Read the personal librarian reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the personal librarian reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Amazing book for reading aloud to elementary through high school children (yes, my high schooler still loves a amazing bed time story!) I would recommend all of his books. Amazing lessons in history and amazing laughs at the same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    A unbelievable story with a surprise beginning and a heartwarming end. Family loyalty, love of friends, dastardly enemies, and sidetracked dreams weave together in a rough-seamed tale with enough jolts and jitters to hold you on the street to The End. Cheer for Peewee who loves well and dreams big.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    It took me a few chapters to obtain into this book but once I did, Wow! The story revolves around Dita, a young Jew, who is placed in the family blockof Auschwitz and takes on the position as librarian. Books are banned and the position is extremely risky. While reading The Librarian, the characters began to feel like family and I could literally feel their pain, hunger, fear and sorrow. The info provided about the conditions of Auschwitz is beyond imaginable. And to think that Dita has it much easier than the inmates in Auschwitz I. The number of innocent lives taken by the Nazi party is horrific, as well as the causes of the deaths. I found the takes of the doctor's experiments to be the absolute worse. I can not support but wonder what type of creature it takes to do the things he did especially to childre . This book leaves you sad and feeling empty but at the same time grateful that there has been nothing related since. Amazing book. Highly recommend.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the personal librarian or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    First book of 2018!!! And why I decided to pick a book that would pull my heart out of my chest and stomp on it, I’ll never know! I got this book for Christmas and I couldn’t wait to pick it up. The cover is gorgeous, its based on a real story, and its all about books. As much as I’ve studied the Holocaust and Auschwitz, I don’t think I’ve ever read about the family camp or the children’s school. To be honest, I don’t think I’ve read an acc of day to day life in Auschwitz, other than the constant stream into the gas chambers. This book does a amazing job of capturing the feelings of the prisoners. In other accounts, it seems that all you can feel is the fear and despair. But in The Librarian, there’s a sense of hope that never seems to be extinguished. Dr. Mengele could easily fit in as the villain in any horror story and be completely believable and terror-inducing. Yet Dita refuses to be cowed. Fredy, instead of looking out for his own interests and well-being like most leaders of that time did, successfully ran a school for hundreds of kids, in the middle of the most deadly extermination camp the Nazis ever set up! How our youth of today manage to “survive” in this globe of mean, offensive people, I’ll never know! *cough*sarcasm*cough* There were so a lot of feelings in this book! I was inspired, heartbroken, excited, scared, frustrated, mad . . . I thought I was going to burst. This is another fiction book that reads like non-fiction. Iturbe researched extensively and spent a lot of time with Dita before writing. The Postscript was actually my favorite part of the whole book because it was unbelievable to hear about what kind of person Dita grew up to be. Beautiful sure she is my fresh character and will remain in that position forever! I would save this for slightly older teens, hold it in high school classrooms and libraries. But every single high school history teacher should have this book on their shelves. I absolutely recommend this to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, history, or just an inspiring story. I would also suggest that every single high schooler read this book. An simple 5 stars! “Books are extremely dangerous; they create people think.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    I have loved Richard Peck forever, and this is one of my favorites. Just perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    I unabashedly adore Richard Peck's books. This has all the charm, wit, and dry sentiment that marks the best of his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    I have read a lot of Holocaust books in my life, not really to learn anything fresh about WWII, but to learn fresh stories about those who lived through this event, and honor those who had the misfortune to be alive, living in those unbearable conditions.I keep books like the Nightingale, all the books by Roberta Kagan, Saving Sophie, Finding Rebecca, Rebecca’ s Key, The Invisible Bridge, and of course The Diary of Anne Frank, as well as The Librarian, close to my heart, just as Dita held her books close to her during her time in Concentration Camps. The author met Dita a lot of years after the war, and wrote her story for us all to know, admire, and be amazed by her spirit, and bravery. He even goes on to tell what happened to each of the Natzi leaders in the epilogue. There is even a surprise connection with Anne rough this horror, a lot of kids are taught to read, learn about history, geography, the wonder of books by loving teachers, who test to hold things as normal as possible for the children.If I could, I would place this book, along with Anne Frank’s Diary, Into every child’s hands, as well as every adult’s. It really is a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    This was a amazing story based on a true person whom the author was able to meet at one point. When you think of these young teenagers in a setting like Auschwitz and how much older they really had to be, it’s a heartbreak on to of the already soul-crushing happenings of the e story sometimes moves a small slowly, but since it’s not entirely fiction, some of the little info were probably necessary to include.A fast read for adults and worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    I search it difficult to know whether to rate this three stars or four stars. I'm going with four because Peck is such a amazing writer: his characters always seem like true people, his plot situations are often hilarious, and his sentences are lively and flow smoothly. What doesn't work for me in this book is the kind of "lazy day" nature of the story, which is about fourteen-year-old PeeWee and her older brother, who repairs cars. The year is something like 1910 or 1912, in rural Indiana. Into city come four attractive sisters, driving a classy car. One of the four turns out to be the fresh librarian. Several of them turn out to be love interests for Jake. All turn out to be role models for PeeWee, who sees women stepping forward and living in the globe as people in their own right. The story involves an auto race, although that's a bit disappointing because the story never feels as if this is its logical direction. If you like hero and setting, you will love this book. If you wish a strong, compelling plot, you might be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Love Richard Peck's books! He is a unbelievable storyteller!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    While the subject of the Holocaust can create for some beautiful depressing and saddening reading, I'm always on the lookout for any "untold" stories. Untold to ME, that is. I'm sure others already knew about this lady, but I had no idea. As a real-life librarian, the premise of a "librarian" in Auschwitz intrigued me. It was a heartbreaking, but satisfying journey to read this story. The amount of courage this young girl had just astonishes me. I'm in awe of how she was able to stay powerful and think of others in the midst of such horrendous atrocities. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    This book makes me worry about people who don't really study what American politicians do. Any leader that promotes hate of any group should immediately be voted out as soon as possible. People who think prejudice will not end up costing them are deceiving themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    As a veteran reader of Holocaust literature, I found this book to be informative. That is, it's the first acc that I've ever read from inside the "family camp" at Auschwitz. The author's description of the teenager charged with the security of the camp's 8 books is necessarily fictionalized to a amazing extent; a lot of info and some dialogue could not have been contemporaneous facts. However, this is a little issue. Whereas I thought I had a fairly comprehensive understanding of this concentration camp (and others), I wasn't aware of the specific conditions that prevailed there, that the inmates established a school so that kids could benefit from some sense of normalcy, and that parents and kids actually lived together (within reach, or in nearby barracks) for extended periods. They certainly experienced poor conditions, which adds poignancy to the "librarian's" nightmarish private history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    This book was a really amazing read. It brings hope to a dire situation. It will expand your love for books in a method like no other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    but I can't. I thoroughly enjoyed Richard Peck's "A Long Method From Chicago" and "A Year Down Yonder." He is a marvel at recreating another time and another place, and he does a fine job with this rural Indiana city in the early years of the 20th century. And Jake and Peewee (also known as Eleanor) are finely drawn characters - as are most of the others we only true issue with the book is that I really, really dislike the first chapter - so much so that I almost stopped reading the book at the bottom of page 11. I'm glad I kept going because all of the remaining chapters are first rate. The offending chapter has to do with a tornado tearing up the city and part of its adjacent cemetary. I thought it was unnecessarily grotesque, and nothing that happens in the rest of the book is dependent in any method on the happenings in chapter one. It's possible, I suppose, that one could look at the tornado in a metaphorical sense (the only explanation I can come up with) because "winds of change" do blow into city in chapter two. We meet emancipated women who act as role models for Peewee/Eleanor, and we have Eleanor herself coming to terms with her impending maturity and subsequent self-reliance. So, I recommend reading the first four or five pages, then skipping to the first page of chapter two and continuing on to the end of the book. It's a amazing book - but not a amazing one like either of the two Grandma Dowdel books I mentioned up front.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Richard Peck has done it again. I first read his Long Method From Chicago. Of course, I had to obtain ahold of all of his books after that. His method of describing happenings and characters is unlike anything I have ever read. I can see it all play out in my head like a movie...laughing out loud all the while. If you wish a amazing belly laugh mixed in with some suspense....read his books. This one surprised me. I was excpecting it to be on the dark side, but he pulled through with much humour and colourful characters.....yet again., Richard Peck's books should be in every school library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    I just finished Night by Elie Wiesel so when I came across this book I thought it was going to be another strong read. I really wanted to like the book but the story started off weird. Within chapter 1 there was a young girl name Dita running all over the place. She was out of control, climbing up on a stove and jumping off, knocking over stools and being an unruly young kid (I perceived her being around 7-9). All the teachers were frightened and telling her to stop. They were terrified she was going to obtain them in problem or worse. Then in chapter 2 it is explained that Dita was a 14 year old girl who was given the responsibility of protecting illegal library books in Auschwitz. The job was given to her by teachers/grownups. Then why was she behaving that method in chapter 1? Why would they give her the responsibility to care for something that could lead to death if she has undisciplined behavior? Why would the adults give that responsibility to a "child" in the first put if they truly understood their situation? Is this a second Dita or the same Dita just older? I reread chapter 1 because obviously I am missing something. I thought it was me. I don't know if this book is poorly written or just a poor translation. It was confusing so I decided not to go on after chapter 2. I may pick it up again in future but as of right now, I'll move on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz []  2020-1-14 19:30

    Recently I asked a mate how to recommend this book and how one could not recommend this book. I have read tons of Holocaust books, but never one like this one. You are there in Aushwitz while thanking G-d you are not really there. The story is amazingly haunting, yet one everyone must read. Books are precious, as are libraries. This particular library and its librarian are stunning examples of what the Germans tried unsuccessfully to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Classic Richard Peck story! Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here Lies the Librarian []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Richard Peck is one of the most gifted writers of our time and this book proves it. His main hero can be a male or female - can be a kid or an adult - and always the hero becomes believable - becomes true - to the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    I just finished Night by Elie Wiesel so when I came across this book I thought it was going to be another strong read. I really wanted to like the book but the story started off weird. Within chapter 1 there was a young girl name Dita running all over the place. She was out of control, climbing up on a stove and jumping off, knocking over stools and being an unruly young kid (I perceived her being around 7-9). All the teachers were frightened and telling her to stop. They were terrified she was going to obtain them in problem or worse. Then in chapter 2 it is explained that Dita was a 14 year old girl who was given the responsibility of protecting illegal library books in Auschwitz. The job was given to her by teachers/grownups. Then why was she behaving that method in chapter 1? Why would they give her the responsibility to care for something that could lead to death if she has undisciplined behavior? Why would the adults give that responsibility to a "child" in the first put if they truly understood their situation? Is this a second Dita or the same Dita just older? I reread chapter 1 because obviously I am missing something. I thought it was me. I don't know if this book is poorly written or just a poor translation. It was confusing so I decided not to go on after chapter 2. I may pick it up again in future but as of right now, I'll move on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    First book of 2018!!! And why I decided to pick a book that would pull my heart out of my chest and stomp on it, I’ll never know! I got this book for Christmas and I couldn’t wait to pick it up. The cover is gorgeous, its based on a real story, and its all about books. As much as I’ve studied the Holocaust and Auschwitz, I don’t think I’ve ever read about the family camp or the children’s school. To be honest, I don’t think I’ve read an acc of day to day life in Auschwitz, other than the constant stream into the gas chambers. This book does a amazing job of capturing the feelings of the prisoners. In other accounts, it seems that all you can feel is the fear and despair. But in The Librarian, there’s a sense of hope that never seems to be extinguished. Dr. Mengele could easily fit in as the villain in any horror story and be completely believable and terror-inducing. Yet Dita refuses to be cowed. Fredy, instead of looking out for his own interests and well-being like most leaders of that time did, successfully ran a school for hundreds of kids, in the middle of the most deadly extermination camp the Nazis ever set up! How our youth of today manage to “survive” in this globe of mean, offensive people, I’ll never know! *cough*sarcasm*cough* There were so a lot of feelings in this book! I was inspired, heartbroken, excited, scared, frustrated, mad . . . I thought I was going to burst. This is another fiction book that reads like non-fiction. Iturbe researched extensively and spent a lot of time with Dita before writing. The Postscript was actually my favorite part of the whole book because it was unbelievable to hear about what kind of person Dita grew up to be. Beautiful sure she is my fresh character and will remain in that position forever! I would save this for slightly older teens, hold it in high school classrooms and libraries. But every single high school history teacher should have this book on their shelves. I absolutely recommend this to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, history, or just an inspiring story. I would also suggest that every single high schooler read this book. An simple 5 stars! “Books are extremely dangerous; they create people think.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    As a veteran reader of Holocaust literature, I found this book to be informative. That is, it's the first acc that I've ever read from inside the "family camp" at Auschwitz. The author's description of the teenager charged with the security of the camp's 8 books is necessarily fictionalized to a amazing extent; a lot of info and some dialogue could not have been contemporaneous facts. However, this is a little issue. Whereas I thought I had a fairly comprehensive understanding of this concentration camp (and others), I wasn't aware of the specific conditions that prevailed there, that the inmates established a school so that kids could benefit from some sense of normalcy, and that parents and kids actually lived together (within reach, or in nearby barracks) for extended periods. They certainly experienced poor conditions, which adds poignancy to the "librarian's" nightmarish private history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    This book makes me worry about people who don't really study what American politicians do. Any leader that promotes hate of any group should immediately be voted out as soon as possible. People who think prejudice will not end up costing them are deceiving themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    While the subject of the Holocaust can create for some beautiful depressing and saddening reading, I'm always on the lookout for any "untold" stories. Untold to ME, that is. I'm sure others already knew about this lady, but I had no idea. As a real-life librarian, the premise of a "librarian" in Auschwitz intrigued me. It was a heartbreaking, but satisfying journey to read this story. The amount of courage this young girl had just astonishes me. I'm in awe of how she was able to stay powerful and think of others in the midst of such horrendous atrocities. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    Recently I asked a mate how to recommend this book and how one could not recommend this book. I have read tons of Holocaust books, but never one like this one. You are there in Aushwitz while thanking G-d you are not really there. The story is amazingly haunting, yet one everyone must read. Books are precious, as are libraries. This particular library and its librarian are stunning examples of what the Germans tried unsuccessfully to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    This was a amazing story based on a true person whom the author was able to meet at one point. When you think of these young teenagers in a setting like Auschwitz and how much older they really had to be, it’s a heartbreak on to of the already soul-crushing happenings of the e story sometimes moves a small slowly, but since it’s not entirely fiction, some of the little info were probably necessary to include.A fast read for adults and worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    It took me a few chapters to obtain into this book but once I did, Wow! The story revolves around Dita, a young Jew, who is placed in the family blockof Auschwitz and takes on the position as librarian. Books are banned and the position is extremely risky. While reading The Librarian, the characters began to feel like family and I could literally feel their pain, hunger, fear and sorrow. The info provided about the conditions of Auschwitz is beyond imaginable. And to think that Dita has it much easier than the inmates in Auschwitz I. The number of innocent lives taken by the Nazi party is horrific, as well as the causes of the deaths. I found the takes of the doctor's experiments to be the absolute worse. I can not support but wonder what type of creature it takes to do the things he did especially to childre . This book leaves you sad and feeling empty but at the same time grateful that there has been nothing related since. Amazing book. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    I have read a lot of Holocaust books in my life, not really to learn anything fresh about WWII, but to learn fresh stories about those who lived through this event, and honor those who had the misfortune to be alive, living in those unbearable conditions.I keep books like the Nightingale, all the books by Roberta Kagan, Saving Sophie, Finding Rebecca, Rebecca’ s Key, The Invisible Bridge, and of course The Diary of Anne Frank, as well as The Librarian, close to my heart, just as Dita held her books close to her during her time in Concentration Camps. The author met Dita a lot of years after the war, and wrote her story for us all to know, admire, and be amazed by her spirit, and bravery. He even goes on to tell what happened to each of the Natzi leaders in the epilogue. There is even a surprise connection with Anne rough this horror, a lot of kids are taught to read, learn about history, geography, the wonder of books by loving teachers, who test to hold things as normal as possible for the children.If I could, I would place this book, along with Anne Frank’s Diary, Into every child’s hands, as well as every adult’s. It really is a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) []  2020-9-23 19:56

    How do I hold finding clunkers?!? As a historical fiction bibliophile, the title drew me in like a fly to honey. However, the flat characters, choppy writing, and wonderful story line were only some of the things I didn't like about this boring book. I was so hopeful to have found a gem to share with my three oldest granddaughters (13-15), but this book is a definite no go. I may have to stop buying and begin borrowing anymore hopefuls as my tightwad tendencies cannot take too a lot of more of these round file purchases. It's not even worth donating to charity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    This set provides a amazing quality, cheap method to get the three films in the "Librarian" trilogy, but there is a little "catch" in that the first two movies, "Quest for the Spear" and "Return to King Solomon's Mines" are presented on a single disc, apparently created specifically for this collection. The disc itself has no fancy label, there are no unique features, and, irritatingly, there is no provision for jumping to a specific stage in either film. The third film , "The Curse of the Judas Chalice," appears by itself on a beautifully labeled single disc. It is doubtless the same disc you would obtain if you bought this film by itself, and there are all the usual gift features and "jump to a scene" capability. From among the a lot of buying options, this is clearly the cheapest method to get all three of the films, but if you depend heavily on "jump to a scene" and you care a lot about the gift materials which could be available with other options, you might wish to consider carefully before getting this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    I appreciate getting the three package of the BD discs at a reasonable price, but wanted a product with English subtitles. These are imports and include only German subtitles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE I LOVE THESE MOVIES AND I HAVE SEEN THEM ALL ON DVD. I WAS VERY HAPPY TO WATCH THEM AGAIN ON BLU RAY BUT THEN I STARTED NOTICING ALL MY FAVORITE SCENES CUT OUT. THEY CUT OUT A LOT OF SCENES FOR SOME REASON ON THE BLU RAY. THIS RUINED THE WHOLE MOVIE WATCHING EXPERIENCE FOR ME AND THE LITTLE UPTAKE IN COLOR AND SHARPNESS IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. IF YOU WANT TO WATCH THE MOVIES UNCUT GET THE ORIGINAL DVD'S AND YOU WILL WILL ENJOY THE SERIES SO MUCH BETTER...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    I appreciate getting the three package of the BD discs at a reasonable price, but wanted a product with English subtitles. These are imports and include only German subtitles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    There are 2 DVDs- Quest for the Spear and Return to King Solomon's Mines on one, and The Curse of the Judas Chalice on another. The Curse of the Judas Chalice DVD looks legit with previews and a normal menu. The duel DVD looks like it is almost bootlegged. The menu looks like something a computer did. But they both work fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    This set provides a amazing quality, cheap method to get the three films in the "Librarian" trilogy, but there is a little "catch" in that the first two movies, "Quest for the Spear" and "Return to King Solomon's Mines" are presented on a single disc, apparently created specifically for this collection. The disc itself has no fancy label, there are no unique features, and, irritatingly, there is no provision for jumping to a specific stage in either film. The third film , "The Curse of the Judas Chalice," appears by itself on a beautifully labeled single disc. It is doubtless the same disc you would obtain if you bought this film by itself, and there are all the usual gift features and "jump to a scene" capability. From among the a lot of buying options, this is clearly the cheapest method to get all three of the films, but if you depend heavily on "jump to a scene" and you care a lot about the gift materials which could be available with other options, you might wish to consider carefully before getting this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    This set includes the created for TV film trilogy that was not quite an outright spoof/parody of (in the scary film franchise vein), but definitely a tongue-in-cheek, cheesy, take-off on the Indiana Jones movies. It stars Noah Wyle in his first, and really only, post ER main role until appearing on the series Falling Skies. The films aired in 2004, 2006, and 2008 after Wyle was transitioning from ER as a series regular to a recurring hero and continued after he had beautiful much left ER altogether. He plays a perpetual student in his 30s named Flynn Carsen, who has 22 degrees and counting lives with his mother and is a stereotypical geeky loser. If you can buy Wyle in that kind of a role then the films beautiful much work. After essentially getting kicked out of school (by being granted an early degree) he is invited to apply for the position of Librarian at the Metropolitan Museum in NY. As he finds out, there is much more to the job than one would e DVD set includes all three movies, Quest for the Spear, Return to King Soloman's Mines, and Curse of the Judas Chalice. Only the films are included, there are no extras like deleted scenes, commentaries etc. I will not go into detail of the plots of the movies, but they mainly involve Wyle's hero and usually a gorgeous female co-star to provide a love interest for Flynn trying to track down and recover some artifact that in the wrong hands could destroy the world, so it can be taken to the Library for safekeeping. None of the films are all that deep, nor do they take themselves all that seriously. If you know that going into them, and that would not bother you, then chances are you will have fun e set is available on blu-ray, but given the price difference between the blu-ray set and the DVD set (over $30 versus less than $10), you may just wish to obtain the DVDs or stream them. Given that the unique effects are on the lower-budget side and would not really be enhanced all that much by the higher-definition media, nor are there any extras or unique features included, it really does not create it worth shelling out the additional cash for the blu-rays. In my opinion anyway. All-in-all they are good, but not amazing movies. They also set up the globe of the Librarians TV series, which is currently airing on TNT, and is, in my opinion, better than these original movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    There are 2 DVDs- Quest for the Spear and Return to King Solomon's Mines on one, and The Curse of the Judas Chalice on another. The Curse of the Judas Chalice DVD looks legit with previews and a normal menu. The duel DVD looks like it is almost bootlegged. The menu looks like something a computer did. But they both work fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    I would recommend this product mainly to people who haven't seen the TV series The Librarians but plan to eventually. Anyone who sees the present first will experience a discouraging letdown with these films but seeing the films and then the present lets you have fun the present better for its slight rise in for the Spear is a amazing origin story with decent humor, some ok action and a solid cast, although the hero of Nicole Noone takes too long to present up and the twit about the main villain could have been created better with flashbacks, or been chop out turn to King Solomon's Mines was a disappointment and the hero decisions rarely created sense, and the only standout performance (that of Gabrielle Anwar) still could have been a small better with a powerful e Curse of the Judas Chalice was easily the bet of the three. THere's more answers about the Library itself. The action scenes are better and the hero depth is stronger. Even Stana Katic's fake French accent isn't too cringeworthy, although the movie could have done without l in all, a decent purchase of sci-fi channel fans, or people in treated in the present the Librarians, but probably not worth much more than the ten dollars or so that I paid for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE I LOVE THESE MOVIES AND I HAVE SEEN THEM ALL ON DVD. I WAS VERY HAPPY TO WATCH THEM AGAIN ON BLU RAY BUT THEN I STARTED NOTICING ALL MY FAVORITE SCENES CUT OUT. THEY CUT OUT A LOT OF SCENES FOR SOME REASON ON THE BLU RAY. THIS RUINED THE WHOLE MOVIE WATCHING EXPERIENCE FOR ME AND THE LITTLE UPTAKE IN COLOR AND SHARPNESS IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. IF YOU WANT TO WATCH THE MOVIES UNCUT GET THE ORIGINAL DVD'S AND YOU WILL WILL ENJOY THE SERIES SO MUCH BETTER...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    I would recommend this product mainly to people who haven't seen the TV series The Librarians but plan to eventually. Anyone who sees the present first will experience a discouraging letdown with these films but seeing the films and then the present lets you have fun the present better for its slight rise in for the Spear is a amazing origin story with decent humor, some ok action and a solid cast, although the hero of Nicole Noone takes too long to present up and the twit about the main villain could have been created better with flashbacks, or been chop out turn to King Solomon's Mines was a disappointment and the hero decisions rarely created sense, and the only standout performance (that of Gabrielle Anwar) still could have been a small better with a powerful e Curse of the Judas Chalice was easily the bet of the three. THere's more answers about the Library itself. The action scenes are better and the hero depth is stronger. Even Stana Katic's fake French accent isn't too cringeworthy, although the movie could have done without l in all, a decent purchase of sci-fi channel fans, or people in treated in the present the Librarians, but probably not worth much more than the ten dollars or so that I paid for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    The three films were really captivating and very entertaining. However, the descriptions of these films were in the Dutch language along with having Dutch subtitles. I couldn't search anywhere in the original description of the trilogy that this was how I would keep these movies. Also there were no menues for the dvds and thus, no method to turn off the Dutch subtitles. Other than that, these films were a amazing tie-in to the series running on TNT of 'The Librarians'. A lot of amazing action scenes throughout the trilogy. I would recommend this trilogy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    OK, I admit it: I love these cheesy Tomb Raider rip-offs! Noah Wyle did a amazing job with these, the only drawback being the gaps were too long between sequels, and they required more of the [very tastefully done] T&A they did have. Properly handled, these could have been a long-running serial featuring the ingenue-of-the-month and had a HUGE following; as it is, they're mostly forgotten. And of course, the poor guys are never poor enough to actually scare anyone ["Ho ho, allow me lock you in this totally contrived death-trap, while I wander off & you escape. AGAIN. Like I haven't already been thru this with you a couple of times in this one episode already! Mwahahahah! (twirls mustache...)] Ah well, it is what it is. Amazon fails again 'cause they don't allow me give 1/2 stars: this rests solidly at 3.5 stars [with 4 stars being really amazing & 5 exceedingly rare. Yeah, I'm a tough review!]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    Flynn Carsen, 32 years-old and a professional student has been kicked out of college after getting only 22 degrees. He is dispiritedly going through the newspaper job ads when a strange envelope comes in the mail. It's from the Metropolitan Public Library, "You have been selected to interview for a prestigious position." It turns out its him and a hundred other people. But Flynn's the one who lands the job as Librarian with a 6-month trial y other people enter those doors with the crouching lions in front, but only a unique few obtain to access the REAL library behind hidden doors. The true library has artifacts of myth and legend. As Judson, head of the library tells Flynn, "Some of the stuff in the library violate the known laws of science. But that is only because our brains are so little we haven't come up with laws to explain them."One of those stuff is one of three parts of the Spear of Destiny. Whoever joins the three parts has a spear of amazing power and can take over the world. On Flynn's very first night, ninja's break into the library and steal it's spear part. Flynn's mission, as explained by Judson and Charlene, the library administrator, is to use an ancient book and recover all three parts of the spear for the library. Amazing thing the bumbling Flynn isn't sent into the wild at is "Quest for the Spear", the first of "The Librarian" made-for-TV movies, first airing on TNT. The other two films follow the same general formula. This is family fare in the vein of the the films shown on "The Unbelievable Globe of Disney" (1969–1979). Though I don't think any of The Librarian films are as amazing as the best of e first film originally aired in 2004. "Return to King Solomon's Mines" followed in 2006, with "Curse of the Judas Chalice" in 2008. The films are comedy-adventures with adequate poor guys and far-fetched fantastical plots. Bob Newhart and Jane Curtin are amazing as Judson and Charlene. The first film has Kyle Maclachlan as the man out to rule the world. Sidekicks are beautiful good. See Stana Katic in the third movie, just before she became Detective Kate Beckett on "Castle" (2009-2016).English subtitles are available on all three movies. "The Curse of the Judas Chalice" has four Gift Features:...A... "Deleted Scenes" (7 minutes) Three extended scenes....B... "Visual Effects Deconstruction Sequences" (7 minutes) For 11 scenes in the movie, they present the green screen as filmed and the actual altered scenes....C... "A Look Behind the Monastery Scene" (3 minutes) A short video of a rehearsal....D... "Previews" Trailers for 5 other movies.I didn't dislike the three Librarian movies, they are OK, with the 1st, "Quest for the Spear" better than the rest.Happy Reader

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    I have loved the first Librarian film since I first saw it decades ago. It's silly and impossible, but it is just FUN. However...WARNING. These discs are SUBTITLED in a foreign language (German? Dutch?) and my eyes are drawn to the indecipherable captions EVERY TIME. It is VERY distracting. The subtitles CANNOT be turned off, they are part of the video...I would have given 5 stars, except for those annoying captions, which ruin the immersion in the movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    This set includes the created for TV film trilogy that was not quite an outright spoof/parody of (in the scary film franchise vein), but definitely a tongue-in-cheek, cheesy, take-off on the Indiana Jones movies. It stars Noah Wyle in his first, and really only, post ER main role until appearing on the series Falling Skies. The films aired in 2004, 2006, and 2008 after Wyle was transitioning from ER as a series regular to a recurring hero and continued after he had beautiful much left ER altogether. He plays a perpetual student in his 30s named Flynn Carsen, who has 22 degrees and counting lives with his mother and is a stereotypical geeky loser. If you can buy Wyle in that kind of a role then the films beautiful much work. After essentially getting kicked out of school (by being granted an early degree) he is invited to apply for the position of Librarian at the Metropolitan Museum in NY. As he finds out, there is much more to the job than one would e DVD set includes all three movies, Quest for the Spear, Return to King Soloman's Mines, and Curse of the Judas Chalice. Only the films are included, there are no extras like deleted scenes, commentaries etc. I will not go into detail of the plots of the movies, but they mainly involve Wyle's hero and usually a gorgeous female co-star to provide a love interest for Flynn trying to track down and recover some artifact that in the wrong hands could destroy the world, so it can be taken to the Library for safekeeping. None of the films are all that deep, nor do they take themselves all that seriously. If you know that going into them, and that would not bother you, then chances are you will have fun e set is available on blu-ray, but given the price difference between the blu-ray set and the DVD set (over $30 versus less than $10), you may just wish to obtain the DVDs or stream them. Given that the unique effects are on the lower-budget side and would not really be enhanced all that much by the higher-definition media, nor are there any extras or unique features included, it really does not create it worth shelling out the additional cash for the blu-rays. In my opinion anyway. All-in-all they are good, but not amazing movies. They also set up the globe of the Librarians TV series, which is currently airing on TNT, and is, in my opinion, better than these original movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    I have loved the first Librarian film since I first saw it decades ago. It's silly and impossible, but it is just FUN. However...WARNING. These discs are SUBTITLED in a foreign language (German? Dutch?) and my eyes are drawn to the indecipherable captions EVERY TIME. It is VERY distracting. The subtitles CANNOT be turned off, they are part of the video...I would have given 5 stars, except for those annoying captions, which ruin the immersion in the movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    The three films were really captivating and very entertaining. However, the descriptions of these films were in the Dutch language along with having Dutch subtitles. I couldn't search anywhere in the original description of the trilogy that this was how I would keep these movies. Also there were no menues for the dvds and thus, no method to turn off the Dutch subtitles. Other than that, these films were a amazing tie-in to the series running on TNT of 'The Librarians'. A lot of amazing action scenes throughout the trilogy. I would recommend this trilogy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-8-4 20:1

    OK, I admit it: I love these cheesy Tomb Raider rip-offs! Noah Wyle did a amazing job with these, the only drawback being the gaps were too long between sequels, and they required more of the [very tastefully done] T&A they did have. Properly handled, these could have been a long-running serial featuring the ingenue-of-the-month and had a HUGE following; as it is, they're mostly forgotten. And of course, the poor guys are never poor enough to actually scare anyone ["Ho ho, allow me lock you in this totally contrived death-trap, while I wander off & you escape. AGAIN. Like I haven't already been thru this with you a couple of times in this one episode already! Mwahahahah! (twirls mustache...)] Ah well, it is what it is. Amazon fails again 'cause they don't allow me give 1/2 stars: this rests solidly at 3.5 stars [with 4 stars being really amazing & 5 exceedingly rare. Yeah, I'm a tough review!]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian, The: Quest for the Spear / Librarian, The: Return to King Solomon's Mines - Vol / Librarian, The: The Curse of the Judas Chalice - Set []  2020-9-7 19:21

    Flynn Carsen, 32 years-old and a professional student has been kicked out of college after getting only 22 degrees. He is dispiritedly going through the newspaper job ads when a strange envelope comes in the mail. It's from the Metropolitan Public Library, "You have been selected to interview for a prestigious position." It turns out its him and a hundred other people. But Flynn's the one who lands the job as Librarian with a 6-month trial y other people enter those doors with the crouching lions in front, but only a unique few obtain to access the REAL library behind hidden doors. The true library has artifacts of myth and legend. As Judson, head of the library tells Flynn, "Some of the stuff in the library violate the known laws of science. But that is only because our brains are so little we haven't come up with laws to explain them."One of those stuff is one of three parts of the Spear of Destiny. Whoever joins the three parts has a spear of amazing power and can take over the world. On Flynn's very first night, ninja's break into the library and steal it's spear part. Flynn's mission, as explained by Judson and Charlene, the library administrator, is to use an ancient book and recover all three parts of the spear for the library. Amazing thing the bumbling Flynn isn't sent into the wild at is "Quest for the Spear", the first of "The Librarian" made-for-TV movies, first airing on TNT. The other two films follow the same general formula. This is family fare in the vein of the the films shown on "The Unbelievable Globe of Disney" (1969–1979). Though I don't think any of The Librarian films are as amazing as the best of e first film originally aired in 2004. "Return to King Solomon's Mines" followed in 2006, with "Curse of the Judas Chalice" in 2008. The films are comedy-adventures with adequate poor guys and far-fetched fantastical plots. Bob Newhart and Jane Curtin are amazing as Judson and Charlene. The first film has Kyle Maclachlan as the man out to rule the world. Sidekicks are beautiful good. See Stana Katic in the third movie, just before she became Detective Kate Beckett on "Castle" (2009-2016).English subtitles are available on all three movies. "The Curse of the Judas Chalice" has four Gift Features:...A... "Deleted Scenes" (7 minutes) Three extended scenes....B... "Visual Effects Deconstruction Sequences" (7 minutes) For 11 scenes in the movie, they present the green screen as filmed and the actual altered scenes....C... "A Look Behind the Monastery Scene" (3 minutes) A short video of a rehearsal....D... "Previews" Trailers for 5 other movies.I didn't dislike the three Librarian movies, they are OK, with the 1st, "Quest for the Spear" better than the rest.Happy Reader

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Christmas Magic: The Cowboy & The Librarian []  2020-11-27 18:41

    A fun, magical book that eventually brings romance to a librarian who moved away from her family to do it on her own. A small Christmas fantasy for all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    This is a very entertaining read set in the globe of the Ragoru . The lead couple is Amazing .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    This book had so a lot of feels! A gruff closed off warrior--who had sworn off love, finally meets his match!It was fun getting into this book, especially with the culture shock between the humans and the ghtly humorous and a swee only complaint is that I kept imagining ALL of the males in subsequent books as Mintars! hahahha!This has been my favorite book by SJ so far! I've now placed her stories on instaread! :D

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    I read this as it was serialized and bought it immediately upon publication. The characters are relatable, and the story explores their interactions with the creative magic system.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    This book was originally written as a serial during the spring of 2020 and is now in book form. I waited for the book because I prefer to read in book form. Beni was a transciber in the citadel. Someone has come to replace her and he is a threat to the books held in the library, so Beni and her friend, Tabby, decide to set up a secret library. In the process of secreting the books away across the river a thunderstorm comes and sweeps Beni away. Mintaurs are monsters of legend to Beni. She's quite surprised when she meets one in the flesh! (I loved reading this story after learning about the Atlavans!) Faltz has promised to return Beni to her home, but meanwhile they are forced to play as a mated pair to protect Beni. You can imagine how complicated this gets! This story was definitely an adventure and had some unexpected twists and turns. A magical and unexpected romance! Loved it! 4.5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    So far the first quarter of the story the MC is a doormat without any agency. This part is really rough and I had to force myself to obtain through en there is a huge timeskip, it is a bit jarring but picks up at first as it seems the main hero has gotten some will and agency, but unfortunately it swiftly becomes clear he is still a doormat and all the agency in the story is oddly enough given to the library itself. Sadly the MC never makes any meaningful decisions for himself which makes the whole story feel extremely forced. Which create sense as the MC is forced every step of the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    Do you like books? Because this is a book that has books. A whole magic library full of em! That's like, double the value or something. Casey White once again astounds with her lively and flavorful characters. On top of that, the magic system in this book is always interesting to see. And just the concept of it all! Who wouldn't wish to have access to a magic library?I don't wish to obtain into the specifics and spoil anything, but this is a lovely story and you should read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    Intriguing! Mystery! An interesting perspective. I can't wait for the next book to search out how this globe evolves. Makes me want I could visit the Library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    A midnight mission and raging floodwaters combine to turn Beni’s entire globe askew. She’s nothing if not resilient. I admire her ability to take in her cirtances and go with the flow until she can figure out what her next move will be. I love Faltz, with his desire to honor his promise to Beni, regardless of his growing feelings for her. An exciting adventure, bringing us back into the fascinating globe of the Huntsmen and the Ragoru. I love it!I voluntarily reviewed an author’s copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    I really like S.J. Sanders books she does a unbelievable job at globe building and creating characters that are vibrant, y and so much fun to read about. Beni is a librarian who loves books and is hoping to become the next transcriber of books so that she can preserve not only history but the novels of fiction she loves. But alas she doesn'@#$%!& given to a male who hates books and wants to gets rid of anything he seems unworthy. One night on a mission with her best mate Tabby to save her beloved books she is swept away in a rain storm down a risky river. Beni barely survives her ordeal and when she wakes she's rescued by Faltz who is a Mintar. Faltz has the upper torso of a human male and a second torso more related to that of a horse. He is a skilled hunter in his tribe and when on a mission to hunt meal for his people he comes across Beni. He promises Beni to obtain her back home. They come up with a plan to pretend a mating so that no one else will bother her. What they don't see event is their instant attraction and very hot passion. It is so much fun to read about how this couple comes to realize how much they come to love one another. All kinds of obstacles test to hold them apart but love triumphs . I can't wait to read another book in this series. Totally recommend💖💖💖💖

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    As always, White does amazing work. This book is entirely satisfied to be read standalone, without any Remnants of Magic background, but the small tips of tie-ins are there to see if you know what you're looking for.I read this book in three sittings. It was hard to place down, especially through the emotional parts in the exposition. Owl's story is one that you can relate to, and Library does a better job than a lot of alternate globe novels at making the opening more believable, especially the emotional aspects which come up a few times throughout the o, I liked it. I liked it a lot. Thanks again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    Such a sweet romance. I love me a worldly experienced heroine who isn't going to go all virgin girly when it comes to meeting Huge Powerful Other-Culture Guy. Berni was looking for her next adventure as well as a true one so discovering these Aliens who wish human women suits her fine as long as its temporary so she's all huge smiles, flirtatious ways, and plans to up Huge Red. And Faltz is just such a huge lovable gallumph. Gallump? Idjiot? Well, kinda like that. More brains than beauty? Sure e story carries along. There is at least one major clue to what is event throughout these books (do they call these clues easter eggs?) I appreciated the one I caught about the secret scroll Berni read in her library. It gave me a WHOLE LOT OF INSIGHT into how, why, and other things of creatures and human women and harems blah blah blah. Now it makes sense. Huh. Thank you dear why did this lose one 🌟? Those who know my reviews are going to laugh but here it comes. Yes the Reviewer who has been known to complain of too much in a book is about to complain about not enough , or at least not enough quality stuff. You have a librarian who frequents kink clubs, has had 17 kink contracts or partners so far this year and grown bored with them and she info a litany of 50 Shades that create me blush. Then you have Faltz who is part Alien man, part some kind of red scaled horse with claws, then I guess he has a lion's butt? Except the tail instead of fluff is a rack of stingers or something. Oh! He has fangs, so does that mean he has mandibles? Not sure. Anyways, as far as I could figure out he had equipment about where a horse does, he can just kneel down over Berni. They could have had ALL KINDS of exciting and descriptive . I'm getting there just trying to figure out how any of it works. Berni likes pain and Faltz hasn't bitten or stepped on her yet. That tail could have been a true climax - hardeeharhar. And blow jobs? I would imagine a woman like the librarian would consider herself an expert. So yes there was one star lost. I didn't need to hear it all, but more than a one night stand's worth I did.👍👍🍻

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    I absolutely love the method this author writes. This story is a stand alone but is richer and vastly improved with reading The Huntress!! I loved the heroine and how she approached life & , I have gotten tired of all the chaste, untouched young women and finally here’s a woman not afraid to see what life offers! Really well written !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    Unbelievable story of a woman who knows what she wants, and a Mintar who's about to search out it's him!Beni is a book saving character who doesn't allow things obtain in her way.Faltz is a centaur-like fighter who has given up on finding a matter and concentrates on training young rtunately for Faltz, Beni decides she likes the clans lifestyle and wants to stay with Faltz, Beni just had to convince Faltz somewhere between getting kidnapped and being forced to restore to her village.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    This book drew me in, as quickly and easily as other of my favorite authors, such as Tolkien, Eddings, Michael Manning. All used various styles, naturally. But White, here, has done the same thing they did. She wrote a story that would usher me into the gates of Alexandria, and hold me there. I envy Owl, to be honest. Give me a magickal library to serve and tend to day in, and day out, with an endless supply of books to sate my learning appetite. Nothing would please me more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    Bought this on a whim and was not disappointed. It’s an interesting and special story that held my attention right from the start. Amazing globe building. I can’t wait to read The Librarian!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    Just the right mixture of magic, hero depth, and plot. I'm hoping the second book follows suit and wraps up the story with a solution for both Owl and Alex.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    A unbelievable book from a unbelievable author! Truly a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    As always with this author this story was written beautifully, intelligently and with as much realism as one can achieve in a sci fi romance. I always appreciate that and the amount of globe building that must have been done to create that realism e characters were interesting and likable, the globe building was great. I very much liked the FMC and that she was an adventurous, brave, ly liberated, confident and body positive woman. And I’m a sucker for a broody creature why the four stars?*Spoilers*I am not a fan of all romances ending with pregnancy. I obtain why it matters in this particular globe with the tribe’s numbers being so low. But the hero clearly stated she didn’t wish children anytime soon in the beginning and I know people change their minds, but one doesn’t need offspring to be satisfied and fulfilled in a relationship and I want they would have waited longer for her to really be ready for minor pet peeve I’ve noticed with this author is that a lot of character’s “voices” sound the same or related and it is clear with the technical terminology that the author is highly educated, however it doesn’t create sense for every hero to be that bright, if that makes sense. We have a midwife talking about the anatomy of a fetus using very technical and scientific verbiage and from what I understood she didn’t seem to possess the educational background to help the use of such vocabulary. It took me out of the story for sec.Other than that I loved it. Very few authors (apart from Tiffany Roberts who are sci fi romance gods) write creature romance as eloquently, steamily, romantically or de note: I adore this author’s covers they are always so beautifully done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian and the Beast: A Mintar Romance []  2020-7-29 18:46

    The book has some serious cultural credibility issues. There is no back-story, but the human culture seems very odd, where there are harems and women can be forced to wed, and yet some of the females seem to be ly liberated. It just doesn't create sense. The writing in this is a bit forced and the plot very slow. I bailed out and did not finish. The cover art was execrable, real to form.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Christmas Magic: The Cowboy & The Librarian []  2020-11-27 18:41

    What if the kind of guy you only saw in romance books was REAL? And looking for YOU?! I really enjoyed this story of Christmas, new starts and destined love. A fun, quirky treat with just a sprinkle of magic ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library (The Librarian of Alexandria Book 1) []  2021-1-15 18:50

    Amazing Read. Highly reccomend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Library 101: A Handbook for the School Librarian, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-21 21:0

    I am starting my Masters of Library Science in January, and I bought this a few months ago just to create sure this is something I actually wish to do. This book is a amazing reference - it explains all the aspects of the job, even ones I wouldn’t think to ask about. I’ve hilighted notes in every chapter and each chapter makes me ask questions (which I write down and ask my local librarian) I wouldn’t have thought of. If you’re thinking about an MLS, this is a amazing put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Curvy Librarian (Curves in the City Book 2) []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Raiden is a social butterfly and Mimi is a homebody. To create it work they both need to compromise on their comfort zones in this sweet and y tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Curvy Librarian (Curves in the City Book 2) []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Raiden and Mimi were and interesting pair. I really liked Mimi but probably because I could relate to her so much! I did not care for Raiden all that much. I loved his interactions with Mimi and even loved his interest in her. They had some amazing chemistry also but some of his choices bothered me so much! I know that is the point and that was the conflict between these two (him a party person and her not) but he drove me nuts! Amazing add to the series though and overall a amazing read!I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bigfoot and the Librarian (Mystic Springs Book 1) []  2020-8-17 18:0

    Amazing story, amazing author. You’ll obtain hooked on her work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bigfoot and the Librarian (Mystic Springs Book 1) []  2020-8-17 18:0

    Didn’t like the writing style, hard to obtain into the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World's Strongest Librarian: A Book Lover's Adventures []  2020-9-17 18:27

    Not a weepy book. It's about the people who had an impact on his life and his struggle with Tourettes. It's about being 7, or 17, or 27, and what a boy of that age enjoys and grapples with. Some people think memoirs written in the mid-thirties are silly but I think it's the right time to recollect youth and the effort to become a functional adult.If he were to write about someone else, who would that be? I think he has the makings of a amazing author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World's Strongest Librarian: A Book Lover's Adventures []  2020-9-17 18:27

    The story is an honest and true.....but I can appreciate the tics being a metaphor for viewing your own kids....things that you as a parent cannot control.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré []  2020-2-1 2:0

    After reading this children’s story and the author’s note on the back two pages, I got chills. This story is unbelievable and I am so glad that I picked it up. It tells the real story of a woman who shared stories from her childhood which changed the lives of many. As I read this story, I thought of how she stepped forward and went about making a difference. This woman was not a loud, powerful woman. This woman saw a void and wanted to fill e year is 1921 and Pura Teresa leaves San Juan to visit her sister in the U.S. Seeing what the U.S. had to offer, Pura finds a job and begins to settle in. When the library posts a job for a bilingual assistant, Pura knows that she is the excellent individual for the alizing there are no Puerto Rico folktales on the library shelves, Puro recalls the stories that she heard growing up. As the kids gather around her during story hour, Puro doesn’t need any book to read from. Puro’s words are enough that the kids are soon whisked away into Puro’s globe and imagination. It isn’t long before Puro begins to make puppets to add to her stories and then, the word gets out about Puro and her stories and there is no stopping what happens to these unbelievable is children’s book place a smile on my face and it warmed my heart as I read about her journey through life, sharing her stories. I hoped her journey would never end as she was such a positive individual. This book gives the full acc of her life and it truly is a unbelievable story. Create sure you read the author’s note which is located in the back of the book. Located also in the back of the book are a few pages on extra resources you could use for more info on subjects contained in the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré []  2020-2-1 2:0

    When I was a teacher, helping my students understand the attractive diversity of our country was hugely necessary to me. And, now as a parent, I test to continue that work in my own house, finding age-appropriate ways to teach our girls about the diversity around us, where our country has been, and where they might support our country go. Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré by Anika Aldamuy Denise and illustrated by Paola Escobar is a excellent read for this endeavor!⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀This story of Pura Belpré, the first Puerto Rican librarian in Fresh York City, begins when she left Puerto Rico to visit Fresh York in 1921. We learn how she began her library career as an oral storyteller, passing on her grandmother’s stories in both English and Spanish. We watch her create puppets by hand, to bring her stories even more alive to her audiences. And we see her determination to obtain these stories in writing, in Spanish, for kids to read instead of just hear. Belpré's legacy lives today, not only through the stories that she told and published, but through the inspiration she gave to other Spanish-speaking immigrants then and now.⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Denise contains words and phrases in Spanish throughout the book, always giving enough context so that anyone can understand the meanings of these words. She also wrote an Author's Note with more in-depth info of Belpré's whole life, as well as bibliographical notes, suggestions for further reading, and summaries of Belpré's stories mentioned in this book.⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀And, let’s talk about the beauty of Paola Escobar's illustrations! These digitally rendered illustrations are warm, vibrant, and full of color, as I imagine Belpré was as well. They are full of action and detail (but not to the point of distraction), so you're going to wish to slow down and allow your kids take everything in. You're also going to wish to check out the attractive endpapers as well as the hidden gems under the dust cover!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Basra: A True Story from Iraq []  2020-1-25 14:45

    Amazing story about considered risk-taking, mates and community pulling together, and one dedicated woman in a male-dominated society managing to save the history of human knowledge. Can't go wrong sharing this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Basra: A True Story from Iraq []  2020-1-25 14:45

    Amazing story. Used for Girl Scouts. Well made. Would purchase again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Billionaire's Curvy Librarian (Curvy Librarians Book 1) []  2020-2-7 19:5

    This was a sweet fast lsey is working at a local branch of the library when Eric, a true estate mogul in cognito, asks to see the basement of the library. She takes him on a tour, a tornado siren goes off and the lights go off. He asks her out and takes her to a common person restaurant and bowling. She found out he has cash and wants to buy the library and gets mad he lied to her. He explains about his ex-wife and wanting to be loved for himself and not his money. They create up after he donates cash to hold the library open. They have a steamy create up session and obtain their HEA.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian Tales: Funny, Strange, and Inspiring Dispatches from the Stacks []  2020-12-17 18:0

    As a librarian, I've gotten a lot of laughs and enjoyment out of the "Librarian Problems" blog on Tumblr. So when I learned that the creator of that blog had written a book about his librarian experiences, I knew I had to give it a read. I suppose I expected this book to be mostly funny anecdotes, related to his blog (except without the copyrighted GIFS accompanying said anecdotes.) While there are some amusing moments, the book itself was surprisingly bland, and while it's an insightful look at the librarian globe and a neat "behind the scenes" glimpse at your local library, it's not nearly as entertaining as his blog.William Ottens uses this book to talk about his own librarian career, what it takes to become a librarian, and some of the things these underrated workers place up with on a everyday basis. He tries to dispel the myth that a librarian's job is mainly to shush people, and talks about the a lot of hats he's worn throughout his career. And he also shares the experiences of others in his field -- people who follow him on Fb and have shared anecdotes of their own. And he addresses some of the stickier problems facing librarians today -- library fines, the impact e-books have had on libraries, and the problem of whether or not to close libraries during the is book has a lot of information, and Ottens does a amazing job of explaining what goes into the job and what kinds of things a librarian can run into while doing their job. He covers a LOT of aspects of the job, from shelving to programs to reference desk to tech help to managing the whole thing as a director. And some of his observations are funny as well as insightful, and I'm glad he allow other librarians say their piece as well, whether it's through interviews of librarians he's worked with or sharing comments from ens does a LOT of talking about himself, however, and while I understand this IS his book, it gets a small tiresome to just hear him relate the story of his career. The writing is fairly bland, and there are times when Ottens seems to assume his experiences are universal among librarians, when in reality every library is special and operates slightly differently to accommodate the community it serves. So go into this book knowing that it's one librarian's experience and not typical of all libraries and librarians.I wanted to like this book a lot more than I did, and feel like it could have been better than it ended up being. I do appreciate him shedding light on an often-overlooked job, and showing the role libraries play in society. This book is worth a read to learn more about the people who create libraries work -- but obtain it from your library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Instruction Librarian: A Workbook for Trainers and Learners []  2020-1-29 1:13

    Delivered on time; product as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré []  2020-2-1 2:0

    This is a very inspiring story with evocative illustrations. Also purchased the Spanish version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré []  2020-2-1 2:0

    I love this book!! I used it to integrate science and children's literature! The illustrations are beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Curvy Librarian (Curves in the City Book 2) []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Raiden and Mimi are adorable. Mimi, librarian anticipating reading a fresh book in the breakroom, when she is interrupted by a mystery man outside the door. It's Raiden, Norse God. He's updating the children's wing and smells like air! Raiden, entranced by Mimi's beauty. Raiden invites Mimi out. She hates crowds. Her LBD broke a zipper and she had to quickly select an outfit that was totally y. Unfortunately, she went to a club. Braiden had to press the flesh and ended up gone for > 30 minutes. Mimi left. He follwed her home. She had baggage and he needs to consider it. Will he? Does she mean more than his business? Their meeting and journey are delicious. The cover image is FANTASTIC! This is a real cover rather than all the covers used by other authors. This model is gorgeous! Well done. I received an ARC from Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Curvy Librarian (Curves in the City Book 2) []  2020-1-22 19:14

    Raiden an up and coming fresh architect meets the girl of his dreams.Mimi the librarian who just wants quite.When these two meet its a clash of priorities.He needs to mix and mingle to promote his e just wants to Netflix and ught up in a tug of battle with himself Raiden may have lost the love of his life because he didn't message the signs of her heartbreak until it was to me wickedly steamy makeout sessionsSassy friendsAnd an AH HA moment worth either one of them have to change to create their relationship work is there a compromise.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Basra: A True Story from Iraq []  2020-1-25 14:45

    Very nice book. My partner from Iraq and I’ve been wanting to search nice books on Iraq to present my children so they can learn about their fathers birthplace. It’s a nice story on a courageous lady. It real story too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Librarian of Basra: A True Story from Iraq []  2020-1-25 14:45

    Unbelievable story. The text is actually very good. I could want for some small telling info that would draw kids into the story but it does the job. The main reason it doesn't obtain five stars from me is that the illustrations are a bit dull and they don't have enough variation to grab kids' attention, but it is definitely worthwhile. There is true discussion of bombs dropping and other realities of battle that are often too glossed over in children's books. It doesn't name any names about who is at battle with whom or why. The focus is on saving the books and understanding the impact on people of any ar. That is probably a amazing thing. Parents and teachers can fill in the missing info if children are old enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Billionaire's Curvy Librarian (Curvy Librarians Book 1) []  2020-2-7 19:5

    Reviewed By: LMRHe's UnderCover... And He spots Her!"The Billionaire's Curvy Librarian!"She doesn't know it YET... But She's SomeThing Special!And He's determined to HAVE HER!But He'll have to stay incognito... For just a bit longer!Cuz, He's UnSure how to snag "The Billionaire's Curvy Librarian,"Without losing HER due to His deception...Guess He'll have to Hope & pray She's The Forgiving sort!Cuz He's a gonner for "The Billionaire's Curvy Librarian,"And NO ONE else will DO!I was granted an ARC of Anna Heskin's "The Billionaire's Curvy Librarian (Curvy Librarians Book 1)" via B00|{$P®0UT. I recommend this book to others based upon its own merits. All opinions expressed within this review are uniquely my own & freely given!Until next time... Satisfied Reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Billionaire's Curvy Librarian (Curvy Librarians Book 1) []  2020-2-7 19:5

    This was my first book by Anna and it was the blurb that caught my attention, a librarian and a billionaire!!! My kind of ic & Kelsey's story and romance was quick paced and insta-everything! Eric hid his billionaire status for what he thought were amazing reasons, but even still some of his refined polish stood out and created it clear he was hiding something. Kelsey didn't care about his money, she fell for the guy underneath all the fancy clothes and ts.A super hot and steamy afternoon read. I will be back for more from Anna Heskin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bigfoot and the Librarian (Mystic Springs Book 1) []  2020-8-17 18:0

    I enjoyed this book! There were some unanswered questions (like why did the person who hired Marnie, the librarian, decide to choose her to come to Mystic Springs, even though she was an outsider?). Marnie and Clint were a nice couple, and I liked both of their characters. There was a mystery, but it almost seemed to obtain solved too quickly and at the latest minute. The main selling point for me was a fresh type of hero - Bigfoot! Vampires, werewolves, and other kinds of shifters have been beautiful much overdone, so it was fun to read about something completely different. That's really only the main reason I decided to purchase this book. I'm satisfied I did, it was a very simple read and I had a amazing time reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bigfoot and the Librarian (Mystic Springs Book 1) []  2020-8-17 18:0

    This is my first time reading Linda J. It was a amazing introduction! I can't wait for the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World's Strongest Librarian: A Book Lover's Adventures []  2020-9-17 18:27

    Leaving the library one day, I picked up a copy of Library Page, as I usually do. On the back of the short newsletter was a full page ad for the book, "The World's Strongest Librarian" by Josh Hanagarne. The title alone created me pledge to read it. I went online to You Tube and watched the trailer for the book. I immediately went online and ordered the is memoir is the story of Josh Hanagarne and his journey as he dealt with his Tourette's Syndrome. While this was the focus of the book, I found myself more intrigued by his love affair with books. Also intriguing was his Mormon faith and struggle with is is a quotable book. Here are some of my favorites:1.) "We lose the boys first. They're excited about reading at first, but once they obtain tight with someone who looks down on reading, knowledge, or librarians, their opinions change." Reading this saddens me and reinforces why I always feed the desire to read when I see it in any child.2.) "If she saw no problems w/ binding herself to a God she'd never seen, I didn't see why I couldn't bind myself to a guy out in Maine who wrote horror stories." Josh's response to his mom forbidding him to read Stephen King.3.) "If hate & fear have ignorance at their core, maybe the library can curb their effects, if only by offering ideas & neutrality." The library is a wealth of info. Use it.4.) "A library is a miracle. A put where you can learn just about anything, for free. A put where your mind can come alive." I remember spending hours in the library when I was younger, just taking in all of the books that surrounded me.I highly recommend this book to everyone. I never read books twice. This one, I will be rereading, and I will be taking my highlighter along for the ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World's Strongest Librarian: A Book Lover's Adventures []  2020-9-17 18:27

    Tourette's has personally touched my life, so its remarkable to read a story about a topic that is usually a dark sh Hanagarne tells his story with such honesty and charm that I felt as though we sat together over coffee as I turned the pages quickly to experience each word that he wrote to the re than his story, this book is a tutorial to all who deal with Tourette Syndrome and to all of their loved is is a book that is hard to place down and a story that will warm your heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Librarian Tales: Funny, Strange, and Inspiring Dispatches from the Stacks []  2020-12-17 18:0

    Not as 'funny' as I expected from the title or descriptions, but interesting info on how libraries are staffed and run. Rather tiresome reading of all the issues the author repeatedly ran into working in libraries, in spite of how much he loved the job, loved the job, loved the job, etc.! Worthwhile read for anyone contemplating a career working in a library, but not that enthralling a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Librarian (Scrolls of Fire Book 1) [Book]  2018-2-11 18:1

    Oh how delightful it is to delve into the globe of dragons and humans and magic! Marc spoils us again with a special story of Auli-Ambar, a young, blind girl, who is rescued and placed in the halls of dragons and becomes a roost keeper and dragon lore spet. Auli’s unknown maternal heritage leaves one wondering about how much of her magical abilities come from that line and a delicious tip as to a possible link to another globe gives one pause to think. Anyone who loves reading and lore will fall in love with Auli and have their soul quiver at her ups and downs, yet marvel at her remarkable abilities and determination that become her strength. Also, one cannot support but obtain excited to see the beginnings of Hualiama and Grandion and why she was forgotten by the family. Excellently spun tale that leaves one wrapped in wonder.I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386