Read the phenomenon reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the phenomenon reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    Awesome I love this android game it's super scary and the android game is not laggy at all awesome android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    I Love It Amazing Game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    Extraordinarily amazing game! I'll give five stars- this android game delivers challenging and scary video test with nice visuals. The scare mechanics are well worked out as well. I would like to contact [one of the] the developer(s), if possible. Well worth the paid.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the phenomenon or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    Awsome Just like a amazing damned horror movie- except you live in it! Amazing work Dev.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    Amazing Dont see why people gave poor reviews this is the best ive played to date as far as paranormal android games go did a video

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    Super Well done I mean the android game is challenging which I like it has the excellent amount of horror graphics are amazing controls a amazing too I hope you can unblock the basement and the 3rd floor to create it even more cool. But what you have right now is perfect. Thank you all for making this awesome, scary Very well done game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    Gives me the heebie jeebies amazing work on this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    Not cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    Looks amazing but it's not too great. The graphics are nice and so are the sounds but it is not scary at all and every time I play it is the exact same routine. I see the nurse lady, she screams at me, I go blind, the nurse lady kills me. Could be method better. Decent concept though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon [App]  2019-2-19 13:40

    DON'T DOWNLOAD! Absolutely unplayable with buttons half off the screen, and by the time I realised that, Google had allowed this dev to steal £2.58 of MY money. :( Edit: There is too a button at the bottom of the screen. At least, I guess that's where it's supposed to be, but it's half off the screen as I said. And two hours isn't long enough when you have multiple apps to try because you have no Wi-Fi at home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Detonation Phenomenon []  2020-1-8 18:44

    This is literally the bible on everything similar to detonations and deflagrations. John Lee is one of the top researchers in shock waves and detonations, and his book reflects that. Although it is a bit hardcore at times, you can tell the author wants the reader to learn as much as possible about the detonation phenomenon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    I sten to 2 tracks on this cd! And those two are sooo phenomen..thats why it gets a 5 star rsonally,I like clean rap/radio ver rap.But Candy..with Ralph vocals is marveloys! Its a song about love..LL Cool J is a amazing rapper and this song shows a tasteful mushy side to rl..Tamia does her duty.on latest track.of this cd! The vibe off that song...your at home hoping love arrives to you right e but right eat songs!! Awesome guest appearences create this a stellar cd!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    Satisfied with this CD,love all the songs..BIG LL fan!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    I really loved this cd its amazing the rap is amazing and some singing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    ©® Bowden's Masonry/Another Day Music/Designing By Grace

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    Item arrived in amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    This album is no doubt the best album i have ere are several amazing tracks on this album which will attract your attention guaranteed. But like evrery album there will always be 1 or 2 tracks which dont do it for some you have to be a amazing ll fan and have heard all the albums previous to this, because youve got to understand the lyrics and the flow combine them and you obtain a perfect ere are pop tracks such as phenomenon,hot hot and starsky and hutch.But then ll also concentrates on hardcore 90s hip hop such as 4321, wanna obtain paid,another dollar, more rnb like tracks candy, nobody can freak you. And latest but not least father the most successfull track on the album, he tells his private life.OVERALL EXCELLENT. GREAT GUEST APPEARANCE METHODMAN, BUSTA RHYMES, REDMAN, TAMIA ETC.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    First four tracks skips and this was brand new!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    just a amazing album. Worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon []  2020-1-17 2:19

    thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    As a therapist, I recommend this book ALL THE TIME. People who play by the rules expect others to do the same and are simple prey for those with hero disturbance. This book exposes the fallacy most of us (mental health professionals) teach that locations the responsibility for hurtful behaviors away from the perpetrators. It explodes the myth of the "neurotic" (Simon's term for the repeat victim) that says, "If only I love this person better I can have the unbelievable person they were at the beginning of the relationship back." It teaches you how to recognize manipulation and how to protect yourself from it.Another book I highly recommend is Who's Pulling Your Strings? It lets you see into the thinking process of those who are out for themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    I want I had read this book decades ago. It would have saved me infinite suffering . I shall warn the reader that if you have suffered prolonged psychological exposure and victimization that this book has the potential to trigger a lot of emotion . Thank you Dr. Simon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    George Simon has a various perspective than traditional psychologists, and he makes a lot of sense. This book gave me a better understanding of my husband, and it told me why Phil likes to torment me. Phil falls under the aggressive personality type, as a covert predator. Aggressive types are liars, and they do not wish the truth to come out. Phil will never own up to the covert things he does to me. I can’t resolve any problems with him, because he does not wish them resolved. Phil does not wish me to know him (what he is really like). He will not expose himself to me, by having an honest discussion. I have stopped reacting to his mind-manipulations and that contains not confronting him about it. The other day place my glasses on the end table in the living room next to my phone. We were going to a performance that evening. I went to obtain my glasses and they were gone. I got my spare pair out of my car, without saying anything to Phil. At the performance he said 'do you know where your phone is?' I said 'yes, I left it on the end table in the living room, but my glasses were missing. That's why I'm wearing the spare glasses I hold in my car.' When we got home Phil said in his sharp, button-pushing voice, 'you need to search your glasses.' I said 'I'm going to read for a while. I'll look for them later.' I read for an hour then went to bed. When I got up I checked the end table. My glasses were sitting there next to my phone. I never said a word to Phil about returning them. That would give him ammunition to attack me, and say I can look right at something and not see it (been there, done that... won't happen again). Phil enjoys setting me up, then he watches the fireworks... at least he used too. I don't go there now. I am no longer a screaming @#$%!. It didn’t take long after I married Phil, for me to realize something is very wrong with him. My first impression was passive-aggressive, but that didn’t quite fit. Phil is covert-aggressive and there is nothing passive about it. He does it viciously and with intent. I recognized Phil’s faulty thinking, and that is a huge piece of the puzzle, but the hardest piece to snap into put (by far) was why Phil does it— lie, sabotage, betray me, set me up, trick, deceive, play mind games, use info versus me (basically everything you would do to your enemy, not your spouse). Why Phil does it is necessary to know. Disturbed Characters answered that question— to create himself feel superior. Phil wants to have an advantage over me. He wants to be one up. He does not wish to relate straight across, like an equal. He wants to hold me in the dark. He wants to control me. If Phil can emotionally devastate me, if he can trick me, play mind android games on me, deceive and betray me, in his twisted mind, this makes him superior to me. My mental torment is his reward for being a superior person. Only a mentally deranged person would believe this. Disturbed Characters are mentally deranged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    Deals in depth with the motives and behaviors of "character disturbed" individuals-- the aggressive, recalcitrant, smart-a$$, sly or in-your face people we all encounter from time to time, sometimes to our amazing detriment. Juat staying even with type of person and keeping them from cleaning you out takes all your wit and presence of mind.Discusses in detail the strategies they use to confuse the problem and create others back down, which I found very helpful. Reading these I could remember instances from encounters of my own with different issue people. These strategies do in fact sow confusion and support them "win". Use of these strategies is a warning sign of what you're dealing with. Making the strategies clear and labeling them definitely helps you recognize them sooner and take appropriate steps.He also talks about the kind of thinking that makes us vulnerable to exploitation by these me of them are very dangerous. A close relationship with one of them means only grief. So, yes, it's worth your time to read about them and strengthen your resources to protect yourself from themThe method he defines aggression and discusses the blinders that some kinds of therapies and views of things place on us was enlightening to O, this book is not just a rehash of his previous book, but a development of an necessary idea with a lot of private ramifications. You can read this independently of the previous book and benefit from it, or after it and still benefit from finitely worth your time and money, especially if you are one of those responsible, Dudley Do-Rights that these people use and explofinitely worth your time and moneyIMO, this is not just a rehash of his previous book, but rather a development of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    This book is a beautiful simple read about the ways that people with hero deficiencies manipulate and lie to obtain through life and avoid consistently meeting their responsibilities. One part I found most interesting is that people with defective hero know what they are doing so it's not denial or repression or confusion it's just straight lying and manipulation. They view conforming to the norms of society and loving relationships as submission, which they resist. And in relationships, a person with defective hero often pairs with a weaker or naive person who is unable or unwilling to stand up for him or herself, creating chaos. The person with the defective hero doesn't need insights or support or understanding in the method that therapists typically offer, he or she needs to be confronted skillfully by someone calling them out on all the ways they test to deflect being held accountable for their not good choices. For a long time now I've had the feeling that my mate knew exactly what he was doing when we discussed the problems in our relationship, but I just couldn't figure out why because I was naïvely assuming he was coming from a put of love and caring and honestly trying to figure things out and resolve them. He just didn't seem to have empathy for me when I required help or he had treated me badly. I thought he just didn't understand the impact of his behavior on me and our relationship. Really he just didn't wish to be held accountable for it and had a lot of ways to deflect and confuse and spin the blame back on me for his poor behavior. I finally obtain it, I want I would have read this book years ago. In some ways the conclusions of this book are ridiculously obvious, If someone is treating you badly, don't bother trying to understand why, just set boundaries firmly and call them out on it. For those of us who need it, this book is eye-opening in describing how some people think and act, which is very helpful in either moving on or if needed, being able to see and refute the different excuses and manipulations and lies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    I read "In Sheep's Clothing," and found that it had some info about my private nightmare that was helpful. My abuser is a narcissist. He is an old perv. He has multiple psychopathic tendencies. He also is extremely skilled at acting normal, and fitting into society. He was sweet, and then he was creepy. He tried to Svengali me, and then everything about me was perfect. I have spent two years with him for the same reason 90% of us do. I need support paying my bills because I am an underpaid woman in a part of the country where men are in charge because of an invisible being they say says they are in charge. I am not from here, so it has been a hard life.OK. So my abuser as perfectly described by this author decided to place on a present for me, and contacted his twice to obtain "counseling." I was very skeptical of both of them, but after listening to this "session," I was absolutely shocked. The abuser place a "script" together where he deliberately told Simon about very easily understood covert, psychopathic abuse of past wives, and women at work, and me. Then, he wrote it so he left out a lot more. He cried twice while Simon literally preached a christian sermon for 20 mins of this nightmare. Simon threw out the cheat phrases like, "God doesn't create junk," and "You are God's pearl" and completely ignored the "tells" and holes in these half truths he was told. Any amazing counselor would have asked a lot of questions. He was talking to a man who sadistically abused his first wife by talking out loud to her about women he really wanted to be with in the bedroom. (It's awesome what you can obtain out of these guys when they are tired at night, and you are "pleasing" them). He tried a small of that with me,and I place a stop to it.OK, back to this 300.00 session with the author. Simon told the abuser that he was "depressed." He is far from depressed. He is exactly as Simon described in his first book, "In Sheep's Clothing." He then told him that I was a "vixen" as the preaching began. He told someone who told him about harassing women at work, and only thinking of women as objects, and several other things while crying that he was "afraid" he was a narcissistic, covert aggressive, psychopath because I had told him he was (like all vixens do! LOL!) after reading multiple books, including Simon'mon's preaching was scary. I believe it was related to what we see on "The Family" documentary currently out. He told a very emotional cruel man who was tricking him while still being transparent enough that a amazing counselor would know, that "God doesn't create junk," and "You are a pearl," while being totally played. I am not sure if my abuser played the recording for me to brag, or if he wanted to trick me into thinking because this author told him he is wonderful, I would believe it. A small of both abuser is a 67 year old idiot who has now completely lost his ability to crazy create me, and I am able to obtain my bills (the only reason we stay) with very small effort now. He's retired, and so am I, and he lives in an apartment in my house that is getting off super quick right now while I play my part. If I was young, I would run as quick as I could. But, I'm old, and this is it for my survival. I have turned the tables on him. I have always loved him, but now this love is contained by me, and controlled by my brain. Not my heart.I would hold this book to yourself. I really do think this old dork wants to change. But, he really can't. He is missing something that he has never had, and can't get. Just as Simon describes in these books, but totally goofs in counseling sessions. I gave mine the book. He got emboldened by the "counseling session" he orchestrated until I created him email the author, and tell him the things he had really done to his wives, and to me (someone intelligent enough to never marry a psychopath), and I'm sure Simon felt like a fool because he never responded. It's best to hold this info to yourself, and read a lot of more books to support you decide to stay, or go, and how to survive with either choice. These people can not change. The younger they are, the more they don't wish to change. This vixen is no longer poor, and the old psycho gets his attention. Simon needs to stop writing books, and really should not be allowed to counsel a dog.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    The author makes a tough topic simple to grasp without burdening the reader with a lot of jargon. Having encountered people with hero disorders I was already aware that it can be awfully difficult to identify them, sometimes difficult to understand what motivates them and nearly always baffling and painful to with them. This book goes a long method toward filling in the blanks about who these people are, how they manipulate others and what to do about it . Simon makes it beautiful clear they are an increasingly common phenomenon in our society, probably due to well-intentioned efforts to instill self-esteem. The resultant narcissism, sense of entitlement, selfishness, and lack of empathy or a conscience leads to behaviors that destroy relationships. He suggests that cognitive behavioral therapy may be successful in treating some of them, but most of these disturbed individuals are quite satisfied with their state of affairs and have small motivation to change. It is well worth reading just to obtain some insight into how these people operate and how to avoid becoming their prey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    This is a amazing book for anyone who knows, lives with or works with a power hungry, controlling & manipulative jerk. While I liked Dr. Simon's other book "In Sheep's Clothing" more, this is a amazing follow up to read. (In Sheep's Clothing was the better of the two.) Both books allow you know you are not alone & are in fact seeing what you think you are, and that someone is indeed manipulating & taking advantage of dly, no "quick solution" or comments are offered to set these sort of people back in their place, getting them to stop. However once you read these books, you should realize that there is no simple comment or solution to set things right anyway. "Manipulative Covert-Aggressive" people are using others & taking advantage of them, & that is just the method they are & choose to be. THERE IS NO CHANGING THEM. Like wolves, there is no method to stop them from being who they is therefore, the "sheep" who must learn how to not let themselves be victimized, as the wolves will NEVER change nor stop their behavior. (Making you think they will or can change IS one of their tactics...beware!) The sooner this fact is accepted, the sooner you can obtain the situation back in your control (for some part). The best thing to do is obtain away from these sort of people, & obtain them out of your life. Until then, you can learn to with them to some degree. (Is isn't simple & is a lot of work that never gets better.)And forget thinking that they are like normal people & simply "don't realize the pain they are causing others", for they already do know & simply don't care. They wish the advantage over others & don't care if you have to the price. They wish you to believe they are like normal people however, as that is how they maintain their power. It is that sort of "normal" outlook that people have, that they take advantage of. But they are NOT like normal people & as such do NOT answer like a normal person would. They will use you, especially if you allow them, & in any method they can. For them it is about their winning... and you losing. And if they are created to lose, then they will take you down with them, just so someone else loses worse then they do. In their world, they have to victory no matter what the ain, this book is a amazing follow up, but I'd recommend getting "In Sheep's Clothing" first. Just don't expect any fast or simple solutions in either book. Dr. Simon would them if they were available, but sadly the situation requires the victim (sheep) to do all the work of finding ways to with these monsters. It took me time to understand why, but indeed it is the best & only way.We are most all like sheep, peacefully relating to other sheep, ...& when we encounter a wolf, we need to learn how to not be eaten. It is easy as that. Wolves are NOT sheep. The wolves are NOT ever going to stop feeding on sheep nor ever feel guilty about it. Obtain over the fact that they look like us (sheep), but are not at all like us inside. Remember this, even if they are your brother/sister/Mom/child or friend. If they take advantage of you or manipulate you repeatedly... they are taking inappropriate advantage of you. They manipulate you to do things they should do themselves. If you search yourself feeling poor after an encounter with them, then you are dealing with a covert manipulator. If you search you feel used when dealing with them, or feeling poor about yourself, then trust your gut, for it is right!I bought both books after researching on the net about a sibling who was being difficult to obtain along with & who kept making excuses & avoiding direct confrontation. They always seemed to have to look better than others & avoided responsibility for & trivializing the things they did wrong, while always pointing out & making a huge out of the mistakes of wife & I were eventually avoiding them (as we couldn't take their strategies any more) and were surprised at what we read in these books, as it was like the writer knew this person (sibling) personally. Apparently we are not alone & there is a little segment of the population who are like this. We thought this "sibling" was just being a self-centered arrogant jerk... but discovered that their strategies & ways were a lot more deliberate & thought out than originally assumed. We also thought that perhaps they didn't realize their behavior was inappropriate & hurting people. Turned out we were wrong on both can learn to with these people by learning their strategies & what they do to gain advantage over you. You don't have to become a wolf yourself, in to with them (although it might support to do so to a little degree if that were possible).But you can learn to become less a victim as well as how to avoid letting their strategies succeed so easily. To do this, you have to stop acting like you are dealing with another "human being" (sheep). They are "covert manipulative people" (wolves), hiding their devious strategies from you in to appear innocent while taking advantage of you, & you can't ever forget that fact. Never!That alone will go a long method to helping you to protect yourself. While most of us don't wish to turn into wolves ourselves, by at least realizing we are dealing with a wolf, we don't necessarily have to treat them like other sheep. They can't handle being treated like other sheep (like ourselves) anyway, as they will answer like the wolves they are. They have to!They ARE wolves! And once you realize that fact (which we often have a difficult time accepting, especially the first time) you can start the work of protecting yourself around them. (Although your ultimate goal will be to eventually sever your relationship with them, as it is the only method to not be seen as their potential victim.)So once you accept that they are indeed "wolves", you need to realize that if you treat them like any other normal human being (sheep), it isn't their fault entirely if they use you (eat you) in response. A wolf is a wolf. Respect that entifying these sort of people & accepting that they indeed are how your gut is telling you they really are, is half the battle. Dr. Simon helps with that aspect by giving you descriptive concepts of their behavior, along with what to expect from them. After that it is then up to you to figure out what you wish to do about it & how to handle these ese books are a amazing start. Eventually however, it will then be up to you. As for us, we are biding out time, only as long as we have to. After that, we will again sever our relationship with them, only this time we will not give in to requests to test to relate with them again, for keeping the family. THEY are the ones who cannot relate normally, even though they claim & create it appear that they are the innocent ones & the victims.I no longer ask "why" or "how", as it actually doesn't even matter. It took a long time to realize that they simply are not like normal human beings & that they do not live on the logic & understanding that the rest of us do. That alone was an extremely difficult thing to realize and accept. But indeed, it is only after doing that, that the true work can begin.I highly recommend both books (In Sheep's Clothing first & primarily) & you have my sympathy if you (like us) search you need a book like these. But indeed if you do, these are the books to d luck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    This book has validated what I have felt for so long in my marriage. Just knowing that my husband (a covert aggressive/disturbed character) has a completely various thought process than me (neurotic) has offered me so much validation. Dr. Simon just nailed it right on the with his outline on their strategies and impression management. The impression management just really throws us neurotics off! My husband and I have tried getting traditional therapy in the past, my idea of course, but it’s almost as if he got worse. It’s beautiful clear his intention was never really there to change and it’s as if he got better at manipulating. It’s such a shame that I had to search this info online (although I’m so thankful that was possible), but I’m sure so a lot of more lives could be impacted if they only were offered the proper knowledge from their local counselors to create them aware and stronger! Hopefully, one day! Thank you Dr. Simon!I would just like to add, Dr. Simon also touched on raising kids with amazing character, the impacts of nature vs. nurture. My husband did have a difficult upbringing, an emotionally abusive father (who he sometimes hates and then idolizes) but I do think he exaggerates on some level as certain family members do not share his views. I also see how he conveniently brings up his victimization after he’s lied to me about something he’s done, etc. Very manipulative. Also, he had a mother who I can now see has praised him on an unhealthy level his whole life. It’s as if he received two extremes and nothing really quite in the middle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age []  2020-2-2 19:17

    George Simon has a genius for organization. He takes a complicated topic of human behavior and breaks it down to easily understandable subtopics, exploring the gamut of hero traits from neurosis to psychopathy. He gives simple, simple to follow tactics for dealing with the manipulative people in our lives, whether they are patients or relatives. He even addresses the concerns of people who have rid themselves of the disturbed hero that plagued them and suggests ways to move on.I was particularly impressed with his chapter on the process of hero development and his conclusions as to how hero - or the lack of it - affects everyone in our society at every level. It's the most pressing problem of our day, yet seems to be the most rsonally, I found the book engaging because I have read multiple works on psychopathy, abusers, victimology, narcissism, etc., even scanning the DSM IV on and off for years trying to pin-point the pathology of a disturbed hero in my life. He didn't fit into any of the boxes in any of the books. Finally, in Simon's first book, "In Sheep's Clothing," I found my answer. I was thrilled to search an author who understood those people who do have a conscience but act as if they don't because it is so underdeveloped, and who could explain to me how to with the way, if you've read the 1-star review (I always begin with the lowest review, myself) you'll probably have come the conclusion I did: that the reviewer has...issues. Yes, Simon does say that disturbed characters refuse to submit to any authority, because they wish what they wish now in the easiest way, and they wish to "win." They have amazing insight, and understand that others in our culture submit to a "God," a "higher authority," or the will of "society." They just refuse to do so. So yes, the word "God" is in the book, along with a lot of other ypersons and specialists will both benefit from this book. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BTS: The Ultimate Fan Book: Experience the K-Pop Phenomenon! []  2020-2-12 21:30

    I purchased the Fan Book for my granddaughter. She is a large fan and began reading it immediately. She loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BTS: The Ultimate Fan Book: Experience the K-Pop Phenomenon! []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slidin' On The Frets: The Hawaiian Steel Guitar Phenomenon []  2020-1-23 3:43

    Amazing guitar music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BTS: The Ultimate Fan Book: Experience the K-Pop Phenomenon! []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Ordered for my niece and she loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BTS: The Ultimate Fan Book: Experience the K-Pop Phenomenon! []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Some slight inaccuracies but overall, some nice pictures and backstory on BTS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slidin' On The Frets: The Hawaiian Steel Guitar Phenomenon []  2020-1-23 3:43

    as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BTS: The Ultimate Fan Book: Experience the K-Pop Phenomenon! []  2020-2-12 21:30

    This book was so much more than I thought it would be. It’s beautifully done and my neice loves it! Thank you! Amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BTS: The Ultimate Fan Book: Experience the K-Pop Phenomenon! []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Granddaughter loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BTS: The Ultimate Fan Book: Experience the K-Pop Phenomenon! []  2020-2-12 21:30

    My daughter loved her fan book! It's excellent for any BTS or KPOP fanatic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slidin' On The Frets: The Hawaiian Steel Guitar Phenomenon []  2020-1-23 3:43

    "Ghost Dance" sticks out as one of the most fascinating songs i have heard. This is a amazing collection, but the outstanding track, "ghost dance" makes this a five star reccomendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BTS: The Ultimate Fan Book: Experience the K-Pop Phenomenon! []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Our daughters really into BTS/KPOP, this book was a hit !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slidin' On The Frets: The Hawaiian Steel Guitar Phenomenon []  2020-1-23 3:43

    First of all, if you like the kind of items that R. Crumb collects and performs (see my other reviews) create a beeline for this disc, it is prime, prime hot playing from the 20's & 30's. There's something for everyone here, from the wistful ver of Jimmie Tarlton's "My Small Blue Heaven" to the seedly blues of Oscar Woods ("Don't Sell It - Don't Give It Away") to the jazz of King Oliver and a lot of other styles. There is an appearance by Nelstone's Hawaiians who also chop the mustard enough to appear on Harry Smith's landmark "Anthology of American Folk Music". Among the a lot of gems here are some of the wildest old time recordings ever made, such as a scorching 1927 ver of "Milenberg Blues" by Rodney Rogers' Red Peppers (the original was co-written by Jelly Roll Morton). The hands-down champion in the totally unhinged department is the spastic "Pame Sti Honoloulou" by a Greek orchestra with slide guitars, bouzouki, ukeleles & frantic incomprehensible yodeling. Regardless of the setting or style, the playing on each song - all by various artists - is uniformly brilliant, passionate and thrilling. There aren't a lot of compilation discs out there with this level of musicianship from begin to finish, and the international scope of the groups involved shows just how far-reaching the Hawaiian craze was in the early 20th century. This is a amazing disc to discover if you already appreciate bottleneck blues and pedal steel guitar and wish to hear something completely various that predated both of those styles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    Simple to read, informative, upbeat. Especially after a rough day it was like sitting in my living room chatting with a amazing friend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    This is a amazing book. Sylvia had such a funny sense of humor and was straight to the point. I appreciate this book as a reference and a amazing starting point to delve deeper into researching any of the different subjects that she discusses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    My mom loves reading anything from Sylvia Browne. Though she doesn't believe in everything she said. She's a fan still.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    Dennett takes us on what amounts to a sort of rough draft, or outline of his hypothesis on how traditional folk religions first developed and then 'culturally evolved' into the sophisticated religions that are famous amongst humanity today. This book will be of amazing interest to all thinking people, religious or otherwise, who like to think about how our globe works. Dennett is up front about the limitations of his ideas and asks as a lot of questions as he does create statements about the matter at hand. The book wraps up with Dennett discussing how we might go about answering some of the questions he puts forward through out. It's in no method a 'religion bash' like Dawkins et al might write and in fact probably the most thought provoking writing on the topic of religion I've come across.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    I am posting a letter that I wrote to my siblings as a review of this "enlightening book."Dear J & J,Friday night, I decided to slowly read through a book on "religion as a natural phenomenon. As long as I have been in religious circles, no one has attempted to explain to me or even discuss where this idea of religion originated. However, not all religions are the same in regards to intent. Dr. Dennett wrote that sharks and dolphins may have related attributes and can swim in the same waters, however, as often observed, the shark’s intent is definitely not the same as a his book “Breaking the Spell” by Daniel C. Dennett wrote “Religious cults (or pseudo religions) and political fanatics are not the only casters of evil spells today. Think of the people who are addicted to drugs, or gambling, or alcohol, or kid pornography.” Dr. Dennett also states that religion in America is not the same as religions in other seems that religion is necessary to most of our family members and a lot of Americans. Just look at all the televangelists begging for and getting it. I might suggest that all of us step back and look at the idea of what is religion in the first place. I suggest not waiting until you are lying in bed sick or lying in bed dying before you attempt to understand this idea of religion. Just because it has been handed down to us through traditions does not create it correct in the first fact, Jesus practiced a lesson related to Socrates; as a teacher, he never place someone down because a student does not agree. Thomas is known as doubting Thomas and Jesus never place him down; I prefer to call Thomas a skeptic. In my experience, healthy skepticism might have kept me from participating in a pseudo religion for thirteen years. In my view, healthy skepticism is another method of saying "intellectual honesty." One thing I know for sure is that nothing in life to a human is certain, nothing. None of us really knows anything for is book is well worth the read for real believers and d luck to you even L. H.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    This book was unbelievable and, I think, spot on... until the end. Dennet suggests that to xombat radical Islam, we should set up schools in Muslim countries that teacj kids to take religion with a grain of e solution to the Israel's troubles is to somehow move away from the idea that land is sacred... plus there is an evil fringe of right wing crazies who are hell bent on bringing in the end times. These people are of unknown number and of amazing danger to our future security....So... yeah. This book was absolutely amazing, until Dennett went full on unrealistic idealist and even conspiracy ill... I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    Sylvia! So intelligent in all areas. Her books are a learning tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    As a person fascinated with, though uncompelled by, religion, I throughly enjoyed Dennett's articulate exploration of religion as a natural phenomenon. Yes, as other reviewers have noted, some of the sections ramble a bit, however I found this simple to take, as Dennett's writing was always worth following. While Dennett describes a well-thought-out and interesting point of view, the book also illuminates the thoughts of others on the topic of religion, and facts of the natural globe that might bear on how we look at religion. This created the book a much richer experience than if Dennett simply created his for Dennett's arguments, I think they present true insight and genuine concern for the human condition. However, I was left with the sense that while Dennett's microscope uncovers a lot of necessary facets of religion, he may be missing the point that the central difference between a religious person and a "bright" like Dennett is their epistempology - their stance on what is the source of truth. Dennett asserts often in the book that the religious have an obligation to justify their views, but he wants them justified on his terms, reason, not theirs, private nnett quotes Avery Cardinal Dulles who writes that ".... the key question is how God comes to us and opens up a globe of meaning not accessible to human investigative powers. The answer, I suggest is testimony ... Private testimony calls for an epistemology quite distinct from the scientific, as commonly understood." The point of view expressed by this quote seems to me on target, and essential to understanding religion as a natural phenomenon, however Dennett won't have it. When Dulles later in his writing acknowledges the value of science, Dennett derides Dulles for "cherry picking", relying on science only when it helps his cause (p. 364).I think what Dennett really wants, to place religion under clear-eyed scrutiny, is "... not to bulldoze people with science, but to obtain them to see things they already know, or could know, have implications for how they should wish to answer to the problems under discussion." (p. 378) In other words, to acknowledge the importance of reason to human life in general, and in considering religion in particular. If Dennett wants to convert the converted, he needs to convert their epistemology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    An outstanding exposition regarding the source of religious feelings and resultant religious institutional structure. Dennett skillfully accounts for the means by which such religious institutions impose themselves on society and gives clear answers as to the difference between 'spiritual' vis-a-vis 'religious' feelings. As a scientist, this book significantly assisted me in finding a means to fulfill my spiritual needs despite being unable to envision anything 'supernatural' in this natural world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    The name Sylvia Browne and her Foundation speaks for it's Self..Seak and you shall fine! knock and the door be OpenCall her Son Chris for a EYE opening of his Reading...Well worth the MONEY!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    Tag Twain said of the Book of Mormon that it was chloroform in print. Daniel Dennett has managed to outdo Joseph Smith in producing the most boring book in history; this is truly chloroform in print. What is presented here in 400+ pages could have easily been distilled into less than 100 pages. You've been warned !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    I love this topic matter, and thank Dr. Dennett and the others who place this up for critically-needed inquiry. I wanted to love the book but ... the style is not good ... too much digression and word padding such as occurs when students are given an assignment to write 50 pages on a topic for which they have not even a single page worth of something to actually is is where editors come in handy and what I might recommend be utilized for the next edition of the book if it is intended to appeal to a wide audience outside of the ivory tower. Most of the negative reviews of the book hit on this on to the substance. Darwin discussed the evolution of physical structures and this book puts belief systems on the same plateau, which is a sumptive.leap. Dr. Dennett is a philosopher and not a behavioral scientist. I would like to have seen some credible foundation by a respected psychologist or psychiatrist established to help the idea that beliefs follow Darwinian principles. None was offered. This the core of the is makes the work an exercise in speculation. And while it may pose an interesting question for some people, others are understandably more concerned with the fact that there is absolutely no evidence for religion and yet its unfounded beliefs continue to extract a very ugly and bloody human toll. Sounds quite un-Darwinian.I have recently completed reading books on the same topic written by Christopher Hitchens, Richard Dawkins, and Sam Harris, all of which I found far more relevant to what the public needs to know about religion, besides being eminently more readable ... as I said I wanted to love this book ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    what can I say. this woman will be missed by a lot of us and I am one of them. she has touched my heart and more ways than there are words in the dictionary. her books are always soothing and a comfort to me when things are tough. she is I am sure watching over all of us who have loved her even if it was from afar. amazing 5 star book but then again they have all been really amazing books for me. GOD BLESS YOU SYLVIA.WE LOVE YOU. ME.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    LOVE THIS BOOK AND LOVE HER WORK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    I recently pulled these CDs off my shelf and listened to them again. This time it was with consideration of whether to contain this in a bibliography for my clients. I realized that, while some of the more general definitions are good, a lot of are heavily laced with Sylvia Browne's own peculiar brand of qausi-metaphysical theology. There is an extraordinary amount of this, so much so that I would consider Phenomenon as more a statement of her theological system as any primary teaching on phenomena. Too, there are locations where I disagree with her assessments and definitions. Much of this may also be rooted in her theology. The definitions are based mostly her experiences alone, without much reference to the work of others. She claims to have read extensively and widely, including "26 translations of the Bible", and a lot of other works. The only evidence of this wide-ranging study in this program is her claim to have read so widely. I will acknowledge her literary background (her college major was literature), but, for theological and metaphysical work, the jury is very much still out. Another concern of mine is her apparent belief in the omniscience and infallibility of her spirit guide, Francine. Spirit tutorials are extremely knowledgreable and wise, but they are not infallible and not all-knowing. Just because her spirit tutorial says so is not sufficient reason to accept the guide's pronouncements completely unexamined. The same applies to any spirit guide. Purchase and listen to this if you particularly like Sylvia Browne, but hold the meat and spit out the considerable number of bones. Above all, do not take this program as authoritative without much cross-checking and careful assessment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    Allow me begin by saying that Daniel Dennett and I are on the same side of the intellectual war but as a reviewer I need to be honest in my assessment. There are a lot of ways one might going about atheism. In the case of Sam Harris he seems more interested in lobbing bombs and roiling the units than actually persuading the other side. Christopher Hitchens was an equally massive hitter but he was much more charismatic and a terrific showman. Even those who virulently opposed Hitchens views were often entertained. By contrast, Dennett is much more professorial. After watching a bunch of Hitchens debates it was clear he crafted his notice and went for audience responses. Dennett’s book feels more like a college lecture. Don’t obtain me wrong, his notice is amazing and sometimes brilliant but this book desperately required some paring down and added punch.Daniel Dennett is an intellectual, not a showman. The title ‘Breaking the Spell’ refers to the idea of pulling back the curtain on religion and exposing it as a myth and he compares it to the realization that Santa Claus isn’t real. The entire first chapter is devoted to the question of whether it is ethically responsible to study religion in a scientific manner and the chapter is long and not the least bit riveting. Dennett is so long winded that I frequently search myself zoning out. He circles the block over and over just to obtain to his destination when he could have just stated his point and moved on. As an example of how unconnected it sometimes feels like Dennett is he defended the ‘Bright’ movement, a movement I found to be ludicrous and embarrassing. Unsurprisingly I never really hear anyone using the term “bright” ere is a lot of amazing ideas in the book that I’m sure contemplative atheists will search themselves agreeing with. His book includes intellectual ammunition that atheists can use to defend their own beliefs or punch holes in the beliefs of religionists. He also remains casual enough not to immediately chase away anyone sitting on the fence. I just want the book had been more engrossing and less dry and dusty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    Dennett seems like he'd be one of the nicest people you would ever meet. He is not polarizing like, say Dawkins, but that also gives him the ability to reach a broader audience. That, unfortunately, may be where he lost some steam with me in this book. I felt like his detailing his argument parameters left me often saying, "I know, let's obtain to it." Therein lies the issue I had with this book, I wasn't the target audience. The book really seemed to be geared to those who have not really examined their position on faith and belief or are just starting to. I did so long ago so this book only added nuggets of supporting info for my a philosopher, he is stunningly detailed in his mapping an argument and his approach is very even handed. This makes him accessible to those who are intellectual and also wanting to take an honest look at the arguments on faith, etc. Dennett doesn't demonize or mock peoples beliefs but rather just lays the arguments out for reasonable discussion. However, Dennett is so thorough he comes off as a bit meandering and boring if you already know where he's going. But, if you are fresh to the arguments or material then you will probably have fun this hard work.I didn't like the idea of grouping "freethinkers" as "brights" for two reasons: 1. It simply seems a small corny; 2. It implicitly suggests those who believe are "dims." Again, where ND Tyson and Dennett shine (as did Sagan so perfectly) is their non-offensive approach which allows people to process the info without tuning out due to perceived insult. This is the role of the the end, I think I prefer listening to Dennett in a lecture setting more than his writing as the time constraints force him to be quicker to the point. But again, for those who have fun philosophy or simply wish a robust, yet unoffensive, argument on faith and belief this book will likely serve them well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon []  2020-1-18 21:5

    I won't lie: this book was hard for me to read as it went through the development of the theme. I've always thought that religions were started as complex s they are right now but Dennet talks about primitive religions and how the non believers would approach the getting the know them and the believers explaining. As I understand it, this explaining would evolve the religion as into a more sophisticated set of practices and is also enlightening when the author explains how religious participants don't even really believe but accept what they are requiered in their churches. Definitely will read again to clarify my understanding

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    Awesome, I had/have fun reading this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phenomenon: Everything You Need to Know About the Paranormal []  2020-1-21 23:39

    If you're a a fan of Sylvia Browne this is a amazing book to obtain more of her insight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    Really enjoyed the book. Amazing insight into Rick Ankiel's life and problems with his 'demons'. If you ever played baseball at any level you will obtain something from this book. I happened to meet Rick recently at a Cardinals Fantasy Camp and he is a amazing guy. He has managed to obtain past his problems and most importantly for him he seems to be a amazing father to his 2 boys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    Whatever you thought of them before, Rick Ankiel’s story might well create you a St. Louis Cardinal fan. Or, if you’re from Chicago’s North Side, it may at least earn the Cards a bit more of your grudging respect as an is is a amazing book for anyone who has ever wrestled with failure or shattered dreams while pursuing an necessary goal, and who consequently had to pick themselves off the ground, obtain their minds right, and begin over. Some people are crushed when that happens. But “The Phenomenon” testifies to the fact that it doesn’t have to be that local baseball buddies and I knew the ‘big picture’ when we had the privilege of watching Ankiel patrol center field for the Washington Nationals not a lot of years ago. A prodigious pitching talent whom, after a promising rookie regular season with St. Louis, blew up in his first playoff begin and then, was never the same pitcher. We called it “the yips.” We knew the phenomenon had destroyed other careers. We knew Ankiel had remade himself, despite some injury setbacks over the years, as an outfielder. Though we were catching him just a bit past his prime, he glided to balls with ease, created some eye-popping throws from the outfield, and hit some homers for our Nats. We cheered additional hard for him even on days when he didn’t do those things.But if you wish Ank’s intimate ver of the story, be warned: he’s not making nice. This is a gut-honest story about sin and virtue; fall and redemption; with plenty of menacing fear mixed in. This story will take you through some dark and stormy nights. And, there is no fairy tale ending. What is here, though, is straight talk about how one man took on the demons that had been planted in his life at an age when no child deserves to have real-life creatures introduced into their n’t skip the Introduction. It’s well-written and serves as an anchor because you’ll learn much about who Rick Ankiel is today. You’ll need that to obtain through the first few chapters, which are chaotic and a written in a style that’s a bit hard to follow. But obtain as much as you can from them and don’t obtain discouraged, because like some of my favorite pitchers, Ankiel settles in after that first inning or so. By Chapter 4, I felt like I understood the story I had been reading. From that point forward, Ankiel and co-author Tim Brown obtain the words and the flow right.I will never think of the baseball men who cared for Rick Ankiel the same method after reading “The Phenomenon.” These men contain Tony LaRussa, Mike Matheny, and super-agent Scott Boras. And wishing we could all have a counselor as wise as the late Harvey Dorfman.“It’s not your fault, Ank. What are you gonna do about that?”Now excuse me while I go out and my first ever Cardinals’ baseball cap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    I vaguely remember Pitcher Rick Ankiel losing the ability to throw strikes, and then coming back years later as an Outfielder. But not following baseball closely like I had in my younger days, I beautiful much forgot about him. This book tells a riveting story of Ankiel's failures, struggles, and ultimately his success. A gripping story written so you cannot place it down. It makes me sad that I was unaware or somehow not available to be a mate to him as he went thru this private hell. That said, I would recommend it highly to baseball fans of any age. You will probably become huge Rick Ankiel fans by the time you have finished the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    Amazing story of determination to beat the odds when adversity strikes. Very well done and highly recommended for the baseball fanatic or general sports fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    I bought this book because I like baseball and it sounded interesting. As I got involved in the story it hit a cord with me. I never played sports but I have seem a close relative of the creature that is in the book. I suffered a panic attack at work one day. I think there are a lot of people who have had that experience. Your brain is awesome and when it turns versus you it is rough. This isn't just a story about baseball but about life. Thank you for sharing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    I wasn't a fan of his before this book but now I am. I only knew him as the guy who came unwound but having the courage to write this and talk about it is wonderful to me. Very well written too. Puts a lot of things in to perspective when you think about it the method he dealt with it.I am so glad I read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Holographic Universe: The phenomenon of elastic clock synchronization in the brain - Quantum EvolutionTheory []  2020-7-6 18:50

    The best explaination of God and his interaction with both quantum and temporal realms I have read. Too often God is pidgon holed as myth or apart from and independent of science. Removing time from relativity is enlightening...and genius.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    Amazing baseball book about today's game. It is not the normal story but it is honest. The writing has a smooth style and is simple to follow. I am glad I created an impulse and grabbed it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    After following Rick's career from Joplin, Missouri, to the Cardinals and beyond, it was interesting to learn the backstory. I'm so satisfied for him that things have turned out as well as they have. Sounds like he is a terrific dad. I remember watching Tony after his homerun when he came back to Busch as an outfielder, and I don't think I have ever seen LaRussa so demonstrative -- it beautiful much epitomized how all of Cardinal Nation felt that night, I'm beautiful sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    Overall this is a amazing story of baseball and the tenants of it's players and fans alike. That said I do not feel it is actually documented well, as a narrative and a journey. I compare it to W. P. Kinsella's writing in that Kinsella can take a much weaker story but does far more hero inspiration and story characterization then Rick and Tim do here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Holographic Universe: The phenomenon of elastic clock synchronization in the brain - Quantum EvolutionTheory []  2020-7-6 18:50

    Haven't finished reading yet, but interesting theory

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spider-Man The Icon: The Life and Times of a Pop Culture Phenomenon []  2020-1-16 9:40

    very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wonders of Life: Exploring the Most Extraordinary Phenomenon in the Universe (Wonders Series) []  2020-6-9 18:25

    This is a amazing book which explains why life is as it is, all supported with true evidence. Unlike the religious ones which have zip, zero, zilch evidence to help any of their ideas on why life is as it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Places: The New York Times bestselling phenomenon from the author of Gone Girl []  2020-6-11 18:28

    Could not place this down - the story was told by bouncing back and fourth from past to show from a few various character's point-of-view. This style writing is amazing for keeping readers, like me, sucked into the plot. I must admit that I was a small disappointed with the ending, but enjoyed the journey of the story line so much that I still believe this novel deserves 5 llian Flynn has a method of creating a love-hate relationship between her characters and her readers. You love how well developed the characters are but search yourself annoyed with their flaws. Which to mean is a sign of a amazing is story is based on the tragic, brutal murder of a low-income, farming family. Of the family of five, only two survive, the youngest daughter, Libby Day, who is our heroine, and the oldest brother, Ben, who has been serving prison sentence for the murders for the latest 25 years.A young Libby becomes the key witness of the murder case and is coerced into confessing that she witnessed her brother, Ben, commit the murders. Libby to this day is tormented by the brutal death of her mother and sisters and has never really learned how to be a functioning member of society. After 25 years of living off the donations of others and profits from a book she allowed to be written about her and her family's tragedies, the has run out. Libby must search others ways to the bills. Knowing there is no method she will be able to keep down a true job, she decides to meet with members of the Slay Club, a cult-like fan club that dedicates their time obsessing over old murder cases such as the Day'mbers of the Slay Club all have their own theories about who actually killed Libby's family and though they may not all agree on who exactly did it, they all agree that there was no method Ben himself did. With on the mind, Libby, with the guidence of one of the main Slay Club members, Lyle, begins tracking down people from her past to ask the questions she never had the guts to ask before. As more and more facts show themselves, the more Libby is convinced her Brother is innocent. And she is the one responsible for him being locked up the latest 25 ly facing the demons of her past, Libby dives into the mysterious circumstances surrounding her family's murders to seek the truth she never thought she wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Places: The New York Times bestselling phenomenon from the author of Gone Girl []  2020-6-11 18:28

    Nowhere near as amazing a read as "Gone Girl," this is still a compelling and, alas, a horribly believable novel. It's the characters, every single one of them nasty on some level, who are disturbingly real, and I do admire Flynn's ability to shame me into believing there can be an entire community of people who have no redeeming qualities. However, some of the language gets in the method (not every poor person spouts the 'F' word constantly) enough to become distracting, if not actually annoying. And the acts of violence become graphic enough that at two points I set the book aside for a few days, not certain whether I cared about the outcome. However, the author piqued my interest enough that I wanted to know whether my hunch was right... it was only partly so. On reflection, I wonder now whether the ending became a small too convenient, and on that I remain uncertain. This is a book I read because it was chosen by others in my book club, one I would probably not have picked up on my own, and one I will NOT recommend to others. Now I'm in need of something far more refreshing and cleansing to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where the Footprints End: High Strangeness and the Bigfoot Phenomenon, Volume I: Folklore []  2020-7-6 18:30

    I discovered this book as a listener of Renner's highly addictive podcast Strange Familiars. I was already a fan of the podcast, and familiar with Cutchin's work. The authors have assembled an exhaustive and fascinating collection of global evidence, both modern and old, that presents a much wider scope of this phenomenon than we typically see in pop culture and even in more esoteric coverage. If you are a fan of John Keel's work (The Mothman Prophecies, for example), Jacques Vallee (Passport to Magonia), or a lover of folklore and faerie traditions, this book will not disappoint. The extensive index and footnotes are appreciated- you will have plenty of fresh books to add to your reading list (Stan Gordon's Silent Invasion and Cutchin's A Trojan Feast are now at the top of mine). And I must commend Renner's attractive & haunting illustrations throughout the chapters- they are reminiscent of the gorgeous books of the Victorian era. I'm very glad I pre-ordered and will be doing so again when Volume II comes out. Cheers to a job well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where the Footprints End: High Strangeness and the Bigfoot Phenomenon, Volume I: Folklore []  2020-7-6 18:30

    It's an uncomfortable fact that people experience strange happenings that can't be explained from a materialist perspective. The huge question is and ought to be: do these experiences form a pattern?The authors of this book start the process of putting this pattern together, continuing the tradition of Jacques Vallee's work in ufology. Their approach may be the method forward as we attempt to understand high strangeness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    As a serious St. Louis Cardinals fan, this was a book I really wanted to read. I remember watching on TV the day Ankiel melted down on the mound. This book gives you the entire story of how that happened and how Rick dealt with it. I really enjoyed not only the journey of his assent to the huge leagues and then the spiral down - but also the stories about other events. As a Cardinals fan, who can forget that night in Colorado when he gunned down two base runners going to third from deep center field! You don't have to be a Cardinals fan to have fun this book though. I'm sure it will be a "go to" book for people dealing with sudden doubts about their performance in sports and other locations of life for a lot of years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    Since I have been a Cardinal fan for well over 50 years and am familiar with Ric's situation, I was interested to read his book. I'm exceedlingly glad I did! It was informatve, educational, refreshing, honest and not a waste of time to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    What courage Rick Ankiel demonstrated in his life and in writing this book. It created me sad to learn about a small boy going through such a horrid childhood. And a young man fighting the monster. Rick Ankiel you were an wonderful athlete and an extremely brave man. Yes, we love you in baseball crazed St. Louis. Amazing job on the book and on Fox Sports Midwest.Tim Farris

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    I loved baseball as a kid. I watched my dad coach my older brother' s squad for nine or ten years. He even allow me be bat"boy" in the early 1960s when girls just didn't play baseball. As I aged, I watched other sports, and my passion for baseball faded. But a book about baseball always brings back those feelings from my childhood.I saw Rick Ankiel on a TV interview pushing this book. I was intrigued. I had heard golf commentators talk about the yips, so I understood the concept--suddenly a golfer couldn't hit the fairway or perhaps started 5-putting. But in baseball? I had to read this e voice in this book is outstanding. I know he had a co-writer, but I really felt like Ankiel was talking. I could feel exactly what he was going through when "the Monster" hit him and his struggle to overcome it. That he has become a successful adult after his life obstacles (including a rather deplorable childhood) is truly amazing. Even if you've never cared about baseball, this book is inspirational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    Not a Cards fan, but was really satisfied for Rick when he created it back as an outfielder. I enjoyed this book. It was emotionally draining, however, as I felt his pain with each throw that went awry (I've experienced something like the yips myself, but in the field of melody - not sports). So glad he found a method to be at peace with it and in how things turned out better in other ways! It took a lot of guts to place this in print, in his words. Thanks, Rick - the best to you and your family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    First off, there is some gorgeous writing in here by Tim Brown. The story starts off a bit disjointedly, bouncing back and forth from Rick's childhood to his adult pitching career, but it frames up the rest of the book—and ties Rick's upbringing to his psychological its heart, this is a redemption story: Ankiel's hard-nosed talent and meteoric rise, the subsequent fall from grace, the return, and the e best part for me was to see Rick bare his guts and discover how and why he unraveled and the desperate strategies he employed to test and hang. You obtain a first-row seat to watch a once-in-a-generation talent slide off the edge of sanity, dust himself off, and attempt to climb back into professional baseball.I bought it because I was fascinated by the yips. I stayed for the captivating story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    Rick Ankiel's story is gut-wrenching, moving, and one of quiet triumph. I remember vividly watching this young man fall apart on the "humpbacked stage" as he so wonderfully described the mound, back in 2000. His 17-year journey since that moment, and all that led up to the fatal pitch which unleased the yips, is written in a simple, direct style that is quite eloquent in its fans will have fun this book. People who have wrestled with an inner demon will embrace it with a passion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    I'm enjoying this book very much. Rick is a fine man and handled his misfortune with grace. I admire him greatly.He had a lot of obstacles to overcome and has overcome them beautifully. The book is well-written and very ree cheers for Rick! I can only want him the very best this globe has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch that Changed My Life [Book]  2017-12-4 18:0

    Amazing book about baseball, a man with a rough past and the crippling anxiety that gets to all of us!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    Rick Ankiel's story is gut-wrenching, moving, and one of quiet triumph. I remember vividly watching this young man fall apart on the "humpbacked stage" as he so wonderfully described the mound, back in 2000. His 17-year journey since that moment, and all that led up to the fatal pitch which unleased the yips, is written in a simple, direct style that is quite eloquent in its fans will have fun this book. People who have wrestled with an inner demon will embrace it with a passion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Phenomenon: Pressure, the Yips, and the Pitch That Changed My Life []  2020-7-2 19:10

    As a serious St. Louis Cardinals fan, this was a book I really wanted to read. I remember watching on TV the day Ankiel melted down on the mound. This book gives you the entire story of how that happened and how Rick dealt with it. I really enjoyed not only the journey of his assent to the huge leagues and then the spiral down - but also the stories about other events. As a Cardinals fan, who can forget that night in Colorado when he gunned down two base runners going to third from deep center field! You don't have to be a Cardinals fan to have fun this book though. I'm sure it will be a "go to" book for people dealing with sudden doubts about their performance in sports and other locations of life for a lot of years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Holographic Universe: The phenomenon of elastic clock synchronization in the brain - Quantum EvolutionTheory []  2020-7-6 18:50

    It was not simple reading but I feel like I understood the conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spider-Man The Icon: The Life and Times of a Pop Culture Phenomenon []  2020-1-16 9:40

    just the writing is not huge enough

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wonders of Life: Exploring the Most Extraordinary Phenomenon in the Universe (Wonders Series) []  2020-6-9 18:25

    Wonders of Life: Exploring the Most Extraordinary Phenomenon in the Universe by Brian Cox and Andrew Cohen"Wonders of Life" is a unbelievable book that complements the Discovery Science Channel series. Professor Brian Cox is at it again but this time he takes us on a global journey of the most unexpected areas to explain the origin of life to our lives. This enlightening, full-color 288-page book is composed of the following five chapters: 1. Home, 2. What Is Life?, 3. Size Matters, 4. Expanding Universe, and 5. Endless Forms Most Beautiful.Positives:1. Elegant and passionate prose. Innate ability to create science fun and educational for the masses.2. The fascinating subject of the life sciences in the hands of a master educator.3. Amazing use of charts and illustrations to help the reader. This book is full of awe-inspiring photos. High production value, I can't stress that enough.4. In science it's not always about the right respond but asking the right questions. Cox focuses his journey on Schrodinger's 'How' question.5. In reverence to one of the greatest theories ever, the grand theory of evolution.6. Thought-provoking questions that tutorial this unbelievable book, as an example: "What is the minimal set of ingredients important for life to evolve, and how widespread are these ingredients in the Universe beyond Earth?"7. A look at the history of water. Fascinating!8. The evolution of the biological process of oxygenic photosynthesis. Who knew biology could be this much fun?9. The impact of light...enlightening indeed. "A photon's wavelength is directly similar to its colour."10. Full of fun factoids throughout the book. "A single drop of water contains, on average, a million bacteria."11. What is life? Search out. A amazing mix of biology, chemistry and physics to explain such an ambitious question. "Each one of us includes about 50 trillion cells, working together to make the complex structures of the human body."12. Learning about mitochondria.13. DNA the blueprint of life...14. Understanding how size is constrained by the laws of nature; from that biggest to the smallest but most importantly, why that is so.15. How living things learned to experience the world. The evolution of the senses (hearing, seeing, touching). "Throughout this book, we have seen that a strong route to discovering how organisms evolved certain characteristics is to look for commonalities across radically various forms of life."16. I would be remiss if I did not contain my absolutely favorite discovery, "Darwin's bark spider".17. Understanding the "stuff" of life. The importance of carbon.18. The Huge Bang Singularity.19. The building blocks of biology.20. The power of mutations. The power of islands (environment).Negatives:1. No links to citations or source material.2. No formal bibliography.3. Intended for the masses, if you are looking for in-depth info you must look summary, I really enjoyed this book. Professor Cox has a love affair with science that is palpable. The high-production value of the book matches the enthusiasm and splendor of nature. The book's awe-inspiring illustrations can only be enjoyed from the Kindle Fire or the PC. If you are looking for a beautifully illustrated book that explains the wonders of life, this is it! I loved the book and I highly recommend it!Recommendations: "Wonders of the Solar System" by Brian Cox, "Life Ascending: The Ten Amazing Inventions of Evolution" by Nick Lane, "Before the Dawn: Recovering the Lost History of Our Ancestors" by Nicholas Wade, "The The 10,000 Year Explosion: How Civilization Accelerated Human Evolution" by Gregory Cochran, "Evolution For Dummies" by Tracy Barr, "Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters" by Donald R. Prothero, "The Greatest Present on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution" by Richard Dawkins, "Last Ape Standing: The Seven-Million-Year Story of How and Why We Survived" by Chip Walter, "The Making of the Fittest: DNA and the Ultimate Forensic Record of Evolution" by Sean B. Carroll, "Only a Theory" by Kenneth R. Miller, "The Red Queen" by Matt Ridley, "The Universe Inside You" by Brian Clegg, "Why Evolution Is True" by Jerry A. Coyne, and "Your Inner Fish" by Neil Shubin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wonders of Life: Exploring the Most Extraordinary Phenomenon in the Universe (Wonders Series) []  2020-6-9 18:25

    Brian Cox stimulates the desire to understand creation from the most seemingly insignificant to the totality, encouraging the reader to examine under every stone the miracles that create up the grand unity of existence. He presents a mindful look at the processes that explain our species' best answers to the huge questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wonders of Life: Exploring the Most Extraordinary Phenomenon in the Universe (Wonders Series) []  2020-6-9 18:25

    This is an extraordinary book. It has fascinating images & a unbelievable content of information. Helps you to understand the mystery of life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Places: The New York Times bestselling phenomenon from the author of Gone Girl []  2020-6-11 18:28

    DARK PLACESA seven year-old small girl, Libby, testifies versus her older brother Ben for the murders of her two older sisters and her mom. With Libby's words and other evidence, Ben is sentenced to life in enty five years later, Libby is contacted by the Slay Club. This club is one that is interested in crimes and the people involved. This club wants info from Libby. Libby is willing to do this for a price. Suffice it to say, Libby is a small messed up from being in the middle of the murders, surviving, living her life dealing with that poor is Slay Club is also definitely convinced that Ben is NOT the murderer and they hope that by talking to Libby, Ben will be a , we are off and running. I loved how this book went from past and present, jumping back and forth and explaining how happenings led up to that doomed night, all from different characters points-of-views. Who was involved. Who wasn't involved. Why this happened. Why this didn't happen. Flynn has a flair for writing and keeping the reader guessing and involved. The characters are disturbed, mean, calculating, believable. The situations thing that really bothered me was the graphic info of animal abuse and mayhem. While a part of the book and story, I didn't really appreciate reading the min info of the slaughter of innocent animals/humans. Even though this is a murder who-dun-it, the graphics of the animal/human carnage was upsetting to me. However, as mentioned, this is all part of the story and unfortunately probably had to l in all, a amazing read, one that will hold you guessing, hold you up until the wee hours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Places: The New York Times bestselling phenomenon from the author of Gone Girl []  2020-6-11 18:28

    Interesting concept but the violence versus an animal was too much. I didn't finish the book. I certainly didn't search the story compelling enough to mush through the description of VERY cruel treatment of animals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where the Footprints End: High Strangeness and the Bigfoot Phenomenon, Volume I: Folklore []  2020-7-6 18:30

    This is the first of two-volumes and I almost wished they'd released both at once, as there are multiple references in this book to topics in the second. The authors don't pretend to have any answers but draw attention to compelling evidence that suggests connections ancient stories from Europe and Asia to the Bigfoot and UFO e connections are interesting and suggest to me that some kind of human unconscious thread involved in these phenomena. Whether we are creating the phenomena, or some people are sensitive to a thinness between "the worlds", I can't say right now. I'm leaning towards humans creating or attracting the phenomena in some method right now. Ask me again in a week and I might say thing I would have liked to see is more coverage of African phenomena and how it corresponds to the Eurasian/North and South American reports. However, overall, this is an interesting book and one I intend to return to after doing some more reading on the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where the Footprints End: High Strangeness and the Bigfoot Phenomenon, Volume I: Folklore []  2020-7-6 18:30

    The Envelope widens. Volume 1 is well-written, well-researched, and well-illustrated. An undistilled acc of the phenomena.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    color bump 3d reviews 2pcs heavy duty steel mounting bracket for linear actuator reviews updated manual slide stage linear stage actuator ball screw sfu1605 linear rail guide with ruler for diy cnc router controller 100mm stroke reviews sovik 12v dc 2 inch stroke linear actuator heavy duty 750n 165lbs maximum lift reviews linear actuator control board reviews cnc linear motion rail guide 100mm stroke ball screw linear stage actuator with dust cover for nema23 stepper motor z axis cnc router reviews justech 100mm linear actuator motor heavy duty 750n dc 12v for auto car rv electric door opener industrial agricultural machinery clean sweeping vehicles vessels cargo medical window reviews xnrtop lm6uu linear bearings for 3d printer pack of 12 reviews qwork 4 pcs sbr20uu aluminum slide block 20mm linear bearing motion ball slide units for 20mm linear guide rail reviews honjie lm8suu 8mm linear bearings for 3d printer pack of 12 reviews othmro sk8 8mm diameter aluminum alloy linear rail support guide shaft bearing cnc router 2pcs reviews uxcell lmf8uu 8mm inner dia round flange mounted linear ball bearing bushing 2pcs reviews preamer 4 pcs shf8 8mm flange mount linear rail shaft support for milling machine cnc reviews uxcell lmf6uu 6mmx12mmx19mm round flange linear motion bushing ball bearing 2 pcs reviews 4pcs 12 mm sc12uu scs12uu linear motion ball bearing cnc slide bushing replacement reviews 2pcs 8x700mm linear shaft 3d printer cylinder liner rail linear shaft axis cnc parts reviews 2pcs 8x1000mm linear shaft 3d printer cylinder liner rail linear shaft axis cnc parts reviews 2pcs 8x800mm linear shaft 3d printer cylinder liner rail linear shaft axis cnc parts reviews 2pcs 8x500mm linear shaft 3d printer cylinder liner rail linear shaft axis cnc parts reviews raymarine type 2 12v long linear drive reviews

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386