Read the night of the two visitors reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the night of the two visitors reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    My family and my wife and her three sisters all were entertained by the NBC Unique of Amahl and the Night Visitors in the 1950s. The melody is the best part of this Blu-ray as the video was not maintained sufficiently well to produce a quality visual experience. Even so, the reminiscences brought back by the overall production makes the not good viewing quality a thing that can be forgiven. That said, none of us feel the production would be anything of the least interest unless the viewer had the memory of the production from the 1950s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    This is one of the greatest, if not thee greatest melody drama of the 20th century. The performances are beyond exquisite. It came from an esthetic that is not only long, long gone, but, even more sadly, will probably never be seen again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    I purchased a dvd ver and the quality was decent and I think as amazing as can be expected from a 50’s tv production. The appeal for me is historical and nostalgic as the kind of shows we grew up with though this one predates my time. That said I found the plot simplistic, lyrics more so and costuming not even close to accurate for the time period. The score was primarily singing words. The highlight was the quality of the voices which were very talented and the overal message.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the night of the two visitors or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    This is a amazing presentation of the opera, staged by the composer himself which is a nice feature. It presents the 1955 tv broadcast, so the picture quality, while certainly acceptable, is not as sharp as today's HD tv pictures. I watched the TV broadcast a number of times (years ago) when NBC used to broadcast it on Christmas Eve. I also have a VHS tape of the 1978 production, and it features a various cast in which the actors seem a small more convincing in their roles, especially Amahl played by Robert Sapolsky. This 1978 present is available on Amazon as a VHS tape, and possibly as a DVD. Both versions are good, and filled with this attractive melody and touching story line that are so enjoyable for Christmas lovers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    To those who are expecting a "digitally perfect" DVD are not ere was none of that then and the purity of the performance is often would be unbelievable if someone would create a newer version, but, alas, 45 mins would be just a "waste" of time.I saw this when a kid, and was in e sets were "handmade" but still I listen to opera for the music, and this cast is marvelous.I have used the audio recording to introduce Opera to all my melody classes and they just loved it and wanted to hear and learn more about if you are a "purist" in this "perfect" genre, don't obtain it. If you wish to add a touch of history to your collection...Yes!!!...by all means buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    I am using a 55 inch Sony LED and a reasonably amazing sound system. The room lighting is subdued. I found that both the stnd DVD and Blu ray versions were very watchable and the sound reasonable given the technology of the times. The photos are very soft as one expects from Kinesoscope. There is some blurring at times. The sound frequency range is limited. The subtitles support create the words more intelligible. This is a amazing opera. Menotti in a very short time gives us all the elements of opera -- introduction, conflict, dance, resolution. The melody is lovely. I do not tire of watching it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    Yes, it's from a kinescope, but that's the only android game in city and it's really unbelievable to have this record of what was, back then, an annual live broadcast, this one from 1955. It's wonderfully performed and exactly as I remembered it from when I was a wee bairn. Direction and items is what you'd expect from a live broadcast, but you really can't go wrong with this if you love this opera.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    I wanted to see the first Hallmark Hall of Fame presentation, so I was happy with this. Remember, it's an opera. Hold in mind the settings are 1950s television, and unsophisticated, but I absolutely loved the look and feel of that presentation because I wasn't planning on a modern-type program that we have today. If you're looking for modern and sophisticated you won't search it. It's easy but very, very well done. The soprano was a small hard for me to understand but I don't count-down stars for that because I'm remembering that it @#$%!&[email protected]#$ television. With all that in mind, I loved this and I'm so glad I bought it. It's definitely reminiscent of the beginning era of television.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    This is a movie recording (kinescope) of the 1955 live telecast of Menotti's treasured opera. The performers are all excellent, and the mother and Amahl are splendid. Bill McIver as Amahl is extremely earnest and blessed with attractive singing throughout. The kings blend well in their songs. The dances featuring the townspeople are very nice indeed. The orchestra is is production was staged for television, in television's early days, under the supervision of the composer. By today's standards, the staging and props are sparse. For example, the scenes outside the home use the bare studio floor, without any attempt to make realism. The talents of the performers rise above these om a technical perspective, this is of course a very old recording in black and white, with mono sound. The high frequencies of the recording have been lost, possibly in a misguided attempt to reduce noise inherent in the original. The effect is that some of the words are very hard to understand. I search it helpful to turn on the English subtitles while watching it. There are several cameras used for various angles, and each has its own characteristic of grain and contrast -- an interesting window into the technical aspects of early television. This was a live telecast, and so the camera operators were responsible for panning as different scenes unfold; there are occasional minor misses during some ahl was first telecast in 1951, with the original broadcast being available at the Museum of Broadcast Communications Archives. The stage compositions and camera angles of this production are nearly identical with the original 1951 performance. In general, this 1955 production is smoother and more mature than the 1951 original. A lot of cast members reprise their roles from the original production, with the notable exception of Bill McIver here as Amahl which was originally performed by Chet Allen. Bill McIver held this role for several successive annual e unique features on the DVD are really interesting, especially the interview with Rosemary Kuhlmann (the mother) where she discusses at length her experience working with Menotti and the other actors in this and other productions of Amahl.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors []  2020-1-23 3:4

    I love this operetta, which pre-dates the Christmas song, "The Small Drummer Boy," for me. Watching Menotti's "Amahl and the Night Visitors" was a family tradition that started during my childhood, so I eagerly looked forward to watching it with my family. This DVD fulfills my memories of the original Live broadcast, and I recommend it highly to my contemporaries and their families. Menotti's score portrays the contrast between poverty and majesty, focusing on love, honor and sacrifice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    Definitely one of the better, more helpful books on the phenomenon of sleep paralysis and the other strange happenings that tend to occur along with it. Author Ryan Hurd has been there and done that. He knows what sleep paralysis feels like and how it affects you. He has dedicated his career to learning as much as possible about SP, and passing that knowledge along to the rest of us. I highly recommend this book to anyone suffering from (or even enjoying) sleep paralysis, or anyone dealing with a loved one who has this condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    An interesting, in-depth examination of a issue that plagued me for a couple of years, a issue I had no idea was common.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    Perfect book for people who have experienced these types of phenomena and wish to learn more about them. I found this book very informative. It is very well written with easy to the point references. Ryan Hurd also uses other people's experiences to develop a broad in depth spectrum. I do not spiritually agree with some of his concepts, but in all it's a amazing reference book and has shed light on some of the profound experiences I've had. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    Drawing on numerous scientific studies as well as his substantial private experience, Ryan Hurd explains what's actually going on when you wake up at night completely paralyzed, with bizarre, humanoid monsters standing over you. This terrifying experience (often misinterpreted as an "alien abduction" these days) is surprisingly common. Hurd lucidly explains how to snap yourself out of this trance-like state, as well as how to transcend your fear and discover this subconscious globe if you choose is experience is well understood in the yoga tradition. Decades ago a yogi from Uttar Pradesh told me how to use my breath to quickly pull out of these frightening waking dreams. In those days there was no support available from Western authorities, who believed people reporting this phenomenon were either crazy or lying. I am so grateful to Hurd for helping dispel the enormous confusion (and fear) that surround sleep paralysis in the West.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    I LOVED this book... I have been telling everyone I know who might be interested about both the author's research into this special and little-spoken-of-experience, and this book. I like the method Hurd treats the topic ~ by normalizing it while acknowledging and exploring the various possibilities contained within the aspect of sleep paralysis that has been proven scientifically. It is as though he is saying that this special, special cirtance mirrors the method of the world...in which concrete, explainable, scientific, rational aspects co-exist in exquisite relationship with the never-to-be-pinned-down-or-completely-explained spiritual aspect... and these two ways of being are expressed through the experience of the individual... It doesn't obtain any better than having a controversial topic explored through both the lens of scientific understanding, the private experience, and the conjecture that tells us we don't know .. well done, and thank you!!Julia Tupper, CPC (Certified Professional Coach)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    Enlightening information. Very helpful for a frightening condition. Helped me alot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    I have suffered from SP on and off since I was in my 20s. At first I actually thought it was something supernatural and talked to a priest about it. He assured me it was probably stress and not supernatural. Years later I looked up the symptoms on the internet and found a physiological explanation. My dad had night terrors and my brother also had SP so it may be hereditary. This is a amazing book. It talks about the different symptoms, which vary from one sufferer to another. It gives support on how to stop it when it happens, and for those more adventurous, hints on how to induce it to go into lucid dreaming and take advantage of SP. Recommended for people who have this situation, which is indescribable to those who don't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    This is a really amazing book. What I really like is that the author has simplified the scientific terms and research, so everyone can read and easily understand it. This could be a disadvantage for someone who likes to learn about the actual science of it but for someone like me who doesn't understand a whole lot about science, this is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    Very amazing reference for a phenomena few experience, but you don't need to - fascinating read whether you've experienced sleep paralysis or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sleep Paralysis: A Guide to Hypnagogic Visions and Visitors of the Night []  2020-1-18 20:53

    ony read one chapter but I'm hooked. I have suffered with this for ages, nice to know I am not the only one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    The writing is not outstanding. The book required an editor. And the author could have communicated the same ideas in half the words. But the ideas are thought-provoking, and probably mostly true. My perception of the author is that he is a amazing guy trying his best to figure out the high strangeness the mainstream tries to ignore. We are not is book is a fun, fast read. It is not as convincing or as in-depth as other works on the subject, but a amazing introduction perhaps.If this book interests you, check out:1) Creatures by John Michael Greer2) Wonders in the Sky: Unexplained Aerial Objects from Antiquity to Modern Times by Valee3) UFOs for the 21st Century Mind: A New Tutorial to an Ancient Mystery by Dolan4) Alien Agenda: Investigating the Extraterrestrial Presence Among Us by Marrs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    I highly recommend this book for those interested in the topic of UFO's and their origin. This book is a no-nonsense detailed study of an alternate origin other than extra-terrestrial and created it understandable to both the novice and serious reader. It is plain to see that Mr. Desouza has a deep understanding of the UFO subject and it shows throughout this book. As a field investigator for MUFON, I personally recommend this contribution to the UFO topic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    This is an perfect book. I have been researching the Extraterrestrial Hypothesis for a lot of years, and had almost concluded that the ET hypothesis was the only possible respond to explain experiences I had during adolescence and early adulthood. In the past three years, however, ongoing experiences have led me to seriously entertain the ED hypothesis. I've read books by John Keel and Dr. Jacques Vallee, and recently encountered John DeSouza's work. I'm just finishing The Extra-Dimensionals, and am now at least convinced that the ED and ET hypotheses each have considerable support. The find continues, since this is not simply an intellectual exercise for me, but an attempt to respond necessary private questions. Thank you, Mr. DeSouza.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    I am only up to chapter 3 but felt this book deserves a poor review. Maybe it was the very first paragraph of the book when it says Zone 51 is part of Edwards AFB. Edwards is in California. Zone 51 borders Nellis AFB in Las Vegas. I loved the book title which is why I purchased it to read. With only fwy chapters in, I felt the book was more of a combination of known UFO stories with the authors own small twist. The book claims to be of real stories and concepts. Fictional concepts of the author is more likely. Sorry I purchased it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    This book was not revelatory to me because I somehow have already sensed there is something extra-dimensional involved in the paranormal experiences we seem to hear so much about. However, the author has clearly given much thought to how this could happen (how, he is convinced, it does happen. If you are looking for 'evidence' or anecdotes, this isn't the book for you, but it does offer a thoughtful perspective on what might be going on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    This book offers the perspective of an experiencer who embarked on his own study of UFOs. His central theme focuses on the idea that UFOs (and their occupants) are extra-dimensional and NOT r those interested in studying the fundamental nature of this phenomenon, a better book might be “UFOs: Reframing the Debate” by Robbie Graham. Graham offers arguments from several ufologists, who contend that ufology has been stuck in a scientific/materialist rut for the past 60 years, with an allegedly misguided assumption that these craft are nuts-and-bolts (“N&B”) devices, rather than illusions, plasmas, or other non-material phenomena. These individuals – as well as “Extra-Dimensionals” author John Desouza – rely heavily on the authority of famed ufologist, Dr. Jacques Vallee as their authority for the contention that assuming UFOs are “N&B” spacecraft is misguided.What those anti-N&B people probably don’t know is that Dr. Vallee is currently leading a study of anomalous artifacts associated with UFO sightings. At the 2017 Contact In The Desert conference, Dr. Vallee’s presentation was entitled, “The Material Composition of UFOs”. Robbie Graham raised an necessary point in his own book: Anyone who claims to have a comprehensive understanding of this topic is wasting your time. Although Mr. Desouza presents such a comprehensive explanation, a close reading of his book reveals that he does not know as much as he thinks he knows. For starters, he misspelled Jacques Vallee’s name twice (Kindle zone 181) as “Jacque Valée”. Additionally, on both Jacques Vallee’s www service and Amazon page, Dr. Vallee does not use an accent tag on his surname.Worse yet, in discussing the case involving the abduction of Betty and Barney Hill, Desouza contended that the UFO occupants reportedly used a star chart to demonstrate that they were from the “Zeta Reticule” star system “hundreds of light years away from earth” (Kindle zone 569). Informed ufologists understand that the aliens in the Hill case are presumed to be from the Zeta Reticuli binary star system, which is 39.1 light years from earth. When I reached this point in the book, I lost interest. I then quickly skimmed through it, reaffirming my conclusion that I had wasted $10 on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    DeSouza states emphatically that we are dealing with Extra-Dimensionals and NOT Extra-Terrestrials because "Earth is a gateway/portal first and a planet second." Yet, most everything he presents suggests just the opposite! It's kind of weird, actually. Even some of the most well known and doented cases relating to UFO's/Landings/Abductions that he utilizes in his book point to Extra-Terrestrials. He offers no explanation whatsoever as to why he has come to the Extra-Dimensional hypothesis. He just states it as a known fact. He then proceeds to offer his radical opinions/conclusions about a number of things without ever showing us how he goes from A to Z. While he provided some interestingly fresh perspectives on some things and went to amazing lengths about the nature of deception/manipulation, I couldn't support but think he was guilty of the same deception/manipulation that he was accusing others of. dendum; I received a most respectful and kind response from the Mr. DeSouza to my review. I would like to add the following for clarity. I WANTED to be convinced that Extra-Dimensionals was the "answer". I was hoping that Mr. DeSouza had a fresh insight or discovery to apply to all the evidence and bring us to a fresh understanding and therefore logical conclusion that has escaped us so far. I agree 100% with the author about the deceptive practices of these non-human intelligences. I'm very much begin to the chance that we are being engaged by BOTH Extra-Dimensionals and Extra-Terrestrials. But to tell the truth, I believe our brains/minds are simply not equipped at this time to even come close to more fully grasping the nature and purpose of these intelligences. THEY are running "the show". Whatever we "think" we know about THEM is always speculative. We are just not operating on the same level by any measure. Period. I do agree with the author that there is a Control Group among global "leaders" that is further ahead of the learning curb than the general population and that they are deliberately working to mislead all of us for hidden purposes. I'm leaning toward a reason that would just be too frightening or even abominable to the vast majority of humans. In the end, I believe all such works are amazing in challenging us to think deeply and honestly on such a necessary subject. For that reason, I'm adding another star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    The story as told in that chapter is the kind of horror that you will never obtain out of your head once you read it. It is one of those things you want you had never seen. And no warning was given there! It should have had one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    I really enjoyed this book. It takes a new look at the UFO and alien phonomenum, not as exterterrestrials, but as interdimentionals. The author did a amazing job! I loved reading this book but it got a small confusing in the end chapters. That is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars. It is a really amazing read and I highly recommend it to everyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Extra-Dimensionals: True Tales And Concepts of Alien Visitors []  2020-1-29 1:59

    This book was a bonus for my Dad who also likes alien and UFO stuff. I haven't read it yet, but he couldn't place it down Christmas morning. He was reading it as we were still opening gifts! I will be reading it next. I got a personally autographed copy direct from John DeSouza himself. He was the original true life X-Files FBI agent and knows a lot of inside information. Can't wait to read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Official Nashville Visitors Guide [App]  2020-1-13 13:43

    Navigation is terrible. Impossible to search anything useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Official Nashville Visitors Guide [App]  2020-1-13 13:43

    Application doesn't allow you scroll through without redirecting you to another site. When you hit the back button it closes the app. It works lime a magazine that doesn't fully turn pages. Not sure if content is amazing because functions are terrible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Official Nashville Visitors Guide [App]  2020-1-13 13:43

    I like how this application highlights the amazing restaurants and attractions in Nashville. Its a amazing tool when I have visitors in town.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Official Nashville Visitors Guide [App]  2020-1-13 13:43

    Dumb [email protected]#$%

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Official Nashville Visitors Guide [App]  2020-1-13 13:43

    Fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Book Review Written November 21, 2019The Ancient Alien Question: A Fresh Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors, By Phillip CoppensKindle Edition (320 Pages) Phillip Coppens has offered an in-depth ysis of the theory that Earth was visited in ancient past by extraterrestrials in the ancient past, and influnced the course of human civilization. It is focused on providing info and where possible factual evidence that can support resolve some of the profound questions raised by the Ancient Alien Theory. In his 1968 book, Chariots of the Gods, Swiss author Erich von Däniken proposed that all of the evidence pointed to one profound but logical possibility: extraterrestrials visited Earth in the distant past and changed the course of human history. This concept, later referred to as "Ancient Astronaut Theory or alternatively "Ancient Alien Theory" is embraced today by millions of people around the world. But despite media and public interest, the phrase ancient aliens remains taboo within the scientific and religious disciplines. Whether or not we were alone in the human adventure that was early civilization is a question that these disciplines will not answered, or even addressed. The author suggests different reasons for why this is so, the most logical of which is that substantiation of an extraterrestrials presence in humanity's ancient past would shatter the ideology and doctrinal tenants of science and religion.What is the evidence? Across the Earth, ancient ruins and megalithic structures such as Sacsayhuamán in Peru, the Temple of Jupiter in Lebanon, or Gobekli Tepe in Turkey are proven to be far older than what our modern history books are willing to admit. In fact, the wonderful megalithic website of Gobekli Tepe, located in the Southeastern Anatolia Region of Turkey, is radiocarbon dated at over 11,000 years old. Meanwhile, further to the west in Baalbek, Lebanon, the ancient town of Heliopolis and the Temple of Jupiter include enormous stone blocks that are in excess of 1,000 dozens each. Yet at the same time, most mainstream experts will tell you that these megalithic websites were built less than 5,000 years ago by the Romans, or some nomadic hunter-gatherer group, using nothing more than bronze-age tools. There are passages in the Bible that mention the presence of alien life and extraterrestrial intervention; the alien creation of man; prophetic visions that are clearly the technology of UFOs; and much more. This evidence greatly contradicts what society is taught about the timeline of human history and helps to paint a far various picture of our past. The most necessary question is, why isn’t this necessary info part of our education system? From the secret tunnels found beneath the pyramids of Giza and the water erosion marks on the Sphinx Enclosure, to the knowledge of mathematics and astronomy developed by the early Sumerian Civilization of Mesopotamia, around the world, we search compelling evidence that suggests that human civilizations are far older and more sophisticated than what we’ve been told. This brings up serious questions as to why this necessary evidence still remains unknown to most of society. To respond that difficult question, we must objectively review this evidence, and the secrets of ancient history. There is a amazing deal more evidence provided by Mr. Coppens, but you must read the book to explore what he has to say! However, in the final ysis it seems clear that Coppens believes, just as I do, that we are not is book delivers an interesting, straightforward narrative that is simple to read and readily comprehensible. It is well researched and carefully doented to ensure accuracy of the evidence provided. The evidence is very substantive and quite extraordinary. I enjoyed this book very much and believe that readers who approach it with an begin mind will also appreciate this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    This book was an interesting journey, intriguing and actually created me think (me?) about different subjects of knowledge that we as a product of modern society tend to take for granted. Nothing should be taken for granted I believe, and all that we learned in school is only a method to ground us, our spirits that is in the setting where we will be compliant, well-behaved, reason-able - if not, we may be looked upon as outcasts. Of course this is not real for all, but just a rough outline. No one tells us that strictly parallel lines, or 90 degree angles don't exist in Nature, and yet they are almost the 1st thing that we are being taught in mathematics. This is how the technocratic society comes e so called "ancient alien question" is not that much different, although i wouldn't wish to coin the actual "question" as the name of the book suggests. You may call it whatever you want, even "the wonder of life" will do, in any case, rarely any kind of available literature will respond this for you. Mainly, as the author states on the latest pages of the book, because it is, like beautiful much everything else a matter of belief. However, if you only know what you SHOULD believe, its going to be hard for you to believe things that don't fall within your parameters of knowledge, and with this vaguely epistemological premise i wll say that THAT is why the mainstream of science makes belief that the question of the existance of the alien life doesn't exist, or is, simply a childish pirsuit not worth takingI think its worth taking, if you are not becoming a fanatic, and every fanatic surely has something to prove to the outside world. There is nothing to prove here, and I think the author's stance is very cool at this point. Seek and you shall find! With that, he doesn't really say fair and square that he has seen them and/or communicated with them, just tips and keeps going back to the globe culture. Which is fine, because it gives us, the readers an outline and a helping hand - yes we are not alone, the book says, and the respond perhaps lies right in front of our very own eyes, it is just that we choose to ignore it, its safer that way...or is it?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Philip Coppens' book is a fascinating and mind-boggling overview and critique of some of the more impressive "evidence" that suggests the impact and influence of ancient aliens on mankind's history. The author sagely doesn't buy into everything and anything involved in the debate and therefore doesn't offer his readers both baby and a tub of bathwater. Given such a unbelievable premise to play with, a lot of an author under the influence of P.T. Barnum runs with any premise - no matter how absurd or easily disproven - just so long as there is a profit to be had after their published "product" makes it to Amazon or Barnes and Noble. Philip Coppens is discerning and level-headed in his approach to mankind's mysteries. He pans the popular Nazca lines, discounting the famous conception that they are the markings for an ancient airport. He also downplays E.T. participation (at least of an active sort) in the actual construction of the Egyptian Giza complex. One might disagree with his conclusions - but in lending credence to the ordinary explanations first (where warranted) without a rushing recourse to the truly extraordinary, Mr. Coppens does his readership a vast service. He truly does a unbelievable job of separating the wheat from the chaff. Carefully weighing the pros and cons, his prime argument and agenda are more aimed at one's keeping an begin mind rather than providing definitive conclusions with regards to the central thesis of this book. An begin mind is, afterall, a prime requirement in a Universe where growth and evolution seem to form the foundation of its major is book is, as I've said, an perfect introduction to learning more with regards to one of the profoundest mysteries in human history: are we alone in life's classroom - or are there teachers to tutorial us? If the school-of-life principal is God...are the teachers he employs his angels or are they aliens or are the two descriptives synonymous? And are the teachers only temporarily out-of-the-classroom while we raise holy hell - or did they up and leave in disgust long ago after seeing that no matter how intelligent they tried to create us .. we chose to remain stupid?Several of the topics addressed in the book cry out for more detail, fuller treatment, a book or books of their own. And in some instances there are, indeed, fuller treatments to be found. But I had never heard of Coral Castle until encountering the enigmatic put within these pages. I had heard of the potential for atomic warfare having taken put in India with a B.C. date before - but not in such a comprehensively consise fashion. Likewise, the seemingly out-of-Hollywood story of the Dropa eluded me - and as similar herein it has only aroused my ardent desire to know more, much more about it. The list goes on and on. Mr. Coppens weighs all of these mysteries in a refreshing and realistic method - and despite the popping of a lot of cherished balloons, there remains a lot of an eye-popping, mind-boggling tale to be told.Having said all of the above, the book is not without its problems. On page 202, for example, Mr. Coppens quotes archaeologist Frank Taylor with regards to the ancient nuclear warfare mystery. On page 203, however, he pops the balloon by telling us that there is no evidence that Frank Taylor, archaeologist, even existed! There is, yes, a way to the madness. But this technique is used throughout the book and while we truly want to know the true facts about whatever, this technique of saying one thing on one page and contradicting it on another merely serves more to cleverly confuse rather than clearly clarify. There is also too small offered in the method of source materials. For example, with regards to ancient nuclear warfare, we learn (also on page 202) that "scientists then apparently unearthed an ancient town where they found evidence of an atomic blast dating back thousands of years." This is an astounding statement! But what are the sources for it? No footnote accompanies it - as well as many, a lot of other outstanding claims which lack footnotes. By checking back on certain pages, I think that Mr. Coppens' prime source for ancient nuclear warfare in India is Alexander Gorbovsky's RIDDLES OF ANCIENT HISTORY published in 1966. But if this is the main source for the above quotation, how reliable is it? The book was, afterall, written 45 years ago! And as Mr. Coppens effectively and convincingly dismantles the central and quite cherished argument in Robert Temple's 1976's THE SIRIUS MYSTERY, why shouldn't Gorbovsky's claims be approached with caution as one would approach a house of cards? Afterall, if Gorbovsky's sources were as misguided as Temple's, the statements created regarding ancient nuclear warfare in Coppens' book become all the more questionable and so unaddressed in the book are several things that might and should have been considered. The Sphinx is notable for its absence although geologically speaking its much more ancient date of creation supposedly pushes it back to 10,000 B.C. if not even earlier. There are a lot of anomalies regarding the moon that are not looked into - such as potential glass structures, lunar luminescent activities and even the incongruent weight of the moon itself with regards to its mass. While too easily accepted as being man-made ever since Abbott and Costello (or whatever the names of those two pub-crawling blokes were!) came forth and blew a world-wide whistle on their alleged nocturnal activities in the wheat fields of England, no discussion is created regarding crop circles - which may, afterall, be the "alien" teachers modern day attempts to educate us to greater realities. I was also hoping to read some level-headed thoughts on all of the apparent UFOs to be found in Renaissance paintings and elsewhere. But, alas, it seems one cannot have it all!That is why the book is more of a primer, an overview than anything else. It is more a series of sketches than a series of finished paintings. Given what it is, it is still-and-all highly readable and educational and most dynamic of all - eye-and-mind opening. As did trail-blazer Von Daniken before him, Mr. Coppens ends posing more questions than offering answers. And that is a amazing and admirable thing. Answers are easy! It is asking the right and most necessary questions that is tough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Overall amazing book. If you like the series Ancient Aliens you will like this book. Phillip Coppens intelligently presents his view on the ancient astronaut / alien theory and explains info with detailed and surrounding history so that you have a amazing perspective. The images were amazing and Mr. Coppens covered a lot of ground discussing archeological, written historical, genetic, psychological and physical evidence of extraterrestrial beings visiting earth in the past. An enjoyable read worth hanging on to :-)It's always amazing to discover this concept and it is even better to search an author who did not walk off the deep end calling his ideas facts as so a lot of others do. Amazing job Mr. Coppens!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Mr. Eric Von Daniken in his groundbreaking 'Chariots of the Gods' never ever promoted a fresh religion or a revisionist fantasy mantra - He asked a Question. Mr. Coppens in this book tutorials the reader through the unusual and strange inconsistancies of our human history and asks the same question. Mr. Coppens discusses issues, possible frauds or fallicies. But, finally askes the - Question. Why not then is this theory possible? I found the book to be well written and concise in it's delivery of information. I am not bragging, but have seen some of this websites personally with my time in the Navy, and I lean toward a definate - yes with this particular 'Question'. So I am biased to a degree. ens is not dictating to you in his writing, he is providing you with the possibility to decide how you think. So, if you have enjoyed the History Channel 'Ancient Aliens ' Program and have questions in your own mind and or are curious for more I recommend this book and suggest you to consider the question, your're not ever asked to believe by this book, however. Have fun the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Unfortunately, Phillip Coppens passed away latest year. I always enjoyed seeing him on "Ancient Aliens" as he seemed to be well spoken and rather level-headed. His book really bares that out as well. While writing about the "Ancient Alien Question" which a lot of might search nonsensical, the realms of fantasy, Coppens approaches his topic very calmly. He does not rant and rave but builds up his case, talking about Carl Sagan's book "Contact" proves to be a 'Chekhov's gun' for his conclusions in the end.His conclusions are equally as surprising and interesting. There have been a lot of writers I have read that feel that any phenomenology around us is caused by invisible intelligences that have always been around. John Michael Greer writes of magickal or occult intelligences from various levels of being (that we mistake as UFO aliens). For John Keel and Ted Holliday, creatures such as the Loch Ness Creature are either spiritual remnants or evil demonic beings who want us ppens comes down in a related belief in his conclusion. While it is possible that aliens have physically been here on planet earth, he is skeptical of it. Of all the thousands of reports, he feels it could have happened only about four times and only then accidentally. Coopens does not think any aliens came here to mine our planet or genetically engineer us. However, Coppens theory is that there have been frequent non-physical contacts with "alien" intelligences throughout time. Either through shamans or ceremonies or accidentally through the use of different ceremonies and , people have contacted extra-dimensional beings, or perhaps just aliens on their own worlds. This is where any "ancient alien" influences on ancient civilizations occurred. Its a theory I have seen in UFO and Cryptological literature frequently but this is the first time I have encountered it in regards to the Ancient Alien Theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    In the beginning......................Philip Coppens' The Ancient Alien Question is an excellent, informative compendium of possible alien theories, factual historical anomalies, and other unexplained esoterica concerning our very hazy ancient human beginnings. Like the famous and entertaining Ripley's Believe it or Not, Mr. Coppens unbiasedly presents the mysterious facts for the reader to discern the truth. The truth is out there if we can just search and understand e enigmatic question concerning the "Ancient Ones" revolves around if yes then who, and if who then from where, and most importantly of all Why? Mr. Coppens does a fine job of answering the yes, but it's the who, where, and why that is confounding. The supposition that possibly ancient aliens are really interdimensional beings/entities that can be reached through the ingesting of certain arcane chemicals is a small disconcerting to say the least. Whether Mr. Coppens truly believes this is irrelevant as he is just reporting the st of the ground covered by Mr. Coppens is a rehash of prior information, but in several cases he does introduce some fresh hypothesizes. I particularly enjoyed Joseph Davidovits' theory on how the Amazing Pyramids were constructed through the process of geopolymerization. Unfortunately, because his thesis does not coincide with Egyptologist fundamentalists dogma it is dismissed out of hand even though the proof is l in all Mr. Coppens' work is an perfect primary primer for the beginning seeker of the age old question Are We Alone? Mr. Coppens expands on this age old question by further asking if not, have we been, or are we now being, visited by aliens? He does obtain a small far afield when discussing interdimensional entities, but for Ancient Alien Question completeness it does helps round out the mystery. Belief is in the mind's eye of the beholder, which I think Hamlet alluded to best, "There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy." Are we alone, NO, but have we been contacted? That is for each of us to determine and in this respect Philip Coppens greatly adds to the growing discussion. The author does a fine job of putting together both perspective and theoretical understanding concerning mysterious happenings and seemingly impossible lid recommend.*Note: I have personally visited a lot of of the geographical websites Mr. Coppens writes about and can attest to their mysterious provocativeness and enigmatic nature: Answers are few, theories are many, truth is so far basically unknown.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Have been looking for this book for awhile . I was not disappointed. For believers in the Ancient Astronauts theory.. This book is a must read. Have an begin mind and you might be able to see that what we have been told might not be correct? I was a disbeliever and had read Von DaniKen's Chariots of the Gods when it first came out a lot of years ago! But more compelling evidence are being revealed day by day, and one cannot ignore the facts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    I have read a lot of books about the question of ancient aliens. The one thing this book has that the others did not, is that the author also list theories of ancient aliens that he does not believe to be true, as well as the theories he does believe are true. Then he goes on to list the reasons why he does or does not believe them to be true. I search this very refreshing. Though I've read much on this subject, the book included a lot of things I had not read about before. It's a very interesting read, full of smart ideas, however you don't have to have a PHD in archeology, or astrophysics to understand it.I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in this topic matter. I'm so very glad I read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors []  2020-5-1 18:14

    I wasn't really impressed with it. It does what it does inquiries and all of that but I'm not so sure about knocking other writers and researchers to the point of almost just inferring that they lie. I had to ask myself why would the people who wrote their books tell the readers a bunch of baloney! I question the writer of the alien question about what his creditability is and who makes him some authority?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter []  2020-7-17 18:34

    Perfect acc of Royal Air Force pilot by that same pilot who was alsoa Commander of different squadrons, wings and groups of warrior planes."About the Author" section a amazing resume by his son was the only time I have ever seen one by a child. It was my favorite "chapter".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter (Memoirs from World War Two) []  2020-12-11 18:14

    I enjoyed this book written about a British night warrior pilot. I liked learning about radio and electronics in their infancy in WWII. And the pilot who thought he was an average or less than average instrument pilot who, due to the battle was forced to fly night instruments.... Written in a typical understated British manner, I found this to otherwise be an intriguing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter (Memoirs from World War Two) []  2020-12-11 18:14

    The author was a reserve RAF pilot assigned to night warrior troops throughout much of WW II. It's a amazing syntheses of some of the technical aspects of the struggle and the human aspects. The nagging fear of flying in the dark, night after night, occasionally doubting one's abilities is well captured.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter (Memoirs from World War Two) []  2020-12-11 18:14

    A fascinating introduction into the small known globe of aerial night warfare in WW2. The author is an accomplished writer and his graphic accounts of learning to fly various aircraft at night, the stress of navigating at night, take off and landing at night while still learning to fly a strange, fresh aircraft communicate the danger and strain these young men were under, a lot of being lost to accidents as well as combat.A gift for the reader is the glimpse into the allied development of decoy tactics to lure opponent warriors away from the main bomber formations, as well as the continuous research and development of radar installations in aircraft to aid in navigation as well as detection of the opponent aircraft too far away to be seen by the naked e final epilogue written by the authors son, Julian Chisholm, is a poignant and fitting tribute to his father...well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter (Memoirs from World War Two) []  2020-12-11 18:14

    This book, no doubt, was written by an experienced pilot. As a personal pilot with complex and IF rating I could easily visualize the aerobatic activities Chisholm place his night warrior aircraft through. I did not sense any brag but rather humility about himself. This book is recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter (Memoirs from World War Two) []  2020-12-11 18:14

    The book describes the author's own experiences as a night warrior pilot during Globe Battle II. What was most interesting for me was how he joined the night warrior force at the very beginning of the war, detailing all his difficulties and successes in Warrior Command, and on the second half of the battle onwards, how he went to Bomber Command's then newly formed 100 Group (even though he doesn't mention it's designation in the text). A very amazing book and highly recommended for anyone interested in the subject!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Wilding [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Schaut man sich die Filmliste des Regisseur Joseph Merhi an, so sieht man ungefähr ein dutzend Filme die es bis dato nur auf VHS in den Handel geschafft haben. Die meisten Produktionen sind Direct to VHS oder TV Werke. Sei es „Tiger Kid“ von 1993, „Zero Tolerance“ von 1994 oder auch „Maximum Force“ von 1992. So wie auch der Movie „Night of the Wilding“ von 1990 der eigens für´s TV produziert wurde. Statt wie üblich ein Actioner handelt es sich hier um quick einen reinen Gerichtsthriller. Die Thematik der Selbstjustiz ist umstritten, und wird auch in diesem Movie von zwei Seiten betrachtet und ins Bild gerückt. Im Movie geht es um den Anwalt Joseph, gespielt von Eric Estrada. Vielen bekannt als Poncho aus der TV Serie „Chips – Cops auf Rädern“ aus den 70er Jahren. Joseph handelt oft nur nach dem Geldbündel was ihm seine Klienten auch schon mal im Schuhkarton überreichen. Ob die beschuldigte Person schuldig ist, ist eher zweitrangig. Ganz im Gegensatz zu seiner Ex-Frau Marion, gespielt von Kathrin Lautner. Sie ist ehrgeizig und verfolgt den Sinn nach Gerechtigkeit. Joseph bekommt den Auftrag drei Jugendliche zu verteidigen, die einen Raub und Vergewaltigung verübt haben. Die Anklage übernimmt in diesem brisanten Fall ausgerechnet seine Ex-Frau. Doch Joseph zweifelt langsam an den Jugendlichen und an seiner Verfahrensweise. Und die drei Jugendlichen wollen auf keinen Fall in den Knast und begeben sich auf verdammt dünnes Eis! Schon zu Anfang bekommt man die Taten der drei Jugendlichen gezeigt. Somit wird einem die Spannung ob sie tatsächlich schuldig sind, von vornerein genommen. Obwohl viele Dinge im Fall sehr offensichtlich dargestellt sind, tappen viele Charaktere im Dunkeln. Und die Ermittlungen nehmen ihren Lauf. Die Story ist recht einseitig inszeniert worden. Schauspielerisch betrachtet bewegen sich alle Schauspieler auf einem gesunden Level. Auch was die Sets angeht bekommt man gute Abwechslung geboten. Die Geschichte wandert gut zwischen Gericht und anderen Areas hin und her. Lediglich die Sounduntermalung wirkt schon nach kurzer Zeit sehr nervend. Da hier anscheinend nicht sonderlich darauf geachtet wurde, das die ausgewählte Musik auch zur jeweiligen Szene passt. Abgerundet wird das Spektakel noch mit einer Verfolgungsjagd zu Fuß und einem heftigen Autostunt. Der zwar rein gar nichts mit der Story zu tun hat, aber in einer PM Produktion nicht fehlen darf. Dazu gesellt sich noch eine fragwürdige Szene mit Joseph und Selbstjustiz am eigenen Leibe mit einem Freispruch vor Gericht. Die Grundidee des Movies ist gut gelungen, doch hapert es an der Umsetzung. Viele belanglose Dialoge zwischen allen Beteiligten mindern den Unterhaltungswert sehr stark. Die Szenen im Gerichtssaal hat man schon beeindruckender und spannender in anderen Filmen gesehen. Somit bleibt dem Movie der Unbekanntheitsgrad durchaus erhalten und tristet ein weiteres Dasein in der Rige der unbekannten Filme. Kein Geheimtip aber für zwischendurch eine Sichtung wert.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Neighbor [App]  2018-3-25 21:0

    It sucks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Neighbor [App]  2018-3-25 21:0

    It sucked when I moved like 1 inch it deleted itself

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Neighbor [App]  2018-3-25 21:0

    It was so poor

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Rat []  2020-1-24 21:5

    This book was easy, fun reading. A nice antidote for all the "murder and mayhem" books I'd been reading! It was short and sweet!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Fox []  2020-5-2 18:0

    This is the first book I have read by the author, and it will not be the last. I was totally caught up in the engrossing and entertaining tale of WWII intrigue.On one hand, the set-up seems a bit improbable. You have an American colonel who just happens to know the info of D-Day surviving a ship sinking and washing ashore on German-occupied Jersey, a Rommel impersonator who just happens to be a Jewish Wehrmacht corporal, a skilled assassin, an Italian naval officer more attuned to the Allied cause, and a Jersey girl fluent in French whose aunt just happens to be harboring the American colonel. But while reading the book, none of that matters. The quick pace, the developing story, and the suspense supersedes all of that, drawing the reader in and refusing to allow e depiction of German-occupied Jersey was rather interesting and well portrayed. Far away from the fierce fighting of most WWII-themed books, this small slice of history created for an interesting backdrop for the story. To be honest, I didn't know much about the occupation, and reading this book inspired me to do some research on it, and I am grateful for e book's major strengths are in the plot development and in building suspense. I hate to use trite phrases, but in this case, it is appropriate. I couldn't place the book down. I read it in two sittings, knowing I had to go to sleep on the second sitting, telling myself "well, just one more chapter." Needless to say, "one more chapter" turned into the rest of the book.On several levels, this is a typical WWII intrigue novel. But the author somehow elevates it to a higher plane. This is a book which can be enjoyed by anyone who appreciates a amazing yarn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Now that I've used the application a while, I search a amazing value in its usefulness and design. It does need a method to edit reports. I'd also like to see a method to create reports without internet access such as in remote locations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    I have enjoyed using on my LG phone. Recently I noticed that my observations have not been uploading. But I am glad this application exists!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Amazing idea, but application is defective in Northern CA, USA. Feedback selection directs to send an email, but gives no recipient address.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    I like the idea this app, but i have a issue with gps determining my position even im outdoor with begin space, it can't determining. When i begin my gps, my gps works. I hope you guys fix it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    this application will not operate with newer versions of Android. I'm currently running Oreo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Works very well and fun to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Amazing application for finding darker sky sites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Light pollution will eventually become impossible to ignore, so let's test to do what we can before too much is lost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    I love this app. It is extremely simple to use and is fun at the same time. It was nice being able to move onto the next star if there were issues finding it and you obtain another chance. I can also imagine people using this in the future to help the need for light pollution control because you can obtain true info from it about the light pollution in the area. Very useful and fun. I can't wait for sunset!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    I always liked looking at the night sky, but I only knew a few constellations. I found that by using this application I've learned to recognize a lot of constellations and stars without even trying to! In spring I learned Gemini (and it's bright stars Castor and Pollux), and this fall I've learned Pegasus and Cygnus, as well as the bright star Deneb. If you're interested in learning about the stars, this application is a fun and simple method to do it. As a bonus, you'll produce useful data while you do it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Very cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Love it, wonder if other people's views of the night sky are as poor as ours. We are lucky to see 100 stars in the sky on clear night due to light pollution

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Clever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lady of the Night []  2020-7-18 19:41

    The remastered ver of "Lady of the Night," Ms. Summer's 2nd LP, is available only as a downloadable set of individual MP3s via Amazon. Each track is encoded using a high-quality VBR (variable bit-rate), sure to please any audiophile. A remastered "hard-copy" CD is not (yet) available. But wow, what a various listening experience between the CD and the fresh MP3 tracks. The improved quality of the tracks actually makes this collection of unusual songs ("unusual" in the sense that these tunes are not in the style of melody Ms. Summer is known for) a joy to listen to. These songs were recorded and released in Europe, just before Ms. Summer broke out on the global stage with her international hit "Love to Love Baby." It was a strange twist of fate and a surprise marketing opportunity that led Ms. Summer down the street toward disco fame, but she began her career in Europe as a pop singer. Two of the tracks on the LP were hits in Holland, while at the same time she continued singing backup vocals for other more established artists under production contracts with Georgio Moroder and his producer partner. Georgio came up with a phrase, "Love to love you, Babe" and thought it was "catchy" enough to build a song around. He mentioned it to Donna at the recording studio. Donna, a songwriter herself, and Georgio expanded on the phrase, and the song "Love to Love You, Baby" was born. To the song, Donna recorded a demo for another singer the studio had in mind for the y ballad, but studio heads liked Donna's ver and released it in Europe. It was an instant hit across the ocean, where discotheques and disco-dancing were already phenomenally trendy staples of nightlife. Disco was just beginning to create its appearance in U.S. nightclubs and, recognizing a lucrative trend, U.S. distributors licensed Donna's recording of "Love to Love You" for release in America. The record went nowhere. Execs at the U.S. record company truly believed the novelty song should have become a large success. They called Georgio Moroder in Germany and asked him to "extend" the 3:20 song in order to create it more suitable for discotheques -- now a large phenomenon in the U.S. due to the success of film "Saturday Night Fever." The newly made 17-minute ver of "Love to Love You" sky-rocketed the Dance charts. The success crossed over to public demands to have the song played on commercial radio. Suddenly, the 3:20 single that had initially flopped soared to the top of the Summer admitted that while recording the song, she channeled Marilyn Monroe. Since she never expected her demo vocal to be released, she decided to have fun during the song's recording sessions. Donna had grown up in a suburb of Boston in a huge family deeply involved in church. Without her parents' knowledge that the ly charged record existed, Donna watched the song climb the charts somewhat conflicted. Though thrilled she had a hit on the radio, she soon became concerned that the song "Love to Love You" would define her as someone she wasn't -- and "Love to Love You" was a far cry from the true person she was. Donna was even more mortified when she realized her mother and father would inevitably hear the song. Ironically, Donna's mother had heard the song on the radio, but never knew it was her daughter's singing she was listening to. It was Donna's teenage sister who had to inform her parents that the singer singing the sultry song playing on the radio was, in fact, Donna. Her parents were not nna explained to her parents how the recording came about, and her parents came to terms with "what is done is done." Her father was edified by the fact that, when Donna was born, he had wanted to name her Ladonna. Donna's mother pooh-poohed the idea, saying the name was too pretentious. So the couple settled on "Donna." But after Donna's success, her father was always fast to point out that "Ladonna" means "the woman who sings."Dismissed by melody critics as a one-hit singer who had success with one novelty song, Donna and Georgio Moroder would prove naysayers wrong with the release of "MacArthur Park." Because of the success the long ver of "Love to Love You" had in dance clubs, two versions of "MacArthur Park" were made: one for radio and one for discotheques. The long ver would come to be known as "The MacArthur Park Suite." The single showcased Donna's strong voice (nothing like the wispy Marilyn Monroe) and wonderful vocal range. The song went to Number One. Donna had two other [email protected]#$%! number one within a short period: "I Feel Love" and "Last Dance." Donna is the first artist to achieve three number one hits in eight months' time. Donna appeared in the film "Thank God It's Friday" to perform "Last Dance" at a discotheque that featured live music. The song won the Academy Award for Best Song in a Motion Picture that e songs featured on "Lady of the Night," the topic of this review, represent the kind of melody Ms. Summer was singing before the providential release of "Love to Love You." The individual songs, available only via download, have been "remastered" by compressing the original og, reel-to-reel tapes, as heard on the original CD. Gentle compression has lifted Donna's clear vocals to the front and center and brought forward the more subtle tones of instruments that were more or less buried in the original mixes, making for a much fuller listening experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lady of the Night []  2020-7-18 19:41

    SUS INICIOCELENTE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lady of the Night []  2020-7-18 19:41

    It's DONNA! What more be said?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Power of the Night []  2020-9-25 20:28

    Solid early years Savatage. Remastered well and the additional tracks are cool small additions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Power of the Night []  2020-9-25 20:28

    The more and more you listen to this album the more you'll love it. Amazing album of theirs when you're on a night drive, after work or when ever! All of the songs are great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the Night [App]  2021-2-18 21:31

    Thank you for fixing the old flaws. Now it's a pleasure to play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the Night [App]  2021-2-18 21:31

    I was bored at home, so I decided to play the application for a little amount and have some fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the Night [App]  2021-2-18 21:31

    Developers, Respect! The app works quickly and without bugs!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music of the Night []  2021-3-12 20:19

    I have loved Paul since he won Britain's Got Talent in 2007. I knew it'd be a close toss up between him and small Connie, but despite the fact that I have a heart for the darling Connie, I was rooting for Paul. Connie's young, I knew she would for sure have the opportunity to test again!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAVAGE OF THE NIGHT []  2021-4-6 22:40

    I enjoyed this book. It was quick paced and full of drama. Definitely laughed a lot reading this. I hope there is a part 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAVAGE OF THE NIGHT []  2021-4-6 22:40

    Amazing paranormal read hope this author does more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAVAGE OF THE NIGHT []  2021-4-6 22:40

    So I give this a five star rating! I loved it!! My first time reading from this author. Very funny and well written!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter []  2020-7-17 18:34

    It was a select few who pioneered all-weather aerial interception. Through fog and darkness, these squads pushed their adapted planes and finicky collections of glowing tubes named 'radar'. At first, the speedy German bombers could fly anywhere; later, the orbiting warriors were vectored by ground radars closely tracking a raider until their own operator could complete the stealthy approach. When identified as enemy, a battery of cannon would hammer him. Maybe there would be fire- maybe the target twists away to limp back to isholm is vague as to dates of particular battles; after his combat tour, he spent time on staff work, coordinating with the growing forces based in England. During that time, the Luftwaffe attempted night warrior missions trailing returning RAF [email protected]#$%!&-and-run warrior bomber attacks, even a mini-blitz using the ungainly He 177. By then, RAF defenders knew how to search and damage is volume fits in with related postwar work feeding the public curiosity regarding the drawn-out campaign. Meanwhile, Goering's offensive had badly torched a lot of parts of old English e also: Night Flight: The Story of the R.A.F.'s Most Decorated Warrior Pilot,Night Fighter,John "Cat's-Eyes" Cunningham: The Aviation Legend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Neighbor [App]  2018-3-25 21:0

    Controls are so poor , and the android game crashed after 1 min of starting , also , these pictures are from hello neighbor and they are fake

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Neighbor [App]  2018-3-25 21:0

    Its boring I hate this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Rat []  2020-1-24 21:5

    This was a peculiar mess of a book. What I mean by that, is not negative but lies in the middle of the scale. I enjoyed it, don’t obtain me wrong, but there was something strangely sinister about the characters and their traits. First of all, they already have two cats that are overgrown and likely to “hunt” down the rats in their house. But no, no, no. These are cats who do not hunt rats, lol. The human characters of the book are vegetarians but to a person whose been watching a lot of horror films and grew up on psychological thrillers since my teenage years, T and Silas fall in the category of psycho. They possess characteristics that are not normal and they have shenanigans going on at their home that they don’t wish anyone but themselves to know. See?Tanya Thompson is a amazing writer. She labels her book here as a comedic book. And she writes in the mannerisms of the well-known classical writer Edgar Allen Poe. But I am going to say this book by her is scary and deeply disturbing. Her words when she tells them in this so-called humorous book of hers seem like they have dual meanings. In one of my views about Thompson’s book here, the two cats that she talks about must be T and Silas’ two abnormal children they hide from outsiders. I guessed that because they are not rat hunters and also because T and Silas keep them precious and spoil them. They appear to me like they are well-fed and well-groomed. This book is so Poe-like it summoned up thoughts of homicide and psychological evil. I read it in one night because it’s short but the story is that of a genius writer who wrote out her short story/ novella here with amazing skill. I won’t reveal any more info about this book because you have got to read it it’s weird and oh well I guess funny too.I recommend it to all those who are looking for a read that resembles Edgar Allan Poe’s with a blend of humorous elements which honestly I don’t think so because of the more bizarre and disgusting incidents that happen in T and Silas’ home. I recommend this book to the mystery-lover out there who has the time to read and ponder on this novella’s contents and solve the mystery within it. Lastly, I recommend this novella to all English majors because I have the feeling that it is hiding a lesson and that it was such a delight to test and interpret it in my own way. Peace and goodwill!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Rat []  2020-1-24 21:5

    Night of the Rat by Tanya Thompson is a amalgamation of dark comedy and satire. Though the opening stage is rather dark, grisly, and disturbing, as a rat enter his death throes, the rest of the book bounces along in a bizarre way. This makes you either laugh or cry, as you enter this strange globe of Silas and T. They're animal lovers, yet they must dispose of rats who have taken over, simply because the cats are not doing their jobs. This is dark and twisted comedic writing, and one of two things will happen; you will be drawn to it or baffled by it, either method it's hard to remain neutral about the story or the talent of the author. Highly recommend for a fun and enticing short read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Fox []  2020-5-2 18:0

    Jack Higgins is retired now from writing, however you can spend a decade reading all of his unbelievable books. Night of the Fox is another amazing story from only the mind of Jack Higgins. It does not matter if the book is 20 or 30 years old or his latest book 5 or 7 years ago. He writes unlike anyone else and I only want there was more. What a unbelievable story and the ending had a twist that I did not see coming. What a pleasure to read by a real global treasure in Mr. Higgins (pen name). He is brilliant and I only want I could read more. However, with the Kindle Application you can re-read his treasures over again in order and see the growth and introduction of characters. A word to his publisher, convert the other books that are not KDP into Kindle Books! Fans wish more and reading books digitally is what is in and his books no matter what they sold or how the word curb is spelled (curb or kurb) does not matter. More please!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Night of the Fox []  2020-5-2 18:0

    This is an old one but a really amazing one. Jack Higgins can always be relied upon to tell a quick and gripping tale - and this is one of the best of them (IMHO a small better than "The Eagle has Landed").D-Day is only a few days away when Hugh Kelso, an American officer with vital info about the pending landing in France, is in a boat that is sunk in the English Channel. His rescue raft washes up on the shore of the Isle of German-occupied Jersey. Fortunately he is found by sympathetic locals who hide him and pass a notice to the French resistance to send to London.Eisenhower and the British are stunned as a lot of lives could be lost if Kelso falls into the hands of the Germans. In desperation the British send a senior SS imposter and his mistress to the island to support the locals obtain Kelso back to England. Things go terribly and amusingly wrong when Rommel visits the island when they are there - but is it really Rommel?The characters are good, the action fast, and sometimes emotional and impossible - what more do you want?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Amazing app! I'm fortunate where I live to have relatively low light pollution, so a lot of stars about magnitude -5 are visible to my eyes. Helps that I also an an amateur astronomer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Please add the functionality to export or share the My Measurements history data. thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    I like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    This application enables you to support conduct a survey of light pollution which is a major issue worldwide. It works quickly and easily and provides you with a star map for your efforts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Works as described a slight issue with gps zone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    i always hated a bright nightsky, now i can support to war it by measuring the light pollution

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    The privacy warning first screen stretches out of the available screen space, so the buttons are unavailable. Samsung galaxy mini TASS. Had do force close it. Nice concept. Would really like to test it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    This application helps scientists measure light pollution in the night sky. Dark skies are beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loss of the night [App]  2020-6-13 13:9

    Fantabulous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lady of the Night []  2020-7-18 19:41

    Donna Summer was the Lady of the Night... Who knew? I recently revived my love for Donna Summer's classics and decided it was time to complete my collection of her melody catalog. I cannot tell you how pleasantly surprised I was after my first listen and have found this to be a go-to CD, particularly the title track, Lady of the Night and The Hostage -- two classics in my nna Summer's vocals breathe life into these classic European Folk songs and are a must have for any real fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lady of the Night []  2020-7-18 19:41

    nice

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386