Read the new power eating reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the new power eating reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    There are a lot of books about nutrition and cognitive functions. The authors ground their nutrition protocol on what humans ate during the paleolithic era. Often these authors contradict each other. For some, we were better hunters than gatherers so we ate mostly meat. For others, we were better gatherers and ate primarily nuts, plants, fruits. Others advance our digestive system can’t tolerate grains because it was a modern invention of the first agricultural revolution (about 10,000 years ago).However, anthropology suggests that paleolithic diets were dependent of where people lived. Close to shores, they ate more fish; within the forest they ate plants; in locations with herbivores they ate more meat. Also, humans ate grains millions of years before the agricultural revolution. And, we can digest those just fine because of an enzyme earmarked to digest grains (amylase). So, paleolithic diets were as varied as they are sconi gets the anthropology right. Her foundation is based on two empirical findings. The first one is her studying of the “Blue Zones” or the five locations in the Globe associated with the greatest proportion of centenarians. And, her second one is her experience as a neuroscientist. She has seen thousands of brain MRIs while knowing what diet her patients ate. She uncovered a link between brain health and diet. The ones who ate a Mediterranean diet had far healthier brains (per MRIs) than the ones on an American diet. She also observed that 2 out of the 5 Blue Zones eat a Mediterranean diets. And, the three other ones have major overlapping components with a Mediterranean diet including complex carbohydrates (fresh produce) that have a lot of fiber, starches (sweet potatoes), nuts, fish, and not much meat and animal eating fish just twice a week, elderly can reduce their risk of Alzheimer’s (AD) by up to 70%.Mosconi uses a pragmatic approach to improve your diet for brain health. The book is divided in three parts. The first one provides info regarding the brain nutritional requirement. The second one teaches you how to eat better. And, the third part tests you to search out where you are in terms of feeding yourself well. This contains an 80 question try that grades you as either Beginner/Intermediate/Advanced. “Beginner” entails you have small meal awareness. You eat a lot of processed food. “Advanced” entails you eat very healthily, mainly organic foods. And, “Intermediate” falls in sconi states that based on one’s effect on the test, she has a amazing idea of what your brain looks like. She has seen a correlation between people’s diet and their brain’s sconi clarifies a few concepts. Other authors have advanced that the brain needs fat, including saturated fat, and cholesterol to function properly. Not so, Mosconi indicates that the fats we eat (saturated fat from animal protein) and cholesterol can’t even cross the blood-brain barrier. The brain needs a completely various type of fat: essential Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids (PUFAs). They contain Omega-3s and Omega-6s fatty acids. Amazing sources of Omega-3s contain fish, oils, turated fats are not amazing for the brain. They are associated with a 4 x increase in the risk of developing cognitive deterioration later in so, brain cholesterol is very various from the cholesterol we eat. High cholesterol level (> 240 mg/dl) leads to 3 x the risk of cognitive problems and dementia later in e low-carb & high-fat diet (includes keto-diet) are not amazing for you because the brain needs glucose for fuel. It can burn fat. But, the brain’s preferred energy source is glucose. The key is to provide the brain with glucose without raising glucose/serum blood level. You do that by avoiding sugar and eating complex carbohydrates (fresh produce) that convert into to-diets have other negatives. An increase intake of saturated fat increases cholesterol levels (more than eating cholesterol directly). Also, fat-rich foods are often low in fiber, which is hard on your digestive system, and high in protein which is hard on your kidneys.A healthy diet has to contain a lot of prebiotics meal (good for microbiome). They contain onions, asparagus, artichokes, garlic, bananas. These foods are rich in carbohydrates called oligosaccharides. The latter lower cholesterol, prevent cancer, and detoxify your biotics (foods that contain live amazing bacteria) are also key. They contain yogurt, kefir, sauerkraut, and other fermented gular meats are really bad. They are loaded with antibiotics and antibiotic resistant strains of far there is no evidence that eating grains is associated with any cognitive decline. One can verify that at sconi imparts info regarding meal codes (small labels with codes stuck on new produce). A number starting with a 4 means a produce is not organic (has fertilizers and pesticides); Starting with an 8 means GMO; and with a 9 means organic.Exercise is necessary too. Vigorous, frequent exercise can reduce your risk of AD by 43%. However, everyday activities like walking, gardening, can reduce your risk of AD by 35%.There are three mechanisms that clean up the internal infrastructure of the brain: 1) sleep, especially during the deep sleep location (that activates the cleaning glymphatic system); 2) aerobic exercises that boosts enzymatic activity that dissolves AD plaques in the brain; and 3) Intermittent fasting (12 hours +) that cleans up amyloid in the brain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    I’ve had a bit of a transformation over the latest 5 years with my exercise and diet regimen — including lots of reading about nutrition/sports nutrition as well as visits to a clinical of the things I appreciated about mosconi’s work is the ease and accessibility she creates with hard, journal-type data. Bought a copy for my mother-in-law (a psychiatrist) as we need a children version!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    This is absolutely unbelievable work - Dr. Mosconi's clear, concise prose readily breaks down the science of how we can protect our beloved brains from the horrors of dementia and hold our minds humming beautifully for years. Her mastery of the different key topics - neurobiology, nutrition, biochemistry - is wonderful and her ability to decode complex scientific findings into digestible, easy-to-use tip for the layperson is second to none. This is easily one of the best famous science books I've ever come across and by far the best read on nutrition I know of.I could not recommend this book more strongly - if you're intelligent enough to wish to support that brain of yours, be intelligent enough to buy this book!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the new power eating or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    It doesn't take a neuroscientist with a degree in nutrition to obtain that diet can affect the brain. It does take a neuroscientist with a degree in nutrition to provide such a intelligent research-driven ysis of how and to what extent. Brain Meal is based on the work of literally hundreds of scientists and provides a dietary roadmap to enhanced cognitive power. That Dr. Mosconi's book is also fully accessible to a layperson makes this a real must read. (Bonus: Chapter 16 is a mini-cookbook with "brain boosting" recipes including several that are kid-friendly.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    As a Certified Health Coach, I highly recommend this book to anyone who is serious about their future mental health.If I could impress upon the population to change their attitude toward their meal choices and feed their body for optimal health and wellness, this would be the ultimate car for that is packed with info that is both exhaustive and useful in implementing changes in everyday life it all off with the fact that the author has the credentials to back her claims and you have the best respond for the issue of cognitive failure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    A MUST READ IF YOU CARE ABOUT YOUTH HEALTH AND BRAIN.Dr. Mosconi’s book is keystone book for advancing the dialogue and practice of integrative brain health. This is the book I’ve been waiting for. As someone who is obsessed with nutrition, it’s very hard to search REAL research and sound logic. There’s a lot of people who proclaim to be health experts, but few people who can say they are trained in both scientific and holistic approaches. Dr. Mosconi’s book FINALLY gets to the bottom of what we all need to know to take care of our veral things I love about the book:*She incorporates her own research from her experiences of running some of the most cutting edge Alzemeihr’s research programs in the world.*She is also a certified integrative nutritionist, so she gives practical executional tip on how to eat better - so it’s not just “here’s all this research,” but she’s all saying “here’s what to buy and book.”She is very clear in her thesis that is preventable and/or is possible to halt/slow-down through nutrition and lifestyle changes.*She actually tackles the heart of the paleo-gluten debates with logic - it can be a nasty, confusing field but Dr. Mosconi doesn’t shy away from sorting through the hype to give us practical advice.*And she also contains a quiz for you to self-assess where you are on the brain health - And if you are already a fan of integrative health experts such as Dr. Terry Wahls, Dr. Sarah Ballentyne, Dr. Tag Hyman, Dr. Colin T. Campbell, Dr. Michael Greger, Dr. Dean Sherzai and Dr. Ayesha Sherzai - then this is a beyond worthy book to add to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    This is not nutritional tip at its best - I wanted to like this book. It's with the best of intentions that it confuses and encombers as well as soft-pedals what readers interested in protecting their brains really need to hear. Promotes long-ago disproved ideas such as "complete proteins" are only found in meat and eggs. If the word "Fish" where cholesterol, I'd have heart disease from reading this book - gushing over the "magical" qualities of olive oil and fish -- even suggesting one eat fish three times a week and saying nothing of the neurotoxin, mercury, nor the vast list of other contaminants now regularly found in fish and that build up in the blood of fish eaters. Late meta-yses simply do not help the fish-is-heart/brain-food myth that so a lot of health writers have latched on to. This one asserts that fish is "required." Chock full of contradictions and conflicting advice, and overladen with superlatives and hyperboles. The author reveals what she calls her "secret weapon": caviar. Caviar? What, at $320 per 2 ounces? Really? States, "There is no connection between the amount of cholesterol you eat and your brain's function" - and talks about eating a 5-egg omelet. That would include 1,000+ mgs of cholesterol, alone! Readers might want to look at these studies that have a differing opinion: Matsuzaki, T., et al., “Association of Alzheimer’s disease pathology with abnormal lipid metabolism: The Hisayama Study,” Neurology 77 (2011):1068–75. // Notkola, I. L., et al., “Serum total cholesterol, apolipoprotein E epsilon 4 allele, and Alzheimer’s disease,” Neuroepidemiology 17 (1998):14–20. Interested parties may also want to read up on cholesterol and oxysterols and their access to the brain. With the prescription of everyday wine, caviar, chocolate, oodles of additional virgin olive oil, and salmon three times a week, one needs a serious meal budget to hold up. Who can afford to eat like this (if it were healthy in the first place). Vascilates in her position on plant vs animal-based foods. Says fresh brain cells can't be formed, then later says they can be formed later in life. Says "Babysitting" qualifies as exercise (page 154). Says that "having a family you love is enough to stave off dementia, provided you connect with them happily and as often as possible. " (page 163). No comment. Claims, without evidence to support, "red wine has long been known to protect our brains..." -- seen no decisive evidence in the literature supporting that claim. Refers to those who "feel a small low on iron" (you know this because you crave steak!). What does feeling low on iron feel like? Given iron's strong oxidative capacity and concern over iron-overload and the cautionary stance a lot of health authorities are now taking around iron supplements, etc., why leave readers to create guesses about something so critical to heart and brain health? (page 269). The solution to feeling "low on iron?" She suggests one have duck bacon. While virtually any move away from the standard American diet should be favorable for brain health and heart health, - and this suggests a move away, in part -- this book still misses the tag in too a lot of areas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    I really like this book. I think keeping our brains healthy is so important. I had never thought of glucose being necessary before. I eat a low calorie diet and mainly Keto but I incorporate the books ideas now. She recommends a huge dozens of nuts and beets and honey. A lot of her ingredients I already had from using the Oh She Glows cookbook. I have created the Brain Meal trail mix which comes to about 300 calories for a quarter cup, which is a nice treat. The book says eggs are amazing but does not think you should eat them every day, which I do. I think this is an necessary book to protect your brain. It inspired me to obtain back on my treadmill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    Mosconi makes a amazing effort, but ultimately she is not able to reconcile the science with her gut feelings about diet and the brain. This is more a book about how the Mediterranean diet is superior to other diets, but without any amazing substantiation. Some aspects are downright confusing as when she extols the superior benefits of eggs as brain meal (in three various sections of the book), but then on page 181 warns you to only eat 2-3 per week! Forty-four pages later she tells you to only eat 1-2 eggs per week!Her disdain for a ketogenic diet is based on her "years of research" on glucose metabolism in the brain and she is giddy about how much the brain likes glucose. The brain also really likes cocaine, but I don't recommend e book still gets 2 stars because there are some sections that do a nice job of explaining biological processes, but if you're looking for a clear and unbiased tutorial to dietary choices that are beneficial to the brain....keep looking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brain Food: The Surprising Science of Eating for Cognitive Power []  2020-1-11 18:50

    You need this book! Thank you Dr. Lisa Mosconi! Having members of my own extended family now showing signs of Alzheimer’s, I am eager to hold it at bay. I have learned in Brain Food, “less than one percent of the population develops Alzheimer’s due to a rare genetic mutation in their DNA.” (p. 11). This means, I can take control of one of the biggest factors - my diet! Brain Meal provides a clear dietary tutorial for nourishing your brain. The 3-step tutorial is simple to understand for those of us who aren’t scientists, and I did’t feel the info was dumbed down or that I was being talked down to. It’s simply understandable info in a practical guide. Give this to those loved ones you wish to spend your golden years with!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    If this description of a Futurist food appeals to you (on any level) you might like this book:"Pieces of olive, fennel, and kumquat are eaten with the right hand while the left hand caresses different swatches of sandpaper, velvet, and silk. At the same time, the diner is blasted with a giant fan (preferably an airplane propeller) and nimble waiters spray him with the scent of carnation, all to the strains of a Wagner opera."I was not amused, especially when each of the a lot of meals and techniques described in Gastromania seemed designed to see if it could be more extreme than the last!The description of the book from the publisher stressed science, and there was some of that sprinkled through, but there was WAY too much of the bizarre and often obscenely overpriced and pretentious. Even when some science or at least fact-finding was mentioned, too often the mention was not very informative. For example, the author cited that Pizza Hut UK was able to increase customer purchases by an average of more than 20% by a huge data ysis project. This piqued my interest, but he never told us what they found out! My inquiring mind is much more interested in that than in descriptions like the food above. In addition, some of the science is simply wrong. For example, in the discussion of supertasters , the author says that supertasting is associated with a liking for bitter-tasting foods. According to the lecture I attended at the American Association for the Advancement of Science annual meeting a few years ago, that is the exact opposite of their preference---the additional paae on their tongues create them so sensitive they cannot tolerate too powerful a bitter flavor.I had high hopes for the book and did pick up a few nice tidbits, like the term “anosmia”, which is an inability to smell some volatile chemical or other, but ultimately Gastrophysics was just not to my taste.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    Title is misleading, should read gastro psychology not physics. Book has nothing to do with the physics of how foods work or react.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    Started well. The latest two-thirds of the book were neither useful nor interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    A unbelievable book with a lot of insights! It worth every penny

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    Spence allows his sense of humor to shine through as he highlights this emerging field targeting both fine dining and that of each of us in our own cultural realm of eating. Certainly, not everyone will embrace these trends, but if you are in the industry, one needs to be aware of their composite and direction. At the very least, it will expand one's appreciation of the science of eating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    Ordered as bonus for professional chef. He loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    Gastrophysics is a manual for restaurants. It lays out in very precise terms how to affect the meal, the satisfaction, enjoyment and memorability of the event. The tip comes from Charles Spence’s day job, running a gastrophysics lab in Oxford, where human guinea pigs give up their secrets – secret from themselves mostly. Things like how the shape of plates or their tint affect the experience. Why airline meal tastes less than fabulous (there are four very amazing reasons). How rotating the plate changes the entire impression of the meal. How spraying meal fragrances warms up the audience. How the sound of crispness changes our attitude. How the weight of cutlery changes our impression. How putting up a sign (Italy Week) and using red checkered tablecloths create diners think the same Italian menu stuff from always are suddenly fresher and more authentic. How eating off a smartphone computer screen (as a plate) allows for a background video to complement the food.Who knew the act of eating could be so complex? Every one of the five senses plays major role in our experience. Each one gets its own chapter to begin the book off in a highly detailed and instructive, not to say addictive manner. Smell works in two locations – before the meal enters the mouth and at the back of the throat. Smell alone has a direct connection to the brain, giving it by far the most influence on our appreciation. Taste, by comparison, is a weakling limited to five sensations. Meal in motion (bacon sizzling, cheese flowing, yolks oozing) is a proven irresistible visual in ere are endless experiments restaurants have tried. In order to obtain everyone in a amazing mood, one placed mooing cylinders (and nothing else) on its tables. With nothing else to fiddle with, people picked them up, tilted them, and they mooed, quickly causing everyone in the room to do the same, with resultant universal laughter. Controlling the setting is critical, which is why some high end locations create you drive 50 miles out of town, and others in the town center let no windows at all. All these and hundreds more factors are proven motivators of the palate.Unfortunately, we don’t remember meal as much as the experience. We remember the setting, the service, the lighting, and the comfort better than the meal itself. This is frustrating for super chefs, and they constantly to test to improve the memorability factor, not with the food, but with sideshows. In a nod back at supper clubs with floor shows, they use gimmicks like mp3 players, aroma sprays, live musicians, motorized dessert carts and robot servers to create the happening memorable. This leads to a issue with the book: the latest third is all about these extraneous attempts to create happenings memorable, well outside the scope of gastrophysics. The potential of battery-operated forks and fur-covered spoons is beyond. Another issue with Gastophysics is that it is mostly about the superrich restaurateurs. Spence loves citing world-renown establishments, constantly and repeatedly. The kind of locations that charge upwards of £300/$400 (and up to £1000) for a set tasting. They are his peeps. But they are the exception. Also, the a lot of soft, black and white photos are less than appetizing. Finally, Spence has a nasty habit of overusing exclamation points! Oddly for a scientist so finely attuned to the subtleties of fine tuning, their use is confusing and distracting!The overall impression is overwhelming, making Gastrophysics a go-to reference for the meal industry. And yes, you can and should test these things at home.David Wineberg

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    I'm loving this book and I haven't even finished it yet. My husband may not like it since several times a day I'm telling him something interesting I read in this book. But I think in the end he will love it since I'm applying some of the interesting things I've learned to create my own homecooked meal "taste" better! Did you know choosing the right plate, or silverware, background music, or meal arrangement can create your meal taste better! And so a lot of other interesting facts. I love learning, I love food, I love learning about how we "tick" through the combination of physiology and psychology and this book gives an interesting meld of it all with research and science and really simple to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating []  2020-1-21 23:46

    100% 😍😍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    As someone who has spent over 20 years dieting and hating my body, I absolutely LOVE this book so far! I haven't finished it, but I have read the original book twice already and I feel that this is a amazing supplement. It provides a common sense approach. There's more to it than simply telling myself that I can eat what I want, but instead I am being trained to listen to my body's cues and to provide self care. I really like the idea of looking into what causes me to overeat or eat compulsively and learning how to heal my broken relationship with meal and my body. I also like the idea that I can set aside linear thinking, which is typically encouraged by dieting. I'm not expected to begin and end at a certain place, but instead I feel empowered to revisit different aspects of the process as needed, with the end effect being the ability to appropriately nourish myself without guilt. I am also learning to be patient with the process, as I have gained and lost the same 15-20 lbs for the latest 20 years and I have had to place weight loss on the back burner. I haven't been on a scale in over a month, and I was getting on the scale every day for months! Since starting this workbook, I have felt in=credible freedom, since I haven't really been all that worried about my weight. I have already recommended this workbook to someone at my church and I am hoping to be able to share it with other people as time goes on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    I recommend this work book to anyone who has any kind of disordered eating! This is the method to have your cake and eat it too! (Pun intended caringly!) These authors are both Registered Nutritionists and amazing as well! Read their bios!Their book and workbook have helped me chuck out all negative comments and ignore the rubbish I hear from social media and commercial diets.I lift weights and love cardio and I am now in the best physical condition of my life! For anyone who is struggling with meal and is now thinking of going on a diet please obtain this workbook the Intuitive Eating book and consult with a nutritionist! It costs a lot less than commercial diets!I love this workbook and I am so grateful to these authors as well as my own intuitive eating nutritionist for bringing t this unbelievable approach to food!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    As a certified intuitive eating counselor, this workbook was needed for me to be able to complete my training. It it is the excellent complement to Tribole and Resch's Intuitive Eating book, and I recommend it to a lot of of my clients. It really takes the ten principles of intuitive eating and makes them private to you. The worksheets and suggested exercises support you really dig down inside to figure out why you eat what/when/how you do, and it provides you with direction for next steps to ive eating is not another diet or set of rules and restrictions. It is getting back to the intuition and wisdom you were born with to create peace with meal and trust your body. Both evidence-based and sporting a validated assessment, intuitive eating really can support you have fun life again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    I am only halfway through this workbook and I can already tell this is going to be life changing! If you are totally honest about the answers you give to the questions laid out for you in this workbook, you see exactly what you've (I've ) been doing wrong for so a lot of years around food! I have been on every "diet" for at least 30 years. I always thought that I required to be "on a diet" or I wasn't "trying" hard enough to lose this additional weight. I've never REALLY just listened to my body and eaten what it wants and how much it wants. Which turns out is far LESS than I was ever eating before. No more mindless eating. My mind and body are in sync! I can't wait to see what else I learn about myself! I purchased the Hard Cover and would recommend this because there are a lot of writing exercises!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    I've spent my life on one diet after another, and they never did anything but create me feel crazy around meal and place on even more weight. This book truly is the something that everyone who's struggling with meal and eating problems should read. It's a very common sense book with amazing info as to why exactly diets won't work. It's very simple to understand and has amazing suggestions for making peace with food!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    This book is not for everyone (I don't think). However, I LOVE it! To be honest, I've felt defeated and irritated with meal because I have done one diet after another, even diets that weren't "diets" but were more lifestyle changes and nothing has created me satisfied or stable. The thing with this book is you have to read it in it's entirety and take things slow. Food, dieting, your weight, all of it can cause some true mental and emotional issues, and this book takes the pressure off. It gets long at some points, but overall I'm doing method better with meal than I have in a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    This book helped stop my binge eating!!! After years of bulimia followed by years of binge eating I've stopped. This book teaches you how to listen to your hunger cues and to stop when you are satiated. Between this and the book Never Binge Again by Glenn Livingston Ph.D. I truly believe I've been given the proper info and tools to never binge again and listen to my body. As a effect of the binges stopping and truly listening to my body I've lost quite a bit of weight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    This book is a miracle and a real gift. If I could obtain one for each of my mates I would. It has helped me break down my old diet habits, old meal rules, and has allowed me to have tools to tackle every obstacle I have experienced on my intuitive eating journey. It is hard work, and takes time. But I am able to listen to my hunger, slow down while eating, and really listen to my body. I have come to better understand why I emotionally eat, and why some foods had such a keep on me. Buying and working through this book has been one of the best decisions of my life. (This is not Steven, this is his wife, Schuyler) Imagine not thinking about meal all day, imagine no longer comparing yourself to others, no more diets, no more rules on when and how to eat. It is so incredibly FREEING.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    So allow me begin by saying I’m an enthusiastic believer in Intuitive Eating. For me, this workbook was long awaited. I have the book and have read it cover to cover, but I was always hoping for a supplemental workbook to support readers place the principles into action. My dream finally came real when I found out about this workbook. But then I had to wait for what seemed like forever for the workbook to be released (I had pre-ordered on Amazon of course). Now that I have it, I just can’t stop recommending it to people. It’s honestly changed my life and the lives of my clients. (I’ve recently ordered two more copies and contemplating ordering a third because I hold remembering more people in my life that I wish to give it to). This workbook, in conjunction with the Intuitive Eating book, is essential for someone who is a chronic dieter, obsessed with losing weight, food, eating, calories, or anything similar to meal and body image. Love, love, love!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Intuitive Eating Workbook (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) []  2020-12-3 20:8

    My nutritionist suggested this workbook to me and I was skeptical, mainly because I was focused on losing weight rather than examining my relationship with food. Looking back, I realize I wanted to be told which foods were “good” and which were “bad” to eat, and then be done!Making genuine progress with my weight loss goal only came about after I read this book. By the middle of chapter one, I was reconsidering how I’d been approaching food, from diets to overindulgence in sweets. I found the workbook’s exercises gave me insights into my actions, and it actually was a huge relief to place down on paper all the meal judgements and worries I’d been carrying around inside of largest takeaway from this book is that now I’m working on nourishing my body. Surprisingly, I can have fun meal without guilt, and also recognize when I’m about to stress-eat or use a cookie as a “reward” for something else. I’m grateful this workbook was designed, and I think it could support individuals with a dozens of meal issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    Attractive illustrations! We received the huge ver of this board book as a shower gift. A year and half later, it's one of our favorites. My toddlers love flipping through it, pointing to the pictures, and trying to say the names of the produce. So far, they've only really mastered "apple". We're working on "banana" and "blueberries". I think "vegetable marrow" is a long method off, but I'm confident they'll obtain there. .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    Cute book! I love that it has a dozens of vegetables and fruits for the letters of the alphabet. There were some I didn’t recognize but that just means I’ll have to search them and test them! My 2 month old loves to look at the colourful pictures when I read it to her. Hopefully it will encourage her to test lots of various meal as she gets older.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    With all the news stories about meal saftey here's a book with lots of info to consider. It is meant to tutorial you tosafe(r) choices in the super market. It's a fairly latest publishing date. In other words the info is reasonablycurrent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    If you are looking for a supermarket tutorial to support you with labels, this is NOT IT! The best method to describe this book is that it is like asking someone for the time, only to be told how to build a watch! It is complicated, confusing, and method too ambitious. Our family is going "wheat and gluten free." There are gobs of things in our processed foods neither you nor I can even pronounce. There are chemicals of all kinds, and in addition the harmful, addictive, gliadin protein in the engineered wheat of our globe today is everywhere. It is in sauces, condiments, cosmetics. But in addition there are other agents and preservatives to increase shelf life that are equally harmful and more so. I was looking for a book that would support me read labels. This ain't it. The first section on organic and the early sections on usga approved and other labeling that is so misleading, created me emerge thinking, to use this book you need your own lab to try your food..... who is going to do that? Answer. No one. Label reading will slow your ping down to be sure, but IF YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR HEALTH AND THAT OF YOUR FAMILY, YOU AND I BETTER LEARN TO PAY ATTENTION, BECAUSE EVERYTHING MARKETED AS HEALTHY, ORGANIC, OR SUCH IS MOST DEFINITELY NOT. We grew up being told Campbell's Chicken Noodle Soup was health food. It is not. It is loaded with MSG and sodium and other stuff. Whole grain does not equal healthy, especially if whole grain contains the wheat we have in our globe today. It once was tall low yield but healthy. Now it has been generically altered to produce more bushels per acre and with the gliadin protein which is like an opiate in addictive quality, the more you eat the more you want, the more you wish the worse your health and this latest comment..... WHAT YOU EAT OF THE WHEAT WILL GO TO YOUR BELLY FAT AND STAY THERE DEFYING YOU TO DIET OR EXERCISE IT OFF... LITERALLY "FAT CHANCE."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    My small guy loves this book!! We eat lots of fruits and vegetables as a family, so it was so nice to search a book with so a lot of of them- even a few really unusual ones I've never eaten: gooseberry, huckleberry, kohlrabi, quince, and vegetable marrow, for instance. The illustrations are bright and colorful, but still real to what the meal actually looks like. Some of the letters have more zone devoted to them. "P" has two, two page spreads. Most of the letters have one to two pages, though. There isn't a storyline here, but with so a lot of fun colors and shapes, there is plenty to look at and have fun as you flip through the pages.We have fun saying the letter names on each page as we read through the book, and also making the letter sounds, and then talking about which vegetables have that sound at the beginning of their name. That doesn't work when it comes to "J", though. The foods there are "Jalapeno" and "Jicama"..."h" l in all, a very satisfying book for my small one. He liked it at 3 months, and still loves it at 9 months.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    My students lost interest easily when I presented this book to the class. The graphics were fair but some of the foods noted were very uncommon, at least for my kiddos. The students were not drawn into to text and the pictures did not interest them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    This book is a comprehensive resource for navigating the oft-confusing language used on meal labels … definitely useful if you've ever wondered about the difference between cage-free or free-range eggs, what types of seafood are highest in mercury, or whether you should be concerned about artificial hormones in animal products (hint: yes for red meat and dairy, no for chicken). Stewart sorts through the hype and deciphers which claims are worth the associated additional cost and which are just marketing ploys. Although the info here provides a thorough overview of the farming and processing practices behind different meal labels (and sometimes the environmental repercussions), it is less concerned with the health implications of these practices. You may need to look elsewhere if you are interested in the health benefits of grass-fed beef or raw milk, as problems such as these are beyond the scope of this already information-packed book. My only true criticism is that Stewart peppers the narrative with anecdotes of her own relationship with meal and experiences as a farmer's daughter – presumably in an attempt to create the predominantly scientific info more palatable to the average reader – but these accounts seem unnecessary and often fall flat of the humorous tone she seems to be striving for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    Boring book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    I cannot say enough amazing things about this book! the pictures are awesome and colorful. It's so freakin adorable listening to my toddler say things like "Persimmon" and "Rhubarb". She is always reading this book and I like that it's introducing fresh foods to her through reading, that method when she's over the "scary food" toddler phase she might be more inclined to test them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    I think the pictures could be better. They're all kind of scrambled together on the oages and makes it difficult for young children to decifer. Also, i thinknthere were more age appropriate foods they could have listed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    Amazing purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    must read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    My kids love this colourful book, Eating the Alphabet, by Lois Ehlert. This book helps to educate kids about the various fruits and vegetables for every letter of the alphabet. It has inspired my kids to wish to test fresh fruits and vegetables that they've never had before. We have also been able to identify fruits and vegetables in the produce section at the grocery shop that we might have once overlooked. One of my daughters actually requested Brussels sprouts after reading this book for the first time. We created them, and while she didn't love them the first time she had them, she was proud to say that she tried them. After having eaten them a lot of times now, she likes them, and I have to say we probably never would have tried Brussels sprouts in the first put if it wasn't for this book!We love the artwork of Lois Ehlert and the bright, bold colors she uses. She makes everything look appetizing and as a effect will encourage kids I'm sure to test more fruits and vegetables!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    This is such a easy but engaging book! It is an alphabet book that is illustrated beautifully with foods. My son has never been a amazing eater, especially wars solids. This book helps encourage him towards all meal and trying fresh foods without him feeling pressured in a high chair!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    Having come from a moralizing, legalistic "reformed" background, I search this to be a glorious truth that should be shouted from the e plague of legalism hurts the progress of the Gospel on every hand. I meet more Christ-loving, obedient kids of God who have shared how legalism had deadened their hearts and those around them. Nowhere is this more real than among those who claim to be e most unbelievable quotes are near the end, where Chalmers noted that it is EXACTLY when the gospel of grace is most free that the hearts of God's people are most obedient. Yet, legalists spread the fear of antinomianism, leading to moralizing sermons and cold, dead religion, and churches full of self-satisfied ough I'm not sure how consistently this principle is understood, the resurgence of truly gospel-centric preaching holds out hope for revival. May the cold, dead religion of moralists and Pharisees be place to death, and gospel obedience by the Spirit's power shine forth, to the glory of our amazing God and Savior Jesus Christ. Titus 3:4-7.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    We have lost this easy notice and to explore it as fresh is to realize how sanctification actually works! We love our sins and won't give them up until we replace them with God's love which is the greatest affection. Think about it. We all allow amazing things go when we fall in love with something new. What did we do that was such work to forget that old love? Nothing. We work at sanctification because we are trying to allow go of a poor thing we love without really having a fresh amazing love to replace it. How can salvation mean so small that it is not realized as the love of God? This book speaks to these questions with clarity. Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    My toddler age 2 is VERY interested in letters AND fruits & veggies,... so what better than a book that combines both? Of course my son LOVES this book and all the fresh words. However, if my son was not SO interested in this particular topic, I would not have bought this book simply because the photos are more artistic representations of fruit rather than clearly drawn and identifiable. This book also encouraged my son to test fresh healthy foods.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating the Alphabet []  2020-1-30 22:28

    Our 18 month old points to each item and names them. This was a amazing idea to connect the alphabet to meal names. A kid gets to see and wish to test something new...... not just the standard "A is for Apple" ...you also obtain artichoke, avocado and asparagus! Every letter is shown in upper and lower cases....and each letter has MORE than ONE word with the letter. Durable board book that gets used and enjoyed a lot!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    Kimberly Lord Stewart does a amazing job presenting consumers with valuable info to navigate daunting meal labeling on their visits to the grocery store. A must read for everyone who wants to eat better and spend wisely. After reading "Eating Between the Lines," consumers should then read the recently released "The Meat Racket: The Secret Takeover of America's Meal Business" by Christopher Leonard. You may never buy chicken again, but it's a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    Kimberly has written an perfect book on a very difficult and charged topic. There are a lot of reasons that underline why we are where we are with foods, politics, science and health. Anything that is chronic has multiple contributing factors. In this process, Kim has discerned and reported on a number of these problems in a method that is both informative and concise. This is not a fad book but more of a researched and reported look at this challenging topic. Thanks for your time and expertise in putting this book together. It is very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    Book came in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eating Between the Lines []  2020-7-27 20:0

    Perfect book. It also has a chart with over pesticide veggies and fruit. I create copies and pass them out to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    I like the content of this small book. It was recommended on some other website, I think. Tim Keller recommends it in his book Gospel For Life, but the English is surely various than books written today. Chalmers seems to write almost like a doctoral-level psychologist with rather academic language, and I'm finding it hard to wade terms of content and it's attractive items and the concept is absolutely true, I believe. It can even be seen in children: How do you take away one risky thing which they've become attached to? Offer them something else that will fascinate them for the moment. In terms of the Christian life, our desires and our affections must be brought into submission under the Lordship of Christ and our affection for Christ must become supreme to defeat all other unwanted districting attachments that would interfere with worship of Christ.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    Husband and I read this together. A unbelievable exposition on the evidences of a regenerated heart in pursuing godliness. Massive language, best read slowly and inserting your own commas (as this was a sermon).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    We are a civil war; inside of us battle two opposing armies: the troops of Flesh and the troops of Christ. The Christian life is a war between these two. Some seasons in our life it seems the troops of sin is marching unabated as it takes more ground upon our heart, and at other times it seems the troops of Christ is triumphant and unbound in its reign. All Christians come to a point where they are crossed; a mystery unto themselves, and like Paul famously said, unable to figure out why they do what they don’t wish to do and can’t do what they wish to do. What then? How do we displace the love for the globe from our hearts that Christ may reign?Pastor Thomas Chalmers (1780-1847) in his popular sermon by the same title offers us a way. He says we need a fresh overpowering affection, a greater affection than the one we feel for sin. “The ascendant power of a second affection will do what no exposition however forcible, of the folly and worthlessness of the first, ever could effectuate…We shall never be able to arrest any of its leading pursuits, by a naked demonstration of their vanity. It is quite in vain to think of stopping one of these pursuits in any method else, but by stimulating to another” (pg.10). In other words, we can’t just tell ourselves or others, “stop sinning.” We must present ourselves a greater reason to stop: the glory and joy of e heart abhors a vacuum; a throne cannot stand without someone siting upon it; our hearts must worship. But an unregenerate person – or even a saved one who lives in unconfessed sin – cannot imagine their heart without their particular god. Who shall I worship if not fame? or self-righteousness? or self? “If the throne which is placed there must have an occupier, and the tyrant that now reigns has occupied it wrongfully, he may not leave a bosom which would rather detain him than be left in desolation” (pg.18). Our identities can be so wrapped up in our manmade gods that to leave them without replacing them with something greater is like cutting off an arm or leg without the promise of something e key is to look up, and search our hope and joy and portion in God, who alone is our satisfaction. “He who believes that Christ hath broken down this wall (the wall of guilt and shame), finds a gathering radiance upon his soul, as he look onward in faith to the things that are unseen and eternal” (pg.26).It is the gospel, and only the gospel that has the power to replace the worlds affections. It alone satisfies the hearts desire for worship and shows it it’s proper put of worship. “The object of the gospel is both to pacify the sinner’s conscience, and to purify his heart; and it is of importance to observe that what mars the one of these objects mars the other also. The best method of casting out an impure affection is to admit a pure one; and by the love of what is good, to expel the love of what is evil. Thus it is, that the freer the gospel, the more sanctifying is the gospel; and the more it is received as a doctrine of grace, the more will it be felt as a doctrine according to godliness” (pg.28).Read those latest two sentences again. How free is your gospel? How free is the gospel you’ve believed? Is it free enough to handle repeated sin? Is it free enough to handle gross sin that is culturally ashamed? Yes and yes! God is not afraid of your ’s this gospel that compels fresh affections to cast out old sins, but only in confession and thereby trust in that gospel can sinners – even Christian-sinners – truly understand the endless grace and goodness of Christ through the gospel. This is the notice sinners need. This is the power that expels sin; to look unblinkingly at your sin, then from the cross hear the nail-pierced Savior say, “I forgive that too. Go and sin no more.” Grace compels righteousness.I would recommend this book for all Christians. To even call it a book is a bit silly; it’s a bound sermon totaling 31 pages. But it’s 31 pages of gospel-soaked grace that can encourage anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    I have a Ph.D. in Counseling from a Christian university. The concepts in this book are life-changing for anyone struggling with addictions, or merely wanting to replace unhealthy or unholy behaviors and habits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    You do not have to understand this concept for it to work in your life. It works this method whether you understand it or not. But to come to the understanding that THIS IS how it works will correct wrong thinking and wrong methods of wrestling with your own flesh to create it do what it was made to do. We do not "get rid of" wrong attitudes and old hurts. They are squeezed out in God's holy waste removal process that is most beautifully exposed in this fine old work from Chalmers, perhaps the best thing God ever spoke through him. God captures our minds and hearts and His own Spirit dwelling inside us creates a force that, like centripetal force, expels the old loves and desires and purposes of your life.I cannot recommend this work highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    Thomas Chalmers eloquently describes the alluring nature of God's grace and mercy. A skill a lot of of us have neglected to learn and develop. Instead of mastering the art of describing the insurpassable beauty of Christ and His Salvation, we have focused on moralizing and relying on legislatures to enforce the morality we think society should live by. Only we, the Church, can offer an alternative to the immorality this globe has to offer.Let us rededicate ourselves to the mastery of painting an alluring portrait of Christ with our lives and with our words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    I had heard of Chalmers' book years ago and finally read it. Brief, yet b with profound insights, it focuses on the heart of the Gospel. The paradoxical power of Christ invading our lives and increasingly transforming our weak and fickle passions is the real hope of His followers. Only this can free us from the religious reductionism of performance-driven legalism and start the breaking of the relentless effects of our inherent depravity. A succinct yet strong exhortation to set our affection upon the Lord. I intend to periodically reread this as a means of "preaching the Gospel to myself daily, lest I become discouraged" (Luther). I highly recommend this small book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Expulsive Power of a New Affection []  2020-1-25 6:11

    A small over a week ago, the pastor at the church where we worship in Edinburgh mentioned the sermon "The Expulsive Power of Fresh Affection" by well-known 19th Scottish minister Thomas Chalmers. I had not heard of Chalmers before coming to Scotland but the title of the sermon sounded intriguing so I found a Kindle ver and I read it.Excellent, perfect sermon. The language is a bit dated but the main point of the sermon is clearly and repeatedly statement a lot of times, and the various implications of it are drawn sum, if you wish to combat sinful desires and temptations, the best tactic is to positively focus your heart and mind upon Christ. You should seek to know Him, who He is, His promises, and nurture your love for God by seeking Him, meditating upon Him, and seeing Him in the globe around you. The joyful obedient Christian life is best sought after by seeking Christ rather than focusing on what you are not supposed to do. I am hardly doing justice to it in this short paragraph but I would heartily recommend this sermon to others because it gives helpful thoughts and reflection on the attitude and focus we should have in living the Christian life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    Huge fans of Ree, but her recent book is a bit too “basic” for those who really like to cook interesting meals. Ree has been reduced to providing recipes that we’ve been making for years, and most home cooks already know how to make. There is really nothing original that appeals to my household who all have fun cook food, great/fresh ingredients and something “interesting” about the meal. This is NOT the book for that. If you already have some of Ree’s books...you don’t really need this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    Before I start this review, I'd like to say that I own every single Pioneer Woman cookbook. They have used enough in my kitchen that I felt this book deserved my pre-order although I hadn't seen a lot of recipes. If you wish a synopsis of the following review, it's this: Look at the book in a brick-and-mortar shop before buying to determine if it is right for is book has a dozens of recipes ranging from lower carb to desserts. There's even an option to use an Insta-Pot with directions for standard oven cooking directions if you don't own an Insta-Pot, which I appreciate. The problem? The book feels very gimmicky and trendy. There are few customers buying these cookbooks who are looking to diet; people are buying these books for hearty, family-style meals that can pull double-duty for entertaining guests. Ms. Drummond forgot her target audience when she wrote this book. When I flip through it, I see repeats of recipes that can be found for free online and lots of healthier fare that doesn't interest anyone in my family. I feel like she is scraping the bottom of the barrel for recipes in this book because a lot of of them are for recipes that you can search elsewhere and they're done better elsewhere uff I can't believe she place in this book: green mac and cheese (seen it a million times and other people do it better); spicy pigs in a blanket (how is this worth putting in a cookbook?); roasted potatoes (really???); drunken spaghetti (this recipe has been making the circuit for years); cuber smoked salmon bites (this recipe is everywhere) and a lot of more tired dishes. Then there is the little sweets chapter which quite frankly is unfortunate. As a part of her fresh healthier frontier, Ree maintains that sometimes you just need a bite of something, and a lot of of the recipes call for making "bites" which to me is a lot more work than just making a pie or cake. I don't need the fuss of making things in precious looking portions. If I need to eat less of something, I can chop myself a smaller portion. The desserts chapter that follows is almost the only redeemable chapter in the is book was an exercise in capitalizing on fame. At this point, the author assumes that she can release anything and people will buy it. My takeaway from this book is that from now on, I need to sit down and look at the book before I buy it. When Ms. Drummond says "new frontier", she really does mean it, and if you're looking to expand your repertoire of hearty meals, there are fewer in this book than you're hoping for. In subsequent books, I really hope she gets back to what created her fanbase follow her to start with because this book is a miss in a lot of ways.If you are a Pioneer Woman fan, go ahead and buy the book. You know you wish to and you know you're going to. However, if you are the type of person who expects to use the cookbook like you have the other cookbooks she's written, then I think you'll be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    I pre ordered this and couldn't wait to obtain it. Ohhhh it's not good. Easy recipes and not good choices. The very first one is for a McDonalds Egg McMuffin with 20 steps and she talks about McDonalds. Nope..I excitedly flipped through the book recipes I found them plain and uninteresting. I didn't even like the desserts. Ree this is a fail. I wish the country comfort meal meals. Method to primary and boring. This is going back. Highly dissatisfied. Who needs needs a recipe that states but basil on potatoes and bake. That is one of her side dish recipes. Don't waste your money. Her other books were amazing this is NOT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    I have all he Pioneer Woman cookbooks and this one is definitely the best one yet! Needing to live a lower carb lifestyle, I was pleasantly surprised to search options in this book. This cookbook has Ree’s signature picture with every step, which is absolutely amazing. Seriously, more cookbook writers need to obtain on that!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    Red Drummond, our favorite pioneer woman, has delivered her fresh cookbook. And, I might add it may be one of my favorites. Her two daughters have left home, one graduated college, one started college. So, she has more time she says to reflect and plan fresh recipes. Her boys wish to eat all the time, as usual her recipes are created for families, hard working ere are 112 fresh recipes within these 353 pages. Each recipe comes with it’s own and sometimes several photographs taken by Ree. These are glorious photos, so do not read this cookbook while hungry. The book starts with an Introduction, then the tools of the trade used in these fresh recipes. Ree sells a lot of of the pieces of equipment online and in their shop in Oklahoma. There is a page devoted to using an Instapot, which I found very ere are 11 chapters all devoted to foodChapter1. Breakfasts-Tex Mex Sheet Pan breakfast interests meChapter2. Lunch - Honeydew Gazpacho looks deliciousChapter3. Snacks and Starters- .Taco stuffed mini peppersChapter4. Drinks- Oklahoma Prairie FighterChapter5. Chicken-Slow cooker butter chickenChapter6. Beef and Pork- Instant Pot sticky pork lettuce wrapsChapter7. Seafood - Herb citrus salmonChapter8. Meatless- Grilled halloumi and vegetablesChapter9. Sides - Excellent potato parcelsChapter10. Little Sweet Bites - Chocolate cherry cream cheese bitesChapter11. Desserts- Butterscotch lava cakesI jumped to the dessert chapter first, and Ree is into butterscotch and Caramel. But, lots of chocolate abound. Every chapter is filled with goodness and images of the meal and family. There are so a lot of recipes I wish to try. I am on my own, now, but I love to cook and bake for my grandchildren and adult children. These are simple to make, delicious recipes. Ree has a unique knack of giving us family cooking that can be created and frozen. I always look forward to her cookbooks, and this one excels. As she says from low carb to indulgent, something for commended. prisrob 10-22-19

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    I ordered this book in August knowing it would be here October 22 I got this for my daughter for Christmas and the pages were wavy. Looks like it might have gotten damp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    I tried, I really tried to like this cookbook. Like her other books, this one includes step by step instructions with photographs for each step. The photography is beautiful. But there were few recipes I would consider making. Some recipes were just weird. Honeydew gazpacho? Butterfly martini? One tail recipe called for Smarties. Those candies are pure sugar and chemicals. Her other cookbooks are so much better and have lots of appealing recipes. Unless you are a devoted fan, I would pass on this cookbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    I own all the other cookbooks that Ree has published, along with quite a bit of her kitchen ware. So naturally, I had to have this one too! However, I was definitely disappointed. Out of the 112 recipes in this book, not one caught my eye and created me think "I can't wait to test that!". Some of the recipes seemed like a bit of a stretch. I love a lot of other recipes Ree has published (has anyone else tried her lasagna recipe? SO GOOD!) but none of these excited me. Some recipes actually sounded a little...unappetizing. No sense in letting it collect dust on my shelf so this will be going so, it seems like this book was created cheaply compared to her others. The cover on this one is flexible and not rigid, where the others are hard with a nice dust jacket on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    I have all of the PW cookbooks and pre-ordered this one as soon as I knew it was being written. I love watching Ree and think she is great, however this book was disappointing to me. I spent time looking through the book and it took a while before I found a recipe I'd even wish to try. Like others have mentioned, there's a lot of primary items here and it felt like I could search a lot of of these types of recipes with an simple online search. And I'm probably unlike most here when I say that I think I'm over seeing 12 or 15 images of each recipe. I literally have thousands of cookbooks and I LOVE photos, but I'm sorry I really don't need a image of each ingredient being added to a mixer or pan. It seems distracting to the recipe instructions in this book. Images of tricky instructions are great, but the mundane, unnecessary images are bothering me LOL. I'm keeping the book but disappointed with it. If I had seen it first in a shop I would not have purchased it. Sorry Ree, this one missed the mark.Edited to add that I've decided to return this book. After going through it again I realize I will never use it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pioneer Woman Cooks: The New Frontier: 112 Fantastic Favorites for Everyday Eating []  2020-1-18 21:52

    I have all her other cookbooks and must say I was very disappointed in this one. A lot of the recipes are things I would never make, never wish to create and search weird. Shrimp scampi lasagne roll-ups? Fried dough? Goat cheese truffles, smoked salmon cuber bites? Really? Who makes this stuff? Seems like she's grasping at anything here, and I know her recipes are so much better than that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    new jersey case searchsq [pennsylvania judiciary case search namejj]  2020-8-21 20:13
    [email protected]

    arfzuokitmnt missouri name find juvenile case find maryland maryland case find com marion county fl case find fresno county superior court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    new jersey criminal case searchfg [cases of illegal search and seizureww]  2020-9-7 20:3
    [email protected]

    xnfjcusdeozy dekalb county magistrate court case find district of columbia court case find ny court case find fulton county state court case find ohio judiciary case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Dat New Orleans: Eating, Drinking, Listening to Music, Exploring, & Celebrating in the Crescent City []  2020-1-26 23:0

    Got this book for hubby for our trip to Fresh Orleans Inc May. We tried a few of the recommendations and were very satisfied with the outcome. Surprisingly we ran into Mr Michael Murphy at Frank’s giving us a thumbs up on the restaurant. We did not know that was him but hubby had a feeling and he googled his picture and confirmed the identity with the owner. That was a pleasant surprise. Too poor we did not obtain to take a picture with Mr Murphy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    I saw this book in my doctor's office this week and immediately went home to order it. Fast delivery from Amazon as always but when I opened the pack there was this huge price mark on the front of the book advertising it for $16.02. I thought I was ordering a fresh book and am upset that this price is stuck on the book! I did test to take it off and now I have a sticky mess on the front of the book. Would like a book that is fresh please. I am looking forward to the recipes and the lifestyle change, no stickers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    The first ten pages are worth the purchase... An simple honest look at true human proportions. Recipes are amazing and well explained. Amazing to have above the stove.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    Amazing recipies

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    Author has amazing achievements and really amazing stories. Amazing health transformation too. However, as a plant based runner, it’s annoying to see white rice condemned when you are eating fish, eggs, and honey - not vegan. That’s also confusing to people fresh to a plant based/vegan lifestyle. Author would love The Starch Solution by Dr. John McDougall and adding it to your list of book recommendations would support your readers too. Just a thought...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. The recipes are simple and delicious. Definitely increased my knowledge in selecting healthier options.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    There were two things about this book that initially intrigued me: Plant-based eating and running. In the book, Cairns info his journey from being overweight and not able to run around the block, to becoming a marathon and ultra marathon runner. I've tried vegetarian and vegan diets in the past so I can attest to the physical and mental changes that Cairns experienced once he applied a plant-based diet, chop his dairy and sugar intake while committing to a everyday running routine. The races served as motivation to train without just going through the motions. While getting in shape, there's a lot of psychological warfare that challenges everything we know to be true. Cairns does a amazing job describing the a lot of emotions that he felt in training and in the actual races. At the end of the book, he closes with some plant-based recipes that will tremendously speed up the process of weight loss, give you more energy and very likely, add years to your life. The book uses running as the inspiration but it's more than about running; it's about quality of life. As Cairns so eloquently place it, "If you don't create time for wellness you need to create time for sickness."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Dat New Orleans: Eating, Drinking, Listening to Music, Exploring, & Celebrating in the Crescent City []  2020-1-26 23:0

    I purchased this book for an upcoming trip to Fresh Orleans. I found the book to be helpful to support choose restaurants, bars and melody venues. The writing was interesting and helpful and i loved the method he told the ghost stories in their chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Dat New Orleans: Eating, Drinking, Listening to Music, Exploring, & Celebrating in the Crescent City []  2020-1-26 23:0

    Very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Dat New Orleans: Eating, Drinking, Listening to Music, Exploring, & Celebrating in the Crescent City []  2020-1-26 23:0

    very small pictures and lots of sentences. it does not motivate me to read during my trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    Has some really yummy recipes amazing cooking/kitchen tips. Especially liked the Thai It Up Chicken Soup...definitely a feel amazing comfort meal with a small various take on traditional chicken soup. Each recipe gives nutritional content breakdown which is great. Not every recipe has a picture but the ones that do are beautifully illustrated. Makes a unbelievable gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    Helps me with meal ideas and menu for my husband.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    Amazing book with some inspiring stories

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Dat New Orleans: Eating, Drinking, Listening to Music, Exploring, & Celebrating in the Crescent City []  2020-1-26 23:0

    Amazing tutorial to the city

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    Love this book, new and healthy recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    Very inspirining, definitely recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    This is amazing items - calm, clear, inspiring and most of all, authentic. This is an daily guy like me, who tells us what he did, what has proven to work and therefore will work for anyone. It's well motivating and I've started running already.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    I saw this cookbook at clinic was having chemotherapy. The recipes looked amazing so I bought it for her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    amazing for fresh healthy recipes - I don't like Thai but love the shrimp Thai recipe - have created it several times

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Cancer Society New Healthy Eating Cookbook (Healthy for Life) []  2020-7-25 19:48

    amazing price and size

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    The honesty, it felt like a book for beginners until 50% in but it's a decent read for any runner. I look forward to cooking a meal

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    Being a runner myself and recently going plant based I found the book very worthwhile. The book is an simple read and often speaks my language perfectly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    When I was approached to review Jonathan Cairns book, Plant Based Runner, I was skeptical.  As a Doctor of Chiropractic, Acupuncturist, Natural Health column writer and author of 12 books, I have read hundred of health similar books. I am someone who has dedicated their life to health. I wondered what about this book would create me review it positively and suggest it to others. I knew I had to be honest. Now, having read the book I can enthusiastically endorse this book.  There are a lot of reasons I can do so. Jonathan imparts bits of wisdom throughout the book. He has an insightful and candid approach to health that is honest and forthright.  He isn't selling you junk. He understand confirmation bias (including his own). He helps you build an actual street map to better health.  In his writing, Jonathan takes the high street by admitting his approach is an approach, not the only approach. He is tough enough to tell the hard truths: Reward requires work. Hard work works. Success is never given, it's earned. The secret of getting ahead is getting started. There is no magic , etc.​ In his candid method Jonathan points out that health is something that must be worked on constantly and on an daily bases. He imparts the wisdom that in order to gain one's health one must act.  Along the method he tells his story of becoming a runner.  When he starts getting around the block tires him out.  But gradually and over time he strives and wins, strives and fails. But, he always gets up again and continues moving forward. He finds his health in improved diet and exercise.  You might go, ho-hum, heard it before, yada yada yada.  Well, stop and have a look at Jonathan's story. He opens his heart and his mind and as he struggles, you struggle.  As he wins, you win. When he succeeds you succeed with him. He truly lets you in that deeply. Too boot, in the end he gives you appendices with what foods worked for him, some recipes, training plans, etc.  Not only does he take you on his journey, he gives you an outline of a plan for your own.  Dig into this book, have fun the ride and perhaps you can find/create a fresh map that will create you healthier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Plant Based Runner: A Personal Guide to Running, Healthy Eating, and Discovering a New You []  2020-12-3 19:13

    Disclaimer- I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This book is unlike any other book about health and nutrition that I have ever read, and I have read quite a number of them. Honestly, I had begun avoiding such books because they prescribe a one size fits all solution based on an isolated aspect of nutrition and exercise and I have either actually gained weight from following them or found that they needed a complete overhaul of habits right away and I just was not able to do it. Just mre crappy books adding to a cacaphony of crappy info and advice. What created this book completely various from all those others was a few things. One thing I liked is that the author is not a so-called expert, focusing on one isolated type of nutrition or solution. He is very clear that he is only talking about ways of eating that he has found worked for himself and shares them with us. He does not create one of those "do this and you'll lose weight and obtain gorgeous again" claims. That items just makes me wnt to run in the opposite direction to the nearest barf bag. Another thing that makes this book various and, in my opinion, more effective is the extended and very detailed accounting of the author's private struggles and the rugged emotional and physical landscape of his journey to where he is now. Most of the authors of these types of books tell their story in a vague method about how they got to the low point of their health and then describe the steps they took to obtain healthy again. But I have never seen this degree of description, almost a memoir inside a self support book that drove home to me the most necessary point i took away: just because something feels difficult, impossible and out of reach, it isn't and that those type of feelings are a natural part of the process that you can face and deal with and prove to be unreal limitations. Which leads me to the other most necessary point that ties the other points together: the author's rigorous, unflinching honesty in his work for self-awareness. He does not leave even the tiniest zone for excuses and justifications, but puts the burden of getting healthy on each of us. No b.s. No lying to ourselves. I have not read one other book that stresses this point at all. If a person is willing to really look inside and obtain true about their feelings amd attitudes and decides theyare not going to oet those things stop them, then they can create true changes, develop better habits for a lifetime. I am not a runner anymore but I didn't feel like this book didn't speak to me since the author states that what he has learned and achieved can be applied to any other passion in a person's life. In that way, he makes his story a universal story, something that can be helpful for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix online from New Orleans [best price for lasix in San Antonio]  2020-9-14 7:48
    [email protected]

    cheap lasix in Hungary usa lasix lasix cost furosemide 20mg how to buy lasix in Switzerland where to buy lasix in Memphis cheap lasix in Minneapolis lasix 40mg smartphone online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the dentist []  2020-11-21 20:54
    [email protected]

    Thank you Moses. Thanks to the entire staff. Reminds me of my appointments. Explain in detail what's going on. Patient and kind. Office is very clean and inviting. Satisfied Thanksgiving. Please stay safe. Thank you. Janice L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kind Is the New Classy: The Power of Living Graciously [Book]  2018-4-26 18:0

    This book is so true and so raw! I love how Candace isn't afraid to be honest about her shortcomings and times when she wasn't 100% together. This makes it easier to relate to her. She discusses her time on "The View" and situations where others weren't so kind to her and what her response was. Everything she says in the book is Scripture-based. The book feels as if she is sitting down and having a conversation with you face-to- face. This is a fierce woman who is not afraid to stand up for Jesus, as well as her own political beliefs. One of the things I like best about the book is how Candace drives home the fact that as Christians, we are to see others as created in God's photo as well. This will support you change your perspective on them and have instant compassion. That's so necessary and so true! She uses the HALT acronym in Chapter 5 and this is something I test to do as well. HALT= hungry, angry, lonely or tired. It's best to not answer to negativity when you are feeling these is is a unbelievable book and Candace is a fine example of kindness and class in action. I highly recommend!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386