941, The German battleship Bismarck set sail to break out into the North Atlantic. Her goal was to attack British convoys that were carrying vital battle supplies to the British isles. In this interesting book, author Angus Konstam describes those harrowing days in the spring of 1941.Over the course of a week, the British threw every ship available in the Home Fleet at trying to search the Bismarck. Shadowed by two British cruisers, the Bismarck emerged from the Denmark Strait, but the HMS Hood, the pride of the British Navy, was waiting. However, she proved no match for the Bismarck, as her thin deck armor failed to protect her from the plunging fire of the Bismarck. Only mins into the battle, the Hood blew up and sank, taking all but three of her squad with r the next several days, the British struggled to search a method to slow down the German ship. Closing in on the French coast, Bismarck would soon be safe. However, a lucky torpedo hit from an antiquated Swordfish torpedo plane flown from the carrier Ark Royal jammed Bismarck's rudder, totally disabling the ship. This allowed the pursuing British battleships to eventually catch up and deliver the coup de grace."Hunt The Bismarck" is a fine book that does a amazing job of telling the story of the hunt for the Bismarck. Each engagement between the forces is told, including the not good war of the Denmark Strait to the attack by the Ark Royal's Swordfish. This book is a useful read for those interested in the story of the Bismarck. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunt the Bismarck: The Pursuit of Germany’s Most Famous Battleship []  2020-1-22 0:47

    Despite being one of those “know a small about a lot” types, I fully admit that prior to reading this book, I didn’t know much about the Bismark or its sinking. I knew that it was the pride of the Nazi German Navy during WWII, that it was supposedly the most deadly ship afloat, and that it was sunk in a popular naval battle. Thus sums up my knowledge of the subject prior to reading this book. Yet Konstam does a deep dive into the full history of the Bismark and the happenings leading to its demise, and he does it in a very readable fashion almost akin to watching an actual film about it. Thus, this naval historian – not exactly a group known for their readability outside their own circles – crafts a tale Tom Clancy would be hard pressed to top, even were he still alive. Truly perfect work. Very much recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seabiscuit and Secretariat: The History of America’s Most Famous Horses []  2020-2-4 18:4

    The historical errors are distracting. Possibly the largest error was the claim that Rosemont won the Triple Crown. This mistake (oft-repeated) created me question the credibility of the entire book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seabiscuit and Secretariat: The History of America’s Most Famous Horses []  2020-2-4 18:4

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seabiscuit and Secretariat: The History of America’s Most Famous Horses []  2020-2-4 18:4

    It was an interesting read about the two popular horses for someone who does not know much about them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seabiscuit and Secretariat: The History of America’s Most Famous Horses []  2020-2-4 18:4

    I very much enjoyed the book Seabiscuit and Secretariat: The History of America's Most Popular Horses. I grew up hearing the name Seabiscuit and knew he was a popular horse but I did not know much about him prior to reading Charles River’s Editors other book about Seabiscuit. I had heard of Secretariat prior to the film of the same name but it was the film that created me fall in love with Secretariat. It seems to me that the writer of this book about both horses has a amazing of affection for both horses. I search it interesting that Seabiscuit never won the Triple Crown but he ran an wonderful number of races and raced for eight years. Secretariat was one of the amazing Triple Crown winners in a unique horse in general. This book provides you a brief but concise history about the lives of these horses, their owners and trainers, their most necessary races, and the times that these horses raced in. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seabiscuit and Secretariat: The History of America’s Most Famous Horses []  2020-2-4 18:4

    It’s a amazing book and I enjoyed reading it. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    My fbest riend doesn't love it,I'm so sorry to him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    I am presently taking personal voice lessons (baritone) and am very interested in how some of the amazing singers interpret their selections. Thus, I search this collection of Terfel arias very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Absolutely gorgeous. I love njamin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Love Handel arias, too. Amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Amazing voice - Amazing personality- amazing recording quality - just want he had done more of Handel's Messiah on CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Bryn Terfel has that voice that can be or strong. He sings with a passion you can hear. He is set apart from all the others and you will understand why when you hear him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    This CD showcases famous Welsh bass-baritone Bryn Terfel raging, melting, and burning his method through a unbelievable dozens of Handel arias (although I would have left out the 'Messiah' selections and gone for a few of Handel's 2,000 or so less-recorded songs).According to Gerald Abraham in "Handel, a Symposium" the heroes that Terfel chose to bring to life in this recording generally had high soprano voices. Tenors and baritones were relegated to subordinate parts, and @#$%!& to those of tyrants or sages: "... in modern revivals of Handel's operas it is generally fatal to give [the castrato] parts to tenors or baritones to sing an octave lower."In the first selection, Terfel takes on the role of Simon, brother of Judas Maccabaeus, which was originally a bass role. Critic Abraham could not object to this, although he might have a issue with the transposition of the arias for Demetrius ("Berenice, Queen of Egypt"), Caesar ("Julius Caesar in Egypt"), and Xerxes ("Xerxes"). If you are a purist, this CD might not be for you, but you'll miss out on some grand singing.I'm especially fond of Terfel's handling of the slow, reflective arias "Verdi prati, selve amene" from 'Alcina,' and "Ombra mai fu" from 'Xerxes' (often called "Handel's Largo" despite the composer's "larghetto" marking). Here, the singer shuns lachrymose emoting. It is the purity of his tone and choice of dynamics that touch the heart."O ruddier than the cherry" from "Acis and Galatea" is robustly sung by the love-sick Polyphemus/Terfel. In spite of the buoyant central rhythm, every word is clearly enunciated. The preceding, accompanied recitative "I rage, I rage, I melt, I burn!" is a masterful, shimmering growl of ong with Xerxes's plane tree and Polyphemus's cherries, Terfel returns to an arboreal topic in "Where'er you walk" from Semele. His command of musical and textual nuance is impressive in this tenderly sung aria. The ornamentation by Sir Charles Mackerras enhances rather than detracts from this attractive love song.Another highlight of this CD is Terfel's interpretation of "Revenge, revenge, Timotheus cries" from "Alexander's Feast." He snarls through the trumpets with frenzied, dead-on ornamentation. However there are a few unusual hesitations, such as a slight pause between 'Timotheus' and 'cries,' and at first hearing, I didn't care for them. Now they create textual sense to me. His hissing snakes and sparkling eyes are flawlessly emphasized. Each melisma is rhythmically special and perfectly e latest three selections from Handel's "Messiah" are unfortunately rather ordinary. "Why do the nations" has a strange repeat, and Terfel seems to be singing it up into his mask which makes it sound two-dimensional. There is also a small too much flattening or 'whitening' of the melismas, plus an occasional unattractive growl. I much prefer Samuel Ramey's deep, seamless coloratura in these three bass rhaps Handel's "Messiah" is one of those works that truly separates the bass-baritones from the basses.Other than the above complaint, Bryn Terfel pays grand homage to the dramatic tension, the text, and the musicality of Handel's arias.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Can't be Bryn!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    I've been a huge fan of Handel's ever since I heard Messiah back in the 9th grade. I've listened to and purchased a lot of versions of Messiah, other oratorios, and whole slew of his instrumental music. But I've never heard any Handel as well performed and as well recorded and engineered as this album of Handel Arias by Bryn Terfel. And given the leeway singers of Baroque arias are expected to take executing those sixteenth note runs in the music, that kind of perfection is incredibly rare. Everything is executed flawlessly...no additional breaths...or breaking things up....or overly "creative"vocal ornamentation that can ruin these kind of recordings. Mr. Terfel baritone voice, suited for just about any kind of opera singing out there, never overpowers these pieces. He executes these pieces with power and conviction when required, and grace and precision when dealing with more delicate arias. His ver of "The Trumpet Shall Sound" from Messiah gives me goosebumps every time I hear it.But this CD isn't just about a fine vocal performance. The Scottish Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Mackerras performs flawlessly. You can hear detail in the orchestra, but the balance between Mr. Terfel and the orchestra, and within the orchestra is always clean, clear, with every instrument very specifically placed in the mix. Mr. Terfel is closely miked, but the engineer maintains a nice hall reverb without it ever overpowering the performance.Take a listen for yourself. Highly recommend. Now if we could just could a second volume of these. Or a double album with Renee.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Excellent, even better than I anticipated it would be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hundred Years War: The History of Europe’s Most Famous War of the Middle Ages []  2020-1-24 20:39

    Another amazing offering from Charles Rivers Editors. This short offering provides a amazing synopsis of the 100 years battle in Europe. I believe this book provides a amazing starting point for anyone interested in learning more about the wars. Of course if one is interested in learning more, the reference list provided in this book is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hundred Years War: The History of Europe’s Most Famous War of the Middle Ages []  2020-1-24 20:39

    Solid overview

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Most Famous Battles of the Ancient World: Marathon, Thermopylae, Salamis, Cannae, and the Teutoburg Forest []  2020-1-26 21:24

    It is awesome how armies moved with very small information. The soldiers were courageous, resourceful and tireless. They met all the challenges and moved forward. The strategies are spectacular.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Most Famous Battles of the Ancient World: Marathon, Thermopylae, Salamis, Cannae, and the Teutoburg Forest []  2020-1-26 21:24

    Although brief, I have not found other book that includes so descriptive accounts of these battles. In truth, I thoroughly enjoyed the detailed description this book gave of these popular battles. I hope there is another book with other crucial battles, not only of ancient but modern times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Culper Ring: The History and Legacy of the Revolutionary War’s Most Famous Spy Ring []  2020-1-26 21:37

    I do believe that historically there are too a lot of people who played an necessary role in the battle for the States for all to have books written about them.I was happy to read this acc of people who were willing to step up to the plate, and do all they could to establish this unbelievable country where citizens can be to become the best by the choices they ese brave, ordinary people stepped into danger time after ey helped to lay the foundations of this nation, therefore, their actions should be is was an interesting book. Thanks to those who had a part in its creation and publishing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Culper Ring: The History and Legacy of the Revolutionary War’s Most Famous Spy Ring []  2020-1-26 21:37

    We've started watching the TV series "Turn" and I wanted to bone up on the history. It was a amazing book for that. It gives an overview of the Culper Ring without wading into the details. If you just wish that level of understanding, it's very good. If you wish deeper info and more meat on the bone, this book can still be a put to begin your research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sistine Chapel: The History and Legacy of the World’s Most Famous Chapel []  2020-1-26 21:52

    Not enough but amazing enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bali: The Ultimate Guide to the World's Most Famous Tropical: To the World's Most Spectacular Tropical Island (Periplus Adventure Guides) []  2020-1-19 21:28

    Periplus doesn't publish "places to shop" or "places to stay" or even "things to see" guidebooks. Others, particularly Lonely Planet and Rough Guides, are better bets on these topics. If, however, you wish a solid, relatively short, well-written overview of the culture, history and art of Bali, you can't do much better than "Guide to Bali". Fully two-thirds of the book's 332 pages are dedicated to these topics, first in an island-wide overview and then by region and major town. The latest third does a decent job covering travel practicalities, again island-wide and by region/e first two-thirds is why you a Periplus guidebook (the latest third is why you don't absolutely have to carry another tutorial on your trip): to have a collection of two page single subject essays that, together, gives you the background you need to decide what you wish to see and where you wish to go in Bali. The writing is clear, informed and, more often than not, highly opinionated in a "been there done that" sort of way. It is fun to read and in-depth enough to be helpful without being overwhelming.What you won't search here are reviews of restaurants and hotels, thousands of stock photographs or sn overly optimistic (or pessimistic) view of Bali and its people. Rightly enough, you may obtain the sense that the editors are not overly fond of tourists that demand Ubud be an "indigenous" ver of London or Los Angeles. This is also not a guidebook for people that tend toward guided tours and cloistered hotels, though it is certainly not "Bali On Five Dollars a Day".If I re-read just two tutorials on Bali before my next trip, this will be one of them. I highly recommend it for the travelers that like to know just enough to strike out and discover on their own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bali: The Ultimate Guide to the World's Most Famous Tropical: To the World's Most Spectacular Tropical Island (Periplus Adventure Guides) []  2020-1-19 21:28

    I read this tutorial along with The rough tutorial to Bali and Lombok, from Rough Tutorials and the Periplus tutorial is quite good. It has a lot of history of the locations that will obtain you in a various mood when you visit them. The locations to stay and eat are beautiful much resolved with phone apps and a local mobile plan (in Bali is and simple to obtain a prepaid SIM card) but the tutorial will save you time in your quest. After visiting Bali, this tutorial covers 90% of the items you can do. The other 10% will always remain to other travelers and locals knowledge. Amazing buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bali: The Ultimate Guide to the World's Most Famous Tropical: To the World's Most Spectacular Tropical Island (Periplus Adventure Guides) []  2020-1-19 21:28

    This is an perfect for someone who knows nothing about Bali aside from the popular name. Well-organized with a amazing index in the back. Also gives a brief history of the culture to support travelers understand why things are what they are. I especially LOVE the very helpful map enclosed in the back pocket of the book. Extremely helpful to obtain one's bearings, from one put to another. Since getting the book, I've loaned it to 3 mates already

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hundred Years War: The History of Europe’s Most Famous War of the Middle Ages []  2020-1-24 20:39

    Covering happenings over this span of time meaningfully and effectively is an exercise in futility. The notice derived is that battle was an on going profession whose objective was power and regardless of the suffering of the citizens involved . Our current experience with ongoing battles is disheartening but pales in comparison to the happenings covered . Forget the amazing old days. ....they are now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hundred Years War: The History of Europe’s Most Famous War of the Middle Ages []  2020-1-24 20:39

    I enjoyed reading, but it was difficult to hold track of the players !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Most Famous Battles of the Ancient World: Marathon, Thermopylae, Salamis, Cannae, and the Teutoburg Forest []  2020-1-26 21:24

    Amazing piece, scholarly work, well written. The font is so small, I couldn't read the thing so I bought the Kindle edition, that's how I know it's a amazing book, even the maps and photos are too little to appreciate, but then, I'm quite old. If you use eyeglasses, skip the hard copy, save your $$ and go straight to the Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Culper Ring: The History and Legacy of the Revolutionary War’s Most Famous Spy Ring []  2020-1-26 21:37

    Truthfully, the info provided within is a amazing summary of info from other sources. Unfortunately, the method the info is provided is so disjointed and "all over the place" that it is hard to follow. The sentence structure and extreme lack of editorial proofreading also create it hard to follow the information. I want I had not purchased this particular pamphlet. I would not recommend this particular writing to anyone of scholarly pursuit, but would recommend it as a decent put to gather info for more valuable reading sources.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Culper Ring: The History and Legacy of the Revolutionary War’s Most Famous Spy Ring []  2020-1-26 21:37

    I love history and this book has insight to the spies of the revolutionary war. I had watched Turn, the television drama about Culper and wanted to know more about the true story behind the show. This book was very informative on that level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Culper Ring: The History and Legacy of the Revolutionary War’s Most Famous Spy Ring []  2020-1-26 21:37

    This is a amazing historical piece that covers some info of the Revolutionary Battle period not commonly covered in history books. While we certainly know the outcome of the struggles with the British today, the revolution's outcome was anything but a foregone conclusion at that time. The clandestine gathering of intelligence and the impact of applying said info is nicely documented in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sistine Chapel: The History and Legacy of the World’s Most Famous Chapel []  2020-1-26 21:52

    This is a really detailed book about when, why, and how the Sistine Chapel was built, and it meticulously describes Michelangelo's work on the ceiling. This would be a amazing book to read for those about to visit it, or for anyone interested in the history of the Catholic Church or Renaissance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sistine Chapel: The History and Legacy of the World’s Most Famous Chapel []  2020-1-26 21:52

    This book is not just about the Sistine Chapel and other monumental works in the Vatican, but also the popes, cardinals and other Catholic leaders involved in building and expanding the Church's grandeur. There were a few saintly leaders, but it seemed there were a lot of more sinners! That created for an interesting and more true telling of history involving the Middle Ages of the Roman Catholic Church.If you would be bothered to learn that the Papacy wasn't always "holy," this book might be upsetting for you. But on the other hand, it is awesome to see how the Church survived, and even prospered, under such flawed people! Because of the humanness of this historical setting, the story of the Sistine Chapel as told in this book is most interesting and even inspiring for some.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Culper Ring: The History and Legacy of the Revolutionary War’s Most Famous Spy Ring []  2020-1-26 21:37

    Only recently has it become known that men and woman spies played necessary roles in providing vital military info to George Washington. In all probability 450 or more individuals contributed information. The British acknowledged that they were better at spying than they. This book provides a very amazing overview of the culpers..a mixture of patriotic men and women who were successful not stopping British counterfeiting operations with the object of making our worthless Other successes are described in book. Still there is more to be learned and certainly the identity of agent 355.who most certainly was not Anna strong. A amazing chance is Elizabeth Denton.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Culper Ring: The History and Legacy of the Revolutionary War’s Most Famous Spy Ring []  2020-1-26 21:37

    Amazing book. Every American should read it and learn how the efforts of a few patriots under very risky conditions changed the history and created the American Revolution possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hundred Years War: The History of Europe’s Most Famous War of the Middle Ages []  2020-1-24 20:39

    A amazing overview of the 100 years war. It contains a summary of happenings for each English monarch involved in the conflict. The pictures and maps loaded correctly on my Kindle Paperwhite. The e-book included a table of contents that I was able to bookmark and reference easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bali: The Ultimate Guide to the World's Most Famous Tropical: To the World's Most Spectacular Tropical Island (Periplus Adventure Guides) []  2020-1-19 21:28

    This book has lots of information, presented in an unorganized boring way. If you plan on traveling to bali and wish a travel tutorial i would suggest something else. If you are studying bali for school or just out of curiosity, and wish text book, this book is for you. I have read a lot of travel books and it seems the author in this one really has no passion or opinion about anything talked about in this book. Its simply a lot of bland information. The map was nice... that was about it. It is written like a school text book but harder to navigate with lots of useless information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bali: The Ultimate Guide to the World's Most Famous Tropical: To the World's Most Spectacular Tropical Island (Periplus Adventure Guides) []  2020-1-19 21:28

    I originally bought the Kindle ver but soon discovered that most of the maps are unreadable in the digital ver of the book (whether in a handheld device or even a 27" monitor).So I returned the Kindle ver and ordered the paper ver om what I've read in the book so far, this is very informative and useful and I am looking forward to diving into it.Will modernize this review when I have don that.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386