the pilates method of physical and mental conditioning Reviews & Opinions


Submit the pilates method of physical and mental conditioning review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    I agree with the other reviewers that you can obtain a very well rounded program place together and you can feel marvelous afterwards. What you can't obtain from this book is the exact positioning, the feedback from someone watching you to create sure your shoulders don't slump and you have your knees bent correctly. You can only obtain that from one on one instruction and with Pilates that's the only method to truly obtain the true benefits. Just as everyone saids its costly. You may be able to supplement one on one with videos and the books. You might wish to obtain a couple of lessons to obtain started so you understand body positioning and its importance, then obtain videos (someone mentioned Jennifer Kries and she is perfect I have most of her tapes) and then you might wish to obtain a couple of books, this being one of them. I would periodically go and obtain Pilates instruction to create sure I am not developing any poor habits, etc.Another reviewer mentioned a pet peeve of mine and that is the fact that our government allowed an individual to copy right the name Pilates. It's ridiculous and they weren't allowed to do that in Europe. There are some perfect tapes in Britain which can't be sold here because of the copy right problem and it's a shame. It's expensive because they have the shop cornered and I don't like that at all, it's not fair competition. I have attended instruction with groups and one on one where they emphasize they are based on the teachings of Pilates which is how they obtain around the copy right issue. Look for those in your zone and you'll search they are cheaper and doing the very same exercises but they have to call them something y this book you will definitely search it useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    This is a VERY 80s/90s book, and obviously meant as an introduction to the practice for people who have never heard of Pilates. It is a small cheesy, but very, very charming. If you are into Classical Pilates, then you must have this in your library of Pilates books. I gave one to my instructor as a gift, and she loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    Beautiful amazing old book; nice if it were updated

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the pilates method of physical and mental conditioning or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the pilates method of physical and mental conditioning video reviews and related movies:

    See Pilatesology Interview with Author Gail Eisen on youtube.

     related image

    See “How Emilie Conrad’s Continuum Can Evoke Fluid Resonance in Pilates” on youtube.

     related image

    See Pilates Certification EN on youtube.

     related image

    See How to do the swimming exercise : Pilates Exercises 2 on youtube.

     related image

    See How to exercise with weights : Pilates Exercises 5 on youtube.

     related image

    See Pilates Hub - Powerhouse (Mid-section) Exercises on youtube.

     related image

    See Total Body Conditioning video #1 on youtube.

     related image

    See Pilates Hub - Rehabilitation : Balance & Control - Based Exercises on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    I have taken Pilates classes for over a year and love it very much but required a tutorial to continue at home on the nights I am not able to attend class. This is a classic book, although I do not own the equipment as a lot of of you will not either, mostly 90% of the book does not need it. This is a excellent exercise for anyone, new, seasoned, young, older, pregnant. Don't forget, belly button to floor, deep breath and you will obtain stronger every day. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    Amazing addition to my studio library!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    Amazing introduction to Primary classical Pilates Mat with a few gifts dealing with Pilates and pregnancy. All Pilates teachers should have a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    it's okay

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    general perusal and a reading of the first section. explained purpose of author and reasons for specific instructions. Well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    I have wanted to learn pilates for a long time, and I was very disappointed in Gallagher's e book is somewhat "cold" and does not show the mental/visual aspect of Pilates' system at all. Also, the "program" in the back progresses too quickly for the movements to be learned correctly, and nessecitates the purchase of thousands of dollars in ere was too much info to concentrate on for each exercise because I didn't have the background important to understand what was being said. I followed the book for a few days before I got so completely frustrated that I gave up, deciding that Pilates will always remain an elitest discipline because of the prohibitive cost of the equipment and private en Brooke Siler's book "The Pilates Body" came along. She may create "acknowledgements" to Gallagher in the beginning, but their approaches could not be more different. She provides the background information, mental aspect and encouragement important to start on your own. Her book also uses NO equipment, totally suitable for home users teaching themselves.If you are looking for a reference book on Pilates, Gallagher's is fine, but if you actually wish to learn Pilates, push back on your browser and search Siler's book, you'll save yourself cash and frustration, (and obtain AWESOME ABS! -- yeah, I know why you're here...)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: Introduction to the Core Exercises review []  2020-1-20 0:32

    This book covers the complete range of exercises designed by Joseph H. Pilates, with all apparatus introduced, illustrated and demonstrated. This text presents both core exercises for beginners and those somewhat familiar with the Pilates e book is really a complete reference, covering also exercises for pregnant women and senior citizens, as well as suggested routines for those with unique problems, like back pain and poor ease take into acc when evaluating your potential purchase of this book that only the mat exercises will be suitable for home exercising, unless you are willing to purchase expensive Pilates equipment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistical Methods for Data Analysis in Particle Physics (Lecture Notes in Physics Book 909) review []  2019-12-23 20:29

    This is a very short but interesting book about statistical methods in physics, particularly in high energy e book is show with a modern perspective; explain a small bit some very latest techniques and discussions about statistical techniques especially in the field of estimating interval my opinion the principal issue of the book is the size, I think the book is too short and some of the discussion should need more expansions and more working examples. For example, the discussion of the Feldman-Cousins criteria regarding interval coverage in asymmetrical PDF, needs more examples and explanations. In the same method the latest chapter needs more detailed explanations.I understand that more explanations mean more zone and transform the lecture notes in a more rigorous book, but I think this worth r these reason I recommend this book but as a second lecture, after studying for example the Glen Cowan’s book.On the other hand the book has a lot of typographical errors that must be corrected in future reprints or editions

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    So thankful for Dr. Steve and Key Ministries for their tireless work and advocacy for all those who live with common mental health is book should be in the hands of all those in leadership positions in churches, from adult ministries on down to children’s ministries. It serves to begin doors of understanding, which will lead to compassion, empathy and above all else, practical help for individuals and families who are afflicted with common mental health e two things I’ve come up versus as a person afflicted with anxiety disorders are people in the church equating my illness with a lack of faith and people attempting to fix me though pointing out scriptures on worry as if my issue was due to a lack of knowledge or app of Scriptural truth. These experiences are mostly due to a common misunderstanding regarding the cause of mental illness as well correct management tactics for mental afflictions. These errant mindsets invalidate the experience of suffering by shifting the blame for the experience on to the sufferer and often even on to their family. One common example of this is how parents of kids who have ADHD or Asperger’s are often blamed for the emotional and behavioral challenges their children struggle with; “it’s just due to “bad parenting.”The other thing which troubles me about all of this is that these attitudes give a black eye to the testimony of the Church to those outside the body of Christ. They may use this to accuse the Church of lacking in education, empathy, and help for its members who suffer from mental illness. Help and compassion for mental illnesses are readily available through a lot of secular organizations, and there’s no reason why this can’t be the same within the e Church does a amazing job in supporting its members through nearly every other type of hardship and affliction except for mental illness. This needs to change because studies demonstrate that the rate of mental illness, 25% of the population, is the same among Christians as e consequence of these errant and disinterested attitudes is that people and families who struggle with mental illness won’t dare to begin up in their local church because they’ve come to realize that their experience isn’t viewed as a valid affliction for which they can get empathy, prayer, and support. If a church doesn’t view mental illness as a true/valid affliction, then a church won’t see any need to help those members who are going through seasons of intense pain and ese are the things which place up barriers and increase the stigma for those in the body of Christ who are living with mental illness. The fear being misunderstood or wrongfully judged for something that is beyond their control is not unfounded. It happens all the is book is a blessing to those who are impacted by mental illness in that it educates as to what is real and what is not real regarding mental illness. But, it goes method beyond that, in offering up practical and employable suggestions for those churches which seek to create the body of Christ a welcoming, supportive and inclusive put for all its members including those who struggle with common mental illnesses. It’s not just an informative read, it’s an instructional zi VanCleve, author of “Strivings Within – The OCD Christian.”

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    Dr. Grcevich has provided the church with an perfect resource in developing a clear understanding and clear tactic for creating culture of inclusion for those impacted by mental illness. In addition to the valuable insight on mental illness, it can serve as an perfect resource for creating a plan of inclusion for those impacted by disabilities of all types. Every church of any size can and should use the tactics outlined in this book in order to further the mission of making disciples in their local community. This book has the potential to bring much required reform to the local church. Well done Dr. G.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    Amazing words to support Christians powerfully minister to one of the most neglected zone in TheChurch. Would have given it 5 stars, but too much emphasis was given to "special needs". The Church is doing a far better job providing for unique needs kids than for adults with mental illness.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    amazing book to support churches.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    Amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    Amazing Read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    In the spring of 1996, I entered an extended season of sadness. Not the kind of sadness where you wistfully wipe a tear from your eye with a Kleenex, by the way. It was the kind where you wake up in the middle of the night sobbing uncontrollably for hours. The sadness lasted for months.A licensed Christian counselor diagnosed me with clinical depression. Through prayer, Scripture, counseling and the support of family and friends, I created it through that poor season, one of the worst I have experienced in my life. One I don’t ever wish to enter e first time I mentioned this episode in a sermon, I was surprised by the grateful response I received from a few members of the congregation. Though their words varied, their responses repeated a theme: “I’m glad to know that I’m not the only Christian who struggles with this.” After that sermon, I began to reference my depression if it was appropriate to the content and context of my message. I wish people in the Church who struggle with mental health to know they are not y is Mental Health Awareness Month in the U.S. Summarizing statistics about the incidence of mental illness among U.S. kids and adults, Dr. Stephen Grcevich writes, “more than fifty million Americans today experience at least one diagnosable mental health disorder on any given day” (emphasis in original). These disorders can be episodic or persistent, and they can vary in intensity and effect. A lot of churches have begun perfect “special needs” and “disability” ministries, but these ministries tend to focus on obvious, physical problems. By contrast, mental health disorders are a “hidden disability.”Mental health disorders hold people away from church, unfortunately. Grcevich writes: “Whether we realize it or not, our expectations at church for social interaction and conduct, when combined with the physical properties and functional demands of our ministry environments, represent significant barriers to church involvement for kids and adults with common mental health conditions and for their families. Church can feel like hostile location for families impacted by mental illness.” The twin goals of Mental Health and the Church are to identify those barriers and to outline a “mental health inclusion strategy” for overcoming e barriers contain stigma, anxiety, executive functioning, sensory processing, social communication, social isolation and negative experiences of church. Stigma arises because churches mistakenly interpret mental health disorders as moral disorders. A kid with ADHD lacks self-control in certain environments, for example. Self-control is a moral virtue. Ergo, the kid has a moral problem. Right?It’s not that simple. An ADHD kid can exercise some degree of self-control, but certain environments stimulate the child’s hyperactivity and inability to focus. Too often, churches blame the child, not realizing that the method the environment of the Sunday school classroom (brightly colourful walls with lots of decorations) or the nature of the activities (hyperkinetic worship followed immediately by sitting and listening for long periods) can work versus ADHD children’s ability to control e next three barriers — anxiety and other mood disorders, executive functioning weaknesses, and sensory processing disorders — describe how mental illness itself creates barriers to participation in church activities. Consider sensory processing disorders. Today, a lot of churches darken the auditorium and light up the scene for the song component of their Sunday service. They crank up the volume and often use flashing lights in a well-produced, high-energy set of worship music. A lot of people love this. People with sensory processing disorders don’t. It’s overstimulating and distracting. Indeed, it literally can be painful to e final three barriers pertain to the barriers that effect from the clash between the first four barriers and church participation. People with mental health disorders search it difficult to communicate in what most of us take to be a normal church situation. They became socially isolated. And because churches don’t always treat people with mental health disorders well — including kids — they and their families develop a bank of negative church cevich believes churches can and must do better at ministry to people with mental health disorders. For each of the seven barriers just identified, he proposes a tactic for overcoming it. “Mental health inclusion is best understood as a mind-set for doing ministry rather than a ‘program’ for ministry,” he writes. He uses the acronym TEACHER to outline that strategy:T: Assemble your inclusion TEAM.E: Make welcoming ministry ENVIRONMENTS.A: Focus on ministry ACTIVITIES most essential for spiritual growth.C: COMMUNICATE effectively.H: HELP families with their most heartfelt needs.E: Offer EDUCATION and support.R: Empower your people to assume RESPONSIBILITY for cevich provides helpful suggestions and examples under each of these seven headings, but for purposes of this review, I think it will suffice simply to name the elements of the o a lot of people in America suffer mental illness silently and alone. The church, an institution founded on the amazing news of Jesus Christ, should be a put of hope and support for them. Mental Health and the Church is an perfect resource for pastors and other church leaders, showing them how to do this. It is based on sound conservative theology, but it also is attuned to the best in contemporary, evidence-based psychology. I recommend it enthusiastically.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Health and the Church: A Ministry Handbook for Including Children and Adults with ADHD, Anxiety, Mood Disorders, and Other Common Mental Health Conditions review []  2020-2-1 17:51

    Mental Health and the Church by psychiatrist Dr. Stephen Grcevich fulfilled and exceeded my expectations. With his extensive background, including founding Key Ministry and working with those affected by mental illness, presents a solution to how Christians can support those with mental disorders. The first section deals with the barriers disabled people face. These contain anxiety, communication, and past church experiences. There is also the problem of stigma among Christians about people with mental disorders. The tactics Grcevich uses are summarized in the acronym TEACHER. This acronym stands for T - Gathering an inclusion team, E - creating suitable ministry environments, A - ministry activities useful for spiritual growth, C - effective communication, H - helping families with needs, E - educating and supporting those with mental illness and R - taking responsibility for the inclusion ministry. The most necessary parts are education and creating a zone that's friendly to people. There is a amazing need for people to know how we can support people who struggle with mental illness become comfortable attending church and including them in church events. This book has enriched my understanding of this vital topic. I pray this book empowers Christians to begin inclusion ministries so more mentally ill individuals can experience the joyful experiences of being involved in Christian community!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mental Conditioning for Softball review []  2020-1-26 22:29

    Amazing reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    The only mentalism here is that I was duped into paying for a pamphlet - what a joke. Totally useless content that had I taken the time to read others reviews I would not have purchased. I was duped by the 5 star (must be fakes) rating on a pure cash grab for no value.I wish my $3 back

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    The book is only like 30 pages, which I knew before purchasing. I didn't know 10 of those pages would be suggestions for other books to read. That created me really mad. The information I learned from the book was kind of interesting, but very vague. There are about 3 "tricks" to learn. Only the latest one he teaches could be a mind blower. This trick is the only reason I think this book is worth the $3.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    It was beautiful vague and generalities. Beautiful disappointed considering the description.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    I don't even wanna give this 1 star. This book, or should I say booklet, is a joke. It is purely an short overview of mentalism, you could learn more on Wikipedia. It's 24pgs of "content" tells you everything you already know about mentalism and not how to really do it. "The ABSOLUTE beginners guide" is about right haha!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    Useless !!! Cheap. Elementary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    I don't know why this book got any likes. It's super short and the huge tip is mimic your target. There you go, just saved you three bucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    Don't waste $3 piece of crap

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    Quite interesting book but not enough info about the subject, I was disappointed because I'd expected more than that. Weak.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    This is a scam. Its a worthless 19 page pamphlet. The reviews are all fake.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MENTALISM: The Absolute Beginners Guide To Mentalism (mentalism, mentalism magic, mentalism tricks, magic tricks, hypnosis, hypnotism, nlp, self hypnosis) review []  2019-12-20 18:28

    This was a amazing intro. Gives you the primary foundation, but what really makes this is that it introduces you to how this genre works. You know what to look for when you wish to dive deeper.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    Horrible textbook. Does not teach or explain well AT ALL. Avoid if at all possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    Required it for class. Was excellent condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    Very helpful during classes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    Arrived in amazing condition. I’m using this book currently for a class I’m in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    This book was helpful for the class I used it in. However, the authors seemed to create it into a joke so that took away from the content they were trying to convey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    To be honest, according to its complexity, this is one of the best book in the sport field I have ever red. It covers quite huge amount of topics: from sport ethics to statistics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    It was the book I required for a amazing price to rent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    Book arrived in excellent conditions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Research Methods in Physical Activity review []  2020-1-21 21:13

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Matrix Methods and Vector Spaces in Physics review []  2020-1-21 21:38

    I prefer Sharma to Boas ...... maybe because it is written from the perspective of physicists/chemists rather than mathematicians. (Mathematicians would likely consider it a bug turned into a feature.) Together, these two books cover thewaterfront; and then some.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    First, the book arrived quickly, in amazing condition and I was very appreciative of the low price. (I had to buy this textbook for a class I'm taking and always appreciate when the needed textbook doesn't break the bank.)Unfortunately that's about the best it gets. I have found the actual book relatively useless and have been using YouTube and other math books to support teach me. The examples aren't written out all the method and it makes a lot of assumptions about things that it thinks you should know already. Even if I've learned it before, it's nice to have a refresher so, the plastic covering to the book has started to peel off. Might be me? I do take it in and out of a backpack everyday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    This book is singularly unhelpful. I purchased it because it is needed for a class I am taking, but have it found it utterly useless for understanding any of the material it purports to cover. I have had to consult multiple outside sources - other books, websites, programs, people, and even notes from other classes - for every single subject this book is supposed to cover - just to understand what the issues at the end of the chapter are even asking the reader to attempt to ere are two purposes of a textbook: 1) to aid the reader in understanding the material's use, significance, and background and 2) to supply sample issues for the reader to practice and try their understanding of that first the first objective this textbook has failed utterly in every way. There is virtually no explanation of the usage of any of the material being covered except in off-handed comments such as "this is necessary in the physical sciences." There is no explanation or proof of most of the theorems, formulae, and other concepts. Lastly, it is simply void of practical, actionable examples clearly showing how to use the material and situations in which to apply it. Instead it regularly skips over most steps of the examples, with implications that certain things are possible to do and yet never giving an explanation as to how to do a result, while the book supplies an ample number of issues at the end of each chapter, they are utterly incomprehensible to anyone who has been using only this textbook, making them completely unusable without consultation of outside sources.If a textbook cannot stand on its own, and if it cannot enhance the reader's understanding of the material, it has failed.If you are a hobbyist or independent learner, do not buy this book; it will not support you.If you are a Professor or other Instructor, I implore you not to use this book for your classes; it will not support your students.If you are, like me, a graduate student who is stuck using this book, I recommend for your own sake that you test to convince your Instructor to use a various one. Otherwise, I am sorry that you have to share my fate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    Bought it as a needed text for class. Not only is it unhelpful, it is demeaning. Never before have I had a textbook say "From this, clearly..." Imagine if a professor said that to their students, "Clearly...anything..." No teaching tool should ever suggest that something is obvious; it's like telling the learner that they are dumb if they don't just obtain noted by others, examples skip steps. Present me the steps that obtain to the solution so I can understand; don't draw abstract conclusions from the issue without any explanation.Furthermore, the chapter questions are not slanted for learning and applying fresh skills. They are abstract, and I frequently search myself devoting a significant amount of time to figuring out what a question is asking before I am able to approach solving it.If any professors read this review while on the shop for a textbook for their upcoming class and need an example of what not to choose, look no further.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    I would not recommend this book, but unfortunately I don't have any alternative tations change throughout the book and it is written by non-Americans (not a issue in itself, but some in some instances it makes interpreting statements and following arguments very difficult if you are an American or use American English)If you need it for a course (as a math major) you'll fair much better if you have a amazing physics background. If you're in your 2nd or 3rd year of a physics program you'll be fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    This is the amazing book with an affordable price. The content is very knowledgable which can support me understand more about Math at graduate level. Highly recommend for graduate students expertised in Machanical engineering!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    A book aimed at people who already know its content. Uses operators and functions without introducing them, and is poorly organized. Would not recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    Looking at the title, don't judge it. The book is written by wanna be novel writer. There is story written instead of math

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    The book was in very very amazing conditions, nice price just what I need

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    I purchased this as it was a needed textbook for a course I was taking. If I didn't need it for the homework problems, it would have gone in the trash. I constantly found myself using online resources to learn the material instead of this textbook. The user review about the missing steps was spot on. Do yourself a favor and avoid this book if possible

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences review []  2020-1-29 2:35

    The book is ridden with the two phases that title this review. The book isn't awful, I've seen worse. It is, by no means, the best though. I used other books and online resources as much as possible for my mathematical methods elaborate, the book shows you the first steps of a proof or solution: A ~~~ B ~~~ C ... "now it is obvious that" C ~~~~~ Z. What the heck!? Where are steps D through Y!?!? That might be obvious for a mathematician but this college engineering major is super lost!Such was my relationship with this book. Use at your own risk!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Principles and Methods of Adapted Physical Education & Recreation review []  2020-1-8 18:26

    My daughter uses this book for her kinesiology 235 class and it’s very helpful it comes with the access code and everything

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I want I had the RHB (Riley, Hobson, and Bence), when I was in engineering school. Alas, I was born too early—a few decades too early. We used Kreyszig, which was good. But in my opinion, RHB's approach, style, and tone is better for the young engineering (and physics) students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    This is probably the best math methods book out there. I'm only confused by its characterization as an undergraduate-level book. It is definitely graduate level, particularly in later chapters starting with DE's and complex analysis applications. My guess it is so lucidly well-written, and with available solutions that it is perfectly accessible to senior undergraduates as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    This is a wonderfully written reference for any math class. Abstract subjects are explained in a manner in which Engineers easily pick them up. I went through my entire BS pretending to understand math and since we started using this book for my entry level graduate class, I ACTUALLY feel like I understand some of this stuff.If your instructor recommends this book, props to him, and lucky you!If you just like math and wound up here without being forced to buy this book, I would obtain it anyway because its so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Terrific book, one phywical issue with binding (a chapter was glued in upside down) but very clear exposition. Perfect review for applied math, machine learning, EE, physics students

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Bought mine brand fresh and it came destroyed, ruined, and unusable by water damage. The pages are stuck together and warm from what appears to be water damage. Pages peal and tear when I test to begin them because of this. I will be returning this and expect a refund for this scam

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    amazing book, amazing reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Has a chapter on numerical methods. Yay!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I am a graduate student in Biochemistry with a bachelors in applied math and I wanted to go back and review a lot of math techniques before I totally forgot them. So I started looking at my old math texts and saw that for what I wanted, a lot of of them were far to dense for a fast I started searching Amazon and purchased this text along with both of Stroud's texts and I am glad I did. Stroud's texts provide simple to follow examples while Riley's text provides a more rigorous concise presentation of the topics. I search myself reading Riley's text first and if I can not quite understand the topic, I then go to Stroud's for some easier to follow examples. Fortunately, they contain a lot of of the same us in my opinion, Riley's is a amazing text as a reference and for reviewing a subject if you are a small rusty. It is not a amazing text if you are trying to learn something for the first time or for self study.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I bought this book because I felt that in my undergraduate Chemistry education, I didn't keep enough mathematical training. As I begin graduate school, this book has been helpful in seeing the bigger picture of necessary mathematical concepts and tools. One can really learn a lot if you take the time to read the chapters AND do the problems. It is, in my opinion, a amazing resource if you need a refresher on some topic, although (as the authors note) not everything can be covered in only private want is that there was more visual, esp. graphical, content to accompany the concepts. As a visual learner this approach really helps me. The early chapters do well, but figures become sparse in later chapters. Other than that an perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide review []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Pages are very sensitive. A lot of are detaching from book. the book binding seems very cheap.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Best Conditioning Method for Gamefowls Competing In the Long Knife review []  2020-1-31 7:23

    it's quite detailed on the most necessary week of the conditioning ( latest week to point out the war fighters ).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Best Conditioning Method for Gamefowls Competing In the Long Knife review []  2020-1-31 7:23

    Very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Physics for Kids : Electricity and Magnetism - Physics 7th Grade | Children's Physics Books review []  2020-1-22 18:43

    So this book was supposed to be for 7th graders. It even says so on the cover, but it is about 30 (maybe) think paperback pages, and the font is like size 36 (baby size). It has to have been written for a 3 year old. So disappointed. Not at all what we thought it was going to be. Our son is in 7th grade and he wanted a book on electromagnetism for Christmas. Photo my horror when the pack finally came and that was it. So disappointed. What a waste of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Physics for Kids : Electricity and Magnetism - Physics 7th Grade | Children's Physics Books review []  2020-1-22 18:43

    A small simplistic and not much detail

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Four Pillars of Triathlon:Vital Mental Conditioning for Endurance Athletes review []  2020-1-10 19:15

    For athletes, the most underleveraged tool is often mental. This book is written by top-performing endurance athletes who had to figure this out for themselves. They share a powerful, practical and proven step-by-step tutorial which can be used by anyone who wants to improve their physical performance, well-being and experience by utilizing a strong resource -- the mind. Nicely done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Four Pillars of Triathlon:Vital Mental Conditioning for Endurance Athletes review []  2020-1-10 19:15

    Amazing practical and effective book. Talks about the "whys" and the "hows". Love the exercies as they truly bring home the point of the information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Four Pillars of Triathlon:Vital Mental Conditioning for Endurance Athletes review []  2020-1-10 19:15

    Lots of amazing practice in this! I've never been amazing at the visualizations but these are amazing since they are very specific.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    University Physics with Modern Physics review []  2020-1-21 21:23

    This is a large book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    Firstly, this is not a book. It is a rather short essay. Because the author has some credentials and there were some amazing reviews I purchased without looking too hard. This is a simplistic introduction to a style of meditation. As a lot of have offered before, take some time every day to relax in a quiet zone without distractions and simply 'let everything be as it it is'. You now know the content of this essay. If you wish to delve deeper find for a true book. I probably wouldn't have bothered to review if this was just $1.... but its ridiculous spending as much on this as some of the unbelievable Kindle books I have purchased.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    Interesting views. I've read a number of books on meditation, but I have severe "monkey brain" and can't settle down. This is a amazing solution. I also like his rundown on brain biochemistry. Explains a lot and gives me more to work with. Thank you! I'll begin today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    This could be the most valuable tip you’ve ever been given. It’s pure wisdom and so concise, providing life changing techniques to bring you to a deeper level of awareness and higher functioning. Your life will change if you take this to heart. Thank you universe for this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    I somehow missed the fact that this book has limited scope and was surprised when it ended just as I was expecting to obtain into the info of insulin resistance and diet. I can't knock it down for not including topics I mistakenly thought would be covered -- that's on me -- but I have to say that nothing in the author's exhortation to meditation seemed on point for my particular questions. I recognize that others might search this short treatise somewhat helpful or even greatly beneficial. If so, I am glad. Perhaps one of the author's other books is the one I should have read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    Short book. Gives western medicine a kick in the pants, as it should. Place away that prescription pad, you don’t need any of that crap once you give your body PERMISSION to heal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    The author makes interesting points and I did learn some fresh things. However, he barely touches on what are actually quite complex ideas. He seems to be a person who seeks the most simplified explanations and experiences, and also does not seem overly concerned about others not being exactly like him. He offers a lot of almost childishly easy antidotes to complicated mental conditions. His attitude is “There - now you have the solution!” It does remind me of one of those 5-minute doctor’s appointments - “You have angina. Lower your cholesterol. Next patient!” I know this “book” (it’s really more of a pamphlet) only cost $3.99 but I think .99 would have been fairer. If he wants to jump into the self support shop he should place more effort in and come up with more thoughtful and mature ideas. This is not even a book outline, much less a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    I thought this would have a various approach to meditation but turns out I was already doing things he mentioned in the book. Maybe this book is more for a young person and not someone who read Carlos Castaneda in the 70’s.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    This is an amazing short and straight to the point read that gives a well rounded look into a happier healthier lifestyle if you place the techniques into practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    To the point. What the author had to say resonated with me, now I wish to read more of his writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Art of Emptying The Brain: Nepalese Method Spontaneous Mental Healing review []  2020-1-21 23:18

    This 33 page pamphlet gets you interested and then just suddenly ends right when you think it's going to reveal some amazing "secrets" to you. To the author's credit, unlike a lot of other similarly disappointing "books", it is not an infomercial trying to obtain you to buy into to a 3-figure product. My advice, look elsewhere for your answers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    Wow, VERY IMPRESSED!!! I was the one reporting a bug with the screen sleeping. They've fixed it in less than a week!! Thank you SO much. Perfect support, perfect teachers, perfect classes. VERY PLEASED!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    Would be excellent if I could use Chromecast. Until then I'll hold using the web based format and cast. Otherwise seems like a nice platform and simple to locate my classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    Perfect content, with amazing instructors and lots of variety. Amazing for pilates teachers and enthusiasts

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    7 days is not long enough for me to effectively use the application - if it's 17.99 a month just to use them IT. IS. NOT. FREE. Advertise your price, jerks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    A amazing resource for fresh Pilates Instructors!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    This application is so simple to use! Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    Amazing tool for Pilates Teacher!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    Amazing videos, high quality and huge selection

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pilates Anytime - Pilates Workouts review [App]  2020-2-1 22:10

    Love this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    This is not a book. It's a poorly designed pamphlet or an amateur magazine. It appears that the publisher has split up the complete book into individual pamphlets for each chapter. It's also unprofessionally laid out; it looks just like a word document, with huge helvetica text and employs very easy excel-like charts. The margins are off and the photos are tiny. The page numbers are large and in the wrong place. The back of the pamphlet, as well as the spine, are blank. The design is really bad. It's unreadable. I'm returning it.I think if the publisher would invest in design and layout, and place all of the chapters together in one book professionally bound, with notes on the back and huge attractive photos inside, you would have a book. But right now unfortunately you're looking at an amateur-hour ripoff. You can easily download a pdf of the same info with related layout for free on the web.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    Review – The Natural Method: A Practical Tutorial of Physical Education Hebert trans Phillippe TilAs near as I can tell, this small book was first published in 1909 in French. It is directions on establishing a physical education program for male youth 8 – 18. The original author spent years in the field teaching physical education. The Way comprises a “Basics” Program of “marching, running, jumping, swimming, climbing, lifting, throwing, and defense.” A “Preparatory” program consisting of :simple and combined movements of the arms, legs and trunk and normal function of the joints.” And a “Complementary” portion of “games and sports of all kinds and manual labor.” There is not much more detail on the exact exercises, movements, android games and contests e author strongly encourages “air baths” in which the male athlete/student – the basic target of the book – participates shirtless, even in as extreme weather as can be tolerated. The all but one or two of the few pictures in the book present huge groups of young men without their ere is a score card well described for maintaining ere is a detailed layout for a little zone workout zone to contain all of the above activities, except running which can be done on streets or e program mentions that manliness also needs education in moral and virility, but leaves those locations to other is is a century plus old physical education program with a lot of perfect aspects that could be incorporated into modern schools and teachings. The goal is a strong, natural athlete and manly men. As a piece of history this is fascinating. As examples of practices that have gone the wayside, this is outstanding. The headmaster or teacher would have to spend time setting up the exact detailed programs to be included, and if not skilled in an area, search skilled e program is very valid, and if instituted intact in 2015 would 1) be a hard sell and 2) again produce manly, virile men.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    If you're like me, you obtain really tired of reading on a computer screen. When it comes to actually performing the exercises described in this book, it would be a travesty to remain indoors. I brought mine out with me to do natural movement. Sadly, the books were stolen out of my car. I can only hope that the thief reformed himself through some combination of vigorous outdoor exercises...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    This is incomplete and only a booklet, its only 68 pages and you will need to purchase all the other natural way books. What a complete scam and total rip off, to the author who stated that his goals were to share the info SHAME ON YOU! Please release one adequately compiled book. I will be returning BOTH the copies I purchased and will not recommend this book. This and the other books are supposed to be one text I dont know why the author has decided to release each chapter as an individual "book" except to scam people. I mean seriously this is only 69 pages and the material is extremely brief and light on text, seriously this looks like it took no more than a few hours to st of the info in the book is already available for free, and this should probably have been the same for something like this.Avoid this is a scam! I have had related experiences on amazon where I purchased books only to realize they were turning them into a "series" of short books. This book is not worth more than 2 dollars at most, its literally a booklet and most definitely NOT a tutorial in any method but rather a primer. that will be of no use without purchasing the other book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    Thank you Philippe Til for translating this work! This series is so interesting from a historical perspective and from what it means to the future of physical fitness. Just in roughly going through some of the postural moves in the fundamental exercises opened my eyes to fresh sensations coming from my back muscles. These books are a fascinating study of a very practical and useful form of fitness that seems completely appropriate to preparing for ANY condition or adversity you may search yourself in. The fundamentals of usefulness and civic duty in physical ability are clearly demonstrated. A amazing series of books for those looking for more that just looking amazing from physical efforts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    The pages are Very fragile material. I feel like you can easily search this for free online somewhere. You're not missing out on anything if you don't purchase this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    Just finished this, the first volume of Philippe Til's translation of George Hebert. A superb translation of an indispensable text for anyone interested in physical training, whether that interest is historical or practical. Well worth the low price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    Just bought the series sight unseen. Two pages in and rather than see a picture referenced in the text, I see a huge blurry icon of a camera with a red triangle bearing an exclamation mark. So I flip through and sure enough all the photos in the book are the same. I'm sure the text is amazing and full of value but without photos and illustrations, it's going to be a cumbersome read. The e-book is a Edit: It turns out that everything looks amazing if I use the Kindle application on either my Surface or Android device tablets, or my Windows phone...just not if I use my Kindle. Initially this was a one star review. now I'm adding 3 because the full presentation of the material deserves it, and the final star is for Amazon for making me laugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Natural Method (adapted): Georges Hébert's Practical Guide to Physical Education review []  2019-12-18 20:43

    I love old school books, and this was a pleasure to read.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter