Read the night she disappeared reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the night she disappeared reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Read the synopsis, and you will obtain a feel for what this book is about. However, the author makes it fascinating with plot twists as well as other things such as point-of-view shifs, interview clips, newspaper articles, and even a missing poster. This book will be impossible to place down as you will come to care about the main characters, especially the kidnap victim. I loved it and hope to read more by this author. She was good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Love her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Amazing book

    0  


    Add your opinion on the night she disappeared or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Bought it for my niece for a Christmas present

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Another amazing book my niece . She loves the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Intense and chilling

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I have been a fan or other books by April Henry but this one did not seem finished to me. Ms. Henry spent quite a bit of time developing the relationship between Gabie and Drew and then everything ended fairly abruptly as the issue was resolved.I am not usually drawn to books with much violence, but I felt the writing was so amazing in other books I read by this author (particularly The Girl Who Was Supposed to Die), I was able to handle it. In this case, I had skip over the scenes between the kidnapper and Kayla-just too much for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    although I enjoyed it enough to hold reading til the end, it was a bit formulaic...also a bit of paranormal nonsense...I read it but won't test another from this author...just not spectacular...and I test to read only spectaculor books!! too a lot of amazing ones to read just average ones!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Daughter liked

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night She Disappeared []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I really enjoyed this book. It was suspenseful and kept me interested the entire time. I enjoyed the strong, well developed teen characters. I will definitely be reading more by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disappeared []  2020-2-11 18:51

    Amazing story couldn't place the book down. highly recommend it to anyone. I also recommend the official story-it was a amazing movie!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disappeared []  2020-2-11 18:51

    Anything by Gloria Whelan is a joy to read. In this particular story I enjoyed the telling by the two various characters because it drew the reader into the depth of the story so much more effectively.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disappeared []  2020-2-11 18:51

    The Disappeared covers all the basics--the terror, the hopelessness, and the frustration of Argentinians who could do nothing to end the violence versus the liberal elements of their society. I could have wished for more hero development and more detail, but she has you rooting for the brother and sister who are doing their best to be loyal to their families and their country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disappeared []  2020-2-11 18:51

    This book delves into a lot of nuances of both 1970s Argentinian culture and the struggles faced by the families of the Disappeared. Though it only begins to touch on the real horrors of the situation, it serves as an introduction to the plights a lot of Argentinians endured. If you or your student(s) are interested in learning more, The Small School is a amazing - though much more disturbing - supplement of a lot of more accounts of the Disappeared. Also, Cautiva is an Argentinian movie dealing with the realities faced by some kids of the Disappeared.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disappeared []  2020-2-11 18:51

    So the other day I was looking for a book on one of my rare trips to the Teen section in the library looking for a book and I spotted this one out of the corner of my eye because the cover is BEAUTIFUL! I think it's stunning so without even glancing at what it was about I added it to my stack of books that I'd be wasn't until I came home that I read the inside cover to see what it was about that I realized I could use it in my Around the Globe Challenge. This book took me back in time to 1977 in Argentina where the political climate was tense and the country was in a state of unrest and upheaval. The story is told in alternating chapters by 2 teenage siblings Silvia and Eduardo. Eduardo is unhappy with how the government is running his beloved Argentina and begins protesting unfortunately it isn't long before he gets place in an unpleasant situation and the troops comes and takes him from his home holding him prisoner. Silvia, and their parents are distraught over Eduardo's kidnapping and Silvia decides to rescue her brother by getting friendly with a huge time generals son in hopes that he could support set her brother free. Sadly this is not the case and the only reason they are both freed is thanks to the general's wife who hates him for turning their son into a monster. I want that the book was as amazing as it sounds but for me it wasn't. I wasn't a fan of the authors writing and I thought her "voice" was too uppity. I did like the topic matter though because she brought this problem to the attention of the readers perhaps giving them a reason after they read this book to learn a thing or to about the country of Argentina. The story while I appreciate her efforts was written far to stifly and I didn't care for the switching from Silvia's point of view to that of her brother. Despite the book not living up to the expectations I had for it I did have fun learning about what was event in Argentina at the time because I don't know much about Argentina and I while I was there in this book that I've walked away knowing things I didn't know before.s s'

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disappeared []  2020-2-11 18:51

    So, I love reading literature about Argentina and the military repression of the southern cone. This small book has been on my shelf for years and I finally got to it. It's not really a full-blown novel with ultra developed characters because it's actually more of a novella size. However, I liked how the writer varied the narrative voices between Silvia and Eduardo in sort of mental letters that they sent (imagined?) to each other. Unlike other Dirty Battle novels I've read, this one seemed quite natural in its references to Argentine culture and history and the story is gripping and simple to follow. I think this would be an perfect choice for YA readers who wish to know about the dictatorships of Latin America in the 1970s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disappeared []  2020-2-11 18:51

    Love this book. Amazing for students to obtain an understanding of the Dirty Battle of Argentina.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    Awesome story, yet so sad. As a police wife, I wasn't sure whether I truly wanted to read this or not, but I'm glad because it gave me insight into what life could potentially be like for my family or that of my friends, should this ever happen. It didn't scare me the method I thought it would, making me wonder if my husband was ok every second of the day. But, it did create me realize that not everyone can be trusted, nor should they be trusted. I have since passed it along to other wives and I hope we can all take away some knowledge from this raw, honest, story about what can happen to a police family in the matter of seconds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    Really enjoyed reading this book. Hearing various perspectives from father and daughter was very telling. Interesting to hear about internal 'corruption' in a smaller city police department, which I'm sure happens more often than we might think.I felt left hanging about the Dad's recovery--the story itself in regard to Dad's ability to speak, eat, and lead a normal life disappeared shortly after they moved. But the Epilogue makes it clear that he does regain some of those skills, but who knows when or how. Required more detail about that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    I did not think this book was going to be sooooo good. I bought it on a kindle for some kind of awesome deal, and as soon as I started it, I could not stop thinking about it. Even now that I'm done, I think about it. The story of a policeman who gets shot and his family lives in a horrible state of fear. The book is written by him and his daughter, every other chapter they switch off. I thought this would be confusing or cheapen the story but it actually makes it an interesting twist. You obtain to see two very special perspectives. The story was not only amazing, and keeps you interested, but I can hardly believe it's nonfiction. I was aghast at the injustice this family suffered, and I'm glad they were brave enough to write a book about this. It was a amazing book, and an simple read. I would recommend this book to everyone from probably 8th grade and up, and it's such a amazing story that almost anyone would stay interested! I could even see this turning into a movie, it would create a GREAT film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    A peaceful summer night is shattered by gunfire as an unseen assailant tries to murder police officer John Busby. Though horribly wounded, Busby survives. But the perpetrator remains at large, meaning neither Busby, nor his wife, nor their three kids are safe. In separate chapters John and his daughter Cylin, who was nine at the time, recount the story of that year. John writes graphically, and movingly, of his wounds, his pain, his multiple surgeries, and his rage. Cylin tells their story from a child's point of view, sharing vivid memories of confusion, loss of friends, and the struggle to build a fresh gether, father and daughter craft an unforgettable picture of fear, of police corruption, and of a malignant thug who no one dares to cross. Yet their story is also one of redemption and recovery, and ultimately of hope and healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    This was very eye opening. The method of life for this family that changed them all. That this corruption and level of bullying happened in a little community to a man in a public service roll is so disheartening. This lone happening changed them all for the rest of their lives. The trials and how the parent and the kid viewed them in their ow method was a amazing comparison int his memoir. This was a page turner, the fact that what you were reading was real only added to the drama of what you reading. Congratulations to this family for coming out the other side and supporting each other thru the difficulties. What a story to have for the grand kids of Polly & John. Cylin, hold writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    I bought this book mainly because I like real stories and because I hate crooked cops. John Busby was not a crooked cop. It was tragic what this family had to go through and the injustice that they had to endure. they created it though so a sorta satisfied ending. I googled this and read a few newspaper articles about this case and I can not believe no one was ever charged for this. As you can see, my name is Busby and my father was a sherrifs deputy. I was never aware, when I was a kid that there was any danger involved. Thank whomever he was never shot and I didn't have to go through what these not good children did. He did die when he was forty five years old in a motor cycle wreck, so Erick, Shawn and Cylin be thankful John's still around. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    This was a special approach to a book---with the father and daughter writing alternate chapters. The daughter's portion was written when these happenings actually occurred, which created the memoir seem more present-day. Her addition to the book makes it even more tender, allowing us to feel the tragedy and how it affects the children. This is such a amazing story. Even though there is tragedy in the story, the family finds strength as a family to obtain through some beautiful tough circumstances. The wife is especially powerful and resilient. I read it in a small over one day. I could hardly place it down. Perfect hero development and a truly amazing story. Well done! I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    This is the story of a father and daughter who endure the trauma of a horrific shooting. John Busby was a Falmouth, MA police officer who stood up to the wrong poor guys and for it. He was mercilessly shot in the face and almost killed. This is the story of his recovery and the impact on his family. The story is told from his perspectiive and also from the perspective of his daughter, Cylin. I liked this format because it helped me understand how the adults in the household felt about their situation, but also how the kids coped. Their story was eye opening to me because it gave me a whole fresh perspective about the sacrifices that police officers and other public servants sometimes have to create for the benefit of the public. I wished there had been more help for the Busbys, especially within the police department itself. This is a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    How I found this book was the ad for it when I had opened my kindle (in protective case). Each time I grab my kindle, and begin the case flap, there is a book offer. It appeared interesting, I followed the link to read the short synopsis regarding this story. I liked what I read, and decided to this ebook.I was hooked right away and stayed extremely interested through out her story. I loved the method Cylin Busby wrote about the real happenings regarding her father & herself. As she wrote it flipped back and forth between her view point, and that of her father.I enjoyed this read so much that at the end of this book it advertises other books along the same line, also other book(s) this author wrote. I saw that Cylin Busby wrote another novel called "Blink Once". This book was soooooooooo amazing too...If you are thinking about this book, and reading reviews - trust me - it is worth your time to do so... Also check out her other book "Blink Once" afterwards.... I look forward to her writing another book, and I sure hope it's soon!!! I read a lot, probably averages a few books a week. I enjoyed this lady's writing so much I took the time to do this review - believe me I don't take this time out of my life easily...Thanks for your timeVikky

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared []  2020-1-28 0:32

    An attempted murder of a police officer, the aftermath of his recovery and the result on his family. The book was interesting as it switched between what the father was experiencing and what the daughter and the rest of the family were experiencing. The officer's injuries were horrendous. The crime went unsolved for a long period of time. The criminal isn't charged until almost the end of the book. The reason I didn't give it more stars is because there were too a lot of questions left unanswered or just glossed over. I would have liked to know what caused the criminal to confess, and was he incarcerated? If so, for how long. I would like to know more about the officer's progress. Was his reconstruction completed? Was he able to eat and speak? How is the family doing? Did they continue to live a life of secrecy and seclusion?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disappeared (A Joe Pickett Novel) [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    The Disappeared by C.J. Box is a perplexing mystery about a missing person’s case in Wyoming. Although this recent release is the eighteenth novel in the Joe Pickett series, it can easily be read as e Pickett is uneasy when fresh Governor Colter Allen wants him to look into the still unsolved disappearance of Kate Shelford-Longden. The high profile British ad agency CEO vanished on her method to the Denver airport after spending a week at upscale dude ranch outside of Saratoga. Joe has an inside track at the Silver Creek Ranch since his oldest daughter Sheridan works there as a horse wrangler. He is also joined by falconer and mate Nate Romanowski, who is a bit of a maverick when it comes to staying within the confines of the e has serious reservations about Allen’s motives for asking him to look into Kate’s disappearance but since his curiosity is piqued about what happened to fellow Android game Warden Steve Pollock, he sets out for Saratoga. The case file he receives is light on theories and info and DCI Agent Michael Williams is not exactly eager to discuss the investigation. Nevertheless, Joe has small choice but to commence with the governor ordered find for though the staff at the Silver Creek Ranch undergo rigorous vetting during the hiring process, the contractors who occasionally work for them are not. Farriers Brad and Ben Youngberg raise a few eyebrows due to their “work hard, play harder” attitude so they are definitely persons of interest. The father/son owners of the local fish farm also raise a few flags so they remain on the suspect list as well. Then there are curious nocturnal events that are occurring at the local mill owned by Jeb Pryor. His overnight employee Wylie Frye is earning additional on the side but what exactly are the people who are paying him up to?Because Joe is pressed for time, Nate is involved in questioning some of their suspects. Nate inadvertently finds himself at a wind energy farm that completely shocks him due to the vast number of wind turbines under construction. Nate has a conspiracy theory that ties in with his initial reason for meeting with Joe and this discovery certainly does not cast any doubt on his supposition. But how does the Buckbush Wind Energy Project fit in with the disappearances of android game warden Steve Pollock, Kate Shelford-Longden and the the odd goings-on at Jeb’s mill?Taking put during a bitter cold and snowy Wyoming winter, The Disappeared is an engrossing mystery which also features intriguing environmental problems that are socially relevant in today’s world. Joe, Sheridan and Nate are intrepid amateur sleuths who methodically investigate Kate’s disappearance along with the curious other things they uncover along the way. With Joe’s future hanging in the balance, C.J. Box brings this recent addition to the Joe Pickett series to a gratifying conclusion that wraps up most of the novel’s dangling threads. Fans of the series and genre will definitely have fun this recent mystery starring the lovable, straight arrow android game warden.I received a complimentary copy for review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Company She Keeps [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The Parole Paranoia. The Company She Keeps is directed by John Cromwell and written by Ketti Frings. It stars Lizabeth Scott, Jane Greer and Dennis O’Keefe. Melody is by Leigh Harline and cinematography by Nicholas Musuraca. Released from prison after serving two years, Mildred Lynch (Greer) changes her name to Diane Stuart and sets out for a fresh begin in Los Angeles. Assigned a friendly parole officer, Joan Willburn (Scott), who finds Diane work in a local hospital, Diane struggles to take to Joan and suffers from paranoia as to how the public are going to perceive her. Things obtain considerably murkier when Diane begins a love affair with Joan’s boyfriend, Larry Collins (O’Keefe)… A waste of potential, a movie featuring two noir darlings and one tough guy noir actor should have more about it than merely playing out as a weak willed melodrama. The annoyance is further compounded by the fact that ace cinematographer Musuraca works his magic for a lot of passages of the story, putting tightly fitted noir visuals to scenes involving prison cells and the darker recesses’ of the hospital where Diane works. In fact the latest twenty minutes, guff laden ending not withstanding, is worth time spent with picture purely because of Musuraca. It’s not as if the acting is bad, where even though I agree wholeheartedly with those who think Greer and Scott should have swapped roles, both the girls do amazing work here, as does O’Keefe, who has the issue of having both Greer and Scott lusting after him! But nobody is done any favours by Harline’s score, the usually skilled composer lays over the top of proceedings a score that would be more at home in a 1940s romantic comedy. Where there should be smart observations on the justice system, and the issues of parolees fitting back into society, there is instead a love triangle that lacks any suspense or a semblance of edginess, the writer evidently afraid to spice things up and do justice to the noir potential of the idea. Fans of the leading ladies and Musuraca should just about search it watchable, but frustration is almost certainly guaranteed as well. 5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Brand new. Excellent condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    It is very short and has nothing fresh or interesting in it. I couldn't tell who is saying t worth buying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    This book is stunning, begin to finish, every word, space, pause, and phrase. It speaks directly to your inner soul fire and gives it the words it always required to hear. Seriously, if you're an introspective, pondering soul that knows pain, growth, challenge, love, beauty, sadness...all the feelings, this is for you.I've been following Tanya Markul in snippets on IG and FB for awhile, and to see the whole paragraphs connected to those snippets (which already touched my soul) is strong beyond belief.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Inspiring words and puts words to the inner pain you can feel. Reminds you that there is hope and love in a globe that can be harsh. I would definitely recommend this book to teens and/ or adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    I picked up this book on a whim - I got an email from Thug Unicorn and ironically I was in the middle of paycheck and what I normally would have thought through before purchasing was a no brainer. I had the book already for and set to ship without even finishing Tanya’s email. After I hit purchase, the wonder set in and I smiled. Quick forward two days and my book arrived. I kept carrying it around and latest night was the night I cracked it open, just when I required it. All I could think was why don’t more people know about this book? It is such an empowering walk through us as “She”. I am only half method through because I just kept stopping and rereading and nodding at various bits. It’s attractive and completely touched my soul. This is a excellent book for remembering who you are and for collecting all the bits of yourself to bring them home so each fragment can sparkle and shine when the light hits it. I like that it also focuses on embracing the dark sides of us too, the pieces that we are normally taught to gloss over. Together the light and dark create the attractive whole that is each special being. I can’t recommend this book more and will be singing its praises to all the women in my life (and some of the men who might need a shiny word or two). Amazing job, Thug Unicorn!!!! Hold sparkling!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    I bought this book mainly because I like real stories and because I hate crooked cops. John Busby was not a crooked cop. It was tragic what this family had to go through and the injustice that they had to endure. they created it though so a sorta satisfied ending. I googled this and read a few newspaper articles about this case and I can not believe no one was ever charged for this. As you can see, my name is Busby and my father was a sherrifs deputy. I was never aware, when I was a kid that there was any danger involved. Thank whomever he was never shot and I didn't have to go through what these not good children did. He did die when he was forty five years old in a motor cycle wreck, so Erick, Shawn and Cylin be thankful John's still around. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    This was very eye opening. The method of life for this family that changed them all. That this corruption and level of bullying happened in a little community to a man in a public service roll is so disheartening. This lone happening changed them all for the rest of their lives. The trials and how the parent and the kid viewed them in their ow method was a amazing comparison int his memoir. This was a page turner, the fact that what you were reading was real only added to the drama of what you reading. Congratulations to this family for coming out the other side and supporting each other thru the difficulties. What a story to have for the grand kids of Polly & John. Cylin, hold writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    How I found this book was the ad for it when I had opened my kindle (in protective case). Each time I grab my kindle, and begin the case flap, there is a book offer. It appeared interesting, I followed the link to read the short synopsis regarding this story. I liked what I read, and decided to this ebook.I was hooked right away and stayed extremely interested through out her story. I loved the method Cylin Busby wrote about the real happenings regarding her father & herself. As she wrote it flipped back and forth between her view point, and that of her father.I enjoyed this read so much that at the end of this book it advertises other books along the same line, also other book(s) this author wrote. I saw that Cylin Busby wrote another novel called "Blink Once". This book was soooooooooo amazing too...If you are thinking about this book, and reading reviews - trust me - it is worth your time to do so... Also check out her other book "Blink Once" afterwards.... I look forward to her writing another book, and I sure hope it's soon!!! I read a lot, probably averages a few books a week. I enjoyed this lady's writing so much I took the time to do this review - believe me I don't take this time out of my life easily...Thanks for your timeVikky

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    Really enjoyed reading this book. Hearing various perspectives from father and daughter was very telling. Interesting to hear about internal 'corruption' in a smaller city police department, which I'm sure happens more often than we might think.I felt left hanging about the Dad's recovery--the story itself in regard to Dad's ability to speak, eat, and lead a normal life disappeared shortly after they moved. But the Epilogue makes it clear that he does regain some of those skills, but who knows when or how. Required more detail about that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    Beautifully written, artful private acc of “ becoming Swedish” at a time when the country was really trying to solidify its identity. This is not meant to be a political science book nor is it meant to be the conplete unbiased history of Sweden’s well-being economy. Rather it is an exquisitely written private story- award winning actually. Even if you aren’t interested in the info of Sweden’s special history, this private story of youth, nature, hope and disappointment will move you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    An interesting story of Sweden written by a British journalist withmaybe "a small axe to grind." Andrew Brown spent a lot of years asa resident of Sweden in the 1970s-80s. Went back to Britain a bit disgruntled, remained there for awhile, then got the urge to trySweden again. He found Sweden had changed. FISHING IN UTOPIA is alament for a lost Eden. It is a journey into the past. You mayappreciate this book for countless reasons: contemporary state of affairs of Sweden and vivid descriptions of the country's naturebecause of somewhat unusual fishing trips for r a well written book that is both educational and entertaining;this is one to read now!Dag StombergSt. Andrews, Scotland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    An attempted murder of a police officer, the aftermath of his recovery and the result on his family. The book was interesting as it switched between what the father was experiencing and what the daughter and the rest of the family were experiencing. The officer's injuries were horrendous. The crime went unsolved for a long period of time. The criminal isn't charged until almost the end of the book. The reason I didn't give it more stars is because there were too a lot of questions left unanswered or just glossed over. I would have liked to know what caused the criminal to confess, and was he incarcerated? If so, for how long. I would like to know more about the officer's progress. Was his reconstruction completed? Was he able to eat and speak? How is the family doing? Did they continue to live a life of secrecy and seclusion?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    A peaceful summer night is shattered by gunfire as an unseen assailant tries to murder police officer John Busby. Though horribly wounded, Busby survives. But the perpetrator remains at large, meaning neither Busby, nor his wife, nor their three kids are safe. In separate chapters John and his daughter Cylin, who was nine at the time, recount the story of that year. John writes graphically, and movingly, of his wounds, his pain, his multiple surgeries, and his rage. Cylin tells their story from a child's point of view, sharing vivid memories of confusion, loss of friends, and the struggle to build a fresh gether, father and daughter craft an unforgettable picture of fear, of police corruption, and of a malignant thug who no one dares to cross. Yet their story is also one of redemption and recovery, and ultimately of hope and healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    This is the story of a father and daughter who endure the trauma of a horrific shooting. John Busby was a Falmouth, MA police officer who stood up to the wrong poor guys and for it. He was mercilessly shot in the face and almost killed. This is the story of his recovery and the impact on his family. The story is told from his perspectiive and also from the perspective of his daughter, Cylin. I liked this format because it helped me understand how the adults in the household felt about their situation, but also how the kids coped. Their story was eye opening to me because it gave me a whole fresh perspective about the sacrifices that police officers and other public servants sometimes have to create for the benefit of the public. I wished there had been more help for the Busbys, especially within the police department itself. This is a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    Fishing In Utopia: It’s A Amazing Biography, But Think The Supposed Cautionary Tale On The Peril’s of Political Ideologies Likened To Religious Beliefs And Both Leading One To An Eventual Disappointment Is A Misguided And Fragile For It’s Biographical Acc it’s Well Written, But Is Andrew Brown Seriously Trying To Conflate Hell With The Experience Of Seeing Your Home Country Slowly Descend Into Economic Failure And Systemic Collapse, Only To Be Rebuilt Into A Various But Stable System Later?Essentially Brown Makes The Argument That Religion, Like Political And Ideological Beliefs Can Lead One To Experience Hell When We See Those Ideals Fail And Crumble To e Issue With That Notion Is That When Viewed From The Emotional Perspective, All Sense Of Objectivity Is Lost.When You Strip Away The Emotional You Are Left With The Logical. Logic Tells A More Strait Forward Ver of the philosophy That Brown Is Attempting To Cross-Manifest In The Doing So Browns Conflation of Frustration And Disappointment Fails To Compare In Any Method With Even The Furthest Outer Edges Of What Hell Represents.A Religious Person Adheres To Documented Beliefs, Parables, Scripture Etcetera, All of Which Culminate In That Religion’s ctrine By It’s Very Nature Precludes The Idea That There Is More To Contrast, A Truly Faithful Person Is Humble, Without Vice, Free From Worry, And Above All, Knows That There Is An Unimaginable Wealth of Knowledge That They Couldn’t Possibly Start To Conceive of, And So Accepts Change With Quiet Grace Rather Than Being Mad With God Because They Didn't Obtain Their Way.A Truly Faithful Person Locations God’s Will Above Their Own Political Ideologies, Life Plans, Relationships, Family And Even Their Own erefore No Matter Happens In Their Lives, They Are Comforted By The Fact That Wherever God Leads Them, They Will Search Prosperity And Though This Life Is Full Of Examples of Injustice, Pain And Suffering They Don’t Fear The End of Their Lives Because With The End Of This Earthly Life, One Finds The Beginning of Eternal Life With The Heavenly thing On This Earth Will Endure The Passage Of Time, Least of All Political And Ideological Beliefs. Brown Tells A Amazing And Tragic Story Masterfully, But Ones Biography Of Ideological Struggles Disappointments And Difficult Times Are Hardly A Glimpse Into Hell or Any Comparison Thereto.But, In Order To Understand This Perspective, One Must Have Given Themself Up to The Heavenly Father In Mind, Body And Soul Thus Becoming A Part of Something Far... Far Greater Than One’s Own Individual Point of Fact, The Truly Faithful Person Only Fears One Thing And That Is Eternal Separation From God, Which Is What Hell Represents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    simple. clean. messages everyone should hear at least once in their lives. amazing messages of hope, patience, love and healing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    I think this was a nice book I required those reminders. I required to search myself again. Tho one may argue that it is no various to finding inspirational quotes on Ig but sometimes broken people don't look for that so it was a amazing method of reminding us that we should hold our heads high🙂

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    "Sometimes you MUST turn and face what’s @#$%ing you the hell off, with a voice, so that you can create a small more zone to see, feel, and to gain insight into what is actually happening, and to live a small more freely, sassily and sparkly..."I remember the first time I discovered Thug Unicorn. It was 6 months ago and I was at my absolute lowest. At the same time I felt like I had something necessary to say, something of meaning that I desperately required to say before it ate me alive from the inside out. So I took a possibility and started sharing my story. My own small private horror story of how I was betrayed and damn near left for dead. It wasn't simple though, for so a lot of reasons, that I don't even wish to obtain into right now lol. But I was fighting the urge to allow it silence me and in the midst of doing so, I came across the aforementioned quote. I knew immediately that Tanya Markul was my long lost spirit sister. Her words truly validated my desire and desperate need to speak my truth. I was so excited to explore that she had a book coming out. I've laughed, I've cried, I've wished, I've prayed while reading The She Book. I highly recommend it for anyone out there that's struggling to break and create sense of this cruel cruel world. There is so much hope and light and love to be felt. You just have to go out there and make it. Become the magic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    I've been a fan of the author on Fb so I was beautiful sure the book would appeal to me. It's fantastic. There are so a lot of books about self-help and self-awareness but few really place the thoughts out there in such a manner. Tanya Markul says the things we're thinking and feeling. She's brave enough to use the words we whisper to ourselves in the wee little hours. She shouts them aloud for all to hear. Each mini "story" a fresh thought. But the whole notice you come away with is that you're worth the time, the hassle, the frustration, the pain, the anger, the tears and the sparkle. I think the book reminds me of the notice from The Wizard of Oz when Glinda tells Dorothy she had the power within herself all along. She just required to be reminded. This fabulous small book is your every single day reminder. It's the kick in the butt you need to remember your worth and the awesome sparkle within you haven't yet released. Don't allow anyone dull your sparkle and this book today!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    Mmm... this such an incredibly refreshing book. It's like someone took the thoughts right out of my head (that I didn't even necessarily know I had) and place them down onto paper. I'm on passage 30 and so far I've been spun into deep reflection, laughed, cried, and sent pictures of certain passages to friends. I'm SO glad that I Divinely happened upon this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    I did not think this book was going to be sooooo good. I bought it on a kindle for some kind of awesome deal, and as soon as I started it, I could not stop thinking about it. Even now that I'm done, I think about it. The story of a policeman who gets shot and his family lives in a horrible state of fear. The book is written by him and his daughter, every other chapter they switch off. I thought this would be confusing or cheapen the story but it actually makes it an interesting twist. You obtain to see two very special perspectives. The story was not only amazing, and keeps you interested, but I can hardly believe it's nonfiction. I was aghast at the injustice this family suffered, and I'm glad they were brave enough to write a book about this. It was a amazing book, and an simple read. I would recommend this book to everyone from probably 8th grade and up, and it's such a amazing story that almost anyone would stay interested! I could even see this turning into a movie, it would create a GREAT film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    This was a special approach to a book---with the father and daughter writing alternate chapters. The daughter's portion was written when these happenings actually occurred, which created the memoir seem more present-day. Her addition to the book makes it even more tender, allowing us to feel the tragedy and how it affects the children. This is such a amazing story. Even though there is tragedy in the story, the family finds strength as a family to obtain through some beautiful tough circumstances. The wife is especially powerful and resilient. I read it in a small over one day. I could hardly place it down. Perfect hero development and a truly amazing story. Well done! I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    Very interesting incites into Swedish attitudes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    Awesome story, yet so sad. As a police wife, I wasn't sure whether I truly wanted to read this or not, but I'm glad because it gave me insight into what life could potentially be like for my family or that of my friends, should this ever happen. It didn't scare me the method I thought it would, making me wonder if my husband was ok every second of the day. But, it did create me realize that not everyone can be trusted, nor should they be trusted. I have since passed it along to other wives and I hope we can all take away some knowledge from this raw, honest, story about what can happen to a police family in the matter of seconds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    Really enjoyed reading this book. Hearing various perspectives from father and daughter was very telling. Interesting to hear about internal 'corruption' in a smaller city police department, which I'm sure happens more often than we might think.I felt left hanging about the Dad's recovery--the story itself in regard to Dad's ability to speak, eat, and lead a normal life disappeared shortly after they moved. But the Epilogue makes it clear that he does regain some of those skills, but who knows when or how. Required more detail about that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the way she spoke []  2020-1-19 22:5

    A terrifying, heartbreaking story of interviews with women in Juarez about their fear of leaving the house, going to work, walking down the street. Almost unbearable: she listed the toddlers to elderly women who were raped, murdered, mutilated. A tremendously hard read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    This book is intense in so a lot of small words. The relevance in it with people that has been played and lied to is impressive and to realize that is sad, bc pain sometimes doesn’t create us strong, bc when people are lonely and in pain and betrayed and used... what salvation is there ? So... thank you C for this awesome book of poetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    Amazing book overall but I didn’t like how the poems were set up on the pages. Would recommend reading ☺️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    I was drawn to this book based on the name. It came up as a suggestion from Amazon, and Amazon suggestions are usually beautiful accurate for me. What I found inside was a wellspring of inspiration and refreshingly simple, yet poignant musings from a woman who definitely understands the juxtaposition of feminine and modern pathos. I have the women in my FB group using this and other books as an oracle now. The first page i randomly opened to was 100 (one-hundred) and it was SPOT ON. It spoke to soverignty and learning how to reparent ourselves. This was definitely a theme for me all of 2017. Overall I think this book sits nicely as a coffee table book for guests to glean jewels of wisdom from, a bedside devotional for whenever you need a word, or even can be chop up and used as an oracle. I did dock one star because I felt some of the poems were filler and could have been left out, or left on Instagram, but that's just an problem of private preference. Was it life changing? Not really for me, but I have been on the path of awakening for a looooooong time. I can definitely see how this book may be life changing for other women though, especially those who are just begging an inner journey. All that being said, I still search this to be a courageous and well appreciated book nonetheless. The 4 stars are mostly in help of a gifted woman speaking her authentic truth for the globe to see, in a method that gets you to go deeper within yourself. That level of bravery and artistry deserves praise in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    I don’t even know where to start. I read this book, ok more like devoured this book in a single sitting. Tanya speaks straight to the soul! There is such fierce emotion that rips through each word. This is a book I will return to, over and over again. I bought this expecting just another uplifting read. What I experienced is so much more than that! So a lot of pearls of wisdom to be gleaned from each chapter. Tanya, thank you for writing from your heart, mine has been forever touched by your words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    I have read and reread The She Book - and I am not one who rereads unless it is exceptional. Tanya's voice is clear, powerful and insightful. I still search fresh nuggets each time I reread this. She feels like the best mate who understands you because she's been through the pain, the joy, the trials, the serenity, blazing the trail so it is easier. Then you realize she is you. All women go through these things, all women understand what Tanya writes. She just found the rhythms and words the reso of us didn't. If you wish to understand women (if you are not), or to share in our womanhood, read The She Book. I will be surprised if your copy is not as dog eared as mine soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    Your words. Oh! Your words! They ripped apart my already ripped begin heart (it's been a hell of a couple years).These words speak to me, right to my Soul.I am starving for this writing...like a woman who hasn't had water for too a lot of years. Not because anyone denied me water...but because I kept it from myself. Not worthy. Not worthy. A failure. Falling apart. Ripped to shreds. Self-immolation. Judgement. mething happened late latest year and carried me into the fresh year. A tender mercy (as Anne Lamott shares).It seems my heart had enough. It begged for Soul sighed, "Finally."And I was healed. Barriers dissolved. Hate evaporated. I was...ank you for this holy book. It isn't one to read frivolously, but one that deserves stillness, time, and exquisite tender heart breaks at every attractive and ugly thing I see these days. It tumbles into joy and crashes into despair. I honor words that can do that to me. Thank you for putting your book into the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The She Book []  2020-2-6 20:53

    This slim book is a attractive paradox. I read it in a half-hour, but I know it's notice will knock around in my head for days. It's conversational and casual, yet piercing. The brevity of some of the entries is balanced by the depth of their impact. I love how the author gradually allow us obtain to know her. When read from cover to cover, a portrait of the artist as a wounded healer clearly emerges. I appreciate her insistence on loving the self as the key to all self-healing. Her notice is empowering. I was a fan of Thug Unicorn before I heard about this book, and this book takes the humor and pathos of Thug Unicorn to a much more focused and clear place. This slim volume speaks mostly to women, but I think it would inspire anyone on a private journey of becoming whole again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    I really loved this book in the beginning. It had some awesome pieces (although short) but as I read on it was nothing original and seemed to me like cliche and fortune cookie sayings. Disappointed to say the least

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Was The Storm []  2020-2-5 1:25

    "How are you supposed to follow your heart when it is broken and bleeding?" Let's just say that my feelings were hit hard whilst reading this collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    I bought this book mainly because I like real stories and because I hate crooked cops. John Busby was not a crooked cop. It was tragic what this family had to go through and the injustice that they had to endure. they created it though so a sorta satisfied ending. I googled this and read a few newspaper articles about this case and I can not believe no one was ever charged for this. As you can see, my name is Busby and my father was a sherrifs deputy. I was never aware, when I was a kid that there was any danger involved. Thank whomever he was never shot and I didn't have to go through what these not good children did. He did die when he was forty five years old in a motor cycle wreck, so Erick, Shawn and Cylin be thankful John's still around. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    This was very eye opening. The method of life for this family that changed them all. That this corruption and level of bullying happened in a little community to a man in a public service roll is so disheartening. This lone happening changed them all for the rest of their lives. The trials and how the parent and the kid viewed them in their ow method was a amazing comparison int his memoir. This was a page turner, the fact that what you were reading was real only added to the drama of what you reading. Congratulations to this family for coming out the other side and supporting each other thru the difficulties. What a story to have for the grand kids of Polly & John. Cylin, hold writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    How I found this book was the ad for it when I had opened my kindle (in protective case). Each time I grab my kindle, and begin the case flap, there is a book offer. It appeared interesting, I followed the link to read the short synopsis regarding this story. I liked what I read, and decided to this ebook.I was hooked right away and stayed extremely interested through out her story. I loved the method Cylin Busby wrote about the real happenings regarding her father & herself. As she wrote it flipped back and forth between her view point, and that of her father.I enjoyed this read so much that at the end of this book it advertises other books along the same line, also other book(s) this author wrote. I saw that Cylin Busby wrote another novel called "Blink Once". This book was soooooooooo amazing too...If you are thinking about this book, and reading reviews - trust me - it is worth your time to do so... Also check out her other book "Blink Once" afterwards.... I look forward to her writing another book, and I sure hope it's soon!!! I read a lot, probably averages a few books a week. I enjoyed this lady's writing so much I took the time to do this review - believe me I don't take this time out of my life easily...Thanks for your timeVikky

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    This is the story of a father and daughter who endure the trauma of a horrific shooting. John Busby was a Falmouth, MA police officer who stood up to the wrong poor guys and for it. He was mercilessly shot in the face and almost killed. This is the story of his recovery and the impact on his family. The story is told from his perspectiive and also from the perspective of his daughter, Cylin. I liked this format because it helped me understand how the adults in the household felt about their situation, but also how the kids coped. Their story was eye opening to me because it gave me a whole fresh perspective about the sacrifices that police officers and other public servants sometimes have to create for the benefit of the public. I wished there had been more help for the Busbys, especially within the police department itself. This is a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    He has some really amazing insights into Sweden. The book is referenced by others for how he is able to convey their method of life. Another book along these lines is The Almost Nearly Excellent People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia by Michael Booth. And specific to Denmark: The year of living danishly: Uncovering the Secrets of the World's Happiest Country by Helen Russell. The Russell book is very woman perspective (she's pregnant in Denmark) where Brown is very guy-ish: he's got some long info on fishing which you can skip. All three are English, which is a amazing kick to Americans as the English have their own pecking that Americans need to obtain some perspective. All three are very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    as advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    I grew up in a household where Swedish was still spoken, my Grandmother and my paternal amazing grandparents having come over on the boat. As I read the book I felt like I was finally coming to understand my childhood and Swedish heritage. First of all, Sweden was never really socialist, if by that one means public ownership of the means of production without the dictatorship of the proletariat. Britain and France were the leaders in that department. Sweden's welfare state was not an economic policy but a cultural one and my understanding of that was improved dramatically, although perhaps only viscerally, by this book. The financial implications were just a part of a broader culture of ademantly enforced conformity and uniformity. The fact is an entrepreneur could do at least as much, and often times more, in this Utopia than in Britain or France, he just couldn't hold the profits. His description of his experience of why this was so and his brief mention of the theory behind it, the laws of "Jante", was spot on. Perhaps it's because this English cultural "spy" could also speak to the side of me that is of English extraction, but I do think it is accesible to many.I'm not into fishing, but the fishing stories are more about the people who fish and the a lot of locations it took the author than the fish themselves. His contrasts with fishing in Britain were instructive. The Swedes I know have no self awareness and if forced to develop it become extremely combative. This may have been what changed Olaf Palme while at an American college. They don't like this in themselves, so they instead become extermely insular and the explanation for the dynamic of the welfare state becomes reduced to mere finance, which is e author does give a amazing explanation of why this is disappearing, but it is brief as his return to Sweden was brief and thus may not be readily understood without someone with a Swedish background.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    Awesome story, yet so sad. As a police wife, I wasn't sure whether I truly wanted to read this or not, but I'm glad because it gave me insight into what life could potentially be like for my family or that of my friends, should this ever happen. It didn't scare me the method I thought it would, making me wonder if my husband was ok every second of the day. But, it did create me realize that not everyone can be trusted, nor should they be trusted. I have since passed it along to other wives and I hope we can all take away some knowledge from this raw, honest, story about what can happen to a police family in the matter of seconds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    An attempted murder of a police officer, the aftermath of his recovery and the result on his family. The book was interesting as it switched between what the father was experiencing and what the daughter and the rest of the family were experiencing. The officer's injuries were horrendous. The crime went unsolved for a long period of time. The criminal isn't charged until almost the end of the book. The reason I didn't give it more stars is because there were too a lot of questions left unanswered or just glossed over. I would have liked to know what caused the criminal to confess, and was he incarcerated? If so, for how long. I would like to know more about the officer's progress. Was his reconstruction completed? Was he able to eat and speak? How is the family doing? Did they continue to live a life of secrecy and seclusion?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    I did not think this book was going to be sooooo good. I bought it on a kindle for some kind of awesome deal, and as soon as I started it, I could not stop thinking about it. Even now that I'm done, I think about it. The story of a policeman who gets shot and his family lives in a horrible state of fear. The book is written by him and his daughter, every other chapter they switch off. I thought this would be confusing or cheapen the story but it actually makes it an interesting twist. You obtain to see two very special perspectives. The story was not only amazing, and keeps you interested, but I can hardly believe it's nonfiction. I was aghast at the injustice this family suffered, and I'm glad they were brave enough to write a book about this. It was a amazing book, and an simple read. I would recommend this book to everyone from probably 8th grade and up, and it's such a amazing story that almost anyone would stay interested! I could even see this turning into a movie, it would create a GREAT film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    A peaceful summer night is shattered by gunfire as an unseen assailant tries to murder police officer John Busby. Though horribly wounded, Busby survives. But the perpetrator remains at large, meaning neither Busby, nor his wife, nor their three kids are safe. In separate chapters John and his daughter Cylin, who was nine at the time, recount the story of that year. John writes graphically, and movingly, of his wounds, his pain, his multiple surgeries, and his rage. Cylin tells their story from a child's point of view, sharing vivid memories of confusion, loss of friends, and the struggle to build a fresh gether, father and daughter craft an unforgettable picture of fear, of police corruption, and of a malignant thug who no one dares to cross. Yet their story is also one of redemption and recovery, and ultimately of hope and healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    This was a special approach to a book---with the father and daughter writing alternate chapters. The daughter's portion was written when these happenings actually occurred, which created the memoir seem more present-day. Her addition to the book makes it even more tender, allowing us to feel the tragedy and how it affects the children. This is such a amazing story. Even though there is tragedy in the story, the family finds strength as a family to obtain through some beautiful tough circumstances. The wife is especially powerful and resilient. I read it in a small over one day. I could hardly place it down. Perfect hero development and a truly amazing story. Well done! I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    Would not recommend. Almost died of boredom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    An interesting story of Sweden written by a British journalist with maybe "a small axe to grind." Andrew Brown spent a lot of years as a resident of Sweden in the 1970s-80s. Went back to Britain a bit disgruntled, remained there for awhile, then got the urge to test Sweden again. He found Sweden had changed. FISHING IN UTOPIAis a lament for a lost Eden. It is a journey into the past. Youmay appreciate this book for countless reasons: contemporary stateof affairs of Sweden and vivid descriptions of the country's nature because of somewhat unusual fishing trips for r a well written book that is both educational and entertaining;this is one to read now!Dag StombergSt. Andrews, Scotland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fishing In Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared []  2020-7-18 19:9

    I don't have much of an opinion about this book, but since, as of this writing, Amazon's page has zero info about it, I guess I'll write a few lines to support out a bit.I picked this book up and read it because I am interested in Sweden's economy. Thus the book's subtitle, "Sweden and Future That Disappeared," attracted re particularly, I'm interested in socialist states, especially successful ones. But lately I've been reading articles about how Sweden is basically leveraged to the hilt, United States style: they have borrowed so much to fund different entitlement programs that in the future, their taxes will have to be super-high, not to provide super-great benefits, but merely to the interest on their national debt.I'm also interested in the gradual Islamization of Europe, particularly in countries that have had liberal immigration policies for the past few is being the case, it seemed like the book for me.Unfortunately, while the book does TOUCH on these items, it's chiefly about fishing, about which I know zilch and have zero 's part of the publisher's blurb from the inside, which I should have heeded more carefully:"Andrew Brown spent part of his childhood in Sweden during the 1960s. In the 1070s, he married a Swedish woman and worked in a timber mill, raising their little son, first in a housing estate on the edge of Gothenberg, and then in a makeshift chalet in the forest. Fishing became his passion and his escape from a country that alternately seduced and oppressed him with its mixture of communal philanthropy and deep conservatism. During the 1980s his marriage and his country fell apart as the temptations and compulsions of the outside globe forced their method in."As it turns out, immigration and unsustainable social benefit programs form a very minor part of this e chief focus is instead of Brown's family situation and the wisdom he has received from fishing in a attractive country. As far as that goes, it's tenderly -- may I say delicately? -- written and recalls me of the best nonfiction of Annie Dillard. Or, if I may presume, Izaak there's no issue from that angle; it's just that I wasn't expecting that. Passages like this are typical:"In those days I fished as I lived, to a very rigid system. I would walk into the woods every possibility I had, to feel that I was free, or at least elsewhere; but when I reached the lake, I cast always the same way, and fished only imitations of natural nymphs as slowly as I could move them -- though sometimes I'd forget, and catch a fish by accident, tugging a muddler through the ripples when there was a breeze." (p. 103)Towards the end of the book, there does appear a chapter on immigration:"Reading about the country from the outside, especially in the work of American hyper-nationalists, you would suppose that the whole put was on the verge of a jihadi uprising, that the satellite towns are slums full of disaffected Muslims." (p. 252). . . but the issue here is that the discussion simply doesn't seem candid. In fact, Brown never confirms or rejects the sentence above, or really seems to give his frank opinion about the matter, conclude anything, or create any projections. What discussions there are, I should add, include very small in the method of hard data. Instead it's all along the lines of "Some think that . . . " and "Others have observed that . . . "So not very satisfying as far as what I was looking for. Create sure you're interested in and knowledgeable about fishing if you pick this up. (E.g., what the heck is a "muddler"?)The author, a Brit, has written for the Independent and the Guardian.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disappeared Anniversary [App]  2020-4-14 21:45

    편안하고 따뜻한 일러스트 사운드와 달리 스토리는 묵직하네요. 오랜만에 만난 웰메이드 게임입니다!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disappeared Anniversary [App]  2020-4-14 21:45

    중독성 최고!! 강추입니다~

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She []  2020-1-25 19:56

    She....poetry, attractive melody, romantic presentation by Aznavour. Awesome more words are needed. This feature of reviews is not appropriate. A few words can be more effective than a paragraph.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She []  2020-1-25 19:56

    I just love Aznovour's music. The guy sings in like six languages. This one believe it or not is about his daughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She []  2020-1-25 19:56

    As I stated with the Il Divo ver also, this makes you wish to be love as much as the song conveys. I play it repeatedly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She []  2020-1-25 19:56

    Amazing Classic song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She []  2020-1-25 19:56

    Great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kiss of the She-Devil []  2020-2-6 21:52

    it was another amazing book by m. william phelps. it's so hard to believe that gail believed her husband that he would stay with her, but still messing around with donna. kind of hard to think that george did not think donna was not going to do something, she could not leave him o poor gail just did not turn him over to donna on a platter. such a sad method for the kids to live knowing their father in so a lot of ways caused what happened. don't know of any families taking in the love kid of there father and lover, so they can live satisfied ever after, somewhere did george not think donna lied?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road She Left Behind []  2020-1-17 22:11

    Christine Nolfi, Author of “The Street She Left Behind” has written a thought-provoking, emotional, captivating, and heartwarming novel. The Genres for this novel are Fiction and Women’s Fiction. The timeline for this story is within an eight-year period. The author describes her dramatic characters as complex, complicated, quirky, and dysfunctional.Darcy Goodridge is finally coming back home after being on the street and in various locations for the latest eight years. Darcy had been running away after the deaths of her sister and her father. The dysfunctional family dynamics and deep dark secrets were also part of Darcy’s motivation to stay away from home. Now an emergency phone call about Emerson, Darcy’s young nephew has her coming it real that there’s no put like home? Darcy is left with an emotional mess to with, and other problems. Christine Nolfi has written a story that had me chuckling a few times and also tearful. ( Be warned there are some Kleenex moments)I would highly recommend this insightful and thought-provoking novel. I appreciate that the author discusses the importance, of family, friendship, forgiveness, second-chances, communication, love and hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road She Left Behind []  2020-1-17 22:11

    I absolutely loved “The Street She Left Behind” by Christine Nolfi. I did not wish to place this book down once I started reading. This is a heartwarming story of guilt, secrets, family, betrayal, resentment and forgiveness. The characters are relatable and well defined. Each hero has their own special personality. I laughed and cried and chuckled out loud, and did not wish this book to end. The descriptions created you feel like you were there living with the characters, you could smell the turkey cooking, taste the cookies, feel the rain on your face Nolfi is a gifted writer, I am so glad I read this book. You will be touched by all the emotions in this book. It is wonderfully written and a delight to read. I highly recommend this novel to readers that have fun Women’s Fiction. Christine Nolfi is a must read author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road She Left Behind []  2020-1-17 22:11

    The street she left behind is a story of loss, secrets, misconceptions, guilt & forgiveness. One fateful night changed a family forever. Darcy Goodridge leaves Ohio & for eight years kept to herself, moving from Job to Job sealing with grief. All is about to change for everyone with the support of two boys, misconceptions, hurts and relationships will start to heal. Christine Nolfi pulls at your heart, her stories capture you in the first sentence you can’t place the book down nor do you wish the story to end. You definitely feel like you could fit in the towns she writes about & be mates with the character. The Street she left behind will change you. You will wish to place this on your TBR list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Life She Was Given []  2020-1-27 22:29

    This book was so sad it gave me nightmares. The tacked-on "happy" ending was no help. I'm actually sorry I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Day She Came Back []  2020-7-26 21:6

    It was a amazing book. Not amazing just good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Day She Came Back []  2020-7-26 21:6

    The Day She Came Back by Amanda Prowse was a amazing read! It was my first book to read by this author and I can tell you I was not disappointed! Oh my gosh this book brought so a lot of emotions to me! I cried, laughed and was so satisfied to see the finish!This book is about Victoria an 18 year living with her Grandmother Prim in England! Victoria was always told that her father died before she was born and that her Mother had passed away from drug abuse. Victoria’s best mate Daksha was always there for Victoria. They had planned on traveling the globe before college. Unfortunately, one day Daksha had came over to the house and they were going to go obtain a coffee and pick up Grandmother something’s. When Victoria got home she found her grandmother had passed away. Now is when things obtain really bad! A strange woman shows up to Grandmother’s funeral claiming to be Sarah the dead mother?Then Flynn the guy that Victoria had a large crush on her shows up and spends a few days there. Not amazing at all! Victoria quickly spirals down from the poor influence of Flynn and she was even really hateful to her best mate uld Victoria trust that Sarah was her mother and why did grandmother lie to her? I would suggest you run out and obtain this book as soon as possible!I received this from Amazon publishing UK and Netgalley as an ARC for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road She Left Behind []  2020-1-17 22:11

    Nolfi writes smart, sensitive fiction that will have you hooked from page one. The Street She Left Behind captures the core of the Goodridge family, a family broken by tragedy and long-held secrets. The stain moves through their lives affecting friendship and love until Darcy Goodridge returns home, forced to confront the past. Faced with a mother who has turned her back on her, the boy she once loved and never forgot, and the kid who’s lost everything, Darcy embarks on a path to right the wrongs all while unraveling the tale of that tragic lfi creates a beautiful, touching story with compelling characters reminiscent of the deep love and friendship found in Steel Magnolias. For family isn’t always those we are born into, but the richer connections we are fortunate to find. At the very heart of The Street She Left Behind are the strong lessons of humanity: forgiveness, healing, and letting go, all woven together with the threads that bind family and friends. You will laugh, you will cry, you will root these characters on, and miss them profusely when they’re gone. I know I do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road She Left Behind []  2020-1-17 22:11

    Darcy Goodridge has spent the past eight years of her life running away from her family and life. She doesn't spend more than one year in any job or town. She has no close friends. She doesn't hold in contact with her family. When she left Ohio after the tragic accident that claimed her younger sister and father's lives, she chop off all ties. Yes, she had promised her sister that she would take care of her nephew if anything happened, but she knew her mother -- a well-respected judge would never let that to happen. Darcy is packed and ready to leave South Carolina in her rearview mirror and head to Fresh Jersey for a fresh job placement, when she receives a phone call from her mother's housekeeper and her surrogate mother, Latrice, telling her that her eight-year-old nephew Emerson has run away from home. Darcy is prepared to ignore this call for support until the one mate she's created in eight years, an eighteen-year-old former foster child, talks her into returning home with him in tow. Needless to say, the latest thing Darcy's mother expects to see on her doorstep is Darcy, much less Darcy accompanied by an eighteen-year-old, Black male, dread wearing former foster child. Fortunately, Samson has a method about him and is able to worm his method into Latrice's amazing graces and even strikes up a tentative relationship with Darcy's mother Rosalind. Emerson is found safe and without harm, but his return home leads to a bombshell that will rock the Goodridge family. For someone that has spent years running away from the past, Darcy now must confront it and with all of the fallout. That fallout contains her mother's declining health, revelations about her father and adored sister, and facing the love she left behind all those years ago. Is it possible to return home and mend the bridges we thought we burnt down?I'm always excited when I hear about a fresh Christine Nolfi story. Her stories incorporate lots of realistic family drama often dealing with highly dysfunctional contemporary situations (some resolved, some not), multigenerational friendships, secrets, and romance. Needless to say, I jumped for joy (figuratively) when I received message that I was going to be able to read and review THE ROAD SHE LEFT BEHIND. I was eager to read this book in one sitting but had to with a weather-induced migraine and then taking my mother out for her weekly grocery shopping. I liked all of the characters in THE ROAD SHE LEFT BEHIND including the curmudgeonly and strict Rosalind Goodridge, Darcy's mother. The eight-year-old Emerson and eighteen-year-old Samson provided some amazing comic relief at times, but I could emotionally relate to both of these guys. Emerson was struggling to be mature because that's what his grandmother expected, whereas Samson was rather immature and naive for his age, but could come out with these amazingly prescient statements due to his observational skills. Samson had never been in a real family setting and expected a wealthy family to be happy. He was quite shocked to learn that Darcy's family was anything but satisfied despite their wealth and privilege. Darcy and Michael's friendship is gradually rebuilt as well as their romance. Yes, there's a lot going on in THE ROAD SHE LEFT BEHIND, but if I told you everything you wouldn't need to read the book. If you've ever read anything by Ms. Nolfi, then I don't have to tell you to obtain a copy of this book as soon as possible but I will anyway. If you've never read anything by Ms. Nolfi, then THE ROAD SHE LEFT BEHIND might be a amazing book to begin with, especially if you have fun stories with family angst, drama, and romance. For now, I'm eagerly awaiting my purchased copy of THE ROAD SHE LEFT BEHIND to on the release day and I plan on spending the very next weekend leisurely rereading this book, hopefully without ST...I received my Kindle copy of THE ROAD SHE LEFT BEHIND and it was just as amazing the second time around and, yes, I was able to read it without major interruptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Life She Was Given []  2020-1-27 22:29

    I just finished EVER !!!!! The Life She Was Given is Ellen Marie Wiseman's fourth novel and in my opinion her best.......and that speaks VOLUMES because I have loved each and every one of the other three books she has written. Ellen writes with info and descriptions that bring the reader to the time and put of her story and create each and every hero so real. From the very beginning, my heart was aching for both of the main characters, Lilly the young girl who was hidden in the attic by her parents and then sold to the circus and Julia, the teenager who was trying to survive on her own at a very young age. Their stories will have you turning the pages quickly not just to search what direction their lives take, but to search out how their stories might be connected.I suggest having a box of tissues nearby also!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kiss of the She-Devil []  2020-2-6 21:52

    I had seen M. William Phelps television present in which he works with a retired FBI agent to investigate murder cases and they have a connection to a convicted serial assassin serving out his sentence who provides perspective of the evil mind of a assassin to the investigation, so I was familiar with him. Also, I remember this case vaguely from coverage of the trial. The real story definitely gives a adultery a poor name. The other woman was so incredibly evil it is almost beyond belief, but it is consistent with what I remembered from TV interviews and coverage. The husband is so incredibly, well, I'm not sure what the proper word is for him--is he naïve? Was this his first attempt at adultery and he was so ignorant that he didn't know what the heck he had gotten himself into? Or was he as evil, criminal and manipulative as his mistress? This book provides perspective from the man's daughter which is very interesting and enlightening to learn the thoughts of a family member dragged into the whole sordid mess from a teenagers viewpoint. If you like real crime stories this is an interesting case. Its just so sad that there are so a lot of of these cases of adultery becoming such a mess that seemingly average people resort to murder to solve the issues their actions have caused in the lives of those involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kiss of the She-Devil []  2020-2-6 21:52

    I lived in Oakland County for a long time and know this zone very well. How tragic! I worked for the medical examiner at the time of this murder. Needless to say I witnessed a lot of tragic deaths via autopsies. Homicides and kid deaths were the hardest to handle. Mr. Phelps wrote very graphic and tragic info of this particular crime. How evil is the human race? Very! This is but one of thousands of domestic tragedies that occur every year. An innocent woman's life chop short because of the "fatal attraction" of one very disturbed woman. This does not dismiss the guilt of the husband that, also, betrayed her. I assume he still lives with his guilt. It's a riveting acc of an unnecessary murder. Don't ever think it couldn't happen in your neighborhood. We live in an ugly globe today, and this is just one of the atrocities that we read about, almost, on a everyday basis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kiss of the She-Devil []  2020-2-6 21:52

    As Gail's daughter Emily described the murderer, Donna, as "not even pretty", "creepy", I couldn't agree more. M. William Phelps has once again delivered an interesting, captivating novel on the life of Gail Fulton and her untimely death by the "3 ring circus" + 1 narcissistic disillusioned person. He does not fail to captivate his readers from the victim's family's point of view.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386