Read the perilous road reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the perilous road reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


    Add your opinion on the perilous road or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    Chris Brabson is an eleven year old boy who hates the "Yanks" that are moving into his zone around his mountain Tennessee home. He is from a loving family that kindly to the Northern soldiers who take their meal and even their old mule. He idolizes a shiftless older man who influences Chris to test to become a powerful Confederate supporter and leads him into risky situations. When Chris learns his older brother is joining the Northern Army, he is devastated and feels he is betrayed by his brother and family. As conflict between the Brabson's neighbors escalate, Chris, encouraged by his sneaky mate is encouraged to stand up to the Yankee soldiers to prove he is a real Confederate. When Chris sees a large wagon squad of supplies heading towards Chattanooga, he tells his mate who pretends to be a spy, to alert the Confederate Troops hoping every man will be killed. Then he discovers his brother, Jethro has been assigned as a driver in a wagon squad to haul supplies. Chris rushes to the Yankee campground in find of his brother. But instead of an hated enemy, he realizes the soldiers and drivers are mostly nice people. Before the next day is over, Chris is caught on the battlefield and discovers the real horror of war. This happening is a coming of age story the will change his live forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    This is one of my favorite historical fiction books for children. It allows thereader to experience not only the Civil Battle from a child's point of view, but also the poverty mountain folk endured while living off the land. I love how a lot of of the chapters end with a "cliff-hanger" - one literally! If you are looking for a book to read aloud to a 8-10 year old, I highly recommend this one. I live in the zone of the setting of this story, and my fourth graders loved how this story created the Civil Battle true to them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    I purchased this book for my eight year old grandson who is in the third grade. He read it and sent me a needed book report that I requested. He came away understanding that there was a lot of hate generated from the Civil Battle that still has not healed. He liked the book, but it was not the normal comic books he normally reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    A lot of thanks for getting this book to me in perfect condition. It will be a bonus for a small one on my Christmas list in 2014.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    I used this as part of our Civil Battle unit. We enjoyed to references to local locations in Tennessee.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    "Chris Brabson hates the Yankees, plain and simple." This is from the Newberry Honor Book, The Perilous Road, by William O. Steele. But Chris Brabson has the right to be mad at the Yankees--or some of them. After all, they've taken all of the meal his family has saved for the winter. All the meal that they worked so hard to grow and hunt! Yet somehow, Chris's brother Jethro joins up with them! "How could he betray the South," his browned-haired brother wonders." Chris will do anything for the Confederate cause. He lets loose the mules that pull the Yankee wagons, tries to shoot some Yankees passing through the woods, and most importantly, he tells a potential spy where the Yankee wagons are headed. Now the Confederates know exactly where to attack, and the best method to attack. Then Chris discovers that Jethro might be driving one of those wagons!! Has Chris just caused his own brothers death? He must search Jethro and warn him. This sends Chris flying to the Yankee camp. No Jethro. Worn out, he sits next to some Yankees. They feed him and reassure him. Their kindness makes Chris think, "Maybe the Yankees aren't so wicked and hateful. These two Yankees have been kind to me." In the midst of these thoughts, the Confederates attack-- and Chris hasn't yet found his brother!! I felt sorrow and anger when Chris and the potential spy, Silas, talked about hating the Yankees. I think it will create other readers upset too. Though Chris hates the Yankees, there's one that he has an extremely powerful bond with: Jethro. Why else would Chris go looking for him to warn and protect him? This story teaches us that we shouldn't hate a whole group of people without knowing the individuals. It also reminds us that despite various beliefs, always remain loyal to your family. Everyone should follow the lessons in this thrilling book. If you are a person who likes to read about the Civil War, you would have fun this book. A lot of books about the Civil Battle are told from only one side. You can read about what the people on both sides of this battle might have been thinking. You would also love this story if you are fond of action adventures. From hanging off of a cliff to escape the Yankees, to nearly getting caught by them when setting mules free, Chris's story is action packed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    What a amazing story. As a lover of American historical novels and history, ( and I am Australian ) I found it very interesting. A lot of people still today resent the Civil Battle and what it did to the people and the country. Books like this support to express the feelings of the people involved and the hardships they faced for both sides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    Very amazing story and background about how sometimes families were split during the Civil War.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perilous Road []  2020-1-30 20:21

    My 5th graders are reading this novel as a social studies project, and are really enjoying the book. It can be a challenging read at times due to it being written in the actual dialect spoken by Southerns of the times. The HARD-BACK book in perfect condition was received quicker then I expected. I thought it would be a paper back, so I was pleasantly surprised!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    This is an indispensable addition to any Tolkien fan’s collection! “Roverandom” is an perfect story. The adventures of Tom Bombadil is A unbelievable collection of poems that were supposedly scrawled in the margins of the Red Book of Westmarch-some of these were written or compiled by Bill bow or Sam Gamgee, further deepening the lore and globe building of the Lord of the rings and similar stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    Tales From the Perilous Realm is a amazing compilation of short stories, poems and essays that were written during different periods of his life. If you are choosing between this and "The Tolkien Reader" I would definitely recommend you go with this book. The only thing you are missing out on is the Homecoming of Beorhtnoth...and that's ok. In brief: Roverandom was a charming story (would be a amazing bedtime story for kids) about a dog that runs afoul of a wizard. Farmer Giles is a fun tale of an unlikely character and a dragon. The Adventures of Tom Bombadil is a unbelievable collection of "Middle-Earth" poems and tales. Leaf by Niggle is very thought-provoking. Smith of Wootton Major is a amazing reminder to never judge a book by its cover. Lastly, the book also contains the full On Fairy-Stories essay/speech if you wish a view into Tolkien's mind. Definitely a needed read for Tolkien fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    This book includes all three of my favorite Tolkien short stories: "Farmer Giles of Ham," "Smith of Wootton Major," and "Leaf by Niggle.""Farmer Giles of Ham" includes the best talking dog in all of literature, and is a hilarious story about heroism, magic swords, giants, and dragons."Smith of Wootton Major" is a bittersweet story about a blacksmith who discovers the realm of Faerie, and learns there to create very delicate and magical toys and ornaments.And "Leaf by Niggle" is about an artist, Niggle, whose most major work is a unbelievable picture of a tree. Unfortunately, the original picture is eventually destroyed in a fire, and the only surviving piece of it is a single leaf, which is accorded an honored put in a museum. A very sad story about artists, and the nature of art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    Delightful stories, especially "Farmer Giles of Ham," "Smith of Wooton Major" and "Leaf by Niggle." This book was published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, and they did a amazing job with printing, ink, leading, type, paper, everything (always necessary to me, along with the writing). Adding to the pleasure of reading this book are the illustrations by Alan Lee, an amazingly talented artist. His pencil drawings were exceptional, and I must look for other books he has illustrated. I almost gave this book 4 stars because I didn't really have fun Tolkien's discussion on Fairy Stories. I know -- sacrilege! But I'd prefer to read Tolkien's fairy stories, rather than reading his opinions on fairy stories. I am a Tolkien fan and some day will reread the Hobbit and Ring Trilogy for the fourth time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    These are nice fairy stories by Tolkien. Only the Tom Bombadil story is LOR related, but the stories are some of my favorite. Alan Smith's illustrations look nice, but it would be nice to have some o Tolkien's and some of the other earlier illustrations done for these stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    When J R R Tolkien began his legendarium of Middle-earth, he set out to make a mythology, a secondary reality, which, if successful, would be as true in its own method as the physical globe is to us. He was guided by an inner sense that myth is a lie (as he said to C. S. Lewis), even if it is not always historical fact. There is so much of reality, of the human experience of life and of the universe that cannot be reduced to empirical data. This conviction is reflected in Tolkien's poem "Mythopoeia" and in a key essay that appears in "Tales from the Perilous Realm," "On Fairy Stories."I had read "Lord of the Rings" numerous times before I read "Mythopoeia," "On Fairy Stories," "Leaf by Niggle," and "Smith of Wooten Major" this past Spring. All of these but "Mythopoeia" are found in "Tales from the Perilous Realm." Having read them now, I realize how much I have missed before. "Tales from the Perilous Realm" is an essential foundation for reading Tolkien's legendarium. The essay, which I recommend that one read first, provides the reader with an intellectual foundation to understand Tolkien's goals as an author and even more fundamentally, something of his view of man and of the world. While Tolkien was quite clear "Lord of the Rings" is no allegory (a story in which the author exerts "purposed domination"), it does reflects truths that he believes are universal, like the existence of evil. "Of evil this alone is certain: evil is," Tolkien says. In "On Fairy Stories" he explores the value of fantasy literature for helping us to step back and see reality afresh and from a more detached perspective. Fairy stories, while historically often directed to children, should be be merely children's stories that "trade on their credulity." A real fairy tale, as opposed to a beast fable or travel story, will bring to the reader recovery, escape, and consolation. By recovery he means both recovery from what ails us spiritually, if not physically, and also the recovery of intangibles that we have lost in the course of life. Furthermore, the reader sees how these two senses are really one for the healing of ailments comes with the recovery of what has been lost. That is how, to use the words of the Gospels, we are created "whole" not just "well." By escape he means not a psychological aberration of fleeing reality, but the escape of an unjustly held prisoner who is fleeing for his life. The escape offered is more like a spiritual retreat. Consolation is the ultimate goal that one achieves with recovery and e Perilous Realm is the land of Faerie, where wonders exist that are both marvelous and dangerous. The danger is not just from malicious forces, but from benevolent ones if they are not approached in the right frame of mind. Those who know "Lord of the Rings" will recall how both Fangorn and Lothlorien were feared and yet turned out to be locations of amazing refreshment and refuge. Tollkien explores this theme more simply in the short-story "Smith of Wooten Major." In that story and in "Leaf by Niggle" we see Tolkien build secondary worlds in which the reader can discover the themes of recovery, escape and consolation – and a whole lot more."Tales from the Perilous Relam" is essential reading for anyone who is a serious fan of J. R. R. Tolkien. It is also valuable reading for anybody who is in need of spiritual recovery, escape and consolation. Although Tolkien's Christian worldview is present, he avoided allegory precisely because that would be "preaching." Instead, he preferred "applicability" by which any reader could pick up his books and fit something that would resonate in his or her life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    In Tales From the Perilous Realm we have five short stories or novellas by J.R.R. Tolkien, plus his very popular lecture "On Fairy Stories". Only one of the selections has a direct connection with Middle earth: the poems which create up "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil". The other four are "Leaf By Niggle", a short tale with deeply moving theological connotations which originally accompanied the Fairy Stories lecture; "Roverandom", a story written by Tolkien to comfort one of his sons who had lost a toy dog while at the seashore and not published until 25 years after the author died; "Farmer Giles of Ham," a rollicking tale set in early Britain featuring a bumbling farmer, a near sighted giant, and a dragon which was originally published in the late 1940s; "Smith of Wooton Major", a attractive story published in the 1960s which is usually interpreted as being Tolkien's acknowledgment that his life was coming to a close and his bonuses must be returned or passed on to l of these stories have been published before in various formats, and I have loved them all for a lot of years. I purchased Tales From the Perilous Realm in the interests of completing my collection but with some trepidation, because I knew the illustrations would be different. The late Pauline Baynes illustrated Farmer Giles, Smith, and Tom Bombadil, and her vivid interpretations are so marvelous that I dreaded seeing any depictions by any other artist. But as soon as I opened Tales From a Perilous Realm my fears were allayed. Alan Lee's pencil illustrations are enchanting in their own right, allowing the reader to experience the stories anew with extra pleasure and delight. I will always love Pauline Baynes' illustrations, but Alan Lee's efforts evoke Tolkien's worlds just as vividly. This will be a book to be treasured.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    The listener in this case should know that these are not straightforward readings; these are dramatizations, which means it's more like LISTENING to a play. That said, this dramatization produced by Brian Sibley and starring Michael Hordern is well worth your time and money. Included are "Farmer Giles of Ham," "Smith of Wooten Major," and the unbelievable "Leaf by Niggle," which really is a thinly disguised portrait of Tolkien and his penchant for niggling endlessly with details, which explains why he's had so much posthumous work published: in his own lifetime, he wanted to obtain it RIGHT, to the nth degree, resulting in unfinished works. There's also "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil," which is catnip to Bombadil fans, who have rightly aired their displeasure at seeing this necessary hero excluded from the Peter Jackson movie adaptation of THE LORD OF THE RINGS. (Bombadil is one of the few people on Middle-earth over whom the One Ring has no power.)DIe-hard Tolkien fans will certainly wish to read these in text form, but if you've got an iPod (and these days, who doesn't?), rip them on your iPod and have fun an aural journey through Tolkien's timeless, and timely, Middle-earth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    Some amazing short stories that stand alone without hobbits. Bought to re-read Leaf by Niggle when I started trying to figure out what we're supposed to do while dying. Well written, well edited, well ebooked. No Millennial spelling!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm []  2020-8-27 18:49

    In concert with the UK and US publication of "The Perilous Realm" compilation volume -- with sterling pencil illustrations by Alan Lee -- we have this audio compilation of BBC performances dramatized by Brian Sibley, a long time Tolkien Scholar. While my private preference is to read -- rather than watch or listen to -- Tolkien's work, these shorter pieces are better adapted to the radio play form than the voluminous and sometimes consciousness-straining BBC ver of The Lord of the Rings -- an audio file recommended only to those with an a-prior and crystal-clear comprehension of that rhaps the greatest kindness here -- in addition to putting "Leaf by Niggle" within simple reach of those only casually familiar with Tolkien's body of work -- is a very approachable approach to the complicated and often daunting "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil". Bombadil is, of course, one of the more famously difficult to interpret characters in Middle Earth, viewed by critics as everything from a bumpkin-like distraction to a profoundly fundamental and elemental force of nature. The focus here is perhaps more on the passages dealing with Mr. Bombadil within The Lord of the Rings than with the epically long poem, so there still remains an agreeable measure of "daunting" to be dealt 's heartening to see these stories take their turn as the movie craze both calms and gets set to rebuild. And while we're at it, completists should also check out the splendid Harper Collins facsimile edition of Mr. Bliss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    Had to finally give Mr. Hearne his due. I’ve been visiting (reading) Atticus for a lot of a lot of years now reading over from -the first book - Hounded to the newest publication. I have Multiple Sclerosis and reading each book again helps refresh my memory. Not that Atticus is in any method forgettable. I just love living vicariously through his life. As I write this review I’m reading towards the recent of Mr. Hearne’s unbelievable tales (Scourged) and do not want to be a spoiler and reveal anything for those of you that are just being introduced to Atticus but there is a hero (not introduced completely until ‘Shattered’) in the overall story that I hope branches of into a complete series of his own - OWEN!!!Thanks again Mr. Hearne you have no idea what joy and energy you have brought into my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    Overall: 3 starsSummary:This is a short story about the "original" quest for the grail which Atticus undertook as a young man. The story is well written but seemed to lacked more details/depth; I wanted to know more details! The author did a amazing job of hooking me on the grail story concept but left me wanting much more.If you have fun the "Iron Druid" books, then I would suggest that you obtain is a fix before the next book comes out in the series. It is a fairly fast read and adds a bit more depth to te: The info about grail legend provided by the author in the forward is quite interesting and worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    Novellas, fun but quite short. The Iron Druid Chronicles was recommended so I tried out a little sampling. And I like them! 2000 year old Druid still on Earth, practicing his form of magic. He's tied to nature and benevolent. But not everyone else shares his love of nature/humanity so then he has to obtain down and dirty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    I like that the story is different, but it isn't a tale that makes you wish to not place it down. Still it was good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    This short story takes put back when Granuaile was still in training. With the three of them sitting around a camp fire, Oberon asks Atticus to tell them a story. He relates his time as Sir Gawain and his quest for the Holy Grail. It's not exactly the King Arthur version.An interesting tale with action and some humor in the form of a horse that Atticus can converse with, as well as with Oberon. He relates how some of the things he uses today came out of that quest. A nice short break from reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    Kevin Hearne is keeping the art of storytelling alive and thriving quite nicely. His style of writing is succinct and enthralling. His wit is superb, both when he is being subtle and in-your-face, laugh-out-loud funny. By the way, Kevin. You know that TRUE storytellers tell stories right up until the day they pass from this world, right? This means we shall expect more from you on a regular basis. Having read all you've written several times, I'm not so patiently waiting. (This is where some might put a smiley-face.) (Note: no smiley-face.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    I love that Kevin Hearne us these tidbits even as we anticipate the next full-length novel in the Iron Druid Chronicles. "The Chapel Perilous" is a short story that first published in editor Shawn Speakman's anthology Unfettered: Tales by Masters of Fantasy. It's basically Hearne's geekout over T.S. Eliot and the Holy Grail mythos. The framing sequences take put during Granuaile's training period after Two Ravens and One Crow: An Iron Druid Chronicles Novella (The Iron Druid Chronicles) but four years before Trapped: The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book Five.When Granuaile and Oberon beg Atticus for a story, he narrates an adventure of his circa 537 AD that inadvertently inspired the legend of the Holy Grail. Hearne's storytelling, no surprise, is rollicking and intelligent and very funny. I love how he seamlessly entwines the Grail legend into his own series world-building. Significant things happen. ***SPOILERS*** we learn how Atticus came up with the ideas for the silver charms on his necklace and the cold iron amulet that would turn him into the Iron Druid. We also meet another smart-alecky animal sidekick, one that predates Oberon by a lot of centuries. Yep, it's another unbelievable short read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    A story out of Atticus's past, shared with Oberon and Granuaile during her apprenticeship, a re-imagining of the Holy Grail given its original pagan past. Not important to the storyline of the series, it is a fun small jaunt into their world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    Hearne's Atticus is at it again, this time blowing the cover off the Holy Grail. This short may not be the best put to begin in to the series as a first time reader won't obtain why no one is challenging Atticus' position in this retelling of the Grail Myth but, other than that, it's typical Hearne at his usual. Amazing items for Iron Druid fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chapel Perilous (The Iron Druid Chronicles) []  2020-2-4 17:29

    This is a story outside of the main Iron Druid series. It can be read no matter where you are in the series. It consists of Atticus O'Sullivan telling a story of his early days as a Druid to Granuale and usual, Kevin Hearne tells the tale in a humorous and easy-to-read style. As well, Luke Daniels is amazing as the voice of the Iron Druid. I was first introduced to Mr. Daniels in this series, and his now one of my favorite narrators.I recommend this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    Suz lets you behind the scenes, into her foray with BDSM. She shares this adventure from her point of view and ideas, tips and private y people have a preconcieved notion of what BDSM is about. Suz gives you private info about the lifestyle, which hopefully leads the reader to a better is book is a must read for anyone who wants to hear some true life examples of life in the community as well as some info for those thinking about joining it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    An interesting BDSM novel. Various from other romances with this theme, this book is an actual experience into the globe that the author has had. I enjoyed learning the various things along with the author and I feel like my globe has expanded with this read. There are some minor problems I have with the story, such as sometimes the tone of the narration. But overall I found myself truly enjoying and diving deep into this read. If you'd like to search out the true facts about BDSM travel inside deMello's globe as she knows what she's talking about!I received a copy of this book and am voluntarily reviewing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    5+ smashing starsI want more people knew about this book - especially any sub who is either incredibly curious about this lifestyle or those serious in their wanting more knowledge or needing to search some answers. The most common i found was the why's. why do you feel this method after a scene? Towards a Dom (even the horrible ones)? Why do we do the things we do after our experiences?So a lot of of my own were answered, even those i didn't know i had, and i can honestly say that it cleared up so a lot of things for me. I'll admit that i personally go with the flow in so a lot of aspects in my life, reading up on certain things when it touches any parts of it, but reading Suz deMello's memoirs in Perilous Play, it really hits home that you're not alone and that there are answers to the endless questions and thoughts roaming in my head.I'm humbled and honored to have had the possibility to read this book and because of it, i'll end up searching for more like minded memoirs like Perilous Play.*ARC provided by Author in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Kathleen, The Little Girl from A little girl, her man and her books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    I found this book very informative and the fact that it was a first hand acc of the good, poor and the ugly sides of the BDSM world. I think that anyone that is thinking about exploring this lifestyle should read this book. I hope to read more about Suz's journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    I have been active in "the lifestyle" for almost ten years and Perilous Play is a must read, especially for anyone exploring the darker shades. The author's experiences, both the amazing and the not-so-good, are carefully detailed and similar with delicious info throughout. If you have read Fifty Shades of Gray, then Perilous Play is your 51st shade. It’s the true deal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    BDSM viewed from the inside out. This hot, honest small memoir is for anyone who is interested in the risky side of behavior, whether because it turns you on, because you are studying it academically, or if you're just curious. ("They do what, exactly??") Bonus: it's well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    Perilous Play is a amazing book for anyone thinking about getting into "the life style". I am a Dom type myself but my red flags went up with the first chapter. I wanted to yell "Don't do it, he's a fake!" Then book gives very amazing pointers of what to look for and when to run. It is simply a amazing read for both sides of the "/" and was enjoyable to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    If you wish to know more about BDSM, this is the book for you. I learned a amazing from Suz de Mello’s memoir Perilous Play: The True Fifty Shades. In sharing her experiences of BDSM, I discovered there is more to it than just pain and sex. She explores the nature of the relationships and discloses info about how partners spend time discussing what will or won’t happen during one of their “scenes” and how they decide the zone where it takes place. She explains BDSM terminology; although, there were a couple terms Suz used in the book that I still don’t understand. Role playing is another avenue she delves into, and she also shares her own very vivid fantasy. She doesn’t spend too much time mentioning toys. I believe if you are interested in this type of experience, you will know after reading this book whether it’s really right for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perilous Play: The Real Fifty Shades []  2020-2-1 17:27

    Perilous Play is a candid and page-turning acc of the author’s first-hand experience of BDSM. It is most definitely a recommended read for anyone thinking about delving into the lifestyle as it pulls back the curtains on this globe and sets out its pitfalls, dilemmas and joys, through the author’s own eyes. It will also be of interest to those like myself who have fun reading BDSM themed erotica/erotic romance, as it gives a deeper understanding of the a lot of issues, physical and emotional which participants e book reads as a memoir, rather than a textbook, and sets out the author’s journey into BDSM, from her very first experience through to her current level of interest. I found that this format created for a highly entertaining and frank read, where few stones were left unturned. A number of key themes are addressed including the importance of negotiation; factors which create a amazing and poor dominant; polygamy and ménage and role play. Throughout there is much stress on the importance of amazing communication and the emphasis on play being safe, sane and consensual.I really enjoyed the author’s begin style of writing, which tells it like it is. There are plenty of detailed descriptions of different BDSM themed scenes which she uses to illustrate her journey and we obtain to know a number of individuals who have partnered her over the years.I recommend the read to those who are curious about BDSM or are thinking about dipping their toes in the water. A copy of this book was given to me by the author for the purpose of a fair and honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    Bought this for my 4th grade son for his birthday. He wouldn't begin it. Read the first two chapters to him at night and he could not place it down. Large book and each chapter is nearly an hour read for me. He gobbled it up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    For readers who enjoyed Series of Unfortunate Events, Phantom Tollbooth, The Battle Between the Pitiful Teachers and the Splendid Kids, this series has proved effective at engaging my two boys in the exciting puzzles and worlds of the Mysterious Benedict Society and its characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    "This is the second book of the mysterious Benedict society. Eight to twelve year olds will like this book. It is a mystery with humor, excitement, and thrill." P.S. I received an unexpected email that my review had gone live on Amazon - and realized that my daughter had written the foregoing review; I'm leaving it on here b/c it's a genuine child review for a kid's book. :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    This is the second book of the Mysterious Benedict Society series. The story embarks the reader on a journey to Europe along with the main characters. It teaches how working as a team, using complementary strengths can lead to is book is also a amazing book for adults. I really enjoyed reading it and loved the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    About 2 years ago Iread the original Mysterious Benedict Society to my sons and they enjoyed it. Now they are 9 and 10, and I think this sequel was an even better story to share with them. In the original book, there is a series of challenges, puzzles or tests that had to be solved by the protagonists. My boys really enjoyed trying to puzzle these out. After that it was something less of an audience participation mystery. In the Perilous Journey there are clues that Mr. Benedict has hidden for his proteges, that they have to solve if they are going to save him and Number 2 from the clutches of Ledroptha Curtain, Mr. Benedict's nefarious brother. These are spread evenly throughout the book, and with some amazing old fashioned puzzling and talking we were able to solve them all. My sons really loved this part because it created them feel like they could join the Mysterious Benedict Society themselves. Now I am impatiently awaiting a third installment (and Mr. Curtain's escape virtually assures of another sequel), and looking for other childre's books based on mysteries with clues a young reader can solve for themselves. The only qualm I have with this book at all is that in to finally escape, Mr. Benedict had to badly trick SQ Pedalian, perhaps ruining his sense of trust, and we never did search out if he was rescued from the island (surely Mr. Benedict would have tried!) or was swept up into Mr. Curtain's circle again. Not good SQ! My sons really liked his bumbling friendliness. I hope Mr. Stewart is gentle with him in the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    Almost as amazing as the first! These characters hold you drawn in- so much so that you wish to follow their adventures everywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    It was hard to search another book series that my son would love as much as the Harry Potter series. But this one did it! He was disappointed that there were only 3 books in the series (4th including the latest one about Mr. Benedict), and has begun re-reading them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    I was told to read the Mysterious Benedict Society book number one for a gifted project. I loved it. When I found the second, I was deeply regard with Trenton Lee Stewart's ability to write tough and hard-to-read book for the middle school group. I reason that because a few of my mates would never understand the book. It's not that they're dumb, just that they don't read and write as well as others. I suggest whomever from the age 9 - 15 will love this book. Read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    After reading the first book in the series, there was no doubt that I would obtain this one. Obviously by the title, the four kids would have to solve a couple puzzles and clues and go on a perilous journey to save Mr. Benedict. This already seems hard in itself without having to go across the ocean, war fresh villains (and some old ones), and . . . with Constance's annoying e thing that I like about this series, is not just the characters and the story, it's also about the puzzles and riddles. I love them so much that I won't read ahead unless I sit there thinking about it after awhile. Trenton has outdone himself with coming up with these phenomenal puzzles that will confuse and create you even more curious and excited! Everyone give Trenton Lee Stewart around of applause to his awesome MYSTERIOUS BENEDICT SOCIETY!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey []  2020-1-31 20:35

    My son checked one out at the library and we were hooked. We bought the set

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    Some amazing short stories that stand alone without hobbits. Bought to re-read Leaf by Niggle when I started trying to figure out what we're supposed to do while dying. Well written, well edited, well ebooked. No Millennial spelling!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    This book includes all three of my favorite Tolkien short stories: "Farmer Giles of Ham," "Smith of Wootton Major," and "Leaf by Niggle.""Farmer Giles of Ham" includes the best talking dog in all of literature, and is a hilarious story about heroism, magic swords, giants, and dragons."Smith of Wootton Major" is a bittersweet story about a blacksmith who discovers the realm of Faerie, and learns there to create very delicate and magical toys and ornaments.And "Leaf by Niggle" is about an artist, Niggle, whose most major work is a unbelievable picture of a tree. Unfortunately, the original picture is eventually destroyed in a fire, and the only surviving piece of it is a single leaf, which is accorded an honored put in a museum. A very sad story about artists, and the nature of art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    The listener in this case should know that these are not straightforward readings; these are dramatizations, which means it's more like LISTENING to a play. That said, this dramatization produced by Brian Sibley and starring Michael Hordern is well worth your time and money. Included are "Farmer Giles of Ham," "Smith of Wooten Major," and the unbelievable "Leaf by Niggle," which really is a thinly disguised portrait of Tolkien and his penchant for niggling endlessly with details, which explains why he's had so much posthumous work published: in his own lifetime, he wanted to obtain it RIGHT, to the nth degree, resulting in unfinished works. There's also "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil," which is catnip to Bombadil fans, who have rightly aired their displeasure at seeing this necessary hero excluded from the Peter Jackson movie adaptation of THE LORD OF THE RINGS. (Bombadil is one of the few people on Middle-earth over whom the One Ring has no power.)DIe-hard Tolkien fans will certainly wish to read these in text form, but if you've got an iPod (and these days, who doesn't?), rip them on your iPod and have fun an aural journey through Tolkien's timeless, and timely, Middle-earth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    Preface: I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest reviewI have really mixed feelings about this one, mostly as a effect of the ending. It was a bold move, for sure, but it brings up a lot of questions that can't possibly be resolved until the second book - which is unfortunate, because how those questions are answered definitely changes how worthwhile this book is. If the huge happening sticks, then a lot of this book ends up feeling beautiful pointless, as it revolves around a hero and happenings that don't really serve any purpose. If it doesn't stick, the moment will feel like a giant bait-and-switch for drama. It's just an unfortunate put to be.I'm also beautiful torn because there's a lot of this book to enjoy, but also a lot that is confusing or not particularly well done. The writing is, mostly very competent, and illustrates everything cleanly. The characters are generally likable, though I didn't care for Vivian much at all (she comes off as very spoiled/passive). The two brothers were the highlight for me, as it was super interesting to see the dynamic between them, but also how wildly our perspective on them changes as we shift POVs. With Vivian, they're loving, devoted, and just general sweethearts, even when they're fighting with each other, but with Carina, they're almost bestial in the callous method they treat her. It's really well-done.Unfortunately, other parts of this story are just desperately weak. The worldbuilding didn't really create any sense to me. I obtain that although this society is in our far-flung future, they might have slid backwards technologically, but it never seemed consistent. There are scenes in here where people are fighting in swords/armor, but also scenes where our characters eat at greasy spoon diners - just a really weird technological gap that I didn't understand. The plot also seems very unfocused, especially in light of the ending, as mentioned previously. If the certain huge happening had played out differently, then I could sort of see why we spent so much time with certain people doing certain things, but if things do stick, then a huge chunk of this novel just seems like a large waste of time.Overall, if you're interested in a fantasy/sci-fi blend, this might do it for you, but I'd probably wait until the next book comes out, to gauge people's reaction to it, as this novel doesn't set up the rest of the series particularly well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    Planet Kepler - Two young protagonists - Vivian, fresh Queen to the throne, who needs magic to save herself from the Immortal Virus and Carina, an orphan girl forbidden to use magic and bought up hidden in a convent! Their paths are bound to cross and unforgettable things will happen along the way...I really liked the history of planet Kepler and the forgoing rival between Kepler Mortals and the Immortals. The globe building is a fine mix of virus, immortality, dystopia, sci-fi, zone travel and fantasy, it doesn’t stop and develops with the story. For first few chapters, the story was slow paced and the characters other than Vivian and Carina were often morally confusing in whom to trust. But as a reader I stuck with it and honestly I got more involved in the twists, betrayals and adventures!! I think I’ll read the next book just to confirm my thoughts about the ank you Netgalley, Sandra L Vasher and Mortal Ink Press for the ARC

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    Im obsessed! I search the globe of Kepler fascinating and the thought of the general population actually coming from Earth hundreds of years before is so wildly intriguing. This book kept me on my toes unlike any book Ive read. I will be honest- I didnt like most of the characters, but that only created them more fascinating to me. I thought the two lead females were powerful and courageous but in two COMPLETELY various ways, which is a really interesting choice in writing. Its funny how the author can take two such various characters who completely misunderstand each other, and create me feel like they could be amazing mates in other circumstances. The ending left me with SO a lot of questions and I can't wait to read the 2nd installment!One note: I read the 2 available (a 3rd comes out soon) Novellas by this author first and I am so glad. I feel I might've been a small confused as to the globe of Kepler had I not read those first- they give you the back story so when you begin Sisters of the Perilous Heart you already have a feel for that globe and what it took to make it. And if you're like me, you'll obtain a small kick out of seeing cameos from some of the characters from the novellas in this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Book 1 of the Mortal Heritance) by Sandra L. Vasher drew me in by its cover and premise, which sounded like it would be a amazing fantasy adventure. The beginning caught my attention, and the world-building was done beautiful well. But then the story waned during the middle, and I noticed I lost interest in what was going to happen next. I liked the characters and the relationships between Vivian and her brothers. But after a time, I felt the story began to obtain repetitive and wasn't moving forward in action. I found myself not caring about what was going to happen to them. The story did pick up toward the end, and the book obviously leaves the reader with a cliffhanger for Book e story and writing were good, but I wasn't involved with the characters. My favorite hero was Nate, and it seems he will be a prominent hero in the next book. I may place the next one on my TBR list.I rate this a 3.5 out of 5 stars for some solid characters and amazing writing style, but I had difficulty getting involved in the storyline and felt it lacked action in several places.#SistersofthePerilousHeart #NetGalley

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    Interesting premise, but I kept waiting for something more. Also, despite the steampunk cover vibe and the magic mentioned in the synopsis, this book is primarily sci-fi.Queen Vivian flees the palace with her two brothers after being fatally wounded in an assassination attempt. Infected with a strain of the Immortality Virus, Vivian searches for a cure no one thinks can exist. During this upheaval, on the opposite side of the kingdom, magically gifted Carina starts on her own journey to learn more about her powers and the red-eyed Immortals chasing her and her sister. When Vivian and Carina’s worlds collide, they both hope for answers, but secrets surrounding the origins of their globe threaten to raise even more is book felt like a very long introduction to the coming sequels. It followed two perspectives, Vivian and Carina, and I want both had been condensed into half as a lot of pages. Vivian swung between passive and vapid, making it hard to invest in her character. She was very much an observer in her own story, focused on mediating between her polarizing brothers rather than asserting herself as a decision maker. Carina was more enjoyable, but her journey suffered from building toward an Extremely Obvious Plot Twist.I enjoyed the stronger personalities of the two girls’ mates and family. Vivian’s brothers share a special and dynamic relationship, it’s hard to go wrong with a bodyguard-type love interest, and Miguela is a petulant, yet loving younger ybe it’ll all come together in the next book, but this first installment struggled as a self-contained story just because Vivian’s plotline was so boring.**Thanks to Netgalley and Mortal Ink Press for the ARC**

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    Tales From the Perilous Realm is a amazing compilation of short stories, poems and essays that were written during different periods of his life. If you are choosing between this and "The Tolkien Reader" I would definitely recommend you go with this book. The only thing you are missing out on is the Homecoming of Beorhtnoth...and that's ok. In brief: Roverandom was a charming story (would be a amazing bedtime story for kids) about a dog that runs afoul of a wizard. Farmer Giles is a fun tale of an unlikely character and a dragon. The Adventures of Tom Bombadil is a unbelievable collection of "Middle-Earth" poems and tales. Leaf by Niggle is very thought-provoking. Smith of Wootton Major is a amazing reminder to never judge a book by its cover. Lastly, the book also contains the full On Fairy-Stories essay/speech if you wish a view into Tolkien's mind. Definitely a needed read for Tolkien fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    This is an indispensable addition to any Tolkien fan’s collection! “Roverandom” is an perfect story. The adventures of Tom Bombadil is A unbelievable collection of poems that were supposedly scrawled in the margins of the Red Book of Westmarch-some of these were written or compiled by Bill bow or Sam Gamgee, further deepening the lore and globe building of the Lord of the rings and similar stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    This was a "stay up stupidly late so I can finish the book" kind of book. I loved it, the story line moved along, the characters were realistic, it created me laugh, and I wanted to know what happened next. Amazing job to the author, can't wait to read the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    I just feel kind of meh about this book and I hate that. I haven’t read a lot of fantasy lately, but this month has kind of fell flat for mans have escaped to the planet Kepler to escape those with the Immortality Virus – which is a mixture of influenza and AIDs. (This I thought was super interesting). Immortals are here though – and they’re fighting to take over the planet. This isn’t a cute immortality virus like vampires normally have. This makes you go crazy and lose empathy.Queen Vivian has just been crowned. And less than an hour later, someone tries to take her life. She is infected with the immortality virus, so she and her two brothers go off in find for a ina has been hidden at a convent for most of her life with her sister. She has magic, but isn’t allowed to practice. Someone figured out where she is, so they are trying to capture her to place her powers to their ths cross. Items happens.I don’t remember much of this book. I’m thinking back on reading it, and I can’t really remember anything? There was a romance, but it’s not jumping out at me. I think the latest 15% or so picked up. It was enough to create me wish to read book two, but not like RIGHT NOW.I know this review has like, nothing really but a synopsis, but I swear to you guys. Nothing is sticking out about this book. I’m so sorry!I would say give this a test if you like fantasy/sci-fi. It wasn’t poor by any means.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    In Tales From the Perilous Realm we have five short stories or novellas by J.R.R. Tolkien, plus his very popular lecture "On Fairy Stories". Only one of the selections has a direct connection with Middle earth: the poems which create up "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil". The other four are "Leaf By Niggle", a short tale with deeply moving theological connotations which originally accompanied the Fairy Stories lecture; "Roverandom", a story written by Tolkien to comfort one of his sons who had lost a toy dog while at the seashore and not published until 25 years after the author died; "Farmer Giles of Ham," a rollicking tale set in early Britain featuring a bumbling farmer, a near sighted giant, and a dragon which was originally published in the late 1940s; "Smith of Wooton Major", a attractive story published in the 1960s which is usually interpreted as being Tolkien's acknowledgment that his life was coming to a close and his bonuses must be returned or passed on to l of these stories have been published before in various formats, and I have loved them all for a lot of years. I purchased Tales From the Perilous Realm in the interests of completing my collection but with some trepidation, because I knew the illustrations would be different. The late Pauline Baynes illustrated Farmer Giles, Smith, and Tom Bombadil, and her vivid interpretations are so marvelous that I dreaded seeing any depictions by any other artist. But as soon as I opened Tales From a Perilous Realm my fears were allayed. Alan Lee's pencil illustrations are enchanting in their own right, allowing the reader to experience the stories anew with extra pleasure and delight. I will always love Pauline Baynes' illustrations, but Alan Lee's efforts evoke Tolkien's worlds just as vividly. This will be a book to be treasured.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    When J R R Tolkien began his legendarium of Middle-earth, he set out to make a mythology, a secondary reality, which, if successful, would be as true in its own method as the physical globe is to us. He was guided by an inner sense that myth is a lie (as he said to C. S. Lewis), even if it is not always historical fact. There is so much of reality, of the human experience of life and of the universe that cannot be reduced to empirical data. This conviction is reflected in Tolkien's poem "Mythopoeia" and in a key essay that appears in "Tales from the Perilous Realm," "On Fairy Stories."I had read "Lord of the Rings" numerous times before I read "Mythopoeia," "On Fairy Stories," "Leaf by Niggle," and "Smith of Wooten Major" this past Spring. All of these but "Mythopoeia" are found in "Tales from the Perilous Realm." Having read them now, I realize how much I have missed before. "Tales from the Perilous Realm" is an essential foundation for reading Tolkien's legendarium. The essay, which I recommend that one read first, provides the reader with an intellectual foundation to understand Tolkien's goals as an author and even more fundamentally, something of his view of man and of the world. While Tolkien was quite clear "Lord of the Rings" is no allegory (a story in which the author exerts "purposed domination"), it does reflects truths that he believes are universal, like the existence of evil. "Of evil this alone is certain: evil is," Tolkien says. In "On Fairy Stories" he explores the value of fantasy literature for helping us to step back and see reality afresh and from a more detached perspective. Fairy stories, while historically often directed to children, should be be merely children's stories that "trade on their credulity." A real fairy tale, as opposed to a beast fable or travel story, will bring to the reader recovery, escape, and consolation. By recovery he means both recovery from what ails us spiritually, if not physically, and also the recovery of intangibles that we have lost in the course of life. Furthermore, the reader sees how these two senses are really one for the healing of ailments comes with the recovery of what has been lost. That is how, to use the words of the Gospels, we are created "whole" not just "well." By escape he means not a psychological aberration of fleeing reality, but the escape of an unjustly held prisoner who is fleeing for his life. The escape offered is more like a spiritual retreat. Consolation is the ultimate goal that one achieves with recovery and e Perilous Realm is the land of Faerie, where wonders exist that are both marvelous and dangerous. The danger is not just from malicious forces, but from benevolent ones if they are not approached in the right frame of mind. Those who know "Lord of the Rings" will recall how both Fangorn and Lothlorien were feared and yet turned out to be locations of amazing refreshment and refuge. Tollkien explores this theme more simply in the short-story "Smith of Wooten Major." In that story and in "Leaf by Niggle" we see Tolkien build secondary worlds in which the reader can discover the themes of recovery, escape and consolation – and a whole lot more."Tales from the Perilous Relam" is essential reading for anyone who is a serious fan of J. R. R. Tolkien. It is also valuable reading for anybody who is in need of spiritual recovery, escape and consolation. Although Tolkien's Christian worldview is present, he avoided allegory precisely because that would be "preaching." Instead, he preferred "applicability" by which any reader could pick up his books and fit something that would resonate in his or her life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    This is a must for any Tolkien fan! Amazing collection of stories place together in a nice and affordable package. Would highly recommend to any Hobbit/LOTR enthusiast. Definitely an easier read before you dive into the Silmarillion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    I would like to thank Sandra L. Vasher and Mortal Ink Press, LLC for my copy of the ARC, due to this kind gesture I have decided to leave an honest review.I struggled with the rating for this book as it was an ok fast read but I had a lot of questions so I settled on 3 stars!The book follows two teenagers who have had to grow up fast; Carina who has been hidden away with her sister with beer-making nun/sister types, and Vivien the fresh Queen of Kelper. As soon as Vivian is crowned at her coronation she is infected with the immorality virus. With time running out her brothers are determined to search a cure but how do Vivian and Carina's paths intertwine and can Viv be cured of this virus?The book was slow-paced, which can take a bit to test and obtain into as its narratives jump around which blows your mind a small because it's two very various paths then you have the people who brought the immortality virus to Kelper. I still don't really obtain how this virus works as it wasn't really explained, or maybe I just missed it.I didn't with any of the characters. I found Carina extremely naive, her younger sister had more sense than her. I did, however, feel myself leaning towards Viv and her brothers. I loved how her the brothers were polar opposites but banded together for their sister. You see them grow and by the second half of the book it picks up and you are hooked! I did, however, feel myself wanting Nate to be ok, he's a small e world-building was not bad, I could picture what was being place out and I was genuinely interested in getting to know more but I don't understand what the actual plot of the book is? I'm wondering how the second book will play out because where is it going to go? Because what is the actual plot? I obtain we need to obtain Viv better but then what?Anyhoo, it's an okay read and I would like to see where it goes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    Delightful stories, especially "Farmer Giles of Ham," "Smith of Wooton Major" and "Leaf by Niggle." This book was published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, and they did a amazing job with printing, ink, leading, type, paper, everything (always necessary to me, along with the writing). Adding to the pleasure of reading this book are the illustrations by Alan Lee, an amazingly talented artist. His pencil drawings were exceptional, and I must look for other books he has illustrated. I almost gave this book 4 stars because I didn't really have fun Tolkien's discussion on Fairy Stories. I know -- sacrilege! But I'd prefer to read Tolkien's fairy stories, rather than reading his opinions on fairy stories. I am a Tolkien fan and some day will reread the Hobbit and Ring Trilogy for the fourth time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tales from the Perilous Realm. by J.R.R. Tolkien []  2020-1-30 23:11

    In concert with the UK and US publication of "The Perilous Realm" compilation volume -- with sterling pencil illustrations by Alan Lee -- we have this audio compilation of BBC performances dramatized by Brian Sibley, a long time Tolkien Scholar. While my private preference is to read -- rather than watch or listen to -- Tolkien's work, these shorter pieces are better adapted to the radio play form than the voluminous and sometimes consciousness-straining BBC ver of The Lord of the Rings -- an audio file recommended only to those with an a-prior and crystal-clear comprehension of that rhaps the greatest kindness here -- in addition to putting "Leaf by Niggle" within simple reach of those only casually familiar with Tolkien's body of work -- is a very approachable approach to the complicated and often daunting "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil". Bombadil is, of course, one of the more famously difficult to interpret characters in Middle Earth, viewed by critics as everything from a bumpkin-like distraction to a profoundly fundamental and elemental force of nature. The focus here is perhaps more on the passages dealing with Mr. Bombadil within The Lord of the Rings than with the epically long poem, so there still remains an agreeable measure of "daunting" to be dealt 's heartening to see these stories take their turn as the movie craze both calms and gets set to rebuild. And while we're at it, completists should also check out the splendid Harper Collins facsimile edition of Mr. Bliss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart is the first installment in author Sandra L. Vasher's Mortal Heritance series. This story takes put on the planet of Kepler. The backstory is that once upon a time, scientists on Earth apparently discovered the Immortality Virus by combining HIV with Influenza. Now, I'm not a virologist, but this seems kind of absurd to me. But I digress. Even though the story primarily focuses on two separate young women, Queen Vivian Wellington and Carina Grace, you cannot ignore in-between chapters or the secondary characters.2 mins into her reign as Queen of the Southern Kingdom of Kepler, killers target the fresh queen with an arrow infected with the Immortal Virus. Thanks to Vivian's magic, she's able to stay mortal and not turn into one of the Red Eyed Immortals who have no emotions except hatred for mortals. As her life fades, she and her bickering brothers (Bastian & Nathaniel) hunt desperately for the magic they need to cure the virus. Time is not on their side. If she tries to use her magic, she will e Sisters of Novi Dupree create the best beer on planet Kepler, and 16-year-old Carina, who has lived with the Sisters since her parents died, only wants a taste of sassafras. But when her increasingly use of telekinetic magic lands her in trouble, she and Miguela are forced to flee the only put they felt safe. With the mysterious Max alongside, and the dangerous, immortal Red-Eyed Ones after her, Carina must figure out a method to stay under their radar until she can reach a safe ere is a backstory to Carina and her sister as well. The sisters were smuggled to Novi Dupree by a stranger with a purple scar from his left ear to corner of his mouth. Nothing is known about this stranger or where he disappeared to until the sisters meet him again later in this story. The author is keeping this man's identity a secret for some reason. Maybe we will learn about it in the next installment. The question is also about the sisters who raised Carina and Miguela as well. Especially Sister Agda. I'm hoping to learn 's fair to say that Vivian doesn't obtain enough of her own story to tell. She's always on the edge of scenes where it is her brothers who bicker and argue and attempt to hold her alive until they can search a cure for the virus. A Virus that nobody has seen before. She does have a curious romance with Captain Brandon Thurlow who is supposed to be protecting her. There are also questions as to those response for targeting Vivian in the first place. Was it her own mother, Constance, who seems to control the Southern Kingdom of Kepler? Or, the Immortal Empire who wants to take out the remaining Cardinal family?Vivian and her brothers are all Cardinals. That means they are magic users blessed with three kind of magic. Telekinesis (they can move stuff), thermodynamics (they either control hot or cold), and a unique ability special to each individual. Vivian can see relationships between people in colourful threads that bind people. Bastian can tell if someone is lying, and Nate talks to animals. The immortals are trying to eliminate anyone with magic because they don’t like people with magic and wish to slay them all. Simple. Or is it?When Vivian meets Carina, she sees an opportunity. Is this girl with too much magic someone she can trust? And can Carina trust Vivian? She's been busy enough trying to hold her sister safe and contending with Max who somehow carries a weapon that is supposed to be outlawed. Vivian is powerful, but she doesn't wish to live as an Immortal. She'd rather die than turn into an unfeeling scourge. So, the question becomes, how much would you sacrifice to protect yourself and the ones you love the most?Certain Mortals in the Cardinal families have powerful abilities in telekinesis and either heat or cold, while most people have some mild telekinetic skill. Carina has a duality of magic that makes her run on the cold side. While Vivian knows everything about her powers, Carina knows almost nothing. She's been hidden from the globe for her own protection and has been forbidden to use her magic. Yet, when push comes to shove, her magic may be the one thing to say her and her sister who also has magic but has kept it quite for fear of luring the Red Eyes to is is a book that mixes fantasy with science fiction. The setting is very much like Earth but 4,000 years into the future. There are a lot of unanswered questions left after you turn the final page. What will happen next for Bastian who seems so mad and so set on taking his anger out on everyone around him including Brandon? What is up with Nate? He's supposed to be the next in line for the throne, but he has lots of questions about whether he is powerful enough. Can we really trust what happens to Carina in the end, or is this another rope a dope to lure readers into picking up the sequel to search out?Actual Rating: 3.5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Perilous Heart (Mortal Heritance Book 1) []  2020-7-11 18:57

    What a peculiar book—and not necessarily in a amazing way. The cover and book description had me thinking that this was a fantasy story of some type when I saw it at one of my favorite book review sites. But it isn't, really. It's more sci-fi with a bit of fantasy and romance thrown in. I thought it started very oddly, with three disconnected “bits” before the proper first chapter: a starship’s captain's log, a poem, and a newspaper article. (And actually, these kept showing up throughout the book, among other strange “bits,” and it wasn't always simple to see the connection between them and what followed, which got kind of annoying.) I thought the characterization of the viewpoint characters was weak, which is never good. After the somewhat rocky beginning, the setup was interesting, but then the book lost traction in the huge middle section, as often happens in books. There wasn't the sense of tension and rising conflict that is required to hold interest in a long book. The end was good, but for me, it lost the impact that it could have had because of the dithering middle. All in all, I found this supposed to be a disappointment.I received a copy of this book, but that did not affect my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Viggo Mortensen and Smit-McPhee deliver amazing performances but it doesn't really hook you up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    POOR QUALITY AUDIO.....DO NOT RECOMMEND

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    Named after the fabled chair at the Round Table reserved for the Knight who actually found the Holy Grail, "Siege Perilous" is the third album by Kamelot and the first to showcase the vocal talents of Roy Khan, formerly of Conception. Khan (part Thai and part Norwegian) has an wonderful voice that just pulls you into its smooth embrace.I actually got this album after already owning numbers four and five, "The Fourth Legacy" and "Karma". I love those albums, but I have to say this is their best album out of those first five. The reason for this simply lies in how much it differs from its predecessors and the albums that follow. Musically, it truly stands out from its kindred. Whereas the band's first two albums ("Eternity" and "Dominion") were meant to be early Queensryche clones - due in huge part to original singer Tag Vanderbilt modelling his vocal style after that of Geoff Tate - "Siege" sees the Florida-based outfit introduce a welcome element of smoothness and subtlety. Still most definitely "progressive power metal", this album's real power actually lies in it's very LACK of power and its somewhat ethereal nature. There is nothing particularly overt or in-your-face about it. (A fresh singer with a deeper and richer voice certainly necessitated a fresh overall sound). This becomes evident from the very first heavenly keyboards and delicate beat of the opening song, "Providence". And yes, the production sounds a bit muddied at times, Khan's voice especially getting lost somewhat amid the low din of the instruments. But I think after a few listens you would agree that this element may actually add to the overall charm of this ey then took a decidedly more straight-line, power metal approach with "The Fourth Legacy", dropping some of the progressive elements and adding a bit more speed and simplicity. The fresh production squad of Sascha Paeth and Miro (absent on "Siege") probably had a lot to do with that. (The second song here, "Milennium", actually seems a bit out of put on "Siege", its speed better matched to the overall mood of the succeeding ones). And please understand - this is not a poor thing, by any means. I certainly love all their albums since this one. And unique attention should be created for the unbelievable inclusion of strings, choirs, and female vocals on their sixth opus, the Faustian concept album "Epica" (not to be confused with the Dutch band named Epica, whose first album I review elsewhere - but to further add to the confusion, the singer of Epica, Simone Simons, makes an appearance on Kamelot's upcoming "Black Halo" album). Kamelot's sound has certainly evolved, mostly for the better. But I have to say again: because of how noticeably various it is from all the others, the attractive magic of "Siege Perilous" immediately grabbed me and wouldn't allow go.A real gem among all the precious stones of their impressive favorite songs are "Providence", "Expedition", "Parting Visions", and "Rhydin".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    Anyone who has ever listened to melody has had the experience of listening to an album they know is rough around the edges and has its share of flaws, but in the end is a joy to listen to. Others may think you're crazy and wonder why you're infatuated with such a work, but you yourself know my case, Kamelot's Siege Perilous is such an album. At first glance, the album has a few key strikes versus it in the eyes of most people: a rather sub-standard production, the lack of any "real" raw power, a seemingly slim track diversity and the band's songwriting isn't as powerful as it is today. While this would seem like enough issues to bury any self-respecting album, these are relatively minor infractions when you consider what was done rst off, the album's lack of what a lot of consider "real, raw power" isn't a effect of the album's production values, rather it results from the songwriting itself - simply place it's a artistic choice by the band that gives the melody a "subdued" and "suppressed" feel. This is proven with songs such as "King's Eyes" and "Millennium", which easily could have been much more aggressive than they are had the band chosen to do so. Still, such songs come off beautifully the method they were done and in an odd-roundabout method the low-end production values actually add to this overall e above also crosses over when track dozens comes into play. Technically there is a wide dozens of songs to be heard on Siege Perilous, but the album's production and subdued, suppressed feel ultimately robs the songs of some of their individuality. For example, "Parting Visions" is an upbeat number but because of the production its not to far removed from a slower number such as "Where I Reign". This may seem like an error so to speak, but once again in an odd method it makes these songs feel as if they really do belong writing wise, Siege Perilous isn't nearly complex or solid as The Fourth Legacy or the albums that followed, but the fact it is a major step above Eternity and Dominion speaks volumes. In the end, there is a bigger gap in songwriting ability from Eternity/Dominion to Siege Perilous than there is from Siege Perilous to The Fourth Legacy. This reason alone is enough to Siege Perilous since this is where the band really began to come into it's own before their breakthrough with The Fourth closing, forget about Eternity and Dominion - unless you must own everything Kamelot has ever released - Siege Perilous and the inclusion of Roy Khan as singer is really where it all began for Kamelot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    Excellent!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Experiment Perilous [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    What Is This Evil That Shadows Their Lives? Experiment Perilous is directed by Jacques Tourneur and adapted to screenplay by Warren Duff from the Margaret Carpenter novel of the same name. It stars Hedy Lamarr, George Brent, Paul Lukas, Albert Dekker, Olive Blakeney and Carl Esmond. Melody is by Roy Webb and cinematography by Tony Gaudio. 1903 Fresh York and psychiatrist Dr. Huntington Bailey (Brent) is plunged into a psychological maelstrom when he enters the lives of Clarissa (Blakeney), Allida (Lamarr) and Nick Bederaux (Lukas). I've been living in that diary tonight, living the strange distorted lives of Nick and his sister. It's a grand title for a film, but one which is something of a bum steer since it conjures up photos of Frankenstein type horror. Experiment Perilous comes from a Hippocrates saying and is quoted by Brent's amazing doctor during the unfurling of the narrative. The Carpenter novel was actually set in the show day but a decision was created to transfer the story to the early part of the 1900's so as to obtain some period flavours into the mix. A amazing move as it turned out. Very much in the vein of The Murder In Thornton Square (or the remake Gaslight also released in 44), Rebecca, Suspicion et al, Tourneur's film isn't up to the standard of those films, but that in no method means it doesn't keep a lot of pleasures, because it does, especially for Tourneur fans. It's very much a slow burner, a talky picture that for the first hour nearly crumbles under the weight of too much exposition and cod psychological musings. Yet the visuals and alternating interior and exterior period settings set up by Tourneur and Gaudio are mightily impressive (the interior set designs were nominated for an Oscar). Story unfolds to a back drop of a steam train, snowy gas lighted roads and an imposing period Brownstone abode (good use of miniatures a here as well), while the interiors veer from elegant dressings to gloomy rooms of shadows and a hidden away spiral staircase. These are tailored created for Tourneur who ensures the standard formula of plotting is given a kick by its surroundings. Narratively it's created obvious to us that something isn't right with Lukas' shifty husband hero and it comes as no surprise to see a romance start to form between Brent's doctor and Lamarr's emotionally confused wife in possible peril. But these sign posted developments are well handled by the director, where flashbacks support and sinister additions such as a kid hidden away upstairs and the Bederaux's back story hold things perched on the mystery/thriller edge. Cast performances are strong, with Lukas suitably suspicious, Brent unassuming and reflective and the attractive Lamarr showing a fragile innocence that underpins the story. It all builds to a furious finale that involves fire, water and hopefully some race versus time heroics?... Some patience is required to obtain the most out of the picture, but neo-gothic delights are within for those so inclined. 7.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    Off the bat, it's a amazing CD, no two ways about it. However, there weren't any songs in particular that wow'd me or caught my ears. I wasn't expecting anything as amazing as "New Allegiance + The Fourth Legacy", "Across the Highlands", or "Center of the Universe" seeing as how most bands' early works aren't as amazing due to lack of development, but it would have been nice to have at least 1 song to catch my ear with a small bit of move to it or a strong chorus. However, I would sooner listen to this CD as a whole, vs some other albums where I would only listen to a handful of songs only. I don't recommend this unless you're a serious Kamelot fan. If you're not, I recommend you begin with some of their newer albums and work backwards, haha.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    Amazing CD and amazing transaction through Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    a amazing progessive metal and power metal band.every album they create is fantastic.what an amazing band with one of the best vocalist in the melody industry today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    Very impressed with this band and album very new and amazing to listen too! They would obtain stronger with each album. Roy Khan is amazing!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    Amazing band, amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Siege Perilous []  2020-1-31 9:50

    First off allow me say that poor or less than amazing production has never been something that has really bothered me that much, I own a amazing of albums with not so amazing production and to be honest so long as the melody delivers I'll usually have fun it. So no the production has nothing to do with my rating for this album. Overall Siege Perilous is an album that gets the job done for the most part but also seems unsure of itself. For starters you can tell the band didn't have a amazing grasp on how to best utilize fresh singer Roy Khan's voice, hell it doesn't sound like he did either and who could blame him? After all the vocal melodies they gave him were quite a bit various from how he used to sing in his first band Conception and it seems both parties were still in the process of learning what would work best for him as the fresh voice of Kamelot. The effect is that while he does a solid job technically, there are a lot of songs that seem to have very related sounding vocal melodies with very small changes between them, also Khan himself seems to lack the confidence he showed in Conception and on Kamelot's later releases. A amazing of the emotion that we know and love him for seems very held back on this release save for maybe a couple songs and overall it just seems like he was very nervous about cutting loose and giving it his all for this one. What also doesn't support is that musically the album doesn't really go anywhere exciting on most songs. A lot of them are satisfactory and enjoyable to listen to but actual exciting and breath-taking moments that create you go "Whoa" and have your heart pounding in your chest are few and far between. Because of these problems I can't bring myself to say that Siege Perilous is all that amazing of an album for newer fans to choose as their first impression, however it is still worth picking up somewhere down the line if you've decided you like some their later work because it really is not a poor album. For the most part the songwriting and musicianship had definitely improved over the first two albums and Roy Khan proves that even at his worst he was still a better match for this band than Tag Vanderbilt. Not to say Tag sucks as a singer because he certainly does those first two Kamelot releases justice but there is very small doubt in my mind that in the long run Vanderbilt's vocals would not have had much staying power as the bands melody progressed. His voice is simply far better suited for the standard cheesy, fun, and satisfied power metal sound than the darker, more complex and deeper direction they would gravitate towards later down the road. So yea bottom line is create sure you're familiar with some of their other items first and if you like those then feel to at least give this one a possibility or two and create your own decision from there. Best songs are "Rhydin" and "Parting Visions".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Option But North: The Migrant World and the Perilous Path Across the Border []  2020-7-16 19:17

    Freeman tells the story of her experiences as a USA young woman working in central Mexico. The stories are true and she balances them with her own understanding of the white privilege she knows she has. Given I've been spending time in the zone about where much of this is written, I can appreciate that it is a beautiful candid and accurate assessment of her experiences. I avoided reading it at first because I have read a lot of migrant literature and often, it is painful. Well...that's how migrant lives are when they are living them so surely, I tell myself, I can bear a bit of pain to learn more about the problems they face.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    If what you are looking for is story after story after story of peril at sea in the North Atlantic, of 'the staunch small ships and the great-hearted men who struggle with the Western Ocean so that other ships and other men may live', and if you relish 1950s purple prose to ramp up the drama, then you will probably love this book. The stories are told with nearly blow-by-blow detail, with facts, figures, exact dates and times - it is a bit like listening to combat veterans telling their battle stories - and that may be exactly what you want.If, however, you are wanting to know, with a amazing of detail, how old steam tugs were operated, you will have to do a considerable amount of digging through all the life-or-death tumult and pathos to search out how steam tugs worked or what they were like on a everyday basis. To be fair, this is not, and does not pretend to be, a scholarly work. In fact, the author says in his 1958 introduction that his intention is to tell stories as seen by "the men who actually manned the salvage vessels, rather than those of the vessel's owners." Even so, it must be said that Mowat fails somewhat in that respect, for he tells the stories with very small quoting of, or attribution to, those very true l in all, however, this is still a book like few others, because there are few books about steam tugs, especially about ocean-going rescue and salvage tugs at the end of the era of steam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    This is an interesting book about the life of a salvage tug on the stormy North Atlantic. It is told from a sailor's point of view which makes for amazing story telling but may not be as factually acurate as possible. Mowat admits as is is a book that you can stop reading after completing the first half. There are only so a lot of variations on the story of a ship in trouble, poor weather sets in, and the more-than-sea worthy tug heroically comes to the rescue. The book initially holds your attention but becomes highly repetitive by the later thing I did very much appreciate about the book was Mowat's unvarnished explanations of how salvage companies earn their money. It's not an entirely glamorous business and Mowat does a amazing job of pointing out how one's pecuniary interests leads to decision making. Obviously, salvage tugs don't operate out of the goodness of their heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    Not the usually Farley Mowat collection of "stretchers" a la "The Boat Who Wouldn't Float." Beautiful straight and sober story telling of some of the worst conditions imaginable. Beats the stories from the Bering Sea crab boats. And the squad worked just to have a job, not a share of thousands of dollars worth of crabs.I recommend it to anyone who is interested in what it was like on the salvage tugs of the North Atlantic in the early 20th Century. Awesome stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropic of Football: The Long and Perilous Journey of Samoans to the NFL []  2020-9-3 19:18

    In "Tropic of Football -- The Long and Perilous Journey of Samoans to the NFL," Rob Ruck applies his deep, erudite and extensive knowledge of sports and history to the story of the Samoan people and its link to professional football in the United States. Ruck, a Pittsburgh native who teaches at the University of Pittsburgh, follows the athletic careers of Jesse Sapolu, Junior Seau, hometown character Troy Polamalu and several others, tracing the lineage of their people back to Polynesia to explain how a native, tribal and isolated guild came to be prized assets of U.S. sporting organizations. Ruck has written a number of books about sports, including "Tropic of Baseball," which traced the connections between players from the Dominican Republic and Major League Baseball. Those interested in football and sports in general will have fun the book, as well as those interested in the migration of cultures, ethnography and history of the Pacific islands starting in the nineteenth century. I was especially fascinated by the saga of Robert Louis Stevenson and his decision to spend his final years in Samoa. But there is much more to this book and that is description of the unfolding tragedy of chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE) and how it is disabling, maiming and killing football players, among those who have created the long journey east. Not just an entertaining read, an necessary document about sports, medicine and culture in our times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    Farley Mowat writes this Maritime (true) story in a captivating manner, and you will feel as though you are right there, as the tale unfolds. There is also a follow-up to this book called, "The Serpents Coil", that you will wish to read too. He also wrote a book that is a "side-splitter" called "The Boat Who Wouldn't Float" (my favorite). He was a prolific writer, with "People of the Deer", "Never Cry Wolf", "A Whale For The Killing", et al. I've read most of his works, but (sadly) not all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    The book showed up right away in perfect condition. It is really well written and informative, as well as being a fascinating history of things we never really think about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropic of Football: The Long and Perilous Journey of Samoans to the NFL []  2020-9-3 19:18

    Does not represent American Samoan football accurately.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    The Grey Seas Under. Hmmmm. unusual title. Under what? Farley Mowatt. Unusual name. The beginning is slow and disoriented, like being in a foggy unfamiliar harbor jammed full of rust streaked vessels, succumbing to neglect. In retrospect, the sodden tone of the beginning, that caught me off guard, was an ideal e Grey Seas Under chronicles the life of the 156' salvage tug, Foundation Franklin, originally christened H.M.S. Frisky, from her in early 1930 by the Montreal-based Foundation Company of Canada, to her latest assignment during the cruel winter of 1946. Her wars with the sea were epic. The men who sailed her, heroic, sometimes eccentric and the rescues she accomplished, legendary. The lives she saved: grateful beyond what makes this book a must-read masterpiece? It is not written to highlight an exemplary vocabulary. There are no superlative descriptions. Displays of elite literary proficiency are e Grey Seas Under is a song. A ballad. Farley Mowatt is a minstrel, singing of a period in his life where he felt most alive, most connected to his fiber. Those days pass quickly for mortals but the tone is not sad. It is an adagio form, punctuated with rolling staccato storms. This is not a gilded representation of reality seen through progressive bifocals; this is a raw and salty reality lived by working men whose poetry sails above varnished table tops with fiddled edges and coffee mugs. No pontifications from the podium are found.If you have a paperback copy read it twice. Read it to your children and grandkids. If you have a hardbound copy in amazing condition, you have an appreciating G thanks to Ray R. for the loan of this fabulous book. The Grey Seas Under. Under what? Under the keel of a amazing ship. A ship that does not veer from difficulty, but takes pride in accomplishment and returns to home port, time after time. The Grey Seas Under? As it always has been, under the watchful but impassive heavens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    This book is not about a person or persons per-say. It is the history of an old ship that became a salvage tug in the 30' and all the adventures it had rescuing ships in the North Atlantic. It covers 30 years of the ships voyages till after WW II. At times the stories goat a small boring but never enough that I wanted to stop reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    Referred to several times in p Strong's own tale of salvage on the high seas, In Peril. Had to see what it was all about. What a amazing and gripping read! Those captains and squad really were a breed apart!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    A rusty old hulk is resurrected as a sturdy and seaworthy deep-sea salvage tug. The ship and her squad (at work in the early twentieth century, including Globe Battle II) face extraordinary challenges as they attempt to save storm-battered ships and their squads from destruction. It's usually stormy weather that gets a ship into trouble, so the tug spends a lot of time in gales and massive seas, attempting rescues in the begin ocean and amongst reefs closer to shore, rigging large pumps, cables and ground tackle, even divers. She works under international maritime "no cure - no pay" rules designed to encourage rescue and salvage, even in extreme situations. (If you don't succeed, you obtain nothing for your efforts, but if you save the ship the payoff is huge.) Written in Farley Mowat's usual easygoing vernacular, this is a must-read for sea adventure buffs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropic of Football: The Long and Perilous Journey of Samoans to the NFL []  2020-9-3 19:18

    It was a amazing book love everything about it differently a amazing read for any number of reasons frist history of the island a conf football history

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Mission of a N.A. Salvage Tug []  2020-2-1 4:49

    I first read Farley Mowat's pair of books about the oceangoing salvage tugs of Foundation Maritime, "The Grey Seas Under" and "The Serpent's Coil", when I was a teen. I have just finished re-reading them, and can't for the life of me imagine what took me so long. These are amazing books about the rigors of life on a salvage tug in the Atlantic Ocean. "The Grey Seas Under" is the first of the two books and is also set somewhat earlier than "The Serpent's Coil". The book largely chronicles the epic adventures of the tug "Foundation Franklin", a tug that started life in the British Royal Navy as "H.M.S. Frisky" and was responsible for making Foundation Maritime into a Canadian marine salvage powerhouse. To say this tug had a full and productive life would be an understatement, particularly during the years of Globe Battle Two when she would frequently have to rescue freighters torpedoed by German U-Boats, exposing herself to extreme danger in the process: salvage ships were highly prized targets for the German st people have no idea of the hazards involved with maritime salvage, but Mowat makes decades of awesome and harrowing exploits come to life in these two books: although they read like fiction, they are true. I particularly like the method Mowat can weave a spellbinding tale while still explaining technical info and business problems in interesting and relatable ways. (Who knew the Lloyd's Begin Form salvage contract could be so fascinating?) The ships themselves are discussed at length, but the focus is clearly on the valor of the men who risked everything to rescue doomed ships and save their crews.If you have any interest at all in maritime salvage, ships, the sea, or adventure writing in general, do not miss "The Grey Seas Under" and "The Serpent's Coil"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masks of Nyarlathotep: Perilous Adventures to Thwart the Dark God (Call of Cthulhu roleplaying) []  2019-12-25 18:34

    I'm running my group through this now, and I am really impressed. It is by far the most complex, well-thought-out and interesting published adventure I've seen for any android game system. It's not for the faint of heart; it looks like it's going to take us at least six months of android game nights to obtain through it. And it's not for the mindless dungeon-crawler; it's mentally challenging for both Keeper and players. If I were to have a complaint, it would be that the MASSIVE info dump in the first chapter is almost too much. But it's all important information, and you can't really progress without it, so I guess that's just the nature of the thing.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386