Read the other side of here reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the other side of here reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    3.5 stars. Overall I really enjoyed the story. I loved the Dear Diary like starts to the chapters. Luca & Sebastion are such a sweet couple. Alexander/Xan broke my heart. In the very short prequel, we obtain a glimpse of Xan meeting Luca while on a first date with Max. It also gave you the insight of how much Sebastion trusted & loved his husband and knew that he would never do something that wasn't agreed upon between the two of them. So at the beginning of this book, we begin 4 years into the future & Xan is in a really poor put with Max. We search out that Max has been abusing Xan in one form or other since almost the beginning of their relationship. We also see a possibility encounter with one of Max's exs who tries to warn Xan, but he doesn't take him seriously & blows the warning off. Luca ends up sending a text to a wrong number & it turns out to be Xan. We obtain to see these three obtain to know each other through group messaging & the boys learn about the abuse & allow Xan know that they are there for him. When a lab accident happens & Luca is injured, Sebastion is away at a conference & calls Xan to support take care of their dog. Xan ends up staying with Luca until Sebastion can create it home. They eventually support him move out of his situation and create him realize that they wish him. But after a night of sleeping in their arms, Xan leaves. While Xan is gone, he doesn't contact them. Here is where the story lost me & dropped this to 3.5 stars. I know that Xan was going through a lot and he required time to sort everything out, but radio silence didn't work for me. Xan is gone for an extended period of time, out of the country, & never has any true contact with them. He comes back to the states & doesn't contact them. He then leaves again, but this time he leaves them a note. We are now at the 90% tag and they are finally back together. At the 92% tag is the first time they come together & create love. Then we skip 1-1/2 years later & it's the epilogue. I wanted more page time with them as a unit. What we see in the epilogue I wanted more of that.I received a copy of this book from Romance Reviews, and this is my honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    Please be aware this book has possible triggers. The book is a long heartaching journey of self discovery and healing. Slow burn and low heat. (Still not together at 89%, just hugs, a kiss, friendship, and a few fantasy scenes, lots of heartache. Latest chapter and epilogue - Finally together)Husbands Luca and Sebastian have a special begin marriage. Luca has too much love to give to just one man. And Sebastian has his own past history. Both know what they want, there is never any cheating. When a missed connection opens fresh possibilities or a possibility at something new, something more permanent for the couple, they are begin to that possibility. Then years later a miss sent text, reopens that chance. Luca and Sebastian just don't wish to push for more than he was ready for. Thought hearbreaking to be patient and with a little chance it won't work out.Xan life is a mess, the past lose of his parents, a current toxic relationship, struggles with school. When a text sent to a wrong number started a tentative friendship he grabs at the possibility for someone to talk to so he didn't feel so alone. He just doesn't wish to inflict his issues on two people who don't deserve it. And then slowly falling for the two men who didn't deserve him ruining their loving relationship, created things harder. Things go from poor to worse, something has to give, Xan just can't search courage to create himself leave. His fresh mates offer Xan a put to stay until he finds his own. All three wanting to be together, but afraid that wasn't going to happen or be a possible. Then things obtain worse and Xan needs to take time for himself. Had to feel deserving of love and wanted to know if distance would change how he feels.A heartbreaking story, learning to survive for oneself before able to have not just a relationship, but a complicated relationship and feel like deserve it. Just not their moment in time. Will never reach the other side of here if you don't take the first step, and the first step is always the t a light read if that is what you are looking for. But if you like a heart twister and self discovery/healing, you will like the connection between these characters. Would I recommend this book? Yes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    Xan, Luca, and Sebastion's story was so much more than a romance. It was a story of overcoming abuse, of picking yourself up and moving on with life even when you're lost and confused and can't search your way. It was the bittersweet experience of meeting the right person at the wrong time and having to allow them go even if it breaks your heart in the process. It was a healing journey so deeply private that at times I shied away from the raw emotion and intimate knowledge these characters shared with me. It was captivating, emotional, intensely moving and yes, deeply romantic.Even though the physical connection between these three lovers was slow to catch fire, they more than created up for it with their immeasurable emotional bond. These men didn't need kisses or to convince me of their affection for each other--I could sense it in their casual touches, tender words, and desire to always do right by each other. I've used the word breathtaking to describe romances before, but as I immersed myself in Xan, Luca, and Sebastion's journey there were moments when I felt my breath catch in my lungs, as if holding back would somehow create my every hopeful desire come to life. Their romance wasn't a fairytale honeymoon, and Xan didn't obtain swept off his feet like some damsel in distress. These men supported each other through the harsh realities of life, and even when that meant letting go of each other so they could stand tall on their own, they did it. Somehow that separation created their eventual reunion even more attractive to me, and I'm not ashamed to admit that I teared up when the three of them were able to connect without limitations at last. Though I wanted to bask in their newfound happiness forever, it was also a relief to know that these men were through the most tumultuous part of their relationship. I'm always left with a full heart after reading Elaine's stories, but this one was something really special, and it's going to stay in my thoughts for a long time.**I voluntarily read an ARC of this book. This review expresses my honest thoughts and opinions.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the other side of here or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    ** spoiler alert ** When I finished this book, I required some time to think of how I should place my thoughts into words.On the one side it was an enjoyable book, on the other side it had too a lot of things that didn't work for me quite well. A 3 star rating still means I enjoyed it, and I think that's the overall feeling I'm left with after is was my first book by E.M. Lindsey and their writing style works for me. It was simple to read and because of that, I was pulled into the story easily. All three characters were nice and sweet, felt organic and true. There was quite some more angst than I expected with Xan's ex Max, but the struggles he went through were very realistically described and they created me feel for him. It's an understatement to say Max wasn't a very nice person to him, but all the excuses Xan used for staying around and being in a toxic, unhealthy relationship for so long, seemed legit. It was about his own insecurities (a lot of them caused by the method Max treated him) and finding his goal in life, the fear of claiming his spot in this universe.But what didn't work for me was the development of the relationship between the three men. It felt too much like insta-love (which really is my least favorite trope), because to me it seemed Luca's intense caring and worries came much too soon. Logically Xan cared for them, because he was in a poor put and Luca and Sebastion were there for him, trying to support him and comfort him. He required people like that in his life. But the falling in love was, again, too soon. I never felt like they had the deep connection I required for them to have to feel their longing and emotions.And at some point I had a feeling all the excuses about Xan not being ready and about Luca blaming himself for pushing Xan away, became a bit ere was very few time where they all three were together on page and making their relationship work. And even though there was a HEA, I wasn't left with a feeling of satisfaction.I have to admit that towards the end I did begin skimming a bit, because it took too long for them to obtain together and I wanted to be there already. And on another private note: I disliked Xan's name. Alexander would have been just fine for me. Or Alex. But I found Xan a bit annoying. Like I said, that's just , all in all, this story had it's amazing and it had it's bad. I don't regret reading it, it was still enjoyable, but with too a lot of things that didn't work for me personally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    I want I could conjure up the words to eloquently write this review. Words like amazing, wonderful, heartfelt, stunning, incredible, etc. None of those words seem to be enough for what this book is, for what it created me ca and Sebastion have been married for almost 20 years. From the beginning they have had an begin relationship, but they never knew they wanted a third for the long haul until a wrong text about a dog walker.Xan knows he is in a toxic relationship and wants to obtain out, but he doesn't believe he deserves better so he doesn't see the point. When he gets a text from a random number he says more than what he intends. It starts a series of messages between the couple and Xan that he isn't sure if her should allow them in on.I do not feel like anyone can go wrong when they decide to read an E.M. Lindsey book, but this one should jump method up to the top of the list. I knew from the small teasers that were shared I would love it, but I did not expect the amount of emotion that it would pour out of me. I ran through tissues and had to take mini breathing breaks promising myself that there would be a HEA.Tissues will be needed, a massive blanket, comfy clothes and even maybe some ice cream. All the feels will hit you. The amazing the poor and everything in between is on all 298 attractive pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    I knew going into this book that it would wreck me, both because of one of the characters’ relationship situation and how well Lindsey manipulates language to tug at the heartstrings. I did not expect two of the characters to share a related history—one in the immediate context and one further down the road, but still carrying the after-effects of trauma. Both men deserve love and healing, but they could not have found it in each other without the inclusion of the third, a man with so much overwhelming love to share.Half the magic is how Xan and Luca have encountered each other before. The possibilities inherent in that encounter were strong, but as painful as the next few years were for Xan, there’s no guarantee the happily ever after would occur if Xan had gone right instead of left that day. That Sebastion and Luca would have been at the same point in their relationship to offer more than what they could to each other.On the surface, this is a poly, queer, age-gap romance. Except the beauty of Lindsey’s storytelling ability is that the story encompasses so much more. A triad romance is already the story of four various relationships (between each partner and between all of them). This book is also about the relationship between Xan and Max, and even about the one between Sebastion and Rhys. This book might be a romance, but not every romance ends happily ever after without communication, honesty, and work—and sometimes timing. I could say that luck brings about the better timing at the end of this story, but it’s definitely still about making it work and taking the leap, and the effect is all the more satisfying because of it.I highly recommend this stand-alone novel to all fans of Lindsey’s writing, and any reader looking for a high-angst romance that is more than worth the ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    This book has EM Lindsey's attractive signature writing, amazing, loveable characters, and a storyline that will tug at all your heartstrings.I love M/M/M books. Begin relationships, throuples, and the like are my favorite type of books to read so I was really looking forward to this bastion and Luca have been together for close to twenty years, they have a bit of an unconventional relationship, one that doesn't always create sense to their friends. Through it all, they have each other. You can see that in the notes that they write to each other at the beginning of each chapter. The love between these two bleeds off the pages. It's that love that helps them fall for Xan. It might not create sense, but after reading the book, it's clear that if Luca and Sebastion didn't have the love and respect for each other that they do, they wouldn't have been able to begin their hearts to Xan.Poor Xan, my heart absolutely broke for him. He required so much love and care. I hated seeing what he was going through. I'm not going to lie, reading books with this topic matter is hard for me. Until you live it you don't actually know how hard it is to do what Xan ultimately does. He not only removes himself from a very difficult situation, but he opens his heart once is book hurt. A lot. Not only Xan's situation but the love these three have for each other. It's attractive and heartbreaking at the same time. Because sometimes love isn't enough. Sometimes love isn't forever. Sometimes it's not the right time for love. I really love how EM Lindsey handled all the turbulent emotions in this book. They could have easily created everything better by the power of love and the magic of , but they didn'@#$%!&? one thing I appreciate the most in their books. The emotions are true and they're not just brushed over.I loved every single second of this book. Luca, Sebastion, and Xan don't have a excellent relationship, they've all been damage and haphazardly place back together, but that's what makes them all amazing together. The Other Side of Here is a attractive book about love and life and finding yourself at the right time in the right place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    This is an wonderful story of the journey of healing, loving and changing of three men. Sweet Xan, lost his parents and then ended up in an emotionally hurtful relationship. Love how he met Luca and Sebastian who were an established couple that also really required that third to complete them! Sebastian had a poor past Ex as well so lots of healing here for all them. Unbelievable hero and relationship building! Luca and Sebastian were a very special couple. There is a what I will call a double Age Gap in this book as Sebastian is 52 and Luca is 41 and Xan in his mid twenties! I think this really adds to the depth of this relationship. I do not wish to give too much away as the reader really needs to take the journey with them! I received this ARC for my honest review. I recommend this book to those who of course love MMM relationships, damage comfort themes, and Age Gap romances with a lot of Heart and Love!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    When meeting the one timing is everything. In this story Alex aka/Xan meets Luc at the wrong time in his life. It takes journal entries sent by mistake to reset their journey. A preface story of Xan and his abuse partner Max is a must introduction to the main setting found in The Other Side Of Here. Luc and Seb have been married for 20 years and are deeply in love and open. They wish to connect with Xan but unsure how to go about helping Xan obtain out of his abusive four year relationship with the abhorrent Max, a user of men. This is a slow progression to the satisfying end of offering a refuge to Xan, an acceptance and recovery of Seb's own memories of abuse and healing, and the openness & happiness of Luc's personality that leads to a saving of three souls. The beginning of each chapter with the diary entries Xan makes that leads to both Luc & Seb doing the same is a special writing theme. I liked everything about this book and I'm willingly leaving an ARC review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Here []  2021-4-6 23:7

    The Other Side of Here starts off a bit hopeful, but quickly morphs into heartbreaking as you become aware of the real extent of Xan’s situation. It’s hard to watch what he goes through, not just as a reader but also from Luca and Sebastion’s points of view. While no one deserves to be treated as Xan was by Max, there is just something about him, with how sweet and giving he is, that just created it feel even more e story has plenty of angst, along with a powerful dose of longing and SO much want. You can feel it from all three men (Xan, Luca, and Sebastion), and given Xan’s cirtances and how long it takes to come to even the beginning of his resolution you’ll really feel it beautiful hard for the majority of the story. There is much healing needed, and Sebastion knows all too well that Xan’s cannot be prepared to become invested in their outcome, but also be prepared to wait. When they finally obtain there, you’ll have that sense of relief, but the author keeps things true by not just handing out a tie-it-with-a-bow finish; instead, we obtain to see that while things do end up happy, they still look more like real life (where not everything is always picture perfect). I’m just glad I got to see a satisfied Xan in the end.4 stars for The Other Side of Here, and be sure to read the content warnings before starting. Oh, and I wanted to add that I loved the short notes and letters the characters did at the begin of each chapter. They ranged from funny to sad, but added that additional touch to the story that created me feel even more invested in the characters. This story is meant for readers 18+ for adult language, content, and mentions of domestic abuse and violence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    A amazing read for young teens. Plot-driven, with such themes as political persecution, death of a loved one, prejudice, bullying, bravery. Written in the 90's, so the kids in it are not digital natives, but I think young people today can nevertheless identify with them. You might be offended if you're a Brighton and Hove Albion fan, as the squad is mistakenly called "Brighton Rangers"! Note though that football is NOT a major theme in the book, so this slip can no doubt be forgiven

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    Awsome book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    Since her father drowned while sailing a year ago, Cyan and her mother hardly speak to each other. There are too a lot of things Cyan can't ask her--why didn't her mother go out with her father that day, how did she meet someone else and fall in love again so quickly--for them to bridge the gap. Now they're back on the island of Curacao, where they've come every summer for years. Cyan's soon-to-be stepsister, Kammi, is also with them, and Cyan wonders if Kammi's presence will drive her further apart from her mother or support her search a method e Other Side of Blue by Valerie O. Patterson explores how things left unsaid in families can damage just as much as things said. It looks at how teens can work to search what's truly necessary to them and gain confidence in their own abilities instead of comparing themselves to the success of their parents. Set in a Caribbean paradise, The Other Side of Blue will have mother-daughter book clubs with girls aged 14 and up talking about the nature of friendship, parental love and responsibility, communicating hurt, and moving beyond tragedy. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    I finished Patterson's book latest night, and I really, really liked it. She captures Cyan's voice beautifully. One of the pet peeves I have about children's lit, middle grade, young adult (I'm hopeless when it comes to these categories!) is that too often the voice is simply a dumbed down ver of an adult voice. But Cyan's voice, her sensibility , is not dumbed down in the least. She's a complex hero with an artistic soul, which is something Patterson demonstrates again and again to the reader without telling us, which I also like. Her descriptions, the things that catch her eye, the emphasis she gives things all give shape to her sensibility in very subtle ways. I like the other characters as well--Kammi, with her stubborn streak underneath the dutiful, excellent exterior; the island boys with their immature posing; the mother, the artist, so distant but so domineering a presence; the sympathetic Martia. Everyone here is completely and well-drawn and very distinct from each e true strength of the book for me is the method Patterson's drawn the relationships--mother/daughter, sister/stepsister, friend/friend, surrogate mother/surrogate daughter, and eventually husband/wife. In every case, the relationship is never just one thing (one shade?) but is always a full range of emotions which ebb and flow, mix and mingle, blend and separate throughout. I like that that there are no "neat" resolutions here. Does Cyan like or dislike Kammi? Is she attracted to or repulsed by Mayur? Does she reconcile with her mother at the end or not? Like true life, these answers are never pat or staged. They remain complex and therefore somewhat unresolved, which is precisely the method they should be! I mean, after all, the whole point about the "revelation" of the father's affair with Pippa is that it (somewhat) makes ambiguous the one relationship in Cyan's life that was not, the one with her father. It was clear she idealized him, and her other relations suffered accordingly (especially the one with her mother). By having Cyan see him as the somewhat flawed man he was, and seeing the relationship of her parents in all its complexity (including a glimpse of her grandmother's relationship with her mother, which had a contributing factor in the marriage) was a unbelievable "resolution" in my view. This is, after all, one of the essential shifts we create when we grow up--learning that everything and everyone around us are far more complicated than we thought at first. Patterson's captured this shift in thinking beautifully.I also like the imagery here--the unbelievable descriptions of the place, the a lot of uses of color, the recurring metaphors (for instance the photo of sea glass is spot on--something that is initially broken that gets tossed and battered by the sea and over time becomes something truly beautiful). Well, it doesn't obtain much better than that.I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who appreciates a well crafted story about growing a small wiser through experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I remembered the storyline for this book I read back in Junior high, but not all the details. This story is too quick paced to be believable and I am not even going to obtain started on all the incorrect info of the justice system and medical care followup failures that happened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I read this book when i was in 6th grade and never got to [email protected]#$%! cause we moved. 20 years later I ran into a mate that was in that class and asked him did he remember the book, Lucky he did. I was so excited cause I always wondered man what happened.. lol anyway It's an perfect book..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

     I am unable to read this book because the first 17 pages were replaced with the latest 17 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    Valerie O. Patterson's The Other Side of Blue reads like a fine oil painting. From up close one is memorized by her attractive imagery and metaphors. Then if the reader steps back they can see the carefully crafted words and photos forming a picture, a story filled with hurt, loss, and unanswered questions. And finally if one studies this delicate portrait completely, they can search a glimpse of Cyan's glimmers of hope illuminated through the a lot of hues of blue.Obviously a lover of color and of words, Val has used both with the skill of a fine crater to paint the story of Cyan, a young teenage girl who is struggling with the loss of her father and her anger towards her mother. Her story takes put on the Island of Curacao in the Caribbean, which I've never been to in true life, but feel like I have because o the vivid descriptions throughout The Other Side of Blue. A amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    The death of a parent for a young person is never simple but Valerie O. Patterson has portrayed the topic in a sensitive and touching manner. Cyan - named for the color blue - has returned to the vacation island of Curacao in the West Indies. A year before, her father drowned in a boating accident so the trip holds a lot of painful memories and questions for Cyan. She and her mother are alienated, perhaps over the death of her father but also on the suspicion that the parents were having maritial difficulties even before the drowning. To complicate matters, Cyan must host her soon-to-be step-sister, Kammi who is the excellent small princess. Patterson has addressed a lot of common teen issues, such as, jealously between step-siblings, blended families, strained relations between parent and child, as well as the ever-present quest for answers to unanswerable questions. I believe that a lot of young female teens would have fun this book and it would be a amazing additon to school libraries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I only want this book was longer! It is a page turner for sure and keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I really liked this book. The reason that I gave it four stars was because I thought that this book should have had more chapters. It could have gone beyond what it did. It should have brought Stacy`s dad and sister into the ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I would consider reading this if you have a reluctant reader in the classroom or at home. Grabs your attention right away and keepit ellar protagonist!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Town []  2020-1-31 18:50

    Especially if you're various - this story perfectly captures that divide between loving your family and hating them at the same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    This book was so amazing..... So much suspense!The feelings and emotions naidoo described were so vivid and helped me visualizeA must read for allThese represent the book: 👳👮💂👨👩👧👦👵💀💼👡⛄🎅🚬📓📰📚⚽🍲🍍⛪✈🎫🆘🔜

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    It was an interesting story that created me feel very sad. It was well written, suitable for teenagers. It was very clear and all was explained with gentleness. Amazing for making kids think about the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    Cyan is a girl like any other, but she is grieveing overthe loss of her father. Every summer for as long as shecould remember, her family has traveled to Curacao forsummer vacation. Cyan doesn't see the reason of goingwithout dad; especially since it was the put he is summer, Cyan does not just need to grieve over herlate father but figure out why he was out to sea byhimself anyway. Cyan will not stop until she gets someclosure, even if it means she has to be nice to a certainisland native. This book is a mystery and an adventureuntil the very an is one of those characters thatyou just fall in love with. She's a girl who won't give into the crap her mother spits out but also a sweet girlwho's lost her dad. This book had a amazing story frombeginning to end, but the flow was a small slow. Thebeginning was a small dry, but I was still interested andkept reading. I think the ending could of been a littlestronger also, it kind of left me hanging. All in all thiswas a amazing book. I loved how Cyan finally saw that hermother wasn't the evil witch of the west but someone whowas burned. I would recommend this book to anyone wholikes a small mystery along with some tragedy ed by a young adult student reviewerFlamingnet Book ReviewsTeen books reviewed by teen reviewers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    This book is just above mediocre. I think The Other Side of Blue should be read. But I think because I read another related book that was actually outstanding in rapid succession with this book - this book pales slightly in comparison. That being said this book has some unbelievable imagery. I could clearly envision the zone in my head- even though I had never been there. I found the main hero of Cyan convincing for the most part. I can't quite place my finger on why she didn't completely victory me over- but there was just something a small awkward about her and her relations with both her mother and her soon-to-be step sister. What kept me reading was the mystery about Cyan's dad and the is book is one where I want I could give half stars- because I feel three stars is not enough but it is definitely not up to par with what I would consider a 4 star book. I would def recommend this book though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    This book has been one of my favorites for a few years now so when I noticed I could buy it for my kindle I was very excited... until I started reading it. The kindle edition of this book is FILLED with typos. Towards the middle of the book there seems to be at least one typo per page. I's become T's and any time there is a "ff" in a word such as "off" it becomes something along the lines of "oFlF". While the book is a captivating read the kindle edition just isn't worth the money. Buy the hard copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    This book arrived very quickly and in excellent e Other Side of Truth is a middle school novel which focuses primarily on a young girl and her brother who must flee Nigeria to escape what seems to be a murderous governmental plot to silence their father, who is a journalist intent upon the revealing the truth - and his comments upon - the corrupt Nigerian government. Sade (Shaday) learns that, while the truth is precious, it can also damage you. She has to decide what truths to tell and what to hold is is a beautifully written book, which I (a middle school English teacher) have fun reading and teaching, and which my students really like. It is full of action and emotion, and it communicates both globe problems that we wish our children to know about, as well as more private issues, such as bullying. I recommend it highly for children in 6th grade and up, as well as adults who don't mind an simple read. There is a murder, so this may not be appropriate for younger kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    Got for my middle schooler. Amazing read. He really enjoyed!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    Fifteen-year-old Cyan and her artist mother have returned to their annual vacation beachfront rental in Curacao where Cyan's father drowned the summer before. There is no tenderness nor kindness between mother and daughter who, since the drowning, are barely able to tolerate one another. Cyan's mother appears to be moving on with her life and is already planning her remarriage. Joining them for part of their vacation is sweet, beautiful, hopeful, thirteen-year-old Kammi who is to be Cyan's step-sister. The relationships between these three women are complicated, but very believable, and form the core of this book. This is a beautifully written story of forgiveness, reconciliation and recovery versus the backdrop of a summer paradise. Cyan reaches out and retreats, much like the tides, as she comes to terms with her father's death. Valerie O. Patterson writes descriptively of the colors of sea, sand and sky, and even more so about the colors of the heart. Parents should be aware "The Other Side of Blue" is written for young adults and has some content appropriate for that age group, but not for younger readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    really amazing book if you love mystery and romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I read this book when I was a teen loved It then and now

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    This book is about truths and lies and misery and tragedy. It's about the war between Nigeria and the coup and Sade and Femi are caught in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Truth []  2020-1-11 19:26

    I read it before and I reread and reread, its intriguing but sad, but I loved it. Papa was my favorite character!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    Cyan and her mother return to the island of Curacao one year after her father died in a mysterious boating accident on that island. The story explores the relationship between Cyan and her mother, who is also a painter. I wondered if the distance was made because of the accident, but was led to believe that it did not, although the true reasons were not ever explored.We don't know much about Cyan or the mother before the accident. I do feel like the hero of Cyan is fleshed out -- in the context of her year of grief, but also as a effect of the influence her mother had on her all these years.Kammi is the catalyst in the story. She comes to spend the summer with Cyan and her mother who is engaged to marry Kammi's father. Kammi is everything that Cyan is not -- beautiful, thin, proper, and interested in ose interested in these subjects might search this book interesting:*painting or art*those who feel misunderstood by their mothers*those who feel left out from society, due to being overweight or unconventional*those with a blended familyCONTENT alert: The majority of this book is appropriate for all ages (10 and up), but towards the end of the book, there is one stage involving two of the characters who are exploring the physical side of a relationship. It's fairly tame for 15 year olds (2nd base?), but it is explicit enough that I would not have my jr high daughter read I read this book, it didn't really draw me in completely. I believe that truly fine juvenile literature (4 or 5 star) would draw in anyone, regardless of age and target. However, this story, while relevant to teens didn't fit that bill for me, and I don't think that it would even appeal to ALL teens in the target range. This on top of the fact that so much is unresolved resulted in my 3-star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    "The Other Side of Blue", by Valerie Patterson, is the story of Cyan, a 15-year old girl working to resolve problems with the accidental death of her father the previous summer; the remarriage of her mother; and her own e book opens with Cyan and her mother making their annual pilgrimage to the island of Curacao. She waits with angst, as her soon-to-be step-sister, Kammi arrives on the island, with the purpose of getting to know her fresh if this stress is not enough, Cy and her mother are spending the summer in the same house where they spent the previous summer when her father died. The neighbor boy promises her secret info about her father's death if "she is nice to him" - which in the mind of a 15-year old boy involves a visit inside her e premise of the book contains some beautiful deep topics. The prose was very elegant, but the story arc was very flat because it really lacked any real surprises. I was able to deduce the plotline midway through the book. This is young adult fiction, but with the vignette of Cy allowing a boy to ly exploit her to gain info was too much for me to let my 12-year old daughter to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Blue []  2020-1-11 19:28

    I'm sad to say that I didn't have fun this book. I love the title, and I love the concept, and I love the question on the back cover - "What is the color for lost?" - but I did not love the book, and really didn't like the main character, an is the daughter of an artist (hence being named after the woman's favorite shade of blue). We learn rather far along in the book that her late father was an Italian language professor. Cyan and her (unnamed) mother have gone to the island of Curacao, as they have done every summer for a lot of years. But this year is different: the previous summer, Cyan's (unnamed) father drowned in a boating accident, and Cyan's mother is now engaged; her fiance's daughter, described as being everything Cyan is not (perfect, beautiful, pink) has joined them on the an is struggling not only with the loss of her father and the memories evoked by being on the island, but also with the distance she feels from her mother, the apathy she holds for Kammi, her step-sister-to-be, and the dislike she has for herself.Why I didn't like it: The book has all the elements for an uplifting, hopeful message, but ... nothing really happens and nothing was resolved. Cyan learns more about happenings leading up to her father's death, but not what happened; she begins to obtain along with Kammi, but not really; and there's no resolution with her mother. Also, Cyan is such a smug, angsty, selfish kid ("She's wrong. Martia is mine." she says at one point), I had a hard time having any sympathy for her. I thought perhaps she would become more sympathetic as the book wore on, but that was not the case. Also, all of the other characters are very poorly drawn and seem more like caricatures than actual people. I suppose part of that is because the book is written in first person, and Cyan is fully in her own head and has no sympathy for anyone else. I think the book would have worked better in 3rd e author did a amazing job describing the setting. I felt like I was on the beach, in the rented house, climbing the mountain, viewing the sea. Those photos were quite vivid and lovely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Amazing author; this book is suspenseful but appeals especially to girls, since it contains subjects that relate to them (female puberty; high school issues, etc.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Dark []  2020-1-14 19:39

    The book was well enough written for a younger adult, meaning somebody in their very early teens or perhaps even younger. I belong to a mystery book club and we all agreed it is not something for an adult.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    Zane has done it again! This book is indeed a page turner! Once I read the first page, I was hooked. I could not place my kindle down! It was amazing reading a book about a determined, professional, sensitive, brother, who consistently displayed his deep respect and love for his woman. I loved the fact that Tevin, never gave up on Jemistry. This guy was never afraid of what others thought of his sensitive side. I enjoyed the begin communication between them. Neither one of them was looking for love when they met.I would highly recommend this book!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    I bought this book as a gag bonus for a friend. Upon reading it, I have now seen the light. This book is hilarious and quite predictable. I don't think I have laughed so hard ever, some of the paragraphs I cannot take seriously what so ever. Woman apparently love this kind of stuff, and I have yet to master the art of attracting a mate. Maybe I should read more of this kind of stuff...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Wall []  2020-1-10 19:26

    The Schwartz family were strangers in a strange land. They had arrived from East Berlin with “just the things in [their] suitcases and the clothes on [their] backs. The street had been a long winding one and a strange one at that, but strangers smiled and welcomed them warmly, even giving them money. For his mother, this put they now found them in had once been a “strange, forbidden world,” one she’d always wanted to see. Simon’s parents had fallen in love at the University of Erfurt in 1974, where he would later teach. They were so different, but it didn’t seem to matter to them. Simon’s father’s family were “from a model sot family” while his mother’s was mon’s father was simply not prepared to head to the West, because when he was growing up, he loved his life. Frau Reidel, a teacher of the Pioneers would scream out to them to salute the flag. Simon’s father would scream back, “For peace and som! Be prepared!” Leaving behind his life would be difficult, but later things began to happen that would change his mind. By that time, Simon had been born and the changes convinced them that moving away from East Berlin in 1984 was best. The job at the University was gone and the Stasi stepped up the pace harassing them more and more each on the other side of the Berlin Wall worked well for the Schwartz family. Young Simon was blissfully unaware of the change and “hardly noticed the differences from my life in West Berlin” from that at his grandparent’s house. As he got older, he began to message things. Simon had two sets of grandparents, but why couldn’t he go to both? It was very strange and he “realized at a young age that no everyone was as free to move around” as he was. His mother drew a map for him so he could see where everhyone lived. Grandma and grandpa were not in the small circle she drew around Berlin like they were, but why? Why couldn’t his grandma come to pick him up at nursery school like the other boys grandmas did?This is a fascinating award-winning story of a family who emigrated from the DDR to West Berlin. This graphic novel, presented in black and white panels, is the autobiography of Simon Schwatz. He tells it from the vantage point of a young kid trying to understand his put in the world. Simon’s world, of course, is a various one from either that of his parents or grandparents. In this memoir, we learn about the family’s life and what led them to emigrate. For young readers, it’s an opportunity to not only learn about Simon’s life, but also about the political situation at the is graphic novel makes it simple to understand the situation as his father and mother started out on opposite sides of the fence as it were. The black and white panels are indicative of thid dark time in history. This book would be an perfect stepping stone for students to learn about and research the time. First published as “drûben!,” it won the ICOM Independent Comic Price in the Outstanding Scenario category. In the back of the book is a map of Germany (1961-1989) with an inset of East and West Berlin, a Timeline of the Berlin Wall, and a is book courtesy of the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Wall []  2020-1-10 19:26

    This is one family's story of escape from an insane and terrifying situation as seen through the eyes of the author as a young child. This book illustrates the human experience of an historical record that most of us have only read about. Mankind as a whole cannot afford to forget these happenings and how true people and true lives were impacted and shaped by ank you, Mr. Schwartz!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    The Other Side of the Sky is the first book in a YA duology. The book is sort of a combination between fantasy and science fiction. But the first book is much more heavily e book alternates between the female and male POV. The female 1st person POV is Nimhara/Nimh (she is around 18). The male 1st person POV is mh is a goddess from a globe that uses magic. North is a prince of a technological town above the mh's globe is very complex and very fantasy based (with goddesses and prophecies). North's globe was wonderful and featured bloodmothers, heartmothers and kings. I found North's globe so much easier to main problem is that I loved one globe so much more than the other. And the globe that I loved was the one barely featured.I want more than anything that the main focus of the book was Alciel (the land on the other side of the sky). I honestly adored this globe and am very hopeful that we will obtain to see more of it in the next e book ends with a very powerful cliffhanger ending. There is a bit of romance in this book. But not very much IMO. I was actually a bit confused by the romance. Due to cirtances Nimh and North were not really able to be together. But I'm not sure if I am supposed to feel like they are soulmates. Because to me there was not enough of a connection to even think of them as a e ending of The Other Side of the Sky was wonderful (5 stars). And I think that it sets up the next book to be very good. I absolutely loved the latest chapter. And I want that this part had been the main story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    Love this album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Wall []  2020-1-10 19:26

    The everyday life of totalitarian regime country inhabitants is difficult to fathom for western people. This book illustrates very well the differences among generations and even inside generations, regarding their freedom e graphics bring some light to the story and the black & white choice adds to the seriousness of the situation. The small boy is given an interesting voice, as the is is a very amazing book that I would recommend to people interested in the eastern communist country life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    I am a fan of Zane but this book read to me like it was written by a college student with no true concept of the dimension of people. I found the dialogue very wonderful for older highly educated specialists and so I couldn't really obtain into the characters. I would not recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    This book was awesome i lives Jemistry And Tevin; I Can Relate To This Book Minus The Abuse When You Wish To Give Up On Love. My Partner Had Me Read This And It Was Awsome. As For Jemistry Former Roommate She Required Support And Im Glad She Got It And Her And Jemistry Can Be Mates Again But Hold Her At A Distance. i Was Suprised Jemistry Opened Her Door To The Ex Wife But They Handled That Well Want More People Now Can Do That. As For The Other Couple Tevin Bestfriend and soon to be ex wife i didnt like him very much but im glad that jemistry said something it was about time. Amazing Book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    Zane has done it again with The Other Side of the ow! Zane portrayed each hero so that readers could relate. I'm sure we all have been in a situationship of our own at one point in or another. Zane focused on a lot of relationship problems throughout this book and ups and downs that come with these relationships I.e. Friends, lovers, ex's, husbands, wives, or prospects. It's an perfect read where you will obtain some of everything from drama, hot , to romance and you might even learn a small something about yourself along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    Cd was as described...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    1996 was the busiest point of Scarface's career, the peak of his commercial popularity and the height of Rap-A-Lot Records' Houston dominance. In '96, Scarface dropped the perfect Geto Boys album The Resurrection, followed by numerous guest appearances, and was hard at work on his fourth solo album Untouchable which dropped in early 1997. In between all this, he found time to form a Rap-A-Lot supergroup of sorts in Facemob, which released their debut in '96. With all the amazing melody coming from Rap-A-Lot at this point, "The Other Side of the Law" was not promoted well and came and went quickly, despite it being a amazing album. Facemob consists of five rappers: DMG, an already established MC with a amazing solo album under his belt (Rigormortiz) who had gained notoriety for his collabos with Scarface and Geto Boys; Devin the Dude, a former Odd Team member who would go on to much greater success as a solo artist (check his debut The Dude or sophomore effort Just Tryin' ta Live); a female rapper named 350; and two unestablished rappers in Smit-D and Chi-Ray. This is sort of a diverse group. DMG is related to Scarface, both in style and substance. Devin the Dude is well known for his amazing sense of humor, but is completely humorless here. As in any supergroup, each rapper sort of sacrifices something to be part of the group. Devin gives up any element of humor, DMG has to share the mic with the inferior 350 (she doesn't appear as much as the other rappers though). Basically, the rappers all kind of perform in a style that sounds like Scarface's solo work. The rappers paint dramatic profiles of a depressed ghetto, they tell stories of crime and saddening violence, and they can also play up their emotion for a slow track ("Millions" and "The Other Side" are undeniable classics). This album is related to Untouchable especially musically. The production is appealing yet monotonous, and some of the beats sound similar. They have a grimy bass-heavy sound with electronic instrumentals, the melody is dark and fitting of the lyrics. Producers contain the legendary Houston vets N.O. Joe and Mike Dean. The album is consistent, but it's almost redundant at points. "The Other Side of the Law" is a amazing album of the Rap-A-Lot glory days, and fans of Scarface should be sure to pick this ter a piano solo intro (much like on Face's solo albums), the album begins with "In the Flesh," a amazing first track because it's kind of introductory, each member gets a verse to kind of represent themselves. The beat is dark and it's a beautiful solid start. "Bank Robbery" is a nice track, each rapper plays one of a gang of criminals and work a running commentary of a bank robbery, it's beautiful cool. "The Coldest" is beautiful cool, it sounds a lot like "In the Flesh" though. The best song on the album follows, the classic "Millions." This song is a dramatic, slow, deep, and mournful song the likes of which Scarface perfects. Over a attractive sad beat, the verses chronicle the trials and tribulations of a self-guilty criminal. This song is perfect and very well done, each rapper holds their weight. "Tales From the Hood" is another hard and dark song with nice verses. "Respect Rude" is a decent track too, but it sounds related to a lot of the songs on the album and is a small monotonous, and I'd say exactly the same of "Stay True." "The Other Side" is a highlight, very well-produced and featuring a amazing concept, hook, and verses by all parties. The average "Black Woman" precedes the very amazing "Rivals," a song which was featured as a gift track on Untouchable (poor marketing considering Scarface's album came out almost a year after Facemob's). This album has amazing lyricism, hook, and production, it's a highlight. The outro (sounds same as the intro) closes the disc."The Other Side of the Law" is definitely an album that fell through the cracks, and I think that were it more well-known it would be held in higher esteem. Any group with two rappers the likes of Devin the Dude and DMG is quite noteworthy, especially when one of the greatest rappers of all time, Scarface, is involved. This is solid, dark Houston hip hop and it's fun to listen to. It's not a totally awesome album by any means, but fans of Scarface's solo work will definitely have fun this because it sounds very similar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    Amazing album, need to produce.a part 2 to this fine work of a master piece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    Oh. This feeling is what I wish every book that I read to give me. It is the feeling of perfection. The feeling of such happiness. This book was everything to me. Every part of it was perfect. I loved it beyond words. Okay, that cliffhanger ending killed me, but gosh, how amazing it all was. Sigh. Five stars for this most precious book.I knew I had to read this book when it was first announced. I very much love both authors and their books, together and not. Their writing is so good. Was even more excellent in this. It looked fully gorgeous. And sounded so very good. And I am so satisfied that I read this precious thing. Because it meant the very most to so, how gorgeous is that cover? I do not think I have ever seen prettier people on book covers. Nimh and North are so stunning. And I simply can't wait to own this book for myself when it comes out in just a few short weeks. I was not really prepared for how epic and awesome this book would be. I was not at all prepared for how much I would love both characters and how stunning the romance would be. Without them ever touching each other. Oh. This story was the best. And the worst at times too. I am not sure I can survive waiting for book two after that rude ending. I must know what happens next. Okay, it ended beautiful amazingly. But so very evil. Book two will be wonderful and I cannot wait for it. This globe made was so very well written and so ere is so much I want to share about this book. And even more I will forget about, which is always the case with books that I love. But where do I even start with this book. I shall not write too much about it, as I do not wish to spoil anything. This book tells the story of Nimh and North. He is a prince living on a floating island in the sky. His people have been there for so long, never looking down at the globe below. Nimh lives on the ground, as the one living divine goddess among her people. They are so very different.And reading about them meeting each other was the very best. Eee. But first, getting to know them both. They were so interesting and exciting to read about. North lived in the sky, where his people had all kinds of technology available. Almost like our world. Nimh lived on the ground, with no technology. With magic instead. Which was method better, in my opinion, haha. This book starts with learning a bit about them both. And then North falls from the sky in his self-made glider. Someone had sabotaged him; he couldn't ey end up meeting because Nimh travelled at that time to look for a miracle to save her people. And she ended up finding North. And oh, how I loved these two the most. They were with each other for beautiful much the whole book. And it was so good. No stupid drama, no hurt, no pain. Okay, a small hurt, but it was so good. I so loved how they began having feelings for each other. And how this was impossible between them. It was beyond good. I shipped them more than anything. And their growing friendship was the mh has been the living goddess for her people since she was five years old. When the divinity chose her as its vessel. Her globe have always had one divine person. A person who could support everyone. The latest one was a healer, able to heal anything. And now there is Nimh. She cannot do a single thing. Which is not usual. And her people are losing faith in her. Which was the worst to read about. Nimh was lonely. Shut away. Being a goddess meant she could never touch anyone. Ever. Or she would lose her divinity.And then North was there. And all she wants is to touch him. He is various to her, as he is the only one she has met that does not know her. And he falls for her quickly too. And just. Sigh. I wanted these two together so badly. Yet they never touch in this book. Not once. It was still the most excellent thing. And I so hope there will be touching in book two. And lots of it, haha. Anyway. I have not mentioned the plot much. And I will not. Nimh is searching for a miracle. North is searching for a method home. At least, he was at ere was so much that I loved about this book. I'm not mentioning all of it. But gosh. There was magic. And it was so awesome. There were other amazing characters too that I loved. This book has a unique cat through this whole story. The bindle cat. And oh my gosh, this was the most adorable thing. I have a cat myself and always love reading about them. Sigh. This cat was most adorable and cute. And helped them a few times too. He was method too precious. And still alive, ha. I loved this book with the whole of my of the things that I loved very much about this story was how diverse it was. The main characters are not white. And I loved that. They were also not all straight, and I loved that too. There are mentions of the main boy having planned on making a three with his two best friends, boy and girl. Which wasn't possible because of him being royal. But they all wanted it. And I loved how this was included in this book, how it was normal in this world. To me, at least, all was written well and this book included so much. All so e Other Side of the Sky was everything I wish in a book and so much more. It took me completely by surprise. I knew I would love it, but I did not know that I would love it this much. I did not know how much the story would mean to me. How exciting I would search everything to be. Just, gosh. This book was every bit of excellent to me. And I so cannot wait to know what happens next. Largest thank you to the publisher, HarperTeen, for the auto-approval on Edelweiss. So glad that I read this precious book. You need it too.---This review was first posted on my blog, Carina's Books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.I quite enjoyed the blend of fantasy with science fiction. I particularly enjoyed the ongoing discussions of what is magic versus what is science. So a lot of YA books walk that very weird line of science fiction and fantasy. So what exactly makes it one or the other? [There’s no true respond but the closest we came is: science, you can explain; magic, you can’t.]The story is just a delightful blend of so a lot of things I have fun in books: a chosen one forced into a situation not of their choosing; a globe of technology versus a various and perhaps more primitive world; fate, destiny, & prophecy; an isolated person (royal figure or religious figure) finally meeting someone who truly knows and understands their struggle. The story really explores those ideas in a unbelievable ie and Meagan sure know how to write a story. I quickly grew to love & care for North and Nimh. I understood their struggles and cheered for them even though that meant some opposition to the other party. There’s no method for them both to e story is perfectly plotted. Each side of the story kept moving along at a amazing pace. I didn’t grow bored or annoyed at having to switch perspectives. The revelations towards the end were a amazing method to elevate the stakes in a method I hadn’t seen coming.Even though the story was pitched as a forbidden romance, I didn’t search the romance to be overbearing as a non-romance fan. Sure, there’s some tension between our leads but nothing over the top or ridiculous. It’s realistic & relatable. North & Nimh found someone who truly understands their struggle. Who wouldn’t wish to keep on to that?The bottom line? Delightful read. Don’t allow the romance hold you away if it’s not your thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    It came quickly, and was in amazing condition. The audio disc sounded amazing from beginning to the end. I'm satisfied with my purchase of this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVED this book. I started reading it on a Sunday and was finished with it on Friday. I didnt wish to place it down at all but i had to do adult items during the week lol. GREAT read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Wall []  2020-1-10 19:26

    The books is fine... but it got here with the cover ripped 😒 Beautiful annoying, but I don't have time to return it for a another one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    I've read everything these two have jointly written and not once have I been less than completely satisfied. This book continues that streak with a solidly made world, appealing characters, plenty of action and dandy twists. All of that blended together with one heck of an ending leaving me (and I suspect most other readers) drooling for what comes next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    I was provided an Advanced Reader Copy from Netgalley and the Publisher for an honest e Other Side of the Sky is a captivating, quick paced, action packed story that drew me in from the very first page. Squad Kaufman and Spooner have yet again managed to build a special globe with relatable and very likable characters. I eagerly anticipate the next ince North is from a series of islands suspended in the sky with the use of a technology that none of his people understands anymore. As with most royalty, North wars the constraints his mothers have imposed on him. With the support of his friends, North sneaks out and participates in races with a glider he built from scratch. During one of his flights, North's glider malfunctions, sending him over the edge of his globe and crashing to the planet mhara is a living goddess residing in a temple on the planet below North's islands in the sky. Her people appear to be much more primitive, using magic, telling prophesies, and worshiping divinity. Nimhara believes that someday a star will fall from the sky bringing forth the end of her current society so that they may all be reborn into a better world. Could North be that star?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Wall []  2020-1-10 19:26

    This is a amazing graphic novel about the divide between the powers of West and East Berlin through the eyes of a child. I have this book in German, but wanted to use it for classes here in the U.S.. My only problem with the book I received is the seller I bought it from chop out one of the pictures in the book; this particular photo depicted the mother experiencing assault. Of course this book is not for ALL ages, but an adult should know who to present this book to based on doing research ahead of time and knowing their audience. However, I’m not satisfied that this copy was ruined because someone was unhappy with the image; they should have left the decision up to the person purchasing the book if they wanted to let others to see it or if they wanted to search a method to censor the image; I am now forced into this decision and if one of my students chooses to read this and finds this page, I have to explain to them why someone chop a piece out of the book, which I search even more troublesome. I now wasted cash on this copy when I could’ve had a fresh copy for the same price. Please read the book before using it in a classroom or other setting where the situations depicted could upset others and also search a method to have a productive conversation about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Wall []  2020-1-10 19:26

    My granddaughter spent five weeks in Berlin this summer and loves graphic narratives. So this was the excellent book for her upon her return to the US. The story is told from a young person's perspective: life in the GDR, the communist sector of Berlin; the effort of the family to relocate to the West; and the consequences of those efforts. A fine book to introduce the history of Berlin in the post WWII era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Wall []  2020-1-10 19:26

    Not exactly a riveting story but a decent read nonetheless. A memoir of the author's parents and what life was like for them in East Germany, especially during the early 1980s after they had applied for permanent relocation to the West. This is not a topic written about in kidslit very often but such an necessary one today. We must not forget the history of Som and Communism, how the first is required to turn into the other, the tragic loss of freedoms, and the persecutions people lived through during this era of the Cold War. I certainly enjoyed the art, which is in b/w, despite the cover illustration; it quite reminded me of Zeina Abirached's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    This was a amazing read. Winsome hero was a small wonderful for me; but I do believe love can heal. Tevin is a man most women say they want, but to not appreciate him or recognize him when he is in front of them. Lol Tevin was almost perfect; most do not come in the pack with all those traits in 1 package. This definitely is for amazing conversations. We read it as part of our book club, can't wait to discuss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    A amazing read for the month of March. Don’t wish to give away any information. But this is a amazing read for the single female who have given up on me. There are still amazing men out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Other Side of the Volcano []  2020-6-26 19:26

    I bought the original cassette tape from the musicians when they were playing on the steps of a building on Wall St. - now, after visiting Peru, I purchased the CD ( 20 years later!) the melody is timeless and wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    awsome tunes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    scarface place this group together includes rap a lot frontman devin the dude and dmg this whole cd was tight back in 96 and too poor this group did'nt blow up but it was another underrground classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    Kaufman and Spooner create magic AGAIN. This book combines fantasy and sci-fi and I couldn't be happier.I've had a really hard time sitting down to read this year because *waves hands around at 2020* of all this, but that wasn't a issue with The Other Side of the Sky. The issue was me staying up method too late several nights in a row and being tired at work the next day. Man, that was an perfect problem. The method they take 2 characters from very various worlds and have them interact and learn and survive was frustrating at times because of how true it was. The disbelief and confusion and misunderstandings were so relatable and frustrating that it created me wish to reach into the book and shake the characters until they saw sense. I wouldn't have wanted them to be any other method though, since this is exactly what created them feel so real. And what created the pay-off soooo worth it."I'm still here with you," I murmur. The words are soft, but they're enough to create her focus on my face again. "I'm real. And you've taught me to believe, Nimh. In things I can't see or touch. But more than anything, I believe in you. And I'm real."I had a feeling I knew where this story would end, and I was partially right, but knowing something is so various from seeing it executed so perfectly on the page that it makes your heart explode.I definitely connected more with North, because his position is significantly more relatable: coming from a society based on science, but not knowing exactly how everything works, being dropped into a society where everything works by magic and living gods. I would have a difficult time adjusting to that and not questioning everything too. But Nimh is beautiful much what you expect from someone raised to be a humble god personified, and would be the kind of person I would e's like a torch in the darkness, pushing away the fears and horrors of the night.And we can't forget the bindle cat! Showing up and leaving at his own whims, it is amazing to know cats in this globe do not let stupid humans to boss them around.I am usually a character-driven reader, and these characters are awesome, but the globe is just AMAZING. So complex and beautifully described that I felt like I was there. (This was enhanced when I went outside, because the river-sea is just as humid as Florida in the summer apparently.) Overall, if you loved Kaufman and Spooner's These Broken Stars (Which is just, gah, SO GOOD), then this is right up your , if someone can obtain me some magic or device that could send the sequel back in time into my greedy small hands, I would be very grateful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    Prince North has spent his entire life in the sky. He lives in a town that is suspended high in the air by engines whose science has long been forgotten. Nimh lives on the surface and is the living goddess to her people. It has been 10 years since she was chosen and she still doesn’t know what her role will be to her people. North and Nimh are linked through a prophecy that is hard to interpret. They can’t deny that there is a connection between them, but since no one can touch Nimh (without her losing her powers) they are pulled between saving their people or following this connection. Will these two young people be able to unravel the prophecy in time?The Other Side of the Sky is the first book in a series with the same title. The story is told in alternating voices, but I didn’t have any problem following along with the transitions. There is action and adventure in this sci-fi fantasy and readers will also have fun a small bit of romance thrown in. Since this is the first book in a series, there are a lot of unanswered questions, yet readers will still finish the book feeling happy with this portion of the story. Kaufman and Spooner weaved their styles together in a smooth method and readers won’t even message two various authors. I enjoyed this book and can’t wait for the next installment to be released.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Wall []  2020-1-10 19:26

    Being watched, being followed, never feeling free. How can you explain to a child? How can you reconcile with grandparents who are Real Believers?Excellent book. My children are high scho down to fifth grade. I highly rent note: one instance of the secret police ly groping the woman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    This was a amazing book. Gave various views on various kinds of relationships. Some of the things we do in the dark eventually catch up with us as we seen with Floyd. He had a amazing woman and figured he could do whatever he wanted. Was so amazing to see 2 amazing people like Jemistry and Tevin search true love in other since they had been through so much. Even Winsome found someone and ended up getting counseling for her issues. Well written book. 5 stars for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zane's The Other Side of the ow []  2020-1-18 20:33

    This book has reinforced my hope, my faith that there is a real love out there for me. It was definitely an eye opener on a lot of topics. One being why some think the method that they do and why some feel their ridiculous actions are justifiable. I'd recommend this book to anyone that has given up on love; to anyone that are stuck in a "generational curse" of believing dysfunctional, disrespectful and/or abusive relationships are "normal;" to anyone who enjoys a special love story as much as I do. I gave it 5 stars because it is a well-written story with a message. It's more than erotica, it makes you think while being entertained. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    This is the worst sounding cd i have ever owned. The poorest quality sound to ever come through my speakers. In addition to it sounding as if it's playing in slow motion, it has static all through it. I don't recommend anyone to buy this. The only thing this cd is useful for is to be used as a mini frisbee. So very dissatisfied with this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side Of The Law [Explicit] []  2020-2-2 22:26

    Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    This book was a pleasant surprise. The cliffhanger was a bummer but I am looking forward to the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    The Other Side of the Sky is a brilliant mashup of both Sci-Fi and Fantasy. In this book, you follow two POVs: Nimh's whose is filled with magic, and North's whose is filled with science and technology. Now I am not generally a large fan of multiple POVs as it can be either confusing, difficult to follow, or feel unnecessary, but I think the authors did a unbelievable job of balancing the two. It never felt like they overlapped and I think the use of the two POVs is honestly part of what created this book amazing. Instead of only getting to see the magic or science POV, we obtain to see both sides as well as the two characters slowly accepting and understanding the other's worldly views.Overall, this is was a really enjoyable read! I love Sci-Fi and Fantasy novels so to have one that combined both into one was beautiful exciting. This book is package full of action, excitement and of course romance! There is definitely a star-crossed lovers/forbidden romance feel to this book that I just couldn't obtain enough of, so if you're into that you will definitely wish to pick this book up. I definitely recommend this book and am itching for the next one now, and yes it does end on a cliffhanger :)Disclosure: I received a complimentary eARC at no cost from the author/publisher for review purposes. I'd like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for providing me this opportunity!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of the Sky []  2020-9-21 19:16

    The Other Side of the Sky series provides a much stronger premise and storytelling than the somewhat disappointing Unearthed series. As with previous books, we have two main protagonists, one male and one female, and will follow their POVs throughout the series. The story concept is a blending of science fiction and fantasy with plenty of action driving the ory: Nimh is the recent incarnation of her people's goddess - at a young age she had to assume the mantle of divine and, through her magic, support save them her people from the ravages of the world. North, meanwhile, lives in the technology driven cloud cities. He is the son of the King and is being groomed to lead his people. But all he wants to do is take a glider down to the forbidden groundlands - even knowing there is nothing down there but monstrous creatures. But with one impulsive action, North will search himself stranded on the ground and saved by e worldbuilding is interesting here. Neither the technological sky cities nor the fantasy-like setting of the ground people know each other exists. Their shared mythology, however, is that at one time in the past, the people went up to the clouds to obtain away from a risky 'mist' that was problematic on the ground. But so much technology was lost on both ground and sky over time - leaving the ground people to develop magic to deal with the mist and the sky cities to desperately attempt to fix, if never to recreate, the technology that keeps them afloat.Female magic user Nimh ended up being far more interesting than standard YA protoganist North. Nimh is allowed to be lonely, introspective, quiet, yet effective. North, on the other hand, ends up acting and talking like a 2020 teen (likely to create him sound like someone from a technologically driven society). As such, he felt like he had much less of a personality and was more like a construct than a person. I ended up reading through North's POVs much more quickly and with much less interest than Nimh's. Where Nimh is all responsibility, North is all rebelliousness and impulsiveness. It was hard to like e story has plenty of action and the authors do a amazing job of giving some twists and surprises along the way. This story feels much more developed than previous efforts by the pair and the logic holes aren't as noticeable. But at the same time, it still feels very much like an Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner collaboration. Reviewed from an advance reader copy provided by the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of an Adoption []  2020-1-22 20:7

    WOW... Shocking story, I never imagined such a little girl could cause so much evil to this mother and her little children.Having her place in this center for kids with issues is the best she has been able to do.I recommend this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of an Adoption []  2020-1-22 20:7

    Thanks to #netgalley for the ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review. This book was a disturbing yet insightful look at what can go wrong with an adoption. Single Maria desperately wants a child. So she adopts Alba from Russia...at first its everything she hoped it would be. Then she meets the love of her life and has kids with him. Her birth kids are in danger, it becomes evident to Maria that there are reasons why adopting Alba was able to be done so quickly and with minimal fuss. Alba is not the angelic small girl she had hoped for. This book left me having to take a few moments after I had finished it, its a disturbing read. The author says how this ordeal has cost her relationships with family members and friends. This saddened me, whilst I didn't agree with some of her choices...hiding what Alba was doing from her partner...leaving Alba alone with her other kids even after she knew they were in danger....it would have been an poor thing for her to live through and the stress of it all would have understandably impaired her judgement and decision making at the time. I am sure she has regrets but she did the best that she could at the time and it really isn't for others to judge her when they haven't been in her exact situation. A haunting, thought provoking read. #mariafranco #tea_sipping_bookworm #litsy #amazon #kindle #goodreads #newenglishteas English breakfast #splosh mug

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of an Adoption []  2020-1-22 20:7

    What an incredibly brave soul! Parenting come in all shades. Maria’s story of hope, determination, and unconditional love is a tribute to all mothers. She has endured a parent’s worst nightmare and created decisions that no parent ever expects to have to make. This is a amazing read and opens your eyes to the difficulties that you may not know exist in a neighbor’s life. A lot of hugs to Maria Franco!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side of Hell 2 []  2020-7-27 20:1

    This book includes a dozens of cases that create for interesting reading. Some of them I had never heard of, but I was familiar with the Houston case of the two young girls taking a shortcut to obtain home before curfew. They never got home at all. It was satisfying to learn of their killers' fates.If you're a real crime fan and have not yet discovered Lee MacDonald, it's time to obtain started reading his real crime cludes photos.49

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    I paid for it and its not even loading id like a refund please.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    Brilliant android game hold them coming

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    Nice small android game to pass the time, love Boris!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    I've been playing this android game on and off for a few days and loved it. Just now, all of a sudden the android game crashed, I seem to have lost all android game progress and now adverts pop up every 3 seconds. It's also asking me to unblock the android game when I've already paid for the full game. Please fix I'm extremely disappointed in the wasted time I've spent previously.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    I think this is amazing for a 5 -7 year old age group, it tells you every single to move to create even in ho scenes. Oh and I was playing on hard mode. Would love my cash back for misrepresentation, should have been under the category of children's android games

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    I buy a ton of Salwar apps...but the latest two won't work no matter what I try...1000 doors and the other side both just junk. Why can't you go back to the developers who can do this the right way..so frustrating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    This looks like a android game I would have fun if I could play it. Bought the full ver and the screen is zoomed in so close I can only see a portion. Please support fix or provide a refund. Will similar based on a response.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    I cant even begin the game.. i can only see about 1/4 of the picture on my phone and the rest is just chop out completely

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    Since I reinstalled it onto my fresh smartphone I can't obtain passed the the door where I picked the torch up and lite all of them when the doors begin I tap to go through it go's off and sends me bk to my desk top not satisfied .........I seemed to play it ok on my old smartphone before it broke and loved the android game plz support ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    I love the graphics and the intrigue of the story line. I really love the cat too. Two thumbs up!! Satisfied satisfied customer : )

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    So far so good, need to play more but wouldnt mind seeing more android games from this company

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:5

    I bought the android game but it said something so I can't play the android game sought it out creators

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:6

    Amazing game, but can be glitchy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:6

    OK so far

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:6

    Amazing story and graphics are amazing played it twice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Side: Tower of Souls [App]  2019-10-11 14:6

    Very amazing storyline an graphics

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386